# Petition — Clark Oil & Refining Corp. v. Alderson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_0082%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition
- **Published:** January 1, 1983
- **Citation:** 459 U.S. 1205

## Text

, AQ * Office - Supreme Court, U.S.
82-38 i FILED
DEC 48 1982

No.
ALEXANDER L. STEVAS,

CLERK
ENE wesc

In the Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1982

CLARK OIL & REFINING CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
VS.

HAROLD ALDERSON,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
MISSOURI COURT OF APPEALS
WESTERN DISTRICT

RussELu D. JACOBSON

(Counsel of Record)
Tuomas B, SuLtivay, III
WILLIAM R. WILLIAMS

2546 Holmes

Kansas City, Missouri 64108

(816) 474-0400

Counsel for Petitioner
December 10, 1982

E. L., MENDENHALL, INc., 926 Cherry Street, Kansas City, Mo. 64106, (816) 421-3030

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

When a verdict for nominal damage and substantial
punitive damages returned against petitioner corporate
employer and in favor of respondent employee, was based
upon petitioner’s alleged failure to write a letter required
by a penal statute which must truly state for what cause
the employee had left the employment and where the
employer was subject to absolute civil liability for any
alleged untrue or erroneous statements in the letter:

I. Can such liability be imposed against petitioner
and other corporate employers under the statute which cre-
ated liability by the use of general terms (ie., “truly
stating for what cause”), but failed to contain any specific
standards or criteria by which to determine that liability,
without violating the requirement of the Due Process
Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment prohibiting the im-
position of liability where the law fixing the same fails
to give the employer fair warning or notice of what con-
stitutes a true cause for a dismissal from employment or
other required statements, and where the employer was
exercising First Amendment rights in expressing its views
about the employee?

II. Can punitive damages be recovered from the peti-
tioner and other corporate employers under a generalized
liability-creating statute which commanded that a letter
issue, without requiring the jury to find actual malice,
particularly where only an award of nominal damage was
assessed, where the defenses of good faith or negligence
in writing the letter were denied to petitioner, and where
the cause arose out of the exercise of First Amendment
rights of free expression by petitioner in setting forth
its views as to the termination of the employee's service,

Il

or does such a recovery under these circumstances violate
the protections of the Due Process Clause of the Four-
teenth Amendment and those of the First Amendment?

III. Does an award of damages against petitioner
and other corporate employers under the absolute liability
imposed by this statute violate the Equal Protection Clause
of the Fourteenth Amendment by singling out only cor-
porate employers for liability where there is no showing
that the statute requiring or compelling this communica-
tion can be presently justified either under the traditional
“rationality” test or the more strict “substantial govern-
mental interest” test where fundamental rights such as
freedom of expression are involved?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

This suit was filed originally by Harold Alderson
against Clark Oil & Refining Corporation and Charles
Palmquist in the Jackson County (Missouri) Circuit
Court; at the time the case was submitted to the jury,
Alderson had dropped his claims against Palmquist, and
proceeded only against Clark. Palmquist was not a party
to the appeals.

Petitioner is a privately held corporation, and has no
public stock ownership.

Ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented for Review ................... ; I
Parties to the Proceedings ...........-ccccccscsesescsoscorersseceeereresecesee 8
Ne Be icici Rncconispatcvotepsentchdennstotonnesectebhiockabioe IV
SINE MII iittala cd cphcichiinstccoceanctitbecnsaisbibbucabacebanesoedgdoosuliaes 1
I Siac biisnicia pes note ctrcevalgteniinasanticsenenibcsoscbseetialebeesiteer 1
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved ........ 2
IS Gr CO I passed scicbdaschnccicsccbcctas a diabcnsditidamvisciincncess 2

IE: CIO inindesosaitirctnistcsshadeccebariédensvoainasiopesonbenct 2

SPIN SU SUD SAID? circsncsicnscsvnnintiniscbiniccdicehdiditepandisincesiacapces 5

Presentation of Federal Questidms .......0..0..0..cccc0000- 10
Reasons for Granting the Wit ...0.0....0.....2...c.ccccccoceseeeeeeeeeeee 12
UII 4.715. cssdsiehsnae lhe Des ovssiemstastadestbudasbnistamembeeaiciiodaess 25
Appendix—

Appendix A—Unreported Opinion of the Jackson
County (Missouri) Circuit Court ....0.000000.00000202.2.- Al
Appendix B—Unreported Order by Missouri Su-
preme Court Denying Petitioner’s Application
Oe IIE TS piscidcictvncccttosaccceenhinisdtanortbicsntaaniondon A5
Appendix C—Opinion of the Missouri Court of Ap-
peals, Western District, Officially Reported at

FE Se OP I ciiesdoanctinessipanegsonmneniaiipeeonsaddanlecalaisioosss A6
Appendix D—Constitutional and Statutory Provi-
I UNION wrlti ce cick eo selgs dante t Glades Gpidihnnchiencontcos Al5

Appendix E—Partial Transcript of Oral Argument
by Petitioner’s Counsel Before Missouri Court
OE IID i ivccscteieeveshabcintacpetabektbinaittadiocsidccnast Madea) Al7
Appendix F—Missouri Approved Instructions
Given by Respondent Alderson to the Jury in
Missouri Circuit Court on the Question of Puni-
SE I icsccdacitinnincinneysieasienieiahonienesigeiionidictntas A20

Iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Cheek v. Prudential Insurance Co., (Mo. 1916) 192
SULT AIT, snlciadiveenbsiadsopihibdnmneneinigeseiinpeocsnibdlighiniennececésteiows 3, 13, 14

Cumby v. Farmland Industries, (Mo.App. 1975) 524
S.W.2d 132 21-22

Curtis Publishing Co. v. Butts, (1967) 388 U.S. 130 ........ 21
First National Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, (1978) 435

U.S. 765 17, 21, 24
Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., (1974) 418 U.S. 323 ....17, 20, 21
Giaccio v. Pennsylvania, (1966) 382 U.S. 399 ............ 12, 14, 15
Givhan v. Western Line Consol. School District, (1979)

439 U.S. 410 17, 21
Grosjean v. American Press, (1935) 297 U.S. 233 ........ 17
Hanch v. K.F.C. Nat. Management Corp., (Mo. en banc

BORE) Bb Ba We OW ertibcisentininitonstentidaiscoenssonintc 15, 18, 19, 20
Herberholt v. DePaul Community Health Center, (Mo.

en banc 1981) 625 S.W.2d 617 19
Heuer v. John R. Thompson Co., (Mo.App. 1952) 251

S.W.2d 980 * 24

Horstman v. General Elec. Co., (Mo.App. 1969) 438
S.W.2d 18 16
Hynes v. Mayor of Oradell, (1976) 425 U.S. 610 ............ 12
Lanzetta v. New Jersey, (1939) 306 U.S. 451 0.000000... 12

New York Times v. Sullivan, (1964) 376 U.S. 254
16, 17, 21
Police Dept. v. Moxley, (1972) 408 U.S. 92 oe 22

Potter v. Milbank Mfg. Co., (Mo. 1972) 489 S.W.2d 197
adi 13, 16, 20, 24

Prudential Insurance Co. v. Cheek, (1922) 259 USS.
530 ENCE RD a thegk COMER 24

Vv

Rimmer v. Colt Industries, (C.A. Mo. 1981) 656 F.2d

BR bi insta eracedt hoaicchlaadasaealegtid cies celacmepacebidiutceaese 14, 18, 19, 20
Roberts v. Emerson Elec. Mfg. Co., (Mo. 1960) 338

SU MIPRMIIIEIE sks isale aicinstacepreinipntialdnnbaaiioasancceubagibvasiieawbosesienn 13, 16, 20
Stanton v. Stanton, (1975) 421 U.S. 7 202. 22
Thornhill v. Alabama, (1940) 310 U.S. 88 ..000000.... 12, 15
Vaca v. Sipes, (1967) 386 U.S. 171 on. eee eeceeceeeeee 16, 23
Walker v. Modern Realty of Missouri, Inc. (Docket No.

TIE ciate ceshcresienvniescoocehsteeebinvebiienespiiiocimebudénnnsitie 18

Other Authorities

U. S. Constitution, First Amendment ............ 2, 11, 16, 17, 20
U. S. Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment ............. 2,11, 16
I IIE SD. sscicsdacsascniceoeistiscseapentdiabeeddesabinastslacs ndasibiseblins 2
I IL DI I 5. i, «. oanaceuendetsipernmeadinovenabdatapacsecbovsininanctscailla 23
I 52 cnc rasastnsactsinbacecsaiatindeibtontastesnaioniobeniaigatie 23
NE TIMI, css ncjavinsncpncninesevonvasied sovaivcaindesaamangs titieoaniee ibe 23
I IIL, s-alcrnccnsssendoniiog] dpeeneshinsdannchiausiibiacandyooninmnsiiientis 23
I III ins sin clnrinesnsidsbeniauudalinesbinsinasotaacodemica 2, 10, 13, 22
EN INI, 1. siasrcsnnshiwociicnsontsidnnnbelodsoalghhbursiivebenecweestisies 21
SINE III sciceuinesiviiacteddipioeucnnjesvice tec heinatsennititiesaiibianiona 19
RN I id licnacshesinistenigibbonibhinataecegeciomcbe 19, 24
Sai ARIE i saapesomsisisdcdenpensbsohosadabesinpasentiahbsocoonisastuscsncckchapnoncioiels 24

No.
In the Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1982

CLARK OIL & REFINING CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
vs.

HAROLD ALDERSON,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
MISSOURI COURT OF APPEALS
WESTERN DISTRICT

OPINIONS BELOW

The Circuit Court of Jackson County issued a short
unreported written opinion, which is set forth in Appendix
A to this petition. The opinion of the Missouri Court of
Appeals, Western District is officially reported at 637
S.W.2d 84, and is set forth in Appendix C to this petition.
The order of the Missouri Supreme Court denying trans-
fer of the appeal from the Court of Appeals is unreported,
and is set forth in Appendix B to this petition.

JURISDICTION

The judgment and opinion of the Missouri Court of
Appeals, Western District, was filed on May 4, 1982. A
timely petition for rehearing was filed with the Court
of Appeals on May 19, 1982, along with an alternative

2

motion for transfer to the Missouri Supreme Court, which
the Court of Appeals denied on June 23, 1982. A timely
application to transfer the appeal was filed with the
Missouri Supreme Court, which that Court denied on
September 13, 1982. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked
under 28 U.S.C. §1257 (3).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves: Par. I, Amendment XIV and
Amendment I of the Constitution of the United States;
and Section 290.140, Revised Statutes of Missouri (1978).
The pertinent provisions thereof are set forth in full in
Appendix D to this petition.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Proceedings Below

Petitioner is a corporation engaged in retail gasoline
sales through service stations operated within the State
of Missouri by its employees. At the time of the events
giving rise to this litigation, Missouri had a penal statute
(§290.140, Revised Statutes of Missouri), applying to such
corporate employers only, requiring it to furnish a letter
upon request of a “laboring man quitting service of [a]
corporation”, signed by the entity’s superintendent or
manager, and setting forth: the nature and character
of service rendered by the employee, the duration thereof,
and the true cause why the employee quit such service.
This law (colloquially known as the “Service Letter
Statute”), further provided that if any superintendent or
manager failed or refused to issue the letter when re-

3

quested, they “shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor,”
and fixed the punishment by fine or by imprisonment
in jail, or both. (The statute’s text is at App. D). The
statute, enacted in 1905, made no provision for a private
cause of action for damages against the corporation, but
in 1916 the Missouri Supreme Court held that such a
cause could be maintained by a former employee, whose
officials had failed to provide a letter, which truly stated
the reason, if any, for the employee’s departure from the
corporation’s service. Cheek v. Prudential Insurance Co.,
(Mo. 1916) 192 S.W. 387, 391.

This cause originated in December 1976, when Re-
spondent employee, Harold Alderson, left his employment
as a station manager for Clark. He thereafter, through
his attorney, requested a service letter from Petitioner,
which was sent him, and read as follows:

“December 22, 1976

Mr. Harold Alderson

554 Oxford .
Independence, Missouri 64053

Dear Mr. Alderson:

This is in response to your letter of December 15,
1976. Be advised that you were employed by Clark
Oil & Refining Corporation as a manager of one of
our stations. In such capacity, your responsibilities
included the general management of our station located
at 202 West 23rd Street, Independence, Missouri. I
have enclosed a copy of a job description for a further
amplification of your duties as manager. You were
employed from July 2, 1975, until December 17, 1976,
and the reason you were terminated was that your
performance simply was not satisfactory to Clark.
That is, the station and its facilities were not main-

4

tained to Clark’s standards, you did not furnish your
Master Reports in a timely fashion to Clark, and on
December 7, 1976, an audit uncovered a loss of almost
$400.00 at the station you were managing.

Very truly yours,
Clark Oil & Refining Corporation

David W. DeNeff
District Manager”

Thereafter, Alderson filed suit for damages against
Clark and one Charles Palmquist (who worked for Clark
in a supervisory capacity at the time of Alderson’s depar-
ture from Clark) in the Missouri Circuit Court. The
cause was tried to a jury in October 1980 for a second
time (an earlier verdict had been set aside and a new
trial ordered), resulting in a verdict against Clark for
one dollar nominal damage and one hundred thousand
dollars punitive damages. Alderson did not submit against
Palmquist.

Upon Clark’s motion for judgment N.O.V. or new
trial, the trial court set aside the punitive damages award
but left intact the nominal damage verdict. The trial
court determined that the evidence failed to support the
punitive damages submission, but overruled petitioner’s
constitutional challenges to the statute and the nominal
damage verdict. The court also granted the alternative
new trial motion as to punitive damages. (See App. A).
Thereafter both petitioner and respondent appealed the
trial court’s judgment to the Missouri Court of Appeals,
Western District.

The Court of Appeals, on May 4, 1982, reversed that
part of the trial court’s judgment which set aside the
punitive damages award, and likewise reversed the new

5

trial award and reinstated the verdict against petitioner.
The Court of Appeals also sustained the trial court’s judg-
ment denying petitioner relief against the nominal damage
verdict. See 637 S.W.2d 84. (A copy of the Court of
Appeals’ decision is set out at App. C). Clark’s motion
for rehearing or, alternatively, for transfer to the Missouri
Supreme Court was overruled by the Court of Appeals
on June 23, 1982, and an application to the Supreme Court
was unavailing, being denied on September 13, 1982.

Details of the Case

Alderson had been employed by Clark since July 1975,
and was promoted to service station manager in May 1976.
He continued to manage a Clark station until he left
Clark’s employment in December 1976. His immediate
supervisor was the retail sales representative, Charles
Palmquist, who in turn was supervised by the district
manager, David DeNeff.

On December 7, 1976 Alderson was on his way home
after work and stopped at another Clark station to see a
Bob Thompson, its manager. There Alderson met Charles
Palmquist, his supervisor, who suggested that the three
of them go out for a drink. Thompson declined, but
Alderson and Palmquist left for a nearby lounge, where
they remained for several hours. During the evening,
Palmquist asked Alderson for his opinion of Thompson’s
potential for advancement, and Alderson indicated his
lack of confidence in Thompson’s ability because of alleged
shortages at his station. This statement apparently upset
Palmquist who suggested that Alderson was probably the
one whose station was short. Alderson offered him the
keys to the station and invited Palmquist to conduct an
immediate audit. Palmquist declined.

After the two had parted company, Alderson returned
to his station. Palmquist preceded him, and appeared to
be intoxicated Alderson summoned the police who asked
Palmquist to leave, which Palmquist did, but before leav-
ing the station he attempted to call the district manager,
DeNeff, to inform him of what was going on. (Transcript,
hereafter “T.”, 62) Alderson said that he himself did not
attempt to talk to DeNeff nor try to reach him that
evening. (T. 62) He testified that he had been fired by
Palmquist that night (T. 67), although DeNeff said it
was on December 8 (T. 184). Rather than lock the sta-
tion and leave after Palmquist left, he destroyed the com-
pany safe, holding money collected at the station, by
drilling the cast iron steel for approximately 114 hours
until he got the money out. He testified that he destroyed
the safe, even though no one else including Palmquist could
have opened it that evening, by use of a drill from his car.
(T. 64) In response to a question of whether or not the
drilling of the safe took place after Palmquist had fired
him, Alderson indicated that it had. (T. 58)

In direct examination Alderson maintained that he
had Clark’s authority to take the money from the station,
without any mention of Palmquist firing him. (T. 33) He
testified that the following morning Palmquist was in-
terested in forgetting the whole incident but apparently
Alderson was not interested in continuing with his em-
ployment. (T. 34-35)

DeNeff testified that Palmquist had contacted him
the evening of December 7, and informed him to some
extent of what was occurring. (T. 126-127) Next morning
DeNeff went to the station where Palmquist only was
present conducting an audit. (T. 128) DeNeff noticed
that the safe had been drilled out, and the money missing.
(T. 128) DeNeff called Alderson and asked him what

7

had happened, and asked where the money and the reports
were. (T. 129) Alderson at that time informed DeNeff
that the reports and money were at his lawyer’s office.
(T. 129) DeNeff told Alderson that unless he turned over
the money and reports, that he would have to go to the
prosecutor (T. 129) DeNeff and Alderson agreed to meet
and Alderson agreed to turn over the money and reports.
(T. 129)

At the meeting on December 8, according to Alderson,
DeNeff indicated that he would reprimand Palmquist, or -
lay him off, and would consequently think of some reason
for terminating Palmquist. (T. 26) Alderson said that at
that time the possibility of his staying with Clark was
not discussed. (T. 36)

On December 9 DeNeff met Alderson at a bank,
where Alderson returned the money. Alderson made no
mention of any discussion at the bank regarding his future
employment with Clark. (T. 40)

Alderson’s first, and only mention in direct examina-
tion, of an alleged statement by DeNeff to make up a
reason to fire Alderson rather than Palmquist, came in
a description of what Alderson did after he left the bank.
Alderson testified that he contacted his attorney, and he
responded as follows to a question by his lawyer:

“Q. Alright and what was your concern at that time
Mr. Alderson?

A. Mr. DeNeff had told me he would have to fab-
ricate some reasons for termination because they
were doing it, and I didn’t understand why he
would have to fabricate a reason for terminating,
so I contacted you to find out what I should do.”
(T. 40)

There is no testimony which fixes a date upon which
DeNeff allegedly made this statement, nor in what context
the alleged statement was made, or precisely what was
said, Alderson contradicted his own testimony on this
issue when he later testified that it was on December 8,
not on the 9th, that he first contacted his attorneys (T.
68, 82), while DeNeff testified that Alderson told him on
the 8th that he already contacted his lawyers. (T. 130)

The only other mention of the alleged statement about
making up a reason to fire Alderson came in cross-
examination where Alderson indicated that the only ex-
planation that he could give why DeNeff would have told
him that he would have to make up a reason to terminate
him. (T. 69-70) DeNeff testified that nothing in his per-
sonal dealings with Alderson would have affected his judg-
ment in sending Alderson the letter (T. 138), which was
not contradicted by Alderson.

On Decernber 15, Alderson requested the service letter.
The letter recited that Alderson had been employed by
Clark from July 2, 1975 until December 17, 1976, when he
was terminated due to poor maintenance of the station,
untimely filing of master reports and a shortage of $400.00
uncovered in an audit on December 7, 1976. DeNeff
said the audit revealed a shortage of $696.55, including
$78.00 in employee ioans (T. 162), and employee shortages
of $200.00 to $300.00 (T. 133-134), both of which were un-
collectable. (T. 168) He testified that a further difference
between the two audit figures was a damaged merchandise
figure of $84.87. (T. 171) As far as DeNeff was con-
cerned on December 8th, Alderson was $2300.00 short, be-
cause that was the amount needed to be accounted for by
the audit conducted on that day. (T. 173-182)

DeNeff signed the service letter, which was sent out
about December 22 upon the request of Alderson and his
lawyers, and was based upon information given by DeNeff.
The letter gave Alderson’s dates of employment as July
2, 1975 to December 17, 1976, the latter date admittedly a
typographical error. As reasons for leaving the employ-
ment, the letter recited that Alderson had failed to satis-
factorily maintain the station and its facilities; had failed
to furnish master reports in a timely fashion; and that on
December 7, 1976, an audit uncovered a loss of almost
$400.00 at the station. Evidence given by DeNeff at the
trial was that he based the letter upon his views that
Alderson had failed to keep the station up to the stan-
dards that Clark required (e.g. see T. 123-124, 184-185);
that Alderson had failed to send in his daily master
reports on time (e.g. see T, 121-122, 125-126, 184-185); and
that the audit run on December 8 demonstrated a short-
age at the station of about $400.00 (e.g. see T. 131-135, 184-
185), shortages about which DeNeff was aware when
he wrote the service letter in issue (T. 146, 184-187).
DeNeff also testified that December 7 was the last day
that Alderson had worked, but that he was fired the
next day (T. 185), 8 December.

No one, other than Alderson ever requested or in-
quired of Clark to see the letter. (T. 142) Alderson of-
fered no examples of any employers receiving any infor-
mation from Clark, directly or indirectly, regarding the
letter or its contents, nor did any prospective employer
ever indicate that Clark had given Alderson a negative
reference.

Alderson presented only one example of a prospective
employer to whom he had allegedly shown the letter, a
credit union in May or June 1980. (T. 50-51, 79) How-
ever, the union's collection manager, to whom Alderson

10

applied, testified that he did not know what a service let-
ter was (T. 191); that he did not recall the contents of
any such letter (T. 194); and that Alderson lacked the
experience and qualifications for the job without regard
to any letter. (T. 193) Furthermore, the manager testified
that Alderson did not really seem interested in the credit
union job, because of his other interests pertaining to this
lawsuit which was then pending against his former em-
ployer, Clark. (T. 194)

In setting aside the punitive damages award, the trial
court found that:

“There was no evidence upon which the jury
could have found defendant had an ulterior motive,
that the purported reasons defendant stated in its
service letter were other than mistakes of fact or that
defendant’s conduct in writing its service letter in the
manner in which it did was either willful, wanton, or
malicious, that is, intentionally wrongfully written
without just cause or excuse and that, therefore, the
Court erred in submitting such issue and the jury’s
verdict, therefor and judgment thereon is and was
erroneous and, as stated, not supported by competent
and substantial evidence.” (App. A).

Presentation of Federal Questions

Petitioner Clark challenged the constitutionality of the
statute (§290.140, R.S.Mo.) and its application in an
amended answer filed in March, 1980 (Record, Legal File,
49-51), and in August 1980 by way of a summary judg-
ment motion filed in the trial court (Record, Supple-
mental Legal File, 30-33), which trial court overruled on
September 2, 1980, without setting forth any reasons.
Petitioner renewed the challenges at trial (T. 8-9, 117),

11

and again urged the constitutional claims in its motion for
judgment N.O.V. (R., L.F., 72-86; also R., Supp. L.F. 1 et
seq.), all of which the trial court overruled without stating
reasons. (R., L.F., 87-89) Petitioner had challenged the stat-
ute on a number of federal grounds under the Due Process
and Equal Protection Clauses of the Fourteenth Amend-
ment and the freedom of speech proviso of the First Amend-
ment, and included such claims as unconstitutional im-
position of punitive damages without the necessity of find-
ing actual damages, denial to petitioner of such defenses
as good faith and so on, failure of the statute and its con-
structions to give petitioner corporate employer fair notice
of what constituted a proper response to a service letter
request, particularly as to what constituted a “true” reason
for discharge; the law’s application only to corporate em-
ployers, without the showing required by the Equal Pro-
tection Clause as to why it so discriminated, particularly
when viewed in the light of its restrictions upon the peti-
tioner’s rights of corporate free speech; and other rea-
sons. (R., Supp. L.F., 30 et seq.)

Petitioner appealed the trial court judgment denying
the constitutional objections. (R., L.F.) The Court of
Appeals rejected Petitioner’s constitutional claims for the
reason that “[aJll the constitutional arguments advanced
in Clark’s brief have been considered by our Supreme
Court (since Clark’s brief was filed) and rejected. Hanch
v. KFC National Management Corp., 615 S.W.2d 28 (Mo.
banc 1981); Accord: Rimmer v. Colt Industries Operating
Corp., 656 F.2d 323 (8th Cir. 1981).” (See C.A. Opinion,
App. C, 637 S.W.2d at 85). While the Court of Appeals
offered the observation that Clark in oral argument ac-
knowledged the statute’s constitutionality was “not now a
viable issue” (App. A, 637 S.W.2d at 85-86), that char-
acterization was inaccurate in that Clark’s counsel pre-

12

served the constitutional challenges as demonstrated in the
transcript of oral argument. (See App. E). Petitioner
renewed the constitutional issues on May 19, 1982 in its
motion for rehearing or alternatively for transfer to the
Missouri Supreme Court, which the Court of Appeals de-
nied without comment on June 23, 1982. Clark then filed
its motion in the Missouri Supreme Court, asking that
tribunal to transfer the case to examine the constitutional
issues, along with other matters decided in the Court of
Appeals’ opinion, but which that Court denied without
reasons on September 13, 1982. (See App. B).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This Court has repeatedly recognized that under the
Due Process Clause no one may be required at peril of life,
liberty or property to speculate as to the meaning of penal
statutes; and that the terms of a penal statute creating an
offense unknown to the law must be sufficiently explicit to
inform those who are subject to it what conduct on their
part will render them liable to its penalties, a requirement
consonant with the ordinary notions of fair play and the
settled rules of law. See Giaccio v. Pennsylvania, (1966)
382 U.S. 399, 400-405; Thornhill v. Alabama, (1940) 310
U.S. 88, 100; Lanzetta v. New Jersey, (1939) 306 U.S. 451,
453; and Hynes v. Mayor of Oradell, (1976) 425 U.S. 610,
620; to cite just a few examples,

The penal statute in this case, which forms the only
basis for the cause of action agsinst corporate employ-
ers, commands that such an employer truly state for
what cause an employee has quit the employer’s service
and certain other information, but beyond this general

13

liability-creating charge it is completely devoid of specific
guidelines or criteria by which to advise the employer of
what constitutes a response sufficient to protect itself from
liability when responding to the request for such a letter.
Then by way of compounding the difficulty, the courts
have in effect stripped the employer of any defenses such
as good faith in writing the response or negligence in doing
so, Roberts v. Emerson Elec. Mfg. Co., (Mo. 1960) 338
S.W.2d 62, 72; Potter v. Milbank Mfg. Co., (Mo. 1972) 489
S.W.2d 197, 206. And because the statute requires the
corporation to affirmatively respond by a proper letter
such is an intrusion or restriction upon the right of cor-
porate speech, thereby raising a question of First Amend-
ment rights.

There is no civil cause of action for damages at common
law for a service letter such as this. Although the cause of
action is solely based upon a state statute, § 290.140, R.S.Mo.
(1978), it does not provide for any such action, rather
the cause was implied by the courts from the statute, Cheek
v. Prudential Ins. Co., (Mo. 1916) 192 S.W. 387. When
Cheek reached this Court in 1922 (see 259 U.S. 530), the
issues raised were not the ones presented here, for example
the Court never discussed nor decided the question of
constitutional vagueness of the statutory language, nor
the imposition of substantial punitive damages with re-
quiring a finding of actual malice, nor was the equal pro-
tection ruling based upon the considerations that have been
asserted here, rather it was upon 1922 considerations
which reflected a much different economic, social and con-
stitutional fabric than exists some 60 years later, as
illustrated by the developments in the field of corporate
free speech, and the extension of many, if not most, of
the basic constitutional guarantees to the corporate form
of business entity. Cheek was decided in a far different

14

era, when corporations were still a main point of regulatory
focus, and when many forms of economic and social
legislation were confined solely to them, having not yet
been extended to cover other forms of business entities, as
is now the case (see the discussion under Point III here).
In fact much of the equal protection/due process deter-
minations in Cheek were concerned with allegations of a
conspiracy between insurance carriers (see 259 U.S. at
546-548) to deprive plaintiff of his right to sell insurance,
as opposed to the issues raised here.

Over the years the courts have interpreted the statute
in a confusing, contradictory and uncertain manner, a fact
which has not escaped unnoticed by some courts, e.g. Rim-
mer v. Colt Industries, (C.A. Mo. 1981) 656 F.2d 323. The
Court of Appeals noted that they would read certain state
court decisions construing the law “more narrowly” than
certain later state court rulings, Id. at 326, while another
judge specifically noted (Id. at 331) the unevenness and
lack of clarity in the holdings.

Against this background, petitioner contends that the
application of this statute raises serious constitutional ques-
tions, both from a facial standpoint and that of application,
particularly where it penalizes by imposing absolute li-
ability under general and vague language without contain-
ing ascertainable standards, guidelines or conditions what-
soever as to what is meant by “truly stating” the cause for
an employee’s termination or with regard to the other
items in the statute, so as to allow an employer to respond
in a manner so as to protect itself and to allow a judge or
jury to intelligently consider the liability issue. In this
regard the vague language of the statute raises a question of
deficiency such as was held violative of due process in
such cases as Giaccio, where the employment of gen-
eral abstract charges as “misconduct” and “represensible

15

conduct” was condemned, or in Thornhill, where the phrase
“without just cause or legal exercise” failed to pass con-
stitutional muster.

What is meant by “truly stating the cause”? Does it
mean “just”, or “correct”, or “substantially true”, or “hon-
est” or “sincere”? What happens if there are multiple
grounds as set forth which is the case here? If one ground
is erroneous, and the others correct, does one erroneous
ground by itself establish liability? Is an employer liable
if there was an “honest” or “sincere” or good faith belief
that the reasons or any part thereof are true, even though
subsequent events may prove them incorrect? Is the
employer liable where reasons given in a letter are believed
correct, but the jury believes that other or additional rea-
sons should have been included? Is an employer liable for
honest though negligent mistakes? The fact is, the stat-
ute is so vague and standardless it leaves judges and
jurors free to decide, without any legally fixed standards,
what is prohibited and what is not in each particular case,
see Giaccio v. Pennsylvania, supra at 402-403.

The Missouri courts have consistently failed to specifi-
cally address this constitutional objection or have delib-
erately avoided doing so, not only in this case, but in other
recent cases where they have evaded ruling or failed to
specifically rule on federal constitutional objections. A
good example is Hanch v. K.F.C. Nat. Management Corp.,
(Mo. en banc 1981) 615 S.W.2d 28, 34, where by a one vote
majority, the Missouri Supreme Court upheld the stat-
ute’s constitutionality, yet, failed to specifically address
the due process claim that the law provided no guidance as
to what type of response constituted a proper service let-
ter, choosing instead to avoid by means of conclusory as-
sertions that carefully avoided federally-predicated objec-
tions.

16

Where a statute fails to provide required guidelines
or standards, it allows the triers of fact to treat these
cases as wrongful discharge actions, instead of actions un-
der the Service Letter Statute, a situation analogous to that
of Vaca v. Sipes, (1967) 386 U.S. 171, 188-195, where this
Court ruled that a verdict was erroneously sustained where
the case had actually been tried on the theory that an
employee had been wrongfully terminated, when in fact the
real issue should have been whether a labor organization
had fairly and in good faith processed the employee’s griev-
ance as to the termination.

Lack of Defenses. As stated earlier, the difficulty in
constitutionally applying the statute is compounded by de-
cisional law, which refuses to allow the corporate employer
to instruct the jury on its good faith in writing the letter
or where it may have negligently drawn a response, as
defenses, see Potter v. Milbank Mfg. Co., supra, and Roberts
v. Emerson Elec. Mfg. Co., supra, or where it may have
mingled some true statements as to termination with in-
correct statements, or where the reasons that it gave in the
letter may all have been correct, but the employer forgot or
overlooked including another one. Yet nowhere in the stat-
utory language are such defensive matters prohibited. Like
the creation of the cause of action itself, such defenses are
excluded only by judicial creation, and not by any express
exclusion in the language of the statute. To make mat-
ters worse, the decisions hold on the one hand that the
penal law is to be strictly interpreted in favor of the em-
ployer and against the employee’s claim, see Horstman v.
General Elec. Co., (Mo.App. 1969) 438 S.W.2d 18, but
then likewise refuse to recognize defenses such as good
faith, etc., although this Court in New York Times v. Sul-
livan, (1964) 376 U.S. 254, 279-283, has recognized a qual-
ified privilege of honest mistake of fact under the First
and Fourteenth Amendments as a legitimate defense.

17

Impingement on the Exercise of First Amendment
Rights. First of all, corporations are persons within the
meaning of the Due Process Clause, which prohibits a state
from depriving them of property without due proess of
law. Grosjean v. American Press, (1935), 297 U.S. 233,
244. Secondly, when a statute also impinges upon First
Amendment guaranties of the exercise of free speech, the
constitutional vices of the law working a deprivation of
property are enhanced. This Court in First National Bank
of Boston v. Bellotti, (1978) 435 U.S. 765, has clearly recog-
nized the application of the free speech guaranties to
corporations, and under the New York Times, supra; Gertz
v. Robert Welch, Inc., (1974) 418 U.S. 323, 350; and Givhan
v. Western Line Consol. School District, (1979) 439 U.S.
410, 413, line of decisions has increasingly recognized rights
of free expression, in areas of public and private communi-
cations, and has restricted statutory interference in these
areas. Here the application of a statute directed only
against corporate employers which is vague and uncertain
in its liability-creating terms, which in the total absence of
statutory authority to do so denies the employer defenses
by way of judicial decision, which permits unlimited puni-
tive damages based upon a nominal damage award but
without a finding of actual malice, and which interferes
with the exercise of corporate rights of free speech raises
what petitioner believes are serious constitutional ques-
tions that this Court should resolve.

There is a conflict between the federal and state courts
in Missouri over whether punitive damages can be assessed
without first finding actual malice. Federal district courts,
at least in the Western District of Missouri, instruct their
juries in service letter cases that actual malice must be

18

found first before punitive damages can be imposed, e.g.
Walker v. Modern Realty of Missouri, Inc. (Docket No.
80-0077-CV-W-1). The U. S, Eighth Circuit Court of Ap-
peals considered constitutional challenges to the statute
in Rimmer v. Colt Industries, (C.A. Mo, 1981) 656 F.2d
323, reversing 495 F.Supp. 1217 (W.D, Mo. 1980), and
expressed the view that:

“We do not decide the issue whether the service
letter statute would be constitutional if it imposed
liability without fault or permitted the recovery of
punitive damages without a showing of actual malice.
We can decide that question when it is properly before
us. Moreover, we do not necessarily agree with the
district court’s view that the Missouri Supreme Court
has decided these issues in the way the district court
determined it has. We read Potter v. Milbank Mfg.
Co., 489 S.W.2d 197 (Mo. 1972) and Roberts v, Emer-
son Electric Mfg. Co., 338 S.W.2d 62 (Mo. 1960) more
narrowly than the district court, particularly in light
of the recent Missouri Court of Appeals’ decision in
Newman v, Greater Kansas City Baptist Hosp, Ass'n,
604 S.W.2d 619 (Mo.App. 1980). [Other Missouri cita-
tions omitted].” (Emphasis supplied),

Rimmer raises the implication that the statute could not
be constitutionally applied to allow punitive damages with-
out finding actual malice, but does so by reading state
court decisions more narrowly than do the state courts
themselves, e.g. see Hanch v, K.F.C, Nat, Management
Corp., (Mo, en banc 1981) 615 S.W.2d 28 A concurring
opinion in Rimmer stated:

“The majority opinion assumes that Rimmer can
recover punitive damages only by proving that ‘the
reasons stated in the letter for the discharge were

19

false, that Colt knew they were false, and nonetheless
wantonly and maliciously issued the letter.’ Based
on this assumption, I believe that the majority's stan-
dard for imposing punitive damages represents the
minimum requirements for upholding the statute
against attack on first amendment grounds.” (656 F.2d
at 331).

The federal courts of the Western District of Missouri
have so interpreted Rimmer, and their instructions require
a finding of actual malice. Yet for reasons yet to be
articulated, legal malice continues to be used by state
courts without explanation or reason for doing so.

Nevertheless in spite of the federal court decisions,
which appear to be reading the state decisions in a more
restrictive fashion because of the constitutional implica-
tions, the decisions of the state appellate courts have not
hesitated to expansively read the penal statute to allow
the imposition of substantial punitive damages without
requiring juries to find actual malice, Hanch v. K.F.C.
Nat, Management Corp., supra; Herberholt v, DePaul Com-
munity Health Center, (Mo, en banc 1981) 625 S.W.2d 617,
624, Under the pattern instructions (Missouri Approved
Instructions or M.A.I.) which the state supreme court re-
quires be used to instruct a jury in these cases, the jury
is instructed that punitive damages may be awarded if
you believe that the defendant's conduct was malicious
(M.A.I, No, 10.01, see App. F), which term is defined
for the jury as legal rather than actual malice as follows:

“malicious as used in these instructions does not
mean hatred, spite or ill will, as commonly understood,
but means the doing of a wrongful act intentionally
without just cause or excuse.” (M.A.I. No, 16.01, see

App. F).

There are no defensive M.A.I.s available to the corporate
employers because, as already noted under Point I here,
the courts have determined, without advancing any justifi-
cation therefor, that the employers are not entitled to
raise defenses such as good faith or negligence. E.g. Pot-
ter v. Milbank Mfg. Co., (Mo, 1972) 489 S.W.2d 197, 206;
Roberts v. Emerson Elec, Mfg. Co., (Mo. 1960) 338 S.W.2d
62, 72.

It is readily apparent from a reading of decisions
such as Rimmer, that the federal courts are concerned
with the imposition of punitive damages on the basis of
a finding of legal malice only, notwithstanding a contrary
view held by the state courts. The clear concern of the
federal courts is with an impairment of the corporate
employer’s First Amendment rights of free expression
as outlined, for example, in the Rimmer case (especially
see 495 F.Supp, at 1222-1223; and 656 F.2d at 326-327,
331 (concurring opinion)), wherein a concurring judge
held that the district court analysis of the First Amendment
rights was correct, and therefore under the standard laid
down by this Court in Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., (1974)
418 U.S, 323, 349, as applied to the service letter cases,
a plaintiff, to recover punitive damages, must prove by
a preponderance of the evidence that an employer made
a false statement, knowing it to be false or with reckless
disregard for its truth, 656 F.2d at 331. However, as stated
under Point I of this petition, this is not the rule as set
forth by state court decisions such as Hanch which in ef-
fect reject the concept of corporate free speech by simply
replying that a corporate employer is only being required
to speak truthfully, 615 S.W.2d at 35, but glossing over
the infirmities in the statute which prevent such com-
pliance.

21

Without unduly rehearsing the past, this Court has de-
veloped its line of authority on the media cases, such as
Gertz, New York Times v. Sullivan, (1964) 376 U.S, 254,
279-80; Curtis Publishing Co. v. Butts, (1967) 388 U.S. 130,
to confer free speech protection to various classes of pri-
vate expression, e.g. Givhan v. Western Line Consol, School
Dist., (1979) 439 U.S. 410, 413, and in First Nat, Bank of
Boston v. Bellotti, (1978) 435 U.S. 765 to corporate persons.

The difficulty with punitive awards under the statute
such as the one challenged here runs deep because the
statute’s language fails to provide the corporate employer
with fair notice of what constitutes a proper response
to a request for a service letter, and then exacerbates
the employer's position by denying it defenses such as
good faith or negligence in responding, which has the
effect of making the employer strictly liable for these
damages regardless of how insignificant an error in the
response may have been and despite the fact that the
statutory language nowhere outlaws such defenses,

In light of the rules developed by this court for assess-
ing punitive damages in the media cases such as Gertz, and
where the mode of creating liability is viewed within the
constitutionally vague context of the Due Process Clause,
there is a serious unresolved issue of how far legislatures
and courts may go in imposing such punitive damage lia-
bility under the guise of regulation,

The statute applies to corporate employers only
without any discernible justification which satisfies either
of the tests developed to examine legislation under the
Equal Protection clause. The statute was enacted as an
adjunct to the state anti-blacklisting law, §559.390, R.S.Mo.
(1969); Cumby v, Farmland Industries, (Mo.App. 1975)

22

524 S.W.2d 132, 135, but that statute was repealed in 1977
when the new Missouri criminal code was enacted by the
legislature, and is therefore no longer a viable argument
to support the Service Letter Statute. If the statute was
designed to protect the reputations of employees it is
underinclusive because it covers only those who work
for corporations, and ignores the many persons employed
by employer entities not covered by the law. As presently
applied, it protects not only the reputations of employees
who may actually have sustained actual injury to reputa-
tion, which is not the case here because the proof clearly
established that Alderson did not use the letter, but also
employees whose reputations have not sustained any actual
injury, as is the case here, so that the §290.140 is over-
inclusive as well,

There has been no rational distinction developed in
the case law (state or federal) construing the statute that
demonstrates a present justification for the law, either
under the “substantial interest” test applied when fun-
damental rights such as free speech are involved, e.g.
Police Dept. v. Moxley, (1972) 408 U.S. 92, 95, or under the
more traditional “rationality” test, prohibiting arbitrary
statutory classification, which classification to be valid
must rest upon some ground of difference having a
fair and substantial relation to the object of the legisla-
tion so that all persons similarly circumstanced shall be
treated alike. Stanton v. Stanton, (1975) 421 U.S. 7, 14.
Yet here there is no rational basis to distinguish between
corporations on the one hand and other types of employers
entities such as partnerships or individuals on the other.
In today’s world is an employer n,ore suspect because it
takes a corporate form than another type, or does the com-
mon experience give rise to judicial notice or established
fact that corporations are more of a problem than other
forms of business entities?

23

If corporations are generally such a special regulatory
problem, in Missouri, or elsewhere, then why are most of
the laws affecting the employment rights of individuals
usually made applicable to broad categories of employers
that include persons, individuals, partnerships, associa-
tions, corporations, trustees, receivers, and so forth, e.g.
workers’ compensation, §287.030; unemployment benefits,
$288.030 (14); limitations upon working hours, §290.020;
payment due a discharged employee, §290.110, all in the
Revised Statutes of Missouri (1978)? Nor in the case of
injury to reputation, does the law appear to distinguish be-
tween corporations and other persons in imposing liability
for such injuries, e.g, 53 C.J.S., Libel & Slander, §148, And,
of course, as noted earlier, the state anti-blacklisting stat-
ute was repealed in 1977 by the legislature.

The question arises as to why out of such a background
corporate entities are singled out for special treatment?
We submit that there is no rule of law which holds that
corporate employers are more or are less truthful in their
dealing with their employees than other classes of em-

ployer.

Or is the reason for the survival of this discriminatory
and arbitrary classification a more subtle one, namely a
way to impose liability for an alleged wrongful discharge
under the guise of an allegedly untruthful service letter,
which poses the same essential problem faced by this
court in Vaca v, Sipes, (1967) 386 U.S. 171, 193-195 (there
the jury verdict was found to be based not upon the issue
of good faith, or more particularly the lack thereof, of the
union in handling the employee’s grievance, but rather
upon the merits of the grievance itself, and in effect a form
of action for wrongful discharge).

The denial of equal protection is enhanced by such
additional factors as the decisional law which allows un-

24

limited punitive damages based upon a nominal award of
actual damages, without a showing of actual malice in
these cases, Heuer v. John R. Thompson Co., (Mo.App.
1952) 251 S.W.2d 980, 985; also Missouri Approved In-
structions (M.A.I.) 23.08 and 16.01; the refusal of the Mis-
souri courts to recognize good faith or negligence as a de-
fense in these cases, e.g. Potter v, Milbank Mfg. Co., (Mo.
1972) 489 S.W.2d 197, 206, also see M.A.I. 23.08, although
the Service Letter Statute does not contain any lan-
guage which excludes such defenses; and the vague and un-
certain vice of the statute, which is urged here as a reason
for review by petitioner under Point I of these reasons.
Additionally, and of equal importance, is the question of
First Amendment rights of free expression which petitioner
corporation urges have been infringed upon by the appli-
cation of the Service Letter Statute requiring the
petitioner to speak without allowing petitioner and other
corporate employers the same constitutional safeguards
extended to others and by imposing absolute liability upon
corporate employers only for the slightest infraction, no
matter how innocently or unimportant the infraction may
have been.

It is urged that the same rationale present in the
arguments advanced under Points I and II here, as to the
conflict between the decisions of this Court on Due Process
and First Amendment grounds are equally applicable under
this point. Furthermore, it is also strongly urged that
since the decision of this Court in Prudential Insurance Co.
v, Cheek, (1922) 259 U.S. 530, the law regarding the scope
of economic regulation and its relationship to the rights
of persons, including corporations, has undergone radical
revision, e.g. witness First National Bank of Boston v.
Bellotti, (1978) 435 U.S. 765, and to whatever extent the
Cheek decision may still have application is deserving of
reexamination.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the petition for a writ of cer-
tiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Russe.tt D. JACOBSON

(Counsel of Record)
Tuomas B. SULLIVAN, III
WituiaM R. WILLIAMS

2546 Holmes

Kansas City, Missouri 64108

(816) 474-0400

Attorneys for Petitioner

December 10, 1982

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_0082%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
