# Petition — Demarest v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1113%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 466 U.S. 950

## Text

a

n

No. FILED

JAN 18 ge
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States.

October Term, 1983

STEPHEN H. DEMAREST,
Petitioner,
v

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, et al,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

RONALD M. GOULD*
SUSAN BARLEY
Perkins, Coie, Stone,
Olsen & Williams
1900 Washington Bidg.
Seattle, Washington 98101
Telephone: (206) 682-8770

JOSEPH C. ZENGERLE
Bingham, Dana & Gould
1724 Mass. Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
Telephone: (202) 822-9320

*Counsel of Record
Attorneys for Petitioner

i
QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the denial of retained counsel to applicants for
veterans’ benefits, imposed by a $10 limit on attorneys’ fees
under 38 U.S.C. § 3404 and enforced by criminal sanctions,
is offensive to the Due Process Clause of the Fifth
Amendment of the Constitution.

ii
LIST OF ALL PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Petitioner is Stephen H. Demarest.
Respondents are the United States and the Veterans’
Administrati

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Pre . te 1
, ̃ ò Ü! 1
Constitutional Provisions and Statutes Involved 2
Dente TO COBO... ccc cece we cees 3
Reasons for Granting the Writ ................... 5
I. The $10 Attorneys’ Fees Limitation Violates the

SD FOUND 5 os wicks ces ccasesips ss 5

A. The Denial of Retained Counsel in Disability
Compensation Proceedings Before the
Veterans’ Administration Deprives
Applicants for Veterans’ Benefits of

Procedural Due Process................ 5

1. Applicants Have a Constitutionally
Protected Property Interest in Their
Statutory Entitlement to Disability

2. Denial of Retained Counsel Violates the
Process That Is Due Applicants for
Veterans Benefits 9

a. The applicant’s interest tt 10
b. The government’s claimed interest . 14

B. The $10 Attorneys’ Fees Limitation Imposed
by 38 U.S.C. § 3404 Also Violates

Substantive Due Process .............. 17
1. The Challenged Restriction Unjustifiably
Abridges a Fundamental Right 17

2. Alternatively, the Fees Limitation Has
SD. 20

iv
Page

II. This Court Should Give This Case Plenary Review
Because of Its Importance to Veterans and Their

r avs ohh oa de Ran ee 20
r c abe ssh eee ae eee 22
Appendices

Appendix A—Opinion and Judgment of the Court of
e,, Oe ee ee eet ge Seok hs A-l

Appendix B—Opinion and Judgment of United States
District Court for the Western District of Washington B-1

Appendix C Findings d Decision of Board of Veterans
Appeals, Dated August 9, 19399 C-1

Appendix D—Excerpts from Annual Report of the
Veterans’ Administration, 1982, by Administrator of
Veterans’ Affairs, Pursuant to 38 U.S.C. § 214..... D-1

Appendix E—Excerpt from Statement of John F.
Terzano, Legislative Director of the Vietnam Veterans of
% whee cba en ae 4 tae E-1

TABLES OF AUTHORITY
Table of Cases
Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144 (1970).... 17
Barnett v. Lindsay, 319 F. Supp. 610 (D. Utah 1970) 6,10
Blonder Tongue Laboratories, Inc. u. University of

Illinois Foundation, 402 U.S. 313 (1971).......... 17
Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972) .... 6,7,8
Bolling v. Sharpe, 347 U.S. 497 (1954) 20

Cafeteria & Restaurant Workers Union v. McElroy,

0 10

Carey v. Population Services International, 431 U.S. 678
D „ Van. hase 17

Page

Davis v. United States, ~
415 F. Supp. 1086 (D. Kan. 1976).......... 7-8,10,12
Devine v. Cleland, 616 F.2d 1080 (9th Cir. 1980) .... 6
Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974)............ 9
Faretta v. California, 422 U.S. 806 (1975) ........ 13,18
Feres v. United States, 340 U.S. 135 (1950)......... 12
Gagnon v. Scarpelli, 411 U.S. 778 (1973) ........... 11

Gendron v. Saxbe, 389 F. Supp. 1303 (C. D. Cal. ), aff'd
sub nom. Gendron v. Levi, 423 U.S. 802 (10975) 4.8.9

Gideon u. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335 (1963) 18
Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970) .5-6,8,10,15,19
Griffeth v. Detrich, 603 F.2d 118 (9th Cir. 1979)... .. 7
Heryford v. Parker, 396 F.2d 393 (10th Cir. 1968) ... 18
Hines u. Lowrey, 305 U.S. 85 (1938)............... 17
Hoffmaster v. Veterans’ Administration, 444 F.2d 192
rr t.... 17
Holley v. United States, 352 F. Supp. 175 (S. D. Ohio
%%% ey ere ee ae ²˙Gl.ͤ:ͤ̃̃ ũ ů—-̃ 18 17
Illinois v. Allen, 397 U.S. 337 (197h́ꝓ 13
In re Barnard, 455 F.2d 1370 (D.C. Cir. 1971)....... 18
nee 18
Johnson v. Robison, 415 U.S. 361 (1974) ........... 4,5
Kelly v. Railroad Retirement Bd., 625 F.2d 486 (1980) 7
Margolin v. United States, 269 U.S. 93 (1925)....... 17
9 Bd. of Retirement v. Murgia 427 U.S. 307 :

Le

vi

Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471 (1972) 4a 10

National Ass n of Radiation Survivors v. Walters, No.
e , h 4

Plato v. Roudebush, 397 F. Supp. 1295 (D. Md. 1975) 6
Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45 (1932)............. 19
Ramos v. Lamm, 359 F. Supp. 730 (D. Colo. 1982)... 14
Ressler v. Pierce, 692 F.2d 1212 (9th Cir. 1982) .... 7,10
Schneider v. Smith, 390 U.S. 17 (1968)............. 19
Shaw v. Weinberger, 395 F. Supp. 268 (W. D. N. C. 1975) 7
United Mine Workers v. Illinois Bar Ass'n, 389 217 (1967) 19
United States v. Carolene Products, 304 U.S. 144 (1938) 20

Wright v. Califano, 587 F.2d 345 (7th Cir. 1978)..... 7
Constitutional Provisions
a re ep -.. 2,20
Statutes
, NR CE 15
ELE CTE 14,20
, ͤ 20
D ee ees 12
, ̃ ͤ . ae wes Fie 1
SEE REDE POS gee AE 2,4,5
, . bene 6 Oa 7
USS. el 2.3.17
F 2.3
. one same 15

vii

Page

Rules and Regulations
, œ bos EES hia pes 0h Sob 0 Beet 9
, TT.... 9
Zgñ eo, caw we hice we a eet ees 12
,,,, A ˙ A ˙ 11

Other Authorities

Hearing. Herbicide Agent Orange, Before the
Subcomm. on Medical Facilities and Benefits of the
Comm. on Veterans’ Affairs, U.S. House of
Representatives, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. (June 20,1979) 9

Hearing. Veterans Claims for Disabilities for Nuclear
Weapons Testing.“ Before the Comm. On Veterans’
Affairs, U.S. Senate, 96th Cong., Ist Sess. (June 20,
%%%ͤœꝙẽ mi ⅛ mm ß le ob.) a 9

Hearings on S. 330 Before the Senate Committee on
Veterans Affairs, 96th Cong., Ist Sess. (1979) 15

21 C. Wright & K. Graham, Federal Practice and
,, 3 AG ca Oa ERO s aad uw ne che 11

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1983

No.

STEPHEN H. DEMAREST,
Petitioner,
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, et al,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner Stephen H. Demarest ( Demarest) requests
that this Court issue a writ of certiorari to review the
judgment and opinion of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals, which is reported at
718 F.2d 964 (9th Cir. 1983), is Appendix A to this petition.
The decision of the United States District Court for the

Western District of Washington is Appendix B. The Findings
and Decision of the Board of Veterans Appeals is Appendix C.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit was entered on October 20, 1983. This petition for
certiorari was timely filed and this Court’s jurisdiction
invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254.

2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
AND STATUTES INVOLVED

The Fifth Amendment to the Constitution of the United
States provides: No person shall be . . . deprived of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law.

ss
38 U.S.C. § 211 provides in part:
§ 211. Decisions by Administrator

(a) the decisions of the Administrator on any — question
of law or fact under any law administered by the {
n22U]u—— —ͤ—„— 442 and (air
dependents or survivors shall be final and conclusive and
no other official or any court of the United States shall
have power or jurisdiction to review any such decision by
an action in nature of mandamus or otherwise.

38 U.S.C. § 3404 provides in part:
§ 3404. Recognition of agents and attorneys generally

*

(c) The Administrator shal determine and pay fees
to agen 1 menage See section in
allowed claims for monetary benefits under laws
administered by the Veterans’ Administration. Such fees-

2 as prescribed b
the Administrator; “i N

S 650 URL retest to eny exo
claim; and

(3) shall be deducted from monetary benefits
claimed and allowed.

38 U.S.C. § 3405 provides:
§$ 3405. 2

charges.
for, or receive, any y io of compares
as in sections 3404 or 784 of this title, or (2)
— — bien any claimant of banbiiclary

3

any part of a benefit or claim allowed and due him, shall
be fined not more than $500 or imprisoned at hard labor
for not more than two years, or

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Petitioner Demarest is an American veteran who suffered
two disabling injuries during his four year tour of duty with
the U.S. Air Force.

After his honorable discharge in 1980, Demarest applied
for benefits from the Veterans’ Administration (‘‘VA”’). The
VA determined that Demarest’s injuries were service
connected but denied his claim, finding that these injuries
were not disabling to a compensable degree.

Demarest sued in the United States District Court for
the Western District of Washington alleging that the VA
was arbitrary and capricious in denying his claim for
disability compensation. Demarest also challenged the
constitutionality of the statutorily imposed $10 limitation
on attorneys’ fees under 38 U.S.C. §§ 3404 and 3405. Because
of this limitation he was unable to pay and retain counsel
to represent him. 38 U.S.C. § 3404(c) limits to $10 per claim
the amount of attorneys’ fees payable for representation of
a veteran before the VA on a disability claim, and 38 U.S.C.
§ 3405 provides criminal (felony) penalties, including
imprisonment at hard labor, for violation of the attorneys’
fees limitation.

The District Court granted summary judgment for the
government, holding that it was without jurisdiction to
consider Demarest’s claims for benefits, and rejecting
Demarest’s contentions that the attorneys’ fees limitation
of 38 U.S.C. § 3404 violated his rights to due process and

1. Demarest commenced this action while attending law school and
represented himself pro se through the Court of Appeals. The undersigned
agreed to represent Demarest in this petition for a writ of certiorari.
Demarest has provided assistance in the drafting of
this petition.

4

equal protection, relying on Gendron v. Saxbe, 38y F. Supp.
1303 (C.D. Cal.), aff'd sub nom. Gendron v. Levi, 423 U.S.
802 (1975). App. B at 2.

The Court of Appeals affirmed, holding that the District
Court had no jurisdiction to consider Demarest’s challenge
to the VA’s disposition of his disability claims because 38
U.S.C. § 211(a) provides that all decisions of the VA
concerning veterans’ benefits are final; no federal court will
have jurisdiction to review them. App. A at 2. The appellate
court acknowledged that under Johnson v. Robison, 415 U.S.
361, 366-74 (1974), Section 211 did not bar constitutional
challenges to the veterans’ benefits laws and therefore
presented no jurisdictional barrier to Demarest’s challenge
to the statutory attorneys’ fees limitation. App. A at 3.

Rejecting Demarest’s contention that these provisions
violated his right to due process in consideration of his
disability claims before the VA, the Court of Appeals held
that this Court’s summary affirmance in Gendron v. Levi,
423 U.S. 802 (1975), aff g sub nom. Gendron v. Saxbe, 389
F. Supp. 1303 (C.D. Cal. 1975), was controlling. App. A at
3-6. The summary judgment was vacated and remanded for
entry of judgment of dismissal for lack of jurisdiction on
Demarest’s claim for benefits and the remainder of the
judgment, rejecting the constitutional challenge to the fees
limitation, was affirmed. App. A at 6.“

2. Another action challenging the $10 fee limit, as applied to particular

complex claims, is pending in the Northern District of California. National !

Ass'n of Radiation Survivors v. Walters, No. C-83-1861-MHP N. D. Cal.)
(defendant’s motion to dismiss denied, Oct. 21, 1983; decision on
publication pending).

5
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The 810 Attorneys’ Fees Limitation Violates the Due
Process Clause.

A. ü ee ee Oe
pensa Proceedings ore eterans’
ministration Deprives Applicants for Veterans’
Benefits of Procedural Due Process.

Procedural due process imposes a constraint on
governmental power to deprive individuals of liberty or of a
property interest within the meaning of the Due Process Clause
of the Fifth Amendment. This mandate fundamentally includes

procedural protections to ensure a fair hearing before
governmental benefits are denied or terminated.

The VA is a governmental agency with unique powers.
VA decisions on claims for veterans’ benefits are final; 38
U.S.C. § 211(a) provides that the decisions of the VA are not
subject to judicial review.’ For this reason the need to ensure
fairness within the administrative process is compelling. The
right to retain independent legal counsel is essential to ensure
fair hearings and a perception of fairness.

1 5 In — Their — —
terest t
te Naabate Benefits.

In Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970), this Court held
that welfare recipients have a property interest in welfare
benefits and are entitled to certain procedural protections
before termination of their benefits. [Sluch benefits are a
matter of statutory entitlement for persons qualified to

3. In the courts below Demarest challenged the constitutionality of
the statutory provision precluding judicial review. Because Johnson v.
Robison, 415 U.S. 361 (1974), upholds the constitutionality of the
prohibition of judicial review of benefits’ decisions in particular cases,
this issue is not raised in this petition.

The Senate has passed a bill, S. 636, 98th Cong., Ist Sess. (1983), to
provide judicial review of VA decisions on benefit claims; bills H.R. 1959
and H.R. 3300 on this subject are now pending in the House of
Representatives.

>
>

6

receive them. Jd. at 262. Recipients were entitled to a pre-
termination hearing with notice, which included the right to
be represented by retained counsel. Jd. at 270-71.

In Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972), an
assistant professor hired for the term of one year alleged that

he possessed a property interest in continued employment.
This Court denied his property interest, holding:

To have a property interest in a benefit, a person clear!
sunes bebe tales Chan rr
He must have more than a unilateral expectation of it.
1 instead, have a legitimate claim of entitlement
to it...

Thus, the welfare recipients in Goldberg v. Kelly, supra,

Grounded in the statute defining eligthalcy for thacn. The
sta y for

recipients had not yet shown that were, in fact,

wi — yey heme atta oo ay ——

yg aaa might attempt
to do so.

Id. at 577.

These rules have been applied to the VA, in a decision
that VA benefits cannot be terminated without a pre-
termination hearing because the recipients had a protected

y interest. Plato v. Roudebush, 397 F. Supp. 1295,
1308 (D. Md. 1975). See also Devine v Cleland, 616 F.2d 1080
(9th Cir. 1980).

This Court’s recognition that individuals with a statutory
entitlement have a constitutionally protected interest has
been extended to applicants for statutory benefits. In many
administrative contexts, courts have held that applicants,
like recipients threatened with termination, have a property
interest based on statutory entitlement to benefits.‘ More

4. Barnett v. Lindsay, 319 F. Supp. 610, 612 OD. Utuh 1970) (under
Goldberg summary denial of welfare assistance cannot be distinguished
from summary termination. welfare applicant has statutory entitlement
property interest, and procedural protections found in Goldberg apply
to all stages of weifare process ‘‘whenever the proposed administrative
action contemplates the denial or termination of statutorily created

7

specifically, applicants for disability compensation benefits
have been found to have a property interest.“

38 U.S.C. § 331 outlines the requirements for the
awarding of veterans’ disability benefits under the heading
Basic Entitlement.’’ The applicant must establish active
duty military service, a discharge other than dishonorable,
and a service-connected disability that was not the result
of his or her own willful misconduct.

Demarest completed four years of active duty service and
was honorably discharged. During his service he suffered
personal injuries and was disabled. The VA made a line of
duty determination, established service connection and
concluded that willful misconduct was not involved.
Demarest thus has a legitimate claim of entitlement based
on statutory eligibility requirements for veterans’ disability
benefits. The government cannot deprive him of this property
interest without due process of law.

Footnote 4 (Con't)

welfare benefits; Shaw v. Weinberger, 395 F. Supp. 268 (W. D. N. C. 1975)
(applicant for Social Security income possesses property interest despite
discretion left to Secretary); Wright v. Califano, 587 F.2d 345, 354 (7th
Cir. 1978) (‘‘denials [of Social Security benefits] do not necessarily deserve
less due process than terminations”’); Griffeth u. Detrich, 603 F.2d 118,
121 (9th Cir. 1979) (‘authorizing statute coupled with the implementing
regulations of the county creates a legitimate claim of entitlement and
expectancy of benefits in persons who claim to meet the eligibility re-
quirements (for general relie{]"’); Ressler u. Pierce, 692 F.2d 1212, 1215
(9th Cir. 1982) (Roth, Griffeth mandate that applicants for subsidized hous-
ing have a property interest because of standards determining eligibility).
5. For example, in Kelly v. Railroad Retirement Bd. 625 F. 2d 486, 489
(1980), the Third Circuit held that due process attaches to the determina-
tion of eligibility at application for, or after receipt of, disability benefits.
Similarly, in Davis v. United States, 415 F. Supp. 1086, 1090-91 (D.
Kan. 1976), the court analyzed the property interest of an applicant for
disability berefits for injuries allegediy suffered while employed in a
federal prison hospital:
Te applicant's interest consists of a claim authorized by statute
and regulations to secure compensation for alleged employment

8

The three judge district court in Gendron v. Saxbe, 389
F. Supp. 1303, followed by the Ninth Circuit here, held that
the plaintiff did not possess the requisite property interest
in veterans’ benefits. 389 F. Supp. at 1306. Gendron may
have interpreted the property interest defined in Goldberg
and Roth to encompass only recipients of veterans’ benefits
and not applicants. But this cannot properly be reconciled
with Goldberg and Roth, nor with the consensus of judicial
opinion. See notes 4, 5, supra.*

Footnote 5 (Con't)

disabilities of prison origin that may severely restrict, and sometimes
eradicate, his earning potential upon release into society. Although
at the application stage of the proceedings neither plaintiff nor a
claimant in his position has yet been administratively adjudged
entitled to receive benefits under the regulatory scheme, an applicant
nonetheless possesses a property interest of sufficient magnitude to
invoke the protection of the Fifth Amendment's due process clause.
This property interest is one of substantial importance to the
plaintiff, as its arbitrary denial could leave him with an
uncompensated disability of lifelong duration and condemn him to
“suffer grievous loss.”

(citations omitted) (emphasis added). The court rejected the government's
arguments that applicants for statutory benefits are unworthy of due

process protection, observing: ‘‘Indeed, other language in Roth itself
expressly foreclosse such a restrained interpretation of « legitimate
property interest. Id.

6. The Gendron district court opinion can also be read to hold only
that the plaintiff in that case, who had not proven a service connection
for his alleged disability, had no property interest. 389 F. Supp. at 1306.
That case is inapplicable here because the service connection for
Demarest's injuries was established.

The Ninth Circuit found this important distinction irrelevant, App.
A at 465, and held that the Supreme Court s affirmance of Gendron
‘necessarily’ represents one of two conclusions: that Gendron did not
have a constitutionally protectibie l- ie] property interest in the disability
benefits sought,’ or, alternatively, the Court may have concluded that
© property interest existed but the fee limitation did not violate the
veteran's right to procedural due process.’ App. A at 5.

In addition to Gendron's different facts and its possibly erroneous
treatment of applicants interests, certain novel and complex bases for VA

9
This Court in Goldberg established that property rights
based on statutory entitlement to benefits are protected by
the Due Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment. Federal
courts have almost universally held that applicants for
statutory entitlements also have a protected property interest.
This Court on plenary review should confirm that principle.

2. Denial of Retained Counsel Violates the Process
That Is Due Applicants for Veterans’ Benefits.

Because Demarest has the requisite property interest, the
inquiry shifts to what process is due based on a flexible

Footnote 6 (Con't)

disability claims as to which the assistance of counsel would be
particularly important, see p. 11 infra, had not emerged in any significant
way by the time of the Gendron decision in 1975. For example, the first
congressional hearing on the effect of veterans’ exposure to the herbicide
used in the Vietnam war and containing the deadly contaminant dioxin,
known commonly as Agent Orange, was not held until 1978. Hearing,
“Herbicide Agent Orange Before the Subcomm. on Medical Facilities
and Benefits of the Comm. on Veterans’ Affairs, U.S. House of
Representatives, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. (Oct. 11, 1978). The first
Congressional hearing on the effect of veterans’ exposure to atomic
radiation was not held until 1979. Hearing. Veterans Claims for
Disabilities for Nuclear Weapons Testing. Before the Comm. on Veterans
Affairs, U.S. Senate, 96th Cong., Ist Sess. (June 20, 1979). And the

Psychiatric
Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (3rd ed., 1980). VA regulations
require that mental disorders, including those used as a basis for benefits
claims, be diagnosed in accordance with this manual. 38 C. F. R. §§ 4.125
and 4.126. These developments should be taken into account in
determining the requirements of due process, a constitutional doctrine
that must be applied flexibly to accommodate changing conditions.

Finally, even if Gendron is controlling in the Ninth Circuit, this Court
has never given plenary review to the issues of the procedural protections
due applicants for veterans benefits. A summary affirmance has relatively
little precedential weight for this Court. As explained in Massachusetts
Bad. of Retirement u Murgia, 427 U.S. 307, 308 n.1 (1976): Our cursory
consideration in those cases (summary affirmances| does not, of course.
foreclose this opportunity to consider more fully that question. See
Bdeiman u. Jordan, 415 U.S. 661, 670-71 (1974).

10

balancing test weighing the interests of applicants for
veterans’ benefits and the government. See. e. g., Mathews
v. Eldridge,424 U.S. 319, 334-35 (1976); Cafeteria &
Restaurant Workers Union v. McElroy, 367 U.S. 886, 895
(1961); Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471, 481 (1972);
Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. at 263-71.

a. The applicant’s interest

The $10 fees limitation denies veterans retained counsel
absent representation pro bono publico. The government
must concede that a $10 fees limitation practically prohibits
a disabled veteran or a survivor from retaining any counsel
who wish to be compensated for services.

The ability to retain counsel is a major part of procedural
due process in an administrative setting. In Goldberg this
Court held that the pre-termination hearing included a right
to be represented by counsel:

The right to be heard would be, in many cases, of little
avail if it did not com — Fy ght ht
counsel. [Powell v. Aldine, 287 U.S. 45, 68-69 (1932).
e
termination hearing, but only that the recipient must be
allowed to retain an attorney if he so desires. Counsel can
help delineate the issues, present the factual contentions
in an orderly manner, conduct cross-examination, and
generally safeguard the interests of the recipient.

397 U.S. at 270-71.

Federal courts have reached similar conclusions in various
administrative settings. To illustrate, in Ressler v. Pierce.
692 F.2d 1212, 1219 (9th Cir. 1982), the Ninth Circuit held
that an applicant for public housing has a due process right
to retain and be represented by an attorney. In Barnett v.
Lindsay, 319 F. Supp. 610, 612 (D. Utah 1970), the court

process, including application. In Davis v. United States, 415
F. Supp. 1086 (D. Kan. 1976), the court held that a former
prison inmate applying for disability compensation had a
constitutional right to retain an attorney. Thus there is a

11

recognized procedural right to use retained counsel in
administrative hearings.’

If applicants for benefits have a procedural right to a
hearing on their entitlement, they have a right to a
meaningful hearing grounded on fair procedures. The aid of
retained counsel for an applicant for veterans’ benefits is
conducive to reliable determination of entitlement to benefits.
A lawyer may marshal facts, ensure that important rights
are not waived or abandoned, and advance the applicant’s
interest on questions of regulatory interpretation and law.
Claims may encompass difficult substantive issues of medical
proof and causation. The 1982 Annual Report of the VA also
notes increasingly complex claims for Agent Orange, atomic
radiation, prisoners of war, and post-traumatic stress
disorders. See App. D at 5-6. Even in relatively routine
disability cases like that of Demarest, many complex issues
of regulatory law and proof are presented, as may be seen
by a review of the Findings and Decision of the Board of
Veterans Appeals on Demarest’s claim. See App. C and note
6, supra.“

7. Gagnon v. Scarpelli, 411 U.S. 778, 787-91 (1973), rejecting a general
requirement of counsel in probation revocation hearings is not to the
contrary because that case involved the issue of appointed, not retained,
counsel. As this Court there stated:

Since respondent did not attempt to retain counsel but asked only
for appointed counsel, we have no occasion to decide in this case
whether a probationer or parolee has a right to be represented at a
revocation hearing by retained counsel in situations other than those
where the State would be obliged to furnish counsel for an indigent.

Id. at 783 n.6.

8. This action was commenced in the federal district court before the
final decision of the Board of Veterans Appeals (“BVA”), in App. C. was
rendered. The Ninth Circuit, by its Order Denying Appellant's Post-
Argument Motion (filed September 26, 1983), denied Demarest’s motion
to file a supplemental brief after argument containing facts and law
including the BVA decision entered August 9, 1983, and so the BVA's
decision is not of record. However, this Court may take judicial notice
of the BVA decision. F. R. E. § 201(b\2). See 21 C. Wright & K. Graham,
Federal Practice and Procedure, § 5106, at 506 (The most frequent use

12

These principles apply with even greater force because
veterans disabled through military service may have lost all
or much of their ability to earn a living. [Alxbitrary denial
could leave [a veteran] with an uncompensated disability of
lifelong duration and condemn him to ‘suffer grievous loss.
Davis, 415 F. Supp. at 1091 (citation omitted). Also, veterans
cannot sue under the Federal Tort Claims Act for disabilities
resulting from military service. Feres v. United States, 340
U.S. 135 (1950). Compensation from the VA is generally their
sole remedy for service-connected disabilities. Perhaps more
importantly, the VA’s decision is final. See note 3, supra.
In Davis, the court stressed the exclusive nature of the

administrative remedy in reaffirming a right to a hearing
and representation of counsel:

Since 18 U.S.C. § 4126 2 the exclusive remedy er
collection of benefits by an inmate, a claimant has n
other taeums ‘of sedress should he be tho vistim of on
arbitrary denial and thus may be condemned to endure
the draconian effects of an uncompensated disability.

415 F. Supp. at 1099.

In contrast to the simple procedural process of applying
for veterans’ benefits in the 1860’s when the attorneys’ fees
limitation was instituted, the modern application process is
complex. In the event of denial of a claim, the applicant must
then file a Notice of Disagreement and formulate a basis for
an Appeal from the Statement of the Case provided by the
VA. See 38 C. F. R. §§ 4005 et. seg. The Appeal must conform
to regulatory requirements or risk dismissal.

Veterans’ service organization representatives who assist
applicants for veterans’ benefits are doubtless able and well
motivated. But without legal training these representatives
may be unable to represent veterans effectively in particular
cases. They may or may not perceive relevant legal issues

Footnote 8 (Con't)

of judicial notice of ascertainable facts [under F. R. E., § 201 (b is in
noticing the content of court records. ). Accordingly, we have included
that decision as App. C.

13

and they certainly are disadvantaged, as contrasted with
lawyers, in marshalling facts and arguments in aid of the
applicant. By contrast, it is undisputed that the VA employs
legal counsel to process claims. See VA 1982 Annual Report,
App. D at 7 (Among the 17 sections there were 33 legal
. . members. Supporting the sections [were] . 107 staff
attorneys ....”). And it therefore seems fair to conclude that
permitting applicants for veterans’ benefits to retain counsel
to assist them can only aid in a fair resolution of claims and
increase the reliability of the claims determination process.“

Moreover, the option to choose to retain independent
counsel will also enhance veterans’ perceptions of the fairness
of the proceedings. Applicants will better appreciate the
fairness of the agency process if they have the option to
retain counsel who can advise them of its legal adequacy.
Institutions that are closed to such scrutiny do not foster
the essential sense of fairness that public bodies must seek
to promote.

The interest of veterans in retaining counsel when they
deem it appropriate also raises an issue of transcending
importance, the right of informed choice in a free society.
Institutions or procedures that threaten personal liberty and
free, informed choice should be suspect. Our Constitution
does not favor statism over the dignity of the individual.“

9. Although some veterans’ service organizations who provide service
representatives on claims in the VA may not urge a need for counsel, other
veterans’ organizations support the right to choose to retain counsel. See
Congressional testimony of John F. Terzano of Vietnam Veterans of
America, App. E.

10. As this Court has stated in Faretta v. California, 422 U.S. 806
(1975), while finding that a criminal defendant has a Sixth Amendment
right to conduct his own defense, ‘‘whatever else may be said of those
who wrote the Bill of Rights, surely there can be no doubt that they
understood the inestimable worth of free choice. 422 U.S. at 833-34. Such
choice must be honored out of that respect for the individual which is
the lifeblood of the law. 422 U.S. at 834 (citing Illinois v. Allen, 397 U.S.
337, 350-51 (1970) (Brennan, J., concurring)).

14
b. The government’s claimed interest.

The government has defended the attorneys’ fees limita-
tion as a protection for applicants to avoid depletion of
benefits awarded. The claimed interest is one of the appli-
cant, asserted by the government. All the petitioner seeks
is the right to retain counsel at his own expense, not to have
the government provide such counsel. The government pro-
tests that it is protecting veterans from having to share their
benefits with attorneys, and asserts that adequate represen-
tation by service organizations renders attorneys for veterans
unnecessary. But this paternalism is misplaced where
benefits have been denied to veterans who believe that their
best interests would have been better served had they had
the option of retaining counsel to represent them. Also, the
statute does not merely limit depletion of benefits; it even
prohibits veterans from paying their counsel with their own
funds to gain better representation.

The many instances in which retention of counsel is
allowed in similar administrative proceedings diminish the
credibility of the government’s asserted interest. Moreover,
in contrast to the government’s claimed concern for the
veterans who must rely solely on disability benefits from the
VA, qualified officers and enlisted personnel may use counsel
to seek military retirement or separation benefits under 10
U.S.C. § 1201 et seg. See note 14, infra. Finally, the
government’s asserted interest is certainly unusual, and is
contradicted by the congressional policies expressed in many
other contexts where not only are retained counsel permitted
but also an award of attorneys’ fees is made possible by
statute, thus facilitating the use of counsel. For a list of
federal statutes authorizing award of attorneys’ fees in
dozens of contexts, see Appendix A in Ramos v. Lamm, 359
F. Supp. 730, 755-57 (D. Colo. 1982).

Even if the government has a legitimate interest in
limiting recovery for attorneys, such limitation must be
reasonable and not act as an effective prohibition against
counsel. Certainly, less drastic alternatives are available to
guarantee that veterans’ disability benefits not be depleted

15

unreasonably during VA proceedings. In similar contexts,
statutory limitations on the award of attorneys’ fees have
been established on bases that protect claimants while per-
mitting the retention of counsel. As examples, under the
Social Security Act attorneys’ fees must be court approved
and are limited to 25 percent of the past due benefit recovery,
42 U.S.C. § 406(b)(1); the Federal Tort Claims Act imposes
a similar percentage limit on fees, 28 U.S.C. § 2678; the
Federal Employees’ Compensation Act provides a similar
reasonable restriction, permitting attorneys’ fees when ap-
proved”’ by the Secretary, 5 U.S.C. § 8127(b). Similarly, each
of three bills that have passed in the Senate relating to VA
disability proceedings have provided for the Administrator
of Veterans’ Affairs to approve reasonable attorneys’ fees.
S. 330, 96th Cong., Ist Sess. (1979); S. 349, 97th Cong., 2d
Sess. (1982); S. 636, 98th Cong., 1st Sess. (1983). These bills
show both that less restrictive means may advance the
asserted governmental interest and that Congress, for
whatever reasons, has been unable to adopt them.

It may be inevitable that if removal of the attorneys’ fees
limitation results in more successful claims because of more
effective representation of applicants’ interests, government
expenditures will increase. But denial of valid claims because
of inadequate representation is not a legitimate government
interest, and has not been urged by the government. The
possibility of any increased administrative cost resulting
from increased effective hearings might be worthy of some
consideration, but would not here justify a denial of increased
procedural protection that surely would enhance the
reliability of determinations. Goldberg, 397 U.S. at 266.

The historical antecedents of the challenged attorneys’
fees limitation undercut the current viability of the interest
now asserted by the government in denying retained counsel
to applicants. When set in earlier times, the dollar limit may

11. See generally Hearings on S. 330 Before the Senate Committee
on Veterans’ Affairs, 96th Cong., Ist Sess.(1979). The weight of historical
evidence discussed shows an intent to facilitate the use of lawyers in aid

16

not have precluded and perhaps facilitated the proper use
of counsel, guarding only against fraud and overreaching.
In consideration of the value of today’s dollars the limit no
longer regulates but precludes retained counsel. The
organized bar has developed procedures to avoid fraud or
overreaching, eliminating any substantial justification on
that ground. See ABA Model Code of Professional
Responsibility, ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct
and related state bar associations’ codes of professional
responsibility. Thus the impact of the fee limitation has
become ill-advised, draconian in application and unfair in
concept. If ever this law was justified, it now is not needed.
A realistic, reasonable limitation on attorneys’ fees could
serve all legitimate government interests to the satisfaction
of everyone, while permitting disabled veterans or their
survivors the procedural right to retain counsel paid from
their own funds if desired.

* * *

The interests of applicants for veterans benefits in
retaining a lawyer outweigh any interests of the VA in
denying applicants that option.

This Court should grant review to evaluate the pertinent
interests and to determine what process is due applicants
in VA disability proceedings.

Footnote 11 (Con’t)

of the essentially clerical preparation of claims, before the development
of modern procedural and substantive complexities, while guarding
against fraud by claims agents and attorneys who were apparently
charging the upper limit of fees for work that was essentially clerical in
nature Id. at 17. Historical references mention ‘‘mercenary claim agent
leeches," and sharks who prey upon pensioners.” Id. at 16-17. Thus the
intent of Congress seems to have been only to cure excess without
impairing the use of attorneys for what was then largely clerical
assistance. The fee limit today precludes aid of counsel even on initial
application for claims. Moreover, insofar as there may have been an intent
to exclude attorneys from presenting claims apart from filing the forms,
such intent could no longer be appropriate for the reasons discussed herein
and seems also to be an affront to the recognized value of retained counsel
in civil matters.

17

B. The $10 Attorneys’ Fees Limitation by 38
U.S.C. § 3404 Also Violates Substantive Process.

The attorneys’ fees limitation imposed by 38 U.S.C § 3404
impermissibly restricts the rights of veterans and their
survivors to retain counsel in violation of substantive due
process. This Court never has decided the substantive due
process constitutionality of the attorneys’ fees limitation as
it pertains to veterans denied the right to retain counsel.”

1. The Challenged Restriction Unjustifiably
Abridges a Fundamental Right.

Where a government act infringes a fundamental right,
due process requires that the act be justified by a compelling
interest and be narrowly drawn to serve that precise interest.
E. g., Carey v. Population Services International, 431 U.S.
678, 686 (1977). This Court has implicitly recognized that
the right to retain counsel in an administrative hearing is
fundamental, and now should expressly so hold.

12. Where issues are neither raised before nor considered by the Court
of Appeals, this Court ordinarily will not consider them. Adickes v. S.H.
Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144, 147 n.2 (1970). Demarest raised a due process
claim below, albeit procedural due process. Whether this Court generally
would require specific due process grounds to be raised below, it retains
the power to decide this issue. Blonder Tongue Laboratories, Inc. v.
University of Illinois Foundation, 402 U.S. 313, 320 n.6 (1971). There is
no issue of comity with the states since the case arises on review from
the federal courts.

This Court has held predecessor statutes constitutional as enforced
against attorneys who were paid an amount in excess of the statutory
allowance. Hines v. Lowrey, 305 U.S. 85 (1938); Margolin v. United States,
269 U.S. 93 (1925). Those decisions of this Court are inapposite, involving
no veteran's claim of a right to retained counsel, and contain no significant
constitutional analysis because they were written before this Court’s
refinement of the due process principles applicable here. Hines and
Margolin have been incorrectly cited and followed without analysis in
Hoffmaster v. Veterans’ Administration, 444 F.2d 192 (3d Cir. 1971) and
Holley v. United States, 352 F.Supp. 175 (S.D. Ohio 1972), which rejected
veterans’ challenges to the constitionality of the attorneys’ fees limitation.

18

From the founding of this country, the importance of the
right to retain counsel has been recognized:

Either 2 . has a natural right to plead his own
cause; t right i is consistent with safety, therefore it is
retained; but the A oe may not be ab e, ... therefore
the civil right of pleading by proxy, that is, by a council
[sic], is an ap * to the natural right [of self -
representation] .

Thomas Payne on a Bill of Rights, 1777,“ reprinted in 1B
Schwartz, The Bill of Rights: A Documentary History, n.37,
at 316 (1971), quoted in Faretta v. California, 422 U.S. 806,
830 n.37 (1975).

In the criminal context, Gideon and its progeny highlight
the importance of the right to be represented by appointed
counsel: ‘“‘This noble ideal [to assure fair trials] cannot be
realized if the poor man charged with crime has to face his
accusers without a lawyer to assist him. Gideon v.
Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335, 344 (1963).

This Court’s decision in In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967),
in the setting of the juvenile court system, recognized that
unrepresented persons in noncriminal proceedings involving
the risk of loss of liberty were constitutionally entitled to
the assistance of counsel. This Court stressed:

juvenile needs the assistance of counsel to cope with
— of og to make skilled inquiry into weber facts,

to insist u a 4 y of the proceedings,
ascertain whether er

5 A 1
at every irrer against him [citing
„ v. "A 287 U.S. 45 (1932)}.

387 U.S. at 36.

The Supreme Court’s endorsement in Gault of the right
to appointed counsel in noncriminal proceedings that
threaten liberty was followed in Heryford v. Parker, 396 F.2d
393 (10th Cir. 1968), and in Jn re Barnard, 455 F.2d 1370
(D.C. Cir. 1971), in involuntary commitment proceedings.

19

An even broader rule applies to the right asser ted here
to use retained counsel. This case does not involve any issue
of appointed counsel, but, instead, solely the issue of a
procedural right of veterans to retain counsel of their choice
to be paid from their own funds. The right to a retained
attorney in all civil cases always has been assumed. As
Justice Sutherland emphasized in Powell v. Alabama, 287
U.S. 45, 69 (1932):

F

„5

emplo ,

aot be doobael that such a refusal would be a denial of

a hearing, and, therefore, of due process in the

constitutional sense.

This Court also has endorsed the fundamental benefits
of and the right to retained counsel in the civil administrative
context. As Goldberg v. Kelly stressed:

“The right to be heard would be, in many cases, of little

avail, if it did not comprehend the right to be heard by

counsel. We do not say that — must be provided
at the pre-: termination hearing, but only that the recipient
must be allowed to retain an attorney if he so desires.

Counsel can help delineate the issues, present the factual

contentions in an orderly manner, conduct cross-

examination, and generally safeguard the interests of
the recipient.

397 U.S. at 270-71 (citation omitted).

In view of the longstanding recognition of the importance
of the right to counsel in our society, restrictions on that
right should be given strict scrutiny. And clearly the
government’s alleged interest in avoiding depletion of
veterans’ benefits is not compelling. While Congress may
have an interest in limiting the amount paid to a lawyer by

13. The fee limitation statute also infringes upon separate and distinct
fundamental First Amendment rights such as speech, association, and
the right to petition. See, e.g., United Mine Workers u. Illinois Bar Ass'n,
389 U.S. 217, 222-23 (1967); Schneider v. Smith, 390 U.S. 17, 25 (1968).
This infringement of First Amendment rights also warrants
strict scrutiny.

20

a veteran seeking disability benefits, the $10 fees limitation
is arbitrary. An aim to prevent excessive attorneys’ fees paid
by veterans is not even rationally served by the $10 restric-
tion which prohibits any reasonable fees and thereby effec-
tively bars retained counsel. The statute’s prohibition is gross-
ly overinclusive, and its goals can be served by less drastic
and restrictive means. See discussion, supra, at 14-16.“

2. Alternatively, the Fees Limitation Has No
“Rational Basis.“

If the right to retain counsel is not fundamental, there
still should be heightened scrutiny because of the important
interests at issue. But even under the least rigorous review,
for the reasons stated above this Court should decide that
the fees limitation is not supported by a rational basis.
See, e.g., United States v. Carolene Products, 304 U.S. 144
(1938).

II. This Court Should Give This Case Plenary Review
Because of Its Importance to Veterans and Their
Beneficiaries.

The importance of this case is enhanced by the number
of disabled veterans, beneficiaries and survivors that are af-
fected by the prohibitive attorneys’ fees limitation.

14. Refuting the government's asserted interest, no similar govern-
ment solicitude exists with respect to benefits for retirement or separa-
tion from the military due to physical disability under 10 U.S.C. § 1201
et seq. On claims for such benefits, attorneys may be retained and paid
without restriction throughout the administrative process, which ends
when a claimant secures a decision from an appropriate Board for Cor-
rection of Military Records (“‘BCMR”’), 10 U.S.C. § 1551 et. seq., and any
subsequent judicial process, since decisions of the BCMRs are not, unlike
those of the VA, barred from judicial review. This disparate treatment
of categories of former military personnel raises independent issues of
“equal protection” as incorporated in the Fifth Amendment s Due Pro-
cess Clause. E.g., Bolling v. Sharpe, 347 U.S. 497 (1954).

As a practical matter, while claims for benefits based on disabilities
arising out of past military service may be made either to the VA or a
BCMR, various reasons make the VA claim the overwhelming preference
of claimants. For example, military disability benefits depend on the rank
the claimant held, see 10 U.S.C. §§ 1212 and 1401 (pay calculations start
with “monthly basic pay J, while VA benefits are unrelated to rank.

21

In 1982, more than 2.6 million veterans and survivors
(2,274,634 disability compensation cases and 350,357 service-
connected death cases) received compensation from the VA
for service-connected death and disability claims. Annual
Report of the Veterans’ Administration, 1982 at 69.“

At the end of fiscal year 1982 there were 59,776 appeals
from denial of benefits pending before the VA’s Board of
Veterans’ Appeals. During fiscal year 1982 the VA disposed
of 61,352 appeals: 21.3 percent were allowed, 41.4 percent
were denied, and the rest were withdrawn or closed. In these
appeals 86 percent of the appellants were represented by a
service organization, and only two percent were represented
by claims agents, some of whom were attorneys. 12 percent
had no representation. Jd. at 138-139.

Veterans or their survivors, and their beneficiaries, bear
the consequences of an administrative determination
concerning their claims for disability compensation. They,
therefore, are entitled to make an informed choice to retain
counsel to represent them, subject only to reasonable
limitations on counsel’s fees.

The sacrifices veterans make for their country need no
recitation here. Those sacrifices demand that any law which
impairs the relationship that veterans may have with the
agency mandated to serve their needs be subject to the most
careful scrutiny, else unequal and unlawful conditions on that
relationship could demean what it is intended to honor.

This Court should now decide, upon a full review, whether
each disabled veteran has a due process right to retain
counsel in VA disability proceedings.

15. Veterans of military service comprise 28.5 million Americans, and
potential beneficiaries of veterans’ benefits number 83.8 million people,
36 percent of our Nation's population. Annual Report of the Veterans
Administration, 1982 at 1, 5, reproduced in App. D at 1, 4.

22
CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the petition for a writ of certiorari
to review the decision of the Court of Appeals should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,

RONALD M. GOULD*
SUSAN BARLEY
Perkins, Coie, Stone,
Olsen & Williams
1900 Washington Bldg.
Seattle, Washington 98101
Telephone: (206) 682-8770

JOSEPH C. ZENGERLE
Bingham, Dana & Gould
1724 Mass. Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
Telephone: (202) 822-9320

*Counsel of Record

Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

STEPHEN H. DEMAREST, Na 83-3649
Plaintiff-Appellant, ) DC.#C82-364T
vs. )
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ) >
Defendant-A ppellee. ) (Filed October
) 20, 1983)

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Western District of Washington
District Judge Jack E. Tanner, Presiding
[Argued and Submitted August 3, 1983]

Before: WRIGHT, SKOPIL, and POOLE, Circuit Judges.
WRIGHT, Circuit Judge:

Demarest’s challenge to the Veterans’ Administration’s
(VA) handling of his disability claims was rejected by the
district court. The issues here are whether the handling of
his claims is judicially reviewable and whether the statutory
limitation on attorneys’ fees payable in VA disability cases
is constitutional.

During a four-year tour with the United States Air Force,
Demarest suffered two injuries: one to his left great toe and
one to his back. After his honorable discharge, Demarest filed
claims for disability compensation for those injuries.

The VA denied the claims. It found that the injuries were
service connected, but not disabling to a compensable degree.

JURISDICTION

Demarest’s challenge to the VA's handling of his claims
was pleaded as a claim under the Federal Tort Claims Act
(FTCA), 28 U. SC. 58 2671-80. The district court held that
jurisdiction under the FTCA had not been established and
granted summary judgment for the VA on that claim.

Demarest challenges the appropriateness of disposition
by summary judgment when jurisdiction was lacking. It is
true that dismissal is the appropriate disposition if subject

A-2

matter jurisdiction is absent. Capitol Industries-EMI, Inc.
v. Bennett, 681 F. 2d 1107, 1118 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 455
U.S. 943 (1982). The remedy is simple: an appellate court
affirming the conclusion that jurisdiction is lacking should
vacate the summary judgment and remand for entry of
judgment of dismissal. Id.

Demarest concedes that he did not properly invoke
jurisdiction under the FTCA. However, he contends that
jurisdiction is conferred by other statutes. Dismissal for lack
of jurisdiction is not warranted to the extent that the
complaint pleads facts from which federal jurisdiction clearly
may be inferred. Andrus v. Charlestone Stone Products Co.,
436 U.S. 604, 607-8 n.6 (1978); see Mir v. Fosburg, 646 F.2d
342, 346-47 (9th Cir. 1980); Harary v. Blumenthal, 555 F.2d
1113, 1115 n.1 (2d Cir. 1977).

The district court had no jurisdiction to consider
Demarest’s challenge to the handling of his claims. Title 38
of the United States Code, section 211(a), provides that all
decisions of the VA concerning veterans’ benefits are final;
no federal court will have jurisdiction to review them. 38
U.S.C. § 211(a). Section 211 has been construed as a
prohibition on judicial review of the VA's administration of
veterans’ benefits statutes, interpreting or applying
provisions of the statutes in the context of a given set of
facts. Johnson v. Robison, 415 U.S. 361, 367 (1974).
Demarest’s challenge to the VA’s handling of his claims
clearly falls within this prohibition, as he seeks review of the
VA's treatment of his individual claims.

Demarest’s contention that the Administrative Procedure
Act confers jurisdiction is clearly without merit. That Act
has no jurisdictional effect. Califano u. Sanders, 430 U.S. 99,
104-07 (1977). We have considered his other arguments that
judicial review is necessary, but find nothing to overcome
the plain language of section 211. His contention that the
VA's actions were arbitrary and capricious does not change
the essential nature of the action as a challenge to the VA's
administration of an individual claim. See Devine v. Cleland,

A-3

616 F.2d 1080, 1084 (9th Cir. 1980); Moore v. Johnson, 582
F.2d 1228, 1232 (9th Cir. 1978).

However, section 211 does not bar constitutional
challenges to the veterans’ benefits laws. Johnson v. Robison,
415 U.S. at 366-74. It presents no jurisdictional bar to the
consideration of Demarest’s challenge to the statutory
attorneys’ fee limitation.

The VA alleges that the attorneys’ fee limitation
challenge also was rejected for lack of jurisdiction. The
district court’s order provided in part:

(a) Plaintiff has not complied with the Federal Tort Claim

Act requirements of 28 U.S.C.A. Section 2675.
— we a this court lacks jurisdiction to proceed on

2 — claim that the restrictions of 38 5 S.C. —
Section yen — oom Raden due — 1 and — —
protection ts (to
rere
Gendron v. Saxbe, 389 F. Supp. 1303 (C. D. Cal. 1975); aff'd
sub nom Gendron v. Levi, 423 U.S. 802 (1975).

The order rejects the fee challenge on the merits.

The VA argues that the fee challenge cannot be reviewed
pursuant to federal question jurisdiction, 28 U.S.C. § 1331,
because it presents no substantial federal question. A federal
question is jurisdictionally insubstantial if it is patently
without merit, or so insubstantial, improbable, or foreclosed
by Supreme Court precedent as not to involve a federal
controversy. Duke Power Co. v. Carolina Environmental
Study Group, 438 U.S. 59, 70-71 (1978). Demarest’s fee
challenge is not so completely devoid of merit that it presents
no substantial federal question, as our discussion of the
merits of that challenge will demonstrate. See Gendron v.
. Saxbe, 501 F.2d 1087 (9th Cir. 1974).

ATTORNEYS’ FEE LIMITATION

Title 38 of the United States Code, section 3404(c), limits
to ten dollars ($10) per claim the amount of attorneys’ fees
payable by a veteran for representation before the VA on

A-4

a disability claim. Section 3405 provides criminal penalties
for violation of the attorneys’ fee limitation. 38 U.S.C. § 3405.
Demarest contends that these provisions violate his right
to procedural due process in the consideration of his disability
claims before the VA. See U.S. Const. amend. V.

The Supreme Court’s summary affirmance in Gendron
v. Levi, 423 U.S. 802 (1975), aff g sub nom. Gendron vu. Saxbe,
389 F. Supp. 1303 (C.D. Cal. 1975), is controlling. Gendron
alleged that the ten dollar fee limitation violated his right
to both procedural due process and equal protection. The
district court there applied the procedural due process test
set out in Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970): is the
interest a constitutionally protected property or liberty
interest and, if so, does the recipient’s interest in avoiding
loss outweigh the government interest in retaining the
challenged procedure? Id. at 262-63. It concluded that
Gendron had no property interest in an unproven disability
claim. 389 F. Supp. at 1306.

However, the court went on to hold that the procedures
provided by Congress for the administration of disability
claims, including the limitation on attorneys’ fees, satisfied
the requirements of procedural due process. Jd. at 1306-08.
The Supreme Court summarily affirmed the decision.
Gendron v. Levi, 423 U.S. 802 (1975).

Demarest contends that this case is distinguishable
factually from Gendron, and that the summary affirmance
in that case did not resolve the procedural due process

challenge presented here. We disagree.

The factual differences noted have no legal significance.
The length of military service and character of discharge are
irrelevant to entitlement, because Gendron and Demarest
both served and neither was discharged dishonorably. See
38 U.S.C. § 331. The alleged lateness of Gendron’s claim is
irrelevant because no statute of limitation applies. It also
is irrelevant that the dispute here concerns the existence of
disability while the dispute in Gendron apparently concerned
service connection. Both elements are necessary to establish
eligibility for benefits. Jd.

4

A-5

The summary affirmance in Gendron will dispose of
Demarest’s challenge only if the precise issue{ } [was]
presented and necessarily decided’’ in that case. Mandel v.
Bradley, 432 U.S. 173, 176 (1977). The precedential
significance of that summary affirmance is to be evaluated
“in the light of all of the facts in that case. Jd. at 177.

The procedural due process challenge made by Demarest
also was presented by Gendron. The Supreme Court’s
affirmance of the district court’s rejection of Gendron’s
challenge necessarily must represent one of two conclusions.

First, the Court may have concluded that Gendron did
not have a constitutionally protectible [sic] property interest
in the disability benefits sought. Second, the Court may have
concluded that a property interest existed, but the fee
limitation did not violate the veteran’s right to procedural
due process.

Under either theory, we must reject Demarest’s challenge.
He has established no greater entitlement than did Gendron
because the existence of disability is as necessary to
eligibility as the service connection of a disability. 38 U.S.C.
§ 331. Whether the Court concluded that no constitutionally
protected property interest existed or that the limitation does
not violate procedural process, its summary affirmance
controls this case.

Demarest contends that the Fourth Circuit has
discounted the precedential value of Gendron in Adams v.
Harris, 643 F.2d 995 (4th Cir. 1981). However, the issue in
that case was whether applicants for Social Security benefits
have a constitutionally protectible [sic] property interest. Jd.
at 1001. The Fourth Circuit concluded that the Supreme
Court’s affirmance was not necessarily approval of the
Gendron district court’s analysis of that issue. Jd. at 1001
n.4 We agree. That does not change our conclusion that
whichever of the two possible theories the Court in Gendron
approved, the affirmance in that case compels rejection of
the fee limitation challenge here.

A-6

The VA's discussion of the effect of Gendron places great
reliance on a decision of the Circuit Court of the District of
Columbia. The VA notes that the decision was unpublished.
It does not mention that the District of Columbia Circuit
Rules prohibit citation of unpublished memoranda as
precedent. That rule is noted on the page preceding the
published reference to the case the VA cites, and that case
is specifically listed as such a nonprecedential memorandum.
See 574 F. 2d at 636-37. We have ignored the portion of the
VA’s brief involved. We remind government counsel that
such references are inappropriate. See also th Cir. R. 21(c).

ORAL ARGUMENT ON SUMMARY JUDGMENT

Demarest contends that the district court erred in
granting summary judgment without permitting oral
argument. See Dredge Corp. v. Penny, 338 F.2d 456 (1964).
Because Demarest did not request oral argument until after
the motion was granted, and the local rules permitted him
to do so before the motion was granted, his argument is
without merit. See id. at 461-62.

That portion of the district court’s summary judgment
disposing of Demarest’s challenge to the VA’s handling of
his disability claims is vacated and remanded for entry of
judgment of dismissal for lack of jurisdiction. The remainder
of the judgment is affirmed.

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
WESTERN DISTRICT OF WASHINGTON

Defendants.

AT TACOMA
STEPHEN H. DEMAREST, )
Plaintiff, )
-vs- ) NO. C82-364T
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA; )
VETERANS ADMINISTRATION, ) ORDER
)
)

THIS MATTER comes on before the court upon
defendants’ Motion for Summary Judgment.

Having considered the entirety of the records and files
herein, the court finds and rules as follows:

1. Once the movant has established that there is no
genuine issue of material fact and that he is entitled to
judgment as a matter of law, the burden of presenting
evidence shifts to the non-movant.

2. Movant defendant has satisfied its burden of showing
that it is entitled to summary judgment as a matter of law
in the following:

(a) Plaintiff has not complied with the Federal Tort Claim
Act requirements of 28 U.S.C.A. Section 2675.
Accordingly, this court lacks jurisdiction to proceed
on these claims.

(b) Plaintiff's claim that the restrictions of 38 U. S. C. A.
Section 3404 violates [sic] his due process and equal
protection rights (to pursue his service connected
disability claims under 38 U.S.C.A. Section 3401) are
without merit. Gendron v. Saxbe. 389 F.Supp. 1303
(C.D.Cal. 1975), aff'd sub nom Gendron v. Levi, 423
U.S.802 (1975)

The clerk of the court is instructed to send uncertified
copies of this Order to all counsel of record.

B-2
DATED this 22nd day of January, 1983.

/s/ Jack E. Tanner
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

JUDGMENT ON DECISION BY THE COURT

FOR THE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
WESTERN DISTRICT OF WASHINGTON AT TACOMA

STEPHEN DEMAREST CIVIL ACTION =
vs. DOCKET NO. C82-364

USA JUDGMENT

This action came on for Consideration before the court,
United States District Judge JACK E. TANNER presiding.
The issues having been duly Considered and a decision
having been duly rendered, it is ordered and adjudged ..

Defendant's motion for summary jdmt is GRANTED.

Dated at: Date: 1/27/83
Tacoma, Wash. BRUCE RIFKIN, Clerk

/s/ Debby Harrison
Deputy Clerk of the Court

APPENDIX C
IN THE APPEAL OF
STEPHEN H. DEMAREST SS 534 68 9510

BOARD OF VETERANS APPEALS
WASHINGTON, DC. 20420

FINDINGS AND DECISION ) DOCKET NO. 83-08 904
)
)

) DATE AUG 9 1983
THE ISSUE

1. Entitlement to a compensable rating for traumatic arthritis
of the left hallux, postoperative status.

2. Entitlement to a compensable rating for residuals of a

fracture of the spinous process of C7.
REPRESENTATION

Appellant represented by: American Red Cross

WITNESS AT HEARING ON APPEAL
Stephen H. Demarest, appellant

; CONSULTATIONS BY THE BOARD
R. L. Shaw, Staff Legal Adviser

CONTENTIONS

The veteran and his representative contend, in substance, that
the current noncompensable ratings do not reflect the degree
of disability resulting from either service-connected disability.
The veteran maintains that two Veterans Administration
physicians and an independent radiologist concur that the
veteran has swelling, deformity, and limited or no motion of
the affected toe. He argues that a ten per cent (10%) rating
is warranted under either Code 5281 or 5003. Concerning the

C-2

neck disability, the veteran and his representative argue that
a rating of at least twenty per cent (20%) should be assigned
under Code 5290 (limitation of cervical spine motion) or 5285
( deformity of a vertebral body). The veteran states that the
evidence of record, including reports by Veterans
Administration physicians and an independent radiologist,
demonstrate the existence of residual disability. Noting that
a later examination showed more severe findings than an
earlier one, the veteran argues that the later of two
conflicting evaluations must be accepted under 38 C. F. R. 4.7.
The veteran claims that the adjudication of his claim has
heretofore been arbitrary, capricious, and contrary to the
evidence and law. He requests that all reasonable doubt be
resolved in his favor pursuant to 38 C.F.R. 3.102.

THE EVIDENCE

The veteran had active military service from November 1976
to August 1980. Service medical records show that in March
1980 he underwent a partial ostectomy, fusion, and removal
of a nonunited bone fragment from the left hallux. Records
from a private medical facility show that in May 1980 he
sustained a fracture of the spinous process of C7 in an
automobile accident.

The veteran was examined by the Veterans Administration
for compensation purposes in October 1980. He reported
having stayed at a civilian hospital for two days following
his automobile accident, followed by two days in a military
hospital. He reported that since the accident he had gotten
along well. He noticed some stiffness in the early morning
as well as some cracking and popping on movement of the
neck. He was taking no medications. Examination showed
a full range of motion of the cervical spine without
discomfort. There was no crepitus on movement. The veteran
was able to walk on his toes. X-rays of the cervical spine
showed anatomic alignment of the vertebral bodies and
posterior elements, well-maintained vertebral disc spaces,
and normal neural foramina. The findings were interpreted
as normal. Pertinent diagnosis was historical evidence of
fracture of the posterior spinous process of C7.

C-3

The veteran testified at a hearing in July 1982 before
members of a rating board at the originating agency. He
presented extensive argument expanding on the contentions
summarized above. He described stiffness in the neck,
especially after sleeping in an awkward position. He
described himself as a physically active person and reported
that three days of backpacking caused soreness down the
middle of his neck and back afterwards. He had given up
horseback riding and parachuting because of the risk of
further injury to the neck. He described cracking and popping
in the neck on movement. He reported having been told by
doctors that although his neck motion may not show much
limitation at his age, it may become more severe as he gets
older. He described his toe as deformed and oversized. He
reported an almost constant redness and discomfort,
especially when wearing dress shoes or doing a lot of running.
He stated that it had affected his balance and agility. A
verbatim transcript of the hearing is of record. During the
hearing the medical member of the hearing panel observed
the veteran’s disabilities and dictated his findings into the
transcript. He described deformity of the first toe on the left
foot,with moderate tenderness at the proximal joint. There
was limitation of motion and inability to flex the first toe.
There was a slight mass above the proximal interphalangeal
joint. With respect to the neck, there was slight tenderness
over the seventh vertebral spinous process. The veteran had
no difficulty in rotating the neck from left to right or from
right to left. There was slight limitation of flexion. There was
difficulty in flexing the chin to the sternum. There was no
referred pain or radiculitis to the extremities. There was a
good hand grasp. The veteran made a fist without difficulty.
Received into evidence at the hearing were photocopies of
two radiology reports from a private facility. In one report,
current X-rays of the first left toe were compared with
previous films from September 1978 which showed a well-
corticated bony fragment close to the interphalangeal joint
of the great toe associated with a well-corticated cystic
erosion, osteophyte formation of the adjacent portion of the
proximal phalanx, and a small osteophyte from the distal

C-4

phalanx. The bony fragment could not be detected on the
later films. The changes in the adjacent phalanges were still
evident. A current film of the cervical spine showed a normal
curvature without evidence of subluxation or obvious
fracture. The only equivocal abnormality was on an oblique
film showing an apparent narrowing of the joint between the
C6 and C7 masses, with some distortion of the lateral masses.
The second report, dated several days later, showed a
fracture of the spinous process of C7 with the dorsal segment
inferiorly displaced. It was noted that on previous films the
spinous process fracture was healed with some deformity.
No vertebral body deformity was noted.

The veteran was examined by the Veterans Administration
for compensation purposes in August 1982. He refused to
discuss his C7 spinous process on the grounds that it was
being reviewed by a Board in Washington, D.C. He
complained that his left toe was deformed and disfigured,
that it was bent inwards and downwards, that it was
constantly inflamed and swollen, that it was irritable and
caused discomfort, and that it affected agility and balance.
He reported minimal discomfort in the great toe after
running a 6.2-mile race. On examination the veteran was able
to heel/toe walk without discomfort. There was an area of
chronic bony swelling approximately 2 centimeters in size
on the distal interphalangeal joint on the medial aspect of
the dorsum of the left great toe. The distal interphalangeal
joint appeared to be fused, with very little motion. The bony
deformity was minimally tender and moderately
erythematous. No X-rays were taken. Clinical impression was
past history of fracture, distal interphalangeal joint, left great
toe, with osteoarthritis.

THE LAW AND REGULATIONS

Disability evaluations are determined by the application of
a schedule of ratings which is based on average impairment
of earning capacity. (38 U.S.C. 355; 38 C. F. R. Part 4)
Separate diagnostic codes identify the various disabilities.

C-5

Where the minimum schedular evaluation requires residuals
and the schedule does not provide a noncompensable
evaluation, a noncompensable evaluation will be assigned
when the required residuals are not shown. (38 C.F.R. 4.31)

Residuals of fractures of the spinous processes of the cervical
spine are rated on the basis of limitation of motion of the
cervical spine. The ratings schedule provic'es a ten per cent
(10%) rating when the limitation of motiou is slight. (Code
5290) An additional ten per cent (10%) can be assigned for
demonstrable deformity of the vertebral body. (Code 5285)

Traumatic arthritis is rated as degenerative arthritis.
Degenerative arthritis established by X-ray findings will be
rated on the basis of limitation of motion under the
appropriate diagnostic codes for the specific joint or joints
involved. When, however, the limitation of motion of the
specific joint or joints involved is noncompensable under the
appropriate diagnostic codes, a rating of ten per cent (10%)
is for application for each such major joint or group of minor
joints affected by limitation of motion, to be combined, not
added, under this diagnostic code. Limitation of motion must
be objectively confirmed by findings such as swelling, muscle
spasm, or satisfactory evidence of painful motion. In the
absence of limitation of motion, a ten per cent (10%) rating
will be assigned where there is X-ray evidence of involvement
of two or more major joints or two or more minor joint
groups. (38 C.F.R. Part 4, Codes 5003, 5010)

The rating schedule provides a ten per cent (10%) rating for
severe unilateral hallux rigidus or unilateral hallux valgus
following surgery, with resection of the metatatsal [sic] head,
or if equivalent to amputation of the great toe. (Codes 5280,
5281)

Where there is a question as to which of two evaluations shall
be applied, the higher evaluation will be assigned if the
disability picture more nearly approximates the criteria
required for that rating. Otherwise, the lower rating will be
assigned. (38 C.F.R. 4.7)

When a reasonable doubt arises regarding service origin, the
degree of disability, or any other point, such doubt will be

C-6

resolved in favor of the claimant. A reasonable doubt means
a substantial doubt and one within the range of probability
as distinguished from speculation or remote possibility. (38
C.F.R. 3.102)

DISCUSSION AND EVALUATION

During service the veteran underwent fusion and removal
of bony fragments in the area of interphalangeal joint of the
left big toe.The earlier X-rays submitted by the veteran show
a well-corticated bony fragment close to the joint, with
osteoarthritic changes in the same area (the bony fragment
was not seen on the most recent film). There is little, if any,
movement in the fused interphalangeal joint, and an area
of bony deformity over the joint has been reported by two
examiners. Other residuals include moderate redness,
moderate tenderness, and complaints of swelling. Since the
underlying diagnosis is traumatic arthritis, the disability is
properly rated under Diagnostic Codes 5010 and 5003, cited
above. While a ten per cent (10%) rating can be applied under
Code 5003 for limitation of motion of noncompensable degree,
limitation of motion of the fused great toe is not specifically
covered by any code and is not a criterion per se for
evaluating disabilities of the great toe. Involvement of two
or more major joints or minor joint groups has not been
shown. The veteran’s potential entitlement under Codes 5280
and 5281 has been considered, but we note that the surgery
in service did not involve resection of the metatarsal head
and that the residuals are not of such severity as to be
equivalent to amputation of the great toe. We note in this
regard that the veteran walks normally and that he does not
have significant discomfort even after running a race.

During service the veteran sustained a fracture of the spinous
process of C7. Current X-rays from a private facility show
deformity at the fracture site consisting of inferior
displacement of the spinous process. When informally
observed by the medical member of the hearing panel, he was
reported to have a normal range of rotation bilaterally. The
examiner noted slight limitation of forward flexion. There

C-7

was slight tenderness over C7, and the veteran described
occasional stiffness and soreness in the neck, especially on
awakening or after strenuous exercise. A finding of slight
limitation of motion would appear to support a ten per cent
(10%) rating under Diagnostic Code 5290, but it is significant
that the rating board physician noted that the veteran had
difficulty flexing his chin to his sternum. This finding is
somewhat incompatible in that flexion of the chin to the
sternum would be impossible, not merely difficult, if
limitation of motion were truly present. In any case, the
veteran subsequently did not undergo the additional
requested testing that would have clarified this point. Since
the fracture site was on the spinous process rather than on
the body of C7, a compensable rating of ten per cent (10%)
cannot be assigned under Code 5285.

The Board has carefully reviewed all of the evidence of record
together with the written and oral contentions presented on
appeal. The evidence of record does not raise a reasonable doubt
or otherwise warrant allowance of this appeal.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Traumatic arthritis of the left hallux, postoperative status,
is manifested by osteoarthritic changes in the area of the
interphalangeal joint, limitation of motion of the
interphalangeal joint, deformity of the toe, moderate
tenderness, moderate redness, and complaints of swelling.

2. Neither involvement of the metatarsal head nor functional
impairment equivalent to amputation of the great toe has
been demonstrated.

3. Residuals of a fracture of the spinous process of C7 consist
of deformity of the process of C7, slight tenderness over C7,
stiffness and soreness of the neck, and difficulty flexing the
chin to the sternum.

4. Neither slight limitation of motion nor deformity of the
body of C7 has been confirmed.

C-8
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
1. A compensable rating for traumatic arthritis of the left

hallux, postoperative status, is not warranted. (38 U.S.C. 355;
38 C.F.R. Part 4, Codes 5010, 5003)

2. A compensable rating for residuals of fracture of the
spinous process of C7 is not warranted. (38 U.S.C. 355; 38
C.F.R. 4.31 and Part 4, Code 5290)

DECISION

Entitlement to a compensable rating for traumatic arthritis
of the left hallux or to a compensable rating for residuals
of fracture of the spinous process of C7 is not established.
The appeal is denied.

„ Albert D. Tutera /s/ Roy G. Klepser, M.D.
ALBERT D. TUTERA ROY G. KLEPSER, M.D.

/s/ Elizabeth F. Parris
ELIZABETH F. PARRIS

APPENDIX D

Summary

Nearly 39 million men and women have served in the
armed forces during wartime periods throughout the more
than 200 years of United States history. Roughly nine of
every ten of these servicemen and women served during
periods of armed conflicts during the 20th century.
Approximately 1.1 million people have sacrificed their lives
in defense of their nation during times of war. The total
number of veterans living in the U.S. and in Puerto Rico at
the close of FY 1982 was about 28.5 million, nearly 24.3
million of whom were wartime veterans and more than 4.2
million of whom were veterans of peacetime service only.

Number of Veterans and Period of Service

The estimated veteran population as of September 30,
1982, is 28,522,000. This estimate of the number of veterans
in civilian life reflects final 1980 Decennial Census counts
of veterans, and includes former military personnel living
in the U.S. and Puerto Rico only.

The total veteran population of the U.S. and Puerto Rico
fell by some 151,000 during FY 1982. This slight decrease of
0.5 percent was the net result of the addition of 294,000 ser-
vice personnel discharged from the armed forces, the entry into
the military from civilian life of 34,000 who reenlisted, and the
loss of 411,000 veterans who died during the fiscal year.

As a result of factors which are quite likely linked to the
nation’s rising unemployment rate and overall strained
economic mood, more and more military personnel are
making the choice to stay in the armed forces after their
previous enlistment period has ended. This increase in
immediate reenlistments results in fewer separations, and
hence smaller numbers of new veterans enter the population.
This trend will probably continue as long as the economic
environment remains clouded.

In spite of the fact that the total veteran population
decreased during FY 1982, increases were registered in the
number of veterans for two periods of military service—the

D-2

Vietnam era and post-Vietnam era. The number of living
veterans of the Vietnam era who served in no prior wars in-
creased slightly from 8,138,000 on September 30, 1981, to
8,188,000 at the end of FY 1982. Post-Vietnam era veterans
expanded in number to a total of 1,372,000, a rise of 189,000
during the year. This 16 percent increase would have been
even larger had it not been for Public Law 96-342. Veterans
from all other periods of military service showed declines dur-
ing the year. Most notable was the deaths of some 281,000
World War II veterans. This group is still the largest sector
of the veteran population, however, numbering about 11.4
million and comprising about 40 percent of all veterans as
of the end of FY 1982. Veterans whose only wartime service
occurred during the Vietnam era accounted for 29 percent of
all living veterans, and Korean conflict veterans with no World
War II or Vietnam service (3,818,000) constituted 13 percent.
Veterans of World War I number 368,000. Peacetime veterans
who served only between the Korean conflict and the Viet-

nam era dropped marginally to 2,888,000.
Age of Veterans

The median age of veterans in civilian life as of the end
of September 1982 was 50.8 years. Less than 3 percent of
all living veterans were under the age of 25 years, whereas
12 percent were at least 65 years old.

As the veteran population continues to decline in size
throughout the coming years, the median age of veterans
will gradually increase. An integral part of this aging process
will be the movement of significant numbers of World War
II veterans into the age group 65 years old and over. Before
the turn of the century, it is expected that fully one of every
three living veterans will fall in this senior age range.
Female Veterans

The estimated number of female veterans is 1,218,000 at
the end of FY 1982, a total representing some 4.3 percent
of all veterans in civilian life. This estimate of the female
veteran population is markedly higher than any previous
estimate. This higher estimate is based on the findings of

D-3

the 1980 Decennial Census. The count of female veterans
grew by about 18,500, or by 1.5 percent, during the 12
months ending September 30, 1982. This growth, which
stands in contrast to the decline in the overall veteran
population, is very likely to continue as long as the women’s
share of all active duty military personnel remains at or near
its present level. Women currently comprise nine percent of
all active duty military personnel, a proportion decidedly
greater than the less than two percent they represented a
decade ago.

World War II female veterans comprised 37 percent
(448,000) of the female veteran population, while female
veterans of the Vietnam era made up 26 percent (320,000).
Korean conflict (only) female veterans accounted for 8 percent
(102,000) of the overall number of female veterans, and female
veterans with Korean conflict and Vietnam era service (15,000)
comprised over one percent, and female veteran survivors of
World War I constituted just one percent (11,000). Women
who served on active military duty only between the Korean
conflict and the Vietnam era accounted for seven percent
(89,000) of all female veterans. The major difference between
the period of service distribution of female veterans and that
of all veterans is the proportion of ex-servicewomen who
participated only in the post-Vietnam era. Whereas female
veterans of the Post-Vietnam era represent 19 percent of all
female veterans, Post-Vietnam era veterans, male and female,
comprise only five percent of all living veterans. This factor
is the primary reason why the median age of female veterans
(45.5 years) is decidedly below that of all veterans (50.8 years);
i.e., former military personnel whose only service began after
the Vietnam era ended (May 7, 1975) would generally be
expected to be much younger than veterans of any other
period of service. The comparatively large influx of post-
Vietnam era female veterans into the veteran population is
also the predominant reason for the growth of the percent
of the veteran population comprised of females. During FY
1982 alone, nearly 21,000 women were added to the post-
Vietnam era veteran population after their separation from
the armed forces. This steady flow of new (and young) female

D-4

veterans has resulted in the recent decline in the median age
of female veterans overall.

Veterans and Their Families

Living veterans are only part of the total number of
potential recipients of VA benefits. As of September 30, 1982,
there are an estimated 22.0 million spouses of living veterans,
20.2 million dependent children, and 10.0 million other family
members. Although only a small proportion of these
dependents are likely to seek benefits directly from the VA
at any time in the future, benefits paid to veterans will
indirectly affect the socioeconomic well-being of a great
number of their dependents. Former dependents of deceased
veterans number about 3.1 million at the end of FY 1982.
The 2.6 million widows and widowers, 356,000 dependent
children, and 103,000 dependent parents of eligible deceased
veterans raise the total population of potential beneficiaries
to some 83.8 million, or about 36 percent of the resident
population of the United States.

Appellate Review

Claimants for VA benefits who are not satisfied with
determinations made by field offices may file a written notice
of disagreement with the office taking the action. If, after
reviewing the case in light of the claimant’s disagreement,
the field office is not able to grant benefits sought, it sends
the appellant a statement of the case. This statement outlines
the issue, evidence of record, pertinent law and regulations,
and the reason for the decision. If the appellant, after reading
the statement of the case, still disagrees with the field office,
he or she may submit an appeal to the Board of Veterans
Appeals (BVA). Again the field office reviews the case. If
still unable to resolve the appeal to the satisfaction of the
claimant, the field office sends the case to the BVA for review
and final decision.

A heavy volume of appeals continued through
1982—surpassing the record level of 1981. According to
available records, only 1949 and 1950—the peak years follow-
ing World War II- had greater numbers of new appeals.

D-5

Adding new appeals to those carried over from 1981, the
1982 appellate workload was more than 124,000 cases. About
31,000 appeals were resolved in field offices—another 35,800
were decided by the Board of Veterans Appeals. There were
more than 61,300 final dispositions of appeals—over 21 per-
cent of which were allowances of benefits sought by claimants.

The VA employs two data processing systems to provide
positive case management and control of appeals. When a
claimant files a notice of disagreement, the Department of
Veterans Benefits (DVB) field station creates an appeal record
in VARMS (Veterans Appeals Record Management System).
VARMS then tracks the appeal until its final disposition.

The BVA, through VARMS, holds its caseload at a level
that permits optimum operations. Each month the Board
determines the number of appeals to be called in. DVB, using
VARMS, selects the cases, oldest first, and sends them to
Washington. These call-up procedures have held average
response time in Washington to about 100 days. Also, by
keeping appellant records until the BVA calls for them, field
offices are better able to serve veterans and other claimants
by responding to inquiries, assisting them in other matters,
and in developing their appeals.

Average overall response time to appeals, measured from
the date of notice of disagreement until BVA decision,
reached 483 days (over 16 months) at the end of FY 1982.
This is up from 443 days at the start of the year. The biggest
increase was the time appeals were held for call-up by the
Board. We estimate this delay to be about five months.

Appellants, their representatives, and other case
advocates continued to show great interest in claims for
disabilities involving Agent Orange, exposure to radiation,
and incarceration as prisoners of war. The Board has made
each of these categories a specialty area and assigns them
to one of the sections designated to handle them. This
permits the Board to develop expertise in these sensitive
areas and to ensure consistency in the application of laws
and regulations. In FY 1982 the Board received 380 appeals

D-

involving Agent Orange (up from 288 in 1981), 168 involving
radiation (down from 205), and 303 from former prisoners
of war or their beneficiaries (up from 251 in 1981).

The BVA held 1,503 personal hearings for appellants in
FY 1982, 1,001 in Washington and 502 before traveling
sections of the Board sitting in 38 field stations. Up until
several years ago, about 70 percent of the appellants who
asked for hearings appeared for them. In FY 1982 that
dropped to less than 49 percent. A year earlier the rate was
56 percent.

In 1981 the BVA started a program to reduce the time
required for personal hearings before the Board. When
possible, and when requested by the appellant, the Board
provides a copy of hearing recordings to appellants in lieu
of transcriptions. This procedure, satisfactory to more than
55 percent of appellants with formal hearings in Washington,
has reduced the Board’s response time in those cases by four
to six weeks. This procedure applies only to hearings held
before the Board in Washington. All travel board hearings
continue to be transcribed.

At the end of FY 1982, the waiting time on the hearing
docket. was about ten weeks, the same as at the end of FY
1981. Unfortunately, most appellants who fail to show up
for their scheduled hearings do not notify us in time to
schedule a replacement.

The portion of appellants who chose to be represented
by one of the veterans’ service organizations continued to
grow. Our records for FY 1982 show that more than 86
percent selected one of the accredited organizations; just over
two percent used attorneys or agents; and less than 12
percent chose to pursue their appeals without representation.
Appellants handling their appeals without representation has
declined steadily from about 22 percent to less than 12
percent over the past decade.

At the end of fiscal year 1982, there were more than
47,600 appeals in process in VA field stations. About 36
percent of these were in the initial, (notice of disagreement)

D-7

stage, the remainder in the final stages of field processing.
Including 12,115 cases on the BVA docket, the total number
of appeals pending at the end of FY 1982 was 59,776, up
4,333 from a year earlier.

Headed by a Chairman, a Vice Chairman, and two Deputy
Vice Chairmen, the Board had a complement of 16 full
sections. To help reduce the large backlogs of appeals, the
Chairman operated a skeletal seventeenth board section
within budgetary limitations for 16 sections. As a result the
BVA produced 35,771 decisions, which is a record number.
Among the 17 sections there were 33 legal and 15 medical
members. Supporting the sections was a medical adviser, 107
staff attorneys, and an administrative service. Excluding
overtime, the Board had an average employment level of 343
during the year.

Other professional support available included advisory
medical opinions from the Chief Medical Director and legal
opinions from the General Counsel. In addition, under the
authority of Section 4009, Title 38, U.S.C., the Board
requested 202 opinions from independent medical experts
who were not VA employees.

The Freedom of Information Act requires the BVA to
produce an index of its final decisions on appeals and to make
the decisions available to the public. Developed in compliance
with the Act, AIRS (Appellate Index and Retrieval System)
includes quarter and cumulative annual subject indexes on
microfiche and BVA decisions, stripped of personal
identifiers, on microfilm. Appellants and others interested
in decisions of the Board are able to check these indexes to
locate specific type cases. They can then request copies of
the decisions they want. At the end of FY 1982, AIRS
indexes covered the period from July 1, 1977 through June
30, 1982—about 170,000 BVA decisions.

APPENDIX E

STATEMENT OF JOHN F. TERZANO
LEGISLATIVE DIRECTOR
OF THE
VIETNAM VETERANS OF AMERICA
ACCOMPANIED BY
DAVID F. ADDLESTONE
AND
BARTON F. STICHMAN

BEFORE THE
SUBCOMMITTEE ON OVERSIGHT AND
INVESTIGATIONS
COMMITTEE ON VETERANS AFFAIRS

UNITED STATES HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
JULY 26, 1983

V. THE ATTORNEY FEE LIMITATION

VVA urges the Congress to take action to eliminate the
ten dollar fee limitation that attorneys may charge to handle
VA claims. The limitation deprives veterans of a basic right
that all citizens have — the freedom of choice to seek
professional assistance to help them sort through a
complicated legal system. They should have the opportunity
to go into the marketplace and pay for the legal services they
need, without the statutory barrier that lingers from another
historical era and set of circumstances. There can be no doubt
that the ten dollar fee limitation acts to almost completely
exclude lawyers. It is a perfect example of inappropriate and
unnecessary government regulation to deny citizens a free
choice in the market place. The retention of the limitation
is usually justified by reference to some generalized negative
effect lawyers would have on the VA.

Some believe that removal of the fee limitation and the
introduction of lawyers into the VA system would harm the
Ws decision-making process. Arguments against such
representation suggest that lawyers would unnecessarily
complicate the process, create an adversary relationship
between veterans and the VA, and that simply suggesting

E-2

the notion of lawyer representation before the VA is an \

indictment of the current adjudication system.

Taking the last point first, to suggest that lawyers should

be able to represent veterans who want lawyers before the
VA does not mean that the current system is either unfair,
indifferent or a failure. On the contrary, the right to choose
a representative does not depend on any shortcomings of an
adjudicative system. Rather, the right to seek legal
assistance should stand alone as an option for all citizens.
The ten dollar fee limitation serves as a barrier to lawyers
created by government regulation. Eliminating the
prohibition would open the system to more free choice and
a free market.

VVA sincerely believes that the introduction of lawyers and
other legally trained professionals into the VA will improve
the system. There are several specific benefits we feel that
lawyers can add to the system. Let it be clear. however, we
are not advocating the replacement of service organization
service representatives with lawyers. We are advocating that
veterans receive the benefit of an additional option.

The most important function lawyers can serve at the VA,
as they have at other federal agencies, is that of mediator
between the veterans and the agency. The typical lawyer who
advocates before an administrative agency does not fit the
stereotypical image of adversarial trial-type litigator, the
image created by some who oppose lawyer participation at
the VA. Persons familiar with federal agency practice know
that the role of an administrative advocate is far different
from a courtroom litigator. The administrative lawyer
frequently acts to explain a complex agency to a client,
attempts to clarify issues for both the client and the agency,
and tries to resolve claims with as little acrimony as possible.
The reason why lawyers would function this way is obvious.
The VA is not an adversary process, and there is no attorney
on the other side to argue against.

An even more telling point against the argument that
lawyers will somehow infect the system is to look at the BVA

—

E-3

itself. The BVA has fifteen sections each with three members.
Fourteen of the fifteen sections have two of the three
members who are lawyers. In the fifteenth section all three
members are lawyers. In addition, each section has seven
or eight staff attorneys. In short, the entire decision-making
process is monopolized by attorneys. Everything is done in
legalistic terms. To argue that allowing the veteran to have
a lawyer will infect the process with legalism ignores the
reality of the process as it now exists.

Lawyers have been trained to approach issues in a certain
way and that method is used to adjudicate issues at all federal
agencies and in the courts. We have been told that the
presentation of briefs to the BVA, which we do in every case,
has helped the members better understand the legal issues and
the factual record. Given the incredible caseload at the BVA,
clarification of issues will assist the BVA and at the same time
give the veteran informed access to the system.

There is another result from the introduction of lawyers
that will be beneficial to veterans and the agency. It is
common to all lawyer-client relationships, and that is when
a lawyer advises a client that he or she does not have a
meritorious case. We have found that providing a client with
frank advice about the chances of success is welcomed by
the client who never before knew the real merits of the case.
This is not to say that disgruntled clients will not seek
another, more favorably inclined lawyer but the point bears
consideration. In this way, lawyer participation could
significantly reduce the caseload of the agency on grounds
that are sound and in a manner that leaves the client with
a sense that a full and fair consideration by an independent
professional have been given in the case. S. 636 and the
House bills still place unduly strict limits on attorneys fees.
For example, some provisions keep the ten dollar limit until
the VA process has been exhausted, and the limit for court
work is still unrealistically low. VVA feels that these
provisions, while a welcome change from the past, are not
sufficient to assure that veterans will have the freedom to

E-

choose their own representative and have legally trained
counsel assist in making an early record for cases that are
likely to end up in court. We would be happy to assist the
Committee staff revise these provisions.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1113%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
