# Opposition Brief — Reed v. Slakan

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_3284%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 470 U.S. 1035

## Text

IN THE

Sugreme Court, US.
FILED

FEB 13 i985

ALEXANOER L S’évas

CLERK

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term 19864

w)

No. 84-762

AMOS E. REED, et al.,
Petitioners,

Vv.

CHARLES J. SLAKAN,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

N.C. PRISONER LEGAL SERVICES,
Charles T.L. Anderson

Post Office Box 509
Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
Telephone: (919) 626-3506

ATTORNEY FOR RESPONDENT

INC.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED. occccvccccccccces

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING......... eee
OPINIONS BELOW...... eccceccecece eoee
FUNSMORCEAOMS Sc Sec eh RT eeeeedeedecess

*# eee eee eee eee

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED.....

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE .......

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT........

A. PETITIONERS FAILED TO OBJECT TO THE JURY

INSTRUCTIONS REGARDING THE LEGAL STANDARD
FOR § 1983 SUPERVISORY LIABILITY.......

B. THE COURTS BELOW APPLIED THE CORRECT AND

ACCEPTED STANDARD OF LIABILITY FOR § 1983

SUPERVISORY LIABILITY .........

C. THE DECISION BELOW IS CONSISTENT WITH THE

LAW THROUGHOUT THE CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEAL.....

D. THE EVIDENCE IS SUFFICIENT TO SUPPORT THE

PONS @ VERMA le ccececsecberres

i PUTT UY T Ee rrerr rrr rr ere .

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

APPENDIX

ee eee eee

“eee eee

10

15

16

17

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Allee v. Medrano, 416 U.S. 802 (1974) weseseceresesseees

Bowen v. Watkins, 669 F.2d 979 (Sth Cir. 19862) ..seeeees

Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97 (1976) wccccscscsscsvevece

Hague v. CIO, 307 U.S. 496 (1939) ceseescessvaseseeseees

Haygood v. Younger, 7186 F.2d 1472 (9th Cir. 1963) ......

Hays v. Jefferson County, Ky, 668 F.2d 669 (6th Cir.
1962) cert. denied, 459 U.S. 633 (1984) ...+-eeeee

Herrera v. Valentino, 653 F.2d 1220 (6th Cir. 1981) ..

Jerry v. Francisco, 632 F.2d 252 (3d Cir. 1960) .....

King v. Higgins, 702 F.2d 16 (lst Cir. 1963) ....+...

Lenard v. Argento, 699 F.2d 8674 (7th Cir. 1963)
cert. denied, 8. , $06 8.Ct: GB 6i963) oa

Languirand v. Hayden, 717 F.2d 220 (Sth Cir. 1963) ..

McCann v. Coughlin, 6986 F.2d 112 (2nd Cir. 1963) ....

McClelland v. Factueau, 610 F.2d 693 (10th Cir. 1979)

Monell v. New York City Department of Social Services

.

10

15

14

10

16

15

16

15

15

16

15

15

16

S56 U.S. O50 (19IO) cocccccccccccccccccccvcesecseeDylO0,12,13

Morris v. Travisono, 528 F.2d 556 (list Cir. 1976) ...

Orpiano v. Johnson, 632 F.2d 1096 (4th Cir. 1980)
cert. denied, 450 U.S. 929 (1981) ..ceccccccscscees

Owens v. Haas, 601 F.2d 1242 (2nd Cir. 1979) cert.
deniec, 444 U.S. 9BO (1979) wesceccevsseseressesecs

Rizzo v. Goode, 623 U.S. 362 (1976) cnscsccescceseves

Turpin v. Mailet, 619 F.2d 196 (2nd Cir. 1960)
cert. denied, 449 U.S. 1016 (1982) ..cessesesevseess

“vee

10

15

-10,12,13

Villanueava v. George, 659 F.2d 851 (86th Cir. 1961) ....

Wanger v. Bonner, 621 F.2d 675 (Sth Cir. 1980) -seseeees

Webster v. City of Houston, 689 F.2d 1220

(Sth Cir. 1982) eee eeeeneeeneaweneeaweaneawnaweweaeeaneaneeeaeeeeeee

ly System,

White v. Washington Public Power Su
2F. 2

Williams v. Bennett, 689 F.2d 1370 (11th Cir. 1962)

cert. denied, U.S. » 104 §.Ct. 335 (1983) ...

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Eagan, The Scope of Supervisory Liability Under

42 U.S.C. § 1982, 6 J. Contemp. L. 1861 (1979) ....--45.

ii

eer eeeeeaeeeaeaeeaaeeeeeee

15

16

15

15

16

16

15

Municipal Liability Under Section 19863: The Meaning

of “Policy or Custom,” Note, 78 Col. L. R. 308 ......-.. 15

5A Moore Federal Practice § 50.07 (2nd Ed. 1977).. 16

NORTH CAROLINA STATUTES AND REGULATIONS Appendix

S66. Gee, Beats 9 S408, B35 Bes Bhs BO veces as cenen s

GS HCAC ZA COLO occcr cere e eres sbeebs ese ee eeesesreesesese K 4

5 BERS SP SCS CSSD carr ever ees eveeorcevdervesossevoroeve K 5,6
iii

ry IN THE
? SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM 1984

No. 84-762

AMOS E. REED, et al.,
Petitioners,

Vv.

CHARLES J. SLAKAN,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO: THE HONORABLE CHIEF JUSTICE AND
ASSOCIATE JUSTICES OF THE SUPREME
COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

The Respondent, Charles J. Slakan, prays that a Writ of
Certiorari to review the judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, filed June 5, 1984, and Order
denying the Petition for Rehearing, filed August 13, 1984, be

denied.
QUESTION PRESENTED

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 34.2, Respondent Charles J.
Slakan offers the following correction and supplementation to

Petitioner's statement of the Question Presented.

WHETHER STATE PRISON SUPERVISORY OFFICIALS CAN BE HELD
PERSONALLY LIABLE FOR DAMAGES UNDER 42 U.S.C. § 1983 FOR THE
UNCONSTITUTIONAL USE OF FORCE AGAINST A SINGLE, CELL-CONFINED
INMATE BY TWO GUARDS ON THE BASIS OF THEIR DELIBERATE
INDIFFERENCE TO OR TACIT AUTHORIZATION OF A PATTERN OR PRACTICE
OR POLICY OF INDISCRIMINATE OR EXCESSIVE USE OF FORCE AGAINST
CELL-CONFINED INMATES WHICH WAS FOUND BY A JURY TO CAUSE THE
UNCONSTITUTIONAL ASSAULT.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING
OPINIONS BELOW
JURISDICTION

STATUTORY AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 34.2, these items are omitted
since Respondent is satisfied with Petitioners' statement of each

of these items.
COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 34.2, Respondent Charles J.
Slakan offers the following correction and supplementation to
Petitioners' statement of the case.

First, Petitioners claim that guards “squirted or attempted
to squirt him with two fire hoses" and "[A] small amount of tear
gas was also sprayed into the cell by Walters." (PWC p 6 .*
Testimony during the trial indicated that two high pressure fire
hoses and a dispenser of CS gas were used against Mr. Slakan
while he was unarmed and locked in a single cell. The parties
stipulated that manufacturer’s instructions expressly stated that
the CS gas was not for indoor use. Respondent testified at trial
that the water pressure from the fire hoses forced him to the
back of the cell and forced all the air out of the cell, making
breathing difficult and requiring him to brace himself against the
cell sink to keep from falling or being knocked to the floor.
When he attempted to indicate his submission to the guards, the
spray was directed at his hand and head. (Respondent's Appendix
A 3-6). Then gas was sprayed into the cell, causing Mr. Slakan's

lungs and eyes to burn and making breathing even more difficult.

The parenthetical reference "PWC" is shorthand for
Petitioners' Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals. "Respondent's Appendix,"
referenced in the text is lodged with the Clerk's Office and is
not attached to the Respondent's Brief in Opposition.

When he attempted to move to the front of the cell to get air,
the spray of the hoses was used to pin him to the back of the
cell. (Respondent's Appendix A 7-11). Three guards then entered
the cell and beat him repeatedly with night sticks or riot batons
about the head and body (Respondent's Appendix A 12-19),
resulting in bruises, contusions and four lacerations requiring
sixty-one (61) sutures and considerable loss of blood.
(Respondent's Appendix B 1). Mr. Slakan's account of the force
used against him was corroborated by the testimony of an inmate
in an adjacent cell and by the testimony of inmate James C.
Mitchell, who similarly described a hosing he suffered while
handcuffed and locked in a cell.

Second, with respect to Mr. Slakan's claims against the
Petitioners, evidence and testimony not mentioned in Petitioners'
statement (PWC p 4-5) was offered in support of the affirmative
link or causal connection between the unconstitutional assault on
Mr. Slekan and the conduct of the Petitioners.

As Petitioners note, eight accounts of use of force against
cell confined inmates, including one incident in which the inmate
was hosed while handcuffed and locked in his cell, were admitted
into evidence. Each of these incidents, which occurred within
the year preceding the assault on Mr. Slakan, is described in the
opinion below. (Petitioner's Appendix A 14, 15). The 1975
Inmate Grievance Recommendation against indiscriminate use of
high pressure fire hoses against cell-confined inmates”
(Respondent's Appendix C-5) was also admitted into evidence.

That report found that high pressure hoses were being used
against cell-confined inmates for periods of 10-60 minutes. Mr.
Slakan also introduced expert opinion testimony to support his
claim that Petitioners knew or should have known of guards'
abusive conduct and acquiesced in or approved said practices

causing his unconstitutional assault.

It was stipulated at trial that under state law the
Commission consisted of five persons appointed by the Governor
with a statutory duty to investigate inmate complaints and, upon
a finding of merit, report its findings and recommendations to
the Secretary of Correction.

Robert E. Swiger, Town of Carrboro Fire Chief, testified at
trial in a video-taped deposition, demonstrating the prison fire

hose for the jury at the 55 p.s.i. (pounds per square inch)

«

pressure which Mr. Slakan identified as comparable to the force
he was subjected to. This pressure was also certified in prison
tests of the hose. Fire Chief Swiger testified that a straight
stream of water from that hose "could probably hurt" a man "in
critical areas of the body," that the water could probably streak
or redden the back or chest, and, depending upon the size of the
individual, it could knock him down or push him back.
(Respondent's Appendix D 1,2).

Arnold Pontesso, now retired after serving as a warden at
U.S. Bureau of Prisons and as Secretary of Correction in
Oklahoma, testified that the approved policies permitting use of
high pressure fire hoses and tear gas against cell-confined
inmates could not be justified penalogically and constituted
summary punishment. (Respondent's Appendix E 2). Mr. Pontesso
further testified that the Department of Correction's Response
(Respondent's Appendix F 1-2) to the 1975 Inmate Grievance
Commission Recommendation manifested “a callous disregard for the
safety and security of inmates" and that, in his opinion, the
evidence established that a pattern or practice of excessive use

of force against cell-confined inmates” existed at Central

Additional evidence supporting this finding (and
corroborating Mr. Slakan's testimony) included the testimony of
one defense witness who testified that as a guard at Central
Prison he had been personally involved in five or six hosings,
that the general practice was to put the nozzle in the food tray
of the cell foor, 106 inches from the back of the cell, that
inmates would attempt to crawl under their bunks on the wet cell
floor to get away from the hose spray, that the force of water
was strong enough to knock a coffee cup out of an inmate's hand
and pin him to the back wall of the cell, that the water would
knock an inmate around the back of his cell at full pressure and
that the water would sting and bruise an inmate's skin.
(Respondent's Appendix G 1-10).

Defendant Sgt. Walters, a guard at Central Prison, testified
somewhat ambiguously that he would use the high pressure fire
hose to force the air out of the cell and that the hose, when
operative, required two men to hold the nozzle. (Respondent's
Appendix H 5-7). He further testified that he had received no
formal training in use of the high pressure fire hose or the CS
gas (except observed demonstrations) and he had no knowledge that
the CS gas was not recommended for indoor use. (Respondent's
Appendix H 1-3).

Defendant guard Porter, who testified on direct that he hit
Mr. Slakam "like he would a dog," (Respondent's Appendix I 1),
admitted on cross-examination that the high pressure hose, when

Prison. (Respondent's Appendix E 10,14,22,31,32). Finally, Mr.
Pontesso testified that, in his expert opinion, the assault upon
Mr. Slakan was a result of policies or customs approved by the
Petitioners, and these supervisory officials failed to take
reasonable steps to insure that fire hoses, tear gas and billy
clubs used against cell-confined inmates would not be used in an
excessive and unjustified manner. (Respondent's Appendix E 23-
26, 3).

In addition to Petitioners' admission“ in their Answer that
they approved the use of high pressure fire hoses and tear gas
against cell-confined inmates, further evidence came into the
record to support the causal relationship between their conduct

and the assault on Mr. Slakan.
Petitioner Reed

Correctional expert Pontesso testified that Secretary Reed
should have known of the Inmate Grievance Commission
Recommendation in the exercise of ordinary care as Secretary of
Correction. (Respondent's Appendix E 12-13, 31). Petitioner
Garrison testified that he assumed Petitioner Reed knew of the
manner in which hoses were used against cell-confined inmates.
(Respondent's Appendix J 9). Mr. Pontesso further testified that

use of force practices accepted or approved by Petitioner Reed

operative, required two men to hold and operate it.
(Respondent's Appendix I 4). Porter further testified that no
supervisor had ever personally reviewed a use of force incident
with him and that he received no formal training in the use of a
riot baton. (Respondent's Appendix I 5-7).

. Petitioners now contend that a fact admitted in their Answer
and stipulated to in the Pretrial Order, i.e. that Petitioners
approved of the use of high pressure fire hoses and tear gas
against individual cell-confined inmates, was not read to the
jury. Respondent contends that this stipulated fact was read to
the jury after they viewed the video taped deposition of Fire
Chief Swiger, whi included a demonstration of the hose;
however, the eae je agpinerad was dismissed at the time the video
tape was played and no record was made of the reading of the

stipulation. In any event, the fact was before the trial judge
in his determination of the Petitioners' Motion for New Trial.

(and Edwards and Garrision) could never be deemed appropriate and
that the conduct of Petitioners did not represent reasonable
remedial action to curtail or prevent continuing abusive
practices (Respondent's Appendix E 25). In his expert opinion,
it was "evident" that Mr. Slakan's unconstitutional assault was
"a result of policies adopted or approved, or customs approved by
the ... Secretary of Correction." (Respondent's Appendix E 24-
26). This evidence, taken in conjunction with Petitioner's
affirmative statutory duties to safeguard the welfare of inmates
(Respondent's Appendix K 1-3), supports the jury's finding of

liability against Petitioner Reed.
Petitioner Edwards

During his testimony Petitioner Edwards admitted that he
knew of and approved the use of high pressure fire hoses and tear
gas against cell-confined inmates and that he would ordinarily
have been (and in all probability was) consulted regarding the
1975 Inmate Grievance Commission Recommendation. > (Respondent's
Appendix L 3-5). In spite of the fact that he had the
responsibility for the day to day operation of the prisons and
the approval of equipment used to control emergencies (5 NCAC 2A
.0101, 2F .1501 (b)(3) & (4); Respondent's Appendix K 4-6),
Edwards admitted that (1) he never inspected or examined the high
pressure fire hoses he approved, (2) he never issued orders
requiring officers to supervise the guards' use of fire hoses or
limit the time and manner that an inmate could be hosed; and (3)
he never requested expert advice regarding the risk of injury

from hosings. (Respondent's Appendix L 5-7). As in the case of

The Response to the Recommendation states the Edwards "was
fully briefed on the incident and he indicates his support of the
action taken by the officers ... ." and "... recommendations ...
(2) that the high pressure water hoses not be used on inmates
locked within a cell unless there is imminent threat of phsyical
danger to another person or with direct approval of the Warden,
Deputy Warden or Shift Supervisor are DISAPPROVED."

(Respondent's Appendix F 2).

ee

Petitioner Reed, correctional expert Pontesso found Edward
conduct to be deliberately indifferent to the threat of at
inmates and causally related to the unconstitutional assau

Mr. Slakan.

Petitioner Garrison

Petitioner Garrison had statutory responsibility for
welfare of inmates assigned to his prison (Respondent's Ap
K 3) and personally reviewed and approved use of force rep
each of the nine incidents of use of force introduced in e
at trial, including the hosing of a cell-confined, handcuf
inmate. On cross examination, he admitted knowledge of ar
incident (not in the record) in which an inmate received e@
injury from a hosing. (Respondent's Appendix J 1,2). He
admitted knowledge and approval of the Department's Respor
the Inmate Grievance Commission Recommendation (that use c
practices be reformed) as well as the fact that use of for
practices and policies had not been altered after the Comn
Recommendation, or after any of the use of force incidents

evidence. (Respondent's Appendix J 11).

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

The petition for writ of certiorari should be denied.
Petitioners' assertion that the verdict of the jury, enter
after a four day trial, and the decisions of the district
appellate courts "negate[sj} the requirement of personal
involvement as a predicate to liability under 42 U.S.C. §
is not supported by a review of the record. Examination o
Petitioners' statement of the Question Presented makes it

difficult to discern whether Petitioners now challenge the

standard applied in the courts below, or the sufficiency o

evidence supporting the jury's verdict. However, in either
event, the record and the lew support that verdict end dictate
thet a writ of certiorari be denied.

A. PETITIONERS FAILED TO OBJECT TO THE JURY INSTRUCTIONS
REGARDING THE LEGAL STANDARD FOR § 1963 SUPERVISORY
LIABILITY

It should first be opserved that Petitioners did not object
to the jury instructions et the charge conference during the
trial. Portions of the instructions sddressing the liability of
the supervisory defendants, which are now apparently challenged,
are set forth in the Respondent's Appendix, ™ 1-3.

The instructions clearly instructed the jury thet “the
Greater weight of the evidence” must show that the supervisory
officials “in some manner, acted personally in the Geprivation of
plaintiff's rights” and that “they may not be held liable merely
on the grounds that they were the guards’ supervisors in the
chain of commend. The plaintiff must establish « persone!
connection between the action or inaction of the supervisory
Gefendants and the Genial of the plaintiff's constitutions!
rights.” (Respondent's Appendix ™ i).

The instructions then stete thet personal involvement may be
shown by proof of euthorization in advance “which may have come
from the policies end procedures instituted by these defendants.”
(Respondent's Appendix ™ 2). The trie) court further instructed
the jury, without objection, thet persons] involvement mey be
shown by acquiescence in alleged excessive use of force by the
querds, (see Orpieno v. Johnson, 632 7.24 1096, 1101 (4th Cir.
1980), cert denies, 450 U.S. 929 (1961)}, if the jury found thet
“there was @ pattern of instances where excessive and
unreasonable force was used ageinst him and/or other prisoners
which as 60 pervasive thet the defendant knew or should have

known about it, and failed to teke reasonable steps to remedy the
wrongdoing, such that his deliberate indifference was in effect «
tacit suthorization of the use of excessive end unreasonable
force ageinst pleintiff.” The jury received sedditional
instruction that the evidence @ust show that there were « number
of such incidents such that supervisors were or should have been
put on notice that subordinates engaged in an unlewful practice
(excessive force) against « group of inmates of which plaintiff

Sleken was «4 menber. (Respondent's Appendix ™ 2)

With reference to Monell v. New York City Department of
Social Services, 436 U.S. 656 (1976), the trie) court

instructions stated that supervisory defendants’ policies or
customs, which could be established by omissions a6 well as
affirmative acts, could expose such defendants to lisbility if
the policies or customs caused plaintiff's injury. And further,
that officials with rule making responsibilities could be lisble
if their “unreasonable” failure to make rules (1) “rose to the
level of deliberate indifference to plaintiff's constitutional
rights or constituted tacit suthorization of unconstitutional
practices” and (2) “caused their employees unconstitutional
practices.” The instructions then recite the established
Statutory end regulatory rule-making powers of each of the three
supervisory defendants. (Respondent's Appendix ™ 3)
Petitioners’ failure to object to the instructions, which
were Grafted after « charge conference and include verbsetin
portions of Petitioners’ own requested jury instructions
(Respondent's Appendix 1-3), should estop then from challenging
the legel stendard applied below. Rule Si, F.R.Civ.P.,
specifically prohibits essignment of error to « jury charge or
instruction ebsent «4 timely objection. Rule $i has been applied

strictly by federal appellate courts, subject to « limited plain

error exception. Morris v. Travisono, 526 F.24d 656 (ist Cir.

1976).°

8B. THE COURTS BELOW APPLIED THE CORRECTION AND
ACCEPTED STANDARD OF LIABILITY FOR § 1963
SUPERVISORY LIABILITY

Petitioners assert that the decisions below have

circumvented the requirement, ettributed to Rizzo v. Goode, 423

U.S. 3%2 (1976) and Monell, supra, that “there must be evidence

of an ‘affirmative link’ between s subordinste'’s misconduct and
the adoption of « plan or policy showing the supervisors
authorized such misconduct.” (PWC p 6). Scrutiny of those cases
and the record of the case sub judice refute petitioners’
contention.

Rizzo, which involved claims for injunctive relief sgainst
the Philadelphia Police Department, sddressed itself to the
courts’ exercise of equitable powers under § 1963 and recognized
that previous decisions had properly upheld injunctions’ against
supervisory defendants under § 1963. See Hague v. CIO, 307 U.S.
496 (1939) and Allee v. Medrano, 416 U.S. 602 (1974).

The Rizzo Court found the district court findings and
conclusions insufficient to support § 1963 injunctive relief in
several regerds. First, the individual policemen found to have
violated constitutional rights were not named as party defendants
with the defendant Mayor and police supervisors. Second, the
facts revealed no “affirmative link between the occurrence of the

verious incidents of police misconduct and the sedoption of « plan

é “Rule $1 is of considereble imsportence for the orderly and

just functioning of the judicial system” and, “‘({1)})f there is to
be « plein error exception to Rule 51 at all, it should be
confined to the exceptionsl case where the error has seriously
affected the faeirness, integrity or public reputation of judicial
proceedings.** [quoting £.C. Wright © A. Miller, federal
Practice and Procedure 4 2556, et 675 (1971)) Id., at 859.

’ The Rizzo court observed thet the “principles of equity ...
militate sieTeet the grent of en injunction except in the most
extraordinary circumstences.*~ 4.,. #t 379. A cleia# for damages
under 4 1983 does not involve important end delicate
principles of equity or federslise which were before the Court in

Pizzo.

we =

A _
ic. 4
mlaineié
piai if
raviatr
Aiacic
31 ipi
et “
Adiaetric+¢
33 3
tunica
¥psees
The
_ 7 ker y ecdru
4
iat ¥ ¥ the thre ‘ ‘
4 na : maar exniater 4
ins oe cont ined ror
of Petitioners * take
y or curtail the use of
rmate-«
*4i-e ‘
itioners Garrison and £
ec if the response« Cor. ¢
ounts of eight incidents
inciucing on incident
gh pressure fire hose
ior he accounts were
rep
r _
‘ 4
; ,

‘ ¥
tarr
4
“Ar
, ‘
Ane
nosati

‘eat
“nov

Car
y ;

re
‘
‘
y
4
‘
or
‘
,
,
3
+
€
na
‘
;

‘
‘
,
4
er
te
wie
ré
**
y
ce
‘
‘

re
,
,
;
‘
Qnr
’
>

Third, Arncld Pontes-o, a retired Bureau of Prison Warden
and former Secretary of Correction in Oklahoma, testified that
the prison practices regarding use of force against cell-confined
inmates constituted a pattern of excessive use of force,
uncommon, unacceptable and virtually unheard of in his experience
in corrections. Thus, the approved conduct of the guards, unlike
the behavior in Rizzo, cannot be characterized as typical of
similar systems managed by supervisory defendants.

Finally, unlike Rizzo, the record herein indicates that the
incidents of use of force against cell-confined inmates
established “common thread” or “'pervasive pattern of
intimidation’ flowing from a deliberate plan by the named
defendants...,” Id., at 375.

Monell, which involved a challenge to a municipal agency's
policies compelling unpaid, medically unnecessary pregnancy
leave, is consistent with Rizzo in rejecting vicarious or

respondeat superior liability under § 1983 while recognizing that

supervisory action or inaction that causes the deprivation of
rights is actionable under § 1983. Monell observed first that
the language of the legislation specifically held liable “any
person who, under color of state law...shall subject or cause to
be subjected, any person...to the deprivation of rights... .”
Id., at 692-693. {Quoting 42 U.S.C § 1963).

“The italicized language plainly imposes liability on a

government that, under color of some official policy

‘causes’ an employee to violate another's constitutional

rights.”
Ibid.

By reference to the legislative history of the Civil Rights
Act, the Monell Court found that liability under respondeat
superior was not intended under § 1963, but rather, that a
supervisory governmental unit or official could be deemed liable
if it was found to have “caused” the deprivation under § 1963.
From the legislative history of § 1963, Monell suggests the

supervising governmental bodies, as well as individuals, may be

12

_

held liable and to have caused the deprivation of rights if they

"had power to intervene” and “neglect([ed]) or refuse[d] to do so.”

Id., at 692 n. 97."

"([Llocal governments, like every other § 1983 ‘person,’
by the very terms of the statute, may be sued for
constitutional deprivations visited pursuant to
governmental ‘custom’ ever though such a custom has not
received formal approval through the body's official
decision-making channels.”

Id., at 690-91.

The teachings of Mone11!?, as well as the holding in Rizzo,
were carefully applied in the case sub judice, wherein the
district court instructed the jury that supervisory defendants
must be shown to have acted personally, in some manner, and thus
caused the deprivation of rights to be “visited” upon Mr. Slakan.
The district court properly charged that the requisite personal
involvement could be shown by proof of the existence of a pattern
of excessive and unreasonable force against inmates like Mr.

Slakan (cell-confined) such that the officials knew or should

In the Appendix to the Opinion of the Court, the full text
of the second conference substitute for the Sherman Amendment is
set forth.

"[A]ny person or persons having knowledge that any of

the wrongs conspired to be done and mentioned in the

second secticn of this act are about to be committed,
and having power to prevent or aid in preventing the
same, shall neglect or refuse to do so, and such
wrongful act shall be committed, such person or persons
shell be liable to the person injured, or his legal
representatives.” (Emphasis Added).”
Id., at 704. Earlier legislative discussion of the Act stated
that “(t]he primary constitutional justification for the Sherman
amendment was that it was “necessary and proper remedy for the
failure of localities to protect citizens...” and "... the
amendment came into play only when a locality was at fault or had

knowingly neglected its duty to provide protection.” (Emphasis
a id., at 692 n. 57.

a8 Monell interpreted Rizzo in a manner consistent with the
court’s below: “(B)y our decision in Rizzo v. Goode, [supra], we
would appear to have decided that mere right to control without
any control or directions having been exercised and without any
failure to supervise is not enough to support § 1983 liability.”
(Emphasis Added). Id., at 694 n.5& By showing supervisors’
disregard for the known need to control and supervise,
Respondent's evidence established precisely the “affirmative
link” which was absent in Rizzo.

13

have known about it, and failed to take reasonable remedial steps

to the point that their conduct evidenced deliberate indifference
to or tacit authorization of the use of excessive force. }”

The record in the case sub judice, unlike that in Rizzo,
clearly supports the finding of an affirmative link between the
guards’ violation of Mr. Slakan's eighth amendment rights and the
supervisory defendants’ adoption of a plan or policy tacitly
authorizing such misconduct. The Petitioners all knew and
approved of the complained-of practices. Each Petitioner knew or
should have known of the Inmate Grievance Commission's
Recommendation against the indiscriminate use of force against
cell-confined inmates. Hosings and macings of cell-confined
inmates continued unabated.

Based upon the record, the jury found that Petitioners had
or should have had knowledge of the past abusive practices and
the likelihood of continued abuse if they refused to take
remedial action. The record supports the jury's finding of
Petitioners’ authorization of, indifference to, or acquiescence
in the abusive practices of the guards which caused the
deprivation of Mr. Slakan's rights.

Indeed, the jury's recognition of this “link,” as well as
the weight of the evidence supporting the supervisory defendants’
personal responsibility for Mr. Slakan's injury, is reflected in
the award of damages among the respective defendants. !* Through

deliberate indifference to a known policy of indiscriminate use

In the context of medical care to prisoners, the Court
recognized the distinction between inadvertent and advertent
conduct in Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97 (1976).

",..-in the medical context, an inadvertent failure to
provide medical care cannot be said to constitute ‘an
unnecessary and wanton infliction of pain’ or to ‘be
repugnant to the conscience of mankind.’ ... In order to
state a cognizable claim, a prisoner must allege acts
or omissions sufficiently harmful to evidence deliberate
indifference to serious medical needs. It is only such
indifference that can offend ‘evolving standards of
decency’ in violation of the Eighth Amendment.” Id.
429 U.S., at 100, 101. joy

aS The jury's perception of the facts and acceptance of the

Respondent's theory of the case is borne out by the award of
damages. Five hundred dollars ($500.00) in compensatory damages
were awarded against five of the six defendants. Awards of
punitive or exemplary damages increased with respect to the
defendants’ authority: Reed ($10,000.00), Edwards ($6,000.90),
Garrison ($7,000.00); Walters ($3,000.00); Porter ($2,000.00).

14

of force against cell-confined inmates, the Petitioners caused

Mr. Slakan to be subjected to a deprivation of his rights under
the Eighth Amendment of the United States Constitution. Section
1983 liability for such conduct is supported by equity, common
sense, the language of the Act, its legislative history, and the

decisions of this court. /*

C. THE DECISION BELOW IS CONSISTENT WITH THE LAW
THROUGHOUT THE CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEAL

Petitioners assert that the decision below has new and
undesired implications as to supervisory officials' liability
under § 1983. However, except for the evidence and jury verdict,
Mr. Slakan's case and the legal standards applied below merely
reflect the law as it has been interpreted throughout the circuit

courts of appeal.!> Petitioners do not contend that a conflict

See, e.g. Municipal Liability Under Section 1983: The
Meaning of "Policy or Custom,” Note, 78 Col.L.R. 308; Eagan, The
Scope of Supervisory Liability Under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, 6J. ~~
Contemp. L. 181 (1979).

15

Cases involving § 1983 claims for damages against
supervisory officials or governmental units have applied the law
in a manner consistent with the decision below. Cases turn on
the facts in the record supporting “supervisory” liability. King
v. Higgins, 702 F.2d 18, 21 (lst Cir. 1983)(damages against
prison superintendent for failure to correct improper
disciplinary procedure after receiving notice; "[DJefendant
apparently does not dispute the fact that as the official
designated to hear prisoners’ appeals, he should be liable in
damages for his inaction in curing deficiencies in the
disciplinary proceedings of which he was aware. See Rizzo v.
Goode [supra]."); Turpin v. Mailet, 619 F.2d 196, 201-202 (2nd
Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 1016 (1982)(city may be liable
for damages under § 1983 “where senior personnel have knowledge
of constitutionally offensive acts but fail to take remedial
steps" amounting “to deliberate indifference to or tacit
authorization of the offensive acts;" evidence held insufficient
to support inference), see also Owens v. Haas, 601 F.2d 1242,
1246 (2nd Cir. 1979) cert. denied, 444 U.S. 980 (1979), McCann v.
Coughlin, 698 F.2d 112 (2nd Cir. 1983); Jerry v. Francesco, 632
F.2d 252, 256 (3d Cir. 1980)(J. Adams, concurring) (warden with
statutory duty to safeguard jail inmates may be held liable for §
1983 damages resulting from “general conditions and policies
within the superivory purview of the officer in charge of the
prison."); Wanger v. Bonner, 621 F.2d 675, 680 (5th Cir.
1980)(Sheriff may be held liable for damages under § 1983 for
acts of deputies if "he knew of or should have known that
allegedly unconstitutional acts were occurring and acquiesced in
them," causing violation of rights), see also Languirand v.
Hayden, 717 F.2d 220, 227-226 (Sth Cir. 1983), Webster v. City of
Houston, 689 F.2d 1220 (Sth Cir. 1982), Bowen v. Watkins, 669
F.2d 979, 988-89 (5th Cir. 1982); Hays v. Jefferson County, Ky,
668 F.2d 869, 874 (6th Cir. 1982) cert. denied, 459 U.S. 833
(1982) ("At a minimum a plaintiff must show that the
[supervisory] official at least implicity authorized, approved or

15

exists within the circuits and, contrary to their assertions, the

case sub judice does not present a new developement or even a

change in the law.
D. THE EVIDENCE IS SUFFICIENT TO SUPPORT THE JURY'S VERDICT

Petitioners further argue that their conduct was too remote
from the unconstitutional assault on Mr. Slakan to establish
liability. The court below correctly observed that this same
contention, regarding causation or proximate cause, raised an
issue essentially of fact, not law, Slakan, 737 F.2d at 373, and
found the evidence more than sufficient to support the jury's
finding. As observed by the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals,
"fact finding by jury will be set aside only where evidence,
viewed in light most favorable to prevailing party, is so clearly
wrong that reasonable persons could not reach any other
conclusion than asserted by the losing party on appeal." See
e.g. 5A Moore Federal Practice § 50.07 [2] at 50-82 to 50-83 (2nd

Ed. 1977). The recitation of the evidence set forth in the court

knowingly acquiesced in the unconstitutional conduct of the
offending officers."); Lenard v. Argento, 699 F.2d 874, 886 (7th
Cir. 1983) cert. denied, U.S. ___, 104 S.Ct. 69 (1983)("Only
where there is a pattern of constitutionally offensive acts with
failure to invoke remedial measures will there result in
municipal liability for subsequent violations ‘if the
supervisor's inaction amounts to deliberate indifference or tacit
authorization of the offensive acts.'" [quoting Turpin v.
Mailet, ([supra.]); Villanueva v. George, 659 F.2d 651, 854 (8th
Cir. 1981)(En Banc)(chief jailor may be held liable for money
damages under § 1983 if he had knowledge that detainees
“conditions of confinement were punitive and yet refused to
remedy same. See Estelle v. Gamble [supra]"), see also Herrera
v. Valentine, 653 F.2d 1220, 1224 (8th Cir. 1981); White v.
Washington Public Power Supply System, 692 F.2d 1286, i290 (9th
Cir. 1982)(evidence insufficent to support § 1983
damages/liability against public corporation; "(t]here must be a
showing either of official sanction of the agents' acts, or of
culpable negligence, or impliedly or tacitly authorized approved
or encouraged discriminatory conduct as a matter of course on the
part of the employer in failing to correct known slurs or other
discriminatory acts of its employees."), see also Haygood v.
Younger, 718 F.2d 1472 (9th Cir. 1983); McClelland v. Facteau,
610 F.2d 693, 697 (10th Cir. 1979)(cause of action under § 1983
exists against police chief for allegedly abusive acts of
subordinates if chief “kriew or should have known of the
misconduct and yet failed to act to prevent future harm.");
Williams v. Bennett, 689 F.2d 1370, 1380-1381, (llth Cir. 1982),
cert. denied, _—s U.S. _—s- 104 S.Ct. 335 (19864)(§ 1983 action for
damages against individual prison officials for subjection to
cruel and unusual prison conditions requires a showing of
deliberate indifference to his need for reasonable protection
from violence which in fact caused the deprivation of rights).

16

[ee
ee ee eM en ne ee

of appeals' opinion clearly indicates that the evidence was

sufficient to support the verdict against the Petitioners herein.

Compare Turpin v. Mailet, supra.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, the petition for writ of
certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted, this the day of February, 1985.

NORTH CAROLINA PRISONER LEGAL SERVICES, INC.
Attorney for Respondent

By:

Charles T. L. Anderson

Post Office Box 509

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602
Telephone: (919) 828-3508

17

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_3284%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
