# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Eastern Air Lines, Inc. v. Winbourne

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_3275%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 474 U.S. 1036

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FIL?

)
NO. 84-750 wey 6 196:

ALEXANDER L. STEVAS
CLERK

: In the
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

EASTERN AIR LINES, INC.,
PETITIONER
VERSUS
ERNEST GLENN WINBOURNE,
RESPONDENT

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

FRANCIS G. WELLER

755 Magazine Street

New Orleans, Louisiana 70130
Telephone: (504) 581-5141
Attorney for Petitioner,
Eastern Air Lines, Inc.

MARC J. YELLIN

DARRELL K. CHERRY
DEUTSCH, KERRIGAN & STILES

CORRECTED COPY

SAP ALT EALERTS OTIS! STOLE AAI SA eT EN IT ARES AR EEE,
A B Letter Service, Inc., 327 Chartres St., New Orleans, La. (504) 581-5555
1¢) aio”

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

MAY A COURT, BY ADDING INTEREST TO A
JUDGMENT, MAKE AN AWARD THAT EXCEEDS
THE MAXIMUM LIABILITY LIMITATION IMPOS.-
ED BY AN INTERNATIONAL TREATY, THE WAR-
SAW CONVENTION, AS SUPPLEMENTED BY THE
MONTREAL AGREEMENT?

The United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit
has answered ‘‘Yes”’ to this question.

The United States Court of Appeals, Second Circuit,
has answered “No.”

This question is presently before this Court on an ap-
plication for writs in Eastern Air Lines, Inc. v. Robert F.
Mahfoud, Etc., (No. 83-4315, 5th Cir. 1984), cert. granted,
53 U.S.1..W. 3235 (No. 83-1807, October i, 1984).

ij
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 21.1(b) and 28.1,
counsel for Petitioner certifies that ...e parties to this pro-
ceedings are: Ernest Glenn Winbourne and Eastern Air
Lines, Inc.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
Cees FROONNOE ... or. c ee ere 2 0s basen if
Parties to the Proceeding.......................... ii
Ce itis i ee Te IS iii
EE. Te ar ee iv
Ge es ia vis 9 as whee es 1
ac bine tuce op anes 1
Statutory Provisions Involved...................... 2
SE ee DEG SRP ene 2
Reasons for Granting the Writ..................... 5

A conflict between a decision by the United
States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit, and a deci-
sion by the United States Court of Appeals, Se-
cond Circuit, compels issuance of a writ to resolve
the question of whether a court may, by awarding
interest on a Warsaw/Montreal Judgment, exceed
the liability limitation imposed by the Warsaw
Convention and Montreal Agreement. This Court
recently granted certiorari on the same issue in
Eastern Air Lines, Inc. v. Robert F. Mahfoud,
Etc., (No. 83-4315, 5th Cir. 1984), cert. granted, 53
U.S.L.W. 3235 (No. 83-1807, October 1, 1984)..... 5

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: PAGE

Domangue v. Eastern Airlines, Inc.,

542 F.Supp. 643 (E.D. La. 1982).................

Domangue v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc.,

722 F.2d 256 (5th Cir. 1984)................ 4,6, 7

Mahfoud v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc.,
(No. 83-4315, 5th Cir. 1984), cert. granted,
53 U.S.L.W. 3235 (No. 83-1807, October 1,

O’Rourke v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc.,

730 F.2d 842 (2nd Cir. 1984) ............. 4, 5, 6, 7

Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Franklin Mint Corp.,
__ U.S. _, 104 S.Ct. 1776, 80 L.Ed.2d 273

(200 ITS EB SORIA AR is POTS

STATUTES:

Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules
Relating to International Transportation by
Air, October 12, 1929, 49 Stat. 3000 (reprinted
in 49 U.S.C. §1502, T.S. No. 876, 137

L.N.T.S. 11) [Warsaw Convention]...............

Agreement Relating to Liability Limitations of
the Warsaw Convention and the Hague Protocol,
Agreement CAB 18990, approved by Order No.
E-23680, May 13, 1966 (Docket 17325), 31

Fed. Reg. 7302 (1966) [Montreal Agreement] ......

1

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1984
EASTERN AIR LINES, INC.,
PETITIONER
VERSUS
ERNEST GLENN WINBOURNE,
RESPONDENT

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Eastern Air Lines, Inc., respectfully prays
that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit,
entered on August 9, 1984.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Fifth Circuit appears in the at-
tached appendix.

JURISDICTION
The Fifth Circuit entered judgment in this matter on

August 9, 1984. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
under 28 U.S.C. Section 1254(1).

\

2
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

1. Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules
Relating to International Transportation by Air, October 12,
1929, 49 Stat. 3000 (reprinted in 49 U.SC. §1502, TS. No. 876,
137 L.N-TS. 11), and more particularly, Article 22 thereof.
(Hereinafter referred to as the Warsaw Convention.)

“ARTICLE 22”

(1) In the transportation of passengers the liabili-
ty of the carrier for each passenger shall be limited
to the sum of 125,000 francs. Where, in accordance
with the law of the court to which the case is sub-
mitted, damages may be awarded in the form of
periodical payments, the equivalent capital value
of said payments shall not exceed 125,000 Francs....”
(Emphasis added)

49 U.S.C. §1502 (Warsaw Convention)

2. Agreement Relating to Liability Limitations of the
Warsaw Convention and the Hague Protocol, Agreernent
CAB 18990, approved by Order No. E-23680, May 13, 1966
(Docket 17325), 31 Fed. Reg. 7302 (1966) [Montreal
Agreement]:

“(A] limit of liability for each passenger for death,
wounding or other bodily injury of $75,000...” (Em-
phasis added.)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The instant case arises out of the crash of Eastern

3

Air Lines Flight 66, on June 24, 1975, at Kennedy Interna-
tional Airport. The action was brought on behalf of Ernest
Glenn Winbourne for the deaths of his wife and two
children, who were killed in the crash. The Winbournes
were engaged in international travel, and were subject to
the provisions of the Warsaw Convention, as supplemented
by the Montreal Agreement.

Winbourne filed suit in the United States District
Court, Eastern District of Louisiana, on August 25, 1975.
The case was transferred to the Eastern District of New
York by order of the Multi-District Litigation Panel, where
it was consolidated by Judge Bramwell for trial on the
issue of liability.

as
|

On the day the liability trial was to commence, Win-
bourne moved orally to sever his claims against, Eastern,
and moved for entry of judgment against Eastern, based
on the Warsaw Convention as supplemented by the Mon-
treal Agreement.

Judge Bramwell granted plaintiff's motion, despite
Eastern’s opposition on the ground of procedural
deficiencies.

The United States Court of Appeals, Second Circuit
reversed, with instructions to Winbourne that he reassert
his Warsaw/Montreal motion after remedying the pro-
cedural deficiencies.-Winbourne did not reurge his motion.

Judge Bramwell transferred the case back to Loui-
siana for a trial on damages. Once back before Judge
Robert Collins, United States District Judge for the
Eastern District of Louisiana, Eastern Air Lines, citing
Warsaw/Montreal, moved for a judgment of liability

4

against it. Plaintiff, who had heretofore insisted on the ap-
plicability of Warsaw/Montreal, now opposed it on various
grounds.

On March 31, 1982, Judge Collins ruled that the terms
and conditions of Warsaw/Montreal were applicable.

On April 5, 1982, tne court granted plaintiff's motion
for summary judgment, and ruled that interest was to be
awarded on the Warsaw judgment.

Eastern then confessed judgment in the amount of
$225,000,00, the full amount for which it could be liable under
Warsaw/Montreal, and deposited that sum into the court’s

registry.

Judgment limiting Eastern’s liability to $225,000.00,
plus interest, was entered on January 24, 1983. (Appendix A.)

The United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit,
citing its own decision in Domangue v. Eastern Air Lines,
Inc., 722 F.2d 256 (5th Cir. 1984), affirmed the award of in-
terest on a Warsaw/Montreal judgment, even though the im-
position of interest would increase the award against the car-
rier to more than $75,000.00 per passenger seat. (Appendix B.)_

On March 2, 1984, the United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit, ruled that, as a matter of law, the
liability limitation was designed to be and is absolute, and
that prejudgment interest may not be awarded if the effect
is to exceed the stated liability limitation. O'Rourke uv.
Eastern Air Lines, Inc., 730 F.2d 842 (2nd Cir. 1984).

This Court, on October 1, 1984, granted petitioner's

5

Petition for Writ of Certiorari in Eastern Air Lines, Inc. v.
Robert F. Maufoud, Etc., (No. 83-4315, 5th Cir. 1984), cert.
granted, 53 U.S.L.W. 3235 (No. 83-1807, U.S. October 1, 1984).
At issue in that case is the identical question being presented
in this Petition.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A conflict between a decision by the United States
Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit, and a decision by the United
States Court of Appeals, Second Circuit, compels issuance
of a writ to resolve the question of whether a court may, by
awarding interest on a Warsaw/Montreal Judgment, exceed
the liability limitation imposed by the Warsaw Convention
and Montreal Agreement. This Court recently granted cer
tiorari on the same issue in Eastern Air Lines, Inc. v. Robert
F. Mahfoud, Etc., above.

The decision of the Fifth Circuit Court in Winbourne
v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc., 83-3109 (5th Cir. 1984), directly
conflicts with the decision of the Second Circuit Court in
O'Rourke v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc., 730 F.2d 842 (2nd Cir.
1984).

Each circuit considered the question of whether pre-
judgment interest could properly be awarded against Eastern
Air Lines, consistent with Article 22 of the Warsaw Conven-
tion, when the result would Le a judgment exceeding the
$75,000 per seat limitation cf lability.

The Fifth Circuit has ruled that the limited liability
amount of $75,000 pe seat, as provided by Article 22 of the
Warsaw Convention, and as supplemented by the Montreal
Agreement, does not preclude the award of prejudgment in-
terest over and above that amount, if certain equitable con-
siderations are met.

_ _In awarding interest in this case, the Fifth Circuit
has held that the district court may award interest, as it
held in its earlier decision in Domangue v. Eastern Air
Lines, Inc., above. In Domangue, the Court remanded the
interest issue for a factual determination of who was ‘‘at
fault’’ for the delay in bringing that case to trial. The Court
held that if Eastern was at fault, then, as a matter of equi-
ty, interest could be awarded.

The Second Circuit in its O'Rourke opinion expressly
disagreed with the Fifth Circuit, stating:

“Moreover, we do not agree with the fifth cir-
cuit's interpretation of the Montreal Agreement.
The speedy resolution of claims was apparently
not an important United States objective at the
conference. See Lowenfeld & Mendelsohn, supra
note 15, at 572. The principal purpose of the
United States at the Montreal Conference was to
increase the liability limit to $100,000. The ab-
solute liability provision was introduced as a
means of getting the United States to accept a
liability limit lower than $100,000, see id. at 563,
570-71, and was not one of the prime objectives of
the American delegation. See id. at 572 (“The
United States delegation was itself divided on
{this} issue, and its instructions were not firm on
the point.”’). Thus, the payment of prejudgment
interest would not advance any of the underlying
objectives of the Convention or the Agreement,
but it would undercut, as we discussed above, two
of the Convention's major objectives.”

O'Rourke, 730 F.2d 842, 854, footnote 20.

* This case also arose out of the crash of Flight 66.

t~

7

7

Further, the Second Circuit noted that the Warsaw
Convention is a treaty adhered to by the United States,
and that—

“{I}n the absence of any contrary intent on the
part of the framers, we [the court] may not read
into the document a provision that allows the

payment of prejudgment interest above the
$75,000 liability limitation.” (Footnote omitted)

O'Rourke, 730 F.2d 842, 853.

The issue before the Court concerns an important
federal question, with international ramifications. Its
resolution will determine whether one of the fundamental
concepts of the Warsaw Convention will survive.

“Secretary of State Cordeii Hull, in transmitting
the Warsaw Convention to the Senate in 1934 in-
dicated that the purpose of t’xe liability limitation
was ‘to fix at a definite leve the cost to airlines
of damages sustained by their passengers and of
insurance to cover their damages.’ Reed v. Wiser,
555 F.2d 1079, 1089 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 434
U.S. 922, 98 S.Ct. 399, 54 L.Ed.2d 279 (1977).

Domangue v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc., 542 F.Supp. 643, 653
(E.D. La. 1982).

The decision by the Fifth Circuit allowing interest
over and above the $75,000.00 maximum limit of damages
recoverable under the Warsaw Convention/Montreal
Agreement is contrary to the drafters’ intent. Neither this
Court nor any other federal appellate court had ever award-
ed interest over and above the maximum liability limita-
tion before the Fifth Circuit did so in Domangue, above.

8

As this Court recently said in Trans World Airlines,
Inc. v. Franklin Mint Corp.:

‘We may not ignore the actual, reasonably har- ©
monious practice adopted by the United States
and other signatories in the first 40 years of the
Convention’s existence....

“The conduct of the contracting parties in im-
plementing that contract in the first 50 years of
its operation cannot be ignored.’’ (Citations
omitted.)

Franklin Mint, 104 S.Ct. 1776, 1787 (1984).

If upheld, the decision of the Fifth Circuit will defeat
the Warsaw Convention's specific purpose.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, it is respectfully sub-
mitted that this petition for writ of certiorari be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

FRANCIS G. WELLER
Attorney for Petitioner,
Eastern Air Lines, Inc.

MARC J. YELLIN
DARRELL K. CHERRY
DEUTSCH, KERRIGAN & STILES

(Of Counsel)

A-l
APPENDIX “A”

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

CIVIL ACTION
NO. 75-2715
SECTION “C”

ERNEST GLENN WINBOURNE
VERSUS

EASTERN AIR LINES, INC. and
THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

SESEEEEESEE

JUDGMENT

This matter was tried before the Court, sitting without
a jury. Pursuant to the Opinion of this Court and in accor-
dance with the provisions of Fed. R. Civ. P. 58;

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND
DECREED that JUDGMENT shall be entered in favor of
plaintiff, Ernest Glenn Winbourne, and against defendant,
Eastern Air Lines, Inc., in the amount of TWO HUNDRED
TWENTY-FIVE THOUSAND and no/100 DOLLARS
($225,000.00), plus interest from date of judicial demand.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND
DECREED that JUDGMENT shall be entered in favor of
plaintiff, Ernest Glenn Winbourne, and against defendar:t,
the United States of America, in the amount of SEVEN
HUNDRED EIGHTY-FIVE THOUSAND SIX HUN-
DRED TEN and 24/100 DOLLARS ($785,610.24) with in-
terest from date of Judgment.

A-2

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND
DECREED that the defendants bear costs of this suit.

New Orleans, Louisiana, this the 24th day of
January, 1983.

/S/ Signed
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

A-3
APPENDIX “B”

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 83-3109

ERNEST GLENN WINBOURNE,
Plaintiff-Appellee,
versus
EASTERN AIRLINES, INC.,

Defendant-Third Party-
Plaintiff Appellant,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Third Party Defendant-
Appellant.

Appeals from the United States District Court for
the Eastern District of Louisiana

(August 9, 1984)

Before REAVLEY, JOHNSON and JOLLY, Circuit
Judges.

PER CURIAM:*

* Local Rule 47.5 provides: “The publication of opinions that
have no precedential value and merely decide particular cases on the
basis of well-settled principles of law imposes needless expense on the
public and burdens on the legal profession.”’ Pursuant to that Rule, the
court has determined that this opinion should not be published.

A-4

The wife and two daughters of Ernest Glenn Win-
bourne died in the crash of an Eastern Air Lines plane in
1975. Liability is conceded by Eastern and by the United
States, the employer of air traffic controlle-s assumed to
have been negligent. The district court awarded total
damages of $1,010,610.24. Of this, Eastern’s liability is
limited to $225,000 under terms of the Warsaw Convention
and the Montreal Agreement. The United States’ liability
is therefore $785,610.24.

Eastern appealed the award of interest on the
$75,000 per seat limitation, but that issue was decided
adversely to Eastern by a panel of this cour’ a Domangue
v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc., 722 F.2d 256 (5tn Cir. 1984).

The United States complains that the amount of the
damages is excessive. The district court assessed the
damages as follows:

1. $500,000 for the loss of love and affection of
plaintiff's wife.

2. $210,610.24 for the economic loss due to wife’s
death. There were two components of this
economc loss: her teacher’s salary and her
household services.

3. $150,000 for the loss of love and affection of his
8 year old daughter.

4. $150,000 for the loss of love and affection of his
4 year old daughter.

This award was made by the trial judge in a careful and
detailed opinion. The economic loss computations were bas-
ed on the specific “estimony of an economist. The evidence

A-5

established the unusval nature of this plaintiff’s damages
in the loss of his family. From a very happy family man,
vigorous in his life and work, he became not only a man
crushed by sudden tragedy but one who remained lost and
disturbed. None of this evidence was rebutted or question-
ed by the defendant. We cannot upset the district court’s
damage findings unless we hold them to be clearly er-
roneous. “‘Because the assessment of damages for grief and
emotional distress is so dependent on the facts and is so
largely a matter of juagment, we are chary of substituting
our views for those of the trial judge. He has seen the par-
ties and heard the evidence; we have only read papers.”’
Caldarera v. Eastern Airlines, Inc., 705 F.2d 778, 783 (5th
Cir. 1983).

Appellant argues that Louisiana courts have not
awarded comparable damages, and in Caldarera this court
specifically held the sum of $250,000 was the maximum
award that could be allowed for the emotional losses aris-
ing from the death of the wife.

We cannot judge the justification of damages by
mere comparison with the awards upheld or reversed in
other cases. Each case presents its own facts. See Coco v.
Winston Industries, Inc., 341 So.2d 332 (La. 1976). But it
is helpful to compare the Winbourne and Caldarera cases.
Peter Caldarera lost his mother, wife and eight year old.
His four year old son remained in his home. While this
court placed a $250,000 maximum on emotional loss due to
the death of the wife, we did not reduce the total award
against the United States, wherein the trial judge had in-
cluded $400,000 for the emotional loss of the wife. This
court affirmed the total damages award of $797,021. That
is about $200,000 less than the Winbourne award. Over
half of that differential is represented by lost wages of Mrs.

A-6
Winbourne, a gifted teacher. This economic loss is not
questioned by the United States.

So Mr. Winbourne receives an extra $100,000. But
his entire family is gone. He lost his second daughter and
has no son. He has no one. Furthermore, the depth of this
plaintiff's devotion and identification with his family was
unique and unquestioned. We are unable to say that the
district judge was clearly erroneous.

AFFIRMED.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_3275%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
