# Respondents Brief — Strachan Shipping Co. v. Bankers & Shippers Insurance

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2598%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 883

## Text

i: Office - Supreme Court, U.S
FILED

NO. 84-222 | SEP 21 994

Cet S rz in Oe EVAS.
CLERK

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

ARTHUR W. STURGEON
Plaintiff,

VERSUS

STRACHAN SHIPPING COMPANY,
Defendant/Third-Party Plaintifff/Appellee-Petitioner

VERSUS
BANKERS & SHIPPERS

INSURANCE COMPANY OF NEW YORK,
Third-Party Defendant/Appellant-Respondent

VERSUS

AMERICAN MUTUAL LIABILITY
INSURANCE COMPANY,
Third-Party Defendant/Appellee-Petitioner

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JOHN F. TOOLEY, JR.
743 Terry Parkway

Gretna, Louisiana 70053
Telephone: (504) 394-7077

Attorney for Bankers and Shippers
Insurance Company of New York

A B Letter Service, Inc., 327 Chartres St., New Orleans, La. (504) 581-5555

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

i
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Statement in Opposition...
Conclusion .........

Certificate of Service.

Appendix ‘“‘A’’...

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES FOR APPENDIX “A”

Case Page

95 ALR 2d 1122, Annotation, Risks within ‘‘Loading
and Unloading” Clauses of Motor Vehicle Liability

SOUND TU sso co ech eee ee ee A-7
7 Am.Jur.2d, Automobile Insurance, Sec. 89, pp.

BOE. oc ta veneebon ee eee _A-7, 9
7 Am. Jur.2d 1980, Automobile Insurance, Sec. 206.

Persons Covered, pp. 719-20. . A-8
7 Appleman, Insurance Law and Practice, Sec. 4322,

om. SRDOr Ghee: vcs cca ce case eee A-7

Atlantic Mutual Insurance Co. v. Gulf Insurance
Company, 596 S.W.2d 326 (Ct.Ap.Texas-1980)... A-8

Bankers and Shippers Insurance Co. of N.Y. v.
Lockamy, et al, 440 A.2d 421 (Md.

St Pe girs Tae A-1, 8
Black's Law Dictionary, 5th Ed. 1979 - ‘‘Borrower”’

Dis TAF dc 6 nen ip eee t: .A-8
7 Blashfield, Automobile Law oul Practice, Sec. 315. r Be

pp. 588-91 (3rd Ed. 1966)... sss MOSES
45 C.J.S., Insurance, Sec. 829c(2), pp. 893- 96. _A-7
Dairyland Insurance Co. v. Conercte Predicate cj

203 N.W.2d 558 (S.C.lowa-1973):..... het

The Defense Research Institute, Inc., ‘‘Loading and
Unloading”’ Provisions of the Automobile Liability
Insurance Policy (monograph 1965)... . ale hae a

29 Insurance Consel Journal 197 (1962), Brown and
Risjord, Loading and Unloading; The Conflict
between Tortious Adversaries........ sss... A-7

Liberty Mutual Insurance Co. v. American asians
Insurance Co., et al, 556 S.W.2d 242 (Sup.Ct.

Texas-1977) . vo aeeree Ay A-1, 8
McDaniels v. Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. et al,
602 F.2d 78 (CA 5-1979) ............... _A-1, 8

Protective Insurance Company v. Coca-Cola
Bottling Company-Indianapolis, Inc., 423
N.E.2d 656 (Ct.Ap. Ind.-1981).. __. , .. As

iii
Robinson, et al v. Excalibur Insurance Co.,

598 S.W.2d 324 (Ct.Civ.Ap. Texas-1980)... .. A-8

United States Fidelity and Guaranty Company v.
Federal Insurance Co., 399 N.E.2d 259 (App.Ct.
eae ics Fass oo oe ww a A-8

13 Vanderbilt Law Review 903 (1960); Norman E.
Risjord, Loading and Unloading. __. _.. A-T

1
NO. &4-222

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1984
ARTHUR W. STURGEON
Plaintiff,
VERSUS

STRACHAN SHIPPING COMPANY,
Defendant/Third-Party Plaintifff/Appellee-Petitioner

VERSUS

BANKERS & SHIPPERS
INSURANCE COMPANY OF NEW YORK,
Third-Party Defendant/Appellant-Respondent

VERSUS

AMERICAN MUTUAL LIABILITY
INSURANCE COMPANY,
Third-Party Defendant/Appellee-Petitioner

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

STATEMENT IN OPPOSITION

Respondent’s opposition is most fully explained in
it’s Petition for En Banc Consideration for the Fifth Circuit

2

Court of Appeals (Appendix ‘‘A”’ herein). It was not
necessary for the Fifth Circuit to reverse McDaniels! in
order to distinguish and reverse the instant case. It was
necessary for the Fifth Circuit to do so in order to bring
thet Circuit in line with ail of the other Circuits and State
opinions on this vital insurancce contract change.

Respondent leaves it’s opposition to a reading of Ap-
pendix “A”.

CONCLUSION

Respondent respectfully prays that this Honorable
Court deny the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to review
the Judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Fifth Circuit.

fully submitted,

riys

F. TOOLEY, JR.
Terry Parkway
Gretna, Louisiana 70053
Telephone: (504) 394-7077

Resp

Attorney for Bankers and Shippers
Insurance Company of New York

I McDaniels v. Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co., et al, 602 F.2d
78 (5th Cir. 1979).

eee

3
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that three copies each of the above
and foregoing have been served upon Jerome P. Halford,
attorney for Arthur W. Sturgeon and Lawrence E. Lar-
mann, attorney for Strachan Shipping Company and
American Mutual Liability Insurance Company, via the
United States mail, postage pre-paid, this A day of

September, 1984.

F. TOOLEY, JR.
- erry Parkway
Gretna, Louisiana 70053
Telephone: (504) 394-7077

Attorney for Bankers and Shippers
Insurance Company of New York

A-l
APPENDIX “A”

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES

The McDaniels case! did not adequately deal with
the new loading and unloading coverage provisions of
truckmen’s liability policies, did not consider the exclu-
sionary clauses in their historical context and is entirely
out of step with developing law on that point. Liberty
Mutual Insurance Co. v. American Employers Insurance
Co., et al decided by the then Justice Sam D. Johnson of
the Supreme Court of Texas, was the most reasonable in-
terpretation of the ‘‘borrowers”’ provision in the current
policy. Bankers and Shippers Ins. Co. v. Lockamy, 440
A.2d 421 (Ct.Sp.App.Md.-1982) is the most recent.

McDaniels, was a simplistic statement by a panel on
a serious problem to the trucking industry, without careful
consideration of the overall history of the policy language
and attempted solution by the industry and its insurance
carriers. Numerous third-party claims are now being made
around the country for a coverage that was intended to be
excluded. Losses are being incurred. Premium rates must
be changed along with application for tariff rate changes
with the Interstate Commerce Commission.

McDaniels, should be reviewed, explained, modified
and/or distinguished; but more importantly, it should be
reversed, which a panel cannot do.

! McDaniels v. Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co., et al, 602 F.2d
78 (CA 5-1979).

PD ws . , ’
“ Liberty Mutual Insurance Co. v. American Employers Insurance
Co., et al, 556 S.W.2d 242 (Sup.Ct.Texas-1977).

A-2

STATEMENT OF THE COURSE OF PROCEEDINGS
AND DISPOSITION OF THE CASE

Plaintiff, Arthur W. Sturgeon, filed his complaint
against Strachan Shipping Company (Strachan) on March
14, 1979, for injuries received in New Orleans on March 4,
1979, when a bale of cotton fell from his tractor-trailer upon
his back, causing a compression fracture. He alleged that
defendant's forklift operators negligently caused the bale
to fall upon him.?

Strachan answered,’ but later filed a third-party
complaint against appellant, Bankers and Shippers In-
surance Company of New York (Bankers and Shippers) on
the basis that they, Strachan, were ‘‘borrowers’’ of the
tractor-trailer during the unloading process at the time of
the accident, and were omnibus insureds entitled to a
defense and/or atorney’s fees and/or one-half (2) contribu-
tion.” Bankers and Shippers policy reads:

... Persons Insured ic) Any other person while
using an owned automobile or a hired automobile
with the permission of the named insured: provid-
ed his actual operation or (if he is not operating)
his other actual use thereof is within the scope of
such permission, but with respect to bodily injury
or property damage arising out of the loading or
unloading thereof, such other person shall be an
insured only if he is:

(1) a lessee or borrower of the automobile...®
3 Vol. 1, Doc. 1, pp. 1-4

* Vol. 1. Doe. 4. pp. 8-10

® Vol. 1, Doc. 25. pp. 75-77

6 Exhibit. Joint 2

A-3

Bankers and Shippers answered admitting they insured
plaintiff Sturgeon and his employer Pre-Fab Transit, but
denied coverage to Strachan.’ Bankers and Shippers cross-
claimed as an alternative against American Mutual,
Strachan's insurer, for contribution or for primary or ex-

cess coverage.”

All other parties were disposed of prior to trial.
Following jury selection, the plaintiff's case was settled for
$150,000.00 reserving defendant's rights inter sese.?
Thereafter, the case between Strachan, Bankers and Ship-
pers, and American Mutual was tried without jury.19 On
January 21, 1982, Judgment with reasons were rendered
holding Bankers and Shippers liable for the entire claim
against Strachan, plus attorney's fees and costs, with a
holding that the trial Judge was bound by the McDaniels
decision. !

Bankers and Shippers’ third-party demand against
Strachan’s insurers for contribution was dismissed.
American Mutual Liability Insurance Company (American
Mutual) had a Comprehensive General Liability policy cov-
ering Strachan. 12 This policy excluded coverage for *‘bodi-
ly injury—arising out of the ownership, maintenance,
operation, use, loading or unloading of (1) any automobile

" Vol. 1, Doc. 52, pp. 131-32
* Vol. 2, Doc. 112. pp. 308-09
y ; ‘ ; 7
Vol. 4, pp. 38-49; Vol. 5. pp. 1-4

10 Vol 4. pp. 40-144; Docs. 84 and 85 (stipulated depositions, Vol
4. pp. 52-54)

1) Vol. 3, 154, pp. 388-405

12 Exhibit. Joint 3

A-4

owned or operated by or rented or /oaned to any insured—
but this exclusion does not apply to the parking of an
automobile on premises owned by. rented to or controlled
by the named insured or the ways immediately adjoining,
if such automobile is not owned by or rented or loaned to
any insured.”

American Mutual also had a Business Automobile
Policy which provided that ‘for any covered automobile—
you don’t own, the insurance provided by this policy is ex-
cess over any other collectible insurance."’!4

The trial Court determined that the automobile
policy was excess and that, since “borrow is the correlative
of loan’, the exclusion in the Comprehensive General
Liability policy as to ‘“‘loaned”’ vehicles applied and
Bankers was primary carrier.14

After new trial motions, the Judgment of March 26,
1982 eliminated a $25,000.00 deductible in favor of
Bankers and Shippers, but remained the same otherwise. 15
This appeal resulted.

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

The facts are simple and undisputed, although each
side argues the legal result.

On March, 4, 1979 Arthur W. Sturgeon was under
13 Exhibit, Joint 3
'4 Vol. 3. pp. 393-95

15 Vol. 3. Does. 155-65. pp. 406-32: Vol. 1. Bankers and Shippers
Exhibit #2. p. 199: Vol. 5. pp. 1-4

lls

A-5

contract as an owner-driver of a tractor-trailer for Pre-Fab
Transit Co.!® His rig was a standard flat bed tractor-
trailer.!7 On that date he delivered a load of valed cotton
to the Robin Street Wharf under a bill of lading to Strachan
Shipping Company.!® He had never been there before.!9
He was directed by a security guard through one of the
doors into the large covered wharf, and down a pathway
between stowed cargo to where the cotton was to be
unloaded.29

The Strachan section of the Robin Street Wharf runs
some 720 feet along the river.! It is leased by them from
the City of New Orleans Dock Board.** Strachan's
employees anc equipment perform all loading and
unloading operations, which is true for most all flat bed
loads.23 Unquestionably Strachan employees directed the
tractor-trailer driver to stop where it was convenient for
them to unload on their premises: however, Strachan
employees cannot operate, move or otherwise have any con-
nection with the truck itself.24

16 Bankers and Shippers Exhibit 5: Joint Exhibit 1. Vol. 4: pp
47-48.

17 Vol. 4. pp. 49 and 58.

18 Vol. 4. pp. 50-51.

19 Vol 5. p. 64.

20 Vol. 4, pp. 64-67 and 98-99.

21 Vol. 4. pp. 93-94 and 101-02.

22 Vol. 4. pp. 94-95 and 101.

23 Vol. 4, pp. 48-49, 85-92, 114-15 and 120.

24 Vol. 4. pp. 62. 74-75. 96 and 100; Doc. 84, pp. 5-7. 15. 17, 23-26
and 47-48; Doc. 85. pp. 4-5, 12-15 and 26.

A-6

The truck driver gave his papers to the Strachan
foreman who came up to his truck and told him to get ready
for unloading.2° The bales of cotton are covered and
secured by tarpaulin, chains and tie-downs and are truck
equipment.7® Drivers must remove the tarpaulin, chains
and tie-downs before the unloading operation can begin.27
Strachan’s employees used a forklift-type vehicle with
‘‘squeezer’’ blades that lifted the bales from the flatbed
from the side.2® Plaintiff removed the chains and binders
holding the load, rolled up the tarpaulin for storage and
began picking up numerous tie-downs on and around his
truck, some of which had fallen to the floor.29 While he was
leaning over picking up the last few ties, after two Strachan
employees started to unload his trailer, a bale of cotton fell
upon his back causing his serious injury.29

ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITIES
There are several fallacies in McDaniel.

It hurts the assured who purchased the policies. It
hurts the insurers who tried to carefully reword the policies
to help their assureds.

25 Vol. 4. pp. 51-52 and 64-68

26 Vol. 4, pp. 49-61; Doc. 84, pp. 10 and 15; Doc. 85. pp. 8-10 and
15-17

27 Vol. 4, pp. 87, 92-93 and 117-18; Doc. 84, pp. 10, 15 and 47; Doc.
85, pp. 9-10 and 26.

28 Vol. 4, pp. 97 and 102-03; Doc. 84. pp. 30-34; Doc. 85. pp. 8.
10-11 and 15-17.

29 Vol. 4, pp. 52-58 and 68-73: Doc. 84, pp. 30-34; Doc. 85 pp. 8.
10-11 and 15-17.

39 Vol. 4, pp. 53, 57 and 73; Doc. 85. pp. 19-22

A-7

Interstate Carriers are fully regulated and their rates
set by the Interstate Commerce Commission.?! Drivers,
too, are fully regulated and must meet strict standards.?2
Neither has any economic interest under the scheduled
rates in assuming any financial loss by the daily multitude
of unknown loaders and unloaders caused by their own
negligence. Nor do they wish to pay the additional in-
surance premiums required by their insurers for such
coverage to loaders and unloaders. They previously did
cover all as “‘permissive users”’.23

Consequently, insurance carriers for the trucking in-
dustry changed their policy provisions previously covering
all loaders and unloaders as omnibus insureds eliminating
that exposure, thus reducing the insurance premiums
charged to the trucking industry, and thereby affecting the
rates charged the public as set by the Interstate Commerce
Commission and Department of Transportation. The provi-
sion now restricts coverage to loaders and unloaders who
are: “(1) a lessee or borrower of the automobile...'"24 This

31 Interstate Commeree Act, 49 USC 304.

32 Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, Bankers’ Exhibit
Nos. 3 and 4; Joint Exhibit No. 1, Sec. 6 and 7.

33 95 ALR 1122, Annotation, Risks within “Loading and
Unloading’ Clauses of Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance Policy; 7
Am.Jur.2d, Automobile Insurance, Sec. 89, pp. 396-97; 7 Appleman, In-
surance Law and Practice, Sec. 4322, pp. 155-67 (1962); 7 Blashfield,
Automobile Law and Practice, Sec. 31£.7, pp. 588-91 (3rd Ed. 1966); 45
C.J.S., Insurance, Sec. 829c(2), pp. 893-96; Dairyland Insurance Co. v.
Concrete Products Co., 203 N.W.2d 558 (S.C. lowa-1973); The Defense
Research Institute, Inc. “‘Loading and Unloading’ Provisions of the
Automobile Liability Insurance Policy (monograph 1965); 29 Insurance
Counsel Journal 197 (1962) Brown and Risjord: Loading and Unloading;
The Conflict between Tortious Adversaries; 13 Vanderbilt Law Review
903, (1960) Norman E. Risjord, Loading and Unloading

34 Supra, fn. 6.

A-8

attempt to restrict omnibus coverage by truckmen and
their insurers is now being interpreted and is the main
issue in this appeal.2°

McDaniels simplistictly interpreted ‘‘borrower’’ as if
it was the prior term “‘permissive user’ and made that law
applicable without consideration of the historical develop-
ment of the policy terms. The ill-conceived McDaniels deci-
sion truly hurts the trucking industry because it is one of
the first appellate decisions under the new policy terms.
How will jury charges be determined? What factors must
be considered? How will trucking companies determine
whether or not it wants to deliver to a particular dock to
load or unload? What are the factors determining what con-
stitutes a borrowing? How does a carrier determine
whether or not it wants to accept the risk or the respon-
sibility of a particular bill of lading? Under the McDaniels
case all of these factors are unknowns. Numerous claims
are now being litigated—very expensively.

Restrictive clauses in insurance policies are restric-
tively construed in order to protect insureds. The assureds
in this case are truckmen and carriers. Their rates are set
by United States law. Insurance premiums are a part of
their expenses included in that rate. Their interest is in
paying premiums to cover themselves, not loaders and

3° 7 Am.Jur.2d (1980) Automobile Insurance, Sec. 206, Persons
Covered, pp. 719-20; Atlantic Mutual Insurance Co. v. Gulf Insurance
Co., 596 S.W.2d 326 (Ct.Ap. Texas-1980); Bankers and Shippers In-
surance Co. of N.Y. v. Lockamy, et al, 440 A.2d 421 (Md.App.-1982);
Black's Law Dictionary, 5th Ed. 1979-Borrower” p. 167; Liberty
Mutual Insurance Co. v. American Employers Insurance Co., et al, 556
S.W.2d 242 (Sp.Ct. Texas-1977); Protective Insurance Co. v. Coca-Cola
Bottling Co.-Indianapolis, Inc., 423 N.E.2d 656 (Ct.Ap. Ind.-1981);
Robinson, et al v. Excalibur Insurance Co., 598 S.W.2d 324 (Ct.Civ.App.
Texas-1980); United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co. v. Federal In-
surance Co., 39 N.E.2d 259 (App.Ct. IIL-1979).

LS ee

A-9

unloaders. The new policy provision eliminating coverage
to loaders and unloaders is for the benefit of truckmen and
carriers. That is their intention and it should inure to their
benefit. An apt quote is:

enn. So ig

| ‘A policy may limit the application of a loading
) and unloading clause, so that it will not apply to
| every person who otherwise would be covered
| under the omnibus clause. Thus, it may extend
only to the named insured or a lessee or borrower
of the vehicle. Where such a clause is employed,
the mere fact that a consignee’s employees unload
the goods delivered does not render the consignee
a ‘‘borrower’’ of the vehicle, since such an inter-
pretation clearly would defeat the intended pur-
pose of the policy limitation. “8

McDaniels did not consider all of the policy terms,
particularly that the tractor is the insured vehicle, not just
the trailer. Never was there a consideration of a borrowing
of the ‘‘entire’’ vehicle insured under the policy. Truckmen
and their insurers’ intention, and the reasonableness of the
new insuring clause, is shown by a reading of the entire
policy.

Bankers and Shippers Insurance policy provides a
definition of hired automobile which distinguishes a semi-
trailer.2’ This Court in McDaniels decided that A&P was
the ‘‘borrower”’ of the vehicle, although they only had the
right to enter the trailer. They had no right to drive, enter
or have anything to do with the tractor, which is the in-
sured ‘‘automobile”’ under the terms of this policy.28 At no

36 7Am.Jur.2d, Automobile Insurance, Sec. 206, pp. 719-20 (1980)
37 Exhibits. Joint 1 & 2.

38 Supra, fns. 28 and 37.

A-10

time was there a finding of any control of the use of the
tractor; i.e., the controlling insured automobile that makes
up ‘‘the vehicle’, as if the driver had unshackled the tractor
and driven off during the loading process leaving the semi-
trailer in the control of the unloaders.

The McDaniels decision has caused consternation in
the trucking industry and its insurance carriers. In the ins-
tant case, as in McDaniel, there was no right of control or
even use of the entire insured ‘‘automobile’’, only the right
tc load or unload the trailer. The terms unloading and “‘bor-
rowing’ are not synonymous nor correlative for such a
purpose.??

CONCLUSION

McDaniels v. Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co., et al,
supra, be reversed; and the judgment of the trial Court
herein should be reversed and judgment rendered herein in
favor of Bankers and Shippers Insurance Company of New
York dismissing the demands against it; or, alternatively.
for a finding that American Mutual Liability Insurance
Company is liable over to Bankers and Shippers Insurance
Company of New York for one-half (2) of the amount of the
compromise with a credit to Bankers and Shippers for its
$25,000.00 deductible portion.

39 Supra, fn. 35.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2598%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
