# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — American Postal Workers Union v. United States Postal Service

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2365%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 502 U.S. 906

## Text

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Uuited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

AMERICAN POSTAL WORKERS UNION, AFL-CIO,
Petitioner

V.

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE.
Respondent

Petitiv.. ior a Writ of Certiorari to the
United Siates Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

DARRYL J. ANDERSON
(Counsel of Record)
O’DONNELL, SCHWARTZ

& ANDERSON
DIANA ORANTES CERESI 1300 L Street, N.W., Suite 200
2914 North Edison Street Washington, D.C. 20005-4178—
Arlington, VA 22207 (202) 898-1707
Of Counsel Attorneys for Petitioner

Bupreme Court, U.S
91-75 ,| Fit

JUN 27 1991

Ek D

Ao CLERA

ae
WILSON - Epas PRINTING Co., INC. - 789 O096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

B MEI 00

QUESTION PRESENTED

Where the parties to a collective bargaining agreement
have submitted the question of arbitrability of a griev-
ance to an arbitrator who has authority under the parties’
agreement to make a final and binding determination of
arbitrability, must a court reviewing the arbitration
award apply the deferential standard of review set forth
in Paperworkers v. Misco, Inc., 484 U.S. 29, 36 (1988),
on the question of arbitrability, or may the court make
an independent evaluation of the arbitrability of the
grievance.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
i! py th Go 1 4 yy | | eee i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ............. TERRA eR ae iv
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI ...... oe 1
i cdadismhueububinacoen l
SE ee 2
STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED Saar arnt 2
ye ee 1 6 ge Re | ft) | 2
The Arbitrator’s Decision a 6
The Decision of the District Court . ey oe 7
The Decision of the Court of Appeals 0... 9
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ................ 10

I. THE DECISION BELOW SQUARELY CON-

FLICTS WITH THE DECISIONS OF OTHER
ce AN. FE Saas 11

Il. THE DECISION BELOW IS INCONSISTENT
WITH NATIONAL LABOR POLICY .............. 19

te eS Ee cade thie 21

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

American Postal Workers Union v. United States
Postal Service, 11th Cir. No. 85-3811 (1986)...
American Postal Workers Union, AFL-CIO v.
United States Postal Service, 823 F.2d 466 (11th
Cir. 1987) . .
AT&T Technologies v. ‘Communications ‘Workers,
475 U.S. 643 (1986) ee ES
Berklee College of Music v. Local 4412, 858 F.2d
31 (1st Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 110 S.Ct. 53
(1989) . mae eae...
Bowen v. United States Postal Service, 459 US.
212 (1983) os KL TES AS es NOOR,
Container Products v. United Steelworkers, 873
F.2d 818 (5th Cir. 1989) .
Delta Queen Steamboat Coe. v. District 2 2 Marine
Eng’rs Beneficial Ass’n, 889 F.2d 599 (5th Cir.
1989}, cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 148 (1990) ........
District Council of Painters v. Kashak, 774 F.2d
985 (9th Cir. 1985) a re Peer
Franklin Electric Co. v. U.A.W. Local 1000, 886
F.2d 188 (8th Cir. 1989)... a:
George Day Construction Co., Ine. v. Carpenters
Local 354, 722 F.2d 1471 (9th Cir. 1984). ......
GK Moat. v. Hotel Employees Local 274, 930 F.2d
i fe Re 8 RE A ATO ease
Interstate Brands Corporation, Butternut Bread
Division v. Teamsters Local 135, 909 F.2d 885
(6th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 1104
IE iota Noss scnascaseentieicaseceds daca eae inn teeasananane -
Johnston Boiler Co. v. Local Lodge No. 893, 753
if FF F. ge >: SORCER on
Jones Dairy Farm v. Local B-1236, 760 F.2d 173

(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 845 (1985) _.13,

Kraemer & Sons v. Local 695, 182 LRRM 2524
(W.D. Wis. 1986) ............ pees

Lattimer-Stevens Co. v. District 27, 913 F.2d 1166
(6th Cir. 1999)... ;

Local 36 v. Atlas Air Conditioning Co.. 926 F.2d
y 2: bt | } Re ee

Page

12,14
12
14, 16
14
12

14

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Mobil Oil Corp. v. Independent Oil Workers Union,
679 F.2d 299 (3d Cir. 1982) Gakic 14
Pack Concrete, Inc. v. Cunningham, 866 F. 2d 283
(9th Cir. 1989) ........ EE OEE IOS AN neh se 8 oa 12
Pennsylvania Power Company v. Local 272, 886
F.2d 46 (3d Cir. 1989) 11
Roche v. United States Postal Service, 828 F. 2d
1555 (Fed. Cir. 1987) Be FE Me ASL Fabel 6
Steelworkers v. American Me nufacturers Co., 363
U.S. 564 (1960) 19
Steelworkers v. Enterprise Wheel & Car Corp., 363
U.S. 593 (1960) Cee GS
Steelworkers v. Warrior and Gulf Navigation Co.,
363 U.S. 574 (1960) . 19
Teamsters Local 764 v. J.H. Merritt & Co., 770
F.2d 40 (1985) ; , 14
United Food and Commercial Workers v, Lucky
Stores, Inc., 806 F.2d 1385 (9th Cir. 1986)... 12
United Paperworkers Int'l Union v. Misco, Ine.,
484 U.S. 29 (1987) 10, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19
United Steelworkers v. American Smelting, ete.,
648 F.2d 863 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S.
BE CED eociceccecercceess anne 11
Van Waters & Rogers, Inc. v. Teamsters Local 70,
913 F.2d 736 (9th Cir. 1990) 14
Vie Wertz Distributing v. Teamsters Local 1038,
S08 F'.26 1136 (Gth Cir. 1989) ............................... 11
W. R. Grace & Co. v. Rubber Workers, 461 U.S.
le IED ‘wisccshueccceatenses =a EN, RA ae, sree, 11,12
STATUTES
Labor Management Relations Act § 203(d), 29
U.S.C. $178 (ad) ............. 19
ane Management R elations Act § § 301, 29 US
§ 185 Bs 8

Postal Reorganization Act of 1970, 39 U.S.C.
2 Eanes aakn aan east iets cn ete a ee, A

IN THE
Sipreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No.

AMERICAN POSTAL WORKERS UNION, AFL-CIO,
Petitioner
Vv.
UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE,
Respondent

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner American Postal Workers Union, AFL-CIO
(APWU), respectfully petitions this Court to issue a
writ of certiorari to review the judgment and decision
of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Cir-
cuit in United States Postal Service v. American Postal
Workers Union, AFL-CIO, Fifth Circuit No. 90-1562.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at 922
F.2d 256. It is reproduced at pp. la-9a of the Appendix
to this petition (“App.”). The Memorandum Opinion of
the District Court is unreported. It is reproduced at
App. 10a-14a. The arbitration award at issue here is
unreported and is reproduced at App. I5a-24a.

2

JURISDICTION

The decision of the Court of Appeals and its judgment
(App. la-9a) were issued on January 28, 1991. A timely
petition for rehearing was denied on February 26, 1991
(App. 25a). On April 29, 1991, Mr. Justice Scalia en-
tered an order extending the time for filing this petition
to June 21, 1991. This Court has jurisdiction under 28
U.S.C. § 125411).

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

The statutory provision involved in this case is 39
U.S.C. § 1208(b) which is set forth in the Appendix to
this petition at 26a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner, the American Postal Workers Union, AFL-
CIO (“APWU”) is a labor organization representing
employees of Respondent United States Postal Service
(“USPS” or “Postal Service”). The USPS and the
APWU are parties-to a nationwide collective bargaining
agreement ‘hereinafter the “National Agreement”). The
grievance at issue in this case arose under the 1984-1987
National Agreement.

The National Agreement contains a broad arbitration
provision and broad definition ef a grievance. Virtually
any dispute between the parties which arises under the
National Agreement is subject to the grievance-arbitra-
tion procedure.’

The National Agreement expressly provides that issues
of arbitrability may he reselved by the arbitrator. It
further provides, without qualification, that such deci-
sions are to be “final and binding.” Article 15, Section
4.A(9) thus states:

1 Pertinent provisions of the National Agreement and contrac
tually mandated regulations are reprinted in an Appendix to this
Brief, at 27a-29%a.

3

Any dispute as to arbitrability may be sub-
“mi ited to the arbitrator and be determined by such
arbitrator. The arbitrator’s determination shall be
final and binding.

With regard to the merits of an arbitration decision,
Article 15, Section 4.A (6) provides:

A'l decisions of an arbitrator will be final and
binding. All decisions of arbitrators shall be limited
to the terms and provisions of this Agreement, and
in no event may the terms and provisions of this
Agreement be altered, amended, or modified by an
arbitrator.

Under the National Agreement, the Employer is re-
quired to adhere to the Federal Employee’s Compensa-
tion Act (FECA), subchapter I of Chapter 81 of Title
5 of the U.S. Code, and to promulgate binding regula-
tions in compliance with that Act. National Agreement
Article 21; App. 28a. The Employer’s regulations prom-
ulgated pursuant to Article 21 of the Agreement are in-
cluded in Part 540 of the Postal Service Employee and
Labor Relations Manual (“ELM”). These provisions of
the ELM are incorporated by reference into the Nationa!
Agreement by virtue of Article 19 of the National Agree-
ment. App. 28a.

The ELM provisions unambiguously require the Postal
Service to grant an employee injured on the job leave
without pay for up to one year from the date workers
compensation commences. ELM Section 545.91, App.
29a. The employee must also be retained on the employ-
ment rolls during this time. ELM Section 545.93; App.
29a. If the employee recovers within one year, it is the
obligation of the Postal Service to permit the employee
to “resume employment in the former or equivalent posi-
tion.” ELM Section 546.121; App. 29a. FECA and the
Postal Service’s implementing regulations in the ELM
are applicable to both probationary and permanent em-
ployees. App. 21a.

4

The discharged employee whose grievance is at issue
in this case, Darel Smith, was hired to work as a Dis-
tribution Clerk at the Fort Worth, Texas post office. Ap-
proximately midway through Mr. Smith’s 90-day proba-
tionary period, he was injured in a work-related auto-
mobile accident and was placed on paid leave in accord-
ance with the ELM requirements. When Mr. Smith re-
turned to work after his recovery, still during his proba-
tionary period, he was given a termination notice that
was to take effect immediately. The notice stated:
“(t|his termination of your employment is due to your
unsatisfactory performance as a Postal employee.” App.
17a?

The APWU filed a grievance on behalf of Mr. Smith,
contending that even as a probationary employee Mr.
Smith was entitled by the National Agreement to be re-
instated following recovery from his on-the-job injury.
As a remedy for the alleged violation of Mr. Smith’s
rights, the APWU asked that Mr. Smith be reinstated
with full seniority status and compensated for all lost
wages. App. 18a. The grievance was appealed through
the grievance procedure of the National Agreement to
arbitration.

In response to the grievance, the Postal Service took
the position that the grievance could not be heard because
the termination occurred during Mr. Smith’s probation-
ary period. App. 18a. The Postal Service further as-
serted that, while it had not made a decision to termi-

2Mr. Smith had received a customary 30-day evaluation. App.
16a. Although his supervisor rated Mr. Smith’s performance as less
than satisfactory in several respects, the supervisor did not recom-
mend that Mr. Smith be terminated. Rather, Mr. Smith was as-
signed to further training. Shortly after the 30-day evaluation, the
supervisor issued a memorandum to higher management requesting
that Mr. Smith be immediately terminated for failing to follow in-
structions on a particular day. No action was taken on this recom-
mendation prior to the time Mr. Smith suffered his injury and was
placed on leave.

5

nate Mr. Smith at the time of his 30-day evaluation, it
did make such a determination thereafter, although it
had not communicated that decision to Mr. Smith until
he attempted to return from his on-the-job injury. App.
19a, 20a.

When the grievance reached arbitration, the parties
submitted two issues to the Arbitrator:

1. Whether the instant grievance is arbitrable?

2. Whether the grievant’s termination violated the Na-
tional Agreement and/or federal law, and if so,
what is the remedy?

App. 16a.

In asserting that the grievance filed on behalf of Mr.
Smith was not arbitrable, the employer relied upon Ar-
ticle 12, Section 1, of the National Agreement which
states, in pertinent part:

The probationary period for a new employee shall
be ninety (90) calendar days. The Employer shall
have the right to separate from its employ any pro-
bationary employee at any time during the proba-
tionary period and these probationary employees
shall not be permitted access to the grievance proce-
dure in relation thereto. ...

App. 27a.

The Union contended that Mr. Smith was unqualifiedly
entitled to reinstatement following recovery from his on-
the-job injury, that he was entitled to continuous credit
for employment service to the date of his reinstatement,
and that he should, therefore, be reinstated as a non-
probationary employee.

The Arbitrator found the grievance to be arbitrable,
concluded that the termination violated the National
Agreement, and ordered the USPS to reinstate Mr.
Smith as a probationary employee.

The Arbitrator’s Decision

In his ruling that Mr. Smith was entitled to be rein-
stated by way of the grievance procedure, the Arbitra-
tor acknowledged that “[t]here can be no serious ques-
tion about the right of the Postal Service to issue a re-
moval notice any time within the first 90 days of a per-
son’s employment. That is to say, Management may
make this decision and take this action without having
to prove that it had ‘just cause’ as this term is used in
Articles 3 and 16 [of the National Agreement|.” App.
2la. The Arbitrator found, however, that under the Na-
tional Agreement all postal employees, including proba-
tionary employees, are contractually entitled to assert
rights protected by FECA and the ELM regulations
since “|The ELM provision] makes no distinction be-
tween a permanent employee and one that is on proba-
tion.” App. 21a.

The Arbitrator concluded that the contractual restora-
tion rights provided to employees under the ELM apply
whenever the employee’s removal is “the result of, or
substantially related to, the compensable injury,” and
that “in essence, . . . the employee should be reinstated
unless it can be said with reasonable assurance that the
[employee’s] absence due to on-the-job injury had noth-
ing whatever to do with Management’s decision to in-
itiate the removal action.” App. 22a. (Emphasis in
original. )*

In response to the employer’s contention that its right
to terminate employees during their probationary period
foreclosed an arbitral remedy, the Arbitrator noted that
the USPS had not exercised its right te issue a removal

8 The Arbitrator buttressed his reading of the ELM by reference
to Roche v. United States Postal Service, 828 F.2d 1555, 1557 (Fed.
Cir. 1987) in which the Court ruled that employees are entitled to
appeal the denial of statutory restoration rights irrespective of their
probationary status if their removal was substantially related to a
compensable injury.

7

notice prior to Mr. Smith’s injury. The Arbitrator ob-
served that while Mr. Smith’s 30-day evaluation had
been less than satisfactory, “the fact is, he was not dis-
charged.” Accordingly, the Arbitrator found that it
“must be assumed that management held out hope that
he would respond to training and indoctrination,” and
that prior to his injury leave “the decision had not been
made, namely, that the grievant was unwilling or unable
to make the necessary improvement.” App. 23a.‘

The Arbitrator ruled that, on these facts, it was rea-
sonable to conclude that Mr. Smith “was trying to meet
management’s standards of performance but was unable
to demonstrate this because he was absent due to com-
pensable injury” and accordingly was entitled to rein-
statement under the contract inasmuch as his separation
“was the result of, or substantially related to, the com-
pensable injury.” App. 23a.

The Arbitrator rejected the Union’s request that Mr.
Smith be reinstated as a non-probationary employee, rul-
ing instead that the USPS was required to reinstate Mr.
Smith in a probationary status and “to afford him the
remainder of his probationary pericd to qualify as a
permanent employee.” App. 15a.

The Decision of the District Court

The Postal Service brought suit in the United States
District Court for the Northern District of Texas, seek-
ing an order setting aside the arbitrator’s award; the
APWU counterclaimed for enforcement of the award.

* The Arbitrator discounted the less than favorable 30-day evalua-
tion of Mr. Smith, noting the uncontroverted evidence that “it is
almost routine to give probationary employees unsatisfactory rat-
ings in order to motivate them and to convince them that manaye-
ment’s standards are high.” App. 23a.

8

Jurisdiction for the suit was based on Section 1208(b)
of the Postal Reorganization Act, 39 U.S.C. § 1208(b).’

On cross-motions for summary judgment, the district
court granted judgment in favor of the Postal Service,
vacating the arbitrator’s award. In a brief opinion, the
court observed that the first issue to be resolved was
“whether the Arbitrator exceeded his authority.” App.
lla. The court ruled that “|a|lthough the Arbitrator may
have implicitly considered the issue of arbitrability, his
decision is not absolutely immune from judicial review
as defendants suggest. If the arbitrator exceeded his au-
thority under the collective bargaining agreement, the
Court may set aside the award. Container Products r.
United Steelworkers, 873 F.2d 818, 820 (5th Cir. 1989).”
App. 12a. In the opinion of the district court, “|u|nder
the clear language of the National Agreement, proba-
tionary employees are not permitted access to the griev-
ance procedure in relation to a termination within the

5 Section 1208(b) of the Postal Reorganization Act (PRA), 39
U.S.C. § 1208(b), provides:

(b) Suits for violation of contracts between the Postal Service
and a labor organization representing Postal Service employees,
or between any such labor organizations, may be brought in any
district court of the United States having jurisdiction of the
parties, without respect to the amount in controversy.

This provision is substantively identical to Section 301(a) of the
Labor Manayement Relations Act of 1947 (LMRA), 29 U.S.C. § 185,
which provides:

(a) Suits for violation of contracts between an employer and a
labor organization representing emplovees in an industry affect-
ing commerce as defined in this Chapter, or between any such
labor organizations, may be brought in any district court of the
United States having jurisdiction of the parties, without respect
to the amount in controversy or without regard to the citizen-
ship of the parties.

It is well settled that these provisions are substantively the same.
See Bowen v. United States Postel Service, 459 U.S. 212, 232 n.2
(1983) (White, J., dissenting); American Postal Workers Union,
AFL-CIO wv. United States Postal Service, 823 F.2d 466, 468 (11th
Cir. 1987).

9

probationary period. Article i2, Section 1.A. The arbi-
trator clearly exceeded his authority under the clear and
unequivocal language of the collective bargaining agree-
ment.” App. 12a.

The Decision of the Court of Appeals

On appeal, the Fifth Circuit affirmed the judgment of
the District Court. App. 9a. Notwithstanding the arbi-
trator’s factual finding (App. 23a) that Mr. Smith’s dis-
charge was “the result of or substantially related to the
compensable injury,” the Court of Appeals stated that
“the Postal Service fired Smith because of his ‘unsatis-
factory performance as a postal employee.” App. 2a.
After an analysis of the pertinent provisions of the col-
lective bargaining agreement, the Court concluded (App.
ba):

We agree with the Postal Service that even when,
as in this case, a probationary employee alleges that
his termination violates Articles 19 and 21 of the
National Agreement, Article 12 of that Agreement
clearly denies probationary employees any right to
resort to grievance and arbitration procedures.

In reaching this conclusion, the Court of Appeals in-
voked what it characterized as “well-established prin-
ciples of construction [which] require that the specific
trump the general provision” (footnote omitted). In the
Court’s view, even the meritorious assertion that Mr.
Smith was entitled to reinstatement under Articles 19
and 21 of the National Agreement could not “confer on
probationary employees the right to arbitration on issues
concerning these articles that Article 12 expressly denies
them.” App. 2a.

With regard to Article 15.4.4'9) of the Nationa] Agree-
ment, which provides that an arbitrator's decision on the
issue of arbitrability “shall be final and binding,” the
Court of Appeals held that “|t|he same principle of con-
struction [that the specific trump the general pro-

10

vision] also applies to the conflict between Article 12 and
Article 15.4.4(9). .. .” App. 8a. Notwithstanding the
fact that the parties submitted the issue of arbitrability
to the arbitrator (see App. 16a, 18a), the Court of Ap-
peals held (App. 8a) :

Article 12 does not permit the arbitrator ever to
reach the question of arbitrability when the dismissal
at issue involves probationary employees. When the
arbitrator does so, he clearly exceeds his authority
under the National Agreement.

Accordingly, the Court of Appeals affirmed the District
Court judgment with the concluding observation that “the
arbitrator exceeded his authority under the clear and
unequivocal language of the National Agreement.” App.
9a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This Court has emphasized for more than 30 years
that “the courts play only a limited role when asked
to review the decision of an arbitrator. The courts are
not authorized to reconsider the merits of an award
even though the parties may allege that the award rests
on errors of fact or on misinterpretation of the contract.”
Paperworkers v. Misco, Inc., 484 U.S. 29, 36 (1988). “The
federal policy of settling labor disputes by arbitration
would be undermined if courts had the final say on the
merits of the awards.” Jd. (quoting Steelworkers v. En-
terprises Wheel & Car Corp., 363 U.S, 593, 596 (1960) ).

Equally well settled is the principle that absent a “clear
and unmistakable” agreement otherwise, “the question of
arbitrability—whether a collective bargaining agreement
creates a duty for the parties to arbitrate the particular
grievance— ... is to be decided by the court not by
the arbitrator” (citation omitted). AT&T Technologies v.
Communications Workers, 475 U.S. 648, 649 (1986).

11

The issue that has not been settled by this Court, and
on which the Circuits are now in disagreement, is the
proper standard of judicial review to be applied by the
courts where the parties have contractually committed the
question of arbitrability ot the arbitrator, and the ar-
bitrator’s decision on the merits of the arbitrability issue
is the subject of a motion to vacate or confirm the ar-
bitrator’s award.

I. THE DECISION BELOW SQUARELY CONFLICTS
WITH THE DECISIONS OF OTHER COURTS OF
APPEALS

A. The majority of the Courts of Appeals are in ac-
cord that in those cases in which the parties have agreed
to submit the question of arbitrability to an arbitrator,

review is subject to the same highly deferential
standard we employ in reviewing arbitrators’ rulings
on the merits. We will not vacate an arbitrator’s
arbitrability decision unless it cannot rationally be
derived from the collective bargaining agreement.
See United Steelworkers v. American Smelting, etc.,
648 F.2d 863, 867 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S.
1931 (1981).

Pennsylvania Power Company v. Local 272, 886 F.2d
46, 48 (3d Cir. 1989). Avcord, G K MGT v. Hotel Em-
ployees Local 279, 930 F.2d 301 (3d Cir. 1991). —

Thus, the Sixth Circuit has consistently held that “an
arbitrator’s decision of the issue of arbitrability [is] not
subject to independent judicial review. ... ‘{T]he scope
of the arbitrator’s authority is itself a question of con-
tract interpretation that the parties have delegated to
the arbitrator.’ (quoting W. R. Grace & Co. v. Rubber
Workers, 461 U.S. 757, 765 (1983)).” Vice Wertz Dis-
tributing v. Teamsters Local 1038, 898 F.2d 1136, 1139
(6th Cir. 1989). Accordingly, “ ‘the presumption of au-
thority that attaches to an arbitrator’s award applies with
equal force to his decision that his award is within the

12

submission.’ (quoting Johnston Boiler Co. v. Local Lodge
No. 893, 753 F.2d 40, 43 (6th Cir. 1985) ).” Id.”

This is also the long-standing rule in the Ninth Circuit,
where, in the leading case George Day Construction Co.,
Inc. v. Carpenters Local 354, 722 F.2d 1471, 1475 (9th
Cir. 1984), the court held that when the parties consent
to allow an arbitrator to decide the entire controversy,
including the question of arbitrability

[Wle are not at liberty to substitute our own view
in place of the arbitrator’s regardless of what our
view might be of the correctness of the arbitral de
cision. W. R. Grace & Co., 461 U.S. 757, 103 S.Ct.
at 2182. The parties have delegated that decision to
the arbitrator and we may not ‘second-guess’ him.
Id.

The Eighth Circuit has, likewise, concluded that the
narrow standard of review prescribed by Paperworkers
v. Misco, supra, must be applied to an arbitrator’s deter-
mination of arbitrability.

Once an issue is properly before the arbitrator,
the standard of judicial review for the decision is
deferential: if the award “draws its essence from
the collective bargaining agreement” then it must be

6 Accord, Interstate Brands Corporation, Butternut Bread Division
v. Teamsters, Local 135, 909 F.2d 885, 890 (6th Cir. 1990), cert.
denied, 1T1 S.Ct. 1104 (1991); Lattimer-Stevens Co. v. District 27,
913 F.2d 1166, 1170 (6th Cir. 1990) (“| T|he extraordinary defer-
ence given to an arbitrator’s ultimate decision on the merits applies
equally to an arbitrator’s decision that the parties have indeed sub-
mitted a particular issue for arbitration.” ).

7 Accord, United Food and Commercial Workers v. Lucky Stores,
Inc., 806 F.2d 1385, 1386 (9th Cir. 1986); District Council of
Painters v. Kashak, 774 F.2d 985, 989 (9th Cir. 1985). And, as in
the Third and Sixth Circuits the Ninth Circuit has held that “an
arbitrator’s interpretation of the scope of the issues submitted to
him is entitled to the same deference accorded his interpretation of
the collective bargaining agreement.” Pack Concrete, Ine. v. Cun-
ningham, 866 F.2d 283, 285 (9th Cir, 1989).

13

enforced [citation omitted]. This deferential stand-
ard applies equally to an arbitrator’s award arising
not merely out of a collective bargaining agreement,
but also from the parties independent submission of
questions ordinarily resolved by the courts. [Cita-
tion omitted} Because we cannot say the arbitra-
tor’s decision [on arbitrability] did not take its es-
sence from the parties agreement, we hold the dis-
trict court correctly upheld the arbitrator’s decision
to reach the merits of the issue.

Franklin Electric Co. v. UAW, 886 F.2d 188, 192 (1989).

B. The First Circuit has adopted an even more defer-
ential standard when reviewing an arbitrator’s decision
on arbitrability in those cases in which the parties have
submitted the issue to the arbitrator. In Berklee College of
Music v. Local 4412, 858 F.2d 31, 34 (1st Cir. 1988)
cert. denied 110 S.Ct. 53 (1989), the « urt deferred to
an arbitrator’s determination that an a; parently unam-
biguous contractual time limitation on the filing of griev-
ances could be overlooked under appropriate circum-
stances. As the court explained:

Whether we would find these arguments convinc-
ing were it up to us to interpret the contract is be-
side the point. The question is whether these argu-
ments make the arbitrator’s interpretation plausible.
We can imagine some judges or arbitrators accepting
these arguments (without stretching the imagination
very far). That being so, we must uphold the arbi-
trator’s determination. Misco, supra.

The Seventh Circuit’s decision in Jones Dairy Farm v.
Local B-1236, 760 F.2d 173 (7th Cir.), cert. denied,
474 U.S. 848 (1985), suggests that it takes a similar
approach to that of the First Circuit. In that case, the
court refused to permit the employer to obtain judicial
review of the arbitrator’s decision on arbitrability be-
cause the employer had “voluntarily and unreservedly”
submitted the issue of arbitrability to the arbitrator. Jd.
at 175. The court went on to explain that:

x

14

If people want a question of law resolved by an
arbitrator rather than a judge, there is nothing to
stop them. It would be odd if having consented to
have the arbitrator decide what its legal rights to
contract out work were, Jones Dairy Farm could
then have the same question redetermined by two
courts—the district court and this court. We hold it
could not, and therefore that the judgment must be
reversed with instructions to enforce the arbitrator's
award.

Id." According to the Seventh Circuit, once an arbitrator
has been given the authority to decide an issue, they
“cannot complain that the arbitrator exceeded his au-
thority” in deciding the issue. /d.”

*The court in Kraemer & Sons v. Local 695, 1232 LRRM 2524
.W.D. Wis. 1986), read Jones Dairy Farm even more broadly, stat-
ing that “Jones Dairy Farm dictates that the question of arbitra-
bility decided by the arbitrator is conclusive and may not be over-
turned by this court.” Jd. at 2527.

*The courts have further held that such an agreement can also
be implied from the parties’ conduct. By submitting an issue to
arbitration a party may be held to have waived objection to the
arbitrator’s authority, or impliedly to have agreed to abide by the
decision of the arbitrator on that issue. Local 36 v, Atlas Air Con-
ditioning Co., 926 F.2d 770, 771-772 (8th Cir. 1991); Van Waters &
Rogers, Inc. v. Teamsters Local 70, 913 F.2d 726, 740-741 (9th Cir.
1990); Interstate Brands v. Teamsters Local 185, 909 F.2d 885, 890
(6th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 1104 (1991); Jones Dairy
Farm v. Local 1286, 760 F.2d 173, 175 (7th Cir.), cert. denied,
474 U.S. 845 (1985); Teamsters Local 764 v. J.H. Merritt & Co., 770
F.2d 40, 42 (3d Cir. 1985); Mobil Oil Corp. v. Independent Oil
Workers Union, 679 F.2d 299 (3d Cir. 1982).

In this regard, the Eighth Circuit places the burden on the party
seeking to preserve the issue of arbitrability for review by the
courts. In Local 36 v. Atlas Air Conditioning Co., 926 F.2d_770,
771-772 (Sth Cir. 1991), that court suggested three alternative
methods:

Atlas could have objected to the arbitrator’s authority, re-
fused to argue the arbitrability issue, and proceeded to the
merits of the grievance. By making an objection as to jurisdic-
tion and an express reservation of the question on the record,

15

C. The rule in the Fifth Circuit, cannot be squared
with either the majority approach or the approach of
the First and Seventh Circuits. As explained by that
court in Container Products, Inc. v. United Steelworkers,
873 F.2d 818 (5th Cir. 1989), the Fifth Cireuit “con-
strue|s| the Supreme Court’s language [in Misco| as
an admonition concerning the merits of the controversy
rather than any jurisdictional prerequisites imposed by
the arbitration agreement.”’ Thus, the Fifth Circuit in
this case observed (App. 4a) that Misco requires the
court to “pay considerable deference to the merits of an
arbitrator’s award... .

But this court will not enforce an arbitrator’s deci-
sion on the merits if the arbitrator has exceeded his
authority under the collective bargaining agreement.
Delta Queen Steamboat Co, v. District 2 Marine
Engrs Beneficial Ass'n, 889 F.2d 599, 602 (5th Cir.
1989), cert. denied, U.S. , 111 S.Ct. 148,
112 LEd.2d 114 (1990); Container Prods., Inc. v.
United Steelworkers, 873 F.2d 818, 820 (5th Cir.
1989). [Emphasis added.] '’

Atlas would not have lost its defense. Second, Atlas could have
sought declaratory or injunctive relief prior to the commence-
ment of arbitration. Finally, Atlas could have notified the St.
Louis Board that they refused to arbitrate altogether.
Because none of these routes was followed, the court in Atlas held
that the employer was foreclosed from asserting non-arbitrability
as a defense to a motion to enforce the arbitration award. /d.

19 Tn Delta Queen, supra, the Fifth Circuit reviewed an award on
the merits of a discharge grievance and vacated the arbitrator’s
award ordering reinstatement of the employee. On the suggestion
of rehearing en bone, four judges dissented from the denial of re-
hearing, on the ground that by adopting a broad standard of review,
the court weakened the important policy of encouraging Alternative
Dispute Resolution (ADR) by “turning its back on a developed and
effective ADR procedure.” Delta Queen Steamboat Company v. Dis-
trict 2, MEBA, 897 F.2d 746, 750 (5th Cir. 1990) (Williams, J., with
whom Politz, King and Johnson, Circuit Judges, joined, dissenting
from the denial of rehearing en bane).

| peeeeeeneenereeeenieseneennemeiill

16

In making the determination that the arbitrator had
“exceeded his authority under the collective bargaining
agreement” in this case, th ecourt below independently
interpreted the collective bargaining agreement cor.clud-
ing that “Article 12 [of the National Agreement] does not
permit the arbitrator ever to reach the question of ar-
bitrability when the dismissal issue involves probationary
employees”. App. 8a.

D. The sum of the matter is that in the other Cir-
cuits whose decisions are reviewed above, parties who
submit the issue of arbitrability to the arbitrator, in ad-
dition to the merits of their dispute, are either bound
by the arbitrator‘s decision on arbirability or may obtain
review of it only under the narrow, deferential standard
set by this Court in Misco. As the Eighth Circuit in
Franklin Electric, supra, explained in declining to en-
gage in extensive analysis of the collective bargaining
agreement (id.):

Because we are deciding appellant’s joint jurisdic-
tional and arbitrability questions based on their vol-
untary submission to the arbitrator, we will not
reach its extensive arguments concerning the limited
scone of this CBA... . As we noted before, arbitra-
bility is a matter of contract and here both parties
by their conduct agreed to arbitrate the issue. A
party against whom the award was issued cannot
now declare it does not wish to be bound by the arbi-
trator’s decision. See, e.g., Jones Dairy Farm, 760
F.2d at 175-176.

The Fifth Circuit, by contrast, makes no effort to rec-
ognize, let alone defer to, the aribtrator’s contractually
delegated authority to decide arbitrability issues. Thus,
in this case, the court instead summarily dismissed the
broad grant of authority given to the arbitrator under
Article 15 of the National Agreement on the basis of its
own contractual interpretation that Article 12 constituted

17

a limitation to the arbiraor’s auhoriy that was applicable
in all instances."'

But the Postal Service and the APWU had by contract
agreed that an arbitrator’s determination of arbitrability
would be final and binding. Under the Misco standards,
as applied in the majority of circuits, the arbitrator’s de-
termination that he had jurisdiction to address the merits
of the instant grievance could accordingly only be set
aside if it wholly fails to “draw its essence from the col-
lective bargaining agreement.” 484 U.S. at 36. “[A]s
long as the arbitrator is even arguably construing or
applying the contract and acting within the scope of his
authority, that a court is convinced he committed serious
error does not suffice to overturn his decision.” /d. at 38.

In determining that he had jurisdiction in this matter,
the arbitrator was plainly “construing the contract.” In
the arbitrator’s view, probationary employees who make
a timely return from workers compensation leave have
contractual rights to reinstatement. App. 24a. This right
exists despite the fact that the contract otherwise denies
them the right to contest their dismissal during the proba-
tionary period. The arbitrator’s conclusion that he had
the authority to direct reinstatement as a remedy for the
breach of the employee’s contractual right is a reason-
able means of reconciling the two apparently inconsistent
provisions in the collective bargaining agreement. Cer-
tainly, it is a “plausible” one. Berklee College of Music
v. Local 4412, 858 F.2d 31, 34 (1st Cir. 1988), cert. de-

1 Even if the National Agreement had not expressly authorized
the arbitrator to decide this issue, it is clear that under the majority
rule of the circuit courts the strict deference standard would be
applicable to review of the arbitrator’s decision since the parties
“unequivocally” and “voluntarily” put the issue before nim without
reserving the right to de novo determination by the court. See
cases cited supra, n.7.

————————SE~” em

18

nied, 110 S.Ct. 53 (1989). Whether a court would have
reached the same result is simply “beside the point.” /d.’*

The decision below extends a conflict among the
circuits that makes the content of important federal
labor policy governing the finality of arbitrators’ awards
dependent upon the situs of the dispute.'* In the case of
the Postal Service, it results in a different standard be-
tween circuits in the application of a single National
Agreement. By adopting an unduly broad standard of
review that abrogates the parties’ agreement concerning
the authority of arbitrators to determine the arbitrability
of the parties’ disputes, the court below has weakened the
important policy of encouraging private mechanisms for
dispute resolution in direct conflict with this Court’s
teachings in Paperworkers v. Misco, Inc., supra.

12 We do not suggest that Arbitrator Sherman's decision is a model
of clarity, but that is not the standard. As the Court observed in
Steelworkers v. Enterprise Wheel & Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593, 596
(1960), arbitrators “sit to settle disputes at the plant level—disputes
that require for their solution knowledge of custom and practices
of a particular factory or of a particular industry as reflected in
particular agreements” (footnote omitted). In this case for exam-
ple, the arbitrator interpreted and applied a Postal Service Manual
as part of the parties’ contract—as indisputably it is under Article
19. He did so without spelling out what made it so. As APWU
officer Thomas Neill explained in his sworn declaration, the Manuals
are part of the parties agreement and are routinely interpreted and
applied by arbitrators appointed by the parties under that agree-
ment. App. 5a, n.2. Thus, while the court below concluded that
Article 12 is “clear and unequivocal” Arbitrator Sherman, with a
far greater knowledge of the parties’ agreement reached a different
conclusion, as did another arbitrator in American Postal Workers
Union, AFL-CIO v. United States Postal Service, No. 85-3811 (11th
Cir. 1986). See n.13, infra.

13 The Eleventh Circuit made a similar decision in a case which
was cited by Respondents in its briefs to the courts below in this
case. American Postal Workers Union v. United States Postal Serv-
ice, 11th Cir. No, 85-3811 (1986). The Eleventh Circuit’s decision
is not officially reported and is therefore considered not to have
precedential value under the rules of that court (11th Cir. R. 36-1).

19

Il. THE DECISION BELOW IS INCONSISTENT WITH
NATIONAL LABOR POLICY

Section 203(d) of the Labor Management Relations Act
of 1947, 29 U.S.C. § 173(d) states:

Final adjustment by a method agreed upon by the
parties is declared to be the desirable method for
settlement of grievance disputes arising over the
application or interpretation of an existing collective-
bargaining ageement. .. .

As this court observed in Steelworkers ». American Manu-
facturers Co., 363 U.S. 564, 566 (1960), this congressional
policy “can be effectuated only if the means chosen by the
parties for settlement of their differences under a collec-
tive bargaining agreement is given full play.”

As this court also observed, in another of the decisions
in the Steelworkers trilogy, “|slince arbitration of labor
disputes has quite different functions from arbitration
under an ordinary commercial agreement, the hostility
evinced by courts toward arbitration of commercial agree-
ments has no place here. For arbitration of labor dis-
putes under collective bargaining agreements is part and
parcel of the collective bargaining process itself.” Steel-
workers v. Warrior and Gulf Navigation Co., 363 U.S.
574, 578 (1960).

Most recently, in Paperworkers v. Misco, Inc., supra,
at 37 the court stated “|{t]he reasons for insulating arbi-
tral decisions from judicial review are grounded in the
federal statutes regulating labor-management _rela-
tions. ...

The courts have jurisdiction to enforce collective-
bargaining contracts, but where the contract provides
grievance and arbitration procedures, those proce-
dures must first be exhausted and courts must order
resort to the private settlement mechanisms without
dealing with the merits of the dispute. Because the
parties have contracted to have disputes settled by an

20

arbitrator chosen by them rather than by a judge, it
is the arbitrator’s view of the facts and of the mean-
ing of the contract that they have agreed to accept.
Courts thus do not sit to hear claims of factual or
legal error by an arbitrator as an appellate court
does in reviewing decisions of lower courts.

The Fifth Cireuit’s rule permitting independent judi-
cial review of arbitrators’ decisions concerning arbitra-
bility, where the parties have agreed to submit the issue
of arbitrability to the arbitrator, frustrates these impor-
tant policies. In this case, the APWU and the Postal
Service have contracted to obtain a “final and binding”
determination of arbitrability by an arbitrator they mu-
tually select. The parties submitted the issue of arbitra-
bility to the arbitrator together with the merits of the
dispute and obtained the arbitrator’s determination that
their dispute is arbitrable. Determination by the arbitra-
tor is the “method agreed upon by the parties” in this
ease. As such, it must be given “ful! play.” As the court
observed in Enterprise Wheel and Car, supra, the court
below had “no business overruling {the arbitrator] be-
cause their interpretation of the contract is different from
his.” 363 U.S. at 599. By doing so, the court below has
contravened federal labor policy prohibiting courts from
subsituting their own judgments for that of labor arbi-
trators chosen by their parties to resolve their disputes.

21

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this petition for a writ of
certiorari should be granted.

tespectfully submitted,

DARRYL J. ANDERSON

(Counsel of Record)

O’DONNELL, SCHWARTZ
& ANDERSON

DIANA ORANTES CERESI 1300 L Street, N.W., Suite 200
2914 North Edison Street Washington, D.C. 20005-4178
Arlington, VA 22207 (202) 898-1707

Of Counsel Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 90-1562

Summary Calendar

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE,
Plaintiff-A ppellee,
Vv.

AMERICAN POSTAL WORKERS UNION, AFL-CIO,
Defendant-A ppellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Northern District of Texas

Jan. 28, 1991

Before GEE, SMITH, and WIENER, Circuit Judges.
WIENER, Circuit Judge:

Defendant-Appellant, the American Postal Workers
Union, AFL-CIO (APWU), appeals the summary judg-
ment which the district court granted in favor of plain-
tiff-appellee, the United States Postal Service (Postal
Service). Stating that the arbitrator had clearly exceeded
his authority under the terms of the collective bargaining
agreement, the district court vacated the award of the
arbitrator who had directed that a probationary postal

2a

employee be reinstated. Finding that the arbitrator ex-
ceeded his authority, we affirm.

OPERABLE FACTS

The discharged employee, Darel Smith, was hired on
March 15, 1986, as a distribution clerk at the Fort
Worth, Texas, Post Office. As a new employee, Smith had
to serve a 90-day probationary period. On Smith’s thirty-
day evaluation his supervisor stated that Smith was
failing to meet expectations, but he did not recommend
that Smith be terminated. In a memo dated April 19,
1986, his supervisor requested that Smith be immediately
terminated. The Postal Service had not acted upon that
request when during Smith’s probationary period, on
April 26, 1986, Smith was injured in a work-related auto-
mobile accident. As a result of the accident Smith was
placed on “compensable leave” pursuant to the Federal
Employees’ Compensation Act (FECA), 5 U.S.C. §§ 8101
et seq.

On May 15, 1986, while Smith was on compensable
leave and less than ninety days after he had entered its
employment, the Postal Service fired Smith because of
his “unsatisfactory performance as a Postal employee.’
Smith recovered from his injury and was able to return
to work on May 18, 1986.

Contesting Smith’s discharge, the APWU filed a griev-
ance pursuant to the collective bargaining agreement
(National Agreement) between the Postal Service and
the APWU. At arbitration the APWU contended that
Smith was fired because of his compensable injury and
that his firing violated FECA and postal regulations im-
plementing FECA.' The APWU sought to have Smith
reinstated with full seniority status (with no further pro-
bation) and compensation for all lost wages. In its de-
fense the Postal Service asserted that the arbitrator had

1 FECA covers postal employees. See 39 U.S.C. § 1005(c) (apply-
ing FECA to the Postal Service).

3a

no authority to hear the grievance because the terms of
the National Agreement prohibited the union from con-
testing the discharge of a probationary employee.

The arbitrator addressed two issues: (1) “whether the
instant grievance is arbitrable; and (2) whether the
grievant’s termination violated the National Agreement
and/or federal law, and if so, what is the remedy?”
Having found the grievance arbitrable, the arbitrator
found that the Postal Service had violated the national
agreement. He ordered that Smith be reinstated as a
probationary employee and be made whole for all finan-
cial loss, but determined that Smith was not entitled to
full seniority status. Pursuant to Section 1208(b) of the
Postal Reorganization Act, 39 U.S.C. §1208(b), the
Postal Service then brought suit to vacate the award.
Both parties moved for summary judgment, which by
order dated May 16, 1990, the district court granted in
the Postal Service’s favor. This appeal timely followed.

DISCUSSION
I

Federal law encourages private resolution of labor dis-
putes through arbitration. See 29 U.S.C. §173(d). Em-
ployers and unions may, however, limit the discretion of
the arbitrator, as the Postal Service and the APWU have
done in article 15.4.A.(6) of their National Agreement,
which states:

[a]ll decisions of an arbitrator will be final and
binding. All decisions of arbitrators shall be limited
to the terms and provisions of this Agreement, and
in no event may the terms and provisions of this
Agreement be altered, amended, or modified by an
arbitrator.

On questions—of arbitrability article 15.4.A.(9) states:

fa]ny dispute as to arbitrability may be submitted
to the arbitrator and be determined by such ar-

4a

bitrator. The arbitrator’s determination shall be final
and binding.

To encourage the private resolution of labor disputes,
courts pay considerable deference to the merits of an ar-
bitrator’s award. See United Paperworkers Int’l Union
v. Misco, Inc., 484 U.S. 29, 108 S.Ct. 364, 370, 98 L.Ed.
2d 286 (1987). But this court will not enforce an ar-
bitrator’s decision on the merits if the arbitrator has ex-
ceeded his authority under the collective bargaining
agreement. Delta Queen Steamboat Co. v. District 2 Ma-
rine Eng’rs. Beneficial Ass’n, 889 F.2d 599, 602 (5th Cir.
1989), cert. denied, USS. , 111 S.Ct. 148, 112
L.Ed.2d 114 (1990); Container Prods., Inc. v. United
Steelworkers, 873 F.2d 818, 820 (5th Cir. 1989). We have
stated that “|wlhere the arbitrator exceeds the express
limitations of his contractual mandate, judicial deference
is at an end.” Delta Queen, 889 F.2d at 602. The crucial
issue in this case is whether the arbitrator had jurisdic-
tion to hear Smith’s grievance.

II

The Postal Service argues that the National Agree-
ment unambiguously denies a probationary employee ac-
cess to the grievance procedure to challenge his dismissal
from employment. Article 12.1.A. states in relevant part:

~The probationary period for a new employee shall be

ninety (90) days. The Employer shali have the
right to separate from its employ any probationary
employee at any time during the probationary period
and these probationary employees shall not be per-
mitted access to the grievance procedure in relation
thereto.

(emphasis added).

The APWU, on the other hand, argues that the Agree-
ment also requires the employer to adhere to the pro-

5a

visions of FECA and to promulgate binding regulations
which comply with that act. Article 21.4 states:

Employees covered by this Agreement shall be cov-
ered by subchapter 1 of Chapter 81 of Title 5, and
any amendments thereto, relating to compensation
for work injuries. The employer will promulgate
appropriate regulations which comply with applicable
regulations of the Office of Workers’ Compensation
Programs and any amendments thereto.

The employer’s regulations promulgated pursuant to
Article 21 of the Agreement are included in Part 540,
Injury Compensation Program, of the Postal Service Em-
ployee and Labor Relations Manual (ELM). After de-
claring that the “USPS has legal responsibilities to em-
ployees with job-related disabilities under 5 USC 8151
and the Office of Personnel Management’s regulations,”
section 546 of Part 540, Reemployment of Employees In-
jured on Duty, states:

When an employee fully overcomes the injury or dis-
ability within one year after the commencement of
compensation payments from OWCP . .. the USPS
must give an employee the right to resume employ-
ment in the former or equivalent position.

The union contends that while article 21 requires these
provisions, article 19 also incorporates them by reference
into the National Agreement. Article 19 states:

Those parts of all handbooks, manuals and published
regulations of the Postal Service, that directly relate
to wages, hours, or working conditions . . . shall con-
tain nothing that conflicts with this Agreement.’

2 Although article 19 states that nothing in the handbooks,
manuals and regulations shall conflict with the Agreement, it does
not specifically state that the Agreement incorporates these texts.
Thomas A. Neill, Director of Industrial Relations for the APWU,
whose duties include negotiation of the National Agreement and
administration of the grievance procedure, states in his “declara-

cereal

6a

The Postal Service acknowledges that FECA applies to
probationary employees and that when such employees
suffer a work-related injury and are discharged because
of that injury they have a right to request reinstatement
when they recover. See 5 U.S.C. § 8151(b) (1). To en-
force such rights, however, probationary employees, ar-
gues the Postal Service, have recourse to the Merit System
Protection Board (MSPB), see 5 C.F.R. § 353.401, but
not, under the terms of the National Agreement, to ar-

bitration.
III

We agree with the Postal Service that even when, as
in this case, a probationary employee alleges that his
termination violates articles 19 and 21 of the National
Agreement, article 12 of that Agreement clearly denies
probationary employees any right to resort to grievance
and arbitration procedures. Non-probationary (per-
manent) employees alleging similar violations clearly
have recourse to arbitration, but the Agreement expressly
denies probationary employees that right. Such is the
Agreement for which the parties bargained.

The language of article 12 is, as the district court de-
clared, “clear and unequivocal’: “The Employer shall have
the right to separate from its employ any probationary
empioyee at any time during the probationary period and
these probationary employees shall not be permitted ac-
cess to the grievance procedure in relation thereto.”’
Articles 19 and 21 grant, as the arbitrator found, all
employees, both probationary and permanent, certain
rights and benefits. In so finding, the arbitrator, as the
district court stated, merely determined that a _ proba-

tion” that “[tjhe handbooks and manuals are applied in labor rela-
tions between the APWU and USPS as part of the National Agree-
ment.” These texts, Neill adds, are incorporated by reference into
the Agreement and arbitrators routinely interpret them in deciding
grievance arbitration cases. The Postal Service does not dispute
Neill’s sworn declaration.

7a

tionary employee can assert rights pursuant to section
546 of the ELM. He did not expressly find, nor could he
have found, that articles 19 and 21 confer on probation-
ary employees the right to arbitration on issues concern-
ing these articles that article 12 expressly denies them.
See American Postal Workers Union v. United States
Postal Service, C.A. No. 85-2154, slip opinion (D.D.C.
Nov. 27, 1989) (although article 2 of National Agree-
ment expressly requires arbitration of disputes arising
under that article, probationary employees have no re-
course to arbitration because article 12 denies them that
right). When a specific and a general provision of an
agreement conflict, well-established principles of con-
struction require that the specific trump the general
provision.’ We follow that principle here.

3 Had the parties to the Agreement intended to confer on pro-
bationary employees the right to arbitrate matters concerning com-
pensable leave, they could have specifically included that right.
Given the presence at the bargaining table of union negotiators
possessing the experience and knowledge of Thomas A. Neill, the
Director of Industrial Relations for the APWU, the express and
unambiguous exclusion in article 12 of probationary employees from
the grievance procedure and, therefore, from arbitration suggests
that the parties anticipated that a probationary employee’s termina-
tion which is causally connected to his compensable injury would
not be a subject for arbitration. See American Postal Workers
Union, AFL-CIO v. United States Postal Service, C.A. No. 85-2154,
slip opinion (D.D.C. November 27, 1989) (although article 2 of
National Agreement expressly requires arbitration of disputes aris-
ing under that article, probationary employees have no recourse to
arbitration because article 12 denies them that right). To argue
otherwise is disingenuous.

Neill administers the grievance procedure. He is “responsih'e for
disseminating information and directions to APWU officers nation-
wide concerning the National Agreement, its meaning, and its
application.” As director he has reviewed “thousands of arbitration
awards in cases arbitrated under the National Agreement.” Be-
fore becoming director, Neill was a local and then a national officer
of the union and handled “thousands of grievances filed under the
National Agreement” in Texas and Louisiana.

8a

The same principle of construction also applies to the
conflict between article 12 and article 15.A.4.9, which
states that the arbitrator’s decisions as to arbitrability
are final and binding. Article 12 does not permit the
arbitrator ever to reach the question of arbitrability
when the dismissal at issue involves probationary em-
ployees. When the arbitrator does so, he clearly exceeds
his authority under the National Agreement.

The union insists that a probationary employee dis-
missed while on compensable leave is not a probationary
employee. We disagree. Leave for injury suspends the
running of the clock on a probationary period, but it does
not alter the employee’s status as a probationary em-
ployee. His sufferings do not apotheosize his probationary
status into a more desirable one. Indeed, in ruling that
Smith should return as a probationary employee, the
arbitrator acknowledged, at least inferentially, that the
employee is still on probationary status.

We note that to deny a probationary employee the
right to arbitration after he is dismissed during com-
pensable leave is not to deprive him of all remedies for
not being reinstated after recovering from compensable
injury. If he can show that his firing resulted from a
compensable injury or was substantially related to one,
a probationary employee is entitled to appeal a denial of
reinstatement to the MSPB. Roche v. United States
Postal Serv., 828 F.2d 1555, 1557 (Fed.Cir.1987); see
also Rishavy v. United States Postal Serv., 35 M.S.P.R.
528 (1987).

Our decision does not conflict with those decisions which
hold, Rishavy, 35 M.S.P.R. 528 (Nov. 19, 1987), or imply,
see Roche, 828 F.2d 1555 (Fed.Cir.1987), that proba-
tionary status has no bearing on an employee’s restora-
tion rights. In both Roche and Rishavy the employees
successfully argued that their probationary status did
not curtail their right to appeal to the Merit System
Protection Board the Postal Service’s denial of restoration

9a

rights after they had recovered from compensable injuries.
Neither of these cases, however, sheds any light on the
issue of arbitrability which confronts this court. These
decisions merely indicate that a probationary employee
terminated because of a compensable injury is not bereft
of a remedy for an infringement of a statutory right.

IV

In conclusion, we agree with the district court that
Smith was a probationary employee and that under ar-
ticle 12 of the National Agreement, a probationary em-
ployee is not permitted access to the grievance procedure
in relation to a termination within the probationary
veriod, and thus is not entitled to arbitration. Conse-
quently, in ordering Smith reinstated as a probationary
employee, the arbitrator exceeded his authority under the
clear and unequivocal language of the National Agree-
ment. The decision of the district court is, therefore,
AFFIRMED.

10a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
FORT WORTH DIVISION

Civil Action No. 4-89-87-E

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE,
Washington, D.C. 20260

VS.

AMERICAN POSTAL WORKERS UNION, AFL-CIO

ORDER
[Filed May 16, 1990]

This action arises out of an arbitration award to
reinstate a postal employee. The United States Postal
Service (“USPS”) brought this suit to set aside the
arbitration award because the arbitrator exceeded his
authority. The American Postal Workers Union, AFL-
CIO (“APWU”) is the representative for postal em-
ployees and has filed a counterclaim to enforce the award.
The case is now before the Court on the parties’ cross
motions for summary judgment.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

The Postal employee involved is Darel A. Smith, a
former distribution clerk at the Fort Worth, Texas Post
Office. Smith was hired on March 15, 1986. On April
26, 1986, Smith sustained a work-related injury and was
placed on compensable leave. On May 15, 1986, Smith
was terminated from his employment. The APWU then

lla

filed a grievance pursuant to the collective bargaining
agreement in effect at the time, referred to as the “Na-
tional Agreement,” contesting Smith’s termination. The
APWU contended that Smith was terminated because of
his work related injury in violation of Section 546, Part
540 of the Employee and Labor Relations Manual
(“FE1LM”’), which is incorporated into the National Agree-
ment. The USPS challenged the arbitration on the basis
that the arbitrator did not have jurisdiction and, alter-
natively, Smith’s discharge was for unsatisfactory per-
formance, unrelated to his injury.

DISCUSSION

The first issue is whether the arbitrator exceeded his
authority. See, 9 U.S.C. § 10. The authority of an ar-
bitrator is derived from the contract itself. United Steel-
workers v. Enterprise Wheel & Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593,
597 (1960). Therefore, the Court must look to the Na-
tional Agreement to determine the scope of the arbi-
trator’s authority as agreed to by the parties. Article 12,
Section 1.A. provides in part:

The probationary period for a new employee shall
be ninety (90) calendar days. The Employer shal!
have the right to separate from its employ any pro-
bationary employee at any time during the proba-
tionary period and these probationary employees shall
not be permitted access to the grievance procedure in
relation thereto.

Because Smith was terminated while he was a probation-
ary employee, plaintiff argues, he was not entitled to the
grievance procedure through arbitration. Hence, the ar-
bitrator lacked jurisdiction and exceeded his authority
over the dispute.

However, defendant argues that the issue of arbitra-
bility was determined by the arbitrator as provided for
in the agreement. That determination, defendant argues,

12a

is final and not subject to judicial review. Article 15,
Section 4.A.(9) provides in part:

Any dispute as to arbitrability may be submitted
to the arbitrator and be determined by such arbi-
trator. The arbitrator’s determination shall be final
and binding.

The arbitrator’s award listed the issues as follows:
1. Whether the instant grievance is arbitrable?

2. Whether the grievant’s termination violated the
National Agreement and/or federal law, and if so, what
is the remedy?

Although the arbitrator never expressly held whether the
grievance was arbitrable, he nevertheless proceeded to
make a determination on the merits. It appears from the
award as though the arbitrator merely determined that a
probationary employee could assert rights pursuant to
Section 546 of the ELM. Once he determined that a pro
bationary employee could assert such rights, he addressed
the second issue of whether there was a violation under
Section 546.

Although the arbitrator may have implicitly considered
the issue of arbitrability, his determination is not abso-
lutely immune from judicial review as defendants sug-
gest. If the arbitrator exceeded his authority under the
collective bargaining agreement, the Court may set aside
the award. Container Products v. United Steelworkers,
873 F.2d 818, 820 (5th Cir. 1989). The essential facts
in this case are not in dispute. At the time of his ter-
mination, Smith was a probationary employee. Under the
clear language of the National Agreement, probationary
employees are not permitted access to the grievance pro-
cedure in relation to a termination within the probation-
ary period. Article 12, Section 1.A. The arbitrator clearly
exceeded his authority under the clear and unequivocal
language of the collective bargaining agreement.

Accordingly, it is hereby ORDERED that plaintiff’s
motion for summary judgment is GRANTED, defend-

13a

ants’ motion is DISMISSED, and the award of arbitra-
tion is hereby VACATED. A judgment consistent with
this order shall be rendered herewith.

Signed this 16th day of May, 1990.
/s/ Eldon B. Mahon

ELDON B. MAHON
United States District Judge

l4a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
FORT WORTH DIVISION

Civil Action No. 4-89-87-E

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE,
Washington, D.C. 20260

VS.

AMERICAN POSTAL WORKERS UNION, AFL-CIO

JUDGMENT
[Filed May 16, 1990]

This action came on for decision on cross-motions for
summary judgment before the Court, Honorable Eldon
B. Mahon, U.S. District Judge, presiding, and the issues
having been duly considered and an opinion having been
rendered, it is ORDERED and ADJUDGED that plain-
tiffs motion for summary judgment is GRANTED, de-
fendants’ motion is DISMISSED, and the award of ar-
bitration is VACATED.

Entered this 16th day of May, 1990.

/s/ Eldon B. Mahon
ELDON B. MAHON
United States District Judge

——,

15a

REGULAR ARBITRATION PANEL

GRIEVANT: D. Smith
Post OFFICE: Ft. Worth, TX
CASE No: S4C-3A-C-36259

IN THE MATTER OF THE ARBITRATION BETWEEN
UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE

and
AMERICAN POSTAL WORKERS UNION, AFL-CIO

Before: JAMES J. SHERMAN, ARBITRATOR

APPEARANCES:

For the U.S. Postal Service:
Bill Jackson
Labor Relations Representative

For the Union:
Bobby Kennedy
National Business Agent

Place of Hearing: MPO, Ft. Worth, Texas
Date of Hearing: October 5, 1988

AWARD: The grievance is sustained. The Postal Serv-
ice is directed to reinstate the grievant to his position as
a probationary employee, Distribution Clerk-Manual, and
(counting the time he has already worked) to afford him
the remainder of his probationary period to qualify as a
permanent employee. In addition, he must be made whole
for all financial loss. The Arbitrator shall retain jurisdic-
tion to resolve any dispute as to the remedy.

Date of Award: October 24, 1988
/3s/ James J. Sherman

JAMES J. SHERMAN
Arbitrator

j

l6a

ISSUE
1. Whether the instant grievance is arbitrable?

2. Whether the grievant’s termination violated the Na-
tional Agreement and/or federal law, and if so, what
is the remedy?

RELEVANT CONTRACT PROVISIONS

ARTICLE 3—Management Rights

ARTICLE 12—Principles of Seniority, Posting and Re-
assignments

ARTICLE 15—Grievance-Arbitration Procedure
ARTICLE 16—Discipline Procedure
ARTICLE 19—Handbooks and Manuals

FACTS

There is agreement on most of the essential facts.
The grievant was hired March 15, 1986 as a Distribution
Clerk-Manual, and was assigned to the Downtown Postal
Facility. On April 13, 1986, he received a 30 day evalua-
tion which is customary for employees on (90 day) pro-
bation. In this evaluation he was rated as follows:

Factor A: Attendance/Punctuality: does not meet ex-
pectations at this time

Factor B: Following Directions: meets or exceeds ex-
pectation at this time

Factor C: Compliance with Regulations (safety, dress/
footwear, conduct): does not meet expectations at
this time.

Factor D: Task Performance: Does not meet expecta-
tions at this time.

Factor E: Job Knowledge: does not meet expectations
at this time.

17a

In addition the supervisor, Tommy Baker, made the fol-
lowing observation:

Mr. Smith does not meet expectations at this time.
He has been regular in attendance but two hours
late on one occasion. He follows all directions given
and complies with regulations. He dresses adequately
but does not present a professional appearance in his
jogging suits. His task performance is well below
expectations. He is very slow casing box mail and
his error rate is high. Mr. Smith has been assigned
the 76104 scheme and will begin scheme training 4-
16-86.

It should be mentioned that the supervisor, Tommy
Baker, had three options in the “Overall Rating:” 1.
Meets or exceeds expectations, 2. Does not fully meet ex-
pectation at this time, or 3. Fails to meet expectation:
Separation Recommended. And he did not check box
number 3.

On April 13, 1986, the grievant was assigned to scheme
training which was to commence and did commence on
April 16, 1986. However, on April 26, 1986, he was
involved in an auto accident related to work, was in-
jured, and he was placed on compensable leave.

On May 15, 1986, the grievant’s employment was ter-
minated. The reason for the termination was explained
in a letter dated May 15, 1986 as follows:

This is official notice that you will be separated from
the Postal Service at the end of your tour of duty
on the day you receive this memorandum. This ter-
mination of your employment is due to your unsatis-
factory perforrnance as a Postal employee.

The instant grievance protests the grievant’s termina-
tion as being in violation of both the National Agree-
ment and federal law.

18a
POSITION OF THE UNION

The Union appreciates that the grievant was a pro-
bationary employee at the time of his termination and
was, therefore, not entitled to all of the rights enjoyed
by employees who hold seniority. However, he was en-
titled to the rights provided by the Postal regulations
and the rights provided by law. These rights include
protection against termination when the termination was
the result of a compensable injury. And the evidence
indicates that the grievant, in all probability, would have
completed his period of probation and become a career
Postal employee but for the auto accident which was
clearly not his fault. Finally, the Union contends that
the grievant did complete his period of probation because
according to the Postal regulations, time recorded as com-
pensable leave time is counted as time on the active roll.
Accordingly, he should be reinstated with full seniority
status, and compensated for all lost wages.

POSITION OF THE POSTAL SERVICE

The Postal Service contends that the instant grievance
should be dismissed as not a proper subject for arbitra-
tion. It supports this position by pointing to the clear
contract language and to the evidence presented at the
hearing. To be more specific, Article 12 provides:

PRINCIPLES OF SENIORITY, POSTING AND
REASSIGNMENTS

Section 1. Probationary Period

A. The probationary period for a new employee shall
be ninety (90) calendar days. The Employer shall
have the right to separate from its employ any pro-
bationary employee at any time during the proba-
tionary period and these probationary employees shall
not be permitted access to the grievance procedure
in relation thereto... .

19a

The evidence shows that the grievant was hired March 15,
1986 and on his 30 day evaluation was rated unsatis-
factory in four of the five factors subject to evaluation.
Clearly, management had every reason and every right
to terminate the grievant’s employment at this time. But
management, generously, decided to give the grievant
more time to correct his deficiences. As Supervisor Baker
explained, he planned to terminate the grievant’s employ-
ment at the time of the 60 day evaluation unless the
grievant showed significant improvement prior to that
time. However, the grievant’s conduct immediately fol-
lowing the 30 day evaluation convinced management that
he would not or could not meet reasonable standards of
behavior. To be precise in a memo dated April 19, 1986
from Supervisor Baker to C. Haynes, Mr. Baker re-
quested that the grievant be terminated immediately.
The memo states:

Request an immediate termination of PTF Clerk
D. A. Smith for failure to follow the instructions of
his supervisor. On 4-13-86 I instructed Mr. Smith to
report to the GMF (PEDC) on 4/16/86 at 2200 for
scheme training orientation. He was told to report to
the downtown station after completing the scheme
training orientation and work for a total of four
hours. (two hours orientation and two hours of box
mail distribution.) On 4-16-86 Mr. Smith worked
only two hours. He ended tour at the GMF after
orientation. On 4-17-86 Smith worked 4.09 hours.
This was Mr. Smith’s scheduled day off. He was
not instructed, or given permission to work on
4/17/86.

Before this memo could be acted upon, the grievant
became involved in an auto accident, on April 26, 1986,
was injured and was off on compensable leave. However,
on May 16, 1986, Supervisor Baker prepared a 60 day
evaluation of the grievant’s performance and gave him
a rating of “Fails to Meet Expectations: Separation

20a

recommended. He also provided the following explanatory
comments:

Mr. Smith fails to meet expectations and separation
is recommended for; making excessive errors on the
box line, failure to follow the specific instructions of
his supervisor, and failure to adhere to the posted
duty schedule. On 4-13-86 Mr. Smith was informed
that his error rate casing box mail was unacceptable.
On 4-19-86 he was given a case check. Some of the
errors found were: misboxed mail, mail boxed for
a previous boxholder when there were specific instruc-
tion to verify the mail, and mail received without
a box number placed in the wrong box. On 4-22-86
Mr. Smith was given another case check. He was
only casing 90% correctly. On 4-13-86 Mr. Smith
was instructed to report to the GMF (PEDC) on
4-16-86 at 2200 for scheme training orientation. He
was also told to report to the downtown station after
completing the orientation and work for at least an
additional 2 hours for a combined total of 4 hours.
On 4-16-86 Mr. Smith worked only two hours. He
ended tour at the GMF after scheme training orienta-
tion and did not report for duty at the downtown
station as instructed. On 4-17-86 Mr. Smith worked
for 4.09 hours on his scheduled off day. He was not
instructed to, or given permission to, work on 4-17-86.

Finally, it should be noted that after preparing the
60 day evaluation and the removal notice, management
attempted to inform the grievant of its decision to ter-
minate his employment. But the telephone number which
he provided to management was disconnected. And when
management attempted to deliver the removal notice to
the address which the grievant provided, the residence
was not occupied. Hence, management had to wait until
the grievant showed up to get his check to issue the re-
moval notice.

ier a.

21a
DISCUSSION AND OPINION

There can be no serious question about the right of the
Postal Service to issue a removal notice anytime within
the first 90 days of a person’s employment. That is to
say, management may make this decision and take this
action without having to prove that it had “just cause”
as this term is used in Articles 3 and 16. However, as
the Union pointed out, Postal regulations (ELRM § 546,
entitled “Reemployment of Employees Injured On Duty,”
provides as follows:

546.1 Law

11 General. The USPS has legal responsibility
to employees with job-related disabilities under 5
U.S.C. 8151 and the Office of Personnel Manage-
ment’s (OPM) regulations, as outlined below.

12. Disability Fully Overcome Within 1 Year

.121 Obligation. When the injury or disability is
fully overcome within one year after the commence-
ment of compensation payments from OWCP, or
after compensable disability recurs, the USPS must
give an employee the right to resume employment in
in the former or equivalent position.

.122 Rights and Benefits. Upon reemployment,
all rights and benefits which an employee would have
had or acquired in the former position, had there
been no injury or disability, must be restored.

Management contends that the above described rights
protect the employment of a person who has completed a
probationary period and currently enjoys the status of a
permanent employee with all the rights which seniority
provides. However, the regulation does not support this
contention by management: it makes no distinction be-
tween a permanent employee and one that is on proba-
tion. Furthermore, the evidence presented by the Union

22a

indicates that a Federal Circuit Court has recently ruled
that employees are entitled to these statutory restoration
rights irrespective of their probationary status, See
Roche v. USPS, 828 F.2d. 1555 (Fed. Cir. 1987).

As a back-up contention, management asserted that the
regulation’s protection extended only to employees who
had been discharged because of their absence on com-
pensable leave. The Arbitrator appreciates the logic of
this contention. But according to the Roche decision
(supra) the protection is broader than this: the employee
is entitled to reinstatement if he/she is able to show that
his removal was the result of, or substantially related to,
the compensable injury.

The Arbitrator is not completely comfortable with the
role he is forced to assume in this instance for several
reasons. First, he is not certain to what extent he is
lerally obligated to follow precedent established in the
Merit Service Protection Board jurisdiction. Indeed, the
law is unsettled on this point. Secondly, since he re-
ceived in evidence only one Merit Service Protection Board
case, he is less than completely convinced that this one
case represents the majority opinion on this important
issue, Third, it appears that the Roche decision calls for
a resolution of the issue: whether the grievant’s dis-
charge was “. . . substantially related to, the compens-
able injury... .’’ And the term used by the Court “sub-
stantially related to” is anything but precise.

In the absence of any evidence bearing upon the legis-
lative intent underlying this imprecise term, the Arbi-
trator concluded that it means, in essence, that the em-
ployee should be reinstated unless it can be said with
reasonable assurance that the absence had nothing what-
ever to do with management’s decision to initiate the
removal action.

Does the evidence presented by management meet this
test? The Arbitrator does not believe it does. To explain,

23a

everyone agreed that the grievant’s 30 day evaluation
was less than satisfactory and that he could have been
discharged at that time with no contractual entangle-
ments. But the fact is, he was not discharged. So, it
must be assumed that management held out hope that
he would respond to training and indoctrination.

Thereafter, according to certain testimony and a sup-
porting document, Supervisor Baker recommended to his
superior that the grievant be discharged immediately.
Obviously, management had no need to wait any longer
if it was convinced that the grievant could not or would
not meet its standards of performance. That is, there was
no need to wait until the customary 60 day evaluation;
management could have simply issued a removal notice
and called for a replacement. But no one acted upon
Supervisor Baker’s recommendation. So, it must be as-
sumed that the decision had not been made, namely, that
the grievant was unwilling or unable to make the neces-
sary improvement. Parenthetically, the Union’s advocate
expressed an opinion which was not refuted and which
seemed quite logical. He said that it is almost routine
to give probationary employees unsatisfactory ratings in
order to motivate them and to convince them that man-
agement’s standards are high. He also stated that em-
ployees generally take this message seriously and work
hard to satisfactorily complete the probationary period.
The point is, perhaps the grievant was not as unaccept-
able as the 30 day evaluation would imply. And perhaps,
he was trying to meet management’s standards of per-
formance but was unable to demonstrate this because
he was absent due to the compensable injury. If this
was the case, it would be reasonable to say that his dis-
charge was “the result of or substantially related to the
compensab'e injury,” as these words are used in the
Roche decision.

The Union requested as a remedy that the grievant be,
not only reinstated to his former status, but also awarded

24a

a permanent position. In support of this request, it
pointed to the postal regulations “£I.RM 377.2) entitled
“How to Count Probationary Service.” This section man-
dates that “Periods of absence during which an employee
is carried on the rolls are counted toward completion of
the probationary period.” And it pointed out that an
employee on compensable leave is carried on the rolls.
The Arbitrator did not have access to the entire appli-
cable regulations. However, based upon the provisions
which were presented in evidence, there appears to be
no support for the Union’s position in this respect. To
explain, Section 377.2 of the ELRM sets forth various
types of situations wherein employees should receive credit
toward their probationary period (for example, a period
of military service) but there is no specific reference to
compensable leave.

In conclusion, the Arbitrator has no choice but to sus-
tain the grievance. The grievant met the criteria de-
scribed in 5 U.S.C. § 8151 and O.P.M. regulations. That
is, he received an on-the-job injury which resulted in a
period of absence on compensable leave and he recovered
from this injury and was able to return to work (within
the statutory period of one year) on May 18, 1986.
Moreover, as previously explained, the Arbitrator con-
cluded that his separation was “the result of, or sub-
stantially related to, the compensable injury.” Finally, it
should be noted that the instant case closely parallels
the facts in a recent M.S.P.B. decision (Rischavy ».
U.S.P.S., 35 MSPR 528 [1978]) and the Arbitrator’s
interpretation of the law and regulations appears to be
consistent with the rational in this M.S.P.B. decision.

25a

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE,
Plaintiff-A ppellee,
versus

AMERICAN PosTaAL WORKERS UNION, AFL-CIO,
Defendant-A ppellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Northern District of Texas

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING
(February 26, 1991)

Before SMITH and WIENER, Circuit Judges.*

PER CURIAM:

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing filed
in the above entitled and numbered cause be and the
same is hereby DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/ [Illegible]
United States Circuit Judge

* Judge Thomas Gibbs Gee was a member of the original panel
but resigned from the Court on February 1, 1991 and, therefore
did not participate in this decision. This matter is being decided
by quorum. 28 U.S.C. 46(d).

26a

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS
LABOR MANAGEMENT RELATIONS ACT

$185. Suits by and against labor organizations

(a) Venue, amount, and citizenship

Suits for violation of contracts between an employer
and a labor organization representing employees in
an industry affecting commerce as defined in this
chapter, or between any such labor organizations,
may be brought in any district court of the United
States having jurisdiction of the parties, without
respect to the amount in controversy or without re-
gard to the citizenship of the parties.

* * * *

POSTAL REORGANIZATION ACT

§ 1208. Suits
+ . * aa

(b) Suits for violation of contracts between the
Postal Service and a labor organization represent-
ing Postal Service employees, or between any such
labor organizations, may be brought in any district
court of the United States having jurisdiction of the
parties, without respect to the amount in contro-
versy.

27a
CBA PROVISIONS
NATIONAL AGREEMENT

* * * *

ARTICLE 12

PRINCIPLES OF SENIORITY, POSTING
AND REASSIGNMENTS

Section 1. Probationary Period

A. The probationary period for a new employee shall
be ninety (90) calendar days. The Employer shall have
the right to separate from its employ any probationary
employee at any time during the probationary period
and these probationary employees shall not be permitted
access to the grievance procedure in relation thereto. If
the Employer intends to separate an employee during the
probationary period for scheme failure, the employee
shall be given at least seven (7) days advance notice of
such intent to separate the employee. If the employee
qualifies on the scheme within the notice period, the em-
ployee will not be separated for prior scheme failure.

* * om *

ARTICLE 15
GRIEVANCE-ARBITRATION PROCEDURE

Section 1. Definition

A grievance is defined as a dispute, difference, disagree-
ment or complaint between the parties related to wages,
hours, and conditions of employment. A grievance shall
include, but is not limited to, the complaint of an em-
ployee or of the Unions which involves the interpretation,
application of, or compliance with the provisions of this

28a

Agreement or any local Memorandum of Understanding
not in conflict with this Agreement.

Section 4. Arbitration

A. General Provisions

* * * .

(6) All decisions of an arbitrator will be final and bind-
ing. All decisions of arbitrators shall be limited to the
terms and provisions of this Agreement, and in no event
may the terms and provisions of this Agreement be al-
tered, amended, or modified by an arbitrator. Unless
otherwise provided in this Article, all costs, fees, and
expenses charged by an arbitrator will be shared equally
by the parties.

(9) In any arbitration proceeding in which a Union
feels that its interests may be affected, it shall be en-
titled to intervene and participate in such arbitration
proceeding, but it shall be required to share the cost of
such arbitration equally with any or all other Union
parties to such proceeding. Any dispute as to arbitrabil-
ity may be submitted to the arbitrator and be determined
by such arbitrator. The arbitrator’s determination shall
be final and binding.

* * + o

ARTICLE 19
HANDBOOKS AND MANUALS

Those parts of all handbooks, manuals and published reg-
ulations of the Postal Service, that directly relate to
wages, hours or working conditions, as they apply to
employees covered by this Agreement, shall contain noth-
ing that conflicts with this Agreement, and shall be con-
tinued in effect except that the Employer shall have the
right to make changes that are not inconsistent with this

29a

Agreement and that are fair, reasonable, and equitable.
This includes, but is not limited to, the Postal Service
Manual and the F-21, Timekeeper’s Instructions.

* * * *

ARTICLE 21
BENEFIT PLANS

* * * *

Section 4. Injury Compensation

Employees covered by this Agreement shall be covered
by subchapter I of Chapter 81 of Title 5, and any amend-
ments thereto, relating to compensation for work in-
juries. The Employer will promulgate appropriate regu-
lations which comply with applicable regulations of the
Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs and any
amendments thereto.

* y * .

EMPLOYEE AND LABOR RELATIONS MANUAL

545.91 General. An employee who suffers job-related in-
jury or illness for which OWCP compensation is being
received should be granted LWOP/IOD for an initial
period of up to 1 year from the date OWCP compensa-
tion began.

545.92 Extensions. If the employee is unable to return
to work at the end of the 1 year period on LWOP/IOD,
the LWOP/IOD may be extended for successive addi-
tional periods of up to 6 months. Extensions are granted
only if it appears that the employee is likely to return
to work within the period of the extension.

545.93 Separations. If it is not likely that the employee
will be able to return to work at the end of 1 year of
LWOP/IOD or during the authorized extended period,
the employee may be separated. Before any employee

30a

who is on the rolls of the OWCP can be separated, the
postal official must submit a comprehensive report to the
Director, Office of Safety & Health, at Headquarters with
appropriate recommendations and all the documentation
needed to support the recommendations. The employee
must be retained on the rolls of the Postal Service pend-
ing a decision.
* * * *

546.121 Obligation. When an employee fully overcomes
the injury or disability within 1 year after the commence-
ment of compensation payments from OWCP, or after
compensable disability recurs, the USPS must give an
employee the right to resume employment in the former
or equivalent position.

546.122 Rights and Benefits. Upon reemployment, all
rights and benefits which an employee would have had or
acquired in the former position had there been no injury
or disability, must be restored.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2365%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
