# Amicus Brief — Kalaris v. Donovan

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_0787%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 462 U.S. 1119

## Text

{
;

Oftice . cverre Court, US.

ki wc &D
S2-1686 || mr 16 103
~~ ) SES LVAS,
NO. | CLERK

;
’
=

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1982

ISMENE M. KALARIS,
Administrative Appeals Judge, and
JULIUS MILLER,
Administrative Appeals Judge,
Petitioners,

v.

RAYMOND J. DONOVAN,
Secretary of Labor,
MALCOLM R. LOVELL, JR.,
Under Secretary of Labor, and
ROBERT L. RAMSEY,
Chief Administrative Appeals Judge,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

er

Tuomas C. FiTznHuau, Il

815 Walker Avenue

1600 Mellie Esperson Building
Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 223-1415

STEPHEN M. VAUGHAN

21st Floor, 806 Main Building
Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 228-1521

Amici Curiae
Alpha Law Briel Co, Inc--5006 Parkersburg-Houston, Texas 77036--213-3003

—_

Vil
TABLE OF CONTENTS

MOTION TO FILE BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE ......
QUESTIONS PRESENTED .........ccsccccccccccees
BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE .........ccccsseeceeeeees

INTEREST OF THOMAS C. FITZHUGH, III AND
STEPHEN M. VAUGHAN ........cscccesevcvors

ARGUMENT: REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Decision Below Denies Party Litigants Under
the LHWCA Due Process of Law .............-

II. The LHWCA As Construed Violates The Due
PIO, Ce ore is ee RNa ec heruleoreveveres

III. The LHWCA As Construed Violates The Separa-
tion of Powers Doctrine ..........5:eeeeeceees

TV. The Decision Below Conflicts With The LHWCA
And Decisions Of Other Circuit Courts Constru-
See TRAE DOMED on ccc cccccscvscccensoeceevers

CONCLUSION .nncccccccccscscccvcvccssvcsccceseces

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Association of National Advertisers v. FTC, 201 U.S. App.
D.C. 165, 627 F.2d 1151 (D.C. Cir. 1979), cert. denied,
MF GR. GEE CURD ovcbn ccc cekctecctsnpesseensies

Boating Industries Association v. Marshall, 601 F.2d 1376,
1362 (Othe Car. 1979) cccvcccccesccoscsvccccsvececes

Church v. Donovan, Civil No. H-83-70, D. Conn. ........

Cinderella Career and Finishing Schools v. FTC, 138 USS.
App. DC. 152, 425 F.2d S63 (1970) ..ccccccccvsens

Director, OWCP v. Eastern Coal Corporation, 561 F.2d 632
CGE CH, IGT) ccccccccnccccaceccdcvvesteccveveces

Director, OWCP v. Perini North River Association, __US.
9 108 S.Ct. 634 (1983S) .nccccccccvccvcsccccecees

Director, OWCP v. Rasmussen, 440 U.S. 29 (1979) .....

Hudson v, Donovan, No, G-83-31, S.D. Texas, Galveston
PUR pakknnnas oincudees bashes baeeu as cues s abet ae

Ingalls Shipbuilding v. White, 681 F.2d 275 (Sth Cir. 1982)

Joint Anti-Fascist Committee v. McGrath, 341 U.S. 123
EUUUED -.ncdcbetonscukansetedcucaeus nbepe sence neers

Kalaris v. Donovan, 697 F.2d 376 (D.C. Cir. 1982) ....

Marshall v. Jerrico, Inc., 446 U.S. 238 (1980) .........

Page

Page

VIII

CASES

ath Marine Terminal Co. v. Caputo, 432 US. 249
DOPED. vb. dneevvdpeddnonneverrseeenebertarcnes eee
P. C. Pfeiffer Co. v. Ford, 444 U.S. 69 (1979) ..........
Potomac Electric Power Co. v. Director, OWCP, 449 US.
ZOD CISOED icdacasG ae reas ends cdehesh ene ee seh aSs
Shahady v. Atlas Tile & Marble Co., 673 F.2d 479 (D.C.
CA. CRE. wavenscosevdesresees Perr eT ere
Silliman v. Donovan, No. C-830991RPA, N.D. Cal.......
Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510 (1927) 2... cece cece eeeeee
Underhill v. Peabody Coal Co., 687 F.2d 217 (7th Cir.
MS cass Le caxsn ads ecsacandedusridentadvensans
United Farm Workers of America, AFL-CIO v. Arizona
Agricultural Employment Relations Board, 696 F.2d 1216
SG, SUD -bndvaanererhrectaces csacousnessacs
United States Industries v. Director, OWCP, 455 U.S. 608,
SUS DAR, BFGe CORSE) cccsccccesceesccsonsseccvese
Wiener v. United States, 357 U.S. 349, 356 (1958) .....

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

I WE cic Peale re ey RA RT RRO S ERE Ee RAL
eee, OD oa ec vlna bee atan sc eee nee ben nnewe

STATUTES

Defense Base Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1651 et seg. (1976 and
Supp. TV 1980) ......ccccccsccccccccccccvccssecers
District of Columbia Workers’ Compensation Act, 36 D.C.
Code § 501 et seg. (1981) ....ccecccccecceerceeeeces
Longshoremen’s and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act,
33 U.S.C. § 901 et seg. (1976 and Supp. V. 1981) ....
SB Ws BOE. ee ceases ianVesseecuns yesds cuenrenens
33 USL. SOOB(EH (AD) on cccccccccccsevescvcsesvcsere
BD USE. BHD cccecccserecdoccssvcccevevnevceses
B5 ios ns Sodio betn vasa Kanereuaeses
SE TB BONS ches dvenicodvesdcctsnccee:» -seesve
53 USC. SOZU(D)E) cccccccvscccccsccvccccccccvcce
Nonappropriated Fund Instrumentalities Act, 5 U.S.C.
§ 8171 et seq. (1976 and Supp. V 1981) ......eeeeeees
Outer Continental Shelf Lands Act, 43 U.S.C. § 1331 et seq.
(1976 and Supp. IV 1980) ......ce cee ce ec eeeeen ees

REGULATIONS
20 C.F.R. § 702.147(b) (1982) .... cece cece eeeeneees
MISCELLANEOUS

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 23-1386 to 23-1391 (Supp. 1981)
K. Davis, Administrative Law of the Seventies (1976)
CEG GE TIDE Saxccccccccctcccvcessaveccsivassees

NO.

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1982

ISMENE M. KALARIS,
Administrative Appeals Judge, and
JULIUS MILLER,
Administrative Appeals Judge,
Petitioners,

Vv.

RAYMOND J. DONOVAN,
Secretary of Labor,
MALCOLM R. LOVELL, JR.,
Under Secretary of Labor, and
ROBERT L. RAMSEY,
Chief Administrative Appeals Judge,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE

INTEREST OF THOMAS C. FITZHUGH, III
AND STEPHEN M. VAUGHAN

Amici curiae are attorneys licensed to practice law in
the State of Texas, and each has practiced in that state
in the City of Houston for the past several years. During

2

that period, much of their practice has been involved in
cases arising under the Longshoremen’s and Harbor
Workers’ Compensation Act (hereafter LHWCA), 33
U.S.C. 901 et seq., and its various extensions.’

Amicus Fitzhugh has been involved exclusively in de-
fense of claims brought under the LHWCA by represent-
ing employers, insurance carriers, and self-insured em-
ployers. Amicus Vaughan’s experience has been primarily
concerned in representing claimants. Therefore, amici
curiae have been involved on both sides of such proceed-
ings and are often adversaries in cases arising under the
LHWCA.

Due to their extensive experience amici curiae have in
regard to the operation of the LHWCA, and each has par-
ticipated several times as lecturers to national conferences
on the LHWCA, and each is recognized as a legal expert
in that area of the law. Amici curiae have a compelling
interest in the orderly administration of claims under the
LHWCA. Amici curiae strongly contend that public policy
reasons support the Petitioners in this case.

Petitioners have cogently presented to the Court the
statement of the case, the questions presented, and have
set forth the jurisdiction of this Court, along with the
Constitutional provisions, statutes, and regulations in-
volved in this matter. Amici curiae fully agree with the
propositions presented by Petitioners for granting review

1. Defense Base Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1651 et seg. (1976 and Supp
IV 1980); Nonappropriated Fund Instrumentalities Act, 5 U.S.C.
§ 8171 et seq. (1976 and Supp. V 1981); Outer Continental Shelf
Lands Act, 43 U.S.C. § 1331 et seg. (1976 and Supp. IV 1980);
District of Columbia Workers’ Compensation Act, 36 D.C. Code
§ 501 et seq. (1981).

3

in this case. However, significant factors which impact
amici curiae and others involved in the daily administra-
tion of claims arising under the LHWCA should be con-
sidered in the resolution of this controversy by this Court.

ARGUMENT: REASONS FOR GRANTING
THE WRIT

The Decision Below Denies Party Litigants Under
the LHWCA Due Process of Law

The decision below stands for the proposition that
Administrative Appeals Judges of the Benefits Review
Board can be summarily dismissed without cause or with-
out a hearing. If this decision stands, it will render the
Administrative Appeal Judges accountable solely to the
Secretary of Labor.’ Allowing the Secretary (hereafter
“the Secretary”) such direct influence over the Bene-
fits Review Board deprives litigants before the Board
(which often includes the Secretary) of the fair and im-
partial consideration of their cases in this judicial setting
guaranteed them by the Due Process Clause.

The LHWCA extends benefits to a vast and varied
group of American workers. In addition to Longshore-
men and shipyard workers, the Act, through its exten-
sions, applies, inter alia, to the members of the peacekeeping
force in the Sinai desert, to civilian employees of defense
contractors working abroad, to most of the workers drill-
ing for oil and gas on the outer continental shelf, to
commissary and club employees on all United States

2. Kalaris v. Donovan, 697 F.2d 376, at 388, n.45; at 391, n.60;
at 397, n.87 (D.C. Cir. 1983).

4

military bases, and to the workers of the District of
Columbia.’ The financial impact of the LHWCA is like-
wise significant. For example, a 23 year-old offshore
worker earning $1,000 per week, if totally and perma-
nently disabled, would receive more than $7,291,795
if he lived to his projected life expectancy.‘ If his wife
(same age) survived his death and lived her normal life
expectancy, she could receive an additional $1,878,318
in compensation benefits alone.” The LHWCA would
also provide the injured worker with medical treatment
for life,’ and an allowance for funeral benefits would
be paid upon his death.’ The value of the claims that
could be filed by this one offshore worker approaches
$10 million. With hundreds of thousands of employees
covered by the LHWCA, the impact of biased decisions
from the Benefits Review Board can readily be seen.

At oral argument, Judge Wald questioned the govern-
ment’s counsel regarding the government’s position. Specifi-
cally, she asked whether the Secretary could remove Board
members following rendition of a decision the Secretary
considered unacceptable. The government’s attorney re-
sponded that the Secretary would have that power. Judge
Wald then asked if the Secretary could direct Board
members to reach a certain result prior to hearing a case.
Again the government’s attorney indicated that the Secre-
tary should have this power. The opinion of the court
below leaves no doubt that the Secretary, by utilizing the

Id.

33 U.S.C. § 908(c) (21), § 910(f).
Id., § 909(b), § 910(f).

Id., § 907.

Id., § 909(a).

~O wesw

5

power to remove, has the direct power to influence the
decisions of the Benefits Review Board.” Thus, the Bene-
fits Review Board, as viewed by the court below, has no
independence, but is simply an extension of the Secretary.
In reaching this conclusion, the court specifically did not
decide the due process problem that would arise from
claims of unfairness made by parties litigating before
the Board.°

Amici curiae, on the other hand, are directly affected,
as are their clients, by the potential unfairness in such a
situation.

The Secretary of Labor, through his delegatee, the
Director, OWCP, has the right by statute and by regula-
tion to participate in proceedings before the Benefits
Review Board.’° As a result of the court below’s decision,
the Secretary also has the right to control the outcome of
decisions of the Board. The bias in this arrangement is
patent and obvious. The situation created by these results
should not be allowed to stand. It is more egregious than
the system which the Ninth Circuit found denied due
process in United Farm Workers of America, AFL-CIO
v. Arizona Agricultural Employment Relations Board,
696 F.2d 1216 (9th Cir. 1983).

The Arizona Agricultural Employment Relations Board
(AERB)" was composed of members appointed by the

8. “(W]e find that Congress did not intend to make the Board
independent of the Secretary [of Labor].” Kalaris v. Donovan, 697
F.2d 376, 381; 391, n.60 (D.C. Cir. 1983).

9. Id. at 399, “The removed members have not raised and could
not raise due process allegations here because they cannot be subject
to potential unfairness in adjudication the process protects against.”
n.91.

10. E.g., 20 C.F.R. § 702.147(b).

11. Ariz. Rev. Stat. ANN. §§ 23-1386 to 23-1391 (Supp. 1981).

6

governor. The state act specified that two members would
be appointed as representatives. of employers, two would
represent unions, and three would represent the general
public. The United Farm Workers contended the com-
position of the AERB was unconstitutional in that having
employer representatives on the AERB would make them
biased against the United Farm Workers and deprive it of
an impartial tribunal in any cases it might bring to the
board. The Ninth Circuit held the state act unconstitu-
tional on its face “because we conclude that the act’s
requirement that the AERB contain members who repre-
sent labor and employer interests deprives parties of the
impartiality required of the due process clause.”’* Relying
on Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510 (1927), the court con-
cluded:

“{T]hat unconstitutional bias exists whenever favor-
itism or animosity toward a party, or purely personal
interests of the decision maker, might tempt the de-
cision maker to decide on the basis of his feelings
toward a party or his purely personal interests.”
(Footnote omitted). (Emphasis supplied).

The scheme struck down by the Ninth Circuit involved
a board composed of a variety of interests, any one of
which might have been biased. The composition of the
Benefits Review Board, as interpreted by the court below,
is far more invidious in its potential for abuse. In the
scheme resulting from the decision below, not only is the
Secretary permitted to retain his role as an advocate
before the Board, but he is freely allowed to dictate the

12. 696 F.2d at 1219.
13. Jd. at 1220,

7

decision of the Board, regardless of its impact on other
parties.

This Court has frequently interpreted the 1972 Amend-
ments to the LHWCA." In those cases, it has permitted
the Director, OWCP, to participate in the arguments of
the cases before it.’° In some instances, the Director
directly opposed the result reached by the Board, and in
other circumstances the Director supported the Board’s
decisions.’ This clearly demonstrates that the interests
of the Director have not in the past been synonymous
with the decisions of the Board. However, should the
decision reached below stand, these interests would be-
come synonymous, as Board members would have the
“sword of Damocles”’ hanging over their head should
they decide cases contrary to the position set out by the
Director and adopted by the Secretary.

The Court of Appeals overlooked its own carefully
drawn distinction concerning impartiality for rulemaking
purposes and impartiality for adjudicatory purposes cre-
ated in Association of National Advertisers v. FTC."*

14. E.g., Director, OWCP v. Perini N. River Assocs., US.
ee S.Ct. 634 (1983); United States Industries v. Director,
OwcP, 455 U.S. 608, 102 S.Ct. 1312 (1982); Potomac Elec. Power
Co. v. Director, OWCP, 449 U.S. 268 (1980); P. C. Pfeiffer Co. v.
Ford, 444 US. 69 (1979) ; Director, OWCP v. Rasmussen, 440 US.
29 (1979); Northeast Marine Terminal Co. v. Caputo, 432 US.
249 (1977).

15. Id.
16. Id.

17. Wiener v, United States, 357 U.S. 349, 356 (1958). See also
K. Davis, Administrative Law of the Seventies (1976), § 1.09
at 13-14.

18. 201 U.S. App. D.C, 165, 627 F.2d 1151 (1979), cert. denied,
447 US, 921 (1980).

8

There is no dispute that the Benefits Review Board is
purely an adjudicatory body. The court below also ig-
nored its holding in Cinderella Career and Finishing
Schools v. FTC’® in which it held that the test for dis-
qualification in an adjudicatory proceeding was:

“Whether a disinterested observer may conclude that
{the agency] had in some measure adjudged the facts
as well as the law of a particular case in advance of
hearing it.”*”

Such advance judgment of the facts and laws by the
judges of the Benefits Review Board, as mandated by
the Court below, is precisely the situation created by
the Court of Appeals decision. Amici curiae stand be-
fore the Court to represent those parties who will par-
ticipate in claims before the Benefits Review Board and
who will not have an impartial tribunal to adjudicate
their disputes.

The fundamental principle of the decision below is that
the Secretary of Labor can dictate the results of cases
to be decided by the Benefits Review Board. This is con-
stitutionally impermissible, and the decision below ad-
versely affects the rights of the litigants before the Board
to an impartial hearing and to the due process of law
afforded by the Constitution of the United States.”

19. 138 U.S. App. D.C. 152, 425 F.2d 583 (1970).

20. United Farm Workers of America, AFL-CIO v. Ariz. Agr.
Empl. Rel. Bd., 696 F.2d 1216, 1221 (9th Cir. 1983).

21. United States Constitution, 5th Amendment.

9

Il.

The LHWCA As Construed Violates The
Due Process Clause.

This Court discussed due process requirements in en-
forcing a federal statute in Marshall v. Jerrico, Inc., 446
U.S. 238 (198°. Writing for an unanimous court, Justice
Marshal! concluded:

“The due process clause entitles a person to an
impartial and disinterested tribunal in both civil
and criminal cases. The requirement of neutrality in
adjudicative proceedings safeguards the two central
concerns of procedural due process, the prevention
of unjustified or mistaken deprivations and that pro-
motion of participation affected individuals in the
decision-making process. [Cit. omitted] The neutral-
ity requirement helps to guarantee that life, liberty,
or property will not be taken on the basis of an
erroneous or distorted conception of the facts or the
law. [Cit. omitted] At the same time, it preserves
both the appearance and reality of fairness, ‘gener-
ating the feeling, so important to a popular govern-
ment, that justice has been done.’ Joint Anti-Fascist
Committee v. McGrath, 341 U.S. 123 (1951)
(Frankfurter, J., concurring), by insuring that no
person will be deprived of his interests in the
absence of a proceeding in which he may present
his case with assurance that the arbiter is not pre-
disposed to find against him. The requirement of
neutrality has been jealously guarded by this
Court.”** (Emphasis supplied. )

The interpretation of the Act given by the court below
creates an impermissible and biased situation in the ad-
ministration of the Act. The Act gives the Secretary,

22. 446 US. at 242.

10

who has delegated the authority to the Director, Office
of Workers’ Compensation Programs, the right to partici-
pate in proceedings before the Board. This right has
been further recognized by the Courts of Appeals as an
absolute right of the Director, as the Secretary’s delegatee,
to intervene in cases that involve interpretation of the
Act, e.g., Ingalls Shipbuilding v. White, 681 F.2d 275
(Sth Cir. 1982); Shahady vy. Atlas Tile & Marble Co.,
673 F.2d 479 (D.C. Cir. 1982). This Court has fre-
quently discussed the status of the Director as a proper
party in litigation. Most recently this issue was addressed
in Director, OWCP v. Perini North River Assocs. (here-
after “Churchill” ).*°

III.

The LHWCA As Construed Violates The
Separation of Powers Doctrine.

In Churchill the Court discussed situations in which
the Director, OWCP, and the Benefits Review Board took
differing views of important questions involving interpre-
tation of the LHWCA.”* The recognition of such dif-
fering views is strong evidence that this Court considers
the Board independent of the Director. If, as the
court below suggests, the Benefits Review Board is
nothing but an extension of the Secretary, this Court
and other appellate courts could not become involved
in deciding disputes between the Director and the
Benefits Review Board, for to do so would be to in-
volved in deciding disputes between the Director and
the Benefits Review Board for to do so would be to in-
ject the judicial system into the midst of an administra-

23. USS. , 103 S.Ct. 634 (1983).
24. Id., at 640, n.11.

11

tive squabble among officers of the same cabinet de-
partment. The fact that this Court’s opinion in Churchill
was published eight days after the court below’s decision
may be viewed as effectively vitiating the interpretation
of the relationship of the Benefits Review Board to the
Secretary of Labor contained in that decision. The
court below’s position would place the Secretary not only as
a participant in litigation through the Director, OWCP’s
office, but would also allow him to be the judge of his own
issues by directly influencing the decisions of the Board.
The party litigants—the injured workers, their em-
ployers and insurers, the parties whose financial (i.e.
property) rights are at issue—would be mere spectators
to Board actions and would have the results dictated
without any independent adjudication of the issues in
their various cases.

If such a situation existed, there would be no standing
for the Director to appeal decisions of the Board he
considered adverse, nor would any justiciable controversy
be presented to any court for resolution. One office
inside the Department of Labor would simply be dis-
agreeing with another office inside the Department of
Labor, all under the control of the Secretary. This
cannot be the result Congress intended. Nor, as one
surveys the cases which have developed under the
amended statute, can one conceive such results were
contemplated or considered by any of the courts which
have faced the issue squarely. However, that result is the
only outcome if the decision below is permitted to stand.

The decision below has prompted a series of lawsuits
by parties involved in LHWCA litigation.”* These suits

25. Hudson v. Donovan, No. G-83-31, S.D. Texas, Galveston
Div’n; Church v. Donovan, Civil No. H-83-70, D. Conn.; Silliman
v. Donovan, No. C-830991RPA, N.D. Cal.

12

challenge the attempted removal of the appellants on
grounds that such action violates the due process rights
of party litigants who appear before the Benefits Review
Board. By granting the writ in this case, the Court could
effectively terminate additional litigation on this point
and could conclusively establish the rights of party liti-
gants to a fair and unbiased hearing before the Benefits
Review Board. More importantly, if litigants lose con-
fidence in the impartiality of the Benefits Review Board,
appeals of its decisions to the overloaded Courts of
Appeals and to this Court will inevitably increase.

IV.

The Decision Below Conflicts With The LHWCA
And Decisions Of Other Circuit Courts
Construing That Statute.

In legal proceedings, the Benefits Review Board has been
treated as a separate entity from the Secretary of Labor.**
The Secretary, acting through the Director, OWCP, has par-
ticipated in proceedings before the Board advocating the
views of the Secretary. On several occasions the Director,
dissatisfied with the decision of the Board, has petitioned
for review in the Circuit Courts of Appeals.*” In some cir-
cuits the Director has been given automatic standing to
participate in appeals from decisions of the Benefits Re-
view Board. Viz., Ingalls v. White, 681 F.2d 275 (Sth
Cir. 1982); Shahady v. Atlas Tile & Marble Co., 673 F.
2d 479 (D.C. Cir. 1982); Director, OWCP v. Eastern

26. See notes 13-15, supra.

27. Eyg., Ingalls v. White, 681 F.2d 275 (Sth Cir. 1982); Shahady
v. Atlas Tile & Marble Co., 673 F.2d 479 (D.C. Cir. 1982).

13

Coal Corp., 561 F.2d 632 (6th Cir. 1977); Underhill v.
Peabody Coal Co., 637 F.2d 217 (7th Cir. 1982).

In Director, OWCP v. Rasmussen, 440 U.S. 29 (1979),
the Director disagreed with the Benefits Review Board’s
position that death benefits were not subject to maximum
compensation limits contained in the Act. The Court of
Appeals and this Court agreed with the Benefits Review
Board, rejecting the arguments of the Director.

The court below views the Board as not independent
of the Secretary. However, this Court in U. S. Indus-
tries v. Director, OWCP, U.S , 102 S.Ct. 1312
(1982), Rasmussen, supra, and most recently in Churchill
has viewed the Board as independent of the Secretary
and of the Director.

The District of Columbia Circuit now clearly conflicts
with the view of the Ninth Circuit, which has held;
“neither the Secretary of Labor nor the OWCP can dic-
tate to the Benefits Review Board the manner in which
the [Act] should be interpreted . . . nor [can the Sevretary
determine] the outcome of [the claims] process.” Boating
Industries Association v. Marshall, 601 F.2d 1376, 1382
(9th Cir. 1979). Such a result is strengthened by refer-
ence to the terms of the statute itself. Section 921(b) (4)
states that:

the Board may, on its own Motion or at the request
of the Secretary, remand a case to the hearing ex-
aminers for further appropriate action. The consent
of the parties in interest shall not be a prerequisite
to a remand by the Board. (Emphasis supplied. )**

28. 33 U.S.C. § 921(b)(4) (1976 and Supp. V. 1981).

14

The court below acknowledged that this section was ger-
mane to determining “whether the Board is free from sub-
stantive agency oversight or review.”*’ However, the court
below was concerned with the Article III vel non status
of the Benefits Review Board judges and not with the due
process rights of party litigants.*°

CONCLUSION

To permit the Secretary of Labor to remove a majority
of the Benefits Review Board without cause and without
a hearing is to permit the Secretary to directly influence
the Board and its decision making process. Such a move,
which is not countenanced by the statute, directly in-
terferes with the rights of party litigants to a fair and
impartial adjudication of their disputes by the Benefits
Review Board. The sword of Damocles hangs over the
head of Board members and, as the court below indicated,
will render them totally susceptible to the direction of the
Secretary. Thus party litigants are left to appeal to a
kangaroo court, one in which the Secretary not only
appoints the judges, but participates as a party in interest
and then dictates the results. This is hardly justice and
certainly not the due process to which party litigants are
entitled.

29. Kalaris v. Donovan, 697 F.2d 376, 388, n.45 (D.C. Cir.
1983).

30. /d., 697 F.2d at 399, n.91.

15

WHEREFORE, PREMISES CONSIDERED, amici
curiae respectfully request the Court to grant the Petition
to the Court of Appeals, to reverse its judgment, and then
affirm the judgment of the District Court.

Respectfully submitted,

Tuomas C. FiTzHuGuH, III

815 Walker Avenue

1600 Mellie Esperson Building
Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 223-1415

STEPHEN M. VAUGHAN

21st Floor, 806 Main Building
Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 228-1521

Amici Curiae

May, 1983

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_0787%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
