# Respondents Brief — American Koyo Corp. v. Lindley

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2903%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 827

## Text

. gurt, U.S.
ED
CASE NO. 83—1962 p wl 2 1984
_— : f RL. STEVAS,
In Che L cue

Supreme Court of the Wuited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

AMERICAN KOYO CORPORATION
Petitioner,

V.

EDGAR L. LINDLEY,
Tax Commissioner of Ohio,
Respondent.

ster ee ns —

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

ANTHONY J. CELEBREZZE, JR.
Attorney General of Ohio

JAMES C. SAUER
Assistant Attorney General
Counsel of Record

State Office Tower

30 East Broad Street, 16th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215

(614) 466-5967

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENT

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

WHETHER GOODS HELD BY THE PETITIONER
IN ITS OHIO WAREHOUSE WERE “IN TRANSIT” IN
INTERSTATE COMMERCE (OR FOREIGN COM-
MERCE) AND THEREBY EXEMPT FROM OHIO
PERSONAL PROPERTY TAXATION UNDER THE
COMMERCE (AND/OR IMPORT-EXPORT) CLAUSE
OF THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION, WHEN
THE GOODS WERE PURCHASED AND IMPORTED
BY THE PETITIONER FROM OUTSIDE THE
COUNTRY FOR SALE TO CUSTOMERS IN THE
UNITED STATES, AND WERE STORED IN THE
OHIO WAREHOUSE, PENDING DELIVERY TO OUT-
OF-STATE CUSTOMERS.

1. IMPO

TABLE OF CONTENTS

RTED PROPERTY WHICH IS

RECEIVED AND HELD BY THE PETI-
TIONER IN ITS OHIO WAREHOUSE
PENDING SUBSEQUENT SALE AND
DELIVERY TO OUT-OF-STATE
CUSTOMERS IS NO LONGER “IN
TRANSIT’, BUT HAS COME TO REST
IN OHIO AND IS SUBJECT TO THE

OHIO PERSONAL PROPERTY TAX.....

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases:
Department of Revenue of the State of Washington
v. Association of Washington Stevedoring
Companies et al., 435 U.S. 734, 98 S. Ct.
Re a ee 2

General Oil Co. v. Crain,
209 U.S. 211, 28 S. Ct. 475, 52 L. Ed.

A ati ES a ee 8
Indiana State Board of Tax Comm’rs.,
v. Stanadyne, Inc., 435 N.E. 2d 278 (1982) ...... 8

Michelin Tire Corp. v. Wages,
423 U.S. 276, 96 S. Ct. 535, 46 L. Ed.
i a ae ce aa wd 4,6,7,8

Constitutional Provisions:

Article |, Section 8, Clause 3, United States
Constitution (Commerce Clause)............... 4

Article |, Section 10, Clause 2, United States
Constitution (Import-Export Clause) ........... 4

CASE NO. 83—1962
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1983
AMERICAN KOYO CORPORATION
Petitioner,
v.
EDGAR L. LINDLEY,

Tax Commissioner of Ohio,
Respondent.

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case originated in the Ohio Board of Tax

Appeals as the result of an appeal by American Koyo
Corporation (Petitioner) from a final assessment certificate
of valuation issued by the Tax Commissioner for its 1977
personal property tax return year. The certificate had
increased the total final assessed value of the Petitioner’s
property from that previously reported. The increase
resulted from the Tax Commissioner’s determination
that the Petitioner had failed to return property which

was used in business in Ohio and was, therefore, subject
to personal property tax. The appeal disputed this find-
ing.

An evidentiary hearing was held and briefs were
filed by the parties. The record revealed that American
Koyo Corporation is an Ohio corporation, which is a
wholly-owned subsidiary of Koyo Seiko Co., Ltd., a
Japanese corporation. The parent company manufactures
bearings, and the Petitioner is in the business of import-
ing these bearings to the United States for sale. The
Petitioner has an office and warehouse in Westlake, Ohio,
where it receives imported bearings that have arrived in
this country at the port of Baltimore. The Petitioner
stores the bearings in its Ohio warehouse pending ship-
ment to its other warehouses or delivery, as needed,
directly to its customers.

The Petitioner normally sends purchase orders to its
parent company’s factory twice a year. The amount
purchased reflects American Koyo’s anticipated needs for
the upcoming year based on orders received from its
customers. The purchase orders to the factory usually
indicate the Petitioner’s intended customer, and the
factory in packing the bearings indicates the Petitioner’s
purchase order number.

The Petitioner’s purchase order directs the factory
to ship bearings to it at its Cleveland (Westlake) ware-
house. Because the Petitioner normally receives ship-
ments only two or three times a year, but may make
deliveries to its customers on a monthly basis, it often
makes advance orders of enough to meet future deliveries.
As a result, it sometimes stores bearings, which have been
received, for several months, pending delivery to its

customers. In the event that one of the Petitioner's
customers cancels an order, the bearings which had been
purchased in anticipation of such sale would be sold to
another customer.

The Petitioner sells bearings to its customers in
pallet-size quantities. That is, depending on the size of
the bearing sold, a certain number of bearings can be
- packed in cartons and bound on pallets. The Petitioner
in effect then sells bearings by the pallet.

The Board of Tax Appeals determined that the bear-
ings received for storage at the Westlake warehouse, pend-
ing sale and delivery to the Petitioner’s customers, were
no longer in transit but had come to rest in Ohio so as to
be subject to Ohio’s personal property tax. On appeal,
the Cuyahoga County Court of Appeals, citing testimony
in the record that the bearings were purchased from the
parent company in Japan for ‘‘sale here in the United
States,’’ agreed with the Board that such bearings were no
longer in transit, but were being held in Ohio for use in
the Petitioner’s business. It, therefore, affirmed the
Board's decision.

The Petitioner subsequently filed a notice of appeal
and motion to certify the case to the Ohio Supreme
Court; however, on February 29, 1984, that Court
overruled the motion. On May 29, 1984, the Petitioner
filed with the United States Supreme Court a Petition for
Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of Ohio.

ARGUMENT

|. IMPORTED PROPERTY WHICH IS
RECEIVED AND HELD BY THE PETI-
TIONER IN ITS OHIO WAREHOUSE
PENDING SUBSEQUENT SALE AND
DELIVERY TO OUT-OF-STATE
CUSTOMERS IS NO LONGER “IN
TRANSIT”, BUT HAS COME TO REST
IN OHIO AND IS SUBJECT TO THE
OHIO PERSONAL PROPERTY TAX.

The Petitioner has argued that this case presents a
previously unconsidered situation, in which “‘pre-soid’”’
imported property is merely in transit through a state.
The Petitioner argues that the imposition of an.ad va/orem
tax on such property is prohibited by Article |, Section 8,
Clause 3 (Commerce Clause) and Article |, Section 10,
Clause 2 (Import-Export Clause) of the United States
Constitution. It is the position of the Respondent Tax
Commissioner that this argument is without basis in
either fact or law.

Specifically, the “‘in transit’’ concept relied on by
the Petitioner is derived from the United States Supreme
Court's decision in Michelin Tire Corp. v. Wages, 423 U.S.
276, 96 S. Ct. 535, 46 L. Ed. 495 (1976). In that case
the Supreme Court considered whether an ad va/orem
property tax on tires heid by that taxpayer at its whole-
sale distribution warehouse was prohibited by either the
Commerce Clause or the Import-Export Clause. The
Court noted that the purpose of the Commerce Clause
was to preserve the federa! government's power to
regulate the flow of interstate commerce. With respect to
the Import-Export Clause the Court noted that its purpose

was threefold, (1) to preserve the federal yovernment’s
right to speak with one voice when regulating commercial
relations with foreign nations, (2) to preserve import
revenues as a major source of revenue for the federal
government, and (3) to prevent seaboard states with ports
of entry from levying taxes on citizens of other states by
taxing goods that merely flow through the ports to other
states.

With respect to Georgia’s ad va/orem property tax
the Court found no conflict with these principles. In
doing so it noted at p. 286 that the tax was a nondis-
criminatory tax imposed on all goods that are no longer
“in import transit."” At p. 287 the Court reasoned:

“Unlike imposts and duties, which are
essentially taxes on the commercial privi-
lege of bringing goods into a country,
such property taxes are taxes by which a
State apportions the cost of such services
as police and fire protection among the
beneficiaries according to their respective
wealth; there is no reason why an importer
should not bear his share of these costs
along with his competitors handling only
domestic goods. The tmport-Export
Clause clearly prohibits state taxation
based on the foreign origin of the imported
goods, but it cannot be read to accord
imported goods preferential treatment
that permits escape from uniform taxes
imposed without regard to foreign origin
for services which the State supplies.’’

The Court also concluded that the tax did not interfere
with the free flow of imported goods among the States.
Noting that the petitioner’s warehouse was operated no
differently than would be a distribution warehouse
utilized by a wholesaler dealing solely in domestic goods,
the Court held that the property was not merely in
transit and that there was no discrimination against the
taxpayer based on the property’s place of origin.

Subsequently in Department of Revenue of the
State of Washington v. Association of Washington
Stevedoring Companies et al., 435 U.S. 734, 98 S. Ct.
1388, 55 L. Ed. 2d 682 (1978), the Court reaffirmed the
threefold purpose of the Import-Export Clause. The
Court also made it clear that the Michelin decision
constituted a departure from the “original package”
ruie. |

It is, therefore, significant that the instant case is
analogous to Michelin Tire Corp. v. Wages, supra. Specif-
ically, the Petitioner purchases goods outside the United
States and sells them in this country, storing them in the
interim in its Ohio warehouse. As such, the assessment of
an ad valorem tax on the property based on the Peti-
tioner’s use of the property in business in Ohio under
Ohio law does not interfere with the purposes of the
Import-Export Clause as outlined in the Michelin decision.
Simply put, this is a nondiscriminatory tax applied to
domestically manufactured property, as well as to
imported property, based on use in this State. It in no

'The fact that the bearings in issue may remain packed in the pallet-

sized quantities in which they are eventually sold and delivered is, therefore,
in no way determinative as to the right to an exemption under the Import-
Export Clause.

way interferes with the federal government’s authority
to regulate and assess imports; nor does it place Ohio at
an advantage over other states as a port state assessing
property which merely flows through it to other states.?

As for the Petitioner’s claim that the assessed
property is ‘‘pre-sold’’ to out-of-state customers and,
therefore, simply in transit through Ohio, the Respondent
would make two points. First, the Petitioner would have
this Court assume facts that the lower tribunals did not
accept. The Petitioner suggests that its customers had
already purchased the bearings prior to their manufacture
by the Petitioner’s parent company in Japan so as to have
some special property interest distinguishing the case
from Michelin Tire Corp. v. Wages, supra. Both the
Board of Tax Appeals and the Court of Appeals declined
to make such a finding. On the conirary, the Board
expressly disagreed with the Petitioner and found that
the bearings were purchased by the Petitiorier from its
parent company ‘‘and then sold to custcmers in the
United States.”” The Court of Appeals made a similar
finding. The factual basis of the Petitioner’s argument
has, therefore, never been established, and there is no
reason for this Court to assume such facts.

Moreover, even if there were a ‘‘pre-saie’’ of the
bearings, it would not necessarily follow that the property
remained “in transit’ indefinitely pending delivery to
the Petitioner’s customers. This Court has long recognized
a break in inter-state commerce when property is brought
into a state and stored there pending delivery to an out-
of-state customer pursuant to an advance sale of such

2 Indeed, the property in this case entered the country through the

port of Baltimore.

property. Compare Genera/ Oi/ Co. v. Crain, 209 U.S.
211, 28 S. Ct. 475, 52 L. Ed. 754 (1908), in which the
Court held that oil brought into Tennessee for temporary
storage in a tank pending distribution to fill orders for
oil already sold in other states was not exempt from
taxation. This Court observed that the break in move-
ment was more than a mere delay or accommodation to
the means of transportation; it was for business purposes
which require giving the property a locality in the state
beyond a mere halting of transportation.

This is the same principle as was relied on by this
Court in Michelin Tire Corp. v. Wages, supra, when it
determined the tires which had arrived at that company’s
distribution warehouse were no longer “in import
transit."” So it is here. The Petitioner’s bearings are
stored in its Ohio warehouse for up to six months pend-
ing delivery to its customers. As such, the importation of
the bearings had clearly ended and a local business use of
the property has commenced.

Finally, with respect to the Petitioner’s reliance on
the Indiana case of /ndiana State Board of Tax Comm rs.
v. Stanadyne, Inc., 435 N.E. 2d 278 (1982) as evidence
of uncertainty in the law, it should be noted that the
decision in that case cited and relied heavily on the
language of the Indiana statute which used an “original
package”’ test for exemption. In addition, the decision
did not even mention Michelin Tire Corp. v. Wages, supra,
much less distinguish it. The Petitioner’s reliance on it
is, therefore, misplaced.

CONCLUSION

As discussed in the foregoing brief the Petitioner has
failed to raise any constitutional issues which have not
already been addressed by this Court. Given the Ohio
Court of Appeals’ determination of facts, there is no
constitutional bar to the assessment of an ad valorem
property tax on bearings held by the Petitioner in its
~.... Warehouse, pending sale and delivery to _ its
custom, °s.

The Petition for Writ of Certiorari is, therefore,
without basis and should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

ANTHONY J. CELEBREZZE, JR.
Attorney General of Ohio

JAMES C. SAUER

Assistant Attorney General
Counsel of Record

State Office Tower

30 East Broad Street, 16th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215

(614) 466-5967

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENT

10

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

| hereby certify that three copies of the foregoing
Respondent’s Brief in Opposition to Petition for a Writ
of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of Ohio was sent this
day of June, 1984 postage prepaid to Herbert
Bruce Griswold, Calfee, Halter & Griswold, 1800 Central
National Bank Building, Cleveland, Ohio 44114, Counsel
for Petitioner. | further certify that all parties required
to be served have been served.

JAMES C. SAUER
Assistant Attorney General
Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2903%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
