# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Transport Workers Union v. Civil Aeronautics Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2742%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 818

## Text

83 - 16921)
No. coe. Office - Supreme Court, U.S,
TE ee D
APR 16 tees
ALEXANDER L. S¥myas, f
CLERK

Supreme Court of the

October Term, 1983

TRANSPORT WORKERS UNION OF
AMERICA, AFL-CIO,
Petitioner,
v.

CIVIL AERONAUTICS BOARD,
Respondent.

———————eE——————LCLCLR—E=—E=E€EEE=—L>>>E~==—EaEaEaEoEIyCyUyUyU)C)yoyoy>E>SSSSSSSSSSSSSS—

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Matcotm A. GoLDsTEIN
285 Madison Avenue
New York, New York 10017
(212) 532-8900
Counsel of Record for Petitioner
Transport Workers Umon of
America, AFL-CIO

Of Counsel:
O’DonnELL & ScHWaARTz

43 yp

QUESTION PRESENTED
1. Has the United States Court of
Appeals for the District of Columbia
("Court") permitted the caB! to usurp the

exclusive jurisdiction of the NMB to

1 when used in this brief, the organi-
zations and documents listed below
will be abbreviated as follows:
Unions Abbreviations
Transport Workers
Union of America,

AFL-CIO TWU
International Asso-
ciation of Machinists

and Aerospace Workers IAM
International |
Brotherhood of

Teamsters IBT
Air Line Employees

Association ALEA
Employers

Pan American World

Airways, Inc. Pan Am
National Airlines,

Inc. National

Governmental Agencies

Civil Aeronautics

Board CAB
National Mediation

oversee representation matters by allow-
ing it to direct an LPP arbitration in a
representation matter?

| PARTIES
' The parties to the decision sought to
be reviewed were the TWU and the CAB, and
the Attorney General of the United
States. Three parties intervened in this

matters Pan Am, IBT and IAM,

Board NMB
Documents and Laws

Labor Protective Pro-

visions imposed by the

CAB in the Pan Am

-National merger LPPs
Railway Labor Act,
45 U.S.C. §151 ff RLA

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED. .cccccccccvccvvevesel
PARTIES. cccccccccccccccescccsccccceelii
OPINIONS BELOW. .ccccccccccsccccccccccee
JURISDICTION, .ccccccceccccevecesesevced
STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED.....3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE. .ccccccccvccveeed

A. The Structures Of The Companies..é

B. The Merger And The NMB'‘'s
RULINGS. cccccccccccccccccscccsoe!

C. The Seniority Integrations......10
l)a) TWU and Pan DR ccaacueasoeeke

b) The TWU Integration
Challenge. cccccccccsccesesl2d

2)a) IBT and Pan Bis crecsecostsesed4

b) The IBT Integration
Challeng@cccocveccccccccceelk

D. The Genesis of the Present

4, Oe ee 4. |

iii

PS ori | Pr r ee Tere rerrrrrrrrerrrery? ©

THE COURT AFFIRMED THE CAB'S
ABDICATION OF ITS .RESPONSIBILITY

TO DETERMINE WHETHER IAM'S AND

IBT'S PETITIONS RAISED A REPRESEN-
TATIONAL DISPUTE BETWEEN TWU

AND IBT WHICH LIES WITHIN THE
EXCLUSIVE JURISDICTION OF THE NMB..17

GU nce ee eh seesoseseceseceoscecsseeas

SOC tO ccc cece eseeseeseseceeeeeeeal

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases Page
Air Line Pilots Ass'n, Int'l

v. Texas Int'l Airlines,
656 F.2d 16 (2d Cir. 1951) ...... 18

Brotherhood of Loc. Fire. & Eng.
v. Seaboard Coast Line R. Co.,
413 F. 2d 19 (Sth Cir.), cert.
den'd, 396 U. S. 963 (1969)...... 24

Brotherhood of Railway and S.S.
Clerks v. United Airlines, Inc.,
325 F. 2d 576 (6th Cir. 1 foaae 22. 26

iv

AE SD AE LATOR a a od

Delta Airlines v. CAB,
574 F.2d 546 (D.C. Cir. 1978),
cert. den'd, 439 U.S. 819 (1978) 21

Division No. 14, Order of

Rallroad Telegraphers v.
Leighty, 298 F. 2d 1?
th Cir. | ee 24

Gangemi v. General Elec-
tric Co., 532 F.2d 861

(2d Cir. BPE Peesbadcesosdeeneece 22

General Committee of Adjust-
ment, B.L.E. v. Missouri-K-T
R. Co., 320 U.S. 323 (1943)..... 24

John Wiley & Sons, Inc. v.
Livingston, 376 U.S. 543 (1964) 22

Leyva v. Certified Grocers
of Calif., 593 F.2d 857
(9th Cir. oo. RP a er 22

PAIN v. CAB, No. 82-1496 (D.C.
Cir. 3/7783) (per curiam order
aff'ming CAB order 82-3-16)..... 15

Pan American World Airways, Inc.
v. CAB, 683 F.2d 554 (1982)..... 20

Switchmen's Union of N. A. v. NMB,

320 U.S. 297 bo Sree li], 24

Administrative Decisions

CAB Order 82-3-16. .cccccccccccece 15
CAB Order 82-8-63...ccececeeeeeeee passim
CAB Order 82-88-65. .cccccccccccce 13
CAB Order 82-12-62. .ccccerccvee passim
NMB Order 7 NMB No. 114 (1980) 8-10

Statutes

RLA
Section 2, Ninth, 45 U.S.C.
§ 152, Ninth eee0e0e0e0eeeenstee#eee#8ee#8?#€e passim

vi

IN THE
UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT
OCTOBER TERM, 1983
No.

‘
>

TRANSPORT WORKERS UNION OF AMERICA
AFL-CIO,
Petitioner,

Ve

CIVIL AERONAUTICS BOARD,
Respondent,

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Petitioner TWU respectfully prays that
a writ of certiorari issue to review the
judgment (with one judge concurring) of
the United States Court of Appeals for
the District of Columbia entered on Jan-
uary 20, 1984, upholding two orders of
the CAB dated August 13, 1982 and Decem-

ber 16, 1982.

= ” 7 >
ie em é

: Aik eae

a4 7
ose Pa

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is
officially reported at 725 F.2d 775 and
appears in the Appendix hereto at page
A-l. The opinions of the CAB dated Au-
gust 13, 1982 is officially reported at
97 CAB 565 and appears in the Appendix at
page A-13. The opinion of the CAB dated
December 16, 1982 is not officially re-
ported, but appears in the Appendix at

page A-33.

JURISDICTION
The judgment of the Court of Appeals
was entered on January 20, 1984. This
petition is filed within ninety (90) days
of the date of this judgment. Jurisdic-
tion of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. §1254(1).

letielel

a a a

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED
Section 2, Ninth of the RLA, 45 U.S.C.
§152, Ninth, provides:
Disputes as to identity of representa-

tives; designation by Mediation Board;

secret elections. If any dispute shall
arise among a carrier's employees as to
who are the representatives of such em-
ployees designated and authorized in
accordance with the requirements of this
Act, it shall be the duty of the Media-
tion Board, upon request of either party
to the dispute, to investigate such dis-
pute and to certify to both parties, in
writing, within thirty days after the
receipt of the invocation of its ser-
vices, the name or names of the indivi-
duals or organizations that have been
designated and authorized to represent
the employees involved in the dispute,

and certify the same to the carrier. Upon

t ; : 7
i be , 7 “a a ." P B -. ss ary pre? - x i

- a ee Bir Pc toa # ep

=| 2

receipt of such certification the carrier
shall treat with the representative so
certified as the representative of the
craft or class for the purposes of this
Act. In such an investigation, the Media-
tion Board shall be authorized to take a
secret ballot of the employees involved,
or to utilize any other appropriate meth-
od of ascertaining the names of their
duly designated and authorized represen-
tatives in such manner as shall insure
the choice of representatives by the
employees without interference, influ-
ence, or coercion exercised by the car-
rier. In the conduct of any election for
the purposes herein indicated the Board
shall designate who may participate in
the election and establish the rules to
govern the election, or may appoint a
committee of three neutral persons who

after hearing shall within ten days de-

au re

signate the employees who may participate
in the election. The Board shzll have
access to and have power to make copies
of the books and records of the carriers
to obtain and utilize such information as
may be deemed necessary by it to carry
out the purposes and provisions of this

paragraph,

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
This case concerns CAB Orders which

direct an arbitration among Pan Am, peti-
tioner TWU, IBT and IAM ostensibly about
the "seniority" of certain former Nation-
al employees after the merger of National
with Pan Am, The CAB's Orders were up-
held by the Court below even though they
constitute a usurpation of the NMB'‘'s

authority over representation matters.

The decision of the Court below creates
confusion as to the statutory authorities
of the NMB and the CAB,

Petitioner TWU contends that there is
nothing to arbitrate because the NMB
determined at the time of the merger that
the merger that Pan Am's existing class
and craft lines would be kept intact, and
the attempt to arbitrate in this case is
nothing more than an attempt to cir-
cumvent the NMB‘s ruling. The CAB and
the Court below both failed to see that
by ruling for an arbitration, the CAB had
overstepped and invaded the NMB's juris-
diction.

A. The Structures Of The Companies

Late in 1979, the CAB approved of a
merger between National and Pan Am. The
two companies had different employment
Structures which had to be rationalized.

On pre-merger Pan Am, TWU represented

— oo

ramp agents, cleaners and mechanics, as
well as other classes and crafts not
involved in this dispute. IBT represent-
ed station agents and stock clerks, to-
gether with other classes and crafts not
involved in this dispute,

On National, ALEA represented both ramp
and station agents, while IAM represented
cleaners, mechanics as well as stock
clerks.

B. The Merger And The NMB's Rulings

Promptly after the CAB approved the
merger, Pan Am put forward its solution
to the problem presented by the differing
employment structures. It announced to
both Pan Am's and National's employees
that when they became employees of the
merged airline, it was going to treat
them as members of the classes and crafts
defined by its existing collective bar-

gaining agreements, and, that its labor

Pe be Le

.

organizations would continue to have the
bargaining rights for these classes and
crafts,2

ALEA immediately petitioned the NMB to
block Pan Am from implementing its own
class and craft structure on the merged
airline, and for an order maintaining

status quo pending a ruling by NMB as to

what the class and craft structure should
be on the merged airline and who should
be the collective bargaining representa-
tives on the merged airline. Docketing
the case as R-5037, the NMB declined to
grant ALEA relief.

ALEA made two other attempts tc per-
suade the NMB to interfere with Pan Am's

decision to use its own classes and

2 subject to the rights under the RLA of
the merged airline's employees to
petition in the future to the NMB for
it to hold a representation election.

8

a a Ce

= : . : 5 rd

a

; - A
7 <<
i i
a] iy : 7 7 ; ; hi ; ee et ia § 5 fe” sk 4
t - Fi

Pane

tows —ee a& ob He
| ae ee 2

or = >= 5 Pam =

“a &
io

-

crafts. Each time it was rebuffed. In

its third ruling, the NMB stated, inter

"The NMB's telegram of January 25,
1980, stated the Board's de-
termination that '. . . the
proper craft or class struc-

ture in R-5037 is that pre-
viously established on Pan
American World Airlines, Inc.

and Pan Am.'

Based upon all the facts and
circumstances, the Ro2rd
finds no basis to set aside
or amend its previous deter-
mination of craft or class in
this docket. The Clerical
and Related employees of Pan
American World Airways, Inc.,
including those appropriate
classifications incorporated
from National Airlines, Inc.,
constitute the proper craft
or class in R-5037.

Further, the Board finds that
the investigation in this
docket has been conducted in
such a manner as to afford
all interested participants,
including the ALEA, suffici-
ent opportunity to express
their views and to provide
evidence regarding voter eli-
gibility/showing of interest
issues. The Board itself is
satisfied with the thorough-
ness and quality of the show-

9

ing of interest investigation
in R-5037. (7 NMB No. 114
(1980)).

C. The Seniority Integrations

With the NMB's approval, Pan Am merged
the National employees in accordance with
its own class and craft structure.

ALEA's station agents were assigned to
IBT's bargaining unit. Its ramp agents
went to TWU's unit. IAM's stock clerks
went to IBT's bargaining unit, while
cleaners and mechanics went to TWU's
bargaining unit.

The method which Pan Am used to deter-
mine where particular employees of Na-
tional belonged was that it assigned them
to the Pan Am class or craft representing
the position which they occupied on the
date of the merger,

Although the NMB had determined the
class and craft structure of the post-

merger Pan Am, there remained the problem

10

of determining the relative seniority of
the National and pre-merger Pan Am em-
ployees within Pan Am's class and craft
structure. Since questions relating to
seniority, as distinct from representa-
ction rights, are within the its jurisdic-
tion, on this point the CAB gave gui-
dance, Section 3 of the LPPs provides as

follows:

Insofar as the merger affects the
seniority rights of the carriers'
employees, provisions shall be made
for the integration of seniority
lists in a fair and equitable man-
ner, including, where applicable,
agreement through collective bar-
gaining between the carriers and the
representatives of the employees af-
fected. In the event of failure to
agree, the dispute may be submitted
by either party for adjustment in
accordance with Section 13.

l)a) TWU and Pan Am

Between December, 1979 and April, 1980
TWU and Pan Am negotiated concerning the
manner in which a "fair and equitable"

seniority integration should be accom-

ll

Fed pd iog

~

aah

4s,

ao

| aay Wee a3 :

ae - “any -

plished. They determined that integra-
tion required by Section 3 of the LPPs
mandated that the seniority of all em-
ployees be treated in a uniform manner.

On April 18, 1980, on behalf of both
the pre-merger Pan Am and the National
employees it now represented on the mer-
ged airline, TWU entered into an agree-
ment with Pan Am which set the seniority
integration procedure.

b) The TWU Integration Challenge

Thereafter, a group of former National
mechanics, calling themselves the Main-
tenance Legal Action Committee ("MLAC")
objected to the Pan Am-TWU seniority
inteaqration agreement because it utilized
a date-of-hire method of seniority inte-
gration instead of a ratio method.

TWU and Pan Am agreed to arbitrate this
dispute pursuant to Sections 3 and 13 of

the LPPs. The issue, which Pan Am, TWU

12

and MLAC agreed upon and submitted to the
arbitrator, was whether "the integration
of the seniority lists as agreed to by
and between [Pan Am and TWU] on April 18,
1980 was accomplished in a fair and equi-
table manner."

All employees in the various crafts or
classes of airline mechanics, cleaner and
ground service employees received notice
of the arbitration and were given the op-
portunity to participate in the arbitra-
tion. The Arbitrator was David Stowe, a
former chairman of the NMB. After, se-
veral days of hearings which produced a
transcript of 998 pages, Arbitrator Stowe
issued a thirty-six page award ("Stowe A-
ward"), Subsequently, individual former
National mechanics challenged the pro-
priety of the Stowe Award before the CAB,
In Order 82-8-65, adopted August 16,

1982, the CAB dismissed their petition,

13

— |) Fr "9 @ »

a)

Sane Khar: ses StH ee he:

a a

thus confirming the Stowe Award and the
fairness and equitableness of TWU's inte-
grated seniority list.,.

2)a) IBT and Pan Am

Pan Am and IBT also attempted to nego-
tiate a seniority integration agreement
with respect to the crafts or classes
which IBT represents. Finally, after
several months of negotiations, in Au-
gust, 1980, the parties submitted the
matter to William F. Usery, a former
Secretary of Labor. Mr. Usery mediated
between the parties, and they finally
reached agreement on September 5, 1980,
Mr. Usery then reviewed the final agree-
ment and pronounced it fair and equitable
within the guidelines of Section 3 of the
LPPs,.

b) The IBT Integration Challenge

Just as TWU's seniority integration a-

greement was challenged before the CAB,

14

A= 45) Na

so was the IBT's. A group calling itself
Pan American International, Inc. ("PAIN")
petitioned the CAB to have the IBT sen-
iority integration set aside. In Order
82-3-16, adopted March 4, 1982, the CAB
denied PAIN's challenge to the IBT sen-
iority integration agreement. Upon
PAIN's appeal, the Court of Appeais for
the District of Columbia summarily af-
firmed the CAB's ruling. PAIN v. CAB, No.

82-1496 (D.C. Cir. 3/7/83) (per curiam

order affirmino CAB order 82-3-16).

D. The Genesis of the Present Action

While TWU and IBT were striving to have
their respective seniority integration
agreements upheld, IAM and IBT each filed
a petition with the CAB improperly seek-
ing LPP arbitrations against TWU,

IBT claimed that because TWU had not
granted National station agents (formerly

represented by ALEA and never in the TWU

15

ma sd "Ee
Can
fomyes3 Gi

mea ee Sate ;

-

unit) credit on the TWU post-merger sen-
iority list for their National ramp agent
seniority (which IBT had already given
credit) that TWU's seniority integration
was not "fair and equitable" within the
meaning of Section 3 of the LPPs.

IAM claimed that because TWU had not
granted National stock clerks (now repre-
sented by IBT and never in the TWU unit)
credit on the TWU post-merger seniority
list for their National mechanic or
cleaner seniority (which IBT refused to
recognize) that TWU's seniority integra-
tion was not "fair and equitable",

IAM's and IBT's petitions were consoli-_
dated by the CAB. In its Order 82-8-63,
the CAB ordered an arbitration pursuant
to Sections 3 and 13 of the LPPs, and in
its Order 82-12-62, upon Pan Am's appli-
cation for a rehearing, it reconfirmed

its direction of arbitration. TWU ap-

16

pealed these CAB Orders to the United

States Court of Appeals for the District
of Columbia, and it is the ruling of the
Court of Appeals affirming the CAB's Or-
ders which TWU seeks in this petition to

have reviewed,

ARGUMENT

THE COURT AFFIRMED THE CAB'S ABDICA-

TION OF ITS RESPONSIBILITY TO DETER-
MINE WHETHER IAM'S AND IBT'S PETITIONS

RAISED A. REPRESENTATIONAL DISPUTE

BETWEEN TWU AND IBT WHICH LIES WITHIN
THE EXCLUSIVE JURISDICTION OF THE NMB
Exclusive jurisdiction over representa-
tion matters arising under the RLA rests

with the NMB. RLA, Section 2 Ninth, 45

U.S.C. §152 Ninth; Switchmen's Union of

N. A. v. NMB, 320 U.S. 297 (1943). Even
if a dispute could be classified as both
a seniority dispute and a representation-
al dispute, exclusive jurisdiction lies
with the NMB as the expert agency with

respect to airline labor relations invol-

17

} 7
eae

ao ag vipa! 4 ae
mane 7s ve = » :
ee

7

— nT)

‘y bret:
|

she 3
nie Ak

ving parties governed by the RLA. Air

Line Pilots Ass'n, Int'l v. Texas Int'l

Airlines, 656 F.2d 16, 23 (2d Cir. 1981).

In Air Line Pilots Ass'n, Int'l v.

Texas Int'l Airlines, supra, the Court

found that.the facts presented neither a
pure representation dispute nor a pure
claim of interference with contract which
might have been separately actionable in
court under other provisions of the RLA,
Nevertheless, it ruled that because of
the court's traditional limited role in
the enforcement of the RLA and the exclu-
sive jurisdiction of the NMB to decide
representation disputes, that it must
defer to the NMB once a representational
dispute, even in non-traditional form, is
disclosed.

Given the precedent of deferring to the
NMB where there is even a hint of a re-

presentation dispute, it was prejudicial

18

| . as Ke
' Can 1 :
2 i oe
Big bee 88a fac aa a

i i
=< ae 309 ey need

is 7 aft : a isc aen 4
- 4 : ~

a

error for the CAB not to determine
whether the petitions of the IBT and IAM
presented a representation dispute beyond
the scope of its jurisdiction.

The CAB abdicated its responsibility by
referring the jurisdictional question to
an LPP arbitrator. It conceded that while
it might well be "violat[ing] the NMB's
order [determining the craft or class
structure on the post-merger Pan Am]," it
"preferred" to have the issue resolved by
an “experienced” labor arbitrator. (Order
82-8-63, Appendix pp. A-26 and A-27;
Order 82-12-62, Appendix p. A-40)

In affirming the CAB's decisions, the

Court below merely concluded pro forma

that the CAB's ruling were not “arbitrary
and capricious" within the meaning of
Section 10(e) of the Administrative Pro-
cedure Act (Appendix p. 8). It all but

ignored the critical point that the CAB

19

had not evaluated its jurisdiction, and
had ceded to an arbitrator the question
of whether a representation dispute is
involved. 3

The Court below relied upon its deci-

sion in Pan American World Airways, Inc.

v. CAB, 683 F.2d 554 (1982) to hold that
the CAB was correct to order arbitration
because doubts regarding arbitrability
should be resolved in favor of coverage
where the controverted claim can reason-
ably be said to fall within the scope of

the arbitration clause (Appendix p. A-6).

3 the failure of the Court below to see
the magnitude of the CAB's error is
particularly vexing in this case
because at oral argument in the Court
below, when questioned concerning the
CAB's handling of TWU's jurisdictional
claim, counsel for the CAB admitted
that the claim was novel. He stated
that this matter was “the only case of
which I am aware of where there has
been a dispute between unions, where
one party has claimed that there was
National Mediation Board jurisdiction
involved" (Appendix pp. A-55 and A-
56).

20

However, this ruling is in sharp con-

flict with its own earlier ruling con-
cerning the interplay of jurisdictional
questions with questions of arbitrabil-

ity. In Delta Airlines v. CAB, 574 F.2d

546 (D.C. Cir. 1978), cert. den'd, 439

U.S. 819 (1978), the Court said:

Once it is determined, therefore,
that the subject matter of a contro-
versy is subject to arbitration
under the LPP's, we believe that the
Board has the discretion to refer to
the arbitrator questions concerning
the procedural propriety of the
claims for arbitration of that con-
troversy. Delta Airlines v. CAB,
supra, at p. 550 [Emphasis sup-
plied].

In this case, by contrast, the CAB never
resolved the threshold question of the
its own jurisdiction before deferring the
matter to an arbitrator. Indeed, it
improperly left the arbitrator to deter-
mine whether the dispute of the IBT and

IAM involves a representation question.

21

Moreover, under the teachings of this
Court, the jurisdictional question of
whether a dispute is arbitrable always
remains with the Court, and cannot be

delegated to an arbitrator. John Wiley &

Sons, Inc. v. Livingston, 376 U.S. 543,

546-7 (1964). See also Leyva v. Certi-

fied Grocers of Calif., 593 F.2d 857, 861

(9th Cir. 1979); Gangemi v. General Elec-

tric Co., 532 F.2d 861, 865 (2d Cir.

1976).

While it is true that the IBT and the
IAM couched the dispute as one involving
"seniority", the CAB is obliged to pierce
the pleadings in order to discern the

true nature of the controversy. Brother-

hood of Railway and S.S. Clerks v. United

Airlines, Inc., 325 F. 2d 576, 579 (6th

Cir. 1963).

22

. ato Hy ; -

erases ue =

oe ¥' * ~*~ qh> a ie

_
ae
ee}

aa
rae

Had the the Court below or the CAB
performed such an analysis in this mat-
ter, it would have discerned that the
critical issues are: a) whether former
National stock clerks and station agents
will be permitted to travel across Pan.
Am's class or craft lines, and b) which
union has authority to deal with Pan Am
concerning seniority in those classes or
crafts which TWU represents,

The Court below believed that because
"some individual employees ...[might] be
allowed a one-time ieisiiatenibte to change
from one class and craft to another"
(Appendix p. A-8), that the dispute did
not rise to the level of a representa-
tional dispute. The limitations to a
one-time movemen: may lessen the long-
range impact of the encroachment on the

NMB's jurisdiction and TWU's bargaining

23

rights, but it does not change the impro-
priety of permitting any such encroach-
ment.

Time and again, courts have held that
when a matter involves the movement of
employees back and forth across different
class and craft lines, it is a represen-
tational dispute, and that Congress has
vested exclusive jurisdiction to resolve

such disputes in the NMB. See Switchmen's

Union of N. A. v. NMB, Supra, at p. 300-

l; General Committee, B. L. E. v. Miss-

ouri-K-T R. Co., 320 U.S. 323, 336

(1943); Brotherhood of Railway and S.S.

Clerks v. United Airlines, supra; Bro-

therhood of Loc. Fire. & Eng. v. Seaboard

Coast Line R. Co., 413 F. 2d 19, 24-5

(Sth Cir.), cert. den'd, 396 U. S. 963

(1969); Division No. 14, Order of Rail-

road Tel. v. Leighty, 298 F. 2d 17, 19-20

(4th Cir. 1962).

24

Since the dispute is one which involves
a representation question over which the
CAB has no jurisdiction, it cannot obfus-
cate its lack of jurisdiction simply by

referring the matter to an arbitrator,

SUMMARY

When the Pan Am-National merger was
first announced, Pan Am. stated that it
was going to apply its class or craft
structure on the merged airline and was
going to recognize its duly certified
collective bargaining representatives as
the representatives for all employees on
the merged airline. ALEA, one of the
unions which stood to lose both member-
ship and representation status if Pan Am
effectuated its plan, sought before the
NMB to block the plan. The NMB ruled
that Pan Am could apply its class or

craft structure on the merged airline.

25

IAM and IBT seek to circumvent this rul-
ing, and the NMB's exclusive jurisdic-
tion, by raising claims predicated on
seniority rights accrued under National's
class or craft structure, even though the
NMB has ruled that National's class or
craft structure did not govern on Pan Am,
The CAB cannot avoid the impact of the
NMB's ruling simply by delegating the
matter to an arbitrator. The jurisdic-
tional defect renders the CAB powerless

to make such a delegation.

26

CONCLUSION
For all the reasons set forth in this

brief, a writ of certiorari should be is-
sued to review the opinion and judgment
of the United States Court of Appeals for
the District of Columbia,

Respectfully submitted,

MALCOLM A. GOLDSTEIN

285 Madison Avenue

New York, New York 10017

(212) 532-8900

Counsel of Record for
Petitioner Transport
Workers Union of Amer-
ica, AFL-CIO

Of Counsel:

O'Donnell & Schwartz

April 16, 1984

27

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 82-2080

TRANSPORT WORKERS UNION OF AMERICA,
AFL-CIO, PETITIONER

v.

CrviL AERONAUTICS BOARD, RESPONDENT

PAN AMERICAN WORLD AIRWAYS, INC.,
INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF TEAMSTERS,
CHAUFFEURS, WAREHOUSEMEN & HELPERS OF AMERICA,
INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MACHINISTS &
AEROSPACE WORKERS, INTERVENORS

Petition for Review of an Order of the
Civil Aeronautics Board

Argued 27 September 1983
Decided 20 January 1984

Malcolm A. Goldstein, for petitioner.

Joseph L. Manson, Ill, with whom Rorald B. Natalie
and Thomas E. Acey, Jr. were on the brief, for inter-
venor, Pan American World Airways, Inc.

A 2

2

Thomas L. Ray, Assistant General Counsel, Civil Aero-
nautics Board with whom Ivars V. Mellups, Acting Gen-
eral Counsel and Barbara Thorson, Attorney, Civil Aero-
nauties Board, Robert B. Nicholson and William J. Rob-
erts, Attorney, Department of Justice were on the brief,
for respondent.

James A. McCall with whom Robert M. Baptiste and
Roland P. Wilder, Jr. were on the brief, for intervenor,
International Brotherhood of Teamsters, Chauffeurs,
Warehousemen & Helpers of America.

John O’B. Clarke, Jr. was on the brief, for intervenor,
International Association of Machinists & Aerospace
Workers.

Before: TAMM and WILKEY, Circuit Judges, and
MACKINNON, Senior Circuit Judge.

Opinion for the Court filed by Circwit Judge WILKEY.

Concurring Opinion filed by Senior Circuit Judge
MACKINNON.

WILKEY, Circuit Judge: In this case petitioners appeal
from two orders of the Civil Aeronautics Board (CAB)
requiring arbitration proceedings.’ We find that the CAB
properly issued the orders, and accordingly affirm.

I. FACTS

On 24 October 1979, the Civil Aeronautics Board
approved a merger between Pan American World Air-
ways, Inc. (Pan Am) and National Airlines (National) .?
The CAB conditioned its approval of the merger on the
parties’ acceptance of labor protective provisions (LPPs).
Following the approval of the President, the merger be-
came effective on 19 January 1980.

1CAB Order 82-8-63 (13 August 1982) hereinafter,
Order], Joint Appendix [JA] at 1; CAB Order 82-12-62
(16 December 1982) [hereinafter, Order on Rehearing], JA
at 6.

2 CAB Order 79-12-168/164/165 (24 October 1979).

i

A 3

38

The labor protective provisions imposed by the CAB
were the standard provisions used by the agency since
1972. Section 3 required the merging airlines to provide
for the integration of seniority lists “in a fair and equi-
table manner.” * Section 13 obligated the parties to re-
solve disputes involving seniority rights either through
negotiations or arbitration.‘ By virtue of these provisions
the CAB retained power to direct arbitration of merger-
reiated seniority disputes.

From the outset the merger posed labor difficulties,
since the employees of the two merging airlines were
represented by different labor unions using different
craft and class systems. National’s mechanics, cleaners
and stock clerks had been in one bargaining unit, repre-
sented by the International Association of Machinists and
Aerospace Workers (IAM). National’s station agents and
ramp agents formed another bargaining unit, represented
by the Air Line Employees Association (ALEA). At Pan
Am, however, the mechanics and cleaners were grouped
with the ramp agents in a classification represented by
the Transport Workers Union of America, AFL-CIO
(TWU). The Pan Am stock clerks and station agents

® Section 3 of the Labor Protective Provisions reads:

Section 3. Insofar as the merger affects the seniority
rights of the carriers’ employees, provisions shall be made
for the integration of seniority lists in a fair and equitable
manner, including, where applicable, agreement through
collective bargaining between the carriers and the rep-
resentatives of the employees affected. In the event of
failure to agree, the dispute may be submitted by either
party for adjustment in accordance with Section 13.

4 Section 13(a) of the Labor Protective Provisions reads
in relevant part:

Section 13(a). In the event that any dispute or con-
troversy ... arises with respect to the protections pro-
vided herein, which cannot be settled by the parties within
20 days after the controversy arises, it may be referred
by any party to an arbitrator .... The decision of the
arbitrator shall be final and binding on the parties.

A &
4

formed another bargaining unit, represented by the In-
ternational Brotherhood of Teamsters, Chauffeurs, Ware-
housemen and Helpers of America (IBT).°

After the CAB’s approval of the merger, the National
Mediation Board (NMB) ruled that Pan Am’s premerger
bargaining structure should prevail at the new merged
airline. The National employees were folded into the Pan
Am system according to their predominant duties at Na-
tional. Because the two airlines had different craft and
classification systems, employees who had belonged to the
same bargaining unit at National were split into two
different bargaining units at Pan Am. National cleaners
thus joined a bargaining unit represented by the TWU,
while their former co-unionist stock clerks joined a differ-
ent bargaining unit represented by the IBT. Similarly,
the National ramp agents were assigned to the TWU,
while their former co-unionist station agents joined the
IBT.

The integration plan approved by the NMB inevitably
created disputes which had to be resolved through arbi-
tration. A group of former Nationa] mechanics, calling
themselves the “Maintenance Legal Aid Committee”
(MLAC), opposed the TWU seniority list because it used
a date-of-hire method instead of a rank-ratio method.
Pan American and TWU voluntarily consented to arbi-
trate the issue with MLAC under the LPPs. On 17
December 1981 Arbitrator David H. Stowe issued an
order upholding date-of-hire integration as appropriate
under the LPPs.*®

The IBT seniority integration agreement was also chal-
lenged by former National employees. The IBT seniority

5 The collective bargaining structures of both airlines be-
fore the merger and of Pan American after the merger are
set forth in some detail in the CAB orders under review.

* Arbitration Pursuant to CAB Order 79-12-164 in Docket
33282 (17 December 1981) [hereinafter, Stowe Award];
JA at 23, 58.

a6hCS

5

list had been set after former Secretary of Labor William
J. Usery was retained to mediate in negotiations between
IBT and Pan Am. With Usery’s assistance, the airline
and the union agreed on a seniority system of list integra-
tion based on an employee’s last date of hire, and on a
point seniority district basis, with a concurrent right
allowing employees whose jobs are abolished to bump
junior employees. The CAB approved this plan,’ and a
panel of this court subsequently affirmed the CAB’s deci-
sion with a per curiam order.*®

The negotiations between Pan Am and the unions ap-
parently did not specifically resolve whether the former
National stock clerks and station agents—now represented
by the IBT—could cross the Pan Am class and craft lines,
and use their seniority to bump their former co-unionists
from their jobs. The IBT and IAM argued that a fair
integration would allow the former National employees a
one-time chance to cross the Pan Am class and craft lines,
while TWU—which apparently had not sought to secure
such a right for its members—opposed the IBT’s and IAM’s
claim. Claiming that the issue properly arose under the
LPPs, the IBT and the IAM sought a CAB order com-
pelling arbitration of the issue.

The CAB found that the issue raised does “involve a
seniority dispute which was the direct result of the Pan
American-National merger and therefore falis within the
scope of the LPPs.”*® Consistent with this finding, the
CAB ordered the parties to arbitrate the dispute,’® and
on rehearing again denied the requests of the TWU and
Pan Am.”

7 CAB Order 82-38-16 (4 March 1982).

®P.A.ILN. v. CAB, No. 82-1496 (D.C. Cir. 7 March 1983)
(per curiam order affirming CAB order 82-3-16).

* Order at 4; JA at 4.
10 Order at 5; JA at 5.
11 Order on Rehearing; JA at 6.

A *°%
6

Pan Am and the TWU seek review of the CAB orders
requiring arbitration. They advance two principal argu-
ments: first, that the issue sent to arbitration does not
involve a bona fide seniority dispute under the LPPs, and
so is outside the jurisdiction of the CAB,” and secondly,
that any issue as to the validity of the seniority lists has
been resolved in the prior arbitration.”

IT. ANALYSIS

We note at the outset that the scope of review of the
Board order at issue here is very narrow. Under Section
10(e) of the Administrative Procedure Act, we may set
aside the Board’s action only if it was “arbitrary, ca-
pricious, an abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in ac-
cordance with law or . . . unsupported by substantial
evidence... .”

As this court has previously held, the standards govern-
ing arbitration of disputed claims under collective bar-
gaining agreements are equally applicable to disputes
arising under the LPPs.** In the collective bargaining
context, arbitration is required of any controverted claim
that can reasonably be said to fall within the scope of the
arbitration clause, with all doubts being resolved in favor
of arbitration. In determining whether an LPP claim is
arbitrable, the CAB “plays the role of a court in a tra-
ditional labor dispute and is justified in referring to
arbitration any dispute it determines to be at least argu-

12 Brief of Petitioner Transport Workers Union of America,
AFL-CIO [hereinafter, TWU Brief] at 9-23; Brief of Inter-
venor Pan American World Airways, Inc. [hereinafter, Pan
Am Brief] at 22-39.

18 TWU Brief at 24-25; Pan Am Brief at 19-22.
145 U.S.C. 706(2) (1982).

15 Pan American World Airways, Inc. v. CAB, 683 F.2d 554,
559 (D.C. Cir. 1982) ; Delta Air Lines, Inc. v. CAB, 574 F.2d
546, 550 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 489 U.S. 819 (1978).

7

ably covered by the LPPs.” ?* Thus, if the CAB was cor-
rect in concluding that this case was arguably covered by
the LPPs, and if the issue had not already been resolved
under the LPPs, the CAB’s order must be upheld.

A. Presence of Seniority Dispute

The predominant issue in this case involves the proper
characterization of the complaint. If the dispute involves
seniority rights, then it arises under the labor protection
provision which requires “fair and equitable” integration
of the seniority lists,” and so clearly comes under the
sway of the CAB. If, on the other hand, the issue really
involves representational rights—as the TWU and Pan
Am claim it does “—then it raises issues reserved to the

146Pan American World Airways, Inc. v. CAB, 683 F.2d
554, 559 (D.C. Cir. 1982). Petitioners argue that the Pan
American case is distinguishable because it did not involve a
jurisdictional question. They argue that the CAB could not
delegate to an arbitrator the jurisdictional issue.

In analyzing this claim, it is important first to note that the
request for arbitration on its face clearly involves a seniority
dispute squarely within the jurisdiction of the CAB under
the LPPs. This is thus not a case where the CAB never had
jurisdiction; at most, it would be a case where the agency
was stripped of jurisdiction because of a competing grant of
exclusive jurisdiction to the NMB.

The petitioners’ argument would thus be more compelling
if a showing had been made that the arbitration would en-
croach on the NMB’s jurisdiction. See Air Line Pilots Ass’n,
Int'l v. Texas Int'l Airlines, 656 F.2d 16, 23 (2d Cir. 1981).
However, the current record fails to show that the arbitration
will cause a conflict with the NMB.

This case thus fits squarely under Pan American. It is
simply a case where the Board “is justified in referring to
arbitration any dispute it determines to be at least arguably
covered by the LPPs.” 683 F.2d at 559. The arbitrator re-
mains free to conclude, of course, that the dispute is ultimately
not within the LPPs.

17 Labor Protective Provision 3.
18 TWU Brief at 9-23; Pan Am Brak at 22-39.

A 8
8

NMB, and the CAB has at least arguably overstepped its
bounds.”

The CAB determined that the dispute did involve senior-
ity rights.*° The record shows that this conclusion was
not arbitrary and capricious. The kernel of the dispute
raised by the IBT is seniority rights. Any relief granted
by the arbitrator or the CAB must be couched in terms
of seniority rights. The dispute is thus at least facially
a seniority dispute.

The TWU and Pan Am argue nonetheless that the case
really involves representational rights. They assert that
the IBT, through the guise of protecting its members’
seniority rights under the LPPs, really seeks to force
Pan Am to treat it as the bargaining representative of a
class far larger than that allotted to it by the NMB.

This argument fails to persuade. The IBT does not
seek to acquire an expanded representational status, nor
does it strive to seek future recognition as the bargaining
representative for those crafts and classes now represented
by TWU. Nor does the {AM seek to perpetuate its rep-
resentative status in the new, merged airline. Nothing the
unions seek would alter the class and craft system ap-
proved by the NMB. At most, if the IBT and IAM should
win before the arbitrator, some individual employees
would be allowed a one-time opportunity to change from
one class and craft to another. While some individual em-
ployees would be represented by a different union if the
arbitrator accepted the two unions’ arguments, that alone
does not render this a representational dispute. What
*witters is that although individual employees might for

19 Air Line Pilots Ass’n, Int’] v. Texas Int’) Airlines, Inc.,
656 F.2d 16 (2d Cir. 1981) ; Division No. 14, Order of Rail-
road Telegraphers v. Leighty, 298 F.2d 17 (4th Cir.), cert.
denied, 369 U.S. 885 (1962).

2° Order at 4, JA at 4.

PRE FRE Hr,

9
9

whatever reasons change jobs, the boundaries of the bar-
gaining units would remain unchanged.”

B. Prior Arbitration

The TWU and intervenor Pan Am also argue that any
issues as to the fairness of the seniority integration under
the LPPs was resolved by the prior proceeding before
arbitrator Stowe.”? They decry the reopening of an al-
ready resolved dispute.

The prior arbitration did consider the fairness of the
seniority lists which were devised following the merger.
That arbitration, however, faced different facets of the
overall fairness issue, and differed in at least two critical
respects.

First, the Stowe award faced an issue not raised here—
whether the date-of-hire method was a fair method of

integrating the seniority lists.* The critical issue pre-

21Pan Am and TWU cite a number of cases which they
claim establish that this case should be treated as a repre-
sentational dispute. In this case, however, the IBT is not try-
ing to represent anyone outside its established bargaining
unit, and the IAM does not seek to perpetuate its prior repre-
sentation. It is thus distinguishable from the cases cited by
the petitioners, which largely involve disputes over whether
a union could represent a specific group of employees, or
whether a certified bargaining unit of one group was entitied
to represent a larger group of otherwise unorganized em-
ployees. See, e.g., Switchmen’s Union v. NMB, 320 U.S. 297
(1943) ; Air Line Pilots Ass’n, Int'l v. Texas Int'l Airlines,
656 F.2d 16 (2d Cir. 1981) ; Adams v. Federal Express Corp.,
547 F.2d 319 (6th Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 481 U.S. 915
(1977) ; Brotherhood of Railway & Steamship Clerks v. United
Air Lines, 325 F.2d 576 (6th Cir. 1963), cert. dismissed, 379
U.S. 26 (1964); Ruby v. American Airlines, 323 F.2d 248
(2d Cir. 19638).

22 TWU Brief at 24-25; Pan Am Brief at 19-22.

23 The award issued by arbitrator Stowe read :

The merger of the seniority lists of former National em-
ployees and of former Pan Am employees in the Mechanic

A 10
10

sented here, whether the former National employees could
use their seniority to bid for jobs under TWU’s repre-
sentation, was not treated. The claim presented here is
thus a fresh one, not resolved by the prior proceeding.

Secondly, the parties ultimately seeking relief here—
the former National stock clerks and station agents—were
not represented before arbitrator Stowe. Even the TWU
and Pan Am concede that those employees were not in-
volved in that proceeding.* The Board order requiring
arbitration here thus conforms fully with the Board’s
duty to see that all employee groups have a fair oppor-
tunity to participate in the integration process.

III. CONCLUSION

We reach no conclusions as to what result the arbitrator
should reach. We find only that the CAB acted within its
authority in sending this case to arbitration. For the
foregoing reasons, the orders of the CAB are

Affirmed.

and Grounc =~ vie craft, or class, shall be on the date of
hire basis as ‘vu. /@via in the Agreement dated April 18,
1980 between Pan Am and TWU.
JA at 58. The award, which is the only element of the arbi-
tration open to judicial review, is by its terms limited to the
“date-of-hire” issue. It says nothing about the dispute raised
in this case.
24 TWU Brief at 10; Pan Am Brief at 37.

ee

A 1)
1

MACKINNON, Senior Circuit Judge (concurring). In
this case it should be pointed out that the CAB doubted
that the prior approval of the seniority lists by the arbi-
trator and the CAB precluded the present claims of IBT
and IAM, but the CAB made it clear that Pan Am and
TWU would be “free to argue” before the arbitrator that
reconsideration of the seniority lists would be unfair to
them. Order 82-8-63 at 5 (JA 5). Subject to calling at-
tention to this comment, I concur in the foregoing opinion.

A 13

Order 82-8-63

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
CIVIL AERONAUTICS BOARD
WASHINGTON, D.C,

Adopted by the Civil Aeronautics Board
at its office in Washington, D.C.,
on the 13th day of August, 1982

In the matter of

PAN AMERICAN~ACQUISITION OF
AND MERGER WITH NATIONAL
(Docket 33283)

Petition of International Docket
Association of Machinists 39974

and Aerospace Workers to

compel arbitration,

Petition of International Docket
Brotherhood of Teamsters, 40033

Airline Division to compel
arbitration,

ORDER
This proceeding arises out of the Pan
American-National merger approved by the
Board and consummated on January 19,
1980, subject to implementation of labor
protective provisions (LPP's) (Orders

79-12-163/164/165). Before the Board are

—

A 14

two requests for arbitration of seniority
disputes which invoke our retained juris-
diction over sections 3 and 13(a) of the
LPP's,1 / The petitions were filed by
two unions on behalf of two groups of
former National employees now employed by
Pan American, the station agents and the
stock clerks. The petitions' purpose is
to reestablish the seniority rights these

workers had at National in the cleaner

1 / "Section 3. Insofar as the merger
affects the seniority rights of the
carriers' employees, provisions shall be
made for the integration of seniority
lists in a fair and equitable manner,
including, where applicable, agreement
through collective bargaining between the
carriers and the representatives of the
employees affected. In the event of
failure to agree, the dispute may be
submitted by either party for adjustment
in accordance with section 13."

"Section 13(a). In the event that
any dispute or controversy *** arises
with respect to the protections provided
herein, which cannot be settled by the
parties within 20 days after the
controversy arises, it may be referred by
any party to an arbitrator ***, The
decision of the arbitrator shall be final
and binding on the parties."

|
:

Oe CRENAET fom

A 15

and ramp agent job classifications.

Since the petitions have shown that there
is a dispute over seniority rights which
resulted from the Pan American-National
merger, the dispute appears to be covered
by the LPP's,. We will therefore grant
the requests for arbitration of the dis-
pute. In doing so, of course, we have
determined only that the petitioners are
entitled to arbitration not that they
should be awarded any of the relief they
seek,?_/

Under the Railway Labor Act, the Nat-
ional Mediation Board (NMB) has exclusive
jurisdiction to determine class or craft
composition for airline employee bargain-
ing units and representational rights.

At National, the NMB had sanctioned a

2_/ Each of the parties filed one or
more replies not authorized by the
Board's rules and motions for leave to
file unauthorized documents. We will
grant the motions.

A 16

class or craft unit composed of, among
other things, the job classifications of
cleaner and stock RTRSY, which was repre-
sented by International Association of
Machinists and Aerospace Workers (IAM).

A second class or craft unit at National
consisted of the classifications of sta-
tion agent and ramp agent and was repre-
sented by Air Line Employees Association
(ALEA). Pursuant to collective-bargain-
ing agreements between National and the
unions, IAM cleaners and stock clerks
could work in either position and accrue
separate seniority for each. The same
was true for ALEA station and ramp
agents. Consequently, for example, Na-
tional stock clerks with cleaner seniori-
ty or station agents with ramp agent sen-
iority could bid for the latter positions
on the basis of this separately maintain-

ed seniority if laid off as stock clerks

Re

Or station agents. In doing so, they
would not cross National's established
unit class or craft lines, or come under
the aegis of another union representa-
tive.

This situation changed after National's
merger with Pan Am, for at Pan Am the
Transport Workers Union of America, AFL-
CIO (TWU) represented a unit containing
cleaners and ramp agents, and the Inter-
national Brotherhood of Teamsters, Air-
line Division (IBT) represented a unit of
stock clerks and station agents. Their
contracts with Pan American would not pe-
rmit TWU cleaners and IBT stock clerks,
or TWU ramp agents and IBT station
agents, respectively to exchange jobs and
hold dual seniority as the employees'

counterparts had done at National.

A 18

After the merger, the NMB ruled that
Pan American's premerger bargaining
structure, as opposed to National's
should prevail at the combined carrier,
In order to conform to Pan American's job
classifications for bargaining units,
former National cleaners/stock clerks and
ramp/station agents were assigned to one
of their two job classifications accord-
ing to their predominant duties at Na-
tional. They were placed in one of Pan
American's class and craft bargaining
units which did not include their other
National job classification. The stock
clerks, for example, no longer shared a
bargaining unit with the cleaners and in-
stead were combined with the station
agents. The National employees also be-
came represented by a new collective-bar-
gaining agent,“either TWU or IBT. These

unicns then bargained with Pan American,

A 19

as required by section 3 of the LPP's,
about integrated seniority for each of
the combined National and Pan American

classes and crafts,3 /

3_/ Both TWU's and IBT's seniority
agreements with Pan American were not
resolved without difficulty. A yroup of
former National mechanics, calling
themselves "Maintenance Legal Aid
Committee" (MLAC), disputed the TWU
agreement on the ground that it
constructed an integrated list by. date-
of-hire instead of by a rank-ratio
method. (Mechanics are a job
classification also included in the TWU
Pan American unit with cleaners and ramp
agents.) Pan American and TWU
voluntarily consented to arbitrate the
issue with MLAC under section 13(a) of
the LPP's. On December 17, 1981,
Arbitrator David H. Stowe issued an award
upholding the date-of-hire integration as
appropriate under section 3. (A petition
to vacate the award, filed by employees
Billy J. Williams, Pedro L. Contreras,
Harrell D. Scott, and Kenneth F. King, is
pending at the Board in Docket 40407.)

The IBT seniority integration
agreement with Pan American resulted from
mediation conducted by Former Secretary
of Labor William J. Usery, Jr. This
agreement was challenged before the Board
by some 150 former National employees
calling themselves "Pan American In
National” (P.A.I.N.). By Order 82-3-16,
served March 8, 1982, we held, among
other things, that P.A.I.N. failed to

A 20

The petitions filed by IAM and IBT seek
to reestablish for a period of time the
seniority rights that National's stock
clerks and station agents had, respec-
tively, in the cleaner and ramp agent job
classifications. The IAM petition is
filed on behalf of the stock clerks, em-
ployees who had been represented by IAM
at National, and the IBT petition is
filed on behalf of the station agents,
who are now represented by IBT.

IAM claims arbitration is required be-
cause there has been nc “fair and equi-
table" integration of the stock clerks'
seniority, since many of the National
stock clerks held seniority rights in

other job classifications which were not

show that the interests of its members
had not been fairly represented by IBT in
agreeing to a date-of-hire seniority list
for the unit. We accordingly dismissed
their petitions, a decision for which
they are seeking judicial review,
P.A.I.N. ve. CAB, D.C. Cir. No. 82-1496

(filed May 3, 1982).

A. 2h

preserved by the integrated seniority

-list agreed to by Pan Am and TWU. IAM

argues, moreover, that some of the stock
clerks have been injured as a result, for
they were laid off from their stock clerk
jobs without being able to use the sen-
iority rights they had accrued as clean-
ers at National. IAM concludes that the
stock clerks' claim comes within the
scope of the LPP's and must therefore be
arbitrated. IBT similarly argues that
the Board must order an arbitration of
the seniority dispute involving the sta-
tion agents now represented, by IBT and
the ramp agents now represented by

Twu. 4 J Both IAM and IBT state that Pan

4 / IBT has not objected to TAM's
continuing representation of former
National stock clerks\in this regard and
has stated its agreement to a
consolidated arbitral proceeding, with
Pan American and TWU, of the station-ramp
agent and stock clerk disputes. We note
that no union has raised the dual
seniority matter on behalf of former
National cleaners at Pan American who are

A 22

American and TWU at one time were willing
to arbitrate these claims with IBT and
IAM, but not under the LPP's. IBT and
IAM, therefore, have petitioned for or-
ders directing arbitration under the
LPP's,.

Pan American and TWU oppose LPP arbi-
tration. They point out that IBT and IAM
do not allege that the integrated list
for the TWU cleaner-ramp agent unit (or
the IBT stock clerk-station agent unit)
in itself violates the LPP's. Instead,
Pan American and TWU contend that by
these claims IBT and IAM are attempting

to circumvent the NMB's exclusive author-

now in TWU's unit. While these employees
have been credited, at Pan American, for
their accrued National stock clerk
seniority as part of their total unit
seniority, there is no express contention
to us that they should be entitled to
exercise their National stock clerk
seniority in IBT's Pan American stock
clerk unit. Presumably, however, if
stock clerks could bid into the cleaner
unit, the same should be true for
cleaners in the stock clerk unit,

A 23

ity to specify class or craft bargaining
units and representational rights at mer-
ged Pan American. They contend that al-
lowing former National stock clerks and
station agents, now in IBT‘'s Pan American
unit, to claim residual cleaner and ramp
agent seniority in TWU's unit -- the re-
lief sought here by petitioners -- means
that these employees would cross class or
craft lines contrary to the NMB‘s express
ruling maintaining Pan American's pre-
merger collective-bargaining structure,
Thus Pan American and TWU essentially ar-
gue that the Board has no authority under
the LPP's to authorize employee movement
back and forth between classes or crafts
which are represented by different labor
Organizations. Pan Am and TWU filed fur-
ther pleadings contending that the sen-

iority integration of the employees in-

volved had already been resolved through

A 24

arbitration proceedings. They cited Or-
der 82-3-16 (March 4, 1982), dismissing a
challenge to the integrated seniority
list negotiated by Pan Am and IBT, and
the arbitration of the seniority dispute
among the employees represented by TWU.
IAM and IBT filed replies contending that
they had no intention of challenging the
NMB's decision and that the other arbi-
tration and negotiation proceedings cited
by Pan American and TWU did not foreclose
the arbitration of the seniority rights
claimed by the stock clerks and station
agents.

In considering petitions for arbitra-
tion filed under section 3 of the LPP's,
we do not attempt to decide the merits of
the claim. Section 3 states that an ar-
bitration should be held if there is a

dispute among the carrier and the labor

representatives over the fairness of the

A 29

seniority integration of the merged car-
rier's employees. Under this standard we
have concluded that the petitions for ar-
bitration of IAM and IBT should be grant-
ed. Their claims do involve a seniority
dispute which was the direct result of
the Pan American-National merger and
therefore falls within the scope of the
LPP's. TWU and IBT assert that seniority
for some of the employees who held two
classifications at National (the station
agents, ramp agents, and stock clerks)
has yet to be credited to them as inte-
grated Pan American seniority. In their
view, accordingly, the existing seniority
integration agreements between Pan Ameri-
can, TWU and IBT have not completely re-

solved the seniority issues ina "fair

and equitable" manner,

A 26

Pan American and TWU argue that the re-
lief sought by IAM and IBT wieuld cons-
titute an attack on Pan American's craft
and representational bargaining structure
approved by the NMB. Cleariy, the solu-
tion to the dispute favored by petition-
ers, namely, allowing station agents,
ramp agents, and stock clerks to tempor-
arily exercise their residual National
seniority for their second former job
classification at Pan American, might
mean that these employees, for a limited
time, would move between bargaining
units. But this circumstance does not,
in our opinion, so clearly violate the
NMB's order as to require our dismissal

of the petitions for arbitration.> / We

5 _/ Pan American acknowledged that the
craft structure established by the NMB
could have created some anomalies for
National employees. On the other hand,
the IBT integrated seniority list
calculates the seniority for the former
National stock clerks and station agents
entirely on the basis of their seniority

A 27

prefer to have the arbitrator resolve
this issue, particularly since the arbi-
trator will be more experienced in labor
law matters than we are. Our preference
for having the arbitrator resolve this
issue if fully consistent with the rea-
soning of the Court of Appeals in its re-

cent decision in Pan American World Air-

ways v. CAB, D.C. Cir. No. 81-1963 (deci-
ded July 23, 1982). The Court, quoting

Air Line Employees Ass'n v. CAB, 413 F.2d

1092, 1095 (D.C. Cir. 1969), pointed out
that the Board's imposition of LPP's has
not transformed us into a labor board
"bound to pass on every question of labor

law which might arise out of a merger,"

and, citing American Airlines v. CAB, 445

in these classifications and excludes any
seniority they may have gotten in any
other job classification. On the surface
this seems inconsistent with IBT's claim
that TWU must recognize the station
agents’ seniority as ramp agents,

A 28

ied, 404 U.S. 1015, held that we “may
properly decide that [four] scarce re-
sources should be husbanded for the tasks
for which [we] consider [ourselves] to be
expert, rather than frittered away in an
area more suitable for an experienced la-
bor arbitrator.” The Court accordingly
concluded that “the Board is fully en-
titled -- and indeed expected -- to rely
on the expertise of an arbitrator to set-
tle disputes that at least arguably arise
under the LPP's" (slip op., pp. 9-10).
This analysis by the Court fully supports
our decision to have the arbitrator rule
on the claims by Pan American and TWU
that the claims made by IAM and IBT would
violate the NMB's decision,

We conclude as well that the establish-
ment of integrated seniority lists for
the employees within the TWU and IBT

units also does not preclude the holding

A 29

of an arbitration proceeding. We doubt
that the establishment of those lists ne-
cessarily cut off the claims now made by
IAM and IBT. Pan American and TWU are,
of course, free to argue that the resolu-
tion of the seniority lists within each
unit would make it unfair and inequitable
to give the station agents and stock
clerks seniority rights in the ramp
agent/cleaner job classification.

The only difficulty raised in our minds
by this proceeding is IAM's standing to
pursue LPP arbitration for employees now
represented by another union at the mer-
ged carrier. However, since that union,
IBT, fully acquiesces in IAM's participa-
tion in the seniority dispute, we accord
it party status in the LPP arbitration

now ordered,

A 30

Since the arbitration petitions involve

common issues and no party opposes

con-

solidation, we will consolidate the peti-_

tions.

ACCORDINGLY,

1. We consolidate and grant the
tions of International Association
chinists and Aerospace Workers and
national Brotherhood of Teamsters,
line Division for orders directing

tration under the labor protective

peti-
of Ma-
Inter-
Air-

arbi-

provi-

sions in Pan American-Acquistion Of Con-

trol Of And Merger With National, Docket

33283;

2. We order Pan American World Airway,

Inc., and Transport Workers Union of Am-

erica, AFL-CIO, within 30 days of the

date of service of this order, to par-

ticipate with petitioners, jointly,

in

the selection of an arbitrator pursuant

to section 13(a) of the labor protective

A 31

provisions for the purpose of arbitrating
the claims set forth in the petitions.
The arbitration shall be conducted in
conformance with section 13(a) of the la-

bor protective provisions: Provided, how-

ever, that nothing in this order shall
preclude the parties, jointly, from
agreeing to proceed pursuant to section
13(b) of the labor protective provisions
within the 30-day period;

3. We order the determination of the
arbitrator to be final and binding on the
parties to the arbitration;

4. We order Pan American World Air-
ways, Inc., upon receipt of the arbitra-
tor's award to file two copies of the a-
ward in C.A.B. Dockets 33283, 39974, and
40033, respectively; and

5. We retain jurisdiction to take such
action as may be necessary or appropriate

in the public interest.

A 32

By the Civil Aeronautics Board:
PHYLLIS T. KAYLOR

Secretary

(SEAL)

All Members concurred.

A 33

Order 82-12-62

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
CIVIL AERONAUTICS BOARD
WASHINGTON, D.C,

Adopted by the Civil Aeronautics Board
at its office in Washington, D.C.,
on the 16th day of December, 1982

In the matter of

PAN AMERICAN-ACQUISITION OF
AND MERGER WITH NATIONAL
(Docket 33283)

Petition of International Docket
Association of Machinists 39974

and Aerospace Workers to

compel arbitration.

Petition of International Docket
Brotherhood of Teamsters, 40033

Airline Division to compel
arbitration.

ee 08 e@ 80 06 #8 88 e868 88 06 88 #8 08 88 86

ORDER ON RECONSIDERATION
By Order 82-8-63 (August 13, 1982) the
Board directed arbitration of a seniority
integration dispute between the Interna-
tional Association of Machinists and

Aerospace Workers (Machinists) and the

A 34

International Brotherhood of Teamsters,
Airline Division (Teamsters), on the one
hand, and the Transport Workers Union
(TWU) and Pan American World Airways (Pan
Am), on the other. The dispute grew out
of Pan Am's merger with National Air-
iines, a merger which we approved in Or-
ders 79-12-163/164/165 subject to labor
protective provisions (LPP's). After we
granted the petitions by the Machinists
and the Teamsters for an arbitration of
the dispute, TWU sought judicial review

of our decision, Transport Workers Union

v. CAB, D.C. Cir., No. 82-2080 (filed
September 15, 1982),

Almost two months after the deadline
for seeking reconsideration of our order,
Pan Am filed a petition for reconsidera-
tion and a motion for leave to file the
petition late. TWU filed a response sup-

porting Pan Am's request while the Machi-

A 35

nists and the Teamsters each filed an-
swers opposing reconsideration and op-
posing Pan Am's motion for leave to file
the petition. Pan Am also requested us
to stay our order directing arbitration
until we acted on its petition for recon-
sideration. The TWU supported Pan Am'‘s
stay motion, and the Machinists and the
Teamsters opposed it. .

We believe that Pan Am's petition for
reconsideration was filed inexcusably
late, for none of the reasons given by
Pan Am show good cause for its failure to
file a timely petition. We would dismiss
it on that ground had no one sought judi-
cial review of our order. However, since
the same arguments made in the petition
may be made by Pan Am before the Court,
we have decided to accept Pan Am's peti-
tion so that the Court will have the as-

sistance of our views on Pan Am‘s argu-

A 36

ments. After considering Pan Am's argu-
ments on the merits we have determined to
deny reconsideration,

The Machinists and the Teamsters sought
arbitration to reestablish certain sen-
iority and bumping rights claimed by some
former National employees. National's
cleaners and stock clerks were within the
same bargaining unit and represented by
the Machinists. National's station
agents and ramp agents were in another
unit represented by the Air Line Employ-
ees Association (ALEA). Many of the em-
ployees within each unit had worked in
both types of job within the unit and
could use their accrued seniority for
each type of job; thus, for example, a
station agent who had worked as a ramp
agent could use his ramp agent seniority
to bid for that type of job if he were

laid off as a station agent.

A 37

When National was merged into Pan Am,
however, these employees lost their abil-
ity to use their accrued seniority in a
second job classification. The National
employees became subject to Pan Am's bar-
gaining unit structure. At Pan Am the
stock clerks share a unit with the sta-
tion agents, not the cleaners, and are
represented by the Teamsters. The ramp
agents and cleaners are in a unit repre-
sented by the TWU. Pan Am's maintenance
of its premerger bargaining structure was
consistent with a ruling by the National
Mediation Board (NMB), the agency which
under the Railway Labor Act has the ex-
clusive jurisdiction for determining the
class or craft composition of airline em-
ployee bargaining units. After the mer-
ger Pan Am assigned each of the former
National cleaner/stock clerks and station

agents/ramp agents to a job classifica-

A 38

tion according to the employee's predomi-
nant duties at National. Because of the
difference in Pan Am's bargaining unit
structure, these employees were now in
units which did not include their other
National job classification. The bar-
gaining representatives at Pan Am, the
Teamsters and the TWU, each negotiated an
agreement with Pan Am to integrate the
seniority lists for its unit. See Orders
82-8-65 (August 16, 1982) and 82-3-16

(March 4, 1982), pet. for review pending

sub nom. P.A.I.N. v. CAB, D.C. Cir. No.

82-1496 (filed May 3, 1982). Under these
agreements, however, the National employ-
ees could not use their accrued seniority
in their second job classification; the
station agents, for example, who had ramp
agent seniority could not bid for ramp
agent positions as those positions were

in a different bargaining unit covered by

A 39

a seniority integration agreement which
gave workers outside the unit no senior-
ity credit.

This caused the Machinists and the
Teamsters to petition for an arbitration
under sections 3 and 13 of the LPP's! /
They sought to reestablish for a time the
seniority rights that National's stock
clerks and station agents had, respec-

tively, in the cleaner and ramp agent

1 / "Section 3. Insofar as the merger
affects the seniority rights of the
carriers' employees, provisions shall be
made for the integration of seniority
lists in a fair and equitable manner,
including, where applicable, agreement
through collective bargaining between the
carriers and the representatives of the
employees affected. In the event of
failure to agree, the dispute may be
submitted by either party for adjustment
in accordance with section 13."

"Section 13(a). In the event that
any dispute or controversy * * * arises
with respect to the protections provided
herein, which cannot be settled by the
parties within 20 days after the
controversy arises, it may be referred by
any party to an arbitrator * * *. The
decision of the arbitrator shall be final

A 40

classifications. We granted their peti-
tion over the objections of Pan Am and
the TWU, who primarily argued that such
an arbitration proceeding would undermine
the NMB's decision on Pan Am's bargaining
unit structure. We recognized that the
relief sought by the Machinists and the
Teamsters might cause some employees to
move into a new bargaining unit. We con-
cluded, however, that "this circumstance
does not, in our opinion, so clearly vio-
late the NMB's order as to require our
dismissal of the petitions for arbitra-
tion," Order 82-8-63, p. 4. We stated
our preference for having the arbitratcr
decide the issue, “particularly since the
arbitrator will be more experienced in
labor law matters than we are." As we
noted, our preference for having the ar-
bitrator decide the issue was “fully con-

sistent" with the Court's recent decision

A 41

in Pan American World Airways v. CAB,

D.C. Cir. No. 81-1963 (decided July 23,
1982), which affirmed a Board order di-
recting arbitration of another LPP dis-
pute,

Pan Am's petition for reconsideration
essentially argues again that the holding
of an LPP arbitration proceeding here
would violate the NMB's jurisdiction,

Pan Am asserts that the Board should not
proceed without first requesting the
NMB's opinion on whether the Board's ac~
tion would violate that agency's juris-
diction.

We would be pleased if the NMB offered
its opinion in this proceeding, we see no
reason for delaying the arbitration by
suspending it while we ask the NMB for
its views. Pan Am states that it be-
lieves that the NMB will give its opinion

if asked by the Board but fails to pro-

A 42

vide any foundation for this statement,
Neither Pan Am nor the TWU, which sup-
ports Pan Am, say that the NMB will only
give its opinion if the Board asks for
it. Neither Pan Am nor the TWU states
that it has made any effort on its own to
obtain the views of the NMB,

Accordingly, we will not delay the ar-
bitration proceeding in order to request
the NMB's opinion. However, we made it
quite clear in our earlier order that the
arbitrator should consider the jurisdic-
tional arguments made by Pan Am and the
TWU.2 / Pan Am and the TWU, moreover,
remain free to ask the NMB to provide its

views for the arbitrator's benefit, al-

2_/ Pan Am asserts without explanation
that the arbitrator has no authority to
rule on issues of law and therefore may
not rule on the issue of the scope of the
NMB‘s jurisdiction. This assertion is
unsupported by Board precedent and
practice.

A 43

though their doing so should not be al-
lowed to cause any undue delay in the ar-
bitration proceeding.

We remain unpersuaded, moreover, by Pan
Am's argument that the relief sought by
the Machinists and the Teamsters will in-
evitably violate the NMB's jurisdiction,
Pan Am and the TWU have construed that
relief as an attempt to change the bound-
aries of the bargaining units. The re-
lief requested, however, would not affect
those boundaries. Instead, it would
merely enable some employees to use their
accrued seniority to obtain jobs in the
TWU unit, a step which would cause them
to become represented by that union in-
stead of the Teamsters. This result on
its face does not appear to infringe on

the NMB‘s jurisdiction. According to the

Machinists, there are a number of cases

A 44

where employees hold seniority in dif-
ferent bargaining units subject to NMB
jurisdiction.

Our conclusion on this issue is sup-
ported by one of the cases cited by Pan

Am, United Transportation Union v. Bur-

lington Northern, 332 F. Supp. 486 (D.

Minn., 1971), aff'd, 470 F.2d 813 (8th
Cir., 1972). That case concerned a dis-
pute between two railroad unions over de-
termining the seniority of firemen, some
of whom also worked as engineers. The
fireman and engineer crafts were repre-
sented by different unions. The fire-
men's union sued the railroad to enjoin
it from carrying out an agreement with
the engineers’ union which allegedly
breached the railroad's contract with the

firemen's union. The district court re-

fused to take jurisdiction on two

grounds. First, the court ruled that the

A 45

dispute in essence was a jurisdictional
dispute over which union had the repre-
sentational authority to bargain with the
railroad on the seniority issue. As a
result, only the NMB could resolve the
matter. Secondly, the court held that
the contract issues could only be heard
by the National Railroad Adjustment
Board, for the federal courts had no jur-
isdiction over such issues. Pan Am, of
course, relies on the case for the
judge's first holding. However, while
the court of appeals affirmed the dis-
trict court's decision to decline juris-
diction, it did so only on the second
ground given by the district court. The
court of appeals expressly held that the
dispute was not a jurisdictional dispute
and further expressed its view that the

dispute should be settled in a proceeding

in which both unions participated. That

A 46

result is in effect the same one which
our order directing arbitration may

achieve here,?_/

3_/ The Eighth Circuit's decision in the
United Transportation Union case appears
to be consistent with Brotherhood of
Locomotive Firemen & Enginemen v. NMB,
410 F.2d 1025 (D.C. Cir., 1969), but
inconsistent with Brotherhood of
Locomotive Firemen v. Seaboard Coast Line
R.R., 413 F.2d 19 (5th Cir., 1969), cert.
denied, 396 U.S. 963. We prefer to have
the arbitrator decide which of the cases
should be followed here, as he will have
more expertise in labor law matters,

The other cases cited by Pan Am on the
NMB jurisdictional issue all involve
situations where the dispute clearly
involved a dispute over a union's right
to represent certain groups of employees,
although some also involved contract
enforcement issues. See General Comm. of
Adjustment of Brotherhood of Locomotive
Engineers v. Missouri-Kansas-Texas R.R.,
350 U.S. 323 (1943); Brotherhood of
Railway and Steamship Clerks v. United
Air Lines, 325 F.2d 576 (6th Cir., 1963);
Air Line Pilots Ass'n v. Texas
International Airlines, 656 F.2d 16 (2d
Cir., 1981). Since neither the
Machinists nor the Teamsters make any
claim that they should be able to
represent anyone in the TWU bargaining
unit, these cases are obviously not in
point here.

A 47

Pan Am's other objections to our order
are easily disposed of. First, it claims
we should defer to the greater expertise
of the NMB and not attempt to decide the
seniority dispute. As shown, however,
that dispute does not necessarily appear
to involve matters within the NMB'‘'s jur-
isdiction (or expertise), and that agency
has not expressed any opinion on this
proceeding. If the NMB does express an
opinion, however, we assume that the
arbitrator will treat it with great re-
spect.

Pan Am next asserts that the seniority
claims made by the Machinists and the
Teamsters essentially involve claims to
enforce rights under National's labor
contracts, Since those contractual
rights were assertedly extinguished by
Pan Am‘s new collective bargaining agree-

ments, there is no longer any basis for

A 48

the seniority rights asserted by the Ma-
chinists and the Teamsters. This argu-
ment misconstrues the source of the sen-
iority claims made by the Machinists and
the Teamsters. Their source is not the
collective bargaining agreements but the
LPP's provision that the seniority lists
of the two carriers must be integrated in
a fair and equitable manner. We may en-
force that provision whatever the terms
of Pan Am‘'s current labor contracts. See
Kent v. CAB, 204 F.2d 263, 266 (2d Cir.,
1953) ("A private contract must yield to
the paramount power of the Board to per-
form its duties under the statute crea-
ting it tc approve mergers * * * only
upon such terms as it determines to be
just and reasonable in the public inter-

est"); American Airlines v. CAB, 445 F.2d

891, 896 (2d Cir., 1971), cert. denied,

404 U.S. 1015; Int'l Ass'n of Machinists

A .49

v. Northeast Airlines, 536 F.2d 975, 977

(lst Cir., 1976), cert. denied, 429 U.S.

961. Pan Am and the TWU remain free, of
course, to argue to the arbitrator that
the relief sought by the Machinists and
the Teamsters should be denied because it
would unduly interfere with the TWU's
collective bargaining agreement.

Pan Am also asserts that the Machinists
and the Teamsters have no standing to
represent Pan Am employees who seek to
bid for jobs within the TWU unit. This
assertion has no merit, for it seems to
assume that the Machinists and Teamsters
are trying to represent employees within
the TWU unit. As shown, that assumption
is false.

Pan Am claims it has fully satisfied
its duty to arrange a fair and equitable
integration of seniority lists by having

separately agreed upon such lists with

A 30

the representatives of the applicable
bargaining units, the Teamsters and the
TWU. Although Pan Am is correct in say-
ing that no one has accused it of bad
faith in negotiating those agreements on
seniority integration, the parties whose
bargaining led to those agreements did
not appear to resolve the issue of the
seniority rights allegedly held by some
employees represented by the Machinists
and the Teamsters. Thus those agreements
can not be considered a final resolution
of the seniority issue. Here again, how-
ever, the arbitrator should consider the
claims of Pan Am and the TWU that it
would be unfair and inequitable to estab-
lish seniority rights for the Teamsters’
members for jobs in the TWU unit in view

of the fact that Pan Am and the TWU nego-

A 91

tiated in good faith an integrated sen-
iority list which has been in effect for
two years.

Pan Am's petition included an affidavit
of its System Director-Labor Relations,
who alleged that the relief sought by the
Machinists and the Teamsters could be
extraordinarily costly for Pan Am. His
affidavit states that Pan Am has been
using the seniority lists negotiated with
the TWU and the Teamsters for over two
years and has made numerous layoff deci-
sions according to those lists. If Pan
Am were found liable for back pay for the
layoffs made in reliance on these lists,
Pan Am would be potentially liable for
over $9 million, an amount which Pan Am
can not afford in its present financial
condition. This potential injury to Pan
Am is not a basis for denying arbitra-

tion, but it is a factor that the arbi-

A 932

trator can consider in determining
whether any relief should be awarded to
the Machinists and Teamsters,4 /

Finally, Pan Am has asked that we stay
our order directing arbitration pending
our decision on its petition for recon-
sideration. This order will clearly moot
Pan Am's stay request, but a stay would
appear unwarranted in any event. Cf. Or-
der 81-8-99 (August 17, 1981).
ACCORDINGLY,

1. We grant the motions of Pan Ameri-
can World ‘\irways, the International As-
sociation of Machinists and Aerospace
Workers and the International Brotherhood
of Teamsters, Airline Division, for leave

to file unauthorized documents; and

4 _/ The Board, however, has not in the
past awarded back pay, at least on a
significant scale, in seniority
integration disputes,

A 33

2. We deny the petition for reconsid-
eration and motion for stay filed by Pan
American World Airways.

By the Civil Aeronautics Board:

PHYLLIS T. KAYLOR
Secretary
(SEAL)

All Members concurred,

ee Cm Ste pe eH

A 55

EXTRACTS OF ORAL ARGUMENT BEFORE THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

[page 16 line 18 to page 17 line 17]
(Mr. Ray appearing for the CAB] On the
National Mediation issue, again, that was
one issue that the Board said that the
arbitrator should consider. The Board
said if the National Mediation Board wan-
ted to submit its views to the arbitra-
tor, the arbitrator should give them
careful consideration.

I might note in that regard that the
National Mediation Board so far has never
filed anything with the Board indicating
any interest in this case whatacever.

QUESTION: Is it customary to do that?

MR. RAY: Your Honor, this is kind of
an unusual case. This is the only case

of which I am aware of where there has

A 36

been a dispute between unions, where one
party has claim that there was National
Mediation Board jurisdiction involved.

However, the Board many years ago --

QUESTION: I thought that was usual.

MR. RAY: No, Your Honor. What usually
happens is that -- |

QUESTION: Two unions fighting over
jurisdiction,

MR. RAY: No, Your Honor, that's not
true. Usually, you will have a situation
where one carrier's workforce is repre-
sented by one union, the second carrier's
workforce is represented by another
union, and the carriers, say, will work
out a list with one union and the second
union will object and then we will send

it to arbitration.

A 97

[page 18 line 14 to page 19 line 10]

(Mr. Ray appearing for the CAB] The
Transport Workers Union and Pan American,
in objecting to the arbitration order,
have given no reason why it was improper
for the Board to have referred the Na-
tional Mediation Board question to arbi-
tration. And it is a little hard to see
why it would be improper for the Board to
do that because, as the Transport Workers
Union said several times in the course of
their reply brief, we don't have much
labor law expertise.

It seems to me it would be reasonable
for every body, and it was certainly
proper for the Board to do hie. to de-
cise that a question which appears to be
as complicated as this should be decided
by somebody with some expertise in the

area.

A 38

QUESTION: You just said then that it
is proper for the National Mediation
Board -~- the CAB to refer a National
Mediation Board question for their de-
cision. Is that what you said?

MR. RAY: Yes, Your Honor, unless -- if
the carrier and the Transport Workers
Union had clearly shown that the relief
sought by the Nachiatens and the Team-
sters would violate the National Medi-
ation Board jurisdiction, then I suppose
it would have been improper for the Board

to do that.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2742%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
