# Opposition — Brodie v. Board of Medical Examiners

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_0774%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 462 U.S. 1107

## Text

82 e] S73 [ ov: a precne Cou
, iL b

MAY 12 198

|
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United Staton — er

Ocroser Term, 1982

MARVIN BRODIE, M.D., et al.,
Petitioners,

v.

BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS FOR THE
STATE OF NEW JERSEY,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

BRIEF OPPOSING PETITION FOR CERTIORARI ON
BEHALF OF RESPONDENT NEW JERSEY STATE
BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS

Inwoy I. KimmMe Man,
Attorney General of New Jersey,
Attorney for Respondent New Jersey
State Board of Medical Examiners,
Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex
CN 112,
Trenton, New Jersey 08625.
(201) 648-2436

James J. CIANCIA,
Assistant Attorney General,
Of Counsel.

Bertram P. Gotz, Jr.,
Deputy Attorney General,
n the Brief.

Adams Press Corp, 50 Park Place, Newark, New Jersey 07102—(201) 625-8611

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SORES CH DTIIOIITIII vocscticecctsensceccactitncsniacaaseneninaaananainn il
COUNTER-STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..c..ccccccccccsesseccccccccceee 1
ARGUMENT:

Point I—As the Court of Appeals found, the
Board of Medical Examiners rule forbidding
radiologists from discriminating against re-
ferrals from chiropractors does not violate the
Fourteenth Amendment in that it is supported
by the rational basis of assuring the avail-
ability of expert radiological services to all
patients needing it, and therefore certiorari
WOU BO GOUAIG cccecccccedeteeneion 4)

Point Il—The Court of Appeals properly
found both that “symbolic speech,” and there-
fore the First Amendment, are not involved
because the petitioners, upon receiving re-
ferrals from chiropractors, intended to do,
literally, nothing, and that, in any event, the
State and its agency are empowered to regu-
late activity which is conduct, and therefore
certiorari should be denied 20... ceseteeseeeeees 15

CRUORIIIIIET cccnnininnienctitinssiariatenttonadienmnaadlaaene 21

ii TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE
Table of Authorities
Cases Cited
Brodie v. N. J. Bd. of Medical Mxaminers, 177 N. J.
Super. 523 (App. Div. 1981), certif. den, S7.N. J.
I I oi atc saneaivietiptaebeneinensieneomnoesabaiennl 2, 4, 5, 12
Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S.
402, 91 S.Ct. 814, 28 L.d.2d 136 (1971) oe. 3
Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S. 190, 97 S.Ct. 451, 50 L.led,
BE eID ioisicniitsasassvnisiennineinntinssetaienivcetennitesdenteniehibin 11
Giboney v. Empire Storage & lee Co, 556 U.S, 490,
69 S.Ct. 684, 93 LATA. S84 (1949) ccc ccccccseecessseeseen 1s
Hamilton v. University of California, 293 U.S, 245,
55 S.Ct. 197, 79 L.Ed. 343 (1934) ee eeeceeeeeeees 14
Massachusetts Bd. of Retirement v. Murgia, 427 U.S.
307, 96 S.Ct. 2562, 49 L.Ed. 2d 520 (1976) ou... 10
McGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S, 420, SL S.Ct. 1101,
ieee Oe Pe CRIED. prcttitesnsinrcscocnsnnsiionevoiesvensecrcensitvtcins 10
Minnesota v. Clover Leaf Creamery Co., 449 U.S.
456, 101 S.Ct. 715, 66 L.ed.2d 659 (19ST) 2. 10, 13
NAACP y. Claiborne Hardware Co,, —— U.S, ——,
103 S.Ct. 3409, 73 L.Ed.2d 1215 (1982) ...............cce000 18,19
Ohralik v. Ohio State Bar Ass'n, 406 U.S. 447, 98
S.Ct. 1912, 56 L.ed.2d 444 (1978) ....0.. eae 18
Spence v. Washington, 418 U.S. 405, 94 S.Ct. 2727,
Be Re CURIE RIOD ccctescnvscessensnsitncnicvcncsiessinincccsnentiionint 16,17

Tinker v. Des Moines Independent Community
School District, 393 U.S. 503, 89 S.Ct. 733, 21
RII UIIED socirccsitsnicodedhsiinbvnntetesnsntriceiiietaciasmetinadas 17

United States v. Carolene Products Co., 304 U.S. 144,
58 S.Ct. 778, 82 L.Ed. 1234 (1938) .............cccccersseeee 13

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES iii

PAGE
United States v. Morgan, 313 U.S. 409, 61 S.Ct. 999,
GP MGR ROUNOY CRIED | ccvecccnccccinschasiemanicbcuiebcaienainesabenss 13
United States v. O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367, 88 S.Ct.
Ey ee Maen Ge EROS csr accemeitsececensinn 16

United States ex rel, Radich v. Criminal Court of
New York, 385 F.Supp. 165 (S.D.N.Y. 1974) 0... 18

Williams vy. Illinois, 399 U.S. 235, 90 S.Ct. 2018,

De RAPS BOO CEG OD ciccrmiiccecneciatpiraincnie 13
Williamson vy. Lee Optical of Oklahoma, 348 U.S.

483, 75 S.Ct. 461, 99 L.Ed. 563 (1954) .............cceeeee 10
Woods v. Holy Cross Hospital, 591 F.2d 1164 (Sth

RIN I adoskcroccecaccusnceicsrarmmcianaaiaeeaendaccuadimaleardamaadgain 1]

United States Constitution Cited

First Amendment ....000.00...0..-+.. sshaadecovinindecnciamaoiiany eae

TITOUOIRTES FATUNOIOI oii veces ccctccnssvenssaccotncgniocbumarssvec 9,10, 16

Statutes Cited

N.JS.A. 1035-1 et seq. (New Jersey Law Against

PON INI oii ia cas ca ccthdabecaemadentnscendeeeecctncaea teres 1]
N.S.A. 52:14B-1, et seq. (New Jersey Administra-

Ce: FID RED oa iinsvcmasenccsecniescctincoenieccoeeresnens 13
De eee a A COC) cers snes esediascpeintnanareceiaiousinteeons 13
42 ULS.C.A. (Civil Rights Act of 1964):

Sec. 1981, et seq. ..... sited geeatmemerendauionsnesder ous 1]

Regulation Cited
NJ.A.C. 13:35-G.18 occ ee res mE 1,2, 11

iv TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE
Other Authorities Cited
Fuchs, “Further Steps Toward a General Theory of
Freedom of Expression,” 18 Win. & Mary L. Rev.
(1976):
Ey POET. cccuahenvédncenmpinciionsintacciinetineaemgeainnied 19
Nimmer, “The Meaning of Syimbolie Speech Under
the First Amendment,” 21 U.C.LAA, L. Rev. (1973):
| GP sess iceradaesvsssaasaecrnsenso coe eeseieniand aaa secs erin eneemanase 17
“Symbolic Conduct,” 68 Colum. L. Rey. (1968):
Ng” BEET |. cocsdeseesecensusennegneceatinenteannansahinenkcomasceincalnn 17

“Symbolie Speech and Compelled IXxpression: Wool-
ly v. Maynard,” 1977 Utah L. Rev. (1977):

NS re ae Ee ee 17

NO.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser ‘Term, 1982

MARVIN BRODIE, M.D., e¢ al.,

Petitioners,
Vv.

BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS FOR THE
STATE OF NEW JERSEY,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

»s
a

——

BRIEF OPPOSING PETITION FOR CERTIORARI ON
BEHALF OF RESPONDENT NEW JERSEY STATE
BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS

Counter-Statement of the Case

This case has come to this Court only after the peti-
tioners have been rebuffed, twice in State court and twice
in federal court, in their attack upon a rule of the New
Jersey State Board of Medical Examiners, N.J.A.C. 13 :35-

6.18, which requires physicians specializing in radiology to
provide diagnostic radiological services to chiropractic
physicians without discrimination on the basis of license
classification.* Though the petitioners have mentioned in
their petition for certiorari the adverse decisions of the
United States District Court for the District of New Jer-
sey and the United States Court of Appeals for the Third
Cireuit, they have not mentioned that the Appellate Divi-
sion of the Superior Court of New Jersey two years ago
found the rule sustained by a legitimate regulatory pur-
pose and that the Supreme Court of New Jersey subse-
quently refused further review. Brodie v. N. J. Bd. of
Medical Fxaminers, 177 N. J. Super. 528 (App. Div. 1981),
certif, den. 87 N. J. 886 (1981). For little wonder did both
federal courts thereafter find the Board rule entirely ap-
propriate under all pertinent constitutional standards. The
petitioners’ contentions are no less spurious now, and con-
sequently this Court should deny their application for
certiorari.

*In pertinent part N.J.A.C. 13:35-6.18 provides:

(b) A physician possessing a plenary license to prac-
tice medicine and surgery who provides diagnostic radio-
logical services for other physicians possessing a_ plenary
license to practice medicine and surgery shall, upon the
request of a chiropractic physician, provide diagnostic radio-
logical services to such chiropractic physician without dis-
crimination on the basis of classification of license, provided
the diagnostic radiological services rendered pertain to skeletal
areas of a body.

(c) Denial of professional diagnostic radiological ser-
vices, as set forth herein, shall constitute purposeful and
intentional discrimination and may subject the licensee to
appropriate disciplinary action by the Board of Medical
Examiners.

3

The Board determined to promulgate the rule after re-
ceiving 49 complaints from chiropractors and their patients
stating that the patients had been denied examination by
radiologists solely because they had been referred by chiro-
practors. As examples, the patient of one chiropractic
physician who suspected atelectasis—incomplete lung ex-
pansion—was kept waiting while suffering a pneumothorax
for over a half hour because the radiological group flatly
refused to take x-rays, while another chiropractic patient
in a great deal of pain referred for x-rays based upon a
history of spinal fusion was similarly refused.

As other examples, in a number of cases Medicaid or
Medicare patients were refused radiological services. In
one case the chiropractor nade a total of five unsuccessful
attempts to have x-rays taken in different hospitals, and
in another a Medicaid patient had to travel from Lone
Branch to Asbury Park to obtain x-rays after the local
radiological group had refused to accept the chiropractor’s
referral. Often Medicaid payment for x-rays requested by
a chiropractor could be had only through the circuitous
route of obtaining an added referral by a plenary physi-
cian at public expense. This matter was therefore of con-
siderable concern to the State Division of Medical Agsist-
ance and Health Services, which complained to the Board
on three separate occasions.

Although the Board initially took the position in 1976
that it would not require radiologists to accept chiroprac-
tic referrals, the problem was of such dimension that the
agency reconsidered the matter and, after an appearance
hefore it by petitioner Marvin Brodie, proposed the rule
on June 5, 1980. In response to the opportunity to submit
comments contained in its notice the Board received 276
letters from patients and 14 letters from chiropractors
favoring the rule. Only 11 letters and telegrams opposed

4

it, and only four contained anything more than conclusory
statements of opposition. Those four letters, from the
Radiological Society of New Jersey, the Medical Society
of New Jersey, the American College of Radiology and
the Morristown Radiology Associates, objected that the
rule exceeded the legal authority of the Board and asserted
that because chiropractic was based upon a different phil-
osophy of treatment the chiropractic patient would some-
how be better served by being altogether denied the
expert services of the radiologist. No examples or even
hypothetical situations in which this outeome would be
apparent were furnished. Deciding, therefore, that the
comments received did not warrant public hearing, the
soard adopted the rule on August 5, 1980.

Later that month Marvin Brodie and others filed a notice
of appeal with the Appellate Division of the Superior Court
of New Jersey, seeking injunctive relief from that court.
Upon being denied that relief they then filed a complaint
with the United States District Court, but that court too
denied a preliminary injunction while abstaining in order
that issues of State law might be decided in the State
appeal. On February 27, 1981 the Appellate Division unani-
mously affirmed the challenged rule, Brodie v. N. J. Bd. of
Medical Examiners, supra. Wolding that the Board pos-
sessed the statutory authority to adopt the regulation, 177
N. J. Super. at 530, the Appellate Division quoted at
length a March 28, 1980 letter from Dr. Edwin H. Albano,
President of the Board of Medical Examiners, to counsel
for petitioner Brodie:

[I]t is clear that a responsible chiropractor may
need expert radiology services to determine whether
chiropractic adjustment is appropriate and/or safe
for a given patient and it is an exercise of respon-
sible judgment for that chiropractor or for a podia-

5

trist to request such expert radiological procedures
before proceeding with independent patient manage-
ment. Where [radiologists] have made their serv-
ices available to all other competent physicians but
have selectively discriminated against chiropractors
and podiatrists as an entire class of limited licensees,
such conduet is found by the Board not to be in the
best interest of the people of this State.

So stating the rationale for the rule, the court found no
merit in the petitioners’ contentions that it interfered with
their right to exercise an independent professional judg-
ment or abridged any other rights. 7d, at 526. On June 3,
1981 the Supreme Court of New Jersey denied the peti-
tioners’ petition for certification.

The State litigation thus having been concluded, the
petitioners in August 1981 filed with the District Court
notices of motion to reopen the federal proceedings and to
take discovery from the Board members, seeking to have
the Board members, for example, “[ijdentify each and
every document referred to, examined, studied, read, dis-
cussed or which in any manner was connected with the
Board’s determination that the regulation should he
adopted.” With the Attorney General on behalf of the
Board moving for summary judgment, the District Judge,
Honorable H. Curtis Meanor, on February 22, 1982 de-
tailed at length his reasons for affirming the validity of
the rule. After noting that the regulation had been affirmed
by the Appellate Division and that the Supreme Court of
New Jersey had denied further review (PaB-2) and after
pointing out as well that no First Amendment nor other
fundamental right was implicated (Pab-5, 6), the judge
recognized that the appropriate standard of constitutional
review was to identify a rational basis for the rule and
said:

We had pointed out in oral argument that in some
circumstances physical conditions may exist that
would render the utilization of chiropractic adjust-
ments inadvisable and unsafe for a patient. I don’t
have exhaustive medical imagination, but in discus-
sions with Counsel we had the example of a patient
who has posterior broken ribs. . .,

If broken ribs appear, | would rather doubt that
manipulating those broken ribs and letting them fly
loose would be appropriate under the practice of
chiropractic. They could puncture a lung and cause
serious difficulty, [PaB-8]

Saying that the same conclusion would be drawn regard-
ing a possible herniated dise, Judge Meanor indicated that
such example would “serve to illustrate the type of infor-
mation that this regulation is trying to get to the chiro-
practor so the chiropractor can make his own judginent as
to whether the practice of his branch of the healing is safe
and proper under the circumstances” (PaB-8). As he
stated, “[I]t seems to me that this regulation has a legiti-
mate and rational goal” (PaB-9),

In affirming this judgment the United States Court of
Appeals pointed out that, under well-established principle,
social and economie regulation does not offend the due pro-
cess clause if the regulation is rationally related to a legi-
timate state purpose and that in this case “there is no dis-
pute that the New Jersey Board of Medical Examiners
had a legitimate purpose for promulgating the regulation
in question”—that of “insur[ing] that chiropractors have
access to information indicating whether a patient’s physi-
cal condition makes chiropractic treatment unwise or even
dangerous” (PaA-5), To survive the motion for summary
judgment, the petitioners would have had to allege some set

of facts which, taken as true, would suggest the absence of
a rational basis. The petitioners had not done so, for, even
assuming that radiologists would not be able to practice
in the manner in which they are accustomed, “{n]othing in
[their] affidavits undercuts the presumption that the regu-
lation will further the state’s interest in providing better
and safer medical care for the patients of chiropractors”
(PaA-5, 6).

With respect to the First Amendment claim, the Court
of Appeals observed that the petitioners had presented an
affidavit indicating that at least one radiologist intended
to communicate his disapproval of the chiropractic disei-
pline by refusing to accept referrals from chiropractors
(PaA-6, 7), but the court pointed out as well the proposi-
tion that a limitless variety of conduct cannot be labeled
“speech” whenever the person engaging in the conduct in-
tends to express an idea (PaA-7), Here the proposed con-
duet simply was not speech, for “there is nothing in the
record that suggests any likelihood that the actions of the
radiologists would be understood to communicate the in-
tended disapproval” (PaA-S). In any event, a government
regulation is justified if it is constitutionally authorized, if
it promotes a substantial governmental interest, if that
interest is unrelated to the suppression of free expression
and if the incidental restriction on alleged First Amend-
ment freedom is no greater than is essential to furthering
that interest (PaA-8), The court concluded:

[We are convinced that [the petitioners] could ad-
vance no evidence sufficient to warrant the invalida-
tion of the regulation, There is no question that the
Board is empowered to promulgate the regulation
and that the regulation furthers the important gov-
ernmental interest in safe health care—an interest

8

that is totally unrelated to the suppression of free
expression. And, although we find it diflieult to
believe that this regulation will have any impact
whatsoever on the right of radiologists to express
their individual or collective opinion of chiropractic,
any such impact will certainly be de minimis.

[PaA-8]

Radiologists remained free, moreover, to recommend that
patients consult with medieal doctors, to express their
views, orally or in writing, regarding any supposed evils
of chiropractic and to lobby the Board, the State Legisla-
ture or the Governor to modify or repeal the rule (PaA-8,
9). In the words of the Court of Appeals, “[{I]t would of-
fend reason to hold that this regulation is prohibited by
the first amendment” (PaA-),

A pair of State courts and a pair of federal courts have
thus determined that the petitioners’ challenge to the Board
of Medical Examiners regulation is unfounded, All of those
courts coneur that the rule is a legitimate exercise of State
authority to protect the publie welfare, Manifestly the
case offers no justification whatever for review by this
Court, and therefore the Attorney General on behalf of the
Board opposes the petition for certiorari,

ARGUMENT
POINT I

As the Court of Appeals found, the Board of Medical
Examiners rule forbidding radiologists from diserimin-
ating against referrals from chiropractors does not
violate the Fourteenth Amendment in that it is sup-
ported by the rational basis of assuring the availability
of expert radiological services to all patients needing
it, and therefore certiorari should be denied.

The insubstantiality of the petitioners’ contentions may
best be judged by the notable lack of enthusiam with which
they have been greeted by the four courts that have already
heard them. Despite the petitioners’ insistence upon at-
tacking the Board of Medical Examiners rule in forum
after forum in both the State and the federal domain, the
regulation is, self-evidently, nothing more than an entirely
conventional regulatory measure which is designed to pro-
hibit discrimination by one class of health care providers
against the patients of another and which is grounded upon
the indisputable authority of the State, here delegated to
an administrative agency, to protect the public health and
welfare. Two years ago the New Jersey courts concluded
both that the Board of Medical Examiners possessed the
legislative power to promulgate the rule and that it had
done so upon a plainly legitimate public purpose, infring-
ing upon no constitutional prerogative, while the United
States District Court and the United States Court of Ap-
peals have now concluded, similarly, that a rational basis
for the regulation exists and that no constitutional right
has been violated. As in the other tribunals, the petitioners
have presented to this Court not the slighest warrant for
the granting of certiorari, and therefore their petition in
that regard should be denied.

10

The standard which this Court has articulated for the
evaluation of allegations that State legislation violates the
Fourteenth Amendment is well-established and need be
only briefly repeated. State regulations will not be invali-
dated as violating due process “because they may be un-
wise, improvident, or out of harmony with a particular
school of thought.” Williamson v, Lee Optical of Oklahoma,
348 U.S. 483, 488, 75 S. Ct. 461, 99 L. Ed. 563 (1954).
Rather, “[i]t is enough that there is an evil at hand for
correction, and that it might be thought that the particu-
lar legislative measure was a rational way to correct it.”
Krom the equal protection standpoint, furthermore, “[t]he
constitutional safeguard is offended only if the classifica-
tion rests on grounds wholly irrelevant to the achievement
of the State’s objective. ... A statutory discrimination
will not be set aside if any state of facts reasonably may
be conceived to justify it.’ McGowan yv. Maryland, 3066
U.S, 420, 425-426, 81 S.Ct. 1101, 6 L.Ed. 2d 393 (1961). The
question is not whether the provision will actually fur-
ther a rational goal, but only whether a theoretical rela-
tionship exists between provision and purpose. Minnesota
vy. Clover Leaf Creamery Co., 449 U.S. 456, 463-464, 101
S. Ct. 715, 66 L.Ed. 2d 659 (1981).*

*This Court has departed from this deferential attitude only
with respect to the narrowest categories of classification. Strict
scrutiny will be applied “only when the classification impermissibly
interferes with the exercise of a fundamental right or operates to
the peculiar disadvantage of a suspect class.” Massachusetts Bd.
of Retirement v. Murgia, 427 U.S. 307, 96 S.Ct. 2562, 49 L.Ed.
2d 520 (1976), with fundamental rights including matters such
as voting interstate travel and uniquely private activities, 427
U.S. at 312, n. 3, and suspect classes including only race, ancestry
and alienage. /d., n. 4. Only then is a court to demand a com-

(Footnote continued on following page)

11

These principles unquestionably apply to this Board of
Medical Examiners rule. Far from constituting “misap-
plied broad dicta” (Pb10), they constitute the essence of
due process/equal protection adjudication, affording the
appropriate reconciliation of the relationship between indi-
viduals and their government, and they unerringly demon-
strate the validity of this regulation. Both on its face and
in light of the background material drawn up by the Ap-
pellate Division, the rule clearly has an underlying reason-
able basis, for it is an anti-discrimination provision, re-
quiring a radiologist to “provide diagnostic radiological
services to [a] chiropractic physician without discrimina-
tion on the basis of classification of license,” N.J.A.C. 13:
35-6.18, and in no way distinguishable from the varous fed-
eral and State statutes forbidding discrimination on the
basis of circumstances legislatively deemed irrelevant. See
e.g. Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.A. §1981 et seq.;
New Jersey Law Against Discrimination, N.J.S.A. 105-1
et seq. The provision is, then, an entirely reasonable and
appropriate regulatory measure designed to assure the
availability of radiological services to all in need of them.

However much the language of the rule may speak for
itself regarding its rational regulatory purpose, further il-
lumination has been provided by the Appellate Division.
That court quoted in its entirety a March 28, 1980 letter
from Dr. Edwin H, Albano, President of the Board of

(Footnote continued from preceding page)

pelling reason for a classification, and a “fair and substantia! re-
lationship” with a legitimate State end is demanded only regard-
ing a gender-based classification. Craig v. Boren; 429 U.S. 190,
197, 97 S.Ct. 451, 50 LuEd, 2d 397 (1976). The pursuit of a
medical practice does not involve a fundamental right. Ioods
v. Holy Cross Hospital, 591 F.2d 1164, 1173 n. 16 (5th Cir.
1979).

12

Medical Exminers, to counsel for Marvin Brodie, a plain-
tiff in the State litigation, Brodie v. N. J. Board of Medi-
cal Examiners, supra, 177 N. J. Super. at 527-528, and a
petitioner in this Court. Observing that “a responsible
chiropractor may need expert radiology services to deter-
mine whether chiropractic adjustment is appropriate and/
or safe for a given patient” and that it is “an exercise of
responsible judgment for that chiropractor . .. to request
such expert radiological procedures before proceeding with
independent patient management,” Dr, Albano stated the
Board finding that such selective discrimination is “not...
in the best interest of the people of this State.” /d. at 528.
No more definitive statement of a rational purpose for a
legislative provision can be imagined, and it is thus not
surprising that both the District Court and the Court of
Appeals thereafter swiftly concurred by rejecting the peti-
tioners’ claim.

Only brief response is needed concerning the petitioners’
other contentions. They hypothesize that the Court of Ap-
peals has somehow “confus{ed]” the standards pertaining
to due process and equal protection challenges (Pb12), yet
that court made no such error. As the Ninth Circuit has
observed:

When conduct, either by virtue of its inadequate
foundation in the continuing traditions of our so-
ciety or for some other reason, such as lack of con-
nection with interests recognized as private and pro-
tected, is subject to some government regulation, then
analysis under the substantive due process clause
proceeds in much the same way as analysis under
the lowest tier of equal protection scrutiny. A ra-
tional relation to a legitimate government interest
will normally suffice to uphold the regulation, [Bel-
ler y. Middendorf, 632 F. 2d 788, S08 (9th Cir. 1980),

13

cert, den. sub nom. Beller vy. Lehman, 452 U.S. 905,
101 S. Ct. 3030, 69 L.led, 2d 405 (1981) }

It is only when the government seriously intrudes into
matters lying at the core of interests deserving due pro-
cess protection that strict scrutiny will be utilized. Jbid.
See Wiiliams vy. Illinois, 399 U.S. 235, 90 S.Ct. 2018, 26
L.Ed. 2d 586 (1970) (Harlan, J., concurring). Here, as
noted, the “interest” which these petitioners assert is in no
respect connected with any fundamental right and is there-
fore subject to any reasonable governmental control.

This most minimal of review standards most assuredly
does not authorize the sort of plenary trial which the peti-
tioners have always desired in this case. Such procedure
would be blatantly contradictory of the rational basis test,
given that proofs are to be allowed only when the exist-
ence of a rational purpose for the legislation is genuinely
in doubt; when, as here, there is no doubt whatever in this
regard, judgment validating the enactment must be granted
without more, Minnesota vy. Clover Leaf Creamery Co.,
supra; United States vy. Carolene Products Co., 304 U.S.
144, 153-154, 58 S.Ct. 778, 82 L.Ed. 1234 (1938). It would
be contradictory as well of the proposition that an admin-
istrative agency head may not be subjected to intensive
inquiry concerning the reasoning underlying a particular
decision whose rationale is evident from its language and
circumstantial context. United States v. Morgan, 313 U.S.
409, 422, 61 S.Ct. 999, 85 L.Ed. 1429 (1941); Citizens to
Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402, 91 S.Ct. 814,
298 L.Ed. 2d 136 (1971). Finally, it would ignore the fact
that under the New Jersey Administrative Procedure Act,
N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq., agency rulemaking of a non-emer-
gent character may proceed only after all interested per-
sons are afforded the reasonable opportunity for submit-
ting comments, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-4(a), an opportunity which

14

was provided here. Consequently, however much the peti-
tioners may wish to conduct an inquisition of the members
of the Board of Medical Examiners, both before and dur-
ing trial, the District Court and the Court of Appeals cor-
rectly concluded that their demand was wholly improper."

The agency regulation at issue in this case is indistin-
szuishable from the vast number of rules promulgated by a
multitude of administrative agencies in every state across

* The petitioners cannot escape this conclusion by seeking to
erect a distinction between a legislative requirement adopted by
the Legislature itself and a requirement adopted by one of the
Legislature’s designated administrative agencies. As this Court has
said:

It of course rests with each state to determine in what
form and by what agencies its legislative power may be
exerted. It may legislate little or much in its constitu-
tion, may permit the electorate to make laws by direct
vote, may entrust its legislature with wide law-making
functions and may delegate legislative authority to sub-
ordinate agencies, such as municipal councils and state com-
missions. [King Mfg. Co. v. Augusta, 277 U.S. 100, 103,
58 S.Ct. 489, 72 L.Ed. 801 (1928) ].

For purposes of federal judicial review, the concept “statute”
includes “every act legislative in character to which the State gives
sanction, no distinction being made between acts of the State Legis-
lature and other exertions of the state law-making power.” Hamil-
ton v. University of California, 293 U.S. 245, 258, 55 S.Ct. 197,
79 L.Ed. 343 (1934).

Again, however, the overriding point is that the Board of Medi-
cal Examiners rule is a self-evidently rational and legitimate pro-
vision designed to protect the public welfare. As four courts
have already found, its very language, not to mention the back-
ground information provided by the letter of Board President
Albano, demonstrates its purpose of making available radiological
services to patients who previously had been denied access to
them. No factual probing through discovery or trial could pos-
sibly undercut this rational basis.

15

the nation. All of them are designed, in one way or other,
to promote the publie good, All of them cause discomfort
to some private interest. None of them is invalid on that
account. Having had their due in both State and federal
court, the petitioners have shown not the slightest justifica-
tion for further consideration by this Court, and therefore
their petition for certiorari should be denied.

POINT II

The Court of Appeals properly found both that
“symbolic speech,” and therefore the First Amend-
ment, are not involved because the petitioners, upon
receiving referrals from chiropractors, intended to do,
literally, nothing, and that, in any event, the State and
its agency are empowered to regulate activity which
is conduct, and therefore certiorari should be denied.

If one were to entertain even the possibility of the peti-
tioners having set forth a cognizable cause of action, the
thought would be immediately dispelled by their singular
proposal that non-compliance with the Board of Medical
Examiners rule forbidding discrimination against chiro-
practic referrals constitutes “symbolic speech” which must
be shielded by the full panoply of First Amendment pro-
tections.* Notwithstanding that the regulation is in all re-
spects an entirely rational means of assuring the avail-
ability of radiological services and notwithstanding that a
federal court is not to interfere with the operation of such

* Although the petitioners have mentioned their First Amend-
ment argument in this Court as well as in the Court of Appeals
and the District Court, it may be pointed out that both their
original complaint and their amended complaint are bereft of any
such allegation.

16

a reasonably-based legislative measure, see Point I, supra,
the petitioners argue in essence that any and all individ-
uals subject to any sort of governmental regulation in the
public interest may avoid the regulatory requirements
through the verbal sleight of hand of sticking a Tirst
Amendment label upon their refusal to conform to the law.
Any physician not comprehending the wisdom of Food &
Drug Administration limitations on the use of unauthor-
ized drugs may dispense the substances, or at least have a
federal court serutinize closely the focus of the federal
agency rulemaking, because doing so constitutes his way of
“symbolically” expressing his own perception of proper
medical practice, Any owner of a public accommodation
operating in interstate commerce may circumvent the statu.
tory prohibition of racial discrimination because his ex-
clusion of particular persons is his “symbolic” way of ex-
pressing dissatisfaction with prevailing social values, The
proposition is absurd,

This Court has long recognized the obvious and neces-
sary distinction between speech, which is protected by the
First Amendment, and conduet, which is not, As this Court
has said, “We cannot accept the view that an apparently
limitless variety of conduct can be labeled ‘speech’ when-
ever the person engaging in the conduct intends thereby
to express an idea.” United States y, O'Brien, 391 US.
367, 376, 88 S.Ct. 1673, 20 L.d, 2d 672 (1968), Conse-
quently, in every instance in which the contention is
pressed the critical threshold question must be confronted
— ‘whether [the litigant’s] activity was sufliciently imbued
with elements of communication to fall within the scope
of the First and Fourteenth Amendments... .” Spence vy.
Washington, 418 U.S, 405, 409, 94 S.Ct. 2727, 41 Ld 2d
842 (1974). As one federal court has observed, in order
for conduct to be a surrogate of speech it must have char-
acteristics which readily identify it as such:

17

lirst, the conduct should be assertive in nature,
This will generally mean that the conduct is a de-
parture from the actor’s normal activity and cannot
adequately be explained unless a desire to communi-
cate is presumed. Second, the actor must have rea-
son to expect that his audience will recognize his
conduct as communication, .... [United States ex rel,
Radich y. Criminal Court of New York, 385 F.Supp.
165, 173 n, 33 (S.D.N.Y. 1974) ]

The Radich court quoted “Symbolic Conduct,” 68 Colum.
L. Rev, 1091, 1117 (1968), and other commentators have
also pointed out the wholly conventional proposition in-
volved, “Symbolic Speech and Compelled Expression:
Wooley v. Maynard,” 1977 Utah L, Rev, 797, 799 (1977) ;
Nimmer, “The Meaning of Symbolic Speech Under the
First Amendment,” 21 U.C.L.A. DL. Rev, 29, 36 (1973).

Plainly, the conduct in which these petitioners intend
to engage is not speech, symbolic or otherwise, As the
Court of Appeals found, “[T]here is nothing in the reeord
that suggests any likelihood that the actions of the radiolo-
gists would be understood to communicate the intended
disapproval” (PaA-S), They do not intend to aflix a peace
symbol to an American flag hanging outside an apartment
window shortly after a military invasion, Spence v, Wash-
ington, supra, and they do not intend to wear black arm
bands, an extraordinary mode of dress obviously designed
to he protest. Tinker y. Des Moines Independent Com-
munity School District, 393 U.S, 508, 89 8.Ct. 733, 21 L.Ed.
9d 731 (1969). Instead, they propose to do, literally, noth-
ing, for they will simply not aecept referrals from chiro-
practors supposedly to express their belief that the radio-
logical and medical professions and the government should
not condone or support chiropractic, They have no “reason
to expect that [their] audience will recognize [their] con-

1s

duct as communication.” United States ex rel. Radich vy.
Criminal Court of New York, supra. Vhose not participat-
ing in this non-transaction, if noticing at all, will merely
shrug; those turned away will be justifiably annoyed and
angry. The publie policy favoring freedom of expression
will not be advanced even slightly.

The First Amendment is not to be used to erase all gov-
ernment power to regulate in the interest of the public
health, safety and welfare, ven if “speech” be assumed to
he somehow involved in a particular case, “it has never
heen deemed an abridgment of freedom of speech or press
to make a course of conduet illegal merely because the eon-
duet was in part initiated, evidenced, or carried out by
means of language, either spoken, written, or printed,”
Ohralik vy. Ohio State Bar Ass'n, 436 US, 447, 456, 98 S.Ct.
1912, 56 Led. 2d 444 (1978), quoting Giboney v. Empire
Storage & Ice Co, 336 US, 490, 502, 69 S.Ct, 684, 99 Led,
834 (1949). It is one matter, certainly, if the governmental
regulation is directed against speech as such, but it is quite
another matter when the legislative measure is foeused
upon activities legitimately considered contrary to the pub-
lie good, As this Court said in the Giboney case concern-
ing an injunction against labor picketing, “It rarely has
heen suggested that the constitutional freedom for speech
and press extends its immunity to speech or writing used
as an integral part of conduct in violation of a valid erimi-
nal statute, We reject the contention now.” 336 U.S, at
498,*

* Although cited by the petitioners (Pb17), NAACP vy. Clai-
horne Hardware Co., ———- U.S, ———, 103 S.Ct. 3409, 73 L.Ed,
24 1215 (1982), hardly supports their contention, ‘There this
Court, while’ concluding that liability could not be imposed upon
participants in a generally non-violent and politically motivated

(Footnote continued on following page)

19

Both the District Court and the Court of Appeals under-
stood that whenever a litigant asserts a supposed right of
free expression in defense to some governmental restraint
upon his conduct, the reviewing court must consider the
claim upon a number of criteria. It must first evaluate the
contention upon the recognition that most human conduct
does not constitute “symbolic speech,” but is conduct pure
and simple and may he controlled under the police power.
The court must recognize further that, even assuming free
expression to be somehow involved, the boundaries of the
right to express oneself freely are delineated by the rights
of others not to be intruded upon and, of particular im-
portance to the present case, to enjoy the benefits afforded
them by legitimate governmental regulation. See gener-
ally, Fuchs, “Further Steps Toward a General Theory of
Freedom of expression,” 18 Wm. & Mary L. Rev. 347, 375-
377 (1976).

The Board of Medical Examiners rule in question here
plainly is an example of such legitimate governmental regu-
lation, It deals solely with conduct—the petitioners’ re-
fusal to offer their services to patients who have sinned

(Footnote continued from preceding page)

boycott, recognized nonetheless “the strong governmental interest
in certain forms of economic regulation, even though such regu-
lation may have an incidental effect on rights of speech and asso-
ciation.” 73 L.Ed. 2d at 1235. Unlike earlier cases in which the
First Amendment had not protected concerted efforts to control
the marketplace, the Claiborne Hardware petitioners had been seek-
ing to vindicate rights secured by the Fourteenth Amendment,
“not to destroy legitimate competition” in the face of government
attempts to preserve it. The decision thus restricts not at all the
legitimate power of government to enact a provision such as
the Board of Medical Examiners rule, whose purpose obviously
is not the suppression of speech, but the furtherance of the public
health and welfare.

20

only by being referred by a chiropractor, The petitioners
and all other radiologists remain free to expound at length
to all who will listen concerning their dissatisfaction with
the provision in particular and with chiropractic licensing
in general. Indeed, they are at liberty to persuade as
many as possible that the regulatory system should be dis-
mantled. The issue is not that of requiring “alternative
means of expression” (Pb17), for the petitioners’ refusal
to accept chiropractic referrals is not expressive at all and
is, in any event, obviously open to government control, The
issue is only whether the petitioners may impose upon the
public through their conduct their own personal views
rather than the quasi-legislative judgment of the Board
of Medica! Examiners and thereby deny the statutorily-
guaranteed right to chiropractic treatment. With the Court
of Appeals as well as the District Court having resolved
that question against them, the petitioners have shown no
justification for review by certiorari. Their petition in
that regard should be denied,

21

CONCLUSION

It is respectfully submitted that for these reasons
the petition for certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Irwin I. KiMMELMAN,
Attorney General of New Jersey,
Attorney for Respondent New Jersey
State Board of Medical Examiners,
By Berrram P. Gorrz, Jr.,
Deputy Attorney General.

Dated: May 10, 1983

James J. CIancta,
Assistant Attorney General,
Of Counsel.

Bertram P, Gourz, Jr.,
— Attorney General,
n the Brief.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_0774%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
