# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Malizia v. New York

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2601%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 932

## Text

84-225 ii

oT Court, U.S.

ee eS
No. AUC 8 1964
7 ENE LOTS VAS
eal a CLERY:
In Che anna
Supreme Court of tye United States
October Term, 1983
RICHARD MALIZIA,
Petitioner,
vs.
STATE OF NEW YORK,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE COURT OF APPEALS OF
THE STATE OF NEW YORK

FRANK A. LOPEZ
LONDON & LOPEZ
188 Montague Street
Brooklyn, N.Y. 11201
(212) 522-2900

NATHAN Z. DERSHOWITZ
DERSHOWITZ & EIGER, P.C.
225 Broadway
New York, N.Y. 10007
(212) 513-7676

ALAN M. DERSHOWITZ
Of Counsel

Yuck Bailey Fuiate, 203 Richmond Avenue @ Staten Island, New York 10302
Tel.: (212) 447-5358 — (516) 222-2470 — (914) 682-0848

EE

HS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

In a prosecution for murder, where
the key factual issue was whether
the defendant was present at the
scene of the shooting, did the
admission of hearsay testimony that
the decedent had told the witness
that he intended to meet with the
defendant on the night he was shot,

purportedly under the Hillmon

exception to the hearsay rule,
violate the defendant's rights under
the Confrontation Clause where the
hearsay was introduced to prove, not
the intent or conduct of the
declarant-decedent, but the conduct

of the defendant?

a rn
ae

ees a OS ae ee ee, ee ae a wel oS
o a Petar err wry ris page ee . - m "
i , 7 ¥ 7 2 . —_ 4 .
:
é 7 a .
| | La
:
- a
™ ..
Ca
,
’
s
«
: ’
: 1?
t
ean

Il.

Does the determination by the Jew

“York Court of Appeals that the

defendant had not properly preserved
the issue for its review having
objected, prior to his first trial
but not during the course of the
second trial, constitute an
independent and adequate state
ground which defeats review by this

Court?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented ......

Table of Authorities .....

Opiniones Below . +. sss © es

Jurisdiction & . * a . o ° : 7

Constitutional Provision
Involved 7 7. = = e a: e ie .

Statement of the Case .....

Reasons for Granting the Writ .

I.

Il.

THE ADMISSION OF HEARSAY
STATEMENTS OF INTENT TO
PROVE, NOT THE CONDUCT

OF THE DECLARANT, BUT THE
CONDUCT OF A THIRD-PARTY
-- THE DEFENDANT --, VIO-
LATED THE PETITIONER'S
RIGHTS UNDER THE SIXTH
AMENDMENT'S CONFRONTA-
TION CLAUSE. ...-e«« -«

THE DETERMINATION BY THE
NEW YORK COURT OF APPEALS
THAT PETITIONER HAD NOT
PROPERLY PRESERVED THE
ISSUE FOR REVIEW DOES NOT
DEFEAT REVIEW BY THIS
COURT ON CERTIORARI. ..

lili

13

13

37

Cenpegiuegieonh « «© © «+ © © 6 © 6
Appendix °° 2 o » . ee — aa a a e

Opinion of the Court of
Appeals .. «++. -e«e. e

Opinion of the Supreme Court,

Appellate Division, First
Department ... «ee. e«

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Abie State Bank v. Bryan,

UeBe FED UtPStF «2 6

282

California v. Green, 399 U.S.

[ae SUeTeE aw 6% 8

Clark v. United States, 412

B.2G 2) (O.Ce CO. ABD~

Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S.

(eval &¢ ke +

1980)

308

Davis v. Wechsler, 263 U.S.

[tease 5 6 ee +

Fay v. Noia, 372 U.S.
(1963) . . 6 * . . .

Gual Morales v. Hernandez Vega,

391

22

579 F.2d 677 (1st Cir.

1978) e 2 e e * = *

Hathorn v. Lovorn, 457 U.S.

S19GS) « sw ew ew we 2

255

Henry v. Mississippi, 379 U.S.

443 (1965) . 2. « © «

40,

41
15
25
15
41

4}
24
43

42

McCormick, Evidence, §294 at 695
(2d ed. 1972) 7 - o * . . * * . o

Michigan v. Long, 103 S.Ct. 3469
(1983) . . + * . . . . o . oe . .

Michigan v. Tyler, 436 U.S. 499
(19 8) * 7 7 _ . * > 7 * — . * 40,

Mutual Life Insurance Co.
v. Hillmon, 145 U.S. 285
(1982) . - . 7 _ . 7. . - 36 13,

Ohio v. Roberts, 488 U.S. 56
(1980) 7. - ~ . . . . . + - + 7 7 .

Parrot v. cite of Tallahassee,
381 Uebe 1 5) 7 . 7 = + . ”

People v. Alcalde, 24 Cal.2d 177,
126 Wea Gar Steen) « oe ss | BB e

People v. Lauro, 91 Misc. 2d 706,
358 N.Y.S.20 503 (Sup. Ct.
Westchester County, 1977) ... .

People v. Michael, 48 N.Y.2d 1,
420 N.Y.S.20 371, 394 N.E.2d
1134 (1979) 7 7 7 * * > * > > * >

vi

Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S.

EE 5 6 6» 6 6 0 © 6 0 0 « «

shepors v. United States, 290 U.S.
) . * . . . . * ° . * , 20, 22

State v. seg liatay 372 A.2a 1019
(Me, 19 + . 7 7 . . . . 7 * . .

State v. Vestal, 273 N.C. 561,
emer ees 0 UOTI) 6. lg 6 tt

United States v. Brown, 490 F.24
DC TEE? CWPSD 5 » « 0 0 « c

United States v. Cohen, 631 F.2d
DEED 5 6 0 6 8 fo

United States v, Taian 510 F.2d
GS r. *. . 7 . 7 . 24,

U.S. Vv. Mangan, 575 F.2d 32, (24d
Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S.
931 (1978) . . . . 7 . 7 . . *. 7 .

United States v. Phaester, 544
~~ F.2d 353 (9th Cir. 1976),
cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1099
(1977) . + *. 7 . . . . . . . 7 18,

Wright v. Georgia, 373 U.S. 284
(1963). . . * . * * > 7. 7 > 7 * 7 .

vii

aca See TE

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals of
the State of New York is reported at

N.Y.2d P N.Y.S.2d , (1984) and

is reproduced at A-1. The opinion of the
Supreme Court of New York, Appellate
Division, First Department is reported at
92 App. Div. 24d 154, _——Ss N.Y¥.S.2d |
(1983) and is reproduced in the Appendix

at A-5.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals,
State of New York was entered on May 10,
1984, The judgment and order of the
Appellate Division was entered on March

8, 1983. Petitioner moved for an

viii

SPREE POLE ERNE LED REIS LRTI NTL OE NOELLE ENOL MINI Sa ste a : 2. RAPIER IE DEN

extension of time within which to file

his Petition for a Writ of Certiorari,
and by order dated June 7, 1984, this
Court extended the time within which to
file the Petition to August 8, 1984. The
Court has jurisdiction to review the
judgment by Writ of Certiorari pursuant
to 28 U.S.C. $1257(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

In all criminal prosecutions, the
accused shall enjoy the right ... to be
confronted with the witnesses against

BaM@scscs V8.8. COnet. Amend. VI. Cl. 5.

ix

FA EERIE PNR AO DET ED Tew eet Pee e in a Ais ia a
Jt RD 2 ad * VOOR 9 - r

EI TT LOS

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On December 19, 1978, the dead body of
William ("Jimmy") Terrell was found near
the New York Thruway. He had been shot
by an unknown assailant. The decedent's
brother, Harry Terrell, had also been
shot and wounded.

Shortly after the shooting, Harry
Terrell identified the gunman -- who had
shot at him at midnight from a moving car
with no lights -- as an Hispanic male.

He later accused the Petitioner, Richard
Malizia -- who is not Hispanic --

claiming that, while he had not actually
seen Malizia, he knew he was at the scene

of the shooting.

SE EER GE IM RIE Ny

Appellant was indicted on four counts:
(1) second degree murder of William
("Jimmy") Terrell by acting in concert
with unidentified others; (2) second
degree murder of William ("Jimmy")
Terrell by acting in concert with
unidentified others while engaged in a
robbery; (3) attempted murder of Harry
Terrell while acting in concert with
unidentified others; and (4) assault on
Harry Terrell while acting in concert
with unidentified others.

Malizia was first tried in February
1980 before a jury in the Supreme Court,
New York County. The primary factual
issue was the identification of Malizia.

A critical legal issue at that trial was

secciceiiiaiiitiaaaiiiiiiiia

the admissibility of certain hearsay
statements -- Harry Terrell's testimony
that, on the evening preceding the
shooting, his brother, the decedent, had
told him that he was going to meet the
Petitioner to purchase some drugs and to
repay a debt. In a ruling made prior to
trial in response to defendant's motion

in limine, the court declared the hearsay

testimony admissible under the authority

of this Court's decision in Mutual Life

Insurance Co. v. Hillmon, 145 U.S. 285

(1892). The trial ended with a hung
jury.
The Petitioner's second trial began on

October 2, 1980.

According to the prosecution's main
witness, Harry Terrell, he and his
brother Jimmy had driven a Toyota to

206th Street in Manhattan, near a

Pathmark supermarket, bringing with them
a bag of money. On their arrival, Jimmy
got out of the car, entered a blue Ford
positioned across the street, and spent
several minutes there. He returned to
the Toyota and told Harry to get a second
bag of money. Harry returned with the
money; Jimmy took it and reentered the
Ford. Shortly after, the Ford, with its
lights out, started: toward the car in
which Harry was seated. Harry heard a
burst of gunfire and dropped to the floor

of his car. He claimed to have caught a

Glimpse of the Petitioner pointing a gun
at him, Warry Terrell was injured in his
arm, leg and finger. Jimmy was found
dead of bullet wounds in his back early
in the morning of December 19, on the
side of the New York State Thruway.

At this trial, too, the hearsay
evidence of the decedent's stated
intention to meet the Petitioner on the
night of the shooting was admitted into
evidence. No fewer than three critical
hearsay statements were admitted

apparently under Hillmon and the state of

mind exception to the rule against
hearsay. First Harry Terrell testified

that on the evening of December 18, his

brother Jimmy asked him "to go with him

to meet Richy at 12:00 ... at the
Pathmark.” Later, according to Harry,
Jimmy told him that he was going to see
if Richy had any drugs and that he owed
Richy some money which he wanted to
repay. Still later that night, at about
twenty minutes before midnight, Harry
testified that Jimmy said "I am going to
go now to meet Richy.”

The primary trial issue was again the
identification of Malizia, proof of which
rested on Harry Terrell's testimony. The
defense attempted to impeach Terrell's
identification by challenging his
credibility and by exposing the adverse
circumstances under which Terrell had

allegedly seen Malizia. Thus the defense

brought out that Terrell had originally
identified the assailant as Hispanic, and
that only later did he accuse Malizia,
not because he had not seen him, but
because he “knew he was there.” At
trial, after suggestive hypnosis during
which he was told to hold in his mind an
image of Malizia pointing a gun at hin,
Terrell claimed that "in a flash” prior
to the shooting he had glimpsed Malizia
pointing a gun at him from the moving
car. Under these circumstances the
hearsay statements about the decedent's
intention to meet with Malizia on the

night of the 18th were essential to the

case, serving to bolster substantially

Terrell's weak and suspect
identification,

This time, on October 9, 1980, the
Petitioner was convicted on all four
counts. He was sentenced to concurrent
terms of 25 years to life on Counts I and
II; 8-1/3 to 25 years imprisonment on
Count III to run consecutively with the
sentence on Counts I and II; and five to
15 years imprisonment on Count IV to run
concurrently with the sentence on Count

III, but consecutively with the sentence

on Counts I and II.
By order dated March 8, 1983, the

Appellate Division, First Department,

affirmed.

On appeal, several issues were raised

regarding the sufficiency of the evidence
and the propriety of several evidentiary
rulings. The Appellate Division ruled
that there was sufficient evidence to
Support the conviction, but that the
trial court had erred in permitting
questions with regard to Harry Terrell's
assumption of family obligations for his
deceased brother's children and in
precluding cross-examination of Harry
Terrell intended to elicit that the
witness had received a promise of

favorable consideration from the federal

prosecutor's office in connection with

his cooperation in a separate case. The
Appellate Division, however, ruled that
the errors were harmless.

The Appellate Division focused
primarily on the Confrontation Clause-

Hillmon hearsay issue:

Recognizing that the application of
this principle in criminal cases to
permit an inference with regard to
an event that involves the conduct
or cooperation of a person other
than the declarant has been the
subject of scholarly and judicial
disagreement, that the issue has not
previously been authoritatively
addressed in this State, and that
some scholarly opinion is opposed to
such an application to such state of
mind exceptions, we are nonetheless
persuaded that the testimony in
question was here properly admitted
under the circumstances presented.

10

A-6-A-7. Again, the Appellate Division
denied that, even if the admission of the
testimony was error, it was harmless
error.

The Court of Appeals for the State of
New York affirmed. The Court did n
reach the evidentiary and constitutional
issues concerning the admission of the
hearsay testimony about the victim's
declaration of future intended conduct
the night of the homicide. The Court
noted that, deeming himself bound by the
pretrial evidentiary ruling made at
Petitioner's first trial and on the
understanding that the prosecutor also
viewed that pretrial ruling as binding,

counsel for Malizia had made no objection

11

which appears on the record to the
hearsay testimony at the second trial.
The Court of Appeals, stating that
"[e)videntiary rulings made at one trial
+++ @re normally not binding in a
subsequent trial,” concluded that the

point was not preserved for its review.!

1 This issue is discussed at length in
Point II, infra. In addition, if the New
York Court of Appeals is without
jurisdiction to decide this issue, then
this Court should grant the Writ of
Certiorari to review the final judgment
of the New York Appellate Division.

12

I. THE ADMISSION OF HEARSAY STATE-
MENTS OF INTENT TO PROVE, NOT
THE CONDUCT OF THE DECLARANT,
BUT THE CONDUCT OF A THIRD-PARTY
-- THE DEFENDANT ~~, VIOLATED
THE PETITIONER'S RIGHTS UNDER
THE SIXTH AMENDMENT'S
CONFRONTATION CLAUSE.

On the authority of this Court's well-

known decision in Mutual Life Insurance

Co. v. Hillmon, 145 U.S. 285 (1892),

Harry Terrell testified to a series of
hearsay statements of the decedent Jimmy
Terrell. The statements were expressions

of Jimmy Terrell's intention to meet the

Petitioner, Richard Malizia, at a certain
location on a certain night. The
Statements were not admitted as evidence
from which the jury could infer that

Jimmy Terrell had acted in accordance

13

with his stated intention -- that is,

that he had gone to 206th Street in the
Bronx on the night he was shot. There is
and was no dispute that he went to that
location and that he did so with his
brother Harry Terrell.

Rather, the hearsay declarations were

introduced to show that a third party,

the Petitioner Richard Malizia, had gone
to 206th Street on the night in question.
Petitioner maintains that this extension
of the “state of mind” exception to the
rule against hearsay is in conflict with
decisions of other state and federal

courts, is without basis in either law or

14

i i a i i el, i i

= ee ee ae};

logic, and resulted in the denial of his
rights under the Constitution's
Confrontation Clause.

The Confrontation Clause, which is
applicable to the States through the
operation of the Fourteenth Amendment,

Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400, 403-05

(1965); Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308,

315 (1974), provides:
In all criminal prosecutions the
accused shall enjoy the right ... to
be confronted with the witnesses
against him.
The Clause reflects policies similar to
those which underly the evidentiary rules

against hearsay. See, e.g., California

v. Green, 399 U.S. 149 (1970). While not

every hearsay problem is a Constitutional

15

problem, see, e.g., id., “The historical

evidence leaves little doubt ... that the
Clause was intended to exclude some

hearsay." Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56,

63 (1980). This Court has not sought to
"map out a theory of the Confrontation
Clause that would determine the validity
of all ... hearsay exceptions."

California v. Green, supra, at 162. In

Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 66 (1980),

however, the Court did set out the
general rule:

In sum, when a hearsay declarant is
not present for cross-examination at
trial, the Confrontation Clause
normally requires a showing that he
in unavailable. Even then, his
statement is admissible only if it
bears adequate “indicia of
reliability." Reliability can be
inferred without more in a case
where the evidence falls within a

16

firmly rooted hearsay exception. In
other cases, the evidence must be
excluded, at least absent a showing
of particularized guarantees of
trustworthiness.

(footnote excluded, emphasis added).
Here, the declarant's unavailability is
not at issue, but the reliability of his
declaration surely is. The admission of
a statement under the state of mind
exception to the hearsay rule to prove

subsequent acts of someone other than the

declarant is an unjustifiable expansion

of the Hillmon rule, not a firmly rooted

hearsay exception. Moreover, the
statements at issue bear no indicia of
reliability or trustworthiness as to the
fact sought to be proved -- Petitioner's

whereabouts on the night in question,

17

In Hillmon, a civil case, this Court

upheld the admissibility of a hearsay
statement that the decedent intended to
go to a particular location at a future
time. Although the Court held only that
the hearsay statement was admissible on
the question of the declarant's intent
under the “state of mind” exception to
the rule against hearsay, its reasoning
would also suggest that the hearsay would
also be admissible to prove the
declarant's conduct, that is, that he
acted in conformity with his statement of

intent. Hillmon, so read, has always

been deemed extraordinary and

controversial. See, e.g., United States

18

v. Pheaster, 544 F.2d 353, 376 (9th Cir.

1976), cert, denied, 429 U.S. 1099
(1977).

But it is a further extension of the
Hillmon doctrine which is at issue here:
whether a hearsay statement that A
intended to do something with B is not
only some evidence that A followed
through on his intention but that B also
acted in accord with A's intention.
While some courts have accepted such an
extension of the Hillmon rule, these
decisions have come under trenchant
criticism, The issue is an important and
recurring one and it merits this Court's

attention.

19

Fifty years ago, in Shepard v. United

States, 290 U.S. 96 (1933), Justice
Cardozo suggested that Hillmon must be
limited to proof of the declarant's state
of mind and stated unambiguously that

Hillmon does not render admissible

hearsay statements as proof of third
parties’ intentions or conduct. In

Shepard, the defendant was accused of

poisoning his wife. The prosecution
introduced a statement of the wife that
she had been poisoned by her husband.
Holding that this testimony should have
been excluded, Justice Cardozo wrote:
There are times when a state of
mind, if felevant, may be proved by
contemporaneous declarations of
feeling or intent. Mutual Life Ins.

Co. v. Hillmon, 145 U.S. 285,
(further citations omitted). Thus,

20

in proceedings for the probate of a
will, where the issue is undue
influence, the declarations of a
testator are competent to prove his
feelings for his relatives, but are
incompetent as evidence of his
conduct of theirs,

* * *

Declaration of intention, casting
light upon the future, have been
sharply distinguished from
declarations of memory, pointing
backwards to the past. There would
be an end, or nearly that, to the
rule against hearsay if the
distinction were ignored.[*]

The testimony now questioned faces
backward and not forward. This at
least it did in its most obvious

* In fact, it could be argued that

hearsay statements as to the past are
more reliable than statements looking
toward the future. After all, the
declarant may know and may report
accurately what he felt or did in the
past. No mortal can know with any
certainty what will come to pass in the
future.

21

implications. What is even more
important, it spoke to 4 past act,

and more imporant than that, to an
act by someone not the speaker.
Temphasis added)

Shepard v, United States, 290 U.S. at

104, 105-06 (emphasis added),

While the case law is not consistent,
most courts which have confronted the
issue in recent years have concluded that

the Hillmon doctrine does not and cannot

render an extrajudicial statement by the
declarant about his state of mind
admissible to prove the state of mind or
conduct of a third party. In United

States v. Brown, 490 F.2d 758 (D.C. Cir.

1974), the United States Court of Appeals
for the District of Columbia Circuit

discussed the issue at length. In that

22

case, also a prosecution for murder, the
trial court permitted the victim's wife
to testify that her husband had told her
prior to his death that he was frightened
that he would be murdered by the
defendant. The jury was instructed that
the testimony should be considered only
in connection with evaluating the
victim's state of mind and its effect on
his conduct and could not be considered
to evaluate the state of mind or conduct
of the defendant. The Court of Appeals
nevertheless reversed the conviction,
holding that the admission of the
testimony was prejudicial and that the
limiting instruction was incapable of

undoing the harm. The court stated that

23

hearsay statements by the victim of a
homicide which inferentially implicate
the defendant even where the victim's
state of mind is actually in issue are

fraught with inherent dangers and
require the imposition of rigid
limitations. The principle danger
is that the jury will consider the
victim's statement ... as somehow
reflecting on defendant's state of
mind rather than the victim's --
i,e., as a true indication of
defendant's intentions, actions or
culpability. Such inferences are
highly improper and where there is a
strong likelihood that they will be
drawn by the jury the danger of
injurious prejudice is particularly
evident.

Id. at 765-60 (footnotes omitted). See

also United States v. Cohen, 631 F.2d

1223, 1225 (5th Cir. 1980); Gual Morales

v. Hernandez Vega, 579 F.2d 677, 6580 n.2

(1st Cir. 1978); United States v. Kaplan,

24

510 F.2G 606, 610 (2d Cir. 1974); Clark

v. United States, 412 A.2d 21, 25 (D.C.

Ct. App. 1980); State v, Vestal, 273 N.C.

561, 180 S.E.2d 755 (1971). Contra:

United States v. Phaester, 544 F.2d 353,

376-80 (9th Cir. 1976); State v,

Cugliata, 372 A.2d 1019 (Me. 1977);

People v. Alcalde, 24 Cal.2d 177, 148

P.2d 627 (1944).

Here, of course, the hearsay testimony
was introduced solely to prove
Petitioner's conduct. The declarant's
state of mind and conduct were simply not
at issue; no one disputes that Jimmy
Terrell was present at 206th Street on
the night in question. And, of course,

no limiting instruction was given

25

confining the use of the testimony to
determining Jimmy Terrell's state of mind
or actions, The hearsay was introduced
to the jury, and was obviously used by
it, a8 evidence of the Petitioner's
whereabouts during the night of December

18-19. Such an extension of the Hillmon

doctrine ia unjustified and runs afoul of
the requirements of the Confrontation
Clause,

The statements do not bear the
requisite indicia of reliability or
trustworthiness to justify the creation
of a new hearsay exception or to satisfy
the Confrontation Clause's requirements.
The Appellate Division itself, adverted

to the unreliability of an inference

26

which implies conduct on the part of one
other than the declarant. The court did
not find this argument compelling because
"the inference in question is one of
degree rather than kind, and merely goes
to the weight of the evidence.” But
whatever force there may be in the
inference that A has in fact acted in
accordance with his expressed intent does
not extend to an inference that another
will act in conformity with A's intent.
How easy life would be if what we desired
from others was so generally achieved.
But, alas, life is simply not so

predictable.?2

2 Assume that A tells a friend that he
intends to drive to Connecticut to lunch

27

ileal

The unreliability of the inference is
so great that it cannot merely go to the
"weight" of the evidence. Surely, no lay
jury would appreciate the weakness of the

evidence, at least without clear

with a potential client. We know that
any number of contingencies can interfere
with the plan -- A's car will not start,
or he suffers an attack of appendicitis,
for instance, or the client calls and
cancels the appointment. To whatever
extent it may be logically inferred that
A in fact went to Connecticut and met
with the client, it surely cannot be said
that A's statement is meaningful proof
that his car did start, that he did not
develop appendicitis, that his client did
not cancel or that the client ever
intended to meet A. Similarly the
decedent's statement that he intended to
meet with Petitioner is not proof that
Petitioner kept the appointment. So many
inferences are reguired to reach a
contrary conclusion that, given the
dangers which led to the creation of the
rule against hearsay, and the
Constitution's guarantee of a right to

28

instructions as to the problem. See

United States v. Kaplan, 510 F.2d 606,

610 (2d Cir. 1974).

The Appellate Division also recognized
"the apparent inconsistency with the
state of mind exception cf an inference
relating to the conduct of another
person, the inference conceptually

implying, in addition to the declarant's

confront witnesses, the statement cannot
be deemed competent proof of Petitioner's
acts.

Indeed, there is no way to know the
basis of Jimmy Terrell's statement that
Petitioner would meet him at the
Pathmark. While it may have been based
on a conversation Jimmy had had with the
Petitioner, it is just as likely that
some unknown other party had told Jimmy
that Petitioner would meet him there.
That makes the statement double hearsay
and wholly unreliable as proof of
Petitioner's conduct.

29

wtate of mind, a conclusion with regard
to the state of mind of the third
person." Th. problem is not merely
"theoretically awkward"; it is real.
Exceptions to the hearsay rule are
generally premised on the necessity for
the hearsay evidence and the intrinsic
| reliability of the hearsay. Thus, the
state of mind exception itself exists
because there is often no more reliable
way to derive a person's state of mind
than to look to that person's own
Statement. As a branch of the "current

sense impression doctrine,” reliability

is suggested because the spontaneity and
contemporaneity of the expression

minimizes the chances of

30

ere
Pe Se

untrustworthiness. See McCormick,
Evidence, $294 at 695 (2d ed. 1972). But
any reasons justifying the recognition of
the “state of mind” exception simply lose
their force and do not apply to an
extension to third party's acts. A's
senses, impressions, feelings or
intentions are simply not the only
available or the best evidence of B's
senses, impressions, feelings or
intentions. Moreover, the factors
suggesting reliability and
trustworthiness just do not exist in the
context of a third party. The

"theoretical awkwardness” is more than

31

that; it is the virtual absence of a
logical rationale for the “new” exception
to the hearsay rule.

Justice Traynor put it well in his

now-classic dissent in People v. Alcalde,

24 Cal. 24 177, 148 P.2d 627 (1944):

A declaration as to what one person
intended to do, however, cannot
safely be accepted as evidence of
what another probably did .... The
declaration of the deceased in this
case that she was going out with
[the defendant] is also a
declaration that he was going out
with here .... The only purpose
that could be served by admitting
such declarations would be to induce
the belief that the defendant went
out with the deceased, took her to
the scene of the crime and there
murdered her .... Her declarations
cannot be admitted for that purpose
without setting aside the rule
against hearsay. 24 Cal. 2d at
189-190, 1481 P.2d at 633. Accord,
U.S. v. Cohen, 631 F.2d 1223,

(5th Cir. 1980); U.S. v. Pheaster,

32

544 F.2d at 384 (Ely, J., concurring
and dissenting); U.S. v. Kaplan, 510
F.2d 606 (2d Cir. 1974).

In this case, the decedent's statements
that he intended to go to the scene of
the crime reflect his state of mind.

They would have been admissible under

Hillmon to prove that he intended to go

and, inferentially, that he did go there.

But that fact was never at issue. It was

3 Despite the holding in Kaplan,
subsequent Second Circuit cases treat the
guestion as an open one. See, e.g., U.S.
v. Mangan, 575 F.2d 32, 43 n.12

Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 931 (1978).

33

uncontested that Jimmy Terrell was at the
scene of the crime when the incident
occurred, 4

The court below acknowledged this but
suggested a number of reasons why the
hearsay was, in this case, trustworthy.

But virtually all of the factors it

4 People v. Lauro, 91 Misc. 2d 706, 398
N.Y.S. Sup. Ct. Westchester
County, 1977), the only New York case
dealing with the subject, noted that, as
interpreted in Alcalde and Pheaster,
Hillmon is an extraordinary doctrine.

e Lauro court did not pass on the scope
of Hillmon because it found that the
testimony there proferred required the
drawing of too many inferences. The
Lauro court did suggest that different
rules may be appropriate for civil and
criminal cases. Id. at 709. The
Confrontation Clause, after all, applies
only in criminal cases and thus suggests
&@ neat distinction explaining the
different results in Hillmon and Shepard.

34

Oe Behe hh ee he ee ee ee
1

listed would confirm only the

Lrustworthiness of the decedent's

statement of his intent to meet with the
Petitioner, a fact not in issue.°>

The scope of the Hillmon exception to

the rule against hearsay and the

exception's compatability with the

> The one exception is, in the Appellate
Division's words, as follows:
"Experience suggests that someone who
wishes to pay a large sum of money to
another with whom he has been meeting on
a regular basis over a period of time is
not likely to encounter insuperable
difficulties in the way of paying the
debt." The defect in this analysis is
that the "fact" that the decedent
intended to pay a debt is also
established only by the inadmissible
hearsay.

35

Confrontation Clause are important and

difficult questions which deserve this

Court's attention.

36

1 iS TRA ith SP Ste Stee

II. THE DETERMINATION BY THE NEW
YORK COURT OF APPEALS THAT
PETITIONER HAD NOT PROPERLY
PRESERVED THE iSSUE FOR REVIEW
DOES NOT DEFEAT REVIEW BY THIS
COURT ON CERTIORARI.

Deeming himself bound by the pretrial
ruling made before Petitioner's first
trial, and on the understanding that the
prosecutor also viewed that pretrial
ruling as binding, Petitioner's counsel
made no objection that appears on the

record to admission of the critical

Hillmon-hearsay in the course of

Petitioner's second trial. The admission
of that testimony and the resultant
violation of Petitioner's rights under
the Confrontation Clause was, however,

the primary claim of error on appeal, and

37

the issue the Appellate Division chose to
address at length. On that appeal, the
State made no claim that the evidentiary
issue had been waived because no
objection was made to the testimony when
it was introdeced.

In Petitioner's application for leave
to appeal to the Court of Appeals of the
State of New York, the hearsay issue was
again the issue on which Petitioner
focused in his attempt to convince that
Court to review his case. Again, in its
papers in opposition, the State raised no
claim that the issue had been waived by a

failure to object again at the second

38

trial to the introduction of the
testimony. The Court of Appeals granted
leave to appeal.

In its brief to the Court of Appeals,

the Hillmon-Confrontation Clause issue

was briefed at length. Then, for the
first time, the State took the position
that the issue was not preserved for the
court's review. The Court of Afpeals
agreed, stating without citation of
authority, "[e]videntiary rulings made at
one trial ... are normally not binding in
a subsequent trial,” A-4.

It is well-settled that this Court will
not review a judgment of a State court
which rests on an adequate and

independent state ground. Michigan v.

39

LI ——

>

Long, 103 S.Ct. 3469 (1983). The

adequate state ground rule is a function
ef the limitation of appellate review.

Fay v. Noia, 372 U.S. 391, 429 (1963).

It is also well settled that the
failure to comply with a state procedural
rule may constitute an adequate state
ground barring this Court's review of a

federal question. Michigan v. Tyler, 436

U.S. 499, 512 n.7 (1978). But a minor
procedural default does not constitute an
adequate independent state g-ound.

Parrot v. City of Tallahassee, 381 U.S.

129 (1965); Wright v. Georgia, 373 U.S.

284 (1963).

Whatever springes the State may set
for those who are endeavoring to
assert rights that the State
confers, the assertion of Federal

40

rights, when plainly and reasonably
made, is not to be defeated under
the name of local practice.

Davis v. Wechsler, 263 U.S. 22, 24 (1923)

(Mr. Justice Holmes), quoted in Fay v.
Noia, 372 U.S. 391, 432 (1963).

It is incumbent upon this Court to
ascertain for itself whether an asserted
non-federal ground independently and
adequately supports the judgment.

Michigan v. Tyler, supra, at 3474,

quoting Abie State Bank v. Bryan, 282

U.S. 765 (1931). The question of when
and how defaults in compliance with state
procedural rules can preclude this
Court's consideration of a federal
guestion is itself a federal question.

Fay v. Noia, supra, at 447. Failure to

4)

present a federal question in conformance

with state procedure constitutes an
adequate and independent ground of
decision barring review by this Court
only if the state has a legitimate

interest in enforcing its procedural

rule, Michigan v. Tyler, 436 U.S 499, 512

n.7 (1978), and only if the state's
insistence on compliance with its rule is
necessary to vindicate the state's
interest in the particular case at bar.

Henry v. Mississippi, 379 U.S. 443, 447-

49 (1965).

Our decisions ... stress that a
state procedural ground is not
"adequate” unless the procedural
rule is "strictly or regularly
followed.” Barr v. City of
Columbia, 378 U.S. 146, 149 (1964).
State courts may not avoid deciding
federal issues by invoking

42

procedural rules that they do not
apply evenhandedly to all similar
claims.

Hathorn v. Lovorn, 457 U.S. 255, 262-63

(1982).

In the instant case, while it cannot be
denied that the rule requiring objection
to evidence sought to be introduced at
trial serves the legitimate State purpose
of affording the Court an opportunity to
consider the nature of the objection and
to make an informed legal ruling, it is
also clear that the purpose of that rule
was served here. Before Petitioner's
first trial, lengthy argument was had on

the Hillmon hearsay issue and a ruling

was made. Petitioner's counsel believed

that the Petitioner was bound by that

43

pre-trial ruling and believed that the
prosecutor -- the same prosecutor who had
tried the first trial -- believed it to
be binding as well.® Moreover, even if
an express objection had been made during
the course of the second trial and had
the second trial judge determined that he
was not bound by the previous ruling
under the "law of the case" doctrine, it
is clear from his other evidentiary
rulings that he would have come to the
Same conclusion with regard to

admissibility. Under these circumstances

6 Surely there was no knowing and
intelligent waiver, no knowing bypass of
an opportunity to litigate the issue.

a4

the purpose of the rule reguiring an

objection at trial was substantially
served.

In addition, the Court of Appeals has
itself held that there are exceptions to
the general rule that a timely objection
is necessary to create a question of law
reviewable by the Court of Appeals. See

People v. Michael, 48 N.Y.2d 1, 420

N.Y¥.S.2d 371, 394 N.E.2d 1134 (1979).
It is not at all clear that the
procedural rule invoked by the New York
Court of Appeals is anything but a
transparent excuse for a refusal to
confront a difficult and substantial
federal question. Indeed, that Court

itself only goes so far as to say that

45

evidentiary rulings made it one trial are

normally not binding at a subsequent

trial, suggesting by its own ambiyuous
words that counsel's understanding on the
binding nature of the first ruling was
not entirely without basis in New York
law.

Under these circumstances, counsel's
failure to object at the second trial
should not be deemed an adequate and
independent state ground depriving this
Court of jurisdiction to review the

important Constitutional issue involved./?

7 To the extent that the New York Court
of Appeals was without jurisdiction to
decide the issues raised, then the
Appellate Division was the highest court
of the state in which a decision could be
had and Petitioner prays that the Writ of

46

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, Petitioner
respectfully prays that this Court grant
a writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

Frank A. Lopez
London & Lopez
188 Montague Street
Brooklyn, NY 11201
(212) 522-2900

Nathan Z. Dershowitz
Dershowitz & Eiger, P.C.
225 Broadway

New York, NY 10007
(212) 513-7676

Alan M. Dershowitz
Of Counsel

August 6, 1984

Certiorari be granted to review the
judgment of the Appellate Division.

Al
MEMORANDUM

STATE OF NEW YORK
COURT OF APPEALS

THE PEOPLE etc.,
Respondent,
-against-
RICHARD MALIZIA,

Appellant.

This memorandum is uncorrected and subject to revi-
sion before publication in the New York Reports.

Alan M. Dershowitz, N.Y. City, & Frank A. Lopez,
Brooklyn, for appellant.

Robert M. Morgenthau, DA, NY County (Bruce
Allen & Robert M. Pitler of counsel) for respondent.

MEMORANDUM:

The order of the Appellate Division should be affirm-
ed (see 92 AD2d 154).

On this appeal, defendant contends the evidence of
guilt is insufficient, particularly because of the lack of
credibility of Harry Terrell, the People’s principal witness,

A2

and that the trial court committed reversible error in
several evidentiary rulings.

After an earlier trial had resulted in a hung jury,
defendant was convicted in a second trial of felony murder
(robbery) and common law murder resulting in the death
of William Terrell and of the attempted murder and
assault first degree of Harry Terrell, the decedent’s
brother. The facts are set forth in detail in the opinion of
the Appellate Division and need not be repeated here.
Briefly, however, the crime occurred in New York City on
the evening of December 18, 1978 after the decedent and
his brother drove to a street which was deserted at that late
hour, where decedent met with defendant and others
waiting there in a parked car. Harry Terrell waited down
the street in the Terrell vehicle. The purpose of the meeting
was to buy drugs and to deliver money to defendant to pay
him for past drug purchases. The jury found that defen-
dant shot decedent and then attempted to kill Harry Ter-
rell, sitting in the parked Terrell car, as defendant and his
associate sped away from the scene. Decedent’s body was
found later several miles from the scéne of the meeting.

We agree with the Appellate Division that the verdicts
are supported by the evidence. In reviewing the evidence
we are obliged to do so in the light most favorable to the
People (People v. Kennedy, 47 NY2d 196) bearing in mind
that credibility is matter to be determined by the trier of
the facts (People v. Parks, 41 NY2d 36, 47). Since the
record contains evidence sufficient in quantity and quality
to support the verdicts, our review function is exhausted
(see People v. Gruttola, 43 NY2d 116, 122; People v.
Joyiens, 39 NY2d 197, 203).

Nor do we find grounds for reversal on the court’s
evidentiary rulings. Defendant claims that the court erred

A3

in permitting evidence that Harry Terrell had cared for the
victim’s son after the homicide and in limiting defense
counsel’s cross examination of Terrell about favorable
treatment he expected from the authorities on pending
criminal charges in exchange for his testimony in this ac-
tion. Even if defendant’s contention be accepted, reversal
is not required for there was no reasonable possibility that
these rulings contributed to defendant’s conviction and
thus they were harmless beyond a reasonable doubt (see
People v. Crimmins, 36 NY2d 230, 237). Harry Terrell’s
character, particularly his extensive criminal activities,
was fully developed for the jury. It also was told that he
had been granted immunity for past crimes by the pro-
secutor and that the prosecutor had offered to contact
other law enforcement authorities on his behalf after he
testified against defendant. If defendant wished to pursue
the subject further, counsel should have requested a voir
dire to explain the area he wished to examine and the
necessity for it.

Nor has defendant preserved for review by ap-
propriate objections his further contentions that the court
committed error in permitting Terrell to testify after an at-
tempt to hypnotize him (see People v. Hughes, 59 NY2d
523) and in permitting him to give hearsay testimony con-
cerning the victim’s declarations of future intended con-
duct the night of the homicide (see Mutual Life Insurance
Co. v. Hillmon, 145 US 285). Defendant maintains that he
has preserved his objection to the testimony concerning
decedent’s future intention because at the beginning of the
first trial the judge ruled over his opposition that it would
permit Harry Terrell to testify about statements made by
decedent to him on the night of the crime that he intended
to meet defendant that evening. He contends that this rul-
ing constituted the law of the case and that it was binding
on the parties and the court in the second trial before a
new judge.

A4

Evidentiary rulings made at one trial, however, are
normally not binding in a subsequent trial, In this case
there is nothing in the record to indicate that the earlier
ruling was brought to the attention of the second judge or
that he or counsel considered themselves bound by it. Nor
did counsel object when Terrell testified ‘concerning
statements of the victim made the night of the crime. He
did object to a statement of decedent’s intent made two
weeks before the homicide, upon grounds of relevancy not
competence, but at the time of that objection defense
counsel stated that he had not objected to the earlier
evidence of the victim’s statements made on the night of
the crime because counsel! considered them part of the res
gestae. Accordingly, the point is not preserved for our

review.
axa *x**#* * * * *

Order affirmed in a memorandum. Chief Judge
Cooke and Judges Jasen, Jones, Wachtler, Meyer, Simons
and Kaye concur.

Decided May 10, 1984

——

AS
DECISION

SUPREME COURT APPELLATE DIVISION
FIRST DEPARTMENT

November 1982

HON. LEONARD H. SANDLER, J.P.
HON. JOHN CARRO

HON, J. ROBERT LYNCH

HON. E. LEO MILONAS, J.J.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK,
Respondent,
-against-
RICHARD MALIZIA,

Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal by the defendant-appellant from a judgment
of the Supreme Court, New York County (Fitzer, J.),
rendered on February 11, 1981, which convicted defen-
dant, after a jury trial, of murder in the second deg-<e, at-
tempted murder in the second degree and assault in the
first degree.

Alaa M. Dershowitz, of counsel (Nathan Z. Der-
showitz with him on the brief; Frank A. Lopez, attorney)
for the defendant-appellant.

A6

Bruce Allen, of counsel (Norman Barclay with him on
the brief; Robert M. Morgenthau, attorney) for the
respondent.

SANDLER, J.

The defendant was convicted after a jury trial of two
counts of murder in the second degree (common law and
felony murder), attempted murder in the second degree
and assault in the first degree, and was sentenced to two
concurrent terms of 25 years to life, and also to two con-
current terms of 8% to 25 years and 5 to 15 years, to be
served consecutively to the life sentence.

Of the several issues presented on this appeal, the one
ihat seems to us to merit extended analysis is raised by the
contention that reversible error occurred when the trial
court admitted into evidence a statement of the deceased
on the evening of the homicide that he was going to see the
defendant. This testimony was admitted by the trial court
under the state of mind exception to the hearsay rule pur-
suant to principles that derive from the well-known deci-
sion of the United States Supreme Court in Mutual Life
Insurance Co. v. Hillmon, 145 U.S. 285. The governing
principle allows, under appropriate circumstances,
declarations of intention offered to show subsequent acts
of declarant where the acts are relevant to a trial issue. The
declarant’s statement is permitted to show his existing in-
tent, and from this intent the trier of fact is permitted to
infer that the act was carried out.

Recognizing that the application of this principle in
criminal cases to permit an inference with regard to an
event that involves the conduct or cooperation of a person
other than the declarant has been the subject of scholarly
and judicial disagreement, that the issue has not previous-

A7

ly been authoritatively addressed in this State, and that
some scholarly opinion is Opposed to such an application
of the state of mind exception, we are nonetheless per-
suaded that the testimony in question was here properly
admitted under the circumstances presented. We are also
persuaded that if the admission of this testimony were er-
ror, the error would have been harmless since, wholly
apart from the challenged Statement, the totality of the
evidence inescapably leads to the conclusion that the
deceased had in fact intended to meet the defendant, and
indeed did so. |

some money from people who wanted to make a drug pur-
chase, that he was gOing to see if Richy had any drugs, and
that he also owed Richy some money and wanted to pay
him. Harry Terrell understood the name Richy to be a

preceding two months, usually in the company of the
deceased, and on several occasions near the Pathmark
store located on 206th Street between Ninth and Tenth

Shortly before midnight the two men left for the
Pathmark in a car driven by Harry. In the car was a
Shoulder bag which contained bundles of money. The
deceased told Harry that the bag contained the money that

A8

he owed the defendant. Harry drove to the intersection of
Tenth Avenue and 206th Street, a two-way street, parking
on the south side of 206th Street facing Ninth Avenue. The
deceased left the vehicle with the bag and walked down the
block to a blue Ford parked on the north side of the street
near the corner of Ninth Avenue. Harry recognized the car
as one that he had seen the defendant use on ail but one of
the prior occasions on which he had seen the defendant.
The license plates disclosed it to be a rental car. The
deceased entered the front of the blue Ford, emerging a
few moments later without the bag, and told his brother to
return to the Beasley apartment to secure more money.

Harry returned to the Beasley apartment and received
from her another bag in which he again observed bundles
of money. At 206th Street Harry parked his car in the
same spot. The deceased appeared moments later, took
the new bag, returned to the blue Ford and entered it.

Suddenly the Ford took off at a rapid pace,
headlights off, in the direction of the car in which Harry
was waiting. He heard a burst of noise, which sounded like
firecrackers. As the car reached Harry’s car he saw the
defendant in the middle of the back seat pointing a gun
directly at him. Harry dropped immediately to the floor as
a burst of gunfire knocked out the windows of his car. In
addition to the defendant, Harry also saw the driver, who,
like the defendant, was a white man.

In the early morning of December 19, 1978, a State
Trooper found the dead body of the deceased on the side
of a northbound lane of the New York State Thruway, a
series of bullet holes running from his back to his head.
No bullets or bullet fragments were observed in the sur-
rounding area.

A9

The medical examiner testified that the deceased had
died of multiple bullet wounds. Nine bullets had entered
his body almost simultaneously, all from the back, and
eight of them had travelled on a left-to-right track. An ex-
pert witness testified that the upward swing of the line of
fire indicated that a single semi-automatic weapon had in-
flicted the wounds in a matter of seconds. An examination
of the deceased’s hat and coat disclosed 17. bullet holes,
seven with gunshot residue around them, indicating that
the gun had been fired eight to twelve inches from the
holes.

From evidence found at the location of the car oc-
cupied by Harry Terrell on 206th Street, it was determined
that thirteen bullets had been fired at the driver’s side of
the car that nine had pierced the frame, that the path of
the bullets suggested that they had been fired from a mov-
ing car, and that at least two automatic or semi-automatic
weapons had been used in that attack.

At about 5:00 P.M. on December 19 the defendant
and his brother, John Malizia, went to a Ford dealership
in Spring Valley, New York, where they told the rental
manager that a car rerited by John over a period of several
months, a 1979 blue Ford Granada, had been stolen the
previous day. The two brothers explained that they had
not reported the larceny of the car because: each had
thought that the other had the car. The police were unable
to find the car.

Brenda Beasley testified that she had spoken on the
telephone on several occasions to someone who had iden-
tified himself as Richy in the weeks prior to the homicide.
She had twice accompanied the deceased to the area of the
Pathmark. On each occasion the deceased had left her and
had entered a rental blue Ford car. Or one occasion, leav-

Al0

ing the scene of the meeting, she had observed the defen-
dant in the car.

In addition, there was testimony that the portion of
the New Yor State Thruway where the body of the deceas-
ed was found was along the route that would be taken by a
car proceeding from 206th Street to Monsey, New York,
where the defendant’s brother resided.

By any standard the evidence here summarized im-
pressively and convincingly supported in every respect the
jury’s verdict. We find wholly without merit the defen-
dant’s contention that the proof was insufficient because
no one had observed the defendant actually shooting the
deceased. The defendant was seen within seconds after a
burst of gunfire had killed the deceased, gun in hand,
about to undertake the murder of Harry Terrell. He was
identified by someone who had met him on a number of
occasions and had no discernible reason to lie with regard
to the identity of the person who had killed his brother and
who had attempted to kill him. The identification was sup-
ported by a host of circumstances which inexorably point
to the defendant as a participant in the murder and at-
tempted murder.

It is of no moment whether the defendant himself kill-
ed the deceased or the killing was done by someone ob-
viously his accomplice, although the evidence strongly
points to the defendant as the actual killer. Nor do we find
any infirmity in the evidence supporting defendant’s con-
viction of felony murder. Although the killing may have
been motivated by other, unknown considerations, the
manner in which it was carried out strongly supports the
jury’s implicit conclusion that the taking of the money was
no mere afterthought.

ee

Se Gr eS ree cee

oan tt ove

—

Ren Sada Na

ee km

nena oheae

——————————

EE

All

Turning to the principal issue presented on this ap-
peal, defendant’s challenge to the admissibility of the
deceased’s statement that he was going to see the defen-
dant invites our consideration of an issue that has divided
both scholarly and judicial opinion since the central prin-
ciples of the pertinent hearsay exception were set forth by
the Supreme Court in Mutual Life Insurance Co. v.
Hillmon, supra. The principle is of course now universally
accepted that under appropriate circumstances a
declarant’s statement of intent to perform an act may be
admissible as evidence that he performed the act where the
act is relevant to an issue in the case. See Maguire, ‘‘The
Hillmon Case—Thirty Three Years After,’’ 38 Harv. L.
Rev. 709; but see Seligman, ‘‘An Exception to the Hearsay
Rule,’’ 26 Harv. L. Rev. 146. Controversy has developed
over the admissibility of such a statement where the in-
ference sought to be drawn implies some conduct on the
part of one other than the declarant or to some extent re-
quires that person’s cooperation. See McCormick on
Evidence [1972 ed.] §295. Most commonly the issue has
been addressed in the context of criminal trials in which a
deceased declarant’s statement of intent to see or meet a
defendant is sought to be admitted as evidence that such a
meeting in fact took place.

In the Hillmon case itself, an action to recover on a

‘ life insurance policy, the Supreme Court sustained the ad-

missibility of a declarant’s statement that he was going to
be with another person for a period of time as evidence
that such an event in fact took place. A large majority of
the courts which have considered essentially that issue in
criminal case followed Hillmon in sustaining admissibility.
See 6 Wigmore on Evidence, §1725 [3rd ed., 1976], foot-
note | including a detailed ‘isting of the relevant decisions.
However, relatively few decisions have undertaken a
systematic analysis of the problem, and these few disclose

Al2

a division of judicial opinion. Compare United States v.
Pheaster, $44 F.2d 353 [9th Cir., 1976] and People v.
Alcalde, 148 P.2d 627 [Calif., 1944] (both sustaining ad-
missibility) with Clark v. United States, 412 A.2d 21 [D.C.
Ct. of App., 1979] (denying admissibility). See also
Shepard v. United States, 290 U.S. %, 105; United States
y. Cohen, 631 F.2d 1223, 125.

In United States v. Pheaster, supra, which sustained
the admissibility of a deceased declarant’s statement of in-
tent to meet the defendant, the Court set forth with
scrupulous fairness the arguments that had been advanced
in opposition to the result it reached. Two such arguments
were noted.

The first is based on the supposed unreliability of an -
inference which implies conduct on the part of one other
than declarant. The Court in Pheaster concluded, correct-
ly in our view, that this objection was not compelling,
observing that where the inference in question requires the
cooperation of another person, the contingency added is
ohe of degree rather than of kind, and merely goes to the
weight of the evidence.

The second objection was perceived in the apparent
inconsistency with the state of mind exception of an in-
ference relating to the conduct of another person, the in-
ference conceptually implying, in addition to the
declarant’s state of mind, a conclusion with regard to the
state of mind of the third person. Recogizing the
theoretical avkwardness of this application of the state of
mind exception, the Court nonetheless sustained the ad-
missibility of the statement, relying on the analysis set
forth in Hillmon itself and the weight of existing judicial
authority.

Al3

We are persuaded that a statement by a deceased that
he intends to meet another is admissible where the state-
ment is made under circumstances that make it probable
that the expressed intent was a serious one, and that it was
realistically likely that such a meeting would in fact take
place. See People v. Alcalde, supra, at 631. The concep-
tual difficulty noted in Pheaster seems to us to obscure the
common sense reality of the problem presented. Everyday
experience confirms that people frequently express an in-
tent to see another under circumstances that make it ex-
tremely likely that such a meeting will occur. Indeed, it is
not uncommon for such expressions of intent to be more
trustworthy evidence that the meeting took place than
many statements of intent with regard to the performance
of acts not involving any inference with regard to another

person.

This was the very analysis that led the United States
Supreme Court in Hillmon to find admissible a statement
of intent to be with another person as evidence that such
an event occurred. And although Hil/mon itself was a civil
case, it is not without significance that the Supreme Court
quoted extensively, and with approval, from a decision in
a criminal case involving precisely the same kind of in-
ference at issue here which sustained admissibility on the
basis of the probative trustworthiness of the evidence.
Hunter v. State, 11 Vroom (40 N.J. Law) 495, 534, 536,
538.

The facts in this case are illustrative. The deceased
was a major drug dealer who, over a period of several
months prior to the day of the homicide, had seen the
defendant on a number of occasions. Several meetings had
taken place in the precise location to which he and his
brother went on the evening he was killed. The deceased
told his brother, an associate in his narcotics business, that

Al4

he owed money to the defendant and that he wished to pay
him. That the deceased in fact intended to see the defen-
dant is convincingly confirmed by the circumstance that he
asked his brother to accompany him. That the deceased in
fact owed money to the defendant, which he intended to
pay, was confirmed by the presence in the car of a bag
containing bundles of money which he took with him
when he went to enter the blue Ford. Experience suggests
that someone who wishes to pay a large sum of money to
another with whom he has been meeting on a regular basis
over a period of time is not likely to encounter insuperable
difficulties in the way of paying the debt. In short, the
challenged statement seems to us to have been properly ad-
missible in light of the totality of the circumstances which
confirm that the expressed intent to meet the defendant
was a serious one, and that it was likely that such a
meeting would in fact take place.

Even if we had determined that the statement was er-
roneously admitted, it would seem to us that the error
would have been harmless indeed under all the cir-
cumstances. Deleting from the trial evidence the statement
that the deceased was going to meet the defendant, the in-
ference from the rest of the evidence that he expected to
meet the defendant, and did so, is all but inescapable. The
prior meetings of the deceased and the defendant in the
neighborhood of the Pathmark, his acknowledgment of a
dehi to the defendant, the bag with the bundles of money,
the rented blue Ford waiting in the area of the store, the
taking of the bag of money, entering the blue Ford as he
had on prior occasions when the defendant was in the
car—all of these factors taken together would have made
it unmistakably clear to the jury that the deceased ex-
pected to see the defendant.

Al5

As to the other trial errors alleged by the defendant,
we agree that it was an error to have permitted questions
with regard to Harry Terrell’s assumption of family
obligations, questions apparently intended to make the
witness appear more sympathetic than would otherwise
have been the case. Under the circumstances, including
particularly the witness’ detailed testimony that he had
been actively engaged in the narcotics trade for many
years, the error was clearly harmless.

We also think that the trial court erred in precluding
cross-examination intended to elicit that the witness had
received a promise of favorable consideration from
another prosecutor’s office in connection with his
cooperation in a separate case. Although the arrangements
sought to be brought out did not directly involve the
testimony of the witness in this case, it would have been
wiser to have permitted the area to have been explored by
Gefense counsel. This error, too, seems to us to have been
harmless. This was not a case in which the witness con-
firmed a prior police suspicion as to the identity of a killer
under circumstances indicating that he was seeking
favorable treatment for himself in exchange for his infor-
mation. It was the witness who first identified defendant
as the killer, and a realistic evaluation of the record
discloses no reason why he would have falsely identified
the defendant as the one who killed his brother and at-
tempted to kill him.

Accordingly, the judgment of the Supreme Court,
New York County (Fitzer, J.), rendered February 11,
1981, convicting defendant after a jury trial of two counts
of murder in the second degree, attempted murder in the
second degree and assault in the first degree, and sentenc-
ing him to two concurrent terms of 25 years to life, and

Al6

two concurrent terms of 8% to 25 years and 5 to 15 years,
to be served consecutively to the life sentence, should be
affirmed.

All concur.

Order filed.

a

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2601%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
