# Opposition Brief — West Michigan Broadcasting Co. v. Federal Communications Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_3236%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 470 U.S. 1027

## Text

(9) [Office - Supreme Court, US. |

FILED
FEB @ (988

NDER L. STEVAS.
In the Supreme Court of the Hnifes Sistem

-Octoser TERM, 1984

No. 84-700

WEST MICHIGAN BROADCASTING COMPANY, PETITIONER
Vv.

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UMITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS
COMMISSION IN OPPOSITION

Rex E. Lge
Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217
JaCK D. SMITH
General Counsel
DANIEL M. ARMSTRONG
Associate General Counsel
DAVID SILBERMAN
Attorney —

Federal Communications Commission
Washington, D.C. 20554

i3PP |

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Federal Communications Commission
properly awarded the license for a new radio station to
another fully qualified applicant, rather than petitioner,
based on various factors including the race of the successful
applicant.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
ES Te Pee eee Te ee Tee E ET TT TTT l
eC EE DL Cea knee enbebd OK be bA4 ES l
EE ES ES ee ee ee eee eee ee ee l
PE Coe eseass essed CS eSKE6b seas ecenseseness 5
UF ee er 8
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Cleveland Television Corp. v. FCC,
ska kGGknd Ciehneebaesenec seas 2
Fullilove v. Klutznick, 448 U.S. 448 ........... 5
HLD&M Communications, 93 F.C.C. 2d
RS a ee 6
Policy Statement on Comparative Broadcast
I © ei, BE akc eee esccccees e
Radio Gaithersburg, Inc., 72 F.C.C. 2d
820, review denied, FCC 80-734, (Dec. 4,
1980), aff'd sub nom. Radio Gaithersburg
ED acccawasadcsscccvessecs 3
TV 9, Inc. v. FCC, 495 F.2d 929,
ee eee 3
University of California Regents v.
TE Chk eck ceccancrescsenes 5,6
Ps Bg GE AG Ae DE kc ccenccancecece 3

(Ii)

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

No. 84-700
WEsT MICHIGAN BROADCASTING COMPANY, PETITIONER
V.

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

~

BRIEF FOR THE FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS
COMMISSION IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 35a-64a) is
reported at 735 F.2d 601. The decision of the Federal
Communications Commission (Pet. App. 1la-34a) is re-
ported at 91 F.C.C. 2d 1260.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on May
25, 1984. A petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehear-
ing en banc were denied on August 2, 1984 (Pet. App.
66a-68a). The petition for a writ of certiorari was filed on
October 31, 1984. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

1. Petitiorier West Michigan Broadcasting Company
(West Michigan) and Waters Broadcasting Corporation
(Waters) filed mutually exclusive applications for authority

(1)

2

to construct and operate a new FM broadcast station in
Hart, Michigan. Petitioner is owned by two men and one
woman, all of whom are residents of Hart and proposed to
participate full-time in the operation of their station.
Waters is wholly owned by a black woman who lived about
30 miles from Hart but within the proposed service area of
the station. She proposed to move to Hart and to partici-
pate full-time in the management of the station. Pet. App.
2a, 37a.

When the FCC compares mutually exclusive applica-
tions for new broadcast facilities, it looks at two principal
factors: diversification of control of the media of mass
communications and the best practicable service to the
public. See Policy Statement on Comparative Broadcast
Hearings (1965 Policy Statement), 1 F.C.C.2d 393 (1965).
See also Cleveland Television Corp. v. FCC, 732 F.2d 962,
972 (D.C. Cir. 1984). Neither applicant in this case owns
any other media interests (Pet. App. 8a-9a); therefore, the
comparative choice between them depended on which
applicant would provide the best practicable service. Partic-
ipation in station management by owners, which is com-
monly referred to as the “integration” of ownership and
management, is a factor of “substantial importance” in
determining which applicant is superior under the best
practicable service objective. 1965 Policy Statement, |
F.C.C. 2d at 395.! This factor has a “quantitative” aspect,
i.e., the degree to which the owner or owners will be
involved in the station’s management. It also has “qualita-
tive” aspects. Among the attributes viewed by the Commis-
sion as qualitatively enhancing an integration proposal are

‘Other factors, such as proposed program service, past broadcast
record, efficient use of the frequency and character, may also play a role
in determining which applicant will provide the best practicable service.
1965 Policy Statement, | F.C.C. 2d at 397-399. These factors were not
involved in this case.

3

the local residence, civic participation, past broadcast expe-
rience, race, and gender’ of the owner. See TV 9, Inc. v.
FCC, 495 F.2d 929, 941 & n.2(D.C. Cir. 1973), cert. denied,
419 U.S. 986 (1974); W PIX, Inc., 68 F.C.C. 2d 381, 411-412
(1978); 1965 Policy Statement, 1 F.C.C. 2d at 395-396.

2. The awarding of the license in this case turned on the
precise weight to be given the various qualitative factors.
The administrative law judge awarded the license to
Waters, finding that Mrs. Waters’ proposal to integrate
ownership into management was superior to petitioner’s
and that she had a superior knowledge of Hart. The admi-
nistrative law judge also gave her a preference on grounds of
gender and race. Waters Broadcasting Corp., 88 F.C.C. 2d
1213 (A.L.J. 1981).

The Review Board reversed. The Board concluded that
Mrs. Waters was entitled to “only slight enhancement”
based upon her residence and participation in the affairs of
a community 30 miles from Hart. The Board then held that,
other factors being equal, local residence should take
precedence over minority ownership. Waters Broadcasting
Corp., 88 F.C.C. 2d 1204 (Rev. Bd. 1981).

A divided Commission reversed the Review Board (Pet.
App. la-lla). The Commission awarded Waters “moder-
ate” as opposed to “slight” enhancement for her residence
and civic activities (id. at 4a-6a). With this modification, the
balance tipped in Waters’ favor. As the Commission
explained (id. at 10a):

?The Commission has held that female ownership qualitatively
enhances an integration proposal but is entitled to less weight than
minority ownership. See Radio Gaithersburg, Inc., 72 F.C.C, 2d 820,
829 (Rev. Bd. 1979), review denied, FCC 80-734 (Dec. 4, 1980), aff'd per
curiam without opinion sub nom. Radio Gaithersburg v. FCC, 672
F.2d 896 (D.C. Cir. 1981).

4

West Michigan is entitled to substantial enhance-
ment for local residence and past participation in civic
activities in the proposed community of license, but its
substantial enhancement is closely followed by Waters’
moderate enhancement for Mrs. Waters’ residence and
past participation in civic activities in the proposed
service area. Waters is also entitled to a substantial
enhancement for its 100% minority and female owner-
ship integrated with full-time management, while West
Michigan’s enhancement for 24% temale ownership
integrated with full-time management is substantially
less. Weighing all of the relevant comparative factors,
we find that Waters’ substantial enhancement for
minority and female ownership, together with the
moderate enhancement credit awarded for Mrs. Waters’
residence and civic activities, mandate the conclusion
that the grant of Waters’ application will better serve
the public interest, convenience, and necessity.

The Commission disagreed with petitioner’s argument that
the Review Board had “awarded too much credit to Waters
for minority ownership” (Pet. App. at 6a (emphasis added)).
Rejecting the argument that minority ownership is relevant
only if there is a substantial minority in the proposed service
area, the majority relied instead (id. at 8a) on “the continu-
ing underrepresentation of minorities in broadcast owner-
ship” and the fact that “minority controlled stations are
likely to serve the important function of providing a differ-
ent insight to the general public about minority problems
and minority views on matters of concern to the entire
community and the nation.”

Chairman Fowler and Commissioner Sharp dissented,
arguing on nonconstitutional grounds that it was necessary
“to weight the degree of enhancement commensurate with
the extent to which minorities are represented in the com-
munity of license“ (Pet. App. 16a) (Fowler, C., dissenting

5

(emphasis in original)); see also id. at 33a-34a (Sharp, C.,
dissenting).

3. The court of appeals affirmed. The court first upheld
the Commission’s decision to award Waters “moderate,” as
opposed to “slight,” enhancement for local residence and
civic participation (Pet. App. 47a). The court then held that
the preference awarded to Waters based on race was con-
sistent with the Commission’s statutory authority (id. at
47a-58a) and with equal protection principles, as construed
in Fullilove v. Klutznick, 448 U.S. 448 (1980), and Univer-
sity of California Regents v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265 (1978)
(Pet. App. 58a-64a).

Rehearing en banc was denied with no dissents.

ARGUMENT

The Federal Communications Commission granted the
license to operate a new FM radio station in rural Michigan
to another fully qualified applicant, rather than petitioner,
based on a weighing of numerous factors, including local
residence and civic participation, gender, and race. Peti-
tioner asks this Court to review this fact-bound decision
and to address the important and sensitive questions of
whether and if so in what way the race of an applicant may
be considered in awarding a broadcast license. Contrary to
petitioner’s argument, however, it is by no means clear from
the Commission’s opinion that race was the dispositive
factor in its decision. Moreover, petitioner’s right to prevail,
even under its own theory, is based upon disputed facts, and
the broad constitutional argument advanced by petitioner
is difficult, if not impossible, to apply to the facts of this
case, which involves a community with a single radio sta-
tion. For all of these reasons, we believe that this case
provides a poor vehicle for addressing the broad legal issues
raised by petitioner and that review should accordingly be
denied.

6

While petitioner asserts that this case is “remarkably
pristine in its constitutional setting” (Pet. 4), it is in fact
impossible to determine from the Commission’s opinion
what effect, race had on the decision to award the license to
Waters, rather than petitioner. For example, gender, not
race, could have been a decisive factor. Waters received
greater credit than petitioner because its sole owner was
female, whereas only one of petitioner’s three owners was
female. This preference alone, without taking race into
account, might have been sufficient to outweigh petitioner’s
advantage with respect to local ownership and civic partici-
pation, where petitioner received “substantial credit” as
opposed to Waters’ “moderate credit.”

While arguing that race was given “too much” weight in
this case (Pet. App. 6a), petitioner has never contested the
weight assigned by the Commission to gender (see id. at 38a
n.1). Thus, it is by no means clear that Mrs. Waters’ race is
essential to a decision in her favor.’

The case is additionally unsuitable for review because
petitioner relies on a constitutional argument that may be
inapplicable, and is in any event extraordinarily difficult to
apply, to the peculiar facts of this case. Petitioner has never
argued that the Commission is barred from considering

3The Commission does, however, believe that its policy of granting
qualitative enhancement in comparative hearings based on minority
participation and ownership is consistent with the governing statute
and with the views of a majority of the Court in University of California
Regents v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265, 269-324 (1978) (Powell, J.); id. at
324-379 (Brennan, White, Marshall and Blackmun, J.J.). The Commis-
sion has not reserved any broadcast frequencies for minority owners or
established any form of quotas, either overall or within a particular
geographic area served by a number of licensees. See Pet. App. 58a-62a;
HLD&M Communications, 93 F.C.C. 2d 143 (Rev. Bd. 1983) (minority-
owned applicant lost in comparative hearing based on totality of
factors).

7

race in comparative hearings (Pet. 7). Instead, petitioner
contends (ibid.) that race may be considered only if there is
a substantial racial minority in the community of license.
Since the community of license in this case—the Town of
Hart—has few black residents, petitioner argues that
Waters was entitled to no preference for minority owner-
ship. There is, however, a substantial black population
within the station’s proposed service area beyond the Town
of Hart (Waters Broadcasting Corp., 88 F.C.C. 2d at 1216;
see Pet. App. 6a, 49a), and it is difficult to see why a
distinction between the racial composition of the commun-
ity of license and that of the station’s broader service area
would be of constitutional significance.

In addition, there are inherent difficulties in applying
petitioner’s constitutional test in a case such as this involv-
ing a one-station town. Petitioner appears to argue (see Pet.
9) that minority owners may be given preference in award-
ing licenses only if the percentage of minority population in
the area exceeds the percentage of minority ownership of
stations. Except in the very largest cities, there are not
enough stations to permit the implementation of such a
finely tuned statistical standard. Jn the case of a multi-racial
community with only one station, application of petition-
er’s test would be impossible, except in the unlikely event of
an applicant with multi-racial ownership corresponding to
the community’s population mix. Petitioner’s submission
leaves unanswered the question of how large the minority
population of a single-station community would have to be
before the race of applicants could be taken into account.
Must it approach or exceed the national average? Or must it
be substantially higher than that to be considered in award-
ing the community’s only station?

8

The Commission’s discussion of the relevance of minority
ownership in this case responded to and was structured by
the particular constitutional argument that petitioner
raised. Accordingly, while serious constitutional questions
are implicated by the consideration of race in the awarding
of broadcast licenses, this is not an appropriate case for
examining those questions.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Rex E. LEE
Solicitor General

Jack D. SMITH
General Counsel

DANIEL M. ARMSTRONG
Associate General Counsel

DAVID SILBERMAN
Counsel
Federal Communications Commission

FEBRUARY 1985

DO)-1985-02

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_3236%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
