# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — White v. Minnesota

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2228%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 502 U.S. 819

## Text

SUPREME COURT OF THE U
October Term, 1

No.
Eve White, a/k/a, Eve Cascio,
Petitioner,
VS.
State of Minnesota,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE -
SUPREME COURT OF MINNESOTA

Randall D.B. Tigue

Attorney for Petitioner

2620 Nicollet Avenue
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55408
(612) 874-9903

uestions Presented

iL. May the state, consistently with the First and Fourteenth
Amendments to the United States Constitution, impose absolute criminal
liability upon the producer, director, or publisher of a film, book,
magazine or live stage performance, for violating a child pornography
statute, regardless of Petitioner's knowledge or scienter as to the minority
of the performer involved?

2. May the state, consistent with the Due Process Clause of
the Fourteenth Amendment of the United States Constitution, impose
felony criminal liability for violating a child pornography statute, in the
absence of mens rea?

a. Does the state violate the Due Process Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution when it
imposes criminal liability upon Petitioner for violating a child
pornography statute, in light of undisputed evidence that Petitioner relied
upon the state’s own representations as to the age of the performer

involved?

{4

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented
Table of Authorities
Opinions Below
Jurisdiction

Constitutional and Statutory
Provisions Involved

Statement of the Case
Argument:

I. The decision of the
Minnesota Supreme Court
upholding the constitution-
ality of a child pornography
statute imposing absolute
criminal liability upon a
Defendant regardless of his
knowledge or scienter as to
a minor's age is in direct
conflict with applicable
decisions of this court and
at least one United States
Court of Appeals, requiring
review under Rule 10(b) of
this court

Page

A. The decisions of this
Court compel invalidation,
under the First Amendment,
of a statute which imposes
absolute criminal liability

for chile pornography upon
a Defendant, regardless of
scienter as to the minor’s
age

B. The decision of the
Minnesota Supreme Court in
upholding the validity of

the statute on First
Amendment grounds is also
in direct conflict with
decision of the United

States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

II. Apart from First Amendment
considerations, the Minnesota
Supreme Court’s upholding of
the statute in question on due
process grounds conflicts with
both decisions of this court

and Courts of Appeals, within
the meaning of Rule 10(b) of
the rules of this court .

III. Due Process considerations
also compel reversal of the
conviction, given the fact that
the state prosecuted Petitioner
for her reliance on the state’s
own representations as to the
performer’s identity

Conclusion

-ili-

16

23

27

T OF A ORITIES

Constitution

First Amendment to the United States Constitution .

Fourteenth Amendment to the United States
Constitution

State Statutes:

Minnesota Statutes Section 171.07
Minnesota Statutues Section 340A.53
Minnesota Statutes Section 617.246
Federal Statutes:

Title 28 U.S.C. Section 1257(a)

Title 42 U.S.C. Section 408

Title 45 C.F.R. Section 5.67(c)
Cases:

Barnes v. Glen Theater, Inc.
__ U.S.__, Ill S.Ct. 38,112 L.Ed. 2d 15 (1990)

California v. LaRue, 409 U.S. 109

Cox v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 559 (1965)

Dennis v. United States, 341 U.S. 494, 500 (1951)

-iv-

Page

1289,11,12,
13,14,15,16,
19,29

1,2,7,8

23,29
29

1,2,8,19,27

25,26

Doran v. Salem Inn, Inc., 422 U.S. 922 (1975)

Ginsbers v. New York, 390 U:S. 629, 643-44,
(1968) . '

Hamling v. United States, 418 U.S. 87 (1974) .

Koppinger v. City of Paumont , 311 Minn. 186,
(1976) .

Lambert v. California, 355 U.S. 225 (1957)
Liparota v. United States, 471 U.S. 419, (1985)
Miller v. California, 413 U.S. |S (1973)

Miller v. Civil City of Southbend, 904 F. 2d 108
(7th Cir. 1990), cert granted sub nom.

Mishkin v. New York, supra, 86 S.Ct. 958, (1966)

Morissette v. United States, 342 U.S. 246, 251 (1952) .

New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747 (1982)

New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254
(1964) . ;

Osborne v. Ohio, __ U.S. ___, 110 S.Ct.
1691 (1990) ;

Raley v. Ohio, 360 U.S. 423 (1959)
Schad v. Borough of Mt. Pehcaim. 452 US. 61,
(1981) ,

Smith v. California, 361 U.S. 147, (1959)

-V-

28

11,12,15,17

17

28
22
21

14

28
17

19,20,21,
22,28

13,14

10,12

9,12,15,17

Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513, 526, (1958)

State v. White, 464 N.W. 2d 585 (Minn. App. 1990) .

United States v. Brady, 710 F. Supp. 290
(D. Col. 1989)

United States v. Freed, 401 U.S. 601 (1971)

United States v. Laub, 385 U.S. 475, (1967)

United States v. Launder,743 F. 2d 686
(9th Cir. 1984) ;

United States v. Pennsylvania Chemical Corp.,
411 U.S. 655 (1973)

United States v. United States District Court,
858 F. 2d 534 (9th Cir. 1988) .

United States v. United States Gypsum Co..
438 U.S. 422 (1978)

11

28,29

26

16

21

Opinions Below

Review is sought of the decision of the Minnesota Supreme Court
entered March 15, 1991, denying Petitioner’s Petition for Review. The
decision is unreported and is set forth in the Appendix at A.87. The
Minnesota Supreme Court refused to grant review of the decision of the

Minnesota Court of Appeals in State v. White, 464 N.W. 2d 585 (Minn.

App. 1990).
jurisdiction
Review is sought of the decision of the Minnesota Supreme Court
entered March 15, 1991. Jurisdiction is based upon Title 28 U.S.C.

Section 1257(a).

Constitutional and Statutory
Provisions Involved

This case involves the First and Fourteenth Amendments to the
United States Constitution, and Minnesota Statutes Section 617.246, the
texts of which are set forth in the Appendix at A.88 - A.91.

Statement of the Case

Petitioner in the above-entitled matter was charged by formal
complaint with a single count of using a minor in a sexual performance,
in violation of Minnesota Statutes Section 617.246, Subd. 2, which

provides, in pertinent part, as follows:

"It is unlawful for a person to promote,
employ, use or permit a minor to engage
in or assist others to engage in posing or
modeling alone or with others in any
sexual performance if the person knows
or has reason to know that the conduct
intended is a sexual performance.” !
Subdivision 5 of the same section also provides as follows:
"Neither consent to sexual performance by a minor or the
minor’s parent, guardian, or custodian nor mistake as to
the minor’s age is a defense to a charge of violation of
this section."
On August 3, 1989, Petitioner brought a motion in the District
Court seeking to dismiss the criminal complaint, inter alia, on the ground
that Minnesota Statutes Section 617.246, in particular, Subd. 5,
precluding a defense as to reasonable mistake as to age was
unconstitutional, in that it violated both the First Amendment to the
United States Constitution and the Due Process Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment of the United States Constitution. A copy of
said Motion to Dismiss is set forth in the Appendix at A.21 - A.24.
On October 10, 1989, the District Court, by the Honorable Jack
Litman, issued an Order and Memorandum denying Petitioner’s motion

in all respects. A copy of said Order and Memorandum is set forth in

the Appendix at A.42 - A.52.

The matter was tried before Judge Litman to a jury, beginning

January 22, 1990.

At trial, Duluth Police Officer John Christianson testified that he
went to the Wabasha Bookstore in Duluth, Minnesota, on May 5, 1989,
in response to information from the Woodland Hills Juvenile Center then
an underage female by the name of Rachelle Reynolds was working at
the Bookstore as a nude dancer (T.36). He testified that he went to the
bookstore knowing Racheile Reynolds’ name and having a photograph
of her (T. 37). He testified that after observing Ms. Reynolds engage
in conduct which included the fondling of her breasts, the exhibition of
her genitals, and the stroking of her pubic area (T. 44), he later
confronted Ms. Reynolds (T. 47 - 48).

He testified that Rachelle Reynolds identified herself to him as
"Sheryl Reynolds" and gave him an official State of Minnesota
identification bearing the name "Sheryl Reynolds" (T. 49). He then
testified that, with the Minnesota identification in his possession, he
inquired of Rachelle Reynolds as to her name, address, and date of birth,
and that Rachelle Reynolds responded with the name, address, and date
of birth contained on the identification card (T. 49, 56-57).

Despite the facially valid identification, Officer Christensen said

to Rachelle Reynolds, "You're not Sheryl, you're Rachelle," which

Rachelle Reynolds admitted (T. 49). She also admitted to beign only 17
years of age as opposed to the 26 years of age indicated on the
identification card. (T. 49). Christensen testified that Rachelle Reynolds
had no other identification and was placed under arrest for
misrepresenting her age to a police officer (T.49).

Rachelle Reynolds testified that her date of birth was April 16,
1972, making her |7 years of age on the date of her arrest on May S,
1989 (T. 67, 71).

She testified that she had sister: Sheryl, 26 years of age, born on
January 26, 1963. Rachelle Reynolds testified that she obtained the
false identification she presented to Officer Christensen by stealing her
sister Sheryl’s birth certificate from her father’s filing cabinet, taking her
sister’s birth certificate to the Hennepin County Library, falsely
representing herself to be Sheryl Reynolds, and receiving an official
Minnesota identification bearing her photograph, but her sister’s name
and date of birth (T. 106). She testified that at no time did any
Hennepin County official ever question whether she was in fact Sheryl
Reynolds, with a date of birth of January 26, 1963 (T. 107).

Rachelle Reynolds testified that her purpose in obtaining the

false identification in the name of her sister Sheryl was to get into bars

to buy liquor, and to get employment as a dancer in a bookstore, since
she knew that she would be unable to do so unless she could prove she
was 18 years of age (T. 109 -110).

Rachelle Reynolds testified that she sought employment as a
dancer at an adult bookstore at Chicago and Lake Street in Minneapolis.
(T. 73-74). She testified that she was interviewed for employment by
Petitioner Eve White (T. 77). She testified that Petitioner, during the
interview, immediately asked her to produce identification showing proof
of age, to which she responded with the official State of Minnesota I.D.
issued in the name of her sister Sheryl (T. 79). She also testified that
Petitioner also requested a second identification to verify the first one,
in particular, a Social Security card (T. 80). | Rachelle Reynolds
responded by representing that her Social Security card was at home, and
stating that she would call back with a Social Security number, which she
did. She testified she called back and gave a false Social Security
number, switching two numbers on her own Social Security number (T.
80). In addition she was told to fill out and sign a W-4 form for tax
purposes (T. 82).

At the conclusion of the state’s case, Petitioner moved to dismiss

the complaint, inter alia on the ground that the evidence plainly

established that Petitioner operated under a reasonable mistake of fact,
to-wit: mistake as to Rachelle Reynold’s identity, as opposed to Rachelle
Reynold’s age, specifically excluded as a defense under the statute. (T.
211).2 The motions were denied (T. 219).

Testifying in her own defense, Petitioner testified that her efforts
at verifying the age of Rachelle Reynolds were the same that she used
with all of her dancers, including demanding a Minnesota Drivers License
or an Official State of Minnesota identification (T. 415). In addition, she
testified that she would customarily take the identification, say that she
did not have her glasses and could not read it, and ask the applicant to
repeat her name, address, and date of birth, so that she could verify the
information given against that in the identification (T.457).° In
addition, applicants were made to complete and sign a W-4 form, and the
signature on the form was then matched against the signature on the
identification card (T. 457 - 458). Obviously this checked out as well,
since the false identification card bearing Rachelle Reynolds’ sister’s
name and date of birth also bore both Rachelle Reynolds’ photograph
4

and signature.

On January 26, 1990, the jury rendered a verdict of guilty on the

offense charged

(T. 575).
On February 5, 1990, Petitioner brought a Motion for Judgment
of Acquittal notwithstanding the verdict, and alternative motion for new

trial, alleging, inter alia, that a defense as to mistake of identity was

constitutionally compelled, in that the Due Process Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment precluded the state from prosecuting Petitioner
when Petitioner und. putably relied upon the state’s own representations,
through its official identification card, as to the performer’s identity and
age. A copy of said motion is set forth in the Appendix at A.53 - A55.
On February 23, 1990, said motions were denied in their entirety by
Judge Litman. See sentencing transcript at p. 11. The judgment of
conviction was affirmed by the Minnesota Court of Appeals on

December 31, 1990. See State v. White, supra, 464 N.W. 2d 585 (Minn.

App. 1990). On March 15, 1991, the Minnesota Supreme Court denied
Petitioner’s Petition for Review.

Petitioner now seeks a Writ of Certiorari.

Argument

I. The decision of the Minnesota Supreme Court upholding the
constitutionality of a child pornography statute imposing absolute
criminal liability upon a Defendant regardless of his knowledge or

scienter_as to a minors age is in direct conflict with applicable
decisions of this court and at least one United States Court of Appeals,
requiring review under Rule 10(b) of this Court.

A. The decisions of this Court co l invalidation, under the

First Amendment, of a statute which imposes absolute criminal liability
for child pornography upon a Defendant, regardless of scienter as to the
minor’s age.

As already noted, supra, Minnesota Statutes Section 617.246,
Subd. 5 provides that a genuine, good faith mistake as to a minor's age
is not a defense to prosecution under the statute. This means that the
producer of a book, magazine, or motion picture film can take every
reasonable step to assure that a participant in his or her production is
over the age of 18, but that if a minor is used in such production, absolute
criminal liability will be imposed regardless of the Defendant’s good faith,
mistake, or lack of knowledge. The decisions of this Court plainly hold
that such an imposition of absolute criminal liability, regardless of the
scienter of the Defendant, violates the First and Fourteenth Amendments
to the United States Constitution.

Simply stated, as this Court has reiterated in every First
Amendment decision on this point for many decades, strict liability (civil
Or criminal) may not be imposed for expressive conduct. Because of the

inevitable chilling effect strict liability casts over the exercise of free

expression, Smith v. California, 361 U.S. 147, (1959), our Constitution does

not permit a regime under which the speaker or artist must assume the
risk of criminality or civil liability arising from the creative or
communicative conduct. To safeguard the fundamental right of free
expression, a Defendant must, on the contrary, be shown to have known
the facts which left his or her communication unprotected by the First
Amendment.

In Smith v. California, supra, 361 U.S. 147 (1959), this Court
struck down an ordinance construed as imposing strict criminal liability
upon a bookseller for possession of an obscene book. This Court
indicated that on general due process grounds, such an abrogation of the
mens rea requirement was suspect, 361 U.S. at 1509, but held more
particularly that under the First Amendment, the ordinance "has such a
tendency to inhibit constitutionally protected expression that it cannot
stand under the Constitution." Id. at 155.

Although the states may legitimately punish obscenity as
unprotected speech, the Court noted that:

"Roth does not recognize any state power to restrict the

dissemination of books which are not obscene; and we

think this ordinance’s strict liability feature would tend

seriously to have that effect, by penalizing booksellers,
even though they had no notice of the character of the

books they sold." Id. at 152.

Faced with strict criminal liability, a bookseller

"will tend to restrict the books he sells to those he has
inspected; and thus, the State will have imposed a
restriction upon the distribution of constitutionally
protected as well as obscene literature... The bookseller’s
limitation in the amount of reading material with which
he could familiarize himself, and his timidity in the face
of his absolute criminal liability, thus would tend to
restrict the public’s access to forms of the printed word
which the State could not constitutionally suppress
directly. The bookseller’s self-censorship affecting the
whole public, hardly less virulent for being privately
administered." Id. at 153-154.

The rationale of Smith was also adopted and further developed

in the landmark decision of New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S.

254 (1964), in which this Court held a public figure could not recover
damages for a defamatory publication related to official conduct in the
absence of proof that the statement was made with "actual malice” -- i.e.,

knowledge that it was false or with reckless regard as to its truth or

Such a heightened burden of proof is required, the Court

observed, so that "debate on public issues should be uninhibited, robust
and wide open," 376 U.S. at 270, and not subjected to a "pall of fear and
timidity imposed upon those who would give voice to public criticism."

Id. at 278. As this Court had noted in Smith, the paramount concern is

10

that abuses of the rights of free speech in press not be subjected to
sanctions, either civil or criminal, so severe as to chill the legitimate
exercise of those freedoms. The threat of "libel judgments virtually
unlimited in amount...leads to a ...’self-censorship,” comparable to the
imposition of strict criminal liability in Smith, and would make speakers
"tend to make only statements which ’steer far wider of the unlawful
zone.” Id. at 279, quoting Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513, 526, (1958).

Similarly, Ginsberg v. New York, 390 U.S. 629, 643-44, (1968),
upheld a New York statute under which "knowing" sale of obscene
materials to minors was defined to include:

"reason to know’ or ‘a belief or ground for belief which

warrants inspection or inquiry of both: (i) the character

and content of any materials described which is

reasonably susceptible of examination by the Defendant

and (ii) the age of the minor.”

The statute in Ginsberg thus required the state to prove at least

negligence on the part of the Defendant in failing to ascertain whether

a_customer was of legal age, and furthermore provided a defense of

reasonable mistake as to the minor’s age.
The common theme in all of these decisions that in order to
impose either criminal or civil liability upon a Defendant for expressive

activity which falls outside the protection of the First Amendment,

11

Government is obligated to make some showing that the Defendant

possessed knowledge or scienter of the facts which led the expressive
activity to fall outside First Amendment protection. Thus, in the area of

obscentity, under Smith v. California, supra, 361 U.S. 147 (1959), a

Defendant must be shown to have knowledge of the content and
character of the work, since it is the content and character of the work
which would render it outside the protection of the First Amendment.

Likewise, in New York Times v. Sullivan, supra, 376 U.S. 254 (1964),

knowledge of falsity or reckless disregard for the truth is required, since
it is the falsity of the alleged defamatory statement which brings it outside
the protection of the First Amendment. In the most analagous

situation, Ginsberg v. New York, supra, 390 U.S. 629 (1968), both

knowledge of the content of the material sold to minors, and at least
negligence as to the minority of the customer was required, since both
the content of the material in question and the age of the recipient were
necessary to bring the material outside First Amendment protection.
Although this Court has not directly ruled on the issue, in at least
two decisions relating to the child pornography exception to the First
Amendment, this Court has strongly implied that some measure of

knowledge or scienter as to the age of the performer is constitutionally

12

mandated in order to impose criminal liability for child pornography. In

New_York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747 (1982), the decision in which this
Court pronounced, for the first time, a child pornography exception to
the First Amendment, this Court upheld the statute which required, as
an essential element of the offense, that the Defendant knew the
character and content of the performance and materials, and more
importantly, provided an affirmative defense of good faith belief that the
minor was of legal age. In upholding the statute, the United States
Supreme Court stressed that the usual First Amendment limitations apply
to the definition and punishment of child pornography as unprotected
speech, to-wit: the prohibited conduct must be adequately defined and
delimited and, as in the case of obscenity, “criminal responsibility may not
be imposed without some element of scienter on the part of the
Defendant." 458 U.S. at 465.

More recently, in Osborne v. Ohio, __; U.S. ___, 110 S.Ct. 1691

(1990), this Court rejected a challenge to Ohio's child pornography
statute On scienter grounds, not because it held scienter as to a minor's
age not constitutionally required; rather this Court found that the Ohio
Statute could be construed to include an element of scienter, since the

Ohio statute required reckless as the element of mens rea. See Id. at

13

Moreover, this Court explicitly held that due process required

that the jury be instructed on the state’s burden of proving scienter,
rejecting the Defendant’s contention that no such instruction was given,
only because Defendant waived the argument by failing to request such
an instruction. See Id. at 1703.

The reasons advanced by the Minnesota Court of Appeals for
rejecting the clear mandates of this Court are unpersuasive at best.

First of all, the court reasoned that the statute does not eliminate
scienter altogether, because the statute, in Subd. 2, "specifically requires
that a person subject to its enforcement must know or has reason to
know that the conduct intended is a sexual performance.” 464 N.W. 2d
at 588. What this argument ignores is the fact that the scienter required
by Subd. 2, to-wit: the sexual nature of the performance, does not
require that the Defendant have any knowledge of facts which would
bring the performance outside the protection of the First Amendment.

Unless the performance is legally obscene under Miller v. California, 413

U.S. 15 (1973), or involves a minor, under New York v. Ferber, supra, 458

U.S. 747 (1982), nothing about the fact that the performance involved

sexual conduct as defined by statute brings the material outside the

14

purview of First Amendment protection. As already noted, supra,

knowledge of the facts bringing material outside the protection of the
First Amendment has been constitutionally mandated in every First
Amendment case decided by this Court since Smith v. California, supra,
361 U.S. 147 (1959). See, in particular, Ginsberg v. New_York, supra,
390 U.S. 629 (1968), requiring knowledge of both the contents and
character of the material and at least neglience as to the age of the
dis‘ributee, since it was only distribution to minors which rendered the
conduct outside the protection of the First Amendment.

Secondly, the Court of Appeals reasoned, without support in the
record or in logic, that the statute "deters only a limited amount of
conduct.” Id. at 589. ‘In fact, rather than requiring an “exhaustive
investigation" of a minor’s age (Id. at 589), what the statute does is assure
that no investigation, regardless of how thorough, how exhaustive, or
how in good faith, will never constitute a defense, if a minor is accidently
hired. Clearly if this is the law, the only way that one can ever assure
compliance with the law is to hire no one to engage in nude dancing,
clearly suppressive of First Amendment activity.

Finally, the Court of Appeals argued that violation of First

Amendment principles is necessary because of the state’s strong interest

15

SS ee ee ee ae ee ee a a yo se SS oe ee eee, oe ee eee - 8 a ee ee a een ee [nn

in the protection of children. Id. at 589. In fact, the statutory provision
does not protect children in general, but only a limited class of fraudulent
l6- or 17-year olds, who pass themselves off as adults. Because good faith
is no defense, the statutory provision punishes, not the unscrupulous child
pornographer, who could not benefit from a reasonable mistake as to age
defense in any event, but rather only the conscientious promoter of First
Amendment activities who conscientiously attempts to comply with the
law. The state’s interest in "protecting" only the guilty at the expense of
only the innocent was not articulated by either Respondent below or the
Court of Appeals in its opinion. Petitioner asserts that it is either

minimal or non-existent.

B. The decision of the Minnesota Supreme Court in upholding
the validity of the Statute on First Amendment grounds is also in direct

conflict with the decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Ninth Circuit.

In addition to being in direct conflict with the applicable decisions
of this Court regarding scienter in First Amendment cases, the Minnesota
Supreme Court’s decision is also in direct conflict with the decision of the
United States Court of Appeals in United States v. United States District
Court, 858 F. 2d 534 (9th Cir. 1988), in which the court authoritatively

construed the Federal Child Pornography Statute to permi a Defendant

16

to produce mistake as to age as an affirmative defense to a child

pornography charge, as a requisite to the constitutional validity of the
statute. The court reasoned that in the absence of a mistake as to age
defense, the Federal Child Pornography Statute would be

unconstitutional. After citing the scienter requirements constitutionally

mandated in Smith v. California, supra, 361 U.S. 47, (1959); Hamling v.

United States, 418 U.S. 87 (1974); Ginsberg v. New York, supra, 390 U.S.

629, (1968); Mishkin v. New York, supra, 86 S.Ct. 958, (1966); and New

York v. Ferber, supra, 458 U.S. 747, the court stated:

"We read these Supreme Court cases as holding that a
speaker may not be put at complete peril in distinguishing
between protected and unprotected speech. Otherwise,
he could only be certain of avoiding liability by holding
his tongue, causing him ‘to make only statements which
"steer far wide [] of the unlawful zone." [Citation
omitted.]’ As the Court noted in this Term, ’a rule that
would impose strict liability on a publisher for
{unprotected speech] would have an undoubted "chilling"
effect on speech... that does have constitutional value’
[citation omitted.]

Section 2251(a) will have precisely this effect, Defendants
tell us, unless they are permitted to present a reasonable
mistake of age defense. They point out that an actor’s
chronological age cannot be precisely ascertained from his
appearance. Some |6- or !7-year-olds may look older and
more sophisticated than their peers; 19-or 20-year-olds
may look youthful and immature. The Court recognized
as much in Ferber when it noted that ’if it were necessary
for literary or artistic value, a person over the statutory

17

age who perhaps looked younger could be utilized.’ 458

U.S. at 763. Age may also be ascertained on the basis of

other evidence: birth certificates, driver’s licenses or

other identification; statements of those acquainted with

the actor; reputation in the community. But Defendants,

argue, none of these sources is infallible: documents can

be, and frequently are, forged; people can be mistaken or

lie; reputations may be based on unfounded rumor rather

than fact." Id. at 529 - 540.

Plainly, the instant case is a perfect example of the "chilling
effect" that the imposition of absolute liability would have upon protected
speech. Despite the fact that both the United States Supreme Court and
Minnesota Supreme Court have held nude dancing to be a form of
constitutionally protected expression,” it is absolutely clear that the only
way that Petitioner could have assured herself of avoiding criminal
liability altogether would have been to hire no one to engage in nude
dancing. As correctly noted by the Ninth Circuit, any and all
‘documentation they could have secured to ascertain a dancer’s age could
have been forged and done so quite convincingly, as was the minor’s
identification in the instant case. Clearly, the net effect of imposing
absolute criminal liability upon anyone who hires a nude dancer, who
turns Out to be a minor, regardless of the efforts taken to ascertain the

minor’s age, must necessarily be to assure that no one is ever hired to

engage in nude dancing, despite the fact that the conduct is

18

constitutionally protected.°

Il. Apart from First ment consideratio ta
Su s uphold of the statu n due

It is an essential concept of our Anglo-American philosophy of

criminal jurisprudence that a serious crime requires both a guilty act
(actus reus) and a guilty mind (mens_ rea). “Crime [is] a compound
concept, generally constituted only from concurrence of an evil-meaning
mind with an evil-doing hand,” as this Court noted in the leading case of

Morissette _v. United States, 342 U.S. 246, 251 (1952). Although a

distinction has arisen in modern times for offenses of a regulatory nature,

which are malum prohibitum rather than malum in se and which entail

neither severe criminal penalties nor grave damage to reputation, this
Court has never upheld the imposition of strict liability for a serious
felony offense like that created by Section 617.246. On the contrary, this
Court and lower courts have indicated on numerous occasions that due
process prohibits elimination of criminal intent as an element for such an
offense.

The Supreme Court recognized in Morissette, supra, that the

absence of a scienter requirement as to any fact necessary to make the

19

conduct subject to the criminal sanction created strict liability. In order

to be convicted under the federal larceny statute at issue in Morissette,
the Defendant had to be shown to have committed "knowing conversion,"
which the Court interpreted as requiring "more than knowledge that
Defendant was taking the property into his possession. He must have
had knowledge of the facts, though not necessarily the law, that made the
taking a conversion." 342 U.S. at 270-271. Thus the Defendant could not
have been convicted in the absence of knowledge that the property of
which he took possession was capable of being converted, and so the
Court implicitly held the Defendant should have been allowed to
introduce evidence he thought the property was abandoned. Otherwise,
the Court indicated, the Defendant could be convicted in the absence of

any guilty knowledge or mens rea, a result incompatible with fundamental

tenets of criminal jurisprudence which have emerged from centuries of
commo.i-law wisdom.

Noting that in the industrial era, a new class of regulatory
offenses had developed for which criminal intent was not always required,
this Court carefully distinguished such malum prohibitum offenses, along
the lines of “health and safety" or “public welfare" regulation, from

serious crimes. These regulatory offenses are distinguished by the facts

20

that "penalties commonly are relatively small, and conviction does not

grave damage to an offender’s reputation,” in contrast to crimes for which
"the penalty is high and...the infamy is that of a felony.” Id. at 256, 260.

This distinction is central to the Morissette analysis of the due
process limitations of strict liability. Because the Court in Morissette was
able to avoid the constitutional question and to hold that "mere
omission...of any mention intent will not be construed as eliminating that
element,” the Court left open the question of "a precise line ot...
comprehensive criteria for distinguishing between crimes that require a
mental element and crimes that do not.” Id. at 263, 260. This Court has
subsequently had occasion to construe silent or ambiguous statutes to
require an element of criminal intent, most recently in Liparota v. United
States, 471 U.S. 419, (1985), but has never squarely faced the question of
a statute creating strict liability for a serious felony. Clearly, however,
congressional power to eliminate mental culpability for serious crimes is
limited by due process, as the Court suggested in Morissette and
reaffirmed in Liparota.

This Court also reiterated that strict liability is generally
inappropriate when the offense is punishable by imprisonment or by

other severe sanctions in United States v. United States Gypsum Co., 438

21

U.S. 422 (1978). "The existence of mens rea is the rule of, rather than

the exception to, the principles of Anglo-American criminal
jurisprudence,” the Court noted, 438 U.S. at 436, quoting Dennis v.

United States, 341 U.S. 494, 500 (1951). Citing Morissette, the Court

construed the criminal antitrust provisions of the Sherman Act to require
an intent element. The imposition of harsh criminal penalties on a strict
liability basis, the Court observed, "would be difficult to square with the
generally-accepted functions of the criminal law." Id., 438 U.S. at 442.
In the recent case of Liparota v. United States, supra, the Court
interpreted ambiguous provisions creating the offense of food stamp
fraud to include an element of mens rea. Again, this Court followed
Morissette to construe the ambiguity in Defendant’s favor under the rule
of lenity, and the case raised no constitutional issue. But the Court
noted that while generally, definition of the elements of an offense is
entrusted to the legislature, "Congress must act within any applicable
constitutional constraints in defining criminal offense.” 105 S. Ct. at 2087,

n. 6. See also Lambert v. California, 355 U.S. 225 (1957) (due process

limits power of states to create strict liability for violation of a felony
registration ordinance of which Defendant would /ikely have no notice).’

In this regard, see also United States v. Launder, 743 F. 2d 686

22

(9th Cir. 1984), and United States v. Wulff, 758 F. 2d 1121 (6th Cir.

1985).

An essential factor in determining whether Petitioner’s conviction

violated the due process clause is the undisputed evidence that Rachelle
Reynolds did not act alone in misrepresenting her age and identity to
Petitioner. The State of Minnesota was an active and crucial participant
in that misrepresentation. In granting employment to Rachelle Reynolds,
plainly relied upon an identification card issued by the State of
Minnesota, plainly for the purpose of establishing an individual’s identity
and date of birth. The issuance of the card is mandated by Minnesota
Statutes Section 171.07, Subd. 3, which provides as follows:

"Upon payment of the required fee the department [of
Public Safety] shall (emphasis supplied) issue to every
applicant therefor a Minnesota Identification Card. The
department may not issue a Minnesota identification card
to a person who has a driver’s license, other than an
instruction permit. The card must bear a distinguishing
number, assigned to the applicant, a colored photograph,
the full name, date of birth, residence address, a
description of the applicant in a manner the commission
deems necessary, and a space upon which the applicant
shall write the usual signature and date of birth of the
applicant with pen and ink.

23

ot wih etn NN, Ae

“
3
/
5
:
4
‘
é
:
.
:
«
2
2
a

Each Minnesota Identification Card must be plainly marked
"Minnesota Identification -- not a driver’s license.’ The fee for a
Minnesota Identification Card issued to a person who is mentally

retarded, as defined in Section 252.A.02, Subdivision 2 is 50
cents.”

Plainly, the statute is intended for the purpose of according every
person who is not a licensed driver a state-sanctioned method of
establishing his or her identification and date of birth. In fact other
Minnesota statutes specifically establish the Minnesota Identification
Card as sufficient proof of identification and age to qualify for senior
citizens benefits,® and for the purpose of purchasing liquor.?

Plainly then, when the State of Minnesota issued Rachelle
Reynolds an official identification card, identifying her as Sheryl
Reynolds, age 26, it did so plainly for the purpose of permitting her to
establish her identity and age fcr all lawful purposes, including
employment. Equally clear is the fact that due process of law precludes
the state, as a matter of law, from imposing criminal liability upon
Appellant for her reliance upon the state’s own misrepresentations.

In Raley v. Ohio, 360 U.S. 423 (1959), the United States Supreme
Court reversed contempt convictions for witnesses appearing before the
Ohio Un-American Activities Commission, in a situation in which the

chairman and members of the commission affirmatively represented that

24

the witnesses had a privilege not to answer questions they believed would
incriminate them. Despite exercising the privilege commission members
had indicated was available to them, the Defendants were prosecuted
under the theory that the Ohio Immunity Statute removed the threat of
criminal prosecution, thus making a self-incrimination claim unavailable
to them. This Court held that due process prohibited the State from
criminally punishing conduct the state’s own agents represented was
permissible. This Court stated:

"While there is no suggestion that the commission had

any intent to deceive the appellants, we repeat that to

sustain the judgment of the Ohio Supreme Court on such

a basis after the commission acted as it did would be to

sanction the most indefensible sort of entrapment by the

state --convicting a citizen for exercising a privilege which

the state clearly had told him was available to him." 360
U.S. at 437-438.

Similarly, in Cox v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 559 (1965), this Court
reversed the conviction of a civil rights leader who was convicted
of violating an East Baton Rouge, Louisiana ordinance prohibiting
picketing "near a courthouse." The facts giving rise . the arrest were
that the leader had conducted a demonstration approximately 101 feet
from the courthouse, across the street, in a location for which permission

to picket had been specifically granted by city officials, including the

iain vi oasee se Rech mtd

police chief. The Court held, relying on Raley v. Ohio, supra, that the

permission granted by the highest police officials to hold the
demonstration where it was held constituted a representation that holding
the demonstration at that location did not constitute demonstrating "near"
a courthouse, within the meaning of the ordinance.

Subsequent decisions of both this Court and various lower federal
courts have repeatedly reinforced the due process mandates of Raley and

Cox. In United States v. Laub, 385 U.S. 475, (1967), this Court stated

the following:
"Ordinarily, citizens may not be punished for actions

taken in good faith reliance upon authoritative assurance
that punishment will not attach.” Id. U.S. at 487.

See also United States v. Pennsylvania Chemical Corp., 411 U.S.
655 (1973), and United States v. Brady, 710 F. Supp. 290 (D. Col. 1989).

The Minnesota Court of Appeals rejected this plainly compelled
result by the one sentence assertion that "the State of Minnesota did not
affirmatively participate in the conduct which lead (sic) to the criminal
violation.” 464 N.W. 2d at 590.

The record in this case plainly does not support the Court of
Appeals’ finding, since the undisputed testimony was that but for the

state’s affirmative act in issuing an identification which, in effect, told

26

Petitioner that it was lawful to hire Rachelle Reynolds, Rachelle

Reynoids never would have been hired. !°

Oe Pen ks te nee Red ete De

1p Sie atari lal Pea EB HE IE TG oh mo

St wine 98 se moe,

Conclusion
For all of the foregoing reasons, Petitioner's Petition for Writ of

Certiorari, should be in all respects granted.

(iy weet

Randall D.B. Tigue
Attorney for Petitioner
2620 Nicollet Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55408
(612) 874-9903

Dated: June 7, 1991.

'As already mentioned, supra, the full text of Minnesota Statutes
Section 617.246 is set forth in the Appendix at A.89.

*See Minnesota Statutes Section 617.246, Subd. 5. Because the issue
of the construction of the statute is a matter purely of state law, the issue
is not presented to this Court for review, except to the extent that it
impacts upon Petitioner’s due process argument, infra.

3It should be noted that this is precisely the same procedure used by
Officer Christensen to attempt to check Ms. Reynolds’ identification at
the time he arrested here. See T. 49, 56-57. In this regard, Officer
Christensen admitted that had he not had the information from
Woodland Hills Detention Center identifying Michelle Reynolds as a

minor, it is possible that he would have been fooled by the identification
as well. See T. 57.

‘In this regard, it should be also noted that Rachelle Reynolds, in her
testimony, verified that Petitioner made her complete and sign a W-4
form (T. 82).

27

sete ele et \ 4am

>See California v. LaRue, 409 U.S. 109, Doran v. Salem Inn, Inc.,
422 U.S. 922 (1975); Schad v. Borough of Mt. Ephraim, 452 U.S. 61,
(1981); and Koppinger v. City of Fairmont, 311 Minn. 186, (1976). See also
Miller v. Civil City of Southbend, 904 F. 2d 1081 (7th Cir. 1990), cert

granted sub nom., Barnes v. Glen Theater, Inc.,___ U.S.___, Ill S.Ct. 38,
I'2 L.Ed. 2d 15 (1990).

°Respondent’s argument below that White could have ascertained the
falsity of the identification presented by Sheryl Reynolds by "checking
out" her social security number is transparently without merit. To begin
with, the Social Security Administration specifically prohibits the release
of information concerning individuals’ social security numbers. See Title
45 C.F.R. Section 5.67(c). See also Title 42 U.S.C. Section 408 making
unauthorized disclosure of social security numbers a criminal offense.
At trial, Eve White testified, without contradiction, that her attempts to
verify social security numbers uniformly met with frustration, since the
Social Security Administration would not give out written numbers
without written permission, and even upon receipt of written permission
it would take from six weeks to six months to get the information back,
making it impossible to hire as a practical matter (T. 434-435). More
importantly, however, even if it were possible to "check out" a social
security number, that would, by no means, guarantee freedom from
prosecution. Had Rachelle Reynolds stolen her sister’s social security
card, as well as her birth certificate, "checking out” the social security
would have done nothing more than further verify the false identification.
Petitioner would nonetheless be subject to prosecution under Section
617.246, since no ef! t verification, no matter how extensive, could
ever constitute a defense under the statute.

’The only modern Supreme Court decision to have upheld strict
liability for a felony offense, United States v. Freed, 401 U.S. 601 (1971),
illustrates the inappropriateness of strict liability for the offense at issue
in this case. In Freed, this Court distinguished the crime of possessing
unregistered hand grenades from a serious, malum in se crime of the type
considered in Morissette: "This is a regulatory measure in the interest of
public safety." 401 U.S. at 609. Strict liability as to the hand grenade’s
registration status was appropriate because "one would hardly be
surprised to learn that possession of hand grenades is not an innocent
act. They are highly dangerous offensive weapons.” Id. The Defendant,
having undertaken to possess such a weapon, would have at least

28

constructive knowledge of the legal requirement of registration, and
would be able to ascertain beyond any doubt the weapon’s registration
status.

The statute in Freed did not, however, eliminate the element of
criminal intent entirely, however, and if the Defendant did not know the
hand grenade was a weapon, e.q., believed it to be an artichoke, or did
not knowingly possess it, he could not be convicted. Thus the mistake of
fact defense would still be available to negate the existence of mens rea.

The present case, of course, involves First Amendment activity
which is not properly the subject of strict liability, and a factual element
which the Defendant often is unable to determine with complete
certainty. As in Freed, because reasonable mistake as to that fact would
negate any criminal intent whatsoever, evidence of such mistake must be
admissible by way of defense.

8See Minnesota Statutes Section 171.07, Subd. 3a.

%See Minnesota Statutes Section 340A.53.

101m this regard, it should be noted that in Raley v. Ohio, supra,
United States Supreme Court clearly held that it was irrelevant whether
the representation relied upon by the citizen to his detriment was
deliberately fraudulent or not. See 360 U.S. at 437-438.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2228%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
