# Opposition Brief — Picinic v. Seatrain Lines, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2789%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 502 U.S. 968

## Text

ii I [ gE D

No. 91-528

ferie U.S.
'

QCT 23 if9}

\ PAK OF THE CLERR

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTosBer Ters:. 1991

MATE PICINIC.
Petitioner,
VS.

SEATRAIN LINES, INC., SEATRAIN REALTY CORP.,
and JACKSON TANKER CORP.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
APPELLATE DIVISION — FIRST DEPARTMENT

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

LAWLOR, CAULFIELD, GALVIN,
HELLER & HARRIS

Attorneys for Respondents

80 John Street

New York, New York 10038

(212) 493-6300

Davin S. HELLER, Esq.

Counsel of Record

bs

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Was the dismissal of petitioner’s complaint for failure to
comply with a conditional order of dismissal, issued after
six years of dilatory litigation tactics in accordance with
settled New York State Jaw, a denial of petitioner’s right
to due process?

Does the dismissal of petitioner’s complaint present a
substantial federal question meriting review by this Court?

eee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

DUEeEMNe FRESENIED ...................
5 8 ee yy 4, ys » Sa
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES...................
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT..................
STATEMENT OF THE CASE .................
ARGUMENT
POINT I:

No Substantial Federal Question is Presented

I

APPENDIX A - Notice to Take Deposition, July
ee

APPENDIX B - Notice of Motion for a Protective
EES ee

APPENDIX C - Order of the Supreme Court of
the State of New York (Edwards, J.) Denying
Motion, August 8, 1963 .....................

APPENDIX D - Notice of Motion to Compel
Discovery, May 20, 1067....................

APPENDIX E - Order of the Supreme Court of
the State of New York (Danzig, J.) Granting
Stay of All Proceedings, May 22,1985 ........

APPENDIX F - Note of Issue, Certificate of
Readiness and Attorney Affirmation, June 18,
EE

10

B-]

C-]

D-1

E-]

F-]

iv

Page

APPENDIX G - Order of the Supreme Court of
the State of New York (Blyn, J.) Striking Note
OG Hamu; Fomed 36, BOGS... ... 5. ec eens. G-1

APPENDIX H - Notice of Motion for Preliminary
Conference and tv Compel Discovery, May 29,
En ADE Paee Se NE ORR oF rhe IRS AP Nae H-1

APPENDIX I - Notice of Cross Motion to
Preclude and Terminate Discovery, September
FC POE ie Bs hte oes ek i es, I-]

APPENDIX J - Preliminary Conference Order,
SI WE IES foo os et Sue os aa ds oc. J-1

APPENDIX K - Decision of Appellate Division of
the Supreme Court of the State of New York
Dismissing Plaintiff's Appeal, August 31, 1989 . K-]

APPENDIX L - Order of the Supreme Court of
the State of New York (Freedman, J.)
Conditionally Dismissing Plaintiff's Complaint,
UY Fp UU onc ses ccreen ent cccevceccn L-1

APPENDIX M - Order of the Supreme Court of
the State of New York (Freedman, J.)
Dismissing Plaintiffs Complaint, November 16,
WE © hha 4 oie e Peano cic ve M-]

APPENDIX N - Order of the Supreme Court,
Appellate Division Unanimously Affirming the
Order of the Trial Court, January 8, 199]..... N-]

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
SUPREME COURT CASES
CITY OF NEW ORLEANS V. NEW ORLEANS
WATER WORKS CO., 142 U.S. 79 (1891) .... 5
HAMMOND PACKING CO. V. STATE OF
ARKANSAS, 212 U.S. 322 (1909) ............ 1, 5, 6
7, 8

HOVEY V. ELLIOT, 167 U.S. 409 (1897) ...... 6, 7,8
INSURANCE CORP. OF IRELAND V.

COMPAGNIE DES BAUXITES De GUINEA,

456 U.S. 694 (1982) ......... Eva eenaes so 6, 7,9
LOGAN V. ZIMMERMAN, 455 U.S. 422 (1982) . 6,7

NATIONAL HOCKEY LEAGUE V.
METROPOLITAN HOCKEY CLUB, 427 U.S.

Say eer 7,8
SOCIETE INTERNATIONALE V. ROGERS, 357

“ee FSO es ee eee 6, 8
ZUCHT V. KING, 260 U.S. 174 (1922) ......... 5

OTHER FEDERAL CASES

DRESSLER V. M.V. SANDPIPER, 331 F.2d, 130
| errr ry re ree ee eee 8

TEN V. SVENSKA ORIENT, 87 FRD 551
NE olen re cvs dcisneseddsss: s

WILKINS V. AMERICAN, 401 F.2d 151 (2d Cir.
SERS ISAS» ada eee 5

vi

YANITELLI AND HELLER V. NAVIERAS DE
PUERTO RICO 103 FRD 413 (S.D.N.Y. 1984)
and 106 FRD 42 (S.D.N.Y. 1985) ............

STATE COURT CASES

BOSSONE V. GENERAL ELECTRIC, 144
A.D.2d 1044, 535 N.Y.S.2d 287 (1988)........

HELLER V. MUTUAL MARITIME, 78 A.D.2d
786, 433 N.Y.S.2d 11 (1980) ................

PEROS V. CIA DE NAV, 75 Misc.2d 913, 349
N.Y.S.2d 926 (1973) ......0.......000000.-.

WILLIAM V. HERTZ AND HELLER, 9] ~
A.D.2d 548, 457 N.Y.S.2d 23, affd 59 N.Y.2d
893, 465 N.Y.S.2d 937 (1982)................

WILKINS V. AMERICAN EXPORT, 46 A.D.2d
244, 362 N.Y.S.2d 168, affd 38 N.Y.2d 758,
381 N.Y.S.2d 51 (1975) .....................

ZLETZ V. WETANSON, 67 N.Y.2d 711, 499
N.Y.S.2d 933 (1986)........................

STATUTES
58 U.S.C. Sec 197 =... eee... ..

NEW YORK CIVIL PRACTICE LAW AND
RULES (CPLR) Sec. 3126 (3)................

FEDERAL RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE
RULE 37... 210545558 eee

Page

No. 91-528

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcrosBer TERM, 1991

MATE PICINIC,

Petitioner,

VS.

SEATRAIN LINES, INC., SEATRAIN REALTY CORP.,
and JACKSON TANKER CORP.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
APPELLATE DIVISION — FIRST DEPARTMENT

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

A state court may constitutionally dismiss a pleading as a sanc-
tion for a party’s failure to provide court-ordered discovery.
Hammond Packing Co. v. State of Arkansas, 212 US 322 (1909).
This petition seeks review of a state court's dismissal of a per-
sonal injury complaint after literally years of disregard and flat
defiance of state court directions to furnish discovery. From the
institution of this action in 1983 until its dismissal in 1989, peti-
tioner was afforded the opportunity to conduct this litigation

in an orderly and professional manner and to pursue his per-
sonal injury claim consistent with the due process dictates of
the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments. That petitioner failed
to do so does not constitute a due process violation on the part
of the state court which dismissed his complaint, nor is any
substantial federal question presented thereby which merits
Supreme Court review. 28 U.S.C. Sec. 1257.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The underlying action seeks to recover for personal injuries
allegedly sustained when petitioner tripped and feil at his place
of employment on April 28, 1980. Petitioner commenced his
lawsuit in the Supreme Court of the State of New York, New
York County, by service of a summons and complaint on April
20, 1983, barely one week before the applicable personal in-
jury statute of limitations would have barred the action as un-
timely. In July, 1983, defendant served a demand to take peti-
tioner’s deposition pursuant to applicable New York court rules
(Appendix A). Rather than submitting to an oral examination
of his claims, petitioner embarked upon a six years odyssey of
avoidance and delay in providing discovery by moving for a pro-
tective order vacating the demand (Appendix B). This motion
was denied by order of the New York State Supreme Court dated
August 8, 1983. The Supreme Court further ordered that peti-
tioner submit to a deposition August 22, 1983 (Appendix C),
which the petitioner failed to do. Defendants thereafter moved
once more for an order directing plaintiff to appear for a depo-
sition and submit to a physical examination (Appendix D). Peti-
tioner thereupon moved to stay all discovery pending the hear-
ing and determination of a related appeal. This motion resulted
in a stay of all proceedings without prejudice to defendants’
right to conduct discovery after determination of the appeal
(Appendix E).

This appeal was determined in favor of the defendants by the
Appellate Division, First Department of the Supreme Court of
the State of New York. Rather than providing the long-sought
discovery, petitioner then attempted to place the action on the

trial calendar. In conjunction with this attempt, petitioner’s
present counsel served and filed what is termed a Certificate
of Readiness, dated June 17, 1986, falsely stating under oath
that service of a Bill of Particulars, a physical examination of
plaintiff by defendants’ physicians, the exchange of medical
information as well as other discovery devices, including deposi-
tions were “not required” (Appendix F). This compelled defend-
ants to make a motion to strike the action from the trial calen-
dar, and to force petitioner to comply with outstanding discovery
demands. Defendants’ motion resulted in a Special Master’s rec-
ommendation to strike the case from the calendar upon the
grounds that the defendants had not had a reasonable oppor-
tunity to depose the plaintiff, contrary to the Certificate of
Readiness (Appendix G). This recommendation was later
adopted by the Supreme Court, and, in order to secure the
discovery, defendants moved for a conference and to have the
court supervise the proceedings (Appendix H). Despite the fact
that his client had not been deposed or examined by defendants’
doctors, petitioner’s counsel filed a cross-motion once more seek-
ing to strike all discovery demands and to terminate discovery
(Appendix I).

These motions resulted in an order of the Supreme Court
granting defendants motion, setting a date for depositions of
all parties and directing that plaintiff furnish CAT Scans taken
in 1981, inter alia. Petitioner again sought to avoid providing
discovery by appealing from this order and defaulting in com-
plying with the court’s directions (Appendix J). Although an in-
terlocutory appeal was filed from this order, it was never
perfected and was finally dismissed on defendants’ motion (Ap-
pendix K).

The passage of time coupled with the petitioner's refusal to
comply with the most rudimentary discovery demands had
prejudiced the ability of defendants to defend the lawsuit,
necessitating a motion to dismiss the complaint. On September
7, 1989 the Supreme Court granted the motion unless petitioner
appeared for a deposition, submitted CAT scans that had been
taken of him and underwent at least one medical] examination
by October 23, 1989. The court further conditioned its order

ee

upon the payment of $1,000 by petitioner’s counsel to defendants’
law firm. The Supreme Court found that petitioner has been
guilty of dilatory practices which had severely prejudiced the
defendants, and the petitioner was clearly warned that “Failure
to comply with any of the above directions shall result in the
striking of the complaint and dismissal of the action. . ” (Ap-
pendix L). Petitioner did not appeal this order or seek a protec-
tive order pursuant to the appropriate provisions of the New
York Civil Practice Law and Rules (“CPLR”). Neither did he,
or any of the attorneys in his employ, comply with the order.
(Appendix M)

Instead, as noted by the Appellate Division — First Depart-
ment, “plaintiff waited until some of the court-ordered dates
had passed and then sought reargument. Since plaintiff was well
aware of the terms of the conditional order of dismissal, and
no satisfactory excuse has been proffered for his non-compliance,
dismissal of the complaint was proper. . ” (Appendix N). That
court further noted that almost no discovery had been provided,
although the accident had allegedly occurred in 1980, and that
the petitioner “had frustrated defendants attempts to conduct
discovery.” Contrary to petitioner’s statement of facts, neither
the Supreme Court nor the Appellate Division found that peti-
tioner’s failure to provide an affidavit of actual engagement was
the reason for the dismissai. Indeed, the affidavit was never sub-
mitted to the Court below, even belatedly, nor was it a part of
petitioners’ record on appeal. Rather it appeared for the first
time in a motion to re-argue the Appellate Division's affirmance
of the Trial Court’s dismissal. In actuality, the complaint was
dismissed due to petitioner’s persistent and contumacious refusal
to provide discovery and the prejudice to the defendant which
naturally resulted from his dilatory tactics.

ARGUMENT
POINT I

NO SUBSTANTIAL FEDERAL QUESTION IS
PRESENTED

It is a basic tenent of appellate practice that the Supreme
Court will not review the judgment of a state court unless a
substantial federal question is presented. Zucht v. King, 260 U.S.
174 (1922). The bare averment of a federal question is not suf-
ficient to invoke federal jurisdiction. City of New Orleans v.
New Orleans Water Works Co., 142 U.S. 79 (1891). The peti-
tioner herein presents no basis for his claim. The dismissal! of
his complaint was nothing more than a condign response by the
court below to petitioner’s six-year history of dilatory tactics.
The petition does not seek to review any novel question of law
or procedure, nor does it seek to resolve a conflict between federal
or state courts. The dismissal of petitioner’s complaint does not
involve any important public policy issue, nor does it have any
effect other than to discontinue vexatious litigation which had
gone on for too long with too little merit.

The power of a state court to dismiss a complaint for failure
to dismiss a complaint for failure to provide discovery was
reviewed by the Court in Hammond v. Arkansas, supra. The
majority opinion (per Mr. Justice White) stated that the exer-
cise of the power to dismiss in circumstances similar to those
presented herein was entirely proper. In such cases, striking a
pleading is an exercise of authority based upon the presump-
tion that the defaulting party lacks a meritorious defense (or
cause of action) and such a dismissal is not repugnant to federal
constitutional rights.

In the case at bar, a trial judge exercised her discretion to
penalize a party for a six year history of wilful and contumacious
defiance of discovery orders, including an explicit final-
opportunity order. This exercise of discretion was explicitly
authorized by state law. N.Y. CPLR 3126(3). Furthermore, the

State’s highest Court has upheid both that statute and the exer-
cise of its power by a trial court. Zletz v. Wetanson, 67 NY2d
7ll, 499 NYS2d 933 (1986). Finally, both the Appellate Divi-
sion and the New York Court of Appeals unanimously upheld
the trial judge's action.

It is elementary to the orderly dispensation of justice that,
faced with a wilfull and contumacious disobedience of its orders,
a court must be able to visit sanctions, including the striking
of pleadings, upon the recalcitrant party. This Court has so held
since Hammond Packing v. State of Arkansas, supra.

Hammond Packing, was specifically in the minds of the
authors of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, which call for
just such sanctions as Petitioner now claims to be Unconstitu-
tional. See FRCP 37(b)(2)(iii) and the notes of the Advisory
Committee.

The Advisory Committee's notes distinguished Hovey v. Elliot,
167 US 409 (1897), vet, incredibly, Petitioner cites that case,
which concerns punishment for contempt, as if it were control-
ling authority.

Compounding petitioners disingenuous use of citation, is his
treatment of the recent history of the Hovey/Hammond distinc-
tion. The Supreme Court has treated with those cases three
times. Petitioner mentions the first two such occassions; name-
ly Societe Internationale v. Rogers, 357 US 197 (1958), and
Logan v. Zimmerman, 455 US 422 (1982). He simply ignores
the third, which is the most recent and the most authoritative
case, Insurance Corp. of Ireland v. Compagnie Des Bauxites de
Guinea, 456 US 694 (1982).

In Societe Internationale, supra, plaintiff could not comply
with certain discovery demands without violating the penal
law of a foreign sovereign. The Court found that plaintiff had
shown good faith. 357 US at 201. In the case at bar, petitioner
refused simple civil discovery and was held to be wilful and
contumacious.

In Logan, supra, a complainant, through no fault of his own,
missed a short statutory statute of limitations by five days,
because the state’s factfinding body had mis-scheduled a con-
ference. 455 US at 426. Hovey and Hammond are mentioned
in a string citation to the effect that there are Constututional
limitations on arbitrary dismissals of civil causes of action. To
compare the faultless five day default in Logan with Petitioner's
six year compaign of defiance is simply not serious.

In Insurance Company of Ireland, supra, this Court (Justice
White writing for a Court unaminous in the result, Justice Powell
concurring) authoritatively applied the Hovey/Hammond
distinction to FRCP 37, and held dismissal of a pleading (there,
the striking of a defense) was Constitutionally proper.

“The expression of legal rights is” often subject to
certain procedural rules: The failure to follow these
rules may well result in a curtailment of the rights. . .

Rule 37(b)(2)(A) itself embodies the standard
established in Hammond Packing Co. v. Arkansas, 212
US 322, 53 L Ed 530, 29 S Ct 370 (1909), for the due
process limits on such rules. There the Court held that
it did not violate due process for a state court to strike
the answer and render a default judgment against a
defendant who failed to comply with a pretrial
discovery order...

Insurance Corp. of Ireland v. Compagnie Des Bauxites, supra,
456 US at 705-706.

The Federal Courts have exercised their power under FRCP
37, as indeed they must unless anarchy is to reign in the Courts.
See, e.g., a case remarkably similar to the one at bar, National
Hockey League v. Metropolitan Hockey Club, 427 US 639,
640-641 (1976)(dismissal after 17 months defiance); rehearing
denied 429 US 874. In National Hockey League an Appellate
Court reversed the trial Court’s exercise of discretion, and this
Court reversed and re-instituted the dismissal. In the case at
bar, no judge has even expressed doubt that the trial Court was,
if anything, too long-suffering with the recalcitrant petitioner.

Mindful, perhaps, of the wide swath of disruptive behavior
that petitioner has carved through the state and federal Courts,
the trial court exercised its discretion, based on a six year record,
in such a way as to be unanimously upheld in the State Court
system. Any alternative ruling, indeed, would have been con-
ducive of the notorious disruptive tactics of Petitioner’s attorney,
Kenneth Heller, which has been commented on in no less than
nine reported cases. See Wilkens v. American, 401 F.2d 151 (2d
Cir. 1968); Ten v. Svenska Orient, 87 FRD 551 (SDNY 1980);
Dressler v. M.V. Sandpiper, 331 F.2d 130,133 (2d Cir. 1964);
Yanitelli and Heller v. Navieras de Puerto Rico, 103 FRD 413,
(SDNY 1984) and 106 FRD 42,43 (SDNY 1985). Also see the same
case, third opinion, 1985 West Law 440. William v. Hertz and
Heller, 91 AD2d 548, 457 N.Y.S.2d 23, (lst Dept.) aff'd 59 NY2d
893, 465 NYS2d 937 (1982) Bossone v. General Electric, 144
AD2d 1044, 535 NYS2d 287 (1988); Peros v. Cia De Nav., 75
Misc.2d 913, 349 NYS2d 926 (1973); Wilkins v. American Ex-
port, 46 AD2d 244, 362 N.¥.S.2d 168, Affd. 38 NY2d 758,381
NYS2d 51 (1975); Heller v. Mutual Maritime, 78 AD2d 786, 433
NYS2d 11 (1980). This course of conduct is exactly the sort of
flouting of the courts that New York’s CPLR 3126, not less than
FRCP 37, is meant to deter. See National Hockey League v.
Metropolitan Hockey Club, supra, 427 US at 643.

The situation in Hammond was specifically
distinguished from that in Hovey v. Elliot, 167 US 409,
42 L Ed 215, 17 S Ct 841 (1897), in which the Court
held that it did violate due process for a court to take
similar action as “punishment” for failure to obey an
order to pay into the registry of the court a certain
sum of money. Due process is violated only if the
behavior of the defendant will not support the Ham-
mond Packing presumption. A proper application of
Rule 37(b)(2) will, as a matter of law, support such
a presumption. See Societe Internationale v. Rogers,
357 US 197, 209-213, 2 L Ed 2d 1255, 78 S Ct 1087
(1958). If there is no abuse of discretion in the applica-
tion of the Rule 37 sanction, as we find to be the case
here (see Part III), then the sanction is nothing more

than the invocation of a legal presumption, or what
is the same thing, the finding of a constructive waiver.

Insurance Corp. of Ireland v. Compagnie Des Bauxites, supra,
465 US at 705-706.

Thus, absent an abuse of discretion, dismissal of a pleading
for failure to cooperate in discovery is constitutionally sound
as a matter of law. In the case at bar, the state courts have
unanimously held that the trial court did not abuse its discre-
tion. The Supreme Court of the United States, it is respectfully
submitted, is not presented with a substantial federal question,
when it is asked to review a trial court’s exercise of discretion
in a slip and fall case. The exhibits to this brief show, if such
showing were needed, that the trial Court did not abuse its
discretion.

For six years the petitioner was given the opportunity to ob-
tain redress for his perceived injuries. That he failed to do so,
due to his own intransigence or that of his counsel, may have
prevented a hearing on the merits of the claim, but these events
were not due to lack of due process, nor do they present a federal
question worthy of scrutiny by this Court.

10

CONCLUSION

The petition should be dismissed.

Respectfully Submitted,

LAWLOR, CAULFIELD, GALVIN,
HELLER & HARRIS

Attorneys for Respondents

80 John Street

New York, New York 10038

(212) 493-6300

DAVID S. HELLER, ESQ.
OF COUNSEL

APPENDICES

ood

A-l

SUPREME COURT OF STATE OF NEW YORK
COUNTY OF NEW YORK

MATE PICINIC,
Plaintiff,
— against —
SEATRAIN LINES, INC., ET AL.,
Defendant.

NOTICE TO TAKE DEPOSITION UPON
ORAL QUESTIONS AND TO PRODUCE

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, that pursuant to Article 31, CPLR,
the Deposition upon oral questions of the person(s) named will
be taken as follows:

TO BE

EXAMINED: Plaintiff

DATE &

TIME: August 25, 1983, 10:00 A.M.
PLACE: Supreme Court : New York County

60 Centre Street
New York, New York 10007

PLEASE TAKE FURTHER NOTICE, that pursuant to Rule
3111, CPLR, each plaintiff and any co-defendant is required to
produce the following items at the deposition:

(1) The motor vehicle report prepared by or on behalf of the
witness.

(2) All medical bills and any receipts, cancelled checks or
estimates relating to special damages.

(3) If lost earning are claimed, Federal and State Income Tax
returns covering the year when loss claimed and two years
prior thereto and one year after loss claimed.

A-2

(4) Any contracts, leases or documents relied upon with
respect to the claim.

(5) Any statement given by or on behalf of any defendant
serving this notice.

(6) Any and all exhibits, papers and/or documents relative
to claim. :

McLAUGHLIN, SIMONE &
DATED: New York, New York LAWLOR

July 8, 1983 Attorneys for Defendant(s)
80 John Street
DOCKET # 830511 SEA New York, New York 10038
FILE # 111LRT898531] Tel. No. (212) 668-9210

EBT’s (212) 668-9270, 71, 72
To:

KENNETH HELLER, ESQ.
Attorney(s) for Plaintiff(s)
277 Broadway

New York, New York 10007

B-1

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
COUNTY OF NEW YORK

MATE PICINIC,

Plaintiff,
— against — Notice of Motion

SEATRAIN LINES, INC., SEATRAIN _ Index No. 16200/83
REALTY, JACKSON TANKER
CORPORATION,

Defendant.

SIRS:

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE, that upon the annexed affirmation
of KENNETH HELLER, dated July 13, 1983 the exhibits an-
nexed thereto and upon all the prior pleadings and proceedings
heretofore had herein, the undersigned will move before this
Court at the Supreme Courthouse, 60 Centre Street, New York,
New York, at a Special Term Part 1A thereof, on August 8th,
1983 at 9:30 am or as soon thereafter as counsel can be heard for
a protective order vacating defendants notice to take deposition
upon oral questions and to produce, and for such other, further
and different relief as to this Court may seem just and proper.

PLEASE TAKE FURTHER NOTICE, that pursuant to CPLR
§ 2214(b), sufficient notice having been given, opposing papers,
if any, shall be served upon the undersigned at least five (5) days
prior to the return date of this motion.

Dated: New York, New York
July 13, 1983
Yours, etc.

KENNETH HELLER
Attorney for Plaintiff

To: McLaughlin, Simone 277 Broadway
& Lawlor New York, New York 10007
Attorneys for Defendants
30 John Street

New York, New York 10038

B-2

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
COUNTY OF NEW YORK

MATE PICINIC,
Plaintiff,
— against —

SEATRAIN LINES, INC., SEATRAIN
REALTY, JACKSON TANKER
CORPORATION, Index No. 16200/83

Defendant.

KENNETH HELLER, an attorney admitted to practice
before the Courts of the State of New York, hereby affirms the
following as true under penalties of perjury.

This affirmation is submitted in support of plaintiff's motion
pursuant to CPLR § 3101 for a protective order vacating de-
fendants notice to take deposition upon oral questions and to
produce, and for other relief.

FACTS

This action is brought to recover money damages for a
longshoreman-checker, severely injured on Apri! 28, 1980, when
he slipped and fell into a mud hole while checking containers
located on property owned, operated and controlled by de-
fendant herein. At the time of his accident, plaintiff was em-
ployed by UNITED TERMINALS, INC., at Port Seatrain, Wee-
hawken, New Jersey.

Plaintiff, 36 years of age, has been totally disabled since the
date of his accident.

On July 8, 1983, a notice to take deposition upon oral ques-
tions and to produce was served upon counsel for plaintiff, return-
able August 25, 1983. Said notice is annexed hereto as Exhibit 1.

Plaintiffs demands that this notice to produce be vacated on
the following grounds:

B-3

ITEM #1

This is not an automobile accident, therefore Item #1
is inept;

ITEM #2

This information is available from the compensation

carrier and will be furnished to defendants once plain-
tiff has obtained it.

ITEM #43

Plaintiff's income and records are personal and are
not to be disclosed to the defendant.

The plaintiff as a longshoreman, is not a paid
employee but paid from a fund to which defendant,
as a shipowner, is a contributor. The fund is called
NYSA-ILA GAI FUND. The defendant being a
member of this fund has available to it plaintiff's en-
tire earnings records.

In view of the fact that an alternative means is pres-
ent and the defendant has failed to exhaust these
means to obtain these records this item should be
stricken. Furthermore, defendants are not entitled to
anything so privileged as income tax records.

ITEM #4

Plaintiff does not understand this demand
ITEM #5

This Item is incomprehensible
ITEM #6

Not only is this item incomprehensible it is an attack
on the entire system of discovery being a “fishing ex-
pedition”. Said item being over-broad places an un-
due burden upon the plaintiff and confronts the plain-

tiff with a task that he could not possibly accomplish.

B-4

The examination of the plaintiff by oral deposition
can not take place until issues of the Items to be pro-
duced at the examination before trial has been
disposed of. Further the areas of questioning with
regard to the Items of discovery and inspection are
objected to as being contrary to the civil rights of this
plaintiff. The other areas of interrogation anticipated
are objectionable within the confines of the Items
demanded for discovery and inspection.

WHEREFORE, it is respectfully requested that defendant's
notice to take deposition upon oral questions and to produce
should be stricken in its entirety.

Dated: New York, New York
July 13, 1983

KENNETH HELLER

’ —

C-1

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK,
SPECIAL TERM PART IA, NEW YORK COUNTY
at the Courthouse thereof, 60 Centre Street, New York,
New York 10007.

Present: Hon. DAVID H. EDWARDS, JR. Justice.

Picinic
— against —

Seatrain Lines

The following papers numbered | to ____ read on this motion
Argued & Submitted. PAPERS NUMBERED

No 80 on Calendar of Aug. 8, 1983

Notice of Motion - Order to Show Cause - and Affidavits

Annexed

Answering Affidavit

Replying Affidavit

—___. Affidavit

—___. Affidavit

Pleadings - Exhibit

Stipulation - Referee’s Report - Minutes

Filed Papers

Filed August 16, 1983

County Clerk’s Office, New York

Upon the foregoing papers this motion by plaintiff to vacate
notice of deposition is denied. Plaintiff shall appear for examina-
tion at special Term Part 2 of the court on August 22, 1983 at
10:00 a.m. and shall produce relevant records. Requests for rul-
ings on objections shall be addressed to the justice presiding at
special Term Part 2.

Dated Aug. 8, 1983 /s/

TY

D-1

NOTICE OF MOTION

Index No.: 16200/83
Judge: Blyn

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
COUNTY OF NEW YORK

MATE PICINIC,
Plaintiff,
— against —

SEATRAIN LINES, INC., SEATRAIN REALTY CORP.
and JACKSON TANKER CORP.

Defendant.
MOTION BY:

Defendants, SEATRAIN LINES, INC., SEATRAIN
REALTY CORP. and JACKSON TANKER CORP.

ACTION FOR:

Personal Injury
DATE AND TIME:

On Wednesday, June 17, 1987 at 2:00 P.M.
PLACE OF HEARING:

At the Courthouse located at 60 Centre Street, New
York, N.Y. 10007 I.A.S. Part 26, Room 232

D.2

ORAL ARGUMENT REQUESTED:
YES [X] NO[ ]
SUPPORTING PAPERS:

Pleadings, exhibits and the Affirmation of Attorney
JAMES J. FERETIC
Dated: May 29, 19°

RELIEF DEMANDED:

A) An Order pursuant to CPLR 3104 and Uniform
Rules § 202.12 for a Preliminary Conference and an
Order directing plaintiff to comply with defendants’

discovery demands.

B) Such other and further relief as this Court deems
just and proper.

SEVEN DAY NOTICE:

Pursuant to CPLR 2214(b) answering papers are to
be served at least 7 days prior to the return date of
this motion.

Dated: New York, New York
May 29, 1987

CALENDAR NO. 73658 - INDEX NO.: 16200/83
PRESENT: HON. ETHEL B. DANZIG Justice.

New York Supreme Court
County of New York

EE EEE

MATE PICINIC,
Plaintiff,
— against —
SEATRAIN LINES, INC., et al.,
Defendants.

The following papers numbered 1 to ____
read on this motion
this day. of 19

PAPERS NUMBERED
Notice of Motion and Affidavits Annexed
Order to Show Cause and Affidavits Annexed
Answering Affidavits
Replying Affidavits
Affidavits
Filed Papers (County Clerk’s Office)
Others

Upon the foregoing papers this motion is granted to the ex-
tent of marking this case off the calendar until the pending ap-
peal has been decided by the Appellate Division, First Depart-
ment. The case may then be restored to the calendar by plain-
tiff on ten days written nc ce to the defendant and to the court.

That portion of the motion seeking discovery is denied without
prejudice to renew in the proper Part after the appeal has been
decided.

Dated May 22, 1985 /s/

J.S.C.

F-]

INDEX NO 16200/83

AFFIRMATION OF COMPLIANCE WITH SUPREME
COURT RULE § 202.12(f)

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE CF NEW YORK
COUNTY OF NEW YORK

MATE PICINIC,
Plaintiff,
— against —

SEATRAIN LINES, INC., SEATRAIN REALTY CORPORA-
TION, and JACKSON TANKER CORPORATION,

Defendants.

KENNETH HELLER, an attorney at law in the State of New
York, under penalty of perjury, hereby affirms:

That he is the attorney for the plaintiff, that he is familiar
with the facts herein, and that he files this Affirmation of Com-
pliance with Supreme Court Rule § 202.12(f) in order to file
the Note of Issue in this case.

This case was previously on the trial calendar under Calen-
dar number 73658, against defendant Jackson Tanker Corpora-
tion, only, upon its default.

Said default was vacated by the Appellate Division, First
Department, in an order dated February 4, 1986, and defen-
dant Jackson Tanker served its answer.

On May 19, 1986, affirmant served a Request for Preliminary
Conference upon defendants’ attorneys. The case was assigned,
but no preliminary conference has been held.

There are no outstanding orders resulting from any
preliminary conference to date, as a result of the recent
assignment.

ini

F.2
WHEREFORE, it is respectfully requested that plaintiff be
permitted to file his Note of Issue and Statement of Readiness.

Affirmed this 18th day
of June, 1986 /s/ Kenneth Heller

KENNETH HELLER

F-3

NOTE OF ISSUE
INDEX NO 16200/83
Name of Judge: BLYN
SUPREME COURT, NEW YORK COUNTY, N.Y.
MATE PICINIC,
Plaintiff (s)
— against —

SEATRAIN LINES, INC., SEATRAIN REALTY CORPORA-
TION, and JACKSON TANKER CORPORATION,

Defendant(s)

NOTICE FOR TRIAL

K) Trial by jury demanded

K) Of all issues

C) Of issues specified below or attached hereto
OQ) Trial without jury

Filed by attorney for Plaintiff

Dated summons served April 20, 1983

Date service completed April 20, 1983

Date issue joined June 23, 1983 and Feb. 27, 1986

NATURE OF ACTION OR SPECIAL PROCEEDING

K) Tort: C) Motor vehicle negligence
() Medical malpractice
K) Other tort - Negligence

() Contract
() Contested matrimonial
C) Uncontested matrimonial

F-4

L) Tax certiorari
(J) Condemnation
() Other (not itemized above) specify
(} This action is brought as a class action
CL} This is a medical malpractice action: panel procedures
prescribed by court rules pursuant to Jud. § 148.a.

Li have been completed 1) have not been completed
Amount demanded $10,000,000.00

Other relief
Insurance carrier(s), if known: Travelers

Attorney(s) for Plaintiff(s) KENNETH HELLER, Esq.
Office & P.O. Address: 335 Broadway
New York, New York 10013

Phone No: (212) 962-6085

Attorney(s) for Defendant(s) Law Office of Raymond G. Lawlor
Office & P.O. Box Address: 80 John Street
New York, New York 10038

Phone No.: (212) 668-9210

NOTE: Clerk will not accept this note of issue unless accom-
panied by a certificate of readiness, or, in a medical malprac-
tice action, unless, where applicable, the certificate of readiness
previously has been filed and the panel procedure prescribed
by court rules pursuant to section 148-a of the Judiciary Law
have been completed.

F.5

CERTIFICATE OF READINESS FOR TRIAL
(Items 1-7 must be checked)

Completed Waived Not required
All pleadings served X
Bill of particulars served
Physical examinations completed
Medical reports exchanged
Appraisal reports exchanged
. Compliance with the Rules in matri-
monial actions (22 NYCRR 202.16) X
7. Discovery proceedings now known
to be necessary completed X
8. There ave no outstanding requests for discovery.
9. There has been a reasonable opportunity to complete the
foregoing proceedings.
10. There has been compliance with any order issued pursuant
to the Precalendar Rules (22 NYCRR 202.12).
ll. If a medical malpractice action, there has been compliance
with any order issued pursuant to 22 NYCRR 202.56.
12. The case is ready for trial.
Date: June 17, 1986 /s/ Kenneth Heller

KENNETH HELLER, ESQ.
Attorney(s) for Plaintiff
Office & P.O. Address 335 Broadway

New York City, N.Y. 10013
State of New York, County of New York ss: Lily Choung
being duly sworn, deposes and says that deponent is not a par-
ty to the action is over 18 years of age and resides at New York,
New York, on the 17th day of June 1986
Deponent served the within note of issue and certificate of
readiness on Law Office of Raymond G. Lawlor attorney(s) for
Defendant herein at his office at: 80 John Street, New York, NY
during his absence from said office
(a) by then and there leaving a true copy of the same with
his clerk: partner: person having charge of said office.
(b) and said office being closed, by depositing a true copy of
same, enclosed in a sealed wrapper directed to said attorney(s),
in the office letter drop or box.
Sworn to before me on June 1986

— ————

DE obo
mm

G-1l

Present: Hon. ARTHUR E. BLYN

Mate Picinic
— against —

Seatrain Lines

The following papers numbered 1 to ____ read on this motion
PAPERS NUMBERED

No ____ on Calendar of

Notiee of Motion - Order to Show Cause - and Affidavits
Annexed

Answering Affidavit

Replying Affidavit

________ Affidavit

_________ Affidavit

Pleadings - Exhibit

Stipulation - Referee’s Report - Minutes

Filed Papers

Upon the foregoing papers this motion to strike the note of
issue is granted, in accordance with the recommendation of the
Special Master annexed hereto.

Settle order.
Dated 12/16/86 /s/
J.S.C.
Briefs: Plaintiffs _._.. Defendant’s _____ Petitioner’s ___
Respondent’s ____ Relator’s ___
Briefs

County Clerk’s No 16200, 1983
Speci I Liber ______ Line 001, 19___

G-2

Special Master BYRON DRESNER
Date: 12/10/86

Motion Calendar No. (Cross Motion: Yes __._. No ~

Relief Requested: (Motion) To Strike Note of Issue
(Cross motion)

Personal ~ ‘Telephone __ Conference with Pitf.
Personal ~ ‘Telephone ___ Conference with Deft.

Motion Submitted Without Confer nee ,

Disposition:
Motion adjourned _____ (Date: )
Motion withdrawn _____ Cross motion withdrawn ____

Motion settled ___. Cross motion settled ___
Stipulation on record
Stipulation to be submitted
Motion submitted to Special Term Part I without recom-
mendation

Recommendation:

Motion granted ~ Cross motion granted ___

Motion denied ____ Cross motion denied ___ Other: __
Comments:

The motion to strike note of issue should be granted. No
preliminary conference was held prior to the filing of the
note of issue dated 6/17/86 although a demand for a pre-
liminary conference was made ‘y the plaintiff on 5/19/86.
Issue was not joined as to Def. Jackson Tanker Corp.
until Feb. 27, 1986 after a stay been in effect until the

G-3

App. Div. decision Feb. 4, 1986. The case had been marked off
the Calendar as a previous note of issue filed on Mar. 12, 1985,
to be restored on 10 days notice with the pending appeal to the
App. Division was decided. The defs. has not had a reasonable
opportunity to depose the Plaintiff contary to the Certificate
of Readiness. There is ev’ tence of Pre-Trial Order by the Court

under the Rules of this Court.
The case should be set down for a Preliminary Conference.

/s/Byron Dresner

Special Master

H-1

NOTICE OF MOTION
Index No.: 16200/83
Judge: Blyn

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
COUNTY OF NEW YORK

MATE PICINIC,

Plaintiff,
— against —
SEATRAIN LINES, INC., SEATRAIN REALTY
CORP. and JACKSON TANKER CORP.
Defendant.

MOTION BY: Defendants, SEATRAIN LINES, INC.,
SEATRAIN REALTY CORP. and JACKSON TANKER CORP.

ACTION FOR: Personal Injury

DATE AND TIME: On Wednesday, June 17, 1987 at 2:00 P.M.

PLACE OF HEARING: At the Courthouse located at 60 Centre
Street, New York, N.Y. 10007 I1.A.S. Part 26, Room 232

ORAL AR\:UMENT REQUESTED: Yes

SUPPORTING PAPERS: Pleadings, exhibits and the Affirma-
tion of Attorneys JAMES J. FERETIC Dated: May 29, 1987

H-2

RELIEF DEMANDED:

A) An Order pursuant to CPLR 3104 and Uniform Rules
§ 202.12 for a Preliminary Conference and an Order directing
plaintiff to comply with defendants’ discovery demands.

B) Such other and further relief as this Court deems just and
proper.

SEVEN DAY NOTICE: Pursuant to CPLR 2214(b) answering
papers are to be served at least 7 days prior to the return date
of this motion

Dated: New York, New York
May 29, 1987

LAWLOR & CAULFIELD
Attorneys for Defendants
SEATRAIN LINES, INC.,
SEATRAIN REALTY CORP. and
JACKSON TANKER CORP.
Office & P.O. Address

80 John Street

New York, New York 10038

Tel. No. (212) 668-9210

TO: KENNETH HELLER, ESQ.
Attorney for Plaintiff
335 Broadway, Suite 613-14
New York, New York 10007
(212) 962-6085

GH:mj
830511
OPIDO89

H-3

AFFIRMATION OF JAMES J. FERETIC, ESQ.
IN SUPPORT OF MOTION DATED MAY 29, 1987

AFFIRMATION

Index No. 16200/83
Judge: Blyn

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
COUNTY OF NEW YORK

MATE PICINIC,

Plaintiff,
— against —
SEATRAIN LINES, INC., SEATRAIN REALTY
CORP. and JACKSON TANKER CORP.,
Defendants.

JAMES J. FERETIC, an attorney duly licensed to practice
law before the Courts of the State of New York, affirms the
following under the penalties for perjury pursuant to CPLR
2106:

That I am associated with LAWLOR & CAULFIELD, at-
torneys for defendants. As the attorney assigned to the above
referenced matter, I am thoroughly familiar with the facts and
circumstances of this case.

This is an action for personal injuries, alleged to have arisen
from a trip and fall.

The motion herein is for the scheduling of a pre-trial con-
ference, at which the aid of the Court will be sought in super-
vising discovery. Defendants wish to obtain the exchange of
complete medical records, to schedule and conduct an oral

H-4

examination before trial, and physical and psychological ex-
aminations of plaintiff. A complete exchange of medical records
has not occurred. Neither a deposition nor a physical examina-
tion of plaintiff has been conducted heretofore. On informa-
tion and belief, plaintiff does not speak the English language.
Therefore, defendants additionally request that the specific
dialect of the plaintiff be disclosed, with sufficient notice to af-
ford defendants time to engage an interpreter prior to the time
of deposition.

I. MEDICAL RECORDS

Demand was made by defendants for the exchange of medical
records on February 20, 1986 (Exhibit A). No records were pro-
vided by plaintiff in response thereto, until March 11, 1987. At
that time a defaced copy was provided by plaintiff, with a notice
of availability for medical examination on April 1, 1987 (Ex-
hibit B). Defendants duly objected to this inadequacy by letter
to plaintiffs counsel (Exhibit C). Legible, but incomplete copies
of plaintiff's medical records were received in this office from
plaintiff's physician, Dr. Margolies, on April 8, 1987 (Exhibit
D). By letter to plaintiff's counsel, a procedure was suggested
for effecting the discovery necessary to prepare this case for trial
(Exhibit E). No response by plaintiff has been forth coming.

A review of the medical records obtained reveals that plain-
tiff was examined by several doctors other than the single physi-
cian for which an authorization to obtain medical records was
provided.

A list of such physicians, along which the dates wherein they
are listed in the records of Dr. Margolie are as follows. (A copy of
the records provided by Dr. Margolies is appended as Exhibit F.)

5-1-80 X-rays taken by Dr. A. Wasserman,
radiologist at J.C., N.J.

10-15-80 An unnamed medical examiner

disagreed with the course of treatment.

ne —

10-28-80

12-9-80

1-22-81

1-29-81

2-3-81

2-10-81

9-17-81

9-30-81

11-10-81

3-25-82

The records provided by Dr. Margolies are themselves in-
complete. Neither copies of reports of other doctors, apparently
received by him, were included nor was the letter he sent to “all
parties concerned” on January 29, 1981. The records are, evident-
ly, in the form of sequentially numbered index cards. No copy
of Card “7” was provided. On the front of Card “8” there is a
large portion which has been obliterated on the photocopy itself.
The back of Card “9” and the front of Card “10” were not
photocopied and submitted to our office. Moreover, a portion
of the back of Card “10” was obscured by a piece of paper stapled

H-5
Orthopedic examination by Dr.
Allegra.

Unnamed federal examiner disagreed
with course of treatment.

Phone conversation with Dr. Allegra’s
office.

Letter sent to unnamed parties with
copy of Dr. Allegra’s report.

Dr. Goodgold performed EMG at
N.Y.U. Medical School.

Findings by Dr. Goodgold.

CT Scan at Computed Tomography
Center, Rego Park performed on
7-29-81.

Report noted of Dr. Blackwell (?).

Examined by Labor Department or-
thopedist, Dr. James Halligus.

Consuitation with Dr. Blackwell on
neuropsychiatric matter.

to the card before photocopying.

H-6

It is quite clear that plaintiff has been less than forthcoming
in the provision of medical records for which demand was duly
made. The information necessary, even on which to make specific
demand for authorizations, is exclusively in the possession of
plaintiff. It is clear that at least nine and possibly more physi-
cians have been seen by plaintiff with respect to injuries claimed
in this action. Plaintiff has thus far acknowledged only one, for
which defendants still do not have complete records. The defen-
dants therefore request the Court’s assistance in obtaining com-
plete medical records.

Il. EXAMINATION BEFORE TRIAL

Plaintiff was noticed by defendants for a deposition on July
8, 1983 (Exhibit G). Defendant moved for a protective order
vacating the notice. Justice Edwards denied it in its entirety.
(Exhibit H) Plaintiff moved to reargue, yet failed to appear on
the scheduled date. At that time defendant Jackson Tanker was
appealing a default judgment entered against it. Plaintiff moved
to stay all proceedings in the action against the remaining de-
fendants Plaintiff theorized that defendant Jackson Tanker was
entitled to no discovery in an inquest on damages and that allow-
ing the remaining defendants to continue discovery would pro-
vide information to Jackson Tanker. A stay of all proceedings
was granted pending the outcome of the appeal. (See Affirma-
tion of attorney John R. Seybert dated April 17, 1985 and Orders
of Justice Danzig dated April 22, 1985, and of Justice Wright
_ dated August 20, 1985, and October 14, 1985, appended as Ex-
hibit I.)

Parallel to the above proceedings, plaintiff's counsel appeared
before Judge Ryan, of the Bankruptcy Court for the Southern
District of New York, to petition for a lifting of the bar order
as against defendants Seatrain Lines and Seatrain Realty. Both
were in Chapter 1] proceedings. Judge Ryan requested that
plaintiff be produced for examination of the issue of excusable
neglect of the bar order. Plaintiff's counsel refused to do so. (See
minutes for January 27, 1984, and March 2, 1984, appended
as Exhibit J.)

H-7

On February 4, 1986, the default judgment against defend-

ant Jackson Tanker was vacated by the Appellate Division First
Department (497 N.Y.S.2d 924).

On May 19, 1986, plaintiff requested a preliminary con-
ference. Without such conference being held, on June 18, 1986,
plaintiff requested this Court’s permission to file his Note of Issue,
affirming that a bill of particulars, physical examination, ex-
change of medical reports and other discovery proceedings were
not required (Exhibit K). On June 26, 1986, plaintiff served a
bill of particulars (Exhibit L). Defendants opposed filing the
Note of Issue and, after several adgpurnments, this Court granted
defendants’ motion, accepting the recommendation of Special
Master Byron Dresner (Exhibit M). Part of that recommenda-
tion was that a preliminary conference be held.

On December 19, 1986, in a telephone conversation between
Susan Herman, Esq., of Mr. Heller's office, and myself and David
Heller, of this office, depositions of all parties were scheduled
for January 14, 1987. Plaintiff's counsel agreed to provide this
office with the name of the language spoken by plaintiff. Said
information was not provided. The depositions were adjourned
without date.

It is quite clear from the long history of this case that plain-
tiffs counsel has no intention of voluntarily producing the plain-
tiff for deposition at any time or place. If any deposition is to
occur, defendants respectfully submit, it will only be by Order
of this Court for a time and date certain in a room of this
Courthouse.

Ill. MEDICAL EXAMINATION

In paragraph “6” of plaintiff's bill of particulars (Exhibit L),
it is claimed that “plaintiff sustained an injury to his entire
body...” Generalities are provided for particular injuries only
as “[a]mong the injuries sustained... ” In addition to physical
injuries there is a claim of “post-traumatic neurosis in the form
of neurotic depression with anxiety. . ” Defendants could not

H-8

possibly have knowledge as to the type of physical examination
necessary nor whether a psychological examination is also war-
ranted. The bill was received more than three years following
commencement of this suit. No medical records were provided
by plaintiff until this year. As detailed above, the exchange must
be completed and a deposition of plaintiff conducted before any
physical examination would have a basis on which to provide
a meaningful evaluation.

On the basis of the events herein, it would be naive to believe
that the plaintiff will be produced for examination except under
an Order by this Court. Defendants therefore desire that a
schedule for completion of discovery be fixed by this Court,
which will include dates certain for a physical and psychological
examination of the plaintiff. The latter may be waived if counsel
will stipulate on the record that psychological injuries are not
claimed.

CONCLUSION

This action has a history of time consuming motions and ap-
peals. The only results have been delays and increased costs to
plaintiff, defendants and the Court. After nearly four years of
litigation, and nearly seven years after the date of the alleged
injuries, defendants still lack any meaningful knowledge of the
basis of plaintiffs claim. Plaintiff is no nearer a trial on his claim.
The lack of cooperation evinced by plaintiff's counsel is the sole
cause of this delay. Defendants are eager and willing to pro-
ceed to trial in an orderly fashion. However, it has become clear
that this is not possible without the intervention of this Court.

_ Wherefore, defendants respectfully reques¢ that this Court
issue an Order directing plaintiff to provide an exchange of all
medical records and/or authorizations whereby defendants may
obtain such records; that after allowing a reasonable time for
the foregoing that plaintiff be ordered to appear for a deposi-
tion on a date to be fixed by this Court which shall not be ad-
journed in a room in this Courthouse with ample notice given
prior thereto of the language spoken by plaintiff; that plaintiff

H-9

be ordered to appear on date(s) to be fixed by this Court which
shall not be adjourned for physical and psychological examina-
tions; and for such other and further relief as this Court may
deem just and proper.

Dated: New York, New York
May 29, 1987

JAMES J. FERETIC

I-1

INDEX NO 16200/83

NOTICE OF CROSS-MOTION TO PRECLUDE AND
TERMINATE DISCOVERY

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
COUNTY OF NEW YORK

MATE PICINIC,
Plaintiff,
— against —

SEATRAIN LINES, INC., SEATRAIN REALTY CORP., and
JACKSON TANKER CORP.,

Defendants.

SIRS:

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that upon the annexed Affirmation
of Kenneth Heller, Esq., affirmed the lst day of September,
1987, upon the annexed exhibits and upon all the previous
pleadings and proceedings heretofore had herein, the under-
signed will cross-move before this Court at the Supreme Court-
house, 60 Centre Street, New York, New York 10007, before
Justice Arthur Blyn, Room 212, on the 9th day of September,
1987, at 2:00 PM in the afternoon, or as soon thereafter as counsel
can be heard, for an Order striking all defendants’ discovery
demands, terminating discovery in this action, and granting such
other, further, and different relief as this Court deems just and
proper.

1-2

Dated: September 1, 1987
New York, New York

Yours, etc.

KENNETH HELLER, ESQ.
Attorney for Plaintiff

335 Broadway, Room 614
New York, New York 10013
212-962-6085

To: LAWLOR & CAULFIELD
Attorneys for Defendants
80 John Street
New York, New York 10038
212-668-9210

I-3

INDEX NO. 16200/83

AFFIRMATION IN SUPPORT OF NOTICE OF CROSS-
MOTION TO PRECLUDE AND TERMINATE DISCOVERY
AND IN OPPOSITION TO DEFENDANTS’ MOTION FOR
PRELIMINARY CONFERENCE AND DISCOVERY

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
COUNTY OF NEW YORK

a msinnnintioounneseaaeonanonne X
MATE PICINIC,

Plaintiff,

— against —

SEATRAIN LINES, INC., SEATRAIN REALTY CORP.,
and JACKSON TANKER CORP.,

Defendants.
I enicenitnetnmonencniiotinaninnene xX

KENNETH HELLER, an attorney-at-law in the State of New
York, under penalty of perjury, hereby affirms the following:

That he is the attorney for the plaintiff, that he is familiar
with the facts herein and all previous pleadings and proceedings,
and that he submits this Affirmation in Support of Plaintiff's
Cross-Motion to Strike all pending defendants’ discovery
demands, to preclude defendants from further discovery in this
action, to terminate all discovery by defendants in this action,
and for other relief. Plaintiff submits this Affirmation in Op-
position to Defendants’ Motion for a Preliminary Conference
and for an Order directing plaintiff to comply with defendants’
discovery demands.

1.4

Defendants, at this late date, following service of a Notice
of Availability with an enclosed authorization of the only treating
physician who has treated the plaintiff, seek to cast aside the
rules of this Court, 22 NYCRR Sec. 202.17 and CPLR Sec. 3121;
and having defaulted in compliance with the Notice of
Availability; having defaulted in making any application to strike
the Notice of Availability; having defaulted in objecting to the
Notice of Availability; and otherwise having flaunted the rule
requiring compliance with a Notice of Availability, now seek
to completely avoid their multiple defaults, and request that
this Court set aside all that has occurred prior thereto and grant
them permission to subject the plaintiff to a physical examina-
tion and to obtain the records of treating doctors, who are not
available in this jurisdiction.

The defendants herein are past masters at extricating
themselves from defaults. These defendants have exercised their
only ability, in this case: The ability to extricate themselves from
a common strand of constant defaults:

1. They have defaulted in answering the Complaint,
which occasioned the Orders of Judge Wright and
an Appeal.

2. They have defaulted on several occasions in answer-
ing the Note of Issue, which occasioned several
motions to this Court that still have not been
concluded.

3. For the third time, they have exhibited their only
consistency — an additional default.

. This Court should be overly fatigued at continuing to rescue
defendants from the defaults.

A Notice of Availability with the annexed authorization was
served upon them (Exhibit #1).

Defendant’s Motion, that was brought on returnable June 17,
1987, was long after the period required to respond to the Notice

1-5

of Availability. It appears that the defendant finally realized
they had defaulted in this case for the third time.

There should be a limit to this Court’s patience in rescuing
inept and incompetent defendants.

LAW

Defendants’ abject failure to move or to obtain a stipulation
to change the date of the Notice of Availability is an absolute
waiver of the right to a physical examination of the plaintiff,
pursuant to the provisions of 22 NYCRR Sec. 202.17(a).

The rule in the First Department is espoused by the Appellate
Division in Palmieri v. Romat Realty Corporation et al., 45 Ad2d
948 (lst Dept 1974), at p. 949:

This argument is of no avail. Plaintiffs served a notice
of availability for physical examination on January
20, 1971, over one year prior to the action having been
stricken from the calendar. Subdivision (a) of section
660.11 of the rules of the Supreme Court (22 NYCRR
660.11[a]) requires that the examination be held not
later than 30 nor more than 40 days after service, ab-
sent a stipulation. No stipulation having been entered
into, defendants are deemed to have waived the ex-
amination (see Delgado v. Fogle, 32 AD2d 85).
Concur — Markewich, J.P., Murphy, Lupiano, Tilzer
& Lane, JJ.

The Second Department rule, identical to our own, in
Delgado v. Fogle, 32 AD2d 85 (2 Dept 1969), states that there
is an affirmative duty and obligation on the defendant to react;
and a failure to respond, either by motion or by obtaining a
stipulation, is a waiver of ail rights to obtain a physical
examination.

1-6

In Delgado, at pp. 86-87, the Court stated:

Neither the defendants’ attorneys nor the physician
they designated appeared to conduct the examination
at the time and place specified in the plaintiffs’ notice.
By notice of motion dated May 17, 1968, the defend-
ants moved for an order directing the plaintiffs to sub-
mit to a physical examination. The motion was
granted and the plaintiffs appealed... . Rule J is clear
in terms and casts an affirmative duty upon a defend-
ant served with a notice pursuant thereto either to
proceed with the examination at the time and place
specified in the notice or, in the alternative, to move
to modify or vacate the notice within five days after
receipt. The recipient of such a notice is neither free
to ignore it with impunity nor free to treat it as
nothing more than a suggested date. (Emphasis
added.)

Accordingly, if, at the time of receipt of the notice,
it appears to the recipient that the time or place
specified therein is not mutually convenient, the reci-
pient must move, in accordance with rule I, for a
modification of the notice, unless, of course, the par-
ties stipulate to an adjourned date. In the absence of
such a modification or stipulation, a defendant who
fails to proceed in accordance with the notice is in
default and will be deemed to have waived the right
to conduct such a physical examination in the future.
Such a defendant may be relieved of the default only
upon demonstrating the existence of a reasonable ex-
cuse therefor. (Emphasis added.)

In 1981, in Dingee v. Dominick, 85 AD2d 593 (2 Dept 1981),
Delgado was again affirmed:

Having failed to properly respond to two notices of
availability for physical examination, served by plain-
tiffs in January and July, 1979, pursuant to 22 NYCRR

1.7

672.1, or to request such examination in October, 1979,
when plaintiffs served a supplemental bill of par-
ticulars mentioning additional injuries, and instead
seeking to examine the injured plaintiff only after
plaintiffs served their note of issue and statement of
readiness in July, 1980, defendants have waived their
right to a physical examination (see 22 NYCRR 672.1;
672.7; Delgado v. Fogle, 32 Ad2d 85; Juett v. Paesani,
19 AD2d 726). (Emphasis added.)

In 1983, in DeChiaro v. Rendell, 95 AD2d 792 (2 Dept 1983),
the court continued to uphold the Notice of Availability rule
cited in Delgado:

Section 672.1 of the rules of this court (22 NYCRR
672.1) requires that a notice of availability for a
physical examination be responded to within five days
of service. This court has held that, absent a
reasonable excuse, noncompliance by a defendant with
this rule will effectively waive that defendant's right
to a physical examination of the injured plaintiff
(Delgado v. Fogle, 32 AD2d 85). (Emphasis added.)

The constant thread woven throughout the fabric of all of
the authorities cited in support of this Cross-Motion to Strike
Defendant’s Demand for Physical Examination, is that the ab-
ject failure of the defendant to respond to the notice of medical
availability resulted in the Court’s finding that the defendant
had waived their right to a physical examination.

Similarly, it is anticipated that this defendant will attempt
to offer some lame excuse, but this Court should grow fatigued
over persistent excuses as a vehicle to overcome default.

This Court should no longer pull defendant’s overdone
chestnuts out of the fire.

Defendant seeks to ramble all over the State of New Jersey to
obtain records of examining physicians whom plaintiff will not

1-8

call at the trial. The authorities are clear and direct. When plain-
tiff commits himself not to call an examining physician, then
there is no obligation to furnish authorizations to anyone to
compel the production of reports which cannot be introduced

at trial.

In the case of Vaupel v. Church Charity Foundation of Long
Island, 49 AD2d 932 (2 Dept 1975), the Court specifically

discussed the identical fact pattern:

Pursuant to a previous order, plaintiffs have already
submitted to this defendant the report of the only
physician that plaintiffs intend to call at the trial in
support of the claim for psychiatric injuries. Our rules
of practice provide that “no party shall be permitted
to offer any evidence of injuries or conditions not set
forth or put in issue in the respective medical reports
previously exchanged, nor will the court hear the
testimony of any physician whose medical reports have
not been served.” (22 NYCRR 672.8). Although plain-
tiffs consulted other physicians, the reports of those
physicians were not furnished to this defendant. Con-
sequently, as a penalty for the failure to furnish the
reports of the additional treating physicians, plain-
tiffs are precluded from utilizing their testimony, or
the results of their examinations, at the trial. We think
this penalty is sufficient to insure a proper disclosure,
and results in a fair balance of the interests of plain-
tiffs and this defendant.

THIS COURT HAS THE OBLIGATION TO PROTECT THE

RIGHTS OF A MARITIME WORKER

This plaintiff, being a maritime worker, is considered entitled
to be protected as a ward of admiralty. See Harden v. Gordon,

F. Cas. No. 6,047 (CC Me 1823), page 480 at 482:

Seamen are by the peculiarity of their lives liable to
sudden sickness from change of climate, exposure to

1-9

perils, and exhausting labour. They are generally poor
and friendless, and acquire habits of gross indulgence,
carelessness, and improvidence. If some provision be
not made for them in sickness at the expense of the
ship, they must often in foreign ports suffer the ac-
cumulated evils of disease, and poverty, and sometimes
perish from the want of suitable nourishment. Their
common earnings in many instances are wholly in-
adequate to provide for the expenses of sickness; and
if liable to be so applied, the great motives for good
behavior might be ordinarily taken away by pledg-
ing their future as well as past wages for the redemp-
tion of the debt. In many voyages, particularly those
to the West Indies, the whole wages are often insuffi-
cient to meet the expenses occasioned by the perilous
diseases of those insalubrious climates. On the other
hand, if these expenses are a charge upon the ship,
the interest of the owner will be immediately con-
nected with that of the seamen. The master will watch
over their health with vigilance and fidelity. He will
take the best methods, as well to prevent diseases, as
to ensure a speedy recovery from them. He will never
be tempted to abandon the sick to their forlorn fate;
but his duty, combining with the interest of his owner,
will lead him to succor their distress, and shed a cheer-
ing kindness over the anxious hours of suffering and
despondency. Beyond this, is the great public policy
of preserving this important class of citizens for the
commercial service and maritime defence of the na-
tion. Every act of legislation which secures their
healths, increases their comforts, and administers to
their infirmities, binds them more strongly to their
country; and the parental law, which relieves them
in sickness by fastening their interests to the ship, is
as wise in policy, as it is just in obligation. Even the
merchant himself derives an ultimate benefit from
what may seem at first an onerous charge. It en-
courages seamen to engage in perilous voyages with
more promptitude, and at lower wages. It diminishes

I-10

the temptation to plunderage upon the approach of
sickness; and urges the seamen to encounter hazards
in the ship’s service, from which they might otherwise
be disposed to withdraw. It would therefore be a mat-
ter of regret to find incorporated into the common
law a doctrine at variance with that, which seems so
generally to have received the approbation of con-
tinental Europe. No evidence of such a variance is pro-
duced; and I am not bold enough to desert the steady
light of maritime jurisprudence for the more doubt-
ful guide of general reasoning.

ALL MARITIME WORKERS ARE PROTECTED
BY THE AUTHORITY OF HARDIN V. GORDEN

In Seas Shipping Co. v. Sieracki, 328 U.S. 85, at p. 90:

Petitioner insists, however, that the obligation flows
from, and is circumscribed by the existence of, the con-
tract between the owner of the vessel and the seaman.
Accordingly, since there was no such contract here,
it says respondent cannot recover. Respondent is equal-
ly insistent that the owner cannot slough off liability
to those who do the vessel’s work by bringing an in-
termediary contracting employer between himself and
those workers. In respondent's view the liability is an
incident of the maritime service rendered, not mere-
ly of the immediate contractual relation of employ-
ment, and has its roots in the risks that service places
upon maritime workers and in the policy of the law
to secure them indemnity against such hazards.

This Court has an obligation finally to protect this maritime
worker.

Annexed is a list of defendants’ defaults (Exhibits #2).

I-1]

WHEREFORE, it is respectfully requested that this Court
grant plaintiff's Cross-Motion in all respects, deny defendants’
Motion in all respects, and grant such other, further, and dif-
ferent relief as this Court deems just and proper.

Affirmed this Ist
day of September, 1987 KENNETH HELLER

j-l

PRELIMINARY CONFERENCE ORDER
PURSUANT TO PART 202 OF THE UNIFORM CIVIL RULES
FOR THE SUPREME COURT
NEW YORK COUNTY

INDIVIDUAL ASSIGNMENT PART 26

PICINIC
PLAINTIFF(S)
AGAINST
SEATRAIN LINES
DEFENDANT(S)

INDEX NUMBER 16200/83
CONFERENCE NUMBER
CONFERENCE DATE 12/1/87

APPEARANCES
PLAINTIFF(S) K. HELLER

DEFENDANT(S) JJ. McGRATH
I. INSURANCE COVERAGE:
Travelers - 500,000
F illegible 1,000,000
II. BILL OF PARTICULARS:

4. BILL OF PARTICULARS FOR AFFIRMATIVE
DEFENSES TO BE SERVED. SUBMITTED.

J-2

III. MEDICAL REPORTS AND HOSPITAL AUTHORIZA-
TIONS:

1. FURNISHED EXCEPT FOR CAT SCAN

AUTHORIZATION TO BE PRODUCED BY PLAINTIFF
FOR CAT SCAN TAKEN 7/20/81 BY COMPUTED
TOMOGRAPHY CENTER, REGO PARK, NY, FOR DR.
TURGOLD ENG 7/2/81 TO BE SERVED WITHIN 45 DAYS.

IV. PHYSICAL EXAMINATION: (OTHER THAN
TRANSIT)

1(C) EXAMINATION OF PLAINTIFF TO BE HELD
WITHIN 45 DAYS OF PLAINTIFF'S EBT EXAM. BY OR-
THOPEDIST AT DEFENDANT’S OFFICE EXAM BY
NEUROLOGIST AND PSYCHIATRIST TO TAKE PLACE AT
PLAINTIFF'S ATTORNEY’S OFFICE.

2(B). COPY OF PHYSICIAN’S REPORT TO BE FUR-
NISHED TO PLAINTIFF WITHIN 30 DAYS OF
EXAMINATION.

EXAMINATION BEFORE TRIAL:

1. PLAINTIFF DEFENDANTS

2. TO BE HELD ON FEBRUARY 10, 1988 AT 10:00 A.M.
COURTHOUSE AT 60 CENTRE STREET. DEFENDANT TO
FOLLOW PLAINTIFF DEFENDANT TO PRODUCE PER-
SON WITH KNOWLEDGE OF FACTS.

OTHER DISCLOSURE:

4. ALL PARTIES RESERVE RIGHT TO SERVE NOTICE
OF DISCOVERY AND INSPECTION AND DEMAND FOR
AUTHORIZATION.

5. TO BE COMPLETED

J-3

IMPLEADER ACTIONS:

1(B) TO BE COMPLETED WITHIN 60 DAYS AFTER
COMPLETION OF EBT’S

PREFERENCES:
(A) 3403(A) CPLR GRANTED
ADDITIONAL DIRECTIVES:

2. SEE ATTACHED PAGE FOR ADDITIONAL
DIRECTIVES.

PLAINTIFF IS DIRECTED TO FILE A NOTE OF ISSUE
ON OR BEFORE JULY 31, 1988.

WHEN FILING THE NOTE OF ISSUE AND CER-
TIFICATE OF READINESS THE FILING PARTY SHALL
SERVE A COPY OF THE ORDER, TOGETHER WITH AN
AFFIRMATION STATING COMPLIANCE WITH ALL
DIRECTIVES OF THIS ORDER AND AFFIDAVIT OF SER-
VICE ON THE TRIAL CLERK (ROOM 158) AND ALL PAR-
TIES IN THE EVENT OF NON-COMPLIANCE THIS OR
OTHER SANCTIONS MAY BE IMPOSED.

THIS CONSTITUTES THE DECISION AND ORDER OF
THE COURT

DATED: 12/1/88

ENTER: /s/
J.S.C.

ADDITIONAL DIRECTIVES: THIS ORDER IS NOT
ENTERED BY STIPULATION AND IS OVER THE OBJEC-
TION OF PLAINTIFF'S COUNSEL. THE PARTIES HAVE
THE RIGHT TO TAKE AN APPEAL FROM THIS ORDER.

/s/

J.S.C.

K-1

ORDER DATED AUGUST 31, 1989

At a term of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court
herein and for the First judicial Department in the
County of New York, on August 31, 1989

Present: Hon. John Carro Justice Presiding
Sidney H. Asch
Richard H. Wallach
Israel Rubin Justices

Mate Picinic,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
against

Seatrain Lines, Inc., Seatrain Realty M-3532
Corp., and Jackson Tanker Corp.,

Defendants-Respondents.

Defendants-respondents having moved this Court for an order
dismissing plaintiff's appeals from an order of the Supreme
Court, New York County, entered on December 3, 1987, and
from an order of said court entered on June 6, 1988,

Now, upon reading and filing the papers with respect to the
motion, and due deliberation having been had thereon,

It is ordered that the motion to dismiss plaintiff's appeals be
and hereby is granted, with $100 costs.

ENTER:
FRANCIS X. GALDI
Clerk

Ll

SUPREME COURT : NEW YORK COUNTY
CIVIL TERM
IAS : PART 30

MATE PICNIC,
Plaintiff,
— against —

SEATRAIN LINES, INC., SEATRAIN REALTY
CORPORATION AND JACKSON TANKER CORPORATION,

Defendants.

Index No. 16200/83
HELEN E. FREEDMAN, J.:

Plaintiff and defendants move and cross move alternatively
to strike each other’s pleadings pursuant to CPLR §3126(3) for
failure to comply with court orders.

~ swt
—

This is an action for personal injuries allegedly sustained by
the plaintiff, a longshoreman, while unloading cargo on defen-
dants’ property in April 1980. Since the action was commenced
in 1983, virtually no discovery has taken place. Prior to 1987,
motion practice by both sides and the bankruptcy by one of the
defendants delayed discovery.

In a December 1987 preliminary conference, Justice Arthur
Blyn ordered plaintiff to supply CT Scans, appear for physical
and psychiatric examinations and submit to examinations before
trial. Pursuant to this order, discovery was to be completed
within sixty (60) days and a note of issue filed by July 31, 1988.
Plaintiff's attorney served a notice for the EBT, but did not agree
to arrange for an interpreter familiar with plaintiff's Yugoslavian
dialect. Since the EBT could not be conducted without such

L-2

an interpreter, it was never held. Each time defendants suggested
the name of an employee to ask to appear for a deposition, plain-
tiff rejected the employee as unsuitable. When defendants did
not agree to plaintiff's unilateral offer to appear for a physical
examination prior to the EBTs, plaintiff deemed the physical
examination waived.

After Justice Blyn’s retirement, the case was reassigned to this
Court which granted plaintiff a stay of discovery until September
1, 1988 so that plaintiff could perfect his appeal of Justice Blyn’s
order. Plaintiff then made a recusal motion which was denied
and subsequently appealed. Neither the appeal of Justice Blyn’s
order nor the appeal of the recusal motion was ever perfected
and to date, discovery remains at a standstill:

Section 3126(3) of the CPLR provides in part that if a party
refuses to obey an order for disclosure, the court “may make such
orders with regard to the failure or refusal as are just among
them: .. .dismissing an action or any part thereof... .”. Plain-
tiffs attorney’s course of conduct in this case has frustrated the
efforts of both the Court to move the case to trial and the defen-
dant to conduct discovery. His series of unperfected appeals of
each court order and requests for adjournments and stays
resulted in numerous delays. He has shown both the defendants
and Court an unwillingness to cooperate.

The alleged accident occurred nine (9) years ago and no EBTs
of fact witnesses or the plaintiff have been taken. It may be im-
possible for defendant to even locate fact witnesses at this point.
Even if such witnesses would be found, their recollection of the
incident would be hazy. Where the defendants have been severely
prejudiced by the dilatory tactics of the plaintiff, the complaint
should be dismissed (see Zletz v. Wetanson, 67 NY2d 71, 490
NE2d 852, 499 NYA2d 933 [1986]).

' On September 6, 1989, the Appellate Division dismissed all of plaintiff's
appeals.

L-3

However, it must be acknowledged that some of the delays
were occasioned either by the bankruptcy of defendants or by
appeals taken by defendants from an entry of a default judg-
ment against them. For that reason, the Court will give plain-
tiffs one more chance to comply with discovery orders on con-
dition that $1,000 be paid to defendants’ law firm on or before
October 16, 1989.

Additionally plaintiff shall appear for an EBT on or before
October 16, 1989 with a Yugoslavian interpreter to be paid for
by defendants and CT Scans shall be furnished before that date.
At least, one physical examination shall be conducted on or
before October 23, 1989 with the others to be completed by
November 15, 1989. The discovery shall be completed by
December 31, 1989 and the matter shall be placed on the trial
calendar by February 28, 1990. Failure to comply with any of
the above directions shall result in the striking of the complaint
and dismissal of the action.

The foregoing constitutes the decision and order of the court.
Dated: September 7, 1989

/s/_ H.E.F.
j. $..C.

M-1

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK -
NEW YORK COUNTY

Part 30
PRESENT: Hon. Helen E. Freedman, Justice

Mate Picinic,
— against —

Seatrain Lines, Inc., etc.

Index Number 16200/8
MOTION DATE 10/20/89
MOTION SEQ. NO. 007
TRIAL CAL. NO. 6 on 11/3

The following papers numbers | to 1] read on this motion to
REARGUMENT

Notice of Motion/Order to Show PAPERS NUMBERED
Cause - Affidavits - Exhibits 1-4 &

Sew Y-Motion 1-4
Answering Affidavits - Exhibits

A&B&Sew 5-8
Replying Affidavits 9-1]

Upon the foregoing papers it is ordered that this motion by plain-
tiff to reargue this court’s decision of September 7, 1989 is denied
and the defendants cross motion to dismiss the complaint with
prejudice is granted. On September 7, 1989, this court ordered
that the parties commence discovery and set up a schedule for
all to follow. Rather than adhere to the schedule, plaintiff waited
until the court ordered dates had passed and then moved to
reargue the decision. Since the September 7 decision clearly
states that failure to comply with the new discovery schedule
will result in dismissal, the complaint is now dismissed. The
foregoing constitutes the decision and order of the court.

Dated 11/16/89 /s/ HEF

J.S.C.

N-]

Kupferman, J.P., Sullivan, Milonas, Rubin, JJ.

41358 Mate Picinic,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
-against-
Seatrain Lines, Inc., et al.,
Defendants-Respondents.

Order, Supreme Court, New York County (Helen Freedman,
J.), entered November 16, 1989, which, inter alia, granted de-
fendants’ motion to dismiss the complaint pursuant to CPLR
3126, unanimously affirmed, without costs.

The complaint in this negligence action arising out of an in-
jury sustained by plaintiff, a longshoreman-checker, on April
28, 1980, while he was working at Port Seatrain in Weehawken,
New Jersey, was dismissed upon plaintiff's failure to comply with
court-ordered discovery and after plaintiff had been given cre
final opportunity to comply with defendants’ discovery requests.
The record amply supports the IAS court’s determination that
plaintiff had frustrated defendants’ attempts to conduct
discovery and disobeyed its September 7, 1989 conditional order
of dismissal, which plaintiff had not appealed. Instead of adher-
ing to the court-ordered schedule directing him to submit to an
examination before trial with an interpreter, provide CT scans
and appear for a physical examination, plaintiff waited until
some of the court-ordered dates had passed and then sought
reargument. Since plaintiff was well aware of the terms of the
conditional order of dismissal, and no satisfactory excuse has
been proferred for his non-compliance, dismissal of the com-
plaint was proper. (Zletz v. Wetanson, 67 NY2d 711, 713). We
note that since the commencement of this action in 1983, almost
no discovery has taken place.

We have examined plaintiff's other contentions and find them
to be without merit.

M-4332 & M-4441 Mate Picnic v. Seatrain Lines, Inc., et al.
Motion to file oversize reply brief granted.

Cross-motion to strike appellant’s brief and for other relief
granted only to the extent of striking material not properly before
the Court and otherwise denied.

N-2

THIS CONSTITUTES THE DECISION AND ORDER OF
THE SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE DIVISION, FIRST
DEPARTMENT

ENTERED: January 8, 1991

s/ Francis X. Galdi
Cierk

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2789%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
