# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Plante v. New Hampshire

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2870%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 502 U.S. 984

## Text

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1991

Renee P) nte, Petitioner
Ve

State of New Hampshire, Respondent

On Writ of Certiorari

To the New Hampshire Supreme Court

Andru H. Volinsky, Esq.

Shaheen, Cappiello,
Stein & Gordon

One Barberry Lane

PO Box 2159

Concord, NH 03302-2159

(603) 228-1109

Counsel for Petitioner

I. QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR

REVIEW.

Petitioner was subjected to a
search that was specifically designated
as for weapons, prior to entering the
lobby area of a county courthouse. As
part of the search for weapons,
Petitioner provided her purse to a
bailiff. Petitioner was not advised
that she could avoid the search by
leaving the building. Petitioner was
not advised that once the search began
it would be completed. The bailiff
searched the purse and found cigarette
rolling papers. He then found a small
"Sucrets" container. Petitioner made
clear that she did not consent to the
opening of the container. The bailiff
opened the container and found a small
quantity of marijuana inside.

The question presented for review

is:

tin

Whether the warrantless search of

|
|
|

the Sucrets container for weapons,
characterized by the New Hampshire
Supreme Court as an administrative
search, violated Petitioner's right to
be free of unreasonable searches and
seizures, as guaranteed by the
Fourteenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution, when Petitioner
did not consent to the opening of the
container, was not in a position to
have implied knowledge of the extent of
the search Tew Petitioner was not a
person in a heavily regulated industry
or Knowledgeable of court search
procedures), was not clearly advised

that once the search was begun,

Petitioner would be unable to withdraw

from the search, and was not provided

with the option of avoiding the search

by leaving the building.

-3-

II. LIST OF PARTIES.

All parties are listed in the

caption.

IIIT. TABLE OF CONTENTS.

| a

VII.

VILL.

Questions Presented for
DOCEieos «¢ «© « «6 «6 « 8

List of Parties ..

Table of Contents ..

—- YW WW

Table of Authorities. .
Prayer for Relief ... 6

Citation to Opinion
a ee a a

wera mereesens « « 2 « « 7

Statutes and Constitu-
tional Provisions
Bpmawetls « 2 « © «© e * 7

Statement of the Case . 8

Reasons for Granting the
Writ of Certiorart .. 15

The Writ of Certiorarli
should be granted because
it will allow the Court to
clearly define the
parameters of the
administrative searcn
exception to the Fourth
Amendment and make explicit

albu
that notice of the
administrative search and
the right to withdraw from
the activity in question
must be given to the person

or business subject to the
search . © « © © © «ec oc ohF5

1. Administrative
Search Exception... .17

2. The Right to Refuse
Consent (i.e., To Leave the
Facility). e * e 2 * - 25

XI. Conclusion ...+..«+««.o «29
KII. Appendix. « «++ «seev-« «30
A. Agreed Statement of Facts
Concerning Motion to
Suppress Evidence .. . 30
B. Opinion of the New
Hampshire Supreme Court in
State of New Hampshire v.
Renee Plante. ..... 42

C. Order Re: Searches. .. 53

IV. TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.

Burger v. New York, 482 U.S. 691, 107
. Ct. 2030, 96 L.Ed. 2d 601 (1987). .
< eee & a Oe 2s cee es es See BO

Colonnade Corp. v. United States, 397

U.S. 72, 90 S. Ct. 774, 25 L.Ed. 2d 60
(1970). » ee gee ee ee ee ee 18

wees

-5-
Donovan v. Dewey, 452 U.S. 594, 101 S.

Ct. 2534, 69 L.Ed. 2d 262 (1981)... .
ie es es we 8 @ 2 ee ow ohTy 18, 19

mown ng v. Kunzig, sos F.2d 1230 (6th

ir. l 7 . . * . . . . . Shs 22
Griffin v. Wisconsin, 482 U.S. 868, 107
S. Ct. 3164, 97 L.Ed. 2d 709 (1987). 18

McMorris v. Alioto, 567 F.2d 897 (9th
Care Sees hh ek Ss ace SOW eee

Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S.
218, 93 3. Ct. 2041, 36 L.Ed. 2d 854
(1973). * - - - - e . . ° . a, ST, 28

Skinner v. Railway Labor Executives'
Assn, 489 U.S. 602 (1959). . 17, 24, 25

State v. Turmelle, 132 N.H. 148, 562
Bete SOO SEs 6 eke ee So

United States v. Pulido-Baquerizo, 800
P.2ag 699 (Sth Cir. 1900). « « © © © BF

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Amendment IV, U.S. Constitution. .. .7

Amendment XIV, U.S. nena
Section ke . 7 . e . . . . . = . . re

New Hampshire Revised Statutes
Annotated 318-B:2 (Supp. 1990)... .8

whe
Renee Plante, Petitioner
Vv.

State of New Hampshire, Respondent

V. PRAYER FOR RELIEF. -~

Petitioner, Renee Plante, through
counsel, prays that a Writ of
Certiorari be issued to the Supreme
Court for the State of New Hampshire to
review her conviction for possession of
a controlled drug, marijuana, Revised
Statutes Annotated 318-B:2 (Supp.
1990). Said conviction was affirmed by
an opinion of the New Hampshire

Supreme Court dated August 2, 1991.

VI. CITATION TO OPINION BELOW.

The opinion of the New Hampshire
Supreme Court in the instant matter

appears at 134 N.H. » 594 A.2da° 165

(1991).

VII. JURISDICTION.

The judgment of the New Hampshire
_ Supreme Court was entered on August 2,
1991. It affirmed Petitioner's
conviction dated June 8, 1990. The
Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(3).

VIIL. STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL

PROVISIONS INVOLVED.

Re Amendment IV, United States
Constitution.

The right of the people to be
secure in their persons, houses,
papers, and effects, against
unreasonable searches and
seizures, shall not be violated,
and no warrants shall issue, but
upon probable cause, supported by
oath or affirmation, and
particularly describing the place
to be searched, and the persons or
things to be seized.

B. Amendment XIV, U.S.
Constitution, Section l.

All persons born or naturalized in
the United States and subject to
the jurisdiction thereof are

afin

citizens of the United States and
of the State wherein they reside.
No State shall make or enforce any
law which shall abridge the
privileges or immunities of
citizens of the United States; nor
shall any State deprive any person
of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law; nor
deny to any person within its
jurisdiction equal protection of
the laws.

C. New Hampshire Revised
Statutes Annotated 318-B:2
(Supp. 1990).

I. It shall be unlawful for any
person to manufacture, possess,
have under his control, sell,
purchase, prescribe, administer,
or transport or possess with
inteit to sell, dispense, or
compound any controlled drug, or
controlled drug analog, or any
preparation containing a
controlled drug, except as
authorized in this Chapter.

IX. STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

Petitioner's trial counsel filed a

motion to suppress the contents of a

Suerets container seized from the
Pettstoner. The ruling of the trial
court in this matter was based upon a

five page Agreed Statement of Facts

-9-
(Appendix A). The trial court denied
Petitioner's motion to suppress the
contents of thé, Sucrets container. The
trial court's decision was the basis of
Petitioner's appeal to the New
Hampshire Supreme Court. The trial
court was affirmed.

On May 5, 1989, Petitioner entered
the Strafford County (New Hampshire)
Justice and Administration Building
with a male companion. There is no
evidence that Petitioner had previously
visited the building or that Petitioner
nad a history of prior criminal arrests
or convictions. Nothing in the record
establishes that Petitioner had any
prior familiarity with weapons search
techniques.

The Strafford County Superior
Court, a New Hampshire trial court of
general jurisdiction, and the Court's

Clerk's Office are located on the

«ifn

second floor of the Administration
Building. The second floor is
primarily accessible by an elevator.
Petitioner entered the building at
approximately 4:00 p.m. and rode in the
elevator to the second floor.

A sign was posted and visible in
the elevator in which Petitioner rode
that stated, "All persons entering this
court facility are deemed to have
consented to security screening of
their person and property for weapons."
Agreed Statement of Facts, at 95.

"When the elevator door opened on
the second floor, [Petitioner] exited
the elevator and found herself at a
security station managed by a bailiff."
Agreed Statement of Facts, at 48. The
security station had been operated from
8:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. on May 5,
1989. "[{TJhe security station located

on the second floor... . has, as part

wk Tw

of the security system, an airport-type
screening device, which is sensitive to
metallic objects." Agreed Statement,
at 949. "{I]n addition to the
airport-type security device, the
bailiffs, in theory, also check any
handbags, briefcases, and/or any other
type of objects being carried by the
person seeking to enter the second
floor, and any containers found therein
that the bailiffs suspect may contain
weapons." Agreed Statement, at 410.

The bailiff that Petitioner
encountered did not have a search
warrant and did not recognize
Petitioner. The bailiff had no reason
to suspect that Petitioner was carrying
any type of weapon. Agreed Statement,
at 94916, 17, and 18.

When Petitioner appeared nervous,
the bailiff explained that the security

check was simply for weapons.

-12-
Petitioner then relinquished her
pocketbook.

Ordinarily, before a security
search begins, the bailiff informs
people that they may leave rather than
submit to a search. The baiiiff "cannot
specifically remember whether he so
informed the [Petitioner]." Agreed
Statement, at 427. The Petitioner
"does not remember the bailiff
informing her she had the right to
leave rather than being searched."
Agreed Statement, at 28.

The bailiff also typically informs
ail "that once he begins a search of
their belongings, he does not stop
until he has finished, even if
requested to do so by the person."
Again, the bailiff does not
specifically recall so advising the
Petitioner. Agreed Statement, at 429.

The Petitioner does not remember the

-13-
bailiff informing her of this policy.
Agreed Statement, at 730.

The search conducted by the bailiff
was pursuant to an order promulgated by
the Chief Judge of the Superior Court
(Appendix C). The order appears to
provide for the withdrawal of the
person entering the facility if the
person causes the metal detecting
device to sound.

In searching the pocketbook, the
bailiff found cigarette rolling papers.
As he continued to search the
pocketbook, he also found a Sucrets
metal container in the last pocket of
the purse. Agreed Statement, at 33.
The size of the Sucrets container was
approximately 3 1/2 by 4 1/2 inches.
The bailiff was familiar with deadly
weapons that could be hidden in a
container of this size. Agreed

Statement, at 435.

uae

The batliff was familiar with the

use of cigarette rolling papers for the

purpose of roiling marijuana
cigarettes. He was of the opinion that
people who have cigarette papers are
probably using them for consumption of
marijuana. Agreed Statement, at 137-38.
"TAjs the bailiff neld the Sucrets
container in his hand, but before he
opened it, [PJetitioner reached across
the table and grabbed the bailiff's
nand. She said more than once ‘please
don't open the container up.'" Agreed
Statement, at 941-43. The Sucrets
container contained seven burned

marijuana cigarettes and one unburned

marijuana cigarette. Agreed Statement,

at 952. The marijuana cigarettes
became the basis for Petitioner's
prosecution.

While it was stipulated that the

bailiff may have known of weapons

OR, 7 OF REET DOWNIE OD or

-15-
concealable in a small Sucrets box,
there is no evidence that established
that Petitioner shared this knowledge.
Also, there is no evidence in the
record of this matter that Petitioner
had previously been subjected to a

courthouse security screen for weapons.

X. REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

OF CERTIORARI.

A. [Tne Writ of Certiorari should

be granted because it will allow the

Court to clearly define the parameters

of the administrative search exception

to the Fourth Amendment and make

explicit that notice of the

administrative search and the right to

withdraw from the activity in question

must be given to the person or business

Subject to the search.

The New Hampshire Supreme Court

considered the issues presented in this

-

matter as "whether the search of the
Sucrets container was a reasonable
search falling within the
administrative search exception," and
"whether the defendant had the right to
terminate the search once she
relinquished her handbag to the
bailiff." 594 A.2d at 166. The
analysis of the administrative search
exception to the warrant requirement in
this matter was the same for both State
and Federal constitutional purposes.

State v. Turmelle, 132 N.H. 148, 153,

562 A.2d 146 (1989); Burger v. New

York, 482 U.S. 691, 107 S. Ct. 2636, 96
L.Ed. 2d 601 (1987).

The New Hampshire Supreme Court's
application of the administrative
search exception unreasonably stretched
the bounds of the exception beyond its
traditional areas of application in the

context of commercial property and

-17-
where knowledge of the search is

impliedly present. See, Burger, supra,

and Skinner v. Railway Labor Executive

Assn, 489 U.S. 602, 622, 109 S. Ct.
1402, 103 L.Ed. 2d 639 (1989)
(Intrusion of toxicological testing
well known to covered employees.) As
well, defendant's right to withhold
consent should have been analyzed at a
point prior to the commencement of the
Search in this matter, ratner than at
the point at which the Sucrets box was
isolated.

1. Administrative Search
Exception.

The administrative search exception
to the warrant requirement was
initially approved in the context of
commercial property where the
expectation of privacy is "particularly
attenuated." Burger, 482 U.S. at 700.

See also, Donovan v. Dewey, 452 U.S.

atin

594, 599, LOL S. Ct. 2534, 69 L.Ed. 2d
262, 269 (L981) (expectation of privacy
in commerectal property 18s reduced).
But, see Griffin v. Wisconsin, 482 U.S.
868, 107 S. Ct. 3164, 97 L.Ed. 2d 709
(1987).

The administrative search exception
1s also ordinarily applied in the

context of pervasively regulated

industries. Burger v. New York, supra

Dewey, supra (underground and surface

mines); Colonnade Corp. v. United

States, 397 U.S. 72, 75, 90 S. Ct. 774,
25 L.Ed. 2d 60 (1970) (Liquor related
businesses).

Warrantless administrative searches
are deemed reasonable "only so long as
three criteria are met." Burger, 482
U.S. at 702.

First, there must be a

"substantial™ government interest
that informs the regulatory scheme

ow ys orl eavers

CTs eee ee eee | eee a

~ Re Es: (se

482

-19-

pursuant to which the Lnspection is
made .. .

Second, the warrantless inspections
must be necessary to further [the]
regulatory scheme. Donovan v.

Dewey, 452 U.S. at 600... .

Finally, "the statute's inspection
program, in terms of the certainty
and regulatory of its application
[must] provide a constitutionally
adequate substitute for a warrant."
Ibid. In other words, the
regulatory statute must perform the
two basic functions of a warrant:
it must advise the owner of the
commercial premises that the search
is being made pursuant to the law
and has a properly defined scope,
and it must Limit the discretion of
the inspecting officers. . . To
perform this first function, the
statute must be "sufficiently
comprehensive and defined that the
owner of commercial property cannot
help but be aware that his property
will be subject to periodic
inspections undertaken for specific
purposes." Donovan v. Dewey, 452
U.S. at 600.

U.S. at 702-03.

There is no question that

administrative searches of persons

entering a courtnouse are justified by

Substantial government interest. The

government interest is in the safety of

———

S

-20-
the court personnel and integrity of
the court facility.

The second criterion described in
Burger, that the inspection is
necessary to further the regulatory
scheme, cannot be met by the search
conducted in this matter. In order to
protect court personnel and the court
facility, the administrative search in
this matter must be designed to prevent
entry of dangerous weapons or explosive
devices. Weapons or explosive devices
that are not brought onto the premises
are not properly subjected to an
administrative warrantless search.

The Order of the Strafford County
Superior Court (Appendix C) that
created the administrative search in
this matter recognizes the
constitutional need to limit searches

to personal property brought onto the

premises. "If a person passing through

sity na ees A

—————_ <<.

-2l-

the [metal detection] device causes it
to register positively, and still
Wishes to enter the court facility,
such person is subject to further
screening checks in order to find the
cause for the screening device reacting
positively." Id.

From the foregoing, it is
reasonable to conclude that a person
may forego entry into the court
facility if he or she causes the device
to react and does not wish to submit to
a further check of his or her person or
belongings. This approach was adopted
by the General Services Administration
and was the subject of inquiry in

Downing v. Kunzig, 454 F.2d 1230 (6th

Cir. 1972). In Downing, the General
Services Administration had issued a
directive that required inspection of

packages. The directive provided that

"fa ]ldmittance should be denied to

«92~

anyone who refuses to voluntarily
submit packages for examination." 454

F.2d at 1231. In McMorris v.

Alioto, 567 F.2d 897 (9th Cir. 1978),
the Court of Appeals, in an opinion by
then Judge Anthony Kennedy, considered |

a similar administrative inspection

oe

system that allowed the person subject
to inspection to withdraw from the

search and not enter the building.

"A visitor who activated the
[metal detection] device was free
to leave the Hall of Justice
without further search and without
questioning. .. If an individual
activated the magnetometer, he
could empty his pockets of metals
and pass through a second time.
If, after the second pass, the
individual continued to activate
the device, he would not be
admitted into the courthouse
unless he submitted to a pat-down
search."

rr ————aeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEEeEeEeEeEeEeEeeeeeEeeEeEeeEeeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeeEEeEeEeEEEwr

567 F.2d at 899.
Tne New Hampshire court

administrative search regulation, as

applied in this matter, did not afford

-23-

“Petitioner the opportunity to withdraw

from the building rather than submit to
the administrative search. Petitioner
jid not require her pocketbook in order
to enter the court facility.
Certainly, Petitioner did not require
the Sucrets container to be on her
person. Petitioner could have locked
both the purse and the Sucrets
container in her vehicle and entered
the building without them. The right
to avoid subjecting one's personal
belongings to an administrative search
also is discussed infra as part of the
consent issue raised in this case.
Finally, the New Hampshire
administrative search regulation does
not meet the third criterion of the
administrative search exception as set
out in Burger. The regulation in
Burger was justified because it was so

well-defined that the owner of

esha

commercial property could not help but
be aware that his property would be
subject to periodic inspections. Here,
Petitioner was not aware that the
"weapons" search would include the
opening and search of the small Sucrets
box.

There is evidence in this case that
the bailiff, a person with twenty-one
years of law enforcement expertence,
knew of weapons or devices that could
be secreted in the small metal
container that was seized from the
Petitioner. However, there is no
evidence in this matter that Petitioner
understood the possibility of her
Sucrets container becoming the subject
of a search for weapons. The matter
is, thus, distinguishable from the

railway employee in Skinner, supra.

Both the circumstances justifying
toxicological testing and the
permissible limits of such

|

-25-

intrusions are defined narrowly and
specifically in the regulations
that authorize them, and doubtless
are well known to covered _
employees.”

Skinner v. Railway Labor Executives’

Assn, 489 U.S. at 622 (1989) (Citation

omitted.) (Emphasis added. )

2. The Right to Refuse Consent
(i.e., To Leave the Facility).
The Petitioner does not dispute the

rationale of United States v..

Pulido-Baquerizo, 800 F.2d 899 (9th

Cir. 1986) cited by the New Hampshire
Supreme Court. Once a party allows an
administrative inspection of his or her
belongings to begin, that party should
not be permitted to withdraw his or her
consent. In the context of airplane
pre-boarding searches, the right to
withdraw consent would encourage
potential hijackers to determine how

best to defeat airport security

=26~

systems. Once begun, it 1s reasonable
to convuinue and conclude administrative
searches. This 1s conststent with the
regulatory purpose for said searches.

The rationale that favors
continuation and conclusion of an
administrative search does not also
justify, by implication, a complete
relinguishment of one's expectation of
privacy as one approaches a security
checkpoint. Prior to placing one's
luggage in the x-ray machine at the
airport, and prior to entering the
magnetic metal detector at the
courthouse, neither system would be
defeated and the regulatory purpose of
an administrative search would not be
defeated if notice was clearly provided
to the person entering the facility
that he or she may withdraw without
being subjected to a search.

In Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412

~?7-

U.S. 218, 93 S. Ct. 2041, 36 L.Ed. 2d
854 (1973), this Court expressly
rejected a requirement that a person's
consent to search was condittoned upon
advisement that he or she has the right
to refuse consent. Ratner than
requiring advisement analagous to the

Miranda warnings, the Court concluded

that a failure to advise of 4 right to
refuse consent was only one of a number
of factors that were to be considered
in determining the totality of
circumstances related to the consent to
search. 412 U.S. at 233-34.

The instant search exists, however,
at the confluence of two exceptions ,to
the search warrant requirement
contained within the Fourth Amendment
to the United States Constitution. The
first exception relates to actual
consent and 1s that described in

Schneckloth. The second exception is

-28-

one of presumed consent and is
exemplified by the regulation at issue

in Burger v. New York. The two

exceptions to the Fourth Amendment's
warrant requirement have been clearly
distinguished, one from the other, by

then Judge Kennedy in McMorris, 567

F.2d at 901 ("nor do we doubt that
their consent in these circumstances
would be insufficient to constitute the
voluntary consent, frequently motivated
by a desire to cooperate with law
enforcement officials, necessary to
validate a warrant list, full-scale
search for evidence of a crime.

Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S.

218, 93 S.Ct. 2041, 36 L.Ed. 2d 854

(1973).")

Tne dictates of Schneckloth snould

not be imposed in the context of a
regulatory search. Relegation of a

warning to only one of a totality of

-29-
factors that must be considered is
inappropriate. Knowledge of the
potential for a warrantless search is

the sine qua non for the exception.

This Court should make the requirement
of a warning explicit in the context of

administrative searches.

XI. CONCLUSION.

WHEREFORE, Petitioner respectfully
requests the Court issue a Writ of
Certiorari to the New Hampshire Supreme
Court to review its decision of August

2, 1991 in this matter.

Andru H. Volinsky,
Esq.
Shaheen, Cappiello,
\ Stein & Gordon
One Barberry Lane
; PO Box 2159
Concord, NH
03302-2159
(603) 228-1109

-30-
XII. APPENDIX.

A. AGREED STATEMENT OF FACTS

CONCERNING MOTION TO SUPPRESS EVIDENCE:

NOW COME the defendant and the
State and agree on the following facts:

1. That on May 5, 1989, she drove
to the Strafford County Justice and
Administration Building which tis
located on County Farm Road in Dover,
New Hampshire.

2. That the Strafford County
Superior Court is located on the second
floor of the Strafford County Justice
and Administration Building.

3. That in order to get to the
second floor of the Strafford County
Justice and Administration Building, tt
is necessary for one to enter the
building and go to an elevator located
in the front lobby.

4. That although there are other

stairways which could, in theory, take

Nb ee aati SL me nce EAT le OS ar ei ele las an

-3l-
one to the second floor in order to get
to the Strafford County Superior Court,
those otner avenues of access, except
for the elevator, are, for security
reasons, either physically blocked off
or marked clearly so they are not used
by the general public.

5. That on that day there were
several signs posted in the front lobby
and on the elevator to the Strafford
County Superior Court, which signs
read: "All persons entering this court
facility are deemed to have consented
to security screening of their person
and property for weapons."

6. That the Chief Justice of the
Superior Court issued the Order
regarding the security screening and
search procedures.

7. That the defendant, on May 5,
1989, entered the elevator and took it

to the second floor of the Strafford

«32+
County Justice and Administration
Building.

8. That when the elevator door
opened on the second floor, she existed
the elevator and found herself at a
security station managed by a bailiff.

9. Tnat tne security station
located on the second floor of the
Strafford County Justice and
Administration Building has, as part of
the security system, an airport-type
screening device which is sensitive to
metallic objects.

10. That, in addition to the
airport-type security device, the
bailiffs, in theory, also check any
handbags, briefcases, and/or any other
type of objects being carried by the
person seeking to enter the second
floor, and any containers found therein
that the bailiffs suspect may contain

weapons.

-33-

ll. That the bailiffs who operate
the security station are employees of
the Strafford County Sheriff's
Department.

12. That once a person passes
through the security station, he or she
is in a general lobby area off of which
are located the Office of the Strafford
County Superior Court Clerk, as well as
the superior court courtrooms.

13. That the batliffs who conduct
the searches at the security station do
not have valid search warrants.

14. That the security station, on
May 5, 1989, was operated from 8:00
Aaem. until 4:30 p.m.

15. That on May 5, 1989, around
4:00 p.m., when the defendant exited
the elevator and entered the second
floor of the Strafford County Justice
and Administration Building, she saw

the security station.

=34-

16. That when the defendant
approached the security station, the
bailiff did not have a search warrant
regarding the defendant.

17. That at the time the bailiff
saw the defendant exit the elevator, he
did not recognize her from any previous
contact.

18. That at the time the defendant
exited the elevator, the bailiff had no
information which would lead him to
Suspect a person fitting the
defendant's description might be
attempting to smuggle weapons into the
courthouse.

19. That the security check the
bailiff intended to execute on the
defendant was the same type of security
check he ran on every other person who
came into the courthouse.

20. That when the defendant exited

the elevator, she was accompanied by a

— > Pam

-35-
male.

21. That the defendant, as she
approached the security check and
observed the metal detector, appeared
to be somewhat nervous.

22. That the bailiff explained the
purpose of the security check to the
defendant.

23. That the bailiff then
requested the defendant hand him her
pocketbook.

24, That as a result of the
conversation, the bailiff received the
defendant's pocketbook.

25. That the defendant, as the
bailiff received her pocketbook, told
the bailiff he was scaring her.

26. That the bailiff responded
there was no need to be scared, as he
was just checking for weapons.

27. That the bailiff, before a

search begins, typically informs people

~36-
that they may leave rather than be
searched, but cannot specifically
remember whether he so informed the
defendant.

28. That the defendant does not
remember the bailiff informing her she
had the right to leave rather than
being searched.

29. The balliff typically informs
people that once he begins the search
of their belongings, he does not stop
until ne is finished, even if requested
to do so by the person, but does not
specifically remember so notifying the
defendant.

30. That the defendant does not
remember the bailiff informing her
about his policy to complete any search
he begins.

31. That the bailiff who had

contact with the defendant on May 5,

1989, had a policy of completing a

-37-
search, once he had initiated the
search, regardless as to whether or not
the defendant objected to the
continuation of the search.

32. That the bailiff found, as he
searched the last compartment of the
pocketbook, Job papers.

33. That as the bailiff continued
to search the defendant's pocketbook,
he also found a Sucrets metal container
in the last compartment of the
pocketbook.

34. That the size of the Sucrets
container was approximately 3 1/2 x 4
1/2 inches.

35. That the bailiff has found
weapons concealed in small containers,
including Sucrets boxes, during other
searches, and is familiar with several
deadly weapons that could be concealed

in a Sucrets box.

36. The bailiff conducting the

~38-
search had been in law enforcement for
21 years as of May 5, 1989.

37. That the bailiff recognized
Job cigarette papers can be used for
the purpose of rolling marijuana
cigarettes.

38. That the bailiff was also of
the opinion people who usually have Job
cigarette papers probably are using it
for marijuana, as opposed to rolling
legitimate tobacco cigarettes.

39. That when the bailiff saw the
Job cigarette paper next to the Sucrets
metal container in the last compartment
being searched in the pocketbook, he
suspected there could be marijuana or
some other type of illegal drug in the
Sucrets container.

40. That the bailiff also
suspected the Sucrets container could
contain a dangerous weapon, it being

identical to containers in which he has

ae wee ee ee

» cat dome vive

lath EOE PO TEE A ci ae co

$e osk OG

-39-
found weapons during past security
searches.

41. That the defendant, as the
bailiff neld the Sucrets container tn
his hand, but before he opened it,
reached across the table and grabbed
the batliff's nand.

42, That as the defendant grabbed
the bailiff's hand, she tried to pull
his hand and the container towards her.

43. That when the defendant
grabbed the bailiff's nand, she said
more than once, "Please don't open the
container up."

44, That the balliff instructed
the defendant to remove her nand from
nis hand.

45. That the defendant clearly was
not consenting to the search of the
Sucrets container.

46. That the batliff clearly

understood, prior to opening the

a

~AGa
container, the defendant objected to
having the container searched.

47. That the bailiff opened the
container over the defendant's
objections.

48, That the bailiff believed he
had the authority to open the container
as part of the security check he was
conducting.

49. That prior to opening the
container, the bailiff did not have an
opportunity to shake it to attempt to
determine its contents, since the
defendant grabbed his hand as soon as
he took the Sucrets container out of
her pocketbook.

50. That the bailiff was holding
the can in his right hand.

51. That during the search of the
pocketbook and the can, the male, who
initially walked off the elevator witn

tne defendant, remained with her during

R
5
a
}
|
2
3
.
:
?
:
;
4

te
the entire incident.

52. That when the bailiff opened
the Sucrets container, he observed what
he believed to be 7 burned marijuana
cigarettes and one unburned marijuana
cigarette.

53. That after seeing what he
believed to be marijuana in the Sucrets
container, the bailiff asked for, and
received, information to identify the
defendant.

Respectfully
submitted,

RENEE PLANTE
By her Attorney

May 11, 1990 /s/ Stuart Dedopoulos
Stuart Dedopoulos

Respectfully
submitted,
Office of the
Strafford County
Attorney

By its Attorney

May 11, 1990 /s/ Andrew Ouellette
Andrew Ouellette

-ho-

B. OPINION OF NEW HAMPSHIRE
SUPREME COURT IN STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE
V. RENEE PLANTE:

BROCK, C.J. ‘The defendant, Renee
Plante, was convicted of possession of
a controlled drug, marijuana, RSA
318-B:2 (Supp. 1990), and appeals from
an order of the Superior Court (Nadeau,
J.) denying her motion to suppress
evidence obtained during a warrantless
security search. On appeal, she
contends that the trial court erred in
denying her motion, alleging that the
evidence was the product of a search in
violation of the State and Federal
Constitutions. For the reasons that
follow, we affirm.

The following facts are taken from
an agreed statement of facts. On May
5, 1989, the defendant and her husband
went to the Strafford County Justice

and Administration Building, on the

it nasil iba

LMS AAO Tal ELL saree Hee Mt

;
|
i
}

-43-

second floor of which the Strafford
County Superior Court is located.
Prominently displayed signs in the
lobby and elevator of the building
state: "All persons entering this
court facility are deemed to have
consented to security screening of
their person and property for weapons."
Persons who wish to enter the secured
area where the courtroom is located
must submit to a search by a
magnetometer, which is a walk-through
device for detecting metallic objects,
and to an inspection of handbags and
briefcases by the bailiff. When the
defendant exited the elevator and
discovered the security station, she
Showed signs of nervousness. She
relinquished her handbag to the bailiff
upon his request, and indicated that
his request frightened her. The

bailiff replied that the search was

-4y-
merely a check for weapons, and that
the defendant had no reason to be
frightened.

Ordinarily, the balliff, prior to
commencing a search, informs visitors
that they may leave the building rather
than submit to the search, and that
once he begins searching, he does not
stop until he has completed the search.
Neitner the bailiff nor the defendant
recalls whether the bailiff so informed
the defendant. Upon searching the
defendant's handbag, the bailiff
discovered a packet of cigarette
rolling papers and a 3 1/2-inch by 4
1/2-inch metal container bearing the
label of "Sucrets" throat lozenges. He
suspected that the Sucrets box
contained either illegal drugs or
dangerous weapons. Before the bailiff
could open the container, however, the

defendant seized his nand and urged him

-45-

several times not to open the
container. After ordering the
defendant to let go of his hand, the

bailiff opened the container and

eas

discovered seven burned and one

vettiabid

unburned marijuana cigarettes.

The defendant was arrested and

6 aA Reached Wench + tok Oe

charged with possession of a controlled
drug. RS 318-B:2 (Supp. 1990). The
Dover District Court convicted the
defendant and imposed a ten-day
suspended sentence and a fine of $150.

Tne defendant appealed the conviction

aut rams it ince yi adit hls AE 5 intact ck f. eotiat

to the superior court, where she filed

a motion to suppress the evidence

nat EDL A entemibh Ss eae we

seized from the Sucrets container

asserting, inter alia, that the search

violated the warrant requirement
contained in part I, article 19 of the
State Constitution and the fourth

amendment to the United States

By ne en) tar) ot ee eee ed b Kiel

Constitution. The motion was denied,

-46-
and this anpoat followed.

On appeal, the defendant admits
that she voluntarily submitted to a
search of her handbag for weapons.
However, the she contends that the
search of the Sucrets container in the
nandbag was an unreasonable search not
falling within the administrative
search exception, because it is not
plausible that a weapon or explosive
device could be concealed in a
container of such small dimensions. She
asserts that the bailiff did not
attempt to open the Sucrets container
until after he discovered the rolling
papers, which were of a type suitable
for making marijuana cigarettes. She
contends that his discovery caused him
to open tne container because he
suspected that marijuana was likely to
be found near where rolling papers were

found, thereby making the search part

it Al Ak, Ot achat ce rte ditt Metphaad a W NNN ERG ws mM eaten

Ch yl leccnliltd sacs pitch AIRS

Aaa ure a Sor

:

ohT~
of an unlawful criminal investigation
for contraband rather than an
administrative search for weapons. She
also argues that she withdrew her
consent by expressly objecting to the
search of the container, and asserts
that the bailiff should have informed
ner that she was free to leave and
avoid the search, and that once he
began the search he would not stop
until it was completed. The State, on
the other hand, argues that the
defendant was put on notice of the
search and voluntarily submitted to it
by choosing to enter the courthouse and
by relinquisning her handbag to the
bailiff. The State also contends that
the bailiff's search was minimally
intrusive and miducted for the lawful
purpose of detecting weapons.

Tne issue we must decide in this

appeal is whether the search of the

«88
Sucrets container was a reasonable
search falling within the
administrative search exception, and
whether the defendant had the right to
terminate the search once she
relinquished her handbag to the
balliff. We first look to the
protection afforded under the New
Hampshire Constitution, and only look
to the Federal Constitution to the
extent that it affords greater

protection. State v. Ball, 124 N.H.

226, 231-32, 471 A.2d 347, 350-51
(1983). We use federal case law only
as an aid to our analysis. See

Michizan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032,

1040-41 (1983).

"A warrantless search is per se
unreasonable and invalid, unless it
comes within one of a few recognized

exceptions." State v. Theodosopoulos,

119 N.H. 573, 578, 409 A.2d 1134, 1137

-49-

(1979), cert. denied. 446 U.S. 983

(1980) (citing Mincey v. Arizona, 437

U.S. 385, 390 (1978)); see U.S. CONST.
amend. IV; N.H. Const. pt. I, art. 19.
In this State we have explicitly
adopted the administrative search

exception. State v. Turmelle, 132 N.H.

148, 152, 562 A.2d 196, 199 (1980).

The purpose of an administrative
courthouse search is to deter
individuals from bringing dangerous
weapons into courthouses. There is a
compelling safety concern in
courthouses due to the recent and
increasing acts of violence directed at
such institutions. If individuals were
allowed to impede a search after it has
commenced, they could be provided with
a safe opportunity to avoid weapon
detection. Such an opportunity would
encourage persistent individuals to

repeat their attempts to gain entry

-50-

with weapons. See United States v.

Pulido-Baquerizo, 800 F.2d 899, 902

(9th Cir. 1986). These searches are
conducted on a regular basis to all
individuals wishing to enter and do not
constitute discretionary acts by

government officials. See New York v.

Burger, 482 U.S. 691, 711 (1987). The
search is narrowly tailored to
discovery of dangerous weapons and
explosives and the intrusion ts limited
to a walk-through metal screening
device and a search of handbags and
Other parcels.

Dangerous weapons and explosives
can be concealed in small containers no
larger than the sSucrets container at
issue in this case. Although the
defendant argues that the bailiff had
no reason to believe that the Sucrets
box contained a weapon, the defendant

Signed an agreed statement of facts

We AO be RAL oO LL tis a6

-51-
which stated that the bailiff has found
weapons in small containers including
Sucrets boxes, during other searches,
and is familiar with several deadly
weapons that could be concealed in a
Sucrets box. Moreover, the defendant
voluntarily submitted to the search of
her handbag when told by the bailiff
that the search was a security check
for weapons.

Upon reviewing the evidence in the
record before us, we conclude that
there was sufficient evidence to
Support the trial court's finding that
the bailiff's search of the metal
container wsa a reasonable search under
part I, article 19 of the New Hampshire
Constitution, within the context of an
administrative search for weapons, and
that once the defendant relinquished
her handbag to the bailiff she did not

retain the right to terminate the

-52-
search once it commenced.

Because the Federal Constitution
affords the defendant no greater
protection than our own, we need not
make an independent federal analysis.

See State v. Ball, 124 N.H. at 231-32,

471 A.2d at 3350-51; cf. United States

v. Herzbrun, 723 F.2d 773, 776 (lltn

Cir. 1984) (no fourth amendment
violation where individuals are not
allowed to revoke consent to search at
airport security checkpoint).
Accordingly, we hold that the search
was valid under the administrative
search exception to the warrant
requirement and therefore affirm the
trial court's ruling.
Affirmed.

BATCHELDER, J., dissented; the
other concurred.

BATCHELDER, J., dissenting: This

case, although presented to the trial

ae ad

-53-
court on an agreed statement of facts,
is devoid of any referennce to the
State's having satisfied its burden of
showing that the defendant wsa advised
of her right to leave the courthouse
without submitting to the

administrative search. See Florida v.

Bostick, 59 U.S.L.W. 4708 (U.S. June
20, 1991) (police specifically advised
defendant that he had right to refuse
consent). I would reverse on that
ground alone and would not reach the

issue of the scope of the search.

C. ORDER RE: SEARCHES:

Under the provisions of RSA 159:19,
a person who Knowingly carries a loaded
or unloaded pistol, revolver, or
firearm or any other deadly weapon as
defined in RSA 625:11, V, whether open

or concealed or whether licensed or

-54-
unlicensed, upon his person or within
any of his possessions owned or within
his control in a courtroom or area used
by a court, is guilty of a Class B
felony, unless he or she is
specifically authorized to do so by the
Court or statute.

In order to insure compliance with
RSA 159:19 and for the protection of
court personnel and the public, no
person, unless otherwise authorized,
snall enter the Strafford County
Superior Court factlity without first
passing through a security screening
device. Briefcases, packages,
pocketbooks or. other receptacles
carried in hand by such persons are
also subject to screening procedures.
If a person passing through the device
causes it to register positively, and
still wishes to enter the court

facility, such person 1s subject to

-55-
further screening checks in order to
find the cause for the screening device
reacting positively.

Any weapons voluntarily produced
prior to screening by persons wishing
to enter the court facility may be
temporarily stored with the Sheriff's
Department, but weapons discovered in
the course of screening procedures are
subject to seizure.

All persons entering the Strafford
County Superior Court Facility are
deemed to have consented to the

aforementioned security measures.

/s/ Richard P. Dunfey

Chief Justice
Superior Court

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2870%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
