# Opposition — Fusaro v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_0127%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 464 U.S. 1007

## Text

| Office- Supreme Raur
me Court, U.S.
FILED

Noy 15 @3

No. 83-124

i
;
'
' “ -
‘= . (AS

In the Supreme Court of the Mnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

NUNZIATO FUSARO, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMFPICA

ON PETITION FORA WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIRST CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

Rex E. Lee
Solicitor General

STEPHEN S. TROTT
Assistant Attorney General

PATRICK COUGHLIN
Attorney

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether petitioner’s indictment charging violations
of 18 U.S.C. 1005 adequately alleged that petitioner acted
with intent to injure or defraud.

2. Whether, after the district court conducted a hearing
and determined that a conversation between the jury fore-
man and an FBI agent who was not involved in petitioner’s
case did not result in any prejudice, the court should also
have examined the juror despite petitioner's failure to
request such an examination.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CC co c6ecteenseuxsenteces esas
Py cccbecbe neat eas Sed wenewe sees
DEES Ui ecdcasevesevccduoses een beaee
PE Ss es cba bv sess cs te cec eas vencces

I Sn a ad i ne

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Hagner v. United States, 285 U.S.427 .
Hamling vy. United States, 418 U.S. 87 .

Harrison v. United States, 279 F.2d 19,
cert. denied, 364 U.S. 864 ...........

Morissette v. United States, 342 U.S.
UU ctr bulk baa dees nes peat) cede k es

RCE LEs duh ua eiiedhes dé 60 64.64.0660
Smith vy. Phillips, 455 U.S. 209, 217 ....
United States v. Almonte, 594 F.2d 261

United States v. Boscia, 573 F.2d 827,
cert. denied, 436 U.S. 911 ...........

United States v. Buchanan, 633 F.2d 423,
cert. denied, 451 U.S.912 ...........

United States v. Doe, 513 F.2d 709 ....
United States v. Docherty, 468 F.2d 989

United States v. Kent, 608 F.2d 542,
cert. denied, 446 U.S. 936 ...........

(IIT)

IV

Page
Cases—Continued:
United States v. Lubrano, 529 F.2d 633,

ns ns OE OL OE cob a dererccssccesc 8
United States v. Mann, 517 F.2d 259,

COTE I, Ge Ws BOE eho ccc ccdcevisvess 5
United States v. Moraites, 456 F.2d 435,

ER. SN, Uh PE odbc ccccccccacsess 7
United States v. Morrison, 536 F.2d 286........ 7
United States v. Murdock, 290 U.S. 389 ........ 6
United States v. Pollack, 503 F.2d 87 ........ 4,7
United States v. Pomponio, 429 U.S. 10 ........ 6
United States v. Tidwell, 559 F.2d 262,

Gs I OI. OE Piebecawsiccccesecns 5

Statutes:
Ps BAP CG ins ebR ORCA de saekeeerncrb ees 2
UE ESC bsiees Date heek ees eeabeen sees 2
En ae Cane SUGewn coeseayeeces 1, 4, 5,7
8 fe Sere ee rrr rr er 1, 2, 3,4, 5

Be es PEM cise geeccedsceteretuccetcseete 2

In the Supreme Court of the Mnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

No. 83-124
NUNZIATO FUSARO, PETITIONER
V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FORA WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIRST CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. Al-A16) is
reported at 708 F.2d 17.

JURISDICTION
The judgment of the court of appeals (Pet. App. B1) was
entered on May 26, 1983. The petition for a writ of certio-
rari was filed on July 21, 1983. The jurisdiction of this Court
is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States District Court
for the District of Massachusetts, petitioner was convicted
on 15 counts of misapplication of bank funds (18 U.S.C.
656), six counts of issuing unauthorized checks (18 U.S.C.
1005), four counts of making false entries in a bank state-
ment (18 U.S.C. 1005), ten counts of making false state-
ments for the purpose of influencing action on bank loans

(1)

2

(18 U.S.C. 1014), and one count of conspiracy (18 U.S.C.
371).! He was sentenced to concurrent terms of three years’
imprisonment, with all but 30 days suspended in favor of
probation, and fines totaling $40,000. The court of appeals
affirmed (Pet. App. Al-A16).

1, The evidence at trial showed that in late 1979 and early
1980 petitioner—along with co-defendants Richard Sac-
cone and Richard Robidoux—fraudulently arranged over
$600,000 in loans to Robidoux from the Mohawk Trust and
Savings Bank, a small bank in Greenfield, Massachusetts.
Saccone was president of the bank. Petitioner is an attorney
who represented both the bank and Robidoux, who owned
an automobile dealership. Robidoux’s business was in
serious financial trouble. Although Mohawk was capital-
ized at only $300,000 and could lend not more than $60,000
to any person, petitioner and Saccone managed to lend
more than ten times that amount to Robidoux. The loans
were made without the approval of the bank's executive
committee. The financial bleeding of Mohawk by petitioner
and his co-defendants took only three months. The bank
was closed in February 1980, and a Federal Deposit Insu-
rance Corporation liquidator took over. Pet. App. A2-AS5.

2. At trial, petitioner claimed that the Section 1005
counts in the indictment were deficient because they did not
allege that he acted with intent to injure or defraud the
bank. The district court rejected that claim, but instructed
the jury that it had to find that petitioner intended to injure
or defraud the bank in order to convict him under para-
graph one of Section 1005 (Pet. 5n.6). On appeal, petitioner
renewed his claim that the indictment was defective because
it failed to allege intent. The court of appeals held that
because the indictment tracked the language of the statute,

‘Petitioner was acquitted on three counts of improper receipt of a
commission for procuring a loan (18 U.S.C. 215)

3

described the offense with sufficient clarity to show a viola-
tion of the law, and enabled petitioner to know the nature of
the charge against him, it was sufficient (Pet. A9). The court
found in any event that any error in the indictment was
harmless since the trial court instructed the jury that it must
find an intent to injure or defraud in order to convict
petitioner (ibid.).

On the second day of trial an FBI agent who was not
involved in this case met the foreman of petitioner's jury in
the hall of the courthouse. They recognized one another
from a woodworking class, and talked for five minutes. The
conversation did not refer to the trial. When the FBI agent
learned of the juror's status, he avoided further contact with
him, (Pet. App. Al0-A11).

The conversation was brought to the court's attention,
and the trial judge questioned the agent thoroughly with
petitioner's counsel present. The court found that no preju-
dice had occurred, and petitioner's counsel agreed. A short
time later, however, after consulting with his client, peti-
tioner'’s counsel moved to excuse the foreman. He did not
request a voir dire of the foreman. The district court denied
the motion. The court of appeals upheld this action, finding
no abuse of discretion in the trial court's ruling that the
encounter was harmless. (Pet. App. All).

ARGUMENT

1, Petitioner contends (Pet. 6-11) that intent to injure or
defraud is an element of an offense under paragraph two of
18 U.S.C. 1005? and that his conviction must be reversed

?In fact, the district court charged the jury under paragraph one of 18
U.S.C. 1005 (Pet. 5 1.6), and the court of appeals concluded that it was
that paragraph that petitioner was convicted under (Pet. Ayr. A2). The
indictment charged that Saccone, “being an officer and director of
Mohawk,” and aided by petitioner and Robidoux, issued “drafts and
orders of Mohawk, in the form of Mohawk Treasurer's checks” (C.A.
App. |6). The first quoted phrase is relevant only to paragraph one of

4

because the indictment failed to allege such intent.’ He
argues that by affirming his convictions, the court of
appeals has decided that intent to defraud is not an element
under paragraph two of Section 1005, and that its decision
conflicts with decisions of the Second and Ninth Circuits.
These claims are without merit. Even if intent to injure or
defraud is an element of all Section 1005 violations—a
matter on which the court of appeals expressed no opinion—
the indictment sufficiently alleged the requisite intent and
the trial court instructed the jury that it must find such
intent. Thus petitioner's convictions cannot be affected no
matter how the question about intent is ultimately resolved.

Although paragraph three of 18 U.S.C. 1005 specifically
requires an “intent to injure or defraud” a bank, neither of
the first two paragraphs mentions that element. The Ninth
Circuit has nevertheless held that intent to injure or defraud
is an essential element under all three paragraphs of Section
1005. United States v. Pollack, 503 F.2d 87, 90 (9th Cir.
1974), The Second Circuit has come to the same conclusion
concerning 18 U.S.C. 656—a different, but related, statute.
United States v. Docherty, 468 F.2d 989 (2d Cir. 1972). See
also Ramirez v. United States, 318 F.2d 155, 157-158 (9th

Section 1005; the second seems to refer to paragraph two of Section
1005. Since violations of paragraph one are also covered by paragraph
two, however, and since petitioner's claim about intent to injure or
defraud seems equally applicable to both sections (Pet. 4n.2), we do not
think the difference is significant.

‘We note that this contention relates to only six of the 36 counts on
which petitioner was convicted. Since he received concurrent jail and
probationary terms on al! counts, all that is at stake with respect to this

issue is $6,000 out of the total of $40 000 in fines to which he was
sentenced

5

Cir. 1963) (18 U.S.C. 656).4 In this case the court of appeals
concluded that petitioner's “objection to the indictment
affords us no opportunity to decide the section 1005 intent
issue” (Pet. App. AQ).

Given the language of the indictment, that conclusion
was proper. Counts 19-24 not only tracked the language of
Section 1005° but also, as the court of appeals noted,
“described [the offense] with sufficient clarity to show a

‘In Harrison v. United States, 279 F.2d 19 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied,
364 U.S. 864 (1960), the Fifth Circuit stated that intent to injure or
defraud is not an essential element of offenses under the first two
paragraphs of 18 U.S.C. 1005, 279 F.2d at 23. The court noted, though,
that Harrison's indictment charged an intent to defraud (ibid.), and that
“there was ample evidence from which the jury could find the necessary
* © * ingredient of the crime" (/d. at 24). More recent Fifth Circuit cases
Suggest that the court may be inclined to reconsider its statements in
Harrison. See United States vy. Mann, $17 F.2d 259, 267 (1975), cert.
denied, 423 U.S. 1087 (1976); United States v. Tidwell, $89 F.2d 262,
267 (1977), cert. denied, 435 U.S, 942 (1978).

‘In relevant part, the indictment stated (C.A. App. 16):
COUNTS NINETEEN THROUGH TWENTY-FOUR

On or about the dates hereinafter set forth in these counts,
Counts Nineteen through Twenty-Four, in the District of Massa-
chusetts, Richard Saccone, being an officer and director of
Mohawk, the deposits of which were insured by the F.D.1.C., and
Nunziato Fusaro and Richard E. Robidoux, the defendants,
aided and abetted by each other, did knowingly, unlawfully and
willfully, without authority from the directors of Mohawk, issue,
and cause to be issued, drafts and orders of Mohawk, in the form
of Mohawk Treasurer's checks, as further described hereinafter in
these counts, Counts Nineteen through Twenty-Four,

COUNT DATE PAYEE AMOUNT
19 11/2/79 United Chevrolet, Inc. $50,000.00
20 11/2/79 Richard E. Robidoux $50,000.00
2! 11/$/79 Irving Heller $50,000.00
22 11/5/79 Dr. Anthony Micelotti $50,000.00
23 11/6/79 Bernard Quitt $50,000.00
24 11/6/79 Richard Ricciardi $50,000.00

6

violation of law, and enable[d petitioner] to know the
nature and cause of the accusation against him and to plead
an acquittal or conviction in bar of future prosecution for
the same offense” (Pet. App. A9). See Hamling v. United
States, 418 U.S. 87, 117 (1974).

Petitioner argues that tracking the language of the statute
is insufficient here, since the codified version of the statute
has erroneously omitted the phrase “intent to injure or
defraud” (Pet. 5 &n.3, 7-8). But even if that is so—a matter
which we do not concede—in this case the indictment did
state that petitioner had acted “knowingly, unlawfully and
willfully,” terms that are well understood to signify an evil
intent or mental culpability. See Morissette v. United
States, 342 U.S. 246, 264 (1952); United States v. Pompo-
nio, 429 U.S. 10, 12 (1976); United States v. Murdock, 290
U.S. 389, 394-395 (1933); United States v. Kent, 608 F.2d
$42, 545 n.3 (Sth Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 446 U.S. 936
(1980).¢ In determining whether an essential element of an

*Nor is there any doubt here that the grand jury—in describing the
issuance of the bank's checks as having been done not only without
authority from he directors, but also “knowingly, unlawfully and
willfully” —- considered and meant to address the element of intent to
defraud. In stating counts $-8—which charged violations of 18 U.S.C.
656 in connection with the issuance of checks to Heller, Micelotti, Quitt,
and Ricciardi (cf. counts 21-24, note 5 supra)—the grand jury con-
cluded that (C.A. App. 15):

Saccone [aided and abetted by petitioner] caused the issuance of
Mohawk Treasurer's check{s] * * * in the names set forth * * °,
knowing and concealing from the bank the fact that the monies
* © © were intended for the use and benefit of defendant Robi-
doux and the obligation to repay was concentrated in Robidoux,
falsely creating the appearance that the monies and funds had
been disbursed to, and the obligation to repay existed in, the
individuals named hereinafter; when in fact the nominal recipients
of the monies * * * had neither requested, nor received said
monies and funds and had not obligated themselves to repay said
monies and funds, whereby the safety and soundness of Mohawk
stockholder and depositor funds and monies was jeopardized, and
said monies and funds were depleted and lost to said bank.

-

offense has been omitted, it is not necessary that any partic-
ular word or phrase appear. The indictment may be phrased
in any form which substantially states the element. Hagner
v, United States, 285 U.S. 427, 433 (1932), For example in
Ramirez vy. United States, 318 F.2d at 158, the Ninth
Circuit held the indictment under 18 U.S.C. 856 to be
sufficient despite its failure to use the phrase “an intent to
injure and defraud,” since the phrase “did wilfully mis-
apply” adequately encompassed the necessary intent ele-
ment. See also United States v. Moraites, 456 F.2d 435,
440-441 n.9 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 409 U.S, 891 (1972) (18
U.S.C. 656).’

2. Petitioner also argues (Pet. | 1-14) that his conviction
should be reversed because the trial court failed to examine
the jury foreman after that individual's brief conversation
with an FBI agent. This claim is without merit. Petitioner

The statement of counts 19-24 immediately follows this recital (C.A.
App. 16). In addition, the statement of count | (conspiracy) shows that
the grand jury was fully cognizant of the specific objective which counts
19-24 charged petitioner with pursuing (C.A. App. 9):

Inearly November of 1979, defendants, Robidoux, Fusaro, and
Saccone * * * did forma plan to channel a total of $720,000.00 of
Mohawk funds to Richard Robidoux and his interests through a
series of unsecured nominee loans so as to create the appearance
that the loans did not violate the legal lending limit, and the
appearance that the nominees were in fact obligated to repay the
notes, when in effect, the concentration of funds and the obliga-
tion to repay in Robidoux and his interests did violate the legal
lending limit and the nominees had not borrowed the funds nor
obligated themselves to repay the funds borrowed in their names,
thereby the defendants and co-conspirators did jeopardize the
safety and soundness of Mohawk stockholder and depositor
funds.

*The Ninth Circuit's decisionin United States v. Pollack, $03 F.2d at
91, which seems to conflict with that court's conclusion in Ramirez on
this point, is explained in United States v. Morrison, $36 F.2d 286,
288-289 & n.7 (9th Cir. 1976),

8

never requested a voir dire of the juror, so the claim depends
upon a finding of plain error. And the essentially factual
determination by both courts below that no prejudice
occurred does not warrant further review by this Court.

In Smith v. Phillips, 455 U.S. 209, 215 (1982), this Court
noted that “the remedy for allegations of juror partiality is a
hearing in which the defendant has the opportunity to prove
actual bias.” Here the district court conducted a hearing at
which both the prosecutor and the FBI agent who spoke to
the jury foreman were questioned. Petitioner's counsel was
present, and did not ask to have the foreman questioned.
Nor did he do so later, when he moved to dismiss the juror.
Petitioner cannot now complain of the trial court's failure
to conduct such an examination. As both courts below
recognized, petitioner has simply failed to sustain his
burden of proving that the juror was biased, or that any-
thing improper occurred. A district court has considerable
discretion in determining the scope and nature of the inves-
tigation needed to evaluate a claim of impermissible jury
contact. United States v. Doe, 513 F.2d 709, 712 (Ist Cir.
1975); United States v. Almonte, 594 F.2d 261, 266( Ist Cir.
1979); United States v. Boscia, 573 F.2d 827, 831 (3d Cir.),
cert. denied, 436 U.S. 911 (1978); United States v. Bucha-
nan, 633 F.2d 423 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 451 U.S. 912
(1981). Indeed, no evidentiary hearing is necessary when
communication with a juror is totally unrelated to matters
pending at trial and no prima facie showing of prejudice is
made. United States v. Lubrano, 529 F.2d 633, 638 (2d Cir.
1975), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 818 (1976); United States v.
Boscia, 573 F.2d at 831. Here the district court concluded,
after examining the FBI agent, that further inquiry was not
warranted. Petitioner has not shown why that conclusion
was erroneous. “[D]ue process does not require a new trial
every time a juror has been placed in a potentially com-
promising situation.” Smith vy. Phillips, 455 U.S. at 217.

9

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

Rex E. LEE
Solicitor General

STEPHEN S. TROTT
Assistant Attorney General

PATRICK COUGHLIN
Attorney

NOVEMBER 1983

DOJ-1983-11

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_0127%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
