# Opposition Brief — Dodson v. General Motors Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2586%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 502 U.S. 909

## Text

-

No. 91 313

Iu Che

Supreme Court of the United States

“NY

rctober Cerm, 1991

LARRY DODSON, ET AL,
“VE- Petitioners,
DENNIS HAZEN HUGULEY &T AL,

Respondents
-and- I '

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,
Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

LOPATIN, MILLER, FREEDMAN, BLUESTONE,
ERLICH, ROSEN AND BARTNICK
By: DENNIS D. JAMES (P 15247)
Counsel of Record
RICHARD E. SHAW (P 33521)
Attorneys for Respondents
1301 East Jefferson
Detroit, Michigan 48207 ¢ (313) 259-7800
ReEOosT!I & Hayes
By: RONALD J. REOSTI (P 19368)
Co-Counsel for Respondents

925 Ford Building
Detroit, Michigan 48226 ¢ (313) 962-2770

Interstate Brief & Record Company, a division of North American Graphics, Inc.
1629 West Lafavette Boulevard, Detroit, MI 48216 (313) 962-6250

Supreme Court, U.S,
FILED
= SEP 12 1991

|

i
COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED

ISSUE |

WHETHER THE COURT OF APPEALS PROPERLY AFFIRMED
THE TRIAL COURT'S ENTRY OF THE PROPOSED SETTLEMENT
DECREE, WHICH PROVIDED FOR RELIEF PROPORTIONATE TO
(1) THE ANTICIPATED RELIEF SHOULD PLAINTIFFS PREVAIL,
AND (2) THE LIKELIHOOD OF SUCCESS?

ISSUE Il

WHETHER THE COURT OF APPEALS ACTED WITHIN ITS DIS-
CRETION WITH REGARD TO ALLOWING ORAL ARGUMENT
AND WITH REGARD TO THE COURT'S CONSIDERATION OF
MATTERS OUTSIDE OF THE TRIAL COURT RECORD?

Counterstatement of the Questions Presented
Index to Cases and Authorities Cited

Counterstatement of Facts

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Reasons for Denying the Petition for Certiorari:

ISSUE I:

ISSUE Ih:

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE SIXTH CIRCUIT PROPERLY AFFIRMED
THE TRIAL COURT'S ENTRY OF THE PRO-
POSED SETTLEMENT DECREE, WHICH PRO-
VIDED FOR RELIEF PROPORTIONATE TO
(1) THE ANTICIPATED RELIEF SHOULD PLAIN-
TIFFS PREVAIL. AND (2) THE LIKELIHOOD OF

Ee ice iscdeasensacshensnaseshsvavecceubsexsaccenteces

eo ccsdennee

B. The Trial Court Acted Within Its Dis-
cretion in Denying Respondents’ Re-

quest For An Opt-Out Provision. ...........

C. The Trial Court Properly Exercised
Its Discretion In Approving The Con-
sent Decree, In View Of The Specific
Reliel Provided By The Decree And
The Likelihood Of Respondents Pre-

eee eee eee ee eee ee eee eee)

eee eee ee eee eee eee eee eee ee ee eee ee eee ee ee eee)

vailing If No Settiement Is Reached. ..... 15
THE COURT OF APPEALS ACTED WITHIN ITS
DISCRETION WITH REGARD TO ALLOWING
ORAL ARGUMENT AND WITH REGARD TO
THE COURT'S CONSIDERATION OF MATTERS
OUTSIDE OF THE TRIAL COURT RECORD. ........ 24

Tse ibccinstscsesrexessersncteeveuseceresseesccesvorsnoess 26

iv

INDEX TO CASES AND AUTHORITIES CITED

PAGE
Michigan Case:
Spalding v Spalding, 355 Mich. 382; 94 NW.2d 810
CUE vera sactneesacstavescanimncaantonnerrapesbrrubiialareneivutcte 11-12

Federal Cases:

Alexander v. Aero Lodge No. 735, International
Association of Machinists & Aerospace Workers,
AFL-CIO, 565 F.2d 1364 (6th Cir. 1977), cert. denied

436 U.S. 946, 98 S.Ct. 2849, 56 L.Ed.2d (1978) ......... 8,9
Cox et al. v. American Cast Iron Pipe Co, 784 F.2d

Bn RONCEE is BOD seakkbeicindkds late tudden Seniccnnseens 13
Dosier v. Miami Valley Broadcasting Corp, 656 F.2d

SI CIE Gi SE Gidicelseacvumprcctsctantancvesiccersivodccoriaion 9
Grigsby v. North Mississippi Medical Center, Inc,

ee Te Fee Ce I FD sides henicninecde crekstecnecsnens 10
Holmes v. Continental Can Co, 706 F.2d 1144 (11th

Soe RUMNUEE | acc ivtheeh at atpudesenaessenenvatance-aciins covuunnasumensnaaedcares 13
Huguley v. General Motors Corp, 638 FSupp 1301

Up REIN: ENED cs scescoacereciivacssysworncsnnecesenamnavarccmansccecsis 7
Kincade v. General Tire & Rubber Co, 635 F.2d 501

Cee se I Tass icctuasscpcbenescoseichevceerapiencestentnvacnanactess 10

King v. South Central Bell Telephone & Telegraph,
COE Vee ee Ce Ge EE cesscethinsterrticecrsenivcciaciicions 9

Laskey v. International Union, United Automobile,
Aerospace & Agricultural, Implement Workers of
America (UAW), 638 F.2d 954 (6th Cir. 1981) ........... 9,

Penson v. Terminal Transport Co, Inc, 634 F.2d 989
CN ee OIE acc ccicotseciccivcctcesecseucsnsecereoeninns eaiees 10

PAGE

Plummer v. Chemical Bank, 668 F.2d 654 (2nd Cir.
Ty cea gui isiienceinkeonennnes 10

Senter v. General Motors, 532 F.2d 511 (6th Cir.
1976), cert. denied 429 U.S. 870, 97 S.Ct. 182, 50
eT LS See ae ARIE RI SN 8

U.S. v. U.S. Steel Corp, 520 F.2d 1043 (5th Cir.
1978). cert. denied 429 US. 817, 97 S.Ct. 61, 50

RN nL ca lvss cislbnesesttneensvdonsieeveevauvees 10
Wards Cove Packing Co v. Antonio, — U.S. —, 109

DA, Beet Fe EE FSS (TICS) © cocescoreceeses. 17, 18, 24
Watson v. Fort Worth, 487 U.S. 977, 108 S.Ct. 2777,

Pee A ET MIE vs cons stastcveveicawcavcevesseresisrereesesne 17

Wetzel v. Liberty Mutual Ins Co, 508 F.2d 239 (3rd
Cir. 1975), cert. denied 421 U.S. 1011, 95 S.Ct.

Fe NE FE CUE) cncnsnaccescrcevsevevevevecsrevessrvense 10
Other Authorities:
DE I Nivea vans cuivunsesacekcavnatesestonesanees 7, 8, 9, 10, 11
PWNS IED vacncveexeovsiscscsivesvsrscvnniveverses 7, 8, 9, 10, 11
I oe, Sena ts ven sdbenannecadsepenivoerestoens 8
UE ea case Sipe ohh cect ects phay-césadvnvontnansssineevnnabe 10

No. 91 313
In Che

Supreme Court of the United States

—

October Cerm, 1991

i 4

LARRY DODSON, ET AL,

Petitioners,

ts
- of

DENNIS HAZEN HUGULEY, ET AL,

sand. Respondents,
GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,
Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF FACTS

In July, 1983. respondents filed their first complaint
(R.1: Complaint), in this race discrimination class action,
with the United States District Court for the Eastern
District of Michigan; the case was assigned to the Hon-
orable John Feikens. Respondents present counsel,
Lopatin & Miller, P.C., was substituted as counsel for the
putative class in May, 1985 (R.91: Appearance); Reosti &
Hayes, P.C. filed as co-counsel in September, 1985. (R.95:
Appearance as Co-counsel)

The Third Amended Complaint, the operative com-
plaint in this litigation, was filed on February 24, 1986.
At that time, the named plaintiffs were Dennis Huguley,
Larry Kitchen, James Kennedy and Larry Dodson.

2

(R.126: Plaintiffs’ Third Amended Complaint) This com-
plaint charged that defendant-appellee (hereafter, defen-
dant) General Motors discriminated against black
salaried employees in Michigan, Indiana and Ohio,
through the operation of its performance appraisal
system, with regard to salary, promotional and other
employment opportunities. (/d.)

The trial court certified the class through his opinion
and order on July 21, 1986, and October 16, 1986.
respectively. (R.154: Opinion: R.170: Order of Certifica-
tion) The order certified a class of approximately 9800
persons who were: (1) black: (2) classified salary
employees of defendant General Motors; (3) in the
Michigan, Indiana and Ohio area; (4) employed between
October 8, 1982 and September 25, 1986. (/d.)

Thereafter, the parties conducted extensive discovery,
including eighty-seven (87) depositions and voluminous
research and statistical analysis concerning over 100,000
computerized personnel files. (R.513: Response to
Motion to Substitute Attorneys) Respondents’ counsel
has advanced over $200,000 in costs. (/d.) During this
time, with some interruption, the parties conducted
lengthy and complex negotiations. !

On October 21, 1988, three weeks before the sched-
uled trial, the parties reached an agreement in prin-
ciple. (R.515: Memorandum Opinion Approving Consent
Decree) The trial was adjourned to allow the litigants
time to complete the details of the settlement, where-
upon on February 1, 1989, they submitted a proposed
consent decree to the court, with the approval of all
four of the named plaintiffs including Larry Dodson.
(R.374: Consent Decree; Dodson, Tr 6/26/89, 59) On Feb-

' In litigation of this complexity, a litigation team represented

each party; for ease of exposition, respondents refer to counsel or
attorney in the singular.

3

ruary 3, 1989, the court issued its preliminary approval
of the proposed Consent Decree. (R.373: Order of Pre-
liminary Approval)

Thereafter, the class members were informed of the
proposed decree, were granted access to free copies of
the decree, and were invited to pose objections to the
proposal over a sixty-day period, concluding on April
30, 1989. (R463: Order Extending Time) The class mem-
bers were advised of a special telephone number, con-
necting to paralegals and attorneys for the class, who
could answer questions about the proposed decree.
(James, Tr 6/26/89, 66; R.374: Consent Decree) The class’
trial team handled hundreds of such inquiries during
and after the objection period. (James, Tr 8/11/89, 42-43)
The class counsel appeared at numerous mass meet-
ings, called throughout the tri-state area in Detroit,
Flint, Lansing, Indianapolis, and Youngstown, and con-
tinues to be available for class member meetings.
(James, Tr 8/11/89, 42: Tr 5/3/89, 21)

By the end of the appeal period, 1.485 objections
were filed; the vast majority were signatures on peti-
tions. A hearing for objections was scheduled for June
26, 1989 (Status Conference 5/9/89). whereupon, on June
23, 1989, three days before the scheduled hearing,
attorney Godfrey Dillard filed an appearance on behalf
of named-plaintiff Larry Dodson and other objectors.
(R499: Appearance) At the hearing, approximately 200
objectors appeared, some accompanied by counsel.
(Court, Tr 6/26/89, 6) For purposes of the hearing, at his
request, Dillard was allowed by the court to speak for
those objectors present without counsel. The court
took the decree under advisement.

At the time of the hearing, over objections, the par-
ties also submitted to the court the question of
whether the decree, if approved, should have an opt-out

4

provision. The court decided that the decree, if
approved, should not have an opt-out provision pur-
suant to the class's certification under F.R.Civ.P. 23(b)(2)
and relevant case law. (Court, Tr 6/26/89, 86)

On August 3, 1989, Dillard filed a Motion for Substitu-
tion of Attorney moving to substitute himself as counsel
for the class, which was heard August 11, 1989. (R.512:
Motion to Substitute) On September 1, 1989, Judge John
Feikens issued an Opinion Approving the Consent
Decree and an Opinion and Order Denying Attorney
Dillard’s Motion for Substitution of Attorney. (R.515:
Memorandum Opinion and Order; R.519: Order Denying
Motion to Substitute) On September 14, 1989, the court
signed an Order Approving Consent Decree, as well as
Order Adding as Named Plaintiffs Robert Raglin of
Columbus, Ohio and Darnita Stein of Flint, Michigan.
(R.520: Order Adding Plaintiffs’ R.21: Order Approving
Consent Decree)

The consent decree is a sixty-two page (62) document
(exclusive of exhibits) providing relief to the class in
the following categories:

1. A backpay distribution of up to4.6 million dollars
to approximately 2800 ex-employee class members.

i

A first year distribution of approximately one mil-
lion dollars in pay raises to those approximately
1,000 present class member employees whose pay
is furthest out of line with their statistical white
counter-parts.

3. A group monitoring system for promotions and
pay which is to be in place for five (5) consecu-
tive years. This computerized group monitoring
system will benefit not only class members, but
black salaried employees that plaintiff hired since
the close of the class identification period on
October 8, 1986.

5

4. The institution of an individual monitoring
system which will allow employees to appeal
their performance appraisals (now called relative
contribution assessment) to a separate panel par-
tially nominated by the employees.

5. Awards to named plaintiffs, anecdotal witnesses,
and potential witnesses, totaling $325,000.

6. Payment by defendant of plaintiffs’ fees of approxi-
mately $457,000 and costs in excess of $200,000.

On October 12, 1989, Dillard filed the Joint Notice of
Appeal of the Order Approving Consent Decree of
September 14, 1989. (R.522: Appeal Notice) No Notice of
Appeal has been filed regarding the Order Denying
Motion for Substitution of Counsel. To date, there has
been no motion to intervene filed on behalf of any
unnamed plaintiff. On November 20, 1989, attorney
William Hawkins of Indianapolis, Indiana also filed an
appearance on behalf of named plaintiff Dodson.

On November 2, 1989, respondents filed, inter alia, a
Motion to Strike All or Part of Joint Notice of Appeal.
This motion challenged: (1) the standing of any class
member except Larry Dodson to prosecute an appeal in
this case: (2) Dillard's authorization to prosecute an
appeal on behalf of any objector other than Dodson;
and (3) the standing of persons named in Dillard's
appeal who had not filed objections, were not class
members, or were duplicates. On January 22, 1990, the
court granted respondents’ motion in part, striking all
nonobjectors, nonclass members and duplicate names,
and directing Dillard to set forth in his opening brief,
the authority by which he claims to represent plaintiffs-
objectors on appeal.

On April 26, 1990, attorney William Hawkins and
named plaintiff Larry Dodson filed documents dis-

6

missing Dillard and substituting William Hawkins as
counsel for Dodson. To date, Dillard nas produced no
written statements of objectors authorizing him to rep-
resent them on appeal. Attorney Hawkins has produced
thirty (30) such statements, including that of Mr.
Dodson; of these, four (4) are unsigned and five (5) are
those of persons who have no filed objections.

On February 22, 1991, the United States Court of
Appeals for the Sixth Circuit issued a per curiam
opinion, affirming the trial court. The court below
acknowledged that respondents had challenged the
objectors standing to challenge the consent decree.
Nevertheless, the court declined to address the
standing issue, because it found that the merits of the
issues raised were wholly without merit. (Opinion, 3)
The court cautioned that its assumption of standing “is
without consequence and should not be construed as a
decision on the merits of the standing issue.” (Opinicn, 4)

3 8 8

-

REASONS FOR DENYING
THE PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

ISSUE I

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH
CIRCUIT PROPERLY AFFIRMED THE TRIAL COURT’S ENTRY
OF THE PROPOSED SETTLEMENT DECREE, WHICH PRO-
VIDED FOR RELIEF PROPORTIONATE TO (1) THE ANTICI-
PATED RELIEF SHOULL PLAINTIFFS PREVAIL, AND (2) THE
LIKELIHOOD OF SUCCESS.

A. Introduction

Respondents perceive appellants as raising two objec-
tions, each of which is addressed. First, the trial court
properly found that it was empowered to exercise its
discretion not to insert am opt-out provision. Second, in
view of the relief accorded by the consent decree, the
potential award at trial, and the likelihood of success
if this action were to proceed to trial, the trial court
acted within its discretion in approving the consent
settlement.

B. The Trial Court Acted Within Its Discretion In
Denying Respondents’ Request For An Opt-Out
Provision.

Respondents sought certification under F.R.Civ.P.
23(b)(2) — not F.R.Civ.P. 23(b)(3). (R.144: Plaintiffs’ Cor-
rected Reply to Defendant's Supplemental Memorandum
in Opposition to Class Certification; R.126: Third
Amended Complaint, 4 33) Therefore, the trial court rec-
ognized, in certifying this case as a 23(b)(2) class,
“Plaintiffs seek certification pursuant to Rule 23(b)(2)
.... Accordingly | need not address the requirements of
Rule 23(b)(3), (c)(2).” Huguley v. General Motors Corp,
638 FSupp. 1301, n.1 at 1302 (E.D.Mich. 1986).

8

Undoubtedly, the trial court properly certified this
class action pursuant to F.R.Civ.P. 23(b)(2). Indeed, the
petitioners conceded this (Petition for a Writ of Certio-
rari to the United States Court of the [sic] Appeals for
the Sixth Circuit, 25):

“The Appellants [petitioners] acknowledge that
this case was properly certified as a (b)(2) class
action. Subsection (b)(2) contemplates class»
cases seeking equitable injunctive or declaratory
relief, and back pay comes within the ambit of
(b)(2) because the ‘demand for back pay is not
in the nature of a claim for damages, but rather
is an integral part of the statutory equitable
remedy, to be determined through the exercise
of the court’s discretion.’ Johnson -v- Georgia
Highway Express, 417 F.2d 1122, 1125 (5th Cir.
1969). See also Pettway -v- American Cast lron
Pipe Co., 494 F.2d 211, 256-257 (Sth Cir. 1974)
(Pettway Ill), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1115, 99 S.Ct.
1020, 59 L.Ed.2d 74 (1979).”

Petitioners correctly state the law in this regard. It is
well established that a Title VII class action seeking
back pay is properly certified under Rule 23(b)(2). F.g.,
Alexander v. Aero Lodge No. 7.35, International Associa-
tion of Machinists & Aerospace Workers, AFL-CIO, 565 F.2d
1364, 1372 (6th Cir. 1977), cert. denied 436 U.S. 946, 98
S.Ct. 2849, 56 L.Ed.2d (1978): Senter v. General Motors,
932 F.2d 511, 525 (6th Cir. 1976), cert. denied 429 US. 870,
97 S.Ct. 182, 50 L.Ed.2d 150 (1976).

Accordingly, the trial court's decision not to grant an
opt-out provision must be reviewed in the context of a
class action certified under F.R.Civ.P. 23(b)(2). ER.Civ.P.
23(b)(3) is simply irrelevant to this issue.

In express terms, F.R.Civ.P. 23(c)(2) requires an opt-
out provision, only in a suit certified as a (b)(3) action,

g

not in a suit-certified under Rule 23(b)(2). Alexander v.
Aero Lodge, 565 F.2d at 1373 (“The mandatory notice
provision of Rule 23[c]{2] [containing notice of the right
to opt out] is expressly confined by its terms to actions
under [b][3], and a number of courts have indicated
that actual prejudgment notice is not required by Rule
23 in actions certified under sections other than
(b]{3].°) Similarly, no decision holds that an opt-out
mechanism is essential in a rule (b)(2) case. Laskey v.
International Union, United Automobile, Aerospace & Agrt-
cultural Implement Workers of America (UAW), 638 F.2d
954, 956-957 (6th Cir. 1981); King v. South Central Bell
Telephone & Telegraph, 790 F.2d 524, 530 (6th Cir. 1986);
Doster v. Miamt Valley Broadcasting Corp, 656 F.2d 1295,
1299 (9th Cir. 1981). Indeed, in Laskey, the Court
squarely held that opt-out is not required, even in a
case combining aspects of a Rule 23 (b)(2) class action
and a Rule 23(b)(3) action. /d., 956-957.

“The notice of the pendency of the class
action stated that all members would be bound
and that each had the right to retain indepen-
dent counsel and intervene as a plaintiff. This
class action could be either brought under Rule
23(b)(2), Fed. R.Civ. Pro., which does not have the
right to opt out, or under Rule 23(b)(3). In the
interests of judicial economy and efficiency, the
courts should treat the class as a Rule 23(b)(2)
class. Thus, the failure to notify the class mem-
bers of the right to opt out of the class is not a
violation of due process.” (Citations omitted)

Not only is there no requirement that an opt-out
mechanism be provided in a (b)(2) action, there is dis-
pute regarding whether the opt-out mechanism is per-
missible, with the circuit courts of appeal split on this
issue. Plummer v. Chemical Bank, 668 F.2d 654, n.2 at

10

657 (2nd Cir. 1982). On one point, however, there is no
dispute: in a (b)(2) action, there is certainly no auto-
matic right to an opt-out provision. Laskey, 638 F.2d at
956: Penson v. Terminal Transport Co, Inc, 634 F.2d 989,
993-994 (5th Cir. 1981); Grigsby v. North Mississippi Medi-
cal Center, Inc, 586 F.2d 457, 461 (5th Cir. 1975): U.S. v.
U.S. Steel Corp, 520 F.2d 1043, 1057 (Sth Cir. 1978), cert.
denied 429 US. 817, 97 S.Ct. 61, 50 L.Ed.2d 77 (1977).

The remaining question, then, is whether the trial
court, assuming that it is empowered to provide an opt-
out mechanism in a (b)(2) action, abused its discretion
in denying respondents’ request for opt-out. Respon- -
dents did request an opt-out provision from the trial
court, however they recognize that the trial court acted
within its discretion in denying the request.

In Kincade v. General Tire & Rubber Co, 635 F.2d 501,
507 (5th Cir. 1981), the court gave three reasons for
holding that “the right to opt-out, which is denied when
a Rule 23(b)(2) class is tried, also need not be provided
when such a case is settled.” First, Rule 23 certification
procedure ensures that the named parties will ade-
quately represent the class. Second, F.R.Civ.P. 23(e).
requiring court approva! of a!l dismissals or compro-
mises, gives additional judicial protection to the class
members. Third, the public policy in favor of settlement
is served by barring objectors from opting out. Here.
where the trial court exercised its discretion in denying
an opt-out provision, the Kincade reasoning serves to
illuminate the basis for the trial court's decision.

Similarly, Laskey, 638 F.2d at 956, held that the proce-
dures associated with a (b)(2) class action, with no opt-
out mechanism, are preferred, stating, “In the interests
of judicial economy and efficiency, the court should
treat the class as a Rule 23(b)(2) class.” Accord: Wetzel
v. Liberty Mutual Ins Co, 508 F.2d 239, 253 (3rd Cir. 1975),

11

cert. denied 421 US. 1011, 95 S.Ct. 721, 54 L.Ed.2d 753
(1975) (holding that a Title VIF action seeking injunctive,
declaratory, and monetary relief which could be main-
tained “under both (b)(2) and (b)(3) should be treated
under (b)(2) to enjoy its superior res judicata effect and
to eliminate the procedural complications of (b)(3)
which serve no useful purpose under (b)(2).”)

In Laskey, 638 F.2d at 957, the court noted that a trial
court's acceptance of a settlement is discretionary, sub-
ject to reversal only if there is an abuse of discretion.

“The acceptance of a settlement in a class
action suit is discretionary with the court and
will be overturned only by a showing of abuse of
discretion. See Grunin v. International House of
Pancakes, 513 F.2d 114, 123 (8th Cir.), cert. denied,
423 US. 864, 96 S.Ct. 124, 46 L.Ed.2d 93 (1975):
Cohen v. Young, 127 F.2d 721, 724-25 (6th Cir.
1942).”

Indeed, even where the named representatives of the
class object, the reviewing court will affirm if no abuse
of discretion is demonstrated. /d.

“Accepting a settlemeni over the objections of
the named representatives is not necessarily an
abuse of discretion. See Bryan v. Pittsburgh Plate
Glass Co., 494 F2d 799, 803 (3d Cir.), cert. denied,
419 US. 900, 95 S.Ct. 184, 42 L.Ed.2d 146 (1974);
Mungin, supra, 318 F.Supp. at 731.”

In Spalding v. Spalding, 355 Mich. 382, 384-385; 94
N.W.2d 810 (1959), the Michigan Supreme Court ex-
plained the “abuse of discretion” standard:

“Where, as here, the exercise of discretion turns
upon a factual determination made by the trier
of facts, an abuse of discretion involves far more
than a difference in judicial opinion between the

12

trial and appellate courts. The term discretion
itself involves the idea of choice, of an exercise
of the will, of a determination made between
competing considerations. In order to have an
‘abuse’ in reaching such determination, the
result must be so palpably and grossly violative
of fact and logic that it evidences not the exer-
cise of will but perversity of will, not the exer-
cise of judgment but defiance thereof, not the
exercise of reason but rather of passion or bias.”

Aithough respondents urged the trial court to man-
date an opt-out provision in the decree, respondents
cannot reasonably contend that the trial court’s exer-
cise of discretion was so unreasonable as to constitute
an abuse. There are almost 10,000 individuals in this
class. If an opt-out mechanism is established, with even
one percent of the class opting out, the trial court
would be burdened with 100 additional cases. Thus, the
trial court could reasonably conclude that the concerns
for judicial economy and efficiency which originally lay
behind its certification order would be largely des-
troyed by an opt-out clause.

Moreover, the complexity of the proposed consent
decree arguably makes an opt-out procedure less war-
ranted. The decree provides class-wide relief, that
cannot be partitioned between the opt-ins and the opt-
outs. (Court, Tr 6/26/89, 82) Individuals who choose to
opt out would receive a free ride, gaining the benefit of
the class-wide relief, such as group monitoring, without
giving up their own claims for back pay, unlike their
fellow class members who would give up these claims.
Indeed, the trial court may have anticipated that the
benefit of opting out — to have your cake and eat it too
— could prove too attractive. Possibly, so many individ-
uals would opt out as to undermine the entire settle-

13

ment process, even though the settlement is intrinsi-
cally fair and equitable. Accordingly, respondents
respectfully submit that the trial court acted within its
discretion in approving the settlement and must be
affirmed.

It remains only to explicitly address and repudiate
petitioners’ contention that “the Sixth Circuit’s decision
in this case is in conflict with the Eleventh Circuit's,”
citing Cox et al. v. American Cast Iron Pipe Co, 784 F.2d
1546 (11th Cir. 1986). In Cox, two weeks after the class
was certified, the judge resigned from the bench. There-
after, the second judge authorized the defendants to
notify the class members of a right to opt out. A third
judge then assumed responsibility for the case and
approved the opt-out procedure. The appellate court
reversed, finding that the trial court had abused its dis-
cretion in approving the opt-out notice. Although some
language within Cox serves petitioners, the language is,
at most, dicta. The Cox court reversed the trial court,
which had approved an opt-out procedure.

Petitioners also rely on Holmes v. Continental Can Co,
706 F.2d 1144 (11th Cir. 1983). There is no fundamental
dispute between Holmes and the opinion below. The
trial court below recognized its discretion to allow opt-
out; however, upon an examination of the specific facts
and circumstances of this action, the trial court
declined to permit opt-out. The appellate court below
affirmed this exercise of discretion. Holmes demands
that the trial court exercise its discretion; it does not
mandate an opt-out procedure.* The Holmes court
noted, 706 F.2d at 1155:

> |

- The Holmes facts are radically different from those of this
action. First, dissenters challenged the disproportionate payments
to the named plaintiffs. contrary to the facts in this action. More

(concluded on page 14)

14

“This court in Penson held that a district court
‘acting under its Rule 23(d)(2) discretionary
power, may require that an opt-out right and
notice thereof be given should it believe that
such a right is desirable to protect the interests
of the absent class members.’ 634 F.2d at 994. A
district court’s decision would only be reversed
for abuse of discretion.”

Petitioners announce a conflict between the Sixth Cir-
cuit’s affirmance of the trial court and the Eleventh Cir-
cuit, although there is no such conflict. The trial court
assumed that it had the discretion to include an opt-out
provision, exercised its discretion, and declined to
include the provision. The appellate court below
affirmed, finding no abuse of discretion. At bottom, peti-
tioners advocate a rule that mandates an opt-out provi-
sion whenever the case involves any monetary relief,
regardless of the significance of the monetary relief.
This is not the rule promulgated in Holmes, Cox, or any
other decision of the Eleventh Circuit. Predicated upon
its extensive review of the facts before it, the trial court
declined to grant an opt-out option; there was no abuse
of discretion; the issue raised by petitioners is not
worthy of this Court’s review.

(continued from page 13)

importantly, this action seeks and achieves (if the settlement decree
stands) prospective relief with regard to promotion and merit pay.
which far outweighs the monetary award for historical disparities. In
Holmes, the action de facto involved only monetary relief, “{b'ecause
the plants at which the bulk of the class and all of the named plain-
tiffs and objecting class members worked [had] been permanently
closed.” Hoimes, 706 F.2d at 1146, n.1.

15

C. The Trial Court Properly Exercised Its Discre-
tion In Approving The Consent Decree, In View
Of The Specific Relief Provided By The Decree
And The Likelihood Of Respondents Prevailing
If No Settlement Is Reached.

The trial court found that the primary objection to
the substantive provisions of the consent decree was
that the monetary relief was inadequate. (R.515:
Opinion, 9) Otherwise, the objections to the monitoring
or affirmative relief were “largely conclusionary,” and
on the whole, “were stated in broad form and not pre-
cisely defined.” (/d., 14) A review of appellants’ argu-
ments to the court below, as to why the monetary and
affirmative relief provided by the consent judgment is
inadequate (Brief on Appeal [to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit], 39-45), confirms the
trial court’s opinion. Although petitioners appear to
have abandoned some of their arguments, the Consent
Decree can be evaluated only by consideration of all of
its parts. Moreover, petitioners’ argument for opt-out
necessarily relies on the monetary relief aspect of this
action, making this discussion pertinent to the discus-
sion, supra, on the trial court’s decision not to include
an opt-out provision. es

Adequacy of Monetary Relief

Petitioners complained to the appellate court below
that the monetary relief is inadequate. (Brief on Appeal
[to the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Cir-
cuit], 39) They did not, however, raise any specific
objection to the distribution formulas used for allo-
cating either the ex-employee fund or the incumbent
employee awards. (Tr 6/27/89, 27) The adequacy of the
monetary relief must be judged by examining the likeli-
hood of success and the potential recovery if respon-
dents should prevail.

16

Probability of Success

Petitioners argued below, based on the preliminary
report of plaintiff's expert, Dr. Michael Thomson, that
respondents would have prevailed. Such certainty is the
province of armchair quarterbacks. Defendant's memo-
randum in support of approval of the consent decree
(R.503) fully explained the uncertainty regarding the
ultimate result, in the absence of a settlement.

Dr. Thomson's preliminary report was exactly that,
preliminary. Although it described differences in the
performance evaluations of black and white employees,
it did not analyze the effect of performance levels on
merit increases or promotions. It is precisely these
effects which are the central focus of this case. Fol-
lowing the preliminary analysis, Dr. Thomson con-
ducted additional statistical analysis. These studies
were multiple regression analyses which used educa-
tion, age, and tenure as the principal predictors (fac-
tors) for determining salary levels. Dr. Thomson
performed several multiple regressions to test the dif-
ference between black and nonblack employees in dis-
cretionary salary increases and promotion rates. These
results indicated the strengths and weaknesses of
respondents statistical evidence of discrimination.

Respondents did not argue to the trial court, and do
not argue here, that these statistical results were so
weak that respondents settled this case for fear of
losing the liability issue. In fact, respondents settled
this case, because the settlement benefits to the class
were substantial and were a very high proportion of the
potential recovery (as explained below). Nevertheless,
respondents necessarily considered the possibility that
additional data regarding pre-employment work experi-
ence, starting salary, starting job category, and career
path, might narrow the statistical differences found by
Dr. Thomson.

17

More disturbing, however, were the studies performed
by Dr. Thomson to test the connection between perfor-
mance evaluation and merit pay and promotion. To
some extent, these results were consistent with defen-
dant’s claim that there is no direct correlation between
performance evaluations and promotions. Although
respondents were certainly unwilling to concede defeat
(nor was defendant prepared to proclaim victory), the
results did present problems, especially in light of this
Court's opinion in Watson v. Fort Worth, 487 U.S. 977, 108
S.Ct. 2777, 101 L.Ed.2d 827 (1988).

These initial concerns have been, of course, magni-
fied by this Court’s subsequent decision in Wards Cove
Packing Co v. Antonio, —— U.S. —_, 109 S.Ct. 2115, 104
L.Ed.2d 733 (1989). In a disparate impact case, these
decisions require proof of a nexus between the dis-
parate statistical results and an identifiable employment
practice.

Defendant. in its memorandum to the trial court,
included a long list of reasons why respondents’ case
might fail, in the absence of settlement. Although
respondents did not, and do not agree with defendant's
analysis, respondents must accept the possibility that
defendant might prevail on one or more of its defenses,

~~ ‘if this action were tried.

Respondents would have, for instance, as defendant
observed, been required to concede that performance
evaluations systems are a useful business tool in
making personnel decisions. Respondents would also
have to concede that defendant's performance evaliua-
tion system was sophisticated, representing the “state
of the art.” While not agreeing that such admissions
would necessarily have led to defeat, in light of the
Supreme Court's decision in Wards Cove, it is inescap-

18

able that respondents would face significant uncertainty
with regard to the ultimate result.®

Potential Recovery

The relief negotiated for the class represents a sub-
stantial percentage of the possible recovery if respon-
dents had prevailed. Because the actual total recovery
would depend on the outcome of thousands of indi-
vidual claims hearings,’ it is impossible to estimate the
actual total recovery to class members. However, it is
possible to statistically estimate the total amount of the
difference in salary growth for black and white em-
ployee which could be attributed to race, as opposed to
education, age, tenure, etc. This would arguably equal
the total amount of money lost by the class during the
years in question, as a result of discrimination in merit
pay and promotions.

As explained in Plaintiff's Answer to Common Objec-
tions to the Proposed Consent Decree (R.501), this esti-
mate was based “on multiple regression analysis of the
difference in the growth in salaries for black employees
compared to the growth in salaries of comparable white
employees, during the period covered by this case.
Comparability was defined in terms of age, education,
company seniority, and to a limited extent company
experience.” (/d., 2) Petitioners do not complain that
this method underestimates the potential recovery.

Petitioners simply reject respondents conciusion that
the amounts provided in the consent judgment are a

3 The decision in Wards Cove Packing Co v. Antonio, —— US. _.
109 S.Ct. 2115, 104 L.Ed.2d 733 (1989), appears to allow the defendant
to defeat a prima facie case of disparate impact by a lesser showing
of business necessity.

4 The numer of individual claims hearings that would be neces-

sary if plaintiffs prevailed is an additional factor which supports the
decision to settle the case.

19

“substantial percentage of Defendant's total expo-
sure. ..." (/d., 3) In other words, the objectors believe
that the potential recovery is many times the amount
negotiated by the class representatives.

Petitioners fail to understand that the difference in
merit pay, while statistically significant, involves a frac-
tion of a percentage point. Further, while promotions
are individually worth much more than merit pay
increases, they are, relatively speaking, rare events. Peti-
tioners have not contested these assertions. However.
althougi: they apparently accept the analysis as reason-
able, they continue to assert that trial would neces-
sarily result in a recovery to the class, which make the
amounts obtained through the consent judgment inade-
quate. This is unexplainable.

Dr. Michael Thomson's estimates of the potential
recovery to the class, should respondents prevail on lia-
bility, indicated that the amounts negotiated for the
_class was a substantial percentage of the estimated
potential recovery as described above.

Merit increases are generally in the range of four to
six percent for all employees. A difference of .002 or two
tenths of one percent in the merit increases of black
and white employees would be highly significant. How-
ever, this difference would amount to a difference of
only $70.00 in anual salary, based on an annual salary
of $35,000.00.

The impact of being passed over for promotions is
obviously much greater. Respondents’ studies showed
that promotions would, on average, increase an em-
ployee’s salary between $2,000 and $3,000 (depending
on the year in which the promotion occurred). However,
promotions were rare events. In any year, excluding
automatic, nondiscretionary promotions, less than ten
percent of the employees would be promoted. A differ-

20

ence of two percent in promotion rates would be highly
significant. However this »vould result in a shortfall of
only approximately. 150: promotions which should go to
black employees.

In additiom to overestimating the potential recovery
at trial, appellants have also understated the actual
recovery in the consent decree, by ignoring or mis-
stating two other important facis.

First, with regard to the ex-employees, although there
are approximately 2,800 former employees, only a small
minority were present for the entire period covered by
the lawsuit. In fact, there were less than 5,000 years of
service for this subgroup, an average of less than 1.8
years. Thus, although the average recovery is $571.00
(see, Appellant's Brief on Appeal [to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, by Godfrey J.
Dillard], 3), this equals an average loss of $317.00 per
year.

This represents a difference in the rate of salary
growth, on average, of approximately .0075 percent
(*%4 of one percent) per year. In other words, if white
salaries increased an average of six percent per year
during this period and black salaries increased at a rate
of 5.25% per year, then 2,800 employees with an average
tenure of 1.8 years would lose approximately $1.6 mil-
lion. (This amount is an overall increase, which includes
both promotion and merit increases.) In only one year
did the difference in rate of growth, when controlled for
differences in education, age, and tenure, exceed one
percent and in that year the figure was 1.16%.

The second fact that petitioners overlooked is the
cumulative effect of the amount negotiated for the
incumbent class. The average incumbent award is
$1,000, a total of $1,000,000 for this subclass. However

21

this amount is added to their base salaries. A conserva-
tive estimate of the value of this fund is $10,000,000.
(This excludes the effect on future percentage increases
and on pensions.) As a result, the total monetary
recovery is more than fifty percent of the total expo-
sure estimated as explained above.

This award will be distributed to the fourteen percent
of the class whose salaries are furthest from what
would be predicted, based on the employees’ education,
age, tenure and company experience. The decision to
distribute this fund in this manner was based on the
Statistical analysis which indicated that the discrimina-
tion uncovered did not affect all black employees and
was primarily due to the nonpromotion of blacks at cer-
tain pay levels. Petitioners have not challenged either
the concept that the consent judgment should attempt
to identify the most probable victims of discrimination,
nor the method chosen to accomplish this goal.

In short, the total amount negotiated on behalf of the
class is a substantial percentage of the total estimated
recovery. The method of distributing these amounts has
not been challenged by petitioners and is eminently fair
and reasonable.

Monitering

Petitioners’ other argument is that the affirmative
relief is also inadequate. This argument appears to be
made, because the trial court pointed to the monitoring
or affirmative relief as the central justification for his
approval of the consent decree. In the appellate court
below, the two group of appellants (one of whom is now
“petitioners”) did not agree on the purported inade-
quacy of the affirmative relief. One group of appellants
below (not petitioners) argued that it is inadequate,
because it doesn't contain a specific performance evalu-
ation scheme to replace the objectionable procedure.

22

This group did not contest the effectiveness of the
group monitoring plan in terms of the “bottom line.”

Petitioners apparently complain that the group moni-
toring is per se inadequate, because it is allegedly sim-
ilar to the plan agreed to by the defendant and the
Office of Federal Contract Compliance (OFCC). They
argue that since the OFCC plan did not prevent discrim-
ination, the group monitoring scheme cannot be ex-
pected to do so. (Hawkins Brief on Appeal [to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit], 45;
Petition for a Writ, 29) Petitioners also complain that
the consent decree is inadequate, because it does not
guarantee that defendant's “utilization” of minorities will
“approximate minorities in the community.” (Hawkins
Brief on Appeal [to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit], 46; Petition for a Writ, 29-30)

Those appellants below (not petitioners herein) were
correct that the group monitoring plan cannot identify
individual cases of disparate treatment, and that a bal-
anced “bottom line” could easily include several cases
of individual discrimination. However, the individual
monitoring provision, ignored by appellants, addresses
this problem in a realistic and forceful manner. Further,
class members retain their right to sue for future indi-
vidual acts of discrimination.

Respondents’ experts, the statistical analysis, and the
anecdotal testimony all support the conclusion that the
main problem with defendant's evaluation system was
not its design, but the ability of supervisors to exercise
conscious and unconscious bias. The affirmative relief
addresses this problem in three ways: first, the indi-
vidual monitoring system will provide a means to iden-
tify individual examples of bias; second, the group
monitoring sanctions provide powerful incentives to
defendant to identify and correct recurring problems

23

stemming from supervisory bias; and, third, the class
members retain their right to bring individual suits for
discrimination in pay or promotion.

In fact, the individual monitoring section is a substan-
tial change in the performance evaluation system. More
importantly however, the group monitoring proposal is
not only innovative but is a real breakthrough in the
area of affirmative action. The system, by using com-
puters and multiple regression analysis, allows the par-
ties to agree on the commonly accepted “predictors” of
success for large groups. Almost all experts, whether
testifying for employees or employers or writing aca-
demic articles, agree that in large groups of employees,
education, company experience, and prior work experi-
ence, are legitimate indicators of success within the
company. The consent decree recognizes that the
rewards for black and white employees should relate to
these factors. And, in the event the performance evalua-
tion system and the subsequent decisions regarding pay
and promotion do not bear a statistically predictable
correlation to those factors, the decisions are suspect
and should be adjusted to correct the statistical imbal-
ance. One cannot perceive of a more forceful induce-
ment for defendant to increase its training and its own
monitoring of the performance evaluation system, to
insure that minorities are treated fairly.

Petitioners’ complaint that the OFCC plan is substan-
tially similar to the affirmative relief in the instant case
is simply not true. The OFCC plan is based on multi-
level job groups. In other words it evaluates the rate at
which black and white employees are promoted to and
from certain job groups. It does not address the proba-
bility that black or white employees will be in such job
groups to begin with. Nor does it identify the problem
of blacks being concentrated at the bottom levels of

24

each group. Further, to assume that this settlement will
fail in achieving its objectives, because the OFCC may
have failed in achieving similar objectives is not sup-
ported by evidence or logic.

Petitioners’ argument that the consent judgment is
inadequate because it doesn't guarantee that defen-
dant’s utilization of minorities will not approximate
minorities in the community simply reflects an igno-
rance of the legal standards applicable to this case. See
Wards Cove.

ISSUE Il

THE COURT OF APPEALS ACTED WITHIN ITS DISCRETION
WITH REGARD TO ALLOWING ORAL ARGUMENT AND
WITH REGARD TO THE COURT'S CONSIDERATION OF MAT-
TERS OUTSIDE OF THE TRIAL COURT RECORD.

In view of petitioners’ cursory treatment of this issue,
respondents will be brief.

Petitioners baldly assert that they were denied due
process of law, because the United States Court of
Appeals for the Sixth Circuit denied oral argument.
Respondents are perplexed by this assertion, inasmuch
as there was oral argument on January 22, 1991. More-
over, petitioners cite no authority for the proposition
that there is a constitutional right to oral argument;
respondents know of no such authority.

Petitioners also baldly assert that they were denied
due process of law before the United States Court of
Appeals for the Sixth Circuit due to the “denial of ...
documentation (National Reporting System-—NRS) which
would support Petitioner's and Objectors position.” It
appears that petitioners are contending that the court
below failed to permit them to enlarge the record.
Again, petitioners cite no authority for the proposition

25

that there is a constitutional right to enlarge the record
upon appeal and require the appellate court to consider
matters not raised in the trial court; respondents know
of no such authority.

Moreover, petitioners uid present argument to the
court below with regard to the agreement between Gen-
era! Motors Corporation and the Office of Federal Con-
tracts Compliance Programs. (Plaintiffs/Appellants’ Brief
(to the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Cir-
cuit, 45) Further, respondents answered petitioners
argument on this subject. (Plaintiffs-Appellees’ Brief on
Appeal! [to the United States Court of Appeals for the
Sixth Circuit], 41-43) Thus, the Court of Appeals below
was presented with substantial information regarding
the OFCC plan, notwithstanding that petitioners injected
this information into this case for the first time at the
appellate level.

Accordingly, respondents respectfully submit that
petitioners have failed to demionstrate that the United
States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit acted so as
to deny petitioners of due process of law; the petition
for certiorari should be denied.

ce 2 fe

26
RELIEF

WHEREFORE, respondents herein, DENNIS HAZEN
HUGULEY et al., by and through their attorneys LOPATIN,
MILLER, FREEDMAN, BLUESTONE, ERLICH, ROSEN &
BARTNICK, and their attorneys REOSTI & HAYES, respect-
fully pray that this Honorable Court deny petitioners
Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, together with costs and
attorneys fees.

- Respectfully submitted,

LOPATIN, MILLER, FREEDMAN, BLUESTONE,
ERLICH, ROSEN AND BARTNICK

By: /s/ DENNIS D. JAMES (P 15247)
Counsel of Record
/s/ RICHARD E. SHAW (P33521)
Attorneys for Respondents
1301 East Jefferson
Detroit, Michigan 48207
(313) 259-7800

REOSTI & HAYES

By: /s/ RONALD J. REOSTI (P 19368)
Co-Counsel for Respondents

925 Ford Building

Detroit, Michigan 48226

(313) 962-2770

DATE: September 10, 1991

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2586%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
