# Opposition Brief — Snider v. Temple University

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2961%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 502 U.S. 1032

## Text

Supreme Court, US
re FILED
ay,

No. 91-732 | WOV 29 92
“OFRGE OF THE CLERK
In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1991
“

KAREN SNIDER, Acting Secretary
of the Department of Public Welfare,
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, et al.,

Petitioners,

TEMPLE UNIVERSITY - OF THE COMMONWEALTH
SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION, et al.,

Respondents.

¢

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Third Circuit
.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION OF RESPONDENT

TEMPLE UNIVERSITY - OF THE COMMONWEALTH

SYSTEM OF HIGHER EDUCATION

*

Of Counsel: MattHew M. Strickler”
GeEorGE E. Moore, Esquiri LAURIE Marin
University Counsel gery SPAHR ANDREWS
bo NGERSOLI
(38 Peal 1735 Market Street
th 5ist Floor
oe Mont gomner) Philadelphia, PA

19103-7599
> ’ . 1 ¢ Se ~
Philadelphia, PA 19122 (215) 665-8500
*Counsel of Record

ae -

: z
: ie, fai
Se ¥

| y

,

RO
»
ye.
\

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a hospital has a private cause of action
under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 to compel State officers to comply
with two requirements of the Medicaid Act for payment
rates for inpatient hospital care:

(a) the requirement of 42 U.S.C.
§ 1396a(a)(13)(A) and 42 U.S.C. § 1396r-4 that
States take into account the situation of hospi-
tals serving a disproportionate share of indigent
patients; and

(b) the requirement of 42 U.S.C.
§ 1396a(a)(13)(A) that rates be reasonable and
adequate to meet the costs of efficiently and
economically operated hospitals.

2. Whether a State can comply with the “dispropor-
tionate share” hospital requirement of the Medicaid Act
by increasing its payments up to a maximum of 2.5%
when that State’s data establish that hospitals with the
largest indigent patient loads have costs more than 16%
higher than otherwise comparable hospitals.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED . ...c60 ec Se ceee ees tress ta i
ADDITIONAL STATUTORY PROVISIONS

io je 5 fs rr err ere ry ere 1

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE ............ 4
REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE

fi): |S Pane er mrs tracer: Aer eee 12

I. Introduction and Summary ................... 12

Il. There are No Special Circumstances to Warrant
this Court Reexamining its Interpretation of the
Medicaid Act........ G4 5S ae pee na RL erie 13

Ill. The Holdings of the Courts Below on the Dis-
proportionate Share Hospital Requirement are
Based on Facts Peculiar to Pennsylvania and to
Respondent Teme. oo. kcccce se eeee nares 18

CINE ERIC FIN. n.o-<.0.+ 0. 0 n-0o cn te ie orb aie enya ena 22

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases:
Arizona v. Rumsey, 467 U.S. 203 (1984).......0....... 14
New Haven Inclusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392 (1970) ...... 20
Patterson v. McLean Credit Union, 109 S. Ct. 2363
er ir hee ain eecyciednanvecduceses: 14, 16

West Virginia University Hospitals, Inc. v. Casey, 885
F.2d 11 (1989), aff'd, 111 S. Ct. 1138 (1991)..... 16, 19

Wilder v. Virginia Hospital Association, 110 S. Ct.

SE Oe dn dc a yo toe Oh «5 belo de 6 passim
Witters v. Washington Department of Services for the

Meee re Am, GO) CIPOO). 8s cece eset ee nees 20
STATUTES:
Pe aeenns Se SOMO MIOMA).......0200205 cc ene 14,5, 7
ES” SS passim
SE: a ea nr 13, 17, 18

Onmibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1981, Pub.
L. No. 97-35, § 2173, 95 Stat. 357, 808-09 (1981)..... 4

Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act
of 1985, Pub. L. No. 99-272, § 9519, 100 Stat. 82,
I og 0eg0 in dy vis-d cs 04 40.6 Ov ode he 86 ok ss 6

Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1986, Pub.
L. No. 99-509, § 9433, 100 Stat. 1874, 2068 (1986) ..... 6

Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990, Pub.
L. No. 101-508, § 4703, 104 Stat. 1388-171 (1990). .8, 16

24 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. §§ 2510-1 to -12 (Supp.
ee Peas holed sync b\y'n6 6-8 ve eee

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page
RULES AND REGULATIONS:
Oe Oe OD BI os Niles da Wa gs ek SEEK pee OR ee 8
ee Se CES SEWER Cy ob nek c ced uedg cs OW eRRAe SS 8
erie ee I SPD os ics ew nh = be cee wee RS 12
Oe) ew te) 15

CONGRESSIONAL REPORTS:

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 208, 97th Cong., Ist Sess.
(39012, Pepemnide 19 196) USCALAN. 2.4.0 66e<8052.5

H.R. Rep. No. 391(1), 100th Cong., Ist Sess. (1987)
reprinted in 1987 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2313-1...... ee

ADDITIONAL STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Petition omits significant portions of 42 U.S.C.
§ 1396r-4 involved in this case. That Section reads in

relevant part as follows:
(a) IMPLEMENTATION OF REQUIREMENT

(1) A State plan under this subchapter shall not be
considered to meet the requirement of section
1396a(a)(13)(A) of this title (insofar as it requires pay-
ments to hospitals to take into account the situation of
hospitals which serve a disproportionate number of low
income patients with special needs), as of July 1, 1988,
unless the State has submitted to the Secretary, by not

later than such date, an amendment to such plan that

(A) specifically defines the hospitals so
described (and includes in such definition any
disproportionate share hospital described in
subsection (b)(1) of this section, which meets the
requirement of subsection (d) of this section),
and

(B) provides, effective for inpatient hospi-
tal services provided not later than July 1, 1988,
for an appropriate increase in the rate or
amount of payment for such services provided
by such hospitals, consistent with subsection (c)

of this section

(4) The requirement of this subsection may not be

waived under section 1396n(b)(4) of this title

.,

(b) HOSPITALS DEEMED DISPROPORTIONATE
SHARE

(1) For purposes of subsection (a)(1) of this section,
a hospital which meets the requirement of subsection (d)
of this section is deemed to be a disproportionate share
hospital if

(A) the hospital’s medicaid inpatient utili
zation rate (as defined in paragraph (2)) is at
least one standard deviation above the mean
medicaid inpatient utilization rate for hospitals
receiving medicaid payments in the State; or

(B) the hospital’s low-income utilization
rate (as defined in paragraph (3)) exceeds 25
percent.

(c) PAYMENT ADJUSTMENT

In order to be consistent with this subsection, a pay
ment adjustment for a disproportionate share hospital

must either

(1) be in an amount equal to at least the product of
(A) the amount paid under the State plan to the hospital
for operating costs for inpatient hospital services (of the
kind described in section 1395ww(a)(4) of this title), and
(B) the hospital’s disproportionate share adjustment per
centage (established under section 1395ww(d)(5)(F)(iv) of
this title);

(2) provide for a minimum specified additional pay

ment amount (or increased percentage payment) and

(without regard to whether the hospital is described in

subparagraph (A) or (B) of subsection (b)(1) of this se¢

tion) for an increase in such a payment amount (or per
centage payment) in proportion to the percentage by
which the hospital’s medicaid utilization rate (as defined
in subsection (b)(2) of this section) exceeds one standard
deviation above the mean medicaid inpatient utilization
rate for hospitals receiving medicaid payments in the
state or the hospital’s low-income utilization rate (as

defined in subsection (b)(3) of this section); or

(3) provide for a minimum specitied additional pay
ment amount (or increased percentage payment) that
varies according to type of hospital under a methodology
that

(A) applies equally to all hospitals of each
type; and

(B) results in an adjustment for each type
of hospital that is reasonably related to the
costs, volume, or proportion of services pro
vided to patients eligible for medical assistance
under a State plan approved under this sub
chapter or to low-income patients

Respondent Temple University - of the Common-
wealth System of Higher Education! (“Temple”) respect-
fully requests that this Court deny the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari seeking review of the Third Circuit’s decision.
That decision is reported at 941 F.2d 201 (1991).

.

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Title XIX of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C.
§§ 1396, 1396a-1396u (the “Medicaid Act”) provides fed-
eral financial participation for payments under State
Medicaid programs that comply with that Act. Prior to
1981, the Medicaid Act required States to pay hospitals
for inpatient care on the basis of the hospitals’ reasonable
costs. In 1981, Congress extended to hospitals what is
commonly called the Boren Amendment. Omnibus Bud-
get Reconciliation Act of 1981, Pub. L. No. 97-35, § 2173,

' Temple is a Pennsylvania non-profit corporation which
has been legislatively designated as state-related but which
operates independently of state government under the direc-
tion of its board of trustees. 24 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. §§ 2510-1 to

(Supp. 1991). Temple has no subsidiaries that are not
wholly-owned and no parent corporation.

2 The five actions before this Court on the Petition are
Temple University —- Of the Commonwealth System of Higher Educa
tion v. White, et al., Nos. 90-1112 and 90-1244 (3d Cir.) and C.A.
88-6646 (E.D. Pa.); Frankford Hospital v. White, et al., No. 90-1204
(3d Cir.) and C.A. 88-08927 (E.D. Pa.); Albert Einstein Medical
Center, et al. v. White, et al., No. 90-1203 (3d Cir.) and C.A.
88-08831 (E.D. Pa.); Hahnemann University Hospital, et al
White, et al., No. 90-1205 (3d Cir.) and C.A. 88-09132 (E.D. Pa.);
and Hospital Association of Pennsylvania, et al. v. White, et al., No
90-1206 (3d Cir.) and C.A. 88-09848 (E.D. Pa.).

95 Stat. 357, 808-09 (1981) (codified at 42 U.S.C.
§ 1396a(a)(13)(A)). The actions before this Court involve
two requirements of the Medicaid Act, as modified by the
Boren Amendment: (1) payment rates for inpatient care
must “take into account the situation of hospitals that
serve a disproportionate number of low income patients
with special needs,” and (2) a State must find and make
assurances to the Secretary of Health and Human Ser-
vices that those rates are “reasonable and adequate to
meet the costs which must be incurred by efficiently and
economically operated facilities.” 42 U.S.C.
§§ 1396a(a)(13)(A), 1396r-4. The House Conference Report
for the Boren Amendment described both of these
requirements but emphasized the requirement relating to
“disproportionate share” hospitals by noting their “atypi-
cal costs” and then stating:
The conferees recognize that public hospitals
and teaching hospitals which serve a large Med-
icaid and low income population are partic-
ularly dependent on Medicaid reimbursement,
and are concerned that a State take into account

the special situation that exists in these institu-
tions in developing their rates.

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 208, 97th Cong., Ist Sess. 962 (1981),
reprinted in 1981 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1, 1324.3

> In later enacting section 1396r-4, the House Budget Com-

mittee described Congressional concern for hospitals with high
Medicaid volumes in similar terms:

The purpose of this requirement ... was to assure
that, precisely because States were given flexibility
in establishing payment rates, that those payment

(Continued on following page)

The “disproportionate share” hospital requirement
has been the subject of Congressional action on six occa-
sions since it was enacted in 1981. In 1985, Congress
required the Secretary of Health and Human Services to
provide a report on the methods used by States for their
compliance with this requirement. Consolidated Omnibus
Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985, Pub. L. No. 99-272,
§ 9519, 100 Stat. 82, 216-17 (1986).4 After the Secretary
submitted that report, the House Budget Committee con-
cluded that there had been a “startling record of noncom-
pliance [reflecting] the indifference, if not hostility, of
HCFA and many of the States to the 1981 statutory

(Continued from previous page)

rates at a minimum mect the needs of those facilities
which, because they do not discriminate in admis-
sions against patients based on source of payment or
on ability to pay, serve a large number of Medicaid-
eligible and uninsured patients who other providers
view as financially undesirable. These “disproportio-
nate share” hospitals are an essential element of the
Nation’s health care delivery system, and the Federal
and State governments, through the Medicaid pro-
gram, have an obligation to assure that payment
levels assist these facilities in surviving the financial
consequences of competition in the health care mar-
ketplace.

H.R. Rep. No. 391(1), 100th Cong., Ist Sess. 524 (1987), reprinted
in 1987 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2313-1, 2313-344.

4 In the interim, the Health Care Financing Administration
attempted to challenge a generous disproportionate share
adjustment proposed by Georgia. Congress responded in 1986
by clarifying that HCFA has no authority to limit the payment
adjustments to disproportionate share hospitals. Omnibus
Budget Reconciliation Act of 1986, Pub. L. No. 99-509, § 9433,
100 Stat. 1874, 2068 (1986) (codified at 42 U.S.C. § 1396a(h)).

requirement [for ‘disproportionate share’ hospitals].”> As
a result, Congress amplified that requirement by enacting
Section 1396r-4, which became effective July 1, 1988. Sec-
tion 1396r-4 had two important requirements. First, the
Section defined “disproportionate shere” hospitals as
including at least those hospitals at least one standard
deviation above the mean Medicaid inpatient utilization
rate and those hospitals with low-income utilization rates
of greater than twenty-five percent. A state might classify
more hospitals as “disproportionate share,” but it could
not classify fewer. 42 U.S.C. § 1396r-4(a)(1), (b). Second, a
State was required to make “appropriate increases” in
payments to “disproportionate share” hospitals using
either (a) the formula used for Medicare reimbursement,
or (b) a formula which the State developed providing for
a minimum payment (or increased percentage payment)
as well as an increase in that payment or percentage “in
proportion to the percentage by which the hospital’s
medicaid utilization rate... exceeds one standard devia-
tion above the statewide mean.” 42 U.S.C. § 1396r-4(a)(2),
(c). The House Budget Committee described what it had
in mind if a State elected not to use the Medicare formula:

The Tennessee approach offers an example of
what the Committee intends for an alternative
payment adjustment. In Tennessee, dispropor-
tionate share hospitals are defined by volume.
For every 1,000 Medicaid days over 4,000 Medi-
caid patient days, hospitals receive a 6 percent
increase in their payment rate for inpatient ser-
vices, up to a maximum increase of 34 percent.

reprinted in 1987 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2313-1, 2313-345.

H.R. Rep. No. 391(1), 100th Cong., 1st Sess. 526 (1987),
reprinted in 1987 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2313-1, 2313-346.

Section 1396r-4 has been amended three times since
1987. Most recently, the 1990 amendment added Section
1396r-4(c)(3), which permits a State, if it chooses, to vary its
“disproportionate share” payments for different hospital
types and to have an adjustment “that is reasonably related
to the costs, volume, or proportion of services provided to
[Medicaid] patients.” Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of
1990, Pub. L. No. 101-508, § 4703, 104 Stat. 1388-171 (1990)
(codified at 42 U.S.C. § 1396r-4(c)(3)).¢

Clarification of the “disproportionate share” hospital
requirement continues to the present time. On October
31, 1991 (three days after the Petition was filed), HCFA
published an interim final regulation which would limit
the number of hospitals that States could classify as qual-
ifying for “disproportionate share” payments. In its pub-
lished notice, HCFA stated its intention to publish soon
still another interim final regulation “establishing specific
disproportionate share hospital payment requirements.”
56 Fed. Reg. 56141, 56143 (1991).

2. Respondent Temple operates Temple University
Hospital, the largest provider of hospital services under
the Pennsylvania Medicaid Program. The area of North
Philadelphia surrounding Temple University Hospital is

® This amendment was enacted after the decision of the
District Court. The Court of Appeals was advised of the
change by letter from Respondents’ counsel under Federal
Rule of Appellate Procedure 28(j). Although they do so here,
Petitioners did not rely on this amendment in their briefs or
argument to the Court of Appeals.

largely black and hispanic and has a substantial indigent
population. About half the admissions to Temple Univer-
sity Hospital are eligible for Medicaid, another twenty
percent (also largely indigent) are covered by Medicare,
and about five percent have no source of payment what-
soever. Temple University Hospital deals with all of the
severe health problems of the poor neighborhoods in
American cities, including the effects of crime, drug
addiction, and untreated medical conditions. In each of
the five fiscal years from 1985 through 1989, Temple lost
between $2.5 and $7.5 million treating Medicaid inpa-
tients. Temple achieved some cross-subsidization from
treating non-Medicaid patients but still lost $3.2 million
on inpatient care in fiscal 1989. Temple incurred these
losses notwithstanding that it was, as the District Court
found, efficiently and economically operated. (Pet. App.
65a). Temple University Hospital is a classic example of
the “disproportionate share” hospital which the require-
ments of the Medicaid Act were intended to protect. It is
heavily dependent on the adequacy of payments under
the Pennsylvania Medicaid Program.

3. In August of 1988, Respondent Temple brought
an action in the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Pennsylvania alleging that the pay-
ment rates for inpatient hospital care under the Pennsyl-
vania Medic Program violated both of the above
requirement: Sf the Medicaid Act. The other hospitals
that are Respondents in this Court brought separate
actions in November and December of 1988 raising sub-
stantially similar issues. The subsequent cases were

assigned to the same District Judge as Temple's action but

10

have never been consolidated with that action in the
District Court.

4. Temple’s action was tried in June of 1989 and
decided by the District Court in January of 1990. In a
series of rulings, the District Court found that Petitioners
had made no real effort to comply with the procedural
requirements of the Medicaid Act and that the payments
for inpatient hospital care violated that Act. The principal
rulings were:

(a) The rate levels were not “reasonable and
adequate” to meet the necessary costs of effi-
cient hospitals but “entirely budget-driven” and
“arbitrary” (Pet. App. 78a);

(b) Petitioners established the amount of the
additional payments to “disproportionate
share” hospitals by allocating the funds deemed
available for that purpose. The additional pay-
ment to Temple was “only a small fraction of the
total increase in costs attributable to Temple’s
status as a disproportionate-share hospital”
(Pet. App. 79a, 80a); and

(c) Petitioners merely certified to the Secretary
of Health and Human Services that the rates
complied with the Medicaid Act without mak-
ing any empirical studies to support the assur-
ances (Pet. App. 84a-85a).

5. Based on these and related findings, the District
Court issued an injunction directing the Petitioners to
bring their Program into compliance. The District Court
was Careful not to insist that Petitioners establish any
particular rate structure, but did direct them to increase
cash payments to Temple pending revision of the Pro-
gram. The District Court also directed Petitioners to

11

increase payments to other Respondents pending revision
of the Program to the extent that the reason for the
increased payments to Temple applied “to all hospitals,
without regard to their classification or other individual
distinguishing characteristics.” (Pet. App. 105a, 107a,
109a, 111a).? These increased payments were subject to
repayment (or offset against future payments) if the hos-
pitals were not entitled to them under the revised Medi-
caid Program. |

6. Petitioners appealed each of these Orders. After
consolidating the appeals, the Third Circuit affirmed the
orders of the District Court in all respects. The Third
Circuit emphasized that Petitioners had conducted no
analysis to determine the reasonableness or adequacy of
these rates and no analysis to determine the effect on a
hospital of the disproportionate add-on payments. (Pet.
App. 25a-26a). The Third Circuit relied on the testimony
of Petitioners’ principal trial witness that they did not
“know, today, what hospital costs are” and concluded
that, since Petitioners had no knowledge of hospital costs,
their assurances of their compliance with the Medicaid
Act were “without foundation.” (Pet. App. 26a-27a).

7. Before decision by the Third Circuit, the parties
entered into a Stipulation of Settlement under which they
agreed to settle any dispute over payments for the effec-
tive period of the Stipulation, to place the actions in the
District Court in civil suspense and to engage in a series

? The other Respondents still have applications for relief
pending in the District Court.

12

of pooling transactions® to enable Petitioners to pay
higher rates. The parties believe that pooling transactions
already completed will enable Petitioners to pay the
higher rates, and will enable the Stipulation of Settlement
to remain in effect, until June 30, 1992. The Stipulation
provides that, if the parties can continue to engage in
pooling transactions so that the Stipulation remains in
effect until July 1, 1993, they will then dismiss each of the
actions pending in the District Court.

8. On October 28, 1991, Petitioners filed this Petition
seeking review of the decision of the Court of Appeals.

a

REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED
I. INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY

Respondent Temple brought this action to challenge
the particular method by which Pennsylvania established
its Medicaid rates for Temple University Hospital, an
inner-city medical school hospital with the state’s highest
Medicaid volume. The lower courts were constrained to
rule in Temple’s favor by Pennsylvania’s failure to make
even a good faith effort to comply with the Medicaid Act
and by the resulting discrepancies between Pennsylva-
nia’s Program and that Act. The District Court granted
limited relief to the other Respondent hospitals because

* A pooling transaction allows the use of private donated
funds as the State’s share of Medicaid payments as permitted
by 42 C.FR. § 433.45(b).

13

the discrepancies applied in part “to all hospitals, with-
out regard to their classification or other individual dis-
tinguishing features.” (Pet. App. 105a, 107a, 109a, 111a).

Now, in an effort to find some question deserving of
this Court’s attention, Petitioners urge this Court to
reconsider and overrule its recent decision in Wilder v.
Virginia Hospital Association, 110 S. Ct. 2510 (1990). There
is no special justification for such action. In any event,
this case would present a poor vehicle for such action,
given: (1) Petitioners’ total failure to comply with the
procedural requirements of the Medicaid Act; (2) the
peculiar issues presented by the application of the Medi-
caid Act and the Pennsylvania Program to Temple; and
(3) the possibility that these actions may be dismissed
pursuant to a Stipulation of Settlement among the parties.

To their request to reconsider and overrule Wilder,
Petitioners add a question concerning the requirement of
the Medicaid Act for “disproportionate share” hospitals.
This second question is of such limited application as to
be unworthy of this Court’s attention.

Il. THERE ARE NO SPECIAL CIRCUMSTANCES TO
WARRANT THIS COURT REEXAMINING ITS
INTERPRETATION OF THE MEDICAID ACT.

The Petition asks this Court to reconsider its holding
of less than two years ago, in Wilder v. Virginia Hospital
Association, that health care providers have the right
under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 to seek injunctive relief against
State officers to enforce the Medicaid Act. The Petition
argues that Wilder should be reconsidered and overruled
because: (1) Wilder has begun to “unleash” a “torrent” of

14

provider challenges to state Medicaid programs; (2) it
subjects state Medicaid rates to multiple attacks in multi-
ple fora; and (3) Wilder was incorrectly decided.

This Court has held that “ ‘any departure from the
doctrine of stare decisis demands special justification.’ ”
Patterson v. McLean Credit Union, 109 S. Ct. 2363, 2370
(1989) (quoting Arizona v. Rumsey, 467 U.S. 203, 212
(1984)).

We have said also that the burden borne Ly the
party advocating the abandonment of an estab-
lished precedent is greater where the Court is
asked to overrule a point of statutory construc-
tion. Considerations of stare decisis have special
force in the area of statutory interpretation, for
here, unlike in the context of constitutional
interpretation, the legislative power is impli-
cated, and Congress remains free to alter what
we have done.

Patterson, 109 S. Ct. at 2370. There is no special justifica-
tion for departing from this Court’s holding in Wilder so
shortly after it was decided.

Contrary to the Petition, Wilder has not “unleashed”
a “torrent” of provider actions challenging Medicaid pay-
ment rates. Rather, the evidence is that provider actions
have decreased since Wilder. Pennsylvania and forty-five
other states argued in Wilder that decisions by the Courts
of Appeals had resulted in an “explosion” of litigation,
pointing to thirty-one actions then pending against eight-
een states.’ In the present Petition, Pennsylvania points to

9 Brief Amici Curiae of the States of Connecticut, et al. at
vii and Appendix, Wilder.

15

only thirteen actions against nine states.!° At a time when
more than twice as many actions were pending, this
Court in Wilder considered and rejected the argument that
allowing Medicaid providers to enforce State obligations
under the Medicaid Act would burden the courts and the
States with numerous challenges to Medicaid rates.'!! The
few actions cited in the Petition do not constitute special

circum3tances that would warrant reconsideration of Wil-
der.

The Petition also argues that Wilder should be recon-
sidered because it subjects State Medicaid rates to multi-
ple attacks in multiple fora. The Petition does not,
however, identify any method of attack or any forum that
has become available since Wilder. Review by the Secre-
tary of Health and Human Services is not effective since,
as the parties stipulated in this case, the Secretary does
not normally look behind the findings and assurances
given by the State. The Secretary normally accepts them
at face value. Review in State administrative proceedings
is similarly ineffective:

The regulations allow States to limit the issues
that may be raised in [a State] administrative
proceeding. 42 C.FR. § 447.253(c) (1989). Most
States . .. do not allow hez!th care providers to

10 In counting the number of pending actions cited in the
list of the amici in Wilder and in the list in the Petition, we have
included the five actions before this Court on this Petition.

‘1 The number of Medicaid lawsuits is probably decreas-
ing because the courts have accorded substantial deference to
the States in developing Medicaid payment systems. See, e.g.,
Wilder, 110 S. Ct. at 2523 n.18.

16

challenge the overall method by which rates are
determined.

Wilder, 110 S. Ct. at 2524-25.!2 An action in federal court is
a health care provider’s only remedy for a State violation
of the Medicaid Act. States are not subject to multiple
attacks in multiple fora; rather, if Wilder is reversed, State
Medicaid rates will be wholly insulated from provider
challenges.

Since Wilder was decided less than eighteen months
ago, Congress has amended the Medicaid Act as part of
the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990. In
amending the Medicaid Act, Congress declined the
opportunity to nullify or alter Wilder. Similarly, there has
been no intervening development of the law which has
removed the conceptual underpinnings of Wilder, no new
doctrines or policies that compete with Wilder, no evi-
dence that Wilder is unworkable, and no evidence that it
is an obstacle to important legal objectives. There is no
reason to depart from the doctrine of stare decisis. See
Patterson, 109 S. Ct. at 2370-71.

Petitioners argue at length that Wilder was decided
incorrectly. Wilder was decided correctly and we will not
reargue it in this Brief. We will point out, however, that
even if the Court were prepared to overrule Wilder, it

'2 Pennsylvania’s administrative procedure does not
afford providers the right to challenge Pennsylvania’s payment
methodology. W. Va. Univ. Hosps., Inc. v. Casey, 885 F.2d 11, 30
(1989), cert. granted and aff'd on different issue, 111 S. Ct. 1138
(1991).

17

would not necessarily reverse the decision of the Court of
Appeals as to Temple for at least two reasons:

1. The plaintiffs in Wilder alleged only that Vir-
ginia’s rates were not “reasonable and adequate to meet
the costs which must be incurred by efficiently and eco-
nomically operated facilities.” Temple makes the addi-
tional claim that Pennsylvania’s rates violate the
requirement that the rates adequately “take into account
the situation of hospitals which serve a disproportionate
number of low income patients with special needs” as set
forth in 42 U.S.C. § 1396a(a)(13)(A) and expanded by
Congress in 42 U.S.C. § 1396r-4. If this Court were to
overrule Wilder, holding that providers may enforce the
requirement that rates be “reasonable and adequate” to
meet the necessary costs of efficient providers, it would
still have to decide whether a hospital can enforce the
“disproportionate share” requirement. Congress has
repeatedly focused on the financial needs of “dispropor-
tionate share” hospitals, even to the point of enacting an
additional section for their benefit. Moreover, the Medi-
caid Act directly requires rates to take the situation of
“disproportionate share” hospitals into account, not
merely that the State make findings and assurances. Even
if the Court were to overrule Wilder, it might well permit
a “disproportionate share” hospital to bring an action
under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.'3

2. The plaintiffs in Wilder alleged aly that Vir-
ginia’s rates violated the substantive standards of the

13 For the reasons stated below, we do not believe that the
“disproportionate share” hospital requirement is worthy of
this Court’s attention.

18

Medicaid Act. Temple makes the additional claim that
Petitioners violated the procedural requirements of the
Medicaid Act by making no analysis of hospital costs
Indeed, the Court of Appeals held that Pennsylvania’s
findings and assurances to the Secretary were “without
foundation.” (Pet. App. 27a). Even if this Court were to
reverse Wilder by holding that a provider has no right
under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 to require compliance with the
substantive requirements of the Medicaid Act, it would
then have to decide whether a provider has the right to
compel a State to establish rates based on bona fide

findings and assurances.

Il. THE HOLDINGS OF THE COURTS BELOW ON
THE DISPROPORTIONATE SHARE HOSPITAL
REQUIREMENT ARE BASED ON FACTS PECU-
LIAR TO PENNSYLVANIA AND TO RESPON-
DENT TEMPLE.

The “disproportionate share” requirement in the
Medicaid Act applies to a relatively small number of
hospitals, is rarely invoked in hospital litigation against
Medicaid payment rates, has been only rarely interpreted
by the courts, and is still being refined by Congressional]
and regulatory action. The findings of the courts below
were based on facts peculiar to Pennsylvania and to
Temple. The holding of the Court of Appeals on the
“disproportionate share” hospital requirement does not

warrant attention by this Court.

As demonstrated above, Congress has repeatedly
expressed its concern for the manner in which the States

have elected to deal with the situation of high-volume

19

Medicaid hospitals. Repeated Congressional actions have
established both that Congress recognized the special role
that inner city hospitals with high Medicaid volumes play
in delivering health care to the poor and that Congress
intended States to assure the survival of these hospitals
by making substantial additional payments to them.

The “disproportionate share” requirements have,
however, not been the subject of extensive litigation in
the federal courts. Petitioners can show no conflict among
the Circuits. The decision of the Third Circuit in Temple's
action is the only decision by a Court of Appeals on the
substance of the “disproportionate share” hospital
requirement.'* That requirement has been the subject of
little litigation because States are required to make these
payments to only a small percentage of hospitals.'? Thus,
although Congress expressed particular concern for the
treatment of “disproportionate share” hospitals, that con
cern has not been the subject of any substantial amount of
litigation and should not warrant review by this Court

'4 The only other decision by a Court of Appeals is West
Virginia University Hospitals, Inc. v. Casey, 885 F.2d 11 (Gd Cir. ~
1989), cert. granted and aff'd on different issue, 111 S. Ct. 1138
(1991), in which the Third Circuit held that Pennsylvania could
not deny “disproportionate share” status to an out-of-state
hospital that qualified under the standards applied to in-state
hospitals. West Virginia did not address the level of payments
required for “disproportionate share” hospitals.

'5 In contrast, the Medicaid Act requires States to make
payments that are “reasonable and adequate to meet the costs
which must be incurred by efficiently and economically oper-
ated facilities” to all participating hospitals, as well as all
nursing and intermediate care facilities.

20

The Petition attacks the opinion of the District Court
for imposing Gn Pennsylvania a requirement applicable to
all hospitals that is not included in the Medicaid Act and
not supported by any legislative history of that Act.'© The
Petition ignores the fact that the District Court has so far
applied its “disproportionate share” holding to only one
hospital. The Petition also ignores the facts, unique to
Pennsylvania and to Respondent Temple, which form the
basis of the District Court’s holding:

1. Petitioners established the amount of the pay-
ments to “disproportionate share” hospitals without any
consideration or analysis of the needs of, or additional
costs incurred by, these hospitals. (Pet. App. 80a.) Thus,
Petitioners made no bona fide attempt to comply with the
Medicaid Act. Their assurances that the rates complied
with the “disproportionate share” hospital requirement
were “without foundation.” (Pet. App. 27a).

2. Pennsylvania’s additional payment to those hos-
pitals with the highest Medicaid utilization was only
2.5%. Petitioners’ own expert at trial calculated the addi-
tional costs of those hospitals as at least 16% above com-
parable hospitals. (Pet. App. 79a, 80a). The Medicaid add-
on would have provided an additional payment of about

16 The Petition also argues that the District Court should
have given great deference to HCFA’s approval of Pennsylva-
nia’s “disproportionate share” payment plan. Neither the Dis-
trict Court nor the Court of Appeals could have done so
because that approval, if it occurred, was never included in the
record of this proceeding. This Court does not permit argu-
ments based on facts outside the record. Witters v. Wash. Dept.
of Servs. for the Blind, 474 U.S. 481, 486 n.3 (1986); New Haven
Inclusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392, 450 n.66 (1970).

21

21% to one of those hospitals, Respondent Temple. (Pet.
App. 82a). Thus, there was an enormous gap between
what Pennsylvania provided and what objective analysis
or the Medicare formula would have provided. The gap
was So large it could not be upheld under any construc-
tion of the Medicaid Act.

Based on these facts and mindful that States are
given “a considerable amount of flexibility” in this area,
the District Court nonetheless concluded that “Pen-
sylvania’s adjustment for [Temple’s] disproportionate-
share status misses the mark by so wide a margin as to be
inconsistent with the intent of Congress.” (Pet. App. 82a).
The District Court has not yet extended this holding to
other hospitals in Pennsylvania.!7

In summary, the holdings of the Courts below on the
“disproportionate share” hospital requirement relate only
to the particular facts of a single State and of the hospital
with the highest Medicaid volume within that State. The
requirement is still in the process of legislative clarifica-
tion and regulatory interpretation and has only rarely
been the subject of litigation. The issue presented by the
Petition does not warrant review by this Court.

¢

17 Other Respondent hospitals applied to the District
Court for relief on the “disproportionate share” hospital
requirement in early 1990. Those applications remain pending.

22

CONCLUSION

The actions before the Court are the subject of a
Stipulation of Settlement which places them in civil sus-
pense in the District Court and makes them subject to
possible dismissal on July 1, 1993. As a result, any action
by this Court may have no effect on the underlying
litigation. In addition, the Petition presents no special
circumstances why this Court should reconsider its deci-
sion in Wilder v. Virginia Hospital Association. For these
and the other reasons stated in this Brief, this Court
should deny the Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

Dated: November 29, 1991

MattHew M. StrICKLER
LAURIE MARrTIN

BALLARD SPAHR ANDREWS
& INGERSOLL
1735 Market Street
51st Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19103-7599
(215) 665-8500

Attorneys for Respondent
Temple University — Of the Common-
wealth System of Higher Education

Of Counsel:

GeorcE E. Moore, Esquire
University Counsel

Temple University

435 Carnell Hall

Broad and Montgomery Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19122

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2961%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
