# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Chas. S. Tanner Co. v. Air Products & Chemicals, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_3195%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1985
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 1159

## Text

EES ee . = Pee a Fs se ae =
—

84-653), __
he

No. OCT 29 1964

ALEXANDER L. STEVAS,

Supreme Court of the United Statre——

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

CHAS. S. TANNER CO. and
NATIONAL STARCH AND CHEMICAL
CORPORATION,

Petitioners,
v.

AIR PRODUCTS AND CHEMICALS, INC.,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

GEOFFREY C. HAZARD, JR. HERBERT F. SCHWARTZ

New Haven, Connecticut 875 Third Avenue
New York, New York 10022
Tel.: (212) 715-0600

Attorneys for Petitioners

Of Counsel:
FIsH & NEAVE
875 Third Avenue
New York, New York 10022
Tel.: (212) 715-0600

October 23, 1984

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

May a District Court, relying on a local court rule and
practice, deny a litigant notice of and opportunity to meet an
opponent’s contentions, including a claim for more than $1
million in attorney fees, by requiring that both trial briefs and
post-trial submissions be received on an ex parte basis?

STATEMENT UNDER RULE 28.1

Pursuant to Rule 28.1 of this Court, petitioner National
Starch and Chemical Corporation states that it is a subsidiary of
National Starch & Chemical Holding Corporation, New York,
New York which is a subsidiary of Unilever N.V., a foreign
corporation, Rotterdam, The Netherlands. National Starch
and Chemical Corporation has no subsidiaries or affiliates.

~ BEST AVAILABLE COPY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION, RULES AND
I EE I cs rewecasccncectctisennvsacossavecesisessneseres

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A.

The District Court Improperly Departed From
The Accepted And Usual Course Of Judicial
Proceedings By Following Ex Parte Procedures
That Denied National Notice Of And An
Opportunity To Meet AP’s Contentions ...............

1. Despite The Complexity Of The Case,
Neither A Pretrial Order Nor Any Other
Exchange Of Contentions Delineated The
I SN NE SI a spacicctncnissiebeceschentnsceesnonvesbes

2. AP’s Trial Contentions Were Received On

An Ex Parte Basis In Violation Of The
Standards Of Federal Civil Justice ...............

The District Court’s Procedures Prejudiced
I hit ci dali dacephdgtbontnensuddsenouachaitbnnvennd

1. Attorney Fees Were Awarded During The
First Phase Of The Trial Although Nation-
al Was Not Fairly Apprised That The Issue
Was Then Before The Court.........................

2. The District Court’s Holdings Of Validity,

Enforceability And Infringement Are
Irreconcilable With The Facts......................

TINIE klik ii nscoipcnicesacnaneeiresaiienscboabuebabee vespulibonastiitins

N

15

15

ill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Alyeska Pipeline Co. v. Wilderness Society, 421
a ane USP UTED ns tinsancstneninecdes pammicinnbicadiieataiscvapaiioas

Arbrook, Inc. v. American Hospital Supply Co., 645
er i gE |) EE ne yee

Chicopee Manufacturing Corp. v. Kendall Com-
pany, 288 F.2d 719 (4 Cir. 1961) 0.0... eee

Cloud v. Standard Packaging Corporation, 376
ce © Seen ONT P sictebencecaseciectebeccolesionseceeianien

Continental Can Co. v. Anchor Hocking Glass
Ca, SEE Fae B25 C7 Gar. TIGR D icsctacitresncctesceces

C.P.C. v. Nosco Plastics, Inc., 719 F.2d 400 ( Fed.
AE Fe pans sak viake ic annccthoica boone ciphapiasbnankaehiauniaianioune

Deere & Co. v. International Harvester Co., 658
op Bip eg yg + SERUM ean ommnren

Fromson v. Advance Offset Plate, Inc., 720 F.2d
Fe Oe es I rtscenncbeinicenceanennenmninnnionas

General Electric Company v. Sciaky Bros., Inc., 415
i BE ane Tee Dee nae

Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1 (1966) ........
La Buy v. Howes Leather Co., 352 U.S. 249 (1957)

McGill Inc. v. John Zink Co., 736 F.2d 666 (Fed.
ee IE sian paseinilnaesnstanansncencaeninecsn inland

Morgan v. United States, 304 U.S. 1 (1938) ...........

Nyyssonen v. Bendix Corp., 137 USPQ 853 (D.
Mass. 1963), affirmed 342 F.2d 531 (1 Cir.

Paeco, Inc. v. Applied Moldings, Inc., 562 F.2d 870
FOES. BOP TO ansnskatnsaciodipuidiinsnabieudinsuanacteeomaniianialeanions

Panduit Corp. v. All States Plastic Manufacturing

PAGE

17

iV

Co., Inc., No. 84-569, Slip Op. (Fed. Cir.
ET Sy UNIT seksi slic stiias nicsctaictaiadaaiinianatba

Petersen Mfg. Co. vy. Central Purchasing, Inc., 740
cme CER CEs Tals ROOD wicercnsniccnenssiseecoenbicnasn’

Photovest Corp. v. Fotomat Corp., 606 F.2d 704 (7
FM SPIT snc) chiniasaccntsonntiaielniepbhinceaiibdeenaceaababateitinetons

Price v. Inland Oil Co., 646 F.2d 90 (3 Cir. 198!)..

Rohm & Haas Co. v. Crystal Chemical Co., 736
A Et IED ctaccenin cnisiseanncahencicetdennetis

Rosemount, Inc. v. Beckman Instruments, Inc., 727
ee Se ea ees SP cicohiceescaninaapadennsicooiene

Saturn Mfg. v. Williams Patent Crusher & Pulver-
izer, 713 F.2d 1347 (8 Cir. 1983) 0.0... eee

Sundstrand Corp. v. Standard Kollsman Industries,
ae, Se I CF Ca FTI rcicacictetesisittncccn

Surowitz v. Hilton Hotels Corp., 383 US. 363
PE Ecnskckanintlicshissnsbceikisinidieial oukabnabiaiesneniabden acess

TWM Manufacturing Co., Inc. vy. Dura Corp., 213
USPQ 423 (E.D. Mich. 1981), affirmed in per-
tinent part 722 F.2d 1261 (6 Cir. 1983)...............

United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39 (1966)...........

United States v. First Nat. Bank of Circle, 652
ee Ne 0 es BT ik adineisatnncicercsctnmescinenensannanas

United States v. Rosner, 485 F.2d 1213 (2 Cir.

Wardius v. Oregon, 412 U.S. 470 (1973)...

Western Elec. Co. v. Stewart-Warner Corp., 631
ee Is TE Niediertsncicisncnddssnsnendascodaaaonaas

Williams v. Florida, 399 U.S. 78 (1970).........:0:0000

PAGE

n.3

n.3

n.7, 12, n.10,
13,n.11

y

15

14

n.14

Other Authorities

United States Constitution
Ps PIE iscsi ccetesissnsinsensicinicasanendeggninn
United States Code
y ik ¢ od Bs.) @ b pommnepenmamuncrnranumssmene vce
p BIRT nd >, . RRRROURERPU MERA TO NTI RO Her:
p Bi oe Bt. | RENCE MIE TT ene
DS UE RR. © BR cesatisnnccncsnnccticacccadintiienteandgncuntaghan

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
eee BS ag csiciiic dictincsninediinntebdnasensiensusesnebaisaiamsaanaiinn
ae EY assassins rcsnensinciocnsnancsensonsisnuniannesaammiin
ae BG SY asecicccennccnnesncconnstesninntinidien haneauaion
Pah BGC) cncacinnepcsnsnconnerscknakassesnansinnaninninnanbin sab
Peay FEY occ ensncesicsiccnsenosinasianaeunianteanacmnnaaane
Dathe SII) sc sicterinnssoninensicsnsnsanssdasensdicnanglenmmnsmnian
Paths SOE OY ccinsisninsiciencivasonssintesspapenikesuuciammaiats
atin GE DY na siiseorrnnicissicniaceecipentesdndunenapedsiabobatinngiede

Local Federal District Court Rules

ORDER RE: CIVIL CASES SET FOR
TRIAL IN SPECIAL OR REGULAR
TERMS OF COURT IN THE DISTRICT
OF SOUTH CAROLINA (D.S.C. July 7,

IN THE MATTER OF: RULE 16(b) FED-
ERAL RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE
(D.S.C. September 7, 1983) ...........:::ccceeeeees

Eastern District and Western District of Ar-
Rename TRE UBD wicisraciesnecssinsnnjiescidnemtusteiidicniaaion

Eastern District and Western District of Ar-
Remit TG BO oo. acsnsinntsonidecebinainiaismies

PAGE

n.14, 16, 17

n.12

2,8

2-3, 10

n.12

n.10

PAGE
Southern District of Indiana Rule 21(f) .......... n.10
Eastern District of Michigan Rule 24(b) ......... n.10
District of Kansas Rule 20( c)......................0.... n.10

Code of Judicial Conduct For United States Judg-

es, 69 F.R.D. 273 (1976)
COORD, THEE ncctiesinttcintenensinctcabeiialatitambianiatatintaeiities 2, 3, 12

3 Moore’s Federal Practice 9 15.08{3] (2d ed.

aE ie ee 4

3 Moore's Federal Practice 4 16.14 (2d ed. 1948,

SOCRIOE BIDS) enccspecrasiinccicesiealhniaiatlineammbaiaiiie 14

4A Moore’s Federal Practice ¥ 33.17{2.-2]| (2d ed.

1948, revised 1984) .............. - isieneioaaaiaiaastaiiadaiiaapanaaas Z

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term, 1984

CHAS. S. TANNER CO. and
NATIONAL STARCH AND CHEMICAL
CORPORATION,

Petitioners,
v.

AIR PRODUCTS AND CHEMICALS, INC.,
Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
POR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

Petitioners Chas. S. Tanner Co. and National Starch and
Chemical Corporation (“National”)' pray that a writ of cer-
tiorari issue to review t.e judgment of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Federal Circuit holding Air Products’
(“AP’s”) patent no. 3,708,388 (“ ‘388 patent”) valid, enforce-
able and infringed and awarding AP attorney fees.

1“National” refers to both petitioners, Chas. S. Tanner Co. and
National Starch and Chemical Corporation.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Federal Circuit (A 1-6) is not reported. The opinion of the
United States District Court for the District of South Carolina
(A 7-84) is not reported in Federal Supplement. It is reported
unofficially at 219 USPQ 223.

JURISDICTION OF THIS COURT

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on June
29, 1984. The Court of Appeals deniec National’s petition for
rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc on August 10,
1984. This petition was filed within 90 days thereafter. The
jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION,
RULES AND CANON INVOLVED

Relevaht to this petition are the Fifth Amendment of the
United States Constitution, Rules 16(c)(5) and (e) and $2(a)
of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, local court rule entitled
ORDER RE: CIVIL CASES SET FOR TRIAL IN SPECIAL
OR REGULAR TERMS OF COURT IN THE DISTRICT OF
SOUTH CAROLINA (DS.C. July 7, 1964) and Canon 3,
A(4) of the Code of Judicial Conduct. Each of these is printed
in its entirety in the Appendix (A 100-105).

ORDER RE: CIVIL CASES SET FOR TRIAL IN SPE-
CIAL OR REGULAR TERMS OF COURT IN THE DIS-
TRICT OF SOUTH CAROLINA, reads in pertinent part:

“In view of the large number of civil cases pending in
the District, and in view of the fact that several special
terms of civil court have been set, and in order to expedite
the trial of such cases, all attorneys having civil cases set
for trial at any special or regular terms of court are hereby
directed to furnish to the Court a trial brief at least five (5)
days prior to the opening of the term of Court in which
such case is set for trial ....

* - *

. a

3

“(It is understood that the information required here-
in is for the sole use of the Court, and it is not expected that
copies will be furnished to opposing counsel. )

“July 7, 1964”

Rule 16(c)(5), F.R.Civ.P., whose pertinent part became
effective August |, 1983, reads:

“(c) Subjects to be Discussed at Pretrial Confer-
ences. ...

,

(5)... exchanging pretrial briefs... .’

Canon 3, A(4) of the Code of Judicial Conduct reads in
pertinent part:

“A judge should accord to every person who is legally
interested in a proceeding, or his lawyer, full right to be
heard according to law, and, except as authorized by law,
neither initiate nor consider ex parte or other commu-
nications concerning a pending or impending proceeding.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This action was commenced in May 1979 in the United
States District Court for the District of South Carolina and
assigned to the Honorable G. Ross Anderson, Jr. The com-
plaint alleged that Chas. S. Tanner Co. (““Tanner’’) manufac-
tured, used and sold certain adhesives that infringed AP’s ’388
patent and violated AP’s trade secret rights. Jurisdiction was
based on 28 U.S.C. § 1338(a). National Starch and Chemical
Corporation acquired Tanner in 1980 and was added as a
defendant in 1981. In December 1981 the issues of alleged
damage to AP and alleged patent misuse were severed from the
patent and trade secrets liability issues and reserved for
subsequent trial. No reference was made to an issue of attorney
fees in the severance order.

4

On September 10, 1982, the District Court ordered that the
trial of the first phase of the case commence on November 29,
1982. There was no pretrial conference or similar pretrial
procedure. No pretrial order was entered delineating the issues
to be tried. On November 24, 1982, the parties exchanged lists
of exhibits. On November 26, 1982, pursuant to the local court
rule set forth above, the parties submitted trial briefs? to the
District Court on an ex parte basis. Neither side was given the
other’s brief. Neither party was informed of the identity of
witnesses to be called other than experts. The Court required
only that each evening a party identify witnesses to be called
the next day. Trial lasted 12 days and resulted in 3000 pages of
transcript and the admission of over 1350 exhibits. There were
no closing arguments. On December 15, 1982, the District
Court denied National’s request that it be permitted to see AP’s
post-trial submissions. There were no post-trial briefs. On
February 15, 1983, pursuant to the District Court’s order, both
parties submitted proposed findings of fact and conclusions of
law on an ex parte basis.

On May 3, 1983, the District Court issued an opinion
holding that the ’388 patent was valid, enforceable and in-
fringed but that National had not misappropriated AP’s trade
secrets. The District Court also held that the case was
“exceptional” within the meaning of 35 U.S.C. § 285 and on
this basis awarded AP attorney fees, subject to proof of their
amount. National subsequently moved under Rules 59(e) and
60(b), F.R.Civ.P., for deletion of the attorney fees award
because it had not been given notice that the issue of liability
for attorney fees was being tried in the first phase of the case
and had not introduced any evidence on the issue. The District
Court denied this motion on June 14, 1983.

National filed a timely appeal to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Federal Circuit. AP did not file a cross appeal.
On June 29, 1984, the Court of Appeals affirmed the District
Court decision. On August 10, 1984 the Court of Appeals
denied National’s petition for rehearing and rehearing en banc.

2 Petitioners use the terms “trial brief’ and “pretrial brief”
interchangeably in this petition.

a

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A. The District Court Improperly Departed From The Ac-
cepted And Usual Course Of Judicial Proceedings By
Following Ex Parte Procedures That Denied National
Notice Of And An Opportunity To Meet AP’s Contentions

The procedure followed by the District Court required ex
parte arguments by each party that were not disclosed to the
other party. National was thereby denied an opportunity to
meet arguments that had been made to the Court by its
adversary. This procedure is inconsistent with the rules and
practice of most other federal district courts, with the spirit and
now the letter of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, and with
the Code of Judicial Conduct and the Constitutional require-
ment of due process.

The matters at issue in the first phase of the bifurcated trial
were complex and substantial. They included National’s right
to make, and ultimately the public’s right to use, the adhesives
allegedly covered by the patent in suit, as well as National’s
potential liability for many millions of dollars in past damages.
As National discovered only upon reading the District Court’s
opinion, these issues also included that of liability for what may
amount to more than $1 million dollars in attorney fees.

While a District Court has discretion as to whether and
how to define the issues for trial, the ex parte procedure used in
this case was wholly improper. That procedure was baSed on a
rule of the District Court for the District of South/Carolina,
which contemplates that the trial briefs are to be suPmitted on
an ex parte basis. This expectation was enforce in this case
with an observation by the Court that an ‘exchange of pretrial
contentions would render them “totally useless”. The District
Court also required that post-trial submissions be ex parte,
apparently permissible in that District. The effect was equiva-
lent to permitting counse! to telephone the judge with an
argument that the other side never hears.

6

This matter is of general importance in the administration
of federal justice and warrants the exercise of the Court’s
supervisory authority over the federal court system. Pertinent
here is La Buy v. Howes Leather Co., 352 U.S. 249, 251 (1957),
in which this Court said:

“The importance of the question in the administration of

the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, together with the

uncertainty existing on the issue among the Courts of
Appeals, led to our grant of a writ of certiorari.”

No other district court in the United States has a rule like that
of the District of South Carolina, although such a practice
concerning pretrial and post-trial submissions may occur in
other federal courts. Indeed, the rules and practice in most
federal courts are to the contrary. The Federai Rules of Civil
Procedure contemplate fair pretrial notice of the issues in
controversy. Moreover, Rule 16(c)(5), F.R.Civ.P., which
became effective on August 1, 1983, makes this principle
explicit by referring to “filing and exchanging pretrial briefs”
(emphasis supplied ).

A writ of certiorari should issue to correct the denial of fair
procedure in this case and to establish that the procedures
sanctioned by the District Court’s rule of court,? however

3 There was no normal exercise of the Court of Appeals’ super-
visory authority in this case. The Court of Appeals for the Federal
Circuit is a unique court with limited jurisdiction. See 28 U.S.C.
§ 1295. It has recognized that, because of these jurisdictional
limitations, it has no supervisory authority over the district courts. See
Petersen Mfg. Co. v. Central Purchasing, Inc., 740 F.2d 1541
(Fed.Cir. 1984); C.P.C. v. Nosco Plastics, Inc., 719 F.2d 400, 401
(Fed.Cir. 1983). Recognizing this limitation, the Court of Appeals
has recently stated that, to “minimiz[e] confusion and conflicts . . .
the Federal Circuit shall review procedural matters, that are not
unique to patent issues, under the law of the particular regional circuit
court where appeals from the district court would normally lie.”
Panduit Corp. v. All States Plastic Manufacturing Co., Inc., No. 84-
569, Slip Op. at 18-20 ( Fed.Cir. September 25, 1984). This lack of
supervisory authority might have contributed to the Court of Appeals’
failure to deal with the procedural errors of the District Court.

expedient they might seem, are impermissible in federal civil
justice. They deny a party the opportunity to meet the case
against it and deny the court the benefit of counterposed
presentation by counsel.

A premise of the adversary system is that a court will best
render justice if each party knows and can criticize its oppo-
nent’s positions. As this Court said in Williams v. Florida, 399
U.S. 78, 82 (1970):

“The adversary system of trial is hardly an end in itself; it
is not yet a poker game in which players enjoy an absolute
right always to conceal their cards until played” ( footnote
omitted ).

See also Wardius v. Oregon, 412 U.S. 470, 474 (1973).

The opposing party plainly has the strongest incentive to
expose the weaknesses of a protagonist’s contentions. See
United States v. Rosner, 485 F.2d 1213, 1230 (2 Cir. 1973).
The court cannot function properly if its rules preclude the
parties from making such responses.

The ex parte procedure followed by the District Court in
this case seriously prejudiced National in two major respects.
First, it resulted in a finding that National must pay attorney
fees to its adversary even though National never knew that this
issue of attorney fees was being tried. Second, the Court found
against National on the issues of patentability, enforceability
and infringement on the basis of arguments that National had
no knowledge of. On each of these issues National was denied
the opportunity to meet AP’s presentation. Thus it was denied
the protection afforded a litigant by the Constitution, the
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, the Code of Judicial Conduct
and the standards of federal civil justice.

Obviously this Court cannot decide the merits of the issues
in question, but it can remand to the District Court to give
National the opportunity to be heard on these issues.

1. Despite The Complexity Of The Case, Neither A
Pretrial Order Nor Any Other Exchange Of Con-
tentions Delineated The Issues To Be Tried

Ordinarily, and almost always in a complex case, a civil
litigant in federal civil justice is apprised before trial of the
issues to be tried, its opponent’s contentions as to those issues,
and the proofs the opponent will offer. The central aim of the
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure is to fulfill this goal. See
Surowitz v. Hilton Hotels Corp., 383 U.S. 363, 373 (1966).

This was a case in which the issues of law and fact were
complex. The pleadings in this case were general. Discovery
was pervasive. Nevertheless, the District Court made no effort
before trial to frame the matters at issue. No statements of
contention were permitted before trial except those submitted
ex purte without disclosure to the other side. The post-trial
submissions were also ex parte.

There are various procedural devices to delineate issues to
be tried. For example, Rule 16(e), F.R.Civ.P., permits a court
to enter a pretrial order identifying the issues before it.4 Such an
order limits the proofs to those issues. See, e.g., United States v.
First Nat. Bank of Circle, 652 F.2d 882, 886 (9 Cir. 1981):

“( A] party need offer no proof at trial as to matters agreed

to in the order, nor may a party offer evidence or advance

theories at the trial which are not included in the order or
which contradict its terms. Disregard of these principles
would bring back the days of trial by ambush and
discourage timely preparation by the parties for trial”
(footnote omitted ).

4The Court of Appeals referred to a “pretrial stipulated order”
by the District Court (A 93-96) as meeting the notice requirement (A
5). This order was not a “pretrial order” in the understood sense of
that term. It was entered almost one full year before the com-
mencement of the trial. It controlled the scope of discovery and
severed and stayed the trial of “damages” and antitrust issues. It did
not specify the issues in dispute. In particular, the order did not
indicate whether attorney fees was a matter of liability or damages,
and therefore whether it would be tried in the first phase.

—~

Alternatively, the issues may be delineated by an exchange of
pretrial memoranda. See, e.g., Price v. Inland Oil Co., 646 F.2d
90, 95-96 (3 Cir. 1981). Another means of delineating issues is
to require amendment of the pleadings.5 See Rule 15,
F.R.Civ.P.; 3 Moore’s Federal Practice § 15.08[3] (2d ed.
1948, revised 1984). Another is to incorporate the parties’
contentions under Rule 33(b). See Sundstrand Corp. v.
Standard Kollsman Industries, Inc., 488 F.2d 807, 811-12 (7
Cir. 1973); 4A Moore’s Federal Practice § 33.17[2.-2] (2d ed.
1948, revised 1984).

National had the benefit of none of these protections.
Worse still, it had no way to know what issues AP was arguing
ex parte to the Court.

2. AP’s Trial Contentions Were Received On An Ex
Parte Basis In Violation Of The Standards Of Feder-
al Civil Justice

The District Court made it plain to the parties that no

exchange of contentions was to be permitted. In the course of
discussion of a request by National that post-trial submissions

be exchanged, the Court said (A 99):

“Do you know what that does to a trial brief? Renders it
totally useless if you let the other lawyers see—we have an
absolute policy among federal judiciary in this state.
Nobody except the law clerk sees your trial brief, nobody.
They aren’t even filed. They are just marked for the court.
The clerk’s office doesn’t even see them. We found that if
you trade trial briefs, you have a tendency to overstate,
gloss over and omit. If nobody sees it, you can be
somewhat forthright. That’s been our experience, and,
quite frankly, I think, if it were left up to me, I would
abolish the trial brief. All I think they are is to make
lawyers put in extra work, I’m not a believer in trial
briefs.”

The District Court’s position corresponds to a_ long-
standing order of the District of South Carolina that a pretrial

5 Here the only amended pleadings were general statemenis of
claim filed midway in the discovery stage.

10

brief “‘is for the sole use of the Court, and it is not expected that
copies will be furnished to opposing counsel.” ORDER RE:
CIVIL CASES SET FOR TRIAL IN SPECIAL OR REGU-
LAR TERMS OF COURT IN THE DISTRICT OF SOUTH
CAROLINA (D.S.C. July 7, 1964) (A 100-102).

This ex parte procedure is inconsistent with generally
recognized standards of federal civil practice. The rules of
many district courts are contrary to the South Carolina rule in
that they expressly mandate exchange of pretrial briefs. The
rules of many other district courts are silent on exchange of
pretrial briefs,? but experienced practitioners recognize that
exchange is contemplated under such circumstances.

€ The local court rules of the following districts require exchange
of pretrial briefs: D. Alaska; E.D. and W.D. Arkansas; C.D., E.D.,
N.D. and S.D. California; D. Connecticut; D. Hawaii; D. Idaho; S.D.
Indiana; D. Kansas; E.D. and M.D. Louisiana; D. Maine; E.D. and
W.D. Michigan; D. Minnesota; N.D. Mississippi; D. Montana; D.
Nebraska; D. New Hampshire; D. New Jersey; M.D. North Carolina;
D. North Dakota; M.D. Pennsylvania and W.D. and E.D. Tennessee.

7The local court rules of the following districts are silent
regarding exchange of pretrial briefs: M.D., S.D. and N.D. Alabama;
D. Arizona; D. Colorado; D. Delaware; D. District of Columbia; S.D.,
N.D. and M.D. Florida; M.D., S.D. and N.D. Georgia; S.D., N.D.
and C.D. Illinois; N.D. Indiana; N.D. and S.D. lowa; E.D. and W.D.
Kentucky; W.D. Louisiana; D. Maryland; D. Massachusetts; S.D.
Mississippi; W.D. and E.D. Missouri; D. Nevada; D. New Mexico;
S.D., E.D., N.D. and W.D. New York; E.D. and W.D. North
Carolina; S.D. and N.D. Ohio; N.D., W.D. and E.D. Oklahoma; D.
Oregon; W.D. and E.D. Pennsylvania; D. Puerto Rico; D. Rhode
Island; D. South Dakota; M.D. Tennessee; S.D., W.D., E.D. and N.D.
Texas; D. Utah; D. Vermont; E.D. and W.D. Virginia; E.D. and W.D.
Washington; N.D. and S.D. West Virginia; E.D. and W.D. Wisconsin
and D. Wyoming. Some of the district courts with local court rules
that are silent on the exchange of pretrial and post-trial submissions
do have rules which prohibit ex parte contacts with the court. See,
e.g., S.D. and N.D. Georgia and E.D. North Carolina. Otherwise,
there is nothing to restrain a court from prohibiting such an exchange
in these districts. See, e.g., Photovest Corp. v. Fotomat Corp., 606 F.2d
704, 708 & n.2 (7 Cir. 1979), discussed infra, pp. 12-13.

santana

11

Similarly with regard to exchange of post-trial submissions,
under the practice of the District of South Carolina such an
exchange of submissions may be prohibited, as it was in this
case. In this respect also the rules of many other district courts
are contrary in that they expressly mandate exchange of post-
trial submissions. However, many district court rules are silent
on this point.9

The practice in the Court below plainly and simply violates
the principles of due process. The point is stated in Morgan v.
United States, 304 U.S. 1, 18-20 (1938), in which this Court
vacated an order based on proposed findings submitted ex
parte:

“The right to a hearing embraces not only the right to

present evidence but also a reasonable opportunity to
know the claims of the opposing party and to meet them

* * *

8 The local court rules of the following districts require exchange
of post-trial proposed findings of fact and conclusions of law: D.
Alaska; D. Arizona; E.D. and W.D. Arkansas; S.D., C.D. and E.D.
California; D. Hawaii; M.D. and W.D. Louisiana; D. Montana; D.
Nevada; N.D. Ohio and E.D. Washington.

9The local court rules of the following districts are silent
regarding exchange of post-trial proposed findings of fact and con-
clusions of law: M.D., S.D. and N.D. Alabama; N.D. California; D.
Colorado; D. Connecticut; D. Delaware; D. District of Columbia;
S.D., N.D. and M.D. Florida; M.D., N.D. and S.D. Georgia; D.
Idaho; C.D., N.D. and S.D. Illinois; N.D. and S.D. Indiana; N.D. and
S.D. Iowa; D. Kansas; E.D. and W.D. Kentucky; E.D. Louisiana; D.
Maine; D. Maryland; D. Massachusetts; E.D. and W.D. Michigan; D.
Minnesota; N.D. and S.D. Mississippi; W.D. and E.D. Missouri; D.
Nebraska; D. New Jersey; D. New Mexico; S.D., E.D., N.D. and
W.D. New York; M.D., W.D. and E.D. North Carolina; D. North
Dakota; $.D. Ohio; N.D., W.D. and E.D. Oklahoma; D. Oregon;
E.D., M.D. and W.D. Pennsylvania; D. Puerto Rico; D. Rhode
Island; D. South Dakota; E.D., M.D. and W.D. Tennessee; S.D.,
W.D., N.D. and E.D. Texas; D. Utah; D. Vermont; E.D. and W.D.
Virginia; W.D. Washington; N.D. and S.D. West Virginia; E.D. and
W.D. Wisconsin and D. Wyoming.

12

“Congress, in requiring a ‘full hearing,’ had regard to
judicial standards,—not in any technical sense but with
respect to those fundamental requirements of fairness
which are of the essence of due process in a proceeding of
a judicial nature. If in an equity cause, a special master or
the trial judge permitted the plaintiff's attorney to formu-
late the findings upon the evidence, conferred ex parte with
the plaintiffs attorney regarding them, and then adopted
his proposals without affording an opportunity to his
opponent to know their contents and present objections,
there would be no hesitation in setting aside the report or
decree as having been made without a fair hearing. The
requirements of fairness are not exhausted in the taking or
consideration of evidence but extend to the concluding
parts of the procedure as well as to the beginning and
intermediate steps.”

This principle is expressed in the Code of Judicial Conduct,
adopted by the Judicial Conference in 1973 and which provides
in Canon 3, A(4):

““A judge should accord to every person who is legally
interested in a proceeding, or his lawyer, full right to be
heard according to law, and, except as authorized by law,
neither initiate nor consider ex parte or other commu-
nica*ions concerning a pending or impending proceeding.”
69 F.R.D. 273, 275 (1976).

The procedure followed by the District Court is also in
conflict with the rationale of the Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit in Photovest Corp. v. Fotomat Corp., 606 F.2d
704 (7 Cir. 1979). The Court there held that even a delayed
exchange of pretrial briefs'° was repugnant to principles of fair
trial:

10 The local district court rule involved in Photovest was silent
concerning exchange of briefs. The Court of Appeals in Photovest
listed five districts, including the district from which the appeal was
taken, that failed to provide by rule for the exchange of trial briefs.
Photovest, 606 F.2d at 708 n.2, 709 n.4. Since the Photovest decision,
all but one of those districts have amended their rules to remedy this
failure. See E.D. and W.D. Arkansas Rules 3(i) and 13; S.D. Indiana
Rule 21(f); E.D. Michigan Rule 24(b); D. Kansas Rule 20(c). The
District of South Carolina seems to stand alone in expressly prohibit-
ing the exchange of trial briefs.

Lire PO ea he hoe an) i

13

““[ W]e are of the opinion that exchange of trial briefs at
the time they are filed with the court is sounder procedure,
being one more consistent with the elimination of
gamesmanship aspects of litigation and, indeed, with the
quest for truth, presumably the ultimate aim of adversarial
litigation. Any benefits that a delayed exchange may
provide are outweighed by the increased potential for
prejudice and by the added difficulties resulting from
postponing until after trial the curing of any real prejudice
caused by the trial briefs. The district court judge,
particularly in the case of a long and complex trial, who
has entertained incorrect concepts about some aspects of
the case during the course of the trial because of an ex
parte brief, is placed in the difficult position of returning to
a status quo ante position prior to engaging in the decisio-
nal process.” Photovest, 606 F.2d at 710."

Moreover, the rule and practice in South Carolina‘? con-
flicts with the language of recently adopted Rule 16(c)(5),
F.R.Civ.P. That rule, which became effective on August I,
1983, specifies that one of the subjects to be discussed at a
pretrial conference is a “schedule for filing and exchanging

11 The Court of Appeals in the instant case evidently failed to
understand what transpired in the District Court. This is manifest
from its misfounded reliance on Phoiovest for the proposition that the
failure to exchange pretrial briefs is not unfair (A 5). Photovest dealt
with the delayed exchange of pretrial briefs. The court in that case
found no violation of procedural fairness only because “‘the trial briefs
were to be exchanged after trial giving both parties an opportunity to
respond to any inaccuracies or misleading information before the
court rendered judgment.” Photovest, 606 F.2d at 710. In the instant
case exchange of contentions was also denied at the post-tria! stage.

12 The District Court for the District of South Carolina has
recently entered an order purporting to implement newly amended
Rule 16(b), F.R.Civ.P. See IN THE MATTER OF: RULE 16(b)
FEDERAL RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE (D.S.C. October 7,
1983). Although this order requires that the parties exchange
information regarding the substance and scope of the suit, the
District’s rule continues to prohibit exchange of pretrial briefs. There
is no indication the practice concerning post-trial submissions that was
followed in this case has been changed.

14

pretrial briefs.” The purpose of Rule 16(c)(5) is “the elimina-
tion of surprise at trial.” 3 Moore's Federal Practice J 16.14 (2d
ed. 1948, revised 1984). That purpose is frustrated by the
practice now obtaining in South Carolina.

The Court of Appeals in the instant case conceded that the
District Court's “practice concerning pretrial briefs may not be
the better one in this situation” (A 5). It indulged the error on
the ground that “National's trial counsel did not raise the
exchange-of-pretrial-briefs issue until after trial and then only
informally” (A 5). This is a serious equivocation. The local
rule of court prohibited preirial exchange of briefs, so that
asking for such an exchange would have been futile, and
perhaps impertinent. As for a post-trial exchange, counsel for
National made it plain to the District Court that it wanted
exchange of post-trial submissions. The District Court met
National’s request as follows (A 99):

“Mr. Flintoft: Your Honor, should those proposed
findings and conclusions be served on one another?

“The Court: No. No proposed findings. You don’t get
the benefit of his, he doesn’t get the benefit of yours.

“Mr. Flintoft: The reason I asked was that I was
surprised by the rule with respect to the pretrial briefs, and
I just thought I should ask on this as well. So it’s just
submitted to the Court, then?”

It is well-settled that a trial judge may not uncritically
adopt a party's proposed findings. See Nyyssonen v. Bendix
Corp., 137 USPQ 853, 853-54 (D.Mass. 1963), affirmed 342
F.2d 531 (1 Cir. 1965); Rosemount, Inc. v. Beckman In-
struments, Inc., 727 F.2d 1540, 1544 n.4 ( Fed. Cir. 1984). The
procedure below permitted adoption of prevailing party
proposals without even opportunity for criticism, and hence is
equally incompatible with proper procedure for making find-
ings. Chicopee Manufacturing Corp. vy. Kendall Company, 288
F.2d 719, 724-25 (4 Cir. 1961).

15

B. The District Court's Procedures Prejudiced National
National entered the trial of this case in the dark. It was
denied any specification of AP’s contentions about the issues of
validity, enforceability and infringement of the ‘388 patent. It
was unaware that the District Court would try the issue of AP’s
entitlement to attorney fees under 35 U.S.C. § 285."3

1. Attorney Fees Were Awarded During The First
Phase Of The Trial Although National Was Not
Fairly Apprised That The Issue Was Then Before
The Court
Barring exceptional circumstances, each party to a litiga-
tion bears its own attorney fees. Alpeska Pipeline Co. v.
Wilderness Society, 421 U.S. 240, 269 (1975). This policy
applies in patent cases, Roam & Haas Co. v. Crystal Chemical
Co., 736 F.2d 688, 692-93 (Fed.Cir. 1984), unless there are
“exceptional circumstances,” as provided in 35 U.S.C. § 285.
National did not know that the issue of “exceptional
circumstances” was being tried in the first phase of the trial.
There was no reference to that issue in the “pretrial stipulated
order™ referred to by the Court of Appeals (A 5). AP did not
adduce any direct testimony on this issue.'* The absence of a

935 U.S.C. § 285 reads:

“The court in exceptional cases may award reasonable
attorney fees to the prevailing party.”

% The District Court, in denying National's Rule 59(e) and
60(b) motion, said that the evidence to support its attorney fees
award was offered by National (A 89). That turned out to be
testimony by one witness directed to the issue that the alleged
infringement was not willful and wanton, characterized by the Court
as a “very narrow issue” (A 98). There is nothing at this place in the
trial transcript, or anywhere else in the papers made available to
National, which addresses the § 285 issue. Moreover, even assuming,
arguendo, that the issue of “willful and wanton infringement” was
tried and determined, any such determination does not mean that the
issue of attorney fees under § 285 was also being tried. See TWM
Manufacturing Co., Inc. v. Dura Corp., 213 USPQ 423, 428
(E.D.Mich. 1981), affirmed in pertinent part 722 F.2d 1261 (6 Cir.
1983); Saturn Mfg. v. Williams Patent Crusher & Pulverizer, 713 F.2d
1347, 1358 (8 Cir. 1983); General Electric Company v. Sciaky Bros.,
Inc., 415 F.2d 1068, 1077 (6 Cir. 1969).

16

pretrial order or similar pretrial procedure, and the District
Court’s prohibition of exchange of pretrial or post-trial submis-
sions, resulted in National’s learning of the § 285 issue only
when it read the decision awarding attorney fees. That
National was under prejudicial misapprehension is confirmed
by the fact that no reference to the § 285 issue appears in
National’s pretrial brief or post-trial submission. To this day
National has never seen AP’s pretrial and post-trial submis-
sions. It therefore does not know what arguments were
advanced by AP to persuade the District Court that attorney
fees should be awarded under § 285.

The District Court based its award of attorney fees on a
finding that “defendants never had a good faith belief that the
‘388 patent was invalid” (A 71). Regarding National’s good
faith belief, the District Court relied heavily on the proposition
that “no written opinion obtained by CST [Tanner] supporting
such advice on the validity of the ‘388 patent was ever
introduced into evidence” (A 71). The Court of Appeals
similarly relied on National's failure to introduce such opin-
ions.'5 This was grossly unjust. National in fact had opinions of
two different attorneys who had independently concluded that
the 388 patent was invalid or not infringed.'® Had National
known that the attorney fees question was at issue it would have
introduced these opinions. Inference from omission is fair only
if warning is given to be forthcoming with evidence.

1S Regarding the good faith issue, the Court of Appeals also
referred to National’s attempt to avoid infringing the ‘388 patent
(A 5). That attempt does not impugn National’s good faith. Any
reasonable businessman would try to avoid infringing so as to stay out
of a patent fight. See Deere & Co. v. International Harvester Co., 658
F.2d 1137, 1148 (7 Cir. 1981):

“IH’s conduct in attempting to avoid infringement by modi-

fication of its prototype 2nd defending the subsequent suit is

nothing if not the ‘ordinary’ patent case. No evidence of bad

faith conduct has been shown. The award of attorney’s fees is

not supported by the evidence and must be reversed.”

16 Counsel for Tanner on two occasions, counsel for National on
one occasion.

17

There is no authority supporting an award of attorney fees
under these circumstances. Indeed, all the authorities are to the
contrary. See, e.g., Western Elec. Co. v. Stewart-Warner Corp.,
631 F.2d 333, 337-38 (4 Cir. 1980); Comiunental Can Co. v.
Anchor Hocking Glass Corp., 362 F.2d 123, 128-29 (7 Cir.
1966).

2. The District Court’s Holdings Of Validity,

Enforceability And Infringement Are Irreconcilable
With The Facts

The prejudice to National from the District Court’s proce-
dures went far beyond the § 285 issue. National was denied
opportunity before trial to learn of and to criticize the positions
taken by AP with respect to the validity, enforceability and
infringement of the patent in suit. This resulted in findings by
the District Court that are irreconcilable with the undisputed
facts and in an imposition of liability on National that is
unsupported by the record.

We will not set forth all of the District Court’s significant
errors in this respect. One error concerning patent invalidity
illustrates the prejudice caused by the procedures.

It is fundamental that patent claims cannot be rewritten by
a court so as to keep them from “reading on” prior art that
would render them invalid. See Arbrook, Inc. v. American
Hospital Supply Co., 645 F.2d 273, 275-76 (5 Cir. 1981); Paeco,
Inc. v. Applied Moldings, Inc., 562 F.2d 870, 874 (3 Cir. 1977).
Yet this is precisely what was done in the present case. The
District Court found, apparently based on AP’s ex parte
submissions, that “[t]he ‘388 patent . . . claims only the type of
composition disclosed in example 8” of the ’388 patent (A 9).
It also made the related finding that claims of the ‘388 patent
exclude compositions containing surfactants (A 26-27, 36).17
However, AP’s 388 patent claims are broader than example 8.
Unlike example 6, they include compositions containing surf-

‘7 Surfactants are substances added to disperse the starting
materials in water before the final adhesive is made by polymeriza-
tion.,

18

actants. Therefore, on the basis of these findings, the District
Court improperly ignored invalidating prior art.18

National never saw any written exposition of AP’s position
in the District Court. Until it saw the District Court’s opinion,
National never knew that AP was urging a factually unsound
interpretation of its claims, one that was at odds with the
authorities (see n.18, supra). Hence, National never had the
opportunity to persuade the District Court to a contrary con-
clusion. The Court of Appeals made no independent review of
the District Court’s determination. It sustained the District
Court because “no clear error” appeared. But that was because
no fair opportunity was afforded to establish the error in these
findings.

18 Patent claims must be interpreted in light of the claim
language, the patent specification and the prosecution history. Gra-
ham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 33 (1966); United States v.
Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 48-49 (1966); McGill Inc. v. John Zink Co., 736
F.2d 666, 673-74 (Fed.Cir. 1984); Fromson v. Advance Offset Plate,
Inc., 720 F.2d 1565, 1569-70 (Fed.Cir. 1983). The claims of the ’388
patent require that the adhesive composition be made in the presence
of a protective colloid. The claims list two specific protective colloids,
polyvinyl alcohol (““PVOH”) and hydroxyethyl cellulose (“‘HEC”’).
The ’388 specification teaches the necessity of using surfactants.
Examples 1, 2, 3 and 5 of the patent specification disclose the use of
surfactants with HEC. The patent specification nowhere teaches that
HEC can be used without surfactants. Therefore, claim 1, which is
basic to all of the patent claims, and which calls for the presence of
either HEC or PVOH as a protective colloid, necessarily also requires
surfactants when HEC is used. The last thing AP did during the
seven-year prosecution of the application for the ‘388 patent was to
broaden claim 1 to specifically include HEC as an alternative to
PVOH as a protective colloid. When AP did this, it knew that HEC
required the use of surfactants, so that surfactants were necessarily
added to claim 1. This compels the conclusion that the claims are
invalid in view of an AP prior art patent no. 3,884,990 (“the ’990
patent”), which discloses a paint containing every element of the
claims of the ’388 patent, including the use of HEC as a protective
colloid along with surfactants.

sini “ea

19

The District Court found fact without the benefit of
argument, which the Court of Appeals affirmed without
substantive inquiry. The result is a failure of the judicial
process to reach an informed resolution of the controversy. See
Rule 52(a), F.R.Civ.P., and e.g., Cloud v. Standard Packaging
Corporation, 376 F.2d 384, 391 (7 Cir. 1967).

CONCLUSION

The District Court kept a litigant in the dark before, during
and after trial about the issues being decided by the Court and
the: contentions being propounded by the opposing party. This
procedure tainted every element of the District Court’s decision.
The Court of Appeals’ conclusory affirmance sanctioned a
practice that denied National elemental due process and con-
flicts with the practice of other districts, as well as decisions of
other federal courts of appeals and the policy of the Code of
Judicial Conduct and the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

A writ of certiorari should issue in the interest of procedu-
ral fairness and the integrity of federal civil justice.

Respectfully submitted,

GEOFFREY C. HAZARD, JR. HERBERT F. SCHWARTZ
New Haven, Connecticut 875 Third Avenue
New York, New York 10022
Tel.: (212) 715-0600

Attorneys for Petitioners

Of Counsel:
FisH & NEAVE
875 Third Avenue
New York, New York 10022
Tel.: (212) 715-0600

October 23, 1984

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_3195%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
