# Petitioners Brief — Bernal v. Fainter

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_0813%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 467 U.S. 216

## Text

FIL &

IN THE om CLERK

- ie

D

JAN 19 to94

No. 83-630 |
= STEVAS.

SUPREME COURT OF THE
UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1983

EFREM BERNAL,
Petitioner,
Wa
JOHN W. FAINTER, JR., Secretary of State of the State of
Texas, JOE RIVERA, County Clerk for Cameron County,
Texas, and, SANTOS SALDANA, County Clerk for
Hidalgo County, Texas,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

THOMAS SULLIVAN CORNISH F. HITCHCOCK
DENIS A. DOWNEY (Counsel of Record)
ALAN B. MORRISON
Downey & Sullivan JOHN CARY SIMS
1185 F.M. 802, Suite 3
Brownsville, Texas 78520 Public Citizen Litigation Group
(512) 544-0561 Suite 700

2000 P Street, NW
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 785-3704

January 1984 Attorneys for Petitioner

eS SS LS SETS
THE CASILLAS PRESS. INC. -1717 K Street N W —Wastungtion. O. C.-273-1220

(i)

QUESTION PRESENTED*

May a State constitutionally deny all resident aliens the op-
portunity to become notaries public, while under /n re Grif-
fiths, 413 U.S. 717 (1973), qualified resident aliens cannot be
denied admission to the bar or be denied the right to ad-
minister oaths and perform other functions similar to those
carried out by notaries public?

* In addition to the parties identified in the caption, Margarita M. Vargas was a
plaintiff-appellee below. Pursuant to Rule 40.3 of the Rules of this Court, respon-
dent John W. Fainter, Jr., Secretary of State of the State of Texas, is automatically
substituted for his predecessor in office George W. Strake, Jr.

(iii)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED.................. 00.0000.
TABLE OF CONTENTS.............0...00ceceeeues ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES................ 000000000: v
REFERENCE TO OPINIONS.............000. 000000:
EE 2
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION

AND STATUTE INVOLVED...............0. 0000. 2

STATEMENT OF THECASE...............0..00000- 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT....................05. 5
ccs cece cc eesssesee. 7

THE REQUIREMENT THAT NOTARIES

PUBLIC BE UNITED STATES CITIZENS IS
UNCONSTITUTIONAL AS A DENIAL OF THE
EQUAL PROTECTION OF THE LAWS........... 7

A. The Applicable Legal Standard................. 7

B. The Texas Statute Cannot Withstand
Strict Scrutiny under /n re Griffiths............. 10

(iv)
Page

C. The Court of Appeals Misapplied Cabell
in Concluding that the Functions of Notaries
Public Are “Political” and Thus Subject to a
Less Demanding Standard of Review ......... 15

D. There Is No Rational Relationship
Between the Ban on Aliens Setving as
Notaries Public and the Achievement
of a Legitimate State Interest ................ 21

CONG MEEE ro babdectuuscencevenscerenteanes 23

(v)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page
Ambach v. Norwick,

ee Ra POOR ous é wh cccecees 9, 10, 16, 18-19, 21
Cabell v. Chavez-Salido,

en es a ecieeeeedepoeks passim
Cammer vy. United States,

ee ie eaumaw nee 12
Cheng v. Illinois,

430) F. Sapp. 917 CN.D. TL 1977)... cc ccccccene 13,14
Cohen v. Hurley,

ES oe ok Levis wage opbreted bbe 11

Examining Board of Engineers, Architects and
Surveyors v. Flores de Otero,

I ano ya's o's w's 6 8 a'awiee ee es 9, 10, 16
Foley v. Connelie,

ee WP PO TOs obs ceca dacwec’s 9, 10, 16, 18-19, 21
Goldfarb v. Virginia State Bar,

oss a ud bey dred wind oc Sore aah 11
Graham v. Ramani,

Fe Ie MD os oc vn vn cecccncceerussens 13
Graham v. Richardson,

NINE, 5 55 0 aud 606-5 seks ksh ce abakee> 7-8
In re Griffiths,

NS ons Candace duly hh evap Vee passim
Heim v. McCall,

es ii sa ea as lala arurclalbal wg 8

Lawyers Surety Corp. v. Gulf Coast Investment Corp.,
410 S.W.2d 654 (Tex. Civ. App.), writ of error refused,

vs te ee DL: EPR ee 14
Nyquist v. Mauclet,
Ne es ews 9,20

Patsone v. Pennsylvania,
ee ee I o's v's oo heidas hanevaaks awaieie 8

(vi)

Perkins v. Smith,
426 U.S. 913 (1976), aff'g mem.,
370 F. Supp. 134 (D. Md. 1974)(three-judge court)..... 9

Plyler v. Doe,

er Se CTOs ood 2cscinvbccttcesuenswuceeee 8
In re Primus,

ee ee Oe CEUs kos evah es cusccateveeeeentn 11
San Antonio Independent School District v. Rodriguez,

ee Gls CRIES 0 a os dhe catvkce pe eel a keeen 8

Skafte v. Rorex,
430 U.S. 961 (1977), dismissing appeal from

191 Colo. 399, 553 P. 2d 830 (1976). ............... 9
Sugarman v. Dougall,
ge EO rr. 9, 10, 15, 18, 20

Taggart v. Mandel,
391 F. Supp. 732 (D. Md. 1975)

SURG bc i.ccchcnevee vase \eunmaeees 13,14
Takahaski v. Fish & Game Commission,

OMEN cs icdccdcuecevnheeeecuseemauee 8
Terrace v. Thompson,

PP RE GUEOD, o.oo s vninccdesecccnedeneeeeueee 8
Truax v. Raich,

PP REEDS 6.6 ccc bicedcekseeeen¥ene aa cneue 8
Vargas v. Strake,

710 F.2d 190 (Sth Cir. 1983), cert. granted,

No. 83-630 (S December 1983)...... cc ccncccccscess 2
Yick Wo v. Hopkins,

PO EPE AEDS cin e's bonavechtatasauawaneeuan 8

United States Constitution:
PEE IE aS Bic ce dcnyccciselaniabene hare passim

(vii)

Federal Statutes:

ie Gola Ks as bat Behe ween Ss
oy orld eu daeeeeaernekane.s
as ss wah badness beakers
ae a's wm bluone.e-b ashen’
State Constitution:
Texas Constitution, Article IV, §21...............05. 17
State Statutes:
Burns’ Indiana Statutes Annotated
EE BR on) a ee ee
Connecticut General Statutes Revised
ie Ge ge asd vad db Wee eee 11
Texas Revised Civil Statutes Annotated
Article 2321 ........ ete ee ek hea wo nleeen 17
oc cae Ah seen teens eed ne bane 17
ee ee TS 17
Los au a wah we Cabs 44 seas bas 17
iss Tabb n eens ee kee ee passim
SS a. canon edn bae ewe we wae 14,17
ee cee kieebeue vas eaeneves 14
ha ce ene ee hcn es seeed swan 14
EE Pe ee ey 14
es ce acie'g bans Cae 6uneen ted suaeee 11
le ole SP ceaeeeewe:ed iene 14
eC ee eee ee ees ea be kee abe eRKe 15

1979 Texas General and Special Acts, 66th
Legislature, p. 2213, ch. 840, § 1, codified at
Tex. Rev."Civ. Stat. Ann. art. 5949(3)
(effective 1 January 1980)............ ccc cece eeeeee

(viii)

Page

Other Authorities:

Mexico Notarial Law of 9 January 1932; Law of 30
December 1947, as amended by Decrees of 21
December 1950; 21 December 1965 and 26
December 1966, summarized in Mexico Law

Digest, 7 Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory (1983)... .... 14
Note, A Dual Standard for State Discrimination

Against Aliens, 92 Harv. L. Rev. 1516 (1979).......... 8
R. Rothman, Notary Public: Practices and Glossary

OS Ona hd oie sa ea kaake baeew hee Hane ee ee 3,19

J. Vance and H. Claggett, A Guide to the Law and
Legal Literature of Mexico (1945). .........6 066 eas 15

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE

UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1983

No. 83-630

EFREM BERNAL,
Petitioner,
v.

JOHN W. FAINTER, JR., Secretary of State of the State of
Texas, JOE RIVERA, County Clerk for Cameron County,
Texas, and, SANTOS SALDANA, County Clerk for
Hidalgo County, Texas,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

REFERENCE TO OPINIONS

The unreported opinion of the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Texas, Brownsville Division, is
reproduced in the Appendix to the Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari (‘‘Pet. App.”) at pages Sa-13a. The judgment is
reproduced at Pet. App. I4a.

2

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Fifth Circuit (Pet. App. 15a-27a) is reported at 710 F.2d 190
(1983) under the name Vargas v. Strake.

ne Sia

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on 25
July 1983 (Pet. App. 27a-28a). The petition for certiorari was
timely filed on 14 October 1983 and was granted on 5
December 1983. This Court has jurisdiction pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 1254(1).

4

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION
AND STATUTE INVOLVED

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States
Constitution, Section 1, states in pertinent part:

... No State shall make or enforce any law which
shall . . . deny to any person within its
jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

Texas Revised Civil Statutes Annotated article 5949(2)
(1982) states in pertinent part:

To be eligible for appointment as a Notary
Public, a person shall be a resident citizen of the
United States and of this state and at least
eighteen(18) years of age .. ..

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case was filed as a class action on 5 July 1979 by
Margarita M. Vargas, who was then a citizen of Mexico, to
challenge the constitutionality of Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann.
art. 5949(2) insofar as it requires a person to be a citizen of
the United States in order to be eligible for appointment as a
notary public in Texas. Jurisdiction was properly based on 28
U.S.C. §§ 1331, 1343(a)(3) and (4).

3

When the complaint was filed, Vargas was a lawful
resident alien who worked as a secretary/receptionist in a real
estate office in Brownsville. She wished to become a notary
public so that she could administer oaths and take sworn
statements from clients of her office. While the case was
pending in district court, she became a United States citizen
and therefore became eligible to become a notary public. This
case is thus moot as to her (Pet. App. 3a).

Petitioner Efrem Bernal, a native of Mexico, was added as
a plaintiff in the district court (Pet. App. 16a). He is a lawful
resident alien who has been living in the United States since
1961. Id.; see also Deposition of Efrem Bernal (“Bernal
Deposition’’), filed in district court, at 8. After his arrival in
this country, he attended public schools in Texas and
graduated from high school there (Pet. App. 2a). From 1974 to
1978 he was employed in a migrant legal services program in
Indiana, and during those four years he held a commission as
a notary public in that state (Pet. App. 2a.)' Since 1978 he has
been employed as a paralegal by Texas Rural Legal Aid, Inc.
in Edinburg (Pet. App. 2a; Bernal Deposition at 19), where he
works exclusively with migrant farm workers on employment
and civil rights issues (Bernal Deposition at 6). His job
requires that he go into the fields and interview 15 to 50 farm
workers a month (id. at 12-13). On an average of two to four
times each month, he needs to obtain sworn statements from
these workers for use in civil litigation (id. at 13). He wants to
become a notary public because it is “very hard and
inconvenient to get one of the other paralegals to go out with
me to just get an affidavit or statement notarized” (id. at 8; see
also Pet. App. 3a-4a).?

' The Indiana notary statute under which Mr. Bernal was commissioned during
this period embraces all the functions which he would perform as a Texas notary.
See Burn's Ind. Stat. Ann. § 33-16-2-5 (1975).

? Mr. Bernal’s situation recalls one of the historical reasons why the authority of
notaries to serve the public was expanded. “In the 1800's, it was not always possi-
ble to take the testimony of a witness in a courtroom. Transportation was slow and
witnesses were often incapable of making an appearance for reasons of distance or,

in some cases, health. Therefore, Notaries Public were empowered to take deposi-
tions.” R. Rothman, Notary Public: Practices and Glossary 3-4 (1978).

4

Respondent John W. Fainter, Jr. is Secretary of State of the
State of Texas and is automatically substituted for his
predecessor, George W. Strake, Jr., pursuant to Rule 40.3 of
the Rules of this Court. Respondents Joe Rivera and Santos
Saldana are the county clerks for Cameron County (where
Mrs. Vargas resides) and Hildago County (where Mr. Bernal
resides), respectively. The respondents will be referred to col-
lectively in this brief as the “State of Texas’’ or the “State.”
At the time that this suit was filed, the Texas notary public
Statute required applicants to submit a standardized form to
the local county clerk, who then forwarded it to the Secretary
of State for consideration (Pet. App. la). Since then, the
statute has been amended to make the Secretary of State sole-
ly responsible for processing such applications. See 1979 Tex.
Gen. and Special Acts, 66th Legis., p. 2213, ch. 840, § 1,
codified at Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann. art. 5949(3)(effective |
January !980).

In October 1978, petitioner applied to become a notary
public in Texas, but his application was denied (Pet. App.
2a-3a). He appealed that decision and was given an ad-
ministrative hearing, but the denial was upheld on the sole
ground that he was ineligible for appointment as a notary
public because of the citizenship requirement in Tex. Rev.
Civ. Stat. Ann, art. 5949(2)(Pet. App. 3a).

In district court, the request for class relief was abandoned
(Pet. App. Sa), and the request of Mrs. Vargas and Mr. Bernal
for declaratory and injunctive relief was submitted on the
basis of stipulated facts (Pet. App. la- 4a). On 9 October 1981
the district court declared that the citizenship requirement of
Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann. art. $949(2) was unconstitutional as
a denial of the equal protection of the laws, and the court en-
joined respondents from refusing to consider the applications
of Mrs. Vargas and Mr. Bernal to become notaries public
(Pet. App. 9a-1 1a).

5

The State appealed, and the court of appeals reversed in an
opinion by Judge Reavley in which Judge Politz joined (Pet.
App. IS5a-24a). The court held that the statute did not violate
equal protection guarantees because, under this Court’s opi-
nion in Cabell v. Chavez-Salido, 454 U.S. 432 (1982), the
citizenship requirement “‘bears a rational relationship to the
state’s interest in the proper and orderly handling of a
countless variety of legal documents of importance to the
state’ (Pet. App. 24a). Judge Ingraham dissented (Pet. App.
24a-27a): In his view, the majority had misread Cabell, and
the case was controlled by /n re Griffiths, 413 U.S. 717 (1973),
which invalidated a ban on the admission of aliens to the
Connecticut bar (Pet. App. 25a). In particular, he noted that
“the authority accorded Congecticut lawyers encompasses
every function performed Texas notaries public” (Pet.
App. 25a), and he would have affirmed on that basis. Mr.
Bernal then sought and obtained review by this Court.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The judgment of the court of appeals should be reversed
because it conflicts with /n re Griffiths, 413 U.S. 717 (1973),
which employed strict scrutiny analysis in striking down a
court rule requiring United States citizenship as a condition
for being admitted to a state bar. In Griffiths, this Court con-
fronted arguments similar to those advanced by the State
here, i.e., that lawyers play such an important role in the
smooth functioning of state government that the citizenship
requirement should be upheld. In rejecting these arguments
and holding the rule unconstitutional, the Court stated that
“the status of having a license to practice law [does not] place
one so close to the core of the political process as to make him
a formulator of government policy,” id. at 729 (footnote
omitted).

Especially relevant here is the fact that the functions per-
formed by Texas notaries are indistinguishable from certain
notarial functions entrusted to Connecticut lawyers in Grif-

6

fiths. In language which controls the outcome here, Griffiths
stated that “the powers ‘to sign writs and subpoenas, take
recognizances, [and] administer oaths’ hardly involve matters
of state policy or acts of such unique responsibility as to en-
trust them only to citizens.”” 413 U.S. at 724. In light of the
similarities between Griffiths and the present case, the Texas
statute cannot withstand strict scrutiny.

The court of appeals failed to analyze Griffiths, relying in-
stead on this Court's opinion in Cabell v. Chavez-Salido, 454
U.S. 432 (1982), which stated that strict scrutiny was not to be
utilized in cases where a restriction applies to sensitive posts
in state or local government and thus serves “‘political” in-
terests, rather than “economic” interests, as in Griffiths. The
court of appeals concluded that the Texas statute served
“political” interests and upheld the citizenship requirement
as being rationally related to the State’s interest in assuring
that documents are properly notarized and oaths properly ad-
ministered.

In reaching this conclusion, however, the court of appeals
misapplied Cabell’s two-part test for determining which func-
tions should be deemed “‘political.’’ The court found that the
Texas statute was not “substantially overinclusive or
underinclusive” (454 U.S. at 440) within the meaning of the
first prong of Cabell, because the restriction applied only to
notaries public. However, the statute is overinclusive because,
as in Griffiths, it excludes qualified aliens, such as petitioner,
who was a notary in Indiana for four years. The restriction is
fatally underinclusive as well, since Texas has established no
citizenship requirement for court reporters, even though they
too are licensed by the State and are allowed to administer
oaths. Nor does Texas require citizenship of its Secretary of
State, the highest appointed official in Texas, who performs
many important functions, including licensing notaries.

The court of appeals also found that the statute met the
second prong of Cabell, because it covered persons holding

“important nonelective” positions. /d. This conclusion is in-
correct because notaries perform essentially ministerial func-
tions and do so while engaged in a private occupation. This
case is thus unlike those cases in which restrictions have been
deemed “‘political’’ because they denied aliens the right to ex-
ercise important state functions as employees of a state or
local government.

Finally, even if the Texas statute were to be deemed to in-
volve “political” functions, it is still unconstitutional because
there is no rational relationship between the blanket exclu-
sion of aliens and achieving the State’s goal of having
documents properly notarized and oaths properly ad-
ministered. The restriction is not rational in light of the types
of positions which aliens are allowed to hold in Texas state
government, as discussed supra. In addition, the State has
enacted various regulations which should assure that notaries
perform their functions properly, regardless of citizenship.

ARGUMENT

THE REQUIREMENT THAT NOTARIES PUBLIC BE
UNITED STATES CITIZENS IS UNCONSTITUTIONAL AS
A DENIAL OF THE EQUAL PROTECTION OF THE LAWS.

Aw. The Applicable Legal Standard.

Over the past decade, this Court has considered a number
of equal protection challenges to state restrictions on lawful
resident aliens. In Graham v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 365
(1971), the Court held that a state could not distinguish be-
tween lawful resident aliens and citizens in distributing
welfare benefits without meeting a very heavy burden of
justification:

[C]lassifications based on alienage, like those
based on nationality or race, are inherently
suspect and subject to close judicial scrutiny.

Aliens as a class are a prime example of a
“discrete and insular’’ minority (see United States
v. Carolene Products Co., 304 U.S. 144, 152-153
n.4 (1938)) for whom such heightened judicial
solicitude is appropriate.

403 U.S. at 372 (footnotes omitted).’

This strict scrutiny of classifications involving aliens has
been employed in various contexts because aliens, like certain
other groups in our society, “have historically been ‘relegated
to such a position of political powerlessness as to command
extraordinary protection from the majoritarian political pro-
cess.””’ Plyler v. Doe, 457 U.S. 202, 217 n.14 (1982), quoting
San Antonio Independent School District v. Rodriguez, 411
U.S. 1, 28 (1973). See Note, A Dual Standard for State
Discrimination Against Aliens, 92 Harv. L. Rev. 1516, 1525
(1979).

Following Graham, the Court has applied strict scrutiny to
state laws which disadvantaged aliens economically by

3 In Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356 (1886), the Court first held that resident
aliens may rely upon the equal protection clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. It
concluded that a state could not deny aliens the right to carry on a “harmless and
useful occupation” that may be performed by citizens, id. at 374, in that case the
operation of commercial laundries. Accord, Truax v. Raich, 239 U.S. 33 (1915)in-
validating statute requiring private employers to hire a certain percentage of
“qualified electors or native-born citizens’’).

The early decisions of the Court thus showed a willingness to intervene when
state laws restricted purely private employment opportunities. However, the Court
declined to strike down restrictions denying aliens the right to enjoy public
benefits, reasoning that a state could properly limit to its citizens the enjoyment of
scarce public resources. See, ¢.g., Terrace v. Thompson, 263 U.S. 197 (1923)
(ownership of land); Heim v. McCall, 239 U.S. 175 (1915)(employment on public
works projects); Patsone v. Pennsylvania, 232 U.S. 139 (1914)(taking of wild
game).

The notion that a state has a “special public interest’ in preserving certain
benefits or resources for its citizens was undercut in Takahashi v. Fish & Game
Commission, 334 U.S. 410 (1948), which invalidated a California law denying
commercial fishing licenses to persons “ineligible to citizenship.” The “special
public interest’ doctrine was effectively laid to rest in Graham v. Richardson.

9

depriving them of employment opportunities and of some
state benefits. Thus, the Court has struck down state laws de-
nying aliens adinission to a state bar, /n re Griffiths, 413 U.S.
717 (1973); jobs in a state’s civil service, Sugarman yv.
Dougall, 413 U.S. 634 (1973); a license as a civil engineer,
Examining Board of Engineers, Architects and Surveyors v.
Flores de Otero, 426 U.S. 572 (1976); and eligibility to receive
a state scholarship for higher education, Nyquist v. Mauclet,
432 U.S. 1 (1977).

The Court has, however, carved out an exception to this
general rule of strict scrutiny when state laws prevent aliens
from holding sensitive posts in state or local government.
Thus, even though a wholesale ban on aliens holding civil ser-
vice posts was struck down in Sugarman v. Dougall, supra,
this Court stated that a less demanding standard would be ap-
plied to narrower classifications involving ‘“‘persons holding
state elective or important nonelective executive, legislative,
and judicial positions, for officers who participate directly in
the formulation, execution, or review of broad public policy
functions that go to the heart of representative government.”
413 U.S. at 647. If a classification involves such an important
post, the state needs “to justify its classification only ‘by a
showing of some rational relationship between the interest
sought to be protected and the limiting classification.” Am-
bach v. Norwick, 441 U.S. 68, 74 (1979), quoting Foley v. Con-
nelie, 435 U.S. 291, 296 (1978). The Court has applied this
less rigorous standard to classifications which barred aliens
from serving as police officers, Foley v. Connelie, supra;
public school teachers, Ambach v. Norwick, supra; and peace
officers, Cabell v. Chavez-Salido, supra, and has upheld the
restriction in each case under this “rational relationship”
test.*

* In addition, aliens have been excluded from voting in local elections, Skafte v.
Rorex, 430 U.S. 961 (1977), dismissing appeal from 191 Colo. 399, 553 P.2d 830
(1976), and from serving on grand and petit juries, Perkins v. Smith, 426 U.S. 913
(1976), aff'e mem., 370 F. Supp. 134 (D. Md. 1974)(three-judge court).

10

In Cabell v. Chavez-Salido, supra, the Court summarized
the evolution of the law in this area and articulated a two-step
standard for use in determining whether strict scrutiny should
not be employed because a restriction on aliens falls within
the Sugarman exception and serves what the Court termed
“political” ends, as in Foley and Ambach, rather than
“economic” goals, as in Griffiths, Sugarman and Flores de
Otero. 454 U.S. at 438-39. First, a classification that is
“substantially overinclusive or underinclusive tends to under-
cut the governmental claim that the classification serves
legitimate political ends.” Jd. at 440. Second, even if a
classification is “sufficiently tailored,” it may be applied only
to officials holding “important”’ positions of the sort specified
in the Sugarman exception. /d. Thus, a court must “inquire
whether the ‘position in question . . . involves discretionary
decisionmaking, or execution of policy, which substantially
affects members of the political community.” /d. at 440-41,
quoting Foley v. Connelie, supra, 435 U.S. at 296.

In the balance of this brief, we will first demonstrate why
the restriction in this case is so similar to the restriction in-
validated under strict scrutiny analysis in /n re Griffiths,
supra, that Griffiths is controlling. We will then demonstrate
how this result is consistent with Cabell and how the court of
appeals misapplied Cabell in concluding that this classifica-
tion served “political” ends and was therefore subject to less
searching review than strict scrutiny. Finally, we will
demonstrate why, even if the Texas classification is con-
sidered to be “political,” there is no rational relationship be-
tween the restriction and the state interests sought to be pro-
tected.

B. The Texas Statute Cannot Withstand
Strict Scrutiny Under In re Griffiths.

The judgment of the court of appeals should be reversed
because it squarely conflicts with /n re Griffiths, in which this

11

Court invalidated a Connecticut court rule barring aliens
from admission to the state bar. The Court found that the
citizenship requirement could sot withstand strict scrutiny
because the functions of lawyers “hardly involve matters of
state policy or acts of such major responsibility as to entrust
them only to citizens.” 413 U.S. at 724.

In reaching its decision, the Court recognized that lawyers
“occupy professional positions of responsibility and in-
fluence that impose on them duties correlative with their vital
right of access to the courts.” /d. at 729. Accord, Goldfarb v.
Virginia State Bar, 421 U.S. 773, 792 (1975) (“lawyers are
essential to the primary governmental function of administer-
ing justice, and have historically been ‘officers of the
courts’’’), quoted in In re Primus, 436 U.S. 412, 422 (1978).
See also Cohen v. Hurley, 366 U.S. 117, 123-24 (1961). The
Court nonetheless held that ‘the status of holding a license to
practice law [does nv" place one so close to the core of the
political process as to iiiake him a formulator of government
policy,” Griffiths, supra, 413 U.S. at 729 (footnote omitted).

What is especially significant for the present case is the
fact that the functions performed by Texas notaries are in-
distinguishable from the functions performed by Connecticut
lawyers as Commissioners of the Superior Court, an office to
which they are automatically appointed upon admission to
the bar. In that capacity, they are empowered to “sign writs
and subpoenas, take recognizances, administer oaths and take
depositions and acknowledgements of deeds.’’ Conn. Gen.
Stat. Rev. § 51-85. Similarly, Texas notaries public “have the
same authority to take acknowledgements or proofs of written
instruments, protest instruments permitted by law to be pro-
tested, administer oaths, and take depositions as is now or
may hereafter be conferred by law upon County Clerks.” Tex.
Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann. art. 5954. In light of these similarities
and the fact that Griffiths was recently reaffirmed in Cabell,
supra, 454 U.S. at 439, the State has the burden of showing
how it can be constitutionally improper to require citizenship

12

for lawyers, but proper to require it for notaries. This the
State has failed to do.

In defending its restriction in Griffiths, the State of Con-
necticut advanced an argument about the importance of
lawyers which is similar to that raised by the State of Texas
regarding notaries (see Brief in Opposition at 4-5) — that a
lawyer is a public official “‘who acts by and with the authority
of the State”’ and who is entrusted with “the exercise of actual
government power,” 413 U.S. at 728. In particular, Connec-
ticut argued that its legislature had given concrete meaning to
the claim that lawyers are “officers of the court” by appoint-
ing them as Commissioners of the Superior Court. /d. The
fact that lawyers hold this office was not enough, however, to
sustain the. citizenship requirement in Griffiths. In language
which is pertinent here, this Court stated:

It in no way denigrates a lawyer’s high respon-
sibilities to observe that the powers “‘to sign writs
and subpeonas, take recognizances, [and] ad-
minister oaths’’ hardly involve matters of state
policy or acts of such unique responsibility as to
entrust them only to citizens.

413 U.S. at 724 (emphasis added).

The Court emphasized that ‘ta lawyer is not an officer in
the ordinary sense,” for unlike marshals, bailiffs, court clerks
or judges, who are employed by the government, ‘‘a lawyer is
engaged in a private profession, important though it be to our
system of justice.”’ /d. at 728-29, quoting Cammer v. United
States, 350 U.S. 399, 405 (1956). In addition, people do not
become “officials of government by virtue of being lawyers.”
Id. at 729. This reasoning applies with equal force to notaries,
who, like lawyers, are licensed to perform certain functions,
but who generally do so while privately employed.

13

Nor was the Griffiths Court persuaded that the restriction
was valid because aliens might somehow be disloyal to the
United States. Noting that attorneys must take an oath to sup-
port the United States and state constitutions, id. at 725-26,
and are subject to “continuing scrutiny by the organized bar
and the courts,”’ id. at 727, the Court concluded that “the
practice of law [does not offer] meaningful opportunities
adversely to affect the interest of the United States. Certainly
the Committee has failed to show the relevance of citizenship
to any likelihood that a lawyer will fail to protect faithfully
the interest of his clients."’ /d. at 724 (footnote omitted).

Griffiths controls the outcome here. Certainly, if citizenship
is not required in order to practice law, it should not be re-
quired in order to be a notary. Indeed, accepting the State’s
argument would result in a curious anomaly: an alien admit-
ted to practice law in Texas could draft contracts, wills, deeds
and other important legal documents, but could not notarize
them. Such a result would make no sense, especially since the
lawyer who drafts (or errs in drafting) a will or a deed has a
far more significant impact on the public and the “orderly
processing of a countless variety « legal documents” (Pet.
App. 24a) than the notary who simply attests to the signature.

Curiously, the court of appeals failed to discuss Griffiths
and merely cited the case in a footnote (Pet. App. 20a n.3).
Nor did the court mention three decisions which followed
Griffiths in striking down citizenship requirements for
notaries in Florida, Illinois and Maryland. See Graham v.
Ramani, 383 So. 2d 634 (Fla. 1980); Cheng v. Illinois, 438 F.
Supp. 917 (N.D. Ill. 1977); Taggart v. Mandel, 391 F. Supp.
732 (D. Md. 1975)(three-judge court). As the foregoing
discussion suggests, however, Griffiths cannot be sidestepped
so easily.

Applying the strict scrutiny analysis of Griffiths to the
Texas statute at issue here dictates a finding of unconstitu-
tionality. There is no evidence in the record that lawful resi-

14

dent aliens, as a class, are so untrustworthy, incompetent or
otherwise handicapped by their foreign citizenship that they
must be denied the opportunity to administer oaths, witness
signatures and perform the other functions carried out by
notaries public for those who wish to utilize their services. As
the Court recognized in Griffiths, “the possibility that some
resident aliens are unsuited to the practice of law [cannot] be
a justification for a wholesale ban,” 413 U.S. at 725.°

This is not to say that a state is powerless to regulate the
qualifications and performance of notaries public. Just as was
true of Connecticut lawyers in Griffiths, a state “has wide
freedom to gauge on a case-by-case basis the fitness of an ap-
plicant” for a particular post and to “require appropriate
training and familiarity with state laws.”’ /d. In fact, Texas has
imposed a number of regulations on persons who wish to be
licensed as notaries. Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann. art. 5949(3).
For example, as a means of assuring loyality to the United
States, as well as faithful performance once in office, Texas
notaries public take an oath of office and execute a bond of
$2500 (art. 5949(7)). So that their activities can be
monitored, they are required to maintain a record book,
which is available for public inspection (art. 5955). In addi-
tion, they are subject to civil liability for damages for any
derelictions of their official duties. See Lawyers Surety Corp. v.
Gulf Coast Investment Corp., 410 S.W.2d 654 (Tex. Civ.
App.), writ of error refused, 416 S.W.2d 779 (Tex. 1967).®

5 Ironically, petitioner was commissioned as a notary public by the State of In-
diana and held that post during the four years he lived there (Pet. App. 2a).

* As another form of consumer protection, Texas notaries who advertise their
services in Spanish cannot describe themselves as “Notario Publico” or represent
that they can give legal advice (art. 5949(5)(c)). The purpose of this law is to pre-
vent people from thinking that a Texas notary is comparable to a Notario Publico
in Mexico, who must be trained in the law and can not only witness legal
documents, but can draft them as well. Violation of this disclosure requirement is
punishable as an unfair trade practice (art. $949(5)(d)). See Mexico Notarial Law
of 9 January 1932; Law of 30 December 1947, as amended by Decrees of 21
December 1950; 21 December 1965 and 26 December 1966, summarized in Mex-

15

Finally, notaries are automatically removed from office if
they are convicted of “any willful neglect of duty or official
misconduct” (art. 5988). See generally Taggart v. Mandel,
supra, 391 F. Supp. at 740; Cheng v. Illinois, supra, 438 F.
Supp. at 918 n.4. These regulations are less onerous than a
total ban and are more than sufficient to assure that only a
qualified person can become and remain a Texas notary
public, regardless of citizenship.

C. The Court of Appeals Misapplied Cadell in
Concluding that the Functions of Notaries
Public Are ‘‘Political’’ and Thus Subject
To a Less Demanding Standard of Review.

The court of appeals relied heavily upon Cabell in con-
cluding that the citizenship requirement for Texas notaries
was “political” rather than “economic” in nature and thus
subject to a less rigorous standard of review. However, Cabell
confirms that strict scrutiny should be applied here. Before
turning to a specific discussion of Cabell and how the court of
appeals misapplied its two-part standard for determining
which state functions are “political,” several preliminary
observations are warranted.

Sugarman stated that a less demanding standard of review
was to be the exception to the general rule of strict scrutiny
for classifications involving aliens and was to be used in those
cases involving “elective or important nonelective executive,
legislative and judicial positions,” for officers ‘“‘who par-
ticipate directly in the formulation, execution, or review of
broad public policy,” 413 U.S. at 647. While Cabell did not
speak in terms of “political” functions being an exception to
the category of “economic” functions, the opinion in no way
expanded the definition of what is “political” and expressly
endorsed the quoted language from Sugarman as the govern-
ing standard. 454 U.S. at 440.

ico Law Digest, p. 16, 7 Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory (1983). See generally J.
Vance and H. Clagett, A Guide to the Law and Legal Literature of Mexico 62-66
(1945).

16

It is particularly important not to give an expansive inter-
pretation to what constitutes a “‘political’’ function of state
government when, as here, the restriction does not apply to
state employees. In cases where this Court has declined to ap-
ply strict scrutiny analysis, the jobs in question all involved
positions on a government payroll: public school teachers,
Ambach v. Norwick, supra, policemen, Foley v. Connelie,
supra, or peace officers, Cabell v. Chavez-Salido, supra.

When restrictions apply to resident aliens as private in-
dividuals, however, strict scrutiny analysis has been utilized,
even when the jobs could affect the public. Thus, in Griffiths,
this Court distinguished between lawyers, who are officers of
the court, though engaged in a private occupation, and other
court officers, such as bailiffs, marshals and judges, who are
full-time government officials. 413 U.S. at 728. This
“distinction between a private occupation and a government
function” was also highlighted in Ambach v. Norwick, supra,
441 U.S. at 76 n.6, which noted that the restriction in Grif-
fiths, like the one at issue here, “‘applied to all attorneys, most
of whom do not work for the government.” /d. By contrast,
the restriction on teachers in Ambach applied “only to
teachers employed by and acting as agents of the State” and
not to private school teachers. Jd. While we do not suggest
that the “economic” versus “political” functions dichotomy
of Cabell should be replaced by a “‘private’’ versus “public”
employment distinction, the latter is useful in determining
which functions are “political” and which are not. Since
notaries, like lawyers, generally perform functions licensed
by the state while privately employed, this distinction helps
place the Texas restriction in the same category as Griffiths,
Sugarman and Flores de Otero.

Turning to Cabell’s two-part standard for determining
which state functions are “political,” the court of appeals
determined that this restriction satisfied the first prong, i.e., it

17

was not “substantially overinclusive or underinclusive,” 454
U.S. at 440, because it applied only to notaries public (Pet. ,
App. 2la-22a). This conclusion is erroneous because the
restriction fails on both counts. It is overinclusive because it
denies a commission to qualified aliens such as petitioner,
who was a notary public in Indiana for four years (Pet. App.
2a). It is also underinclusive since Texas court reporters, like
notaries, are licensed by the State, Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann.
art. 2324b(1), they are officers of the State (art. 2321), and
they administer oaths and take depositions (art. 2324a(1)),
yet they are not required to be citizens. Nor does Texas re-
quire that its Secretary of State be a United States citizen,
Tex. Const. art. IV, § 21, even though he or she holds the
highest appointive office in the State and performs many im-
portant functions, Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann. art. 433], in-
cluding supervision of the licensing of all notaries public (art.
5949(3)). Affirming the court of appeals in this case would
produce a striking anomaly, since Mr. Bernal could be ap-
pointed as Secretary of State and thus decide which persons
are qualified to serve as notaries public, even though he could
not hold such a commission himself. Thus, it cannot be said
that the classification involving notaries is “sufficiently
tailored” wihin the meaning of Cabell. If anything, Texas has
“indiscriminately swept in menial occupations, while leaving
out some of the State’s most important political functions,”
Cabell v. Chavez-Salido, supra, 454 U.S. at 440.

The Texas statute also fails to meet the second prong of the
Cabell test, because notaries do not hold such an “important
nonelective” post that they “participate directly in the for-
mulation, execution, or review of broad public policy.” /d.
The court of appeals decided that this standard had been met
largely because of the role played by notaries in acknowledg-
ing signatures and administering oaths on legal papers, as weli
as the deference and presumption of regularity which are
given to notarized documents (Pet. App. 23a).

18

The principal problem with this analysis is that the func-
tions performed by a notary public, which the majority found
to be important in the smooth functioning of government, are
“clerical” and “purely ministerial”’ in nature, as Judge In-
graham pointed out in dissent (Pet. App. 26a). Even the court
of appeals’ majority acknowledged that a notary is called
upon simply to ensure that “those persons executing
documents are accurately identified, to refuse to certify any
identification that is false or uncertain and to insist that oaths
are properly and accurately administered” (Pet. App. 23a). In
carrying out those functions, important though they may be to
the orderly processing of legal douments, it cannot be said
that notaries are “performing a task ‘that go[es] to the heart of
representative government,’” Ambach v. Norwick, supra, 441
U.S. at 75-76, quoting Sugarman v. Dougall, supra, 413 U.S.
at 647.

The essentially ministerial functions performed by notaries
are thus worlds apart from the functions performed by state
employees in those cases which have held that restrictions on
aliens served “political” ends. For example, notaries public
cannot make arrests or recommend revocation of an in-
dividual’s liberty, as could the policemen in Foley and the
deputy probation officers in Cabell, who exercise the coercive
power of the state. Nor are the functions of notaries com-
parable to the responsibilities of public school teachers, who
are charged with inculcating in young children “fundamental
values necessary to the maintenance of a democratic political
system,” Ambach v. Norwick, supra, 441 U.S. at 77. While
notaries do facilitate the carrying out of routine legal transac-
tions, surely it cannot be said that by attesting to a signature
on a deed or by swearing in a witness at a deposition, a notary
is performing functions that are ‘so bound up with the opera-
tion of the State as a governmental entity as to permit the ex-
clusion from those functions of all persons who have not
become part of the process of self-government.” /d. at 73-74.

19

Cabell specified that ‘political’ functions must involve
“discretionary decisionmaking, or execution of policy, which
substantially affects members of the political community.”
Id. at 440-41, quoting Foley v. Connelie, supra, 435 U.S. at
296. However, as Judge Ingraham’s dissent correctly points
out, the majority opinion read this language as asking
whether a notary public exercises any discretion in perform-
ing his or her duties, rather than whether the exercise of that
discretion “would reveal a governing role” (Pet. App. 26a).

The court of appeals concluded that this standard had been
met because notaries “are involved in countless matters of
importance to the day-to-day functions of state government”
(Pet. App. 23a). However, giving aliens discretion to notarize
a will is not on a par with giving aliens the discretion to make
an arrest or to decide how to teach American history to school
children, as was the situation in Foley and Ambach,
respectively. Indeed, Cabell expressly cautioned that its stand-
ard should not be broadly interpreted, since “almost any
government official can be understood as participating in the
execution of broad public policies.” 454 U.S. at 441 n.7.
Thus, if the court of appeals’ analysis is followed, and
notaries are found to be operating at “the heart of represen-
tative government,” id. at 440, then it is hard to imagine what
state function would not qualify as being so “important” that
discrimination against resident aliens could be judged under
the less demanding standard of review. In effect, what began
in Sugarman as an exception to the general rule of strict
scrutiny will have swallowed the rule whole.’

7 Also undermining the State's position that notaries serve a sensitive
“political” role in state government is the fact that there are so many of them. In
1977, the last year for which published figures are readily available, Texas had
240,000 notaries — more than any other state. R. Rothman, supra note 2, at 181.
According to the Secretary of State's office, that number has grown to 358,293 as
of 30 November 1983, and thus there are more notaries in Texas than there are
residents of Austin, the state capital (1980 population 345,496).

20

Finally, the State’s argument that its statute serves
“political” rather than “‘economic”’ ends relies heavily on the
fact that petitioner is not required to become a notary public
in order to keep his current job (Bernal Deposition at 8). See
Brief in Opposition at 3. What the State seems to be arguing
is that if the identifiable economic effects of a citizenship re-
quirement are minimal, then the restriction comes within the
‘political’ category. Neither Cabell nor any earlier case sup-
ports such an interpretation, and reliance on petitioner's cur-
rent employment situation misses the point. Even though Mr.
Bernal will not be fired if he loses this case, the Texas statute
makes him ineligible for future paralegal jobs which may re-
quire hi: to be a notary public. In addition, the Texas statute
can aa’ ely affect other aliens in their quest for employ-
ment. For example, an employer may not explicitly require an
applicant for a secretarial or a paralegal post to be a notary
public. However, if there are two applicants who are other-
wise equally qualified, one of whom is a notary and one of
whom is not, the employer may, quite sensibly, choose the
former applicant.®

* Taken to its logical conclusion, the State's reliance on this factor would seem
to suggest that strict scrutiny is limited to those situations in which a restriction
totally denies a lawful alien the ability to earn a livelihood in a given field. Support
for such an interpretation is not to be found in the case law, however, and several
examples will illustrate the point.

A restriction on an alien's ability to apply for a state scholarship does not mean
that he or she will be automatically denied a college education, since other scholar-
ships may be available. Similarly, even if an alien cannot be employed.in a state's
civil service as a typist or senior clerk, that does not mean that he or she lacks other
job opportunites in this line of work. Finally, a resident alien may be able to pursue
a career as a law professor without being a member of a state bar. That does not
mean, however, that a restriction on practicing law would have no “economic”
consequences, since the professor may decide to leave academia and represent
private clients or seek to supplement his or her law school salary with outside
work. Yet in each of these instances, this Court has determined that restrictions on
tawful aliens fall on the “economic” rather than the “political” side of the equa-
tion and has judged the restriction under strict scrutiny analysis. See Nyquist v.
Mauciet, supra; Sugarman v. Dougall, supra; in re Griffiths, mpra. The same
reasoning should apply here as well.

21

a

For these reasons, Cabell and the similar cases bolster peti-
tioner’s argument that the Texas statute should be judged
under strict scrunity analysis, and the court of appeals misap-
plied Cabell in concluding that the statute involved
“political” goals. In the next portion of this brief, we shall
demonstrate why, even if the statute is judged under the less
demanding “rational relationship” test, it is still unconstitu-
tional.

D. There Is No Rational Relationship Between the
Ban on Aliens Serving as Notaries Public and
the Achievement of a Legitimate State Interest.

This Court has stated that, when a state classification in-
volves a sensitive government position, a court should only
inquire whether there is a “rational relationship between the
interest sought to be protected and the _ limiting
classification.” Ambach v. Norwick, supra, 441 U.S. at 74,
quoting Foley v. Connelie, supra, 435 U.S. at 296. In con-
cluding that this standard had been satisfied, the court of ap-
peals stated: “‘The citizenship restriction in art. 5949(2) bears
a rational relationship to the state’s interest in the proper and
orderly handling of a countless variety of legal documents of
importance to the state’’ (Pet. App. 24a). This analysis is
simply not enough to support the State’s argument.

Petitioner acknowledges that a state may take steps to
assure that only those people who are trustworthy and who
understand the legal significance of a notary’s duties are com-
missioned, thereby facilitating the execution and processing
of legal documents and ultimately the smooth operation of
State government. But pointing to the importance of a
notary’s function does not end the analysis. Instead, the State
must go further and demonstrate how its goal of orderly ex-
ecution and processing of notarized documents is rationally
advanced by the blanket exclusion of all lawful resident aliens
who are otherwise qualified to become notaries. This the
State has failed to do. There is no evidence that aliens are so

22

incompetent or untrustworthy that, notwithstanding the
regulations the State has imposed on notaries (see pp. 14-15,
supra), a wholesale ban is reasonable in order to prevent an
unacceptable increase in the number of legally defective
documents.

Nor can the state’s classification be regarded as a rational
way of achieving a goal of efficient state operations when one
recalls that Texas allows aliens to serve as official court
reporters who, like notaries, administer oaths and apparently
do so in a way that does not disrupt the judicial process. And
if the state believes that allowing aliens to serve as notaries
would disrupt the smooth functioning of state government, it
is hard to understand why it has imposed no ‘citizenship
restriction on its Secretary of State, even though he or she
performs many important state functions, including the
licensing of notaries public. Even if the Court should con-
clude that this case involves a “political” rather than an
“economic” classification, the State has failed to meet its
burden under the “rational relationship” standard, and the

statute cannot stand.

>. 3

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the court of ap-
peals should be reversed and remanded with instructions to
reinstate the judgment of the district court.

Respectfully submitted,

CORNISH F. HITCHCOCK

(Counsel of Record)
ALAN B. MORRISON
JOHN CARY SIMS

Public Citizen Litigation Group
Suite 700

2000 P Street, NW
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 785-3704

THOMAS SULLIVAN
2 DENIS A. DOWNEY

Downey & Sullivan
1185 F.M. 802, Suite 3
Brownsville, Texas 78520
(512) 544-0561

Attorneys for Petitioner

January 1984

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_0813%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
