# Amicus Brief — Moody v. Meyers

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_1186%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 464 U.S. 920

## Text

9% No. 82-2091

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1982

SHEARN MOopY, JR.,
Petitioner,
We

DAVID C. MEYERS, ¢¢ al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF OF
AMICUS CURIAE, AND BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE,
CITIZENS ECONOMIC FOUNDATION

DAVID ERIC BROCKWAY
ROOT AND BROCKWAY
4265 Marina City Drive
Suite 801 WT-N
Marina del Rey, California 90291
(213) 306-3425

Counsel of Record for Amicus Curiae
August 19, 1983

TeHBE SES
WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1982

No. 82-2091

SHEARN Moopy, JR.,
7 Petitioner,
DAVID C. MEYERS, et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF OF
AMICUS CURIAE, CITIZENS ECONOMIC FOUNDATION

The Citizens Economic Foundation, hereby moves this
Court pursuant to Supreme Court Rules 36.1 and 42.2(b),
for leave to file the annexed Brief of Amicus Curiae in
support of the Petition for Writ of Certiorari in this case.

Amicus Citizens Economic Foundation is a non-profit,
section 501(c) (3) tax-exempt corporation organized and
existing under the laws of Texas.

As stated in its Articles of Incorporation, Citizens Eco-
nomic Foundation is “dedicated to research and analysis
of economic and fiscal policy and their effects on the well-
being of individuals and society and the education of the
general public thereto.” It believes that the issues pre-
sented by Petitioner have profound economic and fiscal

implications affecting American society, especially the
relationships between business and government. Amicus
Curiae is therefore highly interested in the issues pre
sented by the Petitioner.

Accordingly, Amicus respectfully requests that it be
permitted to state its views on the merits of the Petition.
Amicus will show that the decision of the Fifth Circuit in
this case is in error in applying Texas rather than Ala-
bama law and believes further that the Alabama law
properly applicable to this action is more favorable to
Defendant-Appellant than the Texas law applied by the
panel. Authorities and policy arguments not contained in
the Petition, but relevant to the issues presented therein,
will be discussed.

Respectfully submitted,

ROOT AND BROCKWAY

DAVID ERIC BROCK WAY
Attorney at Law

4265 Marina City Drive
Suite 801 WT-N
Marina del Rey, California 90291
(213) 306-3425
Counsel of Record for Amicus Curiae
August 19, 1983

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
ote ioenlomeeciepounaenebdennaiteits ii
ES SORE SIONS CRE eee ee 1
BOPUUONS GE AMICUE CUNEO nnn esc rseesseeeeenecceecesvene 1
eS Ee 1
I aerial eatnierbiteniininiasideiidnn 2

I. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT COURT COMMITTED
CLEAR ERROR IN APPLYING TEXAS
RATHER THAN ALABAMA LAW; AND THE
ALABAMA LAW APPLICABLE TO THIS AC-

TION WOULD BE MORE FAVORABLE TO
DEFENDANT-APPELLANT THAN THE
TEXAS LAW APPLIED BY THE COURT.... 2

A. The Court Was Required To Follow Texas
Conflicts Of Laws Principles In Effect At
The Time Of Its Decision In Deciding Which
State’s Law Would Apply ............0.0.00000200... 2

B. Under Current Texas Conflict Of Laws Prin-
ciples, Texas Courts Would Apply Alabama
Law In The Circumstances Of This Case....... 5

C. The Alabama Law Properly Applicable To
This Action Is More Favorable To Defend-
ant-Appellant Than The Texas Law Applied
get Seat ee a ea 7

Neen a wiuiaemrsistati klociocsmos 10

(i)

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES: Page

Blythe v. Enslen, 203 Ala. 692, 85 So. 1 (1919)... 9
Bradley v. Richmond School Board, 418 U.S. 696

(ae S nee ine Dereon Nt Ta 3
City of Gadsen Vv. Harbin, 398 So. 2d 707 (Ala. Civ.

I ate 9
Click v. Thuron Indus., Inc., 460 S.W. 2d 506 (Tex.

ee RRA STR MR Mere lareweenr meee 8
Day & Zimmerman, Inc. v. Challoner, 423 U.S. 3

ee mmiiouniad 2
Deal v. Johnson, 362 So.2d 214 (Ala. 1978) ............ 8
Emmert v. Drake, 224 F.2d 299 (5th Cir. 1955)... 8
Fagan vy. La Gleria Oil & Gas Co., 494 S.W.2d 624

I re ec ea cnt 8
Francis V. Herrin Transportation Co., 423 S.W. 2d

a ee ee Ss I ei sceticiccsscirietabdeuntoniincnstooeecce 8
Garrett v. Raytheon Co., 368 So.2d 516 (Ala.

RL IRS eas Et eae Oe RL Oey PM 9
Gulf Offshore Co. v. Mobile Oil Corp., 453 U.S. 473

a 3

Gutierrez Vv. Collins, 583 S.W.2d 312 (Tex. 1979)... 4
Houston Lighting & Power Co. Vv. Dickinson Indep.
School Dist., 641 S.W.2d 302 (Tex. Ct. App.

te REL AEE Se aM a ES SOA ERNE 3
Houston North Hospital Properties v. Telco Leas-

ing, 688 F.2d 408 (5th Cir. 1982) ....00000 2,4, 10
Jump V. Goldenhersh, 474 F. Supp. 1306 (E.D. Mo.

1979), aff'd, 619 F.2d 11 (8th Cir. 1980) -........... 5, 6
King v. Livingston Mfg. Co., 68 S. 897, 192 Ala.

I 8
Klaxon Co. v. Stentor Electric Manufacturing Co.,

I ra A 2

Lovell v. Smith, 232 Ala. 626, 169 So. 280 (1936).. 9
Manchester Premium Budget Corp. v. Manchester
Insurance & Indemnity Co., 612 F.2d 398 (8th

I I i aT ae a ae 5
Nations v. Sun Oil Co., 695 F.2d 933, slip op. at
1986 (5th Cir., January 20, 1983) ~....................... 3

Robertson v. McKnight, 609 S.W. 2d 534 (Tex.
ee 4

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page

Sellers v. Head, 73 So.2d 747, 261 Ala. 212 (1954).. 8
Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186, 214 n.44 (1977).. 5
Sutton v. Reagan & Gee, 405 S.W. 2d 828 (Tex.

Coy, Bee, Tie PAS TTY cm ctcehiieerepntewen 8
United States v. Schooner Peggy, 5 US. (1

CE Be CID coriniscciprtennacaenictbcanicaleccauans 3
Van Antwerp Realty Corp. v. Cooke, 162 So. 97,

Be Fi I ID vorecdenccccevccaiseorseacncinnetaahnaiis 8

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

peg Te |_| | Pern meee E Cr enI IE ERE
Texas Business Corporation Act ........0..0....000000000002--
pk NN IRON ire oe

MISCELLANEOUS:

Restatement (Second) of Conflict of Laws:

SII as inva cprascetstssSnipoinacondeacaniundoaneaciowanaaes
BIE ID osssceihineaecsccscaniestemceschanisDaakberianmsaes mane
Section 143 ........... ssiatisebSaclalnbhilatelbag cidsccen aa Rann :
BING, “THI cccshescsssisenninnhcctseschanachndlasdeniuiadoonmedaaadee atten
INN SII ssins:biscicerntesnsaiccconibinneiensisnacennccciaaaaaaeia

nm Ww ©

onwoan

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1982
No. 82-2091

SHEARN Moopy, JR.,

" Petitioner,

DAVID C. MEYERS, et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE,
CITIZENS ECONOMIC FOUNDATION

STATEMENT

Amicus Curiae adopts the statement of Petitioner. Pet.
2-6.
INTEREST OF AMICUS

The interest of Amicus Curiae is set forth in the fore-
going Motion.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Amicus believes that because of a change in Texas con-
flict of laws principles subsequent to the trial, the Fifth
Circuit Court committed clear error in applying Texas
rather than Alabama law and believes further that the

2

Alabama law properly applicable to this section is more
favorable to Defendant-Appellant than the Texas law ap-
plied by the panel. Only last year, the Fifth Circuit Court
granted a petition for rehearing to consider the effects of
a change in Texas Conflict rules. Houston North Hos-
pital Properties v. Telco Leasing, 688 F.2d 408 (5th Cir.
1982). Amicus believes that Houston North Hospital Prop-
erties case controls this case and requires this Court to
grant rehearing to consider whether Alabama law applies,
and to consider what impact application of Alabama law
would have on the case.

ARGUMENT

L THE FIFTH CIRCUIT COMMITTED CLEAR ER-
ROR IN APPLYING TEXAS RATHER THAN ALA-
BAMA LAW; AND THE ALABAMA LAW APPLICA-
BLE TO THIS ACTION WOULD BE MORE FAVOR-
ABLE TO DEFENDANT-APPELLANT THAN THE
TEXAS LAW APPLIED BY THE COURT

A. The Court Was Required To Follow Texas Conflict
Of Laws Principles In Effect At The Time Of Its
Decision In Deciding Which State’s Law Would
Apply

The Fifth Circuit Court acknowledged that it was re-
quired to follow Texas conflict of laws principles, Panel
Op. at 1457, citing Klaxon Co. v. Stentor Electric Manu-
facturing Co., 313 U.S. 487 (1941), but it completely
failed to do so. Instead, the Court simply assumed that
Texas law applied, and then determined that the Texas
Business Corporation Act rather than the Texas Insur-
ance Code provided the applicable legal standard. Panel
Op. at 1458.7

1 Compare Day & Zimmerman, Inc. Vv. Challoner, 423 U.S. 3 (1975)
(per curiam), summarily reversing a decision of the Fifth Circuit
Court which declined to apply Texas conflict of laws rules in a diver-
sity case arising out of the Eastern District of Texas. According to
the Supreme Court (id. at 4-5) :

3

Had the Court focused on Texas conflict of laws prin-
ciples it would have discovered that while this case was
pending on appeal, Texas dramatically changed its con-
flicts principles, and under those changed principles,
Texas courts would have applied Alabama law in the cir-
cumstances of this case. Apparently, this change in Texas
conflict of laws principle was unknown not only to the
Court, but also to the parties.

An appellate court is required to apply the law in effect
on the date it renders its decision, not the law in effect at
the time of trial. Bradley v. Richmond School Board, 418
U.S. 696, 711 (1974); United States v. Schooner Peggy,
5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 103 (1801); Nations v. Sun Ou Co.,
695 F.2d 933, slip op. at 1986 (5th Cir., January 20,
1983). This principle is fully applicable when the law in
effect has been established by judicial decisior. rather than
by legislative enactment. Gulf Offshore Co. v. Mobil Oil
Corp., 453 U.S. 473, 486 n.16 (1981). The principle has
been accepted by Texas courts as a matter of law. See
Houston Lighting & Power Co. v. Dickinson Indep. School
Dist., 641 S.W.2d 302 (Tex. Ct. App. 1982). Thus, even
if the trial court was correct, under the old Texas conflict
of laws principles, in applying law, the Court was re-
quired to determine whether the subsequent change in
Texas conflict of laws principles would compel a different
result.

At the time of trial, Texas applied the rule of lex loci
delicto to determine choice of law in tort cases. Under
that rule the applicable law is the law of the state where
the last act necessary to complete the tort occurred.

“the conflict-of-laws rules to be applied by a federal court in
Texas must conform to those prevailing in the Texas state
courts. A federal court in a diversity case is not free to engraft
exceptions or modifications which may commend themselves to
the federal court, but which have not commended themselves to
the State in which the federal court sits. The Court of Appeals
in this case should identify and follow the Texas conflicts
rules.”

4

Amicus believes that even under that old rule, Alabama
law should apply. But it is unnecessary to resolve that
question because after the trial Texas changed its conflicts
rule. In 1979, the Texas Supreme Court abandoned the
old lex loci approach and adopted instead the “most sig-
nificant relationship” test set forth in the Restatement
(Second) of Conflict of Laws. Gutierrez v. Collins, 583
S.W.2d 312 (Tex. 1979). See also Robertson v. McKnight,
609 S.W.2d 534 (Tex. 1981). Neither the Fifth Circuit
Court nor the trial court has had an opportunity to con-
sider whether the new Texas conflict of laws rule would
compel application of Alabama law. That is not a purely
abstract inquiry because, as amicus will show in Point C,
Alabama law is more favorable to Defendant-Appellant
than is Texas law.

Controlling, in this regard, is the Fifth Circuit Court’s
recent decision in Houston North Hospital Properties v.
Telco Leasing, 688 F.2d 408 (5th Cir. 1982). This was a
diversity case, arising out of a federal district court in
Texas, in which a threshold issue was whether Illinois or
Texas law applied. The panel, in its initial decision,
looked to Texas conflict of laws rules and concluded that
Texas would apply the lex loci rule to determine the ap-
plicable law. 680 F.2d 19, 21 (5th Cir. 1982). The Court
granted a petition for rehearing, however, when made
aware that the Texas Supreme Court, in Gutierrez, supra,
had abandoned the lex loci rule and had adopted the “most
significant relationship” test. On rehearing, the panel
considered which state’s law would apply under the new
Texas conflict of laws rule. Amicus submits that Houston
North Hospital Properties is controlling on the facts of
the present case, and repairs that this Court grant the
petition for Certiorari.

5
B. Under Current Texas Conflict Of Laws Principles,

Texas Courts Would Apply Alabama Law In The
Circumstances Of This Case

As noted, subsequent to the trial of this action, Texas
adopted the “most significant relationship” test codified
in the Restatement (Second) of Conflict of Laws. Under
that test Texas courts would apply Alabama law. The
Restatement creates a presumption that the law of the
state of incorporation governs the rights and duties of
corporate officers and directors. Section 309 states that

“The local law of the state of incorporation will be
applied to determine the existence and extent of a
director’s or officer’s liability to the corporation, its
creditors and shareholders, except where, with re-
spect to a particular issue, some other state law has
a more significant relationship under the principles
stated in § 6 to the parties and the transaction, in
which event the local law of the other state will be
applied.”

Comment a to § 309 states that “[lliability will typically
be imposed upon directors under the rule of this Section
for such matters as the fraudulent or negligent misman-
agement of the Corporation’s affairs.” * Because Empire
was at all times relevant to this lawsuit an Alabama cor-
poration, the new Texas conflict rules presumptively apply
the law of Alabama to determine liability of directors for
corporate mismanagement.*

2 See Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186, 214 n.44 (1977) (“[i]n
general, the law of the state of incorporation is held to govern the
liabilities of officers and directors of the corporation to its stock-
holders. See Restatement § 309. ... The rationale for the general
rule appears to be based ... on the need for a uniform and certain
standard to govern the internal affairs of a corporation... .’’).

3 Other courts applying the Restatement approach to cases in-
volving insurance companies in liquidation agree that the applicable
law is that of the state where the insurance company is incorpo-
rated. See, e.g., Manchester Premium Budget Corp. Vv. Manchester
Insurance & Indemnity Co., 612 F.2d 389, 391-92 n.8 (8th Cir.
1980) ; Jump v. Goldenhersh, 474 F. Supp. 1306 (E.D. Mo. 1979),
aff'd, 619 F.2d 11 (8th Cir. 1980). The district court in Jump v.

6

Moreover, even aside from the presumptive applica-
bility of Alabama law resulting from the fact that Em-
pire was incorporated in Alabama, it is clear that Ala-
bama has the most significant relationship with the is-
sues in this action, as defined in Restatement $$ 6 and
145. Although Empire’s principal headquarters were in

Goldenhersh, supra, noted that it was particularly important to ap-
ply the law of the state of incorporation in such cases:

“Insurance liquidation cases do not follow the same conflicts
of law doctrine which applies to contract or tort cases. Ac-
cording to Missouri conflicts of law doctrine for insurance
cases, the substantive law of the state of incorporation and
domicile should be applied, even if most of the events in this
case happened in Missouri. Most states have found it wise to
follow this doctrine because insurance companies have tradi-
tionally been self-regulated, rather than being subjected to the
Federal Bankruptcy Act ... and the state laws form a deli-
cately balanced network designed to protect all creditors of an
insurance equally, regardless of the state of their residence.”

474 F. Supp. at 1313.

4 Section 6 provides:
“(1) A court, subject to constitutional restrictions, will follow

a statutory directive of its own state on choice of law.

(2) When there is no such directive, the factors relevant to
the choice of the applicable rule of law include

(a) the needs of the interstate and the international
system,

(b) the relevant policies of the forum;

(c) the relevant policies of other interested states and
the relative interest of those states in the determina-
tion of the particular issue;

(d) the protection of justified expectations;

(e) the basic policies underlying the particular field of
law;

(f) certainty, predictability, and uniformity of result;
and

(g) ease in the determination and application of the law
to be applied.”

Section 145 provides:
“(1) The rights and liabilities of the parties with respect to an
issue of tort are determined by the local law of the state

7

Texas, it was an Alabama insurance company. The in-
creased value of the life interest was submitted to the
Alabama Superintendent of Insurance for approval, and
Empire’s acquisition and expansion program involved the
merger of various other companies into an Alabama cor-
poration. Alabama clearly has a greater interest than
Texas in regulating the affairs of an Alabama insurance
company, especially in a suit brought by a receiver ap-
pointed by an Alabama court pursuant to an Alabama
statute. Application of Alabama law, the state of incor-
poration, would yield more predictable and uniform re-
sults than would application of the law of a state, such as
Texas, where a company merely does business. And ap-
plication of Alabama law appears best suited to protect
justified expectations.

C. The Alabama Law Properly Applicable To This
Action Is More Favorable To Defendant-Appellant
Than The Texas Law Applied By The Court

The Fifth Circuit Court applied the Texas law of mis-
management and fiduciary responsibility. The Court de-
scribed the requirements of Texas law as follows:

“Texas law imposes on corporate officers and di-
rectors a duty to exercise due care in the manage-

which, with respect to that issue, has the most significant
relationship to the occurrence and parties under the prin-
ciples stated in section 6.

(2) Contacts to be taken into account in applying the princi-
ples of section 6 to determine the law applicable to an
issue include:

(a) the place where the injury occurred;

(b) the place where the conduct causing the injury oc-
curred ;

(c) the domicile, residence, nationality, place of incorpo-
ration and place of business of the parties; and

(d) the place where the relationship, if any, between the
parties is centered.

These contacts are to be evaluated according to their relative
importance with respect to the particular issue.”

8

ment of the corporation’s affairs. If they breach
that duty, they are liable to the corporation for any
loss it may suffer as a result of their neglect... .
‘Due care’ is that degree of care which a person of
ordinary prudence would exercise under the same or
similar circumstances.”

Panel Op. at 1458. The Court determined, therefore, that
Texas imposes liability on corporate officers and directors
for their negligent actions.®

Alabama law, however, does not impose liability for
negligence. Instead, officers and directors are liable only
‘for losses to the corporation resulting from their willful
and intentional departures from duty, fraudulent breaches
of trust, gross negligence, or ultra vires acts, and are not
liable if they act in good faith and without gross negli-
gence supporting an imputation of fraud. Deal v. John-
son, 362 So.2d 214 (Ala. 1978); Van Antwerp Realty
Corp. v. Cooke, 162 So. 97, 230 Ala. 535 (1935); Sellers
v. Head, 73 So.2d 747, 261 Ala. 212 (1954); King v.
Livingston Mfg. Co., 68 So. 897, 192 Ala. 269 (1915).
Accordingly, the standard of director liability under Ala-
bama law is considerably more favorable to Defendant-
Appellant than is the analogous rule under Texas law.

Moreover, because the Court did not apply the substan-
tive law of Alabama, it did not consider whether the
Alabama statute of limitations applies to this case.° The

5 This interpretation is fully supported by the relevant precedents.
See Sutton v. Reagan & Gee, 405 S.W.2d 828 (Tex. Civ. App., writ
ref’d n.r.e.); Fagan v. La Gloria Oil & Gas Co., 494 S.W.2d 624
(Tex. Civ. App., no writ) ; Emmert v. Drake, 224 F.2d 299 (5th Cir.
1955).

6 Although statutes of limitations are sometimes considered “pro-
cedural”, they may also be treated as substantive limitations on the
underlying right of action. Cf. Click v. Thuron Indus., Inc., 460
S.W.2d 506 (Tex. Civ. App. 1970); Francis v. Herrin Transporta-
tion Co., 423 S.W.2d 610 (Tex. Civ. App. 1968); Restatement (Sec-
ond) of Conflict of Laws §§ 142(2), 148. Because this Court ap-
plied Texas substantive law, it did not consider whether the appli-

9

Fifth Circuit Court applied the Texas statute of limita-
tions, which provides for a two year period of limitations
after the “fraud” is “discovered” or with reasonable dili-
gence should have been discovered.’ The relevant Ala-
bama statute of limitations provides for a one year pe-
riod of limitations,* and since Alabama has expressly re-
jected the “discovery” rule, the one year period begins
to run when the events which form the basis of the tort
occurred, whether or not those events were known or dis-
covered at that time.®

cable Alabama statute of limitations was substantive or procedural
for purposes of the Texas conflict of laws rules.

7 Actually, the state law claims (either under Texas law or Ala-
bama law) were not based on fraud, but on mismanagement or
breach of fiduciary duty, and it therefore seems inappropriate to
apply the Texas “discovery” rule, or any other special rule that ap-
plies only in “fraud” cases.

8 Alabama Code § 6-2-39(5). This one year period applies to ac-
tions for negligence of corporation directors in performing their
duties. Blythe v. Enslen, 203 Ala. 692, 85 So. 1 (1919).

®In Garrett v. Raytheon Co., 368 So.2d 516 (Ala. 1979), the Ala-
bama Supreme Court held that a claim for exposure to radiation
was time-barred even though the plaintiff did not discover the in-
jury until the limitations period had expired. The court recognized
the trend in other states towards accepting the discovery rule, but
stated that the rule “has been specifically rejected by Alabama
courts for the past 60 years.” Jd. at 521. The court said that
“It may be that Alabama’s rejection of the ‘Discovery Rule’ is
contrary to the weight of opinion generally. However, ss this
Court is committed to the proposition that the legislature has
the inherent power to establish statutes of limitation, we have
no other alternative than to leave it to the legislature to abro-
gate this rule and adopt a more equitable one should it see fit,
so that a plaintiff’s claim will not be barred when he has no way
to ascertain that he has been damaged . . . because the result
has not manifested itself until the statute of limitations has
run.”
Id. (emphasis in original). See also City of Gadsen v. Harbin, 398
So.2d 707 (Ala. Civ. App. 1981); Lovell v. Smith, 232 Ala. 626, 169
So. 280 (1936).

10

As the Fifth Circuit Court noted, “the events which
form the basis of Receiver’s state and federal claims
occurred more than three years before this suit was com-
menced.” Panel Op. at 1455. Thus, because Alabama
rejects the discovery rule, and has a one year period of
limitations, this action would be barred under Alabama

law.
CONCLUSION

In summary, it is understandable that the Fifth Circuit
Court did not apply the new Texas conflict of laws prin-
ciples, because the change in Texas law occurred after
the trial and was apparently unknown to the Court or to
the parties. Nevertheless, as the Court ruled in Houston
North Hospital Properties, in those circumstances an ap-
pellate court should grant a petition for rehearing and, on
rehearing, apply the Texas conflict of laws rule in effect
at the time of its decision. Because of the change in
Texas law, neither the trial court nor the Fifth Circuit
Court has had an opportunity to consider whether Texas
law would now require application of Alabama law, and
if so, whether the judgment can be sustained under Ala-
bama law. These questions are important not only to
Defendant-Appellant, but also to Alabama, to Texas, and
to all lawyers and litigants faced with conflict of laws
issues.

Accordingly, this Court should grant the petition of
Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID ERIC BROCKWAY
ROOT AND BROCKWAY
4265 Marina City Drive
Suite 801 WT-N
Marina del Rey, California 90291
(213) 306-3425

Counsel of Record for Amicus Curiae
Citizens Economic Foundation

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_1186%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
