# Amicus Curiae Brief — Pollard v. Board of Police Commissioners

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2998%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 878

## Text

~ Supreme Court, Us.
3) eT LED

No. 83-2076 ‘ MAY 16 wes
SEEXRNDERE STEVAS: |
Jn the Supreme Court of the Huiles-Ststes— =

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

ROGER POLLARD, PETITIONER

v.

BOARD OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS AND
NorMAN A. CARON

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF MISSOURI

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES |
AS AMICUS CURIAE

Rex E. Lee
Solicitor General

RICHARD K. WILLARD
Acting Assistant Attorney General

DAvID A. STRAUSS
Assistant to the Solicitor General

JOHN CORDES
CARLENE V. MCINTYRE
Attorneys

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Federal Election Campaign Act preempts
a Missouri statute that prohibits Kansas City police officers
from making contributions for “the promotion of * * * any
political purpose whatever,” insofar as that statute prohib-
its contributions to candidates for federal office.

2. Whether the Missouri statute violates the First
Amendment.

3. Whether the Missouri statute violates the Equal Pro-
tection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Cases:

Page
EE en ee ee l
rE 2 Gels CNG inka ach be ekees0se0.n0 0 3
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Aloha Airlines v. Director of Taxation,
EU, Be BUEED ccc eccncccccesscses 9
Bruno v. Garsaud, 594 F.2d 1062 .......... 16, 17
Buckley v. Valeo, 519 F.2d 821,
EME, ea Ncdeenseavenccccves 4,9, 16
CSC v. National Association of Letter
Carriers, 413 U.S. 548 ................6:. 11, 14
FEC v. Democratic Senatorial Campaign
CR ME ELC EE occscncesccvescrcces 7
Hobbs v. Thompson, 448 F.2d 456 ........... 16
Mancuso v. Taft, 476 F.2d 187 ..........00005 16
Reeder v. Kansas City Board of Police
Commissioners, 733 F.2d 543 ............ 11, 7
Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp.,
a Sy a er eee eee eee 8
San Diego Building Trades Council v. Garmon,
ck ck da wees Che sect acceese 9
Wachsman v. Dallas, 704 F.2d 160,
oert. Gemeed, 466 US. 1012 2... cccccccccccce 17

(III)

IV

Page
Constitution, statutes and regulations:
U.S. Const. :

DME Gi cchkktedvienGenmense4 2, 3, 16, 17

Amend. XIV (Equal Protection
SE a beahagdassaaNuanas sesh es oae 2, 16

Federal Election Campaign Act of 1971,

pgs ee PS Serre rey rey rere errr 2
BEE Mavic coche cadessedcekeeuas 3
BA EE ha 550.69 5405005 bob eke RES 3
eT ae FR eT eee yer ey ee Pee 3
eR | RE eer re Te TT TTT Tee 7
Pee os ere ere rere her er 7
DB a EE Sch baba sc ctesdctawnns 8
Ss 6 4 a 5b 0s stb cb dsésena'’s 7,8
phid Toms ky PPP erererTTiri res 7
PE, wet adte bin ketecews se eneee 7, 15
2 U.S.C. (Supp. IV 1974) 437f ............ 15
Re POPC OUT TEE ETT TT eT eT ee 8
Fs UE SN ow dina Ua cas uaseUSoands 3
2 Us RD inn cn asesdenraticaes 3
BUR EE Sy Adee esenesicnsese ive emde 3
Pe EE acedachabeddgactsoecs cess 4
PE Shc ccds dda etseeskdebankene 3
DE erin eR Gack ndeesevcadveueNs 3

eR Lae | | Pee PTET eS CT CTe Tee TT 4,5

V

; Page
Constitution, statutes and regulations—Continued:
2 U.S.C. (Supp. II 1972) 453 ........... 5, 14
2 U.S.C. (Supp. II 1972) 453(b) ........... 15
Federal Election Campaign Act Amendments
of 1974, Pub. L. No. 93-443, 88 Stat.
PO ee a eres ray iy ae 4
$ 104(a), 88 Stat. 1272 (codified
Ee Ss See ND hod WK kecesiv seuss 5
$ 401(a), 88 Stat. 1290 ................... i]

Federal Election Campaign Act Amendments of
1976, Pub. L. No. 94-283, 90 Stat. 475

et seq. :
Oe), 00 Bank. GER jo oc cece cess 8
EE a Svcs Cs aneaeaesueneeen 8
gre PT eee 8
GPO Sn cov ivcccncncssdcuns 8
S Tie EE 4g 55 ea bes 6 se eearacensens 11
EP Re TR ere 11
18 U.S.C. (Supp. IV 1974) 608 et seg. ........... 5
Be is PEE 6 Ocha S ad ceceieesicsevacecas 17
Mo. Ann. Stat. $ 84.830 (Vernon 1971) .... passim
FPA. Vee PD 66 4-00 beds cewesnsatenans 14

DE CA dks SEED orc veceesbevenekesneesen 7

VI

Page
Miscellaneous:
117 Cong. Rec. 43396-43397 (1971) ............ 15
120 Cong. Rec. 34386 (1974) ............ 2 eens 12
H.R. Rep. 93-1239, 93d Cong., 2d Sess.
PRE hick cade asceseciarentiesses 4,5,7, 11
H.R. Rep. 93-1438, 93d Cong., 2d Sess.
SEES Fle pene Pry ye Perr 6, 7, 12
H.R. Rep. 94-917, 94th Cong., 2d Sess .
Saas Sie hes kane ens PO ECRT coke ee enked 8
H.R. Rep. 94-1057, 94th Cong., 2d Sess
SE cic bahanr beeches tdeek avec ewnks vaccal 8

S. Rep. 94-677, 94th Cong., 2d Sess.
SNE OE a deka cas ba Kawa k baw etna eek 8

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

No. 84-2076
ROGER POLLARD, PETITIONER
V.

BOARD OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS AND
NORMAN A. CARON

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF MISSOURI

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE

This brief is submitted in response to the Court’s invita-
tion to the Solicitor General to express the views of the
United States.

STATEMENT

1. Petitioner was a sergeant in the Kansas City, Mis-
souri,-Rolice Department. In July 1982, he contributed
$1,000 out of his own funds to a political committee formed
to promote the candidacy of an individual seeking the
Democratic nomination for United States Representative
from the Fifth District of Missouri. Petitioner’s contribu-
tion was not solicited by or paid to a member of the Police
Department and was not made on public premises or while
petitioner was in uniform. Pet. App. A25, A27.

As a result of petitioner’s contribution, and after a hear-
ing, respondents — the Chief of Police and Board of Police
Commissioners of Kansas City — terminated petitioner’s

(1)

2

employment as a police officer. They relied on Mo. Ann.
Stat. $ 84.830 (Vernon 1971), which prohibits any political
contributions by Kansas City police officers.' Petitioner
then filed suit in the Circuit Court of Jackson County,
Missouri, seeking reinstatement. Petitioner alleged that
Section 84.830, insofar as it applied to federal elections, was
preempted by the Federal Election Campaign Act of 1971
(FECA), 2 U.S.C. 431 et seqg., and that the enforcement of
Section 84.830 against him violated both the First Amend-
ment and the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment. The Circuit Court ruled in petitioner’s favor
and ordered him reinstated with back pay (Pet. App. A25-
A40); the court upheld petitioner’s preemption (id. at A30-
A35) and First Amendment (id. at A. 5-A40) claims and did
not reach his equal protection argument.

A divided Missouri Supreme Court reversed (Pet. App.
Al-A18). It rejected petitioner’s preemption claim on the
ground that the FECA preempts only “the limited field of
statutes imposing restrictions on candidates for federal
office and their campaign committees” (id. at A6). The
court also rejected petitioner’s First Amendment claim on
the ground that “the interest of the state in protecting a
metropolitan police department from political domination

‘Mo. Ann. Stat. $ 84.830 (Vernon 1971) provides:

1. * * * No officer or employee in the service of [the Kansas
City] police department shall directly or indirectly give, pay,
lend, or contribute any part of his salary or compensation or any
money or other valuable thing to any person on account of, or to
be applied to, the promotion of any political party, political
club, or any political purpose whatever.

* + ¢+ * ®

7. Any officer or any employee of the police department of such
cities who shall be found by the board to have violated any of the
provisions of this section shall be discharged forthwith from said
service. * * *

3

and influence is substantial, significant, important and
compelling” (id. at Al7). The court dismissed petiticner’s
equal protection claim as “lacking in merit” (ibid.).

Judges Welliver and Donneily dissented. Judge Welliver
stated that it was “questionable” whether the FECA
preempts Section 84.830, but he rested his dissent on the
ground that Section 84.830, while perhaps constitutional as
applied to contributions to candidates for state and local
office, violates the First Amendment as applied to federal
elections (Pet. App. A18-A20). Judge Donnelly urged that
Section 84.830 is preempted by the plain language of the
FECA (Pet. App. A21-A22). He also stated that the First
Amendment precludes the application of Section 84.830 to
federal elections (Pet. App. A22-A24).

DISCUSSION

1. a. In our view, the Missouri Supreme Court erred in
concluding that Section 84.830 is not preempted by the
FECA. The FECA contains detailed and comprehensive
limits on the amounts and sources of contributions to fed-
eral election campaigns, including the campaign of a person
seeking a nomination to run for Congress (see 2 U.S.C.
431(1), (2), and (3)). Specifically, the FECA provides that
“[njo person shall make contributions * * * to any candi-
date and his authorized political committees with respect to
any election for Federal office which, in the aggregate,
exceed $1,000” (2 U.S.C. 44la(a){1)(A)). The FECA
further prohibits corporations, labor organizations, foreign
nationals, and government contractors from making any
contributions to candidates for federal office (2 U.S.C.
441b, 441c, 44le). The FECA also regulates in detail the
aggregate contributions that may be made by individuals to
candidates and political committees (see 2 U.S.C. 441a(a)),
the establishment of segregated funds for political purposes
(commonly known as political action committees) by

4

corporations and labor unions (see 2 U.S.C. 441b(b)), and
similar matters relating to the sources of funds for federal
elections. Petitioner’s contribution — a contribution by an
individual of $1,000 — complied with these federal statu-
tory provisions.

These restrictions on the sources and amounts of cam-
paign contributions were, for the most part, enacte 4 as part
of the Federal Election Campaign Act Amendments of
1974, Pub. L. No. 93-443, 88 Stat. 1263 et seq., which have
been described as “ ‘by far the most comprehensive reform
legislation [ever] passed by Congress concerning the elec-
tion of the President, Vice-President, and members of Con-
gress.’” Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1, 7 (1976), quoting
Buckley v. Valeo, 519 F.2d 821, 831 (D.C. Cir. 1975). When
Congress enacted the 1974 Amendments, it included two
broad preemption clauses. 2 U.S.C. 453 provides:

The provisions of [the FECA], and of rules pre-
scribed under this Act, supersede and preempt any
provision of State law with respect to election to Fed-
eral office.

The House committee that drafted this clause explained its
intent in sweeping terms (H.R. Rep. 93-1239, 93d Cong., 2d
Sess. i0 (1974)):

It is the intent of the Committee to preempt all state
and local laws.

* * * It is the intent of the committee to make certain
that the Federal law is construed to occupy the field
with respect to elections to Federal! office and that the
Federal law will be the sole authority under which such
elections will be regulated. * * * The committee also
feels that there can be no question with respect to
preemption of local laws. Since the committee has
provided that the Federal law supersede[s}] and
preempt[s] any law enacted by a State, the Federal law

5

will also supersede and preempt any law enacted by a
political subdivision of a State.

The 1974 Amendments placed the principal restrictions
on campaign contributions and expenditures in Title 18, the
Criminal Code. See 18 U.S.C. (Supp. IV 1974) 608 et seq.
The second preemption clause included in the 1974
Amendments was specifically applicable to these restric-
tions (Pub. L. No. 93-443, $ 104(a), 88 Stat. 1272 (codified
at 18 U.S.C. 591 note)):

The provisions of chapter 29 of title 18, United
States Code, relating to elections and political activi-
ties, supersede and preempt any provision of State law
with respect to election to Federal office.

The House committee explained this preemption provision
as follows (H.R. Rep. 93-1239, supra, at 10-11):

[This] preemption provision was added * * * to
make it clear that the Federal law is intended to be the
sole source of criminal sanctions for offenses involving
political activities in connection with Federal elections.
The committee wants to avoid even the possibility of
an argument that the preemption provision contained
in [2 U.S.C. 453] referring to “provisions of this
Act” [?] does not include the provisions of title 18
amended by * * * this legislation. This clarification is
most important because all of the actual limitations on
contributions and expenditures, together with the
sanctions for violation of such limitations, are included

?The report actually refers to “the preemption provision contained in
the 1971 Act referring to ‘provisions of this Act’* * *.” Both the context
and the fact that the quoted does not appear in the preemption
provision of the unamended 1971 Act (see 2 U.S.C. (Supp. 11 1972) 453,
quoted at page 15 note 7, infra), miake it apparent that the committee
was referring to its proposed amendment to the 1971 Act — the lan-
guage that subsequently was enacted as 2 U.S.C. 453.

6

in the criminal code provisions of title 18 amended by
this legislation.

The conference committee report on the 1974 Amend-
ments then explained the precise extent to which Congress
intended the statute it was amending to preempt state law
(H.R. Rep. 93-1438, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. 69 (1974) (empha-
sis added)):

The provisions of [the 1974 Amendments] make it
clear that the Federal law occupies the field with
respect to criminal sanctions relating to limitations on
campaign expenditures, the sources of campaign funds
used in Federal races, the conduct of Federal cam-
paigns, and similar offenses, but does not affect the
States’ rights to prohibit false registration, voting
fraud, theft of ballots, and similar offenses under State
law.[?]

b. The plain language and legislative history of the 1974
Amendments demonstrate that Mo. Ann. Stat. § 84.830,
insofar as it applies to federal election campaigns, is
preempted by federal law. Section 84.830 regulates the
contributions that may be made to federal campaigns; in the
words of the conference report, it “relat[es] to limitations
on * * * the sources of campaign funds used in Federal
races.” Congress not only legislated comprehensively in this
area; it explicitly stated its intention to occupy this field in
_ strong and unequivocal terms. Indeed, Congress enacted a
second, arguably redundant preemption clause for the
express purpose of precluding “even the possibility of an

'This passage from the conference report was addressed to the
preemption provision that Congress added for the purpose of establish-
ing that the limitations on contributions contained in the 1974 Amend-
ments occupied the field. The passage from the conference report
quoted by the court below (see Pet. App. A7) addressed the other
preemption clause and accordingly made no mention of limitations on
contributions or on the sources of funding.

7

argument” (H.R. Rep. 93-1239, supra, at 10-11) that state
law might supplement the limitations on contributions and
expenditures in connection with federal campaigns that
were included in the 1974 Amendments.

In addition, the Federal Election Commission, the expert
administrative body established by Congress to implement
the 1974 Amendments (see, e.g., 2 U.S.C. 437c(b), 437d(e),
437f; FEC v. Democratic Senatorial Campaign Commit-
tee, 454 U.S. 27, 37 (1981)) has issued a regulation providing
that “Federal law supersedes State law concerning the * * *
[l]imitation on contributions and expenditures regarding
Federal candidates and political committees.” 11 C.F.R.
108.7(b)(3). In response to the Solicitor General’s inquiry
concerning the FEC’s views on the preemption question in
this case, the FEC, on January 23, 1985, concluded by a
vote of 6-0 that the FECA preempts Mo. Ann. Stat.
$ 84.830 to the extent that that statute applies to contribu-
tions made to influence an election to federal office. In sum,
the plain language of the FECA, emphatic statements in the
legislative history, and the considered judgment of the
agency charged with enforcing the statute all support the
conclusion that Section 84.830 is preempted by federal law.

c. While certain arguments can be advanced in support
of the Missouri Supreme Court’s contrary conclusion, they
are not, in our view, sufficient.

i. First, petitioner was not subjected to a criminal sanc-
tion; the committee reports we quoted above stated that
“Federal law is intended to be the sole source of criminal
sanctions” (H.R. Rep. 93-1239, supra, at 10) and that “Fed-
eral law occupies the field with respect to criminal sanctions
relating to * * * the sources of campaign funds used in
Federal races” (H.R. Rep. 93-1438, supra, at 69). But the
language of the preemption provisions of the 1974 Amend-
ments is not limited to state criminal laws: both of those
provisions broadly “supersede and preempt any provision

8

of State law with respect to election to Federal office
(emphasis added). Moreover, the FECA provides for an
integrated scheme of civil and criminal enforcement (see 2
U.S.C. 437g) that Congress has described as “a delicate
balance designed to effectively prevent and redress viola-
tions”(H.R. Rep. 94-917, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 4(1976)) and
has carefully adjusted from time to time. See Federal Elec-
tion Campaign Act Amendments of 1976, Pub. L. No.
94-283, $§ 107(b), 109, 90 Stat. 482-483; H.R. Rep. 94-917,
supra, at 3-4; S. Rep. 94-677, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 7-8
(1976); H.R. Rep. 94-1057, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 45-50
(1976). Congress conferred on the FEC the power to bring
civil actions to enforce the FECA (2 U.S.C. 437d(a)(6)) and
explicitly stated that “the power of the Commission to
initiate such civil actions * * * shall be the exclusive civil _
remedy for the enforcement of the provisions of this Act” (2
U.S.C. 437d(e)). In these circumstances, it is most unlikely
that Congress intended to preempt only state criminal laws
and to allow state regulation so long as the state imposed
noncriminal penalties.‘

”

ii. The Missouri Supreme Court suggested that Section
84.830 is not preempted by the FECA because its purpose is
to eradicate a different evil. The purpose of Section 84.830,
the court found, was to remedy a situation in which ostensi-
bly voluntary political contributions were in fact extorted

‘Similarly, it is immaterial that the limitations on contributions are
no longer contained in Title 18 of the United States Code but have been
transferred to Title 2 (see Pub. L. No. 94-283, $$ 112(2), 201(a), 90
Stat. 486, 496). The knowing and willful violation of these restrictions
remains a crime (see 2 U.S.C. 437g(d)), and we know of no suggestion in
the legislative history of the statute effecting the transfer that Congress
intended the transfer to undermine the preemptive effect of these provi-
sions. Indeed, the legislative history of this statute emphasizes the
carefully integrated and balanced nature of the enforcement scheme.
See, e.g., H.R. Rep. 94-917, supra, at 3-4. This is evidence that Con-
gress did not intend that scheme to be supplemented or disrupted by
state remedies. See Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218
(1947).

9

from police officers, and in which the police force was
subject to political influence because police officers were
chosen for their loyalty to the governing political machine.
See Pet. App. A3-A4, A28-A29; see also Br. in Opp. 2-4. By
contrast, Congress, in enacting the FECA and its amend-
ments, was concerned not with the possibility of extortion
or political influence among those who make political con-
tributions but with the “real or imagined coercive influence
of large financial contributions” on the recipients of contri-
butions. See Buckley, 424 U.S. at 25.

The reasoning of the Missouri Supreme Court that Sec-
tion 84.830 is not preempted because it is addressed to
concerns that are distinctively local and different from
those of the federal regulatory scheme might have some
force if petitioner’s contention were that the FECA implic-
itly preempted Section 84.830. Cf. San Diego Building
Trades Council v. Garmon, 359 U.S. 236, 241-244 (1959).
But in this case it is unnecessary to determine whether
preemption can be inferred from the nature and objectives
of the federal regulatory scheme; the FECA explicitly —
indeed, emphatically — preempts state regulation in the
area of limitations on contributions to federal campaigns.
See Aloha Airlines v. Director of Taxation, No. 82-585
(Nov. 1, 1983), slip op. 4-5 & n.5 (rules for discerning
congressional intent developed in cases involving the implicit
preemption of state statutes “have little application when a
court confronts a federal statute * * * that explicitly
preempts state laws”). The broad preemption clauses of the
1974 Amendments, and the language in the conference
report expressing an intent to “occup[y] the field with
respect to * * * the sources of campaign funds used in
Federal races” — especially when combined with the FEC’s
interpretation of the statute it is charged with administering
—- leave no room for the contention that the states may

10

legislate in this area in order to promote distinctively local
concerns not addressed by the federal legislation.°

In addition, the reasoning of the Missouri Supreme
Court appears to have no limiting principle. A state might
legitimately assert a special interest in preventing the
adverse effects and appearances potentially caused by the
political contributions not just of state and local govern-
ment employees but of other classes of citizens as well — for
example, registered lobbyists (see page 15 note 8, infra),
individuals employed in industries regulated by the state,
and professionals, such as lawyers, licensed by the state.
Under the reasoning of the Missouri Supreme Court, a state
would apparently be able to limit the political contributions
of each of these groups. The result would be that, insofar as
a substantial proportion of the citizens of such a state were
concerned, Congress’s deliberate decision to allow federal
campaign contributions of up to $1,000 would effectively be
nullified. For this reason, the conclusion that Section
84.830 is preempted is supported not just by the language
and legislative history of the FECA and the FEC’s interpre-
tation but by the need to maintain the integrity of the
congressional scheme.

iii. Finally, certain passages in another portion of the
legislative history of the Federal Election Campaign Act
Amendments of 1974 persuaded the Missouri Supreme
Court that Section 84.830 is not preempted. See Pet. App.
A7-A10. The Eighth Circuit, in considering a challenge to
Section 84.830 brought by another Kansas City police

5Moreover, nothing in the FECA prevents a state from directly
attacking the problems with which Section 84.830 is said to be con-
cerned. A state may of course directly outlaw extortion and prohibit the
use of political criteria in the selection of police officers. Section 84.830
is preempted solely because it addresses these problems by sweeping
means that infringe on an area — the regulation of contributions to
federal election campaigns — that Congress has explicitly occupied.

11

officer who was discharged for contributing to a federal
election campaign, was persuaded by the same passages.
See Reeder v. Kansas City Board of Police Commis-
sioners, 733 F.2d 543, 545-546 (1984) (reprinted at Br. in
Opp. Al-Al1).

At the same time that Congress amended the FECA in
1974, it also amended some of the provisions of the Hatch
Act. Before 1974, the Hatch Act, in addition to prohibiting
certain political activities by federal employees (see gen-
erally CSC v. National Association of Letter Carriers, 413 _
U.S. 548 (1973)), also prohibited certain state and local
employees whose principal employment was in programs
funded by the federal government from “tak[ing] an active
part in political management or in political campaigns.” 5
U.S.C. (1970 ed.) 1502(a)(3). In 1974, in the same statute in
which it amended the FECA, Congress amended this provi-
sion of the Hatch Act to specify that such state and local
employees were prohibited only from “be[ing] a candidate
for elective office.” Pub. L. No. 93-443, § 401(a), 88
Stat. 1290; see 5 U.S.C. 1502(a)(3). The House report on
this amendment explains it as follows (H.R. Rep. 93-1239,
supra, at 11):

The amendment[] * * * would remove from Federal
law the prohibition against voluntary partisan political
activity by State and local employees employed in
programs funded in whole or in part from Federal
loans or grants. Activities such as driving voters to the
polls or attending a political convention as a delegate
would no longer be prohibited by Federal law. The
regulation of political activities of State and local
employees would be left largely to the States. Federal
law would, however, continue to prohibit a State or
local officer or employee from using his official author-
ity or influence to interfere with or affect the result of

12

an election and prohibit him from coercing, command-
ing, or advising another State or local officer or
employee to pay, lend, or contribute anything of value
to any person for political purposes. Nothing in exist-
ing law or in the amendment made by this section
prevents a State or local officer or employee from
making a voluntary political contribution.

The conference report, on which the court below relied
(Pet. App. A9), contains the following explanation (H.R.
Rep. 93-1438, supra, at 102 (emphasis added)):

It is the intent of the conferees that any State law
regulating the political activities of State and local
officers and employees is not preempted or superseded
by the amendments to title 5, United States Code,
made by this legislation.

When the conference report was submitted to the Senate,
Senators Stevens and Cannon engaged in the following
colloquy, which was quoted at length and heavily relied on
by the court below (see Pet. App. A8-A9; 120 Cong. Rec.
34386 (1974)):

Mr. STEVENS. Mr. President, just 1 minute. I
should like to clarify something, if I may, with the
manager of the bill.

A provision of this bill amends section 1502 of title 5
relating to the activity of State or local employees in
Federal campaigns. Specifically, it takes out subsec-
tion (a)(3), which prohibits a State or local officer or
employee from taking an active part in political man-
agement or political campaigns, and substitutes for
that a prohibition from being a candidate for Federal
office.

It is my understanding, and I should like to ask the
manager of the bill, my friend from Nevada (Mr.
CANNON), if he agrees that this means that State laws

13

which prohibit a State employee, or local laws which
prohibit a local employee, from engaging in Federal
campaign activities and Federal campaigns are still
valid?

* *+ * *© *

I think it is quite important, because many of our
States have the so-called little Hatch Act, and it was
not our intent to repeal those “little Hatch Acts,” or to
modify them, but to take it out of the Federal law so
that Federal law does not prohibit those activities,
leaving it up to the State to do so.

Mr. CANNON. The Senator is absolutely correct.

** *

* * * It was the intent of the conferees that any State
law regulating the political activity of State or local
officers or employees is not preempted [or] superseded.
We did want to make it clear that if a State has not
prohibited those kinds of activities, it would be per-
missible in Federal elections.

This would get away from the situation in which the
Federal Government gives the State funds toward
many different programs, and some of those em-
ployees have been fearful that they could not partici-
pate in Federal campaigns. This would eliminate that
problem.

Mr. STEVENS. It is up to the State to determine the
extent to which they may participate in the Federal
elections?

Mr. CANNON. The Senator is right. The States
make that determination.

All of this legislative history, however, was explicitly
intended by the committees and Senator Stevens to illumi-
nate the meaning of the 1974 Amendments to the Hatch

14

Act — not to narrow the preemption clauses of the amend-
ments to the FECA. The statement of the conference com-
mittee, Senator Stevens’s inquiry, and Senator Cannon’s
reference to “the situation in which the Federal Govern-
ment gives the State funds” were by their terms confined to
the Hatch Act amendments; they made no reference to any
other provision, and there is no evidence that either the
conference committee or Senators Stevens and Cannon
believed that they were explaining the meaning of the
preemption provisions of the quite distinct FECA amend-
ments that happened to be included in the same statute.

In addition, it seems clear that the political “activities” to
which Senator Stevens and the committee report referred
when they emphasized that states could continue to regulate
their employees’ political activities do not include voluntary
campaign contributions. Such contributions have never
been a subject regulated by the Hatch Act; the Hatch Act
has not been construed to prohibit the making of such
contributions. See Letter Carriers, 413 U.S. at 577 n.11; 5
C.F.R. 733.111(a)(8).° Indeed, the House committee report
that we quoted above stated that “[n]Jothing in existing law
or in the amendment [to the Eatch Act] made by this
_ section prevents a State or local officer or employee from
~ making a voluntary political contribution.” This statement
reveals that Congress did not consider the making of volun-
tary campaign contributions to be among the forms of
political activity regulated by the Hatch Act; rather, Con-
gress apparently viewed that as a subject regulated by the
FECA.’

In this case, the trial court stated that it had reviewed the “little
Hatch Acts” of all the states and that, apart from Section 84.830, only
the laws of Louisiana prohibit voluntary campaign contributions. Pet.
App. A33-A34.

’Prior to the 1974 Amendments, the preemption clause of the FECA
was as follows (2 U.S.C. (Supp. II 1972) 453):

15

2. While it seems reasonably clear that the Missouri
Supreme Court’s decision is in error, it is less clear whether
the decision warrants this Court’s review. We are aware of
no evidence suggesting that restrictions comparable to Sec-
tion 84.830 are common.? The trial court in this case stated
that it had “reviewed the little Hatch Acts of the fifty states”

(a) Nothing in this Act shall be deemed to invalidate or make
inapplicable any provision of any State law, except where com-
pliance with such provision of law would result in a violation of a
provision of this Act.

(b) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, no provi-
sion of State Law shall be construed to prohibit any person from
taking any action authorized by this Act or from making any
expenditure * * * which he could lawfully make under this Act.

It might be argued that if Congress intended the 1974 Amendments to
preempt state statutes like Section 84.830, it would have continued in
effect the language of subsection (b) and expressly provided that no
state law shall prohibit any person from making any contribution he
could lawfully make under the FECA.

In view of the sweeping preemption clauses that Congress did enact in
1974, however, its failure to use language that would deal precisely with
measures like Section 84.830 is of little significance. The legislative
history of the preemption provisions of the 1974 Amendments pre-
cludes any suggestion that Congress meant to expand the permissible
scope of state regulation. Congress manifestly had precisely the oppo-
site intent. Congress evidently believed that the broad preemption
clauses of the 1974 Amendments would subsume the much narrower
preemption provision of the unamended 1971 Act. (We note in addition
that when Congress enacted 2 U.S.C. (Supp. II 1972) 453(b), it appar-
ently was concerned with expenditures by and on behalf of candidates,
not by individuals expressing their support for candidates. See 117
Cong. Rec. 43396-43397 (1971).)

*The FEC has been empowered to issue advisory opinions on the
request of office holders, candidates, and political committees since
1974 (see 2 U.S.C. (Supp. IV 1974) 437f) and, since 1980, in response
to any proper request (see 2 U.S.C. 437f). The FEC has issued only one
advisory opinion dealing with a question similar to that presented by
this case. See AO 1978-66 (expressing the view that the FECA preempts
a California statute that forbids candidates from accepting contribu-
tions from registered lobbyists).

16

(Pet. App. A33) and that except for tre Louisiana law (see
Bruno v. Garsaud, 594 F.2d 1062 (Sth Cir. 1969)), and
Section 84.830 (which applies only to the Kansas City
Police Department) none of these statutes prohibits volun-
tary campaign contributions. Furthermore, there is no con-
flict in the circuits on the question whether a state may
prohibit its employees, or a certain category of employees,
from making contributions to a federal election campaign.

On the other hand, this may be an area in which there is a
particular need for the Court to clarify the law at a relatively
early stage. Prohibitions on contributions to federal cam-
paigns by state or local employees — or by other individuals
or entities that the state may assert a special interest in
regulating (see page 10, supra) — might be found not only in
the state statutes reviewed by the trial court in this case but
in municipal ordinances and administrative directives. See,
e.g., Mancuso v. Taft, 476 F.2d 187, 189 n.1 (ist Cir. 1973);
Hobbs v. Thompson, 448 F.2d 456, 457 (Sth Cir. 1971). An
individual subject to such a prohibition would be faced with
sharply divergent assessments of its legality from authorita-
tive bodies — the Missouri Supreme Court and the Eighth
Circuit have held such a restriction lawful, but the FEC has
taken the position that such a prohibition is preempted by
the FECA. See also pages, 16-17 note 9, infra. Limitations
on campaign contributions implicate the First Amendment
right to freedom of speech (see Buckley, 424 U.S. at 12-38),
and in this sensitive area there is much to be said for not
leaving individuals in a state of such uncertainty.° It would

’Petitioner contends (Pet. 5-15) that Section 84.830, at least as ap-
plied to contributions to federal election campaigns, violates the First
Amendment and the Equal Protection Clause. (Both dissenting judges
below noted that the resolution of the First Amendment issue raised by
petitioner might differ depending on whether Section 84.830 was ap-
plied to federal elections or only to state and local elections. See Pet.
App. A20, A24.) Because, as we have explained, Congress has occupied

17

therefore not be inappropriate for the Court to grant review
in this case.!°

Respectfully submitted.

Rex E. LEE
Solicitor General

RICHARD K. WILLARD
Acting Assistant Attorney General

Davip A. STRAUSS
Assistant to the Solicitor General

JOHN CORDES
CARLENE V. MCINTYRE
Attorneys

May 1985

the field of regulating the perinissble sources of contributions to federal
campaigns and has not seen fit to enact a total prohibition on campaign
contributions comparable to Section 84.830, there is no need for the
Court to address these constitutional issues in this case.

While there is no clear conflict in the circuits on the First Amendment
issue raised by petitioners, dictum in the Fifth Circuit’s decisicn in
Bruno v. Garsaud, supra, is incoasistent with both the decision below
and the Eighth Circuit’s decision in Reeder v. Kansas City Board of
Police Commissioners, supra. In Bruno, the Fifth Circuit, in consider-
ing the provisions of Louisiana jaw that prohibit political contributions
by state employees, stated that it had “strong doubts that [that prohibi-
tion] could constitutionally be enforced to prohibit Louisiana classified
employees, at least when acting as private citizens without any fanfare
or publicity, from making contributions to a political candidate or
party. * * * Insofar as the statute does purport to proscribe altogether
this constitutionally protected conduct, it sweeps too broadly.” 594
F.2d at 1064. See also Wachsman v. City of Dallas, 704 F.2d 160, 174
(Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1012 (1983).

10We note that an appeal of the judgment of the Missouri Supreme
Court apparently would have been within this Court’s mandatory juris-
diction. 28 U.S.C. 1257(2).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2998%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
