# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Tobriner v. Redevelopment Agency of Concord

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2584%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 882

## Text

—_ >

/ Office-Supreme Court, U.S.
a8 2:

64-204 AUG. 6 104
LE a a

4 TIERK

No. 84.

In the Supreme Court of the
United States

October Terin, 1924

MICHAEL TOBRINER, et al.,
Petitioner,
vs.

REDEVELOPMENT AGENCY OF THE CITy
Or CONCORD,

Respondent.

TO THE CALIFORNIA COURT OF APPEAL
FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

BRIAN D. THIESSEN
Thiessen, Gagen & McCoy
279 Front Street
Danville, California 94526
(415) 837-0585

WILLIAM W. BASSETT
University of San Francisco
Law School
San Francisco, California 94117

Attorneys for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

l. Whether, under the Fifth Amendment, covenant
rights, constituting building and use restrictions, site plan
development allocation and rights of control, of a jointly
owned, integrated Shopping Center, taken and released in a
condemnation action pursuant to state law are, as develop-
ment rights, property rights entitling the owners to just

compensation.

2. Whether, under the Fifth Amendment, the method
of evaluation of these property rights to calculate their fair
market value is "what a willing buyer would pay in cash to a
willing seller" (United States v. 564.54 Acres of Land, 441
U.S. 506, 511 (1979) for a deed of release, or the uncertain

standard of diminution in value of the dominant estates, as

decided by the California Court of Appeal.

3. Whether, under the Fifth and Fourteenth

Parties in the case below are Estate of Belloc/Alden
and Josephine Jones, William F. Hannon, Arthur Weisberg,
Teachers Insurance and Annuity Association, Raymond and
Lorraine Choy, and Roger C. On, Inder and Krishna Chabra,
Walter and Pearl Woiffs, Mr. and Mrs. George Wu, E. H. and
B. J. Holbrook, William J. and M. H. Annissee, Pearley
Jacobsen, and Trustee for HMC Division Managers Trust,
Anna Garribotti, Frank and D. Polari, Kenlow Corp., Charles
and Barbara Bloch and B. and H. Wise, Merle and Merilee
Konningsberg, Clifford and Betty Raub, Ali Farazian, Smoot
and Meyers Golden, Gordon/Arnold, Imperial Savings and
Loan, Steven and Michaei Tobriner, Bisso and Highiet.

Amendments, California Health and Safety Code Sections
33368 and 33501, which give a permanent, conclusive
presumption to the determination of blight by a local rede-
velopment agency, thereby allowing condemnation even many
years later when conditions have changed, offends due
process and the need to assure public use, particularly where
commercially valuable development rights are taken from
private ownership and transferred by state action to another

private, compe ing corporation.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

PEERY GaSe bebecsccvocsecccsecceccore 1
PUPRU EST GP GUEISUNCTION occ ccccccccccceses 2
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND
BUPA e POV VED ccccccccccecese TTT TTT TTT 3
UPOUEEOe SO SVU COMME bcc ccnccccccccevccece 3
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION..... coed
OTR 6c Ge bk 05 bebe s6 bes secre ecccees 27

APPENDICES

A. Opinion of the California

Court of Appeal! of the First
Appellate District, Division 3

Order Denying Petition for
Hearing by the Supreme Court
of California

Remittitur from the California
Court of Appeal

California Statutes

Grant of Easements and Parking
Agreement

Site Plan

Agins v. Tiburon

ee cn ccneckcensenees

Allen v. City of Detroit
133 N.W. 317, 320 Ae

Andrus v. Allard

G44 U.S. 51, 67 (1979). cccccccccccccccece

Armstrong v. United States

Es OE, BF CE ccc cccccccccce pes

Berman v. Parker

FAB US... 26 (195A) wocccccccccccccccccece

Chapman v. Sheridan Wyoming Co.

338 U.S. 621, 626-627 (1956)... eee eeeeeee

City of Owensboro v. McCormick

SB1 SuW.2d 3 (1979). ccccccccccccccceces

Davis v. Akaska

Ee Gs es 20S CAPT) occ cvececdivece

Fred F. French Investing Co., Inc. v.
City of New York
39 N.Y. 2d 587, 350 N.E.2d, 381,

385 N.Y.2d 5 (1976)..... cc ccccccccccces

Fuller v. Town Board of Town of Bobbison

193 Wis. 549, 214 N.W. 324 (1927) .......

Page

coccee ll

ee 12, 13

coccee 15

oceccce 15

cocccee 22

oe i

~iii-

Hartford Nat'l Bank and Trust Co. v.
Redevelopment Agency of the City of Bristol
ER Us FP Ty FEL Pick GOP ULITD) ccceccccncses 22

Hawaii Housing Authority, et al. v.
Frank Midkiff, et al
Cy A Ls cone ce cwisedsececcsace 13

Hemmerling v. Tomlev
De Ge Pes STREET os bb 6500 cecnceneunes 5, 6

Horst v. Housing Authority of County of
Scotts Bluff ;
Se Te Be Bee LATED bhwdcncdesececvess«s 22

In re Development Plan for Bunker Hill
61 Cal.2d 21, 37 Cal.Rptr. 74 (1964) ......eeeeeee 9

Kirby Forest Industries, Inc. v. United States
104 S.Ct. 271, 78 L.Ed.2d 253, Law
Week 4607, 4610 (1983) ........ poneoce Fe Be. bade 19

Karesh v. City Council of Cinarleston
STL Shes S90, GAT Soke SAE LAFTE) ox cccesccssee 24

Mugler v. Kansas
Ba Cs Se NED bbe 00 286065060 0084 r ee eneens 12

North Dakota Pharmacy Board v.
Snyder's Drug Stores, Inc.
SF Se BI SEP TEP E Fob as ovsccccctcsceesacees 2

Pakenham's Case
Y. B. 42 Edw. IIl,
Paes Ceel D s oh 04 Se heen dence seoeseoens 16

Penn Central Transportation Co. v.
New York City

BIG Lies. MER, 128 CAGTE) ccc ccccccvcevee 10, 11, 12

-iv-

Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon

20d as SPF CAPER) 6 500banseneese veseuus 10, 11, 12
People ex rel. Dept. of Public Works v.

Logan

9S Cal.App.2d 561, 586 (1961)... ccccccescccccees 6

Pernell v. Southall Realty
416 U.S. 363, 365 (1974 ......06- Seeseereceseus 1l

Petition of City of Seattle
96 Wn.2d 616, 638 P.2d 549 (1981) ..... eee eee 24

Pittsburg v. Alco Parking Corp.
SEY Gils MM PEACHES LEPPO) acc cccncececeseccce ll

Poletown Neighborhood Council v.
City of Detroit
410 Mich. 616, 304 N.W.2d 455 (1981) ....... 23, 24

Riley v. Bear Creek Planning Comm.
17 Cal. 3d 500, 510-511 (1976) ...... reTTerre eT TT 14

Sacramento R.R. v. Heilborn
156 Cal. 408, 409, 104 P. 979 (1909)............- 21

San Deigo Gas and Electric Co. v.
City of San Diego
ey EE REE sng bh oN ee ne 680 6KSS 8 Oo eaeK RS 12

School District No. 3 v.
County Clerk of Charleston
127 S.E.2d 625, 627 (1962) .....-eeeeee coecevccele

Southern California Edison v. Bourgerie
9 Cal. 3d 169, 107 Cal.Rptr. 76
(SPTEE chn scree econ sae kk ie OEind EONS OCR K 5, 15, 16

Pn bisD. onic.

Spencer's Case
5 Coke l6a, 44 Eng. Rep. 72

eS errr eee Te Tee eT Te Te eee 16
State Commissioner of Transportation v.

Orenstein

pe er 22

Stockton v. Miles & Sons, Inc.
as Coed Be F ce 598 (2956) 2. oc ccccdicness 23

Sweetwater Valley Civic Ass'n. v.
City of National City
BE Gee D EF EFT occ cerccescsecccsaccesece 9, 26

Thompson v. Consolidated Gas Corp.
Fs Fi ee PET ERE H SOs KK bose ce ceccesecs 13

United States v. 564.54 Acres of Land
gt & SOE ere 7,11

United States v. Commodities Trading Corp.
ps, TOS ss Mb bee...) EERE 19

United States v. General Motors Corp.
. oft) Bp Bh. ke. Eee pa

United States v. Miller
S17 U.S. 569, 374 (1943). .cccccccccccccsccccces ll

United States v. Welch
217 U.S. 553 (191O) oc ccccccccccvcccscvccccccece 6

Whitinsville Plaza, Inc. v. Kotseas
390 N.E. 2d 243, 256; 378 Mass. 85 (1979)........ 17

William E. Arnold Co. v. Carpenters District
Council,
Fe ale BO LEP a 6006s ce cbecnetinesétses ll

-vi-

Wilson v. Abrahms
1 Cal.App.3d 1030, 82 Cal.Rptr. 272 (1969) ......23

Yuba County Water Agency v. Ingersoll
BP CORFE Soy GIF LAPT cc cwccccsccsccccccs 6

Zacchini v. Scripps Howard Broadcasting Co.
ee Se SE A Ooh hb 686546 0h46 ONO 5446600000 ll

Statutes and Rules

United States Constitution

United States Code

nn * Se WGhe oe be deb ess ebecewhbicncecs 2
a id ne cea audeadwanedbecusae 2
California Statutes

California Constitution, Article I
URRa Dee ee edwndeabbsheh sence eseeeds 4

California Civil Code
I I i i i ee ee ke ees 14

California Code of Civil Procedure
ae Mecpheéhehesacatenccone 5

California Code of Civil Procedure
ET Gee cece nk kahendeeeceéucecewans 15

California Code of Civil Procedure
Be Fr er 15

-vii-

California Code of Civil Procecure

Section 1255.410 .......0.- bvabbondesne reeecews 4
California Code of Civil Procedure

Section 1263.310........ eeoeeececcossvese ery 4 |
California Code of Civil Procedure

Section 1263.320 ..cccccccccccccccccsecscsccces 22
California Evidence Code

Sections 814-820 ...ccccccccccccccccccsccccecs 21
California Health and Safety Code

Section 33320.1 ... cc ccecseeees caeeseeonsenanee 8
California Health and Safety Code

Section F5IGB.cccccccsssscccoccossss 9, 13, 25, 26
California Health and Safety Code

Section 35501. wcccccccwcsccscccccces 9, 135. 25, 26
Authorities
2 Am. Law of Property 9.13(a) .....ceeeeccceeees 17
American Law of Property 9:24 ....ceceeeeeeeees 16

Anderson, The Mortqagee Looks at the
Commercial Lease
24 F latLAR. 484, 896 (1957) .ccccccccccccccccecs 17

Browder, Running Covenants and Public Policy,
77 Mich.L.Rev. 12 (1978) ......eee- pe a@ende ee es 16

Costonis, Development Rights Transfer:

An Exploratory Essa
ee Gt PE ccc cc dudeceacescesccoses 15

-viii-

Costonis, The Disparity Issue: A Context
for the Grand Central Terminal Decision

91 Harv.L.R. 402 Pe a |

Clark, Covenants and Interests
Running with the Land (2d Ed. 1947) ...... sepeeeal

Green and Smith, Shopping Towns,
U.S.A. (1960) Me aestdeidbetamkebbbcobtabeeeeucar

Michelman, Property, Utility, and Fairness:
Comments on the Ethical oundations of

"Just Compensation” Law
80 Harv.L.Rev. 1165, 1214-1224 (1967) .......... 10

Nicholas, "Setting Up a Shopping Center,"
California Land Security and Development

775-839 (1960) .. *eeeeee GASES Le Y |
Nichols, Eminent Domain, 12.314.......-eeee- eoeke

Restatement of the Law of Property

Dev ovceseecascoes *eneeee $6660 00606000000600028

Restatement of the Law of Property,

DGDeccces TOTTTTTTTIT TTT -17

Ross, Transferring Land to Private Entities
by the Power of Eminent Domain
Sl Geo.Wash.L.Rev. 355 (1983) ssccccccccccccuce 25

Simpson, An Introduction to the History
of Land Law 109-111 (1961)... ...cccesceceeee +16

Stoebuck, William, Prof., San Diego Gas:
Problems, Pitfalls and a Better Way,
25 Wash. U.J. Urb. & Contemp. L. 3-42
(| ee eseusecesebsonsewseescoceeoscs By 1B

-ix-

Stoebuck, Running Covenants: An
Analytical Primer
FE WE s BO LAST Tic ccccccccccoccccce 16,

Sturtevant, Restrictive Covenants In
Shopping Center Leases
Fe Vas Ves PU UEBOO) coccccccccccoccccses

Tully, "The Shopping Center Lease,"
California Land Security and
Development, 841-931 (1960) .....cececeecceees

EE ENTE ON

NO. 84
In The
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1984

MICHAEL TOBRINER, et al.,
vs.

REDEVELOPMENT AGENCY OF THE CITY OF
CONCORD

To The California Court of Appeal
First Appellate District

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners, MICHAEL TOBRINER, et al., petition
for the issuance of a writ of certiorari to the California
Court of Appeal, the First Appellate District, to review

the judgment of such court in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW
The judgment of the California Court of Appeal

(Appendix A, infra), Redevelopment Agency of the City of

is

Concord v. Michael Tobriner, et al., is reported at 153
Cal.App.3d 367, 200 Cal.Rptr. 364 (1984). A petition for
rehearing by the Court of Appeal was denied on April 27,

1984. Petition for rehearing by the California Supreme
Court was denied May 16, 1984. (Appendix 8) Remittitur
to the Superior Court of Contra Costa County (Appendix
C, infra) issued from the Court of Appeal, May 25, 1984.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeal was entered on
March 21, 1984. A final decision decaying rehearing by the
California Supreme Court was filed on May 16, 1984.
Thus, the state judgment on the federal constitutional
issues of taking and compensation in eminent domain
proceedings is final. (North Dakota Pharmacy Board v.
Snyder's Drug Stores, Inc., 414 U.S. 156, 163 1973.) This

petition for a Writ of Certiorari is timely docketed in the

Court within ninety days of final judgment by the highest
state court. (28 U.S.C. 2101(c))

‘The jurisdiction of the Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. 1257(3). This action arises out of an eminent
domain proceeding. At each stage of this case, Petitioners
have alleged and asserted their constitutional rights under
the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments, asserting that the
property rights taken are compensable, that the method of
evaluation must measure up to the fair market standards
repeatedly stated by this Court, and that the statutory
discretion allowing the Redevelopment Agency to act

under a permanent and unreviewable determination of

blight is constitutionally offensive to recognized notions of

,

due process and public use, particularly as applied here.
These are questions of federal law of nationwide
importance in which the California Court of Appeal is in
apparent conflict with applicable decisions of this Court.
The Court has jurisdiction after a final judgment on
an issue of law even where remittitur has issued from a
Court of Appeal to a lower court for re-trial. United
States v. General Motors Corp., 323 U.S. 373, 377 (1975).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES
INVOLVED

Fifth Amendment, United States Constitution:

No person shall ... be deprived of life, liberty or
property, without due process of law; nor shall
private property be taken for public use without
just compensation.

Fourteenth Amendment, United States
Constitution:

-- nor shall any State deprive any person of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of
LAW ose

The pertinent California statutes are set forth in

Appendix D.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
On May 31, 1978, the Redevelopment Agency of the
City of Concord filed a Complaint in Eminent Domain
against owners of the Concord Shopping Center in Concord,
California. The Agency sought condemnation of "certain
easements for parking and other purposes." The owners of

the properties comprising the Concord Shopping Center are

Petitioners in this case. Condemnation was sought and paid

ili

for by Levitz Furniture Company in order to construct a
several-acre warehouse and showroom on an undérlying fee
it acquired at a tax sale in the center.

At the time it filed the Complaint in Eminent Domain,.
the Redevelopment Agency filed a Declaration and Order
Requesting a Writ of Immediate Possession pursuant to
California Code of Civil Procedure Section 1255.410. With
payment of a small security deposit, the motion was
granted. The Levitz facility has since been constructed and
is in operation.

Respondent Redevelopment Agency requested a bifur-
cated trial on the issue of whether or not there was a proper
take under the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments, as well as
Article I, Section 19 of the California Constitution. The
constitutional and statutory propriety of the taking issue
was heard by the trial court acting as a trier of fact. Prior
to testimony, the court preemptorily ruled that "blight" was
conclusively presumed and that evidence on that issue would
be not allowed.

On the issue of compensation, heard before a jury, the
Redevelopment Agency moved to strike the testimony of
Petitioners’ appraiser as not based on a proper theory of
valuation as a matter of law. The trial court, however,
refused to strike the testimony.

The jury was instructed to separately value each of

the losses to the owners. By an eight-to-four verdict, the

jury determined the loss to the owner's fee interests was
$746,933.00. Notice of Entry of Judgment was filed on
October 15, 1980.

Following the jury trial, and Entry of Judgment on the

=”

Verdict, Respondent Agency filed a Notice of Intention to
Move for a New Trial under California Code of Civil Pro-
cedure Section 657 on grounds of error at law, occurring at
trial, and excepted to by Respondent.

After hearing on the post-trial motion, the trial court
granted the Motion for New Trial on the ground of error at
law in allowing valuation evidence of the owners' appraiser
to go to the jury, because as a matter of law the court
considered the approach used by the owners’ appraiser in
evaluating the rights taken unlawful under Hemmerling v.
Tomlev, 67 Cal.2d 572, 63 Cal.Rptr. 1 (1967), a California

Supreme Court case involving appraisal of an appurtenant

easement.

Petitioners filed an appeal for a reinstatement of the
jury verdict and the Redevelopment Agency cross-
appealed. The Court of Appeal affirmed the decision of the
trial court in all respects in its decision filed March 21,
1984, and certified for publication. Petitioners’ motion for
rehearing was denied on April 24, 1984. Petition for
Hearing by the California Supreme Court was denied with-
out comment on May 16, 1984.

In the opinion for which review is now petitioned, the
Court of Appeals held that the property rights taken here
were building and site restrictions, covenantal rights to con-
trol the building, use and management of all parcels within
the Concord Shopping Center, as well as the incidental park-
ing easements over the servient parcel. The Court affirmed
the compensability of both covenant and easement rights in
condemnation, following the lead of the California Supreme

Court in Southern California Edison Co. v. Bourgerie, 9

i,

Cal.3d 169, 107 Cal.Rptr. 76 (1978).

The California Supreme Court in Southern California

Edison Co. v. Bourgerie, supra, involving the compensability

of taking the benefit of a single-use building restriction,
however, did not specifically discuss and set forth a proper
method of evaluation of the multiple covenants taken.

In the instant case, the covenants involve comprehen-

sive building, use and site control restrictions, as well as

management agreements, amounting to extremely valuable
commercial development rights reserved exclusively to the
owners of the Shopping Center. By pooling and mutually
relinquishing those rights, the owners are entitled to jointly
construct new, valuable commercial buildings and/or sell the
development rights to third parties who can then construct.

The Court of Appeal, while acknowledging the com-
pensability of these rights in condemnation, virtually
equated them with appurtenant easements in holding that
the only method of valuation permitted is by separately
assessing the diminution (if measurable) of the market value
of each dominant estate. The measurement of this
decrease, the Court held, must be derived from an appraisal
of the value of the dominant estate before and after the
taking. The Court then cited as authority only cases involv-
ing easements appurtenant (United States v. Welch, 217 U.S.
333 (1910); Hemmerling v. Tomlev, 67 Cal.2d 572, 575
(1967); Yuba County Water Agency v. Ingersoll, 45
Cal.App.3d 452, 455 (1975); People ex rel. Dept. of Public

Works v. Logan, 198 Cal.App.2d 581, 586 (1961). But

reciprocal parking easements are completely different from

covenants. Whereas easements appurtenant may be

a -witladinad

sice-es testatntee .
ee ow

x

appraised in condemnation by diminution of the value of the
dominant tenements, covenants are valued at fair market
price by the only way they can be transferred, voluntarily or
involuntarily, in property law, namely, by the value of a
deed of release. The real, constitutional measure of value
of these comprehensive development rights is "what a
willing buyer would pay in cash to a willing seller" (United
States v. 564.54 Acres of Land, 441 U.S. 506, 511 (1979),
quoted in Kirby Forest Industries, Inc., v. United States, 104
S.Ct. 271, 78 L.Ed.2d 253, 52 U.S. Law Week 4607, 4610
(1984), for a deed of release of the development rights. The

California Court of Appeal erred in equating the two
entirely different kinds of rights taken, and denied
Petitioners just compensation under the Fifth Amendment
by restricting the method of appraisal. By following the
Agency's appraisal method, the owners woulc be collectively
deprived of rights valued at near $1 million.

The value of covenants as enforceable agreements
running with the land is the benefit they entail for their
owners to control the future use of burdened property. In
the commercial context of a cooperative, integrated shop-
ping center, these rights are far more valuable than the
limited uses involved in the appurtenant, reciprocal parking
easements. These covenants form the legal and financial
backbone of the Center as a viable marketing entity. They
should be separately appraised in condemnation as commer-
cially valuable development rights over the scope of the

burdened parcels, as the Petitioners’ appraiser did and as the

jury in the trial below correctly understood.
The Court of Appeal stated that the fact that

-

individual owners of businesses in the Shopping Center can
now no longer develop and expand their places of business as
they wish after the imposition of the huge Levitz warehouse
into the midst of the Center, is realiy attributable to local,
noncompensable building regulations and ordinances. This
response begs the issue of loss in the take. If the
Petitioning owners could have controlled and restricted the
development of the Levitz facility, as they would have had
every right to do under their covenants, they could have
developed the entire Center to their mutual advantage and
needs. The Concord Redevelopment Agency took the Peti-
tioners' right to control development of the Center, and in
so doing took from them the control of their future, the
opportunity to expand, develop and take advantage of the
market according to their own needs and desires, which
rights were theirs exclusively under the covenants taken.
The Court of Appeal, in missing the point here, severely
denigrates the Petitioners’ rights and substantially min-
imizes their loss in the take. To allow a Redevelopment
Agency cavalierly to condemn and vacate all the develop-
ment and restrictive rights of the owners of a shopping
center, to allow the unrestricted construction and operation
of a discount furniture warehouse there and then offer a
token in recompense, violates every sense of fairness and
constitutional guarantee of the integrity of private
property.

As to the appealability of the determination of blight
made by the Redevelopment Agency here required by state
law for ascertainment of public use (Cal. Health and Safety
Code Sec. 33320.1), the Court of Appeal let stand the trial

9.

court's conclusive presumption. The Court of Appeal, too,
disallowed any discussion of a constitutional sunset on a
determination of blight under California Health and Safety
Code Sections 33368 and 33501, because there had been no
appeal within the first sixty days after the determination
had been made, as statutorily required (Cal. Health and
Safety Code 33368). The fact is, as the record clearly dis-

closes, the condemnation occurred four years later, under

vastly changed conditions, after promises made by the
Agency to work with the Shopping Center owners and while
the owners themselves were in the process of rehabilitating
the Center and negotiating with prospective new tenants.
The Court of Appeal, upholding the trial court's decision,
cited In re Development Plan for Bunker Hill, 61 Cal.2d 21,
37 Cal.Rptr. 74 (1964) and Sweetwater Valley Civic Ass'n v.

National City, 18 Cal.3d 270, 133 Cal.Rptr. 859 (1976).

Neither of these cases dealt with the issue of the presence
of blight several years after the initial determination of
blight had been made. State law permitting a permanent,
nonreviewable determination of blight offends the
guaranteed due process of law, particularly in the facts of
this case. To meet the constitutional requirements of con-
demnation for public use, the existing statute must be
interpreted to require a review cf the initial determination
of blight if, after several years, evidence is presented to
show that circumstances have changed and the blight is no
longer present. If such review is not required, there is every
danger that Redevelopment Agencies exercising the awe-

some power of eminent domain will condemn private

property no longer for public use but for private gain.

-10-

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The controlling issue in this case is the constitutional
right to just compensation for property rights taken in con-
demnation by an agency of the state. This Court decided
that the taking of development rights in commercially valu-
able private property could so severely interfere with the
owner's "distinct investment-backed expectations” that it
would precipitate a compensabie taking under the Fifth
Amendment. Penn Central Transportation Co. v. New York

City, 438 U.S. 104, 124 (1978). This case presents the Court
with a corollary of equally substantial national importance.
It brings to the Court the opportunity to decide the
measure of "just compensation" for development rights in a
case in which eminent domain was involved. The facts
before the Court frame the troublesome rule of compensa-
tion in lines in which it can be fairly presented, to
paraphrase the observation of the Court in the last session
in Kirby Forest Industries, Inc., v. United States, 104 S.Ct.
271, 78 L.Ed.2d 253, fn. 26 (1984). The principle that under-
lies the mandate of the Fifth Amendment is that, as this

Court has frequently reiterated, while most burdens conse-
quent upon government action taken in the public interest
must be borne by individual landowners as concomitants of
"the advantage of living and doing business in a civilized
community" Andrus v.Allard, 444 U.S. 51, 67 (1979), quoting
Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393, 422 (1922)

(Brandeis, J.,. dissenting), some are so substantial and

unforeseeable, and can so easily be identified and redis-

tributed, that "justice and fairness" require that they be

borne by the public as a whole.- These considerations are

—— a

-ll-

as applicable to determining the measure of just compensa-
tion as they are to the problem of ascertaining whether a
taking has been effected by government action.

The Supreme Court has not set a single standard of

how property rights are to be appraised fairly under the

Fifth Amendment except in the most general terms. This
vacuum of specific legal theory leaves unsettled federal
questions arising under the Constitution. As long as it
remains unsettled the lower courts are divided, as we will
illustrate briefly, and the California courts, if the precedent
will stand, may decide the measure of damages for the
taking of the rights of real covenants in a way that is
clearly erroneous under the standard principle the Suprerne
Court approved in United States v. 564.54 Acres of Land
441 U.S. 506, 511 (1979) , United States v. Miller 317 U.S.
369, 374 (1943), and confirmed in Kirby Forest Industries,
Inc. v. United States (52 L.W. 4607, 4610): "What a willing

buyer would pay in cash to a willing seller’ for these
rights.~ The method of evaluation of property rights needs

plenary reconsideration by the Court as a matter of

1/ Agins v. City of Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255, 260-262 (1980);
Penn Central Transp. Co. v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104,
123-128 (1978); Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40, 49
(1960); Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. at 413, 415-
416; Michelman, Property, Utility, and Fairness: Comments
on the Ethical Foundations of "Just Compensation" Law, 80

565 (1977)

Harv.L. Rev. 1165, 1214-1224 (1967).

2/ See William E. Arnold Co. v. Carpenters District Council,
417 U.S. 12, 14 (1974); Pittsburg v. Alco Parking Corp., G17
U.S. 369, 371- 372 (1974); Pernell v. Southall Realty, 416 U.S.
363, 365 (1974); Davis v. Alaska, 415 "!.S. 308, 315 (1974);
Zacchini v. Scripps Howard Broadcasting Co., 433 U.S. 562,

-12-

paramount national importance.

If each case must be decided on its own facts, as this
Court intimated in the Penn Central Transportation case, at
438 U.S. 123-124, without clear quidance from the Supreme
Court, the lack of predictability of the probable outcome of
this ruinously costly and protracted litigation produces itself

a gross injustice. Petitioners therefore respectfully urge
that the Court now devote its attention to this case.

Since the Court's decision in Berman v. Parker, 348
U.S. 26 (1954), authorities have urged a resolution of the
apparent conflict between Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon,
260 U.S. 393 (1922) and Mugler v. Kansas, 123 U.S. 623
(1887) on the “taking” and "due process" requirements of the
Fifth Amendment in governmental actions in derogation of

private property rights.” Justice Brennan's dissenting
opinion in San Diego Gas and Electric Co. v. City of San

Diego, 450 U.S. 621 (1981), suggests the resolution is proxi-
mate. This case turns on fundamentally similar issues, for
the proper measure of damages in eminent domain
proceedings depends ultimately on the legal nature of
"taking" as a transfer of beneficial interests in property
from person to government, or through governmental action
to another person or entity. Both the nature of the transfer
and the nature of the benefit conferred make this case
important enough for the Court to decide to resolve the
issue. |

The subsidiary issue here presented to the Court

3/ The authorities and urgency of the question are thoroughly
discussed by Professor William Stoebuck, San Diego Gas:
Problems, Pitfalls and a Better Way, 25 Wash. U.J. Urb. &
Contemp. L, 3-42 (1984)

it

tadically bears upon the limitations of judicial deference to
legislative determination of public use. The Court had
occasion once again to discuss the rule of judicial deference
of Berman v. Parker, 348 U.S. 26, 32-33 (1954) in the
October, 1983, session in Hawaii Housing Authority et al. v.

Frank Midkiff, et al., 104 S.Ct. 2321, _—-—aU.S. (1984)
Whereas the courts may not substitute their judgment for
that of the properly authorized legislative agency, surely

this Court may subject to constitutional scrutiny state
statutes permanently immunizing from judicial review
agency determination of "blight" necessary for condemna-
tion for public use, as do California Code of Health and
Safety Sections 33368 and 33501. The Supreme Court's
cases have repeatedly stated "one person's property may not
be taken for the benefit of another private person without a
justifying public purpose, even though compensation be
paid.” Thompson v. Consolidated Gas Corp., 300 U.S. 55, 80
(1937). At some meaningful stage in the course of imple-

menting redevelopment plans, citizens are entitled to a
governmental review of decisions for which they bear the
unique and sole burden of sacrifice, particularly where the
plan itself did not call for specific condemnation and where
the taking decision was made only years after the plan was
adopted.

Whether viewed as a vehicle for settlement of the law
in conflict and national constitutional issues, or as imple-
mentation of the time-honored judicial function of doing
justice, this case commends itself to review on the merits
by this Court.

-14-

THE PROPERTY INTERESTS TAKEN IN THIS CASE WERE
VALUABLE COVENANTS GIVING THE OWNERS
EXCLUSIVE RIGHTS OF CONTROL, MANAGEMENT
AND DEVELOPMENT OF THE SHOPPING CENTER

The Concord Shopping Center was built in 1956.
Unlike modern single-ownership shopping centers, this
Center comprises 25 parceis with as many owners. There
are approximately 70 businesses in the Center. With the
deed to each parcel in 1956, and incorporated in the deeds
by reference, a master Agreement was recorded for the
maintenance of the common areas, parking, management
expenses of the Center, building and use restrictions and a
site plan. (See Appendix E, "Grant of Easements and

Parking Agreement and Appendix F, Site Plan) The

covenants in paragraphs 3, 10, 11, 12 and 13 of this
Agreement are blanket building restrictions, building site
location, design, height and use controls. The intent of the
covenants is to vest in the parcel owners of the Center
exclusive right and authority over the development of the
Center. This legal instrument was carefully drafted in 1956
to provide legally enforceable running covenants that fulfill
all the requirements of California law for real covenants
running with title and give all future Center owners
management and development rights over all parcels in the
Center. California Civil Code Sections 1462-1468; Riley v.
Bear Creek Planning Comm., 17 Cal. 3d 500, 510-511

(1976) Some of the covenants are affirmative; i.e. assess-

ments and maintenance obligations; some are restrictive;
i.e. height, design, use and location on site building

controls. The covenants, in effect, were intended to be and

are comprehensive rights to control development.

ee

86.

Any purchaser of a parcel in the Center could develop
that parcel only in accord with these covenants and restric-
tions. It is important to recognize that the rights of control
given by these covenants are property rights in the constitu-
tional sense. Chapman v. Sheridan Wyoming Co., 338 U.S.
621, 626-627 (1956); Southern California Edison Co. v.
Bourgerie, 9 Cal. 3d at 172-174, and fns. 3 & 4. Note also
United States v. General Motors Corp., 323 U.S. 373, 377-
378 (1945). These rights were never abandoned. They are
legally identical with the development rights this Court

acknowledged in Penn Central Transportation Co. v. City of

New York (supra). (See also Fred F. French Investing Co.,

Inc. v. City of New York, 39 N.Y. 2d 587, 350 N.E. 2d 381,
mss

385 N.Y.S. 2d 5 (1976)—

In 1975, California's eminent domain statutes received

extensive revision and recodification (see California Code of
Civil Procedure 1230.010, et seq.) As presently defined in
California Code of Civil Procedure 1255.170, Property’
includes real and personal property and any interest there-

in.” The Law Revision Commission comment notes that
"Section 1235.170 is intended to provide the broadest defini-
tion of property and include any type of right, title or
interest in property that may be acquired for public use.”
Baldwin Park Redevelopment Agency v. Irving, 156
Cal.App.3d 428, 202 Cal.Rptr. 792, 796 (1984). The Concord

Shopping Center is a conternporary cooperative merchan-

dising enterprise. The presence and enforceability of the

4/ Costonis, "Development Rights Transfer: An Exploratory
Essay," 83 Yale L.J. 75 (1973); idem., "The Disparity Issue: A
Context for the Grand Central Terminal Decision, 91 Harv. L.
R. 402 (1977).

«36.

property rights in the covenants in this master Agreement
were and continue to be vital for the financing, growth and
business success of the Shopping Center. Their taking was
vital for the construction of the Levitz facility.

In the interests of brevity, Petitioners wish only to
point out to the Court the long tradition in our legal system,
going back to Pakenham's Case, Y. B. 42 Edw. Ill, Hil. f.3,
pl.4 (1369), or at least to Spencer's Case, 5 Coke l6a, 44
Eng. Rep. 72 (Q.B. 1583) of using and enforcing covenants to

protect ownership rights in land.~ Whether beneficial
covenants are violated by private persons or by the state,
the loss to the owners is universally compensable. "Equally
important," as Justice Mosk stated in Southern California
Edison v. Bourgerie, 9 Cal. 3d 169, 107 Cal.Rptr. 76 (1978),

"the violation of building restrictions could cause far

greater damage in monetary value to a property owner than
the appropriation of a mere right of way." (at p.173)

On May 23, 1956, when the original parties executed
and recorded the Agreement giving rise to the property
rights taken here, they clearly intended to preserve absolute
and exclusive control of the entire project in themselves and
their successors in title. The covenants played a valuable
role, as the Massachusetts Supreme Court said recently in
upholding similar covenants, because "they serve a purpose

of facilitating orderly and harmonious development for

5/ See Clark, Covenants and Interests Running With the Land
(2d ed. 1947); Browder, "Running Covenants and Public
Policy," 77 Mich. L. Rev. 12 (1978); Stoebuck, "Running
Covenants: An Analytical Primer,” 52 Wash. L. Rev. 86
(1977); Simpson, An Introduction To the History of Land Law,

109-111 (1961); Restatement of the Law of Property 539;
American Law of Property 9:24

iB

commercial use." Whitinsville Plaza, Inc. v. Kotseas, 390
N.E. 2d 245, 250; 378 Mass. 85 (1979). No cooperative,

integrated shopping center could be financed at that time,

let alone attract business tenants except for such an
enforceable Agreement.- The covenants taken by the
Concord Redevelopment Agency were thus clearly reserved
development rights. The Court of Appeal simply emascu-
lates these rights by equating them with the single use
restrictions in the cases cited. The Concord Redevelopment
Agency condemned and vacated multi-faceted, comprehen-
sive covenants to allow Levitz to build a huge warehouse

showroom taking up 136,000 square feet of the Center.

A STANDARD OF APPRAISAL FOR PROPERTY RIGHTS
TAKEN IN CONDEMNATION SHOULD BE DECIDED BY
THE COURT TO RESOLVE CONFLICTING,
UNCERTAIN AND UNWORKABLE METHODS OF
EVALUATION DIVIDING THE COURTS

Petitioners have asserted all along that, whereas the
measure of loss of appurtenant parking easements may be
taken from diminution in value of the dominant estates, the
loss of the development rights enshrined in the covenants is
the value of a deed of release of these rights. Scholarly

opinion is uniform. Case law is in disarray, however,

6/ Tully, "The Shopping Center Lease," California Land
Security and Development, 841-931 (1960); Sturtevant,
"Restrictive Covenants In Shopping Center Leases," 34
N.Y.U.L. Rev. 940 (1959); 97 A.L.R. 4 (1964); Anderson, "The
Mortgagee Looks at the Commercial Lease," 24 Fla.L.R. 484,
496 (1957); Restatement of the Law of Property, 543; 2 Ain.
Law of Property 9.13(a). See also Green and Smith,
Shopping Towns, U.S.A. (1960) and Nicholas, "Setting Up a
Shopping Center, " California Land Security and Developrnent,
775-839 (1960).

cont'd to next page

-19-

largely because of fundamental misconceptions in the courts
between the exercise of eminent domain and inverse con-
demnation, between governmental "taking" and "damaging"
private property. The Concord Redevelopment Agency took
rights of development away from the owners of the Shopping
Center in vacating the covenants. The Agency then trans-
ferred those rights to Levitz. The property rights
transferred benefit of the covenants; their value is what a
ready, willing and able buyer would pay for the release of
development rights to the subject parcel. This value is
substantial, as has been shown by sale of those rights
elsewhere on the Center to others. This essentially was the
method of appraisal the Petitioner's expert used at trial.
The jury in the trial below understood exactly what was at
stake in the take. The jury's verdict should never have been
overturned.

The exercise of the state's power of eminent domain in
condemnation proceedings effects essentialiy an involun-
tary, compelled transfer of that bundle of rights tied
together in the ownership of property from the private
individual to the state, or through the state, to another indi-
vidual. The exciusive right to erect any buildings over the
parcels comprising the Center vested in all the owners of
the Center. It was transferred, given and conveyed to
Levitz Furniture Company. The key to evaluation is how

7/ “A release of the restrictions has been compelled, for
which a deed of release would have accomplished the same
end." Stoebuck, "San Diego Gas: Problems, Pitfalls and a

Better Way," 25 Wash. U. J., Urb. & Contemp. L. 3, 38 (1984);
idem., "Running Covenants: An Analytical Primer," 52 Wash.
L. Rev. 861, 882-885 (1977)

-19-

much this right is worth. The question of evaluation in
eminent domain proceedings is essentially what is the worth
of the property rights an owner has lost in the involuntary
taking. United States v. General Motors Corp., 323 U.S.
373, 377-378 (1945); Agins v. Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1980).
The Redevelopmeir. Agency insisted that diminution in

market value separately appraised of each of the retained
parcels is the only legally acceptable method of evaluation.
If there is no present dip in business profits in the Center, or
if there have been no sales of these retained parcels at less
than their pre-take market value, the Agency reasons the
development rights were worthless. This is simply
preposterous. "What a willing buyer would pay in cash to a
willing seller" for the rights taken is the constitutional
norm. “Other measures of "just compensation’ are employed
only 'when market value is too difficult to find, or when its
application would result in manifest injustice to owner or
public..." Kirby Forest Industries, 104 S.Ct. 271, 78 L.Ed.2d
253, fn. 14, quoting United States v. Commodities Trading
Corp., 339 U.S. 121, 123 (1950).

The Center owners have lost their own rights to

expand and enlarge their own businesses, because the
majority of jointly developable space was used up by Levitz
and they lost rights to benefit from and control the use of
the servient estate. The Fifth Amendment requires a
standard of evaluation of property that responds to the
question of how much Levitz would have paid the owners for
a deed of release of the development rights had there been
no state intervention. The owners had development studies

conducted by retained experts and had begun negotiations

-20-

with private purchasers of those rights prior to the city's
condemnation.

The Levitz parcel is now free of the Center owners’
rights. In the future the Levitz parcel can be turned to any
use conceivable, regardless of the damage that could be
done to the other businesses. Levitz has moved into a going
shopping center, taken the benefits of the Center, without
any of the restrictions and controls. By the condemnation
Levitz was released by the state from the Owners
integrated, cooperative merchandizing plan. As Justice
Tobriner said, dissenting in Riley v. Bear Creek Planning

Comm., supra, at 513, 518, "Common sense and substantive

justice dictate that (plaintiffs) should not be free to violate
such restrictions...To hold otherwise would defeat the actual
intent of the parties; it would allow plaintiff to reap the
benefits of the 'neighbors’ restrictions, while, as to their
own lot, they enjoy complete freedom."

Comparables gleaned from market data analysis of the
acquisition of development rights on comparably situated
vacant properties in the area are commonly used by real
estate appraisers to form an opinion of value. This method
comports with the constitutional mandate of just compensa-
tion. Without state intervention this method of appraisal
would have been used in the Petitioners’ private negotiations
with Levitz. This essentially is how the jury decided the
value of the take. Petitioners have successfully negotiated
at a fair price the release of development rights to the
owner of a nearby similar parcel to allow construction of

improvements thereon by the owner of that parcel. The

Redevelopment Agency's appraiser conceded that the value

o2)-

of the take would fit the Owner’s method of appraisal if the
rights were really development rights; however, the
Agency's appraiser argued that the only thing taken was
unused parking spaces, of minimal value. He did not think
the Center owners could assemble their development rights
for sale. In fact, the take occurred precipitously as the
owners were doing just that. They had never abandoned
their rights.

This Court now has the opportunity to decide legally
how the property rights in issue can be justly evaluated. In
deciding this issue the Court will have the opportunity to
affirm that in condemnation the value of property taken
from a private owner and transferred to the State is the
proper measure of compensation under the Fifth
Amendment, not, as in inverse condemnation, merely the
residual damage to a retained dominant estate.

Under the California Evidence Code evaluation stat-
utes for condemnation, Sections 814-820, there is simply no
reference to the taking of covenant rights. The California
Code of Civil Procedure Section 1263.310 states that:

Compensation shall be awarded for the property
taken. The measure of this compensation is the
fair market value of the property taken.
(Emphasis added).

The rule of highest and best use, established in
California in Sacramento R.R. v. Heilborn, 156 Cal. 408,
409, 104 P. 979 (1909), wherein it is stated that fair market
value is “the highest price estimated that the property

would bring if it were exposed for sale on the open market

for a reasonable period of time and if the buyer had knowl-

edge of all uses and purposes for which it was adaptable," is

22

codified now in the California Code of Civil Procedure
Section 1263.320.—

The condemned development rights should be evalu-
ated separately, not simply lumped together with reciprocal
parking easements. If not, the burden should be on the
condemnor to show evidence that the property taken does
not have independent marketability and, therefore, it should
be valued together with Petitioners’ other untaken land.
This they could not do.

The state courts are divided and adrift in handling this
issue of evaluation under the Fifth Amendment. This case is
not unlike Hartford Nat'l Bank and Trust Co. v.
Redevelopment Agency of the City of Bristol, 164 Conn.
337, 321 A.2d 469 (1973)

On the other hand, in single-use restriction cases, New

Jersey (State Commissioner of Transportation v. Orenstein,
306 A.2d 479, 483 (1979) Wisconsin (Fuller v. Town Board of
Town of Bobbison, 193 Wis. 549, 214 N.W. 324 (1927),
Nevada Horst v. Housing Authority of County of Scotts
Bluff, 166 N.W.2d 119, 121 (1969), Michigan Allen v. City
of Detroit, 133 N.W. 317, 320 (1911) and South Carolina
School District No. 3 v. County Clerk of Charleston, 127
S.E.2d 625, 627 (1962) have used for appraisement a mathe-

matical calculation of the diminution in market value of the

dominant estate with and without the restriction.

The Agency speculated that on the assemblage theory
the individual owners would not have agreed to relinquish
their rights. Lack of intent to relinquish on the part of the

owners, however, does not mean that the development rights

8/ See Nichols, Eminent Domain, 12.314.

-23-

lose their value. The covenantal rights retain their value
even while future development is anticipated. Stockton v.
Miles & Sons, Inc. (D.C. Cal.) 165 F.Supp. 554 (1958); Wilson
v. Abrahms, 1 Cal.App.3d 1030, 82 Cal.Rptr. 272 (1969) .

Using general principles of valuation, including deter-

mination of fair market value at the highest and best use, as
a guding light, and fairly applying analogies to other
property rights, this Court can form a constitutional stan-
dard of compensation and determine that Petitioners'

method of valuation is legally correct.

THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES SHOULD
STRIKE DOWN STATE STATUTES THAT EFFECTIVELY
PRECLUDE EFFECTIVE JUDICIAL REVIEW OF THE
FUNDAMENTAL CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES IN THIS CASE

Four state high court decisions since 1979, widely
publicized and commented: upon, have involved redevelop-
ment agency condemnation of private property to transfer

private interests to other private parties for ostensibly
public uses and purposes. The Courts have decided them in
diametrically contradictory ways. In Poletown
Neighborhood Council v. City of Detroit, 410 Mich. 616, 304
~N.W.2d 455 (1981) the Michigan Supreme Court vindicated

the public use requirement in a plan by the Detroit

Economic Development Corporation to acquire, by
condemnation, a large tract of land to be conveyed to
General Motors Corporation as a site for construction of an
assembly plant.

The appellate opinion Petitioners ask this Court to
review cited California Health and Safety statutes 33368

and 33501 peremptorily to preclude admission of any

-24-

evidence whatsoever on the issue of public use by
Petitioners at any stage of this proceeding. The Michigan
Supreme Court clearly stated:

Where, as here, the condemnation power is
exercised in a way that benefits specific and
identifiable private interests, a court inspects
with heightened scrutiny (emphasis added) the
claim that the public interest is the predominant
interest being advanced.

Petitioners respectfully submit that the statutes
allowing only a 60-day review after the initial decision on
blight and then forever precluding substantial judicial
scrutiny are unconstitutional, because they simply allow no
meaningful scrutiny whatsoever.

Poletown, however, is not the final word. Three other
state supreme courts have struck down condemnation pro-

ceedings in similar circumstances. In Petition of City of

Seattle, 96 Wn.2d 616, 638 P.2d 549 (1981), the Washington
Supreme Court ruled that the City's proposed acquisition of a
downtown area in order to develop and strengthen retailing
activities was not a public use, even though the project might
forestall urban decay. In City of Owensboro v. McCormick,
581 S.W.2d 3 (1979), the Kentucky Supreme Court struck
down the state's Local Industrial Authority Act to the extent

that it gave municipalities the power to condemn private
property for reconveyance to private enterprise; "no ‘public
use’ is involved where the land of A is condemned merely to
enable B to build a factory or C to construct a shopping
center." 561 5S.W. 2d at 8. And, in Karesh v. City Council of

Charleston, 271 S.C. 339, 247 S.E.2d 342 (1978), the South

Carolina Supreme Court held that the city could not condemn

land in order to lease it to a private firm for construction of

-25-

a convention center and parking facility that would contain
retail shops replacing existing retail stores in the area.

The point is that "public use" is quintessentially subject
to judicial scrutiny under the Constitution. Statutes making
the scrutiny practically impossible are unconstitutional.

As the above-cited, disparate cases amply illustrate,
the "taking" issue under the Fifth Amendment is still funda-
mentally an issue of public use. To paraphrase Justice

Brennan's ringing dissent in San Diego Gas, "the express words

and purpose of the Just Compensation Clause," (101 S.Ct.
128), 1304-1305 (1981), makes it a command, not a

emia sian to find public use at the time of the condem-

nation.” There is no dispute now about the law. All agree
that condemnation for a public use is permitted. All agree
that condemnation for a private use cannot be authorized
whatever its incidental public benefit and condemnation for a
public purpose cannot be forbidden whatever the incidental
private gain. The heart of this dispute is whether the
proposed condemnation is for the primary benefit of the
public or the private user.

For the California Courts to have precluded Petitioners'
Offer of Proof, that four years after the original determina-
tion of blight, after major rebuilding plans had been
announced and begun and while the Center owners were in the
process of negotiating with new owners for the very parcel in
question, there was no longer any blight or public need, was
unconstitutional.

9/ See generally, Ross, "Transferring Land to Private
Entities by the Power of Eminent Domain," 51 Geo.Wash.
L.Rev. 355 (1983).

a ee RPL Serta

-26-

It is time now for this Court to vindicate the residual
constitutional prerogative and duty of the judiciary to
scrutinize the public use limitation upon the state in eminent
domain.

The Court of Appeal never addressed this constitutional
concern. It simply cited a case interpreting the 60-day
appellate limitation of California Health and Safety Code
Sections 33368 and 33501. Sweetwater Valley Civic Ass'n. v.
City of National City, 18 Cal.3d 270, 277 (1976). The record
reveals thai the trial court allowed no evidence whatsoever
of the elimination of blight at the time of the condemnation

in the pre-jury stages of this proceeding.

CONCLUSION

As has been clearly illustrated, this case presents to the
Court definitional and substantive constitutional issues of
paramount national significance. Permeating the case below
in the Redevelopment Agency's denigration of the rights
taken and their studied reluctance to accord them even
minimal market value is the implied notion that it may be too
expensive for local governments to follow the Constitution;
that government should be permitted to confiscate property
rights to transfer those rights from the struggling merchant
to the more prosperous entrepreneur. For the state to give a
free lunch to new enterprises at the cost of the original
owners in the expectation of higher future tax revenues is a |
spurious constitutional theory long ago rejected as intolerable
by this Court.

Both the equities of the factual situation here and the

national need for clarification of the substantive and

Me

evaluative aspects of this litigation commend the interven-
tion of the Court. Petitioners respectfully pray the Court to
note probable jurisdiction and grant this petition for writ of
certiorari to review and reverse the decision of the California
Court of Appeal, in this case.

Dated: August 2, 1984.

Respectfully submitted,

THIESSEN, GAGEN & McCOY
A Professional Corporation

fj

By “tC 2-9 21
BRIAN D. THIESSEN
WILLIAM W. BASSETT
MARK L. ARMSTRONG
Attorneys for Petitioners

APPENDIX

APPENDIX A.

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF
CALIFORNIA

FIRST APPELLATE DIVISION, DIVISION THREE

REDEVELOPMENT AGENCY OF THE
CITY OF CONCORD,

Plaintiff, Cross-defendant,
and Appellant,

Vv. A013187
MICHAEL TOBRINER et al., 1 Civ. No. 53134
Defendants, Cross- (Super Ct. No.
complainants and Appellants. 187464)

/

This is an appeal from an order granting a new trial
in a condemnation action. The Redevelopment Agency of
the City of Concord (the Agency) moved under Code of
Civil Procedure section 657 for a new trial on the issue of
just compensation. The trial court granted the motion on
the ground that it had erred in denying the Agency's
motions to strike the valuation evidence proffered by the
condemnees.

The owners of the interests condemned (hereafter
appellants) also attack as erroneous the trial court's
holding that the taking was proper; its granting of nonsuit
on their cross-complaint in inverse condemnation; and its
failure to consider their request for costs and litigation
expenses. The Agency has appealed from the court's order
denying judgment notwithstanding the verdict. We affirm

in all respects.

=

I

On May 31, 1978, the Agency filed a complaint in
eminent domain against owners, tenants and parties with
secured interests in properties in the Concord Shopping
Center on Willow Pass Road in Concord (the Concord
Center). The property sought to be condemned was
described in the Agency's complaint as “parking cross
easement interests" held and enjoyed by the owners,
tenants, and secured parties in the real property on which
tne Concord Center is located. The defendant tenants and
secured parties did not actively oppose the condemnation
action. The appellants here are the owners of the real
property on which the Concord Center is built.

The Concord Center was built in or about 1956.
Unlike more modern shopping centers, it is not owned by a
single individual or entity. Rather, it is in divided
ownership, with approximately 23 separate sets of property
owners, Owning as many parcels. Most of the buildings are
leased to persons who operate businesses on the premises.
There are approximately 70 different business tenants in
all.

[he property interests at issue in this case are
nonexclusive appurtenant easement rights over an area of
real property in the rear parking lot of the Concord
Center. These nonexclusive appurtenant easement rights
are held by the appellant owners and their tenants pursuant
to an easement agreement.

Included within the provisions of the easement agree-

ment are restrictions stating that no buildings, fences or

obstructions could be constructed in the parking easement

iil,

areas; and that all tenants, subtenants, and customers are
entitled to use all of the parking areas at all times on a
nonexclusive basis. The easement agreement specifically
provides that "All covenants of the parties hereto are
expressly declared to be binding upon the heirs, executors,
administrators, successors and assigns of the respective
parties hereto, and are and shall be appurtenant to and run
with the real property described in Exhibit 'A’ hereto and
each and every parcel thereof." (Emphasis added.) Each

owner's separate parcel includes not only a building site,
but appurtenant easement rights for parking purposes in
front of and to the rear of the building site. Each such
easement is burdened by the nonexclusive reciprocal
easements in favor of all the other owners and tenants for
parking and for automobile and pedestrian ingress and
egress. Thus, each owner and tenant has parking rights
over all the parking areas in the Concord Center.

No fee interests are being condemned in this action.
The land subject to development was purchased by Levitz
Furniture (Levitz) with the encouragement of the Agency,
prior to the commencement of this condemnation action.
The Agency had previously included the Concord Center
within its plans for a downtown Concord redevelopment
area, on account of perceived physical and economic
deterioration of the Concord Center and the failure of the
owners to develop or adequately maintain the rear portion
of the Concord Center. This area, which had never been

developed because of the inability to obtain the unanimous

agreement of the various owners and tenants necessary to

eliminate the easements and restrictions on that area, was

-4-

underutilized, in bad repair, and not necessary for the
parking needs of the Concord Center tenants and owners.
The Agency felt that the development of a Levitz store
would revitalize the entire Concord Center and eliminate
the problems associated with the rear area.

Once it had purchased a fee interest in a portion of
the land in the rear area of the Concord Center, Levitz,
like the other owners and tenants, obtained the right to
park in all parking areas of the Concord Center. But it
could not erect any building to house its proposed furniture
store on its property, because the land was burdened by the
parking easements and building restrictions. Levitz sought
to obtain a voluntary agreement with the owners and
tenants to relinquish the easements and restrictions over
Levitz's parcel. These attempts were unsuccessful,
because the required unanimity could not be arranged. The
Agency then brought this action to condemn the
easements.

Il

The central issue before us is the proper method of
valuation of the easements and restrictions sought to be
condemned. In granting a new trial, the court below ruled
that the method employed by the appellant owners’ only
expert witness was improper, and should not have been
admitted in evidence. Appellants contend that the
approach used by its expert witness was permissible, and
the trial court committed no error in admitting it at
trial. We conclude that the method of valuation utilized

by appellants was improper, that it should not have been

admitted in evidence at trial, and that the trial court was

-5-

correct in ordering a new trial.

The well-established legal standard for evaluating an
easement requires an analysis of the decrease in value of
the dominant estate (or dominant tenement) resulting from
the taking of the easement. The measurement of this
decrease must be derived from an appraisal of the value of
the dominant estate before and after the taking. This
approach has been utilized in every reported eminent
domain case in the United States involving the
condemnation of easements appurtenant, and is the law in
California. (United States v. Welch (1910) 217 U.S. 333;
Hemmerling v. Tomlev (1967) 67 Cal.2d 572, 575; Yuba
County Water Agency v. Ingersoll (1975) 45 Cal.App.3d

452, 455; People ex rel. Dept. of Public Works v. Logan
(1961) 198 Cal.App.2d 581, 586; 27 Am.Jur.2d, Eminent
Domain, 322, p. 145; Miller & Starr, Current Law of Cal.
Real Estate (rev. ed. 1977) Easements, 18:70, pp. 390-
391.) The trial court properly ruled in limine that all

valuation evidence must be based on a market appraisal of
the dominant estates and the diminution in value of each
dominant estate, measured separateiy, as a result of the
taking of the easements; and further, that appellants could
not base their evidence on the value of the servient estate
underlying the easements or the development potential of
that land.

The record before this court reveals that appellants
ignored the trial court's ruling in limine. Instead, they
offered in evidence theories of just compensation utilizing

valuation methods and approaches that were based on an

evaluation of the beneficial impact of removal of the

les

easement restrictions on the development potential of the
Levitz fee -- that is, the servient estate underlying
appellants’ easements -- rather than the actual reduction
in value suffered by the dominant estates as a result of the
condemnation of the easements. Because this evidence
was improper, misleading, and incorrect as a matter of
law, it should have been excluded.

From the outset, appellants based their claim for

compensation on the fee simple valwe of the servient

estate underlying the easements at issue. Appellants’
expert, Mr. Floyd Clevenger, first estimated the
unencumbered value of this land at $4 per square foot. He
then allocated 75 percent of that value (or $3 per square
foot) to the surface easement rights belonging collectively
to the Concord Center owners, and 25 percent to the
owner of the underlying fee (Levitz). Clevenger's own
pretrial declarations and statements indicate that this
allocation of values between the easements and the
servient fee was highly conjectural and speculative, and
that it was based on his assumptions regarding the
development potential of the property. No foundation was
ever offered for this evaluation other than Clevenger's own
subjective judgment. Appellants simply multiplied the $3
per square foot figure times the area of the surface
easements sought to be taken, as described in the Agency's
amended complaint (approximately 136,000 square feet),
plus the area claimed by appellants in their cross-
complaint in inverse condemnation (approximately 259,000

square feet), to produce a total claimed compensation

value of approximately $1,185,000. Finally, this figure was

=m

allocated to the various dominant tenements according to
a mathematical formula used by the Concord Center for
apportioning operating or maintenance costs.

After preliminary testimony outside the presence of
the jury, the trial court reaffirmed its earlier in limine
orders, and ruled further that appellants could not use a
single gross figure for the value of the easements and
allocate that total among the owners on the basis of the
Concord Center's formuia for apportioning maintenance
expenses. Thereafter, at trial before the jury, appellants
attempted to recast their evidence in a form that would
appear to comply with the court's orders. Thus, Clevenger
now testified that his evaluation of appellants’
compensation claim was based on an appraisal of the
decrease in value of each dominant tenement.

However, appellants’ valuation method actually
remained unchanged. Appellants never produced any
actual appraisal of the estimated value of each dominant
estate after the taking of the appurtenant easements. This
time, Clevenger simply allocated the same total value
estimate that he had used before trial ($1,185,000) among
the separate dominant tenements on the basis of land area
rather than apportioned operating expense, resulting in a
"damage" figure of approximately $0.76 per square foot
over the entire Concord Center. On this basis, he
generated a "loss" estimate for each dominant estate from
his original evaluation of the value of the servient estate.
Rather than appraising the value of each dominant

tenement bdefore and after the taking and then comparing

the two values to determine the actual loss or damage to

2.

the owners, appellants simply turned the procedure on its
head by subtracting a predetermined "loss" figure from the
appraised pretake value of each dominant tenement to
come up with an artificial “after” value for each
appellant's parcel. In short, appellants’ procedure was the
reverse of what the trial court had ordered them to follow.

Although appellants attempt to portray evidence
given by their expert at trial as a legitimate evaluation of
the diminution in value of each dominant tenement, it is
clear that this was not the case. Clevenger admitted on
cross-examination that all he had really done was to civide
up the predetermined $1,185,000 figure, derived from
appraising the unencumbered development potential of the
servient fee trderlying the easements, among the parcels
of the various dominant estate owners. At first, the trial
court appeared to give some credence to appellants’
assertion that they were presenting evidence of the loss to
the dominant tenements; it therefore denied the Agency's
repeated motions to strike Clevenger's testimony. After
the jury returned a verdict of approximately $750,000 for
appellants, the court granted the Agency's motion for a
new trial.

A trial court's discretion to grant a new trial is quite
broad. (Jiminez v. Sears, Roebuck & Co. (1971) 4 Cal.3d
279, 387.) The record clearly indicates that prejudicial

error occurred at trial because the court had allowed the
admission of evidence based on an invalid measure of
value. (Boston Chamber of Commerce v. Boston (1910) 217
U.S. 189, 195; People v. La Macchia (1953) 41 Cal.2d 738,
754, disapproved on other grounds in County of Los

eo

ee ee ee ee ee Se eee

Ce ee ee

«9

Angeles v. Faus (1957) 48 Cal.2d 672, 680.) The new trial
was therefore properly granted.
Ill

Appellants next arque that the interests at issue here

are not merely parking easements, but are restrictive
covenants or equitable servitudes giving them the right to
control the development, use and operation of the servient
tenement. Thus they contend that valuation based on the
benefit to the servient tenement was proper here.
However, courts in condemnation cases use the same
method of valuation for restrictive covenants and
equitable servitudes as they employ for appurtenant
easements.

In Southern Cal. Edison Co. v. Bourgerie (1973) 9
Cal.3d 169, 172-175, the Supreme Court held that a

building restriction in a deed constituted property, and

that the owner of the dominant tenement was entitled to
compensation for termination of the restriction by a
condemnor exercising the power of eminent domain over
the servient tenement. (Cf. Riley v. Bear Creek Planning
Committee (1976) 17 Cal.3d 500, 510, 511.) The court's

discussion of its holding in Bourgerie makes clear that the

loss to be compensated when such a building restriction is
taken is the damage to the property of the landowner
entitled to enforce the restriction. The court pointed out
that the amount of damage to the owners of the restriction
would vary from substantial to negligible, depending on
such variables as the character of the improvement to be

made on the property subject to restriction (e.g., parks or

access roads versus schools or fire stations); and the

-10-

proposed improvement's proximity to or distance from the
property of the owner of the restriction. (Bourgerie,

supra, 9 Cal.3d at p. 174.) “A condemner need only
selectively join in the action landowners whose property is
most likely to be damaged by the violation of the building

restriction; there are other remedies for excluded owners

who anticipate the improvement will result in damage to
their property.” (Id., at pp. 174-175, emphasis added.)
The court in Bourgerie cited and relied upon cases in

other jurisdictions uniformly holding that the applicable
measure of damages for the condemnation of restrictive
covenants or equitable servitudes is the same as that used
for evaluating an easement appurtenant: the depreciation
in the fair market value of the dominant tenement,
measured before and after the taking. (Id., at p. 172;
Horst v. Housing Auth. of County of Scotts Bluff (Neb.
1969) 166 N.W.2d 119, 121; Meredith v. Washoe County
School District (Nev. 1968) 435 P.2d 750, 752-753; United
States v. Certain Land in City of Augusta, Maine (D.Me.
1963) 220 F.Supp. 696, 700-701; School District No. 3 v.
Country Club of Charleston (S.C. 1962) 127 S.E.2d 625,
627; Town of Stamford v. Vuono (Conn. 1928) 143 A. 245,
249; Allen v. City of Detroit (Mich. 1911) 133 N.W. 317,
320.

In short, whether they are called restrictive
covenants, equitable servitudes, or easements, the
interests at issue in this case are property interests in the
constitutional sense. (Chapman v. Sheridan-Wyoming Co.
(1950) 338 U.S 621, 626-627; Southern Cal. Edison Co. v.
Bourgerie, supra, 9 Cal.3d at pp. 172-174, & fns. 3, 4.)

ite

When such interests are taken by eminent domain, the
owner of the land for whose benefit the restrictions were
imposed is entitled to compensation for damage to the
dominant estate, measured by the Ginpnution in value of
that property as a result of the taking.

l. Appellants cite two cases for the proposition that
the measure of compensation for restrictive covenants is the
diminution in value of the servient tenement, as measured by
the difference between the restricted and unrestricted value
of that property. (Hartford Nat. 8B. & T. Co. v. Redevelop-
ment Agcy., etc. (Conn. 1973) 321 A.2d 469; Herr v. Board of

ducation (N.J.Ct. Err. & App. 1912) 83 A. 173.) These cases
are completely inapposite to the issue before us and distin-
guishable from the facts of this condemnation. In Hartford,
the court was considering the value to be given an easement
in gross: that is, one without any specific property for whose
benefit the easement was created. Unlike in our case, there
was no dominant tenement or benefited property to be
considered in Hartford. An easement in gross exists inde-
pendently of the ownership or possession of any specific land,
and constitutes a personal right to use the land of another.
(Hartford, supra val A.2d at pp. 471-472; Rest., Property,
453, G56. he method of evaluating compensation for
condemnation of an easement in gross is different from that
used for easements appurtenant such as are involved in the
instant case; the approach taken in Hartford is sanctioned by
the Restatement of Property for easements in gross, and is
similar to the approach of California cases for such
interests. (Rest., Property, 507, 508; 3 Miller & Starr,
Current Law of Cal. Real Estate, Easements, supra, at pp.
390-391; County of Los Angeles v. Wright 1) 107
Cal.App.2d 235, 236-TE1.) The other case cited by appellants,
Herr v. Board of Education, concerned the condemnation of
property in fee which was subject to building restrictions, and
is distinguishable on its facts from the instant case. In any
event, it has been limited by subsequent New Jersey cases,
and is not in keeping with any of the more recent decisions on
the question of ponte eld po building restrictions. (State
r. 7

Commissioner of Transportation v. Orenstein (N.J. Supe
App. Div. 1975) 306 wT G79, GBS.)

-12-

IV

Turning to the issue of whether the taking itself was
proper as a matter of law, we find no reason to reverse the
decision of the trial court. The findings of public use,
necessity and blight were all supported by substantial
evidence. With regard to public use and necessity,
appellants’ assertion that the development of the Levitz
facility does not conform to the Agency's redevelopment
plan does not bear scrutiny (Redevelopment Agency v.
Herrold (1978) 86 Cal.App.3d 1024, 1029-1031.) And as to
blight, appellants’ failure to challenge the blight finding
within 60 days bars their subsequent challenge in this
condemnation action. (Health & Saf. Code, 33368, 33501;
Sweetwater Valley Civil Assn. v. City of National City
(1976) 18 Cal.3d 270, 277.)

V

Appellants cross-complained below, seeking
compensation for the alleged "taking" of certain portions
of land in the Concord Center in inverse condemnation.
The trial court granted the Agency's motion for nonsuit on
this cross-complaint. There is no merit to appellants’
contention of error in this regard. The determination of
whether an inverse taking has occurred is a nonjury
question, even when there are factual questions involved.
(Orpheum Bldg. Co. v. San Francisco Bay Area Rapid
Transit District (1978) 80 Cal.App.3d 863, 868.) The
evidence in the record clearly shows that, with respect to

the portions of the Concord Center for which appellants

claim compensation in inverse condemnation (the inverse

area), appellants retained all cross-easements rights after

at.

the taking that they had beforehand.

Appellants’ theory is apparently based on the theory
that Levitz "used up” parking spaces in the construction of
its building, and those parking spaces are no longer
available to the other owners should they choose to expand
their own structures or collectively develop the rest of the
Concord Center. However, appellants’ own appraiser
admitted that there was ample parking available in the
Concord Center after the construction of Levitz's facility,
and that the loss of parking did not prevent any appellants
from developing buildings on their parcels to the fullest
extent permitted under the Concord Center's own restric-
tions and the zoning and building regulations of the City of
Concord. The witness also conceded that none of the
existing buildings had suffered a loss of rents or income;
that the Levitz store had no negative competitive effect
on the other businesses in the Concord Center; that the
design, appearance and usage of the Levitz facility had no
undesirable impact on other properties and businesses in
the Concord Center; and that the owners still possessed
the right to restrict buildings or "control development" in
the inverse area, since the owners’ easements over the
inverse area have not been extinguished.

Whatever effect Levitz has on the availability of
parking space to appellants -- whether for actual parking
or for hypothetical development -- that impact is the
direct result of three factors, none of which is a product of
this condemnation. First, Levitz's previous purchase of
property in the Concord Center included the purchase of

all the parking easement rights appurtenant to the land

=

bought by Levitz. Thus, Levitz bought the use of these
parking spaces from appellants; it was not taken from
them as a result of condemnation.

Second, Levitz'’s rights to use the parking spaces at
issue, which it paid for when it bought its fee interest in
the servient estate, are the same rights possessed by
appellants. These rights are the creation of the Easement
Agreement, which gives every owner of land the right to
park in all of the Concord Center's parking areas.

Finally, the amount of parking “used up” by Levitz is
a direct consequence of the City of Concord’s parking
ordinance as applied to the Concord Center's ownership
and easement structure. As a general land use regulation
applicable to all development, Concord's parking ordinance
will result in a "taking" only if an owner's rights to
beneficial use of his property are drastically curtailed.
(Agins v. City of Tiburon (1979) 24 Cal.3d 266, affd. (1980)
447 U.S. 255.) Such is not the case here. The mere
conjunction of the parking ordinance and the condemnation

in this case does not convert an otherwise noncompensible
regulation into a compensable one. (People ex rel. State
Public Works Bd. v. Talleur (1978) 79 Cal.App.3d 690, 698;
People ex rel. Dept. Pub. Wks. v. Curtis (1967) 255
Cal.App.2d 378, 383; County of Santa Clara v. Curtner
(1966) 245 Cal.App.2d 730.)

Considering the evidence in the record in a light

most favorable to respondent, and giving every intendment
and presumption to the judgment of the trial court, we find
that the record fully supports the judgment for ov Agency

on the cross-complaint in inverse condemnation.—

lanl aalemmiealuiaalll

i.

VI

We do not agree with the Agency that the trial court
should have granted its motion for judgment notwith-
standing the verdict. This matter should be retried, with
appellants given the opportunity to prepare and present to
the jury evidence that specifically and unambiguously
addresses the legitimate valuation question before the
court: what was the amount of the diminution or depreci-
ation in value of appellants’ own separate, individual fee
interests in the Concord Center, measured by a comparison
of the fair market value of those parcels both before and
after the taking. The evidence introduced by the Agency
is not necessarily the only possible appraisal of those
damages. Of course, any evidence sought to be introduced
at the new trial of this matter must comply with the
standard set forth herein, taking into account only the loss
or damage to the dominant estates and not the benefits
which may inure to the servient land underlying the
easements as a result of the removal of those easements

and the restrictions connected therewith.

2. Since we have already found that appellants’ theory
of valuation was faulty and legally inadmissible, we need not
consider at length appellants’ argument that they are entitled
to compensation for the entire "inverse area" as part of their
compensation for the actual take under a "pad theory" of
analysis. That theory is inextricably bound up with appel-
lants' invalid method of evaluating the take, and cannot be
considered or admitted on retrial in any event.

-l6-

The judgment is affirmed. Each party to bear its

own costs.
CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

Scott, Acting P.J.

We concur:

Feinberg, J.*

Barry-Deal, J.

* Assigned by the Chairperson of the Judicial Council.

APPENDIX B

CLERK'S OFFICE. SUPREME COURT
4250 STATE BUILDING

SAN FRANCiIscO, CALIFORNIA 94102

MAY +681 61954

I have this day filed Order

HEARING D2NIED
1s,
¢ J a
GY,
oy
In re: ] Civ, No. _53134
REDEVELOPMENT AGENCY OF THE CITY OF
CONCORD
vS.
Respectfully,
Clerk

677 6-62 4m * OS?

APPENDIX C
COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
FOR THE FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT
DIVISION: 3

Merrill, Thiessen & Gagen
319 Diablo Rd #103

P O Box 218

Danville, CA 94526

REDEVELOPMENT AGENCY OF CONCORD
vs.

TOBRINER, MICHAEL ET AL

A013187 Old No. CIV53134

Contra Costa County No. 187464

* * REMITTITUR * *

I, CLIFFORD C. PORTER, Clerk of the Court of
Appeal of the State of California, for the First Appellate
District, do hereby certify that the attached is a true and
correct copy of the original opinion or decision entered in
the above-entitled cause on March 21, 1984 and that this
opinion or decision has now become final. _

__Appellant _ Respondent to recover costs
_x Each party to bear own costs
__Costs are not awarded in this proceeding

Witness my hand and the seal of the Court affixed at
my office this May 25, 1984

Clifford C. Porter, Clerk

By: Walter G. Hays, Deputy

APPENDIX D

California Statutes

California Constitution, Article I, Section 19

Private property may be taken or damaged for public
use only when just compensation, ascertained by a jury
unless waived, has first been paid to, or into court for,

the owner.

Civil Code 1468

Each covenant, made by an owner of land with the

owner of other land or made by a grantor of land with
a grantee of land conveyed, or made by the grantee of
land conveyed with the grantor thereof, to do or
refrain from doing some act on his own land, which
doing or refraining is expressed to be for the benefit
of the land of the covenantee, runs with both the land
owned by or granted to the covenantor and the land
owned by or granted to the covenantee and shall,
except as provided by Section 1466, or as specifically
provided in the instrument creating such covenant,
and notwithstanding the provisions of Section 1465,
benefit or be binding upon each successive owner,
during his ownership, of any portion of such land
affected thereby and upon each person having any

interest therein derived through any owner thereof

where all of the following requirements are met:

«2

(a) The land of the covenantor which is to be
affected by such covenants, and the land of
covenantee to be benefited, are particularly described

in the instrument containing such covenants;

(b) Such successive owners of the land are in such
instrument expressed to be bound thereby for the
benefit of the land owned by, granted by, or granted

to the covenantee;

(c) Each such act relates to the use, repair,
maintenance or improvement of, or payment of taxes
and assessments on, such land or some part thereof, or
if the land owned by or granted to each consists of
undivided interests in the same parcel or parcels, the
suspension of the right of partition or sale in lieu of
partition for a period which is reasonable in relation

to the purpose of the covenant;

(d) The instrument containing such covenants is
recorded in the office of the recorder of each county

in which such land or some part thereof is situated.

Where several persons are subject to the burden of any
such covenant, it shall be apportioned among them
pursuant to Section 1467, except that where only a
portion of such land is so affected thereby, such
apportionment shall be only among the several owners

of such portion. This section shall apply to the

mortgagee, trustee or beneficiary of a mortgage or

eA eae ach

dh aise P

SD EE A ha A ceri td cs Sell ean ape

ST A DOE I NH te tT Te ie nto

ste

deed of trust upon such land or any part thereof while
but only while he, in such capacity, is in possession
thereof.

Code of Civil Procedure 657

The verdict may be vacated and any other decision
may be modified or vacated, in whole or in part, and a
new or further trial granted on all or part of the
issues, on the application of the party aggrieved, for
any of the following causes, materially affecting the
substantial rights of such party:

1, Irregularity in the proceedings of the court, jury
or adverse party, or any order of the court or abuse of
discretion by which either party was prevented from
having a fair trial.

2. Misconduct of the jury; and whenever any one or
more of the jurors have been induced to assent to any
general or special verdict, or to a finding on any
question submitted to them by the court, by a resort
to the determination of chance, such misconduct may

be proved by the affidavit of any one of the jurors.

3. Accident or surprise, which ordinary prudence

could not have guarded against.

4. Newly discovered evidence, material for the
party making the application, which he could not, with

reasonable diligence, have discovered and produced at

the trial.

5. Excessive or inadequate damages.

6. Insufficiency of the evidence to justify the
verdict or other decision, or the verdict or other

decision is against law.

7. Error in law, occurring at the trial and excepted

to by the party making the application.

When a new trial is granted, on all or part of the
issues, the court shall specify the ground or grounds
upon which it is granted and the court's reason or
reasons for granting the new trial upon each ground
stated.

A new trial shall not be granted upon the ground of
insufficiency of the evidence to justify the verdict or
other decision, nor upon the ground of excessive or
inadequate damages, unless after weighing the
evidence the court is convinced from the enter record,
including reasonable inferences therefrom, that the
court or jury clearly should have reached a different

verdict or decision.

The order passing upon and determining the motion
must be made and entered as provided in Section 660
and if the motion is granted must state the ground or
grounds relied upon by the court, and may contain the

ee ae le a a, eetientteedliiel

-,

specification of reasons. If an order granting such
motion does not contain such specification of reasons,
the court must, within 10 days after filing such order,
prepare, sign and file such specification of reasons in
writing with the clerk. The court shall not direct the
attorney for a party to prepare either or both said
order and said specification of reasons.

On appeal from an order granting a new trial the order
shall be affirmed if it should have been granted upon
any ground stated in the motion, whether or not
specified in the order or specification or reasons,
except that (a) the order shall not be affirmed upon
the ground of the insufficiency of the evidence to
justify the verdict or other decision, or upon the
ground of excessive or inadequate damages, unless
such ground is stated in the order granting the motion
and (b) on appeal from an order granting a new trial
upon the ground of the insufficiency of the evidence
to justify the verdict or other decision, or upon the
ground of excessive or inadequate damages, it shall be
conclusively presumed that said order as to such
ground was made only for the reasons specified in said
order or caid specificction of reasons, and such order
shall be reversed as to such ground only if there is no

substantial basis in the record for any of such reasons.

Code of Civil Procedure 1255.410

(a) At the time of filing the complaint or at any
time after filing the complaint and prior to entry of

aie

judgment, the plaintiff may apply ex parte to the
court for an order for possession under this article,
and the court shall make an order authorizing the
plaintiff to take possession of the property if the
plaintiff is entitled to take the property by eminent
domain and has deposited pursuant to Article 1
(commencing with Section 1255.010) an amount that
satisfies the requirements of that article.

(b) The order for possession shall describe the
property of which the plaintiff is authorized to take
possession, which description may be by reference to
the complaint, and shall state the date after which the

plaintiff is authorized to take possession of the

property.

(c) Notwithstanding the time limits for notice
prescribed by Section 1255.450, if the court finds that
the plaintiff has an urgent need for possession of
property ‘and that possession will not displace or
unreasonably affect any person in actual and lawful
possession of the property to be taken or the larger
parcel of which it is a part, the court may make an
order for possession of such property upon such notice,
not less than three days, as the court deems

appropriate under the circumstances of the case.

Code of Civil Procedure 1263.310
Compensation shall be awarded for the property

taken. The measure of this compensation is the fair

oTe

market value of the property taken.

Code of Civil Procedure 1263.320

(a) The fair market value of the property taken is
the highest price on the date of valuation that would
be agreed to by a seller, being willing to sell but under
no particular or urgent necessity for so doing, nor
obliged to sell, and a buyer, being ready, willing, and
able to buy but under no particular necessity for so
doing, each dealing with the other with full knowledge
of all the uses and purposes for which the property is
reasonably adaptable and available.

(b) The fair market value of property taken for

which there is no relevant market is its value on the

date of valuation as determined by any method of
valuation that is just and equitable.

Health and Safety Code 335320.1

"Project area” means an area of a community which is
a blighted area, the redevelopment of which is
necessary to effectuate the public purposes declared
in this part, and which is selected by the planning

commission pursuant to Section 33322.

Health and Safety Code 33368
The decision of the legislative body shall be final and
conclusive, and it shall thereafter be conclusively
presumed that the project area is a blighted area as
defined by Section 33031 through 33034 and that all

,

prior proceedings have been duly and regularly taken.

Health and Safety Code 33501
An action may be brought pursuant to Chapter 9

(commencing with Section 860) of Title 10 of Part 2 of
the Civil Procedure to determine the validity of bonds
and the redevelopment plan to be financed or
refinanced, in whole or in part, by the bonds, or to
determine the validity of a redevelopment plan not
financed by bonds, including without limiting the
generality of the foregoing, the legality and validity
of all proceeds theretofore taken for or in any way
connected with the establishment of the agency, its
authority to transact business and exercise its powers,
the designation of the survey area, the selection of
the project area, the formulation of the preliminary
plan, and the adoption of the redevelopment or
renewal plan, and also including the legality and
validity of all proceedings theretofore taken and (as
provided in the bond resolution) proposed to be taken
for the authorization, issuance, sale and delivery of
the bonds and for the payment of the principal thereof

and interest thereon.

Code of Civil Procedure 860

A public agency may upon the existence of any

matter which under any other law is authorized to be
determinec pursuant to this chapter, and for 60 days

thereafter, being an action in the superior court of the

county in which the principal office of the public agency is

-9-

located to determine the validity of such matter.

Code of Civil Procedure 863
If no proceedings have been brought by the public

agency pursuant to this chapter, any interested person may
bring an action within the time and in the court specified
by Section 860 to determine the validity of such matter.

Code of Civil Procedure 870

the judgment, if no appeal is taken, or if taken and

the judgment is affirmed, shall ... thereupon become and
thereafter be forever binding and conclusive, as to all
matters therein adjudicated on which at the time could
have been adjudicated, against the agency and against all
other persons, and the judgment shall permanently enjoin
the instituting by any person of any action or proceeding

raising any issue as to which the judgment is binding and

conclusive.

inti 8)

APPENDIX E
37988
GRANT OF EASEMENTS AND PARKING AGREEMENT

THIS AGREEMENT is made this 23 day of May, 1956,
by and among CONCORD INVESTMENTS, a California
corporation, hereinafter designated "First Party",
ARTHUR WEISBERG and MILDRED C. WEISBERG, his
wife, hereinafter designated "Second Parties", and
ERICKSON, PHILLIPS & WEISBERG, a California corpo-
ration, hereinafter designated "Third Party", in reference
to the following facts:

Annexed hereto, marked Exhibit "A" and made a part
hereof, is a legal description of the Concord Shopping
Center.

Annexed hereto, marked Exhibit "B" and made a part
hereof, is a plat of said Concord Shopping Center.

Second Parties are the owners of that portion of said
Concord Shopping Center which is designated "Parcel A"
on said Exhibit "B:" and is more particularly described in
Exhibit "C" annexed hereto and made a part hereof.

Third Party is the owner of that portion of said
Concord Shopping Center which is designated "Parcel B" on
said Exhibit "B" and is more particularly described in
Exhibit "D" annexed hereto and made a part hereof.

First Party is the lessee under that certain lease
dated the 3rd day of February, 1956, wherein Genesio Bisso
and Albina Bisso, his wife, and George L. Bisso and Julie A.

Bisso, his wife, are lessors of that portion of said Concord

Shopping Center which is described in Exhibit "E" annexed

aks

hereto and made a part hereof.

First party is the lessee under that certain lease
dated the 15th day of August, 1955, wherein Hilary A.
Belloc, as Guardian of the estate of Katie A. Bartneit, is
lessor of that portion of said Concord Shopping Center
which is described in Exhibit "F" annexed hereto and made
a part hereof, for a term of ninety-nine (99) years
commencing on said 15th day of August, 1955.

First Party is the owner of the balance of said
Concord Shopping Center.

The parties hereto desire to allocate that portion of
said Concord Shopping Center which is delineated by hori-
zontal, vertical and diagonal lines on said Exhibit "B" as a
common area for the use of the parties hereto and all of
their lessees, lessees’ subtenants, agents, employees,
customers, or other licensees in said Concord Shopping
Center as it now exists or as it may hereafter be enlarged,
and to agree upon the use and operation of all said
property to the extent hereinafter stated.

NOW, THEREFORE, in consideration of the premises
and the covenants and conditions hereinafter contained,
the parties hereto do hereby agree as follows:

l. Each of the parties hereto hereby grants to the
others, for the benefit of their respective properties above
described or identified, a non-exclusive easement for the
purpose of ingress and egress for pedestrians and
automobiles and for automobile parking purposes over and
upon the property of each other, except where buildings
are located or proposed to be located as shown on said
Exhibit "B". (It is recognized by the parties hereto that

ie

there are sidewalks adjacent to the existing buildings in
said Concord Shopping Center and that the future buildings
to be constructed therein will have sidewalks adjacent
thereto.) Said easements shall be appurtenant to said
properties to be benefited thereby and a burden upon said
properties over and upon which said easements are hereby
granted, and shall be perpetual as to the properties owned
by the parties hereto, and as to each of the properties
leased by First Party, as lessee, as aforesaid, the
easements hereby granted by First Party to Second Parties
and Third Party over each of said properties shall be for
the duration of the term of -each said leases or any
extensions or renewals thereof, unless First Party acquires
title to either or both of said parcels or property leased by
it, as lessee, as aforesaid or unless all or any of the
stockholders of First Party or any corporation in which any
of them individually or collectively have a majority
interest acquires such title in any of which events the
easements hereby granted by First Party to Second Parties
and Third Party over and upon the said properties so
acquired shall become perpetual concurrently with the
acquisition thereof. Said easements are also granted for
the express benefit of the respective lessees who may now
or hereafter lease from any of the parties hereto any
property in said Concord Shopping Center, and may be
enforced by any of such lessees.

2. Each of the parties hereto agree that no
buildings or other structures shall be erected on his or its

property occupying more area or in a different location

than as shown on Exhibit "B" as a building or building site

-4.-

nor shall any service station be erected in said Concord
Shopping Center other than on the building site located at
the corner of Market Street and Willow Pass Road as
shown on said Exhibit "B".

3. Each of the parties hereto agrees not to erect,
place or maintain, or permit the continued existence of
any fences, curbs, or other obstructions of any nature
whatsoever on his or its property so as to interfere with
the use of the entire parking area shown on said Exhibit
"B" as a unit.

4. First Party, shall at its own cost and expense,
install sidewalks, curbs, drains and sewer facilities, and
grade, level and blacktop, or similarly surface, the parking
area shown on Exhibit "B" to the East of the Westerly
boundary line and to the North of the Northerly boundary
line of Parcel "A" as shown on said Exhibit "B", and light
and mark the same prior to November 1, 1956, and First
Party shall, at its own cost and expense, install sidewalks,
curbs, drains and sewer facilities, and grade, level and
blacktop, or similarly surface, the balance of the parking
area shown on said Exhibit "3B", and light and mark the
same prior to the date of the opening for business of the
buildings to be constructed by First Party on its two
building sites immediately west of said "Parcel A" as
shown on Exhibit "B". First Party shaii at all times
maintain said drains and sewer facilities and the surface of
the parking area and the markings and lighting thereof and
keep the same in good condition and repair and as clean as

reasonably possible, and carry public liability and property

damage insurance covering said parking area, sidewalks

ites

and curbs in the joint names of the parties hereto.

5. Said parking area shall at all times be available
for use in common by the parties hereto, their Lessees,
Lessees’ subtenants, agents, employees, customers, or
other licensees of al! buildings in the Concord Shopping
Center as it now exists or as it may hereafter be enlarged.

6. Second parties and third party each agree to pay
to First Party monthly, after the completion of the
building or buildings on their respective parcels and the
occupancy thereof by tenants, for maintaining, lighting,
cleaning and insuring the entire parking area, one-fourth
(1/4) of one per cent (1%) of the amount of gross sales on
their respective parcels of any tenant whose rental is on a
percentage basis (the terrn "gross sales" as used herein
shall mean the gross sales as that term is defined in the
leases of the tenants of said buildings or any portion
thereof), and one cent (1¢) per square foot of ground floor
area per month of any tenant whose rental is not on a
percentage basis, provided, however that should Second
Parties or Third Party in any case include within the terms
of any lease of any space within their respective properties
provisions whereby the tenant in such lease undertakes to
pay to Second Parties or Third Party as the case may be
for the purposes herein stated the one-fourth (1/4) of one
(1) per cent of gross sales, or the one cent (1¢) per square
foot of area payments covering the tenants leased space,
then Second Parties and Third Party, as the case may be,
shall have no obligation to pay any amount to First Party
under the terms of this paragraph numbered "6", and based

upon such tenant's sales or occupancy unless and until such

i iliac iaaiia ie remne

die

tenant actually pays such amount to and the same is
actually received by Second Parties or Third Party as the
case may be. The amount to be paid per square foot in
case that is the basis of payment may be adjusted every
tenth (10th) year at the instance of First Party to cover
First Party's actual costs at the aforesaid time, on
condition that First Party furnishes Second Parties and
Third Party with evidence that said one cent (l¢) per
square foot is less than the actual cost per square foot of
maintaining, lighting, cleaning and insuring said parking
area as a whole, in which event the cost per square foot to
Second Parties and Third Party shall be increased by an
amount sufficient to meet said actual cost, subject,
however, to the same limitation with respect to actual
payment to Second Parties or Third Party as the case may
be, by their tenant or tenants. First Party shall not be
required to account to Second Parties or Third Party for
the expenditure of said money. The obligations imposed in
this paragraph "6" upon Second Parties or Third Party
during such time as First Party or First Party's successor
shall fail to perform the obligations imposed upon First
Party in Paragraph "4" hereof. Second Parties and Third
Party agree to forthwith take all steps necessary to collect
any sums due from any of their tenants for the purposes
herein stated, and in the event Second Parties or Third
Party fail to do so, First Party shall have the right to
enforce payment thereof, including expenses of such
action, from such tenant or tenants in behalf, and in the

name of Second Parties and/or Third Party, as the case

may be.

ote

7. All sewer, water, gas, electric power and
telephone installations within or serving the Concord
Shopping Center shall be available for use by Second
Parties and Third Party, and each shall have the right to
connect, at his or its own cost and expense and without any
charge being made by First Party, sewer, water, gas,
electric power and telephone lines or conduits serving their
respective properties to said utility installations. The
aforesaid sewer, water, gas, electric power and telephone
lines or conduits shall be made available to Second and
Third Parties adjacent to the sidewalk area of their
respective buildings or building sites as shown on Exhibit
"B*.

8. The parties hereto agree to require their
employees and those of their tenants of any building or
buildings erected by them in the Concord Shopping Center,
to park their automobiles in such area or areas within the
parking area as First Party may designate.

9. Nothing herein contained shall be deemed to be
a gift or dedication, in any way, of any portion of the
property described in Exhibit "A" to the public, or for any
public purposes whatsoever, it being the intention of the
parties hereto that this agreement shall be strictly limited
to and for the purposes herein expressed.

10. No breach of this agreement shall entitle any
party hereto to cancel, rescind, or otherwise terminate
this agreement, but such limitation shall not affect in any
manner any other rights or remedies which the parties

hereto may have hereunder by reason of any breach of this

agreement. This agreement may not be terminated, in

whole or in part, either by mutual agreement of the parties
hereto, or otherwise, nor may any provision of this
agreement be stricken or modified without the prior
written consent of all lessees who are at the time lessees
of property as described in said Exhibit "A", it being
agreed that this agreement is made for the express benefit
of the parties hereto and all such lessees.

1l. Second parties shall have the right to construct
a building or buildings upon the building site delineated in
"Parcel A” on said Exhibit "B" which building or buildings
shall not be in excess of one and one-half (1-1/2) stories
(said limitation shall be for a period of fifty-five (55) years
from the date of this agreement). Said building or build-
ings shall conform generally in design to other buildings
erected by First Party in said Concord Shopping Center.
Second Parties agree not to permit a bank to be operated
on said "Parcel A” on or before October 27, 1957. In no
event shall Second Parties permit a department store to be
operated on said "Parcel A". “Department store” as used
herein shall be defined for the purposes of this agreement
as embracing in scope and extent the department store
operation being carried on in Oakland, California, as of the
date of this agreement by Western Department Stores, a
corporation.

12. Third party shall have the right to construct a
building or buildings upon the building site delineated in
"Parcel B” on said Exhibit 8", which building or buildings
shall not be in excess of one and one-half (1-1/2) stories
(said limitation shall be for a period of fifty-five (55) years
from the date of this agreement). Said building or build-

-9-

ings shall conform generally in design to other buildings
erected by First Party in said Concord Shopping Center.
Third Party agrees not to permit a bank to be operated on
said “Parcel 8” on or before October 27, 1957. In no event
shall Third Party permit a department store, as herein
defined, to be operated on said “Parcel B".

13. All covenants of the parties hereto are expressly
declared to be binding upon the heirs, executors, adminis-
trators, successors and assigns of the respective parties
thereto, ad are and shal! be appurtenant to and run with
the real property described in Exhibit "A" hereto and each
and every part thereof.

Following the same of any of the real property owned
by any of the parties hereto, the covenants herein
contained shall be binding upon the purchaser of said
property, his or its heirs, executors, administrators,
successors an assigns, and the selling party shall be
released from his or its covenants in connection with said
property so sold, provided the purchaser thereof assumes in
w'iting with his or its signature thereon duly acknowl-
edged, the selling party's obligations hereunder insofar as
they apply to said property so sold and said writing is
recorded in the office of the County Recorder of Contra
Costa County, State of California.

-10-

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the parties hereto have
executed this agreement the day and year first above

written.
CONCORD INVESTMENTS By Sam Sankowich
Its President

By Theodore Rhodes
Its Secretary

FIRST PARTY

Arthur Weisberg
Mildred C. Weisberg

SECOND PARTIES

ERICKSON, PHILLIPS & By Arthur Weisberg
WEISBERG Its President

R___W. Phillips

THIRD PARTY

APPENDIX F - PARTIAL SITE PLAN

FLSINIIGaHEY HH
*Ignrwe

Wivdsy se7S L/
(AWUNOg Was) WNED 77
SAwyeyNa 77d O/

yap AV 6

GONe NNWIWD §

gOwS AALZ

wons Ayvz7m2r 2
SONS AWYINOILVIS F
AS'IPLIMWOBALASD
STULIMAZIS BI’SIY ld |
Sees 17N-C Z

FxvOLS HNN &, VarvDrmM 7

OG DNIDNIAY -SLNYNIL

—— on _"-"—_

GHC™ BULL

evixwnurde —— ae
@rvirwe [ . = —_
OANIDFF

Se oo --- ww ~~ ———-— ~ a
wae ?

a |
—
ie
hendhend
_— es
=
—
—
—=
—
2
handheld
co

y
4 -
> ABN AP y sa

/ . e A *f _— .
Fa i Onb™ Bile

a ae NY " ae Pe Se

% 772u re ‘

4 ‘ . y ¢ ‘
‘ 4 a ‘ ‘ Ps ys ae 2
ees it A ae
Pa 4 4 Lo P 4
it iN ihe iain J

> |
ow
&
me)
Lebel
—
=
—"
—
=D om

/

—— oo
/

>

...

—_

Cc)

hedhend

ae |

; heat ane : co
canes cane =
=e

—_

— a

— |

SF 2)

handed

co

4 Oar€ OO SortF

nf Preece ~~? Rati eee ARIE. = ,

~

SIINGD OWNldaoHs - ite a

>
... |
©) |
i
Lede |
=|
<r
—
—
—
2)
wer
cS

f
'
po 1 aot ee ES a

aoe e

war 9 ony TysavOm

- WA y
‘ ) gL/8 “SE79 Week | oo, 20%

eore| | etnlata Me i <<enense

“sake Saas lelacetel ciel

She ter x

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2584%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
