# Petition — Siller v. Hartz Mountain Associates

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_0437%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 464 U.S. 961

## Text

8 8.439 : i LE I

In The

Supreme Court of the United intra

October Term, 1983

SIDNEY SILLER and SHIRLEY SILLER, his wife; IRVING
GAINES and CORALIE J. GAINES, his wife; MARSHALL
NATAPOFF and JANET NATAPOFF, his wife; FRANCIS
CLARK and LUCILLE CLARK, his wife; and JOEL KRAMER,
single,

Petitioners,

-and-
HARMON COVE CONDOMINIUM II ASSOCIATION, INC.,
Intervenor,

vs.

HARTZ MOUNTAIN ASSOCIATES, a corporation; HARMON
COVE I CONDOMINIUM ASSOCIATION, INC., a
corporation; and HARMON COVE RECREATION
ASSOCIATION, INC., a corporation,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

JOHN TOMASIN
Attorney for Petitioners
4800 Kennedy Boulevard
Union City, New Jersey 07087
(201) 863-1821

q19

*NJ (201) 257-6850°NY (212) 840-9494°PA (215) 563-5587
MA (617) 542-1114*DC (202) 783-7288°USA (800) 221-0008

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
Background

It is not disputed that petitioners are contract purchaser unit
owners of real estate condominium residential units, each with
a percentage ownership interest in the appurtenant common
elements, of a residential development, under the General New
Jersey Condominium Real Estate Law (R.S. 46:8B-1 ef seg.) which
provides that such ownership is in fee simple [R.S. 46:8B-3(q)]
and that each unit is a separate parcel of real property which
may be dealt with by the owner ‘‘. . . in the same manner as is
otherwise permitted by law for any other parcel of real property.”’
(R.S. 46:8B-4).

Questions Presented

Does a construction of such statute by the New Jersey
Supreme Court, whereby said unit owners are barred from suing
their developer-seller for (a) specific performance of the contract
of sale; (b) breach of contract; (c) breach of warranty; (d) negligent
planning and construction of the common elements and resultant
damages; (e) accounting, and reimbursement for monies expended
to correct developer’s deficiencies:

Question 1 — Impair the obligations of petitioner unit
owners’ contract rights, contrary to Article I, Section 10,
Clause 1, of the United States Constitution?

Question 2. — Deprive petitioner unit owners of equal
protection of the laws, contrary to the Fourteenth
Amendment to the United States Constitution?

Question 3. — Deprive said petitioner unit owners
of property and vested contract rights without due process

of law, contrary to the Fourteenth Amendment to the
United States Constitution?

Question 4. — Decide questions of federal rights
contrary to applicable decisions of the United States
Supreme Court [Rule 17.1(c)]?

Question 5. — Decide questions of federal rights
contrary to applicable decisions of courts of last resort
in several states on the same subject matter [Rule 17.1(b)]?

iti

ADDITIONAL PARTIES INVOLVED

1. Harmon Cove Condominium II Association, Inc. sought
to intervene as a party plaintiff-intervenor but dic) mot participate
or file briefs but will be served with a copy of petition for writ
of certiorari under Rule 19.6.

2. Pursuant to Rule 28.4(c) and 28 U.S.C. §2403(b) a copy
of the petition for writ of certiorari will be served upon the
Attorney General of the State of New Jersey.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
SOU TINEOIIINN les cn atacensd cons saesetstedeeadneps i
PN NEED PINON. bc a scia'cs ceescccvecvevanenpes iii
EE, bbb a> cacbeeras coc dechned teewraeeh iv
SE GE ay Oi ELE Le Ae ees
cue ksteseks kee dcewemeews saseeeee.s 2
PE sion ls clas coc uuiie cule sch ans sat wne haw 2
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved........ 3
NE i on aly oad ke dan d wine 6 5 s.00 can Ras 3

How and When Federal Constitutional Questions Were
PIES I SON GE 6 oie bcos ccccrsrvvcesiaes 6

Reasons for Granting the Writ:

i) ME LEA ac tiN vaes vekiceseenpetsbbess tess 1]
es BOs ES SONNE cnc cenctenevnnssceuerve 12
ls RE Te IE ocndc i cece cccdccccessses 13
IV. Denial of Equal Protection of Laws............. 16

V. Deprivations of Property Without Due Process... 18

v

Contents
Page

VI. The Decision of the New Jersey Supreme Court Goes
Contrary to the Decisions of Courts of Last Resort
in Many States that Have Passed on Similar Questions,
and Requires Review Under Rule 17.1(b)......... 19

Nee en oe ccoebbstocowecs 22

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Cited:
Adkins v. Children’s Hospital, 261 U.S. $25, 67 L. Ed. 78
Tenet cece cesecececnee 14, 17
Allied Stores, Ohio v. Bowers, 358 U.S. 522, 3 L. Ed. 2d
ee ae Do, J uleae encase 7. =
Avila South Condo Ass’n v. Kappa, 347 So. 2d $99 (1976)
ra ore S. o ee e a ta teluc e's ebeebes cence 20
Bandini v. Superior Ct., 284 U.S. 8, $2 S. Ct. 103, 73 L.
a Os 2 beech ees ceovecesée 1]
Bantam Books v. Sullivan, 372 U.S. $8, 83 S. Ct. 631, 9 L.
a nT ros we vadewes 13
Barbier v. Connolly, 113 U.S. 27, 28 L. Ed. 923, §S. Ct. 387
sk pec epeemndecben 19
Bayside Fish Flour Co. v. Gentry, 299 U.S. 422, 80 L. Ed.
i es 14, 18

vi

Contents
Page
Bd. Managers of Woodgate Village v. Kaufman, ___ N.Y.
i Oe a, CO ROPE... 2
Borden’s Farm Products v. Baldwin, 293 U.S. 194, 79 L. Ed.
rr nos ld caued tee ene beee 17

Bowman v. Lewis, 101 U.S. 22, 25 L. Ed. 989 (1880) ..iS, 19

Bricker v. Crane, 468 F. 2d 1228, cert. denied, 410 U.S. 930

RES | een See 12
Cincinnati Street Railway v. Snell, 193 U.S. 30, 48 L. Ed.
eo ee eer, a vebectwebeet és 16
Columbia Railway v. South Carolina, 261 U.S. 236, 67 L.
NE sac core UE. inde sce eeeswe see 11, 12, 14
Connolly v. Union Sewer Pipe Co., 184 U.S. $39, 46 L. Ed.
ee ei ae ne. odigeneé'blesteees « 16, 18, 19
Coombes v. Getz, 2850 S. 434, §2 S. Ct. 435, 76 L. Ed. 866
ee ee see veoaccetenees 11, 15
Cotting v. Godard, 103 U.S. 78, 46 L. Ed. 92 (1900).... 15

Demorest v. City Bank, 321 U.S. 36, 64S. Ct. 384, 88 L.
Re ia Ba tele) e's ta clieh nes 12

Dept. of Revenue (Ky.) v. Beam Distilling, 377 U.S. 341, 84
ms Gh Ebe7, 82 L. BA. Be SES CI9GO) 20. ciceccness 13

Douglas v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 415, 85 S. Ct. 1074, 13 L.
IE cn. 's od ag eeccubsevecissVacedandrs 13

vii

Contents
Page

Doyle v. A.P. Realty, 36 Conn. Rep. 126, 414 A. 2d 204 (1980)

Vedas ceccnedceenancdconserogeseesontoonesntaen 14, 15

Friendly Village v. Silva & Hill Const. Co., 31 Cal. App. 3d
Sa, BOT Ge. PARES .. LAE ISTEP o isiccccvesivcancas 19, 21

General Motors v. Washington, 377 U.S. 436, 84S. Ct. 1564,
Be Sec: ey Oe EE 5 wre cccunadnees ietebatonwes 12

Giffes v. Zimmerman, 290 U.S. 326, 78 L. Ed. 342 (1933)
dei Gan kULSE OWA LO aa ek eamioe cba Cam tena ias ohaae 15

Goldenfarb v. Land Design, 409 A. 2d 662 (Maine 1979). 21

Governor's Grove v. Hill Development, 35 Conn. Supp. 199,
— oe Bi oR) SP ere reer ee 20

Greentree v. RSP Corp., 36 Conn. Sup. 160, 415 A. 2d 2481
SEER hi ds Pica kde hibs caMaden cs buanene ie eh elenens 21

Gulf, Colorado & Santa Fe Railroad v. Ellis, 165 U.S. $0,
OE Te Be, Be GR i vai vnc s cekocccecBbne sae oanas 18

Hanover Ins. Co. v. Harding, 272 U.S. 494, 47 S. Ct. 179,
FR hes Ts Oe Lh WiWad 0.00 05048 d0e Kee beeeeen 12

Hartford Steamboiler Co. v. Harrison, 301 U.S. 459, 81 L.
ek Se OE, as cls Sdnicie' saw cade da eeeeebe.s 16

vill

Contents
Page

Huffman v. Pursue, 420 U.S. $92, 95 S. Ct. 1200, 43 L. Ed.
Ae Ge CINE ac va bd neh c\duevescauehenceusbagees es 12

Imperial Towers Condo v. Brown, 338 So. 2d 1081 (Fla. 4th
Da WO hans ccdccvdducabaticacekoemcsesente 20

Ireland v. Wynkoop, 539 P. 2d 1349 (Colo. App. 1975)

Sdn qb S ca dodsudunteaese vue cudmace Pease eeaeeeual 14, 19
Lindsley v. Natural Carbonic Gas, 220 U.S. 61 ......... ll
Louisiana v. Police Jury, 111 U.S. 716, 28 L. Ed. $74 (1884)

Murray v. City Council, Charleston, 24 L. Ed. 760, 96 U.S.
GED GTN, oc Kn ck bn viccceccuacetndas Uieeat cube 14

Nevada I.C. Deal v. 999 Lake Shore Ass'n, 94 Nev. Adv.
Ve a, te Se fF teND ea 20

Ohio State Life Ins. Co. v. Clark, 274 F. 2d 771, cert. denied,
80 S. Ctr. 1599, 363 U.S. 828, 42 L. Ed. 2d $23 .... 15

Pierre v. Louisiana, 306 U.S. 354, 83 L. Ed. 757, $9 Sup.
Cd, SEB ARSED oc cvcicdcavecuecsccksheteteceheus duet 17

Pritchard v. Norton, 106 U.S. 124, 27 L. Ed. 104, 1S. Ct. 102

Rooker v. Fidelity Trust, 263 U.S. 413, 44S. Ct. 149, 68 L.
, FE Gs cc cccenecsesscccncctescceaevesaent 12

ix

Contents
Page
Rubenstein v. Burleigh, 305 So. 2d 311 (Fla. 3d D.C.A. 1975)
CET CEte sce seeb ede ccecvivesosveceseceds 20
Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1, 92 L. Ed. 1161 (1947)
eee cs Cis as onees eoeeeseechone's 12
Standard Oil v. Johnson, 316 U.S. 481, 52 S. Ct. 1168, 86
Cee ag Gd se sinc aS enc0deevinccved's 12
State Bd. Insurance v. Todd Shipyards, 370 U.S. 451, 82S.
i a a a CEOOED ccciccccceccecsces 13
Street v. New York, 394 U.S. 576, 89S. Ct. 1354, 22 L. Ed.
I coe aUs nuda s Gacvccee ceases sicess 12, 13
The Florida Bar, 353 So. 2d 45 (1977) ......ccccceeeees 20
Tigner v. Texas, 310 U.S. 144, 84 L. Ed. 1126, 60 Sup. Ct.
RR oe ode hbedl teas sie eme sect eves 16
Truax v. Corrigan, 287 U.S. 312, 42 S. Ct. 124, 66 L. Ed.
ES Sete aaned dabciewacecvesncscien 13, 18
Twin City Pipeline Co. v. Harding Glass, 283 U.S. 353, 75
ES, faa So be ond 6.0.0.0 6.0 00% 9s 000 bs 14
West Coast Hotel v. Parrish, 300 U.S. 400, 81 L. Ed. 713,
EDD cabin OWe ces cc deaberecsvvess 14

Wheeling Steel v. Glander, 337 U.S. $62, 69 S. Ct. 1291, 93
es Me BOOS CIDKE oo ccc ccc ccc ccccccseccces 17

x

Contents
Page

Williams v. Bruffy, 102 U.S, 248, 26 L. Ed. 135 (1880) ;

See eee See esedueseevoceeeaddecaeeeces esos ben v.0's l
Worthen v, Kavanaugh, 295 U.S, 56, 79 L. Ed. 1298 (1935)

Seve deed endeeasecdes purer abies dcedeverecnetnats cde 14
Wright v. Georgia, 373 U.S, 284, 10 L, Ed. 349, 83S. Ct. 1240

LENT TESTE LOTTE TER EE eee l
Statutes Cited:
MEY DUTEID isc eke cusehpestiensuaannwedeeneee 2
Se ASE con Tndeccdsescuspenbecevascsceuceu iii
Pas GE OG GUS kpc che cdcneeuencenebeuhsbelcdereses i, 3
NE CR os es bese eV ecendsanbane Juba etenenued i, 17
Daa Sh pend ee uenenav eed Cake dy eakean gues 1:9, i
a IE inn h Rake Vales hewn Kepabeed aces Seeake en is, 17
United States Constitution:
FPOUSCCCIER AGRORGIROME .00 0c ccccsccccsctscsnces i, ii, 3, 16
Article I, Section 10, Clause 1........cescccceees i, 3, 11, 14

Rules Cited:
United States Supreme Court Rules:

IL PE EEER TET COLTER CEET ET TERE yr ii, 19

Contents
ek. ea Liniecde vedas ® Cbneee ones
RE CG SO docatecacacos devas cnt ase oeiee
PP PN. cccvbcisGaawwheh adit sansuekeoueweees
APPENDIX

Opinion of the Supreme Court of New Jersey ..........

Opinion of the Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate
I aha banat cs cane 60s bageenPisnniseuuvakent

Judgment and Order of the Superior Court of New Jersey,
et I oa cana rea b aWke nd bnaweenckenee

Excerpts of Verified Complaint Filed November 13, 1980 with
Po idieain 0064446 Caticlan n00cc vt ches cakes

Excerpts from Original Brief in Superior Court, Chancery
Division, on Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss Complaint
RS BE Tay To cnc cedndcdenawensyele’

Excerpts from Hearing Transcript of Motion to Dismiss
Complaint Heard by New Jersey Superior Court,
Chancery Division Dated December 19, 1980........

Excerpts from Brief Before Superior Court of New Jersey,
ON OE acc vec ce uve s cweun cub ens neleanen

Excerpts from Petition for Certification to the New Jersey
ED, CNS Cau den ecvcdvess vatnedisenteeawe

I Ee ns edge 6b eels ene eee

17a

47a

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

o—

October Term, 1983
SIDNEY SILLER and SHIRLEY SILLER, his wife; IRVING
GAINES and CORALIE GAINES, his wife; MARSHALL
NATAPOFF and JANET NATAPOFF, his wife; FRANCIS
CLARK and LUCILLE CLARK, his wife; and JOEL KRAMER
single,
Petitioners,
and
HARMON COVE CONDOMINIUM II ASSOCIATION, INC.,
intervenor,
vs.
HARTZ MOUNTAIN ASSOCIATES, a corporation; HARMON
COVE I CONDOMINIUM ASSOCIATION, INC., a
corporation; and HARMON COVE RECREATION
ASSOCIATION, INC., a corporation,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME
COURT OF NEW JERSEY

The petitioners, Sidney Siller, ef a/., pray that a writ of
certiorari issue to review the judgment of the Supreme Court of
New Jersey entered in the above case on June 16, 1983.

OPINIONS BELOW

1. The opinion of the Superior Court of New Jersey,
Chancery Division, dated July 29, 1981 is reported in 184 N.J.
Super. 450 (1981).

2. The per curiam opinion of the Appellate Division of the
Superior Court of New Jersey dated April 28, 1982 affirming the
opinion below, is reported in 184 N.J. Super. 442 (1982).

3. The opinion of the Supreme Court of New Jersey dated
June 16, 1983 is reported in 93 N.J. 370 (1983).

JURISDICTION

1. Summary judgment at the trial level of the Superior Court
of New Jersey was entered August 7, 1981 dismissing Counts 1,
2, 3 and $ of the complaint (20a).

2. The judgment was affirmed per curiam by ithe Appellate
Division, Superior Court of New Jersey on April 28, } 382 without
opinion (18a).

3. The judgment was modified and affirmed as to the real
estate common elements by the Supreme Court of New Jersey,
by judgment dated June 16, 1983, and this petition for writ of
certiorari is filed within 90 days thereof (1a).

4. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§1257(3).

3

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Constitution, Article I, Section 10, Clause 1
(in pertinent part):

**No State shall .. . pass any . . . law impairing the
obligation of contracts... .’’

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment, Section
1 (in pertinent part):

**No State shall make or enforce any law which shall
abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the
United States; nor shall any State deprive any person of
life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor
deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal
protection of the laws.”’

New Jersey Revised Statutes (New Jersey Real Estate
Condominium Law) R.S. 46:8B-1 to R.S. 46:8B-30:

Appears in Appendix, infra at 54a, ef seq.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Respondent Hartz Mountain Associates was the owner
and developer of the Harmon Cove I Complex in Secaucus, New
Jersey, which consists of residential condominiums known as
Harmon Cove Area I, Harmon Cove Area II and ‘‘common
elements’’ including streets, marina, swimming pool, recreation
building and related facilities.

2. Hartz Mountain filed a condominium deed, submitting
the Harmon Cove Area I to the New Jersey Condominium Act,
R.S. 46:8B-1, ef seg., and has done likewise with Harmon Cove

Area II; and the common recreation facilities for both areas I
and II.

3. Hartz Mountain planned, designed, built and developed
Harmon Cove I Condominium Area I, by building and selling
individual residential townhouse condominium units to owners,
including petitioners, and also planned, designed, built, developed
and conveyed common elements, including a recreation area, a
boardwalk area, landscaped areas, swimming pool, tennis courts,
niarina and related walks, streets, curbs and facilities, which
common elements, by statute are associated with, and owned in
proportionate parts, by the unit owners.

4. Hartz Mountain organized a non-profit association under
said condominium law, to manage and administer the common
elements relating to Harmon Cove Area I, known as the Harmon
Cove I Condominium Association. At its inception, all the
members thereof were owners, employees or nominees of Hartz
Mountain.

5. Hartz Mountain Associates established a Recreation
Association to manage and administer the joint recreation facilities
in common for the joint benefit of the unit owners of
Condominium Area I. At its inception, all the members thereof
were owners, employees or nominees of Hartz Mountain.

6. Petitioners, individual unit owners in Condominium Area
I have vital interests in the planning, design, construction and
development of the townhouses, all of the common elements and
all of the recreational facilities.

7. Allegations of breach of express and implied contract
warranties, and negligent and defective planning, design,
constructing, developing and conveying of said units and the
common elements and related relief, have been made by the

5

petitioners against developer, Hartz Mountain, in this case on
behalf of themselves, as individual owners, and on behalf of all
others similarly situated in the class; namely, owners of
condominium property in Area I and in Area II, which were
planned, designed, built and developed by Hartz Mountain
Associates, and which share the common elements, as well as the
recreation facilities serving same. Serious settlement problems of
the subsoil under both areas are involved, which could not be
immediately known or discovered, and which petitioners allege
are continuing, and which will get worse in the future, adversely
affecting the value of all individual units, as well as the common
elements and recreational facilities, associated therewith and a
part thereof.

8. Under applicable statutes and private documents,
developer Hartz Mountain established and controlled all said
respondent associations for several critical years, and did not
relinquish control until several years later (6a).

9. The Harmon Cove I Condominium Association and the
Joint Recreation Association purported to settle all claims of all
unit owners and interested persons against developer, Hartz
Mountain, relating to all claims for deficiencies in individual units,
as well as in the common elements.

10. Individual unit owners filed suit against developer for
specific performance of real estate sales contracts; breach of
contract; breach of warranty; accounting as to monies collected
and spent to correct deficiencies; and to block ‘‘settlement of all
claims’’ on the ground that only owners can decide such questions,
since they own dwelling units and (by percentage ownership) the
common elements.

11. Petitioners contend:

(a) that they have standing to sue Hartz Mountain
Associates;

(o) for themselves as individual unit owners;

(¢) as representatives of the class of unit owners of
Harmon Cove Area I, and as to the common elements
for all claims; and

(d) that the respondent associations have no
jurisdiction, right or standing to (1) litigate, or (2) settle
the case.

12. The New Jersey Supreme Court modified judgment of
the lower courts but held, as to common elements, the non-profit
association named to maintain and administer the common
elements had exclusive rights to vindicate such rights.

13. Petitioners seek certiorari and contend that construing
the statute thus (i) impairs their contract rights; (ii) discriminates
against them as owners of real estate compared to other real estate
owners; and (iii) deprives them of property rights without due
process of law.

14. Petitioners seek certiorari.

HOW AND WHEN FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL
QUESTIONS WERE PRESENTED AND DISPOSED OF

1. Petitioners raised the question of vested contract rights
and property rights as real estate owners at the very inception
of the case in the complaint (32a) alleging their right as property
owners to protect their investment and to sue for specific
performance of their contracts (32a); damages for breach of
warranty and accounting (34a-36a), on all aspects, including the
common elements they own, appurtenant to their home units.

2. When their standing was challenged at the Superior Court,
Chancery Division (trial level), their initial brief (40a) emphasized

a
7

their right to sue as real estate owners equal to all other real estate
owners; with vested owner rights (paragraphs 9 and 10). The brief
urged that a purchaser-owner of real estate, their property and
contract rights to sue for breach of contract and warranty had
never been surrendered.

3. At oral argument (42a) it was reiterated that petitioners
were owners of property rights, equal to all other owners of real
estate (43a).

4. It was also urged that they had every right to vindicate
their ‘‘contract property rights’’ (45a).

5. Throughout the argument the owners’ vested property and
contract rights were emphasized, and that the association had no
authority to litigate or settle their contract claims.

6. The court did not deny that such rights existed, and could
be vindicated against the developer, but construed the statute so
as to vest exc/usive authority in the association to do so, on behalf
of the owners.

7. The court rejected petitioners’ claims that (27a):
**. , ,assertion of substantial claims against the original developer-
owner involves ‘attributes of ownership and vindication of
fundamental rights’ ’’ which are beyond the statute, master deed
and by-laws.

8. Those ‘‘fundamental rights’’ urged were the equal
protection of laws similar to all other real property owners; and
the owner-contract property rights: above set forth, which are
constitutionally protected, and were squarely raised and rejected.

9. When Counts 1, 2, 3, and 5 of the complaint were
dismissed (seeking to sue the developer) petitioners appealed to

the Superior Court, Appellate Division. (Note: Petitioners were
not allowed to sue the developer ar aii, at this stage.)

10. As the brief in the Appellate Division discloses (47a):

(a) The argument was repeated that petitioners had
equal rights to sue, like all other real estate owners

(paragraph 13, 47a);

(b) Breach of contract were owners’ property rights
(48a);

(c) It was reiterated by petitioners that condominium
real property owners enjoyed their property the same’. . .
as permitted by law for any other parcel of real property’’
(Point II, paragraph 2, 48a);

(d) The brief then urged that accordingly the
petitioners ‘*. .. have the right to protect their investment
and its market value .. .’’ (and to litigate their rights,
for all the relief sought in the complaint) (Point II,
paragraph 3, 48a);

(e) The petitioners then squarely presented the federal
question: (Point IV, paragraph 11) (49a):

‘‘Any other rule would deprive
condominium property owners of
property rights without due process of
law.”’

(f) The Appellate Division affirmed without opinion.

11. Certification was sought and granted by the New Jersey
Supreme Court.

12. Although facially the New Jersey Condominium Law
appears to confer equal protection (R.S. 46:8B-4 — condominium
owners accorded full rights **. . .permitted by law for any other
parcel of real property’’) (R.S. 46:8B — unit owners own in ‘‘fee
simple’’) actually the lower court had denied unit owners the right
to sue for specific performance of their contract; breach of
contract; breach of warranty, etc. — while other real estate owners
did enjoy all such rights.

13. Petitioners accordingly raised the question in the petition
for certification whether such construction (50a of petition) does
‘*. . . discriminate against them as owners of real property in fee
simple, and deprive them of property rights without legal
protection and without due process of law... .’’ even though
the statute R.S. 46:8B-4 purported to treat them equally, like any
other owners of real property.

14. Petitioners urged that (51a) there ‘‘. . .is no basis in law
for depriving contract owners in fee simple of their right, as real
Parties in interest, to sue developer for breach of contract; breach
of warranty, etc. The role of the association is to ‘administer and
manage’ the common elements, mot usurp the independent
property right of owners.’’ (Emphasis in original.)

1$. Petitioners urged (Sla) that if the rights of contract
owners to protect and vindicate their property rights were
**transferred’’ to volunteer members of non-profit ‘‘associations’’
involuntarily, ‘‘...such construction would unlawfully
discriminate against such condominium owners as a class of real
estate owners — as opposed to other owners of real property.
It would deprive condominium owners of valuable property rights,
without due process of law.’’

16. It was urged (Sla) this would damage the
**. . .marketability and value of such condominium real estate. . .”’
which ‘*. . .is a vested right in real estate... .”’

10

17. It was expressly urged that (52a) ‘‘. . .the vested reports
of such owners cannot be diminished, taken away or prejudiced
without due process of law.’’ and that ‘‘No cause is shown to
discriminate against condominium real estate buyers in their right
to sue for breach of contract . . . equal to the buyer-owners of
any other real estate’’ (emphasis in original).

18. It could not be put more bluntly then was stated in
paragraph 9, page 52a:

**The Constitutions of the United States and
of New Jersey prohibit such lack of due process;
discrimination among those similarly situated; and
lack of equal protection of the laws.’’

19. Paragraph 10, page 52a of said petition pointed out that
**constitutional equal protection . . .’’ applies to courts as well
as legislatures and paragraph 11 averred that ‘‘No rational basis
or classification to bar plaintiffs as buyer-owners of real estate
from sueing seller-developer appears.’’ and such bar must fall
(paragraph 11, $3a) ‘‘...as an unlawful deprival of vested
property rights, without due process of law or equal protection
of law.”’

20. The New Jersey Supreme Court did not deny such rights
existed, but construed the statute as requiring the non-profit
association to sue and vindicate such contract and ownership rights
rather than the owners themselves.

21. Unlike the courts below, the Supreme Court recognized
the due process-property argument to some extent, for it modified
the judgment as to the residential units, and allowed partial suit
against the developer as to those residential home units.

22. However, as to the common elements position, which
are unequivocally and inextricably part of each condominium

1]

property (R.S. 46:8B-6), it barred suit for specific performance
or otherwise by owners, citing alleged ‘‘policy’’ considerations
for having the association ‘‘represent’’ the owners (even against
their will); yet allowing owners to proceed, if the association did
not do so — in effect converting real estate owners to stockholders
of a non-profit corporation only.

23. This runs contrary to the constitutional guarantees which
do not permit the impairing of contract rights; or the taking of
property rights without due process, on general grounds of
‘*policy’’ or ‘‘convenience’’, or discrimination against
condominium real estate owners, not equally applicable to a// real
estate owners as a class.

24. The Supreme Court tried to compromise, and fully
recognized the right to sue the developer, but couched its response
in a ruled procedure which bars owners from enforcing and
enjoying their contract and property rights.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
I. State Action

Although facially the New Jersey Condominium Law appears
to confer equality on condominium real estate owners with all
owners of real estates (R.S. 46:8B-4), as construed by the New
Jersey Supreme Court it deprives petitioners of contract and
property rights and this becomes ‘‘state action’’ which cannot
violate Article I, Section 10, Clause 1 (impair obligation of
contract) or the Fourteenth Amendment (deny equal protection
of laws or deprivation of property without due process) and binds
courts as well as legislatures, even though supposedly resting on
state grounds. Bandini v. Superior Ct., 284 U.S. 8 at 18, 52 S.
Ct. 103, 73 L. Ed. 130 (1931); citing Lindsley v. Natural Carbonic
Gas, 220 U.S. 61, 73; Coombes v. Getz, 2850 S. 434, 52 S.Ct.
435, 76 L. Ed. 866 (1932); Columbia Railway v. South Carolina,

12

261 U.S. 236, 67 L. Ed. 629; General Motors v. Washington,
377 U.S. 436, 84 S.Ct. 1564, 12 L. Ed. 2d 430 (1964); Demorest
v. City Bank, 321 U.S. 36, 64S. Ct. 384, 88 L. Ed. 526 (1943);
Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1, 92 L. Ed. 1161 (1947); Standard
Oil v. Johnson, 316 U.S. 481, 62 S. Ct. 1168, 86 L. Ed. 1611
(1942); Williams v. Bruffy, 102 U.S. 248, 26 L. Ed. 135 (1880).

The remedy is certiorari. Rooker v. Fidelity Trust, 263 U.S.
413, 44S. Ct. 149, 68 L. Ed. 362 (1923); Bricker v. Crane, 468
F. 2d 1228, cert. denied, 410 U.S. 930 (C.A. $, 1972).

In such cases, the construction of the highest state court as
to the meaning and application of the state statute is accepted,
and tested as against constitutional standards as applied. Hanover
Ins. Co. v. Harding, 272 U.S. 494, 47S. Ct. 179, 71 L. Ed. 372
(1926).

Il. Raising Federal Question

No particular formal language is needed to raise federal
constitutional rights, as was done in this case, and their denial
is reviewable on certiorari. Huffman v. Pursue, 420 U.S. $92,
95 S. Ct. 1200, 43 L. Ed. 2d 482 (1975).

So long as feceral rights were urged ‘‘. . . with fair precision
and in due time ...”’ for the court to rule therecn, denial is
reviewable.

**And if the record as a whole shows either
expressly or by clear intendment that this was done,
the cliim is to be regarded as having been
adequately presented.’’

Naming the constitutional section or some special form of words
is not necessary. Street v. New York, 394 U.S. 576, 89 S. Ct.

13

1354, 22 L. Ed. 2d 572 (1969); Douglas v. Alabama, 380 U.S.
415, 85 S. Ct. 1074, 13 L. Ed. 2d 934 (1965).

In considering the action complained of as denying federal
rights, the United States Supreme Court must determine the effect
of the action taken and is not bound by local determinations that
such action is merely a matter of local procedure or a rule of
evidence or the like. Truax v. Corrigan, 257 U.S. 312, 42 S. Ct.
124, 66 L. Ed. 2d 254 (1921).

It will look to substance and effect, rather than form. Dept.
of Revenue (Ky.) v. Beam Distilling, 377 U.S. 341, 84S. Ct. 1247,
12 L. Ed. 2d 362 (1964); Bantam Books v. Sullivan, 372 U.S.
58, 83 S. Ct. 631, 9 L. Ed. 2d 584 at p. 591 (1963). And it must
ultimately decide what is due process. Even Congress, much less
a state court, ‘‘. . .does not have the final say as to what constitutes
due process under the Fourteenth Amendment.’’ State Bd.
Insurance v. Todd Shipyards, 370 U.S. 451, 82 S.Ct. 1380, 8 L.
Ed. 2d 620 (1962).

Proper presentation of the federal questions is itself a federal
question. Wright v. Georgia, 373 U.S. 284, 289-291, 10 L. Ed.
349, 354, 83 S. Ct. 1240.

It is submitted the federal constitutional rights were urged
and considered during the entire case, at all levels.

Ill. Impairment of Contract
It is fundamental that competent persons

**. . . Shall have the utmost liberty of contracting

”

and contracts fairly made

14

«|. shall be held valid and enforced in the
courts.’’ Twin City Pipeline Co. v. Harding Glass,
283 U.S. 353, 7§ L. Ed. 1112 (1931).

Interference with the right to contract should occur only in
exceptional circumstances. Adkias v. Children’s Hospital, 261 U.S.
$25, 67 L. Ed. 78 (1923) and is protected by both the contract
clause (Article I, Section 10, Clause 1) and the due process clause
of the Fourteenth Amendment. Bayside Fish Flour Co. v. Gentry,
299 U.S. 422, 80 L. Ed. 772 (1936); Irving Trust v. Day, 314
U.S. 556, 86 L. Ed. 453 (1942). Note: the Adkins case was
overruled for a minimum wage law. West Coast Hotel v. Parrish,
300 U.S. 400, 81 L. Ed. 713, $7 Sup. Ct. $86 (1937).

Without enforcement rights in the courts, contract rights have
little substance or value and the ‘‘obligation’’ of contracts which
states may not impair under Article I, Section 10, Clause | is
precisely the enforcement or remedy. When that is diluted or taken
away, contract rights are unlawfully impaired. Louisana v. Police
Jury, 111 U.S. 716, 28 L. Ed. $74 (1884); Worthen v. Kavanaugh,
295 U.S. 56, 79 L. Ed. 1298 (1935).

Not to impair contracts is one of the strictest duties placed
on the states by the United States Constitution. Murray v. City
Council, Charleston, 24 L. Ed. 760, 96 U.S. 432 (1878), and the
provision applies to all contracts **. . .executory and executed
contracts, by whomsoever made.’’ Farrington v. Tennessee, 95
U.S. 679, 24 L. Ed. $58 (1878).

The prohibition is universal and concerns the effecr of state
action as ‘*. . impairing the rights resting on contract’’ whether
it permits deviation from contract terms of dispensing with
performance, however minute. Columbia Railway v. South
Carolina, 261 U.S. 236, 67 L. Ed. 629.

15

This applies to contracts with the state or with third persons
based on statutory rights. Combes v. Getz, 285 U.S. 434, 76 L.
Ed. 866, $2 S. Ct. 435 (1932).

Finally, it is not a matter of degree. Unless there is lawful
cause, contracts cannot be impaired at all. Ohio State Life Ins.
Co. v. Clark, 274 F. 2d 771, cert. denied, 80 S.Ct. 1599, 363
U.S. 828, 42 L. Ed. 2d, $23; Farrington v. Tennessee, 95 U.S.
679, 24 L. Ed. $58 (1878).

Vested causes of action are property rights constitutionally
protected. Pritchard v. Norton, 106 U.S. 124, 137, 27 L. Ed. 104,
1S. Ct. 102.

It is true that redress to courts may be controlled, moderately
postponed, have uniform conditions attached, and the like, so
long as the ‘‘. . .right to redress by some effective procedure’
is preserved. Giffes v. Zimmerman, 290 U.S. 326, 78 L. Ed. 342
(1933).

What was done here was to totally eliminate redress to the
courts by petitioners to vindicate their contract and property rights
as real estate contract buyers against contract sellers, ‘‘giving’’
such rights to another entity, and depriving petitioners of the
**. .. Fight to resort to the appropriate courts for redress’’
Bowman vy. Lewis, 101 U.S. 22, 25 L. Ed. 989 (1880).

This contravenes their right to

**. . .acquire and enjoy property; that they should
have like access to the courts of the country for
the protection of their persons and property, the
prevention and redress of wrongs, and the
enforcement of contracts. . .’’ Corting v. Godard,
183 U.S. 78, 46 L. Ed. 92 (1900).

16

IV. Denial of Equal Protection of Laws

Under the Fourteenth Amendment even ‘‘police powers’’
cannot deprive citizens of constitutional rights; and reasonable
controls must be fairly and equally applied, including equal access
to the courts to protect property and enforce contracts. Connolly
v. Union Sewer Pipe Co., 184 U.S. 539, 46 L. Ed. 679 (1902).
Note: The Connolly case was modified to allow partial exceptions
in anti-trust cases. Tigner v. Texas, 310 U.S. 144, 84L. Ed. 1126,
60 Sup. Ct. 880 (1940).

Here precisely the opposite happened. The right to sue
developer to enforce on all real estate sale obligations was expressly
recognized, but taken away from petitioner contract owners, and
**given’’ to another entity (not an owner, not a contractor) for
supposed ‘‘policy’’ or ‘‘convenience’’ reasons, and only
condominium real estate owners singled out for such unequal
treatment.

Control of access, designation of legal forums etc. are lawful,
so long as ultimately

‘*. . . fundamental rights are equally protected and
preserved.’’ Cincinnati Street Railway v. Snell, 193
U.S. 30, 48 L. Ed. 604 (1904).

This flies directly in the face of the requirement that “‘. . . all
persons similarly circumstanced shail be treated alike.’’ Hartford
Steamboiler Co. v. Harrison, 301 U.S. 459, 8i L. Ed. 1223 (1937)
which applies to

**. . , all the powers of the state which can affect
the individual or his property.’’ (p. 1226).

17

A ‘*... mere difference ...’’ is not enough for unequal
treatment, there must be a valid reason for some dissatisfaction
resulting in unequal treatment (p. 1226).

Such unequal treatment cannot be conjectural or
unreasonable. Borden’s Farm Products v. Baldwin, 293 U.S. 194,
79 L. Ed. 281, 55 S. Ct. 87. Merely citing ‘‘public health’’ or
some label is not sufficient. Adkins v. Children’s Hospital, 261
U.S. 525, 67 L. Ed. 185 (1923).

Discriminatory treatment offends equal protection of the laws.
Wheeling Steel v. Glander, 337 U.S. 562, 69 S. Ct. 1291, 93 L.
Ed. 1544 (1948) for

**. . . equal protection to all is the basic principle
upon which justice under law rests.’’ Pierre v.
Louisiana, 306 U.S. 354, 83 L. Ed. 757, 59 Sup.
Ct. 536 (1939).

Absent some real ‘‘emergency”’ such as rent control, applied
to all real estate owners equally or urban redevelopment related
to public welfare or the like, Berman v. Parker, 348 U.S. 26,
75S. Ct. 98, 99 L. Ed. 27 (1954) (and applying eminent domain
principles in proper cases) property rights may not be taken on
an unequal basis.

That is the case here, where purely private real estate
ownership contract and property rights are involved, and the court
construes the statute to deny on/y to condominium real estate
owners the right to enforce their contracts, ‘‘giving’’ them to
another entity (the association designed to maintain common
elements, not sue on antecedent contracts of purchase) where the
residential units and the common elements both belong to
petitioners under R.S. 46:8B-6 in fee simple [R.S. 46:8B-3(q)].

18

There is no reasonable ground for treating condominium real
estate owners differently in such circumstances from all other real
estate owners, and the constitutional guarantees of equal protection
should be construed ‘‘. . . liberally. . .”’ to protect personal and

property rights.

It is not enough that ‘‘classification’’ is attempted (here by
the court, not by the legislature) but it must be reasonable, based
on some palpable and just reason or ground. Gulf, Colorado &
Santa Fe Railroad v. Ellis, 165 U.S. 50, 41 L. Ed. 666 (1896);
Allied Stores, Ohio v. Bowers, 358 U.S. 522, 3 L. Ed. 2d 480
(1958).

It is submitted such reasonable ground or basis is lacking.
The court speaks (i0a) of convenience, greater efficiency, less
cost etc. but those matters are the concern or problem of the
owners of the contract enforcement rights, and no ground for
taking away their property and contract enforcement remedies
in such discriminatory and unequal fashion and the judgment
should be reversed, it is submitted.

VY. Deprivations of Property Without Due Process

Petitioners sought specific performance to enforce contract
rights, and to establish breach of contract; breach of warranty;
accounting; to protect their property and investment, recoup
damage to marketability; resale values, etc. of their condominium
real estate property.

Depriving them of access to the courts to enforce and vindicate
such rights also deprives them of property without due process
of law aside from denial of equal protection, which is a different
right. Bayside Fish Flour Co. v. Gentry, 297 U.S. 422, 80 L. Ed.
722 (1936); Truax v. Corrigan, 257 U.S. 312, 42 S. Ct. 124, 66
L. Ed. 254 (1921); Connolly v. Union Sewer Pipe Co., 184 U.S.

19

539, 46 L. Ed. 679 (1902); Barbier v. Connolly, 113 U.S. 27, 31,
28 L. Ed. 923, 924, § S. Ct. 357, 359; Bowman v. Lewis, 101
U.S. 22, 25 L. Ed. 989.

Action may also impair contracts and offend the due process
clause, which are also different rights. /rving Trust v. Day, 314
U.S. 556, 86 L. Ed. 453 (1942).

It is submitted taking away their right to enforce their rights,
takes their property without due process.

In sum, the right of the association for ‘‘administration and
management’’ of common elements, once /awfully delivered
pursuant to contract, has been expanded to the enforcement of
the original contract, claimed to have been breached and not
performed, which antedated delivery, to the detriment of contract
owners who own the property, the common elements and the
contract, the enjoyment and enforcement of which they cannot
be deprived of without just compensation or appropriate due
process of law.

VI. The Decision of the New Jersey Supreme Court Goes Contrary
to the Decisions of Courts of Last Resort in Many States that
Have Passed on Similar Questions, and Requires Review Under
Rule 17.1(b).

Various courts of last resort in several states have passed
on the same question (rights of unit owners to sue developer on
contract for non-performance; breach of warranty, etc. as to
residential units and as to common elements appurtenant thereto)
and have uniformly upheld their contract and property rights
relating thereto, such as:

1. (CALIFORNIA) Friendly Village v. Silva & Hill Const.
Co., 31 Cal. App. 3d 220, 107 Cal. Reptr. 123 (1973) held that

20

owners, not condominium association, have right to sue as party
in interest.

2. (FLORIDA) Rubenstein v. Burleigh, 305 So. 2d 311, 313
(Fla. 3d D.C.A. 1978) held that owners, not condominium
associations, have standing to sue.

See also, Imperial Towers Condo v. Brown, 338 So. 2d 1081
(Fla. 4th D.C.A. 1976) held that even after statute amended,
condominium association could only sue as to common elements;
Avila South Condo Ass'n v. Kappa, 347 So. 2d $99 (1976) held
that statute found to be invalid, as trenching on judicial power
to determine standing, which requires a court rule to confer
standing on condominium association, The Florida Bar, 353 So.
2d 45 (1977).

3. Even after amendment of court rule, standing of owners
not diminished; The Florida Bar, supra at 608.

4. (NEVADA) Nevada J.C. Deal v. 999 Lake Shore Ass'n,
94 Nev. Adv. Sh. 87, 579 P. 2d 775 (1978) at p. 77 held that
only owners ‘‘. . . have standing to sue for construction or design
defects to the common areas. . ."’ Only they eventually bear costs,
and are the real parties in interest.

$. (CONNECTICUT) Governor’s Grove v. Hill
Development, 35 Conn. Sup. 199, 404 A. 2d 131 (1979) held that
only owners can maintain action against developer before statute
expressly allows condominium association to sue on behalf of
owners as real parties in interest.

(CONNECTICUT) Doyle v. A. P. Realty, 36 Conn. Rep.
126, 414 A. 2d 204 (1980) held that even after such statute, both

21

Semble: Greentree v. RSP Corp. (cited by the court below
in this case) 36 Conn. Sup. 160, 415 A. 2d 2481 (1980) held that
both ass’n and owners have standing to sue.

6. (COLORADO) Ireland v. Wynkoop, 539 P. 2d 1349
(Colo. App. 1975) where the court distinguished between
association contracts where association had privity and could sue;
and (p. 1359) claim of owners on their purchase agreements, which
remain owner’s claims on which only they could proceed.

7. (MAINE) Goldenfarb v. Land Design, 409 A. 2d 662
(Maine 1979) where suit by owners on breach of warranty (parking)
was upheld. Award made to each owner, though condominium
association existed, assigned parking, etc.

8. (NEW YORK) Bd. Managers of Woodgate Village v.
pC oe 0 Ul
1976) held that condominium association could sue because of
a special statute allowing it to sue ‘‘. . . on behalf of two or more
unit owners... ’’, and distinguished the otherwise persuasive
California case of Friendly Village, supra, because California (nen
had no such statute. (Other cases are cited in the briefs.)

In Florida and Connecticut, even amendments allowing
associations to sue as to common elements do mor bar owners;
and in New York the statute was not used in the case cited to
bar owners, but to allow association to sue a third party.

The concept of condominium real estate ownership is so
important and widespread, and involves varied and extensive
contract and property rights federally protected; involving now
millions of dollars and commercial, recreational and business
applications, as well as residences, that the federal contract and
property rights involved should be uniformly treated, protected
and upheld, it is submitted.

22

Accordingly, an anomalous decision involving those federal
rights (impairment of contract; equal protection; holding and
vindicating property rights under due process) such as was rendered
in this case, should be reviewed and corrected, it is submitted.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, petitioners submit the petition for writ
of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN TOMASIN
Attorney for Petitioners

la
OPINION OF THE SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY
A-72 September Term 1982

SIDNEY SILLER and SHIRLEY SILLER, his wife; IRVING
GAINES and CORALIE J. GAINES, his wife; MARSHALL
NATAPOFF and JANET NATAPOFF, his wife; FRANCIS
CLARK and LUCILLE CLARK, his wife; and JOEL KRAMER,
single,
Plaintiffs-Appellants,
and
HARMON COVE CONDOMINIUM II ASSOCIATION, INC.,
Plaintiff-Intervenor,
Vv.
HARTZ MOUNTAIN ASSOCIATES, a corporation; HARMON
COVE I CONDOMINIUM ASSOCIATION, INC., a
corporation; and HARMON COVE RECREATION
ASSOCIATION, INC., a corporation,

Defendants-Respondents.

On certification to the Superior Court, Appellate Division, whose
opinion is reported at 184 N.J. Super. 442 (1982).

Argued February 8, 1983 — Decided June 16, 1983

John Tomasin argued the cause for appellants.

2a

Opinion of the Supreme Court of New Jersey

Jerome A. Vogel argued the cause for respondent Hartz Mountain
Associates, etc. (Jeffer, Hopkinson & Vogel, attorneys).

Richard S. Miller argued the cause for respondents Harmon Cove
I Condominium Association, Inc., etc., et al. (Williams, Caliri,
Miller & Otley, attorneys).

The opinion of the Court was delivered by
SCHREIBER, J.

We are called upon in this case to consider certain aspects
of the Condominium Act, N.J.S.A. 46:8B-1 through 38, in
particular those concerning the relationship of the owner of a
unit to the associations representing all unit owners with respect
to claims against the builder of the condominium. Plaintiffs,
owners and inhabitants of housing units in the condominium
community ‘‘Harmon Cove’’ in Secaucus, New Jersey, sued the
developer, Hartz Mountain Associates (Developer), and the unit
owner associations, Harmon Cove I Condominium Association,
Inc. (Association), and Harmon Cove Recreation Association,
Inc. (Recreation Association) (collectively the Associations). The
suit related to alleged defects in and about the units and common
areas and facilities and to a settlement that the two associations
were prepared to effectuate on behalf of all unit owners, including
plaintiffs, with the Developer.

The plaintiffs, as individual unit owners and on behalf of
others similarly situated, had instituted the suit by filing a verified
complaint and an order to show cause, in which they sought
temporary restraints to prevent consummation of the settlement
between the Developer and the Associations. The trial court denied
any temporary restraints, signed an order directing the parties
to file briefs ‘as to the standing of plaintiffs to bring this action”’

3a

Opinion of the Supreme Court of New Jersey

and set a date for a hearing on the standing issue. In addition
to the briefs, the plaintiffs submitted an affidavit of one unit owner
with copies of various documents including the master deed.
Defendant Hartz Mountain also submitted a certificate of the
director of its residential department with certain attachments and
the defendant Association submitted a certified statement of its
president with certain attachments.’ The parties and the trial court
considered the matter as if defendants had filed a motion for
summary judgment on the ground that plaintiffs lacked standing
to institute and maintain the action.

The trial court dismissed the complaint against the Developer
and permitted the defendants to consummate the settlement at
their own risk. It sustained part of one count of plaintiff's
complaint against the Associations. 184 N.J. Super. 450 (Ch. Div.
1981). Plaintiffs appealed and the Appellate Division affirmed.
184 N.J. Super. 442 (1982). We granted plaintiffs’ petition for
certification. N.J. (1982).

The complaint contained five counts. The first, second, third
and fifth counts were directed solely against the Developer.
Generally they asserted that the Developer had planned and built
the condominium known as Harmon Cove I in Secaucus and had
sold units to the five plaintiffs. They alleged that the condominiums
and the common elements had numerous defects and deficiencies,
all attributable to the Developer. The complaint specified improper
insulation of the individual units; inadequate caulking of windows
and doors; improper heating system; inadequate driveways and
sound insulation; defects in the marina dock area, swimming pool,

1. The trial court had not examined the defendants’ certificates at the time
of oral argument because they were submitted shortly before the hearing. It
undoubtedly considered them before filing its written opinion.

4a

Opinion of the Supreme Court of New Jersey

and boardwalk; and soil settlement problems throughout the entire
development. It is important to note that, though most complaints
in these counts pertained to the common elements and areas, some
related to the individual units. The trial court dismissed these four
counts (first, second, third and fifth) with prejudice.

The fourth count, directed solely against the Associations,
alleged that settlement negotiations between the Association, the
Recreation Association’ and the Developer with respect to claims
arising from the design and building of the ‘‘condominiums and
the common elements’’ were near completion. The trial court
sustained that part of the fourth count’ that challenged the actions
taken by both Associations on protedural and substantive grounds
and permitted the plaintiffs to amend the complaint to express
this clearly. This count, as subsequently amended by plaintiffs,
charged that the proposed settlement was unreasonable, unlawful,
and inadequate, that the Associations had breached their fiduciary
duties and responsibilities to plaintiffs, and that the Developer,
which at one time properly controlled the Associations, had
continued unlawfully to exercise control and influence over the
Associations. Moreover, the plaintiffs asserted that the
Associations and the Developer were settling claims pertaining
to the individual units as well as the common elements.

2. The Association, composed of all unit owners, managed the condominium
property. The Recreation Association, also composed of al! unit owners, managed
the common recreation facilities.

3. The original fourth count also charged that the Association had no
authority to settle the claims against the Developer.

Sa

Opinion of the Supreme Court of New Jersey
I

The Legislature recognized a new form of ownership of real
property in enacting the Condominium Act.‘ NV.J.S.A. 46:8B-1
through -38. The Act requires the developer to execute and file
a master deed describing the land, identifying the units, defining
the common elements, and providing for an association of unit
owners. The condominium property consists of the land and all
improvements. N.J.S.A. 46:8B-3(i). The individual condominium
purchaser owns his unit together with an undivided interest in
common elements. Each unit is a separate parcel of real property
which the owner may deal with ‘‘in the same manner as is otherwise
permitted by law for any parcel of real property.’’ N.J.S.A.
46:8B-4. The result is that the unit owner, having a fee simple
title, enjoys exclusive ownership of his individual apartment or
unit, while retaining an undivided interest as a tenant in common
in the common facilities and grounds used by all the residents.
Kerr, ‘‘Condominium--Statutory Implementation,’’ 38 St. Johns
L. Rev. 1, 2 (1963); Berger, ‘Condominium: Shelter on a Statutory
Foundation,’ 63 Colum. L. Rev. 987, 989 (1963); ISA Am. Jur.
2d, Condominiums and Cooperative Apartments, §1.

4. The history of condominiums has been traced back to ancient Rome,
Note, ‘‘Land Without Earth--Condominium,”’ 1§ U. of Fle. L. Rev. 203, 208
(1962), though this has been disputed, Berger, ‘Condominium: Shelter on a
Statutory Foundation,’’ 63 Colum. L. Rev. 987, 987 n. $ (1963). Others contend
that the concept can be traced back to the ancient Hebrews in the Fifth Century
B.C., Kerr, ‘*Condominium--Statutory Implementation,’’ 38 St. Johns L. Rev.
1;3 (1963); Note, ‘‘The FHA Condominium,” 31 Geo. Wash. L. Rev. 1014, 1015
(1963). There is recognition of the concept in common law. Coke on Littleton,
quoted in Ball, ‘Division in Horizontal Strata of the Landscape Above the
Surface,"’ 39 Yale L.J. 616, 621 (1930).

6a

Opinion of the Supreme Court of New Jersey

The Act also provides that the condominium will be
administered and managed by the association. N.J.S.A.
46:8B-3(b); 46:8B-12. The business form of the association is
unrestricted. N.J.S.A. 46:8B-12. The developer initially controls
the association. When 25% of the units have been sold, the unit
owners are entitled to elect at least 25% of the association’s
governing body. N.J.S.A. 46:8B-12.1(a). The unit owners’
authority is increased to 40% when half of the units have been
sold. When the unit owners own 75%, they are entitled to elect
all the members of the governing body. V.J.S.A. 46:8B-12.1(a).’
Once that occurs, the developer is required to‘'relinquish control
of the association.’’ N.J.S.A. 46:8B-12.1(d).

The association is charged with the ‘‘maintenance, repair,
replacement, cleaning and sanitation of the common elements.”’
N.J.S.A. 46:8B-14(a). The common elements are defined as
follows:

*‘Common elements’’ means:

(i) the land described in the master deed;

(ii) as to any improvement, the foundations.
structural and bearing parts, supports, main walls,
roofs, basements, halls, corridors, lobbies,

$. The developer can retain one representative on the governing body in
certain circumstances.

Notwithstanding any of the provisions of subsection a
of this section, the developer shall be entitled to elect at least
one member of the governing board or other form of
administration of an association as long as the developer holds
for sale in the ordinary course of business one or more units
in a condominium operated by the association. [N.J.S.A.
46:8B-12.1(a))

7a

Opinion of the Supreme Court of New Jersey

Stairways, elevators, entrances, exits and other
means of access, excluding any specifically reserved
or limited to a particular unit or group of units;

(iii) yards, gardens, walkways, parking areas
and driveways, excluding any specifically reserved
or limited to a particular unit or group of units;

(iv) portions of the iand or any improvement
Or appurtenance reserved exclusively for the
management, Operation or maintenance of the
common elements or of the condominium
property;

(v) installations of all central services and
utilities;

(vii) all other elements of any improvement
necessary or convenient to the existence,
management, Operation, maintenance and safety
of the condominium property or normally in
common use; and

(viii) such other elements and facilities as are
designated in the master deed as common elements.
[N.J.S.A. 46:8B-3(d)]

It should be noted that under subsection (d)(viii) above, the
common elements may be expanded to include other ‘‘elements
and facilities’’ designated in the master deed. The association has
a right of access to each unit ‘‘as may be necessary for the
maintenance, repair or replacement of any common elements
therein or accessible therefrom."’ N.J.S.A. 46:8B-15(b).

The association is empowered to assess and collect funds from
unit owners for common expenses, to maintain accounting records,
and to obtain insurance against loss by fire or other casualties
damaging the common elements and al! structural portions of
the condominium property. N.J.S.A. 46:8B-14(b), (d) and (g).

Opinion of the Supreme Court of New Jersey

The statute authorizes the association to ‘‘enter into contracts,
bring suit and be sued.’’ NV.J.S.A. 46:8B-15(a).* No unit owner,
except as an officer of the association, may bind the association.
N.J.S.A. 46:8B-16(a). Nor may a unit owner ‘‘contract for or
perform any maintenance, repair, replacement, removal, alteration
or modification of the common elements or any additions thereto,
except through the association and its officers.”’ N.J.S.A.
46:8B-18. If a unit owner fails to comply with the rules and
regulations or any of the provisions in the master deed, he may
be subject to a suit for injunctive relief by the association or by
any other unit owner. N.J.S.A. 46:8B-16(b).

I]

All parties agree that the clear import, express and implied,
of the statutory scheme is that the association may sue third parties
for damages to the common elements, collect the funds when
successful, and apply the proceeds for repair of the property. The
statutory provisions empowering the association to sue, imposing
the duty on it to repair, and authorizing it to charge and collect
*‘common expenses,’’’ coupled with the prohibition against a unit

6. In this case the Association is a nonprofit corporation. As such it may,
under the terms of N.J.S.A. 1$:1-4(b), ‘sue and be sued, complain and defend
in any court’’ any action. Unincorporated associations consisting of seven or
more persons may sue or be sued “‘in any civil action affecting [the unincorporated
association's] common property, rights and liabilities.’’ V.J.S.A. 2A:64-1.

7. Common expenses are defined as ‘expenses for which the unit owners
are proportionately liable, including but not limited to:

(i) all expenses of administration, maintenance, repair and
replacement of the common elements;
(ii) expenses agreed upon as common by al! unit owners;
and
(Cont'd)

9a

Opinion of the Supreme Court of New Jersey

owner performing any such work on common elements, are
compelling indicia that the association may institute legal action
on behalf of the unit owners for damages to common elements
caused by third persons.

In the absence of any statutory plan, we have acknowledged
the standing of an association of tenants in an apartment building
to sue their landlord. Crescent Pk. Tenants Assoc. v. Realty Eq.
Corp. of N.Y., §8 N.J. 98 (1971). The plaintiff tenant association
in Crescent Park was a nonprofit organization composed of tenants
of a high-rise luxury apartment building. It charged the landlord
with responsibility for defects in various parts of the common
elements, such as the air conditioning system, elevators, laundry
rooms and swimming pool. The complaint was dismissed on the
ground that the plaintiff had no standing. Justice Jacobs, writing
on behalf of this Court, reversed. He observed that the individual
tenants could have brought such a suit and that by acting together
their bargaining power was enhanced. Jd. at 108. He noted that
the complaint was

confined strictly to matters of common interest and
[did] not include any individual grievance which
might perhaps be dealt with more appropriately
in a proceeding between the individual tenant and
the landlord. So far as common grievances are

(Cont'd)
(iii) expenses declared common by provisions of this act
or by the master deed or by the bylaws."’ [NV./.S.A. 46:8B-3(e)]

It has been held that an association by virtue of its assessment power may
include the litigation costs as a common expense. See Margate Village
Condominium Ass'n, Inc. v. Wilfred, Inc., 3$0 So. 2d 16, 17 (Fla. App. 1977)
(upholding association's right to assess all owners, including developer, for
litigation expenses, including those of an action against developer).

10a

Opinion of the Supreme Court of New Jersey

concerned they may readily and indeed more
appropriately be dealt with in a proceeding between
the Association, on the one hand, and the landlord,
on the other, thus incidentally avoiding the
procedural burdens accompanying multiple party
litigation.’’ [Jd. at 109]

Justice Jacobs concluded that ‘‘it [was] difficult to conceive of
any policy consideration or any consideration of justice which
would fairly preclude the Association from maintaining, on behalf
of its member tenants, the present proceeding between itself as
plaintiff and the landlord and its parent company as defendants.”’
Id. See, e.g., Piscataway Apt. Assoc. v. Tp. of Piscataway, 66
N.J. 106 (1974) (nonprofit association of apartment house owners
maintained action).

We find nothing in the legislative scheme governing
condominiumis to indicate policy considerations different from
those expressed in Crescent Park. Avoidance of a multiplicity of
suits, economic savings incident to one trial, elimination of
contradictory adjudications, expedition in resolution of
controversies, accomplishment of repairs, and the positive effect
on judicial administration are supportive policy reasons.’
Moreover, the financial burden on an individual owner may be
sO great and so disproportionate to his potential recovery that
he could not or would not proceed with litigation. Other
jurisdictions have also interpreted their statutes governing

8. The plaintiffs, though not addressing the issue squarely, have implicitly
indicated that the Legislature would have no authority to determine whether
associations would have a right to sue because this is ‘procedural’ and exclusively
within the jurisdiction of the Supreme Court. Winberry v. Salisbury, $ N.J. 240,
255 (1950). It is not necessary for us to address that question since we are in
full agreement with the policy expressed.

Opinion of the Supreme Court of New Jersey

condominiums to authorize unit owner associations to sue with
respect to claims pertaining to common elements.’ /000 Grandview —
Ass’n v. Mt. Washington Associates, 434 A.2d 796 (Pa. Super.
Ct. 1981); Governors Grove Condominium Ass'n, Inc. v. Hill
Development Corp., 404 A.2d 131, 134(Conn. Super. Ct. 1979);
see also Avila South Condominium Ass’n v. Kappa Corp., 347
So. 2d 599, 607-609 (Fla. Sup. Ct. 1979), in which the Florida
Supreme Court held that the legislature did not have authority
to empower the association to sue, but accomplished the same
effect by promulgating a court rule. Contra, Deal v. 999 Lakeshore
Ass’n, 579 P.2d 775, 777-78 (Nev. 1978) (dictum); Friendly Village
Community Ass’n, Inc. v. Silva & Hill Constr. Co., 31 Cal. App.
3d 220, 225, 107 Cal. Rptr. 123, 126, 69 A.L.R.3d 1142, 1146
(1973). See generally Annot., ‘‘Standing to bring act relating to
real property of condominiums,’’ 72 A.L.R.3d 314 (1976); Annot.,
‘**Proper party plaintiff in action for injury to common areas of
condominium development,’’ 69 A.L.R.3d 1148 (1976); Note,
“Condominium Class Actions,’’ 48 St. Johns L. Rev. 1168,
1180-81 (1974).

T

If, as we have held, the association may sue to protect the
rights and interests of the unit owners in the common elemens,
does it have the exclusive right to maintain those actions?
Obviously, the unit owner has an interest in claims against the
developer arising out of damages to or defects in the common
elements. However, the association has been charged with and

9. Many condominium statutes were modeled after the Federal Housing
Administration's Mode! Statute for the Creation of Apartment Ownership, which
acknowledges the right of the association to sue on behalf of the unit owner.
See §7 of FHA Model Statute reprinted in Rohan and Reskin, 1A Condominium
Law & Practice, Appendix B-3.

l2a

Opinion of the Supreme Court of New Jersey

delegated the primary responsibility to protect those interests. ‘‘The
association .. . shall be responsible for the . . . maintenance,
repair, replacement, cleaning, and sanitation of the common
elements.’’ N.J.S.A. 46:8B-14. So long as it carries out those
functions and duties, the unit owners may not pursue individual
claims for damages to or defects in the common elements
predicated upon their tenant in common interest. The
Condominium Act contemplates as much. The association, not
the individual unit owner, may maintain and repair the common
elements. ‘‘No unit owner shall contract for or perform any
maintenance, repair, replacement, removal, alteration or
modification of the common elements or any additions thereto,
except through the association and its officers.’’ N.J.S.A.
46:8B-18. Indeed the statute authorizes the association to assess
the membership to raise those funds designated as ‘‘common
expenses.”’ NV.J.S.A. 46:8B-3(e). ‘‘A unit owner [is], by acceptance
of title .. . conclusively presumed to have agreed to pay his
proportionate share of common expenses.’’ NV.J.S.A. 46:8B-17.

It would be impractical indeed to sanction lawsuits by
individual unit owners in which their damages would represent
but a fraction of the whole. If the individual owner were permitted
to prosecute claims regarding common elements, any recovery
equitably would have to be transmitted to the association to pay
for repairs and replacements. A sensible reading of the statute
leads to the conclusion that such causes of action belong exclusively
to the association, which, unlike the individual unit owner, may
apply the funds recovered on behalf of all the owners of the
common elements. See W. Hyatt, Condominium and Homeowner
Association Practice: Community Association Law 105 (1981),
suggesting that only association be permitted to maintain action.

This is not to say that a unit owner may not act on a common
element claim upon the association’s failure to do so. In that event

13a

Opinion of the Supreme Court of New Jersey

the unit owner’s claim should be considered derivative in nature
and the association must be named as a party. Rule 4:32-5 would
be applicable. That Rule governs actions ‘‘brought to enforce a
secondary right on the part of one or more shareholders in an
association, incorporated or umincorporated, because the
association refuses to enforce rights which may properly be asserted
by it.’’

The unit owner may also sue the developer on behalf of the
association irrespective of its governing board’s willingness to sue
during the period of time that the association remains under the
control of the developer. The inherent conflict of interest is such
that the association would not be in a position to resolve conflicts
with the developer in the absence of the approval of the unit
owners, other than the developer.'* See Berman v. Gurwicz, No.
C-4576-74 (Ch. Div. 1981), aff'd o.b., No. A-3821-81-T2 (App.
Div. 1983), certif. denied, N.J. (1983). In this situation
the procedure of R. 4:32-5 would also appear to be appropriate.

The unit owner, of course, does have primary rights to
safeguard his interests in the unit he owns. N.J.S.A. 48:8B-4.
The physical extent of that property depends upon what has been
included in the common elements. This may be ascertained by

10. A similar concern about overreaching by the developer led the Legislature
to establish a rebuttable presumption of unconscionability of leases not executed
by representatives of condominium unit owners other than the developer.
N.J.S.A,. 46:8B-32(a). Rebuttable presumptions of unconscionability also apply
to numerous provisions that may be found in ‘‘leases involving condominium
property, including .. . recreational or other common facilities or areas.’’
N.J.S.A. 46:8B-32.

11. This is expressly recognized in the instant case in the Association's by-
laws. Art. 6, § 3, p. 75.

l4a

Opinion of the Supreme Court of New Jersey

examination of the statutory definition and the master deed.
Moreover, defective conditions in the common elements may also
result in injury to the unit owner and damages to his persona!
property and the unit. For example, a faulty roof may result in
personal property damage in the unit. The unit owner’s right to
maintain an action for compensation for that loss against the
wrongdoer is not extinguished or abridged by the association’s
exclusive right to seek compensation for damage to the common
element.

Further, the association’s primary right to sue does not
diminish any claim that the unit owner may have against the
association. The association’s board of directors, trustees or other
governing body have a fiduciary relationship to the unit owners,
comparable to the obligation that a board of directors of a
corporation owes to its stockholders. Acts of the governing body
should be properly authorized. Fraud, self-dealing or
unconscionable conduct at the very least should be subject to
exposure and relief. See, e.g., Papalexiou v. Tower West
Condominium, 167 N.J. Super. $16, $27 (Ch. Div. 1979); Ryan
v. Baptiste, $65 S.W.2d 196, 198 (Mo. Ct. App. 1976); Hidden
Harbour Estates, Inc. v. Norman, 309 So. 2d 180, 182 (Fla. D.
Ct. App. 1975).

IV

Our attention must next be directed to the application of
the stated principles to the facts of this case. Beginning with the
election of November 10, 1977, Hartz Mountain selected only
one of nine of the Association’s board of directors. Further, the
Developer had no directors on the board of the Recreation
Association after October 19, 1978. In January 1978 the
Association’s board of directors designated a Legal Action
Committee chaired by Sidney Siller, a plaintiff in this case, to

Sa

Opinion of the Supreme Court of New Jersey

investigate claims against the Developer relating to (a) construction
and design and (b) misrepresentation or fraud. This Committee
reported to the Board of Directors in June 1978 that major
deficiencies attributable to the Developer involved heat, air
conditioning and insulation; noise, leaks and erosion; and
inadequate parking, clubhouse, swimming and marina facilities.
There were also questions concerning shrubbery and foliage. The
Committee recommended engaging an attorney, who later became
plaintiffs’ attorney in this action, to institute the necessary
litigation. The board of directors adopted this recommendation,
but shortly thereafter the board rescinded the action engaging
that attorney and instead utilized the Association's general counsel
in its negotiations with the Developer.

A settlement was negotiated providing for the Developer to
pay $400,000 to the Association and Recreation Association and
for the Developer to receive a general release except for ‘‘repair
and replacement’’ of underground utility breaks on that part of
the common elements known as Sea Isle for a period of three years.
Insofar as the claims and general release are confined to the
common areas and facilities, we agree with the trial court and
the Appellate Division that the Association had exclusive standing
to maintain the action. We also agree with the trial court and
the Appellate Division that plaintiffs are entitled to proceed under
the fourth count of the complaint against the Association and
Recreation Association because of allegedly wrongful actions taken
by their respective boards of directors.

Plaintiffs as unit owners may also continue with their
individual causes of action based upon damages to their individual
units. Their complaint referred to such damages. The common
elements as defined in the statute, V.J.S.A. 46:8B-3(d), and in
the master deed, do not include certain items peculiar to the
individual units, such as doors and windows that open from a

16a

Opinion of the Supreme Court of New Jersey

unit. The Associations cannot preclude plaintiffs from pursuing
these claims. Each plaintiff should be prepared at the pretrial
conference to itemize these individual unit owner claims. We do
not pass upon the propriety of the class action, an issue which
is not before us.

The judgment of the Appellate Division is affirmed in part
and reversed in part. The cause is remanded for trial, costs to
abide the event.

Chief Justice Wilentz and Justices Clifford, Pollock, O’Hern
and Garibaldi join in this opinion.

Justice Handler did not participate.

17a

OPINION OF THE SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY,
APPELLATE DIVISION

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY
APPELLATE DIVISION
A-292-81T2

SIDNEY SILLER and SHIRLEY SILLER, his wife; IRVING
GAINES and CORALIE J. GAINES, his wife; MARSHALL
NATAPOFF and JANET NATAPOFF, his wife; FRANCIS
CLARK and LUCILLE CLARK, his wife; and JOEL KRAMER,
single,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,
and
HARMON COVE CONDOMINIUM II ASSOCIATION, INC.,

Plaintiff-Intervenor-
Respondent,

Vv.
HARTZ MOUNTAIN ASSOCIATES, a corporation; HARMON
COVE I CONDOMINIUM ASSOCIATION, INC., a

corporation; and HARMON COVE RECREATION
ASSOCIATION, INC., a corporation,

Defendants-Respondents.
Argued April 5, 1982 Decided April 28, 1982

Before Judges Allcorn, Francis and Morton I.
Greenberg.

18a

Opinion of the Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Division

On appeal from Superior Court, Chancery Division,
Hudson County.

John Tomasin argued the cause for appellants.

Jerome A. Vogel argued the cause for defendant-
respondent Hartz Mountain Industries Inc. (Jeffer,
Hopkinson & Vogel, attorneys).

Richard S. Miller argued the cause for defendants-
respondents Harmon Cove I Condominium Association,
Inc. and Harmon Cove Recreation Association Inc.
(Williams, Caliri, Miller, Otley & Horn, attorneys).

PER CURIAM

The judgment of the Chancery Division is affirmed
essentially for the reasons set forth by Judge Gaulkin
in his written opinion dated July 29, 1981.

Affirmed.

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a true copy of the original
on file in my office.

s/ Elizabeth McLaughlin
Clerk

19a

JUDGMENT AND ORDER OF THE SUPERIOR COURT OF
NEW JERSEY, CHANCERY DIVISION

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY
CHANCERY DIVISION
HUDSON COUNTY
DOCKET NO. C-969-80

Civil Action
SIDNEY SILLER and SHIRLEY SILLER, his wife; IRVING
GAINES and CORALIE J. GAINES, his wife; MARSHALL
NATAPOFF and JANET NATAPOFF, his wife; FRANCIS

CLARK and LUCILLE CLARK, his wife; and JOEL KRAMER,
single,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,
and
HARMON COVE CONDOMINIUM II ASSOCIATION, INC.,

Plaintiff-Intervenor-
Respondent,

Vv.

HARTZ MOUNTAIN ASSOCIATES, a corporation; HARMON
COVE I CONDOMINIUM ASSOCIATION, INC., a
corporation; and HARMON COVE RECREATION
ASSOCIATION, INC., a corporation,

Defendants-Respondents.

20a

Judgment and Order

ORDER OF DISMISSAL
(In Part)

This matter having come on before this Court on defendants’
motion to dismiss plaintiffs’ complaint on motion of Jeffer,
Hopkinson & Vogel, Esqs., Jerome A. Vogel, Esq. appearing,
attorneys for defendant Hartz Mountain Associates (erroneously
named as Hartz Mountain Industries, Inc. in the complaint but
amended on the record to Hartz Mountain Associates) and
Williams, Caliri, Miller, Otley & Horn, P.A., Terrence Dwyer,
Esq. appearing for defendants Harmon Cove I Condominium
Association, Inc. and Harmon Cove I Recreation Association,
Inc. in the presence of John Tomasin, Esq., attorney for plaintiffs,
and Feuerstein, Sachs & Maitlin, Esq., Allan Maitlin, Esq.
appearing, attorneys for Harmon Cove Condominium II
Association, Inc., and the Court having considered the pleadings,
briefs and arguments of respective counsel, and good cause
appearing therefore in accordance with the written decision of
this Court dated July 29, 1981;

It is, on this 7th day of August, 1981,
ORDERED as follows:

1. The First, Second, Third and Fifth Counts of the
complaint be and they are hereby dismissed with prejudice.

2. Plaintiffs be and they are hereby accorded an opportunity
to amend and supplement the Fourth Count of the complaint,
if they choose, to specify whether and in what manner and on
what grounds they challenge the actions of the defendants Harmon
Cove I Condominium Association, Inc. and Harmon Cove
Recreation Association, Inc., and which amendment shall be filed
on or before September 14, 1981 and in the absence of such a

2la

Judgment and Order

clarifying amendment, the Fourth Count of the complaint shall
be dismissed with prejudice.

s/ Geoffrey Gaulkin
HONORABLE GEOFFREY
GAULKIN, J.S.C.

22a

Judgment and Order

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY
CHANCERY DIVISION

Chambers of Geoffrey Gaulkin
Judge

Hudson County Courthouse
Administration Building
Jersey City, N.J. 07306

July 29, 1981

John Tomasin, Esq. P.A.
4800 Kennedy Boulevard W.
Union City, New Jersey 07087

Jerome A. Vogel, Esq.

Jeffer, Hopkinson & Vogel, Esaqs.
Law Building, Route 208
Hawthorne, New Jersey 07507

Terrence Dwyer, Esq.

Williams, Caliri, Miller, Otley & Horn, P.A.
1428 Route 23

Wayne, New Jersey 07470

Allan Maitlin, Esq.

Feuerstein, Sachs & Maitlin, Esqs.
80 Main Street

West Orange, New Jersey 07052

Re: Sidney Siller, er als v. Hartz Mountain
Associates, efc., et als
Docket No. C-969-80

23a

Judgment and Order
Gentlemen:

Plaintiffs Sidney Siller, et a/s., owners of five residence units at
Harmon Cove I, a condominium development in Secaucus, New
Jersey, brought this action seeking a variety of relief against
defendants Hartz Mountain Associates (Hartz Mountain),*
Harmon Cove I Condominium Association, Inc. (Association)
and Harmon Cove Recreation Association, Inc. (Recreation
Association). By consent of the then parties, Harmon Cove II
Condominium Association, Inc. has joined as a plaintiff-
intervenor, seeking some of the same relief demanded by the
plaintiffs as well as other relief. Defendants have moved to dismiss
the plaintiffs’ complaint on grounds that they are without capacity
or standing to assert the causes of action set forth in their verified
complaint.

The complaint alleges that Hartz Mountain was the planner,
developer, builder and seller of both the Harmon Cove I and
Harmon Cove II developments; that the Association is a non-
profit corporation which ‘‘took over the common elements’’ in
the Harmon Cove I development pursuant to the master deed
and bylaws of the Association; and that the Recreation Association
is a non-profit corporation ‘‘to which has been transferred and
conveyed control of the recreational facilities at said Harmon Cove
development . . .’’. Plaintiffs further allege that Hartz Mountain
built the premises and the common elements in a defective and
improper manner and in breach of express and implied warranties,
specifying a variety of asserted construction defects both in the
residential buildings and in the outlying structures and areas,

* Hartz Mountain was erroneously named as Hartz Mountain Industries,
Inc., a corporation; the appropriate amendment was noted on the record at
argument but was never memorialized in an order.

24a

Judgment and Order

including recreational areas. Based on those allegations, plaintiffs
seek ‘‘specific performance to compel Hartz Mountain to
specifically perform its undertakings’’ (First Count) as well as
for damages (Second Count). Plaintiffs further seek certification
of their action as a class action (Third Count).

The critical issues on the present application are focused by the
Fourth Count, in which plaintiffs allege that the Association and
the Recreation Association undertook to assert and to negotiate
and were purporting to settle the claims of all unit owners against
Hartz Mountain; that plaintiffs and other unit owners have not
been adequately informed or consulted with respect to any such
negotiations or settlement; and that in any event the causes of
action against Hartz Mountain are not within the authority of
the Association or the Recreation Association to settle. Accordingly
plaintiffs seek declaratory judgment ‘‘that such settlement is
beyond the powers’’ of the Association and Recreation
Association; and they seek an injunction against the settlement
without the consent of the unit owners and ‘‘a majority of property
owners after full disclosure of all facts and reports as to common
elements... .’’.

When the complaint was filed plaintiffs’ application for temporary
restraints against the consummation of the contemplated settlement
was denied upon representations by counsel for all defendants
that any settlement would ‘‘be subject to any and all future rulings
of the court upon the issues pleaded in the verified complaint.”’
An order memorializing that understanding was entered November
24, 1980.

No question is raised here as to plaintiffs’ rights, as members

of the Association and Recreation Association, to seek relief
against those entities for any assertedly wrongful actions taken
by their managements. See Papalexious v. Tower West

25a

‘Judgment and Order

Condominium, 167 N.J. Super. 516 (Ch. Div. 1979). Nor does
this motion present the question whether individual unit owners
can assert claims on behalf of all when their association fails to
act. What is at issue, rather, is whether the Association and
Recreation Association are without lawful authority to settle, on
behalf of all the unit owners, the claims against Hartz Mountain.

The relations and rights of the parties are fixed by the
Condominium Act, V.J.S.A. 46:8B-1, et seg. The act defines a
**condominium’”’ as

. . . the form of ownership of real property under
a master deed providing for ownership by one or
more owners of units of improvements together
with an undivided interest in common elements
appurtenant to each such unit. [N.J.S.A.
46:8B-3(h)]

The ‘‘unit’’ owned by the ‘‘unit owner’’ is defined as being ‘‘a
part of the condominium property designed or intended for any
type of independent use. . .”’ and includes ‘‘the proportionate
undivided interest in the common elements...”’ N.J.S.A.
46:8B-3(0). ‘‘Common elements”’ is defined to include essentially
all of the portions of the development which are alleged by
plaintiffs here to havc been improperly constructed:

(iii) yards, gardens, walkways, parking areas and
driveways, excluding any specifically reserved or
limited to a particular unit or group of units;

(iv) portions of the land or any improvement or
appurtenance reserved exclusively for the

management, operation or maintenance of the

26a

Judgment and Order

common elements or of the condominium
property;

(v) installations of all central services and utilities;

(vi) all apparatus and installations existing or
intended for common use;

(vii) all other elements of any improvement
necessary or convenient to the existence,
management, Operation, maintenance and safety
of the condominium property or normally in
common use. [N.J.S.A. 46:8B-3(d)]

The proportionate interest in the common elements is ‘‘inseparable
from such unit’’ and

... Shall remain undivided and shall not be the
object of an action for partition or division. The
right of any unit owner to the use of the common
elements shall be a right in common with all other
unit owners (except to the extent that the master
deed provides for limited common elements) to use
such common elements in accordance with the
reasonable purposes for which they are intended
without encroaching upon the lawful rights of the
other unit owners. [NV.J.S.A. 46:8B-6].

Creation of a condominium requires the execution and recording
of a master deed, NV.J.S.A. 46:8B-8, which must include ‘‘the
name and nature of the association. . ."’, N.J.S.A. 46:8B-k).
“Association is defined as “‘the entity responsible for the
administration of a condominium, which entity may be
incorporated or unincorporated.’ N.J.S.A. 46:B-3(b).

27a

Judgment and Order

The association thus required by statute is

.. responsible for the administration and
management of the condominium and
condominium property, including but not limited
to the conduct of all activities of common interest
to the unit owners. [N.J.S.A. 46:8B-12]

Among its duties are ‘‘the maintenance, repair, replacement,
cleaning and sanitation of the common elements.’’ N.J.S.A.
46:8B-14. And, subject to the provisions of the master deed and
its bylaws, the association ‘‘shall be an entity which shall act
through its officers and may enter into contracts, bring suit and
be sued.”’ N.J.S.A. 46:8B-15(a).

These provisions, read together with the remaining provisions of
the Condominium Act, make abundantly clear the legislative intent
to provide a mechanism by which the common interests of unit
owners will be protected and advanced. That mechanism is the
association, which, granted responsibility to conduct ‘‘all activities
of common interest to the unit owners’’, indisputably has authority
to act in behalf of all unit owners with respect to common
elements. Indeed, at oral argument, counsel for plaintiffs
acknowledged that an association could properly contract on
behalf of all unit owners, for example, to repave a parking area;
and that, if the quality of the contractor’s performance was
disputed, the association could properly institute and settle
litigation on behalf of all unit owners. Plaintiffs argue, however,
that the statute allots to the association responsibility only for
“‘administration’’, ‘‘management’’ and ‘“‘operation’’ of the
common elements, while the assertion of substantial claims against
the original developer-owner involves ‘‘attributes of ownership
and vindication of fundamental rights’’ which are beyond the

28a

Judgment and Order

contemplation of the statute, the master deed or the relevant
bylaws.

Neither the language nor the sense of the statute, the master deed
or the Association or Recreation Association bylaws warrants the
distinction thus urged. Realistic and practical application of the
Statutory scheme requires that the language used in and pursuant
to the statute be liberaliy construed to include the assertion and
settlement of claims on behalf of unit owners against the developer
with respect to common elements. To deprive the associations
of the right to act on behalf of all unit owners in such matters
would leave the responsibility for and authority over the common
elements fragmented and thus make vindication of the common
rights highly uncertain, difficult and burdensome. The statute is
clearly designed to avoid just that result.

The law cited from other jurisdictions is not persuasive of a
contrary view. The cases upon which plaintiffs rely arose under
early condominium statutes which were silent as to the right of
the association to sue on behalf of unit owners; finding no specific
authority granted to the association, courts relied on strict local
pleading rules to find that claims must be prosecuted by the real
parties in interest, that is, the unit owners themselves. See, e.z.,
Friendly Village Community Assoc., Inc. v. Silva & Hill Const.
Co., 31 Cal. App. 3d 220, 107 Cal. Rptr. 123 (1973); Rubenstein
v. Burleigh House, Inc., 305 So. 2d 311 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1974);
Deal v. 999 Lakeshore Association, 94 Nev. 301, 579 P. 2d 775
(1978). On the other hand, where the legislative language or local
pleading rules have been found to permit, the right of the
association to sue in behalf of all unit owners with respect to
common elements has been upheld. See, e.g., Owens v. Tiber
Island Condominium Assoc., 373 A 2d 890 (D.C. 1977); Greentree
Condominium Assoc., Inc. v. RSP Corp., 36 Conn. Supp. 160,
415 A 2d 248 (Super. Ct. 1980); Wittington Condominium

29a

Judgment and Order

Apartments, Inc. v. Braemar Corp., 313 So. 2d 463 (Dist. Ct.
App. 1975), cert. den. 327 So. 2d 31 (Fla. 1976). See, generally,
Note, ‘‘Condominium Class Actions’’, 48 St. John's L. Rev. 1168
(1974); Annots., 72 ALR 3d 314 (1976), 69 ALR 3d 1148 (1976).

In New Jersey representative associations have long had standing
to sue on behalf of their members even in the absence of statutory
authority. See, e.g., Crescent Park Tenants Assoc. v. Realty
Equities Corp. of N.Y., §8 N.J. 98 (1971). Our Condominium
Act goes well beyond a mere permissive grant of standing: the
statute fixes the substantive rights and duties of a condominium
association. By describing rights in common elements as indivisible
and held in common and giving to the association all responsibility
for ‘‘administration and management”’ and for ‘‘the conduct of
all activities of common interest’’ with the right to ‘‘bring suit’’,
the statute must be said to grant to the Association and Recreation
Association here the right to act on behalf of all unit owners in
asserting and litigating or settling their common elements claims
against Hartz Mountain. Defendants’ application to dismiss the
complaint is therefore granted with respect to the First, Second,
Third and Fifth Counts, all of which assert causes of action against
Hartz Mountain alone.

As earlier noted, however, that disposition does not determine
or limit the rights of plaintiffs to challenge on either procedural
or substantive grounds the actions taken or contemplated on their
behalf by the Association and the Recreation Association. See
Papalexiou v. Tower West Condominium, supra. The Fourth
Count of the complaint may be read as addressing such issues,
though indistinctly. Plaintiffs shall be accorded 30 days from the
date hereof to amend and supplement the Fourth Count of the
complaint, if they choose, to specify whether and in what manner
and on what grounds they challenge the actions of the Association
or Recreation Association; in the absence of such a clarifying

30a

Judgment and Order

amendment, the Fourth Count will as well be dismissed on the
grounds already stated.

Defendants may submit an appropriate form of order pursuant
to R. 4:42-1.

Very truly yours,

s/ Geoffrey Gaulkin
GEOFFREY GAULKIN, J.S.C.

GG/rs

3la

EXCERPTS OF VERIFIED COMPLAINT FILED NOVEMBER
13, 1980 WITH ATTACHMENT

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY
CHANCERY DIVISION-HUDSON COUNTY
DOCKET NO.:

SIDNEY SILLER and SHIRLEY SILLER, his wife; IRVING
GAINES and CORALIE GAINES, his wife; MARSHALL
NATAPOFF and JANET NATAPOFF, his wife, FRANCIS
CLARK and LUCILLE CLARK, his wife; and JOEL KRAMER,
single;

Plaintiffs,

VS.

HARTZ MOUNTAIN INDUSTRIES, INC., a corporation;
HARMON COVE I CONDOMINIUM ASSOCIATION, INC.,
a corporation; and HARMON COVE RECREATION
ASSOCIATION, INC., a corporation,

Defendants.

Plaintiffs, residing at Harmon Cove, Secaucus, New Jersey,
say:

FIRST COUNT

1. Plaintiffs are individual owners of residences at Harmon
Cove I, a condominium development located in Secaucus,

10. Plaintiffs bring this action on behalf of themselves and
on behalf of all owners of condominium properties in Harmon

32a

Excerpts of Verified Complaint

Cove Development Area I, Secaucus, New Jersey, similarly
situated; (some 360 homes valued at approx. $100,000.00 each
or more) and will move for an appropriate Order to determine
the existence and propriety of such class action element to this
lawsuit.

11. Plaintiffs, as individual property owners, have individual
rights as property owners to protect their own investment and
the present and future value of their individual condominium
properties, including future resale value, aside and apart from
their proportionate interest as holders of rights in the common
elements, which are administered by the defendant associations.

12. Plaintiffs seek Judgment for specific performance to
compel Hartz Mountain Industries, Inc. to specifically perform
its undertakings, to plan, design, develop and build the
condominium homes and the common elements of adequate
materials and workmanship, in a safe and reliable manner; and
seek Judgment compelling Hartz Mountain Industries, Inc. to
specifically perform said obligations and to correct, replace and
reconstruct all the defects and deficiencies caused by their breach
of express and implied warranties, arising from the development
and sale by it of said condominium premises aforesaid.

13. There 1s no adequate remedy at law for the relief required,
as plaintiffs have taken title, moved in and live in the Harmon
Cove I Development Area.

i4. Such rights and claims did not merge in any closing
because (a) not discoverable until after closing; (b) were continuing
warranties under appropriate law; (c) were renewed by Hartz
Mountain Industries at each closing; (d) continued due to Hartz
Mountain influence and representation on the Boards of defendant
associations after closings.

33a

Excerpts of Verified Complaint

WHEREFORE, plaintiffs demand Judgment for specific
performance, requiring Hartz Mountain Industries, Inc. to correct,
replace and reconstruct all of the said defects and deficiencies
resulting from the breach of express warranties and implied
warranties aforesaid.

SECOND COUNT

1. Plaintiffs repeat the allegations contained in the First
Count.

2. Hartz Mountain Industries, Inc. planned, designed,
developed, built and sold said condominium properties and the
said common elements in such a negligent and defective manner,
with negligent and inadequate studies and testing; with inadequate
plans, specifications and safeguards for the conditions at the site;
and with inadequate supervision, testing and inspection; and of
such defective materials and workmanship, as to allow the
condominium units in Harmon Cove I and the common elements
to be built in an unsafe and defective manner, which defects were
not apparent when the individual premises, as well as the common
element premises, were transferred by the seller, as aforesaid.

3. As the direct and proximate result of the carelessness and
negligence of the defendant Hartz Mountain Industries, Inc., the
individual condominium premises were improperly designed,
planned, developed and built; as were the common elements; and
after passage of some time, said serious defects and deficiencies
became known, to the damage of plaintiffs, as well as all property
owners in the class, who own property in said development; and
who have a proportional interest in the common elements, as
aforesaid.

4. Hartz Mountain Industries, Inc. knew, or ought to have
known, that the tests and studies were inadequate and that the

34a

Excerpts of Verified Complaint

individual units, as well as the common elements, were defective,
as designed, planned, developed and built; and as a direct and
proximate result of the carelessness and negligence of Hartz
Mountain Industries, Inc., the plaintiffs, as well as all owners
in the same class similarly situated, and all owners of proportional
interests in the common elements, have suffered damage, and will
in the future suffer additional damage, as follows:

(a) Substantial monies have been spent in past years to try
to correct the defects caused by the negligence and carelessness
of defendants, which sums should be reimbursed to plaintiffs and
to the two defendant associations, with interest, counsel fees and
costs;

(b) Future costs necessitated by present and future efforts
to stabilize and correct the defects and deficiencies above stated,
should be determined and reimbursed by defendant Hartz
Mountain Industries, Inc. to plaintiffs and to the two defendant
associations;

(c) The present and future loss and damages caused by present
limitations, and future decrease, in value of the common elements,
as the defects continue and the common elements deteriorate, due
to the negligence, carelessness, defects and deficiencies, and
breaches of warranty caused by defendant Hartz Mountain
Industries, Inc.

(d) The present and future loss and damages caused by present
limitation and future decrease in value of the individual homes
of individual property owners, as such defect continue and the
individual units deteriorate, due to the negligence, carelessness,
defects, deficiencies and breaches of warranty caused by defendant
Hartz Mountain Industries, Inc.

35a

Excerpts of Verified Complaint

WHEREFORE, plaintiffs demand Judgment for damages,
interest, counsel fees and costs.

THIRD COUNT

1. Plaintiffs repeat the allegations contained in the First and
Second Counts.

2. The property owners in Harmon Cove Area I, other than
plaintiffs, are similarly situated and common questions of law
and fact apply to their individual condominium units, which also
have similar defects and deficiencies caused by the breach of
express and implied warranties, as well as the carelessness and
negligence of Hartz Mountain Industries, Inc.; including their
proportionate share of the common elements, which are
administered by the defendant associations, and adequate notice,
reports and participation in this litigation, are required if a class
action should be approved; and plaintiffs seek Orders establishing
such class and making adequate provisions for notice, reports
and for representation for the benefit of all members of said class,
as aforesaid.

WHEREFORE, plaintiffs demand Judgment for similar relief
to be granted in this case to all members in the class; namely
all owners of condominium properties, and proportional owners
of the common elements, in Harmon Cove Area I, Secaucus, N.J.

FIFTH COUNT

1. Plaintiffs repeat the allegations contained in the First,
Second, Third and Fourth Counts.

36a

Excerpts of Verified Complaint

2. As the result of the breach of the express and implied
warranties by of Hartz Mountain Industries, Inc. and their
carelessness and negligent design, planning, development and
construction of the said condominium units and common elements,
as aforesaid, numerous expenditures and repairs have been made
by the defendant associations, which are properly attributable to
and the responsibility of, the defendant Hartz Mountain Industries,
Inc.

3. No adequate record or accounting of such expenses (as
opposed to proper ordinary and regular association upkeep and
maintenance expenses) have ever been compiled or allocated, and
made available to the individual property owners, as well as to
the members of the defendant associations. Such accounting is
necessary in order that Hartz Mountain Industries, Inc. may
reimburse plaintiffs and home owners similarly situated, as well
as the defendant associations, for such costs and charges, and
accordingly, an accounting thereof is absolutely essential by Hartz
Mountain Industries, Inc. and by defendant associations.

4. In addition, individual property owners have been put to
various expenses to try to correct and ameliorate the effects of
such defects and deficiencies in their own units, which expenses
must also be reimbursed to the individual property owners by
the defendant Hartz Mountain Industries, Inc.

5. Such calculations will be numerous, detailed and complex,
and an accounting will be necessary in order to adequately
determine the nature and extent of all such allocations and
payments, and to determine the amounts that Hartz Mountain
Industries, Inc. should reimburse plaintiffs and others similarly
situated, as well as the two defendant associations, for all expenses
and outlays in all past years, caused by the breachs of warranty
and the negligence and carelessness of defendant Hartz Mountain

37a

Excerpts of Verified Complaint

Industries, Inc., and by its negligent design, planning, development
and building of said Harmon Cove I Condominiums and common
elements (a) to do equity, and (b) to prevent unjust enrichment
of defendant Hartz Mountain Industries, Inc.

WHEREFORE, plaintiffs demand Judgment for accounting
and reimbursement by defendant Hartz Mountain Industries, Inc.,

(a) to plaintiffs and all others similarly situated for
reimbursement of such expenses and outlays as to
individual condominium units;

(b) to defendant associations for reimbursement of
such expenses and outlays as to the common elements;

(c) generally, on all counts, such other relief as may
be just and equitable.

JOHN TOMASIN, ESQ. P.A.

s/ John Tomasin
JOHN TOMASIN,
ATTORNEY FOR PLAINTIFFS

EXHIBIT ‘‘A”’

WILLIAMS, CALIRI, MILLER, OTLEY & HORN
A Professional Corporation

1428 Route 23, Wayne, New Jersey 07470

[Area Code 201] 694-0600

38a

Excerpts of Verified Comp’aint
October 23, 1980

Mr. Eugene Heller

Hartz Mountain Industries, Inc.
One Harmon Plaza

P.O. Box 1411

Secaucus, NJ 07094

Re: Harmon Cove I Condominium Association and
Harmon Cove Recreation Association -
Dispute with Hartz

Dear Mr. Heller:

This will confirm the settlement proposal put forth by your
organization at our meeting today. Subject to Board approvals
the above dispute will be settled upon the following terms:

1. Hartz will pay Harmon Cove I and Harmon Cove
Recreation Association the sum of $150,000.00 now.

2. Hartz will pay Harmon Cove I and Harmon Cove
Recreation an additional $250,000.00 in six equal annual
installments. There will be no interest payable on the outstanding
balances. The payments will commence one year after the
settlement.

3. Hartz will be entitled to a General Release from Harmon
Cove Recreation Association which release will specifically include
but not be limited to problems which may be experienced with
the Marina Bulkhead.

4. Hartz will be entitled to a General Release from Harmon
Cove I with the following described exception.

39a

Excerpts of Verified Complaint

5. Hartz acknowledges its responsibility for the cost of
repairing underground utility breaks on Sea Isle for a period of
three years.

As I advised you, I will recommend the settlement to the
two Boards. It is my belief that they should and will find this
acceptable. I further acknowledge that this is Hartz’s final offer
and that any further negotiations will prove fruitless.

We hope to convene special meeting of the Boards during
the next week or ten days to secure the requisite approvals.

Sincerely,
s/ Terry Dwyer
Terrence Dwyer

TD:dk

40a

EXCERPTS FROM ORIGINAL BRIEF IN SUPERIOR

COURT, CHANCERY DIVISION, ON DEFENDANTS’

MOTION TO DISMISS COMPLAINT ARGUED DECEMBER
19, 1980

Page 4 (Paragraph 9):

This is of crucial importance because the
Condominium Act expressly guarantees to unit
owners full and complete rights, as owners of real
property — equal to ail other owners of real estate.
(Emphasis in original.)

Page 5 (Paragraph 10):

.. (Role of Association is to administer and
maintain facilities). . .not to settle the claims all
owners have, for breach of warranty in the
contract, performance and sale of the
condominiums, to the owners. (Emphasis in
original.)

Page 5 (Paragraph 11):

11. The Unit Owners, by permitting the
associations to administer and manage the common
elements, thus never gave up their property rights
as owners, including their individual claims and
collective class actions as purchase-owners, for
breach of warranty, for the original defective
design, planning, building and development of the
condominium property, and as further stated in
the complaint. (Emphasis in original.)

4la

Excerpts from Original Brief
Page 5 (Paragraph 12):

12. Nothing in the brief of either defendant
contains any authoritative provision to the
contrary, and the inherently limited and
subordinate role of the associations can in no way
deprive the Unit Owners of their own individual
and collective property rights, including their right
to vindicate all ownership rights for breach of
warranty for defective plumbing, design, building
and development of the condominium property.

42a

EXCERPTS FROM HEARING TRANSCRIPT OF MOTION

TO DISMISS COMPLAINT HEARD BY NEW JERSEY

SUPERIOR COURT, CHANCERY DIVISION DATED
DECEMBER 19, 1980

[Commencing at page 16]

To me what we now have to do is look at the statutory
scheme. Was that the intent of the Legislature.

THE COURT: That’s a problem, and I think one of the
briefs calls that the tail wagging the dog.

MR. TOMASIN: May I respond to that briefly, your
Honor.

THE COURT: Yes.

MR. TOMASIN: Counsel would love to have this whole
case in point degenerate into a question of dissidents, because
that begs the question that the plaintiffs are members of the
Association, and that that completely defines their rights and
status.

We're not in a business. We’re owners of property who have
property rights independent of the Association, whose role it was
for the owners to run the condominium, if it had been properly
built in the first place. It is a very clever way of limiting the
question here by talking of dissidents and dissatisfied people.

We're not dissidents. We’re just owners of property under
the statute like every other owner, who [17] has rights pertaining
to ownership, . .

43a

Excerpts from Hearing Transcript

This case, I think, your Honor, must hinge on the nature
of the condominium law. No provision, no argument, can go
beyond the intent and purpose of the statute itself, and the statute
itself made it clear that the unit owners own property like any
other owner of real estate, and that the common elements are
[18] inextricably connected with that ownership, that any
convenience or device, whether it be by means of an association
or otherwise, to administer those are still subject and subordinate
to the ownership rights of each individual owner, and even when
legal title to one small portion in the recreational field, and nakedly
the title is in the association, the equitable title is with the owners
of the real estate whose property is enhanced and whose value
is determined by the common elements.

This argument that Cou..sel makes, that the Associations have
some superior, exclusive or overriding right, has been decided
in the states where you expect condominium law to be made —
California, Florida, Connecticut. We cited the cases. In each and
every case, the exact question was decided, and the condominium
associations had no such standing. They were not the real parties
in interest. The class actions inured in the owners and only the
owners.

[19] In the New Jersey law, the only phrase that they can
point to is a phrase that a condominium association can sue and
be sued. Of course it can. If it hires somebody to plow the parking
lot or to fix the building within their sphere, naturally they have
to be able to vindicate that right.

dda

Excerpts from Hearing Transcript
MR. TOMASIN: Yes, and any argument can be carried
out to an extreme where the extreme makes the rule look peculiar;
but, as a matter of fact, the question here is as to a claim against
the developer by an owner. When he says I want to sue the
developer, the [20] question is does he have that right or doesn’t
he. Did he give it away somehow or other, and in that case—

THE COURT: So that even though by your theory the
Association would not have standing itself—

MR. TOMASIN: Precisely.

{Commencing at page 29]
MR. TOMASIN: Just three sentences, if I may.

Mr. Vogel, number one, misunderstands my argument with
respect to lawsuits that the condominium association is involved
in where it buys materials and fixes a building and it collapses.
The owners have no right to interfere in that type of matter.

All of the matters that the Association has with respect to
managing, maintaining, repairing and handling the common
elements, under the statute, they have the right to sue and be
sued. Those decisions and those lawsuits are their exclusive
province. I have never said otherwise.

What I am saying here is the dog is the owners. The tail is
the Association that was delegated for one limited function;
namely, handling the common elements, and it is the owners’

4Sa

Excerpts from Hearing Transcript

rights to vindicate their contract property rights that they are
asserting here in which the Association claims that they have a
right to block.

[30] MR. TOMASIN: It’s acompletely different story from
what we are contending in this case. In this case the rights antedate
the Associations. These rights go back when the place was first
built, before they had conveyed — at the time they were conveyed,
and during the time when Hartz controlled both the Associations,
and it’s a completely different cause of action that’s involved here.
Property rights of owners are involved here.

THE COURT: What’s your position as to the Recreation
Association?

MR. TOMASIN: My position is the Recreation Association
— is that although naked legal title to the recreational facilities
is in the recreation nonprofit corporation, that it has no beneficial
ownership. It is merely a trustee and fiduciary. The equity is in
the owners under the condominium laws, and that all of the [31]
rights and all of the attributes of ownership inure in the owners.

MR. TOMASIN: It’s as if a developer, Hartz here, instead
of selling [32] condominium units, sold a hundred houses with
the land and a little fence and so forth, a conventional house,
to a hundred different owners, and then also conveyed a swimming
pool to an association to run and manage.

The fact that the swimming pool is run jointly or a contract
was made for that association to mow the lawns doesn’t take away

46a

Excerpts from Hearing Transcript

the owners’ rights. The owners’ rights as real estate owners are
not affected.

47a

EXCERPTS FROM BRIEF BEFORE SUPERIOR COURT OF
NEW JERSEY, APPELLATE DIVISION

It is thus clear by relevant statutory language that the ultimate
ownership of a// the condominium property and all the common
elements, remains in the individual owners, who have the right
to sell same; and the right to protect their investment and value
like any other owner of real property; and only they can settle
or litigate claims which have damaged and diminished same in
the past; are continuing; and will damage and diminish same in
the future. Breach of contract between owner and developer was
never entrusted to the association, which merely operates,
maintains and manages the common elements only.

13. The Legislature in creating such flexible and valuable
method of holding, developing, conveying, and owning
condominium property, thus conditioned same, and provided that
the individual condominium owners are true owners in fee simple
of all the units and ail the common elements, with rights equal
with all other types of real estate owners.

14. Under RS 46:8B-7, any private agreement, whether by
deed, by-laws, ‘“‘rules’’, etc. (or court decision?).

**..-contrary to the provisions of this act shall
be void.”’

17. RS 46:8B-14 delineates the ‘‘Duties of the association’’,
which involve basically: —

(a) ‘*The maintenance, repair, replacement, cleaning and
sanitation of the common elements.’’

48a

Excerpts from Brief Before Superior Court of New Jersey,
Appellate Division

(b) assessment of common expenses to owners (which
confirms owners as the real parties in interest, a vital concept).

(c) adoption of rules governing use of the common
elements, subject to the right of the owners to change same.

All are obviously related and /imited to, the continuing duty
to administer and manage the condominium property and common
elements, not to own same, or exercise the prerogatives of
ownership, which have not been confided or conveyed to the
associations.

s ¢ 8
POINT II
*s 2 8

2. As tothe purchase and sale agreements with Developer,
the unit owners acquired title to individual condominiums and
the appurtenant proportionate parts by percentage of the common
elements, as real estate owners. As such owners, under the
Condominium Act, they acquired the right to deal with such ‘‘---
real property-—’’ fully, ‘‘---in the same manner as is otherwise
permitted by law for any other parcel of real property’’. RS
46:8B-4.

3. Accordingly, they have the right to protect their
investment and its market value; as well as to litigate for damages,
and for declaratory judgment, accounting; breach of warranty;

49a

Excerpts from Brief Before Superior Court of New Jersey,
Appellate Division

breach of contract; negligence and all the other relief sought in
the complaint.

... Since the Unit Owners will ultimately pay the ¢osts and
assessments, and face liens if they do not, they are the real parties
in interest even as to costs of repairs; not to mention their
additional rights to prevent deterioration of the Common
Elements, due to breach of warranty and negligence, which must
affect the market ability of their property; the value of their
investment; and the past, present and future enjoyment of their
property, and the resale value of their property.

9. It is submitted that nowhere in the country does
general language giving associations the right to contract
and to sue within their sphere, serve to detract or deprive
the unit owners of their property rights as owners in fee
simple of their rights to preserve protect and defend their
property interests, particularly antecedent breach of
contract and warranty claims as between Developer-Seller
and Owner-Buyer.

11. Any other rule would deprive condominium
property owners of property rights without due process
of law.

50a

EXCERPTS FROM PETITION FOR CERTIFICATION TO
THE NEW JERSEY SUPREME COURT

STATEMENT OF QUESTIONS INVOLVED
Under the New Jersey Condominium Act, RS 46:8B-1, et seq:

1. Do individual buyer-owners of individual condominium
townhouse residences in fee simple absolute, under RS 46:8B-6(q),
have standing to sue the seller-developer thereof for breach of
contract, breach of warranty, negligent and defective planning
and design; and negligent and defective construction thereof, and
diminished market value thereof?

4. Is a construction of RS 46:8B-12, that non-profit
associations, formed the ‘‘administration and management’’ of
the condominium property, have exclusive jurisdiction and
standing on all lawsuits and claims whatsoever, against the
developer (including claims of breach of contract, breach of
warranty, etc., that antedate construction, sale and closing of title),
to the exclusion of buyer-owners, sound?

6. Would such a construction discriminate against them as
owners of real property in fee simple, and deprive them of property
rights without legal protection and without due process of law,
in the light of RS 46:8B-4, which provides that owners of
condominium real estate are accorded full rights as ‘‘-—permitted
by law for any other parcel of real property’’.

Sla

Excerpts from Petition for Certification to the New Jersey Supreme
Court

7. It is submitted that there is no basis in law for depriving
contract owners in fee simple of their right, as real parties in
interest, to sue developer for breach of contract; breach of
warranty, etc. The role of the associations is to ‘administer and
manage’ the common elements, nof usurp the independent
property right of owners.

ARGUMENT
POINT THREE

1. If the Condominium Act were construed to relegate
buyer-owners of condominium real estate property to the mere
status of quasi-stockholders or members of non-profit
corporations, whose rights are totally determined by volunteer
Boards of Directors of non-profit corporations, formed to
**manage and administer’ the common elements after contract
of sale and closing, (as if the non-profit corporations were the
beneficial-owners) subject only to a suit against such directors
for fraud or abuse of discretion or the like, such construction
would unlawfully discriminate against such condominium owners
as a class of real estate owners — as opposed to ofher owners
of real property. It would deprive condominium owners of valuable
property rights, without due process of law.

2. Such construction would cause grievous uncertainty and
ultimately chaos in the marketability and value of such
condominium real estate, purchased in reliance on RS 46:8B-6(q)
which expressly provides that condominium owners are owners
of real estate “‘--fee simple—"’ and RS 46:8B-4 that such
condominium owners may deal with their property

52a

Excerpts from Petition for Certification to the New Jersey Supreme

Court

‘‘.—in the same manner as is otherwise
permitted by law for any other parcel of real

property-—"

3. Condominium real property is a vested right in real estate,
which requires stability to maintain marketability.

8. The ownership in fee simple of the condominium real
estate being clear, and the common elements being ‘‘---appurtenant
to each such unit--’’, RS 46:8B-3(h), and ‘‘-—-belonging thereto
or intended for the benefit thereof—’’ to be administered without
**.encroachment upon the lawful rights of the other unit owners’’
(RS 46:8B-6), the vested rights of such owners cannot be
diminished, taken away or prejudiced without due process of law.

No cause is shown to discriminate against condominium real
estate buyers in their right to sue for breach of contract, breach
of warranty; defective design, planning and construction of the
condominium town houses, equal to the buyer-owners of any other
real estate.

9. The Constitutions of the United States and of New Jersey
prohibit such lack of due process; discrimination among those
similarly situated; and lack of equal protection of the laws.

10. Constitutional equal protection applies to acts of the
Legislature, and also ‘‘—-decisions of its Courts’’, Jersey Shore
v. Estate of Baum, 84 N.J. 137 at p. 145 (1980).

11. No rational basis or classification to bar plaintiffs as
buyer-owners of real estate from sueing seller-developer appears.

S3a

Excerpts from Petition for Certification to the New Jersey Supreme
Court

Their real estate contracts antedate the involvment of the
management associations, and are the same as any other real estate
contract. Such bar must fall, as an unlawful deprival of vested
property rights, without due process or equal protection of law.

12. A radical construction of the Condominium Act by
indirection, whereby the general non-mandatory grant of power
to ‘‘sue and be sued’’ to non-profit corporations, becomes an
exclusive right; and the owners are deprived of their rights, has
no basis in law, justice or equity.

13. To exalt the general non-mandatory ‘‘right to sue’’ in
some cases, to deprive owners of their right to sue in other cases,
is to raise simplistic literalness to a commandment, for which there
is no authority in law. The surest way to misconstrue a statute
is to read it too literally. Schiershead v. Birgantine, 29 N.J. 220.

fhe

S4a

RELEVANT STATUTES
RS 46:8B-1. Short title — Revised Statutes of New Jersey

This act shall be known and may be cited as the
*‘Condominium Act.’’ L.1969, c. 257, §1, eff. Jan. 7, 1970.

46:8B-3. Definitions

The following words and phrases as used in this act shall
have the meanings set forth in this section unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

a. ‘“‘Assigns’’ means any person to whom rights of a unit
owner have been validly transferred by lease, mortgage or
otherwise.

b. ‘‘Association’’ means the entity responsible for the
administration of a condominium, which entity may be
incorporated or unincorporated.

c. **Bylaws’’ means the governing regulations adopted under
this act for the administration and management of the property.

d. ‘‘Common elements’’ means:
(i) the land described in the master deed;

(ii) as to any improvement, the foundations, structural
and bearing parts, supports, main walls, roofs, basements, halls,
corridors, lobbies, stairways, elevators, entrances, exits and other
means of access, excluding any specifically reserved or limited
to a particular unit or group of units;

4
* «as

55a

Relevant Statutes

(iii) yards, gardens, walkways, parking areas and
driveways, excluding any specifically reserved or limited to a
particular unit or group of units;

(iv) portions of the land or any improvement or
appurtenance reserved exclusively for the management, operation
or maintenance of the common elements or of the condominium

property;
(v) installations of all central services and utilities;

(vi) all apparatus and installations existing or intended
for common use;

(vii) all other elements of any improvement necessary
or convenient to the existence, management, operation,
maintenance and safety of the condominium property or normally
in common use; and

(viii) such other elements and facilities as are designated
in the master deed as common elements.

e. ‘Common expenses’’ means expenses for which the unit
owners are proportionately liable, including but not limited to:

(i) all expenses of administration, maintenance, repair
and replacement of the common elements;

(ii) expenses agreed upon as common by all unit owners;
and

(iii) expenses declared common by provisions of this act
or by the master deed or by the bylaws.

56a

Relevant Statutes

f. ‘“‘Common receipts’’ means:

(i) rent and other charges derived from leasing or
licensing the use of common elements;

(ii) funds collected from unit owners as common
expenses or otherwise; and

(iii) receipts designated as common by the provisions
of this act or by the master deed or the bylaws.

g. ‘“‘Common surplus’’ means the excess of all common
receipts over all common expenses.

h. ‘‘*Condominium’’ means the form of ownership of real
property under a master deed providing for ownership by one
or more owners of units of improvements together with an
undivided interest in common elements appurtenant to each such
unit.

i. ‘*Condominium property’’ means the land covered by the
master deed, whether or not contiguous and all improvements
thereon, all owned either in fee simple or under lease, and all
easements, rights and appurtenances belonging thereto or intended
for the benefit thereof.

j. “‘Developer’’ means the person or persons who create a
condominium or lease, sell or offer to lease or sell a condominium
or units of a condominium in the ordinary course of business,
but does not include an owner or lessee of a unit who has acquired
his unit for his own

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_0437%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
