# Opposition — Lomas Santa Fe, Inc. v. Commissioner

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_0372%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 460 U.S. 1083

## Text

Office-Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

No. 82-1270 MAR Ded 1983

In the Supreme Court ofthe i

Octoper Term, 1982

Lomas SANTE Fe, INC., ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.
COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

MEMORANDUM FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

Rex E. Lee
Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D. C. 20530
; (202) 633-2217

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:
Bell v. Harrison, 212 F.2d 253) .....cceceeeeees
C.G. Sloan & Co. v. Commissioner,

SBTC. BOS wcccccccccccccccccccccccccces 3-4

Century Electric Co. v. Commissioner,
15 T.C. 581, aff'd, 192 F.2d 155, cert. denied,

342 U.S. 954 .ncccccccccccccccccccscccens 4,5

Commissioner v. Moore, 207 F.2d 265 .........

Edinboro Co. v. United States,
224 F. Supp. 301 ..cccccccccccccccccccccces

Fry v. Commissioner, 31 T.C. 522, aff'd,
Be eM ceecncadbcesscddnccsccccateecce

Gist v. United States, 423 U.S. 118 2... ccc eees

Home Trust Co. v. Commissioner,
6S F.2d 532 ..ccccccccccvccccccccccccsveces

Miller v. Commissioner, 68 T.C. 767 ........05+

1220 Realty Co. v. Commissioner,
FEE eG veccccdeccccessveccccccccccece

United States v. Georgia R.R. & Banking,

348 F.2d 278, cert. denied, 382 U.S. 973 ..... 3,4

Statute and regulation:

Internal Revenue Code of 1954, 26 U.S.C.
SE nveda heeds Ge cae scdenherstccensecces

Treasury Regulations on Income Tax
(1954 Code), 26 C.F.R. 1.15802 .......ceeeeees

Iu the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OcToBER TERM, 1982

No. 82-1270
LOMAS SANTE FE, INC., ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

MEMORANDUM FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

In this federal income tax case, petitioners! seek review of
the decision below holding that they were not entitled toa
deduction for depreciation claimed with respect to a 40-year
estate for years reserved in a golf course.

‘Lomas Sante Fe Country Club and Norco Landscape & Mainte-
nance Co. are subsidiaries of Lomas Sante Fe, Inc. The three corpora-
tions are jointly liable for any deficiency in their tax for their tax year
ending July 31, 1973, because they filed a consolidated corporate
income tax return. Section 1503(a) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954
(26 U.S.C.); Treasury Regulations on Income Tax (1954 Code), 26
C.F.R. 1.1502-2. Lomas Sante Fe, Inc. and Lomas Sante Fe Country
Club are referred to as “Lomas” and “Country Club”, respectively.
Norco Landscape & Maintenance Co. is a party only because of its joint
liability for the deficiency (Pet. App. B-2).

2

The pertinent facts may be summarized as follows: In
1964, Lomas began development of a high quality residen-
tial community which was to include country club facilities.
On November 14, 1968, Country Club was organized to
administer the country club facilities, and to hold title to the
various properties used in the club’s operations. On Febru-
ary 11, 1969, Lomas transferred the club facilities to Coun-
try Club, subject to the reservation of a 40-year estate in the
golf course, golf professional shop, existing clubhouse, and
an area planned for a future clubhouse, in exchange for all
of the outstanding shares of Country Club. Lomas calcu-
lated its basis for tax purposes ($855,086) in the estate for 40
years in the golf course and its landscaping by applying an
actuarial valuation factor of .7474275 to the costs of those
assets ($1,151,244) (Pet. App. A-3, B-3 to B-10).

On their consolidated return for the taxable year ending
July 31, 1973, petitioners claimed a depreciation deduction
of $21,377.16 for amortization of the portion of the estate
for 40 years which represented Lomas’ interest in the land
and landscaping making up the golf course. In addition,
petitioners modified the computation of their net operating
loss carryover to the taxable year ended July 31, 1973, by
including an “amortization correction” in the amount of
$21,377.16 for the taxable year ended July 31, 1972. In
determining a deficiency in petitioners’ federal corporate
income tax for the taxable year ended July 31, 1973, the
Commissioner disallowed the depreciation deduction taken
in respect of the estate for 40 years in the golf course, and
eliminated the “amortization correction” from their com-
putation of the operating loss carryover (Pet. App. A-3, B-8
to B-12).

In the tax court proceeding brought by petitioners to
redetermine the deficiencies, the tax court upheld the
Commisioner’s ruling that the golf course properties, prior
to the transfer of the remainder interest to Country Club,

3

were nondepreciable due to their indefinite useful life, and
could not become depreciable by transferring a remainder
interest to a wholly owned subsidiary. In so holding, the tax
court relied on United States v. Georgia R.R. & Banking,
348 F.2d 278 (Sth Cir. 1965), cert. denied, 382 U.S. 973
(1966), which ruled that the taxpayer could not create a
depreciable interest in otherwise nondepreciable stock of
other corporations by distributing a remainder interest to
its shareholders as a dividend and retaining an estate for 26
years in the stock (Pet. App. A-3 to A-4, B-27 to B-33). The
court of appeals affirmed, with one judge dissenting (Pet.
App. A-!I to A-7).

1. The decision below correctly held that petitioners
were not entitled to a depreciation deduction with respect to
the estate for 40 years in the golf course. It is clear that the
real property comprising a golf course (i.e., land, contour-
ing and landscaping) has an indeterminate useful life, and is
not depreciable for tax purposes. See Edinboro Co. v.
United States, 224 F. Supp. 301 (W.D. Pa. 1963); see also
Commissioner v. Moore, 207 F.2d 265, 268-269 (9th Cir.
1953). To be sure, a terminable interest in property having
an indefinite useful life may itself be depreciable, if the
interest is acquired by an investment separate from that
with which the remainder interest is acquired. Gist v.
United States, 423 F.2d 1118 (9th Cir. 1970); Bell v. Harri-
son, 212 F.2d 253, 255 (7th Cir. 1954); 1220 Realty Co. v.
Commissioner, 322 F.2d 495 (6th Cir.1963); Home Trust
Co. v. Commissioner, 65 F.2d 532 (8th Cir. 1933); Fry v.
Commissioner, 31 T.C. 522 (1958), aff'd, 283 F.2d 869 (6th
Cir. 1960). But as the courts below correctly held, a taxpayer
cannot create a depreciable interest in property having an
indefinite useful life by purchasing the fee simple interest
and then dividing his rights by a tax-free transfer of the
remainder interest to a wholly owned corporation. See
United States v. Georgia R.R. & Banking, supra, 348 F.2d
at 287-289; C.G. Sloan & Co. v. Commissioner, 38 T.C.

4

203, 211 (1962). Lomas obviously did not acquire a depreci-
able interest in the golf course by dividing its rights between
an estate for 40 years and a remainder and transferring the
remainder to its wholly owned subidiary.”

Contrary to petitioners’ contention (Pet. 3-5, 9), the deci-
sion below does not conflict with Century Electric Co. v.
Commissioner, 15 T.C. 581 (1950), aff'd, 192 F.2d 155 (8th
Cir. 1951), cert. denied, 342 U.S. 954 (1952). There, the
property involved was a mixture of depreciable and nonde-
preciable assets (i.e., a foundry in which electric motors
were manufactured, a railroad siding, and the underlying
land), most of which were depreciable. The taxpayer, which
had previously owned the property in fee simple, sold it to
an unrelated tax-exempt organization for cash in an
amount less than its basis in the fee, with a leaseback for a
term of 25 to 95 years. 192 F.2d at 158. The issue was
whether the taxpayer's tax basis in the leasehold (i.e., its
basis in the fee simple interest minus the cash received) was
to be depreciated over the useful lives of the assets subject to
the lease rather than over the term of the lease. Jd. at 160.
The court held that taxpayer’s interest was to be depreciated
over the term of the lease, because the interest owned by the
taxpayer was the leasehold, not the separate assets.

2Petitioners attempt (Pet. 8-9) to distinguish Georgia R.R. & Bank-
ing on the ground that there the taxpayer acquired its terminable
interest in the stock by transferring less than the full fee simple interest
to the shareholders, while here Lomas allegedly tranferred the entire fee
and received in exchange all of Country Club’s stock and the 40-year
estate. But the transfer documents make clear that the interest which
Lomas transferred to Country Club was less than the full fee simple, and
that the 40-year estate was a retained interest. Just asin Georgia R.R. &
Banking, Lomas owned the entire fee simple interest in the golf course
facilities prior to the transfer. After the transfer, it had the right to
beneficial use of the property for 40 years, a right which it had before the
transfer. It made no investment in the 40-year estate apart from that
which it made to acquire the fee simple interest.

5

In Century Electric Co., the bulk of the property was
unquestionably depreciable, there was no creation of a
depreciable interest through a gratuitous division of the
property rights comprising the fee simple interest between
related parties, and the only issue was the time period over
which the depreciation was to be taken. Furthermore, the
taxpayer completely divested itself of its fee interest by
transferring the property to an unrelated third party, and
the leaseback interest which it obtained in (partial) consid-
eration for the fee was truly a wasting asset.> See also Miller
v. Commissioner, 68 T.C. 767, 775-779 (1977). None of
these factors is present here.

It is therefore respectfully submitted that the petition for
a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Rex E. Lee
Solicitor General

MARCH 1983

3At the same time that Lomas’ interest in the estate for 40 years was
diminishing in value, there was a corresponding increase in the value of
Country Club’s remainder interest in the golf course. Since Lomas
owned all of the Country Club stock, and since the value of the stock
would increase as the value of Country Club's interest in the golf course
increased, Lomas suffered no economic loss from the expiration of its
40-year estate. This stands in marked contrast with the situation in
Century Electric Co., where the taxpayer would suffer a real loss from
the expiration of the leasehold estate as a consequence of the fact that an
unrelated third party held the fee interest. Here petitioners simply
shifted non-wasting assets from one corporate pocket to another with-
out any overall economic loss from the use of the properties in their
businesses.

DOJ-1983-03

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_0372%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
