# Supplemental Brief — Kane Gas Light & Heating Co. v. International Brotherhood of Firemen & Oilers, Local 112

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_0147%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Supplemental Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 460 U.S. 1011

## Text

No. 82-1046 Citice- Supreme Court, U.S.

Tr rT D

| _ ‘In The FEB 23 i983
| Aupreme Court of the Hrited State

+

October Term, 1982

KANE GAS LIGHT AND HEATING COMPANY,
Petitioner,

vs.

INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF FIREMEN AND
OILERS, LOCAL 112,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Third Circuit

SUPPLEMENTAL BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

JOHN A. BOWLER JOHN W. ENGLISH
162 West Sixth Street 204 West 6th Street
Erie, Pennsylvania 16501 Erie, Pennsylvania 16507
(814) 454-4533 (824) 453-8984
Attorneys for Petitioner

imate” Wee
anaes we gan vesune Gre teatiee oS :
bs ino seen em eaneaaes oo ma wr ss -

No. 82-1046

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

o—

October Term, 1982
KANE GAS LIGHT AND HEATING COMPANY,
Petitioner,
VS.

INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF FIREMEN AND
OILERS, LOCAL 112,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Third Circuit

SUPPLEMENTAL BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

Since filing its reply to the respondent’s opposition brief,
on February 15, 1983, petitioner has learned only today, February
16, of a recent decision (not yet reported) entered January 28,
1983 by the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania which gives important
judicial support of the petitioner’s contentions in this case.

Attached as Appendix A, is a copy of the unanimous opinion
of that court, written by Chief Justice Samuel J. Roberts in the

2

case Of Philadelphia Housing Authority v. Union of Security
Officers No. 1 (Pa. Supreme Court Appeal No. 81-3-404).

At issue on that appeal was the validity of an award of an
arbitrator which reinstated a security officer employed by
appellant, Philadelphia Housing Authority, whom the Authority
had discharged. The Authority’s petition to modify or correct
the arbitrator’s award was denied by the Court of Common Pleas
of Philadelphia, and the denial was affirmed by a divided panel
of the Commmonwealth Court {Philadelphia Housing Authority
v. Union of Security Officers No. 1, 55 Pa. Cmwlth. Ct. 640,
423 A. 2d 1123 (1980)]. The Supreme Court of Pennsylvania
granted allowance of appeal, and by its order entered January
28, 1983, reversed the order of the Commonwealth Court and
vacated the award of the arbitrator.

The factual situations and the legal principles involved are
similar in both the Philadelphia Housing case and the pending
Kane Gas case.

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court concluded that on the facts
found by the arbitrator in the Philadelphia Housing case, that
he was without authority to overturn the Philadelphia Housing
Authority’s discharge of the employee, and it held that the
arbitrator’s decision to reinstate the employee was unjustified by
any terms that were or could properly have been contemplated
by the parties to the collective bargaining agreement. The
Pennsylvania Supreme Court’s reasoning can equally apply to the
present case.

Since the reasoning and holding of the Supreme Court of
Pennsylvania and the United States Court of Appeals for the Third
Circuit appear to be in conflict on the same matter — judicial
review of an arbitrator’s award — the petitioner suggests that
such conflict should be considered by the Supreme Court of the

3

United States as an additional reason for granting the writ of
certiorari in this pending case.

Respectfully submitted,
JOHN A. BOWLER

JOHN W. ENGLISH
Attorneys for Petitioner

4
APPENDIX A

iN THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA
Eastern District

No. 81-3-404
ARGUED: October 26, 1982
FILED: January 28, 1983
PHILADELPHIA HOUSING AUTHORITY,
Appellant
Vv.
UNION OF SECURITY OFFICERS #1
Appeal from an order of the Commonwealth Court at No. 862
C.D. 1979, entered December 31, 1980, affirming an order of
the Court of Common Pleas of Philadelphia, at No. 65 January
Term, 1979, entered March 27, 1979.
OPINION OF THE COURT
ROBERTS, C.J.

At issue on this appeal is the validity of an award of an
arbitrator which reinstated a security officer employed by appellant
Philadelphia Housing Authority whom the Authority had
discharged. The Authority’s petition to modify or correct the
arbitrator’s award was denied by the Court of Common Pleas

of Philadelphia, and the denial was affirmed by a divided panel
of the Commonwealth Court. Philadelphia Housing Authority

v. Union of Security Officers No. 1, 55 Pa.Cmwith.Ct. 640, 423
A.2d 1123 (1980). We granted allowance of appeal, and now
reverse the order of the Commonwealth Court and vacate the
award of the arbitrator.

The security officer, Richard Green, was discharged on March
27, 1979, for allegedly using his position to obtain for his own
benefit $900 belonging to Henry Herbert, an elderly resident at
the housing project where Green had worked. Following Green’s
discharge, appellee Union of Security Officers No. 1 sought
reinstatement of Green pursuant to the grievance procedure
provided in the collective bargaining agreement between the parties.
The agreement provided that ‘‘[t}he Authority may for just cause
take whatever disciplinary action it deems appropriate at its
discretion.’’ When the parties failed to reach an agreement, the
union invoked its right to arbitration.

At the arbitration hearing, the arbitrator found that Green,
by virtue of a relationship of trust and confidence with Herbert,
had induced Herbert to deposit $900 in a joint bank account,
ostensibly as a fund for Herbert’s funeral expenses, that Green
had withdrawn the money for his own use, and that Green had
lied to his employer during the investigation of his conduct. Despite
these findings, the arbitrator reinstated Green without loss of
seniority or other benefits, believing that the loss of back pay
for the eight months during which Green had been suspended
was ‘‘sufficient punishment.”’

The arbitrator’s reinstatement of Green was apparently based
on the arbitrator’s finding that Green had induced Herbert to
part with his money by playing on their personal friendship and
not, as alleged by the Housing Authority, by taking advantage
of his position as a security officer. Such a distinction, however,
does not mitigate the severity of the offense or justify the
arbitrator’s reversal of the Authority’s decision to discharge a

6

dishonest employee. The defrauding of an elderly tenant, whether
friend or stranger, by a housing authority security officer is
unquestionably conduct justifying the officer’s discharge. Indeed,
such dishonest conduct constitutes an affront to the integrity of
the entire Housing Authority security force.

It is well settled that an arbitrator’s award will be upheld
if the arbitrator’s interpretation of the collective bargaining
agreement is reasonable. See, e.g., International Brotherhood of
Firemen and Oilers, AFL-CIO Local 1201 v. School District of
Philadelphia, 465 Pa. 356, 350 A.2d 804 (1976). Here, however,
it is manifestly unreasonable to conclude that the Housing
Authority could have intended to bargain away its absolute
responsibility to ensure the integrity of its housing security force
by discharging an officer who has defrauded one of the very people
whom he is paid to protect. Having found that security officer
Green had defrauded an elderly tenant and then lied about his
conduct, the arbitrator was without authority to overturn the
Authority’s discharge of Green. As the arbitrator’s decision to
reinstate Green was unjustified by any terms that were or could
properly have been contemplated by the parties to the collective
bargaining agreement, the order of the Commonwealth Court
affirming that decision must be reversed, and the award of the
arbitrator vacated.

Order of the Commonwealth Court reversed, and the award
of the arbitrator vacated.

Former Chief Justice O’BRIEN did not participate in the
decision of this case.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_0147%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
