# Petition — Brotherhood of Railway, Airline & Steamship Clerks v. Russell

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1475%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 467 U.S. 1204

## Text

83-1414

No. 83-__ ALEXANDER L. STEVAS.
IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1983

BROTHERHOOD OF RAILWAY, AIRLINE
AND STEAMSHIP CLERKS, FREIGHT

HANDLERS, EXPRESS AND STATION EMPLOYES,

Petitioner,
Vv.
LAURENCE G. RUSSELL, WILLIAM L. HANNA,
AND EppiE D. LANGWELL,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

JaMEs L. HIGHSAW, JR.
(Counsel of Record)

JOSEPH GUERRIERI, JR.

HicHsaw & Manoney, P.C.
Suite 210

Airline and Steamship Clerks,
Freight Handlers, Express and
Station Employes

PRESS OF BYRON 8. ADAMS PRINTING, INC., WASHINGTON, D.C. (282) 347-6203

-_:

i

ISSUE PRESENTED

This petition presents the following issue:

1. Does a decision of the National Mediation Board dis-
missing, after investigation, a representation application filed
by an individual pursuant to Section 2, Ninth of the Railway
Labor Act, upon the basis of the uncontested fact that the
individual seeks certification by the Board as a representative
of an already represented craft or class of employees of a
carrier subject to the Act, solely for the purpose of terminating
the collective bargaining agreement governing such employ-
ees and their status as represented employees, constitute a
gross violation of a specific statutory command of that Act so as

to subject the Board’s action to judicial review?

2 2? eee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
eG TINIE ooo ccc ctvcccccnsccscdvciesee iv
ET oc ct ca Ue bacncbescuttegeand eaenneie 2
ree CUE Mw nd ke vba t'pst ons eiatded ednoas 2
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED .............0+00- 2
I ad oe Ue ae ekeceeee 4
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ..............-006: 8

I. The Court Of Appeals Decision Reversing The Dis-
trict Court Raises Issues Of Substantial Importance
In The Administration Of The Railway Labor Act
Which Should Be Reviewed By This Court ...... 8

II. The Decision Below Conflicts With Established
ee oe ar ee Oe oe
ith Respect To The Exclusive Jurisdiction

i" Mediation Board In Representation Proceed- si

cused pededaegetes ee ceseaveverescccsvecnesos 17
APPENDICES:

for the Fifth Circuit, decided

APPENDIX C: Unived States Court of Appeals forthe
November 28, 1983) .............05- 34a

APPENDIX D: Applicable Provisions of the Constitu-
tion of the United States and the
Lae et GS Gein ie Sn Say
of the petition)

AppEenpix E: Application to the National Mediation
of Representa-

APPENDIX E-1: Decision of the National Mediation
Board dated May 21, 1981

APPENDIX F:

APPENDIX G:

APPENDIX H:

APPENDIX I:

APPENDIX J:

iii

Table of Contents Continued
Page

Russell v. National Mediation Board
Amended Compliant for Declaratory
Injunctive Relief and Petition For Re-
view and For Extraordinary Relief
CUBA TA) Sab edine cnsvcess 48a

Russell v. National Mediation Board,
Defendant National Mediation Board’s
RED. oon OR A cc a ee cas 02 57a

Russell v. National Mediation Board
BRAC’s Answer to the Complaint and
Cross Claim

Russell v. National Mediation Board,
— of Appeal filed, September 7,

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases RELIED UPON: Page
Boire v. Greyhound Corp., 376 U.S. 478 (1964) ...... 13

Brotherhood of Railway Clerks v. Association for the
i of Non-Contract Employees, 380 U.S. 650

ee a. tin See So ae Pee cae 12, 13, 16
General Committee v. Missouri-Kansas-Texas Railroad
Company, 320 U.S. 323 (1943) ...........0eees ll
General Committee v. Southern Pacific Company, 320
Oe WMD kt sc cs eeri..: AERIS
Y Association of Machinists v. Street, 367
Se RIN gb onc KikteUeaeddc eackus 6Uaace ces 17

International Brotherhood of Teamsters v. BRAC, 402
F.2d 196 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied sub nom. BRAC v.
National Mediation Board, 398 U.S. 848 (1968) .. 13

Inthe Matter of the Application of Laurence G. Russell, 8
BOE PE ON COTE 60 thine 00st sascccsdbecsic 14

Laurence G. Russell, William L. Hanna and Eddie D.
Langwell v. National Mediation Board, the Atchi-
son, T and Santa Fe Railway Company, et al.,

110 L DEED Cis bd wisi eb dco cankes xe 2
Leedom v. Kyne, 358 U.S. 184 (1958) ............. s 12, 13
Philbrook v. Glodett, 421 U.S. 707 (1975) ............ 15
Railway E Department v. Hanson, 351 U.S.

aoe (1966) ....... se i6 shite Case ¥ bts cle’ aabrwrk te 17

’s Union of North America v. NMB, 320 U.S.
STM ss occbabdcchhdenamnss eerantnens 11, 12, 15

vere: Co. v. System Federation, 300 U.S. 515

eee eee eee eee eee eee eee eee ee eee eee eee

STATUTES AND OTHER MATERIALS RELIED UPon:
Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. § 151, et seg.

Section la, 45 U.S.C. § 15a 22... .eecceeeeeneeees 3, 9

Section 1, Sixth, 45 U.S.C. § 151, Sixth ........ passim

Section 2, First, 45 U.S.C. § 152, First ........ 3, 9, 10

Section 2, Second, 45 U.S.C. § 152, Second ........ 3, 10

Section 2, Third, 45 U.S.C. § 152, Third ........... 9, 10
’

Vv
Table of Authorities Continued
Page
Section 2, Fourth, 45 U.S.C. § 152, Fourth .... 3, 9, 10
Section 2, Sixth, 45 U.S.C. § 152, Sixth ........... 10
Section 2, Seventh, 45 U.S.C. § 152, Seventh ...... 10
Section 2, Ninth, 45 U.S.C. § 152, Ninth ........ passim
Te 5 Cot > * eer me cores 4
ORT i Sie: IED bg sti cends vereandccdunn 3, 10
Rule oe), Revised Rules of the Supreme Court of the
SE wn ot cain cbiwend sabdiiccd uveusweunn
SEND i. a:c soba c Gund Wesei pun dkehs awe 2
ED bv be bene bdcvecednuccentbastga 2
a SE LE cance s taste conseseceys 3, 6, 17
ae SES CEN, Wt vnc ceacededb's cocecaeghhe 3, 6

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1983

No. 83-___

BROTHERHOOD OF RAILWAY, AIRLINE
AND STEAMSHIP CLERKS, FREIGHT

HANDLERS, EXPRESS AND STATION EMPLOYES,

Petitioner,
Vv.
LAURENCE G. RUSSELL, WILLIAM L. HANNA,
AND EppiE D. LANGWELL,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

The petitioner, Brotherhood of Railway, Airline and
Steamship Clerks, Freight Handlers, Express and Station
Employes (hereinafter, “BRAC”], respectfully prays that a
writ of certiorari issue to review the final judgment and decree
of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
reversing a decision of the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Texas, Amarillo Division, granting the
National Mediation Board (hereinafter, “Mediation Board”)
summary judgment on the complaint of respondents Laurence
G. Russell, et al., and dismissing said complaint, which sought
to invalidate the action of the Mediation Board in dismissing a
representation application of respondent Russell filed with the
Board pursuant to Section 2, Ninth of the Railway Labor Act
(45 U.S.C. § 152, Ninth) to certify respondent Russell as the
representative of the craft or class of certain Police Officer

2

employees of the Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway
Company (hereinafter, “Santa Fe”], so that he could then
terminate such representation and the collective bargaining
agreement governing the rates of pay, rules, and working
conditions of said employees.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals, reproduced as Appen-
dix A hereto,’ is reported at 714 F.2d 1332 and styled Laurence
G. Russell, William L. Hanna and Eddie D. Langwell v.
National Mediation Board, the Atchison, Topeka and Santa
Fe Railway Company, et al. The decision of the District
Court, (App. B hereto) is reported only in 110 LRRM 2167.

JURISDICTION

The decision of the Court of Appeals was entered on Septem-
ber 22, 1983 (App. A hereto). A petition of the petitioner
BRAC for rehearing and the suggestion of petitioner for
Rehearing En Banc were denied by the Court of Appeals on
November 28, 1983 (App. C hereto). This petition is governed
by the provisions of Title 28, Sections 1254(1) and 2101(c) of the
United States Code and Rule 20(2) of the Revised Rules of this
Court which require the petition to be filed within ninety (90)
days after the entry of the final judgment or decree of the
Court of Appeals.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED
This case primarily involves the provisions of Section 2,
Ninth of the Railway Labor Act (45 U.S.C. § 152, Ninth)
providing for the resolution by the Mediation Board of disputes
among the employees of a carrier subject to the Act as to who

‘The Appendix is hereinafter referred to as “App.”.

Pe Lane, .

3

are the representatives of such employees. The section reads
as follows:

Ifany dispute shall arise among a carrier’s employees as to
who are the representatives of such employees designated
and authorized in accordance with the requirements of
this Act, it shall be the duty of the Mediation Board, upon
request of either party to the dispute, to investigate such
rvs taagchesanl agin lh se! sexy hy no , within
thirty days after the receipt of the invocation of its serv-
ices, the name or names of the individuals or organizations
that have been designated and authorized to represent the
employees involved in the dispute, and certify the same to
the carrier. Upon receipt of such certification the carrier
shall treat with the representative of the craft or class for
the of this Act. In such an investigation, the
M ion Board shall be authorized to take a secret ballot
of the employees involved, or to utilize any other appropri-
ate method ascertaining the names of their duly desig-
nated and authorized representatives in such manner as
shall insure the choice i any by the employ-
ees without interference, influence, or’coercion ex
by the carrier. In the conduct of any election for the
herein indicated the Board designate who
may — in the election, or we appoint a commit-
7 aah br naar wage Abantannr bgp BS og
n days designate the emp who may parti in
the election. The Board have access to pin corto
power to make copies of the books and records of the
carriers to obtain and utilize such information as may be
deemed necessary by it to carry out the purposes and
provisions of this paragraph.

The case also involves Sections 1, Sixth, la, 2, First, Second,
Fourth, and 6 of the Railway Labor Act (45 U.S.C. §§ 151,
Sixth, 151a, 152, First, Second, Third, Fourth and 156). These
provisions are quoted in full in App. D hereto and pertinent
portions thereof are also quoted at appropriate places in this
petition. The complaint also alleged that the Mediation Board
action violated the rights of respondents to freedom of associa-
tion under the First Amendment to the United States Con-
stitution as well as their Fifth Amendment rights. The provi-
ee ee ee
to.

4d

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case began on March 23, 1981, when Laurence G. Rus-
sell filed an application with the Mediation Board pursuant to
Section 2, Ninth of the Railway Labor Act (45 U.S.C. § 152,
Ninth) alleging the existence of a representation dispute in-
volving special agents and security guards employed by the
Santa Fe, a railroad subject to the provisions of the Act (App.
E hereto). Such employees generally constitute the craft or
class of Police Officers below the rank of Captain. Such employ-
ees were represented by petitioner BRAC.

Section 2, Ninth of the Railway Labor Act, quoted in full,
supra, page 3, provides that upon the request of either party to
a dispute among employees of a carrier subject to the Act, “as
to who are the representatives of such employees designated
and authorized in accordance with the requirements of the
Act,” the Mediation Board, a Federal agency created by Sec-
tion 4 (45 U.S.C. § 154) of the statute, shall investigate and
certify the name or names of the individuals or organizations
designated or authorized to represent the employees involved
in the dispute. The section authorizes the Board to conduct an
election or “to utilize any other appropriate method” of
ascertaining the employee representative to be certified. Upon
certification of an employee representative by the Mediation
Board, the employer railroad is required to “treat” with such
representative. This requirement constitutes a command to
the employer to act affirmatively to bargain exclusively with
the certified representative with respect to rates of pay, rules,
and working conditions of the employees involved. Virginian
Ry. Co. v. System Federation, 300 U.S. 515 (1937).

The Mediation Board conducted the investigation of the
dispute alleged in Mr. Russell’s application as required by
Section 2, Ninth, in which BRAC participated as the duly
certified representative of the employees involved, and on May
21, 1981, issued its “Findings Upon Investigation, Dismissal”
of the application (App. E-1 hereto). This decision is reported

5

at 8 NMB No. 135 (1981). The dismissal was based upon two
basic findings.

First: the Mediation Board found that an application for
certification as an employee representative is void ab initio
where the applicant lacks the intent to represent the craft or
class, if certified. This finding reads as follows:

The Railway Labor Act, unlike the National Labor
Relations Act, contains no statutory provision for
decertification of a ining representative. Atchison,
ag and Santa Fe Railway Company, 8 NMB No. 18
(1980). See also, Manufacturers Railway Company, 7
NMB Nos. 233 and 250 (1980). The Board will not progress
an application for investigation of a representation dispute
where the applicant lacks the intent to represent the craft
or class, if certified. Chicago Union Station, 8 NMB No.
45 (1980), and will dismiss such an application because it is
void ab initio.

(App. E-1 at 46a).

Second: The Mediation Board found that applicant Russell
lacked the intent to represent the class or craft of employees
involved. This finding reads as follows:

The Board finds that Laurence G. Russell lacks an in-

leaving the employees ge Bog in
effect, notwithstanding the ification the obliga-

(App. E-1 at 47a). The Board also found that respondent Rus-
sell’s objective of achieving “exempt” status for the employees
involved as set forth in cited documents was erroneous because
there was no such status under the statute, and thus simply
meant decertification. This factual finding was supported by
documents, including letters signed by Mr. Russell, and a
statement of counsel for the applicant to the Mediation Board’s
Chief Hearing Officer. Among the cited documents were let-
ters from the applicant Russell to United States Senators and a
Member of the House of Representatives advising that Mr.
Russell’s objective was “to negotiate an agreement to termi-

6

nate the collective bargaining agreement then in effect and
thereafter to refrain from engaging in further representation
of the employees.”

Mr. Russell has not contested the factual accuracy of the
Mediation Board’s findings in the subsequent litigation with
respect to its decision.

On July 7, 1981, Mr. Russell, along with Messrs. William L.
Hanna and Eddie D. Langwell, two other Santa Fe employees,
filed a two count complaint in the District Court against the
Mediation Board, the Santa Fe, and petitioner BRAC. OnJuly
23, 1981, the plaintiffs filed an amended complaint (App. F
hereto). The first cause of action in the amended complaint
alleged that the Mediation Board action in dismissing the rep-
resentation application was unlawful, arbitrary, capricious, an
abuse of discretion in excess of its statutory jurisdiction, and
violative of the First and Fifth Amendment rights of plaintiffs
under the United States Constitution. The amended complaint
also alleged that the Railway Labor Act was unconstitutional
as applied to plaintiffs. The complaint prayed that the District
Court order a representation election or utilize another appro-
priate method of ascertaining the duly authorized representa-
tive of the employees involved.

The second count of the complaint repeated the allegations of
the first count and added a claim that the union security provi-
sions of the collective bargaining agreement between the San- —
ta Fe and BRAC was violative of plaintiffs’ rights of freedom of
association guaranteed by the First Amendment to the United
States Constitution and prayed for a court order to enjoin the
enforcement of the union security agreement.’

The defendants Mediation Board and BRAC filed answers to
the amended complaint alleging that it did not state a cause of
action upon which relief could be granted; that the District

2 A copy of the amended complaint is attached as App. F.

7

Court lacked jurisdiction over the subject matter of the
amended complaint; and denying any unlawful action. (App. G
and H). The Santa Fe filed an answer denying any illegal
activity. The amended complaint against the Santa Fe was
dismissed by the District Court on August 20, 1982. (App. B
hereto).’

The National Mediation Board filed a motion for summary
judgment with the District Court, which was granted by that
Court on March 17, 1982, on the ground that the District Court
had no jurisdiction to review and set aside the Board’s order
dismissing the representation application (App. B hereto). The
District Court’s decision found that: (1) it is well established
law that Mediation Board representation decisions under Sec-
tion 2, Ninth are not subject to judicial review with two limited
exceptions not here applicable i.e., (a) where the Board has
acted in excess of its power or contrary to statutory provisions,
and (b) where there are constitutional grounds therefore; (2)
the Mediation Board’s investigation as to whether a represen-
tation dispute existed in the present case was sufficient and
within its scope of authority; and (3) the Mediation Board’s

investigation met all due process requirements.

BRAC also filed with the District Court on March 18, 1982, a
motion to dismiss the complaint or to grant BRAC summary
eS ae, a ee
22, 1982.

On September 7, 1982, respondents Russell, et al., filed
their notice of appeal of the District Court’s order granting the
motion of the Mediation Board for summary judgment. The
notice of appeal did not include the District Court’s order of
August 22, 1982, dismissing the amended complaint as to
BRAC (App. J hereto).

3 BRAC and the Santa Fe also filed cross claims and counterclaims
against each other which were dismissed by agreement.

am o AD

8

The Court of Appeals issued its decision reversing the Dis-
trict Court judgment on September 22, 1983. This decision
found that the Mediation Board violated the statutory mandate
of Section 2, Ninth of the Railway Labor Act by refusing to
further progress respondent Russeil’s representation applica-
tion because he was a “representative” within the meaning of
Section 1, Sixth of the Railway Labor Act even though he
sought certification as a representative in order to terminate
the collective bargaining agreement governing the employees
involved and end representation of such employees. The Court
did not address respondents constitutional claim in light of its
conclusion of a statutory violation. (App. A hereto)

BRAC filed with the Court of Appeals a timely petition for
rehearing and a suggestion of rehearing en banc which were
denied by the Court on November 28, 1983 (App. C hereto).‘

The Court of Appeals also denied the BRAC motion for a
stay of mandate.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Court Of Appeals Decision Reversing The District
Court Raises Issues Of Substantial Importance In The
Administration Of The Railway Labor Act Which Should
Be Reviewed By This Court

The decision below held that the Mediation Board violated
the mandate of Section 2, Ninth of the Railway Labor Act that
it investigate representation applications and certify a “repre-
sentative” thereunder by dismissing the Russell application

‘On October 10, 1983, the plaintiffs-respondents filed a motion
with the Court of Appeals challenging the extension of time granted
by the Court to BRAC to petition for rehearifig and to file a sugges-
tion of rehearing en banc on that ground. The challenge was based on
a claim that BRAC, which had been a party in interest before the
NMB, a defendant before the District Court, and fully participated as
an appellee before the Court of Appeals, had no standing because

did not desire to appeal the District Court’s
grant of summary judgment to BRAC. That motion was denied.

9

after the Board’s investigation thereof revealed that it was the
intent of the applicant to use certification to terminate repre-
sentation of the employees involved in favor of an “exempt
status” and to terminate the applicable collective bargaining
agreement. The decision rests such conclusion on the ground
that Mr. Russell was a “representative” of the employees
involved within the meaning of Section 1, Sixth of the Railway
Labor Act even though his clearly established intent was to
terminate representation under the statute.

This conclusion is rendered within the context of a statute
which, unlike the National Labor Relations Act, contains no
provision for decertification of a statutory representative,
which was passed by Congress for the stated purpose of
providing, inter alia, for the prompt and orderly settlement of
all disputes concerning grievances and rates of pay, rules, and
working conditions (45 U.S.C. § 15la) and which provides for
the implementation of such purpose by:

(a) requiring employees and carriers to make’ every
reasonable effort to make and maintain agreements and settle
all disputes between them (45 U.S.C. § 152, First);

(b) providing employees with the right “to organize and
bargain collectively through “representatives” of their own
choosing (45 U.S.C. § 152, Fourth);

(c) providing that the majority of a craft or.class shall have
the right to determine who shall be the “representative” of the
craft of class “for the purposes of this Act” (45 U.S.C. § 152,
Fourth) (Emphasis supplied);

(d) providing for the designation of “Representatives, for
the purpose of this Act” without interference, coercion, or
interference (45 U.S.C. § 152, Third) (Emphasis supplied);

(e) imposing a duty on the “representatives” thus chosen a
duty of deciding, in conference with carrier representatives,
all disputes between the parties (45 U.S.C. § 152, Fourth);

A,
Be ,
i ae dé

10

(f) by imposing a duty on the employee “representatives”
in case of a dispute concerning grievances or interpretation or
application of agreements (“minor disputes”) to comply with
specified requirements for conference with carrier representa-
tives with respect thereto (45 U.S.C. § 152, Sixth);

(g) by imposing a duty in Section 6 (45 U.S.C. § 156) upon
employee representatives to give written notice in accordance
with statutory requirements of intended changes in agree-
ments and confer with carrier representatives with respect
thereto as the first step in the mandatory Railway Labor Act
procedures of conference, and mediation by the Mediation
Board under Section 5 during which periods the status quo
must be maintained to prevent disruptions of commerce lead-
ing up to, where necessary, the appointment of a Presidential
Emergency Board and/or efforts by the Mediation Board to
obtain voluntary arbitration of the dispute pursuant to Section
2, Seventh. (45 U.S.C. § 152, Seventh)

Thus, when the Court below concludes that respondent Rus-
sell “intended to represent” tic employees involved within the
meaning of the Railway Labor Act since there are no qualifiers
attached to the Act’s simple definition of “representative” in
Section 1, Sixth of that statute, the Court gives no significance
to the provisions of Section 2, First, Second, Third, Fourth and
Sixth which require a Railway Labor Act “representative” to
be a person or organization designated “for the purposes of this
Act,” who must comply with the statutory duties imposed upon
such an employee “representative,” including the duty of mak-
ing, maintaining and amending agreements, and handling dis-
putes with respect thereto. In short, the decision below reads
out of the Railway Labor Act all of the statutory duties of a
“representative” of employees, which for some 60 years have
been the heart of a statute passed to bring order out of chaos in
labor relations in the railroad industry (subsequently extended
to air transportation) in the public interest.

A decision which can have such a dramatic effect upon labor
relations in rail and air transportation based on grounds which

;
%
"4

11

conflict with all of the statutory purposes, which reverses the
Mediation Board practices with respect to representation and
which reads into the Railway Labor Act provisions of the
National Labor Relations Act not included in the rail statute,
should not be permitted to become the law of the land without
review by this Court.

II. The Decision Below Conflicts With Established Princi-
ples Of Law Set Forth In Decisions Of This Court With
Respect To The Exclusive Jurisdiction Of The Mediation
Board In Representation Proceedings

It has been a settled principle of law established by decisions
of this court for at least the past forty (40) years that the
Congress in enacting and amending the Railway Labor Act
gave the National Mediation Board the exclusive power and
responsibility to determine matters arising out of the adminis-
tration of Section 2, Ninth of the Railway Labor Act. Switch-
men’s Union of North America v. NMB, 320 U.S. 297 (1943);
General Committee v. Missouri-Kansas-Texas Railroad
Company, 320 U.S. 323 (1943); General Committee v. South-
ern Pacific Company, 320 U.S. 338 (1943). In the Switchmen’s
Union case, which first articulated the extremely narrow and
limited area of judicial review of Mediation Board determina-
tions in representation proceedings, this Court stated:

The act in Section 2, Fourth writes into law the ‘right’ of
the or of any craft or class of employees” to deter-
mine who shall be the representative of the craft or class
rig oo gt ge te t’ is protected by Section
2, Ninth, which gives the Mediation the power to
resolve controversies concerning it and as an incident
thereto to determine what is the riate craft or class
in which the election should be held (citations omitted). A
review by the Federal courts of the National Mediation
Board’s n is not necessary to e or

which it created. It selected the precise machinery and
fashioned the tool which it deemed suited to that end.

Id. at 300-301.

12

This Court further stated that Congress in giving the Na-
tional Mediation Board the exclusive right to enforce the
“rights” created by the Railway Labor Act intended that “the
dispute was to reach its last terminal point when the adminis-
trative finding was made. There was to be no dragging out the
controversy into other tribunals of law.” Jd. at 305. (Emphasis
supplied).

While the bar to judicial review of National Mediation Board
determinations in representation disputes enunciated by the
Supreme Court in Switchmen’s Union. id., has remained
firm,’ this Court subsequently recognized an extremely nar-
row limitation thereto. In Leedom v. Kyne, 358 U.S. 184
(1968), this Court upheld a District Court injunction setting
aside a National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) election and
certification where the NLRB had clearly acted “in excess of
its delegated powers and contrary to a specific prohibition in
the act.” Jd. at 184. The limitation of the Leedom v. Kyne,
supra, “exception” to the bar of review of Mediation Board
representation announced by this Court in Switchmen’s
Union, is set forth in it’s decision in Brotherhood of Railway
Clerks v. Association for the Benefit of Noncontract Employ-
ees (ABNE), 380 U.S. 650 (1965). In its decision in ABNE,
supra, the Court reiterated the principle of the exclusive
jurisdiction of the Mediation Board in representation matters,
stating:

That Leedom v. Kyne was no exception to Switchmen’s
Union. Rather the Court was careful to note that “this

5See also e.g., Sedalia-Marshall-Boonville Stage Line, Inc. v.
N.M.B., 574 F.2d 394 (8th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 882
(1979); Machinists v. N.M.B., 426 F.2d 527 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied,
889 U.S. 912 (1967); BRAC v. N.M.B., 374 F.2d 269(D.C. Cir. 1966);
Teamsters v. N.M.B., 363 F.2d 311 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 389 U.S.
920 (1966); Ruby v. American Airlines, Inc., 323 F.2d 248 (2nd Cir.
1963), cert. denied, 376 U.S. 918 (1964).

13

suit is not one to ‘review,’ in the sense that the term is used
in the act, a decision of the Board made within its jurisdic-
tion, rather it is one to strike down an order of the Board
made in excess of its delegated powers and rt to
: : gecatatng in the act” Leedom v. Kyne, 358 U.S.

Id. at 659-660. See also Boire v. Greyhound Corp., 376 U.S.
473 (1964). The Court, at page 660, also referred to the “narrow
limits” and the “painstakingly delineated procedural bound-
aries of Kyne.” The Court of Appeals for the District of Col-
umbia Circuit in /nternational Brotherhood of Teamsters v.
BRAC, 402 F.2d 196 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 393 U.S. 768
(1968), stated that the Congressional purpose of ending repre-
sentation matters with a Mediation Board finding may be
fulfilled only if the courts are extremely chary of involving
themsevies.in NMB determinations and then went on to ex-
plain the narrow limits of judicial intervention in the following
terms:
The narrow exceptions to the “jurisdictional” bar created
Leedom v. Kyne, and similar cases must be instances

f) pee eh at racy ened Avrahen
ute. The exception inevitably e len Ny
of a lack of , it a peek at
merits. The reco not in

=
-
Ei 5

14

ceived extensive position statements and numerous support-
ing documents from the respondents, petitioner BRAC and the
Santa Fe, the employing carrier. The Board also received
copies of letters sent by the respondents to their congressional
representatives and the Board’s chief hearing officer had a
discussion with counsel for the Mediation Board regarding Mr.
Russell’s intentions. On the basis of this investigation the
NMB made a finding, which was not challenged by the respon-
dents, that Mr. Russell intended to “negotiate an agreement to
terminate the collective-bargaining agreement then in effect,
and to thereafter refrain from engaging in further representa-
tion of the employees.” Jn the Matter of the Application of
Lawrence G. Russell, 8 NMB No. 135, p. 472 (1981) (App. E-1
hereto). In light of this finding, the Board concluded that the
applicant lacked the intent to represent the employees in-
volved if elected and certified by the Board and intended to
pursue a path of conduct resulting in these employees being
unrepresented notwithstanding the certification and obliga-
tions which attached thereto, Jd., at 475. The District Court
properly declined respondent’s invitation to substitute its
judgment for that of the Board either in the conduct of that
investigaton, or in the Board’s ultimate findings.

In summary, the District Court guided by the overwhelming
case authority on the subject found that the Mediation Board’s
actions regarding representation applications under Section 2,
Ninth of the Railway Labor Act are reviewable by the Federal
courts only where there has been a substantial showing by the
plaintiff that: (1) the Mediation Board’s actions are contrary to
specific prohibitions in the Railway Labor Act; or (2) that the
constitutional rights of the applicant have been violated. The
court correctly found based on the undisputed facts of record
that neither exception was present in the case at bar.

The Court of Appeals recognized that there are narrow
limits to any judicial review of Mediation Board decisions in
representation cases which it characterized as permitting such
review only in a case of “egregious errors.” However, when
that Court applied such principle to the instant case, it found

15

such error in the Board’s interpretation of its duty under
Section 2, Ninth of the Railway Labor Act on the basis of what
the Court below described as a clear statutory mandate to the
Board derived from the Court’s interpretation of the word
“representative” in Section 1, Sixth of the Statute. In so doing,
the Court below, as pointed out in Section I above, ignored the
fact that the statute always speaks of “representative” only as
a person so designated for purposes of the Act and as the
bearer of numerous duties, including that of making and
maintaining agreements, processing grievances, and settling
disputes in accordance with mandatory requirements of the
statute. Thus, respondent Russell’s application amounted to a
request that the Board certify him as a representative so he
could disregard all of the statutory requirements. The defini-
tion of a “representative” relied upon by the Court below as
determinative of the reviewability of and reversal of the
Mediation Board’s decision dismissing the Russell application
is that an employee “representative” under the Railway Labor
Act is a person designated to act upon behalf of employees to
accomplish anything they want to accomplish regardless of
whether such desire serves the purposes and requirements of
the Railway Labor Act or not. The decision below thus brings
itself within the narrow confines established by this Court with
respect to judicial review of Mediation Board representation
decisions only by ignoring the purposes of the statute as
enunciated by Congress as well as the purposes of representa-
tion specifically set forth in the cited statutory provisions.
Such a decision also violates the clear principle of statutory
interpretation established by this Court which requires that an
interpreting Court not be guided by a single sentence or mem-
ber of a sentence, but that a statute be read so as to give effect
to the whoie law and to its object and policy. Philbrook v.
Glodett, 121 U.S. 707, 713 (1975). The conclusion of the Court
below that the decision of the Mediation Board constitutes a
gross or egregious violation of a statutory mandate opens wide
the door to the destruction of the principles long ago estab-
lished by this Court in Switchmen’s Union, supra, 12.

16

The emphasis of the decision below on a right of the employ-
ees involved not to be represented for collective bargaining
suggests that the Court of Appeals was lead into its untenable
position by such consideration. However, given the absence of
any statutory provision for decertification and the specific
statutory provisions discussed above which negate the validity
of the application of respondent Russell, the result produced
by the Court below does violence to the statutory purposes of
such provisions. Such a result is not necessary in light of this
Court’s decision in ABNE, supra, 13, in which the Court was
faced with a claim for a “no union” place on a representation
ballot to permit a no certification vote. The Mediation Board
rejected such a claim and this Court reversed the decision of a
lower court interfering with the Board’s determination. In so
doing this Court stated:

The legislative history supports the view that the em-
, ployees are to have the option of rejecting collective repre-

, ~ sentation. The ballot that the Board proposed to use in
future elections fully —_ with this conception of the
Act. Using the Board’s ballot an employee may refrain
from joining a union and refuse to — collectively. All
wekeecsndnr frag eos igy shee ne alah ponte 0 2
representation er Board’s practice of requiring
that a majority of the eligible voters in a craft or class
actually vote for some representative before the election
is valid. The practicalities of voting—the fact that many
who favor some representation will not vote—are in favor
of the employee who wants “no union.” Indeed, the
mothe’ peseenes og ge i ee ee
ve viding a union” box, since, if one were
added. 0 telage 06 Vole watld thaw ba'taleea chi eee
— the choice of a majority of those voting. This is

of the National Labor Relations Board.

Id. at 669 n.5.

There thus exists an avenue under the statute to terminate
representation not involving applications such as the Board
dismissed.

Rejection of the Court of Appeals decision does not give rise
to any substantial constitutional issue to be decided. Union
membership in a union certified to represent Railway Labor

17

Act employees does not violate any First Amendment rights.
See Railway Employees Department v. Hansen, 361 U.S. 225
(1956). Similarly, this Court has interpreted the Act to issue
the protection of First Amendment rights of union members.
International Association of Machinists v. Street, 367 U.S.
740 (1961). The relationship between a railroad employee and
the union representing him does not involve or affect any
association right cognizable under the First Amendment. The
District Court properly dismissed the constitutional claims of
respondent.

CONCLUSION

The petitioner BRAC respectfully submits that this Court
should, upon the basis of the points and authorities set forth
above, grant the petition for certiorari to review the judgment
of the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit here involved so as
to correct the violence done to the administration of the repre-
sentation provisions of the Railway Labor Act by that judg-
ment and to restore the long established principles of the
exclusive jurisdiction over representation proceedings of the
Mediation Board with only limited and narrow judicial review

. ¢
is
re *. °
42! h(a inn" Se ane

to eliminate gross violations of specific statutory commands,

18

also violated by that judgment.

February 24, 1984

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES L. HIGHSAW, JR.
(Counsel of Record)

JOSEPH GUERRIERI, JR.

HicHSAW & MAHONEY, P.C.
Suite 210

1050 - 17th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 296-8500

Attorneys for Petitioner
Brotherhood of Railway,
Airline and Steamship Clerks,
Freight Handlers, Express and
Station Employes

APPENDIX

No. 83-___

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States
OcTOBER TERM, 1983

BROTHERHOOD OF RAILWAY, AIRLINE
AND STEAMSHIP CLERKS, FREIGHT

HANDLERS, EXPRESS AND STATION EMPLOYES,

Petitioner,
Vv.
LAURENCE G. RUSSELL, WILLIAM L. HANNA
AND EppIE D. LANGWELL,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

JAMES L. HIGHSAW, JR.
(Counsel of Record)
JOSEPH GUERRIERI, JR.
HicHsaw & MAHONEY, P.C.

Suite 210
1050 -.17th Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 296-8500
Attorneys for Petitioner
Brotherhood of Railway,
Airline and Steamship Clerks,
Freight Handlers, Express and
Station Employes

February 24, 1984

TE ae ee eS GE RS EY AR AT
PRESS OF BYRON 8. ADAMS PRINTING, INC., WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-6203

gail

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS, FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 82-1466

LAURENCE G. RUSSELL, WILLIAM L. HANNA
and Eppie D. LANGWELL,
Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Vv.

NATIONAL MEDIATION BOARD, the Atchison,
Topeka and Santa Fe Railway Company, et al.,
Defendants-Appellees.

Sept. 22, 1983
OPINION
E. Grapy Joy, Circuit Judge:

This case, one of first impression, involves the question of
whether jurisdiction exists under the Railway Labor Act, 45
U.S.C. §§ 151-188, to review refusal by the National Mediation
Board to process an employee’s application to hold an election
among a class of employees after the Board determined that
those employees apparently desired to terminate collective
representation. We find that while judicial review of Board
actions is limited, jurisdiction does exist to compel compliance
with the Act. We find further that the Board has here failed to
fulfill its statutory duty to investigate a representational dis-
pute so as to allow full and free expression of employee desires
with regard to collective representation. Jurisdiction exists,
therefore, and we reverse the lower court and remand this case
for disposition consistent herewith.

In June 1943 the police officers and special agents below the
rank of captain on the Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railroad

2a

elected to be represented under the Railway Labor Act by the
National Council of Railway Patrolmen’s Union, AFL. This
selection was certified by the Board in Case R-1091 (1943).

As revealed by the record, the employees in the bargaining
unit over the years apparently considered the union a good
representative. No attempt was made, prior to the events
involved here, either to oust the union or to replace it with
another union. No subsequent ratification of the union’s repre-
sentation has ever been made, even when the Railway Patrol-
men’s Union was replaced as the collective bargaining repre-
sentative by its successor in interest, the Brotherhood of Rail-
way, Airline and Steamship Clerks, Freight Handlers, Ex-
press and Station Employees (“BRAC”).

For whatever reason. however, this era of good feelings
between BRAC and the Santa Fe police officers became incle-
ment in 1980. In the wake of similar efforts by other Santa Fe
employee groups, some of the officers formed an “Association
of Santa Fe Railway Police Officers.” On January 4, 1981, the
Association mailed a letter to members of the bargaining unit
soliciting their support in the attempt to “discertify” BRAC as
the collective bargaining representative. According to the let-
ter, the Association “will have its own representation, with
collective bargaining rights, to bargain for our own needs, not
those of the clerks.” A follow-up letter on February 22, 1981,
from two of the plaintiffs and a third bargaining unit
indicated that response to the January 14 letter had been
favorable and proposed selection of “a rank and file employee,”
Larry Russeil, as the unit’s representative “for purposes of
getting us placed in the ‘exempt employees’ category.” The
letter indicated that such “exemption” should “result in im-
proved benefits and conditions. . . .” The letter included a
detailed list of proposed salary terms and conditions of employ-
ment. The last “proposal” stated that “(all agreements, rules,
practices, interpretations, and/or understandings, however
established, shall be abrogated. . . .” Also included with the
letter was an authorization card designating Larry Russell as
representative “for all purposes under the Railway Labor

3a

Act.” According to the plaintiffs brief, BRAC responded to
the February 22 letter with two letters in opposition to the

proposed rejection of BRAC as collective bargaining agent.
These letters, however, are not included in the record.

In response to the second letter, 113 cards were returned
“authorizing” Larry Russell to serve as “representative” for
the employee unit. According to the plaintiffs, the unit com-
prised 210 employees and, thus, also according to the plaintiffs,
a majority of the employees desired to be “exempt,” i.e.,
desired no permanent collective bargaining representative.

Armed with the authorization cards, on March 21, 1981,
Russell filed an “Application for Investigation of Representa-
tional Dispute” with the Board. The application stated that “a
‘ dispute has arisen among the employees of (Santa Fe] as to who
are the representatives ... designated and authorized in
accordance with the requirements of the Railway Labor Act.”
Russell requested that the Board “investigate this dispute and
certify the name or names of the individuals or organizations
authorized to represent the employees involved in accordance
with Section 2, Ninth, of the Act.”

The Board requested responses to Russell’s application from
Santa Fe and BRAC. BRAC filed a Statement of Position,
opposing the application on the grounds that “(1) Russell’s
application in effect constitutes a petition for decertification,”
not authorized by the Act; “(2) Russell lacks any intention to
act as the ‘representative’ of employees, as that term is used in
the Railway Labor Act;” and (3) Santa Fe had “assisted and
encouraged, if not initiated and orchestrated,” Russell’s appli-
cation.

In a significant portion of its statement, BRAC discussed
three previous Board cases in which a Santa Fe employee,
acting on behalf of his craft or class of employees, had sought to
oust the incumbent union, abrogate the collective bargaining

4a

agreement, and then have the Board revoke the certification,

thereby leaving the employees unrepresented. '

The Board received the statements and evidence from
BRAC and Santa Fe, as well as a statement from the plaintiffs
in response to BRAC’s statement. The Board also considered a
documented telephone conversation between the chief hearing
officer for the Board and Russell’s attorney. According to the

' As indicated in BRAC’s Statement of Position, in Case No. R-
5039, an individual, J. J. McDaniel, acting on behalf of Santa Fe’s
yardmasters, had been certified by the Board after a Board election
as the bargaining representative on March 31, 1980, to replace the
Railroad Yardmasters of America. McDaniel abrogated the collec-
tive bargaining agreement with Santa Fe. On July 1, 1980, at McDa-
niel’s request, the Board revoked McDaniel’s certification, thereby
leaving the employees unrepresented.

In Case No. R-5123, Raul Herrera was elected to represent the
yardmasters employed by a Santa Fe subsidiary, Los Angeles Junc-
tion Railway Co. Herrera was certified as the representative on
September 22, 1980. After abrogating the collective bargaining
agreement, Herrera requested revocation of his certification. That
request remains pending.

In the Matter of the Application of J. D. Blankenship, 8 NMB No.
18 (Oct. 20, 1980), involved an attempt by Blankenship to be certified
as the representative for the class or craft of Santa Fe’s dispatchers.
The authorization cards distributed by Blankenship provided that he
was to undertake “whatever processes are necessary to discertify
{sic} my current application with the American Train Dispatchers
Association and to pursue whatever course of action is necessary to
become an exempt employee of the Santa Fe. . . .” The Board dis-
missed the application on the grounds that the Act does not provide
for “decertification” of a union.

On October 28, 1980, the Board issued a Notice of Hearing to
determine whether there was any impropriety “on the part of the
employee representatives and the carriers” involved in the McDa-
niel, Herrera and Blankenship cases. Insofar as the record reveals,
that inquiry is pending.

ix
ant
ms : S 3
A y > et)
Fa ah eat

5a

officer’s report, dated April 13, 1981, the attorney indicated
that Russell intended “to do what McDaniel did with the Yard-
masters . . ., namely, win, negotiate an ‘exempt’ status and
walk away from his status as a representative.” Among other
things, the hearing officer told Russell’s attorney that “the
Board could dismiss an application any time it found a lack of
intent to represent employees.”

The other items of information considered by the Board in its
investigation were three letters, verbatim copies each of the
others, dated April 17, 1981, from Russell to his congressman,
Representative Hightower, and to his two senators, Senator
Tower and Senator Bentsen. These letters, consistent with the
representation made by Russell’s attorney to the Board’s chief
hearing officer, complained that the Board’s officer had in-
dicated that Russell could not be elected despite the employ-
ees’ desire to elect him.

Consideration of these items was the extent of the Board’s
investigation. On May 21, 1981, the Board issued an order
dismissing Russell’s application. In pertinent part, that order
stated:

treme get ne yal Russell lacks an in-

ment, pom
tions which attach + Bw

The order declared that, absent intent to represent, certifica-
tion was not appropriate under the Act:

The Railway Labor Act, unlike the National Labor

Relations Act, contains no statutory provision for

decertification of a as e. [ATSF), 8

NMB No. 18 (1980) [the case]. See also, Man-
R Company, 7? 03. 233 and 250

f

~
Ww . —~ CS Spat al p Re ’ ny at 5; ox A a, | Me | Set & | sory, mo .
me . ; ? 1) oe
:

56a

Evidence Of Representation

This application is supported by at least a majority, if the
employees are represented.

Signed at Amarillo, Texas this 23rd day of March, 1981

/s/ Laurence G. (Larry) Russell
LAURENCE G. (LARRY) RUSSELL

Title: An Individual**

**Plaintiff's Exhibit A-2, containing a letter and an additional list of
applicable has also been omitted for this reason. And
Exhibit B to the Amended Complaint has been omitted as it is
reproduced herein as Exhibit E-1.

57a

APPENDIX G

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
AMARILLO DIVISION

Civil Action No. 2-81-138

LAURENCE G. RUSSELL, et al.,
Plaintiffs,

v.

NATIONAL MEDIATION Boar, et al.,
Defendants.

DEFENDANT NATIONAL MEDIATION
BOARD’S ANSWER

Defendant National Mediation Board, by its undersigned
attorneys, answers the Amended Complaint as follows:

First Defense

The Court lacks jurisdiction over the subject matter of this
case.

Second Defense

The Amended Complaint fails to state a claim upon which
relief can be granted.

Third Defense

In answer to the numbered paragraphs of the Amended
Complaint, defendant National Mediation Board hereby
admits, denies, and alleges as follows:

1. This paragraph contains plaintiffs’ introductory re-
marks and not allegations of fact to which an answer is re-
quired, but insofar as an answer may be iequired, denied.

58a

2. This paragraph contains plaintiffs’ jurisdictional allega-
tions and not allegations of fact to which an answer is required,
but insofar as an answer may be required, denied.

3. Denied, except to state that defendant National Media-
tion Board is without knowledge or information sufficient to
form a belief as to the truth of the allegations concerning
plaintiff Russell’s residency.

4. Defendant National Mediation Board is without knowl-
edge or information sufficient to form a belief as to the truth of
the allegations in the first sentence of this paragraph. The
second sentence is denied, except to admit that defendant
National Mediation Board has authorization cards purportedly
signed by plaintiffs Hanna and Langwell but that it has not
verified these signatures.

5. Denied, except to admit that defendant National Media-
tion Board is the federal labor relations agency which adminis-
ters the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. § 151 et seq., and is
charged with certain responsibilities concerning disputes as to
employee representation under Section 2, Ninth of the Act. 45
U.S.C. § 152, Ninth. The Court is referred to the Railway
Labor Act for a full and complete statement of its contents.

6. Admitted.
7. Admitted.

First Cause Of Action

8. Sentences one, two, three, four, and seven of this para-
graph are admitted. All other allegations in this paragraph are
denied.

9. Denied.

10. The second sentence of this paragraph is admitted,

to state that the Board’s certification occurred in Case

Ne. R-1081. Defendant National Mediation Board is without

knowledge or information sufficient to form a belief as to the
truth of the first, third, and fourth sentences.

59a

11. Defendant National Mediation Board is without knowl-
edge or information sufficient to form a belief as to the truth of
the allegations in this paragraph.

12. Admitted, upon information submitted to this Court by
defendant Santa Fe in its Motion for Leave to Deposit Funds
with the Court.

13. Admitted.

14. Denied.

15. Denied.

16. Denied.

Second Cause Of Action

17. The answers to paragraphs 1 through 16 of the Com-
plaint are incorporated herein as if fully set forth.

18. Defendant National Mediation Board is without knowl-
edge or information sufficient to form a belief as to the truth of
the allegations in this paragraph, except to state that BRAC is
the certified representative of these employees.

The National Mediation Board hereby specifically denies all
the allegations of the Amended Complaint not herein before
otherwise admitted.

60a

WHEREFORE, defendant National Mediation Board, hav-
ing fully answered, prays that this action be dismissed with
prejudice and that it be granted its costs and attorney’s fees.

Respectfully submitted,

J. PauL McGRATH
Assistant Attorney General

JAMES A. ROLFE
United States Attorney

/s/ Sandra M. Schraibman
SANDRA M. SCHRAIBMAN

/s/ Ann M. Sheadel
ANN M. SHEADEL

Attorneys, Department of Justice
10th & Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20530

Tel: (202) 633-4102
Attorneys for Defendant National
Mediation Board
OF COUNSEL:
RONALD M. ETTERS
General Counsel
Davip M. CoHEN

6la

APPENDIX H

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
AMARILLO DIVISION

NO. CA 2-81-138

LAURENCE G. RUSSELL, et al.,
Plaintiffs,
Ve

NATIONAL MEDIATION BoarbD, et al.,
Defendants.

BRAC’S ANSWER TO THE
COMPLAINT AND CROSSCLAIM

The defendant, Brotherhood of Railway, Airline and
Steamship Clerks, Freight Handlers, Express and Station
Employees (herein BRAC), by its attorneys, in answer to the
complaint states as follows:

FIRST DEFENSE

The Court lacks subject matter jurisdiction to entertain this

action.
SECOND DEFENSE
The complaint fails to state a claim upon which relief can be

granted.
THIRD DEFENSE
BRAC answers the enumerated paragraphs of the complaint
as follows:

1. The first paragraph of the complaint contains conclusory
and argumentative allegations and therefore no responsive
pleading on BRAC’s part is required.

62a

2. BRAC denies the allegations of paragraph 2 of the com-
plaint and further answering BRAC states that judicial review
of a National Mediation Board (NMB) representation decision
under Section 2, Ninth of the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C.
§ 152, Ninth, is precluded.

8. BRAC is without knowledge or information sufficient to
form a belief as to plaintiff Russell’s residency and BRAC
denies the remaining allegations of paragraph 3 of the com-
plaint. Further answering BRAC states that at all times mate-
rial it is, has been and continues to serve as the certified
bargaining representative for the craft or class of patrolmen
employed by the Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway Co.
(Santa Fe).

9. BRAC denies the allegations of paragraph 9.

10. BRAC admits the first two sentences of paragraph 10
and is without knowledge or information sufficient to form a
belief as to the truth of the allegations of the third sentence
thereof. BRAC admits the allegations of the last sentence of
paragraph 10, and further answering states that the mem-
a ee ee

satisfies constitutional and statutory requirements.

1. ‘BRAC denies the allegations of paragraph 11 of the
Pond
12. Upon information and belief, BRAC admits the allega-
tions of paragraph 12 of the complaint but further answering
states that any demands by Russell for recognition and for
deducted dues were made as a result of illegal assistance,
inducement, coercion and interference by Santa Fe in violation
of Sections 2, Third, Fourth, Ninth and Eleventh of the Rail-
way Labor Act.

13. BRAC admits the allegations of paragraph 13 of the
complaint.

14.-16. BRAC denies the allegations and each of them of
paragraphs 14, 15 and 16 of the complaint.

17. Pee: pedro oe he eey mra-nddy 80 hos
to paragraphs 1 through 16, inclusive, in answer to
cosdelaas ef Ga deaiahes.
18. BRAC denies the allegations of paragraph 18 of the
complaint.

Se

64a

WHEREFORE, the complaint should be dismissed with
prejudice and costs taxed against plaintiffs. °

Robert S. Sugarman
Ropert S. SUGARMAN

Stephen B. Horwitz
STEPHEN B. Horwitz

Attorneys for BRAC

Jacoss, Burns, SUGARMAN & ORLOVE
201 North Wells Street, Suite 1900
Chicago, Illinois 60606

312/872-1646

*BRAC’s pleadings on Santa Fe’s Crossclaim for interpleader have
been omitted as well as BRAC’s Exhibit A to its Answer for reasons
of space.

65a

APPENDIX I

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
AMARILLO DIVISION

CIVIL ACTION NO.
CA-2-81-138

LAURENCE G. RUSSELL, WILLIAM L. HANNA,
and Eppie D. LANGWELL,
Plaintiffs,

vs.

NATIONAL MEDIATION BoarD, THE ATCHISON, TOPEKA
AND SANTA FE Raitway Company, and
BROTHERHOOD OF RAILWAY, AIRLINE AND STEAMSHIP CLERKS,
FREIGHT HANDLERS, EXPRESS AND STATION EMPLOYES,

Defendants.

ORDER OF DISMISSAL

IT IS ORDERED that the claim of Plaintiffs LAURENCE
G. RUSSELL, WILLIAM L. HANNA and EDDIE D.
LANGWELL against Defendant THE ATCHISON, TOPE-
KA AND SANTA FE RAILWAY COMPANY be, and the
same is, hereby dismissed.

DATED This 20th day of August, 1982.

/s/ Mary Lou Thompson
Mary Lou THompson

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE PRESIDING

66a

APPENDIX J

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
AMARILLO DIVISION

CIVIL ACTION NO.
CA-2-81-138

LAURENCE G. RUSSELL, WILLIAM L. HANNA,
and Eppie D. LANGWELL,
Plaintiffs,

vs.

NATIONAL MEDIATION BoarD, THE ATCHISON, TOPEKA
AND SANTA FE RaILway ComPANy, and
BROTHERHOOD OF RAILWAY, AIRLINE AND STEAMSHIP CLERKS,
FREIGHT HANDLERS, EXPRESS AND STATION EMPLOYES,

Defendants.

NOTICE OF APPEAL

Notice is hereby given that plaintiffs Laurence G. Russell,
William L. Hanna and Eddie D. Langwell hereby appeal to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit from the
March 17, 1982 order granting defendant National Mediation

This order became final and appealabie upon the subsequent
final orders of this Court dismissing the defendant Atchison
Topeka and Santa Fe Railway Company (Santa Fe) on August
20, 1982, and the Brotherhood of Railway, Airline and Steam-
ship Clerks, Freight Handlers, Express and State Employees
(BRAC), on August 27, 1982. The dismissal of the Second

67a

Cause of Action against defendants Santa Fe and BRAC is not

being appealed.

Respectfully submitted this 2nd day of September, 1982.

/s/ Robert F. Gore

Rospert F.. Gore

National Right To Work Legal
Defense Foundation, Inc.

8001 Braddock Road

Springfield, VA 22160
(708) 321-8510

JoHN CosMICc

910 Barfield Building
Amarillo, TX 79101
(806) 373-0711

Attorneys for the Plaintiffs

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1475%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
