# Motion to Dismiss or Affirm — Dunlap v. Illinois

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_0051%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Motion to Dismiss or Affirm
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 464 U.S. 802

## Text

No. 83-48 SEP 6 |

SNE:
In THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

Octoser Term, 1983

BRIAN K. DUNLAP and REVEL L. FREEMAN,
Appellants,

vs.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS,
Appellee.

On Appeal From The Appellate Court Of Illinois,
Fifth Judicial District

MOTION TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

Neit F. Harrtican,
Attorney General, State of Illinois,

Micnaet B. WEINSTEIN,®
Assistant Attorney General,
188 West Randolph Street,
Suite 2200,

Chicago, Illinois 60601,
(312) 793-2570,

Counsel for Appellee.

Eiten M. Fiavm,
Lesuiz J. Rosen,
Assistant Attorneys General,

Of Counsel. * Counsel of Record

Printed by Authority of the State of Illinois (P.O. 31960—55—9-2-83)

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Whether the State of Illinois’ classification of
psilocyn as a Schedule I controlled substance violates
appellants’ right to equal protection of the law as
guaranteed by the Fourteenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution where there are rational bases for
upholding the legislative classification?

II. Whether the State of Illinois’ inclusion, of “any
material . . . which contains any quantity of ...
psilocyn”, in its enumeration of Schedule I controlled
substances, sufficiently apprised appellants that posses-
sion of Psilocybe mushrooms was proscribed so as to not
violate their rights to due process of law as guaranteed
by the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States
Constitution?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .................
BRMRMD UE CAUENED co isccccsecvccedseets
TABLES OF AUTHORITIES ...0.ccccsceccess

OPINION

ARGUMENT:

THIS APPEAL SHOULD BE DISMISSED,
OR ALTERNATIVELY, THE JUDGMENT
OF THE COURT BELOW SHOULD BE
AFFIRMED, FOR WANT OF A SUBSTAN-
TIAL FEDERAL QUESTION ...........

A.

The State Of Illinois’ Classification Of
Psilocyn As A Schedule I Controlled
Substance Is Rationally Based And
Thus, Does Not Deprive Appellants Of
Equal Protection Of The Law ......

The State Of Illinois’ Inclusion Of “Any
Material ... Which Contains Any
Quantity Of ... Psilocyn’’ In Its
Enumeration Of Schedule I Controlled
Substances Sufficiently Apprised Ap-

llants That Possession of Psilocybe

ushrooms Was Proscribed, And Thus,
Their Due Process Rights Were Not
WEE: Aéviupaceraccecheesvekeses

MIEN, ke bssadeecapetcvaxscnvekaceune

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: PAGE(S)

Illinois Normal, Inc. v. Scott, 66 Ill. App. 3d 633,
383 N.E.2d 1330 (1st Dist. 1978) ..........
National Organization for Reform of Marijuana
Law's v. Bell, 488 F. Supp. 123 (D.D.C. 1980)
People v. Dunlap and Freeman, 110 Ill. App. 3d
738, 442 N.E.2d 1379 (5th Dist. 1982) .....
People v. McCarty, 86 Ill. 2d 247, 427 N.E.2d 147
PE iC heeded nacks eer shaens >

iv
SECONDARY AUTHORITIES:

Illinois Legislative Investigation Commission, The
Drug Crisis—Report of Drug Abuse in Illinois
EE Cee eos es eu eNdderrcs sh ecdbenenees

Uniform Controlled Substances Act, 9 Uniform
GAO: FU, BEE CEOS vee scccecreretenncs

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1983

BRIAN K. DUNLAP and REVEL L. FREEMAN,
Appellants,

vs.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS,
Appellee.

On Appeal From The Apyellate Court Of Illinois,
Fifth Judicial District

MOTION TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

To The Chief Justice And Associate Justices Of The Supreme
Court Of The United States:

The People of the State of Illinois respectfully move
this Court to dismiss the appeal herein or, in the alter-
native, to affirm the judgment of the Appellate Court
of Illinois, Fifth Judicial District, on the ground that this
case does not present a substantial federal question.

=e

OPINION BELOW

The Appellate Court of Illinois, Fifth Judicial District,
reversed the order of the Circuit Court of Williamson
County, Illinois, which dismissed criminal Informations
filed in the above-entitled cause. The opinion of the Ap-
pellate Court is reported at 110 Ill. App. 3d 738, 442 N.E.
2d 1379 (5th Dist. 1982) and is set out in full in the Ap-
pendix to the Jurisdictional Statement at 1-38. On April
12, 1983, the Supreme Court of Illinois denied appellants’
Petition for Leave to Appeal. Appendix to Jurisdictional
Statement at 41.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The People of the State of Illinois adopt the statement
of facts contained in the Illinois Appellate Court opinion
and incorporate it by reference herein. See Appendix to
Jurisdictional Statement at 1-4.

a wa
ARGUMENT

THIS APPEAL SHOULD BE DISMISSED, OR ALTER-
NATIVELY, THE JUDGMENT OF THE COURT BELOW
SHOULD BE AFFIRMED, FOR WANT OF A SUBSTANTIAL
FEDERAL QUESTION.

A.

The State Of Illinois’ Classification Of Psilocyn As A
Schedule I Controlled Substance Is Rationally Based And
Thus, Does Not Deprive Appellants Of Equal Protection Of
The Law.

Appellants’ claim that there is no rational basis for the
State of Illinois’ classification of psilocyn as a Schedule
I controlled substance is completely without merit. Iden-
tical arguments have been made and uniformly lost with
regard to the classification of marijuana and cocaine.!
Nothing about appellants’ contentions in this case
distinguish their claim from the claims advanced in those
classification cases. Accordingly, this appeal should be
treated in a like fashion and it should either be dis-
missed or the judgment below should be affirmed.

In order to prove that the legislature has properly ex-
ercised its prerogative to classify psilocyn as a Schedule
I controlled substance, the People need merely show that
any state of facts, either made known or reasonably

1 See e.g., United States v. Stieren, 608 F.2d 1135 (8th Cir. 1979);
United 8 tes v. Solow, 574 F.2d 1318 (5th Cir. 1978); National
Organization For Reform Of Marijuana Laws v. Bell, 488 F.
ary a (D.D.C. 1980); Illinois Normal, Inc. v. Scott, 66 Ill. App.
3d 633, 383 N.E. 2d 1330 (1st Dist. 1978); People v. McCarty, 86
Ill. 2d 247, 427 N.E. 2d 147 (1981) and cases cited therein at 152.
(Indeed, the expert who testified in this case, Dr. Ronald Siegal,
= also one of two experts who testified in McCarty, 427 N.E.
2d at 149.)

lie

assumed, supported its legislature’s judgment. United
States v. Carolene Products Co., 304 U.S. 144, 152 (1938).
‘“(T]hose challenging the legislative judgment must con-
vince the court that the legislative facts on which the
classification is apparently based could not reasonably be
conceived to be true by the governmental decisionmaker.”’
Vance v. Bradley, 440 U.S. 939, 949 (1979). This standard
of judicial review gives legislatures wide discretion and
permits them to attack problems in any rational manner.
Williamson v. Lee Optical of Oklahoma, Inc., 348 U.S.
483 (1955), cited in National Organization For Reform Of
Marijuana Laws v. Bell, 488 F. Supp. 123, 134 (D.D.C.
1980). Surely, the state has met its burden in this case,
where there is ample authority and precedent for the
classification.

The Illinois legislature enacted the Controlled Sub-
stances Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1979, ch. 56%, § 1100 et seq.)
in order to combat the rising incidence in the abuse of
drugs and other dangerous substances and its resultant
damage to the peace, health and welfare of the citizens
of Illinois. Jll. Rev. Stat. 1979, ch. 56%, §1100. This act
is based on the Uniform Controlled Substances Act. 9
Uniform Laws Annot. 197 (1970). In determining that the
classifications established by the Uniform Act were ap-
propriate for state use, the legislature utilized the infor-
mation it had before it concerning the substances proposed
to be controlled, including psilocyn. See Illinois Legislative
Investigation Commission, The Drug Crisis—Report of
Drug Abuse in Illinois, at 114-15, 185-86, 354-63 (1971).
The legislature classified psilocyn in its most serious
category as a Schedule I controlled substance as did both
the Uniform Act and the federal Drug Abuse Prevention
and Control Act. 21 U.S.C. §812. The commissioners’
Note to Section 203 of the Uniform Act provides that ma-

a

jor hallucinogens and certain narcotic substances are in-
cluded in Schedule I primarily because “both groups of
drugs have no accepted use in the United States and both
have a high potential for abuse.’’ 9 Uniform Laws Annot.
197 (1970).

The issue of the validity of the state’s classification of
psilocyn as a Schedule I controlled substance was one of
law, not of fact. Thus, the appellate court was called upon
to analyze the available authorities on the subject. This
the court appropriately did. Based on those authorities
it held that the legislature’s decision to include psilocyn
in Schedule I was not so arbitrary as to deny the ap-
pellants equal protection of the law. The court recognized
that commentators and researchers have disagreed on the
wisdom of the approach taken in prohibiting these
substances and also that ‘“{WJhether the enactment is wise
or unwise; whether it is the best means to achieve the
desired results, and whether the legislative discretion
within its proscribed limits should be exercised in a par-
ticular manner are matters for the judgment of the
legislature, and the honest conflict of serious opinion does
not suffice to bring them within the range of judicial
cognizance.”’ People v. Dunlap and Freeman, 110 Ill. App.
3d 738, 442 N.E. 2d 1379, 1388 (5th Dist. 1983), quoting
Thillens, Inc. v. Morey, 11 Ill. 2d 579, 144 N.E. 2d 735,
743 (1957), appeal dismissed, 355 U.S. 606 (1958); Appen-
dix to Jurisdictional Statement at 36-37. This was the ap-
propriate analysis of the issue and there is no reason
whatever for this Court to disturb the appellate court’s
conclusion.

The fact that appellants produced an expert witness in
the trial court who opined that psilocyn was not justifiably
classified as a Schedule I controlled substance, while the
People produced no expert witnesses, did not affect the

i

disposition of the matter. Resolution of the issue simply
did not turn on the appellate court’s counting the number
of experts each side presented or the number of articles
each side submitted. Resolution turned solely on whether
the classification offended the Equal Protection Clause of
the Fourteenth Amendment as a matter of law. The ex-
pert’s opinion only lent authority to appellants’ claim; it
did not serve, nor could it have served, as a substitute
for the court’s analysis of the legal issue presented. Ac-
cordingly, anpellants’ argument that they should have an
opportunity to contest “the correctness and authority of
these articles’ (Jurisdictional Statement at 18) is beside
the point.

B.
The State Of Illinois’ Inclusion Of ‘‘Any Material .. .
Which Contains Any Quantity Of . . . Psilocyn’’ In Its

Enumeration Of Schedule I Controlled Substances Suffi-
ciently Apprised Appellants That Possession Of Psilocybe
Mushrooms Was Proscribed, And Thus, Their Due Process
Rights Were Not Violated.

Appellants’ claim that their due process rights were
violated because ‘‘the Controlled Substances Act did not
give [them] fair notice that their conduct was proscribed
and that reasonable persons would necessarily guess at
its meaning and differ as to its application. . . .” (Jurisdic-
tiona! Statement at 24), is also not worthy of this Court’s
attention. The Illinois Appellate Court properly found that
the words “‘any material . . . which contains any quan-
tity of . . . psilocyn’”’ were sufficiently clear to apprise
anyone of normal intelligence that possession of Psilocybe

=

mushrooms was proscribed.? There is no reason for re-
examining this issue.

This Court has often spoken of the fair warning re-
quirements embodied in the Due Process Clause and
nothing about this appeal could cause this Court to depart
from its long-standing view on the subject. In Rose v.
Locke, 423 U.S. 48, 49-50 (1975), this Court stated:

It is settled that the fair warning requirement em-
bodied in the Due Process Clause prohibits the States
from holding an individual ‘‘criminally responsible for
conduct which he could not reasonably understand to
be proscribed.”” United States v. Harriss, 347 U.S.
612, 617, 98 L. Ed. 989, 74 S. Ct. 808 (1954); see
Wainwright v. Stone, 414 U.S. 21, 22, 38 L. Ed. 2d
179, 94 S. Ct. 190 (1973). But this prohibition against
excessive vagueness does not invalidate every statute
which a reviewing court believes could have been
drafted with greater precision. Many statutes will
have some inherent vagueness, for “{iIn most English
words and phrases there lurk uncertainties.”’ Robin-
son v. United States, 324 U.S. 282, 286, 89 L. Ed.
944, 54 S. Ct. 666 (1945). Even trained lawyers
may find it necessary to consult legal dictionaries,
treatises, and judicial opinions before they may say
with any certainty what some statutes may compel
or forbid. Cf. Nash v. United States, 229 U.S. 373,
57 L. Ed. 1232, 33 S. Ct. 780 (1913); United States
v. National Dairy Corp., 372 U.S. 29, 9 L. Ed. 2d
561, 83 S. Ct. 594 (1963). All the Due Process Clause
requires is that the law give sufficient warning that

2 Indeed, as the Appellate Court pointed out (110 II]. App. 3d
738, 442 N.E. 2d 1379, 1383 (5th Dist. 1983); Appendix to Jurisdic-
tional Statement at 14-15), even appellants’ own expert testified
that psilocyn is predominantly taken by eating mushrooms which
contain the substance and the only company in the world that
manufactured psilocyn ceased production of it in 1966!

-

men may conduct themselves so as to avoid that
which is forbidden (footnote omitted).

Viewed against this standard, appellants were adequate-
ly apprised that possession of Psilocybe mushrooms was
proscribed. Acccordingly, they have raised no substantial
question regarding their due process rights.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the People of the State of
Illinois request that this appeal be dismissed or, alter-
natively, the decision of the Appellate Court of Illinois,
Fifth Judicial District, be affirmed for want of a substan-
tial federal question.

Respectfully submitted,

New F. Hartiean,
Attorney General, State of Illinois,

MicuaeL B. WELNSsTEIN,®
Assistant Attorney General,
188 West Randolph Street,
Suite 2200,

Chicago, Illinois 60601,
(312) 793-2570,

Counsel for Appellee.

Eviten M. Fav,

Lesure J. Rosen,
Assistant Attorneys General,

Of Counsel. * Counsel of Record

September 2, 1983

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385011_0051%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
