# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Moore v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_3107%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 881

## Text

@-Supreme Court, U.S. |
KF TL Eb

84 -41 ? JUL 3 1984

ALEXANOER L. STEVAS,
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED

CLERK

STATES ———---—- 4

No.

October Term, 1983

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff/Respondent

Ve

CLARENCE MOORE, individually, and
d/b/a LOG MOUNTAIN MINING COMPANY,
Defendant/Petitioner

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CEPTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEAL FOR THE
SIXTH CIRCUIT

David A. Burkhalter, II
Attorney for Petitioner
901 Bearden Drive

P. O. Box 11841
Knoxville, TN 37939-1841
(615) 584-0241

July 2, 1984

QUESTION PRESENTED

That it was. error to grant
Summary Judgment in the face of the
material question of waiver raised by
Petitioner and the issues of the
constitutionality of the Act in question
and the failure of the government to
follow the requirements of the Act and

related regulations.

PARTIES

Petitioner: Clarence lMoore

Respondent: United States of America

Fi cape RE ge aye NET OEE tt era gece wer er cers

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Question Presented
Parties

Table of Statutes and Other
Authorities

Reference to Official and
Unofficial Reports of
Lower Court Opinions

Statement of Grounds on which
Jurisdiction Invoked

Statement of the Case:

I. Nature of the Case, and
Course of Proceedings

II. Statement of the Facts
Argument

I. Introduction

II. The record raises a material
question of fact in that the
Department of the Interior
failed to notify Petitioner

Page

in

a meaningful way of violations

and rights, and such failure

- Fe raitet fe pea FT <

lead to unknowing noncompliance
of the Act as applied by the
Office of Surface Mining.

III. Conditioning access to judicial
review upon the full payment of
a civil penalty is unconstitu-
tional, thus summary judgment
is not available as a matter of
law.

IV. Failure to notify an operator of
the proposed amount of assessment
within thirty days of issuance
of a violation deprives the govern-
ment of any right to such penalty.

Conclusion
Appendix

Certificate

24

27
30

32
63

TABLE OF STATUTES AND OTHER AUTHORITIES

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

United States Constitution

Amendment Five 244 ~—
Page i
STATUTES: /
5 U.S.C. Sec. 702 26 f
28 U.S.C. Sec. 1291 7 p
30 U.S.C. Sec. 1201, et seq. passim
30 U.S.C. Sec. 1268 (b) passim
30 U.S.C. Sec. 1268(c) passim
30 U.S.C. Sec. 1268 (d) passim
TEXT:
Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure, Rule 56 19
30 Code of Federal Regulations
Sec. 800, et seq. 27
CASES

Adickes v. Kress & Co.,
298 U.W. 144, 153 (1970) 20

Hodel v. Virginia Surface

Mining and Reclamation
Association, Inc., 452 U.S.

264 (1981)

Johnson v. Robison,
415 U.S. 361, 364 n.4 (1973)

Poller v. Columbia Broadcasting

Co., 368 U.S. 464, 473 (1962)

Shapiro v. Thompson, 394
U.S. 618, 642 (1969)

REFERENECE TO OFFICIAL AND UNOFFICIAL

REPORTS OF LOWER COURT OPINION

The text of the Orders,
Memoranda, and Opinions of the lower
courts are reproduced in the Appendix.
The district court's memorandum is
reported at 550 F.Supp. 811 (E.D. Tenn.

1982). The order of the Court of

Appeals is unpublished.

STATEMENT OF GROUNDS ON WHICH

JURISDICTION INVOKED

The Petitioner was found liable
for a civil penalty by final order of a
district court pursuant to the Surface
Mining Control and Reclamation Act of
1977, 30 U.S.C. Sec. 1201 et seg.,

Petitioner appealed to the United States

RPawcwekt at anmasia fawrew thraa Giwawth (6 e174 &

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Sec. 1291.

The Court of Appeals affirmed
the district court's ruling by a final
order filed on April 4, 1984. The right
of appeal is not available in this
action.

The Petitioner respectfully
seeks further review of this case by
requesting the Court to grant this
Petition for Writ of Certiorari,
submitted pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Sec.
1254(1), timely filed under 28 U.S.C.
Sec. 2101(c).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. NATURE OF THE CASE, COURSE OF

PROCEEDINGS

(All references to the record to the
Joint Appendix filed by the parties with

the Court of Appeals)

The Petition of Clarence Moore,
arises from the granting of Summary
Judgment on July 21, 1982, to the United
States, by the United States District
Court for the Eastern District of
Tennessee, Northern Division. The
Petitioner filed a Notice of Appeal on
August 4, 1982. The United States Court
of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

affirmed on April 4, 1984.

The Complaint was for

collection of civil penalties allegedly
owed by Petitioner pursuant to 30 U.S.C.
Sec. 1268(d) of the Surface Mining
Control and Reclamation Act of 1977, 30
U.S.C. Sec. 1201 et seg. (J.A., Pp. 2).
The civil penalties were allegedly owed
in accordance with 30 U.S.C. Sec.
1268(b) and (c). (J-Ac, Pe 2)- The
United States sought penalties in the
amount of Twenty Thousand, Seven Hundred
and Twenty Dollars ($20,720.00). (J.A.,
p.- 5).

The original Complaint was
filed against Log Mountain Mining
Company on March 18, 1982. On motion of
the United States filed July 12, 1982,
an Order was entered on July 21, 1982,

amending the Complaint to add Clarence

=; =

Moore, individually. (J.A., Ppp. 66,
73).

Petitioner filed an Answer to
the Complaint on May 5, 1982, and filed
a First Request for Production of
Documents on May 6, 1982. (J.A., pp.
15, 20).

The United States moved for
Summary Judgment and filed a Memorandum
in Support of Motion for Summary
Judgment on June 22, 1982. (J.A., pp.
49, 50). Petitioner filed a Response to
Motion for Summary Judgment and
accompanying Memorandum in Opposition to
Plaintiff's Motion for Summary Judgment,
with an affidavit of Clarence Moore
attached as Exhibit I, on July 7, 1982.
(J.A., pp. 54, 55, 61).

Petitioner amended the

alhie

Memorandum in Opposition to Plaintiff's
Motion for Summary Judgment, and_ the
United States filed a Reply Memorandum
on July 20, 1982. (J.A., pp. 67, 69).
On July 21, 1982, the Honorable
Robert L. Taylor, presiding Judge of the
United States District Court, entered an
Order granting Summary Judgment in favor
of the United States for reasons stated
in a Memorandum Opinion filed the same
day. (J.A., Pp. 6). Petitioner, Clarence
Moore, filed a Notice of Appeal on
August 4, 1982 seeking reversal of the
Summary Judgment in the district court
(J.A., p. 14), but the Sixth Circuit
Court of Appeals affirmed on April 4,

1984.

II. STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

Due to the summary disposition

below, the relevant facts to this case

are contained in the Affidavit of

Clarence Moore, filed on July 7, 1982 as
Exhibit I to Petitioner's Memorandum in
Opposition to the United State's Motion
for Summary Judgment, the United State's
Answers to Defendant's First Set of
Interrogatories, filed on June 18, 1982,
the Complaint and Answer. (J.A., pp.
61; 30-48; 2-5; 15-19).

Clarence Moore avers in his
Affidavit that the confusion generated
by the notices [proposed notices of
assessment] sent to him by the
governnment resulted in an_ unknowing
waiver of his appeal rights. (J.A., p.

61). Also, due to the confusion,

site

Clarence Moore avers that he believed

civil penalties applied only to unabated
violations [of 30 U.S.C. Sec. 1201 et
seq.] and to serious threats to the
environment. (J.A-., Pe 61)- Finally,
Clarence Moore avers that the delays by
the government in assessing proposed
penalties further served to put him off
guard and substantially contributed to
his inaction relating to the penalties.
(J.A., pe 61).

Notice of Violation (NOV)
80-2-32-16 was issued on April 23, 1980,
citing Petitioner for two bookkeeping
violations of 30 U.S.C. Sec. 1201 et
seq., the Surface Mining Control and
Reclamation Act (hereinafter “the Act").

(J.A., pp. 30, 31). The violations

cited in NOU RN-9-29-16 were terminated

Baas
ma Sat

2

.
3

)

Fr

:
af
fp

f

-14-

on April 29, 1980. (J.A., p. 31). The
Office of Surface Mining (OSM) sent out
a Notice of Proposed Assessment for $880
on August 20, 1980, (J.A., p. 32), 119
days after issuing NOV 80-2-32-16.

NOV 80-2-32-8 was issued on
February 14, 1980, for tweleve
violations of the Act ranging from minor
“paperwork" violations to more important
violations. (J.A., p. 33). Violations
l, 4, and 7 of NOV 80-2-32-8 were
terminated on April 23, 1980, and
violations, 2, 3, 5, 8 and 10 were
modified to extend the time for
abatement; on April 29, 1980, violations
6 and 9 were terminated; violations 2,
3, 8, 10 and 12 were terminated on May
20, 1980; violations 5 and 11l were

terminated on June 20, 1980. (J.A., pp.

oo

34, 35, 36). On April 11, 1980,
however, the OSM sent a Notice of
Proposed Assessment for $12,180, (J.A.,
p. 34), this coming 55 days after the
issuance of NOV 380 2-32-8. The OSM
reduced the assessment to $8,380 at an
informal assessment conference on June
23, 1980. (J.A., p. 36).

NOV 80-2-46-16 was issued on
April 2, 1880, for four violations of
the Act. (J.A., p. 37). The violations
were modified to extend the time for
abatement on May 20, 1980, and were
terminated on June 23, 19890. (J.A.,
pp. 37, 38). However, a Notice of
Proposed Assessment for $1,860 was sent
on June 19, 1980, (J.A., p. 39), 79 days
after NOV 80-2-46-16 was issued.

NOV 80-2-32-29 was issued on

July 17, 1980, for three violations of

the Act, (J.A., pe. 40). Violation 3
was modified on August 4, 1980, because
of a discrepancy in engineering
specifications. (J.A., pp. 40, 41).
Violation 1 was terminated on October 7,
and the remaining violations were
terminated on November 7, 1980. (J Ac,
p. 42). The OSM sent a Notice of
Proposed Assessment for $6,106 on
September 3, 1980, 49 days after NOV
80-2-32-29 was issued.

NOV 80-2-53-5 was issued on
April 2, 1980, citing six violations of
the Act. On April 23, 1980, violations
1, 5 and 6 were terminated, as were
violations 2 and 3 on July 2, 1980.
(J.A. pp. 43, 44). Violation 4 was not

terminated until January 20, 1982.

al Be

(J.A., pe. 45). A Notice of Proposed
Assessment for $2,300 was sent on August
20, 1980, 140 days after NOV 80-2-53-5
was issued.

NOV 80-2-53-12 was issued on
April 24, 1980, citing two violations of
the Act, and both violations were
terminated on July 2, 1980. (J.A., pp.
45, 460. 4 Notice of Proposed
Assessment for $1,200 was sent on August
20, 1980, 118 days after NOV 80-2-53-12
was issued.

The United States alleged that
in each instance heretofore described,
the Petitioner failed to pre-pay into
escrow the respective proposed amounts
of assessment and, therefore, waived all
legal rights pursuant to 30 U.S.C., Sec.

1268(c). (J.A., pp. 2-4).

aie

Petitioner admittted that no
amount had been paid into escrow but
denied that a waiver of all legal rights
was a necessary result of such failure
and denied that the proposed assessments

were due and owing. (J.A., pp. 15-18).

ai Ge

ARGUMENT

I. INTRODUCTION
Petitioner respectfully submits
that the requirements of Rule 56 of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

precluded summary judgment in this case.
First, the question of whether
Petitioner knowingly waived his right to
appeal under the provisions of the Act,
is a question of fact which has not been
determined. Second, the constitutional
question raised by Petitioner has not
been definitively ruled upon by this
Court. Third, the Office of Surfacee
Mining failed to follow the mandate of
30 U.S.C. Sec. 1268(c) and its own
regulations in assessing proposed

penalties. Petitioner contends that the

-20-

question of waiver, the constitutional
issue, and the failure of the OSM to
comply with the Act and implementing
regulations precluded the proper

granting of summary judgment.

II. THE RECORD RAISES A
MATERIAL QUESTION OF FACT IN THAT THE
DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIAL FAILED TO
NOTIFY PETITIONER IN A MEANINGFUL WAY OF
VIOLATIONS AND RIGHTS, AND SUCH FAILURE
LEAD TO UNKNOWING NONCOMPLIANCE OF THE
ACT AS APPLIED BY THE OFFICE OF SURFACE
MINING.

Initially, it is important for
the Court to’ apply two principles in
considering the disposition of the
United State's Motion for Summary
Judgment. First, the United States, as
the moving party, had the burden of
showing the absence of any material fact

in this case. Adicke v. Kress & Co.,

398 U.S. 144, 153 (1970). Second, in a

Pe

summary judgment proceeding, all
inferences which may be drawn from the
record should be looked at in the light

most favorable to the opposing party,

the Petitioner in this case. Poller v.

Columbia Broadcasting Co., 368 U.S. 464,

473 (1962).

The United States contended
that the record demonstrated that there
was no genuine dispute as to any
material fact. The United States
contended that Petitioner's failure to
avail itself of the various’ remedies
provided by the Act’ foreclosed its
appeal to the District Court,
particularly the failure to pre-pay
amounts of proposed penalties into
escrow. The failure to pre-pay is made

a waiver of all legal rights to contest

o22<

any violation of the amount of any
penalty under 30 U.S.C. Sec. 1268(c).

The record shows that
Defendant's so-called waiver of legal
rights was unknowingly made and caused
by the confusion surrounding the notices
sent to Petitioner, and the inaction and
unwarranted delay in assessing
penalties. (J.A., p. 61). Such notices
served only to confuse and frustrate
their purpose, which ostensibly was to
definitively inform Petitioner of his
rights.

The confusion involved in this
case is exemplified by the one instance
an administrative hearing was held after
a notice of violation was issued. At an
informal assessment conference held on

June 23, 1980, in connection with NOV

80-2-32-8 and a proposed assessment

amount of $12,180, was reduced to
$8,380. (JoAne Peo 36). This one
instance of Petitioner's recourse. to
available administrative avenues serves
to lend credence to the averments in his
Affidavit that the notices and actions
of the United States confused rather
than enlightened.

It makes little sense that
Petitioner would forego administrative
remedies when his sole experience with
such proceedings resulted in a reduction
of a proposed penalty, unless he in fact
did not understand the alleged import of
failing to exercise such rights and was
confused by the paperwork and ambiance
of the OSM.

Petitioner put this question

alge

before the Court in his Affidavit, thus
raising a material question of fact. It
is respectfully submitted that the
important question of intelligent waiver
of legal rights is a material question
of fact which cannot be decided by
summary motions and supporting papers.
III. CONDITIONING ACCESS TO
JUDICIAL REVIEW UPON THE FULL PAYMENT OF
A CIVIL PENALTY IS UNCONSTITUTIONAL,

THUS SUMMARY JUDGMENT IS NOT AVAILABLE
AS A MATTER OF LAW.

The provision of 30 U.S.C. Sec.
1268 (c) which conditions access’ to
courts for review of agency action on
the full payment of a penalty determined
by the agency violates the Due Process
Clause of the Fifth Amendment. In
addition, such a requirement violates
the Equal Protection Clause of the

Fourteeneth Amendment as applied through

a8

the Fifth Amendment.

The Fifth Amendment contains no
equal protection clause, but "it does
forbid discrimination that is ‘so
unjustified as to be violative of due

process." Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S.

618, 642 (1969). A classification which

is invalid under the Equal Protection

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment is
also invalid under the Due process

Clause of the Fifth Amendment. Johnson

v. Robison, 415 U.S. 361, 364 n. 4

(1973).

To justify a classification
under the Equal Protection Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment it “must be
reasonable, not arbitrary and must rest
upon some ground of difference having a

fair and substantial relation to the

i

object of the legislation, so that all
persons similarly circumstanced shall be

treated alike." Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S.

71, 76 (1971).

In this case, the United States
would deprive Petitioner of the right to
judicial review given to all persons
“suffering legal wrong because of agency
action, or adversely affected or
aggrieved by agency action," pursuant to
> U.S.C. See. 72. Mine operators
subject to the Act are singled out among
litigants so that access to judicial
review is dependent upon the actual
advance payment of a disputed penalty.
Such a final and harsh requirement is
unreasonable, arbitrary and capricious.

Although judicial review is

often conditioned on the giving of

~

security, such security is a far cry
from giving up, in cash and in full, an
amount which has been assessed by an
agency and to which an aggrieved party
objects.

The less restrictive
alternative of requiring a performance
bond to insure that penalties will be
paid and, more importantly, that any
environmental damage will be restored is
provided for in 30 CRF Sec, 800 et seq.
Thus, the pre-payment Provision is
overly burdensome and unnecessary.

FAILURE TO NOTIFY AN OPERATOR
OF THE PROPOSED AMOUNT OF ASSESSMENT
WITHIN THIRTY DAYS OF ISSUANCE OF A
VIOLATION DEPRIVES THE GOVERNMENT OF ANY
RIGHT TO SUCH PENALTY.

The first sentence of 30 U.S.C.
Sec. 1268(c) provides that: "Upon the

issuance of a notice or order charging

a2G-

that a violation of the Act has

occurred, the Secretaty shall inform the

Operator within thirty days of the

proposed amount of said
penalty...."(Emphasis added).

The Office of Surface Mining
considered that it was the intention of
Congress by the thirty-day notification
requirement that no penalties were to be
assesed beyond thirty days. Federal
Register, September 4, 1980, 58781.
Recognizing that confusion and
unfairness could result from past
practices related to inspection,
re-inspection and proposed penalties,
the Office announced its intention to
restrict failure-to-abate penalties to a
maximum of thirty days, modify existing

assessments and grant hearing and

=29-

conference requests on any
recomputations. Id.

The concern shown by OSM over
the mandate of 30 U.S.C. Sec. 1268 (c)
that “the Secretary shall inform the
Operator within thirty days of the
proposed amount of said penalty"
indicates that Congress intended that
the Office had a duty to inform
operators of proposed assessments within
the explicit time period.

The proposed amount of the
penalties on the notices of violation
under consideration in this cae were
sent to Petitioner anywhere from 55 days
to 140 days from the issuance of such
violations. Surely, if operators are
ex pected to follow statutory and

regulatory provisions, the administering

agency, as enforcer, should be required

to adhere to the express requirements of
the Act and related regulations,
particularly, when a failure to do so

has resulted in a purported waiver of

rights under the same regulatory scheme.

CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons and
in light of the Supreme Court's
reservation of the question of
constitutionality of 30 U.S.C. Sec.

1268 (c) in Hodel v. Virginia Surface

Mining and Reclamation Association,

Inc., 452 U.S. 264 (1981), it is
respectfully requested that the Petition
be granted.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED, this
()
the rnd day of

dul, Z , 1984.

(ich, blue.

DAVID A. BURKHALTER,
Attorney for sey oe pe
P. O. Box 11841
Knoxville, TN 37939-1841
(615) 584-0241

6%%e

DIX

T
‘

APPE}

reeneaes EA EM, CORES SOMME, FW RAINE aa RENE BR LETT IE NE LO NOs EEN Tia

.

okt te

INDEX TO APPENDIX

Order of Court of Appeals
Order of District Court
Memorandum of District Court

United States Constitution:
Amendment Five

28 USC Sec. 1254(1)
28 USC Sec. 1291

28 USC Sec. 2101 (c)
30 USC Sec. 1268(b)
30 USC Sec. 1268 (c)
30 USC Sec. 1268 (d)
30 USC Sec. 1271 (a)

Rule 56, Federal Rules of
Civil Procedure

Page

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

SIXTH CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

Vv.

CLARENCE MOORE, individually,

and d/b/a LOG MOUNTAIN MINING

COMPANY,

Defendant-Appellant.

i i a

ORDER

BEFORE: JONES AND WELLFORD, Circuit
Judges; and CELEBREZZE, Senior

a eee ye eT ee

atée

Circuit Judge

Moore appeals from the grant of

summary judgment to the Government in
this Surface Mining Control and
Reclamation Act case. The district
court found the statute at issue to be
constitutional. This appeal has been
referred to a panel of the Court
pursuant to Rule 9(a), Rules of the
Sixth Circuit. After an examination of
the record and the briefs, this panel
agrees unanimously that oral argument is
not needed. Rule 34(a), Federal Rules
of Appellate Procedure.

The Department of the Interior
brought this action to recover
assessments against Moore for violation
of the Act. Moore challenged’ the
constitutionality of the requirement

that he pre-pay the assessment before

obtaining review. This Court has

im
‘

it

a)

te
‘

‘on .aiee

-35-

recently held that this requirement is

constitutional. Blackhawk Mining co.,

Inc. v. Andrus, 711 F.2d 753 (6th Cir.

1983). Therefore, Moore has waived his
right to review of the assessments. 30
U.S.C. Sec. 1268(c).

Moore also alleges that he did
not knowingly waive his rights. The
administrative record contains a letter
clearly informing Moore of the
pre-payment requirement. So Moore's
argument is without merit.

The judgment of the district

court is affirmed under Rule 9(d) (3),
Rules of the Sixth Circuit, because the
issues are not substantial and do not

require oral argument.
ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

/s/By:John P. Hehman, Clerk

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR

THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE
NORTHERN DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

CIV.
3-81-520

Ve

LOG MOUNTAIN MINING COMPANY,

ORDER

For the reasons stated in a
memorandum opinion this day passed to

the Clerk for filing, it is ORDERED that

plaintiff's motion for summary judgment
be, and the same hereby is, granted. It
is further ORDERED that judgment enter
in favor of plaintiff for $20,720.00.

Enter:

/s/By:Robert L. Taylor
United States—ptstrict

Judge

SE ee Le reer |

ii teas

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR

THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE
NORTHERN DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

V. Civ.

)
)
)
)
) 3-81-350
)

LOG MOUNTAIN MINING COMPANY

MEMORANDUM

The United States brought this
action to collect civil penalties in the
amount of $20,720.00 assesed against
defendant. The case is presently before
the Court on plaintiff's motion for
summary judgment. Plaintiff has also
moved to amend its pleadings to name
Clarence Moore, individually d/b/a Log
Mountain Mining Company, as defendant.
Plaintiff states that the amendment is
Lecessary because Log Mountain Mining
Company is a sole proprietorship of

Clarence Moore rather than a

corporation. The motion to amend is

granted so that the pleadings’ will
reflect the true parties in interest.

Defendant does not contest the
violations which are the subject of the
penalties. It is undisputed that the
Secretaty of Interior has assessed the
$20,720 in penalties against defendant
for Notices of Violation 80-2-32-16,
80-2-32-8, 80-2-46-14, 80-2-32-39,
80-2-53-5 and 80-2-53-12. It is also
undisputed tht defendant failed to
exhaust his appeal rights for
challenging these penalties. Relying on
defendant's failure to challenge’ the
violations or penalties through the
exercise of his appeal rights, plaintiff
contends that defendant has waived his
right to contest the violations. 30
U.S.C. Sec. 1268(c).

Defendant contends that 30

U.S.C. Sec. 1268(c) is unconstitutional

as

obQe

a denial of due process and equal

protection. The challenged provision

provides that

Notice; waiver. Upon the
issuance of a notice or order
charging that a violation of
the Act has occurred, the
Secretary shall inform’ the
oerator within thirty days of
the proposed amount of said
penalty. The person charged
with the penalty shall then
have thirty days to pay the
proposed penalty in full or,
if the person wishes to
contest either the amount of
the penalty or the fact of the
violation, forward the
proposed amount to the
Seretary for placement in an
escrow account. If through
administrative or judicial
review of the proposed
penalty, it is determined that
no violation occurred, or that
the amount of the penalty
should be reduced, the
Secretary shall within thirty
days remit the appropriate
amount to the poerson, with
interest at the rate of 6
percent, or at the prevailing
Department of the Treasury
rate, whichever is greater.
Failure to forward the money
to the Secretary within thirty
days shall result in a waiver
of all legal rights to contest
the violation or the amount of
the penalty.

#

saciid NE ovis tae - =

-40-

Defendants attacks the
requirement that he pay the amount of
the proposed ‘penalty into escrow. He
contends that the escrow provision is
unreasonable, is a denial of acces to
the courts and is a deprivation of
property without due process, citing

Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67 (1972).

Four district courts have
upheld the escrow provision. United

States v. Hill, 533 F.SASupp. 810 (E.D.

Tenn. 1982); United States v. Thompson

Brothers Coal Co., Inc., 532 F.Supp.

979 (W.D.Pa. 1982); B & M Coal Corp. v.

Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and

Enforcement, 531 F.Supp. 677 (S.D. Ind.

1982) ; Blackhawk Mining Co. v. United

States Department of Interior, No.

79-136 (E.D. Ky. February ll, 1982). We
have found no case holding this section

unconstitutional after the Supreme

Court's decision in Hodel v. Virginia

Surface Mining and Reclamation

Association, 452 U.S. 264 (1981).

by Judge

an

The escrow provision was viewed
Edward Dumbauld as

appropriate means of

discouraging frivolous resort

to

an additional avenue of

delay for the purpose of
prolonging the collection
process and postponing’ the
painful moment of payment.

Past

experience, as the

legislative history shows,
indicated the wisdom of
enacting such a provision.
95th Cong., lst Sess., S.Rep.

No.

95-128, 58-59(1977).

The temporary loss of

use Of a small sum for a short
time is surely de minimis in
comparison to the other
expenditures and outlays which
a coal operator is obliged to

make

in order to carry on

business. If successful in
upsetting or reducing the
penalty he is reimbursed the
amount prepaid, together with
interest at 6% or that on
Treasury bills, whichever is
higher. This hardship is

insufficient to constitute

depr

ivation without due

process.

532 F.Supp. at 979.

provision

The validity of the escrow

should be determined by

«82

looking to the reasonableness of the
statutory scheme and its administrative
regulations. Judge Frank Wilson
described thee procedural safeguards
provided by the various levels of
administrative review as follows:

"The procedures followed by
the Secretary in assessing
civil penalties, and the
administrative and judicial
appeal rights afforded mine
Operators, are set forth in 30
U.S.C. Secs 1268, 1275-76; 30
C.F.R. Secs. 723.1 et seqg.;
and 43 C.F.R. Secs. 4.1100 et
seg. These procedures’ and
appeal rights become
applicable whenever a mine
operator or permittee is
issued a notice of violation
Or a cessation order under 30
U.S.C. Sec. 1271(a).

"I. Within ten days of
service of a notice or order,
the permittee may submit
written information concerning
the violation(s) to the Office
of Surface Mining Assessment
Office. Any such information
must be considered by the
Assessment Office in
determining whether to assess
a civil penalty and how large
a penalty to assess. 30
C.F.R. Sec. 723.16(a). Within
30 days of the issuance of the
notice or Order, the

Assessment Office must inform
the permittee of its decision
to assess a penalty and must
serve on the permittee a copy
of the proposed assessment.
30 U.S.C. Sec. 1268(c); 30
C.F.R. Sec. 723.16(b).

"II. If the notice or order
require the cessation of
mining an informal public
hearing must be held upon the
request of the permittee,
within 30 days of service of
the citation. 30 U.S.C. Sec.
1271(a) (5); 30 C.F.R. Sec.
722.15. The hearing is
conducted by a supervisory OSM
employee, and the permittee
may request that the hearing
be held on the mine site. The
hearing officer must issue his
decision affirming, vacating,
or modifying the citation
within five business days. 30
C.F.R. Sec. 722.15(f).

"III. Also within 30 days of
the issuance of any notice or
order, the permittee may apply
for formal review of the
citation under 30 U.S.C. Sec.
12753 43 C.F.R. Secs. 4.1160
et seq. The permittee may
receive a full, adversarial,
evidentiary hearing before an
impartial administrative law
judge, who reviews the
validity of the notie or order
and has the power to vacate,
affirm, or modify the
citation. Temporary relief
may be requested under 30
U.S.C. Sec. 1275(c); 43 C.F.R.

-44-

Secs. 4.1260 et seg.

Appeals to an administrative
review board and judicial
review rights are also
available 43 C.F.R. Secs.
4.1271 et seq.; 30 U.S.C. Sec.
1276(a)) (2).

ae 5 Within 15 days of
receipt of a notice of
proposed assessment of civil
penalty, the permittee may
request an informal conference
to review the amount of the
penalty. 30 C.F.R. Sec.
723.17(a). The conference is
conducted by an OSM employee
who has had no previous
connection with the case. Any
information presented by the
permittee at the conference
must be considered by the
Assessment Office in deciding
whether to affirm, vacate,
rgaise, or lower the penalty
30 C.F.R. Sec. 723.17(b).

"V. Finally, either within 15
days of the conclusion of th
assessment conference (if one
has been requested) or within
30 days of receipt of the
notice of proposed assessment
of civil penalty (if no
conference has been
requested), the permittee may
apply for formal review of
both the validity of the
citation and the amount of the
proposed penalty. 30 U.S.C.
Sec. 1268(¢c); 30 C.F.R. Sec.
723.18; 43 C.F.R. Secs. 4.1150
et seg. A full, adversarial,

evidentiary hearing is held,
as under remedy III described
above. As a precondition of
this final administrative
remedy only, the permitee is
required to pay the amount of
the proposed penalty into an
escrow account, 30 U.S.C. Sec.
1268 (c); 43 C.F R-« Sec.
4.1152. If the permittee
succeeds in having the penalty
reduced or eliminated in this
formal review process, any
amount determined not to be
owed must be refunded to the
permittee with interest at the
prevailing Department of
Treasury rate. Id. Appeals to
an administrative review board
and judicial review are
available here as well. 43
C.F.R. Sec. 4.1270; 30 U.S.C.

Sec. 1276(a) (2) .*
(Footnote omitted).

814 F.Supp. at 814-15. Both the notices
of violation an the notices of proposed
assessment explained these
administrative remedies to defendant.
The record indicates that
defendant availed himself of only one of
the various administrative remedies. He
requested and received = an informal
assessment conference for Notice of

Violation 8-2-32-8. As a result of the

conference, the amount of the proposed
penalty was reduced from $12,180 to
$8,380.

We agree with the views
expressed in the cases cited above that
the adminitrative review available to
defendant satisfies the requirements of
due process.

Defendant's equal protection
argument is that Sec. 1268(c) creates an
arbitrary and unreasonable
classification. He does not explain
what the classifications are and we are
unable to find that the statute creates

any classifications. See Unites States

v. Thompson Brothers Coal Co., supra.

This argument is likewise without merit.

Defendant asserts in his
affidavit that he did not knowingly
waive his rights to appeal. He states
that the notices were confusing and that

he was unaware the he would have to pay

ai Ta

for minor violations or for violations
affecting the environment but which had
been corrected. Samples of two notices
received by defendant are attached as
exhibits. Exhibit III is a notice of
the administrative relief which
defendant “may" request. Exhibit IV is
a notice of proposed assessment of
penalty. This notices states that

THE PROPOSED PENALTY(IES) WILL

BECOME FINAL AND #£PAYABLE

WITHIN 30 DAYS from the date

you receive this lettr UNLESS

YOU REQUEST A CONFERENCE OR

HEARING in accordance with the

following instructions. ...
The notice then explains how to request
a conference or hearing, and that if a
hearing is requested, the coal miner
must submit a check or money order in
the amount of the proposed penalty. If
the check or money - order is not

submitted with the petition, the coal

miner is advised that "you may forfeit

your right to a hearing." Defendant

~48-

contends that the use of the word "may"
did not sufficiently warn him that his
inaction would constitute a waive of his
rights.

We reject defendant's argument.
It is undisputed that defendant received
the notices of violations and proposed
assessments, but took no action except
for requesting one conference. The
notice of the proposed assessment of
penalty stated that the penalty would
become final and payable unless. a

hearing or conference was requested.

Defendant ignored these citations. We
Cannot find that the use of the word
"may" in the notices justifies
defendant's failure to seek
administrative review of the proposed
penalties. To the extent that the
notices were confusing, defendant should
have contacted the Office of Surface

Mining, as the notices suggested, or

ai

sought legal counsel. This Court cannot

sanction defendant's ignoring the
citations of an agency of the
Government. Defendant's failure to

contest the proposed penalties through
the available administratie procedures
resulted in a waiver of his rights to
contest the penalties at this time. 30
U.S.C. Sec. 1268(c).

Defendant's last contention is
that the penalties are void because the
Secretary failed to inform him of the
amount of the proposed penalty wirhin 30
days of the issuance of the violations,
as required by Sec. 1268(c). We must
disagree. A statutory time period is
not jurisdictional unless it both
expressly requires an agency to act
within a particular time period = and
specifies a consequence for failure to

comply with the provision. See Usery v.

Whitin Machine Works, Inc., 554 F.2d

af6q

498, 501 (lst Cir. 1977); Fort Worth

National Corp. v. Federal Savings & Loan

Ins. Corp., 469 F.2d 47, 58 (5th Cir.

1972); Maryland Casualty Co. v.

Cardillo, 99 F.2d 432, 434 (D.C. Cir.

1938). Since Sec. 1268(c) does not
specify any consequence for the
Secretary's failure to act within 30
days, the provision is not
jurisdictional. Since the provision is
not jurisdictional, and defendant has
neither claimed nor shown any prejudice,
we conclude that the penalties are not
void.

For these reasons, it is
ORDERED that plaintiff's motion for
summary judgment be, and the same hereby
is, granted. It is further ORDERED that
the judgment enter in favor of plaintiff
for $20,720.00

Order Acccordingly.

/s/By:Robert L. Taylor

ie

United States District
Judge

«82

CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES OF
AMERICA

Amendment 5

Criminal actions---Provisions
concerning--Due process of law and just
compensation clauses.

No person shall be held to answer for a
capital, or otherwise infamous crime,
unless on a presentment or indictment of
a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in
the land or naval forces, or in the
Militia, when in actual service in time
of War or public danger; nor shall any
person be subject for the same offence
to be twice put in jeopardy of life or
limb; nor shall be compelled in any
criminal case to be a witness against
himself, nor be deprived of life,
liberty, or property, without due
process of law; nor_- shall _ private
property be taken for _ public. use,

without just compensation.

“Be

28 U.S.C. Sec. 1254. Court of appeals;
certiorari; appeal; certified questions

Cases in the courts of appeals may be
reviewed by the Supreme Court by the
following methods:

(1) By writ of certiorari
granted upon the petition of any party
to any civil or criminal case, before or
after rendition of judgment or decree;

(2) By appeal by ae party
relying on a State statute held by a
court of appeals to be invalid as
repugnant to the Constitution, treaties
or laws of the United States, but such
appeal shall preclude review by writ of
certiorari at te instance of = such
appellant, and the review on appeal
shall be restricted to the Federal
questions presented;

(3) By certification at any
time by a court of appeals of any
question of law in any civil or criminal
case as to which instructions are
desired, and upon such certific.tion the
Supreme Court may give binding
instructions or require the- entire
record to be sent up for decision of the
entire matter in controversy.

-54-

28 U.S.C. Sec. 1291. Final decisions of
district courts

The courts of appeals’ shall
have jurisdiction of appeals from all
final decisions of the district courts
of the United States, the United States
District Court for the District of the
Canal Zone, the District Court of Guam,
and the District Court of the Viryin
Islands, except where a direct review
may be had in the Supreme Court.

28 U.S.C. Sec. 2101. Supreme Court;
time for appeal Or certiorari;
docketing; stay

(a) eee
(b) eee

(c) Any other appeal or any
writ of certiorari intended to bring any
judgment or decree in a civil action,
Suit or proceeding before the Supreme
Court for review shall be taken or
applied for within ninety days after the
entry of such judgment or decree. a
justice of the Supreme Court, for good
cause shown, may extend the time for
applying for a writ of certiorari for a
period of not exceeding sixty days.

(d) ee¢ce
(e) ec

(f£) eeee

-56-

30 U.S.C. Sec. 1268. Penalties
(a) eee

(b) Hearing. A civil penalty
shall be assessed by the Secretary only
after the person charged with a
violation described under subsection (a)
of this section has been given = an
opportunity for a public hearing. Where
such a public hearing has been held, the
Secretary shall make findings of fact,
and he shall issue a written decision as
to the occurrence of the violation and
the amount of the penalty which is
warranted, incorporating, when
appropriate, and order therein requiring
that the penalty be paid. When
appropriate, the Secretary shall
consolidate such hearings with other
proceedings under section 521 of this
Act. Any hearing under this’ section
shall be of record and shall be subject
to section 554 of title 5 of the United
States Code. Where the person charged
with such a violation fails to avail
himself of the opportunity for a public
hearing, a civil penalty shall _ be
assessed by the Secretary after the
Secretary has determined that a
violation did occur, and the amount of
the penalty which is warranted, and has
issued an order requiring that’ the
penalty be paid.

(c) Notice; waiver. Upon the
issuance of a notice or order charging
that a violation of the Act has
occurred, the Secretary shall inform the
operator within thirty days of the
proposed amount of said penalty. The
person charged with the penalty shall
then have thirty days to pay’ the
proposed penalty in full or, if the

wi Pe

person wishes to contest either’ the
amount of the penalty or the fact of the
violation, forward the proposed amount
to the Secretary for placement in an
escrow account. If through
administrative or judicial review of the
proposed penalty, it is determined that
no violation occurred, or that’ the
amount of the penalty should be reduced,
the Secretary shall within thirty days
remit the appropriate amount to. the
person, with interest at the rate of 6
percent, or at the prevailing Department
of the Treasury rate, whichever is
greater. Failure to forward the money
to the Secretary within thirty days
shall result in a waiver of all legal
rights to contest the violation or the
amount of the penalty.

(d) Recovery in civil action.
Civil penalties owed under this Act, may
be recovered in a civil action brought
by the Attorney General at the request
of the Secretary in any appropriate
district court of the United States.

(e) ccc

(i) eevee

oiin

30 U.S.C. Sec. 1271. Enforcement.

(a) Notice; Federal
inspection; waiver; cessation order;
affirmative obligations; hearing;

suspension or revocation cof permits;
contents of notices and orders;
expiration date. (1) Whenever, on the
basis of any information available to
him, including receipt of information
from any person, the Secretary has
reason to believe that any person is in
violation of any requirement of this Act
Or any permit condition required by this
Act, the Secretary shall notify the
State regulatory authority, if one
exists, in the State in which’ such
violation exists. If no such State
authority exists or the State regulatory
authority fails within ten days after
notification to take appropriate action
to cause said violation to be corrected
Or to show good cause for such failure
and transmit notification of its action
to the Secretary, the Secretary shall
immediately order Federal inspection of
the surface coal mining operation at
which the alleged violation is occurring
unless the information available to the
Secretary is a result of a previous
Federal inspection of such surface coal
mining operation. The ten-day
notification period shall be waived when
the person’ informing the Secretary
provides adequate proof that an imminent
danger of significant environmental harm
exists and that the State has failed to
take appropriate action. When the
Federal inspection results from
information provided to the Secretary by
any person, the Secretary shall notify
such person when the Federal inspection
is proposed to be carried out and such
person shall be allowed to accompany the

witGe

inspector during the inspection.

(2) When, on the basis of any
Federal inspection, the Secretary or his
authorized representative determines
that any condition or practices exist,
Or that any permittee is in violation of
any requirement of this Act or any
permit condition required by this Act,
which condition, practice, or violation
also creates an imminent danger to the
health or safety of the public, or is
causing, Or can reasonably be expected
to cause significant, imminent
environmental harm to land, air, or
water resources, the Secretary or his
authorized representative shall
immediately order a cesstion of surface
coal mining and reclamation operations
or the portion thereof relevant to the
condition, practice, or violation. Such
cessation order shall remain in effect
until the Secretary or his authorized
representative determines that the
condition, practice, or violation has
been abated, or until modified, vacated,
Or terminated by the Secretary or his
authorized representative pursuant to
Subparagraph (a)(5) of this section.
Where the Secretary finds that the
ordered cessation of surface coal mining
and reclamation operations, or _ any
portion thereof, will not completely
abate the imminent danger to health or
safety of the public or the significant
imminent environmental harm to land,
air, or water resources, the Secretary
shall, in addition to the cessation
order, impose affirmative obligations on
the operator requiring him to_- take
whatever steps the Secretary deems
necessary to abate the imminent danger
or the significant environmental harm,

-60-

(3) When, on the basis of a
Federal inspection which is carried out
during the enforcement of a Federal
program or a Federal lands’ program,
Federal inspection pursuant to section
502, or section 504(b) or during Federal
enforcement of a State program in
accordance with subsection (b) of this
section, the Secretary or his authorized
representative determines that any
permittee is in violation of 8 any
requirement of this Act or any permit
condition required by this Act; but such
violation does not create an imminent
danger to the health or safety of the
public, or cannot be reasonably expected
to cause significant, imminent
environmental harm to land, air, or
water resources, the Secretary or
authorized representative shall issue a
notice to the permittee or his agent
fixing a reasonable time but not more
than ninety days from the abatement of
the violation and providing opportunity
for public hearing.

If, upon expiration of the
period of time as originally fixed or
subsequently extended, for good cause
shown and upon the written finding of
the Secretary or his authorized
representative, the Secretary or his
authorized representative finds that the
violation has not been abated, he shall
immediately order a cessation of surface
coal mining and reclamation operations
or the portion thereof relevant to the
violation. Such cesation order. shall
remain in effect until the Secretary or
his authorized representative determines
that the violation has been abated, or
until modified, vacated, or terminated
by the Sectetary or his authorized
representative pursuant to subparagraph

—OooooooeeeeeeeeeerereRX_s_— Oa

ehiia

(a) (5) of this subsection, the Secretary
shall determine the steps necessary to
abate the violation in the most
expeditious manner possible, and shall
include the necessary measures in the
order.

(4) When, on the basis of a
Federal inspection which is carried out
during the enforcement of a Federal
program or a Federal lands' program,
Federal inspection pursuant to section
502 or section 504 or during Federal
enforcement of a State program in
accordance with subsection (b) of this
section, the Secretary or his authorized
representative determines that a pattern
of violations of any requirements of
this Act or any permit conditions
required by this Act exists or has
existed, and if the Secretary or his
authoried representative also find that
such violations are caused by the
unwarranted failure of the permittee to
comply with any requirements of this Act
Or any permit conditions, or that such
violations are willfully caused by the
permittee, the Secretary or his
authorized representative shall
forthwith issue an order to the
permittee to show cause as to why the
permit should not be suspended or
revoked and shall provide opportunity
for a public hearing. If a hearing is
requested the Secretary shall inform all
interested parties of the time and place
of the hearing. Upon the permitte's
failure to show cause as to why the
permit should not be suspended or
revoked, the Secretary or his authorized
representative shall forthwith suspend
or revoke the permit.

(5) Notices and orders issued

shin

to this section shall set forth with
reasonable specificity the nature of the
violation and the remedial action
required, the period of time established
for abatement, and a reasonable
description of the portion of the
surface coal mining and reclamation
Operation to which the notice or order
applies. Each notice or order issued
under this section shall be given
promptly to the permittee or his agent
by the Secretary or his authorized
representative who issues such notice or
order, and all such notices and orders
shall be in writing and shall be signed
by such authorized representatives. Any
notice or order issued pursuant to this
section may be modified, vacated, or
terminated by the Secretary or his
authorized representative. A copy of
any such order or notice shall be sent
to the State regulatory authority in the
State in which the violation occurs:
Provided, That any notice or _ order
issued pursuant to this section which
requires cessation of mining by the
operator shall expire within thirty days
of actual notice the operator unless a
public hearing is held at the site or
within such reasonable proximity to the
site that any viewings of the site can
be conducted during the course of the
public hearing.

(b) eee

(c) eee

-6§3-

CERTIFICATE

I, David A. Burkhalter, II, a
member of the Bar of the Court, pursuant
to Supreme Court Rule 19 and Rule 28,
hereby certify that I have served Robert
Ss. More, Special Assistant U.S.
Attorney, Department of the Interior, P.
O. Box 15006, Knoxville, TN 37901, and
the Solicitor General, Department of
Justice, Washington, D.C., 20530, with
three (3) true and exact copies of the
foregoing Petition and filed with the
Court forty (40) true and exact copies,
properly addressed to the Clerk of the
Court, by depositing same in a United
States Post office, first-class postage
pre-paid, or with the Knoxville terminal
of Federal Express, a corporation
offering overnight delivery of documents
and other articles, this the adn & day of
July, 1984.

bacon bat

avid A. Burkhalter,

STATE OF TENNESSEE
COUNTY OF KNOX

SUBSCRIBED and sworn to before
the au & day of

me this
_——auly

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_3107%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
