# Opposition Brief — Citizens Action Coalition of Indiana, Inc. v. PSI Energy, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2215%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 502 U.S. 818

## Text

90-1896 ——
yA

No. 90-1836 JUL 15 199%
ee : OFFICE Of THE CLERK

IN THE

- Supreme Court of the United States F

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

=

CITIZENS ACTION COALITION OF INDIANA, INC.,
CITY OF TERRE HAUTE, INDIANA,
SAVE THE VALLEY, INC.,

Petitioners,
v.

PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY OF INDIANA, INC.,
OFFICE OF UTILITY CONSUMER COUNSELOR, et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Indiana Supreme Court

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

CHERYL M. FOLEY
DUEJEAN C. GARRETT
PSI ENERGY, INC.
1000 East Main Street
Plainfield, Indiana 46168
(317) 838-2336

VIRGIL L.. BEELER *

FRED E. SCHLEGEL

JOHN R. SCHAIBLEY III

MARK A. VOIGTMANN
BAKER & DANIELS
300 North Meridian Street
Suite 2700
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
(317) 237-0300

Counsel for Respondent

Public Service Company
* Counsel of Record of Indiana, Inc.

WILSON - Ergs Printing Co., Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED

Should this Court grant certiorari to consider whether
to overturn a state supreme court decision denying dis-
cretionary review, based solely on the fact that the deci-
sion was inadvertently and harmlessly disclosed by one
of the state supreme court justices to a former state
supreme court justice prior to the ministerial entry of the
order, where the court itself later reconsidered its deci-
sion in light of the disclosure and unanimously let the
denial of discretionary review stand?

(i)

ii

RULE 29.1 STATEMENT

Public Service Company of Indiana, Inc. (now PSI
Energy, Inc.), is a wholly-owned subsidiary of PSI
Resources, Inc., a publicly traded company. PSI Energy,
Inc., does not have any non-wholly-owned subsidiaries.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

iy te | is) |

Cs

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .......2.2...2..222222-2--.-eceeceeceeeeeee

STATEMENT OF THE CASE..........2.00.0222--..e-ceeceeceeeeeee

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT ...........0 0...
I. THE CAC HAS MISCHARACTERIZED THE

II.

ITI.

PROCEDURAL HISTORY OF THE CASE IN
AN EFFORT TO BOLSTER UNSUPPORTED
AND UNREASONABLE ALLEGATIONS OF
JUDICIAL IMPROPRIETY ...........020000...

JUSTICE GIVAN’S LUNCHEON REMARK
DOES NOT PRESENT AN ISSUE OF CON-
STITUTIONAL DIMENSION ........0200.202..-

A. The Situations Requiring Judicial Disqualifi-
cation on Procedural Due Process Grounds
Do Not Remotely Resemble This Case ..........

B. Even Under the More Exacting Statutory
Standards Governing Judicial Disqualifica-
tion, an Appearance of Partiality Does Not
Exist as a Matter of Law ................................

C. In Any Event, Whatever Appearance Problem
There May Have Been, It Was Erased When
the Indiana Supreme Court Considered the
Very Question of Judicial Disqualification
and Unanimously Ruled That Its Previous
Denial of Transfer Should Stand ...................

THIS CASE PRESENTS NO IMPORTANT
QUESTION WHICH NEEDS TO BE AD-
DRESSED BY THIS COURT ..............0000.0........

eR al LE a

12

15

16

19

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813 (1986).. 9-10,

12

Argersinger v. Hamlin, 407 U.S. 25 (1972) ~........... 17
Bradley v. Milliken, 426 F.Supp. 929 (E.D. Mich.

IE ooiaiinechndcarnlentecieasehe ea ehecaietisinipnoecnig eh chiciden eaireatadeanion 14

Deren v. Williams, 521 So.2d 150 (Fla. App. 1988) .. 14
Easley v. University of Mich. Bd. of Regents, 853
F.2d 1851 (6th Cir. 1988), aff’d after remand,

906 F.2d 1143 (1990), cert. denied, US.
“e: 3 ee Be | 2k + le ee 15

Federal Trade Comm’n v. Cement Inst., 333 U.S.
BERR Ara RA PES SERS A We eee One 12
Gibson v. Berryhill, 411 U.S. 564 (1978) ............... 10

Hortonville Joint School Dist. v. Hortonville Educ.
py eS SE Bene 11

In re Corrugated Container Antitrust Litig., 614
F.2d 958 (5th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 449 U.S.

ISS a MCSE S Tee - RC 14
In re Estate of Carlton, 378 So.2d 1212 (Fla. 1980),

awe, mamas GT UR, DI ava vin cassie nsnctbitesswse-... 14, 16
In re Federal Skywalk Cases, 680 F.2d 1175 (8th

RGSS RES NS - 14
In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 183 (1955) .......----... 11
In re Wirebound Boxes Antitrust Litig., 724 F.

BR eee 14
Laird v. Tatum, 409 U.S. 824 (1972) ........0.0000000.... 5, 16
Liljeberg v. Health Services Acquisition Corp.,

PB SS RETR Oa Po oe ee 9,11,13

Little Rock School Dist. v. Pulaski County Special
School Dist., 839 F.2d-14296 (8th Cir. 1988), cert.

Gente ae ee ibd... 2 i. eis 13-14
Marshall v. Jerrico, 446 U.S. 238 (1980) .........0...... 10
Matter of Lewis, 535 N.E.2d 127 (Ind. 1989) _....... 13
Mayberry v. Pennsylvania, 400 U.S. 455 (1971) .... 11
Offutt v. United States, 348 U.S. 11 (1954) ............ 11
Parrish v. Board of Comm’ rs of Ala. State Bar, 524

pe Ge ree 14
Rooker v. Fidelity Trust Co., 263 U.S. 413 (1923) .. 10
State v. Barker, 420 N.W.2d 695 (Neb. 1988) _....... 15

State v. Valencia, 602 P.2d 807 (Ariz. 1979) ......... 15

| y

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

|
| Page
| Taylor v. Hayes, 418 U.S. 488 (1974) .......000000....... 11
| Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510 (1927) ....................-..- 10
Ungar v. Sarafite, 376 U.S. 575 (1964) —................ 11
United States v. Couch, 896 F.2d 78 (5th Cir.
RRs eae SS SRR 12
United States v. Kelly, 888 F.2d 732 (11th Cir.
SY SctiahLadiiacaieh accteoceh pated Amst tat lidiseaclasibesnenadinicicnibies 14
Ward v. Village of Monroeville, 409 U.S. 57
I a wasueucoune 10
Withrow v. Larkin, 421 U.S. 35 (1975) .................. 11
STATUTES AND RULES
ge | Eee ne enna 12
Ind. Appellate Rule 11(B) (5) —...........2-0000.22----- 3
Ind. Judicial Conduct Canon 3(C) (1) -....20000-00000-..... 12

OTHER AUTHORITY

Indiana Continuing Legal Education Forum, Ap-
pellate Practice, Petitions to Transfer to the
Supreme Court of Indiana (1991) .......0...0000000..... 3,14

Nadelmann, Disqualification of Constitutional
Court Judges for Alleged Bias? 52 Judicature

ee aaaieeuaaaraies 18
Smith & DeBonis, Appellate Handbook for Indiana
i 0 ee ceeieaelinaionias 3

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

No. 90-1836

CITIZENS ACTION COALITION OF INDIANA, INC.,
CITY OF TERRE HAUTE, INDIANA,
SAVE THE VALLEY, INC.,
. Petitioners,
PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY OF INDIANA, INC.,
OFFICE OF UTILITY CONSUMER COUNSELOR, et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
Indiana Supreme Court

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondent, Public Service Company of Indiana, Inc.
(“PSI’),? submits this brief in opposition to the Petition
for a Writ of Certiorari filed by Petitioners, Citizens Ac-
tion Coalition of Indiana, Inc., et al. (the ‘““CAC”). The
CAC seeks review in this Court of a unanimous decision
by the Indiana Supreme Court (Pet. App. la) denying a
petition seeking the retroactive recusal of Justice Richard
M. Givan, and vacation and reconsideration of the court’s
previous order denying transfer (7.e., discretionary re-
view) of a decision of the Indiana Court of Appeals. For
the reasons explained below, PSI urges the Court to deny
the Petition.

1 Now PSI Energy, Inc,

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE?

This case, which ostensibly presents a question of judi-
cial disqualification involving a justice of the Indiana
Supreme Court, arises from a state appellate challenge
that the CAC mounted in an attempt to overturn an order
of the Public Service Commission of Indiana* granting
PSI a rate increase in 1986. The increase, in the amount
of approximately $107 million annually, and its terms,
were approved by the commission and reflected a resolu-
tion of the case agreed upon by both PSI and the Indiana
governmental agency that acts on behalf of consumers,
the Office of the Utility Consumer Counselor.‘

The CAC appealed the commission order and the
Indiana Court of Appeals affirmed. Pet. App. 5a. The
CAC then sought transfer to the Indiana Supreme Court,°

2 The CAC’s Statement of the Case contains numerous mischarac-
terizations of fact and arguments cloaked as fact. Accordingly, PSI
has undertaken here to provide the Court with an accurate State-
ment of the Case. One inaccuracy deserves special mention. The
CAC has cited a statement from a previous PSI brief before the
Indiana Supreme Court for the apparent proposition that PSI does
not challenge the CAC’s account of events. Pet., p. 3 n.2. This
statement was taken out of context. PSI’s statement to the Indiana
Supreme Court that “[t]here are no identified, disputed issues of
fact before the Court” was immediately followed by the statement
that “‘[t]he Court knows when it voted and determined the outcome
in this case.” In other words, because the case below concerned the
internal processes of the Indiana Supreme Court, PSI was merely
pointing out that the justices themselves knew the facts.

3 Now Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission.

* The CAC has also mischaracterized the merits of the proceedings
below. Since the merits are not at issue here, PSI has, in the inter-
est of brevity, dispensed with making specific corrections of these
errors.

5 The Indiana procedure for “transfer” to the Indiana Supreme
Court is similar in practice and purpose to this Court’s certiorari
practice. It provides for discretionary review of the decisions of
the Indiana Court of Appeals, and its purpose is to permit the
Indiana Supreme Court, as final arbiter of Indiana law, to establish

3

but the high court denied its petition. Pet. App. 8a. The
CAC then challenged the denial of transfer on judicial
disqualification and due process grounds. The focus of
this challenge was a luncheon remark made by a state
supreme court justice who had participated in the decision
to deny transfer, Justice Richard M. Givan. It is this
luncheon remark and its asserted constitutional conse-
quences which form the sole basis of the present Petition.

The salient events are these. Oral argument on the
petition seeking transfer to the Indiana Supreme Court
was held on March 6, 1991. Immediately following the
argument, the four justices participating in the case
voted. The vote was a 2-2 tie on the question of transfer,
thus resulting in an order denying transfer by operation
of Ind. Appellate Rule 11(B)(5).* The order, according
to one newspaper article relied upon by the CAC, “was
written and signed the next day.” Pet. App. 34a. For
reasons that are unclear, the order of denial was not
immediately released to the Indiana Supreme Court clerk.
One newspaper reported that there was “some confusion”
surrounding the vote. Pet. App. 25a. Another reported
that “the order was held up when some justices reconsid-
ered their votes.” Pet. App. 28a.

precedent and maintain its consistency. Common grounds for grant-
ing transfer petitions are that a decision of the Indiana Court of
Appeals (which sits in panels) contravenes Indiana Supreme Court
precedent, conflicts with another state court of appeals decision,
or erroneously decides a new question of law. The Indiana Supreme
Court may or may not hear oral argument on a transfer petition.
A denial of transfer has no legal effect other than to terminate the
litigation in the Indiana Supreme Court. It is not precedent and
simply leaves standing the decision of the state court of appeals.
See generally Indiana Continuing Legal Education Forum, Appellate
Practice, Petitions to Transfer to the Supreme Court of Indiana 1-25
(1991); Smith & DeBonis, Appellate Handbook for Indiana Lawyers
§ 20.1 et seq. (1987).

®Ind. Appellate Rule 11(B)(5) provides in pertinent part:
In all cases where the Supreme Cour. is evenly divided .. .

upon the question of accepting or denying transfer .. . transfer
shall be deemed denied... .

4

The delay, however, did not mean that the vote on
March 6 (after oral argument) was preliminary. After
an oral argument on a transfer petition, the vote is taken.
There is no provision by court rule or practice for “pre-
liminary” and “final” votes at this point.?, Whatever the
reason for the delay in the release of the order of denial
in the present case, no justice changed his vote. From
all that is known or can legitimately be inferred, the
decision to deny the petition for transfer was made in the
conference following oral argument on March 6.8

Five days after the vote, on March 11, one of the
justices wno had participated in the denial of transfer,
Justice Givan, met for lunch with a longtime friend,
Paul G. Jasper, himself a former justice of the Indiana
Supreme Court. Some supreme court personnel also joined
them. Pet. App. 28a. Former Justice Jasper was not a
representative of PSI, either officially or unofficially.
Although he had once been an officer of the company, that
relationship had ended with his retirement in 1974. At
82 years old, the former justice continued to be active on
a part-time basis in the bar and in a utility industry
trade association, but his purpose in having lunch with
Justice Givan and others appears to have been entirely
social. The two had a long history. Among other things,
Justice Givan had been a clerk in the court’s law library
under former Justice Jasper. Pet. App. 31a.

During that lunch, Justice Givan, under the impres-
sion that the decision had already been handed down,

7 Of course, the justices may have previously voted on the ques-
tion of whether to hear oral argument.

8 The entry of denial of transfer is routine and m:nisterial. The
denial is either endorsed or entered directly on the petition papers
by the chief justice, with the vote of each justice noted, followed
by notice to the parties of the entry by the clerk, or a form entry
is prepared, signed, filed with the clerk and sent to the parties, as
occurred in this case. Indiana Continuing Legal Education Forum,
Appellate Practice, Petitions to Transfer to the Supreme Court of
Indiana 19-20 (1991). Both methods require no further deliberation
by the court and are purely clerical functions,

atte ieinntiaanmenae

mentioned that the transfer petition had been denied be-
cause of a 2-2 tie. Pet. App. 28a, 33a. Apparently as a
result of this inadvertent disclosure, the denial of transfer
became publicly known, and reporters began making in-
quiries to the court. On the following day, March 12, the
court met to discuss the leak, and Justice Givan imme-
diately reported his conversation with former Justice
Jasper and apologized to the other justices for his mis-
take in assuming that the decision had already been an-
nounced. Pet. App. 32a, 34a. On March 138, the order
denying transfer was formally entered and announced.
Pet. App. 3a.

On April 2, 1991, based on the premature disclosure at
the luncheon meeting, the CAC filed a petition in the
Indiana Supreme Court seeking the retroactive recusal
of Justice Givan, the vacation of the order denying trans-
fer and reconsideration of its original transfer petition.
After full briefing on these issues, the four Indiana Su-
preme Court justices who had participated in the original
decision to deny transfer voted unanimously to deny the
petition in all respects. Pet. App. la.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. THE CAC HAS MISCHARACTERIZED THE PRO-
CEDURAL HISTORY OF THE CASE IN AN EF-
FORT TO BOLSTER UNSUPPORTED AND UNREA-
SONABLE ALLEGATIONS OF JUDICIAL IMPRO-
PRIETY.

Cases involving judicial disqualification are unique in
that “there is not apt to be anything akin to the ‘record’
which supplies the factual basis for adjudication in most
litigated matters.” Laird v. Tatum, 409 U.S. 824, 825
n.l (1972) (Rehnquist, J.). The CAC apparently views
this inherent characteristic as a license to exaggerate, if
not to fabricate.

The CAC would have this Court grant the Petition and
set sail upon the waters of procedural due process on the

6

basis of the allegation that Justice Given “disclosed ex
parte to a representative of Respondent [PSI] the out-
come of the court’s preliminary vote in conference re-
garding transfer.” Pet., p. 3 (emphasis added). The
quoted sentence, while concisely stating the CAC’s central
allegations, unfortunately suffers from any comparison to
reality.

The March 11, 1991, lunch between Justice Givan and
former Justice Jasper was not an ex parte meeting. No
party in the case was present. Nor was it a meeting
between a sitting justice and a representative of PSI.
Former Justice Jasper’s employment with PSI had ended
17 years earlier. He was not serving in any official or un-
official capacity on behalf of PSI. No one connected with
PSI had helped to arrange or even knew about the lunch
between the two justices. Yet the CAC makes free use of
the terms representative and ex parte, seemingly in the
hope of creating an atmosphere of underhandedness. This
is doubly unfair, because it also obscures the human
aspects of the relationship.

From the same sentence comes the CAC’s baseless and
unsupported characterization of the Indiana Supreme
Court’s vote to deny transfer on March 6 as preliminary.°
“Preliminary vote” is a highly useful phrase for the CAC’s
purposes: it has the virtue of making a case of premature
disclosure iook very much like a case of ex parte consulta-
tion during a break in judicial deliberations. In a con-
trived effort to cast its argument in this favorable light,
the CAC’s Petition claims that “[{t}he justices of the

® The CAC’s use of the term “preliminary vote” to describe the
March 6 decision by the Indiana Supreme Court reflects an inter-
esting variation from the terms the CAC used before the Indiana
Supreme Court itself. There, the CAC merely labeled the vote as
“non-final” (on the rationale that each participating justice ‘may
reconsider” his vote) and emphasized that the matter was a “pend-
ing case” until the written order was entered. Presumably this was
because the CAC recognized that the Indiana Supreme Court would
have instantly rejected the “preliminary vote” characterization as
inaccurate. A state high court obviously knows its own procedures.

=

‘

Indiana Supreme Court met in conference on the after-
noon of Tuesday, March 12, to discuss the case again.” °
Pet., p. 5 (emphasis added). With this choice of words,
the CAC clearly wants the implication to be drawn that
this was the “final” vote on the denial of transfer. There
is no evidence that any vote was taken on the transfer
petition after the vote on March 6. As noted previ-
ously, a second or “final” vote is not only contrary to the
court’s practices, it contradicts sources of information
available about the actual deliberations that were relied
upon by the CAC itself.’ Those sources of information
indicate that the court’s agenda for the March 12 meet-
ing was to discuss the recent leak of the March 6 decision.
Pet. App. 34a.

Perhaps the most outrageous of the CAC’s broadbrushed
attempts at innuendo is its not-so-veiled suggestion of
insider trading. Pet., p. 6-7. The CAC directs attention
to the fact that large blocks of PSI stock were sold on
March 12, apparently proceeding on the assumption that
this fact alone is suspect. The CAC de-emphasizes the
fact that the block sales were in connection with an on-
going stock liquidation program then being conducted by
an institutional investor, The Fund American Companies,
Inc., and it ignores the fact that the size of the blocks

10 For obvious reasons, the CAC did not make any reference to
this “fact” in its petition to the Indiana Supreme Court seeking the
retroactive recusal of Justice Givan and reconsideration of the peti-
tion to transfer. The justices of the Indiana Supreme Court clearly
know what was and was not discussed during their March 12 con-
ference.

11 The order denying transfer was written and signed on March 7,
1991. Pet. App. 34a. The entry of the order with the clerk is rou-
tine and ministerial. Although newspaper accounts suggest the
possibility of some confusion, or the possibility of one or more
justices holding up the actual entry, thus resulting in Justice Givan’s
misunderstanding regarding the release date of the order denying
transfer, no information exists about any further consideration of
the transfer petition by the court and no further consideration
would be expected.

8

traded was not unusual under the circumstances. The 1.3
million PSI shares traded on March 12 (primarily due to
the Fund American liquidation) loses any possible sig-
nificance when compared to the volumes two weeks after
the announcement of the denial of transfer. On April 2
and 3, 2.5 and 3.1 million shares were traded, also as a
result of the Fund American liquidation. The Wall Street
Journal, -Apr. 4, 1991, at p. C2. Viewed objectively, it
hardly comes as a surprise to know that the price of PSI
stock did not rise significantly either before or after the
decision favorable to PSI was publicly announced, and no
trading irregularities later came to light.

While it is bad enough that the Petition’s discussion
of large block trades of PSI stock on March 12 is not
put into the context of what happened just two weeks
later, it is particularly egregious when the CAC’s infer-
ences are strung together, as they necessarily must be,
in an effort to fathom the possible relevance of such in-
formation. Can the Petition really be suggesting that
Justice Givan was an accomplice in an insider trading
scheme? Or is the CAC merely trying to plant the in-
ference that most members of the general public would
tend to believe that Justice Givan was involved in such
a scheme?

Either way, the conclusions from these and other
“facts” should be the same, although they are not quite
the ones that the CAC seems to want. The conclusions
are that allegations of insider trading are irrelevant.
The Petition is rife w'th innuendo. And this case is sim-
ply not a proper case for review by the Supreme Court.

9

II. JUSTICE GIVAN’S LUNCHEON REMARK DOES
NOT PRESENT AN ISSUE OF CONSTITUTIONAL
DIMENSION.

A. The Situations Requiring Judicial Disqualification
on Procedural Due Process Grounds Do Not Re-
motely Resemble This Case.

This Court has repeatedly undertaken to define the
boundaries of procedural due process in widely differing
contexts. Although, by necessity, the standards have been
flexible and fact specific, it can nevertheless be said that
within some contexts (the issue of judicial disqualifica-
tion being one) the boundaries are not only known, they
have been established with a reasonable degree of par-
ticularity. The problem with the Petition is that it wants
to fit itself into a category where it does not belong. It
wants to invoke the Due Process Clause when, at best,
only a question of state law is presented. In pursuit of
this goal, the CAC tries to blur the distinction between
the line of due process judicial disqualification cases rep-
resented by Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813
(1986), and the separate line of statutory judicial dis-
qualification cases represented by Liljeberg v. Health
Services Acquisition Corp., 486 U.S. 847 (1988). The
Liljeberg standard for judges, originating from a stat-
ute, is more rigorous; that is why the CAC wants to
apply it. Its motivation for employing this strategy be-
comes even more obvious once the applicable precedent,
the due process line of cases represented by Lavoie, is
even cursorily examined.

The allegations of the Petition have no place alongside
the due process violation that occurred in Lavoie. Lavoie
concerned an Alabama supreme court justice who was
in the process of personally suing insurance companies
for alleged bad faith failures to pay claims at the same
time that he supplied the deciding vote in an Alabama
Supreme Court case which allowed punitive damages
against an insurance company under similar facts. The

10

result was that the Alabama justice provided his own
lawsuits with highly favorable precedent, thus making
his interest “direct, personal, substantial and pecuniary.”
Id. at 824 (quoting Ward v. Village of Monroeville, 409
U.S. 57, 60 (1972) ).° While in Lavoie this Court vacated
the Alabama high court decision on procedural due proc-
ess grounds because of the judge’s pecuniary interest, the
opinion emphasized that if the Court had decided the dis-
qualification issue purely on the non-pecuniary allegations
that the judge was biased against insurance companies in
general, the conduct would have fallen “well below” the
level of a due process violation. Jd. at 822. The Court
went on to say that “[clertainly only in the most ez-
treme of cases would disqualification on this basis be
constitutionally required.” Jd. (emphasis added).

Justice Givan’s inadvertent disclosure of the denial of
transfer decision of the Indiana Supreme Court is, by
no stretch of the law or facts, “the most extreme of
cases.” Whatever else the CAC may allege or imply, it
cannot suggest that the disclosure in any way prejudiced
the Indiana Supreme Court’s deliberations. Obviously
prejudice could not result when the decision occurred be-
fore the disclosure and the decision was not changed af-
ter the disclosure.

12 Cases involving a judge’s pecuniary interest form the corner-
stone of the Court’s due process precedent in this area. In Ward,
supra, a mayor responsible for city finances also acted as the local
judge. A principal source of city revenue was judicially-assessed
fines. This was held to be a violation of due process. See also
Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510 (1927) (dependence of judge’s salary
on fines was due process violation) ; Gibson v. Berryhill, 411 U.S.
564 (1973) (pecuniary interest of optometrists sitting on state
optometry board prevented them from giving fair hearing to com-
petitors accused of unprofessional conduct). Like all “standards”
arising from due process, however, this one has its limits. See
Marshall v. Jerrico, 446 U.S. 238 (1980) (institutional pecuniary
gain by Labor Department from assessment of civil fines did not vio-
late due process) ; Rooker v. Fidelity Trust Co., 263 U.S. 413 (1923)
(pecuniary connection to supreme court justice too attenuated to
justify disqualification).

11

Likewise, the event under scrutiny here does not bear
even a remote resemblance to the situations in which this
Court has invoked due process to vacate lower court rul-
ings on the basis of a non-pecuniary interest. It does
not resemble the line of non-pecuniary cases concerned
with the improper combination of the functions of ac-
cuser and judge. See In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133
(1955) (judge serving as “one-man grand jury” who in-
dicted party, then conducted trial, violated due process) .'*
Nor does the subject matter of the Petition remotely re-
semble the non-pecuniary cases which have entailed
heated personal disputes between judges and lawyers
which simply got out of hand. See Taylor v. Hayes, 418
U.S. 488 (1974); Mayberry v. Pennsylvania, 400 U.S.
455 (1971); Offutt v. United States, 348 U.S. 11 (1954) ;
cf. Ungar v. Sarafite, 376 U.S. 575 (1964). In short, the
allegations of the Petition, even accepting its mischarac-
terizations as true, do not present an issue of constitu-
tional dimension.

Presented with this difficulty, the CAC has opted for
the strategy of erroneously attempting to equate proce-
dural due process with the much more exacting statutory
or judicial canon standards governing judicial disqualifica-
tion. In other words, the CAC wants the Court to adopt
the “appearance of partiality” criterion of Liljeberg v.
Health Services Acquisition Corp., 486 U.S. 847 (1988),
as the standard for procedural due process. While such
-an equivalence would do wonders for the CAC’s burden
here, it suffers from the handicap of being in contraven-
tion of settled precedent. It is axiomatic that not every

13 Even here, that which constitutes a due process violation is
strictly limited. See Withrow v. Larkin, 421 U.S. 35 (1975) (not
a violation of due process for medical licensing board to combine
investigatory and adjudicative functions) ; Hortonville Joint School
Dist. v. Hortonville Educ. Ass’n, 426 U.S. 482 (1976) (not a vio-
lation of due process for school board to hold disciplinary hearings
and fire teachers on strike, even though strike may be consequence
of school board actions).

12

alleged violation of a state or federal judicial canon, or
recusal statute, produces a violation of the Due Process
Clause. One need look no further than the cases cited
in the Petition to find this law. “The Due Process Clause
demarks only the outer boundaries of judicial disquali-
fications. Congress and the states, of course, remain free
to impose more rigorous standards for judicial disquali-
fication ... .” Lavoie, 475 U.S. at 829. Most matters re-
lating to judicial disqualification do not rise to a constitu-
tional level. Federal Trade Comm’n v. Cement Inst., 333
U.S. 683, 702 (1948). “{S]ection 455 establishes a stat-
utory disqualification standard more demanding than that
required by the Due Process Clause.” United States v.
Couch, 896 F.2d 78, 81 (5th Cir. 1990).

B. Even Under the More Exacting Statutory Standards
Governing Judicial Disqualification, an Appearance
of Partiality Does Not Exist as a Matter of Law.

Another problem with the CAC’s rush to equate proce-
dural due process with statutory disqualification is that
even if this sleight of hand is successful, the equivalence
does not produce the conclusion that the CAC is urging.

The legal standard the CAC wants is for this Court to
require the retroactive disqualification of state supreme
court justices on constitutional grounds if a justice’s im-
partiality “might reasonably be questioned.” This is the
language of both the Indiana canon and the federal re-
cusal statute. Ind. Judicial Conduct Canon 3(C) (1); 28
U.S.C. § 455 (a).

However, in its impassioned argument in favor of this
engrafted rule of law, the Petition then makes the follow-
ing statement: “[p]etitioners’ diligent search of the case
law nationally has yet to reveal even a single prior in-
stance which has been reported of a justice disclosing ex
parte the preliminary conference vote of a state supreme
court prior to entry of an order or issuance of an opin-
ion.” Pet., p. 17 (emphasis in original). Not only will

13

PSI stipulate to the thoroughness of the CAC’s research
in this area, it will take it one step further. PSI’s dili-
gent search cf the case law nationally has not revealed
even a single prior instance of any judge, state or fed-
eral, being disqualified on the basis of facts remotely
analogous to the facts here. The reason for this void is
plain. It does not mean, as the CAC would have it, that
leaks never happen.’ It does mean that inadvertent dis-
closure and friendship, without more, simply do not trig-
ger even the much more demanding scrutiny of state
judicial canons and federal recusal statutes.’

Put another way, courts have quite rightly concluded
that it is not every indiscretion that constitutes an ap-
pearance of partiality. As this Court noted in Liljeberg,
supra, judicial recusal is required under section 455(a)
only when “a reasonable person knowing all the circum-
stances” would question the judge’s impartiality. Jd. at
861 (emphasis added). Reasonable persons understand
and tolerate simple mistakes. Thus, in Little Rock School
Dist. v. Pulaski County Special School Dist., 839 F.2d 1296
(8th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 869, a district
judge’s impromptu criticism of a litigant school district
in a meeting with students before the issuance of a
desegregation order was not seen as rising to the level of
a section 455(a) violation. The Eighth Circuit observed:

$ 455(a) [does not] require recusal every time a
judge commits a procedural error or departs from

14 This Court, like most, has experienced leaks on occasion. For
instance, on June 15, 1986, a reporter disclosed that the Court
would shortly overturn a key section of the Gramm-Rudman-Hollings
budget balancing law. See The Washington Post, June 17, 1986
at p. Al.

15 Inadvertent disclosure and friendship also do not trigger state
bar disciplinary action. The Indiana disciplinary cases cited by the
CAC are easily distinguishable on their facts. For instance, the
principal case cited, Matter of Lewis, 535 N.E.2d 127 (Ind. 1989),
involved a judge’s persistent pattern of ex parte discussions of the
merits of cases, as well as favor brokering.

14

protocol in some way. If it did, it would be extremely
difficult for any human being (a category that in-
cludes judges) to preside for the duration of a case
as complex and protracted as this one.

Id. at 1302. See also In re Federal Skywalk Cases, 680
F.2d 1175, 1184 (8th Cir. 1982) (judge did not abuse his
discretion in not recusing himself following an ex parte
telephone communication with counsel) ; Jn re Corrugated
Container Antitrust Litig., 614 F.2d 958, 966-67 (5th
Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 888 (judge’s comments
about upcoming civil trial while playing golf with coun-
sel invoived in related litigation did not raise questions
of judge’s partiality) ; In re Wirebound Boxes Antitrust
Litig., 724 F.Supp. 648, 651 (D. Minn. 1989) (recusal
not required after judge inadvertently held ex parte meet-
ing concerning proposed order) ; Bradley v. Milliken, 426
F.Supp. 929, 941 (E.D. Mich. 1977) (recusal not required
when judge’s ex parte discussions did not involve disputed
issues or trial strategy). The Fifth Circuit has described
the inference of partiality created by the friendship be-
tween a judge and one of the lawyers appearing before
him, without more, as “so lacking in merit as to warrant
no discussion.” Parrish v. Board of Comm’rs of Ala. State
Bar, 524 F.2d 98, 102 (5th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 425
U.S. 944 (1976). See also In re Estate of Carlton, 378
So.2d 1212, 1219 (Fla. 1980), cert. denied, 447 U.S. 922
(state supreme court justice was not required to recuse
himself merely because of friendship with a lawyer whose
law firm represents one of the parties).

The non-pecuniary disqualification decisions cited by the
CAC stand in stark contrast to those involving mere com-
munication or friendship. In United States v. Kelly, 888
F.2d 732 (11th Cir. 1989), the judge made repeated
statements on the record suggesting that his judgment
was being influenced by his relationship to a witness. In
Deren v. Williams, 521 So.2d 150 (Fla. App. 1988), the
judge openly expressed sympathy with the plight of the

15

plaintiff. In both State v. Barker, 420 N.W.2d 695 (Neb.
1988) and State v. Valencia, 602 P.2d 807 (Ariz. 1979),
judges received extrajudicial information from the family
of a victim prior to the sentencing of a criminal de-
fendant."®

Justice Givan’s inadvertent and harmless disclosure of
the Indiana Supreme Court’s vote does not even approach
the gravity of the state and federal disqualification cases
cited by the Petition. This contrast is apparent even
after making the CAC’s unwarranted assumption that
state judicial canons and the Due Process Clause impose
exactly the same standard.

The inescapable conclusion is that there is only one
truly appropriate classification of the subject matter of
the Petition, despite its mischaracterizations to the con-
trary. This case does not belong among those discussing
due process of law. It does not belong in the statutory
disqualification cases. It does belong alongsid= all those
other unreported (or unlitigated) situations that “[p]eti-
tioners’ diligent search of the case law nationally” was
unable, for good reason, to identify as having risen to the
level of a case.

C. In Any Event, Whatever Appearance Problem There
May Have Been, It Was Erased When the Indiana
Supreme Court Considered the Very Question of
Judicial Disqualification and Unanimously Ruled
That Its Previous Denial of Transfer Should Stand.

By the time that the CAC had raised the issue of
Justice Givan’s luncheon conversation, the case was over.
The Indiana Supreme Court had already decided the ques-

16In one case cited by the CAC, Easley v. University of Mich.
Bd. of Regents, 853 F.2d 1351 (6th Cir. 1988), aff'd after remand,
906 F.2d 1143 (1990), cert. denied, U.S. , 111 S.Ct. 1414
(1991), a judge’s active involvement in the affairs of one of the
parties was rightfully questioned initially, but on remand even this
relationship was found not to rise to an appearance of partiality.

16

tion of discretionary review. Nevertheless the court per-
mitted the CAC, despite the absence of precedent or pro-
cedure for any further proceedings, to bring the matter
of retroactive disqualification before it. Both the CAC
and PSI were allowed to submit full briefs.

Justice Givan quite properly decided the issue of his
own recusal. Laird v. Tatum, 409 U.S. 824 (1972); In
re Estate of Cariton, 378 So.2d 1212 (Fla. 1980). Even
so, the importance of Justice Givan’s participation may be
only of academic interest. The vote to deny the petition
was unanimous, 4-0; the two Indiana Supreme Court jus-
tices who had originally favored granting review did not
agree with the CAC’s arguments for reopening the mat-
ter. Pet. App. la. Thus, all four of the justices who par-
ticipated in the denial of transfer—the only individuals
who knew firsthand the course of their deliberative
process—ruled that recusal was inappropriate, and that
the CAC’s due process rights had not been violated.

Ill. THIS CASE PRESENTS NO IMPORTANT QUES-
TION WHICH NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY
THIS COURT.

There is no important question in this case requiring
the Court’s attention. There has not been a rash of leaks
of the decisions of either state or federal appellate courts.
So, at best, the Petition addresses an isolated miscue, not
a problem of systemic proportions or a probiem that di-
rection from this Court would likely cure. Moreover, the
area of the law that the CAC unsuccessfully attempts to
invoke—the due process constraints on judicial disqual-
ification decisions—has just recently been visited by this
Court. No further development of this area by this Court
would seem necessary at this time (particularly the type
of development that the facts of this isolated case would
produce). It would be far better to let the lower courts

17

apply the guidance provided in this Court’s recent deci-
sions in this area."

Before closing, a few words should be said about the
nature of the CAC’s attack upon Justice Givan. If the
CAC’s allegations against Justice Givan were confined
to the distinct questions of law presented here, with the
protocol and dignity such discourse demands, it would be
one thing. In such a case PSI would undoubtedly dispute
the CAC’s legal theories (as it has here), but as a foun-
dational matter, PSI would not be challenging the CAC’s
right to assert those theories, and see them succeed or
fail. Here, however, the CAC’s conduct has made it clear
that this is not just a legal attack, it is a personal attack
against the reputation of a distinguished state supreme
court jurist. This anti-judicial campaign, and its vindic-
tiveness, are plainly not appropriate for Supreme Court
involvement.

It has become increasingly clear that not only does the
CAC dislike losing legal battles, it is quick to personalize
its defeats. Thus, the CAC has not been satisfied with
merely seeking the retroactive recusal of Justice Givan
before this Court; the CAC has seen it necessary to con-
currently and publicly lambaste Justice Givan, sarcasti-
cally “awarding” him its “Burned Out Light Bulb
Award.” The Indianapolis Star, June 23, 1991, at p. C2.
The CAC’s labeling of Justice Givan—a respected justice
of the Indiana Supreme Court for more than two dec-

17The interests of comity and federalism also counsel against
reviewing another case in this area in such a short period of time.
State supreme court justices—like members of this Court—take
oaths to uphold the Constitution, and the CAC essentially is asking
this Court to second-guess its state court counterparts in discharg-
ing their obligation to safeguard due process guarantees. As this
Court observed in Argersinger v. Hamlin, 407 U.S. 25, 38 (1972),
“[wle do not sit as an ombudsman to direct state courts how to
manage their affairs but only to make clear the federal constitu-
tional requirement.” This is not the proper case for such review,
and not the proper time.

18

ades—-its chief justice for most of those years—as a
burned out light bulb shortly after it filed its certiorari
petition in this Court is beyond the pale. He deserves
better, as thousands of Indiana lawyers can attest.
Mocking Justice Givan scarcely comports with the proper
appearances that the CAC has so emphatically advo
cated.*®

There is no dispute that Justice Givan misunderstood
the release date of the denial of transfer order. But
“(j]udges being human, ‘slips’ occur. Justice would not
be advanced if a ‘slip’ coiuid be the basis for a forced
disqualification of a high court judge who feels that he
can approach the case impartially.” Nadelmann, Dis-
qualification of Constitutional Court Judges for Alleged
Bias? 52 Judicature 27, 31 (1968).

Although nothing may prevent the CAC from grasping
at legal straws—and the few of those it has grasped are
not “certworthy”—it would be wrong to give this ad
hominem campaign against Justice Givan the attention
and status of a Supreme Court case.

18 Justice Givan is only the latest target. When the CAC was
arguing its case before the Indiana Court of Appeals, it was a
member of the Public Service Commission of Indiana who was
the target of its attacks, also on the basis of a luncheon meeting—
this time with creditors of PSI. The court of appeals rejected the
CAC’s allegation of bias. Pet. App. 15a.

Pi ae

19

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari should be denied.

* Counsel of Record

Respectfully submitted,

CHERYL M. FOLEY
DUEJEAN C. GARRETT
PSI ENERGY, INC.
1000 East Main Street
Plainfield, Indiana 46168
(317) 838-2336

VIRGIL L. BEELER *

FRED E. SCHLEGEL

JOHN R. SCHAIBLEY III

MARK A. VOIGTMANN
BAKER & DANIELS
300 North Meridian Street
Suite 2700
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204
(317) 237-0300

Counsel for Respondent
Public Service Company
of Indiana, Ine.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385009_2215%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
