# Motion to Dismiss — City of Torrance v. Workers' Compensation Appeals Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_0537%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Motion to Dismiss
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 461 U.S. 921

## Text

Office-Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED
APR 16 1983
No. 82-1436
; CLERK $5.5
In the Supreme Coturt-
OF THE

United States

Octosrr Term, 1982

City or TorRANCE,
Appellant,

vB.

Workers’ Compensation ApreaLs Boarp or
THE State OF CALIFORNIA;
State Compensation Insurance F'unp,
Appellees.

On Appeal From the Supreme Court of the
State of California

MOTION TO DISMISS OF AFFIRM

Krimen, Bropiz, Hersnenson &
Da Siva
By Frank Evans
1275 Market Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
Telephone: (415) 565-1244
Attorneys for Appellee
State Compensation
Insurance Fund

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I
May the Legislature, pursuant to the plenary power
granted it by the California Constitution to enact a com-
plete system of workers’ compensation, limit the period of
liability in a cumulative injury case?

II
Is a workers’ compensation insurance agreement im-
paired by a legislative enactment where the insuring agree-
ment provides that the parties will be bound by the work-
ers’ compensation law of the State of California?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING
The State Compensation Insurance Fund is one of the
parties in the court below.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QROCEIOMS PEOCOMECE ..0...0secerrcreceseroserscsessseccecceovecesnsnsececeeseses

Parties to the proceeding .............cccccccceceseseeeesesesesesenseneeeee

IS tr ail eaeseaeenamstenaniaoimanuasda

A.

The State statute involved and the nature of the
I ae itsade

B. The California Workers’ Compensation System

1. The Legislature established a competitive

workers’ compensation system 0.0.0.0...

2. The State was not a party to the contracts

I Neate a

C. The industrial injury determined the basis for

awarding benefits and imposing liability ............

D. The historical development of Labor Code See-

Se HII. Sabistcdndininttnsacueiniceetninetastéomenestatninssotesebinin

E. The proceedings below ...............ccccccccceeeesseeeeseeeenes

PIII ‘cistlanhiransdasacidditisadensnshaiscieiapaiicetinntincedgmainnennctiiinaetienite
I

Appellant’s contracts are not impaired ..........0....0c.000-

A. Workers’ Compensation Law is subject to

IIIT sedhanbennscsdsplinniahcaisnseusiasshnustispnlinahbanesuniginibieniuabtniniisitenins

B. The United States Supreme Court has held that

subsequent legislative enactments do not impair
contracts which incorporate changes in the law

II

Labor Code Section 5500.5 is reasonably related to
IN CPTI SID vicesescminnsnsseisnessessnveieialiannvanpentustion

A.
tive
B.

C,
D.

The 1977 Amendments had a legitimate objec-
The State may exercise its police power to
accomplish a legitimate goal oo...
The claimed impairment is insubstantial ............
Appellant’s authorities are distinguishable ........

RENFRO TE SEA (Oe EY bs OR RT NEA

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases
Page
Allied Structural Steel Co. v. Spannaus, 438 U.S, 234
aT 2 Ee a 25
Argonaut Mining Co, v. LA.C., 104 Cal.App.2d 27, 230
RGR GL ERIE SC Oa 13
Beveridge v. LA.C., 175 Cal. App.2d 592, 346 P.2d 545
ES NEEL Ao aR PR 13
Burum vy. State Compensation Insurance Fund, 30
I IIIS 1 il, risus eiobeebiisiopannentehsnbopncteenatnbinees 4
Colonial Insurance Co, v. LA.C., 29 Cal.2d 79, 179 P.2d
a os ca caenltenlenidnsidtansinesnnesinsies 12
Cordero v. Triple Machine Shop, 580 F.2d 1331, (9th
III MING GIES: Sosccsncssvcnsessvensivoncnscessnveseonsnvebeseseseves 17
East New York Savings Bank v. Hahn, 326 U.S. 230
IIIT a discs da sicatadindesadgeenvehabessibianaeinativasinstvececssessesnent 20
El Paso v. Simmons, 379 U.S, 497 (1965) oo... 20
nergy Reserves Group, Inc. v, Kansas Power and
Light Co., ........ RN decetai , 74 L.Ed.2d 569 (1983) ...... 14
Faitoute Iron and Steel Co. v. City of Asbury Park,
EEE REET: SUPINE B” sascobvciassdcthessesssentececscdsihoseieinseasentonenens 20
Fireman’s Fund Indemnity Co, v. LA.C., 39 Cal.2d
te TE BOD CRB UIED, cociccsscssnccncscocssnscsncsccceiencestonsecasees 13
Flesher v. WCAB, 23 Cal.8d 322, 152 Cal.Rptr. 451
NIT" hli id cscs son Sscieeeicaslsbeebeshanenntemnensedinnnnincetinnns 19, 25, 26
General Dynamies Corp. v. BRB, 265 IF’, 208 (2nd CCA
REC CNM RRC GEST SEER: SCREEN SES SSSR CA RSPEI 17

Gilmore v. State Compensation Insurance Fund, 23
RII TI CROUEE D obssccobinscassinicaniestcerseccnstocsrnsesenasscsse 4

iv

Tapie or Avutuorities Citep

Cases
Page
Harrison v. WCAB, 44 Cal.App.3d 197, 118 Cal.Rptr.
I ails beitiediiniitiemecininniosecece 13, 19, 20,26
Home Building & Loan Association v. Blaisdell, 290
cso cctre ncrsccicblatainicocenenconcscstinseneesonssensiosivane 26
Insurance Co. v. LA.C., 29 Cal.2d 79, 179 P.2d 884
TTT ie iilidcticohapeccacaaninenieaticesgtiouieeb icbnsnmnewstnesioncnbedesnwocies 12
Pacific Employers v. 1.A.C., 219 Cal.App.2d 634, 33
I IE IIIT cccccsassrttincceicnonstensnrvssecessepsscosonenscoores 13
Subsequent Inj. Fund v. 1.A.C. (Koski) 49 Cal.2d 354,
BE ID fasicdatcssstscoevcecnnnesinscncsscavececencsonnsensescoocs 13
Travelers Insurance Co. v. Cardillo, 225 F.2d 137 (2nd
er a Ni aciccdbditesedenpuninoncntesrnseoioevenese 15,17
U.S. Mortgage v. Matthews, 293 U.S. 232 000000 15
Usery v. Turner Elkhorn Mining Co., 428 U.S. 1
ial acl cee cabcaccetedipenrasenapaitnaostneneesbooneneensbeceoees 21, 22
U.S. Trust Co. v. New Jersey, 431 U.S. 1 (1977) ........ 23, 25
Viex v. South Ward Association, 310 U.S. 32 ................ 26
Constitution
California Constitution, Article XIV, Section 4 ............ 2, 16
Statutes
Boynton Act, Section 11770, Stats. 1913, Ch. 176 .......... 3
Insurance Code:
I GIN Ssccttssectecsccrussocestonacoccsvbioveivontscsesscssetees 6
a a, Pe ca 14
a ss sispescosnneniotisoneneunes 8
ESL SE ELE A 8
i ERE SE, ae eR ee 14

I TIE A scasebsiashashacecasndinsesinbisapicooresevescnsiinesenscedpopecte 5

Vv

TasLe or Avutuoritires Crrep

STATUTES

Page
SIPS desttanicntcsdecitscgetsiscdbanittel§-iecahonidesapboncncapebespabddonte 4
SUNINPIITTINTTT..’ iccssdasnicco'cscossocnastioncbvicsesunssabessdvilbcamasaiabossdendadibatas 4
NIN NINE chal locdnassbeedicbntensinnscbsnttntdenonctoeebuneceaenstabchedint 5
PINE IIT UUE snscsersesecsoovenssnsnaseeiisindosrebiatiuapamnets senliondscokeobmmsiacth 4
RUIN IIIT: suassctsnissopsnscssctostaabicgesanisvsbianshestbotincesmniiiinsubedshdscodack 4
IIINE TRIN - sesadisicterkainechedoncsonntaasosneesucbseinaadieabbeocs cin 5
i RE a SE CAEP SR i ae IN RIOD +
SeUINIIIE TINIE” cicieirenbacanasdeosuanadiiashebiobsconeroaicenasetabicomepeneeee 5
SPINIENT MINIIINN ., chctassnassincsvcsicesdeniacuslontassenseranndedasssdsancateetianioos 5
BSA ERE Sires n oie rh noe ees 3
BN III 9 sehisciciecscessadsinshctere pieaetae tat ecdad ate elaaie decides 5

Labor Code:
SEINE ° scosshscciisiscnctssdstcciipstidhngaciadsonsbdintiinglauiesoestenihap 11
RUNNIN SII - Lite sctsessstscinaceccadesdducopeteandetieasaleepibclicouesenconciiemciieas 3
SII UII rect sterceiniteatci ocadese daininsstebadla eebtietaiiion 3
TT A he conilebadelinidieipatammindg 3
aaa reer aT TORE PICT ne aOR: 22
I NI io acess ec Riaceariind iateaiee alti ah nae 22
I I i nin cn accesses dg dan adacd oa papmusinsdomneibaenaiaias 22
IIIT IIIIINIE Ts tslicecncsnnssenteinisastvendgleonbeiaaoonightantemeemsdiaeelns see 11
ERR AEA ie en cana ECORI passim
UNA UIUIIE IIE > ihcibsssiecuhceesdesciesiineesdihdabacnandebhtosdindchaneeninatonamatis 23
BID. SHUI Sicccinshncoscacccnceninipnslusiibanditioddadashsthe nicsconacsubontiones 23
Revenue and Taxation Code Section 12203 20.0000... 5
Stats. 1965, Ch. 1513, Section 214 oo... ceeeeeeeeeeeeee 13
Stats. 1982, Ch. 714, Section 305 .............cccccesscssssssssssseecere 4

ITED "“scavtinciansnsctontstiveensincidsonsmpeiiieinitevesduetiomibensstiaitias 16

vi

TasLe or AuTHorITIES CITED
Other Authorities

Background Notes for Workers’ Compensation Sub-
committee Interim Hearing on the Subject of Re-
forming California Workers’ Compensation Laws,
Assembly Committee on Finance, Insurance and
Commerce, Fall 1977, p. 297 ........0ccscscsressersrssseeesesesersres 6

2 Hanna, California Law of Employee Injuries and
Workmen’s Compensation (2d ed. 1979):

ORR TL CBD. sate keenccdidieccieersecesentstatavnccinnsieeaneeines 13
Section 1.05 (6) (c), fm. 18 ...........cccccesscssssescsssesersessesesees 3, 4
I TR IID cecensieacacamcstbeacitnstsncinraceeniaciasiniacdacideaantl 4,6
owtbem TRE C1) CD. ceccscceiccnsicoscctesnsecciooscsnsvensineesanabiinimante 4

Herlick, California Workers’ Compensation Law
Handbook, Second Edition, Volume 1, (Section 1.20) 4,6

2 Larson, Workmen’s Compensation Law Appendix A,
EEE E chinanenerenins cap avhanecasnieiaeilesacdihecsededemaciaa aaa 3

4 Larson, Sections 95.12, 95.21, 95.25 00... ceececceeeeeeee 15

Proceedings of Assembly Committee on Finance, In-
surance and Commerce into Problems of Insuring
Payments of Compensation for Cumulative Occupa-
pational Injurious Interim Hearings, (January 12
and 19, 1977) Pages 399-401 .0.0.........cccccceceeeeeseeens 17, 19, 24

The Report of the National Commission on State
Workers’ Compensation Laws, (July 1972), Ch. 7
0 FR DO TON piss trrctnsenscersessincassvisidibicestntcdoacial 13, 16

19 ops. Cal. Atty. Gen, 249 (1952) 0 sities 5

No. 82-1436

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

Octoser TERM, 1982

City or ToRRANCE,
Appellant,

Vs.

Workers’ Compensation APPEALS Boarp oF
THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA}
State CompensaTION INSURANCE F'unp,
Appellees.

On Appeal From the Supreme Court of the
State of California

MOTION TO DISMISS OF AFFIRM

a

STATEMENT OF FACTS

A. The State Statute Involved and the Nature of the
Case

This action arises out of a workers’ compensation claim
and involves the issue of liability for an injury that oc-
curred during City of Torrance’s, appellant, period of self-
insurance. The injured workers’ benefits are not involved.
At issue is whether the California Legislature can limit the
period of liability in a cumulative trauma case and hold
only those employers responsible who were on the risk
during the last four years of hazardous exposure. The stat-
ute involved is Labor Code Section 5500.5, which provides
under subsection (a) :*

“(a) Except as otherwise provided in Section 5500.6
which applies to household employees, liability for oc-
cupational disease or cumulative injury claims filed or
asserted on or after January 1, 1978, shall be limited to
those employers who employed the employee during a
period of four years immediately preceding either the
date of injury, as determined pursuant to section 5412,
or the last date on which the employee was employed
in an occupation exposing him to the hazards of such
occupational disease or cumulative injury, whichever
occurs first. Commencing January 1, 1979, and there-
after on the first day of January for each of the next
two years, the liability period for occupational disease
or cumulative injury shall be decreased by one year so
that liability is limited in the following manner:

‘Section 5500.5 is a comprehensive code section that deals with
cumulative trauma and occupational disease injuries. It contains
sub-sections (a) through (i) and provides a detailed format,
including procedures for litigation. The sections identify the
method of joinder of additional parties, subsequent procedures for
contribution, apportionment and the period of accountable liability.
Appellant’s challenge is limited to the latter section, subsection (a).

For claims filed or

asserted on or after: The period shall be:
I By Fe tientccsenntstiiceninincininvennensianintt three years
INIT By TID wise snieectnsscsseevennneneynnssnennssonss two years
January 1, 1981 and thereafter .................. one year

If, based upon all the evidence presented, the appeals
board or referee finds the existence of cumulative
injury or occupational disease, liability for such cumu-
lative injury or occupational disease shall not be
apportioned to prior or subsequent years... .”

B. The California Workers’ Compensation System

1. The Legislature established a competitive workers’
compensation system

Article XIV, Section 4 (formerly Article XX, Section
21) of the California Constitution provides that the Legis-
lature is “vested with plenary power, unlimited by any
provision of this Constitution, to create, and enforce a
complete system of workers’ compensation, by appropriate
legislation .. .” The Article states that the Legislature is
vested with the same power to provide “for full provision
for adequate insurance coverage to pay or furnish com-
pensation ... and for regulating such insurance coverage
in all its aspects, including the establishment and manage-
ment of a State compensation insurance fund.” The Article
also empowers the Legislature to establish an administra-
tive system to litigate workers’ compensation cases to
accomplish “substantial justice in all cases expeditiously,
inexpensively, and without incumbrance of any character.”?

In providing for a complete system of workers’ compen-
sation, the Legislature established a competitive, non-
monopolistic workers’ compensation program, one which
allows employers to seek workers’ compensation coverage
from the State Compensation Insurance Fund or other

Amendment adopted November 5, 1918.

3

carriers.’ There are over 100 workers’ compensation car-
riers competing with one another in California.

Public agencies are slightly restricted. They must pur-
chase workers’ compensation insurance from the State
Compensation Insurance Fund or elect to become self-
insured.‘ If public agencies become self-insured, they may
contract with private carriers to administer and defend
their claims. Public agencies are not bound to purchase
other forms of insurance from the State Compensation
Insurance Fund and may freely contract with other car-
riers for liability, automobile and fire insurance as well as
other coverages. It is clear that appellant’s brief exagger-
ates the role of the State Compensation Insurance Fund
and its relation to public agencies. Furthermore, it is in-
correct to state that California has established a “state
monopoly for selling insurance to public agencies.” App.
Br. 1. There simply is no authority for the proposition
that public agencies must buy all of their insurance from
the State Compensation Insurance Fund or that they even
have to be insured with appellee.

2. The State was not a party to the contracts at issue

It is incorrect to state that “the State of California

(was) a party to the contracts at issue.” App. Br. 13.

Appellee’s operating funds are separate and distinct from

the State of California and its posture in this case is no
different from that of any other insurance carrier.*

’Labor Code Scction 3211; 2 Larson, Workmen’s Compensation
Law Appendix A, Table 7; 2 Hanna, California Law of Employee
Injuries and Workmen’s Compensation (2d ed. 1979) (Section 1.05
[6] [c]).

‘Insurance Code Section 11870, Labor Code Section 3700(c),
3702 et seq.

‘The State Compensation Insurance Fund was established pur-
suant to the Boynton Act, Section 11770, Stats. 1913, Ch. 176 to
provide immediate protection to California employers and em-
ployees, since there were no workers’ compensation insurance
carriers in existence when workers’ compensation was introduced.

Appellee is a self-supporting insurance carrier that is
financially distinct from the State of California and does
not depend on general revenues from the State for any of
its operations.® Appellee functions like a mutual insurance
company, returning profits to its insureds in the form of
dividends.’ “The State Compensation Insurance Fund has
compiled a long and imposing record of substantial divi-
dend payments.’”

In an attempt to show an economic dependence between
the appellee and the State, appellant cites California Insur-
ance Code Section 11773. App. Br. 5, fn. 3. This section
provided the basis for an appropriation of one hundred
thousand dollars “seed-money” to the appellee in 1913. No
part of the appropriation was ever drawn from the State
treasury and the whole sum was repaid with interest in
1921.” IXven more significant is the fact that this section
was repealed in 1979 and now reads, “The fund shall be
organized as a public enterprise fund.”

Appellee is not only mandated to be “fairly competitive”
with other workers’ compensation carriers, but special leg-
islative enactments distinguish appellee from state agencies
and put it on an equal footing with all other compensation
carriers." Appellee is authorized to transact workers’ com-

“Insurance Code Section 11772; Burum v, State Compensation
Insurance Fund, 30 Cal.2d 575 (1947); Gilmore v. State Compen-
sation Insurance Fund, 23 Cal.App.2d 235 (1937); 2 Hanna, op. cit.
supra (Section 20,01 [B]); Herlick, California Workers’ Compensa-
tion Law Handbook, Second Edition, Volue 1, (Section 1.20),

"Insurance Code Section 11776.

*2 Hanna, op. cit. supra, ( Section 1.05 [6] [c], fn. 18).

*2 Hanna, op. cit, supra, (Section 2.04 [2], fn. 4).

Stats, 1982, Ch. 714, Section 305.

“Insurance Code Sections 1175, 11781; 2 Hanna, op. cit. supra,
Section 20.91 [1] [b].

5

pensation insurance “to the same extent as any other in-
surer.’”* Appellee’s assets provide the basis for its opera-
tion, i.e. payment of losses, expenses and dividends,” “The
State is not liable beyond the assets of the State Compen-
sation Insurance Fund for any obligation in connection
therewith.” State taxes are paid through a premium tax,
calculated on the same basis as with all other California
workers’ compensation insurers."” Appellee is allowed to
invest its funds in the same manner as private carriers and
is not bound by rules pertaining to state agencies.”’ Ap-
pellee is expressly exempted from California Government
Code sections that apply to state agencies that deal with
the expenditure of funds."’ Appellee’s real property is sub-
ject to taxation on the same basis as other private insur-
ance carriers, on the rational that its property is not
regarded as State property for purposes of taxation,”
Finally, appellee is not subject to those provisions of the
Government Code applicable to State agencies generally or
collectively, except as to State Personnel Board rules gov-
erning employer-employee relations.”

In brief, appellee’s financial status and insurance opera-
tions are separate and distinct from the State of California.
Even in the event of insolvency, no State funds would be
appropriated; as a member of the California Insurance
Guarantee Association, appellee’s obligations would be sat-

Insurance Code Section 11778.
‘Insurance Code Section 11774.

‘Insurance Code Section 11771.

Revenue and Taxation Code Section 12203,
“Insurance Code Section 11797.

"Insurance Code Section 11793.

"19 ops. Cal. Atty. Gen, 249, 251 (1952).
Insurance Code Section 11873.

6

isfied, like any other bankrupt member, from Association
funds and not from the State coffers.”

There is a distinct advantage derived from such a sys-
tem. Not only does appellee provide a permanent market
for workers’ compensation insurance at no cost to the
public, but it functions as “a ‘yardstick’ for the industry by
maintaining fair premium rates for employers and fair
treatment for their injured employees.”” An early report
of the Industrial Accident Commission (precursor to the
Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board) “noted that the
very purpose of creating the State Fund was to make im-
possible a private insurance monopoly.’

Thus, appellee’s presence prevents a single carrier from
dominating the market and establishing a monopoly.

C. The Industrial Injury Determined the Basis for Award-
ing Benefits and Imposing Liability

On March 12, 1978, Kenneth V. Atkinson, a fireman for
the City of Torrence, appellant, died. His surviving de-
pendent filed a death claim for workers’ compensation
benefits. The claim was based on the theory that the em-
ployee’s death was due to cumulative trauma during the
full time of his employment with appellant, 1956 to 1977.
Section 5500.5 provided that only the last four years of
injurious employment preceeding the date of injury would
be considered in assessing liability. By virtue of this pro-
vision, appellant, which was permissibly uninsured, i.e.
self-insured and had been since 1971, was held liable for the
total death benefit.

*°Insurance Code Section 1067 et seq.

“2 Hanna, op. cit. supra, (Section 2.04 [2]); Herlick, op. cit.
supra, (Section 1,20),

“Background Notes for Workers’ Compensation Subcommittee
Interim Hearing on the Subject of Reforming California Workers’
Compensation Laws, Assembly Committee on Finance, Insurance
and Commerce, Fall 1977, p. 297.

7

Prior to 1971, appellant was insured for workers’ com-
pensation with appellee. Appellant contends that the insur-
ance agreements entered into between it and appellee pro-
vided for contribution and that appellee should pay a
proportionate share of the award, The facts will demon-
strate, however, that appellant is solely liable under the
law that existed at the time of injury and that there was
no impairment of contract.

The terms of the insurance agreements provided that
when an injury occurs, benefits will be provided under the
Workers’ Compensation Laws of the State of California.
Specifically, the charging paragraph, which created the
obligations of the parties, stated that appellee agreed ‘to
pay promptly and directly to any person entitled thereto
under the Workers’ Compensation Laws ..., and as
therein provided, any suns due for compensation ..., to
be directly aid primarily liable... to pay the compensation,
if any, for which the (City) is liable... , and (to) be
bound by and subject to the orders, findings, decisions or
awards rendered against the (City) under the Workers’
Compensation Laws ...” (emphasis stated).

It is pertinent to note that appellant’s Statement of the
Case cites a portion of the above text and egregiously
omits the phrase “under the Workers’ Compensation
Laws.” App. Br. 2, 5, 15. Appellant selectively recites a
segment of the insuring paragraph as evidence of the fact
that it had a right of contribution. Appellee will demon-
strate that the omitted language is essential because it
establishes the rights and obligations of the contracting
parties. Appellant’s failure to include the phrase is com-
pounded by its disinclination to discuss it. As appellee
will later note, this provision, including the deleted phrase,
was the basis for the California Supreme Court's decision.

The import of the contract language is readily apparent.
The agreement clearly indicates it was the intent of the

8

parties to be bound by subsequent changes in the law.
Furthermore, the language merely restates Insurance Code
Sections 11651 and 11654, which establish workers’ com-
pensation law as essential provisions of every workers’
compensation policy.

D. The Historical Development of Labor Code Section
5500.5

A brief comment on the historical development of See-
tion 5500.5 is relevant. First enacted in 1951, Section
500.5 provided a means whereby an injured worker could
litigate a cumulative injury and the Workers’ Compensa-
tion Appeals Board could resolve it expeditiously, It per-
mitted the injured to elect to go to trial against one em-
ployer or carrier and recover the whole award, after which
that employer or carrier could seek contribution from other
responsible parties.

In 1973, the Legislature umended Section 5500.5 to limit
the period of hazardous employment that could be held
accountable in a cumulative injury case. This reform was
deemed necessary for a variety of reasons. It would facili-
tate rate computation because statistics would be easier to
gather. This in turn would be reflected in more accurate
premiums charged California employers. Insurance re-
serves could be reduced, which in the case of appellee
would increase the dividends distributed to its insureds.
The enactment would ease the heavy burden of cases on
the Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board and expedite
litigation. It would also provide a safer work environment
because liability would be more closely tied to the last
employer, who is best able to provide a safe place to work.
After legislative hearings involving testimony from all
parties in the workers’ compensation industry, including
public entities such as appellant, the Legislature chose to
limit liability for continuous trauma injuries to five years
immediately preceding the date of injury or last exposure.

Again in 1977, the legislature modified Section 5500.5 to
provide for a stepped reduction to one year by 1981, Both
the 1973 and the 1977 amendments provided for reduction
in the period of liability, the only difference being that in
1973 the Act provided what is commonly known as “the
single employer exception.” This exception, contained in
subsection (d), provided that the whole period of hazard-
ous employment would be held responsible if an employee
worked for more than five years with one employer. It was
deleted in 1977.

The central theme of appellant’s case is that the legis-
lature should have retained the “single employer exception”
when it amended the Act in 1977. Paradoxically, appellant
concedes that it would be bound by subsequent legislative
enactments increasing the level of benefits to injured
workers and that no impairment of contract would occur
but denies that the legislature could limit the period of
liability in cumulative trauma cases for all employers. App.
Br. 10, Stated differently, appellant contends that the
United States Supreme Court should create an exception
for it or declare the whole provision unconstitutional.

E. The Proceedings Below

Following an unfavorable decision at the administrative
trial level, appellee petitioned to the Workers’ Compensa-
tion Appeals Board, which in a three-panel decision unani-
mously overturned the ruling. The Board reasoned that the
1973 and 1977 amendments had the same objectives and
that appellant’s right of contribution was statutory and not
based on common law.

Appellant appealed to the District Court of Appeal
urging a reversal of the Board’s decision on the ground
that the contract was impaired because appellee was con-
tractually obligated to pay a portion of the award. The
District Court of Appeal unanimously rejected appellant's

10

contention, stating that “The policy, in substance, requires
the insurer to pay what the law requires,” and that “the
possibility of changes in the applicable law has become
party of the risk assumed by the compensation carrier and
the self-insureds.”

Appellant’s appeal to the California Supreme Court was
similarly rejected in a 6 to 1 decision, The Court found that
the contract was not impaired because the parties agreed to
be bound by the workers’ compensation laws of the State of
California,

Appellant’s argument presented to the U.S. Supreme
Court is a substantial departure from that taken in the
lower courts. First, it represented in two oral arguments
that its position did not depend on whether or not the State
was a party to the contracts. Second, it did not make the
claim that California established a State monopoly for
selling insurance to public entities. In seven appellate
briefs and over 170 pages of argument, including various
petitions, appellant never used the word “monopoly” once.

ARGUMENT
I
Appellant’s Contracts Are Not Impaired

The facts clearly demonstrate that the parties agreed to
be bound by the workers’ compensation laws of the State of
California. It is undisputed that the loss manifested itself
during appellant's period of self-insurance and that the law
on the date of injury imposed the full responsibility on ap-
pellant. Appellant asks the court to assume an impairment,
steming from an alleged lost economic advantage. To sub-
stantiate the claim of impairment, appellant refers to a
portion of the insuring agreement, as if the deleted crucial
language was of no significance, Yet, the omitted language
was the very essence of the contract and the grounds on
which the California Supreme Court based its decision. The

11

failure to come to terms with the contract language and the
lower court’s reasoning evidences the weakness and lack of
substance of appellant’s Jurisdictional Statement.

Appellant’s contracts with appellee are still viable and
enforceable for injuries that manifest themselves during
the period of coverage that the contracts provide. Appellee
remains liable for industrial injuries occurring during its
coverage. In the case at bar, the injury occurred during
appellant’s coverage. Section 3208.1 provides that the date
of injury for cumulative injuries shall be determined by
Section 5412. Section 5412 establishes the date of injury in
a cumulative trauma case as the date on which the em-
ployee first suffered disability.” Applying Section 5412 to
the instant case, the date of injury occurred during appel-
lant’s coverage and the law in effect on that date, not the
date the parties executed the agreement, governs. On the
date of injury, Section 5500.5 limited liability to four years
preceding the date of injury, all of which occurred during
appellant’s self-insurance coverage. However, had the date
of injury occurred during appellee’s period of coverage,
appellee would have been responsible and the appropriate
law applied. Thus, it is incorrect to state, as appellant does
repeatedly, that the contracts were abrogated and that ap-
pellant had an unqualified contractual right to seek reim-
bursement. Consistent with its refusal to cite or discuss the
full text of the contract, appellant did not attempt to define
the date of injury or the application of Sections 3208.1 and
5412 to the facts.

*“The date of injury in case of occupational diseases or cumula-
tive injuries is that date upon which the employee first suffered
disability therefrom and either knew, or in the exercise of reason-
able diligence should have known, that such disability was caused
by his present or prior employment.”

12

A. Workers’ Compensation Law Is Subject to Change

Appellant confuses disability with exposure. This confu-
sion is apparent in that appellant speaks of the total abro-
gation of appellee to pay for workers’ compensation inju-
ries on one hand and at the same time concedes that it
“sought contribution” from appellee. App. Br. 12, 8. It is
not the injured’s recovery that is involved. All benefits have
been paid to the applicant. The central issue of appellant’s
liability and its obligation to be bound under the laws of
the State of California.

Appellant had no right to assume that the law would re-
main fixed. Since the Boynton Act, the Legislature has not
hesitated to amend the Workers’ Compensation Law and,
with the exception of 1921, new laws have kept pace with
changing and developing needs in the workers’ compen-
sation field. The dynamic nature of workers’ compensation
law stems directly from the constitutional mandate. One
must ask, how effectively could the Legislature fulfill its
obligation if the law remained static? As industry creates
new manufacturing techniques and processes giving rise to
new risks and injuries, can the Legislature meet its com-
mitment by remaining inert?

The judicial system has, and is, a substantial force in
developing workers’ compensation laws. From its inception
when the California Supreme Court reviewed the Califor-
nia Compensation Act and declared it constitutional, the
courts through statutory interpretation have had an impact
on rights and obligations and at times have found them to
be different from what the contracting parties originally
believed them to be. Yet, these decisions have withstood
constitutional challenges. Section 5500.5 is no exception and
owes its origin to the decisional rule announced in Colonial
Insurance Co, v. I.A.C., which the Legislature adopted in

*#29 Cal.2d 79, 179 P.2d 884 (1946).

13

1951. Subsequent constitutional challenges were raised in
a number of cases involving Section 5500.5 and rejected.”
Argonaut Mining Co. v. 1.A.C., in particular, rejected a con-
stitutional challenge based on impairment of contract.*
Judicial interpretations in Fireman’s Fund Indemnity Co.
v. I.A.C. and Beveridge v. 1.A.C. expanded the original lan-
guage to include injuries due to micro-trauma.” In Harri-
son v. WCAB, the courts upheld the 1973 amendments to
Section 5500.5, concluding that they were consistent with
the constitutional imperative.”

When appellant voluntarily elected to become self-in-
sured in 1971, it did so against a background of legislative
review in the workers’ compensation field.” A significant
number of states enacted reform legislation following in-
tensive investigative hearings. New York, Oregon, Mary-
land, Idaho and Pennsylvania all adopted reform legisla-
tion after studies and hearings in the sixties.*® California,
in particular, invited improvements “directed toward re-
ducing litigation and separating the administrative and
adjudicatory functions,” following a 1965 report of the
Workers’ Compensation Study Commission.” It is appar-
ent that the reform climate that preceded appellant’s deci-
sion to become self-insured in 1971 was a sufficient reason

**Subsequent Inj. Fund v. 1.A.C. (Koski) 49 Cal.2d 354, 317 P.2d
8 (1957); Argonaut Mining Co. v. 1.A.C., 104 Cal.App.2d 27, 230
P.2d 637 (1951); Pacific Employers v. 1.A.C., 219 Cal.App.2d 634,
33 Cal.Rptr. 422 (1963).

**[bid., 104 Cal.App.2d 27, 230 P.2d 637 (1951).

739 Cal.2d 831, 250 P.2d 148 (1952); 175 Cal.App.2d 592, 346
P.2d 545 (1959).

**44 Cal.App.3d 197, 118 Cal.Rptr. 508 (1974).

**The Report of the National Commission on State Workers’
Compensation Laws, (July 1972), Ch. 7 “A Time for Reform.”

*id., p. 121-122.

“id,, p. 121; 2 Hanna, op. cit. supra, Section 101 [3]; Stats, 1965,
Ch. 1513, Section 214,

14

in itself for anticipating changes in workers’ compensation
laws that might follow, particularly in the areas of improv-
ing and expediting the litigation process.

B. The United States Supreme Court Has Held That Sub-
sequent Legislative Enactments Do Not Impair Con-
tracts Which Incorporate Changes in the Law

In Energy Reserves Group, Inc. v. Kansas Power and
Light Co., this Court found that a contract was not im-
paired by a subsequent state act that imposed a restric-
tion on a contract provision dealing with the price of
natural gas."* The Court reasoned that state price restric-
tions were foreseeable because supervision of the industry
was “extensive and intrusive,” and the contract price
clauses “were structured against the background of regu-
lated gas prices.” Furthermore, “the contracts expressly
recognize the existence of extensive regulation by provid-
ing that any contractual terms are subject to relevant
present and future state and federal law.”

The principles discussed in Energy Reserves, supra, are
applicable to the instant case. The insurance agreement
recognized that the parties would be bound by state law
and workers’ compensation is a field where legislative
enactments and judicial decisions are extensive and intrin-
sic in the industry, the constitutional mandate and Insur-
ance Code Sections 11650-11656 serving as the basis for
all authority. Appellant had just as much opportunity to
foresee changes in the law as the energy company did in
Energy Reserves, given the legislative history of Section
5500.5, the long history of statutory and judicial presence
in workers’ compensation and the concern expressed by
state and federal governments regarding expeditious deliv-
ery of benefits to injured workers. In addition, the rule
imposing liability on the employer with the last injurious

US. ...., 74 L.Ed.2d 569, 582-583 (1983).

15

exposure was applied in Longshoremen and Harbor Work-
ers’ cases for 16 years before appellant became self-
insured.” Similar rules achieving the same result as Sec-
tion 5500.5 were already evident in other states.”

In U.S. Mortgage v. Matthews, the U.S. Supreme Court
reversed a finding that a state statute impaired foreclosure
rights on the ground that the contract itself recognized
that these rights might be effected by subsequent legisla-
tion.” The mortgage agreement provided a sale of property
according to certain statutes “or any amendments or addi-
tions thereto.” Subsequent legislation limited the lender’s
rights to foreclose or default. The U.S. Supreme Court
reversed a lower court finding of impairment of contract,
noting that the contract language “embraced the amend-
ments and additions” to the statute stated in the mortgage
agreement. The workers’ compensation agreement between
appellant and appellee indicated an intention of all the
parties to incorporate California law when a claim was
presented and expressly recognized that the parties would
be bound by subsequent changes in the law.

II

Labor Code Section 5500.5 is Reasonably Related to Legiti-
mate State Goals

A. The 1977 Amendments Had a Legitimate Objective
Appellant incorrectly characterizes Section 5500.5 as

having no legitimate state purpose except “the abrogation

of State Fund’s financial obligations to City and similar

employers .. .” App. Br. 19. Appellee will demonstrate

that the section has legitimate state goals that are con-

“Travelers Insurance Co, v. Cardillo, 225 F.2d 137 (2nd Cir.
1955); 4 Larson, op. cit. supra, Sections 95.12, 95.21, 95.25.

Post, fn. 41, page 17 for a discussion of other states applying a
similar rule.

#9993 U.S. 232.

16

sistent with the Legislature’s plenary power under Article
XIV, Section 4 of the California Constitution.

It is evident that the section does not refer to appellee
and applies to the whole workers’ compensation industry
in California. Appellant recites the “single employer excep-
tion” contained in the 1973 amendinents but dismisses the
main provisions as “not pertinent.” App. Br. 7. Yet, both
the 1973 and 1977 amendments limited the period of legal
responsibility for cumulative trauma injuries. A reading
of both sections fails to disclose a legislative intent to con-
fer a benefit on appellee. Appellant’s attack on the 1977
amendments is an attempt to have the courts obliterate the
statute and formulate a plan whose history proved unwork-
able and destructive.

Preceding the statutory amendments to Section 5500.5,
Congress enacted the “Occupational Safety and Health Act
of 1970,” which established a National Commission on State
Workmen’s Compensation Law.** The purpose of this act
was to study workers’ compensation laws to determine “if
such laws provide an adequate, prompt and equitable sys-
tem of compensation.”*’ A report was prepared and sub-
mitted to the President and Congress in 1972. One of the
objectives for a modern workers’ compensation program
was “an effective system for delivery of the benefits and
services,” so that the goals of workers’ compensation laws
could be “met comprehensively and efficiently.”** Excessive
litigation was one aspect interfering with a prompt de-
livery system.” The study indicated the need for certain
minimum reforms, and it was evident to the states that a

°*84 Stat. 1590.

*'The Report of the National Commission on State Workmen’s
Compensation Laws, p. 150.

‘STd., p. 15.
*°Id., pp. 100, 119.

17

uniform federal workers’ compensation law was a pos-
sibility.*°
In 1973, California amended Section 5500.5, bringing

California in line with a substantial number of other states
and the federal courts.** Since the legislation reduced the

“Td. Ch. 7.

“Traveler's Insurance Co. v. Cardillo, op. cit, supra; General
Dynamics Corp. v. BRB, 265 F. 208 (2nd CCA 1977); Cordero v.
Triple A Machine Shop, 580 F.2d 1331, (9th CCA 1979), cert. den.;
Proceedings of Assembly Committee on Finance, Insurance and
Commerce into Problems of Insuring Payments of Compensation
for Cumulative Occupational Injurious Interim Hearings, (January
12 and 19, 1977) (hereafter “1977 Assembly Committee Hearings.” )
Pages 399-401 provided the Committee with the following analysis,
showing imposition of liability on the last employer or carrier in
33 states:

“States which limit liability to the last day of employment:

1. Illinois—Chapter 48, Section 172.36 (d)

2. Indiana—Section 22-3-7-33

3. Wisconsin—-Section 102.01 (f)

II. States which limit liability to the last employer where
the employee was injuriously exposed and, either by statute or
case law, further limit liability to the last carrier on the risk
with said employer:

(A) By statute

Vermont—Section 1008
Arkansas—Section 81-1314 (b)
Colorado—Section 8-51-112
Florida—Section 440.151 (5)
Georgia—Section 114-809
Kansas—Section 44-5a06 (Chapter 203, Laws 1974)
Maine—Title 39, Section 186
Maryland—Article 101, Section 23 (b)
North Carolina—Section 97-57

10. Oklahoma—Title 85, Section 11 (3)

11. Tennessee—Section 50-1106

12. Virginia—Section 65.1-50
(B) By Case Law

1. Arizona—State Comp. Fund v. Joe, 543 R. 2d. 790

OBEN OahLonr

18

period of accountable liability, it also limited the number
of employers and insurers involved in the litigation process.
The benefits flowing from such legislation were consistent
with the constitutional requirements to provide a complete
system of workers’ compensation, including providing for
and regulating adequate insurance coverage. Not only did
the reduced period allow for more accurate underwriting
and premium calculations but it also relieved the litigation
logjam that was effectively denying benefits to injured

2. South Carolina—Glenn v. Columbia Silica, 112 S.E.2d
711

3. Pennsylvania—Gaydosh v. Richmond Radiator, 63
A.2d 502

4. Oregon—Davidson Baking v. Industrial Indemnity,
532 P.2d 810

5. New Jersey—Marko v. Barnett Foundry. 147 A.2d 579

III. States which limit liability to the last employer where
the employee was injuriously exposed. No statutory or deci-
sional clarification as to carriers during the employment:

1. Montana—Section 92-1310
Idaho—Section 72-102 (17)
Texas—Section 8306, Part 1, Section 24
New Mexico—Section 59-11-11
Missouri—Section 287.063 (2)
Alabama—Title 26, Chapter 5, Article 2c., Section 313

Iowa—Title V, Section 85 A, 10
South Dakota—Section 62-8-15
IV. States which limit liability to the last employer where
the employee was injuriously exposed, including all carriers
who insured the risk during the period of employment.
1. Utah—Statute 35-2-14, Case—State Insurance Fund v.
Industrial Commission, 399, P.2d 208
V. States which assess liability on the carrier which is on
the risk at the time the employee actually suffers disability:
1. Delaware—Alloy Surfaces Co. v. Cicamore, 221 A.2d
480
2. Massachusetts—see 100 CJS, Section 373, fn. 87
3. Minnesuta—Bituminous Car. Corp. v. Hartford, 167
N.W.2d 741
4. Alaska—Lloyds v. Alaska Indus. Bd., 160 F.Supp. 248

PAE HAP wp

19

workers. Thus, the amendments were consistent with the
objectives of the National Commission on State Workers’
Compensation Laws, i.e. to provide for an effective delivery
system of benefits and services. “The purpose of these
amendments was to provide greater certainty to insurers
in anticipating costs and necessary reserves, to simplify
the proceedings by reducing number of employers and in-
surers required to be joined as defendants and to reduce
the burden placed on the entire system by the former pro-
cedures.””? The benefits would also inure to self-insureds.“
The amendments provided immediate relief from a “pro-
cedural morass” that was impeding litigation to the degree
that the delay in providing benefits was “in violation of the
constitutional mandate that workers’ compansation be
determined expeditiously.’”* “Forces ordinarily opposed to
one another, in practical effect, joined to encourage passage
of legislation which was obviously designed to ameliorate
the pressing problems that have arisen under the old statu-
tory scheme.’’*”

In 1977, the Legislature further modified Section 5500.5
to accomplish the valid objectives begun in 1973. In view of
the legislative history surrounding the passage of these
amendments and the judicial decisions analyzing the legis-
lative process, the purpose of the statute was to achieve
legitimate goals consistent with the constitutional obliga-
tion to provide a complete workers’ compensation system.
Appellant cannot substantiate its broad, unfounded charge
that the statute had a limited, narrow purpose, to benefit
appellee.

“?Flesher v. WCAB, 23 Cal.3d 322, 328; 152 Cal.Rptr. 451 (1979).

451977 Assembly Committee Hearings, op. cit. supra, p.69.

“Harrison v. WCAB, 44 C.A.3d 197, 205; 118 Cal.Rptr. 508
(1974); 1977 Assembly Committee Hearings, op. cit. supra, p.55,
testimony of Melvin A. Witt, Chairman of California Workers’
Compensation Appeals Board.

“Harrison v. WCAB, Ibid

20

B. The State May Exercise Its Police Power to Accom-
plish a Legitimate Goal

The state may exercise “its essential reserve power to
protect the vital interests of its people.” In El Paso v.
Simmons, the U.S. Supreme Court upheld a state statute
that restricted a former landowner’s right to reinstitute
title and found no impairment of contract.*” Previous to the
imposition of a 5 year limitation from the date of forefei-
ture, Texas had no restriction, and a former landowner
could institute recovery proceedings for as far back as
when title was first acquired, which in the case at bar was
over 40 years. The Court noted that the “massive litigation
to which this gave rise” was expensive and interfered with
land use. In approving the statute, the U.S. Supreme Court
noted that the purpose of the statute was to restore stabil-
ity and integrity to land titles, allowing the State of Texas
to conduct the administration of land titles in a business
like manner.

In the present case, as in El Paso, the Legislature had
a vital interest to protect, the integrity of the workers’
compensation system, and after legislative hearings,
adopted a solution that met with the approval of “forces
ordinarily opposed.” Appellant seeks to resurrect a statu-
tory scheme that these forces opposed, one that gave rise
to a “procedural morass.’”“* Where the legislative pro-
ceedings reflect an empiric process, following legislative
hearings and analysis that involves consideration of future
benefits and burdens and is based on the opinion and views
of a diversity of interests, it cannot be said that the
resultant law should be rejected as an impairment of con-
tract on the ground that the legislature acted arbitrarily.”

““Faitoute Iron and Steel Co. v. City of Asbury Park, 316 U.S.
502 (1941).

‘7379 U.S. 497 (1965).

‘Harrison v. WCAB, op. cit. supra, p.205.

“East New York Savings Bank v. Hahn, 326 U.S. 230 (1945).

21

In a related matter, the U.S. Supreme Court considered
the constitutionality of the Black Lung Benefits Act of 1972
and, in particular, certain statutory presumptions.’
Although the charge of unconstitutionality was based on
due process arguments, the case is appropriate because it
deals with workers’ compensation and the judicial analysis
of a legislative program that attempts to achieve substan-
tial fairness for all employers and at the same time insti-
tute a benefit program for injured workers. The Court
noted that “legislative Acts adjusting the burdens and ben-
efits of economic life come to the Court with a presumption
of constitutionality, and that the burden is on the one
complaining of a due process violation to establish that the
legislature has acted in an arbitrary and irrational way.
(citations) And this Court long ago upheld against due
process attack the competence of Congress to allocate the
interlocking economic rights and duties of employers and
employees upon workmen's compensation principles anal-
ogous to those enacted here, regardless of contravening
arrangements between employer and employee.” Rejecting
a claim that present employers should not be held respon-
sible for former employees’ disabilities because the liability
was unexpected, the Court stated, “But our cases are clear
that legislation readjusting rights and burdens is not
unlawful because it upsets otherwise settled expecta-
tions.”** Responding to the contention that the law was
unfair because present employers suffered the full burden
of compensation while early operators were excluded from
payment, the Court stated, “it is for Congress to choose”
and “We are unwilling to assess the wisdom of Congress’
chosen scheme for examining the degree to which the ‘cost
savings’ employed by operators in the pre-enactment

“Usery v. Turner Elkhorn Mining Co., 428 U.S, 1 (1976).
"Id., p.766.
Jd. p.767.

22

period produced ‘excess’ profits, or the degree to which the
retrospective liability imposed on the early operators can
now be passed on to the consumer.”

Appellant’s argument is substantially the same as the
coal miner operator’s arguments in Usury. In an attempt to
demonstrate unreasonableness, it relies on the unfounded
claim that the sole basis for the legislation was to benefit
the appellee. In order to bolster this contention it claims
the State was a party and that its coffers will be unjustly
enriched. With respect to the latter, the financial relation-
ship and daily operation of appellee’s business is separate
and distinct from the State. Appellant’s extra-record argu-
ments regarding reserves and finances have no bearing on
the case, since these funds do not go to the State but are
returned as dividends to appellee’s policyholders, many of
whom are insured governmental entities. Although appel-
lant seeks to show a windfall profit by citing the premiums
it paid, it does not state that during the period of its insur-
ance coverage With appellee it received the benefit of divi-
dends, coverage and complete insurance services.

Appellant readily concedes that the Legislature can
initiate changes that impose substantial economic burdens
without impairing any agreements between it and appellee.
App. Br. 19. Since 1971 when petitioners elected to be
self-insured, maximum temporary disability indemnity in-
creased from $70 a week to $196. The maximum death
benefit increased from $55,00 to $85,000." All of the in-
creases imposed a substantial economic burden on the
parties, perhaps even greater than the figures that appel-
lant cites, yet it does not claim an impairment, This patent
inconsistency is demonstrated by the fact that the duties
and obligations all stem from the same agreement, one in

“Id., p.768.
‘*Labor Code Sections 4453, 4453.1, 4469.
‘“Labor Code Section 4702.

23

which the parties agreed to be bound by the workers’ com-
pensation law, It also demonstrates the fallacy of assuming
an impairment from a supposed economic disadvantage.

The issue is whether or not the Legislature exercised its
plenary power in a reasonable fashion for a legitimate
public purpose, not whether or not the appellant suffered a
detriment. The contract clause is not impaired by “legisla-
tion adjusting the rights and responsibilities of contracting
parties upon reasonable conditions and of a character
appropriate to the public purpose justifying its adop-
tions,”

Appellant also benefits from the Act by virtue of the fact
that it can calculate reserves and gather statistical data
more easily, On the basis of this information, it can predict
losses and adjust reserves more accurately, just as other
insurance carriers and self-insureds can do, Of course,
appellant is not encapsulated in its present mode of self-
insurance, Appellant can simply elect to become insured
with appellee.

Thus, appellant's plea for relief ignores the present and
potential benefits that it also enjoys from the legislation.

Appellant also disregards the benefits that the injured
worker will derive from a prompt and efficient delivery
system. Imposing liability on the last employer provides
the incentive for that entity or person to provide a safe
place to work; since the last employer is the best position
to provide a safe work environment, it is reasonable that
the risk of loss should rest with that employer, who is
obligated to provide a safe place to work by virtue of
Labor Code §§ 6400 through 6404,

“U.S, Trust Co. v. New Jersey, 431 U.S. 1, 22 (1977).

24

C. The Claimed Impairment Is Insubstantial

Although the facts do not demonstrate an impairment,
it is appropriate to respond to appellant's authorities deal-
ing with the legitimacy of the legislation when an impair-
ment is found.

Before doing so, however, appellee wishes to state that
appellant abandoned the position that appellee and the
State of California were one and the same. Appellant rep-
resented to the lower courts that for purpose of its argu-
ment, appellee was the same as any other insurance carrier
and its legal position did not depend upon appellee's rela-
tionship to the State of California. Appellee points this out
for two reasons: first, this representation made to the lower
court explains why the decisions did not discuss this aspect
to the case; second, it demonstrates the lack of substance
of the Jurisdictional Statement.

Appellant’s claim of impairment must be put in perspec-
tive. The legislation affects a small percentage of workers’
compensation claims. In 1977, the Chairman of the Work-
ers’ Compensation Appeals Board testified that “The per-
centage of cumulative injury claims to all new claims filed
before the Board is approximately 12144%.” The real effect
of the act, however, may be on substantially fewer cumula-
tive injuries than 1214%. For instance, with the passage of
time fewer and fewer workers would have had employment
pre-dating 1971, and appellant would have eventually had
to assume all responsibility, regardless of the amendment.
The elimination of the “single-employer exception” merely
accelerated what would have occurred in any event. In addi-
tion, as longstanding employees leave appellant’s employ-
ment to work elsewhere, that prospective employer assumes

"1977 Assembly Hearings, op. cit. supra, p.58.

25

what ordinarily would have been appellant’s liability,
should those employees initiate cumulative trauma claims.”

D. Appellant’s Authorities Are Distinguishable

Appellee believes that the code sections and the authori-
ties cited in appellee’s Statement of Facts amply demon-
strate that the State of California is not a party and that
appellee is as much a private party to the insurance agree-
ments as any other carrier. The present case is clearly
distinguishable from Allied Structural Steel Co. v. Span-
naus and U.S. Trust Co. of New York v. State of New
Jersey, relied on by appellant.” Both cases deal with the
legislative impairment of common law rights and do not
deal with workers’ compensation or rights arising out of
statute.

In U.S. Trust of New York v. State of New Jersey, the
State sought to undermine the security of its bonds by in-
troducing legislation which would repeal certain specific
covenants between the State and bondholders. In the in-
stant case, the state is not a party, and the legislation does
not attempt to repeal any covenant in any agreement but
merely recites the period of employment that is accountable
in a cumulative trauma case, a significant difference from
U.S. Trust of New York.

In Allied Structural Steel Company v. Spannaus, the
act dealt with pension rights and did not pertain to a
broad general economic or social problem or attempt to

*s“The insurance industry formed these amendments and rea-
soned that the total burdens and benefits upon employers and
insurers would more or less even out, for which they might be
required to assume a longer liability in some cases, they would also
be absolved of liability in other cases.” Flesher v. WCAB, op. cit.
supra, p. 328.

Allied Structural Steel Co. v. Spannaus, 438 U.S. 234 (1978);
U.S. Trust Co. of New York v. State of New Jersey, 431 U.S. 1
(1977).

26

legislate in an area already subject to state regulation at
the time the contract was executed. Appellee contends that
the legislative history of workers’ compensation law in
California, and in particular Labor Code Section 5500.5,
amply refutes the argument that the amendments did not
deal with a broad social purpose in an area where the Leg-
islature previously acted.

Citing Home Building & Loan Association v. Blaisdell,
petitioner decrys the legislation on the ground that there
was no emergency.” However, the presence or absence of
an emergency is not dispositive of whether or not there is
an impairment. Although an emergency may serve as the
occasion for the exercise of the police power, it does not
create it and the absence of one does not ipso facto indi-
cate an impairment. Viex v. South Ward Association so
held.”

Where, as in the instant case, the legislation is seeking to
provide a remedy in a field where the Legislature is vested
with plenary power and is mandated to the act, it cannot
be said that the legislation performed in the absence of an
emergency is invalid as offensive to the contract clause.
However, appellee does not concede that there was no
emergency, only that the presence of one is not essential
to the case at bar.”

9290 U.S. 398 (1934).

"1310 U.S. 32, 38-39.

“*Flesher v. WCAB and Harrison v. WCAB, op. cit. supra, de-
scribe conditions that indicate the need for expeditious legislation.

27

CONCLUSION

The 1977 amendments to Labor Code Section 5500.5
were the result of legislative hearings that considered the
opinions of diverse interests in the workers’ compensation
field. The single most persuasive argument against the
claim that the legislation was solely to confer a benefit on
appellee is that those opposing parties were able to agree
on amendments that restored stability and integrity to an
industry that was floundering. The fact that a similar rule
is followed in other jurisdictions, including the federal
system, reinforces the constitutional legitimacy of the
statute. Appellant’s entire argument ignores the national
trend, the legislative hearings and the state of the industry
when the amendments were considered. Finally, the State
of California derived no economic advantage from the
legislation and the contention that a strict standard of
review is required is inapplicable.

Appellee respectfully submits that the question upon
which this cause depends is so insubstantial as not to need
further argument, and appellee respectfully moves the
Court to dismiss this appeal, or, in the alternative, to
affirm the judgment entered in this case by the California
Supreme Court.

Respectfully submitted,

By Frank Evans
Attorneys for Appellee
State Compensation
Insurance Fund

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_0537%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
