# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Minnis v. United States Department of Agriculture

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_3203%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 471 U.S. 1053

## Text

Office - Supreme Court. US.

84-663 FILED

OCT 15 teg4

ALEXAN 3 ;
No. DER lL. STEVag |
CLERK

ee ee er rr ere rrr or

ae eee eee eee ee

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

MARK G. MINNIS,
PETITIONER

V.

THE UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE,
ET AL

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Thomas E. Cooney
Counsel of Record
Jeffrey B. Wihtol
Cooney, Crew & Wihtol
205 Riviera Plaza
1618 S.W. First Avenue
Portland, OR 97201
(503) 221-1529
Of Attorneys for
Petitiorer

October 15, 1984

nen an

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Government is collater-
ally estopped, from litigating whether
disclosure of the the names and addresses
of 1983 recipients of Forest Service
permits to float the Rogue River in the
State of Oregon would constitute a clearly
unwarranted invasion of personal privacy,
by the 1981 judgment of The United States
District Court for the District of Oregon
whieh held, as one of two alternative and
independent grounds for its judgment, that
disclosure of the 1981 recipients was not
"clearly unwarranted" under the Freedom of

Information Act, 5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(6).

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING
Other parties, in addition to those
named in the caption are R. Max Peterson,
Chief of the United States Forest Service,

R.E. Worthington, Regional Forester of

ii

Region 6, United States Forest Service, and
William E. Butler, District Ranger, Galice

Ranger District, United States Forest

Service.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED. ......~ i
PARTIES TO THE PROCCEDINGS ... i
Pim OMIM. wt CO
UESUICTICON 2 wt
STATUTE INVOLVED. ........~ 2

STATEMENT. «© «© «© © © 8s © © © 8 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING

gg a a a ee |
ole ht le | i a a Y |
APPENDIX . . » + 0 © © © «© «© o 6 oApp 1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGES
Commissioner v. Sunnen,

“So. O8 est «+ + sw Oy OS

S3. i

Department of the Air
Force v. Rose, 425 U.S.
DES / << «5 « 5 6 « « « « 10

Department of State v.
Washington Post Co.,
456 ue. io. )

Dozier v. Ford Motor Co.,
702 F.2d 1189 (1983). . . . . . 17, 18

Halpern v. Schwartz,
426 F.2d 102 (2d Cir. 1970) . . 18, 14, 15
16, 17, 18

iv

Huntley v. United States,
4 Ct. Cl. 65 (1983)

Union Carbide Corp. v.
C.1.R., 671 F.2d 67
(2nd Cir. 1982)

Williams v. Ward, 556 F.2d
1143 (2nd Cir. 1977).

Winters v. Levine, 574 F.2d
46 (2nd Cir. 1978).

STATUTES

Freedom of Information Act,
5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(6).

268 U.8.C. § 1984€2). .. .

MISCELLANEOUS

Restatement (Second)
of Judgments.

Tentative Draft No. 4
of the Restatement
(Second) of Judgments .

J. Lueas, The Direct and

Collateral Estoppel Effects

of Alternative Holdings,
50 U. Chi. L. REV.
701 (1983).

18

19,

22

16

16,

15

19

17

15
19

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

MARK G. MINNIS,
PETITIONER
V.
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT
OF AGRICULTURE, ET AL
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Mark G. Minnis petitions for a Writ
of Certiorari to review the judgment of The
United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Cireuit in this case.

=2@

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals

(App. ___, infra) is reported at 737 F.2d
784. The 1983 Order of the District Court
in this lawsuit (App. ___, infra) is not
reported. The 1981 Order of the District
Court in the prior lawsuit (App.

infra) is not reported.

JURISDICTION
The judgment of the court of

appeals was entered May 22, 1984 (App. ,

infra) and a petition for rehearing and sug-
gestion for rehearing en banc was denied on

July 18, 1984 (App. , infra). The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTE INVOLVED
Subsection (b)(6) of the Freedom of
Information Act, 5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(6),

provides:

=3<

(b) This section does not apply to
matters that are--

* * * * *

(6) personnel and medical files and

similar files the disclosure

of which would constitute a

clearly unwarranted invasion

of personal privacy; * * *

STATEMENT

This Freedom of Information Act
("FOIA") suit arose out of a request by
petitioner Mark G. Minnis for the names and
addresses of the applicants for permits to
float the Rogue River during 1983. The
Forest Service denied the FOIA request on
the basis of Exemption 6 of the Act, which
protects from disclosure "personnel and
medical files and similar files the disclo-
sure of which would constitute a clearly
unwarranted invasion of personal privacy."
59 U.S.C. § 552(b)(6).

The petitioner filed a motion for

summary judgment contending, in part, that

the Government was collaterally estopped

ago

from relitigating its duty to disclose the
names and addresses of the permit recipi-
ents. This issue was decided in 1981 by the
United States District Court in the
District of Oregon.

In 1980 Minnis made an FOIA re-
quest for the names and addresses of the
1980 permit recipients. Each year the
Forest Service conducts a “secret lottery"
to award prized permits to lucky appli-
cants. Without a permit it is unlawful to
float the Rogue River from Memorial Day
through Labor Day. The Forest Service
denied his 1980 request on the same ground,
Exemption 6. The parties fully briefed and
argued both prongs of Exemption 6: 1)
whether the names and addresses of the 1980
permit recipients were "similar" to medical
or personnel files, and 2) would disclosure
constitute a clearly unwarranted invasion
of the personal privacy of the permit

recipients?” The district court granted

Minnis' motion for summary judgment,
holding in favor of Minnis on both prongs,
and entered judgment in 1981 requiring the
Government to disclose the names_ and
addresses of the 1980 permittees. The
Government appealed from the 1981 judgment
but unilaterally dismissed its appeal
before the Ninth Circuit could rule on the
merits. The Forest Service disclosed the
names and addresses of the permit recipi-
ents for 1981 and 1982.

Because of this Court's decision in

Department of State vy. Washington Post Co.,

456 U.S. 595 (1982), Petitioner no longer
contended in 1983 that the names. and
addresses were not "similar files." “he
1983 lawsuit revolved around the issues of
collateral estoppel and whether disclosure
would constiute a clearly unwarranted inva-
Sion of personal privacy.

The Government argued in the dis-

trict court that the doctrine of collateral

~£-

estoppel did not apply because the 1981
judgment applied only to recipients of per-
mits and not to applicants as pliaintiff
requested in 1983. The district court held
that the facts and issues presented in 1983
were not the same as in 1980 since the 1980
request concerned permit recipients while
the 1983 request concerned permit appli-
cants. While the district court held col-
lateral estoppel was not applicable, it
held that disclosure of the names and
addresses would not constitute a clearly
unwarranted invasion of personal privacy
and ordered disclosure of the names and
addresses of the 1983 applicants.

The Government appealed the 1983
judgment. Petitioner again asserted
collateral estoppel as support for that
portion of the district court's judgment
holding disclosure of the names_~ and
addresses of the 1983 permittees would not

constitute a clearly unwarranted invasion

= oo

of personal privacy. The Ninth Circuit
reversed the district court, finding that
disclosure of the names and addresses of the
1983 applicants would constitute a clearly
unwarranted invasion of personal privacy.
The Ninth Circuit rejected application of
eollateral estoppel based upon its miscon-
ception of the district court's ruling. The
Ninth Circuit mistakenly believed that the
district court had never addressed whether
disclosure of ‘he 1980 permittees would
constitute a ciearly unwarranted invasion
of personal privacy.

Petititoner filed a Petition for
Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing En
Bane which was rejected on July 18, 1984.
The order rejecting the Petition for
Rehearing amended the May 22, 1984 opinion
of the Ninth Circuit by deleting the state-
ment that the district court had not consid-
ered whether disclosure of the 1980 permit-

tees would constitute a clearly unwarranted

alin

invasion of personal privacy. However,
rather than reconsidering its rejection of
collateral estoppel, the Ninth Circuit
added the following:

Minnis also suggests that the
Forest Service is collaterally
estopped from relitigating the
‘clearly unwarranted' issue. The
district court in the earlier
action did note its view that dis-
closure of the list of all permit
recipients would not be clearly
unwarranted. However, the district
court also recognized that it was
unnecessary for it to address that
issue. Because the district
court's expression of its view
regarding the issue was dictum, the
Forest Service is not collaterally
estopped from relitigating the
‘clearly unwarranted' question.
Moreover, the earlier question per-
tained to permit recipients while
the issue before us relates to per-

mit applicants. For that reason
also, collateral estoppel is inapp-
licable.

The Ninth Circuit did not ask for,
and the parties did not brief the issue of
whether collateral estoppel will apply to a
judgment resting upon alternative grounds,

either of which would be sufficient to inde-

pendently support the judgment.

=Sa

The parties agree that only permit
applicants may receive permits. Peti-
tioner's 1983 FOIA request was not phrased
as an "all the applicants or nothing"
request. Petitioner requested:

the mames and addresses of the
private permit trip applicants for
the 1983 regulated Rogue River
season. ..

The information is not
exempted from required disclosure
under present interpretations of
the Act, as you are aware from the
decision in the matter of Mark G.
Minnis v. United States Department
of Agriculture, R. Max Peterson and
R.E. Worthington, Civil No. 80-
1138, U.S. District Court for the
District of Oregon. . .

If any portion of this request
is deemed denied, I request a
detailed statement for the reasons
for the withholding.

If you withhold any portion of
the requested information, you are
requested to disclose and provide
the balance of .the requested
information.

The Act also expressly contemplates segre-
gation and disclosure of nonexempt portions

of a request:

“i f-

Any reasonably segregable por-
tion of a record shall be provided
to amy person’ requesting such
record after deletion of the
portions which are exempt under
this subsection.

5 U.S.C. § 552(b). See also, Department of
the Air Force v. Rose, 425 U.S. 325 (1976).

The Ninth Circuit cited no author-
ity for its narrow interpretation of Peti-
tioner's request to be for 1983 permit
applicants only, to the exclusion of 1983
permit recipients. The Government cited no
authority in support of this unique "all or
nothing" approach adopted by the Ninth
Circuit.

The Government has never contended
that the district court's holding that dis-
closure of the 1980 permittees would not
constitute a clearly unwarranted invasion
of privacy, was unnecessary to the 1981
judgment. The Government has not contended
that following the 1981 judgment there was 4
change in the applicable law with respect to

the determination of whether a clearly

«tle

unwarranted invasion of personal privacy
would result from disclosure. The Govern-
ment has not contended that new evidence
exists, which was unavailable to’. the
Government at the time of the 1980 lawsuit,
and which would have been determinative of
the outcome of the 1980 lawsuit if the
district court had been presented with the

evidence,

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

This case presents an_ important
question concerning the application of
collateral estoppel to judgments resting on
alternative grounds, each of which is inde-
pendently sufficient to sustain the judg-
ment. In its holding in this ease, the
Ninth Circuit, without the benefit of
briefing by the parties, ruled in harmony
with a minority view that collateral estop-
pel does not apply to judgments based on

independent and alternative grounds, even

«} 2

if all grounds for the judgment are actually
litigated. Relatively recently a conflict
amongst the circuits and within the Second
Circuit has developed as to the application
of collateral estoppel to such a situation.
The issue hinges on whether each of the
alternative bases for a judgment is actu-
ally necessary to the judgment if an inde-
pendent basis for the judgment also exists.

The implications of the application
of collateral estoppel to such judgments
affects the certainty, and finality, and
redundency of litigation, and the burden on
trial and appellate courts.

Alternative grounds for judgments
are not unusual. Trial courts often reach
decisions on issues which would uphold the
basis for the judgment even if another
aspect of the court's findings were over-
turned on appeal. The district court did so
here in 1981. This promotes judicial econ-

omy by obviating retrial even if the trial

=] 3=

eourt is in error on one ground for the
judgment.

It is impractical, uneconomical,
and unfair that a litigant who prevails on
but one theory and obtains a judgment on
that theory can assert collateral estoppel
to preclude relitigation of the decided
issue by the same parties at a later time,
while the litigant who asserts two inde-
pendent theories, each of which are adopted
and each of which would support a judgment,
cannot assert collateral estoppel as _ to
either issue. The wisdom of such a rule of
law, while adopted by the Restatement
(Second) of Judgments, has been heavily
criticized.

The implications of this rule of
law are widespread, and deserve resolution
by this Court.

Until the decision in Halpern v.

Schwartz, 426 F.2d 102 (2d Cir. 1970), it

had been the well-settled rule that

=Léo

collateral estoppel did apply to judgments
resting on independently sufficient deter-
minations. In Halpern the Second Circuit
reconsidered this long-settled rule and
carved out an exception to the rule in
bankruptey cases based upon facts similar
to those in Halpern. While the facts in
Halpern are not at all analogous to those of
the instant case, the reasoning of the
Second Circuit is important. The Court
advanced two reasons for not’ applying
collateral estoppel under the circumstances
of the Halpern case: (1) If the court were
sure as to one of the alternative grounds
and this ground were alone sufficient to
support the judgment, other grounds for the
judgment may not receive as_ rigorous
consideration, (2) vigorous review of an
asserted error as to one ground for the
judgment would be less likely to occur since
even if there were error as to one basis for

the judgment, the judgment would be

=} 5-

affirmed as to the other grounds and the
motivation for appeal would be diminished.

The instant case demonstrates the
folly of such a general rule. Here, the
district court carefully considered both
grounds for its 1981 judgment after vigor-
ous briefing and argument by both sides on
both grounds. And here, a timely appeal of
the 1981 judgment may have obviated the need
for this second lawsuit and its consequent
burden on the parties' and the judiciary's
resources.

In 1977, when Tentative Draft No. 4
of the Restatement (Second) of Judgments
was published, the Halpern decision was the
most recent judicial examination of the
effect of judgments resting on indepem-
ently sufficient grounds. Comment (e) to

Section 20 of the Restatement (Second)
applies the Halpern reasoning and abandons
the former rule that collateral estoppel

applied to all of the independent grounds

-16=

for a judgment. The Halpern ruling has been
limited and criticized by numerous courts,
including the Second Circuit itself.

The Second Circuit in Williams v.

Ward, 556 F.2d 1143 (2nd Cir. 1977) noted
that the Halpern court limited its decision
to "the facts before us" 426 F.2d 105. The

Williams court distinguished the Halpern

decision on the basis that in Halpern one of
the bases for the judgment was on an issue
not essential and which may not have been
afforded careful deliberation, whereas in

the Williams case both bases for the judg-

ment were litigated at the same time and had
apparently been afforded the careful delib-
eration and analysis normally associated

with a judgment. The Williams court did not

vary from the traditional rule that res
judicata applied to all of the bases for the
judgment.

A year later, in Winters v. Levine,

574 F.2d 46, (2nd Cir. 1978), the Second

aiFe

Circuit Stated that Halpern was not
intended to have "broad impact outside the
specific context, bankruptcy proceedings,
in which the issue was presented there. . ."
Winters at 574 F.2d 67. The Winters court
abided by the traditional rule that collat-
eral estoppel will apply to alternative
grounds for a judgment and refused to apply
the rule applied in Halpern and by the Ninth
Circuit in this case. The Winters court
confined the Halpern rule to "narrow
circumstances" and stated the traditional
rule "has continuing viability in ecireum-
stances divergent from those in Halpern."
Winters at 67. Significantly, Judge
Waterman was a member of both the Halpern
and the Winters panels.

The District of Columbia Circuit
recognized the split of authority over the
res judicata and collateral estoppel effect
of alternative and independent bases for a

judgment in Dozier v. Ford Motor Co., 702

aie

F.2d 1189 (1983). It eharacterized the
problem as follows:

A rule declining to accord res
judicata effect to an alternate
ground must of course apply to both
grounds, which would mean that a
case which is doubly inadequate can
be refiled whereas a case inade-
quate in only one respect cannot.
On the other hand, a rule which give
res judicata effect to both grounds
leaves the losing party who con-
cedes the adequacy of one no appel-
late remedy for the patent invalid-
ity of the other except a frivolous
appeal.

702 F.2d at 1194.

The facts in Dozier, however, did not
require a resolution of the problem by the
Distriet of Columbia Circuit.

In Huntley v. United States, 4 Ct.

Cl. 65 (1983), the split of authority was
again recognized. The Court of Claims noted
the limitation of Halpern by the Second
Circuit, and the disapproval it has
received, and itself declined to follow the
Halpern rule.

Legal scholars have also condemned

the rule pronounced in Halpern, and adopted

-19-

by the Restatement (Second), as_ ineffi-
cient, often unfair, and promoting uncert-
ainty in litigation where finality is

essential. J. Lueas, The Direct’ and

Collateral Estoppel Effects of Alternative

Holdings, 50 U. Chi. L. REV. 701 (1983).
The fact that 1980 mnaemes_ and
addresses may not be the same as those in
1983 is not a bar to the application of
collateral estoppel since the same legal
and factual issues are present.

Commissioner v. Sunnen, 333 U.S. 591

(1947); Union Carbide Corp. v. C.I.R., 671

F.2d 67 (2nd Cir. 1982).

In Sunnen, this Court considered
the application of collateral estoppel to
relitigation of the same income tax issues
in succeeding tax years. This Court held
that even though a new tax year was
involved, and new income was_ involved,
collateral estoppel may still be appli-

cable, even though res judicata was not:

»20«

These same concepts are appli-
eable in the federal income tax
field. Income taxes are levied on
an annual basis. Each year is the
origin of a new liability and of a
separate cause of action. Thus, if
a claim of liability or_ non-
liability relating to a particular
tax year is litigated, a judgment
on the merits is res judicata, as to
any subsequent proceeding involving
the same claim and the same tax
year. But if the later proceeding
is e@oneerned with a_ similar or
unlike claim relating to a diff-
erent tax year, the prior judgment
acts as a collateral estoppel only
as to those matters in the second
proceeding which were actually
presented and determined in_ the
first suit. Collateral estoppel
operates in other words to relieve
the Government and the taxpayer of
"redundant litigation of the ident-
ical question of the statute's
application to the taxpayer's
status. (Citations omitted)

333 U.S. at 598-599.

Thus, the mere fact that a different tax
year was involved and different dollars
were received by the taxpayer as income,
collateral estoppel applied if the control-

ling facets and applicable laws remained

unchanged:

so

And so where two cases involve
income taxes in different taxable
years, collateral estoppel must be
used with its limitations carefully
in mind so as to avoid injustice.
It must be confined io situations
where the matter raised in the
second suit is identical in all
respects with that decided in the
first proceeding and where the
controlling facts and applicable
legal rules remain unchanged.

Id., at 599-600

In Union Carbide, supra, the IRS

contested the taxpayer's consolidated
foreign tax credit for the 1971 tax year.
The same issue had been litigated between
the two parties regarding the taxpayer's
1967 tax liability. The Court held collat-
eral estoppel prevented relitigation of the

issue:

We decline to reverse and we
affirm the application <* ecollat-
eral estoppel to the facts of this
case on the reasoning of Judge
Tannenwald's opinion. We agree
with the Tax Court that recent
decisions, particularly Montana v.
United States, 440 US 147, 99 S.Ct.

970, 59 L.Ed.2d 210 (1979), indi-
cate that it is appropriate to
invoke collateral estoppel here to
bar the Commissioner from reliti-
gating with the same taxpayer the

~ >

precise issue on which the
Commissioner has already lost for a
prior year.

Union Carbide, supra, at 68

The same reasoning and result
applies to the instant case. The nature of
the requested information remains unchanged
from the 1980 litigation. The fact that the
names and addresses may have changed is
irrelevant to the application of collateral
estoppel, just as the fact that the tax-
payers received new income in different tax
years was irrelevant in Sunnen and Union
Carbide. Insofar as the names and addresses
of the successful permit applicants is
concerned, there have been no factual
changes and no changes in the applicable law
which would affect the outcome of the case.
Defendants were obligated to segregate and
disclose the names and addresses of the 1983
permittees. 5 U.S.C. § 552(b).

The Ninth Circuit's ruling that

collateral estoppel cannot apply to any of

=23-

two or more independent grounds for a
judgment was made without briefing by the
parties and without significant discussion
of the issue. The ruling will add weight to
the Restatement (Second) position. The
effect of a widening application of such a
rule will be to create a dramatic change in
the heretofore settled law of collateral
estoppel and res judicata, resulting in
uncertainty in litigation due to a lack of
finality, an excessive burden upon. the
courts from repetitious litigation, and
outright unfairness. It will promote situ-
ations, such as the instant case, where an
unsuccessful litigant will be given
unlimited bites at the apple. It will
promote justice for the rich at the expense
of financially less able who are unable to

repeatedly litigate an issue over and over

again.

o2£0

CONCLUS ION

The judgment of the Ninth Circuit
should be reversed and the case remanded for
entry of judgment in favor of the Petitioner
diieeting disclosure of the mnames_= and
addresses of the 1983 permittees.

Dated: October 15, 1984

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas E. Cooney
Counsel of Record
Jeffrey B. Wihtol
Of Attorneys for Petitioner

App. l

Appendix

Order Denying Petition
For Rehearing and Rejecting

the Suggestion For Rehearing

En Banc, Filed
July 18, 1984

Opinion of The Ninth Circuit
Court of Appeals, Filed
May 22, 1984 —

Opinion and Order of the
United States District
Court, June 6, 1983

Judgment Order of the United
States District Court For
The District of Oregon,
Filed August 15, 1983

Judgment Order of The United
States District Court For
The District of Oregon.

App.

. App.

. App.

. App.

App.

16

30

34

App. 2

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

MARK G. MINNIS,
No. 83-4089/4209
Plaintiff-Appellee-
Cross-Appellant, DC # 83-469-FR
(District of
Vv. Oregon)
ORDER
UNITED STATES DEPART -
MENT OF AGRICULTURE,

et al.

Defendants-
Appellants-Cross
Appellees.

ee ee ee

Before: SCHROEDER, FARRIS, and REINHARDT,
Circuit Judges.

The panel as constituted above has
voted to deny the petition for rehearing and
to reject the suggestion for rehearing en
banc.

The full court has been advised of
the suggestion for rehearing en banc, and no
judge of the court has requested a vote on
the suggestion for rehearing en banc. Fed.

R. App. P. 35(b).

App. 3

The petition for rehearing is
denied and the suggestion for rehearing en
bane is rejected. The opinion filed on May
22, 1984 shall be amended by deleting the
third sentence from footnote 1: "The dis-
trict court never addressed whether disclo-
Sure would be ‘clearly unwarranted.'" and
adding to the end of footnote 1 the follow-
ing paragraph:

Minnis also suggests that the
Forest Service is collaterally
estopped from relitigating the
"clearly unwarranted" issue. The
district court in the earlier
action did note its view that dis-
closure of the list of all permit
recipients would not be clearly
unwarranted. However, the district
court also recognized that it was
unnecessary for it to address that
issue. Because the district
court's expression of its view re-
garding the issue was dictum, the
Forest Service is not collaterally
estopped from relitigating the
"clearly unwarranted" question.
Moreover, the earlier question per-
tained to permit recipients while
the issue before us relates to per-
mit applicants. For that reason
also, collateral estoppel is inap-
plicable.

App. 4

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

MARK G. MINNIS,
No. 83-4089-4209
Plaintiff-Appellee,
DC # 83-469-FR
v.

OP INION
UNITED STATES DEPART-

MENT OF AGRICULTURE,
et al.

Defendants-
Appellants.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Oregon
Helen J. Frye, District Judge, Presiding
Argued and submitted March 5, 1984

Before: SCHROEDER, FARRIS, and REINHARDT,
Circuit Judges.

SCHROEDER, Circuit Judge.

Mark G. Minnis owns a conmercial
lodge on the bank of the Rogue River in
Oregon. He filed this action under the
Freedom of Information Act, 5 U.S.C. § 552
(1982)(FOIA), to ~wompel the Forest Service
to disclose the names and addresses of all

persons who applied for permits to travel on

—_

Avp. 5

the Rogue River during the 1983 regulated
season. The Rogue River is a designated
wild and scenic river under the Wild and
Seenic Rivers Act of 1968, 16 U.S.C.
§§ 1271-1287 (1982), and the Forest Service
restricts traffic on it between Memorial
Day and Labor Day by requiring all] persons
to obtain permits through a random computer
lottery. Approximately 9,370 people
applied for permits for the 1983 regulated
season, and 639 permits were awarded.

The Forest Service denied Minnis's
request for the permit applicant list on the
basis that disclosure would violate the
privacy exemption to FOIA, 5 U.S.C.
§ 552(b)(6). Minnis then filed this
action. The district court concluded, on
the basis of facts that were not materially
disputed, that there was a strong public
interest in Minnis informing permit
applicants about available accommodations

on the River, and that release of the list

App. 6

to Minnis would entail no more than a
minimal invasion of privacy. It ordered
disclosure plus an award of attorney fees
pursuant to 5 U.S.C. § 552(a)(4)(E). We
stayed action pending this appeal and now
reverse because we conclude that disclosure
would confer no discernible public benefit
and would entail more than a_e minimal
invasion of privacy.

FOIA's privacy exemption applies to
"personnel and medical files and similar
files the disclosure of which would consti-
tute a clearly unwarranted invasion of per-
sonal privacy." 5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(6). To
fall within the exemption, the information
requested must be contained in a personnel,
medical, or similar file. The Supreme Court
has defined “similar file" broadly as
government records containing “information
which applies to a particular individual."

United States Department of State v.

Washington Post Co., 456 U.S. 595, 602

App. 7

(1982.1/ See Washington Post Co. v. United

States Department of Health and Human

Services, 690 F.2d 252, 260 (D.C. Cir.

1982). Lists of names and addresses meet

this definition. Van Bourg, Allen,

Weinberg & Roger v. NLRB, No. 83-1722, slip

op. at 1490 (9th Cir. March 22, 1984); see

also Wine Hobby USA, Inc. v. United States

Internal Revenue Service, 502 F.2d 133, 135

(3d Cir. 1974). The issue here, therefore,
is whether release of the _ information
requested would be a clearly unwarranted

invasion of personal privacy. United

States Department of State v. Washington

Post Co., 456 U.S. at 602.

To determine whether an invasion of
privacy is clearly unwarranted, this court
balances four factors: (1) the plaintiff's
interest in disclosure; (2) the publie
interest in disclosure; (3) the degree of
the invasion of personal privacy; and (4)

the availability of any alternate means of

App. 8

obtaining the requested information. Van

Bourg, Allen, Weinberg & Roger v. NLRB, slip

op. at 1490; Church of Scientology of

California v. United States Department of

the Army, 611 F.2d 738, 746 (9th Cir. 1979).

Even though we construe exemptions from

FOIA disclosure narrowly, Department of the

Air Force v. Rose, 425 U.S. 352, 361-62

(1976), the balance here weighs against
release of the information.

Minnis's’_ principal interest in
obtaining the permit applicant list is
purely commercial in character. He wants to
advertise his lodge to people who are inter-
ested in visiting the Rogue River. At least
one other circuit has considered such a
commercial interest in the context of the

privacy exemption. Wine Hobby USA, Ine. v.

United States Internal Revenue Service, 502

F.2d 133 (3d Cir. 1974). In Wine Hobby, a

distributor of wine-making equipment

requested the names and addresses. of

App. 9

persons registered with the United States
Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms to
produce wine for family use. The court
denied the request, reasoning that Congress
did not intend FOIA to allow the disclosure
of names of potential customers to commer-
cial businesses. Id. at 137. The court
concluded that, absent any asserted public
interest in disclosure, a commercial
interest would not justify the invasion of

privacy. Id. See also HMG Marketing

Associates v. Freeman, 523 F. Supp. 11, 14

(S.D.N.Y. 1980) (list of people who ordered
specially minted silver sollars exempt from
disclosure to direct mail advertiser
because court "hard pressed" to discern any
public interest in advertiser's acquisition
of the mailing list).

We agree with the Third Circuit
that commercial interest should not weigh
in favor of mandating disclosure of a name

and address list. Congress designated FOIA

App. 10

"to ensure an informed citizenry . .
needed to check against corruption and to
hold the governors accountable to the

governed," NLRB v. Robbins Tire & Rubber

Co., 437 U.S. 214, 242 (1978), and "to open
agency action to the light of publie seru-

tiny." Department of the Air Force vy.

Rose, 425 U.S. at 361. FOIA was not
intended to require release of otherwise
private information to one who intends to
use it solely for personal gain.

Minnis attempts to distinguish Wine
Hobby by arguing that disclosure of the list
would benefit the public in two ways: first,
because it would inform interested people
of available accommodations on the River;
and second, because the list would allow
Minnis to verify the fairness of the permit
lottery system.

In assuming that the publie would

benefit from the receipt of his direct mail

advertising, Minnis ignores the possibility

App. ll

that some members would be irritated rather
than enlightened by unwanted solicitations.

See Rowan v. United States Post Office

Department, 397 U.S. 728, 736 (1970). More-

over, Minnis can communicate his lodge's
availability to those who are interested by
advertising in specialty publications, con-
tacting local Chambers of Commerce, or
obtaining a listing in the telephone yellow
pages. Thus, he has not shown that govern-
ment disclosure of this list is needed to
inform the interested public. Use of the
list for advertising purposes confers no
public benefit weighing in favor of disclo-
sure.

Minnis is on stronger ground in
arguing that there is a public benefit in
allowing outside scrutiny of the permit

lottery's fairness. See Department of the

Air Force v. Rose, 425 U.S. at 360-62; EPA

v. Mink, 410 U.S. 73 (1973). The difficulty

is, however, that the information Minnis

App. 12

seeks would not further such an objective.
The Forest Service submitted an uncontrad-
ieted affidavit that disclosure of names
and addresses alone would not enable Minnis
to assess the fairness of the lottery; he
also wuld need other informaticn, including
the size of the parties, the types of craft,
and the dates requested; Minnis has not
asked the Forest Service for this informa-
tion. The district court itself observed
that Minnis had not explained how disclos-
ure would help him oversee the lottery's
fairness. Thus, we must conclude that there
is little or no publie interest served by
disclosure of the information sought.
Against the asserted private and
public interest in disclosure, which is
negligible, we must balance the degree of
invasion of ther permit applicants' privacy
interests. Disclosure would reveal not
only the applicants' names and addresses,

but also their personal interests in water

=<

App. 13

sports and the out-of-doors. See Wine

Hobby, 502 F.2d at 137. Other commercial
advertisers could obtain the list, subj-
ecting the applicants to an_ unwanted
barrage of mailings and personal solicita-

tions. Id. See American Federation of

Government Employees Local 1923 v. United

States Department of Health and Human

Services, 712 F.2d at 931, 932 (4th Cir.

1983). Thus, contrary to the district
court's conclusion, disclosure would impli-
cate more than a minimal privacy interest.
Indeed, this court recently recognized the
privacy interest in a name and address list

in Van Bourg, Allen, Weinberg & Roger vy.

NLRB, supra, involving a rival union's
request for the list of eligible voters in a
representation election. Slip op. at 1488.
In allowing disclosure, this court emphas-
ized that the parties to the election
already had a copy of the list, slip op. at

1491, and that the public would benefit from

App. 14

ensuring the fairness of union elections.
Id. The factors militating in favor of dis-
elosure in that case do not exist here.
While we note that Minnis had no
alternative means for obtaining the exact

list he requests, Chureh of Scientology of

California, 611 F.2d at 746, this factor

alone is not determinative, particularly
since alternative means exist to further
the commercial interest for which the
information is sought. Minnis's interest
in obtaining the list is commercial; no dis-
ecernible public benefit would result from
disclosure; and more than a minimal privacy
interest is involved. We conclude that the
invasion of privacy here is "clearly unwar-
ranted." 5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(6). Accordi-
ngly, we reverse the judgment of the
district court and the award of attorney

fees to plaintiff.

OM an na the 0 NE AM aot A 8

App. 15

FOOTNOTE

1/ Minnis filed an action for the list of
all permit recipients prior to United
States Department of State v. Washington
Post Co., 456 U.S. 595 (1982). The district
court in the earlier action ordered
disclosure on the basis that names and
addresses were not a "similar file." The
district court never addressed whether dis-
closure would be "clearly unwarranted."
Minnis's argument that the Forest Service
is collaterally estopped from relitigating
the "similar file" issue, however, lacks
merit. It has long been the rule in this
circuit that an intervening Supreme Court
decision clarifying an issue that had been
uncertain in the lower courts’ defeats
collateral estoppel. See Segal v. American
Telephone & Telegraph Co., 606 F.2d 842,
845-46 (9th Cir. 1979).

App. 16

UNITED STATEDS DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF OREGON

MARK G. MINNIES,
Plaintiff,

)

)

)

)
v.
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF )
AGRICULTURE, R. MAX PETERSON)
individually and as Chief, )
United States Forest )
Service; R. E. WORTHINGTON, )
individually and as Regional)
Forester, Region 6, United )
States Forest Service; and )
WILLIAM E. BUTLER, individu-)
ally and as District Ranger, )

Galice Ranger District, )
United States Forest Service)
)

Defendants. )

Jeffrey B. Wihtol
Cooney & Crew

Civil No. 83-469-FR

. OPINION AND
ORDER

1618 SW First Avenue, Suite 205

Portland, OR 97201

Attorneys for Plaintiff

Charles H. Turner, U.S. Attorney

Judith D. Kobbervig,
Asst. U.S.Attorney

312 United States Courthouse

Portland, OR 97205

Attorneys for Defendants

FRYE, Judge:

Sk brandi sl ee Sin ced Oran ows ache 2

App. 17

This matter is before the court on
eross motions for summary judgment. Plain-
tiff seeks disclosure under the Freedom of

Inforamtion Act, 5 U.S.C. § 552, of the
names and addresses of private permit trip
applicants for the 1983 regulated Rogue
River season, Defendants have previously
disclosed to plaintiff the names~ and
addresses of private permit trip recipients
for the years 1981 and 1982, pursuant to
this court's order of April 16, 1981 in a

previous case, Minnis v. U.S. Dept. f

Agriculture, et al., Civil No. 80-1138.

Plaintiff's request for information this
year was denied by defendants pursuant to
Exemption 6 of FOIA, 5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(6),
which protects against disclosure of infor-
mation which would constitute a clearly
unwarranted invasion of personal privacy.
Plaintiff contends that defendants’ are
barred by collateral estoppel from reliti-

gating this issue which was decided in the

App. 18

previous lawsuit and that the court's order
of April 16, 1981 compels defendants to dis-
close the requested information. Defend-
ants contend that the undisputed facts of
this case differ from the facts of the prev-
ious case and that under the new facts and
recent case law, judgment should be granted
in their favor.

SUBJECT MATTER JURISDICTION

Defendants argue that because
plaintiff did not appeal the Forest
Service's denial of this request, he failed
to exhaust his administrative remedies and
this court therefore lacks subject matter
jurisdiction. 5 U.S.C. § 552(a)(6)(A)(i)
requires agencies to determine whether to
comply with a request within ten days of its
receipt and to notify the person making the
request immediately. 5 U.S.C. § 552(a)
(6)(C) provides that a person making a
request shall be deemed to have exhausted

his administrative remedies with respect to

ar Sey Wate

App. 19

that request if the agency fails to comply
within the applicable time limits.

Plaintiff's original request for
information was dated February 28, 1983. On
March 7, 1983, the District Ranger wrote to
plaintiff, asking him the intended use of
the requested information. Plaintiff's
response is dated March 14, 1983. By letter
dated March 29, 1983, and mailed March 31,
1983, plaintiff's request was’ denied.
Defendants failed to make a determination
on plaintiff's request within the ten days
allowed by the statute. Hence, plaintiff is
deemed to have exhausted his administrative
remedies, and this court has subject matter
jurisdiction.

COLLATERAL ESTOPPEL

Plaintiff contends that collateral
estoppel entitles plaintiff to judgment as
a matter of law, since the issues and facts
decided in the previous case are the same as

those presented here; the parties are the

App. 20

same, with the addition of William E.
Butler; and the issues were actually liti-
gated and decided. See, Lewis v.

International Business Machines Corp., 393

F.Supp. 305, 307 (D.Ore. 1974).

In the previous case, plaintiff's
request for names and addresses of private
trip permittees on the Rogue River was
denied by the Forest Service pursuant to
Exemption 6 of FOIA, 5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(6).
This court examined the nature of the infor-
mation requested, the private and public
interests served by its disclosure, and
alternative means to the same end. It
determined that the requested information
did not come from personnel, medical or
"similar" files, and that its disclosure
would not constitute a clearly unwarranted
invasion of personal privacy; therefore, it
was not protected from disclosure by 5

U.S.C. § 552(b)(6).

App. 21

The information plaintiff seeks in
the instant case is not the same information
he sought before. Whereas before he sought
the names and addresses of permittees only,
plaintiff now seeks disclosure of the names

and addresses of all applicants for permits

to float the Rogue River during the regu-
lated period from Memorial Day through
Labor Day. Of the 9,372 applicants for
permits for the 1983 season, oniy 639
received permits. Plaintiff's stated
purpose in requesting this information is
to verify the fairness of the lottery.
Defendants have presented evidence to show
that disclosure of this information would
not serve that purpose and that alternative
means are available.

Sinee the facts and issues pre-
sented here are not the same ones decided
previously by this court, collateral
estoppel does not compel a judgment in favor

of plaintiff. The issues will be re-

App. 22

examined here in light of the new facts
presented, and with reference to. this
court's previous ruling.

THE PRIVACY EXEMPTION

The personal privacy exemption of
the FOIA applies to a request for informa-
tion if (1) the information comes from per-
sonnel, medical, or similar files; (2) the
disclosure of the information would consti-
tute an invasion of personal privacy; and
(3) the severity of the invasion would out-
weigh the publie interest in disclosure.

Sims v. Central Intelligence Agency, 642

F.2d 562, 573 (D.C.Cir. 1980). Four
factors must be balanced in weighing claims
of exemption for clearly unwarranted
invasions of privacy: (1) the plaintiff's
interest in disclosure; (2) the public
interest in disclosure; (3) the degree of
invasion of personal privacy; and (4) the

availability of any alternative means of

obtaining the requested information.

App. 23

Church of Scientology v. U.S. Dept. of the

Army, 611 F.2d 738, 746 (9th Cir. 1979). In
its order in the previous case, this court
decided that:

the names and addresses of the
private trip leader permittees for
the regulated 1980 Rogue River
season are not "similar" to person-
nel or medical files, that disclo-
sure of the permittees' names and
addresses would constitute a
minimal invasion of personal
privacy, that plaintiff has a
private commercial interest and the
public has an interest in disclo-
sure which outweighs the minimal
invasion, that no alternative means
for obtaining the information is
available to plaintiff, .. . and
that the requested information is
not exempt from disclosure under 5
U.8.C. [$ 552(b)(6)], ... and
that plaintiff's primary interest
in requesting the names and
addresses is commercial, .. .

Since this court's decision the United
States Supreme Court decided the case of

Dept. of State v. Washington Post Co.,

U.S. ., 102 &.Ct. 1957 (1982), in which
it held:

[We] do not think that Congress
meant to limit Exemption 6 to a
narrow class of files containing

App. 24

only a discrete kind of personal
information. Rather, "([t]he
exemption [was] intended to cover
detailed Government records on an
individual which can be identified
as applying to that individual."
H.R.Rep. No. 1497, supra, at ll,
U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News
1966, p. 2438. When disclosure of
information which applies to a
particular individual is sought
from government records, courts
must determine whether release of
the information would constitute a
clearly unwarranted invasion of
that person's privacy.

102 S.Ct. at 1961. (Footnotes omitted.) The
District of Columbia Circuit has _ inter-
preted this to mean that "[a]1l information
which ‘applies to a particular individual’
is covered by Exemption 6, regardless of the
type of file in which it is contained."

Washington Post Co. v. U.S. Dept. of Health

and Human Services, 690 F.2d 252, 260

(D.C.Cir. 1982). Both parties to this
dispute agree that under. the Supreme
Court's ruling the information sought in
this case is covered by Exemption 6 in that

it eomes from medical, personnel, or

"similar" files. This court must still

Piet’

he PE Vey

App. 25

determine if disclosure would constitute an
unwarranted invasion of personal privacy.
In order to detemine if disclosure
of the names and addresses of the applicants
would constitute an unwarranted invasion of
the applicants’ personal privacy, the court
must balance the public and _ private
interest in the release of the information
against the invasion of privacy, and
consider alternative means to the - same
information. Plaintiff's private interest
is a commercial interest in soliciting
business for his lodge near the River.
Plaintiff intends to serve the _ public
interest by providing information about
public accommodations within the wilderness
area and by opening up the "secret" lottery
conducted by the Forest Service and verify-
ing its fairness. Defendants have
submitted the affidavit of Kenneth M.

Vines, Visitor Information Specialist at

the Galice Ranger District, who is

App. 26

responsible for administering the lottery.
Vines states that the names and addresses of
applicants can in no way explain or verify
the fairness and accuracy of the lottery.
Vines states that as part of his job he
educates the public, either in person or
through the media as to how the lottery
system works and how to _ use it. The
government has submitted a document
explaining the lottery system and how the
computer randomly selects from among the
applicants. Furthermore, in the letter of
March 29, 1983, denying plaintiff's
request, the Regional Forester’ invited
plaintiff to meet with the District Ranger
and discuss the lottery.

Plaintiff does not explain how he
intends to use this information to verify
the fairness of the system. He argues that
the list of names and addresses is necessary
to verify that each applicant is actually

put into the lottery system. There is a

App. 27

public interest in assuring that each step
in the lottery procedure is carried out
fairly and carefully. It is possible that
this interest can be served and the fairness
ascertained without disclosing the names
and addresses of all applicants, but
certainly no harm is done in allowing
citizen participation in making sure the
procedure is fair.

This court previously held that the
public had an interest in being informed
about accommodations available along the
River. This was in reference to plaintiff's
request for the names and addresses of
permittees, who would actually be
travelling along the River. The
information he now seeks includes the names
of approximately 8700 people who did not
receive permits for the summer. season.
However, these people are still free to
float the River during the non-regulated

part of the year, and the fact that they

App. 28

applied for permits indicates that they are
interested in the Rogue River and its
recreational opportunities. The public
interest in providing information about
Rogue River accommodations to this class of
people is still a compelling interest. The
government points out that 57 percent of all
applicants indicated on their applications
that they preferred not to have their names
and addresses disclosed for commercial or
political purposes. The results of this
poll are irreievant for the purposes of this
ruling.

Diselosure is favored under FOIA,
and the exemptions are to be narrowly

construed. Dept. of Air Force v. Rose, 425

U.S. 352, 361 96 S.Ct. 1592 (1976). The
court finds the invasion of the personal
privacy of the applicants to be minimal.
Furthermore, the court finds that’ the
public interest in disclosure outweighs the

minimal invasion of privacy and_ that

Po hy

App. 29

there is no alternative means by which
plaintiff can provide this information to
this group of persons.

IT Is HEREBY ORDERED that
plaintiff's motion for summary judgment is
GRANTED. Defendants' motion for summary
judgment is DENIED. Defendants are ordered
to iteetess the requested information to

plaintiff.

DATED this 3 day of June, 1983.

Helen J. Frye
Unites States District Judge

App. 30

Jeffrey B. Wihtol

Cooney & Crew

1618 S.W. First Avenue, #205

Portland, OR 97201

Telephone: (503) 221-1529
Attorney for Plaintiff

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF OREGON
MARK G. MINNIS

Civil

Plaintiff, No. 83-469

J UDGMENT
ORDER

vs.

)
)
)
)
THE UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT )
OF AGRICULTURE, R. MAX )
PETERSON, individually and )
as Chief, United States )
Forest Service; R.E. :
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)

WORTHINGTON, individually,
and as Regional Forester,
Region 6, United States
Forest Service; and WILLIAM
E. BUTLER, individually, and
as District Ranger, Galice
Ranger District, United
States Forest Service

Defendants.
This matter having come before the

Honorable Helen J. Frye for hearing, on May

16, 1983 on ecross-motions for summary judg-

ment, and on July 11, 1983 on plaintiff's

App. 31

motion for an award of attorneys fees and
litigation costs, Jeffrey B. Wihtol and
Cooney & Crew appearing in behalf of the
plaintiff, and Judith Kobbervig, Assistant
United States Attorney, appearing in behalf
of defendants, and the Court’ having
determined that plaintiff's request under
the Freedom of Information Act for the names
and addresses of the private permit
applicants for the regulated 1983 Rogue
River season is not exempt from disclosure
pursuant to 5 USC § 552(b)(6), as claimed by
defendants, and the Court further finding
that plaintiff should be awarded his
reasonable attorneys fees and litigation
costs reasonably incurred herein against
defendant United States Department of
Agriculture pursuant to 5 USC
§ 552(a)(4)(E), it is therefore ordered,
adjudged and decreed as follows:

1. Plaintiff's motion for summary

judgment is allowed;

App. 32

2. Plaintiff's motion for an award
of reasonable attorneys' fees and
litigation costs is allowed;

3. Defendants' Motion for Summary
Judgment is denied;

4. Defendants shall immediately
make available to plaintiff the names and
addresses of the private permit’ trip
applicants for the 1983 regulated Rogue
River season.

5. Plaintiff shall have judgment
against defendant United States Department
of Agriculture for plaintiff's reasonable
attorneys fees and litigation costs
incurred herein, the exact sum and the
reasons allowing said sum to be set forth re
separate order.

6. The Court denies plaintiff's
motion to invoke the provisions of 5 USC

§552(a)(4)(F).

App. 33

Dated this 12 day of Aug., 1983.

s/s Helen J. Frye

Helen J. Frye
U.S. District Court

Judge
PRESENTED BY:
/s/ Jeffrey 8B. Wihtol

Jeffrey B. Wihtol
Of Attorney for Plaintiff

App. 34

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
: FOR THE DISTRICT OF OREGON
MARK G. MINNIS,
Civil No. 80-1138
Plaintiff,

JUDGMENT ORDER
V.

MENT OF AGRICULTURE,
R. MAX PETERSON, and
R.E. WORTHINGTON,

)
)
)
)
)
)
UNITED STATES DEPART- )
)
)
)
)
Defendants. )

The above-captioned matter having
come before The Honorable Helen J. Frye in
the above-entitled court on Monday, April
13, 1981, on defendants' motions to dismiss
or in the alternative for summary judgment,
and for protective order, and plaintiff's
motion for summary judgment, defendants
appearing by their attorney Judith D.
Kobbervig, and plaintiff appearing by his
attorneys Morrison, Dunn, Cohen, Miller &
Carney, and Jeffrey B. Wihtol, and the Court
having determined that the names-~ and

addresses of the private trip leader

permittees for the regulated 1980 Rogue

App. 35

River season are not "Similar" to personnel
or medical files, that disclosure of the
permittees' names and addresses would
constitute a minimal invasion of personal
privacy, that plaintiff has a= private
commercial interest and the publie has an
interest in disclosure which outweighs the
minimal invasion, that no alternative means
for obtaining the information is available
to plaintiff, that defendants' refusal to
disclose the requested information was not
unreasonable, and that the requested
information is not exempt from disclosure
under 5 U.S.C. § 772b(6), and finding no
need to punish’ defendants, and that
plaintiff's primary interest in requesting
the names and addresses is conmercial, now,
therefore, it is ordered and adjudged as
follows:

1. Plaintiff's motion for summary

judgment be and hereby is allowed;

App. 36

2. Plaintiff's request for an
award for attorney's fees is denied;

3. Defendant's motion to dismiss
is allowed with respect to the individual
defendants, R. Max Peterson, and R.E.
Worthington, and that defendant's motion to
dismiss or in the alternative for summary
judgment is denied in all other respects;

4. Defendants' motion for a
protective order is rendered moot by the
foregoing rulings;

5. Defendant United States
Department of Agriculture shall promptly
make available to plaintiff the names and
addresses of the private trip leader
permittees for the regulated 1980 Rogue
River season and plaintiff shall recover
his costs and disbursements incurred

herein.

App. 37

DATED this 16 day of April, 1981.

s/s Helen J. Frye
United States District Judge

Presented by:

s/s Jeffrey B. Wihtol
Jeffrey B. Wihtol

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_3203%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
