# Petition — Railway Labor Executives' Ass'n v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1086%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 465 U.S. 1101

## Text

| ] A DD

“31146

No. 83-

oe)

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

RaILway LABOR EXECUTIVES’ ASSOCIATION,
Petitioner,
Ve
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA AND
CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SPECIAL COURT,REGIONAL RAIL
REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1973

JAMES L. HIGHSAW, JR.
(Counsel of Record)
WILLIAM G. MAHONEY
CLINTON J. MILLER, III
HIGHSAW & MAHONEY, P.C.
Suite 210

1050 - 17th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 296-8500
Attorneys for Petitioner
Railway Labor Executives’
Association

January 12, 1984

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS PRINTING, INC., WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

£ ABE

i

ISSUES PRESENTED

In the opinion of the petitioner, the following issues are
presented by this petition:

) *

Did Congress abrogate a contractual obligation
of the United States to employees of seven rail-
roads conveying their rail properties to the Con-
solidated Rail Corporation pursuant to the Re-
gional Rail Reo ization Act of 1973 in viola-
tion of the Fifth Amendment to the Constitution
of the United States, when it repealed in 1981
Title V of that statute providing various protec-
tions to such employees adversely affected by
the conveyances’

Did the Consolidated Rail Corporation violate
the requirements of Sections 2, First, 2,
Seventh, and 6 of the Railway Labor Act
prohibiting the carrier from revising or
terminating any provision of a collective
ining agreement to which it was a party,
when the carrier refused to pay Title V benefits
embodied in a collective bargaining agreement
after the repeal of the statutory provisions?

‘

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
EE i
i ce en eae ccbccateseneeeeese iii
EE = 2
ed chs cuassphWine's 6 é¢00s cébevese 2
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED 3
STATEMENT OF THE DM Eiuie se inecOgeensics vees'e 5
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ..............-005- 17

I. The Decision Of The Special Court Involves A Sub-
stantial Constitutio Issue That Should Be De-
ES coo os ha coceascvecceecce 17

II. The Decision Of The Special Court Raises Important
Issues With Respect To Federal Statutory Law That

This Court Should Decide ..................... 21
tee el CL oseccavnevcvcovceess 25
APPENDICES:

APPENDIX A Complaint of RLEA for Declaratory and
Permanent Injunctive Relief .......... la

APPENDIX B Answer of the Defendant United States lla

APPENDIX C Answer of Defendant Consolidated Rail
SE Sicha vncGoceesccuneséncce 16a

APPENDIX D Stipulation of the Parties ....... ere 20a

APPENDIX E Motion of Plaintiff Railway Labor Execu-
tives’ AssociationforSummaryJudgment 80a

APPENDIX F — : » soars ed ee vor of
erica for Summary Judgment on Stipu-

DT tiitsciss vecesaweabsceeecs 82a
APPENDIX G Motion of Defendant Consolidated Rail
Corporation for Summary Judgment on

ED cc ivancepsestaescecess 84a
APPENDIX H Decision of the Special Court, Filed De-
MEE. coccccsceccecososacss 86a

APPENDIX I Judgment of the Special Court, Filed De-
DEE sch cue ecseesecesecses 96a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page
Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90 (1980) ............05- 23
Hinds v. Conrail, 518 F.Supp. 1350 (Sp. Ct. RRRA,

1981), cert denied, 454 Us. 1145 (1982) .... 19, 20, 21
Indiana Ex. Rel. Anderson v. Brand, 303 U.S. 95(1938) 18
United States v. Larionoff, 431 U.S. 864 (1977) ...... 18
United States v. Lowden, 307 U.S. 225 (1939) ........ 6, 7

United Shwe oor Union v. Conrail, 535 F.Supp.
697 (Sp. Ct. RRRA), cert. denied, sub nom. Cannon
: on Rail Corporation, 457 U.S. 1133 -

Watt v. Alaska, 451 U.S. 259 (1981) .............55. 23

STATUTES AND OTHER MATERIALS RELIED UPON:
Bankruptcy Act, 11 U.S.C. § 1, et seq.

Section 77(b), 11 U.S.C. § 205(b) .......... eee eee 6
Interstate Commerce Act, 49 U. S.C. § 10101, et seq.

Former Section 5(2)(f), 49 ULS.C. § 11847 ......... 7
Northeast Rail Service Act, 45 U.S.C. § 1101,

CO GOG., ccccccvcccveccvccccccesceccvcevecseses passim
Section 1134, 45 U.S.C. §1108 ............ eo 14
Section 1148(a), 965 Stat. G61 .......ceccccccccccee 14
OMRON BORG, Gir ts cick lec ccccctecevsncsave 3, 23
Section 1144(a), 96 Stat. 669 ........ccccccccccees 4, 23
Section 1152(a), 45 U.S.C. § 1105(a) ............... 2
Section 1152(b), 45 U.S.C. § 1105(b) .............. 3

Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. § 151, et seg. ....... passim
Section 2, First, 45 U.S.C. § 152, First ....... 3, 16, 22
Section 2, Seventh, 45 U.S.C. § 152, Seventh . 3, 16, 22
RONG GD, BB. Cte Oe nos sc cdncee cpacsssccenn 23
Section 6, 45 U.S.C. § 156 ........... miata 3, 16, 23
Section 10, 45 U.S.C. § 160 ......... PE ey ee Re 23

Regional Rail Reorganization Act of 1973, 45 U.S.C.

Oe fe ree passim

Section 101(a’, 45 U.S.C. § 70l(a) ................. 5

iv

Table of Authorities Continued

Page

I Ae TED 6c viin owecicctccccvnves 2
Section S06, 46 U.S.C. § 748 2... cc ccccccscccccvas 4
SP NE, BOER obicccccconcdcccenens 3, 5
Section 502, 45 U.S.C. § 772 .............: FaGaons 12
Section 502(a), 45 U.S.C. § 772(a) .............00e 22
SE SEP Mie © COW. Soccccncscccccencntes 12
eee ee er 13
Section 504(a), 45 U.S.C. § 774(a) ........... 13, 24, 25
Section 504(d), 45 U.S.C. § 774(d) ............... 14, 22
Section 505(a 45 U.S.C. § 775(a) ................. 12
Section 505(d), 45 U.S.C. § T75(d) ................ 12
ae I Eis OB UUE: vice cn odccewsceveunns 13
Staggers Act, Pub.L.No. 96-448, 94 Stat. 1895 (1980) 14, 19
. GSO scnscwsccsaasrccecses 1, 3, 4, 15

Hearings Before the Surface Transportation Subcommit-
tee of the Committee on Commerce of the United
States Senate, November 1973 ................. 10

Northeast Railroad Investigation, Report of the ICC to
the Senate Committee on Commerce and the House

Committee on Interstate and Foreign Commerce
SDE suk Gacs'cas Wades conve haere toaubas ae eles 9

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1983

No. 83-

RAILWAY LABOR EXECUTIVES’ ASSOCIATION,
Petitioner,
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA AND
CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SPECIAL COURT, REGIONAL RAIL
REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1973

The petitioner, Railway Labor Executives’ Association
(“RLEA”), respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari
issue to review the final judgment of the Special Court,
Regional Rail Reorganization Act of 1973 (“Special
Court”), dated December 23, 1983, dismissing on the
merits the Complaint of petitioner RLEA requesting the
Special Court (1) to declare the action of Congress in
repealing Title V of the Regional Rail Reorganization Act
of 1973,' to be unconstitutional as violative of the Fifth
Amendment to the United States Constitution and to
enjoin enforcement of the repealing statute; and (2) to
declare that the Consolidated Rail Corporation may not
unilaterally change provisions of its collective bargaining

'45 U.S.C. § 771, et seq.

2

agreements containing the labor protective conditions of
Title V and enjoin such action as violative of the Railway
Labor Act.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Special Court, not yet reported, was
entered on December 19, 1983, and is reproduced as
Appendix H hereto. The final judgment of the Special
Court was entered on December 23, 1983, and is repro-
duced as Appendix I hereto.’

JURISDICTION

The Special Court was established by Title II, Section
209 of the Regional Rail Reorganization Act of 1973
(hereinafter referred to as the 3R Act, 45 U.S.C. § 719).
Its jurisdiction to entertain the Complaint of petitioner
RLEA was provided by Section 1152(a) of the Northeast
Rail Service Act of 1981, (hereinafter referred to as
“NERSA”),‘ which reads as follows:

Section 1152. (a) Notwithstanding any other
provision of law, the special court shall have original
and exclusive jurisdiction over any civil action—

(1) for injunctive, declaratory, or other relief
relating to the enforcement, operation, execution, or
interpretation of any provision of or amendment
made by this subtitle, or administrative action taken
thereunder to the extent such action is subject to
judicial review;

(2) challenging the constitutionality of any provi-
sion of or amendment made by this subtitle;

245 U.S.C. § 151, et seq.
*The Appendix is hereinafter cited as “App.”
#45 U.S.C. § 1101, et seq.

3

(3) to obtain, inspect, copy, or review any docu-
ment in the possession or control of the Secretary,
Conrail, the United States Railway Association, or
Amtrak that would be discoverable in litigation
under any provision of or amendment made by this
subtitle; or

(4) seeking judgment upon any claim against the
United States founded upon the Constitution and
resulting from the operation of any provision of or
amendment made by this subtitle.

The judgment of the Special Court was entered on
December 23, 1983 (App. I). This petition is governed by
the provisions of Section 1152(b) of NERSA (45 U.S.C.
§ 1105(b)), which require the petition to be filed not more
than 20 days after entry of such judgment. The provisions
of such section read as follows:

(b) A judgment of the special court in any action
referred to in this section shall be reviewable only
upon petition for a writ of certiorari to the Supreme

ourt of the United States, except that any order or
judgment enjoining the enforcement, or declaring or
determining the eee invalidity, of
any provision of this subtitle shall be reviewable by
direct —_— to the Supreme Court of the United
States. Such review is exclusive and any petition or
— shall be filed not more than 20 days after entry
of such order or judgment.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
INVOLVED

This case involves the provisions of the Fifth Amend-
ment to the Constitution of the United States, Section
1144 of NERSA, Title V of the 3R Act (45 U.S.C. § 771, et
seq.), and Sections 2, First, 2, Seventh, and 6 of the
Railway Labor Act (45 U.S.C. §§ 152, First, Seventh and
6).

4

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitu-
tion reads as follows:

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or
otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment
or indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising
in the land or naval forces, in the Militia, when in
actual service in time of War or public danger; or
shall any person be subject for the same offence to be
twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be
compelled in any criminal case to be a witness against
himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law; nor shall private proper-
ty be taken for public use, without just compensa-
tion.

Title V of the 3R Act provided protection for employees
of seven (7) railroads placed in a worse position with
respect to compensation, fringe benefits, rules, and
working conditions by the conveyance to Conrail on April
1, 1976, of the rail properties of their employing carriers
pursuant to Section 303 of the 3R Act (45 U.S.C. § 748).
Applicable sections of the 3R Act are reproduced where
pertinent in the petition.

Section 1144(a) of NERSA repealed the provisions of
Title V of the 3R Act. The Section reads as follows:

Section 1144(a)(1). Title V of the Regional Rail
a Act of 1973 (45 U.S.C. § 771 et seq.),
and the items in the table of contents of such Act
relating to such V, are repealed.

(2) Notwithstanding the repeal made by para-
graph (1) of this subsection—

(A) benefits accrued as of the effective date of
this subsection as a result of events that occurred,
wholly prior to October 1, 1981, shall be disbursed
except as provided in paragraph (3); and

5

(B) any dispute or controversy regarding such
benefits shall be determined.under the terms of the
law in effect on the date the claim arose.

(3) Benefits shall not be disbursed under para-
graph (2)(A) unless the employee has filed a claim for
such benefits within 90 days after the date of repeal;
except that, with respect to a claim which is the
subject of or is based pew any arbitration decision
issued after the date of repeal, such 90-day period
shall not commence until such arbitration decision is
issued to the employee and the employee’s represen-
tative; and no benefits shall be disbursed unless ap-
— for such purposes are or become avail-
able.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This litigation arises ont of the act of Congress in
repealing the protective benefits for railroad employees
embodied in Title V of the 3R Act (45 U.S.C. §§ 771, et
seq.) and the unilateral refusal of Conrail to provide such
protections where embodied in collective bargaining
agreements negotiated pursuant to the Railway Labor
Act (45 U.S.C. §§ 151, et seq)

The 3R Act was enacted by Congress as Public Law
No. 93-236, effective January 2, 1974 (45 U.S.C. § 701, et
seq.) The statute was enacted, as the findings set forth in
Section 101(a), (45 U.S.C. § 701(a)), thereof state, for the
essential purpose of continuing and improving essential
rail service in the northeast region of the United States,
which Congress found to be in the public interest as
necessary to the preservation and maintenance of ade-
quate national rail services and an efficient national rail
transportation service. The statute provided for the crea-
tion of the “Consolidated Rail Corporation” (Conrail) to
operate the rail properties of the seven northeast rail-
roads then in reorganization proceedings in federal courts

. 2

under Section 77(b) of the Bankruptcy Act.’ Title V was
enacted as an integral part of the statute because some 40
years of history had demonstrated that just and reason-
able treatment of railroad employees was an essential
element of the public interest in the maintenance of an
adequate and efficient transportation system.’ Such a
conclusion was recognized and set forth by this Court in
its unanimous decision on December 4, 1939, in United
States v. Lowden, 308 U.S. 225, reversing a decision of a
lower Federal Court invalidating employee protective
conditions imposed by the Interstate Commerce Commis-
sion (hereinafter, “ICC” or “Commission”) in authorizing
a lease of a railroad by one railroad company to another.
In affirming the validity of the Commission’s action, this
Court declared:
One must disre the entire history of railroad
relations in the United States to be able to say that
the just and reasonable treatment of railroad em-
ployees in mitigation of the hardship imposed on

them in carrying out the national policy of railway
consolidation has no bearing on the successful

* The seven railroads which conveyed their rail properties to Con-
rail pursuant to the 3R Act and whose employees were covered by
Title V of that statute were:

Penn Central
Lehigh Valley
Erie Lackawanna
Reading Railroad Company
Central of New Jersey
Lehigh Hudson
Pennsylvania Reading Seashore Lines
Ann Arbor R.R. (portions)
*Pub. L. No. 93-236, 87 Stat. 986 (1973)

7

prosecution of that policy and no relationship to the
maintenance of an adequate and efficient transporta-

tion system.
*x* * *

The now extensive history of legislation regulating
the relations of railroad employees and employers
plainly evidences the awareness of Congress that
Just and reasonable treatment of railroad employees
is not only an essential aid to the maintenance of a
service uninterrupted by labor disputes, but that it

promotes efficiency, which suffers through loss of
employee morale when the demands of justice are

ignored. (Emphasis supplied.)
Id. at 234, 236.

The Court’s opinion refers to the fact that there was
then pending before the Congress proposals to amend the
Interstate Commerce Act to require the Commission to
include, as a condition of its approval of any consolidation
or lease transaction, “a fair and equitable arrangement to
protect the interests of the employees affected.” Such
legislation was subsequently enacted as Section 5(2)(f) of
Part I of the Interstate Commerce Act (now codified as 49
U.S.C. § 11347).

Since 1940, there has developed within the railroad
industry an extensive network of collective bargaining
agreements, Commission decisions, and legislation,
providing protection for employees of railroads involved
in various transactions against the adverse affects of the
consummated transaction. These protections are trace-
able back to the “Agreement of May, 1936, Washington,
D.C., Washington Job Protection Agreements” between
219 railroads and 21 labor organizations representing
railroad employees, referred to by this Court in its Low-
den decision (308 U.S. at 234). The Washington Agree-
ment provided that no employee of a particular carrier

8

involved in a particular coordination should “be placed, as
a result of such coordination, in a worse position with
respect to compensation and rules governing working
conditions than he occupied at the time of such coordina-
tion.” To this end, the agreement provided allowances for
displaced employees and terminated employees, protec-
tion of fringe benefits, and protection against losses from
the sale of property required by a change of work loca-
tion, as well as, expenses in moving to such location.
Every collective bargaining agreement in the industry
dealing with employee protection and every legislative
enactment covering the subject between 1936 and 1973,
was patterned after the Washington Agreement.’ In-
deed, it even became the pattern for the Civil Aeronau-
tics Board in the airline industry in approving air carrier
transactions and for agreements between airlines and
organizations representing carrier employees.*

Consequently, when federal legislation became neces-
sary in 1973 to create a viable rail system capable of
providing rail service to the Northeast region of the
United States, it was clear that such legislation must
provide for the just and reasonable treatment of the
employees involved. Such treatment was required by the
facts of economic necessity to establish stable and effi-
cient rail operations which are necessary to the needs of
Commerce, the national defense, and the environment of
the country. Moreover, the task of Congress was compli-
cated by the fact that it was compelled to consolidate
seven railroads. the largest of which was the Penn Cen-
tral, with some 60,000 employees who were covered by

7 See: Southern Railway-Control-Cent. of Ga. Ry. Co., 331 L.C.C.
151 (1967).

*See: Braniff Master Executive Council etc. v. C.A.B., 693 F.2d
220, 222 (D.C. Cir. 1982).

9

protections embodied in collective bargaining agree-
ments in the decades since 1936.* Copies of typical agree-
ments are attached as exhibits to the Stipulation between
the parties before the Special Court. The legislative
history of the 3R Act clearly shows that the Congress was
made aware of these contracts and the employee rights
based thereon as well as the legal need to preserve such
rights.

In its report to Congress on the proposed 3R Act, the
Commission stated:"

“It should be recognized that the railroad workers
have some substantial legal rights to employment
and employment benefits. Those rights have been
won over many years of collective bargaining. The
railroad employee's rights, however, high the price
seems today, are legal rights, evidenced by binding
contracts.”

The report also advised the Congress that the employees
involved “are entitled legally and morally, to assistance
in pursuit of their contractual rights” as well as
compensation" and the need to provide “comparable
protection” if there was to be created a viable Conrail to
replace the seven existing carriers.

*Examples of these contracts are attached as exhibits to the
Stipulation of Facts between the parties (App. D).

“Northeast Railroad Investigation, Report of the ICC to the
Senate Committee on Commerce and the House Committee on In-
terstate and Foreign Commerce,” p. 37 (1973). (emphasis supplied).

Jd. (emphasis supplied).

10

Mr. W. Graham Claytor, then President of the South-
ern Railway System, advised the Senate Committee on
Commerce to this effect as follows:"

Second, in this particular instance we are dealing
with employees who have that protection, lifetime
attrition protection under the terms of the...
agreement that was entered into in connection with
the New York Central and Pennsylvania Merger. If
we do not give comparable protection, something is
being taken away from those employees—a contract
right which they now have.

It was perfectly clear that it would be utterly
impossible to reach any kind of agreement that would
not result in strikes, dislocation, everything else,
unless this were recognized. (emphasis supplied).

Likewise, Mr. Stephen Ailes,*the President and Chief
Executive Officer of the Association of American Rail-
roads, advised the same Senate Committee that the situa-
tion was “sui generis” because the Penn Central merger
_“guaranteed the rights these employees already have
when this particular situation came about."

Congress resolved the moral and legal obligations of
which it had been advised by legislating Title V as an
integral part of the 3R Act. Title V provides as follows:

First: The provisions of Title V covered a category of
“protected employees,” i.e., those employees of the seven
railroads on January 2, 1974, when the 3R Act became
effective and on April 1, 1976, when the rail properties of
such railroads were conveyed to Conrail who became

' Hearings before Surface Transportation Subcommittee of the
Committee on Commerce of the United States Senate, November
15-19, 1973, page 969.

‘8 Jd. at 971.

11

Conrail employees upon the conveyance date."* Section
505 provided such employees protection against being
placed in a “worse position” in the form of (a) monthly
displacement allowances for employees deprived of em-
ployment or adversely affected with respect to compensa-
tion; (b) separation allowances for employees accepting
an offer of Conrail to resign; (c) termination allowances
for employees with less than three years service whom
Conrail chose to terminate within one year; and (d) pay-
ment of moving expenses required to move to another
work location requiring a change of residence.

The length of these benefits was tied to years of serv-
ice. They could not be received without the employee
meeting certain standards. These included a requirement
that the employee exercise his or her seniority to obtain
the highest paying job his or her seniority would permit
not requiring a change in residence,” and provisions
authorizing Conrail to charge the compensation of such a
job against the employee if he or she failed to bid for it.
Moreover, the statute provided that a monthly displace-
ment allowance terminated upon the employee’s death,
retirement, resignation, or dismissal for cause, and upon
suspension of any such allowance for the period of a
disciplinary suspension for cause, failure to work due to
illness or disability, voluntary furlough, or failure to
obtain and retain a job by exercise of seniority.

4 Sections 501(1), (2), and (3). 45 U.S.C. §§ 771(1), (2), and (3).

‘5 As set forth infra page 12, the statute permitted a transfer of
employees throughout the system. If the transfer was to a location
requiring a change in residence, the employee could go on furlough
without an allowance or leave Conrail’s employment with severance

pay.

12

The purpose of these protections was set forth in Sec-
tion 505(a) of the 3R Act (45 U.S.C. § 775(a)) as follows:

Sec. 505. (a) EQUIVALENT POSITION. A
rotected employee whose employment is governed
y acollective- ining agreement will not, except

as explicitly provided in this title, during the period
in which he is entitled to protection, be placed in a
worse position with respect to compensation, fringe
benefits, rules, working conditions, and rights and
privileges pertaining thereto, including benefits
under any a pension benefit mg in effect on
December 1, 1975, other than a plan maintained
primarily for the purpose of providing deferred com-
pensation for a select group of management person-
nel or other highly compensated employees... .”

Congress also required in Section 502 of the statute (45
U.S.C. § 772) that Conrail offer employment to all “pro-
tected” employees of the seven railroads and apply to
such employees the protective provisions of Title V.

Second: Congress provided Conrail with flexibility in
the utilization of the services of the protected employees
by (a) giving the carrier in Section 503 (45 U.S.C. § 773)
the right to assign, allocate, reassign, reallocate, and
consolidate work formerly performed on the rail prop-
erties acquired pursuant to the 3R Act in accordance with
the conditions set forth therein and by (b) giving the
carrier the right in Section 505(d) (45 U.S.C. § 775(d)) the
right to transfer an employee deprived of employment to
any bona fide vacancy within the employee’s craft or class
for which the employee was qualified in accordance with
the provisions of the section. If such an employee refused
such a transfer, he or she had the option of becoming a
voluntary furloughee with a suspension of a right to re-
ceive a monthly displacement allowance or accepting
severance pay.

13

Third: Congress provided in Section 504(a) of the 3R
Act (45 U.S.C. § 774(a)) that until replaced by the
negotiation of a single new agreement covering rates of
pay, rules, and working conditions of such craft or class of
employees, Conrail was required to assume and apply the
obligations of all the contracts on the properties of each of
the seven railroad properties conveyed to Conrail, “ex-
cept that the Agreement of May 1936, Washington, D.C.,
and provisions of other existing job stabilization agree-
ments shall not be applicable to transactions effected
pursuant to this Act with respect to which the provisions
of Section 505 of this title shall be superseding and con-
trolling.” Thus, Congress achieved uniformity of protec-
tions and administration thereof by substituting Title V
protections for those contained in existing collective
bargaining agreements. (45 U.S.C. § 774).

This provision was accepted by the railway labor orga-
nizations as providing a “fair and reasonable” arrange-
ment for the protection of employees adversely affected
by the conveyance of their employer rail properties to
Conrail in substitution for the contract rights of the em-
ployees involved which the Interstate Commerce Com-
mission had advised the Congress were legal rights which
there was a “legal and moral obligation” to preserve. This
acceptance was made in spite of the fact that Title V
provided less than existing contract rights and gave
greater freedom to the employing carrier with respect to
transfer and utilization of employees than existing con-
tracts. It was the employee’s contribution toward making
Conrail a viable operation.

Many disputes arose with respect to the interpretation
and application of Title V, which were settled by the
arbitration board provided by Section 507, (45 U.S.C.
§ 777), over Conrail objections on the basis of the statuto-

14

ry language. This lead to amendments by Congress in the
so-called Staggers Act, Pub. L. No. 96-448, 94 Stat. 1895
(1980), effective October 1, 1980, the most important of
which was to change the basis of calculating monthly
displacement allowances insisted upon by the United
States Railway Association, created by Section 201 of the
3R Act to create a Conrail system plan, and adopted by
Congress" several months after the original passage of
the statute. Only a handful of disputes arose after the
Staggers Act amendments with respect thereto.

In 1981, Congress passed NERSA, (45 U.S.C. § 1101,
et seq.) the declared purposes of which were (1) to remove
by a date certain, the federal obligation to subsidize the
freight operations of Conrail; (2) to transfer Conrail com-
muter services to other entities; and (3) to return Conrail
freight service to the private sector. The “goals” of the
legislation were set forth in Section 1134 thereof (45
U.S.C. § 1103). Although these goa!s included a reduc-
tion of costs by collective bargaining, no mention was
made of Title V. Section 1144(a) of the statute, quoted
supra, page 4, repealed Title V. Section 1143(a) provided
substantially inferior protections or none at all for many
employees. (App. A, Para. 19).

In 1979, the Brotherhood of Railway and Airline
Clerks, Freight Handlers, Express and Station Em-
ployes (BRAC), negotiated a new collective bargaining
agreement to replace the agreements between BRAC
and each of the seven (7) railroads which had conveyed
their vail properties to Conrail, as required by Section
504(d) of the 3R Act. Rule 62 of this agreement, effective
April 27, 1979, which appears as Exhibit C to the Stipula-

'® The proposal for calculation recommended by the railroads and
railway labor organizations contained in the original statute followed
the Washington Agreement.

15

tion of Facts between the parties in this litigation, (App.
D)" imposes on Conrail as a matter of employer-employee
contractual obligations, the benefits as provided in Title
V. Rule 62 reads as follows:

“Protected employees will be afforded the benefits as
at in Appendix No. 8 or 9, whichever is appli-
cable.”

Appendix 8 referred to in Rule 62 is a reproduction of
Title V intact and Appendix 9 is a memorandum for the
protection of BRAC represented employees in Canada.

After the repeal of Title V, RLEA, filed its Complaint
in the Special Court against the United States and Con-
rail on behalf of its twenty (20) affiliated organizations
representing Conrail employees. (App. A, Para. 3).

Count I of this Complaint alleged (1) that the United
States is bound by its contracts (para. 15); (2) that Conrail
employees relied to their detriment in giving up all vested
labor protection and scope rules to which they would have
been entitled in exchange for the promise and eventual
passage of the employee protections contained in Title V;
and (3) that Congress violated the Fifth Amendment to
the United States Constitution in repealing Title V by
violating its contractual promises to continue the protec-
tion afforded by Title V, by which the employees gave up
their coexisting contractual promises (App. A).

Count II of the Complaint alleged a contractual obliga-
tion by Conrail to honor Title V rights by incorporating

'’ The entire collective bargaining agreement has not been repro-
duced as a part of App. D because of its length. Only Rule 62 has been
reproduced.

16

those rights in collective bargaining agreements; and that
Conrail had unilaterally refused to comply with its con-
tract obligatioris in violation of the provisions of Sections
2, First, 2, Seventh, and 6 of the Railway Labor Act
governing the making, maintenance, and revision or ter-
mination of such agreements. (App. A).

Defendants United States and Conrail filed answers to
the Complaint. (App. B and C). The parties entered intoa
Stipulation of Facts, including the authentication of docu-
ments attached hereto. (App. D).

RLEA filed a Motion for Summary Judgment pursuant
to Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure on the
grounds that there was no genuine issue as to any mate-
rial fact and plaintiff is entitled to judgment as a matter of
law. (App. E). Defendant United States filed a Motion for
Summary Judgment on Stipulated Facts as also did Con-
rail. (App. F and G).

On December 19, 1983, the Special Court filed its deci-
sion finding that Title V constituted social welfare legisla-
tion conferring only gratuitous benefits, that the repeal of
such legislation does not violate the Fifth Amendment
unless it is arbitrary and irrational, and that the repeal of
Title V was based on rational grounds. The decision also
rejected the claim for relief against Conrail on the basis of
the BRAC-Conrail collective bargaining agreement on
the grounds that the repeal of Title V voided any con-
tractual obligations of Conrail to pay Title V benefits.
(App. H).

On December 23, 1983, the Special Court filed its judg-
ment dismissing the RLEA complaint on the merits.
(App. I).

17

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Decision Of The Special Court Involves A Substantial
Constitutional Issue That Should Be Decided By This
Court

Count I of the Complaint in this case presented for
decision the important constitutional issue of whether
Title V of the 3R Act, providing uniform protections for
employees of seven (7) railroads consolidated into Con-
rail, as a substitute for existing protections set forth in
collective bargaining agreements and orders of the In-
terstate Commerce Commission, were contractual
obligations of the United States. If they were, Congress
was without authority to abrogate those obligations as it
did in repealing Title V. Such issue is of substantial im-
portance because of the wide network of protective collec-
tive bargaining agreements negotiated pursuant to feder-
al law in the past 40 years in the railroad industry and the
countless numbers of employees with rights under such
agreements as well as the large number of protective
rights embodied in other federal statutes, Interstate
Commerce Commission orders already issued and con-
tinuing to be issued pursuant to federal law, and the even
larger number of arbitration awards interpreting and
applying such laws and orders. To a lesser degree, the
issue has an impact on similar rights in the volatile air
transportation field where there are similar employer-
employee arrangements. If these can be brushed aside as
the decision below holds, there will be a substantial im-
pact on the transportation field.

The importance of the issue takes on even greater
significance because of the circumstances of the present
case in which the Interstate Commerce Commission, the
federal agency created by Congress to regulate the rail-
road industry, officially reported to Congress on the pro-
posed 3R Act that the railroad workers involved had

18

“some substantial legal rights to employment and em-
ployment benefits,” and that such rights, “however high
the price,” are “legal rights” and that the workers were
entitled “morally and legally” to assistance in pursuit of
their contractual rights. Such report was followed by
Congressional action enacting Title V substituting for
these employee rights a uniform package of similar
rights. While it is true that the 3R Act does not expressly
purport to create a contract with the employees through
such an exchange, this Court has recognized that this is
not necessary to establish an intent to create contractual
rights. Indiana Ex Rel. Anderson v. Brand, 303 U.S. 95
(1938); United States v. Larionoff, 431 U.S. 864 (1977). In
the /ndiana case, this Court stated that “it is established
that a legislative enactment may contain provisions
which, when accepted as the basis of action by in-
dividuals, became contracts between them and the state
or its railroads.” The Larionoff case contains similar con-
clusions. The employees involved took action in reliance
on the guarantees contained in Title V which were essen-
tial to the formation of Conrail. They also sacrificed
already existing rights embodied in agreements and ICC
orders. Nor was this reliance unjustified by the facts.
When Congress provides protective rights as a substitute
for existing rights, which the ICC had advised Congress
imposed a “legal and moral” obligation, it is difficult to
perceive how the employees or any other reasonable per-
sons could have thought anything other than that Con-
gress was exchanging one set of contractual legal rights
for other such rights, particularly when there is nothing
in the statute or legislative history to the contrary. The
decision below (App. H) erroneously states that the posi-
tion of the employees to be that Congress was fully aware
that Title V would supersede existing employee rights.
The facts, however, show a much greater degree of Con-

19

gressional knowledge. They show that the ICC, the
federal agency created to advise Congress in such mat-
ters, had advised that the employees possessed legal and
binding contractual rights which created both a legal and
moral obligation on Congress to assist “in the pursuit of
their contractual rights.” It defies belief that Congress
faced with such advice, deliberately destroyed the em-
ployee rights without giving any explanation for so doing,
or providing new contract statutory rights. The Commis-
sion’s advice to Congress, along with the same advice
from railroads, completely negates the findings of the
decision below that the legislative history of Title V does
not indicate Congressional imtent to compensate employ-
ees for forfeited contractual rights. That history speaks
to the contrary.

The decision is also erroneous in other vital respects. It
relies heavily, if not entirely, on a footnote in a prior
decision of another panel of the Special Court, identified
as Hinds v. Conrail, 518 F.Supp. 1350, 1352 n.2 (Sp. Ct.
RRRA, 1981) cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1145 (1982), to the
effect that Title V constitutes “social welfare legislation”
for purposes of Fifth Amendment review. A reading of
the Hinds decision, however, shows that (1) no claim that
Title V rights where contractual was involved; (2) that
the individual plaintiffs in that case presented only a
discriminatory treatment claim; and (3) that plaintiffs
agreed to the standard of judicial review applicable to a
repeal of “gratutious social welfare legislation.”

The Hinds decision involved only the issue of whether
the Staggers Act amendments of 1980 to Title V concern-
ing the method of calculating monthly allowances dis-
criminated between groups of employees. The decision
itself specifically so states in the following language: »

The only issue in this case is whether this aspect of
the Staggers Act discriminates between operating

20

employees on the one hand, and maintenance-of-way

and managerial employees, on the other, in a way so

lacking in rational justification as to violate the equal

pcm component of the due process claims of the
h amendment.

548 F.Supp. at 1352. Moreover, the same footnote in the
Hinds case on which the present decision rests further
states as follows that a contract claim in the complaint had
been withdrawn:

The plaintiffs’ constitutional contentions are narrow-
er in their brief than in their complaint in several
respects.

* *

*
Second, the complaint alleges that Title V was
enacted as a quid pro quo for contractual rights
purportedly waived in the transactions that created
Conrail. . . . But the plaintiffs withdraw that theory
in their brief at 1 n.1.

The subsequent statement, therefore, in footnote 2 to the
effect that Title V was perceived as a social welfare
program is gratuitous dicta not addressed to any issue
before the court below and not accompanied by any analy-
sis or briefing to assist the court below on the contractual
nature of Title V rights.

In spite of the above cited facts, the decision below
insists (App. H) that the statement in footnote 2 of the
Hinds case was not dicta but was necessary to the court’s
decision in that case to apply minimal scrutiny analysis
and thus has significance for the present case. Not only is
such a finding contrary to the cited facts, but also the
finding in the Hinds case itself was a result of the agree-
ment of plaintiffs therein to the application of the minimal
scrutiny standard so that there was no issue with respect

21

thereto. That finding is set forth at page 1353 of the Hinds
decision as follows:

“The plaintiffs accept the minimum rationality stand-

ard as applicable to this case... .
This Court consequently has before it a decision from
below on the important issue of whether, as the decision
itself states (App. H at 89a), “Title V created a con-
tractual obligation of the United States or whether the
Title V labor protection provisions were instead gra-
tuitous, social welfare benefits” which is disposed of by
citing as controlling case law a footnote of a different
panel in a different case not involving any contract claim
in which the plaintiffs agreed that a noncontractual stand-
ard was applicable. This erroneous application of the
Hinds case is identical since the court below (App. H at
92a) used the finding that Title V constituted social wel-
fare legislation, conferring gratuitous, rather than con-
tractual benefits, to apply noncontract standards to the
repeal action. By this means, the court below concluded
that the desire to reduce expenditures constituted a valid
basis for the repeal, a basis which the decision below
(App. H at 90a) agrees would not permit abrogation of
contract rights.

It is respectfully submitted that this Court should not
permit an important issue such as is to be involved to be
decided by a lower court without a full review on the basis
of such an analysis. This is particularly true in the circum-
stances involved which are enumerated above.

II. The Decision Of The Special Court Raises Important
Issues With Respect To Federal Statutory Law That This

Court Should Decide
In 1979, BRAC completed negotiation of a collective
bargaining agreement with Conrail to replace the sepa-

22

rate agreements between BRAC and the railroads whose
rail properties were conveyed to Conrail. Such an agree-
ment was required by Section 504(d) of the 3R Act. (45
U.S.C. § 774(d)). Since Section 502(a) of the 3R Act pro-
vided that Conrail “shall be subject to the provisions of
the Railway Labor Act,” the negotiations were conducted
in accordance with the mandatory provisions of that stat-
ute.

The agreement contained, among other provisions,
Rule 62 (App. D at 77a) providing that protected employ-
ees would be afforded the benefits provided in Appendix 8
or 9 thereto. The benefits provided in Appendix 8 are
those set forth in Title V, which is reproduced in such
appendix to the agreement. The provisions of Appendix 9
cover BRAC represented employees in Canada.

Section 2, First of the Railway Labor Act (45 U.S.C.
§ 152, First) requires Conrail to exert every reasonable
effort to make and maintain agreements and settle dis-
putes with respect thereto. The Section reads as follows:

It shall be the duty of all carriers, their officers,
—_ and employees to exert every reasonably
effort to make and maintain agreements concerning
rates of pay, rules, and working conditions, and to
settle all disputes, whether arising out of the applica-
tion of such agreements or otherwise, in order to
avoid any interruption to commerce or to the opera-
tion of any carrier growing out of any dispute be-
tween the carrier and the employees.
Section 2, Seventh of the Railway Labor Act (45 U.S.C.
§ 152, Seventh) prohibits Conrail from revising or
terminating its agreements except in accordance with the
provisions of the Railway Labor Act. The Section reads
as follows:

No carrier, its officers or agents shall change the
rates of pay, rules, or working conditions of its em-

23

ployees, as a class as embodied in agreements except
in the manner prescribed in such agreements or in .
section 5 of this Act.
The mandatory provisions for revising agreements in-
clude notice, negotiation, mediation and the possibility of
a Presidential Emergency Board consideration as re-
quired by Sections Five, Six, and Ten of the Act (45
U.S.C., §§ 155, 156, 160).

Conrail has taken the position that since the repeal of
Title V, it can ignore the obligations of Rule 62 of its
collective bargaining agreements thus unilaterally at-
tempting to terminate the agreement in violation of the
cited requirements of the Railway Labor Act. Count II of
the Complaint seeks declaratory and injunctive relief to
prevent a unilateral termination thereof by Conrail in
clear violation of the statutory commands of the Railway
Labor Act cited above.

The Special Court decision dismisses Count II on the
merits on the ground that “Congress’ subsequent repeal
of Title V superseded the terms incorporated by that
contract” (page 9). However, Section 1144 of NERSA,
quoted in full on page 4, supra, repealing Title V, makes
.no reference to any protective obligations of Conrail
under collective bargaining agreements. It is a long es-
tablished principle of statutory interpretation that re-
peals by implication are not favored and legislative intent
must be clear and manifest. Watt v. Alaska, 451 U.S. 259
(1981); Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90 (1980).

Nor is a prior decision of the Special Court in United
Transportation Union v. Conrail, 535 F.Supp. 697, cert.
denied sub nom. Cannon v. Consolidated Rail Corpora-
tion, 457 U.S. 1133 (1982), relied upon in the decision
below (App. H at 93a) applicable to the issue now before
the Court. That case involved a question of whether

24

provisions of Section 702 of NERSA giving Conrail au-
thority to terminate certain employees and refuse to fill
vacancies applied where refusal to fill a vacancy would be
inconsistent with a collective bargaining agreement. That
issue is wholly unrelated to the question of whether Con-
gress struck down Rule 62 of the BRAC agreement,
imposing on Conrail, as distinguished from the United
States, contractual obligations, when it repealed the
federal obligations set forth in Title V. Such issue turns
solely on an interpretation of the repealing provision of
NERSA.

The decision below also asserts (App. H at 94a) that the
repeal of Title V covers Rule 62, because the latter is
inconsistent with the protections contained in NERSA
and cites the Conference Report on the legislation that
“any employee protection contained in collective bargain-
ing agreements is replaced by this protection.” The diffi-
culty with this argument is that the NERSA statute does
not do that. When Congress passed the 3R Act. it in-
cluded in Section 504(a) a specific proviso, cited above at
page 13, that Title V protections superseded those found
in the Washington Agreement and in other job stabiliza-
tion agreements. No such NERSA provision is cited by
the court below with respect to existing protective agree-
ments. Thus, having considered the problem when the 3R
Act was passed, the Congress specifically provided for
the superseding of existing agreement protections and in
the enactment of NERSA it did not do so. The situation,
therefore, gets back to the fact that there is no specific
repeal of Rule 62 or of any other collective bargaining
protection so that a repeal must be implied. The cases
cited at page 23, supra, from this Court reject repeal by
implication. The conclusion of an intent not to repeal such
protections is further strengthened by the failure of Con-

25

gress in NERSA to utilize the method that it had previ-
ously used to accomplish that result. This is particularly
true when the subject matter is the voiding of a collective
bargaining agreement which should not be implied in the
absence of specific superseding language as in Section
504(a) of the 3R Act.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons enumerated above, a Writ of Cer-
tiorari should be issued by this Court to review the judg-
ment and opinion of the Special Court and upon such
review reverse that judgment.

Respectfully submitted,
JAMES L. HIGHSAW, JR. ™
(Counsel of Record)
WILLIAM G. MAHONEY
CLINTON J. MILLER, III
HIGHSAW & MAHONEY, P.C.
Suite 210

1050 - 17th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 296-8500

Attorneys for Railway Labor
Executives’ Association

January 12, 1984

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

SPECIAL COURT
REGIONAL RAIL REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1973

Civil Action No. 82-11

RAILWAY LABOR EXECUTIVES’ ASSOCIATION,
400 First Street NW
Washington, DC 20001,
Plaintiff,

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
and
CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION,
Six Penn Center Plaza
Philadelphia, PA 19107,
Defendants.

COMPLAINT OF RAILWAY LABOR EXECUTIVES’
ASSOCIATION FOR DECLARATORY AND PERMANENT
INJUNCTIVE RELIEF

JURISDICTION

1. This Court has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant
to 45 U.S.C. § 1105, as amended, which provides, in pertinent

part:

“(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the
special court shall have original and exclusive jurisdiction
over any civil action—

(1) for injunctive, declaratory, or other relief relat-
ing to the enforcement, operation, execution, or in-
terpretation of any provision of or amendment made by

2a

this subtitle, or administrative action taken thereunder
to the extent such action is subject to judicial review;”

2. Additionally, this action is filed pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 2201 since this is an actual controversy among the parties
over which this Court has jurisdiction, thereby empowering
this Court to declare the rights and duties of the parties with
regard to each other.

PARTIES

3. Plaintiff Railway Labor Executives’ Association
(hereinafter, “RLEA”) is an unincorporated association with
which are affiliated the chief executive officers of all of the
standard national and international railway labor unions in the
United States. The organizations whose chief executive offic-
ers are members of the RLEA are listed below.

American Railway and Airway Supervisors
Association, Division of BRAC

American Train Dispatchers Association

Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers

Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employes

Brotherhood of Railroad Signalmen

Brotherhood of Railway, Airline and Steamship Clerks,
Freight Handlers, Express and Station Employes

Brotherhood Railway Carmen of the United States and
Canada

Hotel & Restaurant Employees & Bartenders
International Union

International Association of Machinists and Aerospace
Workers

International Brotherhood of Boilermakers and
Blacksmiths

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers

International Brotherhood of Firemen & Oilers

International Longshoremen’s Association

International Organization of Masters, Mates and Pilots

National Marine Engineers Beneficial Association

Railroad Yardmasters of America

3a

Sheet Metal Workers’ International Association
Seafarers International Union of North America
Transport Workers Union of America

United Transportation Union

RLEA maintains its headquarters at 400 First Street, NW,
Washington, DC 20001. The organizations whose chief execu-
tive officers are members of the RLEA represent employees of
the Consolidated Rail Corporation [hereinafter, “Conrail”).
Said organizations are parties to collective-bargaining agree-
ments with Conrail governing rates of pay, rules, and working
conditions of Conrail employees represented by said organiza-
tions, which were negotiated and are maintained in accordance
with the requirements of the Railway Labor Act (45 U.S.C.
§ 151, et seq.) and the Regional Rail Reorganization Act of 1973
(45 U.S.C. § 771, et seq.).

4. Defendant Conrail is a corporation organized and exist-
ing under the laws of the State of Pennsylvania with principal
offices in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and also organized pur-
suant to authority contained in Section 301 of the Regional Rail
Reorganization Act of 1973 (hereinafter, “3R Act”) (45 U.S.C.
§ 741), which is engaged in the transportation of passengers
and property for hire in interstate and foreign commerce sub-
ject to the provisions of the Interstate Commerce Act (49
U.S.C. § 10101, et seg.) and is a “carrier” within the meaning of
that term as defined in the Railway Labor Act (45 U.S.C.
§ 151, et seq.). Conrail is an integral part of the nationwide
railway system of the United States and is governed by the
provisions of the Interstate Commerce Act (49 U.S.C. § 10101,
et seq.) and the Railway Labor Act (45 U.S.C. § 151, et seq.)
and connects and interchanges freight and passengers with
other railroads engaged in interstate commerce.

STATEMENT OF CLAIMS FOR RELIEF

COUNT I

5. Title V of the Regional Rail Reorganization Act of 1973
(hereinafter, “3R Act” ]provided for employee protection for a

da

class of employees defined in §§ 501(2) and 501(3) of said Act to
wit:

(2) “employee ofa railroad in reorganization” means a
person who on the effective date of a conveyance of rail
properties of a railroad in reorganization to the Corpora-
tion or any subsidiary thereof, to the National Railroad
Passenger Corporation, to an oe railroad, or to a
State pursuant to section 208(d)(2) of this Act has an

_ employment relationship with either said railroad in reor-
ization or any carrier (as defined in parts I and II of the
nterstate Commerce Act) which is leased, controlled, or
operated by the railroad in reorganization (except a Class
I railroad which is not wholly owned, operated, or leased
by a railroad in reorganization but is controlled by a rail-
road in reorganization), but does not include a president,
vice president, treasurer, secretary, comptroller, and any
other person who performs functions corresponding to
those performed by the foregoing officers;

(3) “protected employee” means any employee of—

(A) an acquiring or selling railroad who is adversely
affected by a transaction;

(B) the Corporation who, immediately preceding
such employment by the Corporation, was employed by
a selling railroad and who is adversely affected by the
sale of rail properties to the Corporation pursuant to an
offer designated under section c)(2) of this Act;

(C) a railroad in reorganization in the region; and

(D) a railroad who is adversely affected by a sup-
plemental transaction under section 305 of this Act or by
a project recommended under section 206(g) of this Act;

who, in any such case, has not reached age 65 on the
effective date of this Act;
6. Conrail was required to offer employment to such em-
ployees and to apply the protective provisions of Title V to said
employees by Section 502(b) of the 3R Act.

7. Section 505 of the 3R Act spelled out the employee
protections for said class of employees, which included: that
protected employees would not be placed in a worse position

oa

with respect to compensation, fringe benefits, rules, and work-
ing conditions during the protective period (Section 505(a));
that a monthly displacement allowance be paid to protected
employees for any calendar month in which said employees
were deprived of employment or adversely affected with re-
gard to compensation (Section 505(b)); that the duration of the
displacement allowance for such employees be until attainment
of age 65 for any protected employee with five (5) or more years
of service on the effective date of the Act (Section 505(c)); that
such protected employees be subject to transfer by Conrail
upon certain conditions (Section 505(d)); that protected em-
ployees tendered an offer by Conrail who accepted said offer
were entitled to a separation allowance by Sections 505(e) and
505(f); that moving expense benefits were provided for pro-
tected employees by Section 505(g); and, that non-contract
employees were entitled to protections contained in Section
505(i).

8. The method of computation of the monthly displace-
ment allowances was changed by the Staggers Rail Act of 1980,
94 Stat. 1895, 1948, but otherwise the protections of Title V
remained intact.

9. In hearings before the Surface Transportation Sub-
committee of the Committee on Commerce of the United
States Senate held November 15, 16, and 19, 1973, W. Graham
Claytor, then President of the Southern Railway System, tes-
tified with regard to the employee protective benefits and
other contractual rights that railroad employees on railroads in
reorganization in the Northeast were relinquishing in return
for the protections prescribed in Title V of the 3R Act. Mr.
Claytor stated, in part:

Second, in this icular instance we are dealing with
employees who have that protection, lifetime attrition
protection under the terms of the. . . agreement that was
entered into in connection with the New York Central and
Pennsylvania Merger. If we do not give comparable

protection, something is erp Fg away from those
employees—a contract right which they now have.

6a

It was perfectly clear that it would be utterly impossible
to reach any kind of agreement that would not result in
strikes, dislocation, everything else, unless this were rec-
ognized. (emphasis supplied).

Hearings at 969.

We have been ee in this colloquy on the
attrition, the guarantee of a job until retirement age for
these people, but I would like to mention I think we should
keep in mind that this agreement has something in it that
is favorable to management, favorable to the new-
corporation, that has never been, so far as I know, in an
labor agreement: That is the right to trasfer [sic] people
within their craft outside of their seniority district.

Ifa job opens up in another place, and if the man doesn’t
take that, then he is required to resign and take severance
pay or go on unpaid furlough.

Now, this is terribly important as a practical matter
because it means that attrition will work much, much
faster. You don’t have to wait for a job to open where you
are. A job opens up anywhere on the system, and the man
can be assigned to it.

Work can also be transferred freely. That is, you may
close a shop here and concentrate all the work in another
shop there.

Theve two things are very important, and they were the
principal items that we felt, principal reasons that we felt
this agreement made that really made this new corpora-
tion a viable thing and that we though would hold the
money down within the limites stated.

I think those are very important advances that were
made in this agreement. (emphasis supplied)
Hearings at 972-73.

10. Stephen Ailes, President and Chief Executive Officer
of the Association of American Railroads testified at page 971
of said Hearings: “The thing that makes this case sui generis is
that Lewis Sanders [obviously a reference to the Luna-
Saunders Penn Central merger protection Agreement]
guaranteed the rights these employees already have when this
particular situation came about.”

Ta

ll. Historically, railroads have accepted employee protec-
tion as a cost of effecting change in the industry. In light of that
history, no railroad would have attempted to deny employee
protection in consummating the types of transactions necessi-
tated by the passage of the 3R Act of 1973.

12. In 1973 the affected rail employees had extensive pre-
existing contractual and statutory rights to employee protec-
tion. These contractual rights were based on a number of
employee protection agreements, such as the Washington Job
Protection Agreement and the Penn Central merger protec-
tion agreement. The statutory rights were based on the ICC’s
statutory mandate to protect the interests of rail employees in
approving mergers, acquisitions, and abandonments.

13. Ifthe railroads which became part of Conrail had re-
fused to provide adequate employee protection, the unions
could have taken a number of steps, including a strike, to
prevent the trains from running. Moreover, the tens of thou-
sands of employees who would have been affected would have
demanded protection compensation regardless of what union
leaders decided to do. Prospective purchasers recognized the
certainty of labor unrest. For that reason, prospective pur-
chasers would not have purchased a line until the employee
protection issue had been resolved. Additionally, the new
corporation (Conrail) was freed from provisions of existing
collective-bargaining agreements which prohibited the trans-
fer of work from one railroad to another or from one seniority
district to another.

14. Itis clear that rail labor played a substantial role in the
creation of the legislation which became the 3R Act of 1973.
Rail labor had substantial labor protections from a host of
previous agreements, including the Penn Central Merger
Protection Agreement. In exchange for Title V of the 3R Act of
1973, these employees gave up all of the vested protections
which they then had, including those in scope rules of existing

collective-bargaining agreements. Moreover, it is apparent
that the Congress was well aware of the cooperation of rail

8a

labor in presenting the 3R Act to the Congress at the request of
the Department of Transportation by virtue of the testimony
of Mr. Claytor and Mr. Ailes. In short, Congress accepted the
offer of rail labor (worked out with rail management) of waiv-
ing the vested protections to which it was entitled by virtue of
longstanding agreements and statutes, as well as the Penn
Central Merger agreement, in exchange for inclusion of Title V
inthe 3R Act. The 3R Act was passed by the Congress with the
full knowledge that such was the case.

15. The United States is bound by its contracts as in-
dividuals are bound by virtue of the Fifth Amendment of the
United States Constitution. See, Sinking Fund Cases, 99 U.S.
700 (1879). While Congress is free to reduce gratuities it con-
siders excessive, it is without the power to “reduce ex-
penditures by abrogating contractual obligations of the United
States.” Lynch v. United States, 292 U.S. 571, 580 (1934).

The Court in Lynch also stated:

“The Fifth Amendment commands that property be not
taken without making just compensation. Valid contracts
are property, whether the obligor be a private individual,
a State or the United States. — against the United
States arising out of a contract with it are protected by the
Fifth Amendment.”

Id. at 579.

See also, Perry v. United States, 294 U.S. 330, 354 (1935).

16. Conrail employees represented by the RLEA relied to
their detriment in giving up all vested labor protections and
scope rules to which they would have been entitled in exchange
for the promise and eventual passage of the employee protec-
tions contained in Title V of the 3R Act.

17. Inthe Northeast Rail Service Act of 1981 (hereinafter,
“NERSA"J, the Congress repealed Title V of the 3R Act with
all its protections, in § 1144 of NERSA (95 Stat. 669).

18. Insorepealing Title V of the 3R Act, Congress violated
the Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution in

9a

violating its contractual promise to the employees to railroads
in reorganization in the Northeast to continue the protections
afforded by Title V of the 3R Act, for which promise said
employees gave up all of their preexisting contractual protec-
tions, some of which were more beneficial then those provided
by Title V of the 3R Act.

19. Congress replaced Title V with new Title VII of the 3R
Act in Section 1143 of NERSA (95 Stat. 661-68) which provides
for much less employee protection, and in most cases no protec-
tion.

COUNT II

20. Plaintiff RLEA incorporates by reference paragraphs
1-18 above as if fully restated herein.

21. Title V has been incorporated by reference and by
appendix in collective-bargaining agreements which exist be-
tween Conrail and the various classes and crafts of employees.
For example, Rule 62 entitled “Employee Protection” of the
agreement existing between Conrail and the Brotherhood of
Railway, Airline and Steamship Clerks, Freight Handlers,
Express and Station Employes (hereinafter, “BRAC”] states
“protected employees will be afforded the benefits as provided
in Appendix No. 8. . .” Appendix 8 contains the provisions of
Title V of the 3R Act.

22. Section 6 of the Railway Labor Act (45 U.S.C. § 156),
which governs the employment relationship between Conrail
and employees represented by constituent members of the
RLEA, requires that certain mandatory procedures be fol-
lowed before any existing collective-bargaining agreements
can be changed.

23. Conrail has unilaterally refused to comply with rules of
collective-bargaining agreements which incorporate by refer-
ence Title V of the 3R Act in violation of §§ 2, First, 2, Seventh,
and 6 of the Railway Labor Act (45 U.S.C. §§ 152, First, 152,
Seventh, and 156).

10a

WHEREFORE, plaintiff RLEA prays that the Court:

1. Issue a judgment declaring that the action of the Con-
gress in repealing Title V of the 3R Act was unconstitutional as
violative of the Fifth Amendment to the United States Con-
stitution, and therefore is null and void;

2. Issue ajudgment declaring that Conrail may not unilat-
erally change any of its collective-bargaining agreements
which provide for the labor protections contained in Title V of
the 3R Act;

3. Issue an order enjoining enforcement of Title VII of the
3R Act set forth in § 1143 of NERSA (95 Stat. 661-68) and
ordering that Title V of the 3R Act remain in full force and
effect; and

4. Issue an order enjoining Conrail from violating Sec-
tions 2, First, 2, Seventh, and 6 of the Railway Labor Act
under the color of Section 1144 of NERSA, and requiring
Conrail to honor its collective-bargaining agreements with
constituent members of the RLEA which incorporate by refer-
ence Title V of the 3R Act.

5. Such other and different relief as may be proper in the
premises.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Norton N. Newborn
NorTON N. NEWBORN

GAINES & STERN, Co., L.P.A.
1700 Ohio Savings Plaza

1801 East Ninth Street
Cleveland, OH 44114

(216) 781-1700

Attorney for Railway Labor
Executives’ Association

Date: April 7, 1982

lla

APPENDIX B

SPECIAL COURT
REGIONAL RAIL REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1973

Civil Action No. 82-11

RAILWAY LABOR EXECUTIVES’ ASSOCIATION,
Plaintiff,
We

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, et al.,
Defendants.

ANSWER OF THE UNITED STATES

The United States of America, through its undersigned
counsel, in answer to the Complaint filed in the above-styled
action hereby admits, denies and answers as follows:

JURISDICTION

1. Paragraph 1 contains conclusions of law to which no
response is required. To the extent an answer is deemed neces-
sary, admitted.

2. Paragraph 2 contains conclusions of law to which no
response is required. To the extent an answer is deemed neces-
sary, denied.

PARTIES

3. Admitted.

4. Admitted.

COUNT I

5. The allegations of paragraph 5 are admitted to the
extent they are consistent with the statutes cited. The Court is
respectfully referred to the text of these statutes for a full and
complete statement of their contents.

12a

6. The allegations of paragraph 6 are admitted to the
extent they are consistent with the statutes cited. The Court is
respectfully referred to the text of these statutes for a full and
complete statement of their contents.

7. The allegations of paragraph 7 are admitted to the
extent they are consistent with the statutes cited. The Court is
respectfully referred to the t»xt of these statutes for a full and
complete statement of their contents.

8. The allegations of paragraph 8 are admitted to the
extent they are consistent with the statutes cited. The Court is
respectfully referred to the text of these statutes for a full and
complete statement of their contents.

9. The allegations of paragraph 9 are admitted only to the
extent that W. Graham Claytor testified before the Senate
Commerce Committee in 1973 concerning legislation that be-
came the former Title V of the Regional Rail Reorganization
Act of 1973 (Rail Act) and that the quotations contained in
paragraph 9 are excerpts from that testimony.

10. The allegations of paragraph 10 are admitted only to
the extent that Stephen Ailes testified before the Senate Com-
merce Committee and that the quotation contained in para-
graph 10 is an excerpt from that testimony.

11. The first sentence of paragraph 11 is admitted only to
the extent that it alleges that, at least since 1933, most common
carriers by railroad have accepted some employee protective
conditions negotiated with representatives of rail labor in the
context of discussions preparatory to, or imposed by Govern-
ment in connection with approval of, rail mergers, consolida-
tions and other coordinations; otherwise, denied. The second
sentence of paragraph 11 is denied.

12. The first sentence of paragraph 12 of the Complaint is
denied except to admit that certain employees of railroads in
reorganization who later became eligible to receive benefits
under Title V of the Rail Act had some rights against the
railroads in reorganization with respect to job and/or income

13a

protection and other benefits at the time of legislative consid-
eration of the Rail Act in 1973. The second sentence is denied
except to admit that a number of widely disparate employee
protective arrangements covered certain of the employees
later eligible for benefits under Title V of the Rail Act. The
third sentence is admitted to the extent supported by In-
terstate Commerce Commission Act. The Court is respectfully
referred to former Section 5(2)(f) of the Interstate Commerce
Act (45 U.S.C. 5(2)(f) (1970) for a full and complete statement
of its contents.

13. The first four sentences of paragraph 13 contain
speculative allegations to which no response is required. To the
extent an answer is deemed necessary, denied. The allegations
of the fifth sentence are denied except to admit that Title V of
the Rail Act provided certain latitude to the Consolidated Rail
Corporation (Conrail) to transfer work from one location to
another within the Conrail system and that, on information and
belief, certain collective bargaining agreements in effect on the
railroads in reorganization restricted transfer.

14. The first sentence of paragraph 14 of the Complaint is
denied except to admit that rail labor, among other interested
groups, influenced the development of the Rail Act. The
second sentence repeats the allegations of paragraph 12; and
the Court is respectfully referred to paragraph 12 of this
Answer. The remainder of the paragraph contains conclusions
of law to which no response is required.

15. The allegations of paragraph 15 contain conclusions of
law to which no response is required. To the extent an answer
is deemed necessary, denied.

16. Denied.

17. Denied except to admit that Section 1144 of the North-
east Rail Service Act, Subtitle E, Title XI, Pub. L. No. 97-35
(NERSA) repealed Title V of the Rail Act, effective Septem-
ber 1, 1981. This Court is respectfully referred to NERSA fora
full and complete statement of its contents.

l4a

18. Paragraph 18 contains conclusions of law to which no
response is required. To the extent an answer is deemed neces-
sary, denied.

19. Denied except to admit that NERSA enacted a new
Title VII of the Rail Act which provides for certain protections
for certain employees of Conrail who were previously pro-
tected by Title V. This Court is respectfully referred to Section
1143 of NERSA (Title VII of the Rail Act, as amended) for a
full and complete statement of its contents.

COUNT II

20. The United States incorporates by reference its re-
sponses to paragraphs 1 through 18 above as if fully restated
herein.

21. Denied except to admit that the text of Title V as
revised through February 5, 1976 was reprinted as an appen-
dix to the agreement between Conrail and the Brotherhood of
Railway, Airline and Steamship Clerks, Freight Handlers,
’ Express and Station Employees of April 27, 1979 and was
referred to in Rule 62 thereof.

22. The United States admits only that the Railway Labor
Act (45 U.S.C. 151 et seq.) prescribes certain procedures
governing collective bargaining in the railroad industry. The
Court is respectfully referred to the text of the Act for a full
and complete statement of its contents.

23. Denied.

The United States specifically denies all of the allegations of
the Complaint not otherwise answered.

l5a

SEPARATE DEFENSE

The Complaint fails to state a claim upon which relief can be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,

J. PAUL McGRATH
Assistant Attorney General

DENNIS G. LINDER

/s/ C. Max Vassanelli
C. MAX VASSANELLI

Attorneys, Department of Justice
9th & Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Room 3730

Washington, D.C. 20530
Telephone: (202) 633-4776

Attorneys for Defendants.
OF COUNSEL:

GrapDy C. COTHEN, JR.,
Attorney

Federal Railroad Administration
Department of Transportation
400 Seventh Street, S.W.
Washington, D.C. 20590

162

APPENDIX C

SPECIAL COURT
REGIONAL RAIL REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1973

Civil Action No. 82-11

RAILWAY LABOR EXECUTIVES’ ASSOCIATION,
400 First Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20001
Plaintiff,
We

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
and

CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION
Six Penn Center Plaza
Philadelphia, PA 19107
Defendants.

ANSWER OF DEFENDANT
CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION

Defendant, Consolidated Rail Corporation (hereinafter
“Conrail”), by its undersigned attorneys, hereby answers the
averments contained in the Plaintiffs Complaint in the above-
entitled action, in accordance with the numbered paragraphs
thereof, as follows:

1. Defendant admits that this Court has jurisdiction of
this action to the extent consistent with of the Regional Rail
Reorganization Act of 1973, as amended, by § 1152 of the
Northeast Rail Service Act of 1981.

2. Defendant admits that pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2201
this Court is empowered to declare the rights and duties of the

17a

parties in relation to each other, to the extent the Court has
subject matter jurisdiction.

3. Defendant admits the averments of paragraph 3 on the
basis of information and belief.

4. Admitted.

5,6,7. The allegations of paragraphs 5, 6, and 7 are admit-
ted to the extent that they are consistent with the statute
cited, Title V of the Regional Rail Reorganization Act of 1973,
§ 501 et seq. The Court is respectfully referred to the text of
that statute for a full and complete statement of its contents.

8. The allegations of paragraph 8 are admitted to the
extent they are consistent with the statute cited, the Staggers
Rail Act of 1980, Pub. L. No. 96-448, 94 Stat. 1895 (1980). The
Court is respectfully referred to the text of that statute for a
full and complete statement of its contents.

9,10. Defendant admits to the existence of the statements
recorded in the legislative history of the Regional Rail Reorga- —
nization Act of 1973. The Court is respectfully referred to the
legislative history of the Act, specifically the cited Hearings
Before the Surface Transportation Subcommittee of the Com-
mittee on Commerce of the United States Senate, for a full and
complete statement of the contents of the legislative history.

11. Paragraph 11 contains speculative and conclusory
statements to which no response is required. To the extent an
answer is deemed necessary, the allegations are denied.

12. Defendant admits that in 1973, employees of Conrail’s
predecessor railroads were covered under provisions of con-
tractual employee protection agreements adopted pursuant to
statute. The Court is respectfully referred to the text of such
contracts for a full and complete statement of their contents.

13. Paragraph 13 contains speculative and conclusory
statements to which no response is required. To the extent an
answer is deemed necessary, the allegations are denied.

18a

14. Defendant admits the allegations of the first and
second sentences of paragraph 14. Defendant denies the
remaining allegations of paragraph 14 as conclusions of law.

15. - Paragraph 15 contains conclusions of law to which no
response is required. To the extent an answer is deemed neces-
sary, the allegations are denied.

16. Denied.

17. The allegations of paragraph 17 are admitted to the
extent they are consistent with the Northeast Rail Service Act
of 1981, Pub. L. No. 97-35, 95 Stat. 357 (1981). The Court is
respectfully referred to the text of that statute for a full and
complete statement of its contents.

18. Denied.

19. The allegations of paragraph 19 are admitted to the
extent they are consistent with the provisions of the Northeast
Rail Service Act of 1981. The Court is respectfully referred to
the text of that statute for a full and complete statement of its
contents.

20. Defendant’s answers to paragraphs 1-19 are incorpo-
rated by reference.

21. The allegations of paragraph 21 are admitted to the
extent they are consistent with the terms of the collective
bargaining agreement described. The court is respectfully re-
ferred to those documents for a full and complete statement of
their contents.

22. The allegations of paragraph 22 are admitted to the
extent they are consistent with the Railway Labor Act. The
Court is respectfully referred to the text of that statute for a
full and complete statement of its contents.

23. Denied.

19a

AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE
The Plaintiff fails to state a claim upon which relief can be

granted.

OF COUNSEL:

Respectfully submitted,

's/ Harry A. Rissetto
Harry A. RISSETTO
1800 M Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 872-5084

/s/ Dennis A. Arouca
DENNIS A. AROUCA
Consolidated Rail Corporation
1138 Six Penn Center Plaza
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103
(215) 977-4998

Attorneys for Consolidated

Rail Corporation

MorcANn, Lewis & BockIUs

1800 M Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 872-5000

20a

APPENDIX D

SPeCIAL COURT
REGIONAL RAIL REORGANIZATION ACT OF 1973

Civil Action No. 82-11

RAILWAY LABOR EXECUTIVES’ ASSOCIATION,
400 First Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20001

Plaintiff,
Vv.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
and
CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION,
Six Penn Center Plaza
Philadelphia, PA 19103,
Defendants.

STIPULATION

The parties hereto, by their undersigned counsel, for pur-
poses of this action only, hereby stipulate and agree that the
following facts shall be taken as true, including a stipulation as
to the authenticity of the documents attached hereto, with the
proviso that any party may object in brief and argument on
materiality or relevancy grounds to any of the facts stipulated
or documents authenticated.

1. That the “Agreement for Protection of Employees in the
Event of Merger of Pennsylvania and New York Central Rail-
roads” among the Pennsylvania Railroad Company, New York
Central Railroad Company, and Brotherhood of Railroad
Trainmen dated November 16, 1964, effective on and after
January 1, 1964, with pertinent appendices attached thereto,
attached hereto as Exhibit A, is true and authentic. The same

2la

or similar type of agreement was reached by the Pennsylvania
Railroad Company and New York Central Railroad Company
with representatives (who are constituent members of plain-
tiff) or all of the other crafts and classes of employees involved
in said merger.

2. That the “Agreement for Protection of Employees of
Erie-Lackawanna Railroad Company Following Merger of
Said Company Into Erie Lackawanna Railway Company” be-
tween the Erie Lackawanna Railroad Company and plaintiff
herein, on behalf of its constituent labor organizations, dated
August 19, 1968, effective on and after April 1, 1968, with the
attached “Agreement Effective January 10, 1962, and Four
Attached Memoranda of Understanding for Protection of Em-
ployees in Event of Approval of Merger and Related Applica-
tions Filed by Norfolk and Western Railway Company and
Other Carriers in I.C.C. Finance Docket Nos. 21510, 21511,
21512, 21513, and 21514,” attached hereto as Exhibit B, is true
and authentic.

3. That certain employees of Conrail, represented by con-
stituent members of plaintiff, were covered by the agreements
embodied in Exhibits A and B attached hereto, later were
eligible for benefits under Title V of the Regional Rail Reorga-
nization Act of 1973, and later were eligible for benefits under
Title VII of the Regional Rail Reorganization Act, as amended
by the Northeast Rail Services Act of 1981.

4. That the “Agreement Between Consolidated Rail
Corporation and Brotherhood of Railway, Airline and
Steamship Clerks, Freight Handlers, Express and Station
Employees - Clerks” signed April 27, 1979, effective on and

22a

after July 1, 1979, with attached appendices, enclosed here-
with as Exhibit C, is true and authentic.

For the Railway Labor
Executives’ Association:

/s/ Clinton J. Miller, III
CLINTON J. MILLER, III
Highsaw & Mahoney, P.C.
Suite 210
1050 Seventeenth St., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

For the United States of
America:

/s/ C. Max Vassanelli
C. Max VASSANELLI
U.S. Department of Justice
Room 3730
9th & Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20530

For the Consolidated Rail

Corporation:

/s/ Harry A. Rissetto
Harry A. RISSETTO
Morcan, Lewis & Bockius
1800 M Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

23a

EXHIBIT A

AGREEMENT
FOR PROTECTION OF EMPLOYEES
IN EVENT OF MERGER OF
PENNSYLVANIA AND NEW YORK CENTRAL RAILROADS

WHEREAS, The Pennsylvania Railroad Company and the
New York Central Railroad Company (hereinafter sometimes
referred to individually as Pennsylvania and Central or collec-
tively as the Carriers) have filed a joint application with the
Interstate Commerce Commission (hereinafter called the
Commission) for authority under Section 5(2) of the Interstate
Commerce Act to merge the properties and franchises of Cen-
tral into Pennsylvania for ownership, management, and opera-
tion of the properties now separately owned and operated, and
for certain other authority incidental thereto, as more fully
described in Finance Dockets Nos. 21989 and 21990;

AND WHEREAS, the Joint Agreement of Merger dated
January 12, 1962, provides that the corporation to survive the
merger will be a corporation of the Commonwealth of Pennsyl-
vania with its name changed to “Pennsylvania-New York Cen-
tral Transportation Company” (hereinafter referred to as the
merged company) which will assume and be bound by the
collectively bargained labor agreements of both Pennsylvania
and Central;

AND WHEREAS, it is the intent and purpose of Pennsylva-
nia and Central, in the event of approval of their joint applica-
tion, to effectuate the merger through the unification,
coordination and consolidation of their separate facilities, all of
which will or may have adverse effect upon employes repre-
sented by the labor organization parties hereto;

AND WHEREAS, the labor organization signatory hereto
is the authorized and recognized representative of certain of
the employes of Pennsylvania and Central and has intervened
on behalf of said employes through the Railway Labor Execu-
tives’ Association in opposition to the said merger and related

24a

transactions in proceedings before the Commission, which op-
position is not waived by this Agreement;

AND WHEREAS, Section 5(2)(f) of the Interstate Com-
merce Act provides:

“As a condition of its approval, under this paragraph (2),
of any transaction involving a carrier or carriers by rail-
road subject to the provisions of this chapter, the Commis-
sion shall require a fair and equitable arrangement to
protect the interests of the railroad employes affected. In
its order of approval the Commission shall include terms
and conditions providing that during the period of four
years from the effective date of such order such transac-
tion will not result in — of the carrier or carriers by
railroad affected by such order being in a worse position
with respect to their employment, except that the protec-
tion afforded to any employe pursuant to this sentence
shall not be required to continue for a longer period,
following the effective date of such order, than the period
during which such employe was in the employ of such
carrier or carriers prior to the effective date of such order.
Notwithstanding any other provisions of this chapter and
chapters 8 and 12 of this title, an agreement pertaining to
the protection of the interests of said employes may
hereafter be entered into by any carrier or carriers by
railroad and the duly authorized representative or repre-
sentatives of its or their employes.”

AND WHEREAS, pursuant to the provisions of the Rail-
way Labor Act, a amended, and in accordance with the last
sentence of Section 5(2)(f) of the Interstate Commerce Act
above quoted, the parties signatory hereto have reached
agreement respecting the protection to be afforded employes
of the railway carriers involved or who may become involved in
the aforesaid applications and transactions;

NOW, THEREFORE, it is mutually agreed as follows:
Section 1.

(a) If, notwithstanding the opposition of the said labor
organization, the Commission should approve the said merger,
then upon consummation thereof the provisions of the Wash-

“0a

ington Job Protection Agreement of 1936 (a copy of which is
attached hereto as Appendix A) shall be applied for the protec-
tion of all employes of Pennsylvania and Central as of the
effective date of this Agreement or subsequent thereto up to
and including the date the merger is consummated who may be
adversely affected with respect to their compensation, rules,
working conditions, fringe benefits or rights and privileges
pertaining thereto incident to approval and effectuation of said
merger; provided, however, that in addition te benefits set
forth in the said Washington Job Protection Agreement, it is
further agreed as follows:

(b) On the date the said merger of Central into Pennsylva-
nia is consummated the merged company will take into its
employment all employes of Pennsylvania and Central as of the
effective date of this Agreement or subsequent thereto up to
and including the date the merger is consummated who are
willing to accept such employment, and none of the present
employes of either of the said Carriers shall be deprived of
employment or placed in a worse position with respect to
compensation, rules, working conditions, fringe benefits or
rights and privileges pertaining thereto at any time during
such employment.

For the purposes of this Agreement the term “present em-
ployes” is defined to mean all employes of Pennsylvania or
Central who render any compensated service between the
effective date of this Agreement and the date the merger is
consummated (both dates inclusive) provided, however, that
in the event two or more employes, including those on leave-of-
absence, have employment rights to the same job, said em-
ployes will be protected hereunder and their employment pre-
served only to the extent of their individual equities in said job;
provided further, that the merged company shall also take
over, assume and continue the employment relationship of al:
employes on furlough or leave-of-absence and preserve their
rights and equities as they may exist as “f the effective date of
this Agreement or subsequent thereto up to and including the

26a

date the merger is consummated subject, however, to the
transfer of work and employes as hereinafter set forth.

Pennsylvania and Central agree to furnish rosters (which
shall be attached as Appendix B to this Agreement): of all
employes entitled to preservation of employment, compensa-
tion, and fringe benefits as of the effective date of this Agree-
ment, and also separate rosters (which shall be attached as
Appendix C) of all employes on furlough or leave-of-absence,
each of which rosters shall also set forth the Carrier by which
the employes are employed and the labor organization party to
this Agreement representing such employes. The Carrier will
furnish, upon request, information specified in Appendix E to
this Agreement. Pennsylvania and Central further agree that
the said rosters are subject to revision as necessary to include
any employes to be added or deleted from said rosters between
the effective date of this Agreement and the date the merger is
consummated.

An employe shall not be regarded as deprived of employ-
ment or placed in a worse position with respect to his compen-
sation, rules, working conditions, fringe benefits, or rights and
privileges pertaining thereto in case of his resignation, death,
retirement, dismissal for cause in accordance with existing
agreements, or failure to work due to disability or discipline, or
failure to obtain a position available to him in the exercise of his
seniority rights in accordance with existing rules or agree-
ments, or reductions in forces due to seasonal requirements
(including lay-offs during the Miners’ Holiday and the Christ-
mas season), provided, however, that employes furloughed
due to seasonal requirements shall not be furloughed in any
twelve-month period for a greater period than they were fur-
loughed during the twelve months preceding the date the
merger is consummated; provided, further, however, that in
the event of a decline in the merged company’s business in
excess of 5% in the average percentage of both gross operating
revenue and net revenue ton miles in any 30-day period com-
pared with the average of the same period for the years 1962
and 1963, a reduction in forces in the craft represented by the

27a

organization signatory hereto may be made at any time during
the said 30-day period below the number of employes entitled
to preservation of employment under this Agreement to the
extent of one percent for each one percent the said decline
exceeds 5%. The average percentage of decline shall be the
total of the percent of decline in gross operating revenue and
percent of decline in net revenue ton miles divided by two.
Advance notice of any such force reduction shall be given as
required by the current schedule Agreements of the organiza-
tion signatory hereto. Upon restoration of the merged com-
pany’s business following any such force reduction employes
entitled to preservation of employment must be recalled in
accordance with the same formula within 15 calendar days.

Notwithstanding other provisions of this Agreement, the
merged company shall have the right to make force reductions
under emergency conditions such zs flood, snowstorm, hurri-
cane, earthquake, fire or strike, provided that operations are
suspended in whole or in part and provided further that be-
cause of such emergencies the work which would be performed
by the incumbents of the positions to be abolished or the work
which would be performed by the employes involved in the
force reductions no longer exists or cannot be performed.
When forces have been so reduced and thereafter operations
are restored employes entitled to preservation of employment
must be recalled upon the termination of the emergency. In the
event the merged company is required to make force reduc-
tions because of the aforesaid emergency conditions, it is
agreed that any decline in gross operating revenue and net
revenue ton miles resulting therefrom shall not be included in
any computation of a decline in the merged company’s business
pursuant to the provisions of the preceding paragraph.

In consideration of the foregoing employe benefits the
merged company shall be entitled to transfer the work of the
employes protected hereunder throughout the merged or con-
solidated system and the labor organization will, subject to
provisions contained in the Memorandum of Understanding
attached hereto as Appendix F, enter into implementing

28a

agreements providing for the trasnfer and use of employes and
allocation or rearrangement of forces made necessary by
changes for which protection is herein provided and the em-
ployes, their organization and the Carriers will cooperate to
that end. The implementing agreements to be negotiated with
respect to the transfer and use of employes and allocation or
rearrangement of forces shall enable the merged company to
transfer such employes and rearrange forces without liability
to furloughed employes who may be affected by such transfer.

None of the provisions of this Agreement are applicable to
employes temporarily hired for work on non-recurring proj-
ects between the effective date hereof and the date of the
consummation of the merger.

(c) Without limiting the provisions of subsection (b) hereof,
the merged company further agrees to maintain work forces
represented by the organization signatory hereto in such man-
ner that force reductions below the established base as defined
herein shall not exceed five percent (5%) per annum. The
established base shall mean the total number of employes in
the craft represented by the organization signatory hereto
entitled to preservation of employment as of the date of con-
summation of the merger.

(d) The merged company will take over and assume all
contracts, schedules and agreements between Pennsylvania,
Central, and the labor organization signatory hereto concern-
ing rates of pay, rules, working conditions and fringe benefits
in effect at the time of consummation of the said merger and
will be bound by the terms and provisions thereof, subject to
changes in accordance with the provisions of the Railway
Labor Act, as amended, in the same manner and to the same
extent as if the merged company had been a party thereto.

(e) For purposes of this Agreement, Section 13 of the
Washington Job Protection Agreement is deleted and the
following provision inserted in lieu thereof:

In the event any dispute or controversy arises between
Pennsylvania, Central, or the merged company and the labor

29a

organization signatory to this Agreement with respect to the
interpretation or application of any provision of this Agree-
ment or of the Washington Job Protection Agreement (except
as defined in Section 11 thereof) or of any implementing agree-
ment entered into between the merged company and the labor
organization party hereto pertaining to the said merger or
related transactions, which cannot be settled by said Carriers
and the labor organization involved within thirty days after the
dispute arises, such dispute may be referred by either party to
an arbitration committee for consideration and determination.
Upon notice in writing served by one party on the other of
intent by that party to refer the dispute or controversy to an
arbitration committee, each party shall, within ten days, select
a member of the arbitration committee and the members thus
chosen shall endeavor to select a neutral member who shall
serve as Chairman, in which event the compensation and ex-
penses of the Chairman shall be borne equally by the parties to
the proceeding. All other expenses shall be borne by the party
incurring them. Should the members designated by the parties
be unable to agree upon the appointment of the neutral mem-
ber within ten days, either party may request the National
Mediation Board to appoit the neutral member, whose com-
pensation and expenses shall then be paid in accordance with
existing law. If any party fails to select its member of the
arbitration committee within the prescribed time limit, the
representative of such party signatory to this Agreement or
his designated representative shall be deemed to be the
selected member and the committee shall then function and its
decision shall have the same force and effect as though all
parties had selected their members. The decision of the major-
ity of the arbitration committee shall be final and binding,
except that in any case in which there is an unequal number of
carrier and organization members on the arbitration commit-
tee, the decision of the neutral member shall be final and
binding.

Section 2.

In the event merger or control of other carriers not now
involved in the aforesaid merger proceedings sould be ordered
by the Commission as a condition of its approval of the pending
transaction, this Agreement shall be subject to amendment by
the parties so as to provide the employe benefits set forth in
Section 1 hereof to the employes of any such carrier controlled
by or merged into the merged company.

Section 3.

The foregoing represents an agreed settlement of protection
of the interest of the employes of Pennsylvania and Central in
the said merger. Said agreed settlement of protective benefits
is made on behalf of said employes by their authorized and
recognized bargaining representative signatory hereto pur-
suant to Section 5(2)(f) of the Interstate Commerce Act and
applicable provisions of the Railway labor Act, as amended,
and shall become applicable only in the event of approval by the
Commission of the proposed merger and consummation there-
of. It shall be considered and construed as a separate agree-
ment between Pennsylvania, Central and the labor organiza-
tion signatory hereto.

Section 4.

It is understood and agreed that the provisions of this
Agreement shall be for the benefit only of the employes repre-
sented by the labor organization party hereto.

Section 5.

The effective date of this Agreement shall be January 1,
1964.

3la

IN WITNESS WHEREDOF the parties to this Agreement
have hereunto executed the same by and through their duly
authorized representative this 16th day of November, 1964.*

*This agreement was signed by the Pennsylvania Railroad Com-
pany, the New York Central Railroad Company and by officers of the
Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen. The signatures are not repro-
duced in the interest of space.

ATTACHMENTS: .

Appendix A—Washington Job Protection Agreement.

Appendix ee of employes a i Seg by the

r organization y to the Agreement

on each of the ales involved entitled to

preservation of employment, compensa-

tion and fringe benefits as of the effective

date of this Agreement or subsequent

thereto up to and including date merger is
consummated.

Appendix C—Rosters of all employes on furlough or
leave-of-absence, setting forth Carner by
which employe is employed and labor orga-
nization party to this Agreement repre-
senting such employe.

Appendix E—Memorandum of Understanding re employ-
ment information to be furnished upon re-
quest and computations respecting com-
pensation due operating employes under
Agreement.

Appendix F—Memorandum of Understanding re moving
expenses, and lump sum separation allo-
wances.

Appendix G—Memorandum of Understanding re election _
to take furlough

Appendix H—Memorandum of Understanding re official,
supervisory and fully excepted personnel.

Appendix I—Memorandum of Understandin —.
employes with exclusive road and yar
seniority.

Appendix J—Letter of Intent.

33a

APPENDIX E

MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING
RE
EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION TO BE FURNISHED
UPON REQUEST AND COMPUTATONS RESPECTING
COMPENSATION DUE OPERATING EMPLOYES UNDER
AGREEMENT

This Memorandum of Understanding is attached to and
made a part of the Agreement for Protection of Employes in
Even of Merger of Pennsylvania and New York Central Rail-
roads, effective January 1, 1964.

Upon request the merged company will furnish the operat-
ing signatory organization, for any employe appearing on the
rosters in Appendices B and C, information respecting his
current rate of pay, compensation paid and hours worked
during a base period comprised of the last twelve (12) months in
which he performed compensated service immediately preced-
ing May 16, 1964. All elements of compensation received from
the merged company (including vacation pay, arbitraries, pay
for time lost and so forth), but excluding payments made on
account of personal injuries when such payments are for
reasons other than time lost, will be included in determining
compensation referred to below.

For purposes of determining whether, or to what extent,
such an employe has been placed in a worse position with
respect to his compensation, his total compensation and total
time paid for during the base period will be separately divided
by twelve. If his compensation in his current position is less in
any month (commencing with the first month following the
date of consummation of the merger) than his average base
period compensation (adjusted to include subsequent general
wage increases), he shall be paid the difference less compensa-
tion for any time lost on account of voluntary absences to the
extent that he is not available for service equivalent to his
average time paid for during the base period, but he shall be
compensated in addition thereto at the rate of the position

34a

filled for any time worked in excess of the time paid for during
the base period; provided, however, that in determining com-
pensation in his current position the employe shall be treated
as occupying the position producing the highest rate of pay and
compensation to which his seniority entitles him under the
working agreement and which does not require a change in
residence.

Employes not entitled to preservation of employment but
entitled to the benefits of the Washington Job Protection
Agreement pursuant to the provisions of Section 1(a) of the
Protective Agreement shall be entitled to compensation com-
puted in accordance with the provisions of said Washington Job
Protection Agreement.

35a

APPENDIX F

MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING
RE
MOVING EXPENSES AND LUMP SUM SEPARATION
ALLOWANCES

This Memorandum of Understanding is attached to and
made a part of the Agreement for Protection of Employes in
Event of Merger of Pennsylvania and New York Central Rail-
roads, effective January 1, 1964.

In the case of any transfers or rearrangement of forces for
which an implementing agreement has been made, any em-
ploye entitled to protection under the aforesaid Protective
Agreement who is requested by the merged company pursuant
to said implementing agreement to transfer to a new point of
employment requiring him to move his residence shall be given
an election, which must be exercised within seven calendar
days from the date of recuest, to make such transfer or to
resign and accept a lump sum separation allowance in accord-
ance with the following provisions:

If the employe elects tétransfer to the new point of employ-
ment requiring a change of residence, such transfer and change
or residence shall be subject to the benefits contained in Sec-
tions 10 and 11 of the Washington Agreement notwithstanding
anything to the contrary contained in said provisions and in
addition to such benefits shall receive a transfer allowance of
five hundred dollars ($500) and six working days instead of the
“two working days” provided by Section 10(a) of said Agree-
ment.

If the employe elects to resign in lieu of making the re-
quested transfer as aforesaid, he shall do so as of the date the
transfer would have been made and shall be given (in lieu of all
other benefits and protections to which he may have been
entitled under the Protective Agreement and Washington
Agreement) a lump sum separation allowance which shall be
computed in accordance with the schedule set forth in Section 9
of the Washington Agreement; provided, however, that force

36a

reductions permitted to be made under the Protective Agree-
ment shall be in addition to the number of employes who resign
to accept the separation allowance herein provided.

This Memorandum of Understanding is applicable to the
employes represented by the organization signatory to the said
Agreement of which it is a part and supersedes all existing
agreements which may be in conflict herewith.

37a

APPENDIX G

MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING
RE
ELECTION TO TAKE FURLOUGH

This Memorandum of Understanding is attached to and
made a part of the Agreement for Protection of Employes in
Event of Merger of Pennsylvania and New York Central Rail-
roads, effective January 1, 1964.

An employee entitled to protection who is displaced as a
result of any change for which protection is herein provided
may elect to go on furlough in accordance with existing rules or
practices but shall not, while so furloughed, be entitled to any
money or other allowance or protection provided under the
Agreement of which this Appendix is a part.

38a

APPENDIX H

MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING
RE
SUPERVISORY AND EXCEPTED PERSONNEL

This Memorandum of Understanding is attached to and
made a part of the Agreement for Protection of Employes in
Event of Merger of Pennsylvania and New York Central Rail-
roads, effective January 1, 1964.

If, subsequent to the effective date of the Protective Agree-
ment, i.e., January 1, 1964, officials, supervisory or fully ex-
cepted personnel exercise seniority rights in a craft or class of
employes protected under said Agreement, then, during the
period such seniority is exercised, such officials, supervisory
or fully excepted personnel shall be entitled to the same protec-
tion afforded by the said Agreement to employes in the craft or
class in which such seniority is exercised, and no employe
subject to said Agreement shall be deprived of employment or
adversely affected with respect to compensation, rules, work-
ing conditions, fringe benefits, or rights and privileges pertain-
ing thereto, by the return of the official, supervisory, or fully
excepted employe to work under the schedule Agreement.

Employes who cannot qualify as “present employes” by
reason of being on leave-of-absence for full-time union busi-
ness, shall have the protection set forth above for official,
supervisory or excepted personnel.

39a

APPENDIX I

MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING
INVOLVING EMPLOYES WITH EXCLUSIVE ROAD AND
YARD SENIORITY

This Memorandum of Understanding is attached to and
made a part of the Agreement for Protection of Employes in
Event of Merger of Pennsylvania and New York Centra! Rail-
roads, effective January 1, 1964.

It is understood that an employe having exclusive seniority
in yard service will not, unless otherwise agreed to, be re-
quired to transfer to a new point of employment in road service
and an employe having exclusive seniority in road service will
not, unless otherwise agreed to, be required to transfer to a
new point of employment in yard service.

40a

APPENDIX J
LETTER OF INTENT

In construing that said Agreement for Protection of Em-
ployes in Event of Merger of Pennsylvania and New York
Central Railroads, effective January 1, 1964, made by and
between The Pennsylvania Railroad Company, the New York
Central Railroad Company and the labor organization signato-
ry thereto, it is understood and agreed that in the event of any
application of Section 1(e) of said Agreement, any dispute with
respect to the interpretation or application of any provision of
said Agreement or of the Washington Job Protection Agree-
ment includes the provision set forth in Section 1 (b) of said
Agreement whereby the labor organization signatory hereto
agrees to “enter into implementing agreements providing for
the transfer and use of employes and allocation or rearrange-
ment of forces.”

Dated this 16th day of November, 1964.*

*The signatures have not been reproduced in the interest of space.

4la

EXHIBIT B

AGREEMENT FOR PROTECTION OF EMPLOYEES OF
ERIE-LACKAWANNA RAILROAD COMPANY FOLLOWING
MERGER OF SAID COMPANY INTO ERIE LACKAWANNA

RAILWAY COMPANY

WHEREAS, the Interstate Commerce Commission, by its
Report and Order in Finance Docket No. 21510, dated June 5,
1967, as modified by Orders dated August 10, 1967, September
1, 1967, and March 14, 1968, has authorized the merger of
Erie-Lackawanna Railroad Company into Erie Lackawanna
Railway Company; and,

WHEREAS, said Report and Orders provide inter alia that
“We believe that petitioners’ employees should be protected in
the same manner as counterpart employees of carriers in-
cluded in the N&W System and the prior report . . .”; and,

WHEREAS, Erie-Lackawanna Railroad Company was one
of the petitioners referred to in the above-quoted passage; and,

‘WHEREAS, pursuant to terms of said Orders, the merger,
authorized as above stated, was effected at 10:25 A.M. E.S.T.,
on April 1, 1968; and,

WHEREAS, pursuant to the provisions of the Orders of the
Interstate Commerce Commissioin aforesaid, and in accord-
ance with the last sentence of Section 5(2)(f) of the Interstate
Commerce Act, the parties signatory hereto have reached
agreement respecting the protection to be afforded employees
of Erie-Lackawanna Railroad Company:

NOW, THEREFORE, it is mutually agreed as follows:

1. That said Erie Lackawanna Railway Company adopts
the terms and conditions of the “Agreement For
Protection Of Employees In The Event Of Approval
Of et And Related Applications Filed By Nor-
folk and Western Railway Company And Other Car-
riers In Interstate Commerce Commission Finance
Dockets Nos. 21510, 21511, 21512, 21513 and 21514”,
dated April 16, 1962, and retroactively effective Janu-
ary 10, 1962, as modified by (i) the Memoranda of

42a

Understanding between Norfolk and Western Rail-
way Company and parties signatory to the above-
mentioned agreement, all of which are incorporated in
a document appended hereto as Appendix “A”, and (ii)
(insofar as the terms and conditions of the documents
below specified are — the implementin
adem to the above basic Agreement an

emoranda specified in Appendix “B” hereto, both of
which appendices and the terms and conditions of the
agreements and understandings embraced thereby
are incorporated herein by reference.

This Agreement shall be effective as of April 1, 1968,
and shall afford protection to employees of Erie-
Lackawanna Railroad pay od who had an employ-
ment relationship with said Company on April 1, 1968,
except that the term Wye employees” in the
Agreement of April 16, 1962, shall apply only to those
ee de in the active service of the Erie-
Lackawanna Railroad Company on April 1, 1968.
(Note: It is intended that this Section 2 will protect as
“present employees” all employees of the Erie-
Lackawanna Railroad Company who were on vaca-
tion or on off-day on April 1, 1968, or who, on that
date, were on leave of absence or sick leave and who
later exercise their seniority rights and return to
service in positions occupied on April 1, 1968, by em-
ployees junior to them. The junior employees thereby
affected shall, in turn, be —— to — os
seniority rights against employees junior to them
shall be entities to whatever rights those employees
had under this Agreement.)

Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed as
depriving any employee of any rights, protections or
benefits which such employee may have under exist-
ing protective ments, nor shall this Agreement
be construed as lessening any rights, protections or
benefits which any employee may now be receiving or
hereafter be entitled to receive under such agree-
ments, provided that employees shall not be entitled
to duplicate benefits under this Agreement and other

protective agreements.

43a

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties hereto have set
their hands this 19th day of August, 1968.

ERIE LACKAWANNA RAILWAY COMPANY

By/s/ John Fishwick
JOHN FISHWICK
Chairman of the Board

RAILWAY LABOR EXECUTIVES’ ASSOCIATION
by Mulholland, Hickey & Lyman
Its Attorneys

/s/ William G. Mahoney, Partner
WILLIAM G. MAHONEY, PARTNER

AGREEMENT

Effective January 10, 1962
and
Four Attached Memoranda of Understanding
For Protection of Employees
in Event of Approval of
Merger and Related Applications
Filed by
NORFOLK AND WESTERN RAILWAY COMPANY
and Other Carriers
in
I.C.C. Finance Docket Nos. 21510, 21511.
21512, 21513, and 21514

45a

AGREEMENT

FOR PROTECTION OF EMPLOYEES
IN EVENT OF APPROVAL OF
MERGER AND RELATED APPLICATIONS
FILED BY
NORFOLK AND WESTERN RAILWAY COMPANY
and Other Carriers
in
I.C.C. Finance Docket Nos. 21510, 21511.
21512, 21513, and 21514

I. WHEREAS, a joint application has been filed with the
Interstate Commerce Commission (herein called the Commis-
sion) in Finance Docket No. 21510 by the Norfolk and Western
Railway Company (herein called Norfolk & Western) and the
New York, Chicago and St. Louis Railroad Company (herein
called Nickel Plate) under Section 5(2) of the Interstate Com-
merce Act (herein called the Act) for authority to merge the
properties and franchises of Nickel Plate into Norfolk & West-
ern, and for certain other authority incident thereto by way of
acquisition of control of carriers subsidiary to or affiliated with .
Nickel Plate and to acquire certain trackage rights;

II. AND WHEREAS, Norfolk & Western has further
filed an application with the Commission in Finance Docket
No. 21511 under Section 5(2) of the Act for authority (a) tolease
the lines of railroad and certajn of the franchises and other
properties of the Wabash Railroad Company (herein called
Wabash); (b) to acquire control of Wabash through stock own-
ership; (c) to acquire sole or joint control of certain carriers
subsidiary to or affiliated with Wabash through lease or stock
ownership; and (d) to acquire trackage rights over or joint use
of the railroad lines of certain carriers now held by Wabash;

III. AND WHEREAS, Norfolk & Western has further
filed an application with the Commission in Finance Docket
No. 21512 under Section 5(2) of the Act for authority (a) to
purchase from The Connecting Railway Company (now oper-

46a

ated by The Pennsylvania Railroad Company) its line of rail-
road between Columbus, Ohio and Sandusky, Ohio, together
with certain trackage in Columbus; and (b) to acquire trackage
rights over certain lines of The Connecting Railway Company
in Columbus, Ohio;

IV. AND WHEREAS, other applications have been filed
by Norfolk & Western with the Commission under Section 20a
of the Act for authority to issue capital stock and assume
certain obligations and liabilities of both Nickel Plate and
Wabash, all of which is more fully described in Finance Docket
Nos. 21513 and 21514;

V. AND WHEREAS, certain other applications may be
later filed with the Commission under Section 5(2) of the Act
involving the lease, control by or merger into Norfolk & West-
ern of The Akron, Canton & Youngstown Railroad Company
and Pittsburgh & West Virginia Railway or transactions may
be undertaken by the carriers heretofore named including
Nickel Plate and Wabash involving the diversion of Wabash
traffic from the Canadian National Railways to Nickel Plate, or
the diversion of Nickel Plate passenger operations from the
LaSalle Street Station (Rock Island Lines) in Chicago, Illinois,
to the Chicago and Western Indiana Railroad ( rm
Street Station), Chicago, Illinois, which applications or
transactions may have adverse effects upon employees repre-
sented by the labor organizations parties hereto, the extent of
which is not now determinable;

VI. AND WHEREAS, the international and national rail-
way labor organizations signatory hereto are the authorized
and recognized representatives of employees of Norfolk &
Western, Nickel Plate, Wabash and other carriers involved in
the said transactions, and have intervened (through the Rail-
way Labor Executives’ Association) in the above-described
proceedings before the Commission on behalf of the said em-
ployees in opposition to the said merger and related transac-
tions, which opposition is not waived by this Agreement;

47a

VII. AND WHEREAS, Section 5(2)(f) of the Act (49
U.S.C.A. § 5(2)(f)) provides:

“As acondition of its approval, under this paragraph (2),
of any transaction involving a carrier or carriers by rail-
road subject to the provisions of this chapter, the Commis-
sion shall require a fair and equitable ment to
protect the interests of the railroad employees affected. In
its order of approval the Commission shall include terms
and conditions providing that during the period of four
years from the effective date of such order such transac-
tion will not result in employees being in a worse position
with respect to their employment, except that the protec-
tion afforded to any employee pursuant to this sentence
shall not be required to continue for a longer period,
following the effective date of such order, than the period
during which such employee was in the employ of such
carrier or carriers prior to the effective date o such order.
Notwithstanding any other provisions of this chapter and
chapters 8 and 12 of this title, an peo ge pertaining to
the protection of the interests 0 said employees may
hereafter be entered into by any carrier or carriers by
railroad and the duly authorized representative or repre-
sentatives of its or their employees.”

VIII. AND WHEREAS, pursuant to the provisions of the
Railway Labor Act, as amended, and in accordance with the
last sentence of Section 5(2)(f) of the Interstate Commerce Act
above quoted, the parties signatory hereto have reached
agreement respecting the protection to be afforded employees
of the rail carriers involved in the aforesaid application and
transactions.

NOW. THEREFORE, it is mutually agreed as follows:
Section 1.

(a) In the event the Commission should, notwithstanding
the opposition of the said labor organizations to these transac-
tions, approve any or all of the aforesaid applications, then,
upon consummation thereof, the provisions of the Washington
Job Protection Agreement of 1936 (a copy of which is attached
hereto) will be applied for the protection of all employees of
Norfolk & Western, Nickel Plate, Wabash and (except as

48a

hereafter modified in Section 3) all other carriers involved in
each of the transactions designated or described in this Agree-
ment, provided the applications or transactions mentioned
therein are consummated, who may be adversely affected with
respect to their compensation, rules, working conditions,
fringe benefits or rights or privileges pertaining thereto, in-
cident to approval and effectuation of any of said applications
or transactions; provided, however, that in addition to the
benefits set forth in the said Washington Job Protection
Agreement, it is further agreed as follows:

(b) On the date the aforedescribed merger of Nickel Plate
into Norfolk & Western is consummated, Norfolk & Western
will take into its employment all employees of Nickel Plate as of
the effective date of this Agreement or subsequent thereto up
to and including the date the merger is consummated who are
willing to accept such employment, and none of the present
employees of either of the said carriers shall be deprived of
employment or placed in a worse position with respect to
compensation, rules, working conditions, fringe benefits, or
rights and privileges pertaining thereto, at any time during
such employment. For purposes of this Agreement the term
“present employees” is defined to mean all employees except
those on furlough or leave of absence as of the effective date of
this Agreement or subsequent thereto up to and including the
date the merger is consummated; provided, however, in the
event two or more employees, including those on leave of
absence, have employment rights to the same job, said employ-
ees will be protected hereunder and their employment pre-
served only to the extent of their individual equities in said job;
provided, further, that the carrier shall also take over, assume
and continue the employment relationship of all employees on
furlough or leave of absence and preserve their rights and
equities as they may exist as of the effective date of this
Agreement or subsequent thereto up to and including the date
the merger is consummated subject, however, to the transfer
of work and employees as hereinafter set forth. Norfolk &
Western agrees to furnish rosters (which shall be attached as

49a

Appendix B to this Agreement) of all employees entitled to
preservation of employment, compensation, and fringe bene-
fits as of the effective date of this Agreement, together with
their current rates of pay, compensation paid, and hours work-
ed during the preceding twelve months, and also separate
rosters (which shall be attached hereto as Appendix C) of all
employees on furlough or leave of absence, each of which
rosters shall also set forth the carrier by which the employees
are employed and the labor organization party to this Agree-
ment representing such employees. Norfolk & Western fur-
ther agrees that the said rosters are subject to revision as
necessary to include any employees to be added or deleted
from the said rosters between the effective date of this Agree-
ment and the date the merger is consummated. An employee
shal! not be regarded as deprived of employment or placed ina
worse position with respect to his compensation in case of his
resignation, death, retirement, dismissal for cause in accord-
ance with existing agreements, failure to work due to disability
or discipline in accordance with existing rules or agreements or
furloughs because of reduction in forces due to seasonal re-
quirements or decline in volume of traffic or revenues. Where
employees are furloughed for seasonal requirements they shall
not be furloughed in any twelve-month period for a greater
period than they were furloughed during the twelve months
preceding the date the merger is consummated.

In consideration of the foregoing employee benefits, Norfolk

& Western and the other carriers heretofore named shall be
entitled to transfer the work of the employees protected
hereunder throughout the

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_1086%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
