# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Melanson v. United Air Lines, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2459%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 502 U.S. 865

## Text

F Sopreme Count Uk
FIUED

JUL 23 139)
No. OFFS Ur HE CCERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1991

4

NICHKOL MELANSON,

Petitioner,
VS.
UNITED AIRLINES, INC.,
An Illinois Corporation
Respondent.

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

EpitH J. BENAY
Counsel of Record for Petitioner
345 Franklin Street
San Francisco, California 94102
Telephone: (415) 241-7286

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether state tort claims for pre-employment fraud
and deceit which are “independent” of the terms of the
Collective Bargaining Agreement ‘and which do not
require that the court “interpret” the terms of the Collec-
tive Bargaining Agreement are preempted under the Rail-
way Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. § 151 et seq.

2. Whether state tort claims for pre-employment fraud
and deceit which do not stem from representations
regarding specific terms of the Collective Bargaining
Agreement are preempted by the Railway Labor Act, 45
U.S.C. § 151 et seq.

3. Whether state tort claims for pre-employment fraud
and deceit which stem from representations regarding
terms of the Collective Bargaining Agreement are pre-
empted by the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. § 151 et seq.

4. Whether state tort claims for fraud and deceit which
arise from conduct occurring prior to the employment
relationship are preempted by the Railway Labor Act, 45
U.S.C. § 151 et seq.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

CRIBS INS PREGEINTGO ok cco snstccieundvaoeees i
CIES ND AAIW orbs as csc ete acerns ey eeameees 1
Fas ROR RPE soe 5b s a kev os hae eae ee eee ee 2
SEAT ES PO VORN ED «is scar ceeeiveuereeernewie 2
SIATEMENT OF THE CAGE... . 0.0.00 cen sneren ees 3
} BME PACTS ...cck evi 3

HN. FPROCKELINGS BELG os. ecu e esses eens 5
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... 8

I. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S ANALYSIS OF RAIL-
WAY LABOR ACT PREEMPTION OF STATE
TORT CLAIMS CONFLICTS WITH THE PRIN-
CIPLES OF LABOR LAW PREEMPTION
ARTICULATED BY THIS COURT............. 8

A. THE SUPREME COURT HAS APPLIED
THE SAME PRINCIPLES TO THE LMRA
AND) TU) THG Wade. sc chesccaeteeiee 9

B. THIS CASE ADDRESSES PREEMPTION
OF ISSUES REGARDING CLAIMS
WHICH ARE NOT BASED ON REPRE-
SENTATIONS OF SPECIFIC TERMS OF
THE CBA AS WELL AS CLAIMS WHICH
ARE BASED ON REPRESENTATIONS OF
SPECIFIC TERMS OF THE CBA......... 11

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

C. THIS CASE RAISES A QUESTION OF
STATUTORY INTERPRETATION WITH
RESPECT TO WHETHER PRE-EMPLOY-
MENT FRAUD IS PREEMPTED BY THE
ee ake a8 Ware hs pie SORES eo ad ws ea) 9 0 3 13

Il. THE NINTH CIRCUIT CONFLICTS WITH
OTHER CIRCUITS REGARDING THE STAN-
DARD FOR RAILWAY LABOR ACT PREEMP-
TION OF STATE TORT CLAIMS............. 14

CONCLUSION

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
FEDERAL CASES
Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36 [94
ee tee an sen a a clic alam eee Vo ey oF 16
Allis Chalmers Corp. v. Luecke, 471 U.S. 202 [105
let SS oc oo rest ees dee kcones tamer ec 11
Anderson v. Ford Motor Co., 803 F.2d 953 (8th Cir.
1986) cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1049 [107 S.Ct. 2181]
6 pH Ee Pla aro eri Dy pat err ee 10
Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Ry Co., v. Buell, 480
US. Sar fier SAR. POUGy CISG? .. 9, 15
Baldracchi v. Pratt & Whitney Aircraft Division, 814
eB Eo a ge: ER ee Pe ere ree eee 16
Beard v. Carrolton, 893 F.2d 117 (6th Cir. 1989)....... 15
Berda v. CBS Inc., 881 F.2d 20 (3rd Cir. 1989) cert.
denied, __ U.S. __ [110 S.Ct. 879] (1990).......... 9
Coppinger v. Metropolitan-North Commuter R.R., 861
eB Be ee eB ee ee re 16
Dougherty v. Parsec Inc., 872 F.2d 766 (6th Cir.
NR ae eter ee mine teen eee Ce nt 15
Edelman v. Western Airlines, Inc., 892 F.2d 839 (9th
SU UU ce hs Bc ee core een eary es Map erik vanes 7
J.1. Case Co. v. NLRB, 321 U.S. 332 [64 S.Ct. 576]
6 Senate a Ae i a n> eee eas ate Smee a ree 7, 8

Jackson v. Consolidated Rail Corp., 717 F.2d 1045 (7th
Cir. 1983) cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1007 [104 S.Ct.
PE Oooh a oe Picky dx Vere eeeeareue cnet: 14

Lingle v. Norge Division of Magic Chef, Inc., 486 U.S.
See COE Gets PTE CPEs cee een cee es passim

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Magnuson v. Burlington Northern, Inc., 576 F.2d
1367 (9th Cir. 1977) cert. denied, 439 U.S. 930 [99
es TIE re oc heer oi ar ee ar 7
McAlester v. United Air Lines, Inc., 851 F.2d 1249
SO GE SUNN crs dan acdecassia tren es 16
Melanson v. United Airlines, 931 F.2d 558 (9th Cir.
TOR So cxdin de brane er ene rere cee eee 6, 7, 11, 12, 14
Merchant v. American S.S. Co., 860 F.2d 204 (6th Cir.
WS ke edad oa 0 eR ee Re Cee 14
Pan American World Airways v. Puchert, 472 US.
1061 [905 SC. 2693S) (CIGBE)... . 5 ook vec eeeeeccccce 15
Pennsylvania R.R. v. Day, 360 U.S. 548 [79 S.Ct.
SO NO es cs ne GS ee oe eee 13
Wells v. General Motors Corp., 881 F.2d 166 (5th Cir.
1989) cert. denied, US. __ [110 S.Ct. 1959]
6 NR S einer LA pina oe mito Me CA (Qunle f. 10
FEDERAL STATUTES
Oe Mes Tne 50a Cerne ee 2
ee Ades RES 6 ois cc hin ct eee eee 2
Se Bp PI oes sees Cs wee eee 3, 8
Ge Siac ROE So os os o's von eos tae ee 16
ok oe | Are Meme NRT: 16
Me Abts s ON as bk chk en ee 3, 5,9
ee Rha ME cc he eon eee 3, 6, 10, 11
STATE STATUTES
Cal fis ee Se... 0c hoe & 3,9, 32
Cal, Che Cae 8 WF ee... .. ee 2) te Se te

No.

r
In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term 1991
r

NICHKOL MELANSON,

Petitioner,
VS.
UNITED AIRLINES, INC.,
An Illinois Corporation,
Respondent.

°

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit
r

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
*

Petitioner Nichkol Melanson respectfully prays that a

writ of certiorari issue to review a decision of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit entered on

April 24, 1991.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit is reported at 931 F.2d 558. This
decision appears in the Appendix, infra. (App. 1.) The

Order of the United States District Court for the Northern

District of California granting United Airlines’ Motion to
Dismiss is not published. It appears in the Appendix,
infra. (App. 14)

JURISDICTION

Invoking federal question jurisdiction pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 1331 United Airlines filed a petition for removal
of this action to the United States District Court for the
Northern District of California on November 14, 1988.
Invoking diversity jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 1332 United Airlines filed a supplemental petition for
removal on December 19, 1988. On March 24, 1989 the
United States District Court for the Northern District of
California granted United Airlines’ motion for dismissal
and ordered entry of judgment as requested in said
motion on April 12, 1989. Judgment was entered on April
14, 1989.

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit was issued on April 24, 1991. No
petition for rehearing was sought. This petition for a writ
of certiorari was filed within 90 days of that date. The
Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254
subdivision (1).

STATUTES INVOLVED
The texts of the following statutes appear in the Appendix.
1. California Civil Code § 1709 (App. 30)
2. California Civil Code § 1710 (App. 30)

a

§ 301 of the Labor-Management Relations Act, 29
U.S.C. § 185 (App. 28)

4. Title I, § 1 of the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. § 151
(App. 16)

5. Title I, § 2 of the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. § 15la
(App. 18)

6. Title I, § 5 of the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. § 155
(App. 19)

9. Title II, § 201 of the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C.
§ 181 (App. 24)

10. Title Il, § 202 of the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C.
§ 182 (App. 24)

11. Title II, § 204 of the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C
§ 184 (App. 25)

12. Title Il, § 205 of the Railway Labor Act, 45 US.C
§ 185 (App. 26)

=

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
I. THE FACTS

In late 1985 United Airlines (United) acquired Pan
American Airlines’ (Pan Am) Pacific routes. As a condi-
tion of the acquisition 1202 Pan Am flight attendants had
to voluntarily transfer to United by February 11, 1986.
Appellant Melanson had been a flight attendant for
nearly twenty-two years and was one of those whom
United recruited. In this action Melanson alleges that she
was induced to transfer by United’s representations that
the height and weight standards for United flight atten-
dants would be “waived” for Pan Am transferees. Melan-
son, who had gained weight from hormone treatments for
infertility, also alleges that she was told that United

authorized medical exceptions for flight attendants who
were on medication.

What United failed to disclose was that it was “waiv-
ing” the weight standards for hiring purposes only, but
would require strict compliance for purposes of continued
employment. United also failed to disclose that medical
exceptions were only authorized for flight attendants tak-
ing medication for life threatening diseases.

Prior to her transfer Melanson had informed United
that she was gaining weight from the hormone treatments
and she informed United that she would not transfer if
she were subject to weight requirements that would jeop-
ardize those treatments. Melanson was told, through
United agents, that United did not care about her weight
and she was hired in spite of the fact that she was
overweight by United’s standards.

In recruiting Pan Am transferees United communi-
cated directly with the flight attendants. Neither the
union which represented Pan Am employees nor the
union which represented United employees, took part in
the recruitment process.

Within six months of becoming a United employee
Melanson was suspended without pay and was forced to
stop the hormone treatments in order to lose enough
weight to avoid termination.

Melanson and several other Pan Am transferees
grieved their suspensions under the “minor dispute” pro-
visions of the RLA, as “ . . . unreasonable and arbitrary

application of its [United’s] weight program.” The arbi-
trator found that the weight program, which is incorpo-
rated into the CBA, was being properly applied.
However, due to United’s representations during the
recruitment process, the arbitratcr allowed certain excep-
tions for the grievants.

On or about September 2, 1988 Melanson filed suit in
California Superior Court for the City and County of San
Francisco alleging negligent or intentional misrepresenta-
tion, concealment and promise without intent to perform.
All three theories of fraud and deceit are codified under
Cal. Civ. Code §§ 1709 and 1710 (App. 30).

II. PROCEEDINGS BELOW

On November 14, 1988 United removed Melanson’s
action to the United States District Court for the Northern
District of California asserting federal question jurisdic-
tion. On November 19, 1988 United filed a supplemental
petition for removal asserting diversity jurisdiction.
Melanson did not seek remand.

On March 24, 1989 the United States District Court
for the Northern District of California granted United's
motion to dismiss pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Pro-
cedure 12(b), on the ground that Melanson’s claims were
preempted by the Railway Labor Act 45 U.S.C. § 151 et
seg. Judgment was entered on April 14, 1989. Melanson
appealed the judgment to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. On April 24, 1991, after
oral argument, the court of appeals affirmed the district
court’s dismissal.

The court of appeals held that all three of Melanson’s
state law claims would “intrude” upon the collective .
bargaining system established under the Railway Labor
Act. Melanson v. United Airlines, 931 F.2d 558, 563 (9th Cir.
1991). (App. 11).

The court of appeals did not find that the theory of
“promise without intent to perform” required interpreta-
tion of the Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA). How-
ever, it did find that this claim could not be litigated
without “reference” to the CBA because, “ ... as a
practical matter, proof of United’s intent not to perform
and its nonperformance lead inevitably to the CBA.”
Melanson, Id. at p.563. (App. 10).

The court of appeals found that in order to prevail on
her “misrepresentation” theory, Melanson would have to
show that the relevant provisions of the CBA differ sig-
nificantly from United’s representations regarding the
weight program. This would require what the court char-
acterized as “reference to and interpretation of the terms
of the CBA,” making the alleged tortious activity “... at
least ‘arguably governed’ by the CBA.” Melanson, Id. at
562-563. (App. 9).

In order to prevail on her “concealment” theory, the
court of appeals found that Melanson would have to
compare United’s representations to the relevant portions
of the weight program. This would also require “refer-
ence to and interpretation of the CBA.” Melanson, Id. at
563. (App. 9-10).

The Ninth Circuit declined to apply, by analogy,
cases discussing preemption under § 301 of the Labor-
Management Relations Act (LMRA), 42 U.S.C. § 185, on

the ground that the narrower test for § 301 preemption,
under Lingle v. Norge Div. of Magic Chef, Inc., 486 U.S. 399
(1988), is not necessarily determinative of preemption
under the RLA. Therefore, rather than consider whether
Melanson’s tort claims were “independent” of the CBA,
the court reviewed Melanson’s claims to determine
whether they were “minor disputes” under the RLA. The
court of appeals defined “minor disputes” as disputes
which “concern the interpretation or application of” the
CBA, Edelman v. Western Airlines, Inc., 892 F.2d 839, 843
(9th Cir. 1989), and are “inextricably intertwined with the
grievance machinery of” the CBA or the RLA, quoting
Magnuson v. Burlington Northern, Inc., 576 F.2d 1367.

The court did find that Melanson’s tort claims were
not the subject of a prior arbitration procedure, brought
under the “minor disputes” provisions of the RLA. The
grievances brought by Melanson and other Pan Am trans-
ferees alleged unreasonable and arbitrary application of
the weight program, while in this action Melanson alleges
that United fraudulently induced her to transfer by mis-
representing that the weight requirements would be
waived in her case. Melanson, 931 F.2d at 562 (App. 5-6).

The court rejected Melanson’s argument that her tort
claims were not preempted because she was not an
employee when the representations in question were
made. The court of appeals declined to hold that claims
arising from conduct occurring prior to the commence-
ment of a formal employment relationship are automat-
ically screened from the preemptive force of the RLA,
relying on J.J. Case Co. v. NLRB, 321 U.S. 332, 337-39
(1944) for the proposition that the CBA supersedes incon-
sistent individual employment contracts. The court

extended this reasoning beyond contract claims on the
ground that nearly any contract claim can be restated as a
tort claim. Id. 561 (App. 4).

= -_

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
I.

THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S ANALYSIS OF RAILWAY
LABOR ACT PREEMPTION OF STATE TORT CLAIMS
CONFLICTS WITH THE PRINCIPLES OF LABOR LAW
PREEMPTION ARTICULATED BY THIS COURT.

Certiorari should be granted in this case because it
addresses several important issues regarding preemption
of state tort claims by the Railway Labor Act (RLA), 45
U.S.C. § 151 et seq.

Appellant Melanson states fraud and deceit claims
based on pre-employment representations made by
United Airlines. The primary issue is whether the same
principles for determining preemption of state tort
remedies should be applied to § 301 of the Labor Manage-
ment Relations Act (LMRA), 29 U.S.C. § 185, and to the
RLA.

The facts of this case raise that issue from the per-
spective of claims which are not based on representations
regarding specific terms of the CBA; claims which are
based on representations regarding specific terms of the
CBA and claims which did not arise from conduct which
occurred within the employment relationship.

The Supreme Court Has Applied The Same Principles
To The LMRA And To The RLA

The Supreme Court has not dealt directly with the
issue of RLA preemption of “independent” state law
remedies but it has articulated a theory of the limits of
federal labor law preemption which it has applied to both
the LMRA and the RLA. Both in Atchison, Topeka and Santa
Fe Ry Co. v. Buell, 480 U.S. 557 [107 S.Ct. 1410] which
addressed RLA preemption of Federal Employee Liability
Act claims, and in Lingle v. Norge Div. of Magic Chef, Inc.,
486 US. 399 [108 S.Ct. 1877] which addressed § 301
preemption of state tort claims, this Court has said:

This Court has, on numerous occasions,

declined to hold that individual employees are,

because of the availability of arbitration, barred
from bringing claims under federal statutes.

(citations omitted.) Although the analysis of the

question under each statute is quite distinct, the

theory running through these cases is that not-
withstanding the strong policies encouraging
arbitration, different considerations apply where

the employee's claim is based on rights arising out of

a statute designed to provide minimum substantive
guarantees to individual workers.

Lingle, 486 U.S. at 406 [108 S.Ct. at 1884].

Melanson’s claims do not arise out of statutes specifi-
cally designed to protect workers, but her claims do arise
out of statutes designed to provide minimum substantive
guarantees to all citizens. Cal.Civ.Code §§ 1709 & 1710
(App. 30). Several circuits have held that state tort claims
for fraud, which were “independent” of the Collective
Bargaining Agreement (CBA) were not preempted by
§ 301. See, e.g. Berda v. CBS Inc., 881 F.2d 20 (3rd Cir. 1989)
cert. denied, _ U.S. ____ [110 S.Ct. 879] (1990), (plaintiff
need only establish that CBS’ agents promised he

10

would not be laid off for a reasonable period of time
although they knew or were reckless in not knowing that
CBS was planning a reduction in force that would affect
him); Wells v. General Motors Corp., 881 F.2d 166 (5th Cir.
1989) cert. denied, U.S. __ [110 S.Ct. 1959] (1990),
(examination of the terms of a severance agreement in
order to determine what the truthful representations
should have been, established relevance of the agreement
but not necessarily substantial dependence for preemp-
tion purposes); Anderson v. Ford Motor Co., 803 F.2d 953
(8th Cir. 1986) cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1049 [107 S.Ct. 3242]
(Proof that Ford fraudulently induced employment by
misrepresenting that new hirees would not be “bumped”
by “preferential hirees” does not depend on the existence
of any contractual relationship nor do the standards for
judging fraudulent misconduct derive from any contrac-
tually established expectations of the parties).

To date, there has been nothing in this Court’s treatment
of either § 301 or the RLA to suggest that the two statutes
should not be subject to the same basic principles for deter-
mining preemptive effect on state torts. Indeed, both the
standard articulated in Lingle for § 301 preemption and Title
Il, § 205 of the RLA, 45 U.S.C. § 185 (App. 26) preempt claims
which require “interpretation” of the CBA. In this case,
however, the Ninth Circuit did not confine the RLA to
preemption of state torts which require “interpretation.” As
used by the Supreme Court in Lingle, “interpretation” means
that “ . . . pertinent principles of state law required con-
struing the relevant collective bargaining agreement.” Lingle,
486 US. at 404 ftnt. 7 [108 S.Ct. at 1882 ftnt. 7].!

1 The Ninth Circuit’s holding in this case was not based on
either “application of the CBA,” or “inextricably intertwined

(Continued on following page)

1]

B. This Case Addresses Preemption Issues Regarding
Claims Which Are Not Based On Representations
Of Specific Terms Of The CBA As Well As Claims
Which Are Based On Representations Of Specific
Terms Of The CBA

Melanson alleges that United promised it would
“waive” the weight program for Pan Am flight atten-
dants. Fraud and deceit claims based on this allegation do
not stem from any representations about specific terms of
the weight program and do not require that the court
“interpret” the CBA. At most, the court would make a
“tangential reference” to the CBA when comparing
United’s representations to its subsequent conduct. See
Allis-Chalmers Corp. v. Luecke, 471 U.S. 202, at 211, [105
S.Ct. 1904, at 1911] (1985).

Melanson also alleges that during the recruitment
period United misrepresented that the medical exception
was available to all flight attendants taking medication.
United subsequently denied Melanson’s request for a
medical exception on the ground that the exception was
limited to medications for life threatening diseases. This

(Continued from previous page)

with the grievance procedure.” 45 U.S.C. § 185. The court did
not use either of those terms in stating its reasons for preemp-
tion. Furthermore, the court found that Melanson’s claims had
not previously been arbitrated because the issue put before the
System Board of Adjustment was “misapplication of a work
rule” (emphasis added) whereas in this case Melanson claimed
that United fraudulently induced her to transfer to United
Airlines by misrepresenting that weight requirements would
be waived in her case. Melanson, 931 F.2d at 561.

12

allegation raises fraud and deceit claims based on repre-
sentations regarding a specific term of the weight pro-
gram, which is incorporated into the CBA.

Although these two allegations of misrepresentation
raise different issues with regard to RLA preemption of
state torts, neither allegation requires “interpretation” as
defined by the Supreme Court in Lingle v. Norge. As in
Lingle the inquiry is purely factual, pertaining to the
conduct and motivation of the employee and the
employer. Lingle, 486 U.S. at 404, [108 S.Ct. at 1882].

The Ninth Circuit declined to follow Lingle in this
case and imposed a significantly broader preemptive
standard on the RLA than the Supreme Court did on
§ 301. For example, the Ninth Circuit found that Melan-
son’s claim of “promise without intent to perform” was
preempted by the RLA although it did not find that this
claim required “interpretation” of the CBA. Melanson, 931
F.2d at 563.

The Ninth Circuit did find that Melanson’s claims of
“negligent or intentional misrepresentation” and “con-
cealment” require “reference to and interpretation of the
terms of the CBA” Id., 563 but in this case “interpreta-
tion” does not mean what it meant in Lingle, that the
“... pertinent principles of state law required construing
the relevant collective bargaining agreement.” Lingle, 486
U.S. at 404 ftnt. 7 [108 S.Ct. at 1882 ftnt. 7]. Cal.Civ. Code
Sections 1709 and 1710 do not hold a defendant liable for
misrepresentation or concealment of the court's interpreta-
tion of the CBA. To the extent that “resolution of the
dispute,” refers to the CBA, the relevant inquiry will be
into United’s own interpretation of the weight program at

13

the time it made the representations in question, regard-
less of whether the court would have “construed” it the
same way. It is United’s interpretation, not the court’s,
that will determine whether United misrepresented or
concealed a material fact, or made a promise it had no
intention of performing.

C. This Case Raises a Question of Statutory Interpreta-
tion With Respect to Whether Pre-Employment
Fraud is Preempted by the RLA

This case also presents a third issue regarding RLA
preemption. Melanson’s claims of “misrepresentation,”
“concealment” and “promise without intent to perform”
grow out of United’s pre-employment conduct. The Rail-
way Labor Act is expressly limited to conflicts between
employer and employee. The Supreme Court has
extended preemption to claims brought after employ-
ment, when “ the claim itself arises out of the
employment relationship which Congress regulated.”
Pennsylvania R.R. v. Day, 360 U.S. 548, 551-52 [79 S.Ct.
1322, 1324-5]. However, a claim based on pre-employ
ment conduct does not arise out of the employment rela-
tionship.

The Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit held that
Melanson’s employment status was not determinative
because the effect on the federal labor scheme of allowing
individual agreements that conflict with the CBA would
be the same even if the agreement was reached prior to
employment. However, in this action Melanson does not
seek to enforce a separate agreement.

The Ninth Circuit rejected this distinction on the
ground that nearly any contract claim can be restated as a

14

tort claim. Melanson, 931 F.2d at 561 (App. 5). However,
although they may be based on the same or similar facts,
the two kinds of claims have a very different impact on
the federal labor scheme. Conflicting agreements could
affect the orderly functioning of the labor force, but hold-
ing an employer financially accountable for its tortious
conduct, could not.

\

Il.

THE NINTH CIRCUIT CONFLICTS WITH OTHER
CIRCUITS REGARDING THE STANDARD FOR RAIL-
WAY LABOR ACT PREEMPTION OF STATE TORT
CLAIMS

The similarity between the standards for preemption
under the RLA and § 301 of the LMRA is highlighted by
the decisions and the dictum of various circuits.

Prior to the decision in Lingle, the Seventh Circuit
held that a state tort action for retaliatory termination
was preempted by the RLA because the defense would be
based on good cause for termination. Jackson v. Consoli-
dated Rail Corp., 717 F.2d 1045 (7th Cir. 1983), cert. denied,
465 U.S. 1007 [104 S.Ct. 1000] (1984). More recently, how-
ever, the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit observed,
in dictum, that the reasoning employed in Jackson has
been repudiated by the Supreme Court's decision in Lin-
gle. Merchant v. American S.S. Co., 860 F.2d 204, 208 (6th
Cir. 1988). In Merchant the court also observed, in dictum,
that the Supreme Court’s preemption analysis in Buell,

would not have been different if the putative tort claim
had arisen under state law rather than federal law. Mer-
chant, 860 F.2d at 209.

be

The Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit has turned
its analysis of preemption of state torts on whether
breach of contract is an essential element of the state tort.
In so doing it has not distinguished between § 301 and
the RLA. In Beard v. Carrolton, 893 F.2d 117 (6th Cir. 1989)
the court held that the Appellant’s tort claim for wrong-
ful interference with contract was preempted by the RLA
“. . . because Kentucky makes breach of contract an
essential element of the tort.” (citations omitted.) Beard,
Id., at 122..The court distinguished its decision in Dough-
erty v. Parsec Inc., 872 F.2d 766 (6th Cir. 1989) on the
ground that Ohio law does not require breach of contract
as an essential element. Although the court speculated
that “The standards under the two statutes [§ 301 and the
RLA] may not be identical,” (emphasis added) no distinc-
tion was made in the court of appeals’ analysis. Beard, 893
F.2d at 122.

The Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit has also
analyzed § 301 and RLA preemption interchangeably.
That court relied on the Supreme Court's decision in Pan
American World Airways v. Puchert, 472 U.S. 1001, 105 S.Ct.
2693, (1985) when it said, in dictum that the RLA does not
preempt all state law claims for retaliatory discharge.
Puchert was a decision by the Supreme Court of Hawaii,
holding that a state prohibition of discharge in retaliation

for filing a worker’s compensation claim was not pre-
empted by the RLA. The United States Supreme Court
dismissed the appeal for want of federal question juris-
diction. As interpreted by the Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit, “If the Hawaii law were preempted by
the RLA the case would necessarily have presented the

16

Court with a substantial federal question.” Baldracchi v.
Pratt & Whitney Aircraft Div., 814 F.2d 102 (2d Cir. 1987).

The Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit has also
held that a federal civil rights claim under 42 U.S.C.
§ 1983 is not preempted by the RLA because the civil
rights claim has “ ‘a legally independent origin’ ” even
when dismissal was upheld in RLA arbitration proceed-
ings. Coppinger v. Metro-North Commuter R.R., 861 F.2d 33,
36 (2d Cir. 1988), quoting from Alexander v. Gardner-
Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36, 94 S.Ct. 1011 (1973). Similarly, the
Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit has held that the
RLA does not preempt a claim of racial discrimination
under 42 U.S.C. § 1981, in spite of the fact that the claim
was based on the airline’s disciplinary actions. McAlester

v. United Air Lines, Inc., 851 F.2d 1249 (10th Cir. 1988).

III.
CONCLUSION

For these various reasons, this petition for certiorari
should be granted. The Ninth Circuit’s ruling extends the
preemptive effect of the RLA well beyond the preemptive
effect of § 301, and would deprive employees of air
carriers and railroads of any forum for claims based on
the fraudulent conduct of their employers.

Respectfully submitted,

EpitH J. BENAy

Counsel of Record for Petitioner
345 Franklin Street

San Francisco, California 94102
Telephone: (415) 241-7286

App. 1

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 89-15566
NicHkKOoL MErLANSON, ss

Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

D.C. No.
CV-88-4551-CAL

Unitep Air Lines, INc.,

OPINION
Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Northern District of California
Charles A. Legge, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted
June 6, 1990 - San Francisco, California

Filed April 24, 1991

Before: William C. Canby, Jr, John T. Noonan, Jr. and
Pamela Ann Rymer, Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge Canby

OPINION
CANBY, Circuit Judge:

Appellant Nichkol Melanson appeals the dismissal of
her state law tort action against United Air Lines, Inc.
(“United”) for negligent and intentional misrepresenta-
tion, concealment, and promise without intent to per-
form. Melanson originally filed this action in state court,
but United removed it to federal court, asserting diversity
jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1332 and federal question
jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1331 and 45 U.S.C. § 151.
United then moved to dismiss the case. The district court

App. 2

granted United’s motion, finding that Melanson’s claims
are preempted by the Railway Labor Act (“RLA”), 45
U.S.C. § 151, et seq. We affirm.

FACTS

In 1985, United purchased the Pacific division of Pan
American Airlines (“Pan Am”). As part of the acquisition,
United agreed to hire 1202 of Pan Ams flight attendants
to work the newly acquired routes. In September, 1985,
the Association of Flight Attendants (“AFA”) opened
negotiations with United over employment conditions for
the transferring flight attendants. A few weeks later,
United notified the flight attendants of the acquisition
and invited them to transfer to United. United also
informed the flight attendants that work rules and
seniority integration covering their new employment at
United were being negotiated with the AFA, and sent
them a description of United’s weight requirements for
flight attendants. In December, 1985, the AFA ratified the
collective-bargaining agreement (“CBA”) which included
the terms and conditions for the transfer of employees
from Pan Am to United. The weight program is incorpo-
rated in the CBA as a term and condition of employment
between United and members of the bargaining unit.

Melanson was among those Pan Am flight attendants
eligible to transfer to United. She had served as a flight
attendant for nearly twenty-two years. She alleges that
United, while recruiting her, indicated that the weight
requirements would not apply to the transferring flight
attendants. At the time, Melanson was undergoing hor-
mone treatment for infertility that caused her to gain

App. 3

weight. She disclosed this fact to United and informed
the company that she would not transfer if she were
subject to weight requirements that would jeopardize her
infertility treatment. Through its agents, United assured
Melanson that it was not concerned with her weight. In
reliance upon this representation, Melanson transferred
to United.

Shortly after Melanson became a United employee,
she was suspended without pay for fourteen months for
failing to comply with United’s weight policy. At the time
of her suspension, Melanson was a bargaining unit
employee covered by the CBA. Along with other flight
attendants, Melanson brought a complaint regarding the
application of United’s weight program in her case before
the System Board of Adjustment (“Board”) as required by
the CBA and the RLA, 45 U.S.C. § 184. After a hearing,
the Board reinstated Melanson and awarded her back
pay, but required her to submit to an individualized
weight program. Melanson then stopped her infertility
treatments in order to lose weight to avoid termination.
This action followed.

DISCUSSION
A. Standard of Review

We review de novo the district court’s dismissal of
Melanson’s claims and its statutory interpretation of the
RLA. See Grote v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 905 F 2d 1307,
1309 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 386 (1990); Lewy v.
Southern Pacific Transp. Co., 799 F.2d 1281, 1286 (9th Cir.
1986). In reviewing the dismissal granted under Fed. R.

App. 4

Civ. P. 12(b)(6), we accept as true the allegations of
Melanson’s complaint. Grote, 905 F.2d at 1308 n.1.

B. The Effect of Melanson’s Employment Status

Melanson first argues that because she was not an
employee of United when first informed that she would
not be subject to United’s weight program, this dispute
did not arise within an employment context and is not
covered by the CBA or the RLA. We decline to hold that
claims arising from conduct occurring prior to the com-
mencement of a formal employment relationship are
automatically screened from the preemptive force of the
RLA.

Through the federal labor scheme, Congress has
established a system of collective bargaining. Allowing
an employee or employer, by virtue of an individual
agreement, to establish an employment status different
from that of other employees would undermine the effi-
cacy of collective bargaining. Accordingly, the Supreme
Court has ruled that the CBA supersedes inconsistent
individual employment contracts. See J.J. Case Co. v.
NLRB, 321 U.S. 332, 337-39 (1944); see also Order of Raiiroad
Telegraphers v. Railway Express Agency, 321 U.S. 342, 346-47
(1944) (The principles of J.J. Case Co. apply in the RLA
context). The effect on the federal labor scheme of allow-
ing individual agreements that conflict with the CBA
would be the same whether the agreement is reached
prior to or during a formal employment relationship. The
timing of the agreement or alleged tortious act, then, is

App. 5

not necessarily determinative.' It is the relationship of the
claim to the CBA, regardless of the plaintiff's employ-
ment status, that guides the preemption analysis. The
pertinent question, therefore, is whether Melanson’s
claims are preempted.?

C. Effect of Prior Arbitration

United argues that Melanson’s claim was the subject
of a prior arbitration procedure and cannot be raised
again in this action. We disagree. The issue before the
Board was:

Whether the company ha[d] violated the Collec-
tive Bargaining Agreement by imposing disci-
pline, up to and including termination, on
several of [the] former Pan Am flight attendants,
through an unreasonable and arbitrary applica-
tion of its weight program .

1 This reasoning is not limited to contract claims. Nearly
any contract claim can be restated as a tort claim. The RLA’s
grievance procedure would become obsolete if it could be
circumscribed by artful pleading. See Magnuson v. Burlington
Northern, Inc., 576 F.2d 1367, 1369 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 439
U.S. 930 (1978).

2 Melanson also contends that the CBA did not apply to
her at the time of the alleged misrepresentation because the
AFA did not represent her in the CBA negotiations until she
became a United employee and joined the AFA. This argument
is without merit. The Supreme Court has stated that “[t]he
labor organization chosen to be the representative of the craft
or class of employees is . . . chosen to represent all of its
members, regardless of their union affiliations or want of
them.” Steele v. Louisville & Nashville Railroad Co., 323 U.S. 192,
200 (1944).

App. 6

Decision of the System Board of Adjustment, Application
of United Weight Program to Former Pan American
Flight Attendants 1 (Jan. 16, 1988). The issue in this
appeal, however, is different. Rather than alleging a mis-
application of a work rule, as she did before the Board,
Melanson argues here that United fraudulently induced
her to transfer by misrepresenting that the weight
requirements would be waived in her case. This issue was
not fully litigated before the Board. Again, the real ques-
tion is whether Melanson’s claims are preempted by the
RLA.

D. Preemption

Congress enacted the RLA to promote stability in
labor-management relations by providing a framework
for resolving labor disputes in the railroad industry. See
Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Co. v. Buell, 480 U.S.
557, 562 (1987). Title Il of the RLA extends the RLA’s
coverage to the airline industry. 45 U.S.C. § 181. Congress
specifically intended the RLA to keep airline labor dis-
putes out of the courts. See Lewy, 799 F.2d at 1289. Conse-
quently, the RLA provides for mandatory administrative
grievance procedures as the exclusive remedy in claims
arising from “minor disputes” under collective-bargain-
ing agreements. See Andrews v. Louisville & N. R. Co., 406
U.S. 320, 322-23 (1972). “Minor disputes” are the “griev-
ances that arise daily between employees and carriers
regarding rates of pay, rules and working conditions.”
Union Pacific Railroad Co. v. Sheehan, 439 U.S. 89, 94 (1978).
We have also defined “minor disputes” as those which
are “arguably” governed by the CBA or have a “not

App. 7

obviously insubstantial” relationship to the labor con-
tract, Magnuson, 576 F.2d at 1369-70, “are ‘inextricably
intertwined with the grievance machinery of the collec-
tive bargaining agreement and of the RLA,’ ” Edelman v.
Western Airlines, Inc., 892 F.2d 839, 843 (9th Cir. 1989)
(quoting Magnuson, 576 F.2d at 1369), or which involve
the interpretation of a current collective-bargaining
agreement. See International Association of Machinists &
Aerospace Workers v. Republic Airlines, 761 F.2d 1386, 1390
(9th Cir. 1985); Schroeder v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 702
F.2d 189, 191 (9th Cir. 1983).

In resisting preemption, Melanson asks us to apply,
by analogy, cases discussing preemption under § 301 of
the Labor-Management Relations Act, 42 U.S.C. § 185.
She cites Lingle v. Norge Div. of Magic Chef, Inc., 486 U.S.
399 (1988) in support of her argument that state law
remedies “independent” of the CBA are not preempted
by § 301. Lingle held that claims are “independent” when
“the state-law claim can be resolved without interpret-
ing” the collective bargaining agreement. Id. at 410. We
have made clear, however, that the narrower test for § 301
preemption under Lingle is not necessarily determinative
of preemption under the RLA because “preemption
under the RLA is broader than under § 301.” Grote v.
Trans World Airlines, Inc., 905 F.2d 1307, 1310 (9th Cir.
1990). Thus, some claims that might escape preemption
under Lingle and § 301 may nevertheless by preempted
under the RLA.?

3 An example of the distinction may be drawn from two
cases that predate Lingle. Melanson relies in part on Tellez v.

(Continued on following page)

App. 8

We therefore review Melanson’s claims to determine
whether they are “minor disputes” under the RLA; that
is, whether they “ ‘concern the interpretation or applica-
tion of’ ” the CBA. Edelman, 892 F.2d at 843 (quoting Int'l
Ass'n of Machinists v. Aloha Airlines, Inc., 776 F.2d 812, 815
(9th Cir. 1985)). A claim is also considered a “minor
dispute” if it is “ ‘inextricably intertwined with the griev-
ance machinery of’ ” the CBA or RLA. Id., (quoting Mag-
nuson, 576 F.2d at 1360).

Melanson asserts three theories under California law
which comprise her cause of action for fraud: 1) negligent
or intentional misrepresentation; 2) concealment; and 3)
promise without intent to perform. To prevail on her
misrepresentation theory, Melanson must show, inter alia,
that United made a false representation of material fact.
See Univeral [sic] By-Products, Inc. v. City of Modesto, 43

(Continued from previous page)

Pacific Gas & Elec. Co., 817 F.2d 536, 538-39 (9th Cir.), cert.
denied, 484 U.S. 908 (1987). In Tellez, we found that section 301
did not preempt claims of defamation and intentional infliction
of emotional distress because the claims arose from the
employer’s distribution of a letter alleging that the plaintiff
had bought cocaine on the job. We held that the claims could
be resolved without reference to the CBA.

Tellez is to be contrasted with Beers v. Southern Pacific
Transp. Co., 703 F.2d 425, 428-29 (9th Cir. 1983), in which we
held that the RLA preempted a state law claim for intentional
infliction of emotional distress arising from harassment on the
job, because the claim could have been made the subject of
RLA grievance arbitration.

As we point out later in the text, however, Melanson’s
claims do not even meet the standard of Tellez; they cannot be
resolved without reference to the CBA.

App. 9

Cal.App.3d 145, 151, 117 Cal. Rptr. 525, 528 (1974); Cal.
Civ. Code §§ 1709, 1710. To demonstrate the falsity of
United’s alleged representations regarding its weight pro-
gram, Melanson must show that the relevant provisions
of the CBA differ significantly from those representa-
tions. This showing requires reference to and interpreta-
tion of the .erms of the CBA. Resolution of this
misrepresentation claim, then, depends on an analysis of
the CBA, and the alleged tortious activity is at least
“arguably governed” by the CBA. Therefore, the district
court properly dismissed Melanson’s misrepresentation
claim as preempted.

The elements of Melanson’s second fraud claim, con-
cealment, are: 1) suppression of material fact; 2) by one
who is bound to disclose it, or who gives information of
other facts which are likely to mislead for want of com-
munication of that fact; 3) with intent to deceive a person
unaware of the concealed fact and who would not have
acted had he known of the fact. Cal. Civ. Code §§ 1709,
1710. Melanson contends that United improperly con-
cealed its intention to waive its weight requirements for
hiring purposes only and to reinstate the program once
the new flight attendants were hired. She also alleges that
United fraudulently concealed the fact that medical
exceptions to the weight program were limited to life-
threatening situations and did not extend to weight gain
caused by medication or medical treatment.

To determine whether United concealed a material
fact from Melanson requires a comparison of United's
representations to Melanson with the terms of the weight
program in the CBA. Thus, as the misrepresentation

App. 10

claim, this claim requires reference to and interpretation
of the CBA. Melanson’s concealment claim is preempted.

Melanson’s final fraud theory under California law is
promise without intent to perform. To establish this
claim, Melanson must prove that United made a promise
about a material matter, with no intention of honoring
that promise, that induced her to take action she other-
wise would not have taken. See Cal. Civ. Code §§ 1709,
1710, see also Cicone v. URS Corp., 183 Cal.App.3d 194, 203,
227 Cal. Rptr. 887, 892 (1986); Miller v. National American
Life Ins. Co. of California, 54 Cal.App.3d 331, 338, 126 Cal.
Rptr. 731, 734 (1976). “A promise to do something neces-
sarily implies the intention to perform, and where such
intention is absent, there is an implied misrepresentation
of fact, which is actionable fraud.” 5 B. Witken, Summary
of California Law § 685 (9th ed. 1988).

This claim presents a somewhat closer question, but
we conclude that Melanson cannot prove the elements of
this claim without reference to the CBA or to conduct
governed by the CBA and its grievance machinery. It is
true that the representations United made to Melanson
and her reliance on those representations can be estab-
lished without reference to the CBA. But as a practical
matter, proof of United’s intent not to perform and its
nonperformance lead inevitably to the CBA. The weight
standards that United enforced are incorporated into the
CBA. That enforcement constituted the repudiation of
United’s alleged promise to Melanson, and it is that repu-
diation that permits the trier of fact to infer that United
never intended to perform its promise to Melanson. “The
subsequent repudiation relates back to the original prom-
ise.” Cicone v. URS Corp., 183 Cal.App.3d 194, 203, 227

App. 11

Cal.Rptr. 887, 892 (1986). If the CBA in fact guaranteed
Melanson an exemption from the weight requirements,
her claim would clearly be affected, if not defeated. Her

claim can scarcely be litigated without reference to the
CBA.

All three of Melanson’s state law claims would
intrude, then, upon the collective bargaining system
established by Congress under the RLA. Even under the
narrower preemption test of section 301, we held similar
claims preempted in Bale v. General Telephone Co. of Califor-
nia, 795 F2d 775 (9th Cir. 1986). There, two workers
claimed fraud and misrepresentation by the employer in
representing that they, as temporary employees, would
obtain permanent status after six months, when the CBA
provided otherwise. We said:

In order to prove their fraud and negligent mis-
representation claims, [plaintiffs] would be
required to show that the terms of the collective
bargaining agreement differed significantly
from the individual employment contracts they
believed they had made. Resolution of their
state tort claims is therefore “substantially
dependent upon analysis of the terms of an
agreement made between the parties in a labor
contract.”

Id. at 780 (quoting Allis-Chalmers v. Lueck, 471 U.S. 202,
220 (1985)). The same considerations compel preemption
here, even more strongly. The entire “minor dispute”
resolution system of the RLA was intended to provide
prompt resolution, without resort to the courts, of dis-
putes arising out of the employment relation. Edelman,
892 F.2d at 843, 45 U.S.C. § 15la. Melanson’s claims are
encompassed by that purpose.

App. 12

CONCLUSION

The district court properly held that Melanson’s state
law claims are preempted by the RLA. We therefore
affirm the judgment.

AFFIRMED.

App. 13

SEYFARTH, SHAW, FAIRWEATHER & GERALDSON
WILLIAM J. DRITSAS

TYLER A. BROWN

One Post Street, Suite 2450

San Francisco, California 94104

(415) 397-2823

Attorneys for Defendant
UNITED AIR LINES, INC.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

NICH <OL MELANSON, )
ec ) Case No.
Plaintiff, =) © gg 4551 CAL
v. ) JUDGMENT BY
UNITED AIR LINES, INC.) THE COURT
and DOES I to XX, inclusive, "
) (Filed April 12, 1989)
Defendants. )
)

This Court, having on March 24, 1989 granted Defen-
dant United Air Lines, Inc.’s Motion for dismissal as to
Plaintiff's Complaint and having ordered entry of judg-
ment as requested in said motion.

IT IS ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED that
this action be and hereby is dismissed with prejudice in
its entirety and that judgment is hereby entered in favor
of Defendant and against Plaintiff.

DATED: April 12, 1989

/s/ Charles A. Legge
The Honorable Charles A. Legge
Northern District Court Judge

ENTERED IN CIVIL
DOCKET 4/14, 1989

App. 14

SEYFARTH, SHAW, FAIRWEATHER & GERALDSON
WILLIAM J. DRITSAS

TYLER A. BROWN

One Post Street, Suite 2450

San Francisco, California 94104

(415) 397-2823

Attorneys for Defendant
UNITED AIR LINES, INC.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

NICHKOL MELANSON, ) Case No.
Plaintiff, C 88 4551 CAL
o ) ORDER ON
) MOTION TO
UNITED AIR LINES, INC; ) DISMISS
and DOES I to XX, inclusive, ete
) (Filed April 12, 1989)
Defendants. )
)

Having come on for hearing before this Court on
March 24, 1989 at 9:30 a.m., or as soon thereafter as the
matter was hear, and having considered the record in
this matter, and the arguments and evidence presented by
the parties to this action, by and through their attorneys
of record, and having stated the reasons for the instant
ruling in open Court,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that:

(1) Defendant’s motion to dismiss be and hereby is
GRANTED in its entirety.

(2) That this action be and hereby is dismissed with
prejudice, and

App. 15

(3) That judgment be entered in favor of Defendant
and against Plaintiff.

DATED: April 12, 1989

/s/ Charles A. Legge
The Honorable Charles A. Legge
Northern District Court Judge

App. 16

45 U.S.C. § 151. Definitions; short title

When used in this chapter and for the purposes of
this chapter -

First. The term “carrier” includes any express com-
pany, sleeping-car company, carrier by railroad, subject to
subtitle IV to Title 49, and any company which is directly
or indirectly owned or controlled by or under common
control with any carrier by railroad and which operates
any equipment or facilities or performs any service (other
than trucking service) in connection with the transporta-
tion, receipt, delivery, elevation, transfer in transit, refrig-
eration or icifg, storage, and handling of property
transported by railroad, and any other receiver, trustee,
or other individual or body, judicial or otherwise, when
in the possession of the business of any such “carrier”:
Provided, however, That the term “carrier” shall not
include any street, interurban, or suburban electric rail-
way, unless such railway is operating as a part of a
general steam-railroad system of transportation, but shall
not exclude any part of the general steam-railroad system
of transportation now or hereafter operated by any other
motive power. The Interstate Commerce Commission is
authorized and directed upon request of the Mediation
Board or upon complaint of any party interested to deter-
mine after hearing whether any iine operated by electric
power falls within the terms of this proviso. The term
“carrier” shall not include any company by reason of its
being engaged in the mining of coal, the supplying of
coal to a carrier where delivery is not beyond the mine
tipple, and the operation of equipment or facilities there-
for, or in any of such activities.

App. 17

Second. The term “Adjustment Board” means the
National Railroad Adjustment Board created by this
chapter.

Third. The term “Mediation Board” means the
National Mediation Board created by this chapter.

Fourth. The term “commerce” means commerce
among the several States or between any State, Territory,
or the District of Columbia and any foreign nation, or
between any Territory or the District of Columbia and
any State, or between any Territory and other Territory, or
between any Territory and the District of Columbia, or
within any Territory or the District of Columbia, or
between points in the same State but through any other
State or any Territory or the District of Columbia or any
foreign nation.

Fifth. The term “employee” as used herein includes
every person in the service of a carrier (subject to its
continuing authority to supervise and direct the manner
of rendition of his service) who performs any work
defined as that of an employee or subcrdinate official in
the orders of the Interstate Commerce Commission now
in effect, and as the same may be amended or interpreted
by orders hereafter entered by the Commission pursuant
to the authority which is conferred upon it to enter orders
amending or interpreting such existing orders: Provided,
however, That no occupational classification made by
order of the Interstate Commerce Commission shall be
construed to define the crafts according to which railway
employees may be organized by their voluntary action,
nor shall the jurisdiction or powers of such employee
Organizations be regarded as in any way limited or

App. 18

defined by the provisions of this chapter or by the orders
of the Commission.

The term “employees” shall not include, any individ-
ual while such individual is engaged in the physical
operations consisting of the mining of coal, the prepara-
tion of coal, the handling (other than movement by rail
with standard railroad locomotives) of coal not beyond
the mine tipple, or the loading of coal at the tipple.

Sixth. The term “representative” means any person
or persons, labor union, organization, or corporation des-
ignated either by a carrier or group of carriers or by its or
their employees to act for it or them.

Seventh. The term “district court” includes the
United States District Court for the District of Columbia;
the term “court of appeals” includes the United States
Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia.

This chapter may be cited as the “Railway Labor
Act.”

45 U.S.C. § 15la. General purposes

The purposes of the chapter are: (1) To avoid any
interruption to commerce or to the operation of any car-
rier engaged therein; (2) to forbid any limitation upon
freedom of association among employees or any denial,
as a condition of employment or otherwise, of the right of.
employees to join a labor organization: (3) to provide for
the complete independence of carriers and of employees

App. 19

in the matter of self-organization to carry out the pur-
poses of this chapter: (4) to provide for the prompt and
orderly settlement of all disputes concerning rates of pay,
rules, or working conditions; (5) to provide for the
prompt and orderly settlement of all disputes growing
out of grievances or out of the interpretation of applica-
tion of agreements covering rates of pay, rules, or work-
ing conditions.

45 U.S.C. § 155. Functions of Mediation Board

First, Disputes within jurisdiction of Mediation Board

The parties, or either party, to a dispute between an
employee or group of employees and a carrier may
invoke the services of the Mediation Board in any of the
following cases:

(a) A dispute concerning changes in rates of pay,
rules or working conditions not adjusted by the parties in
conference.

(b) Any other dispute not referable to the National
Railroad Adjustment Board and not adjusted in confer-
ence between the parties or where conferences are
refused.

The Mediation Board may proffer its services in case
any labor emergency is found by it to exist at any time.

In either event the said Board shall promptly put
itself in communication with the parties to such contro-
versy, and shall use its best efforts, by mediation, to bring

App. 20

them to agreement. If such efforts to bring about an
amicable settlement through mediation shall be unsuc-
cessful, the said Board shall at once endeavor as its final
required action (except as provided in paragraph third of
this section and in section 160 of this title) to induce the
parties to submit their controversy to arbitration, in
accordance with the provisions of this chapter.

If arbitration at the request of the Board shall be
refused by one or both parties, the Board shall at once
notify both parties in writing that its mediatory efforts
have failed and for thirty days thereafter, unless in the
intervening period the parties agree to arbitration, or an
emergency board shall be created under section 160 of
this title, no change shall be made in the rates of pay,
rules, or working conditions or established practices in
effect prior to the time the dispute arose.

Second, Interpretation of agreement.

In any case in which a controversy arises over the
meaning or the application of any agreement reached
through mediation under the provisions of this chapter,
either party to the said agreement, or both, may apply to
the Mediation Board for an interpretation of the meaning
or application of such agreement. The said Board shall
upon receipt of such request notify the parties to the
controversy, and after a hearing of both sides give its
interpretation within thirty days.

App. 21

Third. Duties of Board with respect to arbitration of
disputes; arbitrators; acknowledgment of agree-
ment; notice to arbitrators; reconvening of arbi-
trators; filing contract with Board; custody of
records and documents

The Mediation Board shall have the following duties
with respect to the arbitration of disputes under section
157 of this title:

(a) On failure of the arbitrators named by the parties
to agree on the remaining arbitrator or arbitrators within
the time set by section 157 of this title, it shall be the duty
of the Mediation Board to name such remaining arbitrator
or arbitrators. It shall be the duty of the Board in naming
such arbitrator or arbitrators to appoint only those whom
the Board shall deem wholly disinterested in the contro-
versy to be arbitrated and impartial and without bias as
between the parties to such arbitration. Should, however,
the Board name an arbitrator or arbitrators not so disin-
terested and impartial, then, upon proper investigation
and presentation of the facts, the Board shall promptly
remove such arbitrator.

If an arbitrator named by the Mediation Board, in
accordance with the provisions of this chapter, shall be
removed by such Board as provided by this chapter, or if
such an arbitrator refuses or is unable to serve, it shall be
the duty of the Mediation Board, promptly, to select
another arbitrator, in the same manner as provided in this
chapter for an original appointment by the Mediation
Board.

(b) Any member of the Mediation Board is autho-
rized to take the acknowledgment of an agreement to

App. 22

arbitrate under this chapter. When so acknowledged, or
when acknowledged by the parties before a notary public
or the clerk of a district court or a court of appeals of the
United States, such agreement to arbitrate shall be deliv-
ered to a member of said Board or transmitted to said
Board, to be filed in its office.

(c) When an agreement to arbitrate has been filed
with the Mediation Board, or with one of its members, as
provided by this section, and when the said Board has
been furnished the names of the arbitrators chosen by the
parties to the controversy it shall be the duty of the Board
to cause a notice in writing to be served upon said
arbitrators, notifying them of their appointment, request-
ing them to meet promptly to name the remaining arbi-
trator or arbitrators necessary to complete the Board of
Arbitration, and advising them of the period within
which, as provided by the agreement to arbitrate, they
are empowered to name such arbitrator or arbitrators.

(d) Either party to an arbitration desiring the recon-
vening of a board of arbitration to pass upon any contro-
versy arising over the meaning or application of an
award may so notify the Mediation Board in writing,
stating in such notice the question or questions to be
submitted to such reconvened Board. The Mediation
Board shall thereupon promptly communicate with the
members of the Board of Arbitration or a subcommittee
of such Board appointed for such purpose pursuant to a
provision in the agreement to arbitrate, and arrange for
the reconvening of said Board of Arbitration or subcom-
mittee, and shall notify the respective parties to the con-
troversy of the time and place at which the Board, or the
subcommittee, will meet for hearings upon the matters in

App. 23

controversy to be submitted to it. No evidence other than
that contained in the record file with the original award
shall be received or considered by such reconvened Board
or subcommittee, except such evidence as may be neces-
sary to illustrate the interpretations suggested by the
parties. If any member of the original Board is unable or
unwilling to serve on such reconvened Board or subcom-
mittee thereof, another arbitrator shall be named in the
Same manner and with the same powers and duties as
such original arbitrator.

(e) Within sixty days after June 21, 1934, every car-
rier shall file with the Mediation Board a copy of each
contract with its employees in effect on the Ist day of
April 1934, covering rates of pay, rules, and working
conditions. If no contract with any craft or class of its
employees have been entered into, the carrier shall file
with the Mediation Board a statement of that fact includ-
ing also a statement of the rates of pay, rules, and work-
ing conditions applicable in dealing with such craft or
class. When any new contract is executed or change is
made in an existing contract with any class or craft of its
employees covering rates of pay, rules, or working condi-
tions, or in those rates of pay, rules, and working condi-
tions of employees not covered by contract, the carrier
shall file the same with the Mediation Board within thirty
days after such new contract or change in existing con-
tract has been executed or rates of pay, rules, and work-
ing conditions have been made effective.

(f) The Mediation Board shall be the custodian of all
papers and documents heretofore filed with or trans-
ferred to the Board of Mediation bearing upon the settle-
ment, adjustment, or determination of disputes between

App. 24

carriers and their employees or upon mediation or arbi-
tration proceedings held under or pursuant to the provi-
sions of any Act of Congress in respect thereto; and the
President is authorized to designate a custodian of the
records and property of the Board of Mediation until the
transfer and delivery of such records to the Mediation
Board and to require the transfer and delivery to the
Mediation Board of any and all such papers and docu-
ments filed with it or in its possession.

45 U.S.C. § 181. Application of subchapter I to carriers
by air

All of the provisions of subchapter I of this chapter,
except section 153 of this title, are extended to and shall
cover every common carrier by air engaged in interstate
‘or foreign commerce, and every carrier by air transport-
ing mail for or under contract with the United States
Government, and every air pilot or other person who
performs any work as an employee or subordinate official
of such carrier or carriers, subject to its or their continu-
ing authority to supervise and direct the manner of rendi-
tion of his service.

45 U.S.C. § 182. Duties, penalties, benefits, and privi-
leges of subchapter I applicable

The duties, requirements, penalties, benefits, and
privileges prescribed and established by the provisions of

App. 25

subchapter I of this chapter, except section 153 of this
title, shall apply to said carriers by air and their
employees in the same manner and to the same extent as
though such carriers and their employees were specifi-
cally included within the definition of “carrier” and
“employee”, respectively, in section 151 of this title.

45 U.S.C. § 184. System, group, or regional boards of
adjustment

The disputes between an employee or group of
employees and a carrier or carriers by air growing out of
grievances, or out of the interpretation or application of
agreements concerning rates of pay, rules or working
conditions, including cases pending and unadjusted on
April 10, 1936, before the National Labor Relations Board
shall be handled in the usual manner up to and including
the chief operating officer of the carrier designated to
handle such disputes; but, failing to reach an adjustment
in this manner, the disputes may be referred by petition
of the parties or by either party to an appropriate adjust-
ment board as hereinafter provided, with a full statement
of the facts and supporting data bearing upon the dis-
putes.

It shall be the duty of every carrier and of its
employees, acting through their representatives, selected
in accordance with the provisions of this subchapter, to
establish a board of adjustment of jurisdiction not exceed-
ing the jurisdiction which may be lawfully exercised by

App. 26

system, group or regional boards of adjustment, under
the authority of section 153 of this title.

Such boards of adjustment may be established by
agreement between employees and carriers either on any
individual carrier, or system, or group of carriers by air
and any class or classes of its or their employees; or
pending the establishment of a permanent National
Board of Adjustment as hereinafter provided. Nothing in
this chapter shall prevent said carriers by air, or any class
or classes of their employees, both acting through their
representatives selected in accordance with provisions of
this subchapter, from mutually agreeing to the establish-
ment of a National Board of Adjustment of temporary
duration and of similarly limited jurisdiction.

45 U.S.C. § 185. National Air Transport Adjustment
Board

When, in the judgment of the National Mediation
Board, it shall be necessary to have a permanent national
board of adjustment in order to provide for the prompt
and orderly settlement of disputes between said carriers
by air, or any of them, and its or their employees, grow-
ing out of grievances or out of the interpretation or
application of agreements between said carriers by air or
any of them, and any class or classes of its or National
Mediation Board is hereby empowered and directed, by
its order duly made, published, and served, to direct the
said carriers by air and such labor organizations of their

App. 27

employees, national in scope, as have been or may be
recognized in accordance with the provisions of this
chapter, to select and designate four representatives who
shall constitute a board which shall be known as the
“National Air Transport Adjustment Board.” Two mem-
bers of said National Air Transport Adjustment Board
shall be selected by said carriers by air and two members
by the said labor organizations of the employees, within
thirty days after the date of the order of the National
Mediation Board, in the manner and by the procedure
prescribed by section 153 of this title for the selection and
designation of members of the National Railroad Adjust-
ment Board. The National Air Transport Adjustment
Board shall meet within forty days after the date of the
order of the National Mediation Board directing the selec-
tion and designation of its members and shall organize
and adopt rules for conducting its proceedings, in the
manner prescribed in section 153 of this title. Vacancies in
membership or office shall be fiiled, members shall be
appointed in case of failure of the carriers or of labor
organizations of the employees to select and designate
representatives, members of the National Air Transport
Adjustment Board shall be compensated, hearings shall
be held, findings and awards made, stated, served, and
enforced, and the number and compensation of any nec-
essary assistants shall be determined and the compensa-
tion of such employees shall be paid, all in the same
manner and to the same extent as provided with refer-
ence to the National Railroad Adjustment Board by sec-
tion 153 of this title. The powers and duties prescribed
and established by the provisions of section 153 of this
title with reference to the National Railroad Adjustment

App. 28

Board and the several divisions thereof are conferred
upon and shall be exercised and performed in like man-
ner and to the same extent by the said National Air
Transport Adjustment Board, not exceeding, however, the
jurisdiction conferred upon said Nationai Air Transport
Adjustment Board by the provisions of this subchapter.
From and after the organization of the National Air
Transport Adjustment Board, if any system, group, or
regional board of adjustment established by any carrier
or carriers by air and any class or classes of its or their
employees is not satisfactory to either party thereto, the
said party, upon ninety days’ notice to the other party,
may elect to come under the jurisdiction of the National
Air Transport Adjustment Board.

29 U.S.C. 185. Suits by and against labor organizations

Venue, amount, and citizenship

(a) Suits for violation of contracts between an
employer and a labor organization representing
employees in an industry affecting commerce as defined
in this chapter, or between any such labor organization,
may be brought in any district court of the United States
having jurisdiction of the parties, without respect to the
amount in controversy or without regard to the citizen-
ship of the parties.

Responsibility for acts of agent; entity for purposes of
suit; enforcement of money judgments

(b) Any labor organization which represents
employees in an industry affecting commerce as defined
in this chapter and any employer whose activities affect

App. 29

commerce as defined in this chapter shall be bound by
the acts of its agents. Any such labor organization may
sue or be sued as an entity and in behalf of the employees
whom it represents in the courts of the United States.
Any money judgment against a labor organization in a
district court of the United States shall be enforceable
only against the organization as an entity and against its
assets, and shall not be enforceable against any individ-
ual member or his assets.

Jurisdiction

(c) For the purposes of actions and proceedings by
or against labor organizations in the district courts of the
United States, district courts shall be deemed to have
jurisdiction of a labor organization (1) in the district in
which such organization maintains its principal office, or
(2) in any district in which its duly authorized officers or
agents are engaged in representing or acting for
employee members.

Service of process

(d) The service of summons, subpena, or other legal
process of any court of the United States upon an officer
or agent of a labor organization, in his capacity as such,
shall constitute service upon the labor organization.

Determination of question of agency

(e) For the purposes of this section, in determining
whether any person is acting as an “agent” of another
person so as to make such other person responsible for

App. 30

his acts, the question of whether the specific acts per-
formed were actually authorized or subsequently ratified
shall not be controlling.

California Civil Code section 1709,

One who willfully deceives another with intent
to induce him to alter his position to his injury
or risk, is liable for any damage which he
thereby suffers.

California Civil Code section 1710,

A deceit, within the meaning of the last section,
is either;

1. The suggestion, as a fact, of that which is not
true, by one who does not believe it to be true;

2. The assertion, as a fact, of that which is not
true, by one who has no reasonable ground for
believing it to be true.

3. The suppression of a fact, by one who is
bound to disclose it, or who gives information
of other facts which are likely to mislead for
want of communication of that fact; or,

4. A promise, made without any intention of
performing it.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2459%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
