# Petitioners Reply Brief — Sure-Tan, Inc. v. NLRB

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_0046%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1984
- **Citation:** 467 U.S. 883

## Text

~

No. 82-945

’

IN THE CLERK

Te

HOD (Shs

ALEXANDER L. STEVAS.

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OcToBer TERM, 1982

SURE-TAN, INC. and SURAK LEATHER COMPANY,
Petitioners,

v.

NATIONAL LABOR RELA.IONS BOARD,
Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONERS

Of Counsel: MICHAEL R. FLAHERTY
JOHN A. MCDONALD: KECK, MAHIN & CATE
ROBERT A. CREAMER 8300 Sears Tower
STEVEN H. ADELMAN, P.C. 233 South Wacker Drive

Chicago, Illinois 60606
(312) 876-3400
Counsel for Petitioners

———__—_—

————————
a a LT ne
atte aa

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

ARGUMENT

I. THE BOARD INCORRECTLY CONCLUDED
THAT PETITIONERS VIOLATED
SECTION 8(a)(3) AND (1) OF THE
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS ACT
BY REQUESTING TPAT THE IMMIGRA-
TION AND NATURALIZATION SERVICE
INVESTIGATE THE IMMIGRATION
STATUS OF ITS EMPLOYEES

A. Petitioners’ Conduct Did
Not Constitute An Unlaw-
ful Constructive Dis-
charge

B. Petitioners’ Right To
Report A Suspected Vio-
lation Of The Immigration
Laws Is Not Conditioned
Upon Petitioners’ Motive
For + gbeaaad the Vio-
lation . ‘ ‘

C. Petitioners Have A Consti-
tutional Right To Report
A Violaticn Of The Immig-
ration Laws and Are Not
Barred From Asserting
That Right Before This
Court . Se %

Be Petitioners Have Not
Waived Their Consti-
tutional Right to
Petition The Govern-
ment ey ee

2. Petitioners’ Conduct

Was ae

Protected .

II. THE BACKPAY AWARD DOES NOT
EFFECTUATE THE POLICIES OF THE
ACT AND CONFLICTS WITH THE
IMMIGRATION LAWS °

A. The Backpay Award Does
Not Effectuate The
Policies Of The Act

B. The Backpay Award Is
Inconsistent With The
INA ae sg. de te

III. THE COURT OF APPEALS' DECISION
REGARDING THE OFFERS OF RE-
INSTATEMENT IS UNREASONABLE
AND CONTRARY TO BOARD
PRECEDENT oe

CONCLUSION

elie

Page

13

19

26

26

28

31
36

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

American Manufacturing Company of
Texas, 167 N.L.R.B. 520

Pe) «ete 2 6 ere 8 ew ew we we ee es! aS
Bigelow v. RKO Radio Pictures,

i. wns Cells SEE, GEOR? «6 0 + o* OCF
Bill Johnson's Restaurants, Inc.,

v. NLRB « Wewe 103

$.ct. 2161 (1983) .._ Sete -« «© Qe 2 2a

12, 15, 19, 21, 22, 25

Bordenkircher v. Hayes, 434 U.S.

By | rr ee ee
Briscoe v. Lahue, wee
ae Bue. saws Civeer « we cw ew ew Fy GD

Carruthers Ready Mix, Inc.,
& © Se Bb - ) re

Eastern Railroad Presidents Conference
v. Noerr Motor Freight, Inc.,
365 U.S. 127 (1961) . .... 7, 21, 22

Curtis Publishing Co. v. BuEES.
See Ue. 200 (AGO7) « .c « eae? Pe

Fabric Mart Draperies, Inc., 182

OF Se eee

Flagg Brothers, Inc. v. Brooks,
Oe Oe OB | rr

Forro Precision, Inc. v. Interna-
tional Business Machines Corp.
2 Geme seew tapes) « « « tee) «6B Sk

-iii-

Fredeman's Calcasieu Locks Shipyard,
Inc., 208 N.L.R.B. 839 (1974). ... 35

General Iron Corp., 218 N.L.R.B.
~ 770 (1975), enforced 538 F.2d
Dae Cee Gales SOTO) +. « vss +e eee

Gifford-Hill & Company, Inc.
186 N.L.R.B. 337 (1971) . . ... 28, 29

Goodman Lumber Co., 166 N.U.R.B.
UG (2967) . «2 © © ee we wo wo 0 0 te he SG

Graves Trucking, Inc., 246 N.L.R.B.
344 (1979), enforced as modified
60a F.26 470 (7th Cais. 1968)... « és me

Helvering v. Clifford, 309 U.S. 331
e., | yaa ae . 3) \e

Hormel v. Helvering, 312 U.S.
552 (1940) ere a eee ee oe ee

Imbler v. Eacheman. 424 U.S. 409
(1976) ii beta ee 6: Senne “ae 8

Kaufman v. Societe Internationale,
, 2S SS: Bb. |) rr eee

Keco Industries, Inc., 121 N.L.R.B.
bot i>) } re 0 8: oe aoe

Macy Department Stores Co. v. NLRB,
326 Ucbe SFO CAUER) 6 0 « ote

Monroe Feed Store, 122 N.L.R.B.
1479 (1959) Pare pee ere ae ee ye

Moss Planing Mill Co., 103 N.L.R.B.
414, enforced 206 F.2d 557 geen
Gass ae: 0%) 0! wie iy, oe

NLRB v. Lundy Manufacturing Corp.,
286 F.2d 424, 426 (2d Cir. 1960).

NLRB v. Newton, 214 F.2d 472

(Sth Cir. 1954)
NLRB v. Pittsburgh Steamship
Company, 337 U.S. 656 (1949)
NLRB v. Virginia Electric & Power Co.,
~ 314 U.S. 469 (1941) ;
New York Times Company v. Sullivan,
376 U.S. 259 (1964) ;
O'Shea v. bittieten. 414 U.S. 488
(1974) a oe hg We @ @
Oyler v. Boles, 368 U.S. 448
(1962) Pe a
Quarles, In re, 158 U.S. 532
DEMO P © © es we ec eo ew ew ow ow By CG, 84,

Rosenblatt v. Baer, 383 U.S, 75
(1966) we ea le e's e

Rutter-Rex Manufacturing Company,
158 N.L.R.B. 1414 (1966), enforced

as modified, 399 F.2d 356

(Sth Cir. 1968), reversed as to
modification, 396 U.S. 258
(1969). eee « a

Sheet Metal Workers International
Association, Local 355 v. NLRB,
716 F.2d 1249 (9th Cir. 1983).

Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1
(1948) ; gk! Wie

“Ve

26

17

24

17

32

18

24

Uebersee Finanz-Korporation. v.
McGrath, 343 U.S. 205 (1952) .... 17

Constitution, Statutes, Regulation, and Rules:

U.S. Constitution, Amendment I .14, 19, 20,
21-29

U.S. Constitution, Amendment XIV. 24, 25.

Immigration and Nationality Act,
28 U.S.C. § 1101 st seg.

Section 241(a)(2)
8 ¥.8.6. i2Batarta) « « «es + os oe

Section 241(a)(9),
6 U.8.6G. 2e6atadt9) .« . ees sd

National Labor Relations Act, 29
U.S.C. 151 et seq.

Section 8(a)(1),

29 'VU.6.C. AaBOCa(2) 2.2 s's « #8 1

Section 8(a)(3),

29 U.8.G. 1964a)(3) . « »= « s « by oO

Section 8(b)(1)(A),

29 U.S.C. 196(B)(1)(A). . « « « 18

Section 10(e),

9 U.8.@. 26040). . . «sss Meee
Miscellaneous:
Supreme Court Rule 21.l(a) .... 14, 16
tances BBs 6 3 eee ie 0 lg 8
OP. Boats, O BROS 6s 8 e ©- @)0 ee eee 8

W. Prosser, Handbook of the Law
of Torts (4th Ed 1971)

Restatement (Second) of Torts
S Bee CSe77) © ce

-vii-

ARGUMENT

I. THE BOARD INCORRECTLY CONCLUDED THAT
PETITIONERS VIOLATED SECTION 8(a)(3)
AND (1) OF THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS
ACT BY REQUESTING THAT THE IMMIGRATION
AND NATURALIZATION SERVICE INVESTIGATE
THE IMMIGRATION STATUS OF ITS EMPLOYEES.

Respondent recognizes that an employer
has a right to report a violation of the
immigration laws to the INS, but contends

that this right is conditioned upon the

employer's motive for reporting the violation.

cR.° Be. 30) ./ Respondent argues that
Sure-Tan must, in effect, pay damages for
the admittedly lawful actions of the INS
because it reported a suspected violation
of the immigration laws to the INS with an
improper motive. (R. Br. 28). Neither the
NLRA nor the INA condition the right to

l/ References herein to the Brief For The
National Labor Relations Board will be
denoted with the designation "R. Br."
References. to Brief of Petitioners
will be denoted with the designation

Py. Br.

to ie

report a violation of the law upon the
informant's motive; nor does the Constitution
permit such abridgment of the right to
report a violation of the law.

A. Petitioners’ Conduct Did Not

Constitute An Unlawful Constructive
Discharge.

Relying upon NLRB v. Newton, 214 F.2d
472, 475-476 (Sth Cir. 1954) and Goodman
Lumber Co., 166 N.L.R.B. 304, 305 (1967),

Respondent argues that Petitioners con-
structively discharged the illegal aliens
by creating an intolerable condition that
led to their deportation. (R. Br. 27). The
cases that Respondent relies on are readily
distinguishable from the present case. In
Newton, the employer condoned an assault
upon an employee by her fellow employees.
Following the assault, while the employee
was suffering from severe injuries and in
need of medical attention, the employer

ordered her to either work or get out of

Je

the plant. In Goodman, the employer
pressured an employee to convince his soni,
who was also an employee of the company, to
abandon his support for the union. Asa
result of the father's pressure, the son
resigned from the company.

The present case, in contrast, does
not involve an employee's decision to
terminate his employment induced by violent
or coercive conduct illegally taken at the
behest of an employer. Rather, it involves
employees being removed from the job by
actions properly taken by law enforcement
officials to enforce federal immigration
laws. The abusive conduct of private third
parties in Newton and Goodman is not even
remotely similar tc the law enforcement
activities of the INS in the present case.
The condition which mandated the deportation
of the illegal aliens in this case was
their own illegal status, not the action of

Sure-Tan.

—.

Respondent argues that there was a
"direct causal nexus" between Petitioners’
inquiry to the INS and the deportation of
the illegal aliens... because Petitioners
"knew that the requested INS inquiry would
result in the employees’ removal from their |
jobs. .. ." (R. Br. 28). Later, Respondent
contradicts this assertion, arguing that:
"The INS retains some measure of discretion
in deciding whether to institute [deportation]
proceedings." (R. Br. 29 n. 32). If, as
Respondent suggests, the INS retains discre-
tion in deciding whether to deport an illegal
alien, Petitioners could not have been the
direct cause of the illegal aliens' deporta-
tion; that action, according to Respondent,
was discretionary with the INS.

B. Petitioners’ Right To Report A

Violation of The Immigration Laws
Is Not Conditioned Upon Petitioners'

Motive For Reporting the Violation.

Respondent recognizes that effective

law enforcement depends upon the conscien-
tious cooperation of the public with law
enforcement agencies. (R. Br. 30). Res-
pondent further recognizes that, as a
general principle, a person who reports a
violation of the law to responsible govern-
ment officials should not be subject to
liability for that action. (R. Br. 35).
Respondent argues, however, that liability
for reporting a suspected violation of the
immigration law should be imposed where the
action is taken "for reasons other than a
simple desire to cooperate in the enforce-
ment of the INA." (R. Br. 31). Respondent
would thus condition a person's right to
report a violation of the law upon the
Board's conclusions as to the person's
motive for reporting the violation.
Contrary to Respondent's argument,

this Court recognized in In Re Quarles,

158 U.S. 532, 535 (1895), that:

It is the duty and the right, not
only of every peace officer in

the United States, but of every

citizen, to assist in the prose-

cuting, and in securing the

punishment of, any breach of the

peace of the United States. ...

It is likewise his right and his

duty to communicate to the exec-

utive officers any information

which he has of the commission of

an offence of those laws.
Mindful of the paramount importance of
citizen cooperation with law enforcement
agencies, this Court observed that: "[I]t
is the duty of [the] government to see that
[a citizen] may exercise this right freely,
and to protect him from violence while so
doing or on account of so doing." Id. at
536. Nowhere in Quarles did this Court
condition the right to report a violation
of the law on the informant's motive for
reporting the violation.

Similarly, in Bill Johnson's

Restaurants, Inc. v. NLRB, U.S. P

103 S.Ct. 2161, 2170 (1983), this Court
heid that where a compelling public interest
in the maintenance of domestic peace is

involved, the NLRA is not to be enforced

in derogation of that public interest
against those wno seek to enforce other
legal rights, regardless of the person's
motive for seeking enforcement of those
rights. 2/

Respondent argues that, although Peti-
tioners may be immune from civil liability
for their actions, that immunity does not
apply to an action brought against
Petitioners by the government. (R. Br.
36). In support of this argument, Respon-

dent cites Briscoe v. Lahue, U.S. 3

103 S.Ct. 1108, 1118 n. 22, 1118-1119 n.
26, 1121-22 n. 32 (1983), wherein this
Court observed that -witnesses enjoy no

common law immunity from criminal

2/ Accord, Eastern Railroad Presidents
Conference v. Noerr Motor Freight, Inc. 365
U.S. 127, 139 (1961), rehearing denied, 365
U.S. 875 (1961) (Right of railroad companies
to encourage rigid law enforcement action
against competing trucking companies was
protected, even though the action was motiva-
ted by anticompetitive intent and would

have otherwise been unlawful under the
antitrust laws); See P. Br. 17.

-7-

prosecution for perjury. Briscoe is wholly
inapposite because Petitioners, unlike the
.witnesses in Briscoe, were not accused of
providing the government with false
information. To the oumkwnat, the illegal
aliens in this case admitted their illegal
presence in the United States and volun-
tarily returned to Mexico. 2/
The same policies mandating immunity
from civil liability for a person who reports
a violation of the law also mandate immu-
nity from government prosecution. The
prospect of liability in a government

initiated action for providing law enforce-

ment agencies with information concerning

3/ Likewise, Imbler v. Pachtman, 424 U.S.
409, 429 (1976), and O'Shea v. Littleton,
414 U.S. 488, 503 (1974), cited by —
Respondent (R. Br. 36.), do not support
Respondent's contention that an employer
who is immune from civil liability for
redress of a private wrong is not immune
from liability in an action brought by the
government. This Court observed in those
cases that, although prosecutors and judges
are immune from liability in suits under

(footnote continued)
-8-

violations of the law would be just as
likely to deter citizens from providing
that information as the prospect of civil
liability for such action.

Respondent suggests that employers can
take solace in, and be protected by, the
fact that the Board's General Counsel has
unreviewable discretion in deciding whether
to file a complaint, and thus can screen
cases to ensure that only meritorious com-
plaints are filed. (R. Br. 36). As Judge
Wood observed, however, the Board is inclined
to "use only its private knothole to view

these issues and sees nothing except its

Footnote 3/ continued

42 U.S.C. § 1983, they can be punished
criminally for willful deprivations of
constitutional rights under 18 U.S.C. § 242,
the criminal analog of § 1983. The report-
- ing of a violation of the law by a private
citizen which properly results in the arrest
and prosecution of the wrongdoer, and which
does not involve a deprivation of a Consti-
tutional right, is clearly distinct from a
willful deprivation of a Constitutional
right by a public official.

own labor goals." (J. Wood, Dissent to
Order Denying Sure-Tan's Request for Rehear-
ing; 38a). The unreviewable discretion of
the General Counsel in deciding whether to
issue a complaint is further reason to
safeguard employers from the avetpedh of
liability under the NLRA for providing
information to law enforcement authorities.
Respondent tries to avoid the impact

of Bill Johnson's, supra, by arguing that

it applies only to plaintiffs in a civil
lawsuit, not to informers to a law enforce-
ment agency. Respondent's restrictive

misreading of Bill Johnson's ignores the

compelling public interest in the maintenance
of domestic peace recognized ie thin Court

in that case. Citizen cooperation with law
enforcement agencies is just as important

to the maintenance of public peace as the
redress of private wrongs in civil lawsuits.
For the same reasons that citizens must

enjoy an unfettered right to enforce legal

-10-

rights through well-founded civil lawsuits,
they must enjoy an unfettered right to seek
enforcement of the law by reporting violations
of the law to law enforcement agencies.

Respondent contends that the INS was

not prevented from enforcing the immigration
law as a result of holding Sure-Tan liable
for reporting the illegal aliens. (R. Br.
38). This argument ignores the fact, noted
earlier in Respondent's Brief, that INS
Agent Malin testified at the Board hearing
that Petitioners’ letter was the sole cause
of the INS investigation. (R. Br. 28).
Malin's testimony illustrates that the free
flow of information from citizens to law
enforcement agencies is essential to effec-
tive law enforcement. This critical source
of information would be seriously jeopardized
if citizens could be held liable by one
government agency for providing information
concerning violations of the law to another

- government agency.

Respondent also asserts that this case

differs from Bill Johnson's because Sure-Tan

condoned the illegal aliens' presence in

the United States by employing them while
they resided in this country. As Respondent
properly points out, however, the INA does
not prohibit employers from employing illegal
aliens, nor does it require employers to
report them to the INS. (R. Br. 18-23).
Sure-Tan certainly did not forfeit its

right to report a violation of the law by
not promptly reporting the illegal aliens

to the INS, particularly when it was not
legally obligated to report them in the
first place. There is no suggestion in

Bill Johnson's that the compelling public

_ interest in protecting the public peace is
conditioned on or limited by when a law
enforcement action is taken, or by the
motives for taking the action. To the
contrary, this Court held in Bill Johnson's .

that the right to seek enforcement of the

-12-

=
“———n

law is protected from the Board's attack,
regardless of the employer's motive. 103

S.Ct. at 2170.4/

Cc. Petitioners Have A Constitutional
Right To Report A Violation Of The
Immigration Laws and Are Not Barred
From Asserting That Right Before
This Court.

Petitioners Have Not Waived
Their Constitutional Right To
Petition The Government.

Respondent attempts to sidestep Peti-
tioners' Constitutional right to petition
the government by asserting that Petitioners
are barred from asserting this right under
Section 10(e) of the Act because they did
not raise this defense before the Board.

29 U.S.C. 7 160(e). Respondent further

4/ Respondent maintains that the imposi-
tion of liability on Sure-Tan for reporting
illegal aliens to the INS is supported by
reference to the common law tort of abuse

of process. (R. Br. 39 n. 38). Respondent
fails to point out that "there is no liabil-
ity [for abuse of process] where the defend-
ant has done nothing more than carry out

the process to its authorized conclusion,

(footnote continued)

contends that Petitioners are barred from
raising the First Amendment defense by
Supreme Court Rule 21.1(a) because they did
not raise this argument before the court of
appeals or in their petition for a writ of

certiorari.

Footnote 4/ continued

even though with bad intentions." W. Prosser,
Handbook of The Law of Torts, 857 4th Ed.

' (1971). See also Restatement Second of
Torts § 682, Comment (B) (1982) ("[Tjhere
is no action for abuse of process when the
process is used for the purpose for which
it is intended, but there is an incidental
motive of spite or an ulterior purpose of
benefit to the defendant. Thus the
entirely justified prosecution of another
on a criminal charge does not become abuse
of process merely because the instigator
dislikes the accused and enjoys doing him
harm; nor does the instigation of justified
bankruptcy proceedings become abuse of
process merely because the instigator hopes
to derive benefit from the closing down of
the business of a competitor.") Sure-Tan
reported the illegal aliens to the INS for
the purpose of having the INS enforce the
immigration laws, which is precisely what
happened. The fact that Petitioners may
have had an ulterior purpose does not make
the action an abuse of process. If any-
thing, Respondent's abuse of process
analogy supports Petitioners’ argument that
Sure-Tan's reporting of the illegal aliens
to the INS was not illegal, regardless of
Petitioners’ motives.

-14-

Respondent overlooks the fact that

Bill Johnson's was decided six months after

Petitioners filed their petition for a writ
of certiorari. Prior to this Court's deci-

sion in Bill Johnson's, the Board had held

that a retaliatory motive was the only
essential element of a violation of the Act
in a situation where an employer sues to
enjoin employees from engaging in protected
conduct. Id. at 103 S. Ct. 2168. This

Court's holding in Bill Johnson's, requir-

ing an inquiry as to the merits of the
employer's case as well as the employer's
motive, represents a substantial departure
from established Board precedent. Such a
reversal of Board precedent is precisely
the "extraordinary circumstance” contemplated
in Section 10(e) of the Act which would
justify Petitioners’ not having raised this
issue before the Board. NLRB v. Lundy
Manufacturing Corp., 286 F.2d 424, 426 (2d
Cir. 1960).

- 15-

Likewise, the general principle
embodied in Supreme Court Rule 21.1(a)
against considering issues not raised in
the petition or in courts below is not
absolute. This Court has frequently
allowed parties to raise issues for the
first time before this Court where there
has been a significant change in the law

since trial. In Curtis Publishing Co. v.

Butts, 388 U.S. 130, 144-145 (1967), for
instance, this Court held that the failure
of Curtis Publishing Company to raise a
First Amendment defense at trial did not
constitute a waiver of the defense. In
Curtis, an intervening decision of this
Court substantially changed the governing
law. This Court observed that it was not
unreasonable for counsel for the plaintiff
to rely at trial on defenses provided by
current law, and further noted that: "Where
the ultimate effect of sustaining a claim

of waiver might be an imposition on that

-16-

- valued freedom [viz., the First Amendment
freedom of speech], we are unwilling to
find waiver in circumstances which fall
short of being clear and compelling." Id
at 145.2/

Likewise, in the present case, given
the state of the law prior to this Court's

decision in Bill Johnson's, it was not

unreasonable for counsel for Petitioners to
rely upon the defenses provided by esta-
blished Board law. Further, as in Curtis,
the effect of sustaining a claim of waiver
would be an imposition on a fundamental
right -- the right of a citizen to report a

violation of the law to a law enforcement

5/ Accord, Uebersee Finanz-Korporation,
A. G. v. McGrath, 343 U.S. 205 (1952) (In
view of the holding in the intervening case
of Kaufman v. Societe Internationale,

343 U.S. 156 (1952), District Court ordered
to reopen a case to permit the plaintiff to
assert a new defense first enunciated in
Kaufman); Rosenblatt v. Baer, 383 U.S. 75
(1966) (Libel case that was tried before
this Court decided New York Times Company
v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964) was

(footnote continued)

agency -- which lies at the heart of a
republican form of government. In Re

Quarles, supra at 536.

In the recent case of Sheet Metal

Workers International Association, Local

355 v. NLRB, 716 F.2d 1249 (9th Cir.,
1983), the Ninth Circuit declined to
enforce a Board order where the Board held
that ‘ union had violated § 8(b)(1)(A) of

the Act by filing a state court lawsuit

Footnote 5/ continued

remanded to determine whether the proofs
showed that respondent was a "public
official" within New York Times rule);
Hormel v. Helvering, 312 U.S. 552, 556-557
(1941) (Because of the intervening decision
in Helvering v..Clifford, 309 U.S. 331
(1940), this Court allowed the Commissioner
of Internal Revenue to rely on § 22(a) of
the Revenue Act of 1934, although the
Commissioner's argument before the Board

of Tax Appeals had rested solely on §§ 166
and 167); NLRB v. Pittsburgh Steamship
Company, 337 U.S. 656, 661-662 (1949) (This
Court remanded the case to the court of
appeals for further consideration in light
of the Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C.
§ 1001 et seg., which was enacted after the
issuance of the Board's order, where impact
of APA was not briefed before the court of
appeals or before this Court).

against an employee in retaliation for the
employee's filing of an unfair labor

practice charge. The court held that, in
light of this Court's intervening decision

in Bill Johnson's, the Board's order was

unenforceable because the Board had failed
to determine whether the employer's state
court action had a reasonable basis. The
Ninth Circuit raised the First Amendment

defense sua sponte, where the employer had

failed to raise this defense either before
the Board or before the court of appeals.
Likewise, in the present case, this Court
should consider Sure-Tan's First Amendment
rights in light of the intervening decision
in Bill Johnson's, notwithstanding the fact

that Petitioners’ did not raise the First

Amendment defense in prior proceedings.

2. Petitioners’ Conduct Was
Constitutionally Protected.

Respondent argues “hat even if Peti-

tioners are not barred from asserting their

- 19+

Constitutional right to petition the govern-
ment, Sure-Tan's petition to the INS to
investigate the immigration status of its
employees does not fall within the ambit of
the First Amendment. The Constitutional
right to petition the government, Respondent
asserts, pertains only to political activity
and to civil lawsuits, not to the reporting
of violations of the law to law enforcement
agencies. (R. Br. 40-41).

Respondent's asserted limitation on
the First Amendment right to petition the
government is csehenst to established law.

In Forro Precision, Inc. v. International

Business Machines Corp., 673 F.2d 1045,
1059-1060 (9th Cir. 1982), the Ninth Circuit
held that the First Amendment right to
petition the government applied to IBM's
approach to a law enforcement agency which
resulted in a police search of a competitor's
premises and the indictment of ten indivi-

duals. The court observed that:

=20-

We do not liken an approach to the
police for aid in apprehending
wrongdoers to political activity.
However, we think that the public
policies served by ensuring the free
flow of information to the police,
although somewhat different from those
served by Noerr-Pennington, are
equally strong. Encouraging citizen
communication with police does not
generally promote the free exchange of
ideas, nor does it provide citizens
with the opportunity to influence
policy decisions. Compare Noerr,

365 U.S. at 137-38, 81S. Ct. at
529-30. Nonetheless, it would be
difficult indeed for law enforcement
authorities to discharge their duties
if citizens were in any way dis-
couraged from providing information.
We therefore hold that the Noerr-
Pennington doctrine applies to citizen
communications with police. Id. at
1060.

Respondent than falls back to the
argument that, even if the reporting of a
violation of the law constitutes a petition
to the government within the meaning of the
First Amendment, this Court did not preclude
the finding of an unfair labor practice
where the First Amendment right to petition
the government is involved. Rather, Bill
Johnson's only requires the Board ba be

"sensitive to First Amendment valued® in

4 Ae

construing the NLRA. (R. Br. 42). Respond-
ent in effect argues that once the Board
has paid nodding obeisance to the First
Amendment, it is free to brides First
Amendment rights in situations where the
Board concludes that an employer has acted
with an improper motive. (R. Br. 42).

This Court, however, did not require
mere "sensitivity" to First Amendment

rights in Bill Johnson's. Rather, this

Court held categorically that, in light of
the First Amendment right to petition and
the compelling state interest in maintaining
domestic peace, a well-founded petition to
the government may not be enjoined as an
unfair labor practice, even if the action
would not have been taken but for the em-
ployer's desire to retaliate against an

employee. 103 S.ct. at 2170.9

6/ Respondent maintains that this Court

suggested in Quarles, supra, that the right

of a citizen to inform a law enforcement
(footnote continued)

-22-

Respondent also asserts that the
Constitution does not protect the reporting
of a crime if the action was "deliberately

based upon an unjust’ fiable standard such

Footnote 6/ continued

agency of the commission of a crime is a
privilege that inures to the benefit of the
government rather than to the informer
personally. The government, Respondent
argues, can therefore abridge this Consti-
tutional right in order to accommodate
"another compelling ‘necessity of the
government’ as reflected in the NLRA." (R.
Br. 42 n. 41). Contrary to Respondent's
assertion, this Court stated unequivocally
in Quarles that citizens have a right to
inform law enforcement agencies of a vio-
lation of the law, and the government has
the duty to protect that right. The gov-
ernment's duty to protect that right arises
both from the interest of the informant and
from the necessity of the government itself,
which depends for successful law enforce-
ment upon the willingness of citizens to
report violations of the law. Id. at 158
U. S. 536. Respondent overlooks the fact
that the rights of citizens in this nation
are not divorced from the rights of the
government; nor are individual rights at
the mercy government convenience. By
making Constitutional rights subservient to
the Board's convenience, the General Counsel
continues to "use only its private knothole
to view these issues and sees nothing except
its own labor goals." (J. Wood, Dissent to
Order Denying Sure-Tan's Request for Re-
hearing; 38a).

-23-

as race, religion or other arbitrary classi-

fication." Citing Bordenkircher v. Hayes,

434 U.S. 357, 364 (1978) (quoting Oyler v.
Boles, 368 U.S. 448, 456 (1962)), Respondent
contends that one such arbitrary classifica-
tion is "based upon the exercise by employees
of rights protected by the NLRA." (R. Br.
43). Bordenkircher and Oyler, however,
concerned petitions for writs of habeas
corpus filed by prisoners who claimed that
conduct by state prosecutors violated their
Fourteenth Amendment equal protection and
due process rights. The Fourteenth Amendment
applies only to state actions, not to actions
by individuals who are not acting under the
color of state law. Flagg Brothers, Inc.
v. Brooks, 436 U.S. 149 (1978). The.
Fourteenth Amendment erects no shield against
merely private conduct. Shelley v. Kraemer,
334 U.S. 1, 13 (1948).

Even if the Fourteenth Amendment were
applicable to individuals -- which is clearly

.< fs ns Pe 2 ial

-24-

not the case -- individuals who exercise |
rights protected by the NLRA have not been
identified by this Court as an "arbitrary
classification" offensive to the equal
protection clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment. 2’ Respondent is in effect
attempting to elevate the rights created by
Congress under the NLRA to the status of
Constitutional rights by means of the
Fourteenth Amendment. This attempt to
incorporate the NLRA into the Fourteenth
Amendment is plainly contrary to the Court's
holding in Bill Johnson's that the rights

created under the NLRA are subordinate to

Constitutional rights and must be

77 Petitioner argues that Congress has

the power to identify employees who exercise
rights protected by the NLRA as an arbitrary
Classification offensive to the Fourteenth
Amendment equal protection clause. Such a
suggestion is plainly wrong. It is the the
role of this Court, not Congress, to inter-
pret the Fourteenth Amendment.

-25-

interpreted so as not to abridge Constitu-
tional rights. 2/
II. THE BACKPAY AWARD DOES NOT EFFEC-

TUATE THE POLICIES OF THE ACT AND
CONFLICTS WITH THE IMMIGRATION LAWS.

e A. The Backpay Award Does Not Effec-
tuate The Policies Of The Act.

Respondent argues that the court of
appeals' six-month backpay award effectuates
the policies of the Act and is therefore
appropriate, notwithstanding the blatantly
speculative nature of the award. (R. Br.
43-45). On the basis of a Department of
Labor study, Respondent asserts that the
illegal aliens could have been expected to
remain illegally in this country for some
unspecified additional period of time in
the absence of Sure-Tan's inquiry to the
INS. (R. Br. 44 n. 42).

87 Accord, NLRB v. Virginia Electric &
Power Co., 314 U.S. 469 (1941) (NLRA cannot
abridge freedom of speech guaranteed by
First Amendment).

The Department of Labor study provides
no basis for the six-month backpay period,
nor does it eliminate the speculative
nature of the award. Respondent concedes
that the six-month period is speculative,
but argues, relying upon Bigelow v. RKO
Radio Pictures, Inc., 327 U.S. 251, 265

(1946), that such speculation is permissible
where the uncertainty was occasioned by the
employer's actions. (R. Br. 45). This
Court observed in Bigelow, however, that:
"even where the defendant by his own wrong
has prevented a more precise computation,
the jury may not render a verdict based on
speculation or guesswork." 327 U.S. at
264.

The Board itself recognized that the
policies of the Act are not effectuated by
such a speculative backpay award. The
Board would have tolled the accrual of
backpay during the period the illegal -

aliens were unavailable for work because of

-27-

y
A, semi i A

enforced absence from the country. (4la).
In analogous situations, the Board has
tolled the accrual of backpay during periods
when employees are unavailable for work
because of incarceration for criminal vio-

lations. Gifford-Hill & Company, 188 N.L.R.B.

337, 338 (1971); Keco Industries, Inc., 121

N.L.R.B. 1213, 1228 (1958). 2/

B. The Backpay Award Is Inconsistent
With The INA.

Respondent argues that there is no
inconsistency between the INA and the NLRA
"if the NLRA is applied to the employment
relationship entered by an undocumented
alien prior to the execution of the statutory

remedy of deportation." (R. Br. 22).

9/ Respondent cites a number of cases
holding that backpay would not be tolled if
the employees’ unavailability for work is
due to illness or injury fairly attributable
to the offending employer. American
Manufacturing Company of Texas, 167

N.L.R.B. 520, 522-523 (1967) (Backpay period
is not tolled during the period of illness

(footnote continued)

*
es 2, de
an Bi Sed? ae

There is an inconsistency between the INA
and the NLRA, however, if the NLRA is
applied to the employment relationship
after an illegal alien is deported. The
INA specifically calls for the deportation

of aliens who unlawfully enter this country

Footnote 9/ continued

attributable to interim employment); Fabric
Mart Draperies, Inc., 182 N.L.R.B. 390
(1970) (Backpay not tolled during period
when employee was unable to work because of
illness which was attributable to the unlaw-
ful conduct of the employer); Graves Trucking,
Inc., 246 N.L.R.B. 344, 345 (1979), enforced
as modified 692 F.2d 470, 474-477 (7th Cir.
1982) (Backpay awarded for a period when
employee was recuperating from physical
injuries inflicted by a supervisor); Moss
Planing Mill Co., 103 N.L.R.B. 414 (1953),
enforced 206 F.2d 557 (4th Cir. 1953) (Backpay
period was not tolled where the employee's
incapacity to work was caused by the physical
injury inflicted upon him by the employer).
None of these cases involve unavailabi-
lity, for work attributable to an employee's
arrest for a violation of the law. In more
analogous cases, the Board has tolled backpay
where the unavailability for work is occa-
sioned by the employee's arrest or incarce-
ration for a violation of the law. Gifford-
Hill & Company, 188 N.L.R.B. 337, 338 (1971);
Keco Industries, Inc. 121 N.L.R.B. 1213,
1228 (1958). a ae

-29-

A ws ote
ha, aero

or who enter lawfully and fail to maintain
their lawful status. 8 U.S.C. 1251(a)(2)

and (9). By applying the NLRA to the illegal
aliens after their deportation, and awarding
them backpay for a period of time when they
were in Mexico and unable to lawfully reenter
this country, the Board creates a fundamental
conflict. between the INA and the NLRA; in
effect, the Board treats the INA as if it
were of no consequence. 22/

Respondent attempts to sidestep this

conflict by suggesting tha. the backpay

10/ Respondent argues that the inability
of the Board to provide an effective remedy
would invite a repetition of acts of discri-
mination in the future and undermine the
rights of Petitioners’ non-alien employees.
(R. Br. 43). The Board, however, is not
authorized to impose arbitrary, punitive
remedies under any circumstances. (See P.
Br. at 24-28). If it be: assumed, contrary
to fact, that Petitioners’ inquiry to the
INS constituted an unlawful constructive
discharge, Respondent could order backpay
in accordance with normal Board procedures,
which would call for tolling of backpay
during periods when the aliens were unavail-
able for work. See pages 26-28, supra.

-30-

award vindicates public rather than private
rights. (R. Br. 46). Regardless of the
rights which are vindicated, there is no
escaping the fact that the purpose of the
INA is flouted by treating illegal aliens
as though they had a right to remain in
this country illegally for another six
months after their deportation and rewarding
them for their illegal presence in this
country with six-months' backpay.22/
III. THE COURT OF APPEALS' DECISION
REGARDING THE OFFERS OF REINSTATE-

MENT IS UNREASONABLE AND CONTRARY
TO BOARD PRECEDENT.

Respondent acknowledges that the court

“f appeals improperly usurped the role of

1l/ Respondent argues that the backpay

award would not encourage illegal immigration
because the illegal aliens would be entitled
to the backpay regardless of their presence

in this country. The court of appeals and

the Board's own Genera! Counsel, however,
recognize that a backpay award would provide
an incentive for the aliens to reenter the
country illegally. (18a; 55a). ,

-3l1-
aduiceie

i > -

the Board by enlarging the Board's remedial
order rather than remanding the order to
the Board for reconsideration. Respondent
nevertheless contends that the court's
expanded remedial order, which requires
Sure-Tan to send reinstatement offers to
the aliens written in Spanish by method
allowing verification of receipt and to
leave the reinstatement offers open for
four years, reasonably effectuates the
purposes of the Act. (R. Br. 47).

Respondent relies on Carruthers Ready

Mix, Inc., 262 N.L.R.B. 739 (1982); Monroe

‘Feed Store, 122 N.L.R.B. 1479, 1480-1481

(1959); and Rutter-Rex Manufacturing Company,

158 N.L.R.B. 1414, 1424 (1966), enforced as
modified, 399 F.2d 356 (5th Cir. 1968),
reversed as to modification, 396 U.S. 258
(1969), to support the requirements that

the reinstatement offers be made in Spanish
and be sent in a manner permitting verifica-

tion of receipt. (R. Br. 48). None of

32°."

these cases, however, require that rein-
statement offers be made in an employee's
native language. Nor do these cases require
that reinstatement offers be sent ina
manner permitting verification of receipt.

In contrast, General Iron Corp., 218

N.L.R.B. 770 (1975), enforced 538 F.2d 312
(2d Cir. 1976), (discussed in Petitioners’
Brief at 31), specifically holds that rein-
statement offers to Spanish-speaking em-
ployees need not be written in Spanish or
sent by means permitting verification of
receipt .22/

Respondent attempts to justify the
court of appeals' requirement that the

offers of reinstatement be kept open for

12/ Respondent argues that the Board in
General Iron Corp., supra, noted that
Spanish-speaking employees who receive an
English reinstatement offer often consult

an English-speaking child, friend or neighbor
to read the letter, which would be impractical
if the employee has returned to Mexico. It

is certainly not unreasonable, however, for
an employer to write a reinstatement offer

(footnote continued)
-33-

four years on the grounds that it may take
the illegal aliens four years to obtain
visas to legally reenter the country.

. According to information provided to Respond-
ent by the INS, however, no visas are avail-
able for nonpreference aliens such as those
in the present case. (R. Br. 49 n. 47).
Thus, there is no reasonable relationship
whatever between the four year reinstate-
ment period and the time required for the
illegal aliens to reenter this country

lawfully.

Footnote 12/7 continued

in English when it has communicated verbally
with the employees in English throughout

the time they worked for the employer.
Furthermore, as noted by the Board: "Some
individuals who cannot readily speak English
often can read that language. An offer to
return to work does not require any great
knowledge of the English language to be
understood." Id. at 770-771. The Board

also noted that the fact that a reinstatement
offer is not sent by registered mail, return
receipt requested, does not invalidate the
offer. Rather, the issue of proof of service
is a matter to be determined in the compliance.
stage. Id. at ideal

-34-

Relying on Fredeman's Calcasieu Locks
Shipyard, Inc., 208 N.L.R.B. 839 (1974),
Respondent argues that a reasonable time
for a reinstatement offer to remain open
depends upon the circumstances affecting
the individual employee at the time of
receipt of the offer. In the present case,
the circumstances are that the illegal
aliens in question are unskilled laborers
who may never obtain visas to reenter this
country legally. Those circumstances cannot
be changed, and do not provide a reasonable
basis for treating the aliens with greater
deference than American citizens. +3/ The
30-day period for which Petitioners' offers
were held open accords with established
Board precedent and should be upheld.

13/ Cf., Keco Industries Inc., supra at
227 (Special provision should not be made
for a reinstatement offer to an employee
who was unavailable for work by reason of
incarceration).

-35-

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, and the
reasons advanced in Petitioners’ Brief, the
decision of the Board and the decision of
the court of appeals, holding that Peti-
tioners' inquiry to the INS was an unlawful
constructive discharge, should be reversed.
This case should be remanded to the court
of appeals with instructions to modify the
decree of enforcement to exclude the re-
quirement that the illegal aliens be rein-
stated with backpay. If this Court holds
that Sure-Tan's request to the INS violated
Section 8(a)(3) of the Act, the enforcement
decree should be modified to require the
tolling of the accrual of backpay during
the periods the aliens were unavailable for
work because of enforced absence from the
country. The decree should be further

modified to exclude the requirement that

-36-

Sure-Tan send revised reinstatement offers

to the aliens.

Michael R. Flaherty
KECK, MAHIN & CATE
8300 Sears Tower
\ 233 South Wacker Drive
\ Chicago, Illinois 60606
(312) 876-3400

Counsel for Petitioners
OF COUNSEL:
John A. McDonald

Robert A. Creamer
Steven H. Adelman, P.C.

°37-

we oe ee ee ae ee.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385010_0046%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
