# Opposition Brief — Griffey v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2203%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 503 U.S. 936

## Text

a FEB 20 1992
No. 91-991

In the Supreme Court of the Giited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

} Suprene Court, +o |
2 ee es

ALLEN GRIFFEY, PETITIONER
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

KENNETH W. STARR
Solicitor General

ROBERT S. MUELLER, III
Assistant Attorney General

KAREN SKRIVSETH
Attorney

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 514-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Sentencing Guidelines apply to a con-
spiracy in which the conspirators committed overt acts
in furtherance of the profitmaking objectives of the con-
spiracy after the effective date of the Guidelines.

2. Whether the Sentencing Guidelines apply to peti-
tioner even though his active participation in the con-
spiracy ended prior to the effective date of the
Guidelines.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

a aac reeesanigpemnensanlieivapeii
ESE eT RE

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Fiswick v. United States, 329 U.S. 211 (1946) oo.
Grunewald v. United States, 353 U.S. 391 (1957) oo.
Hyde v. United States, 225 U.S. 347 (1912).......ccccesesceseseesesees
United States v. Arboleda, 929 F.2d 858 (1st Cir. 1991) .........
United States v. Bafia, 949 F.2d 1465 (7th Cir. 1991) ....0........
United States v. Doherty, 867 F.2d 47 (1st Cir.), cert. denied,
a schcncsboniacrominteons
United States v. Fitzpatrick, 892 F.2d 162 (1st Cir. 1989)......
United States v. Fletcher, 928 F.2d 495 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,
a. sahusnitreebrnipiusiendteveneenis
United States v. Lash, 937 F.2d 1077 (6th Cir.), cert. denied,
i esaisihonnmtnsviinennenswnnines
United States v. LeQuire, 943 F.2d 1554 (11th Cir. 1991).......
United States v. Masters, 924 F.2d 1362 (7th Cir.),
GUE eG, EEE B. CE S018 (IGG) on... cc cnccscccccecesceseescesceescoees
United States v. Meitinger, 901 F.2d 27 (4th Cir.),
cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 519 (1990) ..............cccccccccssccesscesceceeess
United States v. Mennutti, 679 F.2d 1032 (2d Cir. 1982)........
United States v. MMR Corp., 907 F.2d 489 (5th Cir. 1990),
RI ED GR, Sen BOI CLUE oo cescicecevccesccnceserncesesncsccnvesccns
United States v. Nerlinger, 862 F.2d 967 (2d Cir. 1988) .........
United States v. Steele, 685 F.2d 793 (3d Cir.), cert. denied,
EE
United States v. Story, 891 F.2d 988 (2d Cir. 1989) ........0.0.0..

(IIT)

IV

Cases—Continued:

United States v. U.S. Gypsum Co., 438 U.S. 422 (1978)..........
United States v. Walker, 653 F.2d 1343 (9th Cir. 1981),
cork. Contin, GEG Ue, SOB CI ccceccevccseversetsrtecevecrensscsvevenveneene
United States v. White, 869 F.2d 822 (5th Cir.), cert. denied,
A ee I actidecienncadseniacantiaodioapsicuestetbhicannmsessesnnaneaiions
United States v. Williams, 897 F.2d 1034 (10th Cir. 1990),

Cart. Gdonded, 113 SB. Ct. BOGE (IGG) ...cccccccnecerecesesecseeserscssseceseses
Statutes and regulation:

gb” ee | REN EE Coastal ediaheribasaanpenancceatdiidlaiinaheamteattebiasaiiaaatan

Fr SII erssantatiesscasesdinscoicncsculntsgncnSrtshackciveniadinasedaespsiieaiamiaiininndasentetoienn

er ae, NT cic cissnncacasalaciceitiaiipiilipaininteptiaiescesiaibdaleaeenisiiepaaiialaod

BO Ce Ben Ree Ce oierer cect cenenecnsnvininnrniantecaonieieenmntitgiamnmintntons

wa th NS

i)

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

No. 91-991
ALLEN GRIFFEY, PETITIONER
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals, Pet. App. A3-
A25, is reported at 943 F.2d 428.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
August 19, 1991. A petition for rehearing was denied
on September 19, 1991. Pet. App. Al-A2. The petition
for a writ of certiorari was filed on December 17, 1991.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

2
STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States District
Court for the Eastern District of Virginia, petitioner
was convicted of conspiring to defraud and make false
statements to the Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD) and the Federal Housing Admin-
istration (FHA), in violation of 18 U.S.C. 371, and of
making false statements to those agencies, in viola-
tion of 18 U.S.C. 1001.! He was sentenced to 14 months
in prison, to be followed by two years of supervised
release, and a $7,000 fine.

l.a. Petitioner was a real estate agent at the
Carton condominium complex in Arlington, Virginia.
He conspired with two investors, Adolph J. Barsanti
and Harold M. Kline,2 and others in the following
fraudulent scheme: To obtain favorable owner-occu-
pier HUD-insured mortgages for condominiums,?
certain real estate agents at the Carlton, including
petitioner, assisted Barsanti and Kline in finding
“straw purchasers” who were willing to act as
condominium purchasers but did not intend to occupy
the units. Barsanti and Kline would later acquire the
ostensible buyers’ interests and rent the units to

! Petitioner was charged with one count of conspiracy and
six counts of making false statements. The government moved
to dismiss three of the substantive counts before trial, and the
jury acquitted petitioner on two of the remaining substantive
counts. Gov’t C.A. Br. 4 & n.2.

2 Barsanti and Kline were each convicted of conspiracy and
three counts of making false statements. Gov’t C.A. Br. 4 n.2.

% Under pertinent HUD regulations, an owner-occupier of
a single-family condominium was able to obtain a HUD-insured
mortgage covering up to 97% of the value of the property,
whereas a non-occupant investor’s mortgage could not exceed
85% of the property’s value. 24 C.F.R. 234.27 (1985).

3

other individuals through their partnership, BK
Associates. Pet. App. A5-A6; Gov’t C.A. Br. 5.

Five of the six transactions involved individuals
who had considered purchasing units in the Carlton
but decided against doing so. After the putative buyer
decided against purchasing a unit, petitioner or
another Carlton real estate agent would tell the indi-
vidual that he or she could earn money by entering
into a shared-equity arrangement with Barsanti or
Kline. The would-be buyer and either Barsanti or
Kline would jointly apply to HUD for an owner-occu-
pier mortgage. To obtain the mortgage, both the
“straw purchaser” and either Barsanti or Kline
would sign a HUD form certifying that one of them
was to occupy the unit. After loan approval, Barsanti
or Kline would purchase the other party’s interest,
usually for $1500. Pet. App. A5-A6. Petitioner earned
$1206 in commissions for two of the units sold in that
manner. Presentence Report (PSR) ¥ 39.

In the sixth transaction, a couple (the Ohris)
entered a purchase agreement for a unit at the
Carlton. When the Ohris subsequently decided that
they did not want to complete the transaction, peti-
tioner placed them into contact with Barsanti, who
agreed to purchase the condominium from them. The
Ohris applied for a HUD-insured mortgage and certi-
fied that they would occupy it. They transferred their
interest to Barsanti without ever occupying the unit
as represented. Gov’t C.A. Br. 15-16. For that deal,
petitioner received an $800 commission. PSR ¥ 39.

b. The indictment alleged a conspiracy beginning in
approximately April 1984 and continuing until
December 13, 1989, the date of the indictment. All of
the purchases and false certifications to HUD
occurred in 1984 and 1985. The indictment charged
that the objectives of the conspiracy included: (a)
enriching petitioner and his co-conspirators and the

4

business entities with which they were affiliated by
fraudulently obtaining HUD-insured loans; (b) pre-
venting HUD and the FHA from learning that the
units were not owner-occupied; (c) generating profits
for Barsanti and Kline through their ownership and
rental of the units continuously from the date of
acquisition to the date of the indictment; and (d) pro-
viding Barsanti and Kline with the benefits of the
favorable HUD-insured mortgages during that
period. Indictment 7-8. The indictment charged as
overt acts not only the actions taken in connection
with the acquisition of the units in 1984 and 1985, id.
at 12-30, but also the continuous ownership of the
units, the receipt of rental payments, and the payment
of installments on the HUD-insured mortgages. /d. at
30-32. The indictment further alleged that the co-con-
spirators, including petitioner, warned the “straw
purchasers” not to reveal the circumstances sur-
rounding the acquisitions of the units. /d. at 21 (¥ 43),
24 ({ 66), 27 (4 80), 30 (F4 96, 98).

2. At sentencing, petitioner and his co-defendants
argued that the Sentencing Guidelines, which took
effect on November 1, 1987, should not be applied to
the conspiracy count because the conspiracy ended in
1985, when the last of the six HUD-insured mort-
gages was acquired.’ The district court, however, held
that “the retention of the units under their insured
mortgage status, the making of mortgage payments,
receipt of rents from others, that is others than those
who signed up as ostensible occupants, all are acts in
furtherance of the conspiracy.” Pet. /.pp. A7-A8.

3. The court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App. A3-A25.
The court noted that the Sentencing Guidelines apply
to conspiracies that started before but continued after

4 The district court did not apply the Sentencing Guidelines
to the substantive counts. Gov’t C.A. Br. 45 n.30.

5

the November 1, 1987, effective date of the Guidelines.
Id. at Al4-A15. The court concluded that the district
court did not commit clear error, 18 U.S.C. 3742(e), in
finding that the conspiracy extended beyond Novem-
ber 1, 1987. In so holding, the court of appeals
observed that petitioner had made a proposal to
Barsanti and Kline in which he projected a 40%
return on condominiums that they held for three
years. Because the units were purchased in 1984 and
1985, the court concluded that the conspiratorial
agreement contemplated a conspiracy continuing
beyond November 1, 1987.5 The court also determined
that, after the effective date of the Guidelines,
Barsanti and Kline continued to engage in concerted
activity to accomplish the objectives of the conspir-
acy. Through their partnership, Barsanti and Kline
made mortgage payments, collected rents, and man-
aged the properties after that date. Pet. App. A13-A19.

The court of appeals further held that the district
court properly applied the Guidelines to petitioner.
“Although his active conduct in the conspiracy had
ceased before the effective date of the Guidelines,” the
court noted, “the conspiracy itself continued after
that date.” Pet. App. Al9. Because petitioner had
offered “no evidence that he acted to defeat or disavow
the purposes of the conspiracy” before November 1,
1987, the court found that he remained a member of
the conspiracy after the effective date of the Guide-
lines. [bid.

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner contends that the Sentencing Guide-
lines were not applicable to the conspiracy because it
terminated when the final mortgage commitments

* The evidence at trial showed a significant appreciation in
the value of the units. Pet. App. Al5.

6

were fraudulently secured in 1985—before the effec-
tive date of the Guidelines. Pet. 13-32.6 This Court
has held that a conspiracy requiring proof of an overt
act continues after a particular date if one of the con-
spirators commits an overt act in furtherance of the
conspiracy after that date. Grunewald v. United
States, 353 U.S. 391, 396-397 (1957). For purposes of
that inquiry, “the scope of the conspiratorial agree-
ment * * * determines both the duration of the con-
spiracy, and whether the act relied on as an overt act
may properly be regarded as in furtherance of the
conspiracy.” Id. at 397.

The courts of appeals have consistently held that
when one of the objectives of a conspiracy is to secure
a payoff or profit for a conspirator, acts calculated to
bring about the anticipated result are in furtherance
of the conspiracy.’ As the court of appeals determined

6 Petitioner acknowledges, Pet. 17, that the courts of
appeals have uniformly applied the Guidelines to conspiracies
that continue past the effective date of the Guidelines. See, e.g.,
United States v. Arboleda, 929 F.2d 858, 871 (Ist Cir. 1991);
United States v. Meitinger, 901 F.2d 27, 28 (4th Cir.), cert.
denied, 111 S. Ct. 519 (1990); United States v. Story, 891 F.2d
988, 991-996 (2d Cir. 1989); United States v. White, 869 F.2d
822, 826 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1112 (1989).

7 See, e.g., United States v. Fletcher, 928 F.2d 495, 500 (2d
Cir.) (because “the conspiracy contemplated a division of
profits among the co-conspirators,” the execution of a note to
secure a co-conspirator his share of the profits “furthered one
of its chief goals”), cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. 67 (1991); United
States v. Fitzpatrick, 892 F.2d 162, 167-168 (1st Cir. 1989)
(final bribery payoffs are overt acts in furtherance of
conspiracy); United States v. Mennutti, 679 F.2d 1032, 1035 (2d
Cir. 1982) (although the main conspiratorial objective of
insurance fraud had been achieved, paying off a co-conspirator
by selling him property at a low price was within the scope of
the conspiracy); United States v. Walker, 653 F.2d 1343, 1346-
1347 (9th Cir. 1981) (the last overt act in a bid-rigging

7

here, one object of the conspiracy in which petitioner
participated was to earn Barsanti and Kline a profit
through their holding of the unlawfully acquired con-
dominiums during a period in which the units were
expected to appreciate in value. Petitioner told
Barsanti and Kline that if they held the units for
three years, they could earn a 40% return on each
unit; thus, the conspiratorial agreement contemplated
holding the units acquired in 1985 until 1988.8 After
November 1, 1987, moreover, Barsanti and Kline,
through their partnership, BK Associates, committed
numerous overt acts in furtherance of the
conspiracy’s profitmaking objective—including the
maintenance of their ownership interest through the
collection of rents, payment of mortgage install-
ments, and management of the unlawfully acquired
properties.’ Pet. App. A15-A19. The court of appeals

conspiracy was not filing the false certifications of no bid
rigging, but was reselling the illegally acquired property and
dividing the excess profits among the co-conspirators), cert.
denied, 455 U.S. 908 (1982).

8 Petitioner contends that the conspiracy might in theory
have lasted up to 30 years if Barsanti and Kline had not sold the
units at any point during the term of the HUD-insured loans.
Pet. 31-32. Contrary to his suggestion, Pet. 31, the mere possi-
bility that co-conspirators may act to achieve their conspirato-
rial objectives over a lengthy period of time does not extend
the statute of limitations.

® Petitioner argues that “[wJhile it was implicit [in the con-
spiracy] that someday the property would be sold and in the in-
terim, the property would be rented, managed and otherwise
lawfully maintained, these acts were not the objective of the
fraudulent conduct and false statements.” Pet. 23. That argu-
ment is beside the point; the management of the unlawfully
acquired properties furthered the conspiratorial objective of
earning and dividing the profits from the ultimate sale of the
favorably financed HUD-insured properties. Petitioner is also
unjustified in ascribing, Pet. 29, significance to the fact that

8

therefore properly held that overt acts in furtherance
of the conspiracy were committed after the effective
date of the Guidelines.'°

managing the properties was itself lawful; otherwise lawful acts
may be overt acts in furtherance of an unlawful conspiracy.
See, e.g., Fletcher, 928 F.2d at 500 (execution of promissory
note to pay co-conspirator’s share of profits); Fitzpatrick, 892
F.2d at 168 (payment for remodeling work done as payoff for a
bribe); Walker, 653 F.2d at 1347 (reselling timber acquired
through bid rigging). Petitioner also errs in asserting, Pet. 23-
24, 29-31, that the management of the units should not be
treated as being in furtherance of the conspiracy because
Barsanti and Kline in fact benefited the government by servic-
ing the HUD-insured loans. The government, however, was
harmed on a continuing basis by the conspiracy because the
retention of units under falsely obtained HUD-insured mort-
gages diverted HUD’s resources from qualifying projects.

10 Petitioner errs in relying, Pet. 21-24, on Grunewald v.
United States, 353 U.S. 391 (1957), in which this Court held
that concealment of a conspiracy whose objectives have other-
wise been accomplished does not extend the duration of the
conspiracy. Jd. at 399-405; accord Fiswick v. United States, 329
U.S. 211, 217 (1946) (conspiracy to falsify alien registration
forms was not extended by concealment). Here, the court of
appeals did not rely on concealment of the conspiracy in
upholding the district court’s application of the Guidelines.
Rather, the court relied on the fact that Barsanti and Kline, by
managing the properties, committed overt acts in furtherance
of the profitmaking objectives of the conspiracy after the effec-
tive date of the Guidelines.

Petitioner also errs in asserting, Pet. 24-29, that the decision
below is inconsistent with United States v. Doherty, 867 F.2d 47
(Ist Cir.), cert. denied, 492 U.S. 918 (1989). There, the court
held that a conspiracy to obtain a fraudulent civil service pro-
motion was not extended by the conspirator’s receipt of a
higher salary over time, even though the salary increase was
an objective of the conspiracy. The court reasoned that “where
receiving the payoff merely consists of a lengthy, indefinite
series of ordinary, typically noncriminal, unilateral actions,
such as receiving salary payments, and there is no evidence
that any concerted activity posing the special dangers of con-

9

2. Petitioner also contends that the Sentencing
Guidelines should not be applied to him because he had
no further dealings with Barsanti or Kline after he
left employment at the Carlton in 1985. Pet. 32-36.

The courts of appeals have consistently held that
when a conspiracy continues after the effective date
of the Sentencing Guidelines, the Guidelines apply to
a co-conspirator unless he or she affirmatively with-
drew from the conspiracy prior to November 1, 1987,
even if the particular conspirator personally commit-
ted no acts in furtherance of the conspiracy after that
date. See, e.g., United States v. Bafia, 949 F.2d 1465,
1477 (7th Cir. 1991), United States v. Arboleda, 929
F.2d 858, 870-871 (1st Cir. 1991); United States v.
Williams, 897 F.2d 1034, 1040 (10th Cir. 1990), cert.
denied, 111 S. Ct. 2064 (1991). Mere cessation of
activity in the conspiracy does not constitute
withdrawal. See, e.g., Hyde v. United States, 225 US.
347, 368-370 (1912); Bafia, 949 F.2d at 1477; United
States v. Lash, 937 F.2d 1077, 1083 (6th Cir.), cert.
denied, 112 S. Ct. 397 (1991). Rather, to withdraw from
a conspiracy, a defendant must take affirmative acts
inconsistent with the its object and do so in a manner
reasonably calculated to reach other conspirators.
See, e.g., United States v. U.S. Gypsum Co., 438 U.S.
422, 464-465 (1978); United States v. LeQuire, 943 F.2d
1554 (11th Cir. 1991); United States v. MMR Corp.,
907 F.2d 489, 500 (5th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 111
S. Ct. 1388 (1991); see also Bafia, 949 F. 2d at 1477

spiracy is still taking place, we do not see how one can reason-
ably say that the conspiracy still continues.” 867 F.2d at 61. As
the court of appeals held in this case, Pet. App. A16-A17,
Doherty has no application here because Barsanti and Kline
continued to act in concert, through BK Associates, to achieve
the profitmaking objectives of the conspiracy after November
1, 1987.

10

(“Withdrawal requires an affirmative act to either
defeat or disavow the purposes of the conspiracy, such
as making a full confession to the authorities or
communicating to co-conspirators that one has
abandoned the enterprise.”).

The court of appeals properly held that petitioner
remained a member of the conspiracy after November
1, 1987, because he had offered no evidence establish-
ing his withdrawal. Pet. App. A1l9. Citing United
States v. Nerlinger, 862 F.2d 967 (2d Cir. 1988), peti-
tioner relies entirely on the proposition that leaving
his job at the Carlton and ceasing to deal with
Barsanti and Kline in 1985 constituted withdrawal
from the conspiracy. Pet. 33-35. Petitioner’s reliance
on Nerlinger, however, is unavailing. In that case, the
defendant, a salesman at the First Community Corpo-
ration of Boston, Inc. (FCCB), was involved in a com-
plex mail fraud conspiracy through which FCCB’s
head trader, Tony DeAngelis, would divert profitable
trades to an account that Nerlinger maintained in his
fiancee’s name. Nerlinger left his position at FCCB
for reasons unrelated to the conspiracy. Before leav-
ing, he asked DeAngelis if he could keep his account
open after he left. DeAngelis said that Nerlinger
could. maintain the account, but Nerlinger later
closed it, disabling himself from further participation
in the diversion scheme. 862 F.2d at 970. The court of
appeals held that Nerlinger had withdrawn from the
conspiracy because “the closing of the account in the
face of DeAngelis’s invitation to continue it is an
explicit withdrawal from the conspiracy.” Jd. at 975.

Here, by contrast, petitioner left the Carlton
because the sales office closed. Pet. 34. There was no
evidence that he did anything to defeat the continued
success of the conspiracy, whose objectives extended
beyond the mere acquisition of the units and contem-
plated the future profits of Barsanti and Kline.

11

Where, as here, a conspirator departs from the posi-
tion through which he or she actively participated in
the conspiracy for reasons that do not indicate a
renunciation of the conspiracy, the departure does not
constitute withdrawal. See, e.g., Lash, 937 F.2d at
1083-1084 (no withdrawal where employee left because
employer’s local office closed); United States v.
Masters, 924 F.2d 1362, 1368 (7th Cir.) (no withdrawal
where police captain lost his job), cert. denied, 111 S.
Ct. 2019 (1991)."' Accordingly, petitioner was properly
sentenced under the Guidelines because he remained
a party to a conspiracy that continued after November
1, 1987.

1! In United States v. Steele, 685 F.2d 793, 803-804 (3d Cir.),
cert. denied, 459 U.S. 908 (1982), the court of appeals held that
the resignation of a high-level General Electric employee
effected his withdrawal from a conspiracy to secure certain
government contracts through bribery. The court concluded
that the defendant had made a prima facie showing of
withdrawal from the conspiracy because he “resigned and per-
manently severed his relationship with GE.” 685 F.2d at 804.
Steele is not inconsistent with the decision below. Because peti-
tioner left his position at the Carlton in connection with the
closing of its sales office, Pet. 34, his departure cannot readily
be equated with a renunciation of the conspiracy in which he
participated through that position. In any case, the defendant
in Steele was engaged in a conspiracy whose primary objective
was to enrich the company from which he later permanently
resigned. Here, by contrast, the conspiracy’s objectives primar-
ily benefited Barsanti and Kline, rather than’ petitioner’s
employer. The termination of petitioner’s employment does not
indicate an abandonment of the conspiracy’s purposes.

12

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

denied.
Respectfully submitted.

KENNETH W. STARR
Solicitor General

ROBERT S. MUELLER, III
Assistant Attorney General

KAREN SKRIVSETH
Attorney

FEBRUARY 1992

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_2203%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
