# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Petrone v. Wisconsin

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2654%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 502 U.S. 925

## Text

a | FILED |
91-386 °
SEP 6 199)
No. 91-__ | OFFIGE OF THE CLERK
In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1991

+

JERRY W. “ETRONE,

Petitioner,

STATE OF WISCONSIN,
Respondent.

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of
The State Of Wisconsin

*

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

9

SHELLOW, SHELLOW & GLYNN, S.C.
James A. WALRATH

(Counsel of Record)

222 East Mason Street
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202
(414) 271-8535

Attorneys for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

nl RK i Sy

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Were devuties authorized to seize unmarked,
unidentified film rolls while executing a search warrant
for film “involving nude and partially nude female juve-
niles,” when, at the time of seizure, it could not be
determined whether the film rolls fell within the warrant?

2. Did the seizure of over 1,800 unrelated photo-
graphs, numerous videotapes, audiotapes, address books,
photo albums, as well as the petitioner’s recreational

boat, result in a flagrantly excessive, unconstitutional
seizure?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

ee By | en i
I 6.55. <3 ana ns nemneueme ease ed ame 1
PO PER TT PTC RT Te Per re Terre F 2
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED...... 2
SiAcaeeeees OP THE CARE. 2. 656s csteccveessess 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... 5
EE sw ss cccwskonsvesvueeeckuaeeceaicneee 13
et PETTITT App. 1

A. Opinion of the Wisconsin Supreme Court,

Ce ke er ree App. 1

B. Order Denying Motion for Reconsideration
ee 8 errr ee! App. 33

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Andresen v. Maryland, 427 U.S. 463 (1976)
Fort Wayne Books v. Indiana, 489 U.S. 46 (1989) ..9, 10
Lee Art Theatre v. Virginia, 392 U.S. 636 (1968)...... Yy
Lo-Ji Sales, Inc. v. New York, 442 U.S. 319 (1979) ..9, 11
Marron v. United States, 275 U.S. 192 (1927) ...5, 6, 10

New York v. P.J. Video, Inc., 475 U.S. 868 (1986) ..... 9
Roaden v. Kentucky, 413 U.S. 496 (1973) ............. 9
Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557 (1969)............... 6
State v. Petrone, 161 Wis. 2d 530, 468 N.W.2d 676
ee ee eeeceeeres 1, 5, &
United States v. Beusch, 596 F.2d 871 (9th Cir.
Neen enn pew perateees 7
United States v. Carsello, 425 F.Supp. 769 (N.D. IIl.
ee ckwesesetevenes 7, 8
United States v. Lambert, 771 F.2d 83 (6th Cir
Ne eg one cesceusee 7, 12
United States v. Wuagneux, 683 F.2d 1343 (11th
Nee ee nkeenveeseeeteees 7
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
EE g

Eg 2, 5, 10, 11

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
RULE
Rule 10(c), Rules of the United States Supreme
a rrr ry ere repre i oat ye 2 eee 10
STATUTES |
er ae WENO v hot esi converse cucetenergrecereekes 2
S SE Fe I sx vv esd venwesvcevedavessoesas 4

PL TESOL TORN AP

No. 91-___
>

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1991
°

JERRY W. PETRONE,

Petitioner,

STATE OF WISCONSIN,
Respondent.

¢

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of
The State Of Wisconsin
r

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
®

Petitioner, Jerry W. Petrone, respectfully prays that a
Writ of Certiorari issue to review the judgment and opin-
ion of the Supreme Court of Wisconsin entered on May 6,
1991.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Wisconsin Supreme Court is
reported as State v. Petrone, 161 Wis. 2d 530, 468 N.W.2d
676 (1991) and is reproduced in the Appendix at App. 1 to
32.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Wisconsin Supreme Court was
entered on May 6, 1991. A timely motion for reconsidera-
tion was denied on June 10, 1991 (App. 33) in an
unpublished order. Jurisdiction of this court is invoked
under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

¢

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED
Amend. IV, U.S. Const.:

The right of the people to be secure in their
persons, houses, papers, and effects, against
unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be
violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon
probable cause, supported by Oath or affirma-
tion, and particularly describing the place to be
searched, and the persons or things to be seized.

ee ee

¢

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On August 6, 1987, a Walworth County prosecutor
requested search warrants for petitioner’s home and tav-
ern. A 15-year old female testified at the ex parte warrant
application proceedings that on July 29, 1987, Jerry
Petrone used both a Polaroid and a 35mm camera to
photograph her and two other females, who then were
between 15 and 17 years of age, as they posed in cos-
tumes, swimsuits and in the nude at petitioner’s home on |
Lake Delavan. The witness stated that two adult women
also posed for photographs. She stated that the subjects
were told to sit on the ground and to draw their knees up

acne

to show parts of their bodies. The witness stated that she
had been told that the photographs would be put into a
brochure at petitioner’s tavern. The witness last saw the
Polaroid photographs on July 29 before she left his home.
She did not know whether the 35mm photographs had
been developed or where they would be developed.

The court issued two search warrants. The warrant
for petitioner’s house directed law enforcement officers
to locate and seize the following items:

Pink, strapless formal gown, 2-piece blue
bathing suit, yellow sheet or slipcover, all cam-
era, film, or photographic equipment used in the
taking, processing and development of photo-
graphic pictures, involving nude and partially
nude female juveniles.

The warrant for the tavern ordered officers to seize
“photo album(s) containing nude photographs of female
juvenile(s) together with developed photographs and
35mm negatives of same.”

During their execution of the house warrant, sheriff's
deputies seized over 1,800 still photographs, seven video-
tapes, three audiotapes, address books, and photo
albums. The videotapes were viewed later; the audi-
otapes were confiscated and later transcribed. A friend of
the petitioner, who arrived at his home in the midst of the
search, had her own personal photographs confiscated
from the front seat of her car. Officers also seized peti-
tioner’s boat which was docked next to the pier at his
residence.

Two deputies also confiscated three unmarked, uni-
dentified film canisters containing unidentifiable 35mm

rolls, along with three, unmarked and unidentified C-110
film cartridges. The rolls were found in Petrone’s dining
room — the same room where deputies found Polaroid
photos involving the juveniles. The following day,
another deputy developed the film cartridges and rolls,
discovering that only 61 photos on the 35mm film rolls
related to the July 29 photography session.

Jerry Petrone was then charged with three felony
violations of Wisconsin’s sexual exploitation of children
statute, Wis. Stat. §940.203(2). The complaint alleged that
petitioner and his adult female companion photographed
the three juveniles while they were engaged in lewd
exhibition of the genital and pubic areas.

Petitioner contested the seizure of the 35mm film
rolls in written motions, asserting that deputies exceeded
their authority under the warrant and that the massive
number and variety of items seized flagrantly exceeded
the scope of the warrant. Petitioner’s pretrial motions to
suppress on these grounds were denied in a written
decision by the Circuit Court of Walworth County. The
matter was submitted to a jury and petitioner was found
guilty on all three counts. Petitioner was sentenced to a
four-year prison term with a concurrent six-year term of
probation.

Petitioner appealed his conviction to the Wisconsin
Court of Appeals. On May 30, 1990 that court certified the
case to the Wisconsin Supreme Court, noting that the
seizure of the unmarked, unidentified 35mm film rolls
presented an issue of “statewide import.” On June 12,
1990 the Wisconsin Supreme Court granted the certifica-
tion request. c

In its May 6, 1991 decision the Wisconsin Supreme
Court ruled that the seizure of the then-unidentifiable
film was permissible under the Fourth Amendment and
that deputies were not limited to seizing only identifiable
films. 161 Wis. 2d at 543, 468 N.W.2d at 680. The Court
also rejected Petrone’s claim that the processing of the
film constituted a separate, unauthorized search. 161 Wis.
2d at 545, 468 N.W.2d at 681. Lastly, although the Court
found that numerous “items were seized that were not
within the scope of the warrant,” it concluded that the
seizures did not amount to a flagrant disregard of the
warrant’s terms. 161 Wis. 2d at 549, 468 N.W.2d at 682-83.

¢

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
I.

THE WARRANT AUTHORIZED DEPUTIES TO SEIZE
ITEMS THAT WERE APPARENTLY RELATED TO THE
WARRANT’S DESCRIPTIONS, BUT NOT UNIDENTI-
FIABLE FILM.

In Marron v. United States, 275 U.S. 192 (1927) this
Court reiterated the importance of the Fourth Amend-
ment’s “particularity” requirement, declaring that a
search warrant’s terms must be sufficiently specific. “As
to what is to be taken, nothing is left to the discretion of
the ofticer executing the warrant.” 275 U.S. at 196. The
warrant here met that particularity requirement. Only
films or photographs of a certain character were to be
seized. Nonetheless, deputies defied the principle of Mar-
ron by seizing numerous items, as their discretion

dictated, without connecting the items to the partic-
ularized description in the warrant.!

No definitive rulings since Marron have emanated
from this Court to guide police officers in the proper
execution of search warrants in this or similar contexts.
Justice Stewart’s concurring opinion in Stanley v. Georgia,
394 U.S. 557 (1969), however, is relevant. Officers there
found three reels of film in the defendant’s bedroom
while executing a search warrant for gambling parapher-
nalia. Using a projector found on the premises, officers
viewed the films on a screen and concluded that they
were obscene. They then seized the films and Stanley was
criminally prosecuted for obscenity violations. Noting
that “the contents of the films could not be determined by
mere inspection,” 394 U.S. at 571, Justice Stewart con-
demned the film seizures as beyond any authority confer-
red either by the warrant or by the “plain view
exception.” Id. Arguably, officers could have contended,
as here, that there was a possibility that the films con-
tained evidence relevant to the warrant. But, Justice Stew-
art, joined by Justices Brennan and White, emphasized
the fact that nothing about the reels connected them to
the warrant. Id. The “search that began as perfectly law-
ful became the occasion for an unwarranted and uncon-
stitutional seizure of the films.” Id. at 570.

Here, the warrant specified that only certain kinds of
film could be seized; yet deputies seized virtually all

1 At the suppression hearing a sheriff’s deputy conceded
that he seized anything “in undeveloped form [where] you
couldn’t tell whether it was or was not involving a nude
female.” Appeal Document 64 at 169-170.

es

films and photographs (as well as videotapes and audi-
otapes), whether identifiable or not, relying on the subse-
quent processing and separate review of such items at the
stationhouse, rather than the search scene, to decide
whether particular items fell within the warrant’s terms.

Unlike other reported situations, the seized items in
question here were not commingled with other clearly
identifiable items falling within the warrant. No practical
considerations required that the 35mm film rolls be
seized with the other items that were taken. Compare
United States v. Lambert, 771 F.2d 83, 93 (6th Cir. 1985)
(where FBI agents seized items not named in a drug
investigation search warrant because microscopic drug
residue could not be removed practicably from the var-
ious items) and United States v. Wuagneux, 683 F.2d 1343,
1353 (11th Cir. 1982) (where agents seized any file or
book in which documents falling within the search war-
rant’s terms were located).

Laying such practical considerations aside, no items
should be seized under a search warrant unless the item
“appears at the time of the search, to contain evidence
reasonably related to the purposes of the search... ,”
United States v. Beusch, 596 F.2d 871, 877 (9th Cir. 1979)
(emphasis added). The circumstances presented here are
more comparable to those discussed in United States v.
Carsello, 425 F. Supp. 769 (N.D. Ill. 1977), where an officer
executing a search warrant for gambling paraphernalia
seized various documents which at the time of the search
he could not connect to gambling. Police reviewed the
documents further and discovered that they reflected the

defendant’s loan sharking activities, leading to his indict-
ment for income tax violations. The district court sup-
pressed the seized documents because of the officer’s
inability at the time of the search to draw a connection
between the seized documents and the search warrant’s
description of items subject to seizure.

[The officer] merely seized the papers on the
basis of a suspicion which he wished to fortiry
by further analysis and inspection by experts. In
our opinion, this does not justify seizure of the
records, although it may have justified an ex
parte consultation with an expert upon which a
second search warrant might have been
obtained.

425 F. Supp. at 771. That is precisely the course of action
that should have been taken by the deputies at peti-
tioner’s home. If they had reached a point where no
35mm photographs of the type described in the warrant
could be located, they should have applied to the issuing
judge for a second warrant, specifically authorizing the
seizure and processing of the 35mm film rolls.

The warrant did not authorize deputies to seize and
remove unidentifiable items from petitioner’s home for
later analysis; the warrant did not authorize a search
extending from items found at petitioner’s home to any
items of his property subsequently removed to the sta-
tionhouse. Yet the Wisconsin Supreme Court resolved the
issue by holding that the warrant effectively allowed the
seizure of unidentified film as well as a subsequent
search of that property, not at petitioner’s home, but at
sheriff’s headquarters. 161 Wis. 2d at 542, 468 N.W.2d at
680.

9.

These issues take on added importance because of
the special First Amendment implications raised when-
ever films are seized:

We have long recognized that the seizure of
films or books on the basis of their content
implicates First Amendment concerns not raised
by other kinds of seizures. For this reason, we
have required that certain special conditions be
met before such seizures may be carried out.

New York v. P.J. Video, 475 U.S. 868, 873 (1986). This
heightened scrutiny, directed to searches and seizures of
films and books, is found in a long line of cases from this
Court.

[W]hile the general rule under the Fourth
Amendment is that any and all contraband,
instrumentalities, and evidence of crimes may
be seized on probable cause (and even without a
warrant in various circumstances), it is other-
wise when materials presumptively protected
by the First Amendment are involved.

Fort Wayne Books, Inc. v. Indiana, 489 U.S. 46, 63 (1989).

In Lee Art Theatre v. Virginia, 392 U.S. 636 (1968) a film
seizure was condemned because it was based upon a
mere conclusory assertion that the firm was obscene. In
Roaden v. Kentucky, 413 U.S. 496 (1973) the film seizure,
though incident to Roaden’s arrest, was invalidated
because it was accomplished without any warrant. In Lo-
Ji Sales, Inc. v. New York, 442 U.S. 319 (1979) this Court
found the warrant process constitutionally defective,
insofar as the search led to seizures of films not specified
in the warrant, after they were viewed by the issuing
magistrate at the search scene. More recently, the Court in

10

Fort Wayne Books v. Indiana, supra, ruled that massive
pretrial seizures of film materials at an adult bookstore in
the absence of a prompt adversary hearing were uncon-
stitutional. The overall, guiding principle in these cases is
that the Fourth Amendment’s warrant requirements must
be strictly observed when the objects of a search and
seizure are materials presumptively protected under the
First Amendment.

It is understandable, therefore, that the Court of
Appeals certified the issue in this case to the Wisconsin
Supreme Court: “The second issue of statewide import is
one of first impressicn in Wisconsin (and perhaps nation-
ally) as well: whether undeveloped, unmarked rolls of
film satisfy a search warrant’s specification of ‘film... .
involving nude and partially nude female juveniles.’ ”
Certification Order at 6. On review the Wisconsin
Supreme Court agreed that the seizure and subsequent
processing of undeveloped film under a warrant describ-
ing particular illegal photographs raised a Fourth
Amendment issue previously unresolved by any appel-
late court. 161 Wis. 2d at 540, 468 N.W.2d at 679.

Accordingly, petitioner’s conviction presents “special
and important reasons” under Rule 10(c), Rules of the
Supreme Court of the United States, meriting review by
certiorari.

Il.

EXECUTION OF THE SEARCH WARRANT RESULTED
IN EXCESSIVE, UNCONSTITUTIONAL SEIZURES.

A search warrant must describe with particularity the
things to be seized. Marron v. United States, 275 U.S. 192,

11

196 (1989). The Fourth Amendment's requirement of par-
ticularity is designed to prevent general searches so that
the decision as to what categories of evidence should be
seized is not delegated to the executing officers. Lo-Ji
Sales, Inc. v. New York, 442 U.S. 319, 325 (1979). Despite
the protections afforded by a particularized warrant, offi-
cers may on occasion flagrantly exceed the scope of the
warrant, causing a separate Fourth Amendment viola-
tion. Andresen v. Maryland, 427 U.S. 463, 482 n.11 (1976).

The search warrant here directed the officers to focus
on film and photographic equipment “involving nude
and partially nude female juveniles.” Yet, the deputies
took it upon themselves to seize all photographs at peti-
tioner’s residence, so long as the photos showed females
in any relatively unclad state.

The officers also took it upon themselves to define
other categories of items which were subject to seizure.
Over 1,800 photographs were seized along with unde-
veloped film rolls and cartridges, as well as seven video-
tapes and three audio cassette tapes, even though the
search warrant testimony focused on a very isolated,
single occurrence.

The search warrant testimony did not show a “perva-
sive scheme” of illegal activity such that a massive seiz-
ure would be likely. No one testified that hundreds, much
less thousands, of photographs, as well as films, video-
tapes and audiotapes involving nude juveniles were in
existence.

Regrettably, the Wisconsin Supreme Court did not
comprehend the excessive reach of the search at Petrone’s

12

home. Personal vacation pictures in unmarked, unde-
veloped, C-110 cartridges were seized. Scrapbooks and
address books having no bearing at all to the investiga-
tion were taken; even holy cards from the funeral of the
petitioner’s mother were confiscated. Videotapes were
taken and then viewed. Audiotapes were confiscated and
later transcribed, though they had no tie to the case.

After deputies had spread out to seize over 1,800
pictures having nothing to do with the claims against
petitioner, they moved outside the house. A friend who
drove up to petitioner’s home in the midst of the search
had her own car invaded, leading to the confiscation of
her own personal photographs from the front seat.

The ultimate excess was the seizure of petitioner’s
Chris Craft boat, which obviously had no practical evi-
dentiary value for the state’s investigation.

A flagrant disregard for the limitations of a search
warrant will make an otherwise valid search an imper-
missible general search requiring the suppression of all
the evidence seized. E.g., United States v. Lambert, 771 F.2d
83, 93 (6th Cir. 1985) and cases cited.

The Wisconsin Supreme Court should not have over-
looked the gross, wholesale seizure of the petitioner’s
personal effects which were so plainly beyond the scope
of the warrant. Suppression of all evidence seized was the
proper remedy. Review by this Court on this additional
issue will clarify under what circumstances a partic-
ularized warrant will be deemed to have resulted in an
unconstitutional, general search.

¢

13

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, a writ of certiorari should
issue to review the judgment and opinion of the Wiscon-
sin Supreme Court.

Dated at Milwaukee, Wisconsin, September 5, 1991.
Respectfully submitted,

James A. WALRATH

(Counsel of Record)

SHELLOW, SHELLOW & GLYNN, S.C.
222 East Mason Street
Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202
(414) 271-8535

Attorneys for Petitioner

App. 1

STATE of Wisconsin,
Plaintiff-Respondent,
Vv.

Jerry W. PETRONE,
Defendant-Appellant.

No. 89-1551-CR.
Supreme Court of Wisconsin.
Argued Jan. 25, 1991.
Decided May 6, 1991.

SHIRLEY S. ABRAHAMSON, Justice.

This is an appeal from a judgment of conviction
entered by the circuit court for Walworth county, John R.
Race, Circuit Judge, on a jury verdict finding the defen-
dant guilty of three counts of sexual exploitation of chil-
dren contrary to sec. 940.203(2), Stats.1987-88.' The court
of appeals certified the case to this court. Section (Rule)
809.61, Stats. 1989-90. The court sentenced the defendant
to a term of four years’ imprisonment with a concurrent
term of six years’ probation.

The defendant challenges his conviction and sentence
on several grounds. First, the defendant challenges var-
ious aspects of the seizure of undeveloped photographic
film from his home as a violation of the fourth amend-
ment. Second, the defendant argues that his complaint
and information failed to charge the required element of

' Sec. 940.203, Stats. 1987-88, was repealed and recreated
as sec. 948.05, Stats. 1989-90, by sec. 29, 1987 Wis. Act 332,
effective July 1, 1989.

App. 2

scienter. Third, the defendant challenges the jury instruc-
tion defining the word “lewd” in sec. 940.203(2). Last, the
defendant argues that his presentence report contained
inaccurate information and that he was denied a due
process hearing to challenge the allegedly inaccurate.
information.

The court of appeals certified the following two
issues: (1) “Does a search warrant which authorizes the
seizure of ‘[a]ll ... film... used in the taking .. . of
photographic pictures, involving nude and partially nude
female juveniles’ include within its scope unmarked and
undeveloped rolls of film?” (2) “If a criminal complaint
fails to allege requisite scienter, is that failure curable
even if scienter is a constitutionally required element of
the crime?” We answer both questions in the affirmative.
We also reject the defendant’s other challenges to the
conviction and sentencing and affirm the iudgment of
conviction and sentence.

I.

The relevant facts of the case follow. On August 6,
1987, a fifteen-year-old female testified before Walworth
County Circuit Judge James L. Carlson as part of a
request by the state for two search warrants. The war-
rants were for the search of the defendant’s Delavan
home and his business, a tavern.

The juvenile testified that on July 29, 1987, she and
two other female juveniles posed in costumes, swimsuits
and in the nude while the defendant photographed them.
Two adult women also participated in the photo session.
The juvenile testified that during the photo session the

App. 3

defendant told her and the others to sit on the-ground
and put their knees up so that they would show parts of
their bodies. According to the juvenile’s testimony, the
defendant used both a Polaroid and a 35 mm camera and
told the subjects the photographs were to be used in a
brochure for the club, meaning the defendant’s tavern.

Search warrants were issued and executed on August
6, 1987, for both the defendant’s home and tavern.” The
search warrant for the defendant’s home directed depu-
ties to seize the following items:

Pink, strapless formal gown, 2-piece blue
bathing suit, yellow sheet or slipcover, all cam-
era, film, or photographic equipment used in the
taking, processing and development of photo-
graphic pictures, involving nude and partially
nude female juveniles.

Using the warrant, Walworth county deputies seized
a number of items from the defendant’s home, including
1,800 still photographs, videotapes, audiotapes, address
books and photo albums. They also seized three
unmarked film canisters containing undeveloped 35 mm
film cartridges. The deputy seizing the film was unable to
determine what kinds of photographs, if any, the rolls of
film contained. The sheriff's department developed the
film the day following the search and found that those
rolls of film had been taken at the July 29 photo session.

2 The search warrant for the defendant’s tavern is not at
issue here. I directed deputies to seize “photo album(s) con-
taining nude photographs of female juvenile(s) together with
developed photographs and 35 mm negatives of same.”

App. 4

The developed pictures in slide form were presented as
evidence at the defendant'’s trial.

A criminal complaint was issued on March 2, 1988,
charging the defendant with three violations of sexual
exploitation of children, that is, with photographing three
juveniles while they were engaged in the lewd exhibition
of their genital and pubic areas contrary to sec.
940.203(2), Stats. 1987-88.

II.

We first address the defendant’s challenges to the
search and seizure. The warrant directed the deputies to
search the house and seize, among other things,
“all... film... used in the taking, processing and
development of photographic pictures, involving nude
and partially nude female juveniles.”

The defendant argues that the deputies acted outside
the warrant when they seized and later developed
unmarked 35 mm film.? The defendant argues that under
either the terms of the warrant or the plain view excep-
tion to the warrant requirement, the deputies had to be
able to determine during the search of the house that the
film was used in the taking of photographic pictures

3 Approximately 80 photographs were introduced as evi-
dence at the defendant's trial. About 60 of the photographs
were developed from the rolls of 35 mm film; 20 were Polaroid
photographs found at the defendant’s home. The defendant
does not challenge the admission of the 20 Polaroid photo-
graphs. He maintains that the admission of the 35 mm photo-
graphs was critical because of the emphasis the prosecution
placed upon them at trial.

App. 5
involving nude or partially nude female juveniles. The
defendant reasons that the canisters could not have been
lawfully seized under the warrant because nothing linked
the canisters to the photographs of the juveniles. The
seizures were based, asserts the defendant, upon the
mere hope that the 35 mm film, when developed, might
generate evidence falling within the scope of the warrant.
The defendant further contends that the process of devel-
oping the films was beyond the authority of the warrant.

The state, as one might expect, disagrees. The state
asserts that deputies searching premises pursuant to a
warrant for film used in taking illegal photographs may
seize undeveloped film for developing and viewing to
determine whether it contains the kind of phc.ographs
described in the warrant.

The court of appeals characterized this issue as one
of first impression in Wisconsin and perhaps nationally.
Neither the state nor the defendant cites any case from
any jurisdiction involving the seizure of undeveloped
film. The research of the court of appeals and this court
was similarly unavailing.

To determine whether the undeveloped film falls
within the scope of a warrant, we examine the words of
the warrant, considering the purposes underlying the
fourth amendment requirement of particularity. 2 LaFave,
Search and Seizure § 4.6(a), p. 234 (2d ed. 1987). The
fourth amendment requires that warrants “particularly
describe the place to be searched, and the persons or
things to be seized.”

The fourth amendment’s particularity requirement
fulfills three objectives. It prevents general searches; it

i

App. 6

prevents the issuance of warrants on less than probable
cause; it prevents the seizure of objects when the warrant
describes different objects.4 As we explain more fully
below, the warrant in this case fulfills these objectives.

The particularity requirement is especially trouble-
some when an item to be seized - such as film — is a
household item whose use is ordinarily legitimate. In this
case, the investigation leading to the search warrant
yielded few details specifically identifying the film to be
seized. The only way to particularize the description of
the film in this case to differentiate between film subject
to seizure and film not subject to seizure was to describe
the generic class of items, that is film, and set reasonable
parameters for the search and seizure, as the warrant did,
in terms of the criminal activities in which the film was
used. The warrant in this case describes the film as
involving nude and partially nude female juveniles. This
particularity prevents the law enforcement officers from
seizing film obviously unrelated to the unlawful activity
described in the warrant.

The warrant in this case described the film to be
seized with as much particularity and specificity as the
circumstances and the nature of activity under investiga-
tion permitted. The juvenile who testified at the hearing
to obtain the search warrant stated that a Polaroid and a
35 mm camera were used but did not describe the brand
of the film or the camera. The warrant therefore could not
describe the type of film or the number of rolls, whether

4 Marron v. United States, 275 U.S. 192, 196, 48 S.Ct. 74, 76,
72 L.Ed. 231 (1927); Go-Bart Importing Co. v. United States, 282-
U.S. 344, 357, 51 S.Ct. 153, 158, 75 L.Ed. 374 (1931).

App. 7

the film had been developed or where tke film might be
located in the defendant’s home, because this information
was not available from the investigation when the war-
rant was obtained.®

The warrant was specific enough in this case to pre-
vent a general search, and the specificity in the warrant
prevented issuance of the warrant on less than prabable
cause. The warrant was specific enough to prevent the
seizure of objects not described in the warrant. The war-
rant enabled the searcher reasonably to ascertain and
identify the thing to be seized. United States v. Betancourt,
734 F.2d 750, 754-55 (11th Cir.), cert. den. 469 U.S. 1021,
105 S.Ct. 440, 83 L.Ed.2d 365 (1984).

Even when the search warrant meets the particularity
requirements the search must be conducted reasonably
and appropriately limited to the scope permitted by the
warrant. Whether an item seized is within the scope of a
search warrant depends on the terms of the warrant and
the nature of the items seized. Considering the words of
the warrant in relation to the particularity requirement

5 As Professor LaFave notes, “a greater degree of ambi-
guity will be tolerated when the police have done the best that
could be expected under the circumstances, by acquiring all
the descriptive facts which reasonable investigation of this
type of crime could be expected to uncover and by ensuring
that all of those facts were included in the warrant.” 2 LaFave,
Search and Seizure, sec. 4.61(a), p. 238 (2d ed. 1987).

At oral argument the defendant’s counsel suggested that
the warrant might have specified 35 mm film. This reasoning
conflicts with the defendant’s principal contention that the
officers could not seize the film because they did not know its
contents.

App. 8

and the nature of the items to be seized, we conclude that
the deputies acted within the scope of the warrant.

The warrant in this case expressly allowed seizure of
film. To locate film of nude and partially nude female
juveniles, the deputies were authorized to examine places
where the film might have deen kept. The deputies could
open closets, chests and containers that could reasonably
contain film. The deputies found the canisters of unde-
veloped film in the same room and in close proximity to
Polaroid photos of nude female juveniles, supporting the
inference that the film may have b2en shot at the same
time and to photograph the same subjects as the Polaroid
photos.

The deputies would have to peruse all film found on
the premises to determine whether it fell within or out-
side the scope of the warrant. The deputies did not know
whether the film had been exposed or what was depicted
on the film. The deputies were not able to determine with
certainty at the house whether the film involved nude or
partially nude juveniles. Any attempts to examine the
rolls of film at the house might have destroyed them.
Until the film was developed and examined no one could
be sure whether the canisters contained items within the
scope of the warrant, that is, film involving nude or
partially nude female juveniles. The only way to peruse
the film contained in the canisters, which the deputies
had a right to do under the search warrant, was to
remove the film from the home and develop and view it
to determine its relevance to the crime described in the
warrant.

App. 9

-The defendant asserts that the warrant required the
deputies to make an on-the-scene determination that the
film involved nude and partially nude female juveniles.
We disagree with the defendant. The warrant does not
include a directive that the items must be immediately
and definitively identified at the scene of the search. In
United States v. Santarelli, 778 F.2d 609, 616 (11th Cir.
1985), the court explained that items seized under a war-
rant could under special circumstances be examined off
the premises of the search.

Given that the officers were entitled to examine
the documents while they remained in the
home, we cannot see how Santarelli’s privacy
interest was adversely affected by the agents’
examination of the documents off the premises,
so long as any items found not to be relevant
were promptly returned. Indeed . . . to require
an on-premises examination under such circum-
stances would significantly aggravate the intru-
siveness of the search by prolonging the time
the police would be required to remain in the
home.

Although the investigation appears to have been tho-
rough, it could not provide specific identifying details of
the items to be seized. The generic category of items to be
seized, film, had both lawful and unlawful purposes and
might require technological processing to determine its
relevance to the crime described in the warrant. Consid-
ering these factors, we conclude that the deputies acted
within the scope of the warrant when they seized the

App. 10

canisters that might reasonably contain film involved in
the criminal activities described in the warrant.®

The defendant further contends that even if the war-
rant included the rolls of undeveloped film, developing
the film later at the police station was a second, separate
search for which a warrant should have been obtained.
The defendant argues that the warrant allowed only
inspection and seizure of the evidence in “its existing
state.” We disagree with the defendant. A search warrant
does not limit officers to naked-eye inspections of objects
lawfully seized in the execution of a warrant.

Developing the film is simply a method of examining
a lawfully seized object. Law enforcement officers may
employ various methods to examine objects lawfully
seized in the execution of a warrant. For example, blood
stains or substances gathered in a lawful search may be
subjected to laboratory analysis. State v. Warren, 309 N.C.
224, 306 S.E.2d 446, 449 (1983). The defendant surely
could not have objected had the deputies used a magni-
fying glass to examine lawfully seized documents or had
enlarged a lawfully seized photograph in order to exam-
ine the photograph in greater detail. Developing the film

6 A comparison of the warrants for the home and the
tavern lends support to our conclusion that the warrant for the
home covered undeveloped film. Film was specifically men-
tioned in the search warrant for the defendant’s home; it was
not mentioned in the search warrant for his tavern. The war-
rant for the tavern authorized the seizure of “photo album(s)
containing nude photographs of female juvenile(s) together
with developed photographs and 35 mm negatives of same.”
The word “negatives” does not refer to undeveloped film;
negatives result when film is developed.

App. 11

made the information on the film accessible, just as labo- -
ratory tests expose what is already present in a substance
but not visible with the naked eye. Developing the film
did not constitute, as the defendant asserts, a separate,
subsequent unauthorized search having an intrusive
impact on the defendant's rights wholly independent of
the execution of the search warrant. The deputies simply
used technological aids to assist them in determining
whether items within the scope of the warrant were in
fact evidence of the crime alleged.” Because the unde-
veloped film was lawfully seized pursuant to the war-
rant, the deputies were justified in developing and
viewing the film.

The defendant challenges the search and seizure on
several other grounds. He argues that the state failed to
establish probable cause that illegal photographs would
be found at the defendant’s home, especially several days
after the photography session. He claims that the search
warrant for the defendant’s home was based on mere
guess or hunch, not probable cause.

The warrant was issued on the basis of the testimony
of one of the female juveniles who had participated in the
photography session at the defendant’s home and envi-
rons. She testified that the illegal Polaroid photographs
taken of her were on a table in the defendant’s home and
that the 35 mm film had not been developed when she
left the home on July 29. She did not know where the film

7 See, e.g., Commonwealth v. Copenhefer, __ Pa. __, 587
A.2d 1353 (1991), holding that retrieval of deleted computer
files from a computer seized pursuant to a warrant by use of a
special program did not violate the fourth amendment.

App. 12

would be developed or what had happened to the photo-
graphs in the ten days between the photography session
on July 29 and her testimony on August 7. The photo-
graphs were, she testified, destined to be put in a bro-
chure to promote the tavern.

The defendant argues that this testimony does not
support a finding of probable cause that the illegal film or
photographs would be found at the defendant’s home.
We conclude that the circuit court could reasonably infer
from the testimony that the defendant kept the photogra-
phy equipment and film used in the photo session in his
home; that the defendant would retain the photographs
for a substantial time; and that the photographs and
exposed film were either at the defendant’s home or at
the tavern.

Issuing a search warrant requires only a reasonable
probability that evidence will be found at a certain loca-
tion. In evaluating probable cause, a “grudging or nega-
tive attitude by reviewing courts towards warrants is
inconsistent with the fourth amendment’s strong prefer-
ence for searches conducted pursuant to a warrant.”
United States v. Premises Known as 1007 Morningside Ave-
nue, Sioux City, lowa, 625 FSupp. 1343, 1348 (N.D. Iowa
1985). We conclude that the circuit court was aware of
facts sufficient to show that film used to take illegal
pictures of juveniles would probably be found at the
defendant’s home. State v. Tompkins, 144 Wis.2d 116,
124-25, 423 N.W.2d 823 (1988).

The defendant further argues that the state failed to
establish probable cause that the juveniles exhibited their
genital or pubic areas to be photographed. After the

App. 13

juvenile testified that she had posed in the nude, the
circuit court objected that nudity alone was insufficient to
show a violation of the child pornography law. The cir-
cuit court stated that the photographs had to be “sexually
explicit.” The circuit court then questioned the juvenile
witness as follows to determine whether the photographs
were a lewd exhibition of genitals:

[Judge]: You have to show a little bit more
than that under the Statute. It has to be sexually
explicit photographs.

[Assistant District Attorney]: Which
includes the last subsection, lude [sic] exhibition
of genitals. It doesn’t require any sexual activity.

[Judge]: Were you posing or asked to pose
in any certain fashion or way in these photo-
graphs?

[Witness]: Yes, we were. We had to like sit
on the ground and like put our knees up and
stuff and just so that we could show parts of our
bodies.

The witness’s description of the photography session
satisfied the circuit court that there was probable cause to
believe the defendant had photographed juveniles in the
lewd exhibition of their genitals. Although the witness
did not describe in exact terms which parts of her body
the defendant photographed, her testimony that the juve-
niles were asked to put their knees up to show parts of
their bodies strongly implies that their genital areas were
exposed. Probable cause is not a technical, legalistic con-
cept but a flexible, common-sense measure of the plau-
sibility of particular conclusions about human behavior.
Texas v. Brown, 460 U.S. 730, 743, 103 S.Ct. 1535, 1543, 75

App. 14

L.Ed.2d 502 (1983); State v. Wisumierski, 106 Wis.2d 722,
739, 317 N.W.2d 484 (1982). Applying the “common
sense” test for probable cause, we conclude that the cir-
cuit court was justified in finding probable cause that the
photographs violated the statute.

The defendant’s final argument is that the execution
of the search warrant resulted in excessive unconstitu-
tional seizures. While the search warrant directed the
deputies to seize film and photographic equipment
“involving nude and partially nude female juveniles,” the
defendant complains that the deputies seized over 1,800
photographs along with undeveloped film rolls and car-
tridges, seven videotapes, three audiotapes, and the
defendant’s boat. The defendant urges that in executing
the warrant the deputies so flagrantly violated the terms
of the warrant that all items seized must be suppressed.

We agree with the defendant that items were seized
that were not within the scope of the warrant. The gen-
eral rule is that items seized within the scope of the
warrant need not be suppressed simply because other
items outside the scope of the warrant also were seized,®
unless the entire search was conducted in “flagrant disre-
gard for the limitations” of the warrant.?

8 United States v. Tamura, 694 F.2d 591, 597 (9th Cir.1982);
United States v. Shilling, 826 F.2d 1365, 1369 (4th Cir.1987); cert.
denied, 484 U.S. 1043, 108 S.Ct. 777, 98 L.Ed.2d 863 (1988).

9 United States v. Lambert, 771 F.2d 83, 93 (6th Cir.1985),
cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1034, 106 S.Ct. 598, 88 L.Ed.2d 577 (1985);
State v. Noll, 116 Wis.2d 443, 460, 343 N.W.2d 391 (1984).

App. 15

Although the catalogue of items seized in this case
includes numerous items not covered by the warrant, we
conclude that the deputies did not flagrantly disregard
the terms of the warrant. The state argues that all the
items seized were arguably related to the warrant.
Although the deputies seized photos of the juveniles in
bikinis and gowns, the photos were of the same juveniles
the defendant photographed nude. The photos were
related to this crime and were in plain view.

The deputies seized the boat upon which some of the
photographs of the nude or partially nude female juve-
niles were taken along with two address books and three
audiotapes which they thought could help identify the
juveniles in the photos. The deputies appear to have
seized only items they thought were arguably related to
the crime described in the warrant.

od

The deputies did not conduct the kind of general
search condemned in United States v. Medlin, 842 F.2d
1194 (10th Cir. 1988). The warrant in that case authorized
the seizure of firearms and records of the purchase and
sale of firearms. The executing officers seized 130 fire-
arms and 667 iterns unrelated to the warrant. The court
held that the proceeds of the entire search must be sup-
pressed because the officers had “grossly exceed[ed]” the
scope of the warrant. Id. at 1199. See also, United States v.
Rettig, 589 F.2d 418 (9th Cir. 1978), suppressing the entire
proceeds of a search where officers executed a warrant
for marijuana and paraphernalia and seized over 2,000
other items, mostly written material. The deputies in this
case did not seize items that were not arguably connected
in some way with the illegal activity described in the

App. 16

warrant. We conclude that the warrant was not flagrantly
disregarded.

For the reasons set forth, we conclude there was no
violation in the execution of the warrant, and we uphold
the circuit court’s admission of the photographs into evi-
dence.

ITI.

The defendant asserts that the complaint and infor-
mation are fatally deficient because they omit the essen-
tial element of scienter in charging three violations of
sexual exploitation of children contrary to sec. 940.203(2),
Stats.1987-88. The defendant asserts that because of this
defect the circuit court lacked jurisdiction, the criminal
complaint and information should be dismissed, and the
conviction vacated.

The defendant was charged with violating sec.
940.203(2), Stats.1987-88, entitled Sexual Exploitation of
Children, that provided as follows:

“No person may photograph, film, video-
tape, record the sounds of or display in any way
a child engaged in sexually explicit conduct.”

Section 940.203(2) does not expressly embody the element
of scienter. The defendant has consistently argued
throughout the proceedings that scienter is a constitu-
tionally required element of the offense and that the
statute is constitutionally defective, depriving the circuit
court of jurisdiction. The defendant argues that the state’s

App. 17

position has changed over the course of the proceeding. 1°
In any event, at trial and on appeal the state has asserted
that either the legislature intended scienter to be an ele-
ment of the crime’! or the court will supply this deficiency

10 At the preliminary hearing apparently the state and
defendant disagreed whether scienter was a necessary element
of the crime. The defendant sought leave to appeal his motion
to dismiss on the grounds that scienter was a necessary ele-
ment. The court of appeals denied the defendant's petition for
leave to appeal because “[t]he state concedes that . . . it will be
required to establish scienter at trial.” Citing New York v. Ferber,
458 U.S. 747, 765, 102 S.Ct. 3348, 3358, 73 L.Ed.2d 1113 (1982),
the state argues on appeal that scienter is a constitutionally
required element.

11 The legislative history is not decisive on this issue. On
the one hand, the legislative history can be interpreted as
indicating that the legislature did not intend scienter to be an
element of the offense and deliberately did not use the word
“knowing” as an element of the crime. Subsections (1), (3), and
(4) of sec. 940.203 punish only conduct that was “knowingly”
undertaken; subsection (2) is the only offense that does not
contain the word “knowingly.”

On the other hand a recent recodification of sec. 940.203
suggests that scienter was always an element of the offense.
The legislature recently repealed and recreated sec. 940.203.
The new version of the sec. 940.203(2), sec. 948.05, Stats.
1989-90, defines the offense inter alia as photographing a child
engaged in sexually explicit conduct “with knowledge of the
character and content of the sexually explicit conduct involv-
ing the child.” Section 948.05(1)(b) provides as follows:

Whoever does any of the following with knowledge
of the character and content of the sexually explicit

(Continued on following page)

App. 18

in the statute to uphold its constitutionality. !2

We agree with the parties that scienter is a constitu-
tionally required element of the offense charged. We need
not decide for purposes of this case whether the legisla-
ture intended the statute to include the element of scien-
ter or whether this court would read the element of
scienter into the statute to enable the statute to pass
constitutional muster.

Prior to trial the court of appeals ruled that the state
would be required to establish scienter. The circuit court
instructed the jury that the state must prove defendant's

(Continued from previous page)

conduct involving the child is guilty of a Class C
felony: { . . (b) Photographs, films, videotapes,
records the sounds of or displays in any way a child
engaged in sexually explicit conduct.

The drafter’s note to sec. 948.05 declares that the new law
“does retain” knowledge as an element of the crime, thereby
implying that sec. 940.203 included an element of scienter or
knowledge. Citing New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747, 102 S.Ct.
3348, 73 L.Ed.2d 1113 (1982), the note states that this inclusion
of a knowledge element recognizes that criminal responsibility
may not be imposed for the acts prohibited by this statute
without some element of scienter on the part of the defendant.
See 1987 Wisconsin Act 332, sec. 55 creating sec. 948.05.

12 The court has interpreted statutes to save them from
being declared unconstitutional. See State ex rel. Chobot v. Cir-
cuit Court for Milwaukee County, 61 Wis.2d 354, 367, 212 N.W.2d
690 (1973).

App. 19

knowledge beyond a reasonable doubt.'? The defendant
does not show that he was prejudiced at trial by the
omission of scienter in the complaint and information.

The defendant nevertheless argues that the omission
of a scienter allegation in the criminal complaint and
information is a jurisdictional defect that vitiates the con-
viction. The court of appeals certified this issue because it
detected “two differing strains” running through our
cases that need this court’s clarification.

In one line of cases pertaining to prosecutions for
crimes other than obscenity, the rule is that a complaint
or information failing to articulate an element of the
crime but citing the number of the substantive statute
defining the crime is sufficient to support a prosecution
as long as the defendant was not prejudiced in any wey
by the failure of the charging documents to set forth
every element of the crime.'4 if the complaint and infor-
mation in this case fall within this line of cases, the

13 At the defendant’s request, the circuit court told the
jury in its opening instructions that the state had to prove
beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant knew the “con-
duct being depicted involved sexuaily explicit conduct of the
type alleged.” At the close of trial the circuit court explained
that the state must prove “that the defendant knew that the
conduct depicted in the photographs involved lewd exhibition
of the genital or pubic areas.”

14 See, e.g., State v. Bachmeyer, 247 Wis. 294, 19 N.W.2d 261
(1945) (first degree murder); Clark v. State, 62 Wis.2d 194, 214
N.W.2d 450 (1974) (first degree murder); State v. Nowakowski, 67
Wis.2d 545, 227 N.W.2d 697 (1975) (failure to report a campaign
contribution; statute on its face did not require intent; court

(Continued on following page)

App. 20

defendant's argument fails. Although the complaint and
information in this case were deficient in charging scien-
ter, they cited the number of the statute defining the
crime, and the defendant cannot show he was prejudiced.

(Continued from previous page)

ruled that intent had to be read into statute as an element and
proved at trial); Schleiss v. State, 71 Wis.2d 733, 239 N.W.2d 68
(1976) (burglary); Lambert v. State, 73 Wis.2d 590, 243 N.W.2d
524 (1976) (theft by fraud).

But see Champlain v. State, 53 Wis.2d 751, 193 N.W.2d 868
(1972), in which the court held that an information charging
armed robbery was fatally defective even though the informa-
tion referred to the statute by number. Champlain has been
explained as not conflicting with the general rule because of
special characteristics of that case. In Clark v. State, 62 Wis.2d
194, 203, 214 N.W.2d 450 (1974), Champlain was distinguished
on the ground that the statutory reference “related to the
sentencing provisions of the statute and not the substantive
section of the statute describing the crime for which the state
was prosecuting the defendant.” Champlain was also distin-
guished in Schleiss v. State, 71 Wis.2d 733, 738-39, 239 N.W.2d
68 (1976). The court stated that the citation in Champlain was to
a statute defining two separate and distinct crimes and the
information failed to allege the particular crime of which the
accused was charged.

These cases comport with sec. 971.26, Stats. 1989-90, that
States:

“No Indictment, information, complaint or warrant shall
be invalid, nor shall the trial, judgment or other proceedings be
affected by reason of any defect or imperfection in matters of
form which do not prejudice the defendant.”

The general test of the sufficiency of a complaint or an
information is that the accusation is such that the accused may

(Continued on following page)

App. 21

In a second line of cases pertaining to prosecutions
for an obscenity crime, the rule is that an allegation of
scienter in a criminal obscenity complaint or information
is a jurisdictional prerequisite, that a complaint or infor-
mation lacking such an allegation charges no offense
known to law, and that proceedings initiated by such a
complaint or information are void ab initio. The defendant
argues that this case involves first amendment rights and
is therefore governed by rules of pleading set forth in
obscenity cases which also involved first amendment
rights.

Our cases have not, however, been consistent in
explaining the basis for a different approach to defective
pleadings in obscenity and nonobscenity prosecutions.
The line of cases distinguishing between pleadings in the
two types of crimes begins with Court v. State, 51 Wis.2d
683, 188 N.W.2d 475 (1971), vacated 413 U.S. 911, 93 S.Ct.
3032, 37 L.Ed.2d 1023 (1973), affirmed on remand, 63
Wis.2d 570, 217 N.W.2d 676 (1974), an obscenity prosecu-
tion in which a pleading was alleged to be defective for
failing to state the element of scienter. Citing Smith v.
California, 361 U.S. 147, 80 S.Ct. 215, 4 L.Ed.2d 205 (1959),
the court concluded in Court v. State that scienter was a
necessary element of the crime of sale of obscene mate-
rials, “and it [scienter] must be alleged in the criminal

(Continued from previous page)

determine whether it states an offense to which the accused is
able to plead and prepare a defense and whether conviction or
acquittal is a bar to another prosecution for the same offense.
Blenski v. State, 73 Wis.2d 685, 695-96, 245 N.W.2d 906 (1976).

App. 22

complaint.” In that case, however, the court held that the
pleading was not defective.'5

Although the Smith case holds that scienter is a consti-
tutionally required element of an obscenity crime, the
United States Supreme Court did not require in Smith that
scienter be alleged in a criminal complaint. In some cases,
this court appears to acknowledge that the Court case may
have misread the Smith case to impose as a constitutional
requirement that the complaint and information in an
obscenity prosecution include the element of scienter.'®

15 In the second case in this obscenity prosecution line of
cases, State v. Schneider, 60 Wis.2d 563, 567, 211 N.W.2d 630
(1973), the court concluded that because the complaint charg-
ing possession for sale of obscene material did not allege
scienter, the proceedings were void ab initio. The Schneider
court relied on the Court and Smith cases, and on Champlain v.
State, 53 Wis.2d 751, 193 N.W.2d 868 (1972), a nonobscenity
case, which it interpreted as holding that a criminal pleading
which charges no offense is jurisdictionally defective. In
Schneider the information omitted the scienter element but
included the statutory citation. A companion case to Schneider
was State v. Green, 60 Wis.2d 570, 211 N.W.2d 634 (1973).

This court followed Schneider in State v. Reichert, 67 Wis.2d
69, 73-74, 226 N.W.2d 196 (1975), an obscenity case. The
Reichert court explained Schneider as follows: “We held that an
allegation of scienter, or criminal intent, in a criminal com-
plaint was a jurisdictional prerequisite in obscenity cases and
that, absent such allegation, the complaint charges no offense
known to law and the proceedings are void ab initio.”

16 In Clark v. State, 62 Wis.2d 194, 203, 214 N.W.2d 450
(1974), a nonobscenity case, the court stated that Smith and

(Continued on following page)

App. 23

Thus in Schleiss v. State, 71 Wis.2d 733, 739, 239 N.W.2d 68
(1976), a burglary case, the court characterized this
court’s special rule for pleadings in obscenity prosecu-
tions as resting on “the policy of this court in criminal
obscenity cases,” rather than on a federal constitutional
mandate. !7

The most recent discussion of defective pleading in
obscenity and non-obscenity prosecutions appears in
Lambert v. State, 73 Wis.2d 590, 243 N.W.2d 524 (1976). The
Lambert court upheld the defective pleadings in theft by
fraud and refused to apply the rule developed in the line
of cases involving obscenity prosecutions. The Lambert
court characterized the obscenity prosecution cases as “a
peculiar situation where the First Amendment overlay

(Continued from previous page)

Schneider “go directly and only to the question of whether
scienter is a constitutionally required element in a criminal
obscenity statute because it is intimately related to the consti-
tutional scope (first amendment) of the power to bar material
as obscene.”

See also Organ v. State, 65 Wis.2d 36, 43-44, 221 N.W.2d 823
(1974) and State v. Nowakowski, 67 Wis.2d 545, 569-70, 227
N.W.2d 697 (1975). Clark, Organ, and Nowakowski can also be
interpreted as distinguishing obscenity cases from non-
obscenity cases.

17 Schleiss reads Reichert and Schneider as holding that
an allegation of scienter ... in a criminal complaint was a
jurisdictional prerequisite in obscenity cases . . . ’ [evolving]
from the dimensions of first amendment rights as they relate to
statutes which control obscene material.” 71 Wis.2d at 739, 239
N.W.2d 68.

“dé

App. 24

creates a standard of pleading not generally applica-
ble.”18

The case at bar is not an obscenity case.'? We could
distinguish the cases involving obscenity prosecutions on
this basis. We do not, however, rest our holding on this
distinction. Upon examining our cases we no longer see
any justification for establishing or following a special
judicially created rule for pleading criminal obscenity
cases in contrast to other criminal cases. The first amend-
ment considerations requiring scienter pertain to the ele-
ments of the substantive crime, not to the pleadings.
Federal and state cases have not construed the Smith case
as holding that a charge in an obscenity case is void for
failing to state the scienter element.?°

18 The Lambert court quoted the Clark case interpreting our
defective pleading obscenity cases and the United States
Supreme Court Smith case as going directly and only to the
question of whether scienter is a constitutionally required ele-
ment in a criminal obscenity statute.

19 Child pornography may be prohibited even if it is not
obscene. New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747, 757, 761 and n. 12, 102
S.Ct. 3348, 3354, 3357, and n. 12, 73 L.Ed.2d 1113 (1982).

20 For federal and state cases holding that a pleading in an
obscenity case omitting scienter does not void the proceedings,
see, e.g., United States v. Zacher, 332 F.Supp. 883 (E.D. Wis.1971)
(indictment for transporting obscene material omitted scienter;
indictment legally sufficient, but proof of scienter required at
trial); Tallman v. United States, 465 F.2d 282 (7th Cir.1972)
(indictment for uttering obscene language by radio communi-
cation omitted scienter; indictment need not allege scienter if it
is proved at trial; collateral attack); State v. Wein, 80 N.J. 491,
404 A.2d 302 (1979) (indictment for sale of obscene films
upheld even though failed to allege scienter); Wall Distributors,

(Continued on following page)

App. 25

We conclude that a single rule should govern all
criminal cases in which a pleading fails to set forth all the
elements of the crime but includes a correct citation to the
applicable substantive criminal statute. In the present
case, the complaint and the information omitted the ele-
ment of scienter but referred to the correct substantive
criminal statute by number. While the statute did not
expressly include the element of scienter, the circuit court
had construed the statute to include the element of scien-
ter. By citing the statutory number, the pleadings suffi-
ciently alleged all the elements of the offense, even those
the court read into the statute.?!

(Continued from previous page)

Inc. v. City of Newport News, 228 Va. 358, 323 S.E.2d 75 (1984)
(upholding indictment citing statute regarding possession of
obscene materials with intent to distribute but failing to allege
scienter).

Some state courts appear to hold that a charging document
omitting an essential element of the crime is not sufficient for
any crime. See, e.g., State v. Oman, 265 Minn. 277, 121 N.W.2d
616 (Minn. 1963) (prosecution of bookseller for sale and pos-
session of obscene literature); State v. Serstock, 402 N.W.2d 514
(Minn.1987) (indictment alleging violation of the Minnesota
Code of Professional Responsibility did not state a violation of
a statute).

Other state courts distinguish between obscenity and non-
obscenity prosecutions. See, e.g., Commonwealth v. Bacon, 374
Mass. 358, 372 N.E.2d 780 (1978) (indictment for carrying a gun
without a license was sufficient without stating element of
scienter; obscenity cases distinguished).

21 State v. Nowakowski, 67 Wis.2d 545, 571-72, 227 N.W.2d
697 (1975).

App. 26

Prior to the trial, the defendant knew that the pros-
ecution must prove the element of scienter; the jury was
instructed that the state must prove scienter. The defen-
dant does not show that he was prejudiced in any way at
trial by the omission of scienter in the complaint and
information.

Adhering to the rule set forth in the nonobscenity
cases, we conclude that the defective complaint and infor-
mation in this case are legally sufficient.

IV.

We next address the defendant’s challenge to the
court’s jury instruction regarding the meaning of “lewd”
within the statute. Section 940.203(2), Stats. 1987-88, pro-
hibits the following conduct:

No person may photograph, film, videotape, record
the sounds of or display in any way a child engaged in
sexually explicit conduct.

The statute defines “sexually explicit conduct” as
“lewd exhibition of the genitals or pubic area of any
person.” Wis. Stats. sec. 940.203(6)(b)5, 1987-88. The term
“lewd” is not defined in sec. 940.-203(6)(b)5.

The circuit court gave the following instruction
defining “lewd”:

“The word “lewd” has a general well recog-
nized meaning, connoting sexual suggestive-
ness.

.. . Mere nudity does not constitute the
type of exhibition which is prohibited by the
statute.

ae

App. 27

Now, examples of sexually suggestive or
lewd photographs of a child would be those in
which the child is depicted or posed in such a
way as to depict or suggest a willingness to
engage in sexual activity or a sexually coy atti-
tude. Whether or not the child intended such a
pose is not the issue, but rather what a reason-
able person viewing a photograph would per-
ceive is being suggested. Now, no expanded
writing or written definition of what constitutes
a lewd exhibition of the genital areas would
encompass all of the uncountable variations
which such photographs might take. . . . Just as
a written description of the face of a loved one
could be read by a third person without that
third person being able to see in his or her mind
the same mental picture as is in the mind of the
person writing the description. Words cannot
describe all of the nuances of that which consti-
tutes lewdness. However, ... with a few general
principles in mind, most persons, upon seeing a
photograph which is lewd, would be able to
agree that it is such.”

The defendant argues that the circuit court’s instruc-
tion to the jury, derived from United States v. Nemuras, 567
F.Supp. 87 (D.Md.1983), aff'd, 740 F.2d 286 (4th Cir. 1984),
is erroneous because it is a rambling, open ended, and
vague definition. The defendant argues that an instruc-
tion defining “lewd” in terms of sexually coy mistakenly
tells the jury that “lewd” means sexually shy or bashful
rather than inciting lust or sensual desire. The defendant
is not reading the instruction properly. The judge did not
define “lewd” as sexual coyness. Sexual coyness is part of
the explanation of sexual suggestiveness.

App. 28

The defendant also argues that the circuit court’s
open-ended reference to the term “lewd” as meaning
whatever “most persons” agree to allowed the jurors to
create their own standards of culpability and rendered
the jury instructions unconstitutionally vague.

The defendant contends that the definition of “lewd”
exhibition of genitals promulgated in State v. Lubotsky,
148 Wis.2d 435, 434 N.W.2d 859 (Ct.App.1988), which was
decided after the trial in this case, is the correct defini-
tion. The circuit court and the court of appeals in Lubotsky
defined “lewd” in terms of the dictionary definition -
“inciting to lust or lechery.” We conclude that the circuit
court instructed the jury in this case that “lewd” means
sexual suggestiveness, giving “iewd” essentially the same
meaning as “inciting to lust or lechery.”22

To determine if the instruction is correct-as a matter
of law, the instruction must be read in its entirety.?° If the
overall meaning is a correct statement of the law, then

22 In Lubotsky, the court approved two other dictionary
definitions of “lewd” that are as follows: “inclined to, charac-
terized by, or inciting lust or lechery” and “inciting to sensual
desire or imagination.” Lubotsky, 148 Wis.2d at 438, 434 N.W.2d
859.

23 The defendant argues that parts of the instruction are
inaccurate, rendering the whole definition vague. The defen-
dant objects to phrases in the jury instruction taken from
Nemuras, which included the following: “sexually coy atti-
tude,” “sexually suggestive,” and “most persons, upon seeing
a photograph which is lewd, would be able to agree that it is
such.” Nemuras, 567 F.Supp. at 89-90.

App. 29

any erroneous part of the instruction is harmless and not
grounds for reversal. Betchkal v. Willis, 127 Wis.2d 177,
188, 378 N.W.2d 684 (1985); State v. Paulson, 106 Wis.2d
96, 108, 315 N.W.2d 350, 356 (1982).

After examining cases interpreting similar child por-
nography laws and the term “lewd,” we conclude that no
one definition has been established for “lewd.” Three
concepts are generally included in defining “lewd” and
sexually explicit. First, the photograph must visibly dis-
play the child’s genitals or pubic area. Mere nudity is not
enough. Second, the child is posed as a sex object. The
statute defines the offense as one against the child
because using the child in that way causes harm to the
psychological, emotional and mental health of the child.
The photograph is lewd in its “unnatural” or “unusual”
focus on the juvenile’s genitalia, regardless of the child’s
intention to engage in sexual activity or whether the
viewer or photographer is actually aroused. Last, the
court may remind the jurors that they should use these
guidelines to determine the lewdness of a photograph but
they may use common sense to distinguish between a
pornographic and innocent photograph. New York v. Fer-
ber, 458 U.S. 747, 765, 102 S.Ct. 3348, 3359, 73 L.Ed.2d 1113
(1982); United States v. Wiegand, 812 F.2d 1239, 1243-44
(9th Cir.), cert. den., 484 U.S. 856, 108 S.Ct. 164, 98
L.Ed.2d 118 (1987); United States v. Arvin, 900 F.2d 1385,
1391 (9th Cir. 1990), cert. den., U.S. __, 111 S.Ct. 672,
112 L.Ed.2d 664 (1991).

In this case, looking at the jury instructions as a
whole, we conclude that the circuit court accurately
apprised the jury of what “lewd” means. The circuit court
told the jurors that mere nudity is not enough — the

App. 30

pictures must display the child’s genital area; that the
photographs must be sexually suggestive; and that the
jurors may use common sense to determine whether the
photographs were lewd.

We conclude that the instruction taken as a whole
gave the jury an adequate definition of “lewd.”

V.

The defendant objected to parts of the presentence
report containing unattributed allegations whose accu-
racy was contested, including charges that the defendant
sought to falsify statements in a traffic violation case; that
the defendant had engaged in prostitution activities and
money laundering; that the defendant assaulted people
on numerous occasions; and that he had been involved in
illegal drugs. The likely effect of this information was to
increase the defendant’s sentence.?4

In response to the defendant’s objection, the sentenc-
ing court declined to rule on the motion or to state on the
record what information in the report would be rejected,
although the sentencing court agreed that the inclusion of

24 In Bruneau v. State, 77 Wis.2d 166, 174-75, 252 N.W.2d
347 (1977), the court summarized an accused’s due process
rights at sentencing as follows:

(1) to be present at the hearing and to be afforded
the right of allocution,

(2) to be represented by counsel, and

(3) to be sentenced on the basis of true and correct
information.

App. 31

some information in the report was troublesome. The
circuit court could have easily avoided raising suspicion
that it was considering improper matters by stating on
the record what information it would not consider. Unfor-
tunately in explaining its sentencing rationale, the court
did not state which information it relied upon and which
it did not.

The circuit court, however, did not mention any par-
ticular incidents except those evidenced by convictions
for misconduct and assaults alleged by the defendant's
ex wife.

In reviewing sentencing, an appellate court begins
with “the presumption that the trial court acted reasona-
bly and with the requirement that the [appellant] must
show some unreasonable or unjustifiable basis in the
record for the sentence complained of.” Jung v. State, 32
Wis.2d 541, 548, 145 N.W.2d 684, 688 (1966), cert. denied,
386 U.S. 999, 87 S.Ct. 1321, 18 L.Ed.2d 349 (1967). Sentenc-
ing is a matter within the discretion of the circuit court.
“There should be evidence in the record that discretion
was in fact exercised and the basis of that exercise of
discretion should be set forth.” State v. Hutnik, 39 Wis.2d
754, 764, 159 N.W.2d 733 (1968).

We are satisfied, on the basis of the record, that the
circuit court properly exercised its discretion in sentenc-
ing the defendant. At the sentencing hearing, the defen-
dant alerted the circuit court to the items in the
presentence he considered objectionable. The circuit court
agreed with the defendant that “some things in [the
presentence report] . .. went beyond what I would expect
and would want in a presentence by way of background.”

App. 32

The circuit court explained, however, that it was capable
of separating the “wheat from the chaff” and that the case
would “rise and fall on what I heard in the court room.”
There is nothing in the record to suggest that the circuit
court relied upon factors which were “totally irrelevant
or immaterial to the type of decision to be made.” Ocanas
v. State, 70 Wis.2d 179, 187, 233 N.W.2d 457 (1975). See
also, State v. Thompson, 146 Wis.2d 554, 566-67, 421 N.W.2d
716 (Ct.App. 1988). Accordingly we conclude the circuit
court did not abuse its discretion.

For the reasons set forth, we affirm the judgment of
conviction and sentence.

The judgment of the circuit court is affirmed.

ee

App. 33

SUPREME COURT
OF WISCONSIN
P.O. BOX 1688
MADISON, WI 53701-1688

TELEPHONE (608) 266-1880

MARILYN L. GRAVES
CLERK

JUNE 10, 1991

TO: THOMAS J BALISTRERI
ASST ATTORNEY GENERAL
PO BOX 7857 -
MADISON, WI 53707

PHILIP A KOSS

DISTRICT ATTORNEY

WALWORTH COUNTY COURTHOUSE
ELKHORN, WI 53121

JAMES A WALRATH

SHELLOW, SHELLOW & GLYNN
222 E MASON ST

MILWAUKEE, WI 53202-3668

THE COURT TODAY ANNOUNCED AN ORDER IN
YOUR CASE AS FOLLOWS:

DISTRICT 2
STATE v. PETRONE, J., 89-1551-CR

MOTION FOR RECONSIDERATION DENIED,
WITHOUT COSTS.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2654%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
