# Opposition — Arizona Public Service Co. v. National Labor Relations Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_0899%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 464 U.S. 1043

## Text

83 - 743 rv eER Eee

Case No.

ALEXAN ODE ts STEVAS,

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1983

ARIZONA PUBLIC SERVICE
COMPANY, Petitioner

Vv.
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
and

INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF ELECTRICAL
WORKERS, AFL-CIO, LOCAL 387

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE
INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF ELEC?RICAL
WORKERS, AFL-CIO, LOCAL 387
IN OPPOSITION

A. D. Ward
WARD & KEENAN, LTD.

141 East Palm Lane, Suite 200
Phoenix, Arizona 85004
(602) 252-5606
Attorneys for Local 387

Case No.

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1983

ARIZONA PUBLIC SERVICE
COMPANY, Petitioner

Vv.
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
and

INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF ELECTRICAL
WORKERS, AFL-CIO, LOCAL 387

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE
INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF ELECTRICAL
WORKERS, AFL-CIO, LOCAL 387
IN OPPOSITION

A. D. Ward
WARD & KEENAN, LTD.

141 East Palm Lane, Suite 200
Phoenix, Arizona 85004
(602) 252-5606
Attorneys for Local 387

QUESTION PRESENTED

Did the National Labor Relations Board
abuse its discretion in finding the produc-
tion and maintenance employees at the
Arizona Public Service's newly constructed
Palo Verde Power Plant to constitute an
accretion to the existing system-wide
Bargaining unit of production and mainten-
ance employees represented by International
Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, AFL-CIO,
Local 387?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES . ... +c. > ii
i 12°» & ee 6 ©« e ue © © 14. @:%4 1
is MMGR@TOUNRG . e se ewe ee 1
2. The representation
proceegdang - + +++ ee es 3
3. The unfair labor practice
proceeding . « « « «ee * 4
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ....++ «+ « « 6
(tat > ~~ 6 606 @.6 « »« © © ¢ 6 6
1. Standard of review ... =. 6
2. Applicable principles... 7
3. The Board properly
exercised its discretion
in finding the Palo Verde
employees to be an
SEGEOCIONR is 2 0 0 6 8 6% 16
th: a ie tet, ie &; 00 0 @ © «oe. m 26
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE ....+« « » 27

-i-

we
“an

aoe

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: . Page
Armour & Co., 172 NLRB 1649
NE a Ree ge ng Saat 8
Baltimore Gas & Electric Co.,
206 NLRB 199, 201 (1973)... p Oe
Colorado Interstate Gas Co.,
NLRB 847, 848 ( ) wo Lp .e

Comax Telcom Corp., 219

NLRB 668 CLS 75) Ne Chl ta Oe ae ae 14
Duke University Hospital,

22/7 NLRB a, S97} Be gg hg 14
Goodyear Tire & Rubber company:

i3¢ NLRB 707 (1972)... > 8
Gould National Batteries, Inc.,

15? NURB 679, 661 (19660)... 13
Indiana Telephone Co., Inc.,

229 NLRB ces EL yg 9 Sepa 12
Lammert Industries v. NLRB,

. 223, 1225 (7th 6, 7
to cere a eats: 9 6 we 0 8 26

Massey Ferguson, Inc., 202

NLRB 193 CST 5} il See. ey 8
Melbet Jewelry Co., 180 NLRB

107 (1969) 10, 12

CASES (Cont'd):

Michigan Wisconsin Pipe

Line Co., 194 NLRB 469

(ANTE) «| -«

Mt. Sinai Hospital, 233 NLRB
a

NLRB v. Baton Rouge Waterworks

Co., 417 F.2d 1065 (

Cir., 1969) .

NLRB v. Food Employers Council,

Inc., 399 F.2d 501, 502
(Sth Cir., 1968)

NLRB v. Retail Clerks Local

’ F.2d 984,

Cir., 1978)

NLRB v. Security-Columbian Bank

987 (9th

Note Co., 541 F.2d 135,

(3d Cir., 1976)

NLRB v. Sunset House, 415 F.2d
“348 (9th Cir.,

tye eters

NLRB v. R. L. Sweet Lumber Co.,

F. ,
Gias., 1975) .

Parkview a Inc., 138 NLRB
, . . . 7 . . .

145 NLRB

eae Inc.,

Oe ee Inc., 203 NLRB 818

il

14

10

25-26

14

13

ee

CASES (Cont'd): Page

| Remington Rand Division, 190
| Mee LAPteS & *% ¢ © «© 8 © e 14

Sheraton-Kauai Corp. v. NLRB,
429 F.2d 1352, 1355 (9th
eae re) «6 ie. 0 « ¢ © #0, 0 ty OO

The Bendix Corporation, 168

a

Mime Sik, 3/4 (1967) « © «@ © » 13

The Great A & P Tea Co., 140
NLRB 1011 (1963) i Ae oe De ae 8

Universal Security Instruments,
Inc. v. NLRB, 649 F.2d
247 (4th Cir., 1981) [cert. Pee
See See ues 965) «st te ee 26

Westinghouse Electric Corp.
v. NLRB, 440 F.2d 7, ll
ys ARS > & ) a eee ee 10

BRIEF FOR THE
INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF ELECTRICAL
WORKERS, AFL-C10, LOCAL 387
IN OPPOSITION

STATEMENT

1. Background.

Arizona Public Service (hereinafter
"APS") is a public utility which supplies
electric power throughout Arizona. (R. 7.)
Its headquarters are located in Phoenix.
(R. G5.) APS operates six fossil fuel and
one small hydro-electrical generating
plants at separate locations in Arizona and
New Mexico. (R. 68, 352.) The power
generated by each of these plants feeds
into one distribution system and is
dispatched to customers by dispatchers
located in Phoenix. (R. 351.)

Since as early as 1947, APS has recog-
nized the International Brotherhood of
Electrical Workers, AFL-CIO, Local 387

b |
a
a]
*
ate ?

(hereafter "the Union"), as the collective
bargaining representative of the production
and maintenance employees employed by APS
throughout its system. (R. 442.) Since
the initial recognition, production and

maintenance employees at newly acquired or

constructed facilities have uniformly been

incorporated into the existing system-wide

1/

bargaining unit. (R. 447-448. Contrary
to APS (Brief 5), none of such employees
were added to the bargaining unit through

Board certifications. (R. 457-459.)

i/ As the Board noted (Pet. App. 43), the parties
disagreed about the circumstances surrounding
the extending of recognition to the Union as
representative of employees at facilities as
they were added to the utility system over the
years. Thus, while APS asserts that it extended
recognition only upon some showing of the Union's
majority status at each new facility, the Union's
evidence showed that the Union had not demon-
strated its mejority status and that the Union
had simply bargained about new plants prior to
their opening. (R. 448, 467-469.) The Union's
evidence (R. 457-459) further showed that it
Beene ior shections only when it sought to

represent previously existing but unrepresented
job classifications et existing plants.

2

In 1972, APS began construction of a
nuclear power plant at Palo Verde, Arizona,
55 miles from Phoenix. (R. 27-29.) At the
time of the hearing in this matter, the
plant had not been put into operation but
there had been employed approximately 62
employees in production and maintenance
Classifications. Twelve to 13 of these
employees had been previously employed at
one of the other APS power plants. (R. 38,
62.)

2. The representation proceeding.

In December, 1980, after having failed
to agree that the production and maintenance
employees at the Palo Verde Plant should be
deemed accreted into the single system-wide
bargaining unit, both APS and the Union
filed Petitions with the NLRB on December 15,
1980. APS filed an RM Petition seeking an
election. The Unicn filed a UC Petition

= 3«

seeking an order clarifying the collective

bargaining unit as including the production
and maintenance employees at the Palo Verde
Plant. (R. 496; Pet. App. 89, 94.)

Following the hearing and a transfer
of the case to the Board, the Board, on
June 5, 1981, issued its decision finding
that the 62 Palo Verde production and main-
tenance employees constituted an accretion
to the 1,200 employee system-wide production
and maintenance unit represented by the
Union. (Pet. App. 29.)

After the Board's decision, a number
of the Palo Verde employees filed an
obviously untimely petition. It was
dismissed. (Pet. App. 90-93.)

3. The unfair labor practice proceed-

ing.

Beginning in June, 1981, the Union

requested that APS deal with it as the

exclusive representative of the Palo Verde

ay va

employees. APS refused; the Union filed an
unfair labor practice charge; and on Septem-
ber 1, 1981, a complaint issued charging

the Company with a refusal to bargain. APS
answered, admitting its refusal, but
defended on the grounds that the Board had
erred in determining that the Palo Verde
employees constituted an accretion to the
existing bargaining unit. The Board on
December 3, 1981, issued its Decision and
Order granting the Board's General Counsel's
Motion for Summary Judgment, finding APS to
have refused to bargain in violation of the
Act. (Pet. App. 47-67.)

Upon review by the Ninth Circuit Court
of Appeals, that Court reviewed the several
factual conclusions upon which the Board's
Decision was based and concluded that the
Board's legal conclusion that the accretion
determination was proper. (Pet. App. 2l-

27.)

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

To the NLRB and to the circuit courts,
the concept of accretion has long been
accepted as a viable doctrine available to
the NLRB in resolving bargaining unit
issues. Its application in this case was
neither novel nor precedent-setting; nor

was it without factual support.

ARGUMENT

l. Standard of review.

The Board's function in determining
whether there has been an accretion in a
given situation "is similar to its function
of determining the appropriateness of
particular units for bargaining pur-
poses. .. . The determination is one
involving the Board's discretion and should
not be set aside unless a reviewing court
is convinced that the Board has acted in an

arbitrary and capricious manner." Lammert

»

Industries v. NLRB, 578 F.2d 1223, 1225

(7th Cir., 1978), quoting NLRB v. R. L.

Sweet Lumber Co., 515 F.2d 785, 794 (10th

Cir., 1975). See also Sheraton-Kauai Corp.

v. NLRB, 429 F.2d 1352, 1355 (9th Cir.,

1970); NLRB v. Sunset House, 415 F.2d 545,

547-548 (9th Cir., 1969); Universal Security

Instruments, Inc. v. NLRB, 649 F.2d 247

(4th Cir., 1981) [cert. den. 454 U.S. 965);

and NLRB v. Baton Rouge Waterworks Co., 417

F.2d 1065 (5th Cir., 1969).

2. Applicable principles.

An accretion is simply the addition of

employees to an already existing unit where
there exists such a community of interest
that the accreted employees are properly
governed by the larger group's choice of

bargaining representative. NLRB v. Food

Employers Council, Inc., 399 F.2d 501, 502

(9th Cir., 1968); Lammert Industries v.

NLRB, supra. The accretion issue typically

a Fa

arises in the context of the opening of a

new facility [Goodyear Tire & Rubber Com-

pany, 195 NLRB 767 (1972), enf. 474 F.2d
1336 (2d Cir., 1973); Armour & Co., 172 NLRB

1649 (1968) ], the subdivision of a facility

[Parkview Drugs, Inc., 138 NLRB 194, 195

(1962)], or some other operational change
that creates a new group of employees

[Massey Ferguson, Inc., 202 NLRB 193 (1973);

The Great A & P Tea Co., 140 NLRB 1011

(1963)].

The Board, in determining whether a new
group of employees is accreted into an
existing bargaining unit, must balance the
right of employees to select a bargaining
agent against the concomitant statutory
policy of maintaining stability of estab-

lished bargaining relationships. The Great

A & P Tea Co., supra. In striking this

balance, the Board examines a variety of
factors including integration of operations;

-8-

centralization of managerial and administra-
tive control; similarity of working condi-
tions, functions, job classifications, and
skills; centralization of control over labor
relations; bargaining history; interchange-
ability of employees; and geographic

proximity. Universal Security Instruments,

Inc.»v. NLRB, supra; NLRB v. Sunset House,

supra; NLRB v. Baton Rouge Waterworks Co.,

supra. It is not necessary that all of the
listed factors be present. Rather, it is
for the Board to determine "the factors
relevant to the accretion issue in the case
under consideration . .. [and] then decide
the relative weight to be attributed to each

factor." Universal Security Instruments,

Inc. v. NLRB, supra. Where the relevant

factors demonstrate that the new employees

have a community of interest sufficiently

distinct from the existing unit to consti-

tute a separate appropriate unit, the Board

= 9=

will not find an accretion. Melbet Jewelry

Co., 180 NLRB 107 (1969), cited with approval

Sheraton-Kauai Corp. v. NLRB, supra. How-

ever, where the new employees have no

separate unit identity and inclusion would

result in a more efficient collective bar-
gaining relationship, the Board appropri-
ately determines that the new employees do
constitute an accretion to an existing unit.

See Westinghouse Electric Corp. v. NLRB, 440

F.2d 7, 11 (2d Cir., 1971); NLRB v. Retail

Clerks Local 588, 587 F.2d 984, 987 (9th

Cir., 1978).

In making unit determinations in the
utility industry, the Board has placed
particular emphasis on the factors of

operational integration and centralized

administration. Recognizing that the

utility industry is characterized by a high
degree of operational integration, the
Board generally is reluctant to find

=10-

appropriate units that are less than systen-

wide in scope. See Baltimore Gas &

Electric Co., 206 NLRB 199, 201 (1973)

(unit limited to employees at employer's
eight fossil fuel plants inappropriate);

Colorado Interstate Gas Co., 202 NLRB 847,

848 (1973); Michigan Wisconsin Pipe Line

Co., 194 NLRB 469 (1971) (one district not

appropriate; employer was highly integrated

and regulated flow of gas from headquarters).
The Board's reluctance to fragmentize
a utility's operations is based upon "the
economic reality that the public utility
industry is characterized by a high degree
of interdependence of its various segments
and that the public has an immediate and
direct interest in the uninterrupted main-
tenance of the essential services that this
industry alone can adequately provide.”

Baltimore Gas & Electric Co., supra.

Indeed, the Board finds less than stystem-

-li-

wide units to be appropriate only where
employees work in separate administrative
subdivisions or service distinct geographic
areas, have separate communities of inter-

est, and have no system-wide bargaining

history. See Baltimore Gas & Electric Co.,

supra; Colorado Interstate Gas Co.,

supra. See also indiana Telephone Co.,

Inc., 229 NLRB 187 (1977).

To round off this statement of appli-
cable principles, it is pertinent to note
specifically the two lines of cases where
the accretion doctrine will not apply.
First, there are those cases, as noted

above, involving the addition of new

employees who have a community of interest

sufficiently distinct from the existing unit

to constitute in itself a separate bargain-

| ing unit. Melbet Jewelry Co., supra.

The second type situation exists (1)
when a group sought to be accreted has

-12-

existed since the bargaining unit's forma-

tion but has been excluded from the unit by

the parties, (2) when a group has come into
existence after a union's recognition but

has been knowingly excluded from the unit

for a substantial period of time, or (3)

when there is some other evidence that the
parties intended to exclude the particular
group of employees. In such circumstances,

the bargaining history demonstrates that the

exclusion has not resulted in an unstable

bargaining relationship and that the
parties themselves have recognized that
exclusion does not interfere with the
bargaining relationship. Thus there is no
countervailing policy to warrant limiting

employee free choice. See The Bendix

Corporation, 168 NLRB 371, 372 (1967);

Gould National Batteries, Inc., 157 NLRB

679, 681 (1966); and Plough, Inc., 203 NLRB

81& (1973).
=

Phototype, Inc., 145 NLRB 1268 (1964)

and Remington Rand Division, 190 NLRB 844

(1971), upon which APS relies (Brief 12),
are both cases in which there was a bargain-
ing history demonstrating the exclusion of,
Or intent to exclude, the employees sought

to be accreted. In Phototype, the Board

emphasized the fact that the unrepresented
employees had been working for the employer

for seven years and that the employees had

been excluded from the bargaininc unit for

that period of time. Similarly, in Reming-

ton Rand Division, the decisive factor in

the Board's refusal to find an accretion
was the bargaining history of long-term

exclusion of certain job classifications

from the existing unit.

Duke University Hospital, 227 NLRB

1627 (1977); Mt. Sinai Hospital, 233 NLRB

507 (1977); and Comax Telcom Corp., 219

NLRB 688 (1975), all relied upon by the
-14-

Petitioner APS, involved factual situations
involving the type situation where the
unrepresented employees had worked outside
the established bargaining unit for a

number of years before the issue of their

representational status was presented.
Hence the doctrine of accretion was not
sep libeble. For the same reason, the
Petitions filed by the Union relative to
meter readers at APS, warehousemen at APS,
fuel specialists at APS, cathodic protec-
tion testers at APS, auto parts clerks at
APS, and credit department employees at
APS (Pet. Brief 5-6; Pet. App. 81-88)

specifically sought elections rather than

unit clarifications as in the instant
case. All of such Petitions involved
employee groups who had long been know-
ingly excluded from the productioi. and
maintenance unit. They were not new
employees being added to existing

-15-

Classifications covered by the agreement.
"They were long-time employees" who had
not been covered by the collective bar-
gaining agreement. (R. 495, 11. 6-9; R.
493-496.)

3. The Board properly exercised its

discretion in finding the Palo Verde

employees to be an accretion.

A number of factors--the Company's
centralized and integrated operation, its
centralized control of labor relations,
the similarity of employee terms and
conditions of employment and job func-
tions, employee transfers and the system-
wide bargaining history--weigh heavily
in favor of the Board's accretion finding.
Of equal importance, the record shows--
and the Company admits--that the Palo
Verde employees do not constitute a
separate appropriate unit for purposes
of collective bargaining.

-16-

As the Board found (Pet. App. 32),
the Palo Verde Plant neither constitutes
@ separate administrative subdivision nor
serves a distinct geographic area, but
rather is part of a highly integrated and
centralized operation. Thus, as shown in
the Statement, all electricity produced--
regardless of the generating process--
feeds into one system and is provided to
Customers by dispatchers located in a
central office in Phoenix. The integra-
tion of operations is reflected, as the
Board observed (Pet. App. 32), in the
Company's centralized administration of
the operation of the power plants. The
generation, transmission and distribution
of electric power is controlled and
monitored by the corporate vice president
of electrical operations and his support-
ing staff. This corporate official, to
, whom all the plant managers ultimately
Sy

report, is responsible for overseeing all
of the Company's generating facilities.
(R. 45, 574-575.)

The record also demonstrates that
Significant aspects of the Company's labor
policies are centrally determined and
that the Company does not treat the Palo
Verde Plant differently from its other
facilities for labor relations purposes.
The benefits granted to Palo Verde employ-
ees are determined at the Company's head-
quarters, and all of the Company's
unrepresented employees, wherever
located, receive the same benefits.

(R. 274.) Job openings at any facility
are posted at all Company offices. Plant
policies applicable to Palo Verde employ-
ees with respect to salary administration,
grievances, and job bidding have been
established at the corporate level and

-18-

apply to all of the Company's unrepre-
sented employees. (R. 131-132, 144-145,
54.) These policies, along with addi-
tional Company rules and policies, are
contained in an employee handbook which
is distributed to all employees. (R.
440-441, 491.) The record also shows
that headquarters officials are involved
in the implementation of labor relations
policies in the individual plants. For
example, while grievances may be resolved
at the plant level, the Company provides
for an appeal to the corporate level for
final decision. In addition, with
respect to job vacancies, only a desig-
nated corporate official can approve a
decision not to post a job.

As the Board also found (Pet. App.
34-35), the Palo Verde employees and the

bargaining unit employees share similar

-19-

terms and conditions of employment. The

Palo Verde employees have the same vaca-

tion, holiday, pension, dental, and
medical benefits as those contained in
the collective bargaining agreement. (R.

114-115.) 2/ Furthermore the salaries of

2/ The record shows some differences'in benefits
Such as sick leave, overtime, and participa-
tion in short term disability and savings plans
between bargaining unit employees and all unrep-
resented employees. These different benefits
are not, however, unique to Palo Verde employees
and thus do not demonstrate that the Palo Verde
facility has a separate identity from other
Company facilities.

APS (Pet. Brief 15) points to two benefits
assertedly unique to Palo Verde employees.
These are the Company's provision of tools

for work at Palo Verde and the Company's
transportation of Palo Verde employees to
work. With respect to providing tools, the
record shows that the Company provides many
tools to employees at the fossil fuel plants.
(R. 340, 434, 490.) The additional benefit

of transportation--provided because Palo Verde
is located in the desert and a substantial
distance from residential communities (R. 120-
121)--plainly does not undermine the strong
shared interests r@Sulting from the common-
ality of most major benefits.

ae

-20-

ww
Palo Verde employees are identical or

comparable to the salaries earned by
bargaining unit employees in the same or
analogous classifications. (E. Ex. 17,
R. 164, 171; Jt. Ex. la, R. 11, 14.)
Further supporting the Palo Verde
accretion is the fact that, as the Board
found (Pet. App. 36), the Palo Verde
employees and bargaining unit employees
perform similar functions under the same
Or comparable job classifications. fThus,

virtually all of the production and main-

tenance classifications at Palo Verde

are included in the collective bargaining
agreement. (R. 474, 484-489; Jt. Ex. la,
pp. 48-57, R. 11, 14; E. Ex. 5, R. 30,
32.) Palo Verde employees classified as
janitors, storekeepers and warehousemen
perform the same duties as similarly
Classified bargaining unit employees.

(R. 85, 98.) The duties of the Palo

=21=

Verde electricians are the same as the
Company's other electricians. (R. 86.)
Palo Verde employees classified as instru-
ment and control (I & C) repairmen and
technicians perform the same functions of
calibrating, repairing and installing
instruments that I & C repairmen perform
at the Company's other plants. (R. 851,
419-420.)

At both Palo Verde and the fossil
fuel plants, the operator functions are
divided between operators who sit in the
control room at control panels and those
who travel throughout the plant checking

equipment. (R. 356-358, 481-482.) The

stationary operators--classified as

control operators in the fossil fuel

plants and nuclear operators level III
at Palo Verde--are responsible for moni-

toring the condition of the plant and

adjusting switches and knobs on the

-22@

control panels in response to information
about the condition of the plant con-
veyed by the instruments in the control
room. (R. 358-359, 371, 479.) The
mobile operators--classified as auxiliary
or assistant operators at the fossil

fuel facilities and as nuclear operators
level II at Palo Verde--inspect the
equipment throughout the plant. (R.

481, 356-357.) Nuclear operator level I
is an operator trainee position and thus
is similar to the operator trainee
Classification at the fossil fuel

plants. (R. 356, Jt. Ex. la, p. 53,

R. ll, 14.)

' The basic similarity of Palo Verde
and bargaining unit job functions is
demonstrated by the fact that 20 percent
of the 62 production and maintenance
employees at Palo Verde at the time of

the hearing transferred from the

-23-

Company's other facilities using the
“Company's job bidding procedure (R.
62-63), and these transferees are, as a
company witness stated (R. 342), well
trained. The transferees include one
employee who transferred from an operator
position at the Company's Four Corners
Plant to a nuclear operator level III
position at Palo Verde, as well as
employees who transferred to electrician
and I & C positions. (R. 380-381, 415-
416, 432, 572, E. Ex. 17, R. 164.)
Finally, the Board reasonably found
the bargaining history here to militate
in favor of accretion. Thus, the record
shows that, since the Company's initial
recognition of the Union around 1947,
bargaining has always been on a system
wide basis. Furthermore, production and

maintenance employees at newly acquired

-24-

Or constructed facilities have uniformly
been incorporated into the unit. (R.
447.)

In sum, measured against established
accretion standards and the bargaining
unit policies applicable to the utility
industry, the record evidence of inte-
grated and centralized operations,
centralized labor policies, similar
working conditions and job functions,
employee transfers, and system-wide
bargaining history amply demonstrate
both that the Palo Verde employees do
not constitute an appropriate unit for
collective bargaining and that "such a
community of interest exists among the
entire group that the additional
employees have no separate unit iden-
tity" and "thus... are properly
governed by the larger group's choice
of bargaining representative.” NLRB v.

-25-

<
*
‘.

Security-Columbian Bank Note Co., 541

F.2d 135, 140 (3d Cir., 1976). Accord:

Lammert Industries v. NLRB, supra;

Universal Security Instruments, Inc. v.

NLRB, supra; NLRB v. Baton Rouge Water-

works Co., supra.

Accordingly, the Board acted well
within its discretion by accreting the
Palo Verde employees into the existing

system-wide unit.

CONCLUSION

This Court should not grant the
instant Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted this llth day
of November, 1983.

Phoenix, AZ. 85004
Attorneys for
Local 387

-26- a

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, A. D. Ward, counsel of record
for International Brotherhood of Elecri-
cal Workers, AFL-CIO, Local 387, and a
member of the Bar of the Supreme Court
of the United States, hereby certify that

(A
on the Mth day of November, 1983, I
served one copy of the Brief for the
International Brotherhood of Electrical
Workers, AFL-CIO, Local 387 in Opposition
by depositing in a mailbox, with first-
class postage prepaid, and properly
addressed to the following:

Solicitor General

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

John C. Truesdale, Esq.

Executive Secretary

National Labor Relations Board

1717 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20570

Frederick K. Steiner, Jr., Esq.

SNELL & WILMER

3100 Valley Bank Center

Phoenix, Arizona 85073

Attorneys for Petitioner

~2?Jo

-2§-

Ken
aiy

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_0899%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
