# Opposition — Portsmouth Redevelopment & Housing Authority v. Pierce

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_0093%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 464 U.S. 960

## Text

No. 83-90

Ditice Susseme Court, US,
FILED

In the Supreme Court of the Unite b Ptyps 1983

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

ALEXANDER L. STEVAS,
PORTSMOUTH REDEVELOPMENT AND HOUSING AUTHORIP¥E®*

PETITIONER
V.

SAMUEL R. PIERCE, JR., SECRETARY OF HOUSING AND
URBAN DEVELOPMENT, ET AL.

ON PETITION FORA WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

Rex E. LEE
Solicitor General

J. PAUL McGRATH
Assistant Attorney General

ROBERT S. GREENSPAN
FREDDI LIPSTEIN
Attorneys

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

GERSHON M. RATNER
Associate General Counsel
for Litigation
HOWARD M. SCHMELTZER
Special Assistant

SUZANNE CURT
Attorney

Department of Housing and
Urban Development
Washington, D.C. 20410

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the court of appeals correctly concluded that
jurisdiction over this suit seeking operating subsidies, in
excess of $10,000, pursuant to a contract between petitioner
and the Department of Housing and Urban Development
lies exclusively in the United States Claims Court.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
CURIONI BONO ccc ccc cccnvecescvcevteseveesoes l
PID, poke dead ns cavsdussececeevavenesnenens l
DOR SIVGIIGE eicaeecvsececcesteewsascecduges l
IES ecco s coun od skrbecs deadvedusbvese-schewee 2
PE ot ensbiuadacedeads co csetethvseensonenn 5
NINE 0 0044.0 66 600ba dus caksdowebeneeerts cee 10

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

A.L. Rowan & Son vy. Department of Housing
& Urban Development, 611 F.2d 997 ......... 9

Alamo Navajo Bd., Inc. v. Andrus,
664 F.2d 229, cert. denied, 456 U.S.

| RIGA Pe EPG ares Pg ete 7
American Science & Engineering, Inc. v.

Ce STE CME Sictcecesecuceeeneanes 7
Austin vy. United States, 206 Ct. Cl. 719,

COTE, RIE, Ge Fee EE cde secccciccwseces 8
B.K. Instrument, Inc. v. United States,

No. 83-6124 (2d Cir. Aug. 4, 1983) .......008. &
Breitbeck v. United States, 500 F.2d 556........ 6
Chicago Consortium, Inc. v. Brennan,

DN aE Cas ccahera nt cave deaweteaeeerens 7
Estate of Watson v. Blumenthal, 586 F.2d

Ds d vi Laveen a neavehs anes b ih eaneesensanewe 7
FHA Vv. Burr, 309 U.S. 242 .. ccc ccc cece eenees 10

(III)

IV

Cases—Continued:

Ferguson vy. Union National Bank,
ee hr ere ee

Graham vy. Henegar, 640 F.2d 732 ....ccceeeees

Hoopa Valley Tribe v. United States,
FIG P.E GSS: é etetacvectcovcecscenebeaaese

International Engineering Co. v. Richardson,
512 F.2d 573, cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1048 ......

Keifer & Keifer v. RFC, 306 U.S. 381 ......005-
Rotter ¥. MSPR GTO F.2e AMM sok cccoscivenes

L’Enfant Plaza Properties, Inc. v. United States,
O66 Fae S20) ccc civevcansiasseucnasenaenan

Lee v. Blumenthal, 588 F.2d 1281 .......0eeees

Lenoir v. Porters Creek Watershed District,
SO6 Fe POS nnd cccdsacewdessntiereeen

Lomas & Nettleton Co. v. Pierce,
GOS Fie ST) es cwavcsdbuccbecsbececeens are

Mar v. Kleppe, 520 F.2d 867 ........eeeeeveees

Marcus Garvey Square, Inc. v. Winston Burnett
Construction Co., 595 F.2d 1126 ......eeeeeee

RFC v. Menihan Corp., 312 U.S. 81 ....eeeeees

S.J. Groves & Sons Co. v. United States,
OS F. Sam. BOE a cccccccccvcceccvecceseces

S.S. Silberblatt v. East Harlem Pilot
- |S > BPR ee

United States v. Mitchell, No. 81-1748
et EE, Ge «6-0 2-0.6-504000500008405000n0RN

Page
Statutes and regulation:
National Housing Act, 12 U.S.C. 1702 ........ 8,9
Tucker Act:
28 U.S.C. (& Supp. V) 1331 .......eeee 4,6,7
DMIs BOMUUEMA) coccccccccccccces 1,2,4
United States Housing Act of 1937, 42 U.S.C.
(& Supp. V) 1401 ef seq. :
MU Es BOE co cccccccccccns 2, 4, 5, 6, 8,9
42 U.S.C. (Supp. V) 1437c(a) ... cee cee ee eee 3
42 U.S.C. (& Supp. V) 1437g ...... ee ees 3,4
42 U.S.C. (Supp. V) 1437g(a)(1) ow. ce eee eee 3
42 U.S.C. (Supp. V) 1437] wn. cece eee eens 3
Pub. L. No. 97-248, § 402(c)(17), 96 Stat.
aCe U.8.0. ESOGLR)) 2c ccccccsccecces &
Pub. L. No. 97-164, § 133(a)(1), 96 Stat. 39
PEED sv kcaseeccacvcocecccessecce 1,2
EU UG La wipbt 0s bed escccccccsevecese 8
EMCEE Sdcceccccdeccccevcccccccses 3

ME . FISD voce ccc cccccsccwcncccccccvcccs 5

In the Supreme Court of the Wnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

No. 83-90

PORTSMOUTH REDEVELOPMENT AND HOUSING AUTHORITY,
PETITIONER

Vv.
SAMUEL R. PIERCE, JR., SECRETARY OF HOUSING AND
URBAN DEVELOPMENT, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. Al-A21) is
reported at 706 F.2d 471. The opinion and order of the
district court (Pet. App. B1-B54) are unreported.

JURISDICTION
The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
April 27, 1983 (Pet. App. A2). A petition for rehearing was
denied on June 20, 1983 (Pet. App. A22-A23). The petition
for a writ of certiorari was filed on July 19, 1983. The
jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

The Tucker Act, 28 U.S.C. 1346(a)(2) and 1491, as
amended, provides in pertinent part:

(1)

2

1346(a) The district courts shall have original juris-
diction, concurrent with the United States Claims
Court, of:

(2) Any other civil action or claim against the
United States, not exceeding $10,000 in amount,
founded either upon the Constitution, or any Act of
Congress, or any regulation of an executive depart-
ment, or upon any express or implied contract with the
United States, or for liquidated or unliquidated dam-
ages in cases not sounding in tort, except that the
district courts shall not have jurisdiction of any civil
action or claim against the United States founded upon
any express or implied contract with the United States
or for liquidated or unliquidated damages in cases not
sounding in tort which are subject to sections 8(g)(1)
and 10(a)(1) of the Contract Disputes Act of 1978.

1491 The United States Claims Court shall have
jurisdiction to render judgment upon any claim against
the United States founded either upon the Constitu-
tion, or any Act of Congress, or any regulation of an
executive department, or upon any express or implied
contract with the United States, or for liquidated or
unliquidated damages in cases not sounding in tort.

42 U.S.C. 1404a provides in pertinent part:

The United States Housing Authority may sue and
be sued only with respect to its functions under this
chapter, and sections 1501 to 1505 of this title.

STATEMENT
1. Petitioner Portsmouth Redevelopment and Housing
Authority (PRHA) is a public housing authority that oper-
ates six low income housing projects in Portsmouth, Vir-
ginia. PRHA receives debt service subsidies and operating

3

subsidies pursuant to provisions of the United States Hous-
ing Act of 1937,42 U.S.C. (& Supp. V) 1437c(a) and 1437g,
and a consolidated annua! contributions contract (ACC)
with the Department of Housing and Urban Development
(HUD).

When PRHA entered into the ACC in 1976, 42 U.S.C.
1437g provided in pertinent part: “The Secretary shall
embody the provisions for such annual contributions
[operating subsidies] in a contract guaranteeing their pay-
ment subject to the availability of funds.” The ACC itself
embodies this statutory provision.' In 1979, Congress
amended that provision by adding to the above-quoted
sentence the following clause: “and such contract shall
provide that no disposition of the lower income housing
project, with respect to which the contract is entered into,
shall occur during and for ten years after the period when
contributions were made pursuant to such contract unless
approved by the Secretary.”42 U.S.C. (Supp. V) 1437g(a)(1).
The Secretary implemented the amendment by issuing a
regulation requiring amendments to all ACCs embodying
the housing authority's agreement to continue operating its
low income housing after it stops receiving federal subsi-
dies. 24 C.F.R. 869.105. PRHA refused to execute the
amendment to its ACC, and HUD began withholding oper-
ating subsidies. See Pet. App. B2-B3; B25-B31. HUD also
declined to consider PRHA'’s application for moderniza-
tion funds under 42 U.S.C. (Supp. V) 1437/ because PRHA
failed to sign the amendment to its ACC. See Pet. App.
B31-B33.

‘Paragraph 415(D) of the ACC states:

The Government shall also make Additional Annual Contribu-
tions to the Local Authority (a) for each Fiscal Yearinan amount
which together with all other Operating Receipts of the Projects
will be sufficient to pay the Operating expenditures of such Pro-
jects in accordance with the Operating Budgets for such projects
as approved by the Government * ® °.

4

2. PRHA filed suit in the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Virginia seeking to compel HUD
to release the withheld operating subsidies pursuant to the
ACC. PRHA sought to recover more than $676,000 in
withheld funds. It also sought an order requiring HUD to
consider its application for modernization funds without
regard to whether PRHA had signed the required amend-
ment to the ACC.

Ruling on cross motions for summary judgment, the
district court first rejected HUD’s contention that exclusive
jurisdiction over this contract action was in the United
States Claims Court, holding that it had federal question
jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. (& Supp. V) 1331 (Pet. App.
B7-B17). The district court also concluded that 42 U.S.C.
1404a waived HUD's sovereign immunity and therefore
that PRHA was entitled to pursue its claim (Pet. App.
B!1-B12). On the merits, the court held that HUD could not
apply the statutory amendment to 42 U.S.C. (& Supp. V)
1437g and its implementing regulation to PRHA’s existing
ACC or to its application for modernization funds, and it
permanently enjoined HUD from doing so (Pet. App.
B33-B54).

3. The court of appeals agreed that 42 U.S.C. 1404a
waived HUD’s sovereign immunity (Pet. App. A20). The
court held, however, that exclusive jurisdiction over the
action lay in the United States Claims Court. The court of
appeals therefore vacated the district court's judgment and
remanded with instructions to transfer the case to the
Claims Court (id. at Al-A21).

The court of appeals explained that PRHA’s lawsuit
satisfies all the criteria needed to vest subject matter juris-
diction exclusively in the Claims Court under the Tucker
Act, 28 U.S.C. (& Supp. V) 1346(a)(2). First, the claim is
asserted against a federal agency and its officials for acts
performed in their official capacity, and any judgment

5

recovered would expend itself on the federal Treasury (Pet.
App. Al0-A11). Second, the recovery sought plainly exceeds
$10,000 (id. at All-A12). Third, the claim is primarily
founded on a contract with the government (id. at Al4-
A16) and, in any event, the Tucker Act confers jurisdiction
on the Claims Court to consider claims founded on the
Constitution or federal statutes (id. at A16).

The court of appeals further held that jurisdiction in the
Claims Court was not defeated because the complaint also
seeks declaratory and injunctive relief. The court explained
that “framing an essentially monetary claim in injunctive or
declaratory terms” does not affect Claims Court jurisdic-
tion (Pet. App. Al2, quoting Hoopa Valley Tribe v. United
States, 596 F.2d 435, 436 (Ct. Cl. 1979)), and, moreover, it
stated that the Claims Court can issue declaratory relief that
is “tied to and subordinate to a monetary award” (Pet. App.
A13, quoting S.J. Groves & Sons Co. v. United States, 495
F. Supp. 201, 209 (D. Colo. 1980)). Finally, the court
rejected PRHA's argument that 42 U.S.C. 1404a, establish-
ing that the United States Housing Authority may “sue and
be sued,”? confers subject matter jurisdiction on the district
courts to hear such suits (Pet. App. Al7-A20).

ARGUMENT

The only issue presented here concerns the appropriate
federal forum for this litigation. It is not disputed that
sovereign immunity presents no bar to petitioners’ lawsuit;
the dispute concerns which court has subject matter juris-
diction. Petitioners contend (Pet. 11-29) that jurisdiction
lies in the district court; the court of appeals held that
exclusive jurisdiction lies in the United States Claims Court
because this is a suit “against the United States” within the

?The functions of the United States Housing Authority have been
transferred to the Secretary of HUD. 42 U.S.C. 3534.

6

meaning of the Tucker Act. and the Tucker Act's specific
grant of Claims Court jurisdiction prevails over the general
grant of federal question jurisdiction in 28 U.S.C. 1331. The
decision below is correct and does not conflict with any
decision of this Court or of another court of appeals.
Accordingly, further review of the question of the proper
forum for this lawsuit is unwarranted.

1. Petitioner does not seriously dispute that the Tucker
Act would permit the Claims Court to exercise jurisdiction
over this case. There is little question that the three
requirements for Tucker Act jurisdiction are satisfied here:
PRHA seeks a money judgment in excess of $10,000; the
claim is founded upon a government contract or federal
law; and the claim is “against the United States” because it is
brought against a federal agency based on its actions (see
L’Enfant Plaza Properties, Inc. v. United States, 668 F.2d
1211, 1212 (Ct. Cl. 1982); Breitbeck v. United States, 500
F.2d 556, 558 (Ct. Cl. 1974)). See generally Pet. App. A8-
A17.) Petitioner instead maintains that the court of appeals
erred in finding that Claims Court jurisdiction was exclu-
sive, thereby rejecting the argument that either 28 U.S.C. (&
Supp. V) 1331 or 42 U.S.C. 1404a confers subject matter
jurisdiction on the district court. See Pet. 14-15, 23.

a. Thecourt of appeals correctly held that subject matter
jurisdiction exists here only in the Claims Court in spite of
the general grant of federal question jurisdiction to the

Petitioners contend (Pet 16-20) that they do not seek to recover
“Treasury funds” because the monies for the operating subsidies have
already been appropriated by Congress and have passed into the con-
trol of the Secretary. We agree with the court of appeals that these
annually appropriated funds are still “Treasury funds” (see Pet. Anp.
All), but this question is not relevant to whether subject matter juris-
diction exists in the Claims Court. Regardless of who has control of the
funds when the lawsuit is filed, a suit against a federal agency to recover
funds already appropriated by Congress plainly satisfies the Tucker Act
requirement of a suit “against the United States.”

7

district courts in 28 U.S.C. (& Supp. V) 1331. The courts of
appeals have widely recognized that the Claims Court (or its
predecessor, the Court of Claims) has exclusive jurisdiction
over contract actions against the United States where the
amount in controversy exceeds $10,000 and, therefore, that
an action based on a contract may not be pursued under 28
U.S.C. (& Supp. V) 1331, even where the action involves
federal statutes or regulations. Alamo Navajo Bd., Inc. v.
Andrus, 664 F.2d 229, 233 (10th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 456
U.S. 963 (1982); Lee v. Blumenthal, 588 F.2d 1281, 1282-
1283 (9th Cir. 1979); Estate of Watson v. Blumenthal, 586
F.2d 925, 928, 932 (2d Cir. 1978); American Science &
Engineering, Inc. v. Califano, 571 F.2d 58, 62-63 (Ist Cir.
1978). See also Chicago Consortium, Inc. v. Brennan, 599
F.2d 138, 141 (7th Cir. 1979); International Engineering Co.
v. Richardson, 512 F.2d 573, 577 (D.C. Cir. 1975), cert.
denied, 423 U.S. 1048 (1976).

Moreover, even if this suit is treated as one arising under
the Constitution, federal statutes, or regulations, rather
than as a contract action, it has been held that the more
specific grant of jurisdiction in the Tucker Act for suits over
$10,000, where applicable, prevails over the general grant in
Section 1331. See Keller v. MS PB, 679 F.2d 220, 222(1 1th
Cir. 1982); Graham v. Henegar, 640 F.2d 732, 734-735 (Sth
Cir. 1981); Lenoir v. Porters Creek Watershed District, 586
F.2d 1081, 1087-1088 (6th Cir. 1978). Otherwise, the exclu-
sive jurisdiction of the Claims Court would be largely de-
stroyed because most cases falling within its jurisdiction
could also be brought within the general terms of Section
1331. See Graham v. Henegar, 640 F.2d at 734. Indeed, the
distinction deliberately drawn by Congress in the Tucker
Act between suits for greater than or less than $10,000
would be obliterated. Accordingly, there is no basis here for
Section 1331 jurisdiction in the district court.

8

Petitioner also objects (Pet. 20-22) that Claims Court
jurisdiction is improper because of the declaratory and
injunctive relief sought. However, as the court of appeals
found (Pet. App. Al2-A14), the essence of this action is the
disgorgement of withheld operating subsidies claimed to be
due under petitioner's contract with HUD,‘ and hence the
lawsuit belongs in the Claims Court. The jurisdiction of the
Claims Court cannot be avoided by masking a monetary
claim as one for equitable relief. See, e.g., B.K. Instrument,
Inc. v. United States, No. 83-6124 (2d Cir. Aug. 4, 1983),
Slip op. 28. Petitioner suffers no deprivation of rights by
being routed to the Claims Court to pursue its action; that
court is empowered to award declaratory relief that is “tied
and subordinate to a monetary award.” Austin v. United
States, 206 Ct. Cl. 719, 723, cert. denied, 423 U.S. 911
(1975). See United States v. Mitchell, No. 81-1748 (June
27, 1983), slip op. 10. n.15.

b. Petitioner contends (Pet. 14-15) that 42 U.S.C. 1404a
itself confers subject matter jurisdiction on the district
courts. This contention finds no support in the language of
the statute, and petitioner cites no case in which 42 U.S.C.
1404a has been held to permit a suit for damages against the
United States in district court. Instead, petitioner relies
(Pet. 24-25) on cases involving the National Housing Act,
12 U.S.C. 1702, which provides in relevant part that the
Secretary may “sue and be sued in any court of competent
jurisdiction, State or Federal” (emphasis added). As the
court of appeals recognized in distinguishing its own prece-
dent under Section 1702 (Pet. App. A18-A20), these cases

‘Indeed, petitioner sought relief other than money damages only after
it amended its complaint. See Pet. &.

‘Petitioner also relies on one case, Mar v. Kleppe, $20 F.2d 867 (10th
Cir. 1975), involving a suit against the Smal! Business Administration
under 1S U.S.C. 634, which contains the same language as 12 U.S.C.
1702.

9

are manifestly inapposite because the language of that sta-
tute is so different from the language involved here that
decisions under Section 1702 have little bearing on the
question of jurisdiction under Section 1404a. Plainly, Sec-
tion 1702, by authorizing suit “in any court of competent
jurisdiction, State or Federal,” provides a basis for district
court jurisdiction that is absent here. See A.L. Rowan &
Son v. Department of Housing & Urban Development,
611 F.2d 997, 1000-1001 n.3 (Sth Cir. 1980).°

2. Petitioner's contention (Pet. | 1-20) that the decision
below conflicts with decisions of this Court is without merit.
The cases relied upon by petitioner considered only the
question whether the government had waived sovereign
immunity, not which court had subject matter jurisdiction
over the action. Keifer & Keifer v. RFC, 306 U.S. 381
(1939), and RFC v. Menihan Corp., 312 U.S. 81 (1941),
concerned the scope of the waiver of sovereign immunity of

*There is a sound policy justification for this difference between 42
U.S.C. 1404a and 12 U.S.C. 1702. Programs under the National Hous-
ing Act involve HUD as an insurer of private initiatives to construct and
operate lower income housing. Because the principals are private par-
ties, and may be sued in state courts, the statute provides that the
Secretary too may be sued in state court — whether as a necessary party
or simply in the interest of judicial economy. Against this background,
as the Fourth Circuit held in Ferguson v. Union National Bank, 126
F.2d 753, 756 (1942), it would be anomalous to allow suit against the
Secretary in any state court yet restrict federal suits to the Claims Court.
Moreover, unlike the United States Housing Act programs that are
federally funded, many National Housing Act programs are funded by
self-generated insurance funds that do not originate in the federal
Treasury, and thus suits for money judgments commenced under 1|2
U.S.C. 1702 would not necessarily expend themselves on the public fisc.
Indeed, the courts generally have held that Section 1702 constitutes a
waiver of sovereign immunity at all only for actions where the money
judgment would be satisfied out of a separate fund, not out of the
Treasury. Compare Lomas & Nettleton Co. v. Pierce, 636 F.2d 971,
973 (Sth Cir. 1971), and Marcus Garvey Square, Inc. v. Winston
Burnett Construction Co., $9$ F.2d 1126 (9th Cir. 1979), with S.S.
Silberblatt vy. East Harlem Pilot Block, 608 F.2d 28 (2d Cir. 1979).

10

a governmental corporation, the Reconstruction Finance
Corporation. FHA vy. Burr, 309 U.S. 242 (1940), concerned
whether the waiver of sovereign immunity under 12 U.S.C.
1702, which, as discussed above, has little relevance to this
case, authorized garnishment of an employee's wages.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

Rex E. LEE
Solicitor General

’ J. PAUL McGRATH
Assistant Attorney General

ROBERT S. GREENSPAN
FREDDI LIPSTEIN
Attorneys

GERSHON M. RATNER
Associate General Counsel
for Litigation

HOWARD M. SCHMELTZER
Special Assistant
SUZANNE CURT
Attorney

Department of Housing and
Urban Development

OCTOBER 1983

DOJ- 194-10

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_0093%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
