# Reply Brief — Fenn v. Alfadda

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2888%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 502 U.S. 1005

## Text

f j
Mis Ee) Bupreme vot, U.S.
No. 91-641 Filipe

| BUY 2 Shh

IN THE 8 Sa ae
: rciog OF THE CLERK
Supreme Court of the WUnited St ——ein

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

>

RICHARD A. FENN; JAMAL RADWAN; SAUDI EUROPEAN INVESTMENT
CORPORATION N.V.; ALEF INVESTMENT CORPORATION N.V.; ALEF
BANK, S.A., sh

Petitioners,

—_vVvV.—

ABDULAZIZ A. ALFADDA; ABDULLAH ABBAR; ABDULLA KANOO; ABDU-
LAZIZ KANOO; YUSIF BIN AHMED KANOO (a Partnership Company);

AHMED A. ZAINY,
Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF IN FURTHER SUPPORT OF PETITION

Of Counsel: GEORGE A. DAVIDSON*

One Battery Park Plaza

New York, New York 10004

(212) 837-6000

Attorney for Petitioners
Jamal Radwan, Saudi European
Investment Corporation N.V.,
Alef Investment Corporation N. V.
and Alef Bank, S.A.

Of Counsel: THOMAS J. KAVALER*

80 Pine Street

New York, New York 10004

(212) 701-3000

Attorney for Petitioner
Richard A. Fenn

DANIEL H. WEINER
ANDREW E. LUND
HUGHES HUBBARD & REED

PATRICK L. ROCCO
CAHILL GORDON & REINDEL
(a partnership including

a professional corporation)

*Counsel of Record

eS

TABLE OF CONTENTS

THE COURT OF APPEALS REFUSED TO APPLY
THE ‘‘CONDUCT OR EFFECTS’’ TEST IN
ASSERTING JURISDICTION OVER RESPON-
BATE MAUR Ch 5 6 6 os ce eb sc ccevessceieuess

RESPONDENTS PRESENT AS ‘FACT’? UNSUP-
PORTED ASSERTIONS WHICH NEITHER THE
COURT OF APPEALS NOR THE DISTRICT
CAPES PUG UNS 6 ic ea pense eV br cscovncees see

A. The District Court Expressly Found That The
Representations Upon Which Respondents
Allegedly Relied Were Made In The Middle
bss seks cere aane ee eees Weeweues Raven es

B. Respondents’ Assertions Of Injury To SEIC
Have No Relevance To Their Claim.........

C. Respondents’ Assertion Regarding The
Planned Investment Of Offering Proceeds Has
No Relevance To Their Claim ..............

D. The Individuals, Entities and Actions Involved
In Respondents’ Stock Purchases Were Over-
Se ES bs f'n oS 3 eb ogo oko 840 5e 8 bes

CEPR MEET 64.65 Shc cae veendys sodeeesbes oeenetes

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Abrams v. Donati, 66 N.Y.2d 951, 489 N.E.2d 751,
5G N.Y. B20 Tes Ca kc dan daub ecccasacw cscs

Adams-Lundy v. Association of Professional Flight
Attendants, 844 F.2d 245 (Sth Cir. 1988)..........

Bank of Crete, S.A. v. Koskatos, No. 88 Civ. 8412
CMW) G.D.N.Y. Ase. Fe BOs oce c:dccnns eens:

Bersch v. Drexel Firestone, Inc., 519 F.2d 974 (2d
Cir.), cert. denied sub nom. Bersch v. Arthur Ander-
sen & Co., 423 U8. BGG8 Ciiiee ca vdede ds skwonsrs

Rand v. Anaconda-Ericsson, Inc., 794 F.2d 843 (2d
Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 987 (1986) ...........

Roeder v. Alpha Indus., Inc., 814 F.2d 22 (lst Cir.

Sears v. Likens, 912 F.2d 889 (7th Cir. 1990)........
Stevens v. Lowder, 643 F.2d 1078 (Sth Cir. 1981)....

Thornhill Publishing Co. v. General Tel. & Elec.
Corp., 34 F.26 THO Cth Ca. BRIS) vdckcdescuucss

Warren v. Manufacturers Nat’l Bank, 759 F.2d 542
Os SO. SS so bs 3 6a 00 deo eke eee eee

Other Authorities

13 C. Wright, A. Miller & E. Cooper, Federal Practice
& Procedure: Jurisdiction 2d § 3522 (1984) ........

13 Fletcher Cyclopedia of the Law of Private Corpora-
ona & S94). ME CSP a Ns x00 sc'essdncnsasenns anne

PAGE

5n

Sn

3n

4n

Sn

4n

iil

PAGE

Restatement (Third) of the Foreign Relations Law of
ee CEE civ cceeeedsectcevesesyons 2

fiat a a s a i

: a
a
”

oe

ca

5

a aed

|

mo al

,

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991
No. 91-641

a

RICHARD A. FENN; JAMAL RADWAN; SAUDI EUROPEAN
INVESTMENT CORPORATION N.V.; ALEF INVESTMENT
CORPORATION N.V.; ALEF BANK, S.A.,

Petitioners,

—V.—

ABDULAZIZ A. ALFADDA; ABDULLAH ABBAR; ABDULLA
KANOO; ABDULAZIZ KANOO; YUSIF BIN AHMED KANOO
(A Partnership Company); AHMED A. ZAINY,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

>

REPLY BRIEF IN FURTHER
SUPPORT OF PETITION

Petitioners submit this reply brief in further support of
their petition for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment
of the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
in this case.

It is plain from the face of its opinion that the court of
appeals did not apply to civil RICO the ‘‘substantial conduct
or effects in the United States’’ test for determining United
States subject matter jurisdiction. Rather, the Second Circuit
ignored this test—adopted by every other federal court that

2

has addressed the issue and endorsed by the Restatement
(Third) of the Foreign Relations Law of the United States
(1987)—and instead crafted an entirely different standard
that greatly expands the extraterritorial reach of civil RICO.

Respondents now attempt to avoid review of the Second
Circuit’s test for RICO subject matter jurisdiction by present-
ing a response rife with irrelevant factual issues. None of the
new purported bases for jurisdiction argued by respondents
in their opposing brief was accepted by the court of appeals
or the district court, and none is supported by the evidence in
the record.

ARGUMENT

THE COURT OF APPEALS REFUSED TO APPLY THE
“CONDUCT OR EFFECTS’? TEST IN ASSERTING
JURISDICTION OVER RESPONDENTS’ RICO CLAIM.

Respondents challenge petitioners’ showing that the Second
Circuit failed to apply to civil RICO the traditional test of
‘substantial conduct or effects in the United States’’ to
determine whether a transnational transaction is to be gov-
erned by United States law. (Opp. Br. 17-19.)' The opinion
of the court of appeals, which grounds subject matter juris-
diction over respondents’ RICO claim entirely upon the
alleged use of United States mails and wires a handful of
times in connection with subsequent sales to two foreign non-
parties, is clear. After identifying petitioners’ alleged use of
the mails and wires regarding those sales (Sa-6a), the Second
Circuit held:

‘‘The sales to Lincoln American Investments and AI-
Turki were predicate acts which occurred primarily in

l References to ‘‘Opp. Br. » are to respondents’ brief in opposi-
tion to this Petition. References to ‘‘ a’’ are to the pages of the
Appendix to the Petition. References to ‘‘A "are ”” are
to the pages of the Joint Appendix and Exhibits, respectively, filed in
the court of appeals.

the United States, and hence, serve as a basis of subject
matter jurisdiction for the RICO claims.”’

(1la) (emphasis added).

The court of appeals—which expressly acknowledged the
applicability of the ‘‘substantial conduct or effects’’ test to
respondents’ federal securities law claim—did not once
invoke that limitation upon the extraterritorial application of
domestic statutes when it asserted jurisdiction over respon-
dents’ RICO claim. (9a-lla.) Far from requiring substantial
conduct or effects in the United States to sustain the applica-
tion of civil RICO to the foreign transactions at issue, the
Second Circuit accepted respondents’ argument that this test
is not applicable in the civil RICO context.” The Second Cir-
cuit created an entirely different test for civil RICO subject
matter jurisdiction, in which two predicate acts involving the
wires or mails in the United States will suffice to make an
otherwise wholly foreign transaction subject to United States
substantive law.’

RESPONDENTS PRESENT AS ‘‘FACT’’ UNSUPPORTED
ASSERTIONS WHICH NEITHER THE COURT OF
APPEALS NOR THE DISTRICT COURT ACCEPTED.

Rather than defending what the Second Circuit actually
decided, respondents now present this Court with unsup-
ported theories of subject matter jurisdiction which

2 Respondents maintained that ‘‘[t]here is no basis in law or logic to
engraft the conduct and effects tests used in the securitiés fraud con-
text onto RICO. The court below committed error in having done
so. . . .”’ (Respondents’ Brief on Appeal to the Second Circuit, dated
February 8, 1991, at 46.)

3 The holding of the court of appeals has been so understood by the
district court. Bank of Crete, S.A. v. Koskatos, No. 88 Civ. 8412
(KMW) (S.D.N.Y. Aug. 30, 1991), citing Alfadda v. Fenn, 935 F.2d
475, 479 (2d Cir. 1991).

4

were not accepted by the court of appeals or the district
court.*

A. The District Court Expressly Found That The Representa-
tions Upon Which Respondents Allegedly Relied Were
Made In The Middle East.

Respondents admit that they received the Private Place-
ment Memorandum upon which they allege reliance in the
Middle East. (Opp. Br. 8.) However, respondents now assert
that the Private Placement Memorandum was ‘‘drafted and
prepared in the United States.’’ (Opp. Br. 6.) That is flatly
incorrect: the district court expressly found that the Private
Placement Memorandum ‘‘was prepared primarily outside the
United States, and cannot be said to have emanated from
here.’’ (19a.) The court of appeals in no way disturbed that
factual finding.

B. Respondents’ Assertions Of Injury To SEIC Have No
Relevance To Their Claim.

Respondents argue that petitioners’ alleged fraud was not
‘‘consummated”’ until the alleged post-1984 diversion and
misuse of the proceeds of the SEIC share offering. (Opp.
Br. 11-12.) The district court properly rejected this claim,
holding that any fraud on these respondents

‘* ‘was committed by placing the allegedly false and mis-
leading prospectus in the purchasers’ hands’. . . Here,
it is uncontroverted that the prospectus was sent to the
plaintiffs from Paris or Geneva, or hand-delivered in
Saudi Arabia or Bahrain.’’

4 Respondents do not challenge petitioners’ showing that, in the face
of an evidentiary attack, respondents had the burden of proof in estab-
lishing subject matter jurisdiction. See Thornhill Publishing Co. v.
General Tel. & Elec. Corp., 594 F.2d 730, 733 (9h Cir. 1979) (and
cases cited therein); 13 C. Wright, A. Miller & E. Cooper, Federal
Practice & Procedure: Jurisdiction 2d § 3522, at 63-65 (1984).

(18a) (citing Bersch v. Drexel Firestone, Inc., 519 F.2d 974,
987 (2d Cir.), cert. denied sub nom. Bersch v. Arthur Ander-
sen & Co., 423 U.S. 1018 (1975)).°

Neither the court of appeals nor the district court has ever
held that respondents’ claim of diversion of the proceeds of
the SEIC offering is at issue in this litigation. Since any claim
that the offering proceeds were diverted from SEIC belongs
to SEIC, and could only be asserted by or on behalf of
SEIC, respondents lack standing to sue on such a claim.°®

Respondents’ allegations of lost corporate opportunities for
SEIC are also claims belonging solely to SEIC.’ The assertion
that certain ‘‘favored shareholders’’ of SEIC participated in
transactions at SEIC’s expense (Opp. Br. 11-12) does not
allege an injury specific to respondents, since such actions,
even if true, would have equally affected the value of all
shares of SEIC.® In sum, each of the asserted injuries to
respondents is not an injury to respondents themselves, and
thus has no place in this action.

5 Subject matter jurisdiction would not exist even if the fraud alleged
by respondents was incomplete until respondents paid for their SEIC
shares and until SEIC issued additional shares which allegedly
**diluted’’ respondents’ SEIC shareholdings, because this conduct did
not occur in the United States. Respondents paid for their shares
abroad (E 496-97, 640-41, 697-729); respondents themselves allege that
petitioners’ authorization to issue additional SEIC shares occurred
entirely abroad. (A 146-47.)

6 See, e.g., Sears v. Likens, 912 F.2d 889, 892 (7th Cir. 1990); Adams-
Lundy v. Association of Professional Flight Attendants, 844 F.2d 245,
250 (Sth Cir. 1988); Roeder v. Alpha Indus., Inc., 814 F.2d 22, 29 (Ist
Cir. 1987); Rand v. Anaconda-Ericsson, Inc., 794 F.2d 843, 849 (2d
Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 987 (1986); Warren v. Manufacturers
Nat’! Bank, 759 F.2d 542, 544 (6th Cir. 1985); Stevens v. Lowder, 643
F.2d 1078, 1080 (Sth Cir. 1981).

7 See Abrams v. Donati, 66 N.Y.2d 951, 952, 489 N.E.2d 751, 752,
498 N.Y.S.2d 782, 783 (1985); 13 Fletcher Cyclopedia of the Law of
Private Corporations § $941.10 (1991).

8 The district court thus specifically noted that respondents’ allega-
tions regarding Gulf Oil Trading Company (‘‘GOTCO”’) (Opp. Br. 11-
12, 24) were purely derivative. (A 78.)

6

C. Respondents’ Assertion Regarding The Planned Invest-
ment Of Offering Proceeds Has No Relevance To Their
Claim.

Respondents urge the Court to approve the finding of sub-
ject matter jurisdiction over their RICO claim by virtue of
SEIC’s plan to invest a portion of the offering proceeds in
the United States. (Opp. Br. 6-7.) There can be no fraud in
that fact, however, since the Private Placement Memorandum
expressly disclosed that this use was among the purposes of
the SEIC offering. (A 178.)

Neither the court of appeals nor the district court accepted
this argument when respondents presented it below. Respon-
dents’ argument would require United States courts to apply
United States law to, for example, securities fraud claims by
Japanese investors who purchased, in Japan, stock in a Japa-
nese automobile manufacturer which thereafter planned to
invest funds in the United States. That cannot be the law.

D. The Individuals, Entities and Actions Involved In
Respondents’ Stock Purchases Were Overwhelmingly For-
eign.

The court of appeals did not disturb the district court’s
express finding that none of the respondents and only one of
the petitioners was a United States resident. (24a-25a.)
Despite this factual determination, respondents now go to
great lengths to demonstrate that some of the petitioners con-
ducted some business in the United States. (Opp. Br. 3-5.)’

That has never been in issue. The questicn faced by the
courts below was not whether there is personal jurisdiction
over petitioners, but rather whether there is subject matter

9 Respondents’ assertion that petitioner Jamal Radwan ‘‘spends much
of his time in New York’’ (Opp. Br. 3) grossly misstates the record.
Examination of the citation for that statement reveals that Radwan is
president of a bank in Paris, has a home in England, and spends
‘‘most of the year’’ in Geneva, Paris and Bahrain in addition to busi-
ness travel to New York. (E 392.) The district court expressly found
that Radwan ‘‘appears from all the materials submitted to be a resi-
dent of France, not of the United States.’’ (24a-2Sa.)

7

jurisdiction over respondents’ claims. As the district court
properly held, the focus in that inquiry is upon the extent of
United States activities in connection with the overseas repre-
sentations to, and share purchases by, these Saudi Arabian
and Bahraini respondents. (22a-25a.)"°

10

Respondents’ claim that the actions of Ronald Reilly and Mario
Diaz-Cruz, III, somehow confer jurisdiction over their RICO claim is
unsupported in the record. Reilly’s work with SEIC began in Paris in
mid-October 1983, where he negotiated his contract with SEIC.
(E 734, 846-47.) During his preparation and marketing of the 1984
SEIC private placement, Reilly maintained his office in Paris. When he
was not in Paris, he was travelling in Europe and the Middle East.
(E 734, 739-61, 840-41, 849.)

There is no suggestion that Diaz-Cruz was in any way involved in
representations to respondents in the Middle East in the first part of
1984, when respondents learned of the private placement and made
their share purchases. While respondents harp on Diaz-Cruz’s involve-
ment in September and October 1984 in the printing of SEIC stock cer-
tificates and drafting of form letters and share custody certificates
(Opp. Br. 10-11), these events occurred many months after respon-
dents had paid for their shares. (E 148-52, 199, 203-07.) Moreover, the
letters in question were neither sent to respondents from the United
States nor were they sent by Diaz-Cruz. (E 210-15.)

8

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons and the reasons set forth in peti-
tioners’ opening memorandum, the petition for a writ of cer-
tiorari should be granted.

Dated: New York, New York
November 26, 1991

Of Counsel:

DANIEL H. WEINER

ANDREW E. LUND

HUGHES HUBBARD
& REED

Of Counsel:

PATRICK L. ROCCO

CAHILL GORDON
& REINDEL

(a partnership including
a professional
corporation)

*Counsel of Record

Respectfully submitted,

GEORGE A. DAVIDSON*

One Battery Park Plaza

New York, New York 10004

(212) 837-6000

Attorney for Petitioners
Jamal Radwan, Saudi
European Investment
Corporation N.V., Alef
Investment Corporation
N.V. and Alef Bank, S.A.

THOMAS J. KAVALER*

80 Pine Street

New York, New York 10004

(212) 701-3000

Attorney for Petitioner
Richard A. Fenn

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2888%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
