# Opposition Brief — Clark v. Southern Oregon Citizens Against Toxic Sprays, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2630%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 1028

## Text

_

US.
Office Supreme Court,
FILED

No. 84-267 ALEXANDER L STEVAS,

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1984

sy.
Vv

WILLIAM P. CLARK, et al.,

Petitioners,
vs.

SOUTHERN OREGON CITIZENS AGAINST
TOXIC SPRAYS, INC.,

Respondent.

fy
Vv

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ra’
vu

MicHarL JEWETT

Counsel of Record for Respondent
JacoBson, JEwETT & THIEROLF
P.O. Box 518

850 Siskiyou Boulevard, Suite 7
Ashland, Oregon 97520

(503) 482-4753

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 835-7427 Ext. 333

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Bureau of Land Management, in connec-
tion with its herbicide program, may disregard certain
requirements of the National Environmental Policy Act
of 1969 merely because the herbicides involved enjoy pro
forma registration under the Federal Insecticide, Fungi-
cide, and Rodenticide Act.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Pages
Question Presented i
Table of Authorities — ii
Statement of the Case 1
Reasons for Denying Certiorari and 2
Summary of Arguments — 2
Conclusion ... 11
Appendix A weasel aa App. 1
Appendix B App. 2
Appendix C App. 3
Appendix D es — |

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES:

Alaska v. Andrus, 580 F.2d 465 (D.C. Cir.), vacated
in non-pertinent part sub nom. Western Oil & Gas
Assn. v. Alaska, 439 U.S. 922 (1978) 6

Andrus v. Sierra Club, 442 U.S. 347, 358 (1979) 5, 0.

Baltimore Gas & Electric Co. v. NRDC, — US. —,
76 L. Ed. 2d 437 (1983) 7

Kleppe v. Sterra Club, 427 U.S. 390 (1976) 10

Merrell v. Block, 20 E.R.C. 1607, 1613 (9th Cir. 1984)
9, n. 4

Scientists’ Institute for Public Information, Inc. v.
Atomic Energy Commission, 481 F.2d 1079 (D.C.
Cir. 1973) et 8

Sierra Club v. Sigler, 695 F.2d 957 (5th Cir. 1983) 3, 4, 5

ce

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Pages
Trout Unlimited v. Morton, 509 F.2d 1276 (9th Cir.
1974) 7
Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Corp. v. NRDC, 435
U.S. 519 (1978) 7

STATUTES:

Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide
Act, 7 U.S.C. $136 (1984)

7 U.S.C. § 136a(5)

7 U.S.C. § 136(bb) 9
National Environmental Policy Act of 1969, 42
U.S.C. §§ 4321-4370 (1984) passim
REGULATIONS:
40 C.F.R. § 1502.22 passim
40 C.F.R. § 1502.22(a) 7
40 C.F.R. § 1502.22(b) (1) 7
40 C.F.R. § 1502.22(b) (2) 7
MISCELLANEOUS:

Forty Most Asked Questions Concerning CEQ’s
NEPA Regulations, 46 Fed. Reg. 18026,
18032 (1981) 5, n. 3

No. 84-267

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1984

fy
Vv

WILLIAM P. CLARK, et al.,

Petitioners,
Vs.

SOUTHERN OREGON CITIZENS AGAINST
TOXIC SPRAYS, INC.,

Respondent.

ty
7

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

fy
Vv

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent and Plaintiff below, Southern Oregon
Citizens Against Toxic Sprays, Inc. (““SSOCATS’’) accepts
the Statement of the Case (Petition, pp. 2-8), filed by
Petitioners (‘‘BLM’’). The following augments that
statement.

2

In its programmatic EIS the BLM admitted that
wood-cutters, fishermen, hunters, hikers, and other users
of the forest are expected to enter areas that have been
sprayed with herbicides (App. 1). BLM further ad-
mitted that the herbicides can enter water supplies (App.
1). Numerous BLM records introduced in the trial court
also showed that exposure of humans to herbicides can
occur in unintended ways. Despite the ‘‘mitigation mea-
sures’’ envisioned by BLM, human exposure to herbicides
in some dosage will occur.

In the district court, lengthy and detailed affidavits
of SOCATS’ toxicologists stated that it is now unknown
whether there is a safe dosage of exposure to herbicides.
Based on currently accepted data, science is unable to say
that any threshold of human exposure exists below which
genetic damage (e.g. cancer, mutations) does not occur.

BLM purported to disagree and to believe that low
dosages of herbicides were safe. However, SOCATS
learned BLM’s chief affiant, Dr. Frank Dost. D.V.M., had
himself earlier acknowledged that the existence of a safe
threshold of exposure is uncertain. Based on the record
before it, the district court thus made a finding that there
is genuine scientific uncertainty about the health effects of
herbicides and about the existence of a safe level of ex-
posure (see Petitioner’s App. 20a-24a). The BLM has
not challenged that finding on appeal.

ra’
Vv

REASONS FOR DENYING CERTIORARI

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENTS.

The Court should not grant certiorari. The circuit
courts are correct and in agreement about how to treat

important scientific uncertainty under NEPA and how to
interpret 40 C.F.R. § 1502.22. The circuit courts agree
that the unlikelihood of the worst case occurring does not
relieve an agency from disclosing scientific uncertainty,
nor from analyzing the potential worst case.

40 C.F.R. § 1502.22, a binding CEQ regulation, does
not exceed the mandate of NEPA. The plain wording of
the regulation is fully consistent with prior constructions
of NEPA by this Court and others.

The mere registration of particular herbicides by
EPA, as contemplated by FIFRA, does not alter BLM’s
obligations under NEPA and 40 C.F.R. § 1502.22.

I. The Circuit Courts of Appeal Are Not in Conflict.

The Circuit Courts are in agreement about the mean-
ing of 40 C.F.R. § 1502.22.

Aside from the Ninth, only the Fifth Cireuit has con-
strued this regulation, and that circuit agrees with the
Ninth. In Sierra Club v. Sigler, 695 F.2d 957 (5th Cir.
1983), the Army Corps of Engineers proposed to build an
offshore oil terminal. A catastrophic oil spill was pos-
sible. Scientists were uncertain of the effects of such a
spill and resolution of that uncertainty was beyond the
state of the art. The Corps argued it had no duty to
comply with 40 C.F.R. § 1502.22 merely because it believed__
that a catastrophic spill was unlikely, that its probability
was remote.’

1. To paraphrase BLM’s basic argument in this case: ‘We
feel that herbicides are probably safe in low dosages. There-
fore, we need not reveal scientific uncertainty on that issue
nor analyze the potential worst case that could occur if we
are wrong. We do not have to comply with 40 C.F.R. 1502.22.”

ll ——————

4

In rejecting the Corps’ argument, the Fifth Circuit
said:

[T]he fact that the possibility of a total cargo loss by
a supertanker is remote does not obviate the require-
ment of a worst case analysis... [The Corps’ inter-
pretation] of the regulation and the Plaintiff’s bur-
den under it reads the regulation out of existence.
. .. Remoteness does not bar a worst case analysis so
founded and should instead be weighed by the Corps
when it applies the worst case analsis in its decision
making process.

Sigler, at 974.

The Ninth Circuit agreed in the instant case, and it
expressly followed the rule of Sigler. It repeatedly cited
the Sigler decision and Fifth Cireuit’s interpretation of 40
C.F.R. § 1502.22 as the controlling authority.

BLM asserts that the Sigler decision required
SOCATS to ‘‘prove” a ‘‘real possibility of the oceur-
rence”’ to trigger the duty of 40 C.F.R. § 1502.22. This
argument by BLM distorts the Sigler decision, and migap-
plies that decision to the facts of this case. In Sigler, the
proposal was to build an oil terminal; in this case, to spray
herbicides. In Sigler, a foreseeable result was a major oil
spill; in this case, an admitted result is human contact
with the herbicides. In Sigler, the effects of a major spill
were irresolvably uncertain; in this case, the effects on
humans of herbicide exposure are likewise uncertain. The
two cases are factually similar.

, “Sierra Club v. Sigler . . . [supports] the district court's
decision here” (See Petitioner's App. 5a); “The district court
holding here accords with [Sigler]’’ (See Petitioner’s App. 6a);
“After the decision in Sigler, the BLM had notice that its read-
ing of 1502.22 was untenable” (See Petitioner’s App. 11a).

5

To be sure, in both cases, the plaintiffs must and did
‘‘prove” something. In Sigler, the plaintiffs proved that
oil spills were to be expected. In this case, the plaintiff
proved that the public would be exposed to herbicides.

SOCATS does not seek discussion of frivolous possi-
bilities, such as whether herbicides could harm the Big-
foot, if that creature exists. Such a meaningless discus-
sion adds a second layer of uncertainty and is clearly be-
yond the ambit of NEPA. In this case, however, it is
agreed and ‘‘proved’’ that herbicides will contact the pub-
lic. The only uncertainty is about what might happen
next, and about whether there is a safe threshold dosage
of exposure.

As in Sigler, science is unable to answer this import-
ant question. Therefore, the BLM must acknowledge the
scientific uncertainty and analyze the worst case, just as
the Army Corps had to do in Sigler.

This is the obvious and plain meaning of 40 C.F.R.
§ 1502.22 To somehow require either plaintiff to
“prove’’ that the worst case will occur is to pervert the
elear intent of the regulation. Neither the occurrence
nor the non-occurrence of the worst case is provable; if it
were, 40 C.F.R. § 1502.22 would not be triggered. This
was the reasoning of the Fifth Cireuit in Sigler and the

3. The CEQ’s own explanation of 40 C.F.R. § 1502.22 sup-
ports the Circuit Court, and refutes the BLM’s interpretation.
The CEQ has made it clear that § 1502.22 applies to low prob-
ability/catastrophic impact possibilities. Forty Most Asked
Questions Concerning CEQ’s NEPA Regulations, 46 Fed. Reg.
18026, 18032 (1981).

CEQ’s interpretation of NEPA deserves “substantial def-
erence” from tiie’ courts. Andrus v. Sierra Club, 442 U.S. 347,
358 (1979).

6

Ninth Circuit in the instant case. The decisions are in
harmony and correct. Thus, though BLM would portray a
conflict in the Circuits, that conflict is illusory and needs
no resolution by this Court.

II. The Circuit Court’s Interpretation of 40 C.F.R. § 1502.-

22 Is Consistent With NEPA.

The regulation at issue, 40 C.F.R. § 1502.22 merely
codifies a long and solid chain of case law. NEPA has
always required that agencies discuss and evaluate im-
portant uncertainty.

As early as the decision in Scientists’ Institute for
Public Information, Inc. v. Atomic Energy Commission,
481 F.2d 1079 (D.C. Cir. 1973), it was held that:

[OJne of the functions of a NEPA statement is to
indicate the extent to which environmental effects are
essentially unknown. It must be remembered that the
basic thrust of an agency’s responsibilities under
NEPA is to predict the environmental! effects of pro-
posed action before the action is taken and those ef-
fects fully known. Reasonable forecasting and spec-
ulation is thus implicit in NEPA, and we must reject
any attempt by agencies to shirk their responsibilities
under NEPA by labeling any and all discussion of
future environmental effects as “crystal ball inquiry.”

Id. at 1092.

In Alaska v. Andrus, 580 F.2d 465 (D.C. Cir.) va-
cated im non-pertinent part sub nom. Western Oil & Gas
Assn. v. Alaska, 439 U.S. 922 (1978), the circuit court
stated, “One of the costs that must be weighed by decision-
makers is the cost of uncertainty—i.e., the costs of pro-
ceeding without more and better information.” Id. at 473.
40 C.F.R. § 1502.22 is merely an efficient mechanism to
accomplish that weighing.

7

In Baltimore Gas € Electric Co. v. NRDC, — US.
—, 76 L.Ed. 2d 437 (1983), the Nuclear Regulatory Com-
mission had exhaustively studied the uncertain effects of
the permanent underground storage of nuclear wastes.
It had acknowledged this uncertainty, described the po-
tential worst case (water seepage into bedded-salt reposi-
tories) and assessed the chances of the worst case occur-
ring; in short, the agency had done precisely what 40
C.F.R. 4 1502.22 requires. Though this Court properly de-
clined to disagree with the NRC’s substantive decision to
proceed, it did hold that this underlying procedure of
“consideration and disclosure [was] required by NEPA.”
id. 76 L.Ed. 2d at 447. It is therefore clear that 40 C.F.R.
§ 1502.22 merely implements what NEPA contemplates
and does not exceed the mandate of NEPA. Thus, BLM’s
desire to remain silent as to potential effects it deems
unlikely violates both NEPA and 40 C.F.R. § 1502.22.

Plaintiff freely admits that NEPA does not require
discussion of all potential impacts, no matter how remote
or frivolous. Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Corp. v.
NRDC, 435 U.S. 519 (1978); Trout Unlimited v. Morton,
509 F.2d 1276 (9th Cir. 1974). However, as written and
as interpreted below, neither does 40 C.F.R. § 1502.22 re-
quire such exercises in imagination. The regulation is
self-limiting in that respect. Only scientific uncertainty
which is “relevant” requires disclosure. 40 C.F.R. § 1502.-
22. Only if unobtainable information is ‘‘essential to a
reasoned choice,” 40 C.F.R. §§ 1502.22(a) and 1502.22(b)
(1), or is ‘‘important to the decision,” must the agency
publish a worst case analysis. 40 C.F.R. § 1502.22(b) (2).

The plain wording of the regulation thus places its
effect squarely in the mainstream of NEPA. Frivolous
concerns may be disregarded, but important and relevant

8

potential impacts must be scrutinized. It can scarcely be
argued that cancer and mutations are not relevant or im-
portant.

Contrary to the BLM’s assertion (Petition p. 22) this
regulation will not require each agency to “develop and
maintain a scientific staff” to do origina! animal test re-
search on the effects of herbicides. One must remember
that SOCATS does -not ask BLM to solve the riddle of
the safety of herbicides, but merely to acknowledge un-
certainty and to describe the potential worst case. This
requires no extra scientific staff, but merely the publica-
tion of a document and the exercise of candor.

The issue here is not the ultimate substantive ques-
tion of the safety of herbicides, nor even the question
of whether to use those herbicides, but rather the strict
procedural compliance which NEPA has always demanded.

The regulation provides an efficient and streamlined
mechanism for the consideration of scientific uncertainty,
one that could actually decrease the burden on federal
agencies devoid of a particular scientific expertise. An
agency is given the option of publishing a worst case an-
alysis. For this reason the only burden imposed by the
regulation in the instant case is self-imposed. If BLM
had merely complied with the plainly worded regulation
and issued an adequate worst case analysis, it need not
have missed a single day of spraying, regardless of the
ultimate safety or hazard of herbicides.

III. The Registration of Herbicides Under FIFRA Is Ir-
relevant To This Case.

The BLM suggests that the fact that herbicides were
registered by the Environmental Protection Agency under

9

the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide Act,
7 U.S.C. §136 (“FIFRA”) somehow negates NEPA, in
whole or in part.‘ This is incorrect for several reasons.

First, as BLM admits (Petition, p.15), “EPA’s reg-
istration of an herbicide is not a guarantee of safety to
either man or the environment.” FIFRA’s standards for
registration of chemicals are different and less primarily
concerned with hazard to human health than is NEPA.
A chemical may be registered under FIFRA merely if
the benefits of its intended use outweigh its costs (in-
cluding environmental costs). 7 U.S.C. §$§136a(5) and
136(bb).

Since FIFRA calls for this balancing of costs and
benefits before registration, it is possible that a regis-
tered chemical is highly hazardous to humans, but very
efficient in its commercial use. It is likewise possible that
the particular chemical was registered because it is of
marginal benefit but is toxicologically benign.

Thus, at best, the mere fact of registration under
FIFRA simply does not tell us much about the safety of
a given chemical, since KPA’s decision to register that

4. In its Petition, BLM would characterize its attitude to-
ward FIFRA registration as something less than complete re-
liance. (“We are not contending that FIFRA absolves the pro-
posing agency, here the BLM, from conducting a thorough
examination of the probable environmental impacts of its spe-
cific spraying proposal.”) (Petition, p.16) However, the rec-
ord in a related case shows that BLM’s actual attitude is
total reliance on FIFRA registration: “Simply stated, our posi-
tion is: that so long as herbicides are registered and approved
for forestry use by EPA, BLM may appropriately use such chem-
icals within specified procedural safeguards.” Merrell v. Block,
20 E.R.C. 1607, 1613, footnote 8 (9th Cir. 1984) (citing BLM’s
Field Guide to Policies and Procedures Required for Vegetation
Management with Herbicides in Western Oregon) (emphasis
in original).

10

chemical embraces many other concerns than safety. Even
if FIFRA worked as Congress intended, it would fail to
provide the “hard look” demanded by NEPA. Kleppe v.
Sierra Club, 427 U.S. 390 (1976).

Second, and even more troubling, is the EPA’s ap-
parent failure to meet its duties under FIFRA as shown
by unchallenged evidence in both the trial court and ad-
ministrative records.

While this suit was in the district court, a special
review of 2,4-D was completed by EPA. It showed “sig-
nificant information gaps” on the effects of 2,4-D (a reg-
istered herbicide) “preventing a definite conclusion on the
safety of the herbicide.” (App. 2).

Further, a 1980 report trom the General Accounting
Office concluded that EPA’s program of reregistration
and reassessment of the safety of registered chemicals
was then already hopelessly inundated with 35,000 regis-
trations, which EPA had inherited from other agencies
(App. 3-4). EPA was then behind schedule and could
only “rubber stamp” existing registrations (App. 5-6).

To further aggravate the problem, in 1982, the Rea-
gan administration began to cut drastically the EPA
budget for FIFRA-related programs, including the reg-
istration review process (App. 7). BLM presented no
evidence that the situation has improved.

Plaintiff’s members repeatedly brought all this in-
formation to BLM’s attention, but BLM continued to look
no further than the mere fact of EPA registration.

Regardless of the nature of EPA’s duties under
FIFRA, EPA has not met those duties. Therefore, BLM’s

11

reliance on EPA is misplaced and cavalier. EPA’s prac-
tical problems of politics and budget simply prevent any
conclusion that “registration means safety.” The mere
fact of pro forma registration of a particular herbicide
does not remove uncertainty as to health effects when
humans are exposed to that chemical. Existing registra-
tion, therefore, does not affect the strictly procedural
obligations of 40 C.F.R. § 1502.22, nor cure BLM’s fail-
ures to comply with that regulation and with NEPA.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons given above, respondent Southern
Oregon Citizens Against Toxic Sprays, Inc.’ asks that the
Court deny the BLM’s Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL JEWETT

Counsel of Record for Respondent
Jerry A. Jacopson

Ricuarp B. Tuieroir, Jr.

5. SOCATS is a non-profit Oregon corporation. It has no
parent companies or subsidiaries. SOCATS is a member cf
the Southern Oregon Regional Council of the Northwest Coali-
tion for Alternatives to Pesticides, Inc., an Oregon non-profit
corporation.

This listing is provided under Supreme Court Rule 28.1.

App. 1

APPENDIX A

(Excerpts from BLM’s final EIS, Vegetation Manage-
ment with Herbicides, Western Oregon, 1978; a complete
copy has been lodged with the Court by BLM).

from p. 3-93
WATER

Herbicides may get into water supplies by direct ap-
plication to previously undetected areas of free wa-
ter, drift from adjacent areas, leaching in shallow
soils, and movement of herbicides to streams by mass
overland flow resulting from periods of intense pre-
cipitation occurring shortly after application. These
sources could introduce low levels of herbicides for
short periods of time leading to a brief exposure of
aquatic organizms (sic) or other water users in the
immediate area. However, no measurable adverse im-
pacts to organisms from these low levels have been
identified.

from p. 5-3

The possibility exists that wood cutters, hunters,
fishermen, hikers and berry pickers will cross through
or be in areas proposed for herbicide treatment or
treated with herbicides.

App. 2

APPENDIX B

(Excerpt from an EPA news release, April 21, 1980. This
news release is part of the trial court record.)

Barbara Blum, Deputy Administrator of the
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, announced
today that the Agency is requesting additional in-
formation from manufacturers to determine whether
2,4-D, a widely used herbicide, is safe for humans
and the environment. ‘‘We have made this decision
following a review of health effects studies of 2,4-D,”
Blum said. “The review showed that significant in-
formation gaps exist on the effects of 2,4-D, prevent-
ing a definite conclusion on the safety of the herbi-
cide.”

App. 3

APPENDIX C

(Excerpts from a report by the Comptroller General of
the United States entitled: Delays and Unresolved Issues
Plague New Pesticide Protection Programs, February 15,
1980. This report is part of the trial court record.)

from p. 2

On September 28, 1978, the Chairman, Subcom-
mitte on Health and Scientific Research, Senate Com-
mittee on Labor and Human Resources, asked us to
review several pesticide regulatory programs. The
review was made because of his interest in the status
of EPA’s efforts to protect the public from peten-
tially hazardous pesticides. The Chairman was con-
cerned because our 1975 report on Federal pesticide
registration ... and a report of the Sub-committee
on Administrative Practice and Procedure, Senate
Committee on the Judiciary, disclosed that EPA
needed to significantly upgrade its pesticide pro-
grams before they could be relied on to protect the
public and the environment from exposure to haz-
ardous pesticides.

As agreed with the Chairman’s office, our review
concentrated on two fairly new pesticide programs—
registration standards and rebuttable presumption
against registration (RPAR). The former was de-
signed to thoroughly reevaluate the safety of the esti-
mated 35,000 pesticide products which the Government
had registered during the last three decades. The
latter, EPA designed to identify certain high-risk
pesticides and, after public and industry input, to un-
dertake risk/benefit analyses to determine whether
the pesticides identified should be canceled, placed
under restricted use, or left alone.

from p. 4

After several false starts, dating back to 1975,
EPA finally began in 1978, a registration standards

App. 4

program to reassess the safety of the 35,000 pesticide
products and their accompanying tolerances which the
Government had registered (or approved) over the
past three decades. The task is not easy. Registra-
tion standards will be a long and costly program
spanning up to 15 years, involving hundreds of EPA
and contractor personnel, and costing as much as $200
million. Although it is too early to predict the pro-
gram’s chances of success, the program is already 5
months behind EPA’s schedule and has many other
problems which must be corrected if it is to be effec-
tive in assuring that only reasonably safe pesticides
are used in this country.

from p. 5

In a related matter, EPA has not finished exam-
ing the adequacy of its tolerance-setting procedures—
something it first promised back in 1975. Until it
thoroughly completes this task and tolerance reevalu-
ations under registration standards, EPA cannot as-
sure the public that tolerance levels are reasonably
safe.

from p. 5

The registration standards program evolved from
EPA’s early failure to conduct an effective pesticide
reregistration program. Under the 1972 FIFRA
amendments, EPA was required to reregister, by
October 21, 1976, the 35,000 pesticides previously
registered by the Department of Agriculture (prior
to December 1970) and EPA. Amendments in 1978
reaffirmed the need for the expeditious reregistration
of pesticides but deleted the deadline requirement.

During 1975, two EPA officials started reviewing
Agency files to determine whether required safety
data was present. In May 1976, EPA formally estab-
lished a task force to continue this reregistration ef-
fort. However, EPA officials mistakenly assumed
that most of the data was scientifically valid. Ac-
cordingly, reviewers skimmed through the files to de-

App. 5

termine whether data existed but generally did not
review the data’s quality.

An EPA official told us that this early attempt
was a “‘rubber stamp’’ approach to reregistration.
He also told us that EPA took this approach because
of statutory time constraints and because EPA did
not have sufficient resources to conduct a thorough
reregistration program.

In August 1976, EPA, because of the criticism it
was generating, halted its reregistration program
without reregistering any pesticides. A summary of
this criticism appeared in a March 1977 EPA report
entitled, ‘‘FIF RA: Impact on the Industry”’

««* * * Senate hearings, discussions with GAO
and FDA concerning the reliability of certain data
submitted to FDA, and a subsequent preliminary re-
port of an independent toxicologist on a sample of
pesticide data raised serious doubts about (1) the
adequacy of the testing [data] in EPA files, and (2)
the completeness of the Agency’s own review and
follow-up. Since then, in December 1976, the staff of
the Senate Subcommittee on Administrative Practice
and Procedure has issued a report stating that the
Agency has, in fact, been negligent in its public duty
by not reviewing all data in depth prior to reregistra-
tion.”’

EPA officials met several times in August 1976 to
discuss the need for a more comprehensive reregis-
tration program to overcome the deficiencies of the
one just terminated. In September 1976, several offi-
cials proposed a plan to establish such a program and
suggested that a permanent staff of about 60 scien-
tists and program managers have responsibility for
it. EPA management endorsed the program but
failed to provide the staff to operate it.

In February 1977, pesticide officials presented
another reregistration plan to EPA management to be
carried out by a staff of about 90 people. This plan

App. 6

was also not implemented, and the reregistration task
force operated with a small staff until its demise in
July 1978.

EPA began planning for what is now known as
the registration standards program in 1977. EPA
realized it needed to change its narrowly focused
strategy toward reregistration and decided to (1)
thoroughly reevaluate all health and safety data in its
files and all published literature relating to a pesti-
cide’s uses, (2) restructure its reregistration program
to concentrate on the estimated 514 active chemical
ingredients in pesticides, instead of considering the
merits of each of the 35,000 pesticide products sepa-
rately, and (3) reassess the safety of the estimated
6,000 tolerances on food and feed products which the
Government had approved over the last 30 years.

from p. 8

According to EPA officials, important health and
safety studies for many of the registration standards
pesticides are missing, precluding EPA from develop-
ing final registration standards and from uncondi-
tionally reregistering all pesticides. Therefore, EPA
plans to issue interim registration standards on many
pesticides and plans to direct the applicable pesticide
firms to fill data gaps by locating or performing re-
quired studies and submitting them to EPA for re-
view.

from p. 9

As of September 1979, EPA was already 5 months
behind schedule in developing the first group of regis-
tration standards. Delays cost money and prevent
EPA from reaching timely conclusions on the safety
of previously registered pesticides. As a result, the
public may be exposed to hazardous pesticides longer
than necessary.

App. 7

APPENDIX D

(Excerpts from Article, Toxic Substances, Pesticides, and
Hazardous Materials Highlights of President Reagan’s
Proposed Fiscal 1983 Budget, Chem. Reg. Rep., February
12, 1982 (B.N.A.) This article is part of the trial court
record.)

A 12 percent cut in Environmental Protection
Agency staffing and funding for fiscal 1983 was pro-
posed Feb. 6 as the Reagan Administration sent to
Congress a budget request termed “tighter and more
efficient” by an EPA official.

The $961.3 million operating budget requested by
the President would be about $1.25 million, or 12 per-
cent, lower than EP4A’s fiscal 1982 operating budget
and $336 million, or 29 percent, less than the fiscal
1981 operating level.

The budget proposed cutting the toxic substances
program by $8.8 million to $68.6 million, the pesticides
program by $2.5 million to $50.8 million, and research
and development activities by $62 million to $216 mil-
lion.

The agency’s full-time personnel level for fiscal
1983 would be 8,645, down 1,176 from fiscal 1982, with
the toxics program losing 79 full-time employees, the
pesticides program 84 employees, and research and
development 251 employees. .. .

The fiscal 1983 budget proposal would signifi-
cantly reduce funding for pesticide programs, bring-
ing a fourth straight year of declining staffing levels
for those programs. Staff levels in this area would
be cut to 661 full-time positions—less than two-thirds
of the 1,017 positions authorized in 1980. Funding
would decline to $50.8 million, a 21 percent drop from
1980 levels.

App. 8

For 1983, the major cuts come from:

The state grant programs. The Administration
proposes to cut $1.8 million from enforcement grants
and $500 million from certification and training grants.
The enforcement cut would be offset by improvements
in state priority setting that will “direct available re-
sources to aspects of pesticides use that do the great-
est harm,” the agency said. States will be encouraged
to impose fees to offset the cuts in certification and
training funds.

The registration review process, where $558,000
and 35 staff positions would be cut. The EPA budget
summary said the review process would be “stream-
lined to obtain strict adherence to legislative and ad-
ministrative deadlines.”

The registration standards development program,
which would lose another 10 positions, but increase its
efficiency, concentrating on “classes of pesticides with
high exposure and potential hazard,” the agency stated.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2630%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
