# Opposition — Del-AWARE Unlimited, Inc. v. Baldwin

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_0896%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 465 U.S. 1022

## Text

DEL-AWARE UNLIMITED, INC., ET AL., PETITIONERS
v.

ROGER M. BALDWIN, ETC., ET AL.

. ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
<5 UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

we Bh ee age ae

BRIEF FOR THE FEDERAL RESPONDENTS
IN OPPOSITION

4
+S

Teen a

@ oD) et bie
—* C
1

woh
ji”

+.
.

‘
4

‘
;

a
A
i)
E

ie -t

ane

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the district court improperly excluded
evidence proffered by petitioners at the preliminary
injunction hearing.

2. Whether the Corps of Engineers complied with
Section 110(f) of the National Historic Preserva-
tion Act, 16 U.S.C. 470h-2(f), before issuing a per-
mit for construction on the Delaware River.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
I EEE RM CI Se NS Ne Rie TH ]
EI ONO Ser ee rene SE 1
SEALER RIOR eT ee Ce Fe Seam FEE: 2
a GT EE SR Oe Ae RR Ee oer FS iY 3 2
I te Oe asaeulasgeesioniiiladaamesiaiaaeund 11
I a ae 18
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases :
American Construction Co. v. Jacksonville, T. &
tid: UE its MTU sintecinansptaiandstnoibcnneoveineneacethiheg 11
CR a UU, GRE CIE, BO cncerciscesiccsetivccoatorsoncheeonnes 12
Citizens to Preserve Overton Park, Inc. v. Volpe,
I a i Ei 12
Delaware Water Emergency Group Vv. Hansler, 536
F. Supp. 26, aff’d, 681 F.2d 806 ...................... 8, 5, 6, 8, 9
Environmental Coalition of Nuclear Power vy. NRC,
No. 75-1421 (8d Cir. Nov. 12, 1975) .................... 5
Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Brothers & Co.,
ee ee OE 11
Louisiana Environmental Society, Inc. V. Coleman,
I a alt 15
Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Corp. v. NRDC,
485 U.S. 519 12
Statutes:
Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. 701 et seq... 9
Delaware River Basin Compact, Pub. L. No. 87-
828, 75 Stat. 688 et seq. 8
Ss RTT UM Soe) | Seeeeeememranaan 16
Department of Transportation Act §4(f), 49
U.S.C. 1653 (f) 15
Endangered Species Act of 1973, 16 U.S.C. 1531
et seq. 9
(m1)

Statutes—Continued : Page
Federal Water Pollution Control Act § 404, 33
ra IS. IN cscs detuidesiescineyebssionstioimecliaian 2
Fish and Wildlife Coordination Act, 16 U.S.C. 661
SII Dabtinclacdasc dicate Aclunctte awncecpettetiiphlianctdnaednscinginebddbadenieatiions 8
National] Environmental Policy Act, 42 U.S.C. 4321
IS saith Gicctascecestearsicchimcbinds 5
National Historic Preservation Act, 16 U.S.C. 470
RR SIRI IRE AIRE SS ORR a SN 8
§ 110(f), 16 U.S.C. 470h-2(f) _.......... 2, 10, 14, 15, 16
Rivers and Harbors Appropriation Act of 1899
te Bt ERRMSG? RS 2 Rees 2
Re EE SEES eid 4
Miscellaneous:

Fowler, Federal Historic Preservation Law: Na-

tional Historic Preservation Act, Executive Or-

der 11593 and Other Recent Developments in

Federal Law, 12 Wake Forest L. Rev. 31 (1976).. 15
H.R. Rep. 96-1457, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. (1980) ...... 15
NRC, NUREG 0974, Draft Environmental State-

ment Related to Operations of Limerick Generat-

ing Station, Units I and II (June 1988) .............. 6

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

No. 83-740
DEL-AWARE UNLIMITED, INC., ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.
ROGER M. BALDWIN, ETC., ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE FEDERAL RESPONDENTS
IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The judgment order of the court of appeals (Pet.
App. Al-A2)* is not reported. The bench opinion of
the district court (Pet. App. A7-A64)? is not reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (Pet. App.
A2) was entered on July 5, 1983. A petition for re-
hearing was denied on August 2, 1983 (Pet. App.

! Petitioners have filed two differently paginated copies of
the Appendix. The page numbers herein refer to the xeroxed,
169 page version.

2 The district court adopted (Pet. App. A35-A36) almost
all of the Proposed Findings of Fact of the Neshaminy Water
Resources Authority reprinted at Pet. App. A71-A113.

(1)

2

A3-A4), and the petition for a writ of certiorari was
filed on October 31, 1983. The jurisdiction of this
Court rests on 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATUTE INVOLVED

The National Historic Preservation Act §110(f),
16 U.S.C. 470h-2(f) (NHPA), provides:

Prior to the approval of any Federal under-
taking which may directly and adversely affect
any National Historic Landmark, the head of the
responsible Federal agency shall, to the maxi-
mum extent possible, undertake such planning
and actions as may be necessary to minimize
harm to such landmark, and shall afford the Ad-
visory Council on Historic Preservation a rea-
sonable opportunity to comment on the under-
taking.

STATEMENT

Petitioners instituted this action in the United
States District Court for the Eastern District of
Pennsylvania on November 2, 1982, seeking review
of the issuance by the United States Corps of En-
gineers (Corps) of a permit to the Neshaminy
Water Resources Authority (Neshaminy) for the
construction of a water intake structure and pump-
ing station on the Delaware River at Point Pleasant,
Pennsylvania. The permit was issued pursuant to
the Rivers and Harbors Appropriation Act of 1899
§ 10, 33 U.S.C. 403, and the Federal Water Pollution
Control Act § 404, 33 U.S.C. (Supp. V) 1344 (Clean
Water Act). Petitioner also requested a preliminary
injunction to prevent the planned commencement of
construction in January 1983.

1. The Corps permit covers but one small part of
a comprehensive plan for the construction of facili-
ties for the withdrawal, diversion and use of water
from the Delaware River that has been developed

3

by the Delaware River Basin Commission (Commis-
sion) over the last 20 years in order to meet the water
resources needs of the De!aware River Basin area.’
The basic plan approvei by the Commission is for
water to be diverted from the Delaware River by
means of a pumping facility and intake structure at
Point Pleasant, Pennsylvania. This water is to be
used to supplement water supplies in Bucks and Mont-
gomery Counties, Pennsylvania, and to provide water,
when that becomes necessary, to the Limerick Gen-
erating Station in Montgomery County.

The Commission’s overall plan has been subjected
to extensive administrative and judicial review over
the last 20 years. The present project is the result
of a 1966 study of the Neshaminy Creek Basin by
the Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Re-
sources, the United States Soil Conservation Service,
Bucks County and Montgomery County. The plan for
this project was approved by the Commission and in-
cluded in the Delaware River Basin Comprehensive
Plan on October 26, 1966. In 1971, the Commission
plan was amended to include an enlarged Point
Pleasant Pumping Station supplying approximately
150 million gallons per day (mgd) for Limerick

* The Commission was created by the Delaware River Basin
Compact, Pub. L. No. 87-828, 75 Stat. 688 et seq., of which the
United States and the States of New York, New Jersey, Penn-
sylvania and Delaware are signatories. Pursuant to that com-
pact, the Commission is granted “broad responsibility and con-
trol over planning and allocating the water resources of the
entire Delaware River Basin, including both surface and
ground waters.” Delaware Water Emergency Group Vv. Hans-
ler (Delweg), 536 F. Supp. 26, 28 (E.D. Pa. 1981), aff’d, 681
F.2d 805 (3d Cir. 1982).

4

and Neshaminy’s municipal water users. The Com-
mission filed an environmental impact statement
(EIS) in 1973, which concluded that the proposed
project would be beneficial to the watersheds of both
creeks involved and not detrimental to the Dela-
ware River, provided that various express conditions
concerning the control and use of water contained
therein were followed. Pet. App. A73-A75.

During the late 1970’s, study of the present and
the contemplated future water needs of the area con-
tinued. Although the contours of the project re-
mained basically the same, population projections
compiled by the Commission in 1978 led Neshaminy
to prepare a new environmental report in order to
reevaluate the project as then constituted. As a re-
sult, Neshaminy submitted to the Pennsylvania De-
partment of Environmental Resources an applica-
tion to modify the previously granted permit because
of a decreased need for supplemental water, reduc-
ing the Point Pleasant withdrawal from 150 mgd to
approximately 95 mgd. In 1978, this permit was is-
sued, along with an extensive report by the Penn-
sylvania Department of Environmental Resources
analyzing and justifying the issuance of the permit.
Pet. App. A75-A77.

Meanwhile, aspects of this project had also been
undergoing review by the federal government. In
1973, the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). pre-
pared an EIS regarding the proposed Limerick Gen-
erating Station, including the Point Pleasant Pump-
ing Plant and the transmission lines needed to trans-
port water to Limerick. In 1974, the Nuclear Reg-
ulatory Commission (NRC), which had succeeded
to the licensing functions of the AEC (88 Stat.
1233), granted a construction permit to Philadelphia

ae
:

5

Electric for the Limerick plant. The validity of this
permit was affirmed after judicial review. Environ-
mental Coalition of Nuclear Power v. NRC, No. 75-
1421 (3d Cir. Nov. 12, 1975). Finally, in 1976, the
United States Soil Conservation Service prepared
a final EIS encompassing the entire water plan for
the Delaware River Basin area. Pet. App. A77-
A78.

2. In 1979, Philadelphia Electric and Neshaminy
filed with the Commission applications for approval
of their portions of the proposed transmission sys-
tem, including the Point Pleasant Pumping Station.
After the preparation of an extensive environmental
assessment, the Commission issued a “negative dec-
laration,” finding that the proposed project would
have no significant adverse effect on the environment
and that the preparation of a separate EIS was
not necessary. In August 1980, the Commission pub-
lished its “Final Environmental Assessment for the
Neshaminy Water Supply System” and granted the
applications of Philadelphia Electric and Neshaminy,
subject to certain express conditions and limitations.
Pet. App. A78-A80.*

These Commission approvals were challenged in
the Delweg litigation. Plaintiffs there claimed that
there had been a failure to comply with the Na-
tional Environmental Policy Act, 42 U.S.C. 4821 et
seg. (NEPA). The district court disagreed, find-
ing that the numerous environmental assessments

*In May 1981, the Commission completed an additional
environmental study—the Delaware River Basin Compre-
hensive (Level B) Study—which also encompassed the plans
for the Point Pleasant Pumping Station to withdraw 95 mgd
for use at Limerick and the North Branch Water Treatment
Plant. Delweg, 536 F. Supp. at 48-44.

6

of the proposed project were thorough, reliable and
up-to-date. Delaware Water Emergency Group v.
Hansler, 536 F. Supp. 26, 48-49 (E.D. Pa. 1981).°
This decision was approved on appeal without opinion
(681 F.2d 805 (3d Cir. 1982) ).

3. In December 1980, Neshaminy submitted to
the Corps applications for approval of two aspects
of the planned pumping facilities and associated sys-
tems—the construction of the Point Pleasant intake
structure and the rechannelization of Pine Run
Creek. In connection with its consideration of these
applications, the Corps received numerous comments
from the public and from federa! and state agencies.®

5In that decision, the district court did not, as petitioners
claim (Pet. 7-8), rely on the assumption that further EISs
would be compiled by the Corps and the NRC in connection
with this project. The court rejected the claim of plaintiffs
that the sighting of shortnose sturgeon, an endangered species,
in the Delaware subsequent to the Commission’s environmental
assessment mandated the preparation of an EIS. The court
noted that the record did not show that the project would
jeopardize the habitat of such species. The court pointed
out in addition that the effect of the project on the short-
nose sturgeon could be assessed by the Corps in consider-
ing the permit for the intake structure. Finally, the court
noted that the NRC would prepare an EIS in connection with
the Limerick operating permit, which could also consider
that matter. Delweg, 536 F. Supp. at 46. As predicted by the
district court in Delweg, the Corps did fully consider the
effect of the project on shortnose sturgeon in connection with
its issuance of the permit for the intake structure (Pet. App.
A124). These effects were also considered by the NRC in
connection with its review of a request for an operating per-
mit for Limerick. NRC, NUREG 0974, Draft Environmental
Statement Related to Operation of Limerick Generating Sta-
tion, Units I and IJ, at 4-51, 5-36 (June 19838).

* Comments and opinions were received from the Environ-

mental Protection Agency, the National Marine Fisheries
Service of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Adminis-

&

7

In addition, the Corps consulted with the Pennsyl-
vania Historic Preservation Office and the Advisory
Council on Historic Preservation.’

After reviewing these comments and all previous
environmental reviews that were before the Com-
mission, the Corps issued its environmental assess-
ment of October 14, 1982 (Pet. App. A142-A160).
It determined that the issuance of the permit did
not constitute a major federal action and that the
installation and operation of the water intake, con-
duit and pumphouse would not significantly affect
the human environment. Therefore, on October 25,
1982, on the basis of its Statement of Findings, the
Corps issued permit No. NAPOP-R-80-534-3 to
Neshaminy (Pet. App. Al14-A141). The Commis-
sion reserved action on Neshaminy’s application for
a permit for the rechannelization of Pine Run
Creek.

tration, the Fish and Wildlife Service of the Department of

the Interior, and the Advisory Council on Historic Preserva-
tion (Pet. App. A128-A125). The Pennsylvania Department
of Environmental Resources referred to the Corps a detailed
environmental assessment on the project in connection with
its issuance to Neshaminy, on September 2, 1982, of Dams
Safety and Encroachment permits for the Point Pleasant
intake structure construction. Comments were also received
from the Pennsylvania Fish Commission and the Pennsylvania
State Historic Preservation Office. Pet. App. A125-A126.

™This consultation resulted in a Memorandum of Agree-
ment with those agencies that sets out steps to be taken by
Neshaminy and the Corps in order to limit the effect of the
intake structure’s construction and operation on the historic
values of the area. The Pennsylvania Canal, which will be
crossed by the project, is a national historic landmark, and
Point Pleasant has been nominated to the National Register of
Historic Places (Pet. 42).

8

4. Petitioners’ complaint in the instant action
named as defendants numerous federal, state, and
Commission officials. It challenged the issuance of
the construction permit by the Corps, alleging, inter
alia, violations of NEPA, the Nationai Historic Pres-
ervation Act, 16 U.S.C. 470 et seg., and the Fish and
Wildlife Coordination Act, 16 U.S.C. 661 et seq., and
sought a preliminary injunction against constru¢tion
of the intake structure. After initial briefing, includ-
ing various motions by the defendants to dismiss por-
tions of the complaint, to deny the motion for prelimi-
nary injunction, and to limit the evidentiary record,
the preliminary injunction hearing commenced on No-
vember 30, 1982, and continued through December 10,
1982. As an initial matter, the court ruled that re-
view would be limited to the administrative record
(Pet. App. A164):

to determine whether or not, under either a
reasonableness standard or an arbitrary and
capricious standard the agency somehow mis-
applied the law, misinterpreted the evidence,
overlooked certain testimony, or unreasonably
reached no significant impact determinations.
The court further held that the burden would be
on petitioners to show that the Corps’ environmental
impact study was improperly prepared or issued. It
accordingly held that testimony or evidence outside
the administrative record might be introduced, in
the court’s discretion, to support petitioners’ allega-
tions that the administrative record was deficient
(Pet. App. Ai65-A166). Furthermore, the court
adopted as binding the decision in Delweg, and ruled
that its consideration would be limited to those is-
sues that had not been considered in the Commis-
sioner’s environmental assessment approved in Del-
weg (Pet. App. A166).

9

The court heard extensive arguments of counsel,
and received as evidence numerous documents re-
lating to issues that petitioners contended had not
been adequately considered by the Corps. In addi-
tion, Fichard McCoy, an employee of the Fish and
Wildlife Service proffered by petitioners, testified
regarding the concerns of that agency about the con-
struction of the Point Pleasant intake structure
(C.A. App. 2536-2584). Finally, after determining
from petitioners’ counsel that there was no further
evidence that petitioners wished to present at this
preliminary stage, the court reviewed and ruled upon
the exhibits offered by the parties (C.A. App. 2997-
3123).

On December 15, 1982, the district court issued its
decision (Pet. App. A7-A64) from the bench. The
court dismissed petitioners’ claims under the National
Historic Preservation Act, and Endangered Species
Act of 1973 (16 U.S.C. 1531 et seq.), the Clean Water
Act, and the Rivers and Harbors Appropriation Act
of 1899, as well as against certain named individuals
and state agencies (Pet. App. A5-A6, A11-A14).*
Assuming (Pet. App. Al0) that petitioners could
amend their complaint to assert a claim under the
Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. 701 et seq.
(APA), the court then denied the motion for a pre-
liminary injunction resting on the NEPA and APA
claims (Pet. App. A6, A15), finding no abuse of dis-
cretion or failure to consider adequately other agency
views (Pet. App. Al5-A16).° Accordingly, the court

® Petitioners do not here challenge these dismissals.

*The court found that many of petitioners’ claims had
been before the court in Delweg, and that petitioners were
estopped from relitigating those claims (Pet. App. A16-A17).
It found the new issues raised by petitioner to be without

10

found that petitioners were not entitled to a prelimi-
nary injunction because they had shown no likelihood
of success on the merits, and respondents had shown
that they and the public would be severely harmed if
the project did not go forward as scheduled (Pet.
App. A36-A37).

5. Petitioners appealed only the denial of the pre-
liminary injunction, presenting the same substantive
issues raised in the district court. In addition, pe-
titioners challenged the district court’s evidentiary
rulings, claiming the court improperly had limited its
review to the Corps’ administrative record, and had
refused to permit them to present evidence not in the
Corps’ record to show that the Corps’ environmental
assessment was inadequate. The court of appeals af-
firmed the district court’s decision by judgment order
(Pet. App. Al-A2).

merit, concluding, inter alia, that the Corps had not violated
Section 110(f) of the NHPA. Because the Corps properly
relied on the Commission’s determination, based on an ade-
quate consideration of alternatives, that the location of the
intake structure at Point Pleasant was the only feasible one,
the court found that the Corps was not required by Section
110(f) to consider again alternatives outside that area.
Accordingly, the Corps’ only responsibility under Section
110(f) had been to take adequate action to minimize impact
on the Pennsylvania Canal, located at Point Pleasant, which
the court found it had done (Pet. App. Al8-Al19, A26-A27,
A46-A52). The court also found that the Corps had ade-
quately consulted with the Fish and Wildlife Service. The
Fish and Wildlife Service had raised no new concerns, and its
failure to refer the matter to a higher authority to resolve
such disagreements (as provided in a Memorandum of Under-
standing between the Corps and Interior) indicated that it
did see any significant adverse impacts on fish from the
project (Pet. App. A25, A27).

Il

ARGUMENT

Petitioners have not shown any reason why this
Court should depart from its usual practice of de-
clining to review interlocutory orders of the courts
below. In any event, the decision below is correct,
and does not conflict with any decision of this Court
or of any other court of appeals. Accordingly, further
review by this Court is not warranted.

1. Petitioners ask this Court to review the denial
of a preliminary injunction. This Court will not un-
dertake such interlocutory review “unless it is neces-
sary to prevent extraordinary inconvenience and em-
barrassment in the conduct of the cause.” American
Construction Co. v. Jacksonville, T. & K.W. R.R., 148
U.S. 372, 384 (1893); accord, Hamilton-Brown Shoe
Co. v. Wolf Brothers & Co., 240 U.S. 251, 258 (1916).
Petitioners have made no such showing. They raise
only two issues here—whether the district court at
the preliminary injunction hearing improperly ex-
cluded evidence which was not part of the Corps’ ad-
ministrative record (Pet. 16-39), and whether the dis-
trict court properly interpreted the Corps’ duties un-
der the NHPA (Pet. App. 39-56). Neither issue is
foreclosed by the denial of the preliminary injunction
—instead, both can be raised at the trial on the
merits, and, if necessary, on appeal from a final de-
cision on the merits. Ultimately, petitioners will be
able to present their contentions to this Court, to-
gether with any other claims they may have, in a pe-
tition for a writ of certiorari seeking review of any
final judgment against them.

2. In any case, the decision below is correct. Despite
petitioners’ claim to the contrary (Pet. 20-21), the

12

district court here did not exclude all evidence out-
side the administrative record. Instead, it adopted
petitioners’ view that extra-record evidence is ad-
missible to identify important matters not considered
by the agency.” After noting that judicial review in
cases such as this is generally limited to the adminis-
trative record, the court held (Pet. App. A165):

Testimony outside of the administrative record
is not precluded in my opinion as a matter of
law; the Court has discretion to permit it, where
it would tend to advance specific allegations by
the plaintiffs that the administrative record is
deficient, so as to render the decision made by
the administrative agency without evidence and
without consideration of the various environ-
mental considerations imposed under the regula-
tions and statute upon the agency to review,
analyze and consider.

Furthermore, although petitioners baldly assert
otherwise (Pet. 20), the record amply demonstrates
that the district court admitted almost all their ex-

1° Petitioners incorrectly suggest that the district court, in
environmental cases, should permit a more extensive use of
extra-record evidence in reviewing agency adjudicatory de-
cisions not based on an adversary record (Pet. 16-20). This
Court has consistently stated that such review must be based
on “the administrative record already in existence, not some
new record made initially in the reviewing court.” Camp v.
Pitts, 411 U.S. 188, 142 (1978). See Vermont Yankee Nuclear
Power Corp. Vv. NRDC, 435 U.S. 519, 549 (1978) ; Citizens to
Preserve Overton Park, Inc. v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402, 419-420
(1971). Even where the administrative record is found inade-
quate to support the ageacy’s decision, this Court has prohib-
ited remedial evidentiary proceedings in the reviewing court,
holding instead that inadequate records must be remanded to
the agency for supplementation. Vermont Yankee Nuclear
Power Corp. v. NRDC, supra; Camp v. Pitts, supra.

13

trinsic evidence. Petitioners offered 91 documents as
evidence: only 20 were excluded. Of these 20, only 7
apparently were excluded solely because they were
not part of the Corps’ record." Petitioners do not
assert that any of these documents was critical.”
The district court admitted 60 of the documents
offered by petitioners,” 15 of them over the objection
of the government that they were not part of the

11 Nos. 25 (C.A. App. 3023-3026); 30 (C.A. App. 3028-
8029) ; 35 (C.A. App. 3032-3033) ; 87 (C.A. App. 3034-3036) ;
53 (C.A. App. 3054-3064) ; 54 (C.A. App. 3064-3065) ; and 74
(C.A. App. 3086-3087).

The remaining 13 documents were excluded for other rea-
sons. Nos. 8 and 21 were excluded because they were draft
documents and addressed an issue (the Pine Run rechanneli-
zation) that was not part of the consideration of the Point
Pleasant permit (C.A. App. 3006-3008, 3021-8022). Nos. 24,
63 and 86 were excluded because they were not complete docu-
ments (C.A. App. 3023, 3077-3078, 3115-3117). No. 26 was
excluded because counsel had not presented it to the court
during the preliminary injunction hearing and, therefore, had
laid no foundation upon which the court could rule as to its
admissibility (C.A. App. 3026-8027). No. 39 was excluded
because it was offered on a purely legal issue for which the
taking of evidence was unnecessary (C.A. App. 3038-3040).
No. 40 was excluded as irrelevant (C.A. App. 3040-3041).
Nos. 42 and 75 were excluded as unnecessary and cumulative
(C.A. App. 3042-8048, 3088-3091). No. 62 was excluded as
work product (C.A. App. 3075-3077). No. 85 was excluded
as hearsay (C.A. App. 3106-3115). No. 91 was excluded as
not probative (C.A. App. 3118-3121).

1 Instead, they claim only that “[c]ritical documents which
had not been included in the Corps of Engineers ‘administra-
tive record’ * * *, were refused admittance except by the
largesse of the court” (Pet. 20).

“The remaining 11 documents were not admitted because
they either were missing or were duplicates of other docu-
ments.

14

administrative record.“ Petitioners’ “Hearing Plan”
noted 19 possible witnesses, but indicated that their
testimony would be dupticative of materials presented
to the Corps (C.A. App. 191). Petitioners proffered
only two of these witnesses at the preliminary in-
junction hearing. One of those witnesses, Ricard Mc-
Coy, was heard by the court (page 9, supra). The
other was not heard because his testimony would have
been duplicative of evidence already in the record
(C.A. App. 2393). Thus, the district court allowed
petitioners broad leeway in presenting evidence to
support their contention that the Corps failed to con-
sider important environmental matters.

3. Petitioners’ other claim—that the Corps failed to
fulfill its responsibilities under Section 110(f) of the
NHPA (Pet. 39-56)—is equally without merit. They
contend that the Corps refused to consider any al-
ternative to crossing the Pennsylvania Canal at Point
Pleasant, but instead improperly deferred to the con-
sideration of alternatives previously completed by
the Commission, which chose the Point Pleasant cross-
ing site before the passage of Section 110(f) and,
therefore, could not have applied the required histori-
cal preservation considerations (Pet. App. 45-46, 49-
56). Petitioners also argue (Pet. 46-49) that, even
if the Point Pleasant crossing was the only prudent
and feasible alternative, the Corps failed to minimize
harm to the canal there.

a. The Corps’ consideration of alternatives fully
complied with its responsibilities under Section 110
(f) of the NHPA. That section by its terms requires
only that agencies that take action adversely affecting
a National Historic Landmark “to the maximum ex-

4 Nos. 3, 6, 7, 10, 14, 31, 33, 34, 36, 38, 48, 59, 61, 72, and
80.

15

tent possible, undertake such planning and actions as
may be necessary to minimize harm to such land-
mark” and allow the Advisory Council an opportunity
to comment on the undertaking.” The legislative
history confirms the plain statutory language. It
makes clear that prudent and feasible alternatives
should be considered by the agency, but that Congress
did not require a finding of no such alternative as a
mandatory initial step without which the agency may
not proceed. The House report on this Section states
H.R. Rep. 96-1457, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. 38 (1980):

Although the Committee deleted a mandatory
requirement that an agency first determine that
“no prudent and feasible alternative for such
undertaking exists,” the Committee does intend
for agencies to consider prudent and feasible
alternatives.

Thus, NHPA, like NEPA, is a procedural statute.
It is designed to protect our nation’s cultural heritage
by assuring that a good faith consideration of preser-
vation values is made before agencies take action that
could adversely affect a landmark. See Fowler, Fed-
eral Historic Preservation Law: National Historic

45 Contrary to petitioners’ suggestion (Pet. 44, 47-49), Sec-
tion 110(f) is distinctly different from Section 4(f) of the
Department of Transportation Act, 49 U.S.C. 1658(f). The
latter Section flatly prohibits the agency from approving a
project that crosses public parkland unless it initially makes a
two-part finding: first, that there is no prudent or feasible
alternative; and second, that the program includes all possible
planning to minimize harm to the parkland. In any event, the
Corps’ action here would satisfy even the stringent require-
ments of 49 U.S.C. 1658(f), under which an alternative may
be rejected if it is “reasonably determined” to be imprudent.
Louisiana Environmental Society, Inc. v. Coleman, 587 F.2d
79, 85 (5th Cir. 1976).

16

Preservation Act, Executive Order 11593, and Other
Recent Developments in Federal Law, 12 Wake
Forest L. Rev. 31 (1976). |

Nothing in Section 110(f) prohibits the Corps from
deferring to the decision of the Commission, the
agency with overall responsibility for the project, that
there was no prudent and feasible alternate crossing
site outside of the Point Pleasant area (Pet. App.
A132). The Commission, after extensive study of
environmental and cther factors (see pages 3-6, su-
pra), concluded that there was no other reasonably
possible place to cross the canal than Point Pleasant.
The Corps properly relied on this judgment in issuing
the permit necessary for completion of a part of the
project.* The Corps fulfilled its statutory obligation
to consider alternatives by studying alternatives
within the Point Pleasant area, since alternatives out-
side that area were not prudent or feasible.

Within the Point Pleasant area, the Corps gave full
consideration to alternative ways to protect the his-
toric values of the site. It considered five possibilities
—abandoning the project, relocating the project in
the southwest, southern or northern portions of the
area, and installing an intake conduit over the canal
(Pet. App. A132-A133, A154-A155). Each of these
alternatives was rejected for various reasons as not

16 Deference to the Commission in the overall planning of
the project is required by the Delaware River Basin Compact,
Pub. L. No. 87-8328, § 15.1(s) (1), 75 Stat. 718. However,
the Corps’ deference to the Commission’s determination re-
garding feasible locations for the crossing did not improp-
erly cede its statutory responsibilities under the NHPA to the
Commission, as petitioners suggest (Pet. 49-56). Instead,
having accepted the Commission’s judgment about the im-
practicality of relocating the crossing, the Corps carefully
addressed historic preservation concerns within the area.

17

feasible, and the location proposed by Neshaminy was
found to be “virtually the only feasible one,” and
“the most practicable.” **

b. Furthermore, contrary to petitioners’ claim (Pet.
46-49), having found the Point Pleasant crossing to
be the most feasible, the Corps made extensive efforts
to minimize harm to the canal from the project. Most
significantly, the Corps incorporated into its permit
to Neshaminy a Memorandum of Agreement that it
entered into with the Pennsylvania State Historic
Preservation Officer (representing the owner of the
canal) and the Advisory Council on Historic Preser-
vation (the federal entity charged with responsibility
for ensuring compliance with the NHPA). The
Memorandum outlines extensive efforts that must be
made by Neshaminy during the construction of the
project to minimize harm to the canal (C.A. App.
2042-2050) .*”

Despite petitioners’ attempt to paint this case as
one in which the Corps, through inaction, evaded its
duties under the NHPA, it is clear that the Corps
amply fulfilled its duty to consider historical values
in issuing a permit to Neshaminy.

17 Pet. App. A132-A133.
18 Pet. App. A155. *

19 The Corps thus fulfilled precisely those duties “deferred”
to it by the Commission in its 1980 Environmental Assess-
ment, to which petitioners refer (Pet. 50). In that assessment,
the Commission simply noted that the Corps should be the
lead agency in consultations with the Advisory Council. (See
Pet. App. A95-A96.)

18

CONCLUSION
The petition for certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

REx E. LEE
Solicitor General

F. HENRY HABICHT, II
Assistant Attorney General

Davip C. SHILTON
JANET L. STECKEL

Attorneys

JANUARY 1984

® ss. 6. covesmment ramrime orice; 1964 430128 864230

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_0896%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
