# Opposition — Helicopteros Nacionales De Colombia, SA v. Hall

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_0228%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 466 U.S. 408

## Text

Office. Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

FEB 3 1983

EVAS,
CLERK

NO, 82-1127

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1982

HELICOPTEROS NACIONALES
DE COLUMBIA, S.A.,
Petitioner

Vv.

ELIZABETH HALL, et al.,
Respondents

BRIEF OF RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

GEORGE E, PLETCHER
Counsel for Respondents
2800 Two Houston Center
Houston, Texas 77010
(713) 654-4464

Of Counsel:

HELM, PLETCHER & HOGAN
2800 Two Houston Center
909 Fannin Street

Houston, Texas 77010
(713) 654-4464

Alpha Law Brief Co., Inc.—5606 Parkersburg—Houston, Texas 77036—223-3003

I

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Respondents, being dissatisfied with the presentation of
Petitioner, submit the following:

1. Were the contacts and business activities of the
non-resident defendant in Texas of such nature, extent
and substance to justify the assertion of in personam
jurisdiction by the Supreme Court of Texas?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ...... AP ry I
OCTET COIS cs occa cvaeccdkdaeevenmescereedaens 1
CREE REI vk o.oxk ce cndctcccdevaceuuccenermin 1
SEE n.n okt 4000bi00ebhs seen pe penenunneas 2
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED ........ 2
CAG Gr Meee GAME S00 cccdovavctecscuceves 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUE vcccccccvenvessvichescs 2
PPE, 3s wreak a veawcbar sc cbeahansawanesna coe 3
SS. . c ccceenséscadlenseuoterneuenccereduts 5
CERT Ge SRV MD 660i cvs svciccesés cweebes 8
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
Conn v. Whitmore, 342 P.2d 871 (Utah 1959) .......... 7
Hanson v. Denkla, 357 U.S. 235 (1958) .........0c ees 5
International Shoe Company v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310
dal tin think es bien Ge
Pee On Te, BOGE). cpckvenewnrecscesiensevecr 7

Perkins v. Benquet Consolidated Mining Co., 342 U.S. 437 :

CREED ccccccccccsvencccsnoucsdoncvesncesbdpecases
Rosenberg Brothers & Co. v. Curtis Brown Co., 260 U.S.

GE SEOD ons vencccneccecsseenssdasanoseuciewenes 6
—— r v. Parke, Davis & Co., 423 F.2d 584 (lst Cir.

SEN a ics occcneed nouns see teuakhdade mone tteneeeee 6
World-Wide Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson, 444 US. 282

EUUEEE cccvesss0008000006000000000000Rs EE $,6,7

NO, 82-1127

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1982

HELICOPTEROS NACIONALES
DE COLUMBIA, S.A.,
Petitioner

Vv.

ELIZABETH HALL, et al.,
Respondents

BRIEF OF RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

INTRODUCTION

Respondents request this Court to deny the Petition
for Writ of Certiorari filed herein by Petitioner,

OPINION BELOW

The final opinion, concurring opinion and dissenting
opinion are reported at 638 S.W.2d 870 (Tex. 1982)

at
and are reproduced in Petitioner's Appendix, la.

2
JURISDICTION

Jurisdictional requirements are adequately set forth in
Petition, p. 2.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

It is Respondents’ contention that the only constitu-
tional provision involved is the due process clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment which is set forth in the Petition,
p. 2.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The facts material to the question presented appear in
the final opinion of the Supreme Court of Texas, Peti-
tioner’s Appendix 1A,

In Petitioner's statement of the case these inaccuracies
should be noted:

A. Williams-Sedco-Horn, decedents’ employer, was not
headquartered in Oklahoma, but in Houston, Texas.

B. The statement that Helicol’s officer had preliminary
discussions in Houston, Texas about the contract is
incorrect. The contract provisions were finalized and
agreed upon at this meeting.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Sufficient evidence and reasonable inferences thereon
support the conclusions of the Texas Supreme Court that
Petitioner was amenable to jurisdiction.

3
ARGUMENT
I,

Petitioner asserts that the non-resident’s sole contacts
wtih the State of Texas involved equipment purchases and
a single contract discussion with decedents’ employer in
Texas, That assertion is simply not factually accurate.
The Texas Supreme Court found the facts to be:

l.

The contract which brought Respondents’ decedents
and Petitioner together was negotiated in Houston,
Texas between Helicol and decedents’ employer,
Williams-Sedco-Horn,

Helicol purchased substantially all of its helicopter
fleet in Fort Worth, Texas.

It did approximately $4,000,000 worth of business
in Fort Worth, Texas, from 1970 through 1976
as purchaser of equipment, parts and services. This
consisted of spending an average of $50,000 per
month with Bell Helicopter Company, a Texas
corporation.

It negotiated in Houston, Harris County, Texas,
with a Texas resident, which negotiation resulted
in the contract to provide the helicopter service
involving the crash leading to this cause of action
(previously mentioned) and wherein Helicol agreed
to obtain liability insurance payable in American
dollars to cover a claim such as this.

It sent pilots to Fort Worth, Texas to pick up heli-
copters as they were purchased from Bell Helicopter
and fly them from Fort Worth to Colombia.

It sent maintenance personnel and pilots to Texas
to be trained.

es

4

It had employees in Texas on a year-round rotation
basis.

It received roughly $5,000,000 under the terms and
provisions of the contract in question here which pay-
ments were made from First City National Bank
in Houston, Texas; and

It directed the First City National Bank of Houston,
Texas to make payments to Rocky Mountain Heli-
copters pursuant to the contract in question, (In-
volved leasing of a large helicopter capable of mov-
ing heavier loads for Williams-Sedco-Horn).

The Supreme Court then concluded that “. . . Helicol’s
numerous and substantial contacts do constitute ‘doing
business’ in this state. . ." (Petitioner's App. p. 7a)

The concurring opinion properly adds to the factors
just mentioned these matters:

2.

They (Helicol) directly secure the services of the
Texas markets.

Maintain employees on a year-round basis and 26
times sent officials of their company to Texas,

In this multi-million dollar business in Texas, Heli-
col has availed itself of the privilege and benefits
of Texas law,

. Helicol’s numerous and purposeful activities in and

contact with Texas were grounded on the expecta-
tion, or necessity, of invoking the benefits and pro-
tection of Texas law.

It appears that the Texas Supreme Court, the dissent-
ing judges and petitioner are all in agreement that the
United States Supreme Court has laid down certain basic
principles:

5

1. Where a non-resident defendant’s activities in the
forum state are substantial and continuous, juris-
diction is permissible even if the cause of action
arises from activities entirely distinct from its ac-
tivities in the forum. Perkins v. Benquet Consoli-
dated Mining Co., 342 U.S. 437 (1952); Inter-
national Shoe Company v. Washington, 326 U.S.
310 (1945).

2. Where a non-resident defendant’s activities in the
forum state are incidental, transitory and infrequent,
jurisdiction is permissible if such activity gives rise
to the cause of action. /nternational Shoe Company
v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310 (1945).

3. Where a non-resident defendant has no contacts,
ties, or relations, the fact that the cause of action
arises in the forum state does not permit assumption
of jurisdiction. World-Wide Volkswagen Corp. v.
Woodson, 444 U.S. 282 (1980).

Obviously, each case must turn upon its own facts. The
Texas Supreme Court fully considered and correctly de-
cided the issues in this case by a proper application of
the law to the facts.

The facts demonstrated to the satisfaction of the Texas
Supreme Court that Petitioner was doing business in
Texas; so numerous, substantial and continuous were its
activities there.

The evidence demonstrates that Petitioner injected itself
into the business community of Texas and purposefully
availed itself of the privilege of conducting activities there.
Hanson v. Denkla, 357 U.S. 235, 253 (1958), and that
it had enough clear notice that it was subject to suit
there that it agreed to protect itself by procuring liability

6

insurance payable in American dollars. World-Wide Volks-
wagen Corp. v. Woodson, 444 U.S. 286 (1980).

The Texas Supreme Court’s opinion is in harmony
with the three United States Supreme Court’s decisions
cited above.

II.

The decision of the Texas Supreme Court in no manner
conflicts with Rosenberg Brothers & Co. v. Curtis Brown
Co., 260 U.S. 516 (1923).

The two cases are, indeed, factually dissimilar. On the
one hand, the only contact with the forum state was the
purchase of goods—on the other—systematic, prolonged,
substantial business dealings were conducted in the forum
state which included purchases.

It is difficult to conceive that this case, being nothing
more than a factual dispute, could have any effect on
other litigants, much less international trade.

If an alien corporation wishes to protect itself against
the assertion of jurisdiction, it need only limit its activities
to mere purchases. However, having significantly entered
the business community of a state as determined by the
quality, substantiality, continuity and systematic nature
of its activities it should expect to be subject to the juris-
diction of such state. Seymour v. Parke, Davis & Co.,
423 F.2d 584, 587 (1st Cir. 1970).

Helicol freely injected itself into the system of com-
merce in Texas. Having done so, it should “reasonably
anticipate being haled into court there”. World-Wide
Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson, 444 U.S. 282, 297 (1980).

7

ITI.

This case and the two cited by Petitioner are virtual
opposites from a factual standpoint.

Conn v. Whitmore, 342 P.2d 871 (Utah 1959) in-
volved a single transaction between a Utah resident and
an illinois resident—the purchase of a horse. The law
applied by that court is in total accord with that applied
by the Texas Supreme Court.

Marshall Egg Transport Co. v. Bender-Goodman Co.,
148 N.W.2d 161 (Minn. 1967) was a suit on breach of
contract for the purchase of a load of eggs.

Jurisdiction was sought under that state’s single act
statute.

Its only similarity to this case is that a question of
jurisdiction was involved.

IV.

Petitioner asserts that a different test of due process
under the Fourteenth Amendment was applied since Peti-
tioner was an “alien corporation”. Again, Petitioner is
inaccurate. It attempts to utilize the language of a dis-
carded and abandoned sentence in the concurring opinion.
The opinion correctly holds that due process must be
universal in its application.

In proper context the concurring opinion was simply
reiterating this Court’s holding in World-Wide Volkswagen
Corp. v. Woodson, 444 U.S. 282 (1980) concerning the
importance of preserving the system of interstate federal-
ism and that such was not a consideration when another
country, rather than a co-equal sovereign state, is involved.

8
CONCLUSION

For these reasons the Petition for Writ of Certiorari
should be denied.

lly submitted,

. PLETCHER
Attorney for Respondents

Of Counsel:

HELM, PLETCHER & HOGAN
2800 Two Houston Center
909 Fannin Street

Houston, Texas 77010
(713) 654-4464

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this 31st day of January, 1983
three copies of this Brief of Respondents in Opposi-
tion to Petition For A Writ of Certiorari were mailed,
by first class mail, postage prepaid, to Hon. Thomas J.
Whalen, 1030 15th St., N. W., Suite 720, Washington,
D.C. 20005, counsel for Petitioner. I further certify that
all parties required to be se have been served.

GeorGf E. PLETCHER

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_0228%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
