# Opposition Brief — Murphy v. I. S. K. Con. of New England, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2472%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 502 U.S. 865

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

' AUG 30 1991

No. 91-191 OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1991
e- —

SUSAN MURPHY & MARY MURPHY,

Petitioners,

1.S.K.CON. OF NEW ENGLAND, INC.,
Respondent
— —*
Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The
Supreme Judicial Court Of Massachusetts
.

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO THE
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

er

Davip M. L!sERMAN

Counsel of Record

2049 Century Park East
Suite 3160

Los Angeles, California 90067
(213) 277-9288

Davip L. KELSTON

FRIEDMAN & ATHERTON
Nineteenth Floor

28 State Street

Boston, Massachusetts 02109
(617) 227-5540

Counsel for Respondent

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Supreme Judicial Court of Massa-
chusetts correctly held that a cause of action for inten-
tional] infliction of emotional distress may not, under the
First Amendment, be predicated upon the content of a
religious organization’s core beliefs and teachings.

2. Whether the Supreme Judicial Court correctly
held that the First Amendment requires appellate courts
to independently review the record of a case and to
reverse any cause of action which may, even in part, have
been based upon constitutionally protected practices.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..................... i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES......................... iii
STATEMENT OF THE CASE....................... 1
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT............. 6

I. TORT LIABILITY FOR EMOTIONAL DISTRESS
MAY NOT BE PREDICTED UPON THE CON-
TENT OF RELIGIOUS BELIEFS................ 8

Il. LIABILITY FOR TORTIOUS CONDUCT MAY
NOT BE IMPOSED IF THE DEFINITION OF
THE TORT GIVEN TO THE JURY ENCOM-
PASSES CONSTITUTIONALLY PROTECTED AS
WELL AS UNPROTECTED CONDUCT......... 11

CONCLUSION

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Cases
Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union, 466 U.S. 485 (1984) .... 12
Epperson v. Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97 (1968) ............. 10

Founding Church of Scientology v. United States, 409
F.2d 1146 (D.C. Cir.) (opinion on rehearing),

0) 12
Fowler v. Rhode Island, 345 U.S. 67 (1953)............ 11
McDaniel v. Paty, 435 U.S. 618 (1978)................ 10
Murphy v. 1.8.C.Con. of New England, Inc., 409

Goa bis sche. sce ee ase. passim
NAACP v. Claiborne Hardware Co., 458 U.S. 886

SS 10, 12
Organization for a Better Austin v. Keefe, 402 US.

ye ob socks scscersccssccscee 10
Presbyterian Church v. Hull Church, 393 U.S. 440

ASS 10
Sherbert v. Verner, 374 U.S. 398 (1963) ............... 10
Street v. New York, 394 U.S. 576 (1969) .............. 12
Stromberg v. California, 283 U.S. 359 (1931)........... 12
Thomas v. Review Bd., 450 U.S. 707 (1981)......... 10, 11
Torasco v. Watkins, 367 U.S. 488 (1961)............... 10
United States v. Ballard, 322 U.S. 78 (1943)........... 10
Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972)............... 11

Zorach v. Clausen, 343 U.S. 306 (1958) ............... 10

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Respondent, International Society for Krishna
Consciousness of New England, Inc.,! is a religious cor-
poration organized in February, 1974, for the purpose of
propagating the Krishna Consciousness religion in the
New England area. Appendix 87-89.2 At the time of
defendant's incorporation,’ plaintiff Susan Murphy was
living in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania with her boyfriend,
Doug Hewer. A 1161.4 The two were associated with the
Krishna temple located there. a

1 For purposes of clarity, respondent will hereinafter be
referred to as “defendant” or “ISKCON, N.E.” Petitioners will
be referred to as “plaintiffs”.

2 Appendix (hereinafter “A”) refers to the Appendix filed
in the Supreme Judicial Court. A Supplemental Appendix was
also filed in the Supreme Judicial Court, which will hereinafter
be referred to as “SA”.

3 In May, 1986, plaintiffs moved to.amend their complaint
to hold defendant liable for allegedly tortious activity pre-
ceding its incorporation. The motion was denied by the trial
court on August 7, 1986, based upon a finding of undue delay
by the plaintiffs, undue prejudice to the defendant, and the
legal futility of the plaintiffs’ proposed amendment. SA 40-52.
The trial court’s ruling was upheld by the Supreme Judicial
Court. Pet. App. 56; 409 Mass. 842, 864, which is a state law
matter not reviewable by the present proceedings. Accordingly,
defendant’s statement of the case is limited to the post-incor-
poration period, except where reievant to the current petition.

4 Susan first met Doug, who had an off-again, on-again
relationship with the religion, e.g., A 2418-419, 2436-439, some-
time in the summer of 1972. They became girl friend and boy
friend that Fall.

In July or August, 1974, Susan and Doug returned to
the Boston area to assist Susan’s mother, Mary, with a
legal problem unrelated to the present case. A 764. At this
time, they lived in a rented apartment in Brookline, A
764, and began visiting and participating in the activities
of ISKCON N. E.’s temple located in Boston. A 765-67.

After about one month, Susan and Doug moved into
the private apartment of Traidas and Pranada, two mem-
bers of the Boston temple. Susan testified that Traidas
was president of the temple at this time. A 807. While
living with Traidas she continued to visit the temple and
participate in its spiritual programs. She woke up at
about 3:00 a.m. to attend early morning worship services,
ate breakfast at the temple, and then would return home,
coming back to the temple later for various activities,
including sewing, making flower garlands, and cleaning.
She also attended evening classes on defendant's scrip-
tures. A 807-08.

Susan turned sixteen on August 14, 1974. A 766.

Around September, 1974, Susan and Doug moved
into the private apartment of Carol and Larry De Gre-
gory, two other members of the Boston temple. A 809.
Susan testified that Larry was the temple’s treasurer. A
812. In November, 1974, after moving to another apart-
ment which they were unable to afford, A 1242, the two
couples requested permission from ISKCON, N.E.’s presi-
dent, Adi Kesava, to move into the Boston temple facility.
A 814-15, 1242-243.

Adi Kesava told Susan that she could live in the
temple if she first obtained her mother’s permission, and
on the condition that she follow the religion’s practices of

a vegetarian diet, no illicit sex, no intoxication, no gam-
bling, and regular attendance at the temple programs.
Susan agreed to these conditions and arranged for Adi
Kesava to speak to Mary, who, on certain conditions,
consented to Susan living in the temple. A 3481-482.

After moving into the temple, Susan and Doug lived
separately. A 1243-244, 3969. Apparently unhappy with
this arrangement, Doug left the temple a short time later.
A 3516-517. Susan, however, remained, and willingly par-
ticipated in regular chores, rituals, and classes associated
with the temple and the practices of Krishna Conscious-
ness. A 1240, 1278-280, 1359, 3861-862.

In December, 1974, or January, 1975, Mary asked
Susan to sleep at home on weekends. Susan agreed, but
continued to spend most of her time at the temple. A
932-33. Shortly after Susan was formally “initiated” into
the religion in January or February, 1975, she began
spending every night at her mother’s house, although she
continued to spend her days at the temple. A 1184, 1187.

In April, 1975, Mary found a letter written by Susan
to a friend which alluded to a “plan” by several members
of the Boston temple to send Susan to West Germany
without Mary’s knowledge or consent. Mary summoned
Weymouth police officer Henry Vanesse, who informed
Susan that she risked legal action if she attempted to run
away. Mary also demanded that Susan sever all ties with
the defendant’s temple. Reluctantly, Susan agreed. A
1461-473, 3008-013.

2. On April 19, 1977, Susan and Mary filed a com-
plaint in the Superior Court alleging nine counts of tor-
tious activity against (1) ISKCON, N.E., (2) a separate

Krishna corporation domiciled in California, and (3) His
Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedanta-Swami Prabhupada,
the founder of Krishna Consciousness in the United
States. A 29-30. Following extensive pre-trial proceedings
in which the California corporation and Swami Prab-
hupada were dismissed, the case proceeded to trial on
May 11, 1987, against ISKCON, N.E. on the following
counts: (1) Susan’s claim of intentional infliction of emo-
tional distress; (2) Mary’s claim of intentional infliction of
emotional distress; (3) Susan’s claim of intentional inter-
ference with the Murphy family structure; (4) Mary’s
claim of intentional interference with her parental rights
(5) Susan’s claim that ISKCON, N.E. breached its duty to
adequately provide for her welfare while she was under
its care; and (6) Susan’s claim that ISKCON, N.E. aided
and abetted Doug Hewer in committing assault and bat-

tery on her by way of nonconsensual sexual intercourse

At trial, evidence was presented which, the plaintiffs
claimed, established that Susan’s experience with the
defendant caused her to suffer “post-traumatic stress dis-

”

order,” a low sense of self-esteem, and an inability to
maintain a healthy relationship with men. Additional
evidence showed that Susan remained angry with her
mother for several months following her departure from
the temple, A 1083, and that Susan expressed a desire to
return to her chosen religion. Susan and Mary’s relation-

ship began to improve when, after about six months,

Susan decided that she no longer wanted to be a member
of the religion or visit the temple. A 1081.

On June 16, 1987, the jury found for the plaintiffs on
four causes of action.> It awarded Susan $210,000 for the
intentional infliction of emotional distress, and $30,000
for ISKCON, N.E.’s failure to provide for her welfare
($10,000 of which was attributable to defendant’s failure
to protect her from assault and battery by third persons).
Mary received $350,000 for the intentional infliction of
emotional distress, and $20,000 for the intentional inter-
ference with her parental rights. A 4261-263. The total
award of $610,000 was more than doubled because of
statutory interest from 1977. A 4315.

3. On appeal, defendant challenged each aspect of
the verdict against it under the First Amendment of the
United States Constitution, as applied to the states
through the Fourteenth Amendment. Defendant also
employed a broad-based attack on the entire proceeding
under the First Amendment, asserting that the nebulous
nature of the claims, the inflammatory character of the
evidence submitted in support of those claims, and the
intensive and hostile scrutiny of Krishna religious beliefs
and practices invited the jury to punish defendant for its
unconventional and unpopuiar religious beliefs.

The Supreme Judicial Court (SJC), sitting en banc,
vacated the judgments against the defendant for the
claims of intentional infliction of emotional distress, and
ordered entry of judgment for the defendant on those
counts. Pet. App. 5, 409 Mass. at 844. The SJC found that

5 Susan’s claim for intentional interference with her family
structure was dismissed in connection with defendant’s motion
for a directed verdict. A 4051-054.

those claims were impermissibly predicated on the con-
tent of defendant’s religious beliefs and teachings, in that
plaintiffs were permitted to extensively suggest to the
jury that “exposure to the defendant’s religious beliefs
was sufficient to cause tortious emotional damage and to
separate Susan from her mother.” Pet. App. 29-30, 409
Mass. at 853-54. This, the SJC concluded, forced the
defendant “to choose between censoring its religious
scriptures to remove material which may be offensive to
contemporary society and paying for damages for the
privilege of maintaining unpopular religious beliefs” Pet.
App. 32-33; 409 Mass. at 855, a result precluded by the
First Amendment.

Because of the difficulty in segregating defendant's
“constitutionally protected religious beliefs from condi-
tionally protected religious activity and from conduct
outside the scope of constitutional scrutiny” Pet. App
43-44, 409 Mass. at 859, the SJC, without further discus-
sion , remanded for retrial plaintiffs’ remaining claims for
intentional interference with parental rights, breach of
duty of care, and vicarious liability for assault and bat-
tery.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

Plaintiff, Susan Murphy, a former adherent of the
Krishna Consciousness religion, sued the temple where
she lived for a brief period of time, claiming that the
religious beliefs which she learned from defendant's
scriptures and other devotees living in the temple caused
her severe emotional distress. Her mother, plaintiff Mary

Murphy, also sued the temple, claiming that she too
suffered emotional distress because of her daughter’s
conversion and adherence to a religion of which she came
to disapprove.

The trial lasted six weeks. During that time, plaintiffs
presented extensive evidence of ISKCON, N.E.’s religious
beliefs and practices, which the jury ultimately found
wrongful. These beliefs and practices included reincarna-
tion, karma, detachment from the material world, the role
of women in the religion, vegetarianism, and chanting the
names of God.®

The SJC steadfastly refused to be drawn into the
theological thicket created by plaintiffs at trial. Charac-
terizing the lower court proceedings as a “heresy trial,”
the SJC emphasized that the issues raised by plaintiffs
regarding defendant's religious beliefs and practices have
“no place in the courts of this Commonwealth.” A 32, 409
Mass. at 855.

For the reasons discussed below, this Court should
also decline plaintiffs’ invitation to become embroiled in
a controversy over the propriety and impact of religious
beliefs, which are more appropriately the subject of a
“theological or academic debate” id. than adjudication in
a secular court of law.

6 Hare Krishna, Hare Krishna, Krishna Krishna, Hare
Hare/ Hare Rama, Hare Rama, Rama Rama, Hare Hare.

I. TORT LIABILITY FOR EMOTIONAL DISTRESS
MAY NOT BE PREDICTED UPON THE CONTENT
OF RELIGIOUS BELIEFS.

It is undisputed that plaintiffs’ two primary causes of
action for intentional infliction of emotional distress are
premised exclusively on ISKCON, N.E.’s religious
beliefs.” At tria], Susan testified that prior to her involve-
ment with ISKCON, N.E., she learned “from the
devotees” that the position of women in the Hare Krishna
religion is subservient to men. A 672. Then, as the center-
piece of her testimony, she spent over half a day on the
witness stand reading passages from the Srimad
Bhagavatam, one of ISKCON, N.E.’s primary scriptures, A
2156-157, concerning the roles of men and women in the
Krishna religion.® Specifically, Susan selected 50-60 verses

? Plaintiffs acknowledge that ISKCON, N.E.’s religious
beliefs were “exceedingly relevant to the issues in the case. The
defendant's teachings were one of the means by which defen-
dant committed its tortious conduct.” Pet. Br. at 47.

8 Plaintiffs represented before trial that ISKCON, N.E.’s
religious beliefs would not form the basis of liability. SA 2.
Immediately prior to the presentation of plaintiffs’ evidence,
however, it became apparent that defendant's religious beliefs
would form the centerpiece of plaintiffs’ case. Accordingly,
defendant filed a motion in limine to exclude “passages from
the scriptures . . . religious pictures of various sorts . . .-
sermons ...” A 495. In response, plaintiffs sought the admis-
sion of “scriptural teaching concerning sub[jugation] of
women.” A 497. While the trial court initially took a “dim view
of admitting such evidence,” id., it subsequently denied defen-
dant’s motion to exclude “evidence regarding the teaching of
Krishna religion, concerning the respective roles of men and
women.” A 664-65; see also A 94, 495, 946-56.

out of 1200 which she had studied, and presented 20
directly to the jury. A 1230. This testimony took the form
of Susan being shown specific scriptural passages by her
attorney, and then being asked if she could “recall being
taught that text at the defendant’s temple in Boston in
1974 and 1975.” E.g., A 995. If she answered affirmatively,
she would then read or describe the particular portion of
the text, and would discuss anything else she was “taught

. supplementing in addition to the exact words that
[she] just read with respect to this verse.” A 997. Plain-
tiffs’ expert, Dr. Zinberg, in turn, later teStified that
Susan’s psychological reaction to these teachings caused
her to lose self esteem and suffer emotional distress. A
2800-802. The theme established by reading from the
scriptures was then argued to the jury as the primary
predicate for liability and damages. A 4101.

In a similar vein, Mary Murphy’s cause of action for
intentional infliction of emotional distress is based upon her
unhappiness over Susan’s conversion to and practice of
Krishna Consciousness. Thus, Mary testified at trial that her
emotional distress began with Susan’s initial contact with
Krishna consciousness in 1972, A 2817, and continued years
later while Susan was living part-time at home. A 2823. Even
during the six to eight weeks after Susan completely severed
her relationship with ISKCON, N.E. in 1975, Mary was emo-
tionally disturbed over Susan’s “chanting, wearing beads,
[and] announcing her commitment to Krishna conscious-
ness.” A 2826. Dr. Zinberg then testified that the cause of
Mary’s emotional distress from the early 1970s through the
1980s was her fear that Susan might return to Krishna Con-
sciousness, A 2825-832, which he reiterated as part of his
prognosis for Mary. A 2844.

10

Both of plaintiffs’ causes of action for intentional
infliction of emotional distress, therefore, are squarely
premised on the content of ISKCON, N.E.’s religious
beliefs. The First Amendment, however, prohibits all
“governmental regulation of religious beliefs as such.”
Sherbert v. Verner, 374 U.S. 398, 402 (1963). The govern-
ment may not compel affirmation of religious belief, see
Torasco v. Watkins, 367 U.S. 488 (1961), impose special
disabilities on the basis of religious views or status, e.g.,
McDaniel v. Paty, 435 U.S. 618 (1978), take sides in contro-
versies over religious authority, dogma, or theory, e.g.,
Presbyterian Church v. Hull Church, 393 U.S. 440 (1969);
Epperson v. Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97 (1968); Zorach v. Clausen,
343 U.S. 306 (1958), or become involved in issues requir-
ing secular courts to become “arbiters of scriptural inter-
pretation.” Thomas v. Review Bd., 450 U.S. 707, 715 (1981).

Nor may the government punish the expression of
religious doctrines it believes to be false, unhealthy, or
coercive. United States v. Ballard, 322 U.S. 78 (1943); Orga-
nization for a Better Austin v. Keefe, 402 U.S. 415 (1971);
NAACP v. Claiborne Hardware Co., 458 U.S. 886 (1982).
“Freedom of thought, which includes freedom of reli-
gious belief, is basic in a society of free men... . It
embraces the right to maintain theories of life and death
and of the hereafter which are rank heresy to followers of
the orthodox faiths. Heresy trials are foreign to our con-
Stitution.” Ballard, 322 U.S. at 86.9

° As noted by the SJC, A 37, n. 11, 409 Mass. at 857, n. 11,
this is particularly true when the expression of religious beliefs

(Continued on following page)

11

Religious adherents, therefore, may not be required
to show that their beliefs are conventional or socially
acceptable, Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205, 225 (1972), or
that they adopted those beliefs by a process that is
“acceptable, logical, consistent, or comprehensible to
others.” Thomas, 450 U.S. at 714.

Yet, as noted by the SJC, the trial court required “the
defendant . . . to do what the First Amendment has
forbidden; it has been forced to attempt to prove to a jury
that the substance of its religious beliefs is worthy of
respect. ” A 32, 409 Mass. at 854.

For this reason, the SJC was constitutionally justified
in reversing the judgments for intentional infliction of
emotional distress.

Il. LIABILITY FOR TORTIOUS CONDUCT MAY NOT
BE IMPOSED IF THE DEFINITION OF THE TORT
GIVEN TO THE JURY ENCOMPASSES CONSTI-
TUTIONALLY PROTECTED AS WELL AS
UNPROTECTED CONDUCT.

As shown above, most of the evidence presented to
the jury concerned protected religious beliefs, practices,

(Continued from previous page)

occurs as part of a regularly scheduled program in the confines
of defendant’s place of worship. “[It is not] in the competence
of courts under our constitutional scheme to approve, disap-
prove, classify, regulate, or in any manner control sermons
delivered at religious meetings. Sermons are as much a part of
a religious service as prayers.” Fowler v. Rhode Island, 345 U.S.
67, 70 (1953).

12

and activities.!° On this basis, the SJC correctly vecog-
nized that it had a constitutional “duty to conduct an
independent review of the record of the trial below” A 19,
409 Mass. at 849; see Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union, 466
U.S. 485, 499 (1984) (appellate courts have obligation to
make independent examination of the record to ensure
that judgment does not intrude on First Amendment
rights), and to reverse any cause of action which may
have rested, @ven in part, on constitutionally protected
grounds. Id. at 20, 409 Mass. at 850; see Founding Church of
Scientology v. United States, 409 F.2d 1146, 1164 (D.C. Cir.)
(opinion on rehearing), cert. denied, 396 U.S. 963 (1969).

It is well established that neither criminal nor civil
liability may be imposed on the basis of conduct that
includes constitutionally protected speech. E.g., Street v.
New York, 394 U.S. 476, 485-90 (1969); Stromberg v. Califor-
nia, 283 U.S. 359 (1931). In NAACP v. Claiborne Hardware
Co., for example, the evidence showed that participants in
an NAACP-led boycott of commercial businesses in

10 During trial, defendant vigorously objected to the
admissibility of passages from its sacred scriptures and, in
general, to evidence concerning the role of women in the
religion. A 94, 495, 664-65, 946-56. The court overruled these
objections, holding the passages relevant to prove Susan's
emotional distress: “If she would like to testify as to certain
passages that were taught to her .. . and which will later be
testified to [by the expert] as bearing upon emotional dis-
tress ... or psychological damage, then they are admissible as
being relevant.” A 963. The court also held the religious scrip-
tures admissible as relevant to Mary’s claim of interference
with her custodial rights, on the theory that defendant would
be liable if it offered Susan religious instruction disapproved of
by her mother. A 950, 952-53.

13

Claiborne County, Mississippi, had committed acts of
violence that fell outside the protection of the First
Amendment. 458 U. S. at 916. This Court held, however,
that “the presence of activity protected by the First
Amendment imposes restraints on the grounds that mey
give rise to damages liability.” Id. at 916-17. It reversed
the damages against the NAACP and its co-defendants in
their entirety, finding that the pleadings, arguments of
counsel, and jury instructions had not adequately defined
which elements of the alleged injury were “proximately
caused by unlawful conduct” and which resulted from
constitutionally protected activity. Id. at 917-18. The same
principle, as extended to religious conduct and beliefs,
supports the SJC’s decision to reverse plaintiffs’ claims
for intentional infliction of emotional distress, and to
remand the remaining claims for a retrial.

Indeed, defendant repeatedly argued to the trial
court that because of its unpopularity in the community,
see, e.g., A 77-80, 101-03, 232, there was a danger that the
jury could find liability solely on the basis of its religious
beliefs and actions. E.g., A 98-99, 106-07, 108-09. The trial
court, however, disregarded defendant’s fears, and
rejected its request at the end of trial that the court
identify for the jury in its instructions those facts which
could properly form the basis of liability. A 4052-054.
Instead, the court gave a generalized instruction to the
jury that invited it to arbitrarily pick and choose among
defendant's beliefs, practices, and actions in imposing
liability for practices which the jury subjectively consid-
ered wrongful. A 4177-184. For this reason, the SJC aptly
noted that the trial court “exacerbated the problem by
erroneously instructing the jury regarding the extent of

14

the free exercise protections afforded by the First Amend-
ment.” A 37-38, 409 Mass. at 857.

The SJC was thus correct in conducting an indepen-
dent review of the record and in reversing and remand-
ing those claims which were based in whole or part upon
constitutionally protected beliefs and practices.

¢

CONCLUSION

This Court should refuse to grant a Writ of Certiorari
to the Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts.

August 30, 1991

Respectfully submitted

Davin M. LinERMAN
Counsel of Record
2049 Century Park East
Suite 3160
Los Angeles, California 90067
(213) 277-9288

Davip L. KELSTON

FRIEDMAN & ATHERTON
Nineteenth Floor

28 State Street

Boston, Massachusetts 02109
(617) 227-5540

Counsel for Respondent

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2472%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
