# Opposition — Rousseau v. Nix

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_0978%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 464 U.S. 890

## Text

| Office-Supreme Court, U.S,
FILED
|

SEP 95 1983

No. 82-1879 lems me ahi
In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

JERRY DEAN ROUSSEAU, PETITIONER
V.

CrISPUS NIX, COMMANDANT, U.S.D.B.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE TENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

Rex E. LEE
Solicitor General

STEPHEN S. TROTT
Assistant Attorney General

JOHN F. DePUE
Attorney

Department of Justice
Washington, D. C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether petitioner is entitled to habeas corpus relief
from his court martial conviction for a murder committed
in Morocco on the ground that the American Ambassador,
because of a diplomatic dispute, prohibited defense counsel
from contacting non-Embassy personnel to investigate a
possible alibi defense — even though petitioner subse-
quently admitted to defense counsel that the alibi was not
true, voluntarily pleaded guilty and confessed to the crime,
and has not shown that an investigation by counsel would
have been fruitful in any event. —

(I)

Opinion below
Jurisdiction
Statement
Argument

Conclusion

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:
meee ¥. Wile, 06 US. 197 oo cvv cv ccnccs
worm ¥. Parrett, G3 F.2d 11S ..... oo cn cass
Hawkman v. Parratt, 661 F.2d 1161 .......
McMann v. Richardson, 397 U.S. 759 .....
Menna v. New York, 423 U.S. 61 ..........
Scott v. Wainwright, 698 F.2d 427 .........
Tollett v. Henderson, 411 U.S. 258 ........
Constitution and statutes:
United States Const. Amend. VI ...........
Uniform Code of Military Justice, 10 U.S.C.

801 et seq.:

Prt 32, POU S.C. B92 occ enn css
Article 118(1), 10 U.S.C. 918(1) ........
Article 118(2), 10 U.S.C. 918(2) ........
Artes 120, 10 U.S.C. 928 .....ccccess

We OE bike chen cscs scusccnsseuss

(IIT)

eoeeeeoeeeeeeeeveeeeveeeeveeweeeeeeeeee

a ee

SCC eG Cees’ Cee eee oee OVP eweeeeeneeeert

eeeeneeeoeveeeoe eevee eaeeeeeeeo eee eee eel

In the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

No. 82-1879
JERRY DEAN ROUSSEAU, PETITIONER
Vz.

Crispus Nix, COMMANDANT, U.S.D.B.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE TENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW
The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 2a-6a) is
unreported. The opinion of the district court (Pet. App.
8a-12a) dismissing the habeas corpus petition is also
unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la) was
entered on March 3, 1983. The petition for a writ of certio-
rari was filed on May 4, 1983. The jurisdiction of this Court
is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

Pursuant to a plea of guilty, petitioner, a member of the
United States Marine Corps, was convicted by a general
court martial convened by the Commanding General,
Marine “Corps Development and Education Command,
Quantico, Virginia, of unpremeditated murder, in violation

(1)

2

of Article 118(2) of the Uniform Code of Military Justice
(UCMJ), 10 U.S.C. 918(2). The military judge sentenced
petitioner to life imprisonment. The sentence was reduced
to 55 years’ imprisonment by the convening authority as
part ofa pretrial agreement that also included dismissal of a
charge of premeditated murder in violation of Article
118(1), UCMJ (10 U.S.C. 918(1)) and rape, in violation of
Article 120, UCMJ (10 U.S.C. 920) (Pet. App. 8a-9a). The
sentence also included a dishonorable discharge, forfeiture
of pay and allowances, and reduction to the lowest enlisted
grade (Pet. App. 9a). The United States Navy Court of
Review affirmed, and the Court of Military Appeals denied
petitions for discretionary review. 9 M.J. 271 (1980); 10
M.J. 281 (1981). Thereafter, the United States District
Court for the District of Kansas dismissed a petition for a
writ of habeas corpus under 28 U.S.C. 224! (Pet. App.
8a-12a), and the court of appeals affirmed (Pet. App.

2a-6a).

1. The charge upon which petitioner was convicted
resulted from the murder of Dorothy Layton, an American
schoolteacher, in her apartment in Rabat, Morocco, during
the early morning of July 3, 1978. Following the slaying,
petitioner, 4 Marine guard stationed at the American
Embassy in Rabat, admitted to being in Layton’s company
between 1:30 and 7:15 a.m. on that date and to having
consensual intercourse with her. Petitioner initially denied
committing the murder, although his bloodstained clothing
was left in the apartment. Exh. D to Answer to Pet. for Writ
of Habea Corpus at 5,6. Petitioner instead maintained that
after leaving the victim’s apartment to obtain some wine
from the trunk of her automobile, he was approached by
two men who offered to take him home because he
appeared intoxicated. He further maintained that after he
rode a long distance and fell asleep, he awoke alongside the
road; he explained that he then obtained a ride from a

3

Moroccan truck driver who took him to a motel on the
outskirts of Agadir, Morocco, an eight-hour drive from
Rabat (Pet. App. 15a-16a). An affidavit of defense counsel
filed in district court in these habeas corpus proceedings
states that petitioner initially told counsel an essentially
identical story. Answer Exh. D, supra.

Defense counsel went to Morocco for a one-week period
from July 5 to July 12, 1978. There counsel interviewed
petitioner and sought assistance from the United States
Embassy in Rabat in locating and interviewing the Moroc-
can truck driver and a motel clerk petitioner had men-
tioned. However, because of a jurisdictional dispute then
extant between American and Moroccan authorities with
respect to who was going to try petitioner for the murder,
the American Ambassador ordered counsel not to interview
individuals outside the Embassy community (Pet. 2; App.
Exh. 29, 31; R. 1037, 1041).' Petitioner subsequently was
transferred to Quantico Marine Corps Base where, after an
investigation conducted pursuant to Article 32, UCMJ (10
U.S.C. 832), the convening authority referred murder and
rape charges to a general-court martial (App. Exh. 31).

2. Prior to trial, petitioner’s attorneys moved to be per-
mitted to go to Morocco to investigate his asserted alibi.
Although the motion was denied, on August 30, 1978, the
military judge directed officials of the Naval Investigative
Service and a military attorney in Morocco to assist in the
investigation (R. 213, 556-560, 563-564). Petitioner has not
contended that the investigation in Morocco on the latter
occasion was impeded by the Embassy. On September 21,
1978, the military judge inquired whether the defense had
sufficient cooperation from the attorney and the Naval
Investigative Service “with regard to the matters that you

“R_"” refers to the three-volume record of trial.

4

required to or requested to be investigated at the scene of
the crime.” Petitioner’s counsel responded: “Yes, your
Honor” (R. 712).?

According to the affidavit of defense counsel, petitioner
admitted to his attorney on September 15, 1978, that he had
committed the murder and that his alibi was not true. He
also told them that he wished to plead guilty in exchange for
an agreement limiting the duration of his sentence (Answer
Exh. D, supra, at 5-7). Petitioner then pleaded guilty,
admitting that he had killed Layton and giving the military
judge a detailed account of the circumstances of the murder
(R. 721-728).

On appeal to the United States Navy Court of Military
Review, petitioner argued that his Sixth Amendment right
to the assistance of counsel was violated on several occa-
sions, including when the American Ambassador ordered
his attorneys not to interview Moroccan nationals in July
1978 (R. 116-118), and that counsel had engaged in miscon-
duct by pressuring him to plead guilty (R. 119-123). The
Navy Court of Military Review affirmed petitioner's con-
viction (R. 80-81), concluding that petitioner had voluntar-
ily pleaded guilty. The court did not specifically address the
matter of the Ambassador's order (Pet. App. 4a; R. 80-81).

3. After exhaustion of his appellate rights under the
UCM], petitioner filed a petition for a writ of habeas cor-
pus in the United States District Court for the District of
Kansas. The district court concluded that petitioner had
received effective assistance of counsel (Pet. App. 12a). In
addition, relying upon Menna v. New York, 423 U.S. 61
(1975), and Tollett v. Henderson, 411 U.S. 258 (1973), the

2Counsel stated in his affidavit that if the case had gone to trial he
would not have been satisfied with the assistance he received in
Morocco, but that the issue became moot when petitioner admitted the
murder. Answer Exh. D, supra, at 3.

5

court concluded that by pleading guilty petitioner had fore-
gone his opportunity to litigate further his claim regarding
the Ambassador’s order (Pet. App. | 1a).

The court of appeals affirmed. That court likewise
rejected petitioner’s claim that the assistance his trial coun-
sel provided him in deciding whether to plead guilty was
inadequate. Relying upon Burns v. Wilson, 346 U.S. 137,
142 (1953), it reasoned that this fact-bound question
received full and fair consideration in the military courts,
which concluded that counsel had not acted improperly and
that petitioner’s plea was voluntarily entered (Pet. App. 4a).
The court of appeals also concluded that because “[peti-
tioner] entered a voluntary and intelligent plea of guilty, it
was irrelevant whether or not defense counsel was permit-
ted a free hand to investigate the circumstances of the

crime” (Pet. App. Sa-6a).

ARGUMENT

Petitioner does not seek review of the court of appeals
holding — which was consistent with that of the district
court and the Navy Court of Military Review — that his
plea of guilty was voluntarily and intelligently made. In this
Court, he contends only that he is entitled to habeas corpus
relief because of the order by the Ambassador when peti-
tioner’s counsel were in Morocco for one week in July 1978
that they not investigate his alibi defense outside of the
Embassy community because of the pending jurisdictional
dispute with the Moroccan government. The courts below
properly rejected this claim.

’

A guilty plea “represents a break in the chain of events
which ha[{d] preceded it in the criminal process.” Tollett v.
Henderson, 411 U.S. 258, 267 (1973). As this Court
explained in Menna v. New York, 423 U.S. 61, 62-63 n.2

(1975):

6

[A] counseled plea of guilty is an admission of factual
guilt so reliable that, where voluntary and intelligent, it
quite validly removes the issue of factual guilt from the
case. In most cases, factual guilt is a sufficient basis for
the State’s imposition of punishment. A guilty plea,
therefore, simply renders irrelevant those constitu-
tional violations not logically inconsistent with the
valid establishment of factual guilt and which do not
stand in the way of conviction, if factual guilt is validly
established.

Here, petitioner’s counseled plea likewise constituted a
reliable admission of guilt that removed the issue of factual
guilt from the case. The reliability of his admission is rein-
forced by the affidavit of defense counsel, which states that
petitioner acknowledged to counsel that his earlier alibi
story was untrue and that he had committed the murder.
Petitioner’s plea, therefore, renders irrelevant the issue of
the Ambassador’s order preventing his attorneys from
interviewing witnesses to substantiate an alibi defense that
was inconsistent with his subsequent admission of guilt.

It is true, as petitioner points out, that in some circum-
stances a plea of guilty does not bar a defendant from
contending that counsel was ineffective in failing to investi-
gate certain matters. See Pet. 10, citing Hawkman v. Par-
ratt, 661 F.2d 1161, 1168-1169 (8th Cir. 1981), and Ford v.
Parratt, 638 F.2d 1115, 1118 (8th Cir. 1981). But the theory
of these cases is that a plea of guilty may be set aside if
counsel’s lack of investigation affected the voluntariness
and intelligence of the plea because it left the defendant with
no other choice. 661 F.3d at 1169; 638 F.2d at 1118. See also
Scott v. Wainwright, 698 F.2d 427, 429 (11th Cir. 1983); cf.
McMann v. Richardson, 397 U.S. 759, 770-771 (1970).
Here, however, the courts below and the military courts all
found that petitioner’s plea was voluntary and intelligent.

7

In his certiorari petition, petitioner does appear to argue
(Pet. 3, 9, 10) that the Ambassador’s order “forced” him to
plead guilty, perhaps now intending to suggest that his plea
was not voluntary and intelligent. But petitioner did not
argue in his habeas corpus petition that the Ambassador’s
order actually caused him to plead guilty or rendered his
plea involuntary or unintelligent. He simply contended that
the order deprived him of effective assistance of counsel at
that particular pretrial stage and that he was entitled to
relief on that basis alone. See Habeas Petition at 6; Brief in
Support of Petition at 5-8; Traverse at 3-7.3 Nor does peti-
tioner cite any evidence to support a claim that his plea was
not voluntary and intelligent. To the contrary, the record
indicates that he chose to plead guilty after he failed to pass
a polygraph test arranged by defense counsel in hopes that
the charges would be dismissed. Answer Exh. D, supra, at

4-6.

Nor is there any basis for believing that the Ambassador’s
order had such an effect on petitioner’s decision to plead
guilty. That order did not foreclose counsel from assessing
the weakness of the alibi defense and providing informed
advice to petitioner with respect to whether the more pru-
dent course would be to enter a plea of guilty in exchange
for a limitation on the sentence. Moreover, as we have
noted, the military judge arranged for an investigation to be
conducted by an associate attorney and personnel of the
Office of Naval Investigations in Morocco prior to entry of
the plea, and petitioner has not shown that this opportunity
for investigation was inadequate.

Even without interviewing the alleged alibi witnesses,
however, the defense attorneys, after considering the evi-
dence available, including petitioner’s statements to inves-
tigative authorities and the bloodstained clothing in the

3Petitioner’s arguments to the Navy Court of Military Review were to
the same effect. See R. 116-119.

8

victim’s apartment, had concluded that “the government’s
circumstantial case was strong” (Answer Exh. D, supra, at
6). In addition, during the guilty plea inquiry, petitioner
stated that he had consulted fully with his two defense
counsel and received the benefit of their advice; that he was
Satisfied that their advice to plead guilty was in his best
interest; and that he was satisfied with them (R. 731). Onthe
present record, then, there is no basis for concluding that
the Ambassador’s order affected the validity of petitioner’s
guilty plea.

Finally, as we explain in our brief (at 18-26) in Strickland
v. Washington, No. 82-1554, a defendant who asserts that
his conviction should be set aside because of counsel’s
alleged ineffectiveness in failing to investigate must demon-
strate prejudice by showing that the investigation would
have produced evidence that probably would have altered
the outcome of the trial.* A fortiori, in this case, in which
petitioner previously admitted that the alibi was untrue and
that he committed the crime, petitioner must make a sub-
stantial showing that favorable evidence would have been
produced. But petitioner has not pointed to any evidence
that would have been uncovered and supported an alibi
defense, much less shown that any such evidence probably
would have affected the outcome of the trial if he had not
pleaded guilty. Indeed, there is no indication even now that
petitioner has made any effort to substantiate his alibi
defense in Morocco. He accordingly is not entitled to relief
for this reason as well.5

“We have furnished counsel for petitioner with a copy of our brief in
Strickland v. Washington.

‘Petitioner also devotes several pages of his petition (Pet. 6-8) to an
issue that is not before this Court. He contends that the court of appeals
erred in not independently assessing his claim that counsel was ineffec-
tive in other respects in connection with the plea of guilty, on the ground

9

CONCLUSION
The petition for certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

Rex E. LEE
Solicitor General

STEPHEN S. TROTT
Assistant Attorney General

JOHN F. DePUE
Attorney

SEPTEMBER 1983

that that claim was fully and fairly considered by the military courts.
See Burns v. Wilson, 346 U.S. 137 (1953). The court of appeals relied
on that doctrine, however, only in connection with that aspect of its
decision of which petitioner has not sought review. The Burns rationale
played no part in the court's consideration of the issue of the Ambassa-
dor’s order. See Pet. App. 3a-6a.

DOJ -1983-09

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_0978%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
