# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cohen v. President of Harvard University

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_3154%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 874

## Text

8 4 = 9 9 Office “Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

No. JUL 19 1984

ALEXANDER L. STE Vas,
CLERK
IN THE meee _

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term 1984

PHIN COHEN,
Petitioner,
Vv.

PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD UNIVERSITY,
HOwaRD H. HIATT AND FREDERICK J. STARE,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

NATHAN LEWIN

(Counsel of Record)

Davip O. STEWART

MILcer, CassipDy, LARROCA &
LEWIN

2555 M Street, N.W., Suite 500

Washington, D.C. 20037

(202) 293-6400

Attorneys for Petitioner

OF COUNSEL:

ALBERT F. CULLEN JR.
ROBERT V. CARR
CULLEN & WALL

141 Tremont Street
7th Floor

Boston, MA ©2111
(617) 482-8650

PANDICK WASHINGTON, D.C.—1801 N. OAK STREET, ARLINGTON, VA 22209—(703)522-6000

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether this Court should resolve the conflict among
the Circuits as to whether an appellant may assert legal
arguments that were not presented to the district court to
reverse a judgment issued prior to trial if (a) the issues are
purely legal, (b) the failure to assert them below is excusable,
and (c) no new questions of fact are presented.

2. Whether this Court’s recent decision in Dixson v. United
States, 104 S.Ct. 1172 (1984) establishes that a scientific
researcher administering federal grant funds is a person holding
a “trust or place of confidence under the United Staies” and is
therefore protected by 42 U.S.C. § 1985(1)

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ............cccecceeeseeeeeseetentesetnnnees

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .............cccccceeeeesenneceeseeeeeeteees

OPINIONS BELOW ......... ccc cccecceeeeeeeeesseeeneeeeeeseneneeeeeennees

JURISDICTION .......... ccc ccccccceeseeee eee eeseeesseeceneneenenenenenenens

STATUTES INVOLVED ..............::::ceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeneeeees

STA TEMEN T ..............cccccsecccccccccscccecssensesseceseussscscneesesennes

l.
bs
3.
4.

The Complaint ..................sscccccesesserceressesssneeeseenees
The District Court Decision ..............cccccceeeeeeeeeeees
In the Court of Appealls......................ssseeeeeeeeeeneneees

The Court of Appeals Decision...............::::::es00009

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.................- ;

l.

There is substantial conflict among the Circuit
Courts as to whether to permit new legal argu-
ments to be made by an appellant when no new
facts are alleged and the case has not been tried .

On the basis of this Court’s recent decision in

CONCLUSION ..........cccscsscssscsscssscssccessesesscsossscscscsscsomensnens

ha + Ww W

12

—

iil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES:
Blum v. Yaretsky, 457 U.S. 991 (1982) .ooccccccccceeeeee 4
California Bankers Association v. Shultz, 416 U.S. 21

aes adie dich coddanheiphaaddiaianadasnnabonnundnnane 7
Capital Cities Cable, Inc. v. Crisp, 52 U.S.L.W. 4803

cA cabnbaliaaaabminenentinns 8
Commissioner v. Gordon, 391 U.S. 83 (1968) ......00...... )
Commodity Futures Trading Commission v. Co Petro

Marketing Group, Inc., 680 F.2d 573 (9th Cir.

SEER SES DS AR Re 8
Dixson v. United States, 104 S.Ct. 1172 (1984) ......... passim
Martinez v. Mathews, 544 F.2d 1233 (Sth Cir. 1976). 8
Monell v. Department of Social Services, 436 US.

aia iti aicdahatineshannishannénsuennscenahaassens 11
Rendell-Baker v. Kohn, 457 U.S. 830 (1982) ........0..... 4
Roofing & Sheet Metal Services, Inc. v. La Quinta

Motor Inns, Inc., 689 F.2d 982 (11th Cir. 1982) .....

Singleton v. Wulff, 428 U.S. 106 (1976) woo...
Southard v. Southard, 305 F.2d 730 (2d Cir. 1962)... 7
Vance v. Terrazas, 444 U.S. 252 (1980) oo... 8,9
Vintero Corp. v. Corporacion Venezolana de Fomento,

te ee a te as WEED ccncicinssnccascccasvecacvmicccesene 8
Youakim v. Miller, 425 U.S. 231 (1976) voce 8
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:
ss sasuunntannnsnanrennigdis 910,11
i clea casicshnksaniinnannunnsnanin 5
saad cicniicthahannncesbsennanchoninassiens 2
ic cessannenisenuannnbnakonne 2,5,6
ssi cincusencanbuansancannenen 4
oa cosacahhnnnbuunshnharuneinieraneernndennsnansia 2,5,10,11

I Me EGA © BPI Dicncxcncacienencnansnacsssncasacessacesscnnssans 3

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS:
Cong. Globe, 42d Cong., Ist Sess. 317 ..........:::esceesee

MISCELLANEOUS:

NIH, “Grants for Research Projects: Policy State-
qrremes,”” ( Jeaby 1, UDT2Z ) ......cccerreccecercrsrerenssccesancesennnes

“Harvard to Repay Government $4.6M,” Boston
Gabbe (CGR. JD, UGGS ) ..ccsenscnessnnecseranesscccesrecesssnsecssnses

“Harvard to Pay Up Record Amount,” 306 Nature
BOG C Pee. 06, 1SGDS ) ...c.cccecsnrcciccsccccsccccccccecccnsssennenssans

“U.S. To Ask Harvard To Return More Grant Mon-
ey,” Boston Globe ( Feb. 19, 1984) ...........:esseseeeeeees

Page

10

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term 1984

No.

PHIN COHEN,
Petitioner.
Vv.

PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD UNIVERSITY.
HOWARD H. HIATT AND FREDERICK J. STARE.
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

Dr. Phin Cohen hereby petitions for issuance of a writ of
certiorari to review the decision and judgment of the Court of
Appeals for the First Circuit in Cohen v. President and Fellows
of Harvard University, et al., No. 83-1670.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the court of appeals (Pet. App. A, pp. la-
3a, infra), is not yet reported. The opinion of the district court
is reported at 568 F. Supp. 658 (Pet. App. B, pp. 5a-10a,
infra).

2
JURISDICTION

The decision of the court of appeals was issued on March
13, 1984. On April 20, 1984, the court of appeals denied a
timely petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en
banc (Pet. App. C, p. lla, infra). The jurisdiction of this Court
rests on 28 U.S.C. § 1254( 1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

Section 1653 of the Judicial Code, 28 U.S.C. § 1653,
provides as follows:

Defective allegations of jurisdiction may be
amended, upon terms, in the trial or appellate courts.

Section 1985( 1) of Title 42, enacted as part of the Civil
Rights Act of 1871, provides in pertinent part:

(1) If two or more persons in any State or Territory
conspire to prevent, by force, intimidation, or threat,
any person from accepting or holding any office, trust
or place of confidence under the United States, or
from discharging any duties thereof; ... or to injure
him in his person or property on account of his lawful
discharge of the duties of his office, or while engaged
in the lawful discharge thereof, or to injure his
property so as to molest, interrupt, hinder, or impede
him in the discharge of his official duties; . . .

* * *

[I]n any case of conspiracy set forth in this section, if
one or more persons engaged therein do, or cause to
be done, any act in furtherance of the object of such
conspiracy, whereby another is injured in his person
or property, or deprived of having and exercising any
right or privilege of a citizen of the United States, the
party so injured may have an action for the recovery
of damages occasioned by such injury or deprivation,
against any one or more of the conspirators.

3

STATEMENT

Petitioner served for six years on the faculty of the Harvard
School of Public Health (“HSPH”), until he began com-
plaining that Harvard was mishandling federal grant funds, at
which time his faculty appointment was not renewed. The
federal government investigated the charges petitioner had
made and, as a result of a broadened inquiry, it recovered from
Harvard almost $5 million of research funds that were improp-
erly managed. See “ Harvard to Repay Government $4.6 M,”
Boston Globe (Oct. 29, 1983): “U.S. To Ask Harvard To
Return More Grant Money,” Boston Globe (Feb. 19, 1984)
(Pet. App. D, pp. 12a-13a, infra). Federal auditors have stated
that this recovery from Harvard is the “largest single repayment
from a university” under federal grant programs. See “Har-
vard to Pay Up Record Amount,” 306 Nature 108 (Nov. 10,
1983).

1. The Complaint

Dr. Cohen filed this lawsuit on April 1, 1977, alleging that.
as retribution for his complaints of mismanagement and to
intimidate him from further reporting Harvard’s misuse of
federal funds, Harvard failed to honor its commitment to
reappoint him to the HSPH faculty. During his years at
Harvard, Dr. Cohen had been the “pi:ncipal investigator” for
research projects on which Harvard was the “grantee.” Under
federal regulations, Dr. Cohen was responsible for the “scien-
tific and technical direction” of the federally-financed research,
while Harvard was “the responsible legal entity for the grant.”
42 C.F.R. § 52.2 (1976). Harvard was bound to comply with
the federal requirements for financia: management, including
the charging of allowable costs. Both Dr. Cohen and Harvard
were required to sign the federal grant applications and certify
their willingness to comply with federal regulations. Both Dr.
Cohen and Harvard were named in the grant awards, and both,
according to the National Institutes of Health (NIH), were
responsible for proper administration of the federal funds.
NIH, “Grants for Research Projects: Policy Statement,” p. 5
(July 1, 1972). Dr. Cohen’s amended complaint alleged that

4

the financial connections between Harvard and the federal
government made available to petitioner a constitutional rem-
edy directly against Harvard for the deprivation of his First and
Fifth Amendment rights related to the failure to reappoint him.

2. The District Court Decision

After substantial discovery, Harvard filed a motion for
summary judgment in July 1982, arguing that there was
insufficient government involvement in Dr. Cohen’s appoint-
ment to permit a federal constitutiona! remedy against Har-
vard. Petitioner also filed a motion in /imine seeking resolution
of that question. Just three days before Dr. Cohen’s motion
was filed, this Court handed down two decisions limiting the
circumstances in which “state action” may be found unaer 42
U.S.C. § 1983. See Blum v. Yaretsky, 457 U.S. 991 (1982):
Rendell-Baker v. Kohn, 457 U.S. 830 (1982).

The district court granted Harvard’s motion for summary
judgment, describing the “key factual issue” as “whether the
challenged activity of Harvard and the other defendants can be
considered actions of the federal government.” Pet. App. B,
p. 6a, infra. After noting that the test for “federal action” is the
same as the “state action” standards under 42 U.S.C. § 1983,
the district court applied the Blum and Rendell-Baker decisions.
The district court concluded that Harvard’s failure to reappoint
Dr. Cohen was not “compelled or influenced by the govern-
ment,” and that the federal government and Harvard were not
so intertwined that Harvard’s actions might be attributed to the
government. Pet. App. B, p. 8a, infra. The district court also
held that funding of scientific research was not traditionally the
“exclusive domain of government,” so that Harvard’s actions
need not be seen as federal action. Pet. App. B, p. 10a, infra.

3. In the Court of Appeals

Petitioner sought to overcome this Court’s then-recent
rulings in Blum and Rendell-Baker on his appeal. Without
disturbing any of the extensive factual allegations of his

nm

amended complaint, petitioner’s appellate counsel presented
three arguments for federal jurisdiction to the court of appeals:

First, petitioner argued that the district court failed to
recognize that Harvard’s non-renewal of Dr. Cohen's
appointment was federal action because it had the neces-
sary consequence of cutting off federal funds which had
been earmarked by a federal agency for his scientific
research. Although Dr. Cohen could attempt to gain
renewed federal funding through a new application from a
different grantee institution, Harvard’s unilateral control
over his ability to continue existing federal funding
relationships turned Harvard's actions into the de facto
action of a federal agency.

Second, Dr. Cohen argued that he may recover dam-
ages from Harvard under Section 2 of the Civil Rights Act
of 1871, 42 U.S.C. § 1985( 1), which protects those who
hold a federal “trust or place of confidence under the
United States” against conspiranes to inumidate them
from discharging their duties. Under this theory, Harvard
and its officers conspired to prevent Dr. Cohen from
executing obligations he held under federal regulations as
a “principal investigator.”

Third, Dr. Cohen maintained that he had an implied
civil cause of action under federal criminal statutes protect-
ing witnesses in potential federal proceedings against
private punishment and intimidation. See 18 U.S.C.
§ 1512. Under this theory, the defendants were taking
action to prevent him from providing information in
federal administrative proceedings.

In presenting these arguments, petitioner stressed that
Section 1€53 of Title 28 U.S.C. directs that “[dJefective
allegations of jurisdiction may be amended, upon terms, in the
trial or appellate courts” and cited numerous authorities hold-
ing that purely legal arguments may be heard for the first time
on appeal when it is in the interest of justice to do so.

6

4. The Court of Appeals Decision

In a four-paragraph opinion, the court of appeals affirmed
the district court, rejecting summarily the issues argued on
appeal without even addressing 28 U.S.C. § 1653 or the case
law cited by petitioner. After stating that it did not believe
‘that a new game could be started at this date,” the court of
appeals said it had looked at petitioner’s arguments “to see
whether they are so compelling that to foreclose their consid-
eration would abet a gross miscarriage of justice.” Pet. App. A,
p. 3a, infra. The court of appeals then dismissed in a single
sentence each of petitioner’s legal arguments, coricluding,
‘Each theory would face an uphill battle. None can be said to
be compelling.” Jd.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. There is substantial conflict among the Circuit Courts as
to whether to permit new legal arguments to be made by
an appellant when no new facts are alleged and the case
has not been tried.

This case presents an important issue that always arises, in
the first instance, in a court of appeals: May an appellant obtain
reversal of a district court judgment issued prior to trial on a
pure issue of law which he has not presented to the district court
but which involves no new facts and which has been fully
briefed and argued in the court of appeals? Although it may
appear unfair to a district judge to reverse his decision on a
question of law that has never been presented to him, the
personal feelings of the trial judge are not the criterion by
which to determine legal rights. Particularly when—as is true
in this case—the failure to present alternative legal arguments
in the trial court is understandable and excusable in light of the
then-current state of the law, no reason of judicial economy
warrants closing the door to a legal contention simply because it
was not urged in the trial court.

wee

Ble Reider tonne ae

The decision below places the First Circuit at one extreme
among the Circuit Courts which have considered when it is
appropriate to consider a new legal argument first made in the
appellate court by an appellant. The court below acknowl-
edged that there was an explanation for petitioner’s exclusive
reliance on the legal theory initially asserted—i.e., that the
particular legal theory was, at the time the complaint was filed,
“arguable” in light of then-ongoing litigation. See Pet. App. A,
p. 2a, infra. Although the original theory was not foreclosed
until five years after the suit was filed, petitioner is now barred
from raising alternative legal theories in federal court because
he understandably relied on a legal proposition that then
appeared to be tenable.

Other Circuits, as well as this Court, have permitted new
legal arguments to be asserted by an appellant to reverse a
judgment below ' with far less justification than existed here for
the failure to present those arguments to the district court. In
Roofing & Sheet Metal Services, Inc. y. La Quinta Motor Inns,
Inc., 689 F.2d 982 (11th Cir. 1982), for example, summary
judgment was reversed on a legal argument not presented to
the trial court. The court of appeals indicated that it would
hear a new argument “‘if it involves a pure question of law, and
if refusal to consider it would result in a miscarriage of justice.”
689 F.2d at 990. The court went on to observe that “[a]ny
wrong result resting on the erroneous application of legal
principles is a miscarriage of justice in some degree,” and it
heid that since “[r]Jemand after reversal of summary judgment
does not seriously impz r judicial economy,” it would ordinarily
consider an appeilant’s new légal arguments attacking the grant
of summary judgment. The decision of the district court in this
case granted summary judgment to the defendants. Con-
sequently, the decision below conflicts squarely with that of the
Fifth Circuit.

'The unfairness of the First Circuit’s rule is further demonstrated by
comparing the right of an appellee to assert any argument—whether or not
made below—to sustain the judgment of a district court. See, e.g., California
Bankers Ass’n v. Shultz, 416 U.S. 21, 71 (1974); Southard v. Southard, 305
F.2d 730, 732 (2d Cir. 1962).

8

Similar policies have been adopted by several other Cir-
cuits. See Commodity Futures Trading Commission v. Co Petro
Marketing Group, Inc., 680 F.2d 573, 581 (9th Cir. 1982) (“It
is well-settled in this circuit that where the new issue is purely a
legal one, the injection of which would not have caused the
parties to develop new or different facts, it is proper to resolve it
on appeal”); Vintero Corp. v. Corporacion Venezolana de
Fomento, 675 F.2d 513, 515 (2d Cir. 1982) (“Arguments made
on appeal need not be identicai to those made below, however,
if the elements of the claim were set forth and additional
findings of fact are not required’’); Martinez v. Mathews, 544
F.2d 1233, 1237 (Sth Cir. 1976) ( reviewing issue raised for first
time On appeal since it involves “‘a pure question of law” and
refusal to consider it ““would result in a miscarriage of justice”’).

The practice in this Court has also conflicted with the
attitude of the First Circuit. As recently as June 18, 1984, this
Court ruled that it is justifiable to consider legal issues, even if
not argued below, if the factual predicates for the new claims
have been established. In Capital Cities Cable, Inc. v. Crisp, 52
U.S.L.W. 4803, 4805 (1984), this Court said (citations
omitted ):

Although we do not ordinarily consider ques-
tions not specifically passed upon by the lower court,
this rule is not inflexible, particularly in cases coming,
as this one does, from the federal courts. Here, the
conflict between Oklahoma and federal law was
plainly raised in petitioner’s complaint, it was ac-
knowledged by both the District Court and the Court
of Appeals, the District Court made findings on all
factual issues necessary to resolve this question, and
the parties have briefed and argued the question
pursuant to our order. Under these circumstances,
we see no reason to refrain from addressing the
question whether the Oklahoma bar as applied here
so conflicts with the federal regulatory framework
that it is pre-empted.

See also Youakim v. Miller, 425 U.S. 231, 234 (1976); Single-
ton v. Wulff, 428 U.S. 106, 121 (1976); Vance v. Terrazas, 444

se

eS ee ne nS ee a

9

U.S. 252, 259, n.5 (1980); Commissioner v. Gordon, 391 U.S.
83, 95, n.8 (1968).

The rule should be the same in all Circuits and should
follow this Court’s recent course in the Capital Cities case.
When a complaint is dismissed prior to trial or when summary
judgment is granted, pure questions of law should be present-
able in the appellate courts on behaif of both parties, so long as
there is no effect on the factual record. It is not fair that
petitioner’s legal arguments were only grudgingly and fleetingly
considered against a “compelling” and “gross miscarriage of
justice” standard because his lawsuit was against Harvard and
was heard by the First Circuit when the same arguments would
have received full consideration had the claim been against
Tulane University and heard in the Fifth Circuit.

The procedural issue presented by this petition concerning
the authority of courts of appeals is, therefore, more significant
than might appear from an examination of the underlying
substantive claim. It is important that the Circuits have a
uniform standard under which to consider legal claims that
have not been argued to the lower courts. Only this Court is in
a position to prescribe criteria that the courts of appeals will be
obliged to follow.

2. On the basis of this Court’s recent decision in Dixson vy.
United States, petitioner has a federal claim.

Nine days after the oral argument below, this Court
announced its decision in Dixson v. United States, 104 S. Ct.
1172 (1984). Petitioner advised the court of appeals of the
Dixson opinion by letter, but the court’s decision evinced no
consideration of Dixson. The decision below is contrary to the
decision rendered in Dixson, and the judgment of the court of
appeals should be reversed on the authority of that case.

Dixson held that two officials of a private, nonprofit
corporation who administered federal grant funds could be
prosecuted as “public officials” under the federal bribery
statute. 18 U.S.C. § 201(a). Petitioner has claimed in this case

10

that by terminating his relationship with the HSPH, respond-
ents attempted to prevent him from performing duties as a
“principal investigator” on federal grants to supervise ongoing
research and to be responsible to report Harvard’s mishandling
of federal funds. That interference violates 42 U.S.C.
§ 1985(1), which provides a private right of action for “any
person... holding any office, trust or place of confidence under
the United States” against those who conspire to prevent that
person from performing his official duties.

Petitioner’s argument that he held a “trust or place of
confidence” under Section 1985(1) follows closely the reasoa-
ing in Dixson. In Dixson, Section 201(a) applied to any
“person acting for or on behalf of the United States,” while in
this case Section 1985( 1) applies to persons holding a “trust or
place of confidence under the United States.” But this Court
noted in Dixson that the language of Section 201(a) was
inserted during a recodification to replace the words “person
holding any place of public trust or profit, or discharging any
official function under” the United States. 104 S. Ct. at 1178,
n.l1. The language of Section 1985(1) is, therefore, equivalent
to the Dixson language.

Dixson also reviewed the 1962 legislative history of the
bribery statute and emphasized that the broad definition of
“public official” was maintained despite attempted narrowing
in earlier versions of the bill. 104 S. Ct. at 1178. The same
observation applies to Section 1985(1). As initially proposed,
the provision would have proscribed only conspiracies to resist
federal “officers in the discharge of official duty.”’ Cong. Globe,
42d Cong., Ist Sess. 317. A subsequent version, however,
applied to conspiracies against persons holding any “office of
trust or place of confidence under the United States.” Jd. at 477.
The final language reached conspiracies against those “holding
any Office or trust or place of confidence under the United
States.” Id. at 724. Thus, Section 1985(1) should be given an
expansive definition, as was the language of Section 201(a) in
Dixson.

11

Moreover, policy considerations strongly support a broad
construction of Section 1985(1). As in Dixson, the “federal
government has a strong and legitimate interest” in permitting
redress against those who “misuse... government funds” or
obstruct individuals who act on behalf of the government. 104
S. Ct. at 1182. Moreover, in this civil case there is no concern
that the rule of lenity requires a narrow statutory construc-
tion—a concern which was noted by the Dixson Court in
interpreting the criminal bribery law. 104 S. Ct. at 1177.
Indeed, Section 1985(1) is part of this nation’s civil rights laws,
and, as such, should be given a broad construction by the
courts. See Monell v. Department of Social Services, 436 U.S.
658, 683-687 (1978).

Finally, it is striking that when Dixson described responsi-
bilities of the grant administrators in that case, the Court used
terms singularly descriptive of petitioner’s claim under Section
1985(1). Dixson states that “the proper inquiry” is “whether
the person occupies a position of public trust with official federal
responsibilities.” 104 S. Ct. at 1180 (emphasis added ).? And
Dixson concludes that the officials in that case “held a position
of public trust with official federal responsibilities: allocating
federal resources, pursuant to complex statutory and regulatory
guidelines ....” 104S. Ct. at 1181.

Dr. Cohen was in the same position as the Officials in
Dixson. As a “principal investigator,” he held a position of
public trust with official federal responsibilities to manage
research done with federal grant funds. Dr. Cohen was
individually named and selected by federal officials, he was
obligated to comply with complex statutory and regulatory
guidelines, and his performance was subject to audit by federal
investigators. Because Dixson means that Dr. Cohen and other
principal investigators are “public officials” who may be crimi-
nally prosecuted under 18 U.S.C. § 201(a), it also means that
they are entitled to the protection of 42 U.S.C. § 1985(1).

2 The Court later stated: ““To be a public official under Section 201(a),
an individual must possess some degree of official responsibility for carrying
out a federal program or policy.” 104 S. Ct. at 1182 (emphasis added).

12
CONCLUSION

There is a serious conflict among the courts of appeals on
the proper treatment of purely legal arguments first raised on
appeal that do not require any change in the factual record.
Moreover, the Dixson decision should be enforced in this case.
Consequently, the writ of certiorari should be granted and the
judgment of the court of appeals should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

NATHAN LEWIN

(Counsel of Record)

Davip O. STEWART

MILLER, CASSIDY, LARROCA &
LEWIN

2555 M Street, N.W., Suite 500

Washington, D.C. 20037

(202) 293-6400

Attorneys for Petitioner

OF COUNSEL:

ALBERT F. CULLEN JR.
ROBERT V. CARR
CULLEN & WALL

141 Tremont Street
7th Floor

Boston, MA 02111
(617) 482-8650

July 19, 1984

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPE4<cS
FOR THE FIRST CIRC™UT

No. 83-1670

PHIN COHEN, M.D.
Plaintiff, Appellant,
V.
PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE, et al.
Defendants, Appellees.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED
STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
[Hon. Joseph L. Tauro, U.S. District Judge |

Before
Coffin, Circuit Judge
Gignoux,* Senior District Judge,
and Zobel,** District Judge

Nathan Lewin, with whom David O. Stewart, Miller, Cassidy,
Larroca & Lewin, Albert F. Cullen, Jr.. Robert V. Carr, and
Cullen & Wall were on brief, for appellant.

George Marshall Moriarty, with whom Elizabeth Goddard, and
Ropes & Gray were on brief, for appellees.

March 13, 1984

PER CURIAM. Appellant, a former assistant professor of
nutrition at the Harvard School of Public Health, brought suit
almost seven years ago, alleging that Harvard violated his First
and Fifth Amendment rights by failing to renew his appoint-

* Of the District of Maine, sitting by designation.
** Of the District of Massachusetts, sitting by designation.

ieee

oF

za

ment as an assistant professor in retaliation for his complaints
about the expenditure of federal grant monies at the Harvard
School of Public Health. The next five years were devoted to
considerable discovery, after which an amended complaint was
filed, adding two state law claims. The parties then joined in a
stipulation of facts and submitted to the district court the
question of whether there was sufficient federal involvement in
the decision not to renew plaintiffs appointment to constitute
government action. The court granted defendants’ motion for
summary judgiment and dismissed the complaint. Cohen v.
President and Fellows of Harvard College, 568 F. Supp. 658 (D.
Mass. 1983).

This appeal, after the attenuated proceedings below, illus-
trates the pertinency of the maxim: “Time makes ancient good
uncouth.” To which we add that time does rot necessarily
render recent revelation cognizably couth. What has happened
here is a changing of the issues with a changing of the guard.
Able counsel aggressively represented plaintiff in the district
court on a theory of federal involvement based on the receipt
by Harvard of federal monies and an alleged connection
between plaintiffs complaints about the supposed misuse of
such funds and the termination of his employment. However
arguable this theory might have been at the outset of this
litigation in 1977, it has been clearly foreclosed by such cases as
Blum v. Yaretsky, 457 U.S. 991 (1982), Rendeli-Baker v. Kohn,
457 U.S. 830 (1982), and Gerena v. Puerto Rico Legal Services,
Inc., 697 F.2d 447 (Ist Cir. 1983). Now come able new
counsel on appeal, asserting the claims that today seem most
viable.

With notable understatement, present counsel explain that
“the principal grounds asserted by trial counsel... have been
affected by recent Supreme Court rulings. Other grounds were
not emphasized below but are now presented in this appeal.”
They are (1) a private claim for damages implied from a
federal criminal statute prohibiting obstruction of justice, 18
U.S.C. § 1510; (2) a civil rights claim under 42 U.S.C.
§ 1985(1) which protects those who hold a federal “trust or
place of confidence”; and (3) First and Fifth Amendment

3a

claims, Harvard’s decision to terminate plaintiffs appointment
now being described as the critical factor in cutting off plain-
tiffs federal funding and thus as constituting the necessary
government action.

None of these theories, claims, or statutes were pleaded,
argued, or briefed during the six and one half years when this
case lodged in the district court. It is difficult for us to imagine
why, in the light of Johnston v. Holiday Inns, Inc., 595 F.2d 890
(Ist Cir. 1979), and our consistent practice before and since,
appellant could feel that a new game could be started at this
date.

In fairness to appellant, however, we have read, listened
to, and pondered over his new arguments to see whether they
are so compelling that to foreclose their consideration would
abet a gross miscarriage of justice. The implied “obstruction of
justice” right of action for civil damages springs from a single
case, involving a different statute, the doctrine having been
unenthusiastically noted by the Supreme Court. The civil rights
cause of action is predicated on an unusual and expansive
reading of “trust or place of confidence.” And the “termination
of appointment equals termination of federal funding” argu-
ment for federal action confronts more than arguably inconsis-
tent stipulations of fact. Each theory would face un uphill
battle. None can be said to be compelling.

Affirmed.

da

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

No. 83-1670

PHIN COHEN, M.D.
Plaintiff, Appellant,
Ws
PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE, ef al.
Defendants, Appellees.

JUDGMENT
Entered: March 13, 1984

This cause came on to be heard on appeal from the United

States District Court for the District of Massachusetts and was
argued by counsel.

Upon consideration whereof, it is now here ordered,

adjudged and decreed as follows: The judgment of the district
court is affirmed.

By the Court:

FRANCIS P. SCIGLIANO
Clerk

tl

Sa
APPENDIX B

PHIN COHEN, M.D.
Plaintiff,
Ve
PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE, ef ai.
Defendants,
Civ. A. No. 77-945-T

United States District Court
D. Massachusetts

[568 F.Supp. 658 ]
August 4, 1983

MEMORANDUM

The plaintiff, Phin Cohen, is a former assistant professor of
nutrition at the Harvard School of Public Health (HSPH). He
alleges that Harvard and HSPH violated his rights under the
First and Fifth Amendments to the United States Constitution
by failing to renew his appointment as an assistant professor.
Cohen asserts that his appointment was not renewed in retali-
ation for his allegations that federal funds were being improp-
erly allocated at Harvard. In addition to Harvard and HSPH,
the other named defendants are Howard Hiatt, dean of HSPH,
and Frederick Stare, chairman of the department of nutrition at
HSPH. In addition to his constitutional claims, Cohen also
alleges state law claims in tort and contract.

Defendants have moved for summary ju¢gment on the
ground that the decision not to renew Cohen’s appointment is
not gcevernmental action and, therefore, is not subject to the
First and Fifth Amendments. Cohen has moved in limine for a
determination of the same issue. For the purposes of these
motions, the parties have filed a stipulation of facts.

$a

The First and Fifth Amendments apply to actions of the
federal government, not those of private individuals. See
Gerena v. Puerto Rican Legal Services, 697 F.2d 447, 449 ( Ist
Cir. 1983). Cohen argues that there is a nexus between the
federal government and the defendants sufficient to subject
their actions to First and Fifth Amendment scrutiny. Cohen’s
theory is essentially twofold: (1) Harvard and HSPH were
private parties acting under color of federal law, and (2) the
connection between Harvard and the federal government is so
close that Harvard can be considered as an Officer or agent of
the federal government.

Il.

Cohen’s first theory has no legal basis. Although a claim
for deprivation of constitutional rights may be made against
private parties acting under color of state law, 42 U.S.C. § 1983,
there is no analogous cause of action against private parties
acting under color of federal law. Keliey v. Action for Boston
Community Development, 419 F.Supp. 511, 525 (D. Mass.
1976).

This leaves Cohen’s contention that Harvard and HSPH
were acting as arms of the federal government in deciding not
to reappoint him. The key factual issue, then, is whether the
challenged activity of Harvard and the other defendants can be
considered actions of the federa! government.

The question of whether federal action exists is determined
by applying the same standards that are used in determining
whether state action exists so as to trigger Fourteenth Amend-
ment rights. Gerena, supra, at 449. The First Circuit in Gerena
identified three tests for determining whether a termination of

ee

Ta

employment can be fairly attributed to the federal govern-
ment.' First, the government may be held responsible if there is
a sufficiently close nexus between the challenged action and the
federal government. Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co., 419
U.S. 345, 351, 95 S.Ct. 449, 453-52, 42 L.Ed.2d 477 (1974). As
interpreted by the Supreme Court and the First Circuit, this
means that there must be a “specific act or actions of the
government which in fact motivated the private action.” Ge-
rena, supra, at 450. The second analysis is the symbiotic
relationship test. The actions of a private actor may be
attributed to the government, if the government “has so far
insinuated itself into a position of interdependence with [the
private entity] that it must be recognized as a joint participant
in the challenged activity.”” Burton v. Wilmington Park Author-
ity, 365 U.S. 715, 725, 81 S.Ct. 856, 861-62, 6 L.Ed.2d 45
(1961 ).? Finally, the public function test provides that private
activity is attributable to the government if the private entity
exercises “powers traditionally exclusively reserved to the [ gov-
ernment ].” Jackson, supra, 419 U.S. at 352, 95 S.Ct. at 454.

Cohen argues that Harvard = action in not renewing his
appointment may be considered government action under each
of these tests. He bases this assertion on (a) the volume of
federal funds received by HSPH, (b) the fact that Cohen’s
position and research were federally Sinded, and (c) the
contention that, traditionally, scientific research has been
funded exclusively by the federal government.

1 These tests were developed by the U.S. Supreme Court in several cases,
particularly Lugar v. Edmonson Oil Co., 457 U.S. 922, 102 S.Ct. 2744, 73
L.Ed.2d 482 (1982); Rendell-Baker v. Kohn, 457 U.S. 830, 102 S.Ct. 2764, 73
L.Ed.2d 418 (1982); Blum v. Yaretsky, 457 U.S. 991, 102 S.Ct. 2777, 73
L.Ed.2d $34 (1982); Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co., 419 U.S. 345, 95
S.Ct. 449, 42 L.Ed.2d 477 (1974); Burton v. Wilmington Parking Authority,
365 U.S. 715, 81 S.Ct. 856, 6 L.Ed.2d 45 (1961).

2In Burton, a private restaurant that discriminated against blacks was
located in a public facility, paid rent to the public facility, and its profits were
indispensable to the financial success of the government agency. On those
facts, the discrimination practiced by the restaurant was attributed to the
government.

eee we

enced

8a

Cohen became an assistant professor of nutrition on
September |, 1969. His initial appointment and later reap-
pointment were conditioned on his ability to raise funds from
outside sources. These funds were raised primarily from the
federal government.

Cohen contends thai this funding arrangement establishes
a nexus between Harvard and the government. Both the First
Circuit and the Supreme Court have recently stated, however,
that “receipt of government funds does not render the govern-
ment responsible for a private entity’s decisions concerning the
use of those funds.” Gerena, supra, at 450. See Rendell-Baker
v. Kohn, 457 U.S. 830, 839-40, 102 S.Ct. 2764, 2770-71, 23
L.Ed.2d 418 (1982); Blum v. Yaretsky, 457 U.S. 991, 1010, 102
S.Ct. 2777, 2789, 73 L.Ed.2d 534 (1982). Cohen attempts to
distinguish these cases by pointing out that in the present case,
he secured his own federal funding, rather than having the
private entity secure the federal funding and use it to hire him.
This distinction, however, is simply not relevant to the nexus
analysis. The above-cited cases focus on whether the chal-
lenged action of the private entity was compelled or influenced
by the government. There is no evidence that Cohen’s employ-
ment termination was influenced by the government. ‘the
parties’ stipulation of facts states:

Neither the United States of America, nor any
department, agency, officer, or employee thereof,
took any part in any of the foregoing decisions
[relating to Dr. Cohen’s employment and non-
renewal by HSPH], nor in any other decision made
by Harvard with respect to Dr. Cohen’s employment.

Specifically, except for the general equal opportunity
and nondiscrimination provisions just referred to, the
federal government did not impose, and Harvard did
not agree to, any restriction on its freedom of choice
with respect to decisions or procedures on faculty

9a

employment in connection with any of the projects on

which Dr. Cohen worked while at Harvard.
Stipulation at pp. 5-6.

The stipulation establishes that the federal government did
not dictaie or take part in Harvard’s decision not to renew
Cohen’s appointment. Under the nexus test, however, Har-
vard’s action cannot be attributed to the goverment.

Moreover, the funding arrangement between the govern-
ment, Cohen and Harvard contemplates two independent deci-
sions. First, the federal government decides whether to fund
Cohen’s grant proposal. Second, Harvard decides whether to
appoint or reappoint Cohen. If the federal government had
decided to cut Cohen’s funds and, for that reason, Harvard had
terminated him, then one might be able to argue that the
termination was dictated by federal action. In the present case,
however, Harvard’s decision was not based on any cut-off of
federal funds. Indeed, the government is authorized to con-
tinue funding Cohen at a different institution. Cohen, there-
fore, is unable to point to any specific “actions of the govern-
raent which in fact motivated the private action.”’ Gerena,
supra, at 450.

Cohen also argues that there is such interdependence
between him, the government and Harvard that it constitutes a
“symbiotic relationship,” under which Harvard’s action could
be attributed to the government. As the First Circuit made
clear in Gerena, the symbiotic relationship category is very
narrow. Gerena, supra, at 451. There, as here, the affairs of the
private entity were unconnected with the financial success of the
government or any government agency. That fact distinguishes
the situation here from the symbiotic relationship found by the
Supreme Court in Burton, supra. Moreover, the government
insinuation into a position of interdependence with the private
entity that was found in Burton is absent here. The funding
arrangment involved in this case, therefore, lacks the elements
necessary to establish a symbiotic relationsnip. See Gerena at
451; Blum v. Yaretsky, supra, at 4789.

3 See Stipulation of Facts at p. 6: “*. . . if a principal investigator moves to
a different institution, he may obtain the approval of the appropriate federal
authorities to a continuation of the grant or contract at his new institution.”

10a

Cohen’s contention that Harvard’s action should be attrib-
uted to the government because Harvard “exercises powers
traditionally exclusively reserved to the [government],” Jack-
son, supra, 419 U.S. at 352, 95 S.Ct. at 454, is equally without
merit. While it is true that the federal government has engaged
in substantial funding of scientific research, such research is by
no means within the exclusive domain of government. Further,
the mere fact that Cohen worked at Harvard on research in
which the public might be interested does not transmute
Harvard’s employment decision into federal government action.

Because Harvard’s action cannot be attributed to the
federal government, Cohen has no cause of action under the
First .nd Fifth Amendments. Counts I and II of his amended
co.nplaint must, therefore, be dismissed.

IV.

Counts III and IV of Dr. Cohen’s amended complaint
allege state law causes of action pendent to the federal claims.
Under some circumstances, the court may have the discretion to
retain pendent state law claims even though all federal claims
are dismissed. See Rosado v. Wyman, 397 U.S. 397, 404-5, 90
S.Ct. 1207, 1213-14, 25 L.Ed.2d 442 (1969). There is no
compelling reason to do so in this case, however.4

Counts III and [IV of Cohen’s amended complaint, alleging contract
and tort causes of action, were first brought in the amendment to the original
complaint allowed by the court on February 14, 1983. They have involved
little of the court’s time and so their retention would not serve the interests of
judicial economy. Under these circumstances, dismissal of the pendent claims
is appropriate. See Jones v. Taibbi, 508 F. Supp. 1069, 1074 (D. Mass. ), cert.
denied, 454 U.S. 1085, 102 S.Ct. 643, 70 L.Ed.2d 620 (1981).

lla
APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

No. 83-1670

PHIN COHEN, M.D.
Plaintiff, Appellant,
wi
PRESIDENT AND FELLOWS OF HARVARD COLLEGE, ef al.
Defendants, Appellees.

Before Coffin, Circuit Judge,
Gignoux, Senior District Judge,
and Zobel, District Judge

ORDER OF COURT
Entered: April 20, 1984

Upon consideration of “petition for Rehearing and Sugges-

tion for Rehearing En Banc” which document was submitted to
the members of the panel and to the judges of the Court who
are in regular active service; and

The judges of the panel having Voted to deny the petition

for rehearing, and the judges of the Court who are in regular
active service having Voted against rehearing en banc.

It is ordered that said application for hearing en banc is

hereby denied.

By the Court:

Francis P. Scigliano
Clerk

12a

APPENDIX D
Boston Globe, October 29, 1983

Harvard to repay

government $4.6m

Harvard University yesterday agreed to re
pay $4.6 million to the federal government in
settlement of charges that research funds were
mismanaged by the Medical School and the
School of Public Health.

The settlement. concluding a longstanding
audit dispute between Harvard anc the US De
partment of Health and Human Services (HHS).
Covers the $850.6 million in grants received by
Harvard over the past 10 years and wipes out
#1] past claims against the university as well.

Harvard plans to repay $1 million to the fed-
eral Treasury immediately and will settle the
balance by excusing $5.6 million in debts it is
owed by HHS. &@ university spokesman said.

The federal audit uncovered no evidence of
fraud or abuse. said Thonus O'Brien. Harvard
vice president for nance. U Brien seid tie au-
dit centered on findings that professors control-
lng several grants incorrectly transferred re
search funds from one project to another with-
oul proper documentation.

“Repayment was necessary even though
there was no finding by the audits that the
funds were diverted from legitimate research
purposes.’ O'Brien said, adding. “our faculties
have met their responsibilities to the -
ment with a high level of integrity.”

As part of the settlement. HHS ptans to re
view the cost-acrounting improvements the unt-
versily said it had initiated in the wake of the
audils.

HHS also ts auditing reseach grants received
by 38 other universities across the country.

- NICK KING

® BEST AVAILABLE COPY

l3a

©42 The Boston +: day Globe February 19, 1984

US to ask Harvard
to return more
grant money

By Gino Del Guercio
United Press International

The US Health and Human Ser-
vices Department will ask Harvard
University to return an additional
$400.000 to $500,000 in federal
gfants in connection with a seven-
year investigation into the school's
management of research grants,
regional officials said.

HHS officials said the money,
which now totals close to $5 mil-
lion, is the largest request for re-
payment from a university in the
history of the agency.

This part of the request, which
was separated from the original
settlement for $4.6 million, came
from an audit of the University's
Schocl of Public Health.

Edward Parijian, director of the
HHS New England audit division,
said the request must still be nego-
tiated with the university, but that
he expected it to be resolved by the
Feb. 28 deadline for repayment of
the entire request.

Thomas O'Brien, Harvard's vice
president of finance, and his assis-
tant, A. Simone Reagor, who has
been following the case, said they
knew nothing of the additional re-
quest.

During the HHS investigation of
the School of Public Health and
Harvard Medical School, auditors
found funds were routinely trans-
ferred from one project to another
to cover cost overrruns and to en-
sure that all available gran! money
was spent, officials said.

Audits found evidence of $3.8
million in improper charges as well
as tens of millions of dollars in
charges that could not be verified
because of inadequate documenta-
tion, they said.

Charges of misuse of university
funds were first leveled in 1975 by
Dr. Phin Cohen, formerly an assis-
tant proiessor of nutrition at the
School of Public Health. He accused
the school of diverting funds from
his National Institutes of Health
grant to other unrelated projects.
The National Institutes of Health
are a division of the HHS.

Institute auditors confirmed Co-
hen's accusations. Harvard was re-
quired to return $132,000. The con-
troversy stimulated the full-scale
HHS audit.

Cohen said he was fired from
his position a year later for expos-
ing the grant mismanagement.

O'Brien and Reagor down-
played the request’s significance.
“This is an old issue,"’ said
O'Brier:

Reagor, Hervarc’: director for
research administration, said the
dispute is simply “a disagreement
over what !s required in the way of
documentation. !n general the gov-
ernment requires a high level of de-
tail of documentation. Nowhere ts
there any indication of any mis-
spending of funds.

Reagor said that although the
settlement was large. the actual
percentage was very low. “As I re-
member, it worked out to be as if
you had $100 to spend over 10
years and you were unable to docu-
ment 50 cents.” she said.

“As far as we're concerned we
don't owe them anything.” she
said.

Cohen said, “The result of this
audit confirms my original allega-
tions of grants mismanagement by
Harvard University.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_3154%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
