# Opposition Brief — Houston Building Service, Inc. v. National Labor Relations Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2849%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 502 U.S. 1090

## Text

~~
~

St L

No. 91-597 | JAN TS 1992
OFFICE GF ThE CLERK
Iu the Supreme Court of the United eri Tes

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

HOUSTON BUILDING SERVICE, INC., PETITIONER
v.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
IN OPPOSITION

KENNETH W. STARR
Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
202) 514-2217
JERRY M. HUNTER
General Counsel

D. RANDALL FRYE
Acting Deputy Generai Counsel

NORTON J. COME
Deputy Associate General Counsel

LINDA SHER
Assistant General Counsel
National Labor Relations Board
Washington, D.C. 20570

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the National Labor Relations Board prop-
erly found that petitioner was a successor employer.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
NN En catctceenonresaeeeseveunnudaiuees Lereeoniouneele 1
I et shevaivencnuunassokecabenammentecvectnpnantatt 1
IE <2 Os oecosndacnasiainsodosinnecebuatammrenenencunventiens 2
te ona pebeghcamsownc sos celpivniasnbnnteekaiberiatrahe 6
aE ETI a oo ES RES OO NR OER IER MRD OLN Se 10
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
California vV. FERC, i110 8. Ct. 2024 (1990) _... os 8
Fall River Dyeing & Finishing Corp. v. NLRB,
ee gc adap anconwhicalenaenenenanee 5, 8,9
Golden State Bottling Co. v. NLRB, 414 U.S. 168
ns cisemnanaenens 9
Hilton v. South Carolina Public Railways Comm’n,
No. 90-848 (Dec. 16, 1991) .................................... 8
NLRB v. Burns Int'l Security Services, Inc., 406
I a astensdioereneios 5, 6,7
Square D Co. v. Niagara Frontier Traffic Bureau,
Se iS | enna eee 8
Universal Camera Corp. Vv. NLRB, 340 U.S. 474
(8 es hn ee RRC Rae Se ital aie enna ee 9
Statutes:
National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. 151 et
seq.:
TS EN SIRI URI anette yA cae RAB at 5
Deny eae, oe Ue. 1001R) (2)... 8 4,5
§ 8(a) (5), 29 U.S.C. 158 (a) (5) .................... aah a

(IIT)

In the Siaygreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

No. 91-597
HOUSTON BUILDING SERVICE, INC., PETITIONER
wv:

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-
6a) is reported at 936 F.2d 178. The decision and
order of the National Labor Relations Board (Pet.
App. 7a-48a) is reported at 296 N.L.R.B. No. 101.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on July 2, 1991. The petition for a writ of certiorari
was filed on September 30, 1991. The jurisdiction of
this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

2

STATEMENT

1. In 1980, the Unlicensed Division of District
No. 1, MEBA,-NMU, AFL-CIO (Union) became the
recognized collective bargaining representative of a
unit of approximately 30 custodial services employees
working for Nash Janitorial Services, Inc. (Nash).
Nash provided janitorial services for the General
Services Administration (GSA) at three federal
buildings in Austin, Texas. Pet. App. 12a-ld4a. The
service contract was periodically rebid. Between 1980
and 1987, five successive employers assumed responsi-
bility for providing janitorial services for GSA. Each
hired the employees of its predecessor and maintained
a collective bargaining relationship with the Union.
Id. at 14a-15a. The last contractor prior to petitioner,
Housekeepers Maintenance Service and Supply, Inc.
(Housekeepers), had a collective bargaining agree-
ment with the Union effective August 1986 through
October 1989. /d. at 15a.

In 1987, GSA solicited bids for the custodial con-
tract. Pet. App. 15a. Petitioner was the successful
bidder. /d. at 18a. Before winning the bid, a repre-
sentative of petitioner solicited and received from the
Union the current collective bargaining agreement
and an employee seniority list. 7d. at 15a-16a. Peti-
tioner’s president, Jason Yoo, also discussed with
Eugene Darby, the janitorial services manager for
Housekeepers, the possibility of retaining Darby if
petitioner were awarded the contract. Jd. at 16a. Yvo
mentioned to Darby that he desired to hire new em-
ployees. Darby told Yoo that it could take up to a
month to obtain the security clearances needed.’ Yoo

1To be employed in the federal buildings in Austin, each
employee required a security clearance. Pet. App. 16a n.8.

3

believed that the clearances could be obtained more
quickly. /d. at 16a & n.8.

Petitioner’s contract obligations commenced on De-
cember 1, 1987. On November 25, petitioner made
conditional job offers to 18 individuals, not members
of the Housekeepers workforce, to work at the federal
buildings, contingent on their obtaining the required
security clearances. Some of those applicants failed
to receive clearances and were never hired by peti-
tioner to work at the federal buildings. Pet. App.
17a-18a & n.11. On December 1, when petitioner be-
gan performing the janitorial services contract, its
entire rank-and-file workforce consisted of the 30
former Housekeepers employees. Darby, as well as
two other former Housekeepers supervisors, also were
hired by petitioner. /d. at 19a.

On December 2 or 3, Darby distributed job applica-
tion forms to the former Housekeepers employees, as
wel] as union authorization forms. The employees
completed and returned the forms. Pet. App. 19a.
Petitioner began to add new employees as they re-
ceived security clearances. The former Housekeepers
employees, however, constituted a majority of its
workforce.” Jd. at 30a-31la.

On December 9, petitioner refused the Union’s re-
quest for recognition and notified GSA that it in-
tended to subcontract its custodial work. Pet. App.

2 One new employee and two new supervisors began work-
ing on December 3 and 4. During the week of December 6
through 12, petitioner’s maximum employee complement in-
cluded the original workforce of 30 employees and 3 holdover
supervisors, plus 10 new employees and 2 new supervisors.
During the week of December 14 through 19, its employee
complement included 16 of the original unit employees, 2 hold-
over supervisors, 11 new employees, and 2 new supervisors.
Pet. App. 23a-24a, 30a-31a.

4

2la-22a. Thereafter, petitioner unilaterally reduced
working hours and terminated all of the night shift
employees. /d. at 23a. Petitioner never bargained
with the Union and failed to make contributions to
employee benefit funds. Jd. at 24a.

2. The Union filed unfair labor practice charges
against petitioner. The Board, upholding the decision
of the administrative law judge (ALJ), found that
petitioner was a successor to Housekeepers and ac-
cordingly obligated to recognize and bargain with the
Union. Pet. App. 9a, 29a. The ALJ found that there
was “substantial continuity” between petitioner and
Housekeepers. Jd. at 28a. The ALJ explained that
petitioner’s ‘operations and functions” were the same
as those of its predecessor. /d. at 29a. On commenc-
ing work, the ALJ noted, petitioner ‘utilized the
exact same workforce performing the same jobs under
the same working conditions and with the same super-
visors that had been utilized by [Housekeepers].”’
ld. at 30a. The ALJ also observed that the services
performed by the employees continued without inter-
ruption. /bid.

The ALJ further found that by December 9, when
the Union requested recognition, petitioner “employed
a full workforce with all job classifications filled.”’
Pet. App. 3la. The ALJ and the Board rejected
petitioner’s assertion that the Housekeepers’ employ-
ees hired by petitioner were temporary employees.
The ALJ and the Board noted that the employees
were never told they were temporary. /d. at 8a n.2,
32a. The ALJ further noted that there was ‘no
known definite or contemplated date for their termi-
nation.” Jd. at 32a.

Based on those findings, the Board concluded that
petitioner violated Sections 8(a)(5) and (1) of the
National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. 158(a) (5)

o
and (1), by refusing to recognize and bargain with
the Union and by making unilateral changes in work-
ing conditions." Pet. App. 9a, 35a.

3. The court of appeals enforced the Board’s or-
der. Pet. App. 6a. The court concluded that the
Board’s finding that petitioner was a successor to
Housekeepers was supported by substantial evidence.
Citing Fall River Dyeing & Finishing Corp. v. NLRB,
482 U.S. 27 (1987), and NLRB vy. Burns Int'l Secu-
rity Services, Inc., 406 U.S. 272 (1972), the court
noted that the Board properly takes into account “the
totality of the circumstances” in determining whether
there has been “substantial continuity” between the
old and new employers. Pet. App. 3a-4a. The court
observed that one of the ‘“‘most significant” factors in
determining successorship “is the overlap of work-
forces between the two entities.” /d. at 4a. The court
rejected petitioner’s assertion that, because it ac-
quired no assets from Housekeepers, there could be
no finding of successorship. The court explained that
“{t]ransfer of ownership of assets * * * is only one
factor” to be considered in determining whether “the
second corporation basically has continued the busi-
ness and workforce of the first.” 7d. at 6a n.2. On
the facts of this case, the court of appeals observed
that, when the Union made its bargaining demand,
all of petitioner’s employees “were former House-
keepers workers who were performing identical work
to that which they had done under Housekeepers. The

3 Section 8(a) (5), 29 U.S.C. 158(a) (5). makes it an unfair
labor practice for an employer “to refuse to bargain collec-
tively with the representatives of his employees.” Section
8(a) (1), 29 U.S.C. 158 (a) (1), makes it unfair labor practice
for ar employer to “restrain, coerce, or interfere with” the
exercise of rights protected by Section 7 of the Act, 29 U.S.C.
157.

6

working conditions, production process, and custom-
ers remained unchanged.” Jd. at 5a.

The court of appeals rejected petitioner’s assertion
that under the Board’s ruling, petitioner was pre-
cluded from hiring its own permanent workforce.
The court explained that, if petitioner had C-sired to
hire its own employees and to treat the original unit
employees as a temporary workforce, it could have
simply told those employees that their status was
temporary. Instead, the court noted, petitioner gave
the employees job applications and union cards, thus
misleading the employees into believing that their
status was permanent. Petitioner “did nothing to
combat the impression that any reasonable employee
would have in these circumstances that the ‘new’ job
merely was a continuation of the old.” Jd. at 5a-6a.

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner contends (Pet. 7-8) that the Board
misapplied the successorship doctrine in this case by
finding that petitioner was a successor firm even
though it did not acquire the assets of its predecessor.
That contention is foreclosed by NLRB v. Burns Int'l
Security Services, Inc., 406 U.S. 272 (1972).

In Burns, the Court sustained the Board’s determi-
nation that Burns, as the successful bidder to a con-
tract previously performed by Wackenhut Corpora-
tion to furnish guard services, was required to bar-
gain with the union that had represented Wacken-
hut’s employees. 406 U.S. at 277-281." The Court

‘The Court rejected the Board’s position that the successor
was required to assume the predecessor’s collective agreement.
406 U.S. at 291. The Court held instead that a successor who
retains the predecessor’s workforce is required to consult
with the collective bargaining representative of those em-

7

concluded that imposing a bargaining obligation is
appropriate when the new employer maintains sub-
stantial continuity in the operation of its predeces-
sor’s business so that “the bargaining unit remains
unchanged” and “a majority of employees after the
change of ownership or management were employed
by the preceding employer.” J/d. at 279, 281. The
dissent in Burns argued that the successorship doc-
trine should not apply since there had been no trans-
fer of assets. 406 U.S. at 296-310 (Rehnquist, J.,
dissenting). The Court, however, refused to accept
that principle. Instead the Court quoted with ap-
proval the court of &peals’ finding that “[a]l! of the
important factors which the Board has used and the
courts have approved are present in the instant case:
‘continuation of the same types of product lines, de-
partmental organization, employee identity and job
functions.’ ”’ Jd. at 280 n.4.°

Petitioner does not dispute that, under the Court’s
decision in Burns, a finding of successorship is war-
ranted in this case; it simply urges (Pet. 8-9) adop-
tion of the dissenters’ view in Burns that the suc-
cessorship doctrine should not apply in the absence
of some transfer of assets. Petitioner, however, has
advanced no reason why the Court should depart from
the doctrine of stare decisis. Burns has been settled

ployees before changing their terms and conditions of employ-
ment. Jd. at 294-295.

5 The Court added that the Board had found that both Burns
and Wackenhut “performed the identical services at the same
facility; although Burns used its own supervisors, their func-
tions and responsibilities were similar to those performed by
their predecessors; and finally * * ~ Burns commenced per-
formance of the contract with 27 former Wackenhut employ-
ees out of its total complement of 42.” 406 U.S. at 280 n.4.

8

law for nearly twenty years, and its reasoning was
recently reaffirmed and applied by this Court in Fall
River Dyeing & Finishing Corp. v. NLRB, 482 U.S.
27, 36-41 (1987). There is no justification for re-
visiting that statutory issue. See Hilton y. South
Carolina Public Railways Comm’n, No. 90-848 (Dee.
16, 1991), slip op. 4 (“Time and again, this Court
has recognized that ‘the doctrine of stare decisis is
of fundamental importance to the rule of law.’ * * .
Adherence to precedent promotes stability, predict-
ability, and respect for the judicial authority.’’) ;
California v. FERC, 110 S. Ct. 2024 (1990) ; Square
D Co. y. Niagara Frontier Traffic Bureau, Inc., 476
U.S. 409 (1986).

29 Nor is there merit to petitioner’s suggestion
(Pet. 11) that Fall River requires the Board to ‘focus
on whether the new company has ‘acquired substan-
tial assets of its predecessor and continued, without
interruption or substantial changes, the predecessor's
business operations.’”’ On the contrary; the Court in
Fall River reiterated that, “[i]f the new employer
makes a conscious decision to maintain generally the
same business and to hire a majority of its employees
from the predecessor, then the bargaining obligation
of [Section] 8(a) (5) is activated.” 482 U.S. at 41.
The Court went on to state that Burns had approved
“the approach taken by the Board and accepted by
courts with respect to determining whether a new
company was indeed the successor to the old,” and
that this approach “is primarily factual in nature
and is based upon the totality of the circumstances
of a given situation.” Jd. at 45. “Under this ap-
proach, the Board examines a number of factors,”
such as “whether the business of both employers is
essentially the same” and “whether the employees of
the new company are doing the same jobs in the same

9

working conditions under the same supervisors.”
Ibid.

While the Court in Fall River noted that the Board
will also examine “whether the new company has
‘acquired substantial assets of its predecessor,’ ” 452
U.S. at 43, quoting Golden State Bottling Co. v.
NLRB, 414 U.S. 168, 184 (1973), it was not suggest-
ing that this factor is essential to a finding of suc-
eessorship. Rather, the statement merely reflects the
fact that the acquisition of assets, which occurred in
Fall River and Golden State, is a factor to be con-
sidered in determining whether there is “substantia!
continuity” between the old company and the new one.
Fall River stated, however, that the essential question
is whether “those employees who have been retained
will understandably view their job situations as es-
sentially unaltered.” 482 U.S. at 43.

Here, as in Burns, while there was no assets ac-
quisition, the other indica of continuity were sufficient
to justify the Board in concluding that the employees
would “view their job situations as essentially un-
altered.” As the court of appeals noted, petitioner
“chose to rehire a workforce that had grown accus-
tomed to new owners adopting the collective bargain-
ing arrangements of former employers”; petitioner
“not only rehired those same workers, but did so in
a manner which would indicate that the same prac-
tice was continuing”; and the “operations * *. > Te
main[ed] essentially the same after the transfer of
ownership.” Pet. App. 6a. The court of appeals’ de-
termination that the Board’s order is supported by
substantial evidence warrants no review here. Uni-
versal Camera Corp. v. NLRB, 340 U.S. 474, 491
(1951).°

6 Petitioner’s statement of the questions presented (Pet. i)
appears to raise the issue of whether successorship can be

10

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted.

KENNETH W. STARR
Solicitor General
JERRY M. HUNTER
General Counsel

D. RANDALL FRYE
Acting Deputy General Counsel

NORTON J. COME
Deputy Associate General Counsel

LINDA SHER
Assistant General Counsel
National Labor Relations Board

JANUARY 1992

found when employment of the predecessor’s employees is
“forced” and “temporary” as a result of the government’s
failure to grant security clearances quickly. Petitioner does
not argue that point in the body of the petition, and it raises
at most a fact specific issue that does not warrant this
Court’s review. In any event, the Board, upheld by the court
of appeals, found that petitioner never told the predecessor’s
employees that their employment was temporary, but instead
treated them as permanent employees. Pet. App. 5a-6a.
Accordingly, this case does not present any issue of forced
temporary hiring.

WU. S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE; 1992 312324 45258

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2849%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
