# Opposition Brief — Western Palm Beach County Farm Bureau, Inc. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2491%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 502 U.S. 953

## Text

|F

—

No. 91-212 |; OCT S WR
T tarie. OF. The!

<<

Gn the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

WESTERN PALM BEACH COUNTY FARM BUREAU, ING.,
ET AL., PETITIONERS

OF

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

KENNETH W. STARR

Solicitor General
BARRY M. HARTMAN

Acting Assistant Attorney General
ELLEN J. DURKEE

Attorney

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 514-2217

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether, in an interlocutory appeal from the dis-
trict court’s denial of petitioners’ motion to inter-
vene, the court of appeals erred by declining to rule
on petitioners’ contention, raised for the first time in
a filing made after the court of appeals issued its
opinion in this case, that this suit was barred on
sovereign immunity grounds.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
i HT I ee 1
cs ceesinandncasmcasnnioceborves 1
a ccaeususonepneaiivecmnisnawauseinn 2
RE tC 3
a _coisiaucidueimonebeneonnts 18
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Akerman v. Oryx Communications, Inc., 810 F.2d
siecle 11
Atascadero State Hospital v. Scanlon, 473 U.S. 234
a ea 15
Bender v. Williamsport Area School District, 475
SS 12
Blatchford v. Native Village, 111 S. Ct. 2578
a SE ee eT 16
Clearfield Trust Co. v. United States, 318 U.S. 368
Ee ee 17

Colorado v. Idarado Mining Co., 916 F.2d 1486
(10th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 1584
ESSE EES ES 11
Delaware Valley Citizens’ Council for Clean Air
v. Pennsylvania, 678 F.2d 470 (3d Cir.), cert.

denied, 459 U.S. 969 (1982) ..........00000 14
Diamond vy. Charles, 476 U.S. 54 (1986) —.....0000... 14
Eisenstadt Vv. Baird, 405 U.S. 488 (1972) ........ 13

Employees of the Dep’t of Public Health & Welfare
v. Dep’t of Public Health & Welfare, 411 US.

SEE ee 15
Gregory V. Ashcroft, 111 S. Ct. 2395 (1991) —........ 16
Hodel Vv. Irving, 481 U.S. 704 (1987) 0000. 13
Howard V. Parisian, Inc., 807 F.2d 1560 (11th Cir.

EER ce 11
Juidice Vv. Vail, 480 U.S. 327 (1977) ....................... 12
Lewis v. Continental Bank Corp., 494 U.S. 472

a 12

Cases—Continued : Page
Loftin Cotton v. United States, 52 U.S. 228

ESCORTED WIRY SPRY Kee ON I PRES RIESE OS aD 17
McGowan V. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420 (1961) .......... 13
Monaco V. Mississippi, 292 U.S. 313 (1934) .......... 15
Nevada V. Hall, 440 U.S. 410 (1979) —....0002202... 15
Pennhurst State School & Hospital vy. Halderman,

Or a ie 15
Pennsylvania v. Union Gas Co., 491 U.S. 1 (1989).. 16
People of Illinois ex rel. Hartigan v. Peters, 861

re ee I Cs SI eencniacecdnceevdeaeeseventtwnseanenien 11
Priebe & Sons, Inc. v. United States, 332 U.S. 407

I i is aaa ho nce ceca taka tephak aneieinmcmleaions 17
Stringfellow vy. Concerned Neighbors in Action,

a ee EE cette ienecke dienes 10
United States v. California, 655 F.2d 914 (9th Cir.

I isetiic tise satncecticcapneeaetanbcammbimia tan tccein. 17
United States v. California, 328 F.2d 729 (9th

Cir.), cert. denied, 379 U.S. 817 (1964) ......... 17
United States v. Puerto Rico, 551 F. Supp. 864

(D. P.R.), aff’d, 721 F.2d 832 (1st Cir. 1983) .... 18
United States v. Minnesota, 270 U.S. 181 (1926)... 15
United States v. Mississippi, 380 U.S. 128 (1965).. 15
United States v. Raines, 362 U.S. 17 (1960) _........ 13

United States v. West Virginia, 537 F. Supp. 388
(S.D. W. Va.), aff’d, 764 F.2d 1028 (4th Cir.
1985), aff’d, 479 U.S. 305 (1987) ................00000.... 18
United States for and on behalf of Santa Ana
Indian Pueblo v. University of New Mezxico, 731
F.2d 703 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 853

RR ed Ds Shee 17
Weiser v. Wright, 505 F.2d 912 (5th Cir.), cert.

Gentes, i U.S. 968 (1976) ............................... 7
Welch v. Texas Dep’t of Highways & Public

Transportation, 483 U.S. 468 (1987) .........0...... 16
West Virginia v. United States, 479 U.S. 305

RS SRRRRRE ARERR hee ATS Eee Ss 16,17
Will v. Michigan Dep’t of State Police, 491 U.S.

SE. IID icisducscnntctcdsatulcadnceiicabadiiesatieneddiécechatncabbbiues 16

Vv

Constitution, statutes and rules: Page
U.S. Const. :
FEE OO rc a eee er Ceres nS 8,9, 12,15
RR RRs Bere Pe 8, 12, 18, 14, 15, 17
Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1251 et seq. ........000000...... 8
ST la ee 2
| EERE EON te ee 10
RENEE aaa Pani tela car eR. SR 14, 17
Fla. Stat. Ann. (West 1988 & Supp. 1991) :
ie BE eteceesentess DALIT GLE Dae ee Rid I No RE os Te 4
chien le ae Pel AN eet ect Serres ee Tet 4
SEE ITE Rea Cd ee ea 4
EE ee ean 3
§ 373.4592 _......... SRE BORA Sen BALES 4
Ff ) SRG eumecoern tne 3
| aa ate tec sercchpctteetenesnccqncen See 4-5
5 SERN TIPE eee mein Reet 8 And 4,13
| ch. 823:
| RSE ee MIRNA, Lee 7
| Fed. R. App.:
| IED... ss on sucdraacadbdaciecaseeonetanennsesenen 9
| CRE RRA RRC Ie EAE on Berke, 2255 9
| IN i ssl, occ antio earns peanep nde eaeieaoienaseneolmemneraades 10
Fed. R. Civ.:
RE IES SLE SE Reet eR NEAE NCCT. 6
III ys sciscicsixeconizcceneivcicens Mleasltny eeclnsalenbe aaa aalaancieteiiiae 6, 7
F.A.C.:
ch. 17-3:
ee cca 4
ote ameenee 3
Oe, | ee tales daeheeaianieeeceaaaadaaamaas 5
hy LER 1S 7 See eee nen ee 4
Miscellaneous:
H.R. Rep. No. 1455, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. (1970)... 2
, ” SS

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

No. 91-212

WESTERN PALM BEACH COUNTY FARM BUREAU, INC.,
ET AL., PETITIONERS

Ge

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the court of apneals (Pet. App.
A1-A20) is reported at 922 F.2d 704. The order of
the court of appeals denying petitioners’ “Suggestion
and Motion as to Lack of Jurisdiction” (Pet. App.
A24-A25) is not reported. The district court orders
denying petitioners’ motions for intervention are not
reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on March 22, 1991. A petition for rehearing was
denied on May 7, 1991 (Pet. App. A30). The peti-
tion for a writ of certiorari was filed on August 5,
1991. ‘The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked un-
der 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

2

STATEMENT

This case arises from an action brought by the
federal government to require agencies of the State
of Florida to take certain steps to end pollution in
the Arthur R. Marshall Loxahatchee Wildlife Refuge
and the Everglades National Park.

1. The Loxahatchee Wildlife Refuge is a federal
wildlife sanctuary managed by the U.S. Fish and Wild-
life Service, an agency of the Department of the Inte-
rior. Most of the refuge land is leased under a long-
term lease signed on June 8, 1951, from the South Flor-
ida Water Management District (SFWMD), a state
instrumentality that is one of the defendants in this
case. Pet. App. A49-A50, A63-A72.

The Everglades National Park is federally owned
and administered by the National Park Service, an
agency of the Department of the Interior. In 1934
Congress authorized the establishment of the Park
and provided that it be permanently reserved as
wilderness in which no activity may be undertaken
that would interfere with preservation of the native
flora and fauna and primitive natural conditions.
16 U.S.C. 410(c). A 1970 congressional report de-
scribed the Park as the “largest and most important
subtropical wilderness in North America” that ‘con-
tains perhaps the most fragile and unique plant and
animal communities in the national park system.”
H.R. Rep. No. 1455, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. 2-3 (1970).
The Report recognized that the Park’s ecosystem is
dependent on, and sensitive to, the water quantity
and quality flowing into the park. Jbid.

2. On October 11, 1988, the United States brought
this action against two Florida state agencies, the
Florida Department of Environmental Regulation
(DER) and the SFWMD, and against two state offi-

3

cials in their official capacity, the Secretary of DER
and the Executive Director of SFWMD. Pet. App.
A34-A37. An amended complaint, filed on December
23, 1988, was the basis for the court of appeals’ de-
cision.’ Pet. App. A4 n.1. The complaint alleges that
the hallmark characteristic of the Everglades aquatic
ecosystem is the need for nutrient-lean conditions,
and that aquatic life and vegetation, which are essen-
tial to preservation of the ecosystems in the Refuge
and Park, are being destroyed because the state de-
fendants, in violation of state law and of contracts
with the federal government, have diverted nutrient-
polluted agricultural water into, or toward, the frag-
ile Everglades ecosystems in the Park and Refuge.
Pet. App. A36-A41.

The complaint contains four counts. Count 1 (Pet.
App. A42-A45) alleges that existing state water
quality standards are being violated.* Count 1 fur-

1The United States later filed a second amended complaint.
This brief will refer to the first amended complaint, on which
the court of appeals based its decision. In any event, the
changes made in the second amended complaint are not mate-
rial to the issues presented in this petition.

2 Water quality standards applicable to the Park and Refuge
include numeric and narrative Class III water quality stand-
ards, which were promulgated in 1972, F.A.C. 17-3.121, and
an antidegradation standard based on designation of the Park
and Refuge as “Outstanding Florida Waters” (see note 4,
infra). In addition, the Surface Waters Improvement and
Management Act of 1987 (“SWIM Act’), Fla. Stat. Ann.
$$ 373.451-373.456 (West 1988 & Supp. 1991), provided that
SFWMD shall not divert waters to the Park in such a way
that state water quality standards would be violated or nu-
trients in diverted waters would adversely affect native vege-
tative communities or wildlife. Fla. Stat. § 373.4595(2) (a)1
(West 1988) ; Pet. App. A43.

Although four years have passed since the SWIM Act was
enacted, the state defendants have not yet produced an ap-

4

ther alleges that both DER and SFWMD have the
power and responsibility under Fla. Stat. chapters
373 and 403, to enforce state water quality stand-
ards, including the power to issue and enforce per-
mits to ensure that waters are protected in accord-
ance with state regulations.*

Count 2 (Pet. App. A45-A47) alleges that DER’s
failure to require permits for the structures oper-
ated by the SFWMD, and SFWMD’s operation of
unpermitted structures, violates state law.* See Fla.

proved, final SWIM plan. The SWIM Act was supplemented
by the Florida Legislature’s recent enactment of the Marjory
Stoneman Douglas Everglades Protection Act, Fla. Stat.
Ann. § 373.4592 (West Supp. 1991), which became effective
on July 1, 1991 and, among other things, sets more specific
requirements for the Plan and sets schedules for completion
of and compliance with the Plan.

On July 26, 1991, the United States and the state defend-
ants executed a settlement agreement resolving all of their
respective claims in this case, and a motion for approval of
the agreement is presently pending before the district court.
The settlement agreement between the state defendants and
United States requires completion of the SWIM Plan on a
schedule consistent with the 1991 Act.

3 Florida Stat. Ann. § 403.412 (West 1988 & Supp. 1991)
provides that a governmental agency charged with the duty of
enforcing the laws, rules, and regulations for the protection
of water and other natural resources may be compelled to en-
force such laws, rules, and regulations in an action for in-
junctive relief. The DER has supervisory authority over five
regional water management districts, including the SFWMD,
id. § 373.026, but delegates much of its power to those dis-
tricts. Id. § 373.069.

4In 1979 the State designated the Park and Refugee as
“Outstanding Florida Waters.” As a result, Florida law pro-
hibits the lowering of the ambient water quality below the
quality that existed prior to 1979. F.A.C. 17-3.041, 17-4.242
(1) (a)2.d. Notwithstanding the establishment of this water
quality standard, commencing in 1979 the state defendants

5

Stat. Ann. ch. 403 (West 1988) and F.A.C. ch. 17-4.
The second count also alleges that SFWD’s delivery of
contaminated water to the Park and Refuge through
unpermitted structures constitutes a nuisance for
which relief may be granted.

Count 3 alleges breach of a 1984 contract between
the SFWMD, the National Park Service, and the
United States Army Corps of Engineers. Pet. App.
A47-A49, A54-A62. In the contract, SFWMD prom-
ised that water it sends to Everglades National Park
would meet certain minimum, numerical water qual-
ity standards. Pet. App. A54, A58-A59. The con-
tract also requires SFWMD to comply with state or
federal quality criteria that are more stringent than
the enumerated minimum levels. Pet. App. A54-A55.
Finally, it requires SFWMD to take legal action
where necessary to restore or protect the quality of
water entering the Park. Pet. App. A55.

Count 4 is another contract claim, based on the
lease agreement between SFWMD and the United
States for use of state-owned land as a federal wild-
life refuge. Pet. App. A49-A50, A63-A64. The con-
tract provides that the Refuge shall be used in a
manner consistent with wildlife management. Pet.
App. A49-A50. The complaint alleges that SFWMD
has breached the contract by diverting nutrient-
polluted water, which is degrading the habitat neces-
sary for conservation of wildlife, fish and game. Pet.
App. A50.

began diverting more contaminated water directly into the
Refuge and toward the Park. Pet. App. A40. The court of
appeals viewed the allegation that state defendants have
violated the water quality standards applicable to “Outstand-
ing Florida Waters” as part of Count 2, a claim as to which
petitioners were not allowed to intervene. Pet. App. A8.

6

The complaint seeks injunctive relief to compel the
state defendants to regulate the quality of water
flowing onto federal property to the extent mandated
by state law. It also seeks to compel performance of
the contractual obligations alleged in Counts 3 and 4.
Pet. App. A50-A51.

4. On December 16, 1988, petitioners and other
parties, known collectively as ‘Farm Interests,” °
filed a motion to intervene as of right under Federal
Civil Procedure Rule 24(a) or, in the alternative, to
be granted permissive intervention under Rule 24(b).
Farm Interests consisted of individual farms and or-
ganizations whose members farm in an area known
as the Everglades Agricultural Area. The district
court denied the motion to intervene by order entered
on July 27, 1989. Farm Interests filed a notice of ap-
peal from the order -denying them intervention on
September 25, 1989. On the same day, Farm Inter-
ests filed a renewed motion for intervention in the
district court, which the court denied on December 1,
1989. Farm Interests filed another notice of appeal
from this second denial of intervention. The two ap-
peals were consolidated.

The only issue addressed in the appellate briefs and
at oral argument was whether Farm Interests should
be allowed to_intervene in the case. In an opinion is-
sued January 28, 1991, a divided panel of the Elev-
enth Circuit first held that-it had jurisdiction over
this interlocutory appeal, relying on what it termed
the “anomalous rule” of the Eleventh Circuit that a
court of appeals has jurisdiction over an interlocu-

5 The other parties were Florida Fruit and Vegetable
Growers Association, Florida Sugar Cane League, Inc., and
Beardsley Farms, Inc.

7

tory appeal of a district court order denying interven-
tion only if the district court order is incorrect. Pet.
App. A4-A5 (citing Weiser v. White, 505 F.2d 912,
916 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 421 U.S. 993 (1975) ).
The court proceeded to reverse the district court in
part, holding that Farm Interests had a limited right
to intervene as to Count 1 with regard to the setting
of numeric limits implementing state narrative water
quality standards. Pet. App. A7-Al14. Judge Hatch-
ett filed a dissenting opinion stating that he would
affirm the district court’s denial of intervention in
full. Pet. App. A19-A20.°

On February 19, 1991, Farm Interests filed a peti-
tion for rehearing as to that portion of the decision
denying intervention of right as to Counts 2, 3, and
4. Farm Interests simultaneously filed a pleading
styled “Suggestion and Motion as to Lack of Federal
Jurisdiction,” in which they asserted, based on a va-
riety of arguments, that the district court proceed-
ings should be dismissed. (Pet. App. A24) Among
the contentions advanced by Farm Interests in this
pleading were that the United States had no standing
under state law to assert Counts 1 and 2, that the
nuisance claim was barred by the Florida Right to
Farm Act, Fla. Stat. Ann. § 823.14 (West Supp.

® The court of appeals unanimously held that Farm Inter-
ests had no right to intervene on the other three claims in the
United States’ amended complaint. Pet. App. Al4-A17. The
district court’s denial of permissive intervention under Fed.
R. Civ. P. 24(b) was also unanimously affirmed. Pet. App.
A18. The court of appeals emphasized that the district court
retained discretion to condition Farm Interests’ participation
on Count 1 to such terms as would be consistent with the fair,
prompt conduct of the litigation, or to order separate trial
and discovery of one or more of the counts. Pet. App. Al4,
Al17.

8

1991), and federal Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1251
et seq., and that constitutional principles of comity,
federalism, and state sovereign immunity embodied
in Article III and the Tenth and Eleventh Amend-
ments of the Constitution, required dismissal of all
counts, including those counts as to which they had
not been granted a right to intervene.

By order dated March 22, 1991, the Eleventh Cir-
cuit panel declined to consider the Farm Interests’
“Suggestion and Motion as to Lack of Jurisdiction.”
Pet. App. A24-A25. The Court explained that, al-
though “the Farm Interests may intervene in this
case to protect their right to participate in the devel-
opment of numeric limits implementing the state’s
narrative water quality standards * * *, [t]he juris-
dictional issues that the Farm Interests raise in their
motion are only indirectly related to the protection of
this right.” Pet. App. A24-A25. The court noted that
“the Farm Interests are adequately represented on
the jurisdictional issues by defendants South Florida
Water District and Florida Department of Environ-
mental Regulation, which have already raised many
of these issues with the District Court.” Pet. App.
A25. Finally, the court held that, “even if the Farm
Interests were proper parties to raise the jurisdic-
tional issues in their motion, it would be procedurally
inappropriate for us to extend our limited appellate
review under the anomalous rule to decide issues not
raised in the parties’ briefs or in this Court’s pub-
lished opinion.” Jbid. The court noted, however, that
“(t]he Farm Interests may still seek to present their
jurisdictional motion to the District Court.” Jbid.

9

ARGUMENT

Petitioners do not seek further review of the Elev-
enth Circuit’s decision respecting the scope of their
right to intervene. Rather, petitioners argue that the
court of appeals erred in failing to consider their post-
decision motion to dismiss all four counts in the com-
plaint for lack of jurisdiction.

Contrary to petitioners’ contention, no decision of
this Court or any other court of appeals holds that a
court of appeals has an obligation to ruie on a post-
decision motion raising jurisdictional issues that ex-
ceed both the scope of the moving party’s right to
participate as an intervenor and the scope of an in-
terlocutory appeal. Moreover, even if the court of
appeals had an obligation to rule on petitioners’ mo-
tion, petitioners’ substantive contentions that the dis-
trict court has no jurisdiction over this case are mis-
taken; settled precedent makes clear that a State has
no Eleventh Amendment immunity from suit in fed-
eral court where jurisdiction is based on the presence
of the United States as plaintiff.

1. Further review in this case is unwarranted be-
cause the court of appeals acted appropriately in re-
fusing to rule on issues that were “not raised in the
parties’ briefs or in [the court of appeals’] published
opinion” (Pet. App. A25), but instead were raised
for the first time in petitioners’ post-decision motion.
The Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure provided
ample opportunity for petitioners to submit a timely
brief advancing “the contentions of [petitioners]
with respect to the issues presented, and the reasons
therefor.” Fed. R. App. P. 28(a)(4). In addition,
they were permitted to file a reply brief pursuant to
Fed. R. App. P. 28(c) and to participate in oral

10

argument pursuant to Fed. R. App. P. 34. Petitioners
chose not to use any of those mechanisms to present
their jurisdictional arguments to the court of appeals.
Petitioners advance no authority in support of the
novel proposition that the court of appeals was re-
quired to ignore rules adopted for the orderly dis-
position of appeals and rule on their untimely argu-
ments.

2. Even had petitioners chosen to advance their
arguments in an orderly and timely manner before
the court of appeals, the court of appeals would have
acted correctly in refusing to exercise its pendent
appellate jurisdiction to rule on petitioners’ argu-
ments.’ Under the final judgment rule, the courts of
appeals “have jurisdiction of appeals from all final
decisions of the district courts.”’ 28 U.S.C. 1291 (em-
phasis added). Thus, a district court’s rulings on
preliminary issues—including jurisdictional issues of
the sort raised by petitioners—are not appealable
until final judgment is reached. The fact that the
court of appeals may have properly exercised its jur-
isdiction to review the limited issue of the district
court’s denial of Farm Interests’ initial motion to in-
tervene, cf. Stringfellow v. Concerned Neighbors in
Action, 480 U.S. 370, 376-377 (1987), does not alter
the fact that other rulings of the district court, in-
cluding its determination that it had jurisdiction over
this case, were not yet appealable. Thus, as petition-
ers themselves recognized in their motion to the Elev-
enth Circuit, see Mot. 3 n.2, consideration of their

7 Indeed, petitioners apparently contend that the court of
appeals was required to rule on their motion to dismiss not
only with regard to Count 1, as to which the court of appeals
granted them a limited right of intervention, but also as to
Counts 2, 3, and 4, as to which they are not parties.

11

motion to dismiss the case for lack of jurisdiction
was, at best, dependent on the court of appeals’ choos-
ing, in its discretion, to exercise pendent appellate
jurisdiction over otherwise nonappealable jurisdic-
tional issues in conjunction with review of the appeal-
able intervention issue.

This was not an appropriate case for the exercise
of pendent appellate jurisdiction. Because pendent
appellate jurisdiction provides an exception to the
finality requirement for appellate review, it has been
exercised by the courts of appeals only in extraordi-
nary circumstances. See Akerman v. Oryx Communi-
cations, Inc., 810 F.2d 336, 339 (2d Cir. 1987). The
factors that have informed the courts of appeals’
exercise of discretion to assume pendent appellate
jurisdiction overwhelmingly counsel against exercise
of such jurisdiction in this instance. For example,
there was no overlap of appealable and nonappealable
issues in this case. See, e.g., Howard v. Parisian, Inc.,
807 F.2d 1560, 1565 (11th Cir. 1987) ; People of Illinois
ex rel. Hartigan v. Peters, 861 F.2d 164, 166 (7th
Cir. 1988). In addition, the record on appeal was
insufficient to decide the jurisdictional issues, as illus-
trated by the fact that Farm Interests based its mo-
tion in part on an appendix to its motion papers con-
taining materials that were not in the record on ap-
peal and some of which were not in the district court
record. See Colorado v. Idarado Mining Co., 916 F.2d
1486, 1491 (10th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct.
1584 (1991). Finally, the court of appeals’ decision
not to rule on their motion leaves petitioners in pre-
cisely the same position they would have occupied had
the district court permitted them to intervene in the
first instance. Had the district court done so, they
would have had no right to appeal an adverse district

12

court decision—even on a jurisdictional issue—until
the district court issued a final judgment in the case.

Contrary to petitioners’ contention (Pet. 12-13),
the Eleventh Circuit’s treatment of Farm Interests’
motion is not inconsistent with this Court’s state-
ments that a court is obliged to examine the standing
of parties to determine if Article III jurisdiction
exists. See, e.g., Lewis v. Continental Bank Corp.,
494 U.S. 472 (1990) (amendment to statute at issue
eliminated standing of appellee and rendered case
moot) ; Bender v. Williamsport Area School District,
475 U.S. 534, 541 (1986) (vacating court of appeals
decision because respondent had no standing to ap-
peal) ; Juidice v. Vail, 480 U.S. 327, 331 (1977) (al-
though not raised by the parties, “we are first obliged
to examine the standing of appellees’). None of the
cases cited by petitioners involved interlocutory ap-
peals on limited issues. Moreover, none of those cases
suggests, as petitioners would have it, that the rule
requiring a court to notice jurisdictional defects ob-
liges a court of appeals to disregard the final judg-
ment rule and to exercise pendent appellate jurisdic-
tion so as to rule prematurely on otherwise nonap-
pealable issues.

3. Wholly apart from the fact that exercise of
pendent appellate jurisdiction was inappropriate, pe-
titioners have no standing to assert the sovereign
immunity defenses they seek to raise. First, petition-
ers do not, and cannot, assert that they are entitled
to sovereign immunity under the Eleventh Amend-
ment or any other constitutional or statutory provi-
sion. Instead, petitioners seek to raise a sovereign
immunity defense that is available only te third par-
ties—the state defendants (who would be barred by
the final judgment rule from presenting the question

13

to the court of appeals at this time). See, e.g.,
McGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420, 429 (1961);
United States v. Raines, 362 U.S. 17, 22 (1960).
Moreover, their claims do not fall within any recog-
nized exception to the general rule against third-
party standing. See, e.g., Hodel v. Irving, 481 U.S.
704, 711-712 (1987); Hisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S.
438, 443-446 (1972). Finally, petitioners’ claim to
third-party standing is particularly weak because their
own right of intervention is narrow, limited only
to Count 1.*° As the court of appeals noted, the state
defendants “have already raised many of [petition-
ers’| issues with the district court” (Pet. App. A25)
and petitioners “are adequately represented on the
jurisdictional issues by the [state] defendants.” /bid.°

8 Petitioners do not seek review of the court of appeals’
determination that they are not entitled to intervene as to
Counts 2, 3, and 4.

* The state defendants filed motions in the district court to
dismiss this action on the following grounds: the United
States had not in Counts 1 and 2 pled a viable cause of action
under state law because the United States lacked standing to
invoke the Florida Environmental Protection Act, Fla. Stat.
Ann. § 403.412 (West 1988 & 1991), and because the subject
matter was committed to the state defendants’ discretionary
authority ; Counts 1 and 2 did not state causes of action under
state or federal law; the claims did not present justiciable is-
sues under Article III of the United States Constitution; the
United States had not exhausted administrative remedies;
the abstention doctrine required dismissal; the federal com-
mon law of nuisance, not state law, was applicable; and the
agreements that were the subject of Counts 3 and 4 were not
enforceable contracts under the governing federal law. The
district court rejected all of those contentions by order entered
January 12, 1990,

14

Petitioners accordingly have no standing to assert
the State’s sovereign immunity defenses.”°

4, Finally, petitioners’ substantive claim that the
district court was without jurisdiction is mistaken.
Article III, Section 2 of the Constitution provides
that “[t]he judicial Power shall extend * * * to Con-
troversies to which the United States shall be a
Party.” " In a long line of cases, this Court has held

10 Contrary to petitioners’ contention (Pet. 14), it is peti-
tioners’ position in this Court, not the United States’ claims
in district court, which is most comparable to Eugene
Diamond’s status in Diamond v. Charles, 476 U.S. 54 (1986).
In Diamond the petitioner, Eugene Diamond, was held to
lack standing to defend in this Court the constitutionality of
a state criminal statute. This Court concluded that only the
State had standing to defend the constitutionality of its
criminal statute. 476 U.S. at 64-67. The State acquiesced in
the court of appeals’ decision, however, and did not appeal to
this Court. 476 U.S. at 63-64. In the absence of an appellant
with standing on the issue presented, Diamond’s appeal was
dismissed for want of jurisdiction. 476 U.S. at 69, 71. Simi-
larly, here only the State or its agencies and officials have a
stake in protecting the State’s alleged immunity from suit in
federal court and such immunity, if it exists, is waivable by
the State. Thus, if, as petitioners claim (Pet. 13), the state
defendants acquiesced on appeal to federal jurisdiction, then
Ciamond would instruct that petitioners have no standing in
this Court to raise such issues. Cf. Delaware Valley Citizens’
Council for Clean Air v. Pennsylvania, 678 F.2d 470, 475
(3d Cir.), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 969 (1982) (entry of consent
judgment was a waiver of immunity to federal court juris-
diction).

11 Accordingly, 28 U.S.C. 1345 provides:

Except as otherwise provided by Act of Congress, the
district courts shall have original jurisdiction of all civil
actions, suits or proceedings commenced by the United
States, or by any agency or officer thereof expressly
authorized to sue by Act of Congress.

15

that there is no constitutional barrier to Article III
jurisdiction where the United States sues a State in
federal court. As the Court has stated,

[N ]othing in [the Eleventh Amendment] or any
other provision of the Constitution prevents or
has even been seriously supposed to prevent a
State’s being sued by the United States. The
United States in the past has in many cases been
allowed to file suits in this and other courts
against States, see, e.g., United States v. Texas,
143 U.S. 621; United States v. California, 297
U.S. 175, with or without specific authorization
from Congress, see United States v. California,
332 U.S. 19, 26-28.

United States v. Mississippi, 380 U.S. 128, 140 (1965).
See also Nevada v. Hall, 440 U.S. 410, 420 n.19
(1979); Employees of the Dep’t of Public Health &
Welfare v. Dep’t of Public Health & Welfare, 411
U.S. 279, 286 (1973); Monaco v. Mississippi, 292
U.S. 318, 329 (1934) (federal jurisdiction of a suit
by the United States against a State is inherent in
the constitutional plan); United States v. Minnesota,
270 U.S. 181, 195 (1926). -

Contrary to petitioners’ contention (Pet. 14-16),
neither Pennhurst State School & Hospital v. Halder-
man, 465 U.S. 89 (1984), nor Atascadero State Hos-
pital v. Scanlon, 473 U.S. 234 (1985), is to the con-
trary. The Court’s decisions in those cases were
based squarely on the Eleventh Amendment, which,
as the line of cases cited above has made clear, does
not apply to suits brought by the United States.
Moreover, the principle that Eleventh Amendment
immunity does not extend to suits brought by the
United States has been reiterated in cases decided
since Pennhurst and Atascadero. For example, in

16

Pennsylvania vy. Union Gas Co., 491 U.S. 1, 11
(1989), the Court stated:

[T]he Constitution presents no barrier to law-
suits brought by the United States against a
State. For purposes of such lawsuits, States are
naturally just like “any nongovernmental en-
tity”; there are no special rules dictating when
they may be sued by the Federal Government,
nor is there a stringent interpretive principle
guiding construction of statutes that appear to
authorize such suits. Indeed, this Court has gone
so far as to hold that no explicit statutory au-
thorization is necessary before the Federal Gov-
ernment may sue a State.

As recently as last Term, in Blatchford v. Native
Village, 111 S. Ct. 2578, 2582 (1991), this Court
reaffirmed the principle that States waived their im-
munity against suits by the United States when they
adopted the Constitution. See also Welch vy. Texas
Dep't of Highways & Public Transportation, 483
U.S. 468, 487 (1987); West Virginia v. United
States, 479 U.S. 305, 311 (1987).

Petitioners’ reliance (Pet. 15) on Will v. Michigan
Dep’t of State Police, 491 U.S. 58 (1989), and
Gregory v. Ashcroft, 111 S.Ct. 2395 (1991), is also
in error. Both of those cases involved the question
whether, as a matter of substantive law, federal
statutes applied to the conduct at issue. No compar-
able question is presented by petitioners here.
Rather, petitioners’ argument is that state-law claims
by the United States may be brought only in state
court because no-state or federal statute clearly pro-
vides that such state-law claims may also be brought
in federal court. As we have shown, that argument
is squarely foreclosed by this Court’s decisions.

17

Finally, contrary to petitioners’ suggestion (Pet.
14-15), Article III’s grant of jurisdiction to the fed-
eral courts in suits in which the United States is a
party is not limited to cases brought under federal
law.” Article III jurisdictional requirements are sat-
isfied by the mere presence of the United States al-
leging a justiciable controversy. The United States
may bring state law claims, as well as federal law
claims, in federal court under the jurisdiction con-
ferred by Article III and 28 U.S.C. 1345."

12 Petitioners err in their apparent assumption (Pet. 16)
that all of the United States’ claims are solely state law claims.
As to the two contract claims, the right of the United States
to seek redress for breach of duly authorized contractual trans-
actions is a federal right, even though the applicable federal
rule may select state law or general contract law principles.
See, e.9., West Virginia Vv. United States, 479 U.S. 305, 308-309
(1987) ; Priebe & Sons, Inc. v. United States, 332 U.S. 407,
411 (1947); Clearfield Trust Co. v. United States, 318 U.S.
368, 366-367 (1943).

13 See, e.g., Loftin Cotton v. United States, 52 U.S. 228, 231
(1850) (upholding United States’ right to bring a civil action
in federal court for trespass under state law against a person
for cutting trees on public lands; the United States “‘may
bring suits to enforce their contracts and protect their prop-
erty, in the State courts, or in their own tribunals administer-
ing the same laws’); United States v. California, 655 F.2d
914, 918 (9th Cir. 1980) (the “federal government, of course
may sue a state in federal court under any valid cause of
action, state or federal’’) ; United States for and on behalf of
Santa Ana Indian Pueblo v. University of New Mevrico, 731
F.2d 703, 705 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 853 (1984)
(Constitution provided State no immunity from suit in federal
court in action by United States for ejectment and trespass
damages); United States v. California, 328 F.2d 729 (9th
Cir.), cert. denied, 379 U.S. 817 (1964) (Constitution grants
jurisdiction over civil actions brought by the United States
against a State without specific consent regardless of the na-

18

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted.

KENNETH W. STARR
Solicitor General

BARRY M. HARTMAN
Acting Assistant Attorney General

ELLEN J. DURKEE
Attorney

OCTOBER 1991

ture of the controversy) ; United States v. West Virginia, 537
F. Supp. 388 (S.D. W. Va.), aff’d on other grounds, 764 F.2d
1028 (4th Cir. 1985), aff’d, 479 U.S. 305 (1987) (holding that
in contract action brought by United States, State had no
constitutionally protected immunity from suit in federal
court). Cf. United States v. Puerto Rico, 551 F. Supp. 864,
865 (D. P.R.), aff’d, 721 F.2d 832, 833 (1st Cir. 1983) (the
United States can invoke federal jurisdiction to challenge the
Coiimonwealth’s decision on a water quality permit; the
United States is not required to seek redress in Common-
wealth’s administrative or judicial forums).

Ww U. S. GOVERNMENT PRIMTING OFFICE; 1991 282061 45102

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2491%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
