# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Coyne v. Ohio

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2914%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 828

## Text

Office - Supreme Court, U.S.

838-1975 FILED
Bs excita m a
L. STEVAS,
CLERK
In The ;

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1983

°

JOHN E. COYNE,

Petitioner,
vs.

THE STATE OF OHIO,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRiT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
COURT OF APPEALS, TWELFTH APPELLATE
DISTRICT, CLERMONT COUNTY, OHIO

Awnprew B. DENNISON
200 Main Street
Batavia, Ohio, 45103
(513) 732-6800

Attorney for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIE PRINTING CO., (800) 835-7427 Ext. 333

Ot ag OE,

1

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I.

Whether the conduct of a prosecuting attorney con-
stitutes misconduct denying the petitioner his right to fair
trial repugnant to the Fifth, Sixth and Fourteenth Amend-
ments of the Constitution of the United States, where, in
closing argument before a jury, comment is made on the
petitioner’s exercise of his Fifth and Sixth Amendment
rights and comment on matters which were not evidence
in the case and which was designed to prejudice petitioner.

Il.

Whether the felonious assault crime in the state of
Ohio, which requires the mental culpability state of “know-
ingly,” defined, in pertinent part, as “regardless of pur-

b

pose,” and as instructed by the trial court to the jury,

mandates that the jury disregard petitioner’s “purpose”
in his defense of self-defense, which shifts from the prose-
cution its burden of proof beyond a reasonable doubt of
criminal intent and impesed upon the petitioner the bur-
den to prove his self-defense beyond a reasonable doubt,
or at a minimum by a preponderance of evidence, as to his
“purpose” of defending himself, as being repugnant to
due process of law vested by the Fifth and Fourteenth
Amendments of the Constitution of the United States.

IIT.

Whether the verdicts of the jury were inconsistent in
the acquittal of petitioner for the state crime of murder
but in finding petitioner guilty of two counts of the state

crime of felonious assault, as a lesser included offense of

il

attempted murder, and were repugnant to the Due Process
Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment of the Constitution
of the United States, where the evidence established that
petitioner, a property owner, guarding his business prop-
erty at night, was confronted by three thieves on his
property in the dark and, to stop the advance of the three
intruders toward petitioner, he discharged a firearm to-
ward the intruders in which one is killed and the other two
receive injury from debris and not gunshot, and the self-
defense justification for killing one thief is transferred to
the two thieves sustaining injury, as a transferred inno-
cent intent, requiring acquittal following the verdict as to
the murder charge.

a

ili

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE
COURT OF APPEALS, TWELFTH APPELLATE
DISTRICT, CLERMONT COUNTY, OHIO

The caption of the case in this court contains the
names of all parties.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Pages

Questions Presented For Review

Parties to the Proceedings Before the Court of Ap-
peal, Twelfth Appellate District, Clermont County,
GEE -siaadiratepeaiapniosssisicinsnpustcbnanibnttinaicnsalans Z

RR ee eae

BERET RE Fe Se en kT Xe

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved ..

We I a escieeusinmasieeliuiaiiaben

Reasons For Granting The Writ

INI Schccderstarithacalchaiey nies cstiesishasieaniocsiclovirdlgsaibomssinestionetedunsinacomanet

RR AN RAR A Ns I SA Da eT
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CasEs:

Berger v. United States, 295 U.S. 78 (1935) ...............

Cole v. Arkansas, 333 U.S. 196 (1948) 0
Engle v. Isaac, 456 U.S. 107, 102 S.Ct. 1558 (1982) .....
Erwin v. State, 29 Ohio St. 186 (1876)
Escobedo v. Illinois, 378 U.S. 478 (1964)
Gregory v. City of Chicago, 394 U.S. 111 (1969)

Griffin v. California, 380 U.S. 609 (1965) 200. .
In Re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970) 00. snkgnaonaes
Isaac v. Engle, 646 F.2d 1129 (6th Cir., 1980) 00.
Marts v. State, 26 Ohio St. 162 (1875)
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966) 00.
Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. 684 (1975) 0... iaeicue

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Cortinued

Pages

State v. Agner, 30 Ohio App.2d 96, 283 N.E.2d 443

PUTTITIIID. ‘ctashaceisetllenictinsalagiibandi-ousiiacusteteaiassolechaceseiieanaualmeamieidinaseasiiiele 16
State v. Clifton, 32 Ohio App.2d 284, 290 N.E.2d

ES. UNTIIN wchasdosiapcteaateeeeniiteentacdaabiaeingsbclinasiniciatnbnaateanenaed 20, 23
State v. Hill, 52 Ohio App.2d 393, 370 N.E.2d 775

SEMEN DD scicesincienheccnchaaneieheicsvetihccbiaS nighebaan 16
State v. Melchior, 56 Ohio St.2d 15, 381 N.E.2d

Ie I cictcsscciesethseniclerisinlnncictahibelaisndeitaitalbaeadailitesliadindiibeabsioite 19
State v. Muskin, 158 Ohio St. 276, 109 N.E.2d 15

ITI « iasechelesdscaai dass biiasspaitdenslecaphedialcesisabassoioasasdiadlgniniahciealiniiaanatan 16
State v. Poole, 33 Ohio St.2d 18, 294 N.E.2d 888

CIT | caulaciceanshdashdianain animasinblnpaaiseeaanaaammanaNaalaaes 19
State v. Robbins, 58 Ohio St.2d 74, 388 N.E.2d

PANE PIED sch: kere ceiestelnpliandane lig ialtneadanmnaniaaienmniaititl 19
State v. Stephens, 24 Ohio St.2d 72, 263 N.E.2d

Oe IEE icici aechinssnheiniidicinininlaelininnipeacakateiadlingaaanenaiies 16, 17
State v. Thayer, 124 Ohio St. 1, 176 N.E.2d 656

ESIIIED - snsaiiestnsiesdactenebdeighdietedisdeeniaiiaiscgaicaiaiioeaaaaaiisiaidaamaaian 17
United States v. Brinson, 411 F.2d 1057 (6th Cir.,

TEE: sinicesssnccsaninaneite ON re Mare NE Nn BIH TN TE 16
United States v. Nolan, 416 F.2d 588 (10th Cir.,

SUI winsdivnsnialersesnensesediciitpnitaciecaanpaeedisndiaaianiaainaaals 16
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS:
Fifth Amendment of the Constitution of the United

ID ciciticccntedetedaiasmmsabaemaomnaeaiiae 3, 12, 14, 17, 18
Sixth Amendment of the Constitution of the United

States . ss saiiatabcchacaciutsciesnucis sien claciideapaetiaceaNe me merle ane 3, 12, 14

Fourteenth Amendment of the Constitution of the
United States — 3, 13, 14, 13, 18, 21,

vi

TABLE OF AU'THORITIES—Continued

STATUTES:

Section 2901.05, Revised Code of Ohi nn.

Section 2901.21, Revised Code of Ohio ..... |

Section 2901.22, Revised Code of Ohio ...................... ;

Section 2903.02, Revised Code of Ohio .....................

Section 2903.11, Revised Code of Ohio ....................

28 U.S.C. Section 1257(3)

ES

°

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1983

JOHN E. COYNE,

Petitioner,
vs.

THE STATE OF OHIO,
Respondent.

?

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
COURT OF APPEALS, TWELFTH APPELLATE
DISTRICT, CLERMONT COUNTY, .HIO

sy.
“

OPINIONS BELOW

The orders of the Supreme Court of Ohio overruling
petitioner’s motion to certify the record and dismissing
petitioner’s appeal as of right are unreported and set
forth herein as Appendices A and B, respectively. The

1

to

opinion of the Court of Appeals, Twelfth Appellate Dis-
trict, Clermont County, Ohio, affirming the conviction of
petitioner is unreported and set forth herein as Appendix
C. The Judgment Entry on Jury Verdict; the Entry De-
nying Motions; and the Entry Sentencing Defendant of
the Court of Common Pleas, Clermont County, Ohio, are
unreported and set forth herein as Appendices D, E and
F, respectively.

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals, Twelfth Appellate District,
Clermont County, Ohio, affirmed the judgments and sen-
tence of the Court of Common Pleas, Clermont County,
Ohio, on September 30, 1983. The Supreme Court of Ohio
refused to accept petitioner's appeal and dismissed the
motion for leave to appeal and the appeal as of right on
April 4, 1984.

The jurisdiction of this Court is founded upon the
presence of federal questions governed by the Constitu-
tion of the United States as a continuity of state appellate
review to provide procedural and substantive due process
safeguards within the state of Ohio’s criminal justice sys-
tem. The issues raised for review range from prosecutor-
ial misconduct, in jury comment within the spectrum from
statements not contained within the evidence to comment
upon petitioner’s right to remain silent and to confer with
counsel, to burden shift upon such fundamental concepts

of criminal intent under state law clashing with the his-
torical right of self-defense and inconsistency of verdicts

3

implicating the transfer of innocent intent. Each issue
complements the other to establish a clear demarcation
from essential due process of law concepts protected by
the Constitution.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. Section 1257(3) and Part V of the Rules of this
Court.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fifth, Sixth and pertinent provisions of the Four-
teenth Amendments of the Constitution of the United
States are set forth in Appendix G. Sections 2901.05,
2901.21, 2901.22, 2903.02, 2903.11 and 2923.02, Revised

Code of Ohio, are set forth in Appendix H.

sy
Vv

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner John E. Coyne is the owner and operator
of a scrap metal and salvage business situated on Twelve
Mile Road in Clermont County, Ohio. The business prem-
ises consist of 56 acres, fenced, lighted and with a small
office housing tools, portable radios and other equipment.
The premises contain large machinery, scrap, crushed ve-
hicles, discarded vehicles and various metals.

Over a period of years petitioner had experienced sev-

eral thefts. He had employed night watchmen to appre-

hend thieves and experimented with lighting the premises
at night without success in deterring inventory and equip-
ment loss. On only one occasion were the police successful
in apprehending the thief and recovering the stolen prop-
erty.

Approximately two months before August 28, 1981 peti-
tioner commenced guarding his property at night to pro-
tect against thefts. On August 28, 1981 he was asleep in
a closed truck. He kept with him a Heckler and Kock .308
caliber semi-automatic rifle and a Mauser .380 caliber pis-
tol. The rifle was equipped with a 20-cartridge magazine
and the handgun with a seven-round clip.

Philip Osborne, age 18, deceased, Leslie Oberschlake,
age 16, and Anthony Dodson, age 16, around 6:30 to 7:00
p.m. visited a friend until approximately midnight on Au-
gust 27, 1981. While at the friend’s house the trio drank
Little Kings Ale and smoked marijuana. After leaving
the friend’s home the three elected to go to petitioner’s
business premises to steal a tire and wheel. Enroute they
smoked more marijuana.

The three arrived at petitioner’s business and Os-
borne backed his automobile into a lane paralleling the
front fence of the business premises and parked the ear.
The three crawled under the east gate of petitioner’s fence
and in four or five trips gathered radiators and batteries
and placed them at the gate. They crawled under the gate
and carried the items to the vehicle placing the batteries
in the trunk and the radiators in the back seat.

The night was dark, misting rain, foggy and neither
natural nor artificia! light was present.

nL ORL EEA et

Petitioner was awakened by what he thought was the
sound of a footstep on gravel and he heard muffled voices.
He was sleeping in white long underwear and being con-
cerned that he would be detected by what he assumed to
be intruders, he dressed as quickly and as quietly as pos-
sible. He took with him from the truck the rifle, hand-
gun and a flashlight. Petitioner proceeded to his office,
inspected the door and lock, found them to be intact, and
carefully, fearing detection, illuminated the flashlight
briefly into the office to satisfy himself that his tools and
equipment had not been stolen.

Petitioner proceeded east toward the area where he
thought he heard noises. As he proceeded eastward the
trio had reentered the premises and were walking in a
southwesterly direction. The time was approximately
12:30 a.m.

At a substantial distance from the gate there was an
area containing an air compressor, cable and several bar-
rels filled with debris. As the three came into the air com-
pressor-barrel area the petitioner was approximately 10
to 20 feet south and slightly west of them. He saw one
individual in the lead, followed by two others. He fired a
warning shot from the rifle over their heads, followed im-
mediately by the command to stop. The three continued
forward and petitioner immediately directed rifle fire to-
ward them to halt the advance. At that point petitioner
lost sight of two of the three and did not see the two
again until he discovered them later at the Weiner resi-
dence, two houses east of his property. Osborne, the lead
individual, continued to advance toward petitioner. Peti-
tioner continued to fire the rifle until he had exhausted its

magazine. (At an undetermined point Osborne sustained
a rifle wound to his upper right arm.) Osborne advanced
a distance of approximately 40 feet south from the initial
contact into the premises and toward petitioner. At that
point and from a distance greater than eight feet peti-
tioner fired one round from the handgun which fatally
struck Osborne. Within approximately four minutes Os-

borne died. There were no powder burns present on the
body.

Petitioner then commenced searching for the remain-
ing two individuals. He first searched around the bar-
rel area where he had last seen them and proceeded from
his property where he observed the parked vehicle. He
cautiously approached the car and observed blood on the
vehicle, concluding that the two individuals were wounded
and no longer a threat to him. He returned to his office
and telephoned the Sheriff’s dispatcher reporting an at-
tempted breaking and entering. The time recorded by the
dispatcher was 12:56 a.m. He then telephoned his at-
torney and requested his presence.

Petitioner commenced searching again for the other
two individuals. He heard knocking and approaching
the Weiner residence observed Dodson and Oberschlake
on the front porch. He noted that they were wounded,
advised them to stop pounding and that help had been
summoned. He returned to his office, met his attorney
and telephoned the Sheriff’s dispatcher requesting a life
squad. The time recorded for the second call was 1:06
am. At approximately 1:08 a.m. the first police officer
arrived at the scene.

At 2:30 a.m. a police officer, in the presence of coun-
sel, obtained a recorded statement from the petitioner.

He stated the foregoing events and further stated that
in the dark he was unable to discern if the three indi-
viduals had weapons. He stated that he first observed
them walking between barrels near the air compressor
and that it was then, and thereafter, difficult to distin-
guish forms in the dark. At the approximate location
of a fan blade petitioner fired a warning shot, ordered
them to stop and, as they advanced, directed fire toward
them. At that point he stated that he lost sight of two
while the third continued to advance and he continued
to direct fire to stop the advance until he had exhausted
the 20-round magazine.

Petitioner stated that he was approximately 10 to 20
feet from the group when he first discharged the rifle.
He stated that the second shot came moments after the
first. He stated that he was not taking account of time
or distance, that adrenaline was pumping through his
body and that he was in fear for his life with three as-
sailants coming toward him on his property and in the
dark. He was concerned about the three being armed
and he being outnumbered. Upon discharging the weapon
the three dispersed, he couldn’t locate two of them and he
feared retaliation from the two of whom he had lost vis-
ual contact.

On September 1, 1981 petitioner was again ques-
tioned by the police in the presence of counsel. He re-
lated again the foregoing events. In response to ques-
tions he stated that distances continued to vary, that
he and the others were in motion, he and they may have
stopped at points in time, he lost visual contact at times,
he may have retreated, but he didn’t know. He didn’t
think that he remained in one position and felt that his

position must have changed because he was attempting
to prevent any retalition by the two of whom he had lost
visual contact. Both recorded statements by petitioner
were introduced into evidence and presented to the jury.

Dodson and Oberschlake testified that while they
were in the barrel area that the ground exploded—one
stated that a barrel was blown into two parts: there
was no evidence of any explosions or barrels damaged,
except for bullet holes—and that they did not see or hear
anyone. Each stated that when the “explosions” com-
menced they fell to the ground and then ran from the
property, waited for a period of time at the automobile
for Osborne and then proceeded to the residences seek-
ing help. They heard no command to stop, but each
admitted that following the first discharge from the rifle
that their ears were ringing and they could not hear.
Neither Dodson nor Oberschlake sustained a gunshot
wound; each was wounded from debris mainly in the
front of their bodies. There was no evidence as to the
location where they sustained injury. Dodson and Ober-
schlake were hospitalized, respectively, 16 and 8 days.
Each was adjudicated delinquent in a juvenile proceed-
ing for theft.

The physical evidence revealed two patterns, of
ten spent casings approximately 34 feet apart. Spent
casings from the rifle ejected forward and to the right
at a 45-degree angle for a distance of approximately 12
to 19 feet. The first group of casings was near the bar-
rel area, consistent with petitioner’s statement that when
he first discharged the rifle they were in the barrel area
and he was approximately 10 to 20 feet from them:
plae ag petitioner in the area of the fan blade. The sec-

rere

ond group of casings was 32 feet south and slightly west
of the first group and a short distance from where the
spent Mauser casing was found. This was consistent
with the consumption of the rifle magazine, the continu-
ing approach of Osborne, rifle fire directed toward the
advancing Osborne; and Dodson and Oberschlake at all
time being in that path of fire, and the fatal handgun
shot.

Human blood was found in the barrel area, in the
location where the fatal shot was fired, from the barrel
area to the east gate, on Twelve Mile Road and on the
vehicle.

From the east gate to the area of the fatal shot, the
deepest point into the property concerning the events,
the terrain is a severe incline. Ali builet holes in the
barrel area were three feet and less from the ground,
one bullet hole being found in the fan blade on the
ground. The remaining bullet holes, at the greater dis-
tance and at a severe descent from the area, and in the
direction of fire, were found in a rear fender of a junked
automobile near the gate, one bullet hole in the gatepost
and two in the gate.

It was determined by police test that the rifle was
eapable of firing 20 rounds in 13 seconds. The prosecu-
tion’s firearms expert stated that the weapon was ex-
tremely accurate, has a velocity of twenty-seven hundreds
feet per second with the ability to penetrate and pass
through metal as ‘‘a terrific amount of penetration.”

Petitioner requested the trial court to grant a judg-
ment of acquittal at the close of the state’s case on the
basis that the prosecution’s evidence had failed to estab-

10

lish a prima facie case of murder and attempted murder
and had, to the contrary, established, as a matter of law,
petitioner’s self-defense. The trial court denied petition-
er’s motion.

Petitioner offered two photographs into evidence, did
not testify, offered no further evidence and rested his case.

In final argument to the jury, the prosecutor stated
that Osborne went into petitioner’s property wearing eye
glasses (there were no eye glasses on the corpse and
police recovered the eye glasses from the driver’s side
on the dash of the automobile), that Osborne’s eyesight
was comparable to the prosecutor’s and that he, the
prosecutor, would not have gone onto the property in the
dark without his glasses. He misstated evidence and
opined as to what would be general conduct of lighting
an area to deter thefts. He continued, stating that peti-
tioner was not present to protect his property but to
lure, hunt and punish a thief. The prosecutor misstated
that petitioner was required to prove that he was not the
aggressor and that he did not provoke the confrontation
with full knowledge that the trial court was going to in-
struct the jury that petitioner was not at fault in creat-
ing the situation.

The prosecutor told the jury that the petitioner
waited 25 minutes before he called the police, failed to
advise that he had killed an individual, and stated that
petitioner was acting out a fantasy. Continuing, he stated
that the petitioner waited 25 minutes deciding what to
do with the body, commenting that the petitioner did not
tell the police that the body was there because he was
thinking of removing the body, otherwise he would have
reported it. The jury was advised that petitioner didn’t

11

report the body in the first call to the police or in the
second eall, and that his third and fourth statements to the
police were made in the presence of, and after consultation
with, counsel, followed by: “[we] don’t know. They don’t
answer many questions.’’ He concluded by stating that if
the jury found the petitioner not guilty they should elect
him sheriff.

Petitioner moved the trial court for a mistrial on the
basis of prosecutorial misconduct. The trial judge denied
the motion without admonishment to the jury.

At the appropriate point in the court’s instruction
to the jury petitioner objected to the instruction that
petitioner must establish self-defense by a preponder-
ance of evidence and that the burden of proof shift was
a denial of due process. The trial court declined to cor-
rect the instruction.

The jury returned verdicts of not guilty as to the
murder and attempted murder counts, but found petition-
er guilty of felonious assault.

Following receipt of the verdicts, petitioner timely
moved the trial court, in the alternative, for judgment of
acquittal and for a new trial. The grounds for the mo-
tions were that self-defense was the basis for the mur-
der acquittal finding an innocent mens rea which must
be transferred to Dodson’s and Oberschlake’s injuries,
rendering the verdicts inconsistent; that the regardless-
of-purpose provision in the criminal intent aspect of fe-
lonious assault denied to petitioner due process of law
vested by the Fourteenth Amendment as a burden shift
from the state to the petitioner on his plea of self-de-
fense; and the misconduct of the prosecutor in closing

de

a ie |

12

argument, including petitioner’s right to remain silent
and to consult with counsel commentary, together with
other comment, was designed to prejudice petitioner and
deny to him his constitutional right of fair trial. The
trial court denied petitioner’s motions.

Petitioner was sentenced to not less than three nor
more than fifteen years in the Ohio State Penitentiary
on each count, sentences to be consecutive.

From the judgments and sentence of the trial court,
petitioner pursued his appeal before the state appellate
court. Petitioner again raised the issue that the trial
court’s denial of petitioner’s motion for mistrial and
motions for acquittal and new trial based upon prosecu-
torial misconduct denied to petitioner rights vested to
him by the Fifth, Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments of
the Constitution of the United States as a denial of fair
trial, inciuding impermissible comment on _petitioner’s
right to remain silent and to consult with counsel. He
further raised the issue of the trial court’s erroneous
instruction to the jury imposing upon petitioner the bur-
den of establishing self-defense by a preponderance ot
evidence and that the criminal intent aspect of felonious
assault, instructing the jury to disregard the purpose for
petitioner’s conduct, shifted the burden of proof from
the state to petitioner, as timely raised by petitioner
at trial and by motion which denied to petitioner due
process of law vested to him by the Fifth and Fourteenth
Amendments of the Constitution of the United States.
The final issue raised and pursued here was the denial
of due process in petitioner’s conviction for felonious
assault as being inconsistent with the verdict of acquit-
tal for murder where the innocent criminal intent of selt-

13

defense on the murder charge was transferred, and must
be applied, to the felonious assault charge.

The foregoing issues were presented to the Supreme
Court of Ohio; however, that court declined to accept
jurisdiction of the appeal.

°

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Petitioner seeks a review by this Court to safeguard
petitioner’s right to fair trial within due process con-
cepts within the state court criminal justice system to im-
pose restraints upon the prosecutorial misconduct here
by establishing constitutional guidelines for the conduct
of prosecutors in state criminal prosecutions.

Petitioner further seeks pronouncement by this Court
of the constitutional standard of due process applicable
in the circumstances of this case involving Ohio’s feloni-
ous assault statute’s application of a criminal culpability
standard directing a jury to disregard the petitioner’s
purpose, in which such purpose is central to and the es-
sence of his self-defense conduct thereby transferring
the burden of proof imposed upon the state to the peti-
tioner who must then overcome the disability of the irre-
concilable conflict between the mens rea element of the
felonious assault crime and the defense of self-defense.

Thirdly, petitioner seeks review of his denial of fun-
damental due process in a state court criminal proceed-
ing in the inconsistent verdicts of acquittal of murder
and guilt of felonious assauit in which the self-defense

14

which is recognized as to the murder charge is disre-
garded in consideration of the offense of felonious assault
in which that assault is the same conduct of defending
one’s self and for which the innocent mens rea must of
necessity be transferred from one to the other offense.

ARGUMENT

I.

Whether the conduct of a Prosecuting Attorney
constitutes misconduct denying the Petitioner his
right to fair trial repugnant to the Fifth, Sixth
and Fourteenth Amendments of the Constitution
of the United States, where, in closing argument
before a jury, comment is made on the Petition-
er’s exercise of his Fifth and Sixth Amendment
rights and comment on matters which were not
evidence in the case and which was designed to
prejudice Petitioner.

The comments of the prosecutor presented to the
jury during closing arguments were not isolated but were
a stream of innuendo, statements unsupported by evi-
dence, testimony by the prosecutor and improper com-
ment on the petitioner’s exercise of constitutional priv-
ileges. The statements of the prosecutor were calculated
to invite the jury to conclude that the crime scene had
been altered during a 25-minute period, based upon the
prosecutor’s superior knowledge to that of the jury, and,
thus, he sought the jury’s conclusion that the petitioner
was manufacturing his plea of self-defense. Those com-

15

ments reached all phases of the jury’s consideration of
the petitioner’s conduct, thus reaching the issue of the
felonious assault crime.

The prosecutor’s argument to the jury was designed
to deprive petitioner of his right of fair trial contained
within the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment of the Constitution of the United States. This
Court set the standard in Berger v. United States, 295
U.S. 78, 88 (1935), holding that where a prosecutor in-
vites the jury to conclude some matter pretended to be
within the knowledge of the prosecutor, which is inher-
ently unfair, the rule of law clearly present is that such
conduct is an improper method calculated to produce a
wrongful conviction based upon the jurors’ confidence
that the prosecutor will discharge his obligations faith-
fully. Such improper suggestions and assertions of per-
sonal knowledge carry much weight against the accused
when they properly should carry none. Unfortunately,
the state appellate court while tacitly finding error preju-
dicial to the petitioner vainly attempted to bifureate the
case into compartments pertaining to the crime of mur-
der and to the crimes of felonious assault without regard
to the fundamental! principle that the prejudice to the
petitioner is so highly probable that its non-existence
cannot be assumed, and where the conduct is pronounced
and persistent, with a probable cumulative effect upon
the jury, it cannot be disregarded as inconsequential and
the accused has been stripped of his constitutional right
to due process of law. Berger v. United States, supra, 89.

The prosecutor’s comments suggesting what the peti-
tioner should have said to the Sheriff’s dispatcher are of
similar import to a prosecutor’s statement: “Why didn’t

16

the accused tell the police that the prescription was good”
found to be constitutionally impermissible by the Supreme
Court of Ohio. State v. Stephens, 24 Ohio St. 2d 76, 263
N.E.2d 773, 774 (1970). Of like effect is United States v.
Brinson, 411 F.2d 1057 (6th Cir., 1969), holding that cross-
examination of a defendant was plain error affecting a sub-
stantial constitutional right where the prosecutor posed
questions as to whether the accused had discussed his as-
serted defense with any prosecuting agent or law enforce-
ment officer; and United States v. Nolan, 416 F.2d 588
(10th Cir., 1969), holding that a prosecutor’s closing argu-
ment to a jury was plain error where he commented on
the accused’s failure to make exculpatory statements to
police when arrested.

The prosecutor’s comments concerning giving the peti-
tioner a medal for being a lousy shot and if they acquitted
him he should be elected sheriff had been previously de-
termined to constitute a constitutional denial of fair trial
by Ohio appellate courts in State v. Agner, 30 Ohio App.
2d 96, 283 N.E.2d 443 (1972); State v. Muskin, 158 Ohio
St. 276, 109 N.E.2d 15 (1952); and State v. Hill, 52 Ohio
App.2d 393, 370 N.E.2¢ 775 (1977).

The Court of Appeals in the instant case erroneously
applied Ohio’s contemporaneous objection rule, in part,
in disregard for the application of the plain error rule.
Prosecutorial comment on petitioner’s exercise of consti-
tutional privilege is indistinguishable from comments re-
quiring the application of the plain error rule in United
States v. Nolan, supra; United States v. Brinson, supra;
and as applied by the Ohio Supreme Court in State v. Hill,
supra; and in which it was the duty of the trial court to

17

interpose and admonish counsel, State v. Thayer, 124 Ohio
1, 176 N.E.2d 656 (1931), for which neither objection nor
curative instruction could effectively erase the impact
from the jury’s mind, State v. Stevens, supra.

Statements by the prosecutor that the petitioner didn't
report the body in his telephone calls to the police
and in petitioner’s statements to the police after
consultation with counsel didn’t answer many ques-
tions, were comments made where this petitioner
did not testify at his trial. Those comments were
governed, as to Fifth Amendment privilege denial,
by Griffin v. California, 380 U.S. 609 (1965), and as to
Sixth Amendment right denial by Escobedo v. Iilinots, 378
U.S. 478 (1964), coupled with the clear admonition of
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966). While the tele-
phone calls to police and statements made to police offi-
cers became evidence, they nonetheless did not permit com-
ment on what was not said and did not constitute a waiver
of Fifth Amendment privilege where the petitioner elected
not to testify at trial. The prosecutor’s comments vio-
lated petitioner’s constitutional privilege and his right to
a fair trial.

Petitioner was entitled as a matter of due process of
law to a fair trial free from the comments present in this
record. A conviction permitted to stand based upon such
conduct is constitutionally impermissible.

II.

Whether the felonious assault crime in the State
of Ohio, which requires the mental culpability
state of “knowingly,” defined, in pertinent part,
as “regardless of purpose,” and as instructed by

18

the trial court to the jury, mandates that the jury
disregard Petitioner’s “purpose” in his defense of
self-defense, which shifts from the prosecution its
burden of proof beyond a reasonable doubt of
criminal intent and imposed upon the Petitioner
the burden to prove his self-defense beyond a rea-
sonable doubt, or at a minimum by a preponder-
ance of evidence, as to his “purpose” of defending
himself, as being repugnant to due process of law
vested by the Fifth and Fourieenth Amendments
of the Constiiution of the United States.

Murder in the state of Ohio imposes the burden of
proof upon the state to prove the criminal intent element
of “purpose.” Section 2903.02, Revised Code of Ohio.
Felonious assault in Ohio, to the contrary, imposes the
criminal intent element of “knowingly” cause physical harm
to another by means of a deadly weapon. Section 2903.11,
Revised Code of Ohio.

Section 2901.22, Revised Code of Ohio, sets forth the
culpable mental states for each of the aforestated crimes
at paragraphs A and B, respectively, in which the intent
element of “purpose” does not contain the disability pres-
ent in the “knowingly” element. Mens rea is established
upon the finding that a person acts knowingly when he is
aware that his conduct will probably cause a certain re-
sult or will probably be of a certain nature, without re-
gard for the purpose of his conduct. Section 2901.22(B),
Revised Code of Ohio.

Self-defense is conduct of a significant purpose in a
homicide or assault criminal prosecution. An individual’s
right of self-defense is found early in the common law

19

and is a justification for the criminal act. See Erwin v.
State, 29 Ohio St. 186 (1876), at 194-99, for a discussion
of the subject in Ohio by early commentators.

The Ohio Supreme Court in State v. Robbins, 58 Ohio
St.2d 74, 388 N.E.2d 755 (1979) established the state of
Ohio’s law on the subject of self-defense. The elements
of the defense are that the petitioner was not at fault in
creating the situation necessitating defense (which the
trial court found as a matter of law); the petitioner be-
lieved he was in imminent danger of death or serious bod-
ily harm from which his only means of escape lay in the
use of force, although he may have been mistaken as to
the existence or imminence of danger; and the petitioner
did not violate any duty to retreat from or avoid the dan-
ger given the confrontation (in which no duty of retreat
was present where petitioner was on his property). State
v. Robbins, supra; State v. Me!chtor, 56 Ohio St.2d 15, 381
N.E.2d 195 (1978); Erw% v. Siute, supra; Marts v. State,
26 Ohio St. 162 (1875).

As stated by the state apneijate court, the plea of
self-defense is a justification for the admitted conduct in
which the accused claims exemption from liability where
the facts claimed by the prosecution are true. State v.
Poole, 33 Ohio St.2d 18, 294 N.E.2d 888, at 889 (1973).

The clash thus is presented between Ohio’s felonious
assault’s mens rea and the purpose for the conduct, de-
fense of one’s self, where the statute requires disregard
for that purpose. It is such a set of circumstances that
prompted the court in Jsaac v. Engle, 646 F.2d 1129, 1136
(6th Cir., 1980) to remark concerning Ohio’s law on ag-
gravated assault (possessing the same culpable mental

20

state as felonious assault) that the criminal intent of as-
sault and self-defense are completely irreconcilable, in
which the requirement posed upon the accused to establish
self-defense is to require him to disprove criminal intent.
This Court reversed the Sixth Circuit on the basis that
while the respondent there revealed a colorable constitu-
tional claim on the burden of proof issue, the matter was
barred because of failure to comply with Ohio’s procedure
for raising the contention. Engle v. Isaac, 456 U.S. 107,
102 S.Ct. 1558 (1982). As noted by this Court, Ohio only
punishes actions that are voluntary and unlawful. 102
S.Ct., at 1568. Citing State v. Clifton, 32 Ohio App.2d
284, 286-87, 290 N.E.2d 921, 923 (1972) this Court recog-
nized the state of Ohio’s law that one who kills in self-
defense does so without the mens rea that otherwise would
render the accused culpable of the homicide. 102 8.Ct.,
at 1568.

It is clear from this Court’s pronuncement in In Re
Winship, 397 U.S. 358, 364 (1970) that the prosecution
must prove beyond a reasonable doubt every fact necessary
to constitute the crime charge, i.e., each element of the
offense and essentially that the accused, in Ohio, not only
engaged in a voluntary act but did so with the requisite
degree of culpability for the specified mental state. Sec-
tion 2901.21, Revised Code of Ohio.

If the criminal culpability was set from the backdrop
of classic mens rea to do the act with a criminal mind the
issue would not be complex. Here, however, the culpable
mental state for Ohio’s crime of telonious assault clearly
sets out the voluntariness of the act on the basis of aware-
ness by the accused, but becomes constitutionally imper-

21

missible by requiring that the purpose for which the act
is performed must be disregarded where the central, es-
sential issue of self-defense is the purpose for doing the
act.

Ohio’s felonious assault statute is constitutionally in-
firm as applied to a self-defense case for the same reason
that this Court found the Maine rule requiring the accused
charged with murder to prove that he acted in the heat of
passion on sudden provocation in order to reduce the
charge to manslaughter where malice aforethought was an
essential element of murder under Maine law. Mullaney
v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. 684 (1975). Petitioner in order to
prove self-defense was required not only to establish his
plea by a preponderance of evidence but to go further and
to negate the criminal culpability mental state for feloni-
ous assault, a circumstance he can never establish where
Ohio disregards his purpose of self-defense by its position
that when he directs fire against assailants, albeit to pro-
tect himself, he is aware that his conduct will probably
result in injury to his assailants.

Once it was established that petitioner fired the rifle
and that two of the assailants sustained wounds from
debris the burden of proof shifted from the state to the
petitioner requiring him to overcome the deficit, which he
could not do where barred by the mandate to disregard his
purpose by the mental culpability state of §2903.11, Re-
vised Code of Ohio, and as defined by §2901.22(B), Re-
vised Code of Ohio. As such petitioner was denied due
process of law granted to him by the Fourteenth Amend-
ment of the Constitution of the United States.

bo
bo

Whether the verdicts of the jury were inconsistent
in the acquittal of Petitioner for the state crime of
murder but in finding Petitioner guilty of two
counts of the state crime of felonious assault, as a
lesser included offense of attempted murder, and
repugnant to the due process clause of the Four-
teenth Amendment of the Constitution of the Unit-
ed States, where the evidence established that Pe-
titioner, a property owner, guarding his business
property at night, was confronted by three thieves
on his property in the dark and, to stop the ad-
vance of the three intruders toward Peiitioner, he
discharged a firearm toward the intruders in
which one is killed and the other two receive in-
jury from debris and not gunshot, and the self-
defense justification for killing one thief is trans-
ferred to the two thieves sustaining injury, as a
transferred innocent intent, requiring acquittal
following the verdict as to the murder charge.

The rifle fire was directed toward the advancing
group to halt the advance. Initially petitioner lost sight
of Dodson and Oberschlake and continued to direct fire
toward the advancing Osborne. Dodson and Oberschlake
were in the path of that fire. They were injured by debris
resulting from rifle bullets striking and passing through
barrels filled with debris and from bullets striking the
ground and spraying debris.

The acquittal of petitioner for the murder of Osborne
is based upon petitioner’s self-defense which produces an
innocent intent in firing the rifle. The innocent intent

23

transfers and is legal justification for the wounding of
Dodson and Oberschlake.

In Ohio the governing legal rule of transferred intent
is “if A shoots at B, intending to kill B, but instead the
bullet strikes C, then A has committed a criminal act as to
C. In such instance, the ‘malice follows the blow’ and the
criminal intent of A to harm B is transferred to C.” State
v. Clifton, 32 Ohio App.2d 284, 290 N.E.2d 921, 923 (1972).
Where petitioner had no criminal intent with respect to
Osborne on the basis of self-defense as found by the jury,
the converse of the rule applies with equal force and no
criminal intent could exist to be transferred to Dodson and
Oberschlake, “the essential mens rea being impossible of
proof.” State v. Clifton, 290 N.E.2d, at 923. The absence
of mens rea as to Osborne is transferred to and becomes
an absent mens rea as to the felonious assault crimes.

The verdict of acquittal for murder is inconsistent
with the verdict of guilt for felonious assault where all
injury sustained for the felonious assault crimes was the
product of fire directed to Osborne.

The verdict of guilt present here on the inconsistency
of verdicts denies to this petitioner due process of law
granted to him by the Fourteenth Amendment of the Con-
stitution of the United States. It is as constitutionally re-
pugnant to convict an accused on a charge for which he
was never tried as upon a charge that was never made.
Cole v. Arkansas, 333 U.S. 196, 201 (1948); ef. Gregory
v. City of Chicago, 394 U.S. 111 (1969).

24

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth, certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

AnprEwW B. DeNNISON
200 Main Street
Batavia, Ohio 45103
(5138) 732-6800

Attorney for Petitioner

App. 1

APPENDIX A

THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF OHIO
1984 TERM

No. 83-1702

THE STATE OF OHIO,
City of Columbus,
State of Ohio,

Appellee,
vs.

John E. Coyne,
Appellant.

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO APPEAL
FROM THE COURT OF APPEALS
for Clermont County

(Filed April 4, 1984)
It is ordered by the Court that this motion is over.
ruled.
COSTS:
Motion Fee, $20.00, paid by Andrew B. Dennison.

I, James Wm. Kelly, Clerk of the Supreme Court of
Ohio, certify that the foregoing entry was correctly copied
from the Journal of this Court.

Witness my hand and the seal of the Court this ..
day of 19

Clerk
Deputy

App. 2
APPENDIX B

THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO
1984 TERM

No. 83-1702

THE STATE OF OHIO,
City of Columbus,
State of Ohio,
Appellee,
vs.

John E. Coyne,
Appellant.

APPEAL FROM THE COURT OF APPEALS
for Clermont County

(Filed April 4, 1984)

This cause, here on appeal as of right from the Court
of Appeals for Clermont County, was considered in the
manner prescribed by law, and, no motion to dismiss such
appeal having been filed, the Court sua sponte dismisses
the appeal for the reason that no substantial constitutional
question exists herein.

It is further ordered that a copy of this entry be certi-
fied to the Clerk of the Court of Appeals for Clermont
County for entry.

I, James Wm. Kelly, Clerk of the Supreme Court of
Ohio, certify that the foregoing entry was correctly copied
from the Journal of this Court.

Witness my hand and the seal of the Court this ..
TEE senietisnesincoanesendeecee Meant

Clerk
Deputy

App. 3

| APPENDIX ©

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS
TWELFTH APPELLATE DISTRICT OF OHIO
CLERMONT COUNTY, OHIO

Case No. CA 1154

| STATE OF OHIO,
Plaintiff-Appellee,
Vs.

| JOHN E. COYNE,

| Defendant-A ppellant.

MEMORANDUM DECISION AND
JUDGMENT ENTRY
(Filed September 30, 1983)

George E. Pattison, Prosecuting Attorney, 462 Main
Street, Batavia, Ohio 45103, for Plaintiff-Appellee.

Andrew B. Dennison, 200 Main Street, Batavia, Ohio
45103, for Defendant-Appellant.

PER CURIAM

This cause came on to be heard upon the appeal, tran-
script of the docket, journal entries and original papers
from the Court of Common Pleas of Clermont County,
Ohio, transcript of proceedings, briefs and oral arguments
of counsel.

Now, therefore, the assignments of error having been
fully considered are passed upon in conformity with App.
R. 12(A) as follows:

Between 6:30 and 7:00 P.M. on the evening of August
27, 1981, Philip Osborne, age 18, drove to the home of an
older man identified only as ‘‘Walier.’’? Beside him on

App. 4

the front seat of his green 1971 Chrysler Newport were
Leslie Oberschlake and Anthony Dodson, both age 16.
The three had been working on Osborne’s car most of the
preceding afternoon and, after buying gasoline for the car
and making a few other stops, arrived at Walter’s mobile
home located in Nicholsville, Ohio. Osborne, Ober-
schlake, and Dodson remained at the mobile home until ap-
proximately midnight, watching television, smoking mari-
juana, and drinking Little Kings Ale with Walter and his
adult son.

When they left Walter and his son, the three boys
were, in the words of Dodson, ‘‘looking for something to
do.’’ It was too early to go home, especially as the night
was in part a celebration of Dodson’s and Osborne’s birth-
days. A collective decision was made to venture to appel-
lant John Coyne’s junkyard to steal some radiators, some
batteries and a spare tire for Osborne’s car. They each
had another bottle of ale and smoked more marijuana on
the way.

The Boot Hill Auto Graveyard, owned and operated
by appellant John Coyne, is located on sixty (60) acres of
land fronting on Twelve Mile Road in Clermont County,
Ohio. Osborne parked the Chrysler on a gravel lane
across the road from the east gate of the junkyard, facing
it toward the main road to facilitate escape. The doors
and trunk of the car were left open. It was a warm,
sticky, night without moon or stars. The gravel under-
foot was moist and pliable; it had been drizzling rain
most of the night and most of the previous day. Wisps
of fog were present in the area where the car was parked,
which was at the bottom of a slope rising toward the east
gate of Boot Hill. There were no lights on in the junk-
yard.

;

App. 5

Osborne led the way as the trio crossed Twelve Mile
Road and crawled under the east gate. Having worked
part-time for Coyne for about a week in the past, Osborne
was able to thread his way through the blackness and piles
of salvage to where the batteries and radiators were piled
near the office. Dodson and Oberschlake, who had never
been to Boot Hill before, followed. Working quickly, the
boys made three or four trips from the east gate to the
office area and back carrying batteries and radiators,
stacking them just outside the gate. The salvage parts
were then carried across the road and loaded into the
Chrysler: batteries in the trunk, radiators piled in the
back seat.

One final item remained to be stolen: the spare tire
for Osborne’s car. At approximately 12:30 A.M. on
August 28, 1981, the boys crossed Twelve Mile Road to
make a second trip into the junkyard. As before, Osborne
was in the lead, followed closely by Oberschlake and
Dodson. They were not carrying lights or weapons of
any kind.

Appellant John Coyne was no stranger to theft. His
business had been victimized by repeated thefts for years,
the last occurring two (2) months prior to August 28,
1981. Some of these incidents he had reported to the
police; others he had not. In almost all of the cases in
which the police had been called, the culprits had not been
apprehended. Coyne had tried illuminating the junkyard
at night, and tried hiring night watchmen, but the thievery
continued. It was almost as if he was being watched.
The incidents always seemed to occur when the appellant
had left for the day, despite his irregular hours. In fact,
Coyne suspected that certain persons living near Boot

App. 6

Hill were responsible due to their proximity to the junk-
yard and resultant ability to monitor his comings and
goings.

Driven by his admitted ‘‘paranoia” about thefts of
his business property, John Coyne had taken to returning
to Boot Hill after supper and sleeping there, hoping to
apprehend persons attempting to steal from him. His
bed consisted of a mattress placed in the back of a junked
‘‘Dolly Madison’’ truck located a short distance from his
office, where he kept valuable tools and radios. These
were the items Coyne was most concerned about losing.
The Dolly Madison truck also contained a number of guns
and ammunition, including a Heckler and Koch .308 caliber
semi-automatic rifle and a Mauser .380 caliber automatic
pistol. Appellant stated that he had been sleeping in the
back of the truck guarding his property every night since
the last theft had occurred.

In the early morning of August 28, John Coyne was
wakened by the sound of a foot on gravel. He thought
he heard muffled voices. A car door slammed in the
direction of the east gate of the junkyard. As quietly as
possible, appellant pulled himself from the Dolly Madison
truck and dressed. After placing the .380 caliber pistol
in his pocket, Coyne picked up a flashlight and the
Heckler and Koch semi-automatic rifle and cautiously
went to investigate. He was unsure of the position of the
person or persons who had awakened him, or the stage of
their activities. He couid have heard them as they were
either entering or leaving the salvage yard.

Appellant made his way to the office, where his valu-
able tools and equipment were kept, and shined his light
through the window. He checked the recently replaced

App. 7

lock on the door. Nothing appeared to be out of order.
Satisfied that his office was secure, sppellant shut off the
light lest he be rendered an easy target for whoever
might yet be in the junkyard. Coyne began to walk slowly
toward the east gate, where he heard the voices and the
ear door.

After walking an undetermined distance in the murky
blackness, appellant saw three figures coming toward him.
It was too dark to determine if they were armed, or even
if they were only three in number. Appellant states that
he fired a warning shot with the rifle over the heads of
the figures, and uttered words to the effect of ‘‘stop’’ or
‘hold it there.’ When the lead figure continued to ad-
vance, appellant lowered the rifle and began to fire with
the purpose of defending himself from impending attack.
Coyne fired nine more rounds from this position, wound-
ing the leader, Osborne, in the shoulder. Appellant then,
according to the evidence below, advanced some thirty-two
(32) feet, passing the wounded Osborne, and fired the
rifle ten more times in the direction of the east gate. Af-
ter firing the second burst which had exhausted the rifle,
appellant drew the Mouser (sic) pistol from his pocket and
circled backward through a maze of saivage. At this point
Coyne again came upon Osborne, who was continuing to
advance toward him. Appellant fired the Mouser (sic)
once, fatally wounding Osborne in the chest.

Dodson and Oberschlake testified that they had seen
no one and heard no warnings before the first series of
shots was fired. After initially diving for cover, both got
up and ran toward the east gate of the junkyard. Al-
though each received shrapnel wounds from the rifle fire,
neither had been directly hit by Coyne’s bullets. They

App. 8

met outside the gate and returned to Osborne’s car. After
waiting in the car for a period of time, they elected to
visit nearby houses in search of aid. The first house they
tried was vacant, but at the second their knock was an-
swered by a voice from an upstairs window. Sandy
Weiner saw the two injured persons lying on her front
porch and called the New Richmond Police Department.

Meanwhile, John Coyne was concerned about the other
two shadows he had seen in the junkyard. He slid under-
neath the fence at the east gate and discovered Osborne’s
ear, which featured the fresh blood of Oberschlake and
Dodson, as well as the stolen batteries and radiators.
Coyne cautiously slid back under the gate, unlocked his
office, and telephoned the Clermont County Sheriff’s
Department to report a breaking and entering. Appellant
also telephoned his attorney. It was approximately 12:50
A.M.

Coyne then returned to the area in which the shooting
took place and continued to search. He felt sure the other
two were still in the vicinity of the east gate. Appellant
then heard Dodson and Oberschlake pounding on Weiner’s
front door. Still carrying the rifle and the flashlight,
Coyne found the two wounded boys on the porch. He
flashed the light in their eyes and advised them not to
move on threat of death. After ascertaining that Dodson
and Oberschlake were no longer dangerous to him, appel-
lant returned to his office and telephoned the sheriff’s
office again to advise that there had been shootings and
to request a life squad. It was approximately 1:04 A.M.

As a result of his encounter with appellant, Anthony
Dodson received a compound fracture of his right ankle
and numerous small wounds to the back and front of his

Bie BPR RE Ba AE SE REED ELINA IEPA DONA IIE SE,

App. 9

torso and to his arms and legs. Metal fragments were
found in his left arm, his legs, his chest, and his back. He
spent sixteen (16) days in the hospital recovering from
the injuries above. Leslie Oberschlake received multiple
lacerations to his face and scalp, two wounds to his left
big toe, and a large laceration to his right knee. Metal
was found imbedded in his sealp. Oberschlake was hos-
pitalized for eight (8) days. Dodson and Oberschlake
were both found guilty of theft offenses in juvenile court.
Philip Osborne was pronounced dead on the scene, having
sustained two gunshot wounds, one in the upper right arm
and one in the chest.

On September 10, 1981, appellant John Coyne was
indicted by the Grand Judy of Clermont County, Ohio, on
one count of murder (count one) and two counts of at-
tempted murder (counts two and three). A trial by jury
was commenced on February 11, 1982, and completed on
February 23, 1982. On February 25, 1982, the jury an-
nounced its verdict, finding appellant not guilty of mur-
der and not guilty of attempted murder, but guilty of
felonious assault (R. C. 2903.11) as to counts two and
three. On April 12, 1982, appellant was sentenced to be
contined in the Ohio State Penitentiary for not less than
three (3) nor more than fifteen (15) years for each con-
viction, the sentences to be served consecutively. Execu-
tion of the sentencing order was stayed pending appellate
review.

Appellant presents the following four assignments of
error:

FIRST ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR:

The Trial Court erred to the prejudice of the de-
fendant-appellant by denying his motion for mis-

App. 10

trial based upon prescutorial misconduct in clos-
ing argument, and thereafter denying his motion
for new trial based upon that misconduct, which
denied to defendant his rights vested by the
Fifth, Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments of the
Constitution of the United States resulting in the
denial of a fair trial.

SECOND ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR:

The Trial Court erred to the prejudice of the
defendant-appellant by instructing the jury that
the defendant must prove his claim of self-
defense by a preponderance of the evidence and
by instructing the jury that one of the essential
elements of the crime of felonious assault: to do
the act knowingly; was defined as being aware
that the conduct will probably cause a certain
result, ‘‘regardless of his purpose,’’ in which the
central issue of the case was whether defendant’s
purpose was self-defense, and as subsequently
raised and denied in his motion for judgment of
acquittal, and alternatively, new trial, in which
such instructions altered the burden of proof
imposed upon the state of beyond reasonable
doubt, thereby denying to defendant his right of
due process of law vested by “he Fifth and
Fourteenth Amendments of the Constitution of
tLe United States.

THIRD ASSIGNMENT OF" ERROR:

The trial court erred to the prejudice of the de-
fendant-appellant by denying kis motion for
judgment of acquittal made at the close of the
state’s case in chief and as made and renewed
following the verdict, where the state’s evidence
established that the defendant’s conduct was jus-
tified by law as to each and every offense, and
the respective lesser included offenses, and the
verdict and sentence must be set aside.

App. 11

FOURTH ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR:

The verdict of the jury finding the defendant
guilty of two counts of felonious assault is not
sustained by sufficient evidence, the verdicts of
the jury are contrary and inconsistent verdicts
and as such are contrary to law.

Appellant’s first assignment of error asserts prejudi-
cial prosecutorial misconduct on the part of the State of
Ohio. The statements objected to occurred during closing
arguinent and concern appellant’s failure to contact the
Clermont County Sheriff’s Department until approxi-
mately twenty-five (25) minutes after he had shot Philip
Osborne. The prosecutor stated that someone who had
killed another in self-defense would immediately “run to
the phone and say ‘Oh my God I shot somebody. They
were coming at me. They were attacking me.’ ’’ The
prosecutor further stated that he suspected that Coyne
was thinking about getting rid of Osborne’s body during
the twenty-five (25) minute period, and that Coyne might
have used the twenty-five (25) minutes to rearrange the
scene of the shootings. Appellant in his brief refers to
other allegedly inflammatory and prejudicial statements
made during closing argument, but these statements were
not specifically objected to below, and appellant has there-
fore waived his right to appeal the propriety of these
statements. App. R. 12(A).

A prosecuting attorney, as an agent of the people of
the State of Ohio, has a duty to pursue convictien of per-
sons guilty of crimes against the State with all appro-
priate zeal. State v. Morris (1954), 100 Ohio App. 307,
136 N.E.2d 653. However, arguments to the jury must be
confined to reasonable inferences which may be drawn
from evidence presented. Morris, supra. Control of the

App. 12

arguments of counsel rests within the sound discretion of
the trial judge, State v. Pustare (1973), 33 Ohio Ap. (sic)
2d 305, 295 N.E.2d 210, and advocates have traditionally
been allowed great latitude in this respect. See Morris,
supra, and Pustare, supra.

We feel that the statements made by the prosecutor
and objected to below are dangerously close to reversible
error. Such remarks constitute potentially inflammatory
inferences which could not reasonably have been drawn
from the evidence below. See Morris, supra. There was
virtually no evidence presented indicating that the scene
of the shooting had been tampered with by anyone, in-
cluding appellant, or that appellant delayed contacting the
sheriff due to any improper motive or intention.

However, all of the remarks by the prosecutor ob-
jected to below relate to appellant’s conduct after shoot-
ing the deceased, Philip Osborne. As appellant was not
found guilty of any wrongdoing with regard to Osborne’s
death, we conclude that the remarks were not prejudicial
to appellant. We therefore decline to reverse the verdict
below on the basis of such remarks. See Ramey v. Mets
(1964), 3 Ohio App. 2d 329, 210 N.E.2d 449. Appellant’s
first assignment of error is therefore not well taken.

Appellant, in his second assignment of error, asserts
that the effect of certain jury instructions given below was
to require him to disprove an element of the crime with
which he was charged in order to prove self-defense. We
do not agree.

In a criminal prosecution, the State has the burden
of proving each and every element of the offense with
which the accused is charged beyond a reasonable doubt.

sn

App. 13

In re Winship (1970), 397 U.S. 358, 90 S.Ct. 1068; Glenn
v. Dallman (6th Cir. 1982), 686 F.2d 418. If the defendant
asserts an affirmative defense, the State may require the
defendant to prove such defense by a preponderance of
the evidence. R. C. 2901.05(A). See also, Krzeminski v.
Perini (6th Cir. 1980), 614 F.2d 121, cert. denied 449 US.
866, 101 S.Ct. 199. However, the State may not presume
that an element of a certain crime exists and then place
the burden of showing otherwise on the defendant.
Krzeminskt, supra.

The crime of felonious assault is defined in R. C.
2903.11 as follows:

(A) No person shall knowingly:
(1) Cause serious physical harm to another;

(2) Cause or attempt to cause physical harm to
another by means of a deadly weapon or danger-
ous ordnance....

(B) Whoever violates this section is guilty of feloni-
ous assault, a felony of the second degree. ...

The required mental state for the crime of felonious
assault, ‘‘knowingly,” is defined in R. C. 2901.22(B) as
follows:

A person acts knowingly, regardless of his purpose,
when he is aware that his conduct will probably cause
a certain result or will probably be of a certain
nature. A person has knowledge of circumstances
when he is aware that such circumstances probably
exist.

In the case sub judice, the instruction which defined
‘‘knowingly” contained that statutory language set forth.

App. 14

By asserting the affirmative defense of self-defense,
appellant states in effect that there is justification for
his admitted conduct. See State v. Poole (1973), 33 Ohio
St. 2d 18, 294 N.E.2d 888. The defense is construed as
an independent matter ‘‘which the defendant claims ex-
empts him from liability even if it is conceded that the
facts claimed by the prosecution are true.’’? Poole, supra,
at 19, 294 N.E.2d 15 889, citing, 1 Wharton’s Criminal
Evidence 54-55, Section 19 (12th Ed. 1955). To establish
the defense of self-defense in Ohio, the defendant must
show (1) ihat he was not at fault in creating the situation
requiring him to defend himself, (2) that he believed he
was in imminent danger of death or serious bodily harm,
and that the only means of escape from such danger lay
in the use of force, and (3) that he did not violate any
duty to retreat from or avoid the danger. State v. Robbins
(1979), 58 Ohio St. 2d 74, 388 N.E.2d 755.

Pleading and proving seli-defense does not, as argued
by appellant in his brief, require the negation of any of
the elements of felonious assauit. Appellant asserts that
in order to prove self-defense he was required to disprove
the ‘‘knowingly’’ element of the crime of felonious assault
(R. C. 2903.11). He urges that because the definition of
knowingly contains the language ‘‘regardless of his pur-
pose,” the burden of proof as to mental state shifts to a
defendant attempting to plead self-defense, because such
defendant is then required to prove that there was a pur-
pose for his conduct, t.e. to protect his person. We do
not find appellant’s argument persuasive for two reasons.
First, in order to prove self-defense, the accused is not
required to state the purpose behind his actions. See
Robbins, supra. Second, even ass"ming arguendo that

App. 15

proof of purpose is required in order to assert the defense
of self-defense, the mental state required for felonious
assault, ‘‘knowingly,” is defined by statute in terms of
conduct regardless of purpose. R. C. 2901.22(B), supra.
If no purpose need be proven to obtain a conviction for
felonious assault under R. C. 2903.11, requiring purpose
to be proved to establish self-defense would not require
the negation of an element of felonious assault, and could
not be construed to violate appellant’s right to due process
of law.

Therefore, the jury was properly instructed below,
and appellant’s second assignment of error is overruled.

Appellant’s third assignment of error takes issue with
the refusal of the court below to grant appellant’s mo-
tions for acquittal made at the close of the State’s case
in chief and following the verdict.

A motion for acquittal must be denied it it appears
that ‘‘reasonable minds may reach different conclusions
as to whether each material element of a crime has been
proved beyond a reasonable doubt.” State v. Bridgeman
(1978), 55 Ohio St. 2d 261, 263, 381 N.E.2d 184, 185. See
also, State v. Brown (1981), 3 Ohio App. 3d 131, 443
N.E.2d 1382. Applying the standard above to the case
sub judice, we find considerable controversy in the record
with regard to a number of material elements of the
crimes with which appellant was charged. For example,
there is conflicting evidence as to whether or not appel-
lant fired a warning siiot before firing directly upon
Osborne, Oberschlake, and Dodson. This factual dispute
bears heavily on Coyne’s mental state at the time of the
shooting. The record also contains evidence indicating
that appellant pursued Oberschlake and Dodson as they

App. 16

fled from the junkyard following the first ten (10) rounds
of rifle fire. Such conduct is inconsistent with appellant’s
claims of self-defense and defense of his property.

Therefore, being unable to find that a reasonable
jury could only render a verdict in favor of appellant at
the time his motions for acquittal were made, we must
overrule appellant’s third assignment of error.

In his fourth assignment of error, appellant contends
that the verdict rendered below finding him guilty of two
counts of felonious assault is not sustained by sufficient
evidence, and that the verdicts finding him not guilty as
to the death of Osborne, yet guilty of felonious assault
upon Oberschlake and Dodson, are inconsistent and there-
fore contrary to law.

The crime of felonious assault (R. C. 2903.11) re-
quires that the accused (1) knowingly, (2) cause physical
harm to another by use of a deadly weapon. We find that
there was sufficient competent credible evidence pre-
sented below going to each of the elements of the offense
from which a jury could reasonably conclude that appel-
lant was guilty beyond a reasonable doubt of each count
of felonious assault. Therefore, we decline to reverse the
convictions below on the basis that they are contrary to
the manifest weight of the evidence. See State v. Eley
(1978), 56 Ohio St. 2d 169, 383 N.E.2d 182.

We also find appellant’s assertion that the verdicts
rendered in the instant case are inconsistent with each
other unconvincing. Inconsistent verdicts with respect to
separate charges against a single defendant do not consti-
tute grounds for setting the decision of the jury aside.
Harris v. Rivera (1981), 454 U.S. 339, 102 S.Ct. 460.

App. 17

Further, we think that the evidence presented supports
the verdicts that were rendered. The jury could reason-
ably have found that appellant was acting in self-defense
when he killed Osborne, who was leading the excursion
into the junkyard, but was not acting in self-defense and
using unjustified force as he continued to fire upon Dod-
son and Oberschlake as they ran from the scene of the
confrontation.

Therefore, appellant’s fourth assignment of error is
not well taken.

The assignments of error properly before this Court
having been ruled upon as heretofore set forth, it is the
Order of this Court that the judgment or final order here-
in appealed from be, and the same hereby is, affirmed.

It is further Ordered that a mandate be sent to the
Court of Common Pleas of Clermont County, Ohio, for
execution upon this judgment.

Costs to be taxed in compliance with App. R. 24.

And the Court being of the opinion that there were
reasonable grounds for this appeal, allows no penalty.

It is further Ordered that a certified copy of this
Memorandum Decision and Judgment Entry shall consti-
tute the mandate pursuant to App. R. 27.

To all of which the appellant, by his counsel, excepts.
HENRICKSON, P.J., JONES and COOK, J.J.

Judge Robert E. Cook, of the Eleventh Appellate District,
sitting by assignment of the Supreme Court of Ohio.

App. 18

APPENDIX D

COURT OF COMMON PLEAS
CLERMONT COUNTY, OHIO

Case No. 81-CR-5282

STATE OF OHIO,
Plaintiff,
VS.

JOHN COYNE,
Defendant.

JUDGMENT ENTRY ON JURY VERDICT
(Filed March 2, 1982)

This cause came on for trial before the Court of Com-
mon Pleas of Clermont Couty, Ohio on the 11th. day of
February, 1982, and the Defendant appeared in open court
represented by counsel, Andrew Dennison, and the State
of Ohio represented by Assistant Prosecutors, Jeffrey S.
Schwartz and Richard P. Ferene. A jury was duly em-
paneled and sworn, whereupon evidence was presented to
the jury and upon conclusion of all the evidence on Febru-
ary 23, 1982, the Court instructed the jury as to the law
applicable to the charges against the Defendant, to-wit:
Count 1: Murder in violation of Section 2903.02; Count 2:
Attempted Murder in Violation of Sections 2923.02 and
2903.02(A) and Count 3: Attempted Murder in violation
of Sections 2923.03 and 2093.02(A), and the jury retired
to the jury room to deliberate, and after due deliberations
on the 25th. day of February, 1982, the jury returned to
the Courtroom with their verdict signed by all twelve
members of the jury, which verdict was a jury verdict

App. 19

finding the Defendant, John Coyne, not guilty of the of-
fense of murder in Count No. 1 of the indictment; not
guilty of the offense of attempted murder in Count No. 2
of the indictment but guilty of the lesser included offense
of felonious assault, contrary to and in violation of Sec-
tion 2903.11 of the Ohio Revised Code a second degree
felony; and not guilty of the offense of attempted murder
in Count No. 3 of the indictment, but guilty of the lesser
included offense of felonious assault, contrary to and in
violation of Section 2903.11 of the Ohio Revised Code, a
second degree felony.

On the verdict of the jury the Court does hereby find
the Defendant not guilty of the offense of murder in
Count No. 1 of the indictment; guilty of the lesser in-
cluded offense of felonious assault, contrary to and in
violation of Section 2903.11 of the Ohio Revised Code, a
second degree felony in Count No. 2 of the indictment and
guilty of the offense of felonious assault, contrary to and
in violation of Section 2903.11 of the Ohio Revised Code, a
second degree felony in Count No. 3 of the indictment.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that pre-sentence
investigation report be conducted by the Probation De-
partment, Clermont County, Ohio, and that said report be
returned to the Court before sentence, which sentencing
shall be set at a later date. Defendant’s bond, if any,
shall continue on the further condition that the Defendant
shall not leave the State of Ohio during the pre-sentence
investigation report.

/s/ Joun L. Watson
Common Pleas Judge

HAVE SEEN: /s/ Jzerrrey Scuwartz
Assistant Prosecuting Attorney

App. 20
APPENDIX E

COURT OF COMMON PLEAS
CLERMONT COUNTY, OHIO

Case No. 81-CR-5282

STATE OF OHIO,
Plaintiff,
vs.

JOHN E. COYNE,
Defendant.

ENTRY DENYING MOTIONS
(Filed April 12, 1982)

This cause came on for hearing on the 29th. day of
March, 1982, on the Motions for judgment of acquittal, in
in the alternative, motion for new trial, and the Defendant
appeared in open court represented by counsel and the
State of Ohio represented by the Prosecuting Attorney’s
Office of Clermont County, Ohio. Evidence was submit-
ted on behalf the Defendant and on behalf the State of
Ohio and upon consideration thereof the Court finds said
motions not to be well taken;

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED, DECREED AND
ADJUDGED that the Motions for judgment or acquittal,
and in the alternative, motion for new triai be and hereby

is overruled.
Exceptions to the Defendant.
/s/ Joun L. Watson

HAVE SEEN: /s/ JEFFREY SCHWARTZ
Assistant Prosecuting Attorney

App. 21

APPENDIX F

COURT OF COMMON PLEAS
CLERMONT COUNTY, OHIO

Case No. 81-CR-5282

STATE OF OHIO,
Plaintiff,
VS.

JOHN E. COYNE,
Defendant.

ENTRY SENTENCING DEFENDANT
(Filed April 12, 1982)

The Defendant appeared in open court represented by
counsel on the 6th. day of April, 1982, the Defendant hav-
ing heretofore been found guilty by a jury of the offense
of felonious assault in Count No. 2 of the indictment, econ-
trary to and in violation of Section 2903.11 of the Ohio
Revised Code and guilty of the offense of felonious as-
sault in Count No. 3 of the indictment, contrary to and in
violation of Section 2903.11 of the Ohio Revised Code,
both felonies of the second degree, and the Defendant
being now before the Court for sentencing was inquired
of if he has anything to say or any good and sufficient
reason why sentence should not be pronounced against
him, and the Defendant having no good and sufficient
reason why sentence should not be pronounced against
him;

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED, DECREED AND
ADJUDGED that the Defendant be and hereby is sen-
tenced to confinement in the Ohio State Penitentiary for
not less than three years nor more than fifteen years in
Count No. 2 of the indictment and for a period of not less

App. 22

than three years nor more than fifteen years in Count No.
3 of the indictment.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that stay of execution
of said sentences be and hereby is granted pending ap-
peal, and the Defendant’s bond pending appeal is hereby
set at $125,000.00, property.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the sentence im-
posed in Count No. 3 of the indictment shall be served
consecutive to the sentence imposed in Count No. 2 of the
indictment.

Credit time allowed to Defendant,—days.

The Clerk of Courts of Clermont County, Ohio is
hereby appointed Trustee for the purpose of receiving
allotments of the Defendant’s earnings while confined in
said penal institution under the sentence aforesaid, said
allotments to be used for the purpose of paying costs in
this action.

/s/ Joun L. Watson

HAVE SEEN: /s/ Jerrrey Scowartz
Assistant Prosecuting Attorney

App. 23
APPENDIX G

Fifth Amendment of the Constitution of the
United States

AMENDMENT V

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or
otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or in-
dictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the
land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual serv-
ice in time of War or public danger; nor shall any person
be subject for the same offence to be twice put in jeopardy
of life or limb; nor shall be compelled in any criminal case
to be a witness against himself, nor be deprived of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor shall
private property be taken for public use, without just
compensation.

(Effective 1791)

Sixth Amendment of the Constitution of the
United States

AMENDMENT VI

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy
the right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial
jury of the State and district wherein the crime shall have
been committed, which district shall have been previously
ascertained by law, and to be informed of the nature and
cause of the accusation; to be confronted with the wit-
nesses against him; to have compusory process for ob-
taining witnesses in his favor, and to have the Assistance
of Counel for his defence.

(Effective 1791)

App. 24

Fourteenth Amendment of the Constitution of
the United States, pertinent provisions

AMENDMENT XIV

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the
United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are
citizens of the United States and of the State wherein
they reside. No State shall make or enforce any law
which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens
of the United States; nor shall any State deprive any per-
son of life, liberty, or property, without due process of
law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the
equal protection of the laws.

App. 25

APPENDIX H

* * *

Section 2901.05, Revised Code of Ohio (Burden of
Proof).

§ 2901.05 Burden and degree of proof.

(A) Every person accused of an offense is pre-
sumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable
doubt, and the burden of proof for all elements of the
offense is upon the prosecution. The burden of going
forward with the evidence of an affirmative defense, and
the burden of proof, by a preponderance of the evidence,
for an affirmative defense, is upon the accused.

(B) As part of its charge to the jury in a criminal
ease, the court shall read the definitions of ‘‘reasonable
doubt” and ‘‘proof beyond a reasonable doubt,’’ con-
tained in division (D) of this section.

(C) As used in this section, an ‘affirmative de-
fense” is either of the following:

(1) A defense expressly designated as affirmative;

(2) A defense involving an excuse or justification
peculiarly within the knowledge of the accused,
on which he ean fairly be required to adduce
supporting evidence.

(D) ‘*Reasonable doubt” is present when the jurors,
after they have carefully considered and compared all the
evidence, cannot say they are firmly convinced of the
truth of the charge. It is a doubt based on reason and
common sense. Reasonable doubt is not mere possible
doubt, because everything relating to human affairs or
depending on moral evidence is open to some possible or

App. 26

imaginary doubt. “Proof beyond a reasonable doubt”
is proof of such character that an ordinary person would
be willing to rely and act upon it in the most important
of his own affairs.

HISTORY: 134 v H 511 (Eff 1-1-74); 137 v H 1168
Eff 11-1-78.

Section 2901.21, Revised Code of Ohio (Criminal Lia-
bility) :
CRIMINAL LIABILITY
§ 2901.21 Requirements for criminal liability.

(A) Except as provided in division (B) of this sec-
tion, a person is not guilty of an offense unless both of
the following apply:

(1) His liability is based on conduct which includes
either a voluntary act, or an omission to perform an act
or duty which he is capable of performing;

(2)
each el
fied

He has ‘he requisite degree of culpability for
ent as to which a culpable mental state is speci-
y the section defining the offense.

(B) When the section defining an offense does not
specify any degree of culpability, and plainly indicates
a purpose to impose strict criminal liability for the con-
duct described in such section, then culpability is not
required for a person to be guilty of the offense. When
the section neither specifies culpability nor plainly indi-
cates a purpose to impose strict liability, recklessness is
sufficient culpability to commit the offense.

(C) As used in this section:

(1) Possession is a voluntary act if the possessor
knowingly procured or received the thing possessed, or

Ba ae aa a (cddihig cum ee ee <r

App. 27

was aware of his control thereof for a sufficient time to
have ended his possession.

(2) Reflexes, convulsions, body movements during
unconsciousness or sleep, and body movements that are
not otherwise a product of the actor’s volition, are in-
voluntary acts.

(3) ‘‘Culpability” means purpose, knowledge, reck-
lessness, or negligence, as defined in section 2901.22 of
the Revised Code.

HISTORY: 134 v H dll. Eff 1-1-74.

* * =

Section 2901.22, Revised Code of Ohio (Culpable
mental states.)

§ 2901.22. Culpable mental states.

(A) <A person acts purposely when it is his specific
intention to cause a certain result, or, when the gist of the
offense is a prohibition against conduct of a certain na-
ture, regardless of what the offender intends to accom-
plish thereby, it is his specific intention to engage in
conduct of that nature.

(B) A person acts knowingly, regardless of his pur-
pose, when he is aware that his conduct will probably
cause a certain result or will probably be of a certain
nature. A person has knowledge of circumstances when
he is aware that such circumstances probably exist.

(C) A person acts recklessly when, with heedless
indifference to the consequences, he perversely disregards
a known risk that his conduct is likely to cause a certain
result or is likely to be of a certain nature. A person is

App. 28

reckless with respect to circumstances when, with heedless
indifference to the consequences, he perversely disregards
a known risk that such circumstances are likely to exist.

(D) A person acts negligently when, because of a
substantial lapse from due care, he fails to perceive or
avoid a risk that his conduct may cause a certain result
or may be of a certain nature. A person is negligent with
respect to circumstances when, because of a substantial
lapse from due care, he fails to perceive or avoid a risk
that such circumstances may exist.

(EK) When the section defining an offense provides
that negligence suffices to establish an element thereof,
then recklessness, knowledge, or purpose is also sufficient
culpability for such element. When recklessness suffices
to establish an element of an offense, then knowledge or
purpose is also sufficient culpability for such element.
When knowledge suffices to establish an element of an
offense, then purpose is also sufficient culpability for such
element.

HISTORY: 134 v H 511. Eff 1-1-74.

Section 2903.02, Revised Code of Ohio (Murder)
§ 2903.02. Murder.

(A) No person shall purposely cause the death of
another.

(B) Whoever violates this section is guilty of mur-
der, and shall be punished as provided in section 2929.02
of the Revised Code.

HISTORY: 134 v H 511. Eff 1-1-74.

* * *

App. 29

Section 2903.11, Revised Code of Ohio (Felonious
assault.)

§ 2903.11 Felonious assault.
(A) No person shall knowingly:

(1) Cause serious physical harm to another;

(2) Cause or attempt to cause physical harm to an-
other by means of a deadly weapon or dangerous
ordnance as defined in section 2923.11 of the
Revised Code.

(B) Whoever violates this section is guilty of feloni-
ous assault, a felony of the second degree.

HISTORY: 134 v H 511. Eff 1-1-74.

Section 2923.02, Revised Code of Ohio (Attempt)
§ 2923.02 Attempt.

(A) No person, purposely or knowingly, and when
purpose or knowledge is sufficient cuipability for the
commission of an offense, shall engage in conduct which,
if successful, would constitute or result in the offense.

(B) It is no defense to a charge under this section
that, in retrospect, commission of the offense which was
the object of the attempt was impossible under the cireum-
stances.

(C) No person who is convicted of committing a
specific offense, of complicity in the commission of such
offense, or of conspiracy to commit such offense, shall be
convicted of an attempt to commit the same offense in
violation of this section.

App. 30

(D) It is an affirmative defense to a charge under
this section that the actor abandoned his effort to commit
the offense or otherwise prevented its commission, under
circumstances manifesting a complete and voluntary re-
nunciation of his criminal purpose.

(E) Whoever violates this section is guilty of an
attempt to commit an offense. An attempt to commit ag-
gravated murder or murder is a felony of the first degree.
An attempt to commit any other offense is an offense of
the next lesser degree than the offense attempted. In the
case of an attempt to commit an offense not specifically
classified, an attempt is a misdemeanor of the first degree
if the offense attempted is a felony, and a misdemeanor
of the fourth degree if the offense attempted is a mis-
demeanor. An attempt to commit a minor misdemeanor,
or to engage in conspiracy, is not an offense under this
section.

HISTORY: 134 v H 511. Eff 1-1-74.

* * *

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2914%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
