# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Rhode Island v. Von Bulow

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2507%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 469 U.S. 875

## Text

ee Office -Susrame _ US. |
© | FILED
84 -106 JUL 20 1984
No. pias
ALEXANDE R Ls EVAS,
In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1984

fy
Vv

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND
PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS,

Petitioner,
vs.

CLAUS VON BULOW,
Respondent.

— ”
Vv

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF RHODE ISLAND

fy
Vv

Dennis J. Roserts, I
Attorney General of the
State of Rhode Island

Txomas M. Dickinson

Special Assistant

Attorney General

72 Pine Street

Providence, Rhode Island 02903
(401) 274-4400

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 835-7427 Ext. 333

—

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. When a private party seizes several pieces of evi-
dence, subjects some of them to chemical testing and de-
livers the evidence to police, does the Fourth Amendment
require police to obtain a warrant before conducting in-
dependent chemical tests?

2. If the police officer receiving pieces of physical
evidence is aware that the defendant’s privacy interest
in the evidence has already been substantially compro-
mised by private seizure, private examination and private
chemical testing, does the Exclusionary Rule announced
by this Court in Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961), and
modified in United States v. Leon, No. 82-1771 (U.S. July
5, 1984), require the suppression of the results of subse-
quent warrantless chemical analysis conducted by police?

3. Whether the trial court’s refusal to suppress the
results of warrantless chemical tests conducted by police
on evidence that was privately searched, seized, examined,
and chemically tested was harmless error?

4. Whether the judgment of the Rhode Island Su-
preme Court is supported by an adequate and independent
state law basis?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW i
TABLE OF CASES, STATUTES AND AU-

THORITIES iii

OPINION OF COURT BELOW net 1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PRO-
ee ti Bb Lk Mf | sees poneeseemncnnnceerie neo Seinen =

1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 1
I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND .. 1
A. FIRST COMA .._.. ey

4

4

B. CLAUS VON BULOW’S BLACK BAG
C. THE SECOND COMA

D. VON BULOW’S MOTIVE TO KILL HIS
WIFE

Il. FACTS REGARDING SEARCH ISSUE .........
A. THE PRIVATE SEARCH
B. PRIVATE CHEMICAL TESTS
C. TESTS BY STATE OFFICIALS

ARGUMENT

I. tHE WARRANTLESS CHEMICAL TESTS
DID NOT VIOLATE THE FOURTH AMEND-
MENT. 10

Il. THE EXCLUSIONARY RULE SHOULD NOT
APPLY IN THIS CASE. 15

Ill. THE DENIAL OF THE MOTION TO SUP-
PRESS WAS HARMLESS ERROR. —

IV. THE JUDGMENT OF THE RHODE ISLAND
SUPREME COURT IS NOT SUPPORTED BY

“NY sn OO GS O

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Pages

AN ADEQUATE AND INDEPENDENT
STATE LAW BASIS. 22
CONCLUSION 27

THE APPENDIX HERETO IS BOUND SEPARATELY
IN ACCORDANCE WITH RULE 21.1.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CAsEs

Abie State Bank v. Bryan, 282 U.S. 765 (1931)... 23, 24
Arkansas v. Sanders, 442 U.S. 753 (1979) 11,13
Burdeau v. McDowell, 256 U.S. 465 (1921) 10, 16
Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18 (1967)... 20, 22, 25
Chicago B. & Q.R.R. Co. v. Ilinois, 200 U.S. 561 (1906) 23
Commonwealth v. Varney, 391 Mass. 34 (1984) 2
Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648 (1979) 27
Herb v. Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117 (1945) 24
Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961) 15
Massachusetts v. Sheppard, No. 82-963 (U.S.

July 5, 1984) 15
Michigan v. Long, 103 S.Ct. 3469 (1983) 23, 24, 27
Murdock v. City of Memphis, 87 U.S. 590 (1873)... 27
Niz v. Williams, No. 82-1651 (June 11, 1984)..._._.2, 19, 20,

21, 26
People v. Adler, 50 N.Y. 2d 730, 409 N.E.2d 888 (1980) 2

Red Cross Line v. Atlantic Fruit Co., 264 U.S. 109
(1924) 27

Schneble v. Florida, 405 U.S. 427 (1972) 21

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Pages
State v. Benott, 417 A.2d 895 (R.I. 1980) 2.26
State v. Ortiz, No. 8636 (Hawaii May 23, 1984) _ 2

State v. von Bulow, — R.1. —, — A.2d —, (1984)
SR 12, 13, 14, 24, 25, 26, 27

Stone v. Powell, 428 U.S. 465 (1976) 2. sees 17
Sulltvan v. Wainwright, 104 S.Ct. 450 (1983) 18

United States v. Jacobsen, 104 S.Ct. 1652 (1984)
at Nnes 2, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17

United States v. Barry, 673 F.2d 912 (6th Cir. 1982),

cert. denied, 103 S.Ct. 238 (1983) 0... 2
United States v. Leon, No. 82-1771 (U.S. July 5,

1984) ceplccuapecpiab vant ansideiaaiiapiae 2, 15, 16, 17, 20
Weeks v. United States, 232 U.S. 383 (1914)... 15
Williams v. Georgia, 349 U.S. 375 (1955) ... 23

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

U.S. Const. art. ITI, sec. 2 1
U.S. Const. amend. IV 1, 22,23, 3
U.S. Const. amend. XIV, see. 1 Be 1,19
28 U.S.C. see. 1257(3) 1
R.I. Const. art. I, sec. 6 1, 22, 25
R.L.Gen.L., See. 21-28-3.29 9,16

MISCELLANEOUS AUTHORITY

Cameron & Lustiger, The Exclusionary Rule:
A Cost-Benefit Analysis, 101 F.R.D. 109 (1984). =19

Now comes the State of Rhode Island and Providence
Plantations, by its attorney, and prays that this Honorable
Court issue a writ of certiorari to the Supreme Court of
Rhode Island to review said court’s erroneous decision
of federal constitutional questions.

ral
Vv

OPINION OF COURT BELOW
The opinion of the Supreme Court of Rhode Island,
as modified, is reproduced in Section A of the appendix
hereto.

r=
Vv

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Supreme Court of Rhode Island
was entered on April 27, 1984. A petition to reargue was
timely filed on May 2, 1984. The petition to reargue was
denied in an order dated May 24, 1984. Jurisdiction of this
court is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Section 1257(3) and
by the Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States
R. 17.1(b) (e).

ray
Vv

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Pertinent portions of the following constitutional and
statutory provisions involved in this case are set out in
Section D of the appendix in accordance with Rule 21.1(f) :
U.S. Const. art. LI, see. 2; U.S. Const. amend. IV; U.S.
Const. amend. XIV, see. 1; R.I. Const. art. I, sec. 6; 28
U.S.C. see. 1257(3).

fay
Vv

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
I. Factual Background

Martha von Bulow lies comatose in a New York hos-
pital: a silent, helpless victim of her unfaithful husband’s

1

2

attempts to end her life, capture her fortune, and marry
his mistress. A Newport, Rhode Island, jury convicted
Claus von Bulow of twice attempting to murder his wife.
Reviewing the record of von Bulow’s trial, the Rhode
Island Supreme Court found ample evidence that von
Bulow had injected his wife on two occasions with poten-
tially lethal doses of insulin, designed to induce her death
and to free him to marry his lover. Despite their con-
fidence in the evidence of von Bulow’s guilt, the court
held that the trial justice had erred in failing to suppress
certain evidence as violative of von Bulow’s Fourth
Amendment rights. Although the offending evidenee was
largely cumulative, the court coneluded that Fourth
Amendment principles required reversal of von Bulow’s
conviction.

The State of Rhode Island, Petitioner herein, submits
that the Rhode Island Supreme Court erred in reversing
von Bulow’s conviction. Petitioner suggests that the court
decided important matters of federal law in a manner con-
trary to cases decided by this Court,’ and in conflict with
the decisions of the highest courts of other states and de-
cisions of federal courts of appeals.? For the foregoing
reasons, Petitioner prays that this Honorable Court issue
a writ of certiorari to the Supreme Court of Rhode Is-
land to review that court’s erroneous decision of impor-
tant federal constitutional questions.

A. The First Coma. During December of 1979, Martha
von Bulow was celebrating the Christmas season with her

1 United States v. Jacobsen, 104 S.Ct. 1652 (1984); See
United States v. Leon, No. 82-1771 (U.S. July 5, 1984); Nix v.
Williams, No. 82-1651 (June 11, 1984).

2 United States v. Barry, 673 F.2d 912 (6th Cir. 1982), cert.
denied, 103 S.Ct. 238 (1983); Commonwealth v. Varney, 391
Mass. 34 (1984); People v. Adler, 50 N.Y. 2d 730, 409 N.E.2d
888 (1980); See State v. Ortiz, No. 8636 (Hawaii May 23, 1984).

3

family at Clarendon Court, her Newport, Rhode Island
vacation home. Present for the holidays were her hus-
baud, Claus von Bulow, (the Respondent iferein); their
daughter, Cosima; and Mrs. von Bulow’s son and daugh-
ter by a previous marriage, Alexander von Auersperg and
Annie Laurie (Ala) Kneissl. Maria Schrallhammer, Mrs.
von Bulow’s personal maid, was also in Newport that
December. On December 26, 1979, Martha von Bulow
suffered an unexplained coma. Alexander testified that
he had sat with his mother that evening as she sipped
holiday eggnog in the library at Clarendon Court. (Tr.
VI-1021) Alexander noticed his mother’s voice becoming
weak and that she had difficulty walking. (Tr. VI-1020-
1026) The vonng man helped his mother to her bedroom,
where he told von Bulow of her problems. (Tr. VI-1027)
Von Bulow left the room and returned with a drink for
his wife. (Tr. VI-1028) When Alexander left his mother
that evening, she was in her bedroom, conscious and talk-
ing with her husband. (Tr. VI-1030)

The next morning, Mrs. von Bulow’s maid, Maria
Schrallhammer, was surprised that her employer had not
rung for breakfast by 9:30. (Tr. VITI-323) Von Bulow
intercepted Maria and discouraged her from checking on
his wife’s condition. (Tr. VIII-325) When Maria’s per-
sistence resulted in her discovery that Mrs. von Bulow
was unconscious and breathing with difficulty, Claus von
Bulow refused to call a doctor. (Tr. VIII-327 to 330) Von
Bulow finally spoke to the doctor in the afternoon. Maria
overheard him misrepresenting his wife’s symptoms and
condition. (Tr. VIII-344) Mrs. von Bulow’s local physician
arrived in the early evening, finding his patient uncon-
scious, barely breathing, and in need of mouth-to-mouth
resuscitation. (Tr. VI-1040; VIII-346 to 348) After a
brief stay at Newport Hospital, Mrs. von Bulow recov-

+

ered and returned to her year-round home in New York.
(Tr. VI-1043) The cause of her December 1979 episode
remained a mystery.

B. Claus von Bulow’s Black Bag. Von Bulow’s strange
behavior—refusing at first to call for medical help and
later reporting false symptoms—did not go unnoticed by
his wife’s maid, Maria Schrallhammer. (Tr. VIII-344, 369)
A few months after the December 1979 incident, Maria
was cleaning a closet in the von Bulow’s New York apart-
ment. (Tr. VIII-365) In one of Claus von Bulow’s travel
bags, she observed a small black bag containing pills,
powders, and liquids. (Tr. VIII-367) Maria showed some
of these items to Mrs. von Bulow’s daughter, Ala, who
arranged to have them chemically analyzed. (Tr. VIII-
384) In November 1980, Maria again noticed the small
black bag among Claus von Bulow’s things. (Tr. VIII-
386) On this occasion Maria saw a hypodermic syringe,
several needles and a bottle labeled “insulin”. (Tr. VIII-
388 to 389) Confused by the presence of insulin, Maria
summoned Alexander to show him her discovery. Maria
again saw the black bag in December 1980 as she helped
the family prepare to go to Newport for the holidays.
Tr. VIII-391) This time the bag contained, in addition
to the insulin and needles, a greenish liquid. (Tr. VIII-
392)

C. The Second Coma. As Christmas of 1980 approach-
ed, a smaller group gathered at Clarendon Court. Ala
was not present, having married that previous summer.
Maria Schrailhammer was also absent. She had planned
to accompany the family for the holidays, but Claus von
Bulow had insisted that his wife’s maid take a few days
off and remain behind in New York. (Tr. VIII-406) On
the evening of December 20, 1980, Alexander sat with his
mother in the library at Clarendon Court as the two had

4)

done the previous December. (Tr. VI-107) Von Bulow
joined them briefly offering his wife a bowl of soup. (Tr.
VI-1075) Alexander noticed that after his mother con-
sumed the soup her voice became weak, much as it had
a year earlier. (Tr. VI-1077) Attempting to stand, Mrs.
von Bulow staggered. (Tr. VI-1079) Alexander once again
helped his mother to her bedroom. (Tr. VI-1081) The
young man summoned Claus von Bulow to alert him to
his wife’s condition. (Tr. VI-1081) Eventually Alexander
left h.s mother and von Bulow conversing in the bedroom.

(Tr. VI-1083)

The following morning, Maria’s absence—effectuated
by von Bulow’s insistence that his wife’s maid stay behind
in New York—prevented her normal 9:30 a.m. check on
her employer. Around 11:00 a.m., Alexander met von
Bulow in the hallway and inquired about his mother’s
condition. (Tr. VI-1090) Von Bulow expressed surprise
that his wife had not yet appeared for breakfast. (Tr.
VI-1090) Von Bulow shortly summoned Alexander (Tr.
VI-1091) into Mrs. von Bulow’s bathroom, where the two
men found her lying unconscious on the cold floor. (Tr.
VI-1092) Von Buiow summoned emergency medical help,
and his wife was again taken to Newport Hospital. (Tr.
VI-1095) Unlike the previous year’s incident, however,
Martha von Bulow never recovered from her December
1980 coma. When Alexander von Auers™erg testified in
February, 1982, his mother remained hospitalized in an
unconscious state.’ (Tr. V1-994)

3 At trial, Doctor George Cahill, a professor of medicine
of Harvard Medical School and former Director of Boston’s
prestigious Joslin Research Laboratories, testified as an expert
for the prosecution. (Tr. XIX-2679 to 2730). Doctor Cahill told
the jury that based upon his expert knowledge of insulin and
blood sugar, his examination of Martha von Bulow’s medical
history and records led to the conclusion that both of her
comas were caused by infusions of exogenous insulin. (Tr.
XIX-2714 to 2724).

6
D. Von Bulow’s Motive to Kill His Wife. At trial, the
prosecution offered evidence that von Bulow had attempt-
ed to kill his wife so that he could capture her fortune
and marry his mistress. The evidence showed that if his
wife died, von Bulow would inherit a substantial portion
of his wife’s formidable estate. Included in his inheri-
tance would be Clarendon Court, the New York apartment,
$2.5 million in cash, and annua! interest from a $7.5 mil-
lion trust principal. (Tr. XIX-2844-54) Alexandra Isles
testified that she and von Bulow had fallen in love early
1979. (Tr. XVII-2170) In late spring of 1979, Mrs. Isles
delivered an ultimatum: if von Bulow was serious about
marrying her, he should “make the break” from his wife
within six months. (Tr. XVII-2172) This ultimatum ex-
pired some time before Mrs. von Bulow’s first coma. By
November of 1980, shortly before his wife’s second coma,
von Bulow again proposed marriage to Mrs. Isles. He as-
sured her of his intention to end his marriage to Mrs. von
Bulow. (Tr. XVII-2185) Within a month the second coma
occurred.
II. Facts Regarding Search Issue

A. The Private Search. Suspicious of von Bulow’s in-
volvement in his mother’s condition, Alexander went with
a private detective, Edwin F. Lambert, to Clarendon
Court on January 23, 1981, to retrieve the black bag and
its contents from von Bulow’s closet. Thcy found a set
of keys in von Bulow’s study, one of which opened the
closet. Alexander discovered a vial in the desk and an-
other in the pocket of a coat belonging to von Bulow. One
of these vials was empty, the other contained a powder.
(Tr. II-326, 418) Beneath a low shelf, on the floor of the
closet, Lambert discovered an unlocked, black metal box
containing the black bag. (Tr. II-324) Alexander exam-
ined the bag’s contents discovering the following items:

7

one hypodermic syringe (Tr. II-470); three needles, two
of which were sealed in plastic containers (Tr. II-425);
two orangeish containers with white tops (Tr. II-423),
one containing a blue-green liquid, the second containing
a number of different pills (Tr. II-470-471) ; and ampoules
in little plastic packages. (Tr. II-423) In addition, the
pair found inside the metal box a cardboard box marked
“Lidocaine”, (Tr. IT-423)

B. Private Chemical Tests. When Alexander returned
to New York, he examined the black bag and its contents
with Dr. Kuh. (Tr. VIT-40, 41) Later, Alexander gave the
items to his mother’s personal physician, Dr. Stock, for
analysis. (Tr. II-472) As a result of chemical tests con-
ducted by the family before the police became involved,
Mrs. von Bulow’s private doctor learned that the needle
found in the black bag had been encrusted with Insulin,
Amobarbital and Diazepam (Valium). (Tr. XVII-2227,
2251) The powder found in von Bulow’s pill vial was a
preparation of Amobarbital. The blue-green liquid was a
mixture of Amobarbital and Diazepam (Valium). (Tr.
XVII-2251 to 2252) Both the liquid and the powder had
been altered from the commercial state of pharmaceutical
preparation. (Tr. XVII-2337) On the basis of this infor-
mation, Dr. Stock felt compelled to contact police author-
ities. (Tr. XVIT-2336)

C. Tests by State Officials. On March 13, 1981, Alex-
ander met with Sgt. John F. Reise of the Rhode Island
State Police. (Tr. ITV-658) He gave the black bag to
Reise and, in Reise’s presence, removed the contents of
the bag, which the policeman catalogued in accordance
with department procedures. (Tr. IV-659) Reise knew
that the contents of the bag had been visually examined
by Alexander and others. (Tr. IV-667) He also knew that
certain items had been chemically tested by private meth-

8

ods. (Tr. IV-667) He was unsure, however, which items
had been tested. (Tr. IV-672) Thus, Sgt. Reise sent the
liquid and the powder, which had previously been tested
by Dr. Stock, to the state toxicologist for further testing.
(Tr. IV-659 to 60) Among the other items found within
the black bag was a prescription vial in the name of C.
von Bulow and labeled “Dalmane”. (Tr. IV-660) Reise
noted that inside the vial were sixty-five pills of differ-
ent varities. Thirty-one orange-yellow capsules were im-
printed with the word “Dalmane”. (Tr. XVI-2010) By
referring to the Physician’s Desk Reference (PDR), Reise
confirmed the standard color and markings for Dalmane
capsules. (Tr. [V-660) An additional 31 light blue tablets
were imprinted with the words “Roche 10 Valium”. (Tr.
XVI-2011) Using the PDR, Reise confirmed the identity
of these blue tablets as Valium. (Tr. [V-664) In addition,
Reise found one blue capsule labeled “Lilly F33”, which
the PDR identified as Amytal, and one red capsule marked
“Lilly F40”, which the PDR identified as Seconal. (Tr.
IV-664) Reise sent one each of these pills to the state
toxicology lab, together with a clear glass ampoule la-
beled “Papaveretum” and the Lidocaine which had been
in a cardboard box outside the black bag. The State tox-
icology analysis confirmed the accuracy of the private
chemical tests and Sgt. Reise’s plain view identification in
all respects save one.* The red capsule labeled “Lilly F40”,
had been identified by the PDR as Seconal. Chemical an-
alysis revealed the presence of Secobarbital, Amobarbital
and Cyclizine.

Before Sgt. Reise ordered any state toxicological test,
each and every item related to the black bag had already

4 The results of the private chemical test, plain view iden-
tification, and state toxicology test are collected in tabular form
in section F of the Petitioner's Appendix. App. F, at 87.

9

been fully identified either by the strictly private chemi-
cal analysis (needle, powder, and blue-green liquid); by
the reading of labels as Alexander had done (Dalmane,
Lidocaine, and Papaveretum); or by plain view observa-
tion in connection with the PDR (Dalmane, Valium, Amy-
tal, Seconal). Moreover, Reise knew that in the form they
were possessed, some of the items sent for testing were
contraband. See R.1.Gen.L., Sec. 21-28-3.29 (controlled sub-
stances may not be possessed except in original container).

Before trial, von Bulow sought to suppress the black
bag, its contents and results of all chemical tests conduct-
ed by private parties and public officials. The trial jus-
tice conducted lengthy evidentiary hearings. (Tr. II-189
to IV-673) Claiming that private parties had seized the
evidence illegally, von Bulow argued that the Fourth
Amendment requived suppression. (Tr. IV-687) The trial
judge orally denied the motion, holding that the Fourth
Amendment had no application to the conduct of private
parties. (Tr. IV-704) Moreover, the court reasoned that
further testing by police was neither a search within the
meaning of the Fourth Amendment nor unreasonable.
(Tr. IV-729) On appeal, von Bulow raised the private
search and state chemical tests as violative of his Fourth
Amendment rights. See Appellant’s Brief at 53. The
Rhode Island Supreme Court agreed that the initial pri-
vate seizure and private chemical testing were beyond
constitutional scrutiny. With regard to police chemical
tests, however, the court reasoned that these tests con-
stituted an independent search that should not have been
conducted without a warrant. The court held that the
Fourth Amendment compelled reversal of von Bulow’s
conviction.’

s See App. A for remaining issues discussed by the court.

10

ARGUMENT
I. The Warrantless Chemical Tests Did Not Vio-
late the Fourth Amendment

This Court first discussed the applicability of the
Fourth Amendment to private searches and seizures in
Burdeau v. McDowell, 256 U.S. 465 (1921). This Court
reasoned that the seizure of evidence by private individ-
uals—even if wrongful—was outside the scope of the
Fourth Amendment Exclusionary Rule. /d. at 476. More
recently, this Court has considered the propriety of police
examination and testing of items initially seized or search-
ed by private parties.

In United States v. Jacobsen, 104 S.Ct. 1652 (1984),
this Court held that in measuring the reasonableness of
police conduct, a court must view the facts as they existed
at the time an official invasion occurred. Jd. at 1557.
To the extent that private search activity frustrates an
expectation of privacy, government conduct coextensive
with the private activity triggers no Fourth Amendment
scrutiny. Moreover, the reasonableness of further gov-
ernmental activity will be measured by the degree to
which it exceeded the scope of prior private conduct. Jd.
at 1657. Whatever a defendant’s subjective hope for sec-
recy, only those expectations of privacy that “society is
prepared to consider reasonable” merit Fourth Amend-
ment protection. Jd. The Court reasoned that a chemical
test for the presence of cocaine—the possession of which
can never be legitimate—compromises no legitimate ex-
pectation of privacy. Jd. at 1662. Thus, the Court con-
cluded that the chemical test conducted in Jacobsen in-
fringed no constitutionaliy protected privacy interest. /d.
at 1663.

In this case, the initial “government invasion” oc-
curred when the black bag and its contents were deliv-

11

ered to Sgt. Reise. The presence of insulin, Amobarbital
and Diazepam (Valium) on the used needle had been ex-
posed by Dr. Stock’s private chemical tests. (Tr. XVII-
2227, 2251) The identity of the blue-green liquid and the
powder had been revealed as pharmaceutically altered
preparations of Amobarbital and Diazepam (Valium).
(Tr. XVIT-2251 to 52, 2337) Subsequent state toxicology
analysis of these items neither expanded upon the private
search nor impinged any remaining expectation of pri-
vacy. See Jacobsen, 104 S.Ct. at 1658 (once frustration
of original privacy interest occurs, Fourth Amendment
permits government tse of now non-private information).

The remaining items had never been privately chem-
ically tested. Nevertheless, von Bulow’s remaining ex-
pectation in their privacy had been substantially vitiated
by the items themselves and by private conduct with re-
spect to them. Cf. Jacobsen, 104 S.Ct. at 1660 (police had
already learned “a great deal” about package prior to
chemical test). First, the Lidocaine, Papaveretum, Dal-
mane and Valium bore markings declaring their identity,
fully visible to Alexander when he examined the contents
of the black bag. Items that are visually identifiable, like
the proverbial gun case, Arkansas v. Sanders, 442 U.S.
753, 764 n.13 (1979), can scarcely support any measurable
expectation of privacy. The item itself is fully admissible
and the jury would certainly be free to read its label. The
likelihood that subsequent chemical analysis of these items
“will actually compromise any legitimate interest in pri-
vacy seems much too remote to characterize the testing
as a search subject to the Fourth Amendment.” Jacobsen,
104 S.Ct. at 1662. The other items contained in the black
bag—one blue “Lilly F33” capsule, and one red “Lilly
F40” capsule—had also been visually examined by Alex-

12

ander and Dr. Kuh. (Tr. VII-40, 41) Von Bulow’s trial
counsel conceded that the Fourth Amendment did not
preclude Sgt. Reise from identifying these items via the
PDR’. No supportable expectation of privacy remained
as a bar to chemical analysis of these items. Thus, the
subsequent state toxicology test violated no expectation
of privacy that society is prepared to recognize as rea-
sonable.

The analysis advocated above contrasts sharply with
the voyage embarked upon by the Rhode Island Supreme
Court. Rather than examining von Bulow’s privacy inter-
est as it existed at the initial government intrusion, 104
S.Ct. at 1657, the Rhode Island Supreme Court eschewed
Jacobsen’s principles’ in favor of von Bulow’s original
expectation of privacy in his locked closet. App. A at 45.
The von Bulow court ignored the fact that several of the
items were clearly labeled and could therefore support no
colorable expectation of privacy. Moreover, in its zeal to
avoid the mandate of Jacobsen the Rhode Island court re-
fused to recognize defense counsel’s concession that Sgt.

6 “MR. FAHRINGER [defense counsel]: In the context of
this case, your Honor, | agree, because Walter really makes
this clear. Had the officers in this case merely taken the ma-
terial and looked at it and said ‘Hm, that’s Dalmane. That's Val-
ium,’ maybe even gone to the Physicians’ Desk Reference and
verified those things, that would have been fine. | have to
say in all candor, they would have not gone beyond the scope
of the private search.” (Tr. IV-723).

7 This Court decided United States v. Jacobsen on April 2,
1984, 104 S.Ct. 1652 (1984). State v. von Bulow had been ar-
gued in October of 1983. Accordingly, the Rhode Island Su-
preme Court's treatment of Jacobsen was without the benefit
of oral argument or extensive briefing. Although both parties
did provide cursory supplemental correspondence regarding
Jacobsen, see Section £. of Petitioner's Appendix, the import-
ant Jacobsen opinion never received the careful discussion that
normally occurs in appellate briefs and arguments. This mat-
ter was raised, to no avail, in the state’s petition to reargue
See App. B, at 64.

o—— t

13

Reise was free to identify items in the black bag by use of
the PDR.

Furthermore, the Rhode Island Supreme Court ig-
nored the objective reasonableness of the test at its incep-
tion. Instead, the court fastened upon the subjective test
results that showed that one red capsule’s chemical iden-
tity did not conform to Sgt. Reise’s plain view identifica-
tion. This approach contravenes the caveat in Jacobsen
that the reasonableness of chemical testing is never de-
pendent upon the results of a particular test. 104 S.Ct. at
1662. Moreover, the von Bulow court’s result-oriented ap-
proach is simply illogical. The Rhode Island Supreme
Court would invalidate a search which, although reason-
able at its inception, produced surprising results. A
labeled pill capsule openly declares the nature of its con-
tent; it cannot support any reasonable expectation of
privacy. This Court has noted that:

some containers (for example a kit of burglar tools

or a gun case) by their very nature cannot support

any reasonable expectation of privacy because their
contents can be inferred from their outward appear-
ance. Similarly, in some cases the contents of a pack-
age will be open to “plain view”, thereby obviating
the need for a warrant.” Arkansas v. Sanders, 442
U.S. 753, 764 n.13

Cf. Jacobsen, 104 S.Ct. at 1661 (distinguishing subjective
hope for secrecy from protected expectation of privacy;
Fourth Amendment protects only latter). Examination
of a labeled capsule’s contents is reasonable at its incep-
tion and violates no Fourth Amendment interest—even if
the results of that examination conflict with the examiner’s
expectation. See Jacobsen, 104 S.Ct. at 1662 (propriety
of chemical test is not contingent upon results of test).
In rejecting Jacobsen, the von Bulow court misper-
ceived the facts as they existed when Alexander delivered

14

the black bag to Sgt. Reise. See United States v. Jacobsen,
104 S.Ct. at 1657 (police conduct must be viewed in light
of facts at time police acted) :

1. von Bulow had secreted in a locked closet a sus-
picious black bag known to contain a syringe,
needles and a variety of drugs;

2. private chemical tests revealed that a used needle
within the black bag contained traces of Insulin,
Amobarbital and Diazepam;

3. private analysis also revealed the presence of
pharmaceutically altered preparations of Amo-
barbital and Diazepam;

From this evidence, the inferences of von Bulow’s
criminal conduct were overwhelming, unlike Jacobsen
where police conduct regarding the seized items was
essential to the determination that any crime had been
committed. Moreover, in focusing upon the subjective im-
portance of the state toxicology report rather than the de-
gree to which it exceeded the scope of prior conduct, the
court misapplied this Court’s definition of “significant ex-
pansion”.* Public conduct significantly expands upon prior

8 The Rhode Island Supreme Court candidly exposed its
own carelessness with regard to the relationship between the
state toxicology report and von Bulow’s expectation of privacy.
In response to the state’s petition to reargue, see App. B, the
court admitted that the court’s original opinion had misstated
the facts regarding one particular pill analyzed by the state
toxicologist:
“Concededly, this particular pill was obtained by the State
Police on April 21, 1981, while searching with defendant's
consent, the family’s Newport home.” State v. von Bulow,
No. 82-462-C.A. (May 24, 1984 order), App. C., at 68.
That such a factual error could have appeared in the court's
opinion reinforces the Petitioner’s argument that the court
failed to consider von Bulow’s actual expectation of privacy
in measuring the conduct of the police. See United States v.
Jacobsen, 104 S.Ct. at 1657, 1660 (fact that defendant’s privacy
has been substantially compromised prior to police action is
highly relevant to reasonableness of police conduct).

15

private conduct only when it impinges upon a remaining
expectation of privacy that society is prepared to recog-
nize as reasonable. Jacobsen, 104 S.Ct. at 1661. Von Bu-
low’s remaining expectation of privacy in the contents of
pill capsules that were plainly identifiable by label can
only be described as marginal. See Jacobsen, 104 S.Ct. at
1662. Under such circumstances “the safeguards of a war-
rant would only minimally advance Fourth Amendment
interests.” Jacobsen, 104 S.Ct. at 1663. Petitioner submits
that the warrantless chemical test was therefore reason-
able, id., and the trial judge correctly refused to suppress
the state toxicology results. Accordingly, the judgment of
the Rhode Island Supreme Court must be reversed.

II. The Exclusionary Rule Should Not Apply In
This Case

This Court announced the Fourth Amendment Ex-
clusionary Rule in Weeks v. United States, 232 U.S. 383
(1914), and Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961). The Court
has recently recognized that the philosophical underpin-
nings of the exclusionary rule sometimes will not support
its application to exclude reliable, probative evidence ob-
tained in technical violation of the Fourth Amendment.
Massachusetts v. Sheppard, No. 82-963 (U.S. July 5, 1984) ;
Umted States v. Leon, No. 82-1771 (July 5, 1984). The
principles endorsed in Sheppard and Leon suggest that
the application of the exclusionary rule in this case is in
appropriate.

In Leon, this Court recognized that adherence to the
truth-finding role of judges and jurors sometimes requires
that the propriety of the exclusionary sanction be mea-
sured in light of the magnitude of the alleged police mis-
conduct :

“Particularly when law enforecement officers have
acted in objective good faith or their transgressions

iii

16

have been minor, the magnitude of the benefit con-
ferred on such guilty defendants offends basic con-
cepts of the criminal justice system.” Jd. slip op. at 8.
(emphasis added)

Any transgressions that occurred in this case were min-
or. Moreover, Sgt. Reise acted in objective good faith
in sending the contents of the black bag to the state toxi-
cologist. Accordingly, Petitioner suggests that the exclu-
sionary rule should not be applied in this case.

This Court recognized in Leon that the purpose of the
Fourth Amendment exclusionary rule is to deter official
misconduct. See id., slip op. at 7. The Court reasoned that
as with all remedial devices, the rule ought to be tailored
appropriately to attain its objectives. In cases, therefore,
involving substantial and deliberate Fourth Amendment
violations, the application of the rule remains unchecked.
In Leon the Court concluded that police had relied in good
faith on an apparently valid warrant. Jd. at 14. The war-
rant was later determined to be improper. The Court rea-
soned that when evidence has been seized in the reasonable
good faith belief that the seizure was permissible, a proper
balance suggests that the exclusionary rule should be re-
laxed. Id. at 9.

An examination of the facts as they existed when
Set. Reise first ordered a toxicology analysis, Jacobsen,
104 S.Ct. at 1657, reveals that his belief that no warrant
was necessary was bona fide and reasonable. First, Sgt.
Reise knew that the black bag had been seized by private
parties. (Tr. IV-670 to 672) Such a seizure could not vio-
late the Fourth Amendment. F.g., Burdeau v. McDowell,
supra. Sgt. Reise was also aware that Alexander von
Auersperg had examined the contents of the bag and that
private chemical tests had been conducted on several items.
(Tr. IV-670 to 672) Remaining items in the bag were iden-
tifiable by plain view examination in connection with the

17

PDR. In the form possessed, some of the items were con-
traband. R.I. Gen. L. See. 21-28-3.29, Based on this state
of affairs, Sgt. Reise reasonably concluded that no warrant
was necessary to conduct chemical analysis of the contents
of the black bag. The trial judge agreed with Set. Reise
holding that the policeman’s conduct was neither unreason-
able nor violative of the Fourth Amendment. (Tr. IV-729)
Sgt. Reise’s conduct unquestionably passes the Leon test
for objective good faith. Leon at 8-9,

In addition to satisfying Leon’s good faith require-
ment, Sgt. Reise’s conduct qualifies for the Leon excep-
tion because any transgression of the Fourth Amendment
by Sgt. Reise’s bona fide conduct can only be described
as minor. Id. The black bag and its contents were fully
exposed to Sgt. Reise by virtue of private activity. Pri-
vate chemical tests had revealed the insulin encrusted
needle (the most incriminatory evidence against von Bu-
low) and the identity of other items connected to von
Bulow and the black bag. Remaining items within the
black bag were fully identifiable simply by reading their
labels or by plain view in connection with the PDR” The
likelihood that testing of these items by the state toxicol-
ogist would compromise any remaining legitimate expecta-
tion of privacy “seems much too remote to characterize the
testing as a search subject to the Fourth Amendment.”
Jacobsen, 104 8.Ct. at 1662.

This Court must weigh Sgt. Reise’s objective good
faith and the minor nature of any potential Fourth Amend-
ment transgression against the substantial societal costs
exacted in reversing von Bulow’s conviction. See Leon,

° Von Bulow’s trial counsel conceded that such conduct
was permissible under the Fourth Amendment. Note 6 supra.

18

slip op. at 8-9; Stone v. Powell, 428 U.S. 493, 494-95 (1976).
The trial of this case consumed six weeks of precious judi-
cial time. The impact of any Fourth Amendment violation
on the original trial can only be described as marginal.'® An
examination of the evidence remaining after suppression
reveals the essentially cumulative nature of the state tox-
icology report and a concomitant absurdity in the appli-
cation of the exclusionary rule to require a new trial in
this case. The physical items of evidence—the black
bag and its contents—remain fully admissible. The Rhode
Island Supreme Court correctly concluded that the seiz-
ure of these items by private parties implicates no Fourth
Amendment rights. The highly probative evidence re-
garding an insulin encrusted needle will therefore reach
the jury at a second trial. The jury will be free to read
the labels on those items that declare their contents. In
addition, the liquid and the powder were fully identified
by private analysis, and these results must also reach the
jury without Fourth Amendment objections. Von Bulow
has conceded that the remaining items—the blue amytal
capsule and the red seconal capsule—may be identified by
reference to the PDR. Because the state toxicology analy-
sis revealed for the first time that the red capsule had been
altered, conceivably this fact may be kept from the jury at
a second trial. The fact that other drugs within the black
bag had been mixed or altered from their state of pharma-
ceutical preparation, however, will be admissible as a re-
sult of the private chemical analysis. bus, virtually,

10 Petitioner is, of course, confident of the evidence of
von Bulow’s guilt. Reviewing the record, The Rhode Island
Supreme Court found ample admissible evidence to support
the jury’s verdict. Viewed in this light it seems highly likely
that von Bulow would be convicted again on retrial. In meas-
uring the societal cost of the exclusionary rule this Court
should not be unmindful of the effect of such a retrial on all
actors—even the defendant. As Chief Justice Burger has sug-

(Continued on Next Page)

ee

19

every piece of information that came before the jury as a
result of the state toxicology test will be fully admissible
by collateral means on retrial. A new trial would do noth-
ing whatever to promote the integrity of the judicial pro-
cess, but would inflict a wholly unacceptable burden on the
administration of criminal justice. Nix v. Williams slip
op. at 14.

Another potential occurrence at retrial is the pos-
sibility that von Bulow will testify for the first time in his
own defense. If he does so he will presumably claim—in
accordance with his position at trial and on appeal—that
the black bag and its contents never belonged to him. Of
course, if von Bulow eschews a possessory interest in the
black bag his standing to assert Fourth Amendment rights
evaporates. Under this scenario the application of the ex-
clusionary rule to vacate his present convictions would be
especially perverse.

Finally, in weighing the social cost of applying the
exclusionary rule to this case, the victim must not be ig-
nored. The societal benefit of vindicating Claus von Bu-
low’s marginal privacy interest pales in comparison to
the societal cost if Martha von Bulow’s attacker escapes
justice :

“The rhetoric of some civil libertarians to the con-

trary, it is worse to be murdered or raped than to

have one’s house searched without a warrant, no mat-
ter how aggravated the latter violation.” Cameron &

Lustiger, The Eaclusionary Rule: A Cost-Benefit
Analysis, 101 F.R.D. 109, 145 (1984),

(Continued from last page)

gested, guilty defendants sometimes suffer an additional meas-
ure of cruelty when their inevitable punishment is delayed
by continuous litigation based on hopeless legal technicalities.
Sullivan v. Wainwright, 104 S.Ct. 450, 452 (1983) (concurring
opinion by Burger, C.J.).

20

If Martha von Bulow were conscious, no doubt she would
speak volumes about the events of December 21, 1980.
Despite her present medical condition, Mrs. von Bulow,
like all citizens, is entitled to equal protection of the laws.
U.S. Const., Amend. 14. Reversal of her attacker’s con-
viction on the basis of a marginal invasion of his barely
visible privacy interest raises serious questions about our
judicial system’s ability to fulfill that promise. A balance
of the benefits and costs of the exclusionary rule reveals
marginal benefit while creating a substantial risk of gen-
eral disrespect for the law and the administration of jus-
tice. Leon, supra siip op. at 8.

Petitioner submits that the exclusionary rule should
not be applied in this case.

III. The Denial of the Motion To Suppress Was

Harmless Error

This Court has recognized that when small errors or
defects have little effect on the result of a trial, they
should properly be regarded as harmless:

“[T he interest of society in deterring unlawful police

conduct and the public interest in having juries re-

ceive all probative evidence of a crime are properly

balanced by putting the police in the same, not a

worse, position than they would have been in if no po-

lice error or misconduct had occurred.” Niz v. Wil-
liams, No. 82-1651 (U.S. June 11, 1984), slip op. at

10 n.4. (emphasis in original)

The Court has also held that when an error of consti-
tutional magniture occurs, the error will be considered
harmless upon a showing that it was harmless beyond a
reasonable doubt. Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18
(1967). Of course, objectionable evidence that has a
source independent of any police misconduct must be
exempted from harmless error computation, because the
information reached the jury free of constitutional taint.

21

See Nix slip op. at 10. Thus, in measuring the harm re-
sulting from the alleged error, the Rhode Island Supreme
Court should have considered those pieces of information
that were learned only as a result of the warrantless chem-
ical test. See App. F at 87 (summarizing test results in
tabular form).

Independent of the state test the jury heard over-
whelming evidence on von Bulow’s guilt. Information re-
garding his desire to terminate his marriage, his ques-
tionable conduct surrounding both comas, his suspicious
possession of insulin and other drugs, and the insulin en-
crusted needle all came before the jury independent of the
state toxicology test. The only new fact that the jury
learned from the state toxicologist was that one red cap-
sule had been tampered with. Clearly, from this evidence
the jury could have inferred that von Bulow had tampered
with the drugs in his black bag. This information was es-
sentially cumulative of the fact, revealed by the permis-
sible private tests, that other items in the black bag had
also been pharmaceutically altered. Had the red capsule’s
contents been kept from the jury there would be little like-
lihood of a different result at trial. Sev Nix slip op. at 10
n.4,

It can scarcely be contended that the jury would have
found the prosecution’s case “significantly less persua-
sive” without the test of the red capsule. See Schneble v.
Florida, 405 U.S. 427, 432 (1972). The Rhode Island Su-
preme Court, however, rejected the prosecution’s harmless
error analysis without considering the collateral admissi-
bility of most of the evidence contained in the state toxi-
cology report. The court focused instead upon the general
importance of chemical tests to prove that von Bulow had
possessed various drugs and may have usd them on his
wife. Ample evidence independent of the State toxicology

22

test was introduced to prove this fact. In sum, virtually
every piece of information contained in the state toxicol-
ogy report is admissible by independent means. Any error
that occurred in the trial court’s refusal to suppress these
results must be deemed harmless beyond a reasonable
doubt. Because the Rhode Island Supreme Court erred in
finding harmful error, the court’s judgment must be re-
versed.

IV. The Judgment of The Rhode Island Supreme

Court is Not Supported by An Adequate and
Independent State-Law Basis

In his appeal to the Rhode Island Supreme Court, von
Bulow argued that the private search violated the Fourth
Amendment and Article I, section 6 of the Rhode Island
Constitution. The court concluded that the trial justice
had erred in failing to suppress the toxicology report. The
court analyzed further to determine whether this consti-
tutional error was “harmless beyond a reasonable doubt,”
applying the standard announced by this Court in Chapman
v. California, 386 U.S. 18, 23-24 (1967). The court con-
eluded that adherence to Fourth Amendment principles
required reversal of von Bulow’s conviction. App. A at
34. The court noted in addition that Art. I, Section 6 of
the Rhode Island Constitution presented an adequate and
independent basis for the decision to suppress the evi-
dence contained in the state chemical report. App. A at
47. The Petitioner recognizes that the Rhode Island Su-
preme Court’s citation of the state constitution gives rise
to an inference that the court’s judgment is supported by
state law. Nevertheless, Petitioner claims that this por-
tion of the Court’s opinion is dependent upon the court’s
federal law analysis and that the state law theory cannot
stand alone to support the court’s judgment. Accordingly,

23
the Petitioner claims that this court has jurisdiction to
review the federal constitutional errors complained of.

This Court’s application of the “adequate and inde-
pendent” theory has not been without difficulty. Survey-
ing the law in 1983, Justice O’Connor observed:

“Although we have announced a number of principles

in order to help us determine whether various forms

of references to state law constitute adequate and in-
dependent state grounds, we openly admit that we
have thus far not developed a satisfying and consis-

tent approach for resolving this vexing issue.” Mich-
igan v. Long, 103 S.Ct. 3469, 3474 (1983).

In Long the Supreme Court of Michigan had invalidated a
protective search of the passenger compartment of a ve-
hicle, purporting to rest its decision on the Fourth Amend-
ment and Article 1, see. 11 of the Michigan Constitution.

This Court recognized that the state court’s citation
to its own constitution presented a question whether the
state court’s decision was supported by adequate and in-
dependent state law theories. Jd. at 3474.11 The Court
noted initially that the question whether a state court’s
judgment rests upon adequate and independent grounds is

us In cases involving federal constitutional issues a state
court may not insulate itself from review by mere citation to
state laws that are not legally sufficient to support its judg-
ment. Williams v. Georgia, 349 U.S. 375, 399 (1955) (Clark,
J., dissenting); Chicago, B. & Q.R.R. Co. v. Illinois, 200 U.S.
561 (1906).

This Court will examine the lower court’s opinion to de-
termine whether the alleged state law basis in fact supports
the state court’s judgment:

“(T]he federal ground being present, it is incumbent

upon this Court, when it is urged that the decision of the

state court rests upon a non-federa! ground, to ascertain
for itself, in order that constitutional guaranties may ap-
propriately be enforced, whether the asserted non-fed-
eral ground independently and adequately supports the
eal Abie State Bank v. Bryon, 282 U.S. 765, 774

24

an issue of federal law that this Court must resolve for it-
self. Id. The Court candidly admitted that the manner
in which this inquiry had historically been conducted was
less than satisfactory. The Court announced a rule to ap-
ply to cases involving state and federal issues:
“(When ...a state court decision fairly appears to
rest primarily on federal law, or to be interwoven
with the federal law, and when the adequacy and in-
dependence of any possible state law ground is not
clear from the face of the opinion, we will accept as
the most reasonable explanation that the State court

decided the case the way it did because it believed
that federal law required it to do so.” Id. at 3476.

In applying this test to the Long case, the Court con-
cluded that the state court’s judgment rested primarily
upon federal law. Id. at 3477. Citation to the state’s own
constitution was insufficient support for the Michigan
Court’s judgment. Accordingly, this Court proceeded to
consider the merits of the federal issues presented in the
case.

The Petitioner does not dispute that the opinion of the
Rhode Island Supreme Court offered an alternative basis
for the suppression of evidence in this case. This Court,
however, is empowered to review judgments, not opinions.
Herb v. Pitcairn, 324 U.S. at 126. Accordingly, the Peti-
tioner focuses upon the judgment entered by the von Bu-
low Court. The Rhode Island Supreme Court vacated the
judgment of conviction and remanded the case for a new
trial. It is the province of this Court to examine and to
correct state court judgments “to the extent that they in-
correctly adjudge federal rights.” Herb v. Pitcairn, 324
U.S. 117, 126 (1945). The fundamental question is
“whether the asserted non-federal ground supports the
judgment.” Abie State Bank v. Bryan, 282 U.S. 765, 773

25

(1931) (emphasis added). By comparing the von Bulow
court’s discussion of federal issues with its state law anal-
ysis, it becomes clear that the Rhode Island Supreme
Court failed to undertake the analyses necessary to sup-
ports its judgment with state constitutional theory.

The von Bulow court, in its federal law section, con-
cluded that the conduct of private parties is outside the
reach of the Fourth Amendment. The court next con-
sidered the conduct of police authorities in testing certain
items recovered by the private search. Defects in the
court’s Fourth Amendment analysis are discussed else-
where in this petition. Suffice it to say, the logic and
reasoning of the court’s constitutional discussion led the
court to conclude that von Bulow was entitled to a new
trial free of the illegally obtained evidence. In essence,
the court undertook a two-pronged analysis. One part of
the analysis involved the conclusion that the warrantless
toxicology test violated the Fourth Amendment and that
the trial judge committed error in refusing to suppress.
The other prong of the anlysis resulted in the conclusion
that this error was sufficiently harmful to von Bulow to
require reversal of his conviction. In applying a harmless
error analysis to the facts of the case, the court referred
to Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18, 23-24 (1967).
Reasoning that the evidence in this case failed the Chap-
man test, the court rejected the state’s harmless error
argument. Having found a Fourth Amendment violation
that could not be considered harmless error, the court con-
cluded that “defendant’s conviction must be reversed.”
App. A at 47.

An examination of the Rhode Island Supreme Court’s
state constitutional analysis reveals that the court never
concluded that the state constitution required reversal of

26

von Bulow’s conviction. The court noted first that Article
1, section 6, of the Rhode Island Constitution provides
special protection to the privacy of citizens of Rhode
Isiand. The court went on to conclude that the trial justice
had erred, under state constitutional principles, im refusing
to suppress the evidence. App. A at 51. Of course, this
conclusion alone is insufficient to support the court’s
judgment of reversal. The Rhode Island Supreme Court
has previously held that errors of state constitutional di-
mension will require reversal only when harmful to the
defendant. State v. Denoit, 417 A.2d 895 (R.I. 1980).
Moreover, in analyzing state constitutional issues, the
Rhode Island court eschews the Chapman “beyond reason-
able doubt” standard in favor of a more relaxed standard.
Id. at 901. In analyzing the state constitutional error,
however, the court in von Bulow never applied any harm-
less error standard.

The Petitioner submits that without any analysis to
determine the effect of the alleged state constitutional er-
ror on the jury, principles of state law cannot support the
reversal of von Bulow’s conviction. A judgment of rever-
sal requires two findings. First, the court must find that
an error occurred. Second, the court must determine that
the evror was harmful. Both of these steps are necessary
to assure that convictions are set aside only for errors
that have a measurable effect on the trial. See Nix v. Wil-
liams, supra, slip op. at 10 n.4. The von Bulow court
identified an error of state constitutional law, but never
took the second necessary to require reversal. The court
neither analyzed nor concluded that the state constitutional
error was harmful. Absent a harm analysis, the state law
issue is inadequate to support the judgment of reversal.
Von Bulow will undoubtedly argue that the harmless error

27

analysis undertaken by the state court in its discussion of
federal law adequately resolved this issue. Such an argu-
ment, however, renders the state constitutional analysis
dependent upon the court’s determination of federal con-
stitutional issues. Where a state court’s disposition of
state law issues is interwoven with matters of federal law
or compelled by the state court’s interpretation of federal
law, this Court has consistently held that there is no bar
to a full review of the federal constitutional issues raised.
See, e.g., Michigan v. Long, 103 S.Ct. 3469, 3476 (1983)
(where state issue interwoven with federal issue, Supreme
Court may determine federal questions); Delaware v.
Prouse, 440 U.S. 648, 653 (1979) (when state court’s reso-
lution of state law depends upon federal issues, Supreme
Court has jurisdiction to review case); Red Cross Line v.
Atlantic Fruit Co., 264 U.S. 109 (1924) (state law issue is
not insulated from federal review if state court felt com-
pelled by interpretation of federal law); Murdock v. City
of Memphis, 87 U.S. 590 (1873) (Supreme Court will re-
view state court decisions when state law is not sufficient
to support judgment).

The Petitioner submits that the state law issue in this
case is inadequate to support the judgment of the Rhode
Island Supreme Court. Accordingly, this Court has juris-
diction to correct the important errors of federal law
made by the Rhode Island Supreme Court.

Ly
Vw

CONCLUSION

The Rhode Island Supreme Court found substantial
evidence that Claus von Bulow had twice attempted to
murder his wife by injecting her with potentially lethal
doses of insulin. Despite its confidence in von Bulow’s

28

guilt, the Court invoked the Fourth Amendment exclusion-
ary rule to reverse von Bulow’s conviction. In doing so,
the von Bulow court misconstrued this Court’s applicable
case law. Moreover, the court gave an unduly broad ap-
plication to the exclusionary rule, despite this Court’s
concern that the exclusionary remedy be carefully tailored
to suit the goal of deterring police misconduct. This over-
reaching application of the exclusionary rule constitutes a
disservice to the victim and the parties in this case while
creating a substantial risk of public disrespect for law and
the administration of justice. For these reasons, the
judgment of the Rhode Island Supreme Court must be re-
versed. The Petitioner prays that writ of certiorari issue
to the Supreme Court of Rhode Island to review that
Court’s erroneous decision of federal constitutional issues.

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND
By its Attorney

Dennis J. Roserts, [1
Attorney General

Tuomas M. Dickinson
Special Assistant
Attorney General

72 Pine Street
Providence, RI 02903

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2507%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
